# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Pollard v. High's of Baltimore, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386015_0018%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2002
- **Citation:** 537 U.S. 827

## Text

Supreme Court, U.&.
‘ora: FILED
Ly

vv iisss5 JUN 2 4 2003
In he
Supreme Court of the Hnited States

MARY D. POLLARD,

Petitioner,
Vv.

HIGH’S OF BALTIMORE,
INCORPORATED,

Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Fourth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

David W. Skeen

WRIGHT, CONSTABLE & SKEEN, L.L.P.
100 North Charles Street, 16th Floor
Baltimore, Maryland 21201

(410) 659-1305

Counsel for Petitioner

LANTAGNE LEGAL PRINTING
801 East Main Street Suite 100 Richmond, Virginia 23219 (800) 847-0477

O40,

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

WHAT ARE THE STANDARDS FOR DETERMINING
WHETHER THE ADA’S DEFINITION OF DISABILITY
COVERS A BACK IMPAIRMENT THAT, ACCORDING
TO EXPERT MEDICAL TESTIMONY, SIGNIFICANTLY
RESTRICTS AN INDIVIDUAL, AS COMPARED TO THE
AVERAGE PERSON, IN THE ACTIVITIES OF LIFTING,
STANDING, BENDING, STOOPING, KNEELING, AND
REMAINING IN ONE POSITION, AND WHICH,
ACCORDING TO EXPERT VOCATIONAL
TESTIMONY, FORECLOSES THAT INDIVIDUAL
FROM MORE THAN SEVENTY PERCENT OF JOBS IN
THE RELEVANT LABOR MARKETS?

WHAT ARE THE STANDARDS FOR DETERMINING
WHETHER AN EMPLOYER REGARDS- AN
INDIVIDUAL WITH AN IMPAIRMENT AS DISABLED
IN ONE OR MORE MAJOR LIFE ACTIVITIES,
INCLUDING WORKING?

il
LIST OF PARTIES

The Petitioner is Mary D. Pollard.

The Respondent is High’s of Baltimore, Inc.

egg et Win ee ees.

BOA Bate Kae = ete Bah «Cn reeinwre ie atk oro 45S

iil

TABLE OF CONTENTS
QUESTIONS PRESENTED.................csccscsssssesssssssssssssesrens i
Bee CPE FAIR EUS senesecesessovcroscnvscensevenessesesvossnnescvsvsssensoosees ll
TABLE OF CONTENT SS.............cccscscsscrsssossosesssvcvnsveosooooes ill
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES. ......cocsscccossscorovcsvesssscceseeccsseees v
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI.............:::ceeeees 1
EFT EAS WY sessisrssecesssovessesbosnsnnnsesossvcesnosssseroesesonones 1
Bee Fe FURL, LERIEN sessnsnsisssvscsescossecnsssesvesonsveseesss 1
STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED............:cceeeeees 2
ee IU GT BRU Aric cinccensvnssvevnsevnasersosvennconssconess 3
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT... eeeeeeeees 5
I. The Result Reached By The Fourth Circuit On The
Issue Of Whether’ Petitioner's Impairment
Substantially Limits Her In Any Major Life Activity,
And The Standards Which The Fourth Circuit Used
To Reach That Decision, Conflict With The
Decisions And Standards Endorsed By Other Circuits
SS I sis cic sarbsuvinekneusacanmnatiaapcmeisnnciedinnns 5
II. The Fourth Circuit’s Standards For Determining

Whether An Individual Is Regarded As Disabled
Conflict With The Sixth Circuit’s Standards ........ 13

See senssenhirpinseiisctnisesicdicndsibstinnssationiibaiinanbienaunnnol 15

APPENDIX

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Albertson’s, Inc. v. Kirkingburg, 527 U.S. 555 (1999) ......... 9
Bennett v. Unysis Corp., 2000 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 18143 (E.D.
Pan, 2000) ...ccccecsrossvoccscccvesserevesencepescnsscsonsnesnvessonspesconsvensven 11
Burns v. Coca Cola Enterprises, 222 F.3d 247 (6" Cir. 2000)
seséaucoenecl ensbeonennvesusateelaninbeentecseieaeanipeemnneaenentts passim
Cleveland v. Policy Management Systems Corp., 526 U.S.
799 (1999) ..ccccoccoccsocccvesscsosesenccsesvensoverovsesesvovesssessssooesooooses 11
Cochrum v. Old Ben Coal Co., 102 F.3d 908 (7" Cir. 1996)

DePaoli v. Abbott Lab., 140 F.3d 668 (7"" Cir. 1998) 11, 13
Deppe v. United Airlines, 217 F.3d 1262 (9" Cir. 2000) ....12
Henderson v. Ardco, Inc., 247 F.3d 645 (6" Cir. 2001) 11, 14
Mondzelewski v. Pathmark Stores, Inc., 162 F.3d 778 (3"

Cee TD cncctntepsorrinsininnineminininimnmmanaamnama P)
Pollard v. High’s of Baltimore, Inc., 281 F.3d 462 (4° Cir.

DIE IAD .....csecssssedlesesusssanieanentacenuconsiaenmunatenanmananananits ii, 1
Sutton v. United Air Lines, Inc., 527 U.S. 471 (1999) ..11, 12
Taylor v. Phoenixville Sch. Dist., 184 F.3d 296 (3 Cir.

SUIS... cisssseaanesinicsnnsenrisieanieaneciuetamunmagpiaaaalaaans 10, 11
Toyota Motor Mfg. v. Williams, 534 U.S. 184 . ¢ 9
Webb v. Garelick Mfg. Co., 94 F.3d 484 (8" Cir. 1996).....11
Webner v. Titan Distribution, Inc., 267 F.3d 828 (8"" Cir.

SIAIEE } ....n:ivisisissaninnssaitasedclacceeiaiaeincmainmenas aannne 7,9
Williams v. Channel Master Satellite Systems, Inc., 101 F.3d

PE a RRR ss 12

Statutes

Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, 42 U.S.C. § 12101
Ct. SEQ. ..rccsssecccccccccccvccccccccesseseresscccscceccccoeseneees passim

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner Mary D. Pollard respectfully prays that a
writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment and opinion of
the United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit
entered in this proceeding on February 25, 2002 in order to
review the important issues presented herein.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Fourth Circuit in Pollard v. High’s of Baltimore, Inc.,
281 F.3d 462, 2002 U.S. App. LEXIS 13759 (4™ Cir.
2/25/02), is set forth in the Appendix hereto. App. 1a.

The Memorandum Opinion of the United States
District Court for the District of Maryland (Northern
Division) is unreported and is set forth in the Appendix
hereto. App. 15a.

BASIS FOR JURISDICTION

The final judgment of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Fourth Circuit affirming the decision of the
United States District Court for the District of Maryland
(Northern Division) was entered on February 25, 2002. App.
la. On March 25, 2002, the Court of Appeals denied the
petition for rehearing and rehearing en banc. This petition for
a writ of certiorari is filed within ninety (90) days of that
date. 28 U.S.C. § 2101(c).

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked pursuant to
28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

ec rsbdina eh.

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

42 U.S.C. § 12102(2)

Disability. The term disability means, with
respect to an individual —

(A) a physical or mental impairment that
substantially limits one or more major life

activities of such individual;

(B) a record of such an impairment, or

(C) being regarded as having such an
impairment.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner brought this action under the Americans
with Disabilities Act of 1990 (the “ADA”) against

Respondent, invoking 28 U.S.C. §§ 1331 and 1343 as bases

for federal jurisdiction

An orthopedic physician has opined that, on a
permanent basis, Petitioner's back injury significantly
restricts her, as compared to the average person, in the
activities of standing, lifting, bending, stooping, kneeling,
and remaining in one position. A vocational expert has
opined that the impairment forecloses Petitioner from more

than 70% of jobs in the relevant labor markets

Petitioner suffered the injury on August 25, 1997
while employed by Respondent as an Area Supervisor
overseeing mumerous convenience stores operated by
Respondent. The injury forced Petitioner to alternate
between working in physical misery, and taking leave on
doctor's orders, until January 1998, when she underwent
diskectomy surgery for the injury and began rehabilitation

efforts

In June 1998, an orthopedic physician and a
rehabilitation expert concluded that Petitioner was ready to
retunm to her Area Supervisor job, with certain
accommodations

Respondent resisted, staiing in August 1998 that it
didn’t want Petitioner back until she could “lift more,” and
telling Petitioner on September 18 that it would not allow her
to return to her Area Supervisor job unless she first worked

eae EAN Be OR Ee tee Pee er ae

ee

ee

as a store clerk, a much-more-physically-demanding job than
Area Supervisor.

Determined to regain her Area Supervisor job,
Petitioner acceded and worked as a store clerk from
September 23 to October 29, 1998. The store-clerk duties
inflicted debilitating back-related pain and humiliation on
Petitioner — on top of financial duress: Respondent paid
Petitioner only $5.60 per hour, or $12,000 annualized, as a
store clerk, while she'd earned approximately $40,000
annually as an Area Supervisor.

While working as store clerk, Petitioner begged
Respondent for her Area Supervisor job, providing
Respondent in late September with a note from her
orthopedist stating — once again - that she was ready to return
to her Area Supervisor job, with certain restrictions.

Respondent stonewalled. On October 16 and 27, its
Operations Manager stated that “it appeared to” him that
Petitioner might be unable to increase her tolerance for work
and that he was “not optimistic” about her anticipated
improvement.

In physical, emotional, and financial despair,
Petitioner left Respondent’s employ on October 29, having
concluded that Respondent was placing the Area Supervisor
position out of her reach — because of her back impairment.

Petitioner then brought this action, claiming that,
under the ADA, she is an individual with a disability,
because her back impairment substantially limits her in one
or more major life activities (including working) and/or she
was regarded as being so substantially limited by

Respondent; and that Respondent discriminated against her
in violation of the ADA by refusing to return her to her Area
Supervisor job (even though physicians and a vocational
expert said she could perform that job with accommodations)
and constructively discharging her.

The District Court held that Petitioner is not disabled
and, based on similar reasoning, the Fourth Circuit affirmed.
Focusing primarily on the notes of doctors who were trying
to facilitate Petitioner’s return to her Area Supervisor job
(and who were not focusing on the mixed factual-legal
question of whether Petitioner’s impairment is substantially
limiting under the ADA), the Fourth Circuit concluded that
Petitioner’s back impairment does not substantially limit her
in any major life activity, and that Petitioner therefore has no
actual disability. App. 7a-10a. It further held that Respondent
did not regard Petitioner as disabled, stating that the
“evidence indicates that [Respondent] believed that
[Petitioner’s] work limitations were temporary and that she
would eventually, if not soon, return to her [Area Supervisor]
duties.” App. lla n. 5. In reaching that conclusion, the
Fourth Circuit disregarded the fact that Respondent refused
to return Petitioner to her Area Supervisor job even though
physicians and a vocational expert said she could do so with
accommodations, and that Respondent’s Operations
Manager stated, after witnessing the debilitating pain that
Petitioner experienced while trying to perform the
physically-demanding store-clerk job (which Respondent
forced Petitioner to perform as a condition of returning to the
Area Supervisor job), that “it appeared to” him that
Petitioner might not be able to increase her tolerance for
work and that he was “not optimistic” about Petitioner’s
anticipated improvement.

DBR GA ROY ETE OE SRG et

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. THE RESULT REACHED BY THE FOURTH
CIRCUIT ON THE ISSUE OF WHETHER
PETITIONER’S IMPAIRMENT
SUBSTANTIALLY LIMITS HER IN ANY MAJOR
LIFE ACTIVITY, AND THE STANDARDS
WHICH THE FOURTH CIRCUIT USED TO
REACH THAT DECISION, CONFLICT WITH
THE DECISIONS AND STANDARDS
ENDORSED BY OTHER CIRCUITS AND THIS
COURT.

Other Circuits have held that the ADA’s definition of
disability covers impairments imposing limitations equally
or less severe than Petitioner’s limitations. In Cochrum_v.
Old Ben Coal Co., 102 F.3d 908 (7" Cir. 1996), the Seventh
Circuit held that a shoulder injury which permanently
precluded a coal miner from “overhead [and] heavy lifting”
and “pushing and pulling out from his body” could qualify as
a disability. Citing the back-injury example in 29 C.F.R. §
1630.2(j), the Court stated:

The physical restrictions © Cochrum’s
physician placed upon him — no overhead
work, heavy lifting, or pulling or pushing
out from his body — might apply to a broad
range of jobs, and are more than job
specific. As with the examples of the bad
back in the regulations, Cochrum’s shoulder
injury could disqualify him from any
position at the mine, or in related work such
as construction. In addition to listing a
number of jobs in the mine, the magistrate

eae

7

judge seems to have assumed as a matter of
law that plenty of places would employ
Cochrum with his shoulder condition. But
given the breadth of his physician’s physical
restrictions, a reasonable jury could
conclude that | Cochrum’s _ shoulder
impairment does substantially limit his
ability to work. 102 F.3d at 911.

In Burns v. Coca-Cola Enterprises, Inc., 222 F.3d 247
(6"" Cir. 2000), the Sixth Circuit held that a reasonable jury
could find that a back injury which precluded a product
deliveryman from lifting more than 23 pounds significantly
restricted him in the major life activity of working. It stated
that “[g]iven that the determination of whether a claimant is
disabled is made on an individual basis, and that the court
may consider the manner in which a claimant’s personal
education and prior work experience limits his ability to
pursue employment in other sectors of the economy, the
district court’s conclusion that Burns is disabled was
reasonable.” Id. at 254.

In Webner v. Titan Distribution, Inc., 267 F.3d 828
(8"" Cir. 2001), the Eighth Circuit held that a back injury
which precluded an assembly-line worker from lifting more
than 15 pounds regularly, 25 pounds occasionally, and 50
pounds at any time, and from twisting and bending more
than 12 times per hour, significantly restricted him in the
major life activity of working. It stated:

Webner testified at trial that his back injury
limited his ability to walk, to stand for long
periods of time, to twist, and to bend at the
waist without pain, which ultimately

affected his ability to work. The jury also
heard testimony from Dr. Nelson, stating
that Webner had an impairment rating of
18% of the body as a whole after his three
back surgeries, was only authorized to return
to work incrementally subject to bending
and lifting restrictions, and required physical
therapy. ;

Furthermore, an individual is substantially
limited in his ability to work under the ADA
if the impairment "significantly restricts" the
individual's "ability to perform either a class
of jobs or a broad range of jobs in various
classes as compared to the average person
having comparable training, skills and
abilities." 29 C.F.R. § 1630.2(j)(3)(i). At
trial, .a vocational expert testified on
Webner's behalf that because of Webner's
back injury, he was precluded from
performing work that fell in the heavy and
very heavy industrial classifications. These
two classifications required the ability to lift
in excess of Webner's lifting restriction of
50 pounds. While a lifting restriction
standing alone is insufficient to demonstrate
that Webner was substantially limited in the
life activity of working, the inability to lift
heavy objects can translate across a broad
spectrum of physically demanding jobs.
[Citation omitted.] Viewing all of the
evidence which shows how Webner's back
injury impacted him in his favor, we
conclude that a reasonable jury could have

NN

9

determined that Webner's back injury had
substantially limited his ability to work, to
twist, to bend, and to stand, in addition to
limiting his ability to lift. (Id. at 834-35.)

In Mondzelewski v. Pathmark Stores, Inc., 162 F.3d
778 (3 Cir. 1998), the Third Circuit held that a back injury
which precluded a meat cutter from lifting objects weighing
more than 50 pounds and from carrying objects weighing
more than 25 pounds, together with his limited education,
training, and skills, substantially limited him in the major life
activity of working. It based its holding on a vocational
expert’s opinion that “the best that could be hoped for...
him, outside of his [job with the defendant], would be a
minimum wage type of position in an unskilled light or
medium duty capacity.” Id. at 785.

The Fourth Circuit’s conclusion that Petitioner
cannot prove that she is substantially limited in any major
life activity can’t be reconciled with Cochrum, Burns,
Webner, or Mondzelewski.

But perhaps more significantly, the analytical
framework employed by the Fourth Circuit clashes with the
process endorsed by this Court and other Circuits for
determining whether an individual has a disability.

The Fourth Circuit disregarded this Court’s
admonition in Toyota Motor Mfg. v. Williams, 534 U.S. 184
(2002), that the ADA “requires,” and thus certainly allows,
those "claiming the Act's protection . . . to prove a disability
by offering evidence that the extent of the limitation [caused
by their impairment] in terms of their own experience . . . is
substantial." Id. at 691-92 (quoting Albertson’s, Inc. v.

10

Kirkingburg, 527 U.S. 555, 567 (1999) (emphasis added)). It
is undisputed that Petitioner’s own experience was that her
back impairment and its limitations rendered her efforts to
perform the store-clerk job debilitatingly painful and futile —
to the point that Respondent's Operations Manager stated
that “it appeared to” him that Petitioner might not be able to
increase her tolerance for work and that he was “not
optimistic” about Petitioner’s recovery prospects. Ignoring
this evidence, the Fourth Circuit focused primarily on
doctors’ notes generated during Petitioner's efforts at
rehabililation. App. 7a-10a.

Moreover, the emphasis which the Fourth Circuit
placed on those notes conflicts with the Third Circuit’s
treatment of such notes. The Third Circuit has rejected the
notion that such notes should control the determination of
whether an individual has a substantially-limiting
impairment. In Taylor _v. Phoenixville Sch. Dist., 184 F.3d
296 (3 Cir. 1999), the Third Circuit stated:

Another reason that the school district
denies that Taylor is disabled is that before
the school district allowed Taylor to return
to her job, she was required to submit a note
from her doctor saying that she was able to
work. Dr. Sonnenberg responded to this
requirement by sending a one sentence
message saying that Taylor "is able to return
to work and is not disabled." ... The school
district argues that since the doctor said that
Taylor was "not disabled," Taylor must have
been symptom free.

a

1]

But the doctor's remark appears to be simply
another way of saying that Taylor was
capable of working. It is hardly conclusive
proof that Taylor was not substantially
limited. Id. at 310-11.

Cf. Bennett v. Unysis Corp., 2000 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 18143,
at *28 (E.D. Pa. 2000)(applying Taylor and holding that a
doctor’s statement that the plaintiff's “condition has
improved and she is able to resume her former duties on
12/23/97” was “not sufficient evidence for us to conclude
that [plaintiff] required no accommodations”).

‘The Fourth Circuit also strayed from other Circuits’
holdings, and from this Court’s precedent, by holding (App.
lla) that Petitioner’s employment at a car dealership after
leaving Respondent employ “reinforces” the conclusion that
she is not substantially limited in working. In DePaoli v.
Abbott _Lab., 140 F.3d 668 (7" Cir. 1998), the Seventh
Circuit held that “an employer cannot avoid [ADA] liability
by showing that the employee is still generally capable of
doing some economically valuable work in the national
economy.” Id. at 672. In Webb v. Garelick Mfg. Co., 94 F.3d
484 (8" Cir. 1996), the Eighth Circuit rejected the notion that
“a plaintiff can never demonstrate disability as long as there
is any other job that she can perform.” Id. at 487. Cf.
Henderson v. Ardco, Inc., 247 F.3d 645, 652-53 (6" Cir.
2001)(holding that supervisor’s “acknowledgment that ‘right
now plaintiff's working at the Piggly-Wiggly, so obviously
she can do some things’ does not show that [the supervisor]
did not perceive [plaintiff's] capacity to work to be
substantially limited”). And, as the Sixth Circuit stated in
Burns, supra, 222 F.3d 247, 256 (6"" Cir. 2000), the converse
of this Court’s holding, in Sutton v. United Air Lines, Inc.,

eee

12

527 U.S. 471, 523 (1999), that “[t]o be substantially limited
in the major life activity of working ... one must be
precluded from more than one type of job, a specialized job,
or a particular job of choice,” is that an individual’s ability to
perform some work does not disqualify her from working-
disabled status under the ADA. 222 F.3d at 255.

The Fourth Circuit also deviated from other Circuits’
precedent by failing to factor Petitioner’s education, training,
knowledge, and skills into the calculus of whether she is
substantially limited in working. It completely ignored the
evidence relating to these factors, even though these factors
were addressed in the reports of Petitioner’s vocational
experts. By contrast, other Circuits have stressed the need for
consideration of these factors in the working-disabled
calculus. See Burns v. Coca Cola Enterprises, 222 F.3d 247,
254 (6"" Cir. 2000) (stating “that the determination of whether
a claimant is disabled is made on an individual basis, and
that the court may consider the manner in which a claimant’s
personal education and prior work experience limits his
ability to pursue employment in other sectors of the
economy”); Deppe v. United Airlines, 217 13 F.3d 1262,
1266 (9"" Cir. 2000)(“An assessment of one’s training,
knowledge, and skills is important in determining whether
the individual is disabled within the meaning of the ADA”).

Indeed, the Sixth Circuit in Burns, supra, expressly
recognized that the Fourth Circuit’s approach to the
working-disabled issue conflicts with the ADA and other
Circuits’ holdings. It noted that the Fourth Circuit in
Williams v. Channel Master Satellite Systems, Inc., 101 F.3d
346 (4"" Cir. 1996), held that “a twenty-five pound lifting
restriction could not, as a matter of law, substantially limit

13

the major life activity of working,” 222 F.3d at 255 n. 3, and
then criticizing that holding in the following passage:

[T]he Fourth Circuit's decision on this issue
conflicts with the ADA's directives that the
determination whether an_ impairment
substantially limits a major life activity must
be made on an individual basis, and that the
impaired individual's ability to work must be
compared not with "an average persons's
abilities," ibid., but with the abilities of a
person with "comparable training, skills and
abilities." 29 C.F.R. § 1630.2(j)(3)(i);
[citation omitted] DePaoli v. Abbott
Laboratories, 140 F.3d 668, 672 (7" Cir.
1998)(the determination whether an
individual is "disabled" under the ADA is
"an individualized one, and must be
determined on a case-by-case basis"). It is
obvious that a lifting restriction would
substantially limit a manual laborer's ability
to work to a far greater extent than it would
limit that of an accountant, lawyer, or
teacher. Id. at n.3.

II. THE FOURTH CIRCUIT’S STANDARDS FOR
DETERMINING WHETHER AN INDIVIDUAL IS
REGARDED AS DISABLED CONFLICT WITH
THE SIXTH’S CIRCUIT’S STANDARDS

The Fourth Circuit held (App. lla n. 5) that
Respondent did not regard Petitioner as disabled, even
though physicians and a vocational expert had opined that
she could perform the Area Supervisor position with

Pa
|
Te

14

accommodations, even though Respondent refused to allow
Petitioner to return to her Area Supervisor job unless she
first proved her ability to work a more-physically-rigorous
job, and even though Respondent’s Operations Manager
stated, after witnessing Petitioner experience intense physical
pain that precluded her for performing that more-demanding
job, that “it appeared to” him that Petitioner might not be
able to increase her tolerance for work and that he was “not
optimistic” about Petitioner’s anticipated improvement.

In stark contrast, the Sixth Circuit, in Henderson v.
Ardco, Inc., 247 F.3d 645 (6" Cir. 2001), the Sixth Circuit
held that a reasonable jury could find that an employer
regarded as disabled a welder whose back injury precluded
him from stooping and lifting more than 25 pounds
frequently and 40 pounds infrequently. It stated:

We have also held that an individual may be
disabled by a lifting restriction of 23 pounds,
by being substantially impaired in the major
life activity of working, if that restriction
prevented him from performing "medium to
heavy lifting and other forms of manual
labor," and those jobs constituted the
majority of the jobs for which that plaintiff
is suited based on his age, education, and
experience. [Citation omitted.] Similarly,
Henderson appears to have raised a genuine
issue of material fact that Ardco perceived
her as unable to perform anything but "light
duty" work, and that it perceived that
medium to heavy manual labor constituted a
majority of the jobs available to her based
on her age, education and experience.

15

The interpretive guidance provided on
"substantial limitation" of working also
supports the view that this case is
inappropriate for summary disposition. As
an illustration, the EEOC indicates that "an
individual who has a back condition that
prevents the individual from performing any
heavy labor job would be substantially
limited in the major life activity of working
because the individual's impairment
eliminates .. . her ability to perform a class
of jobs. This would be so even if the
individual were able to perform jobs in
another class, e.g., the class of semi-skilled
jobs." 29 C.F.R. § 1630, App. at 353-54
(quoted in Burns, [supra], 222 F.3d at 254);
DePaoli v. Abbott Laboratories, 140 F.3d
668, 672 (7" Cir. 1998), 140 F.3d 668, 672
(7th Cir. 1998)(quoting same language). Id.
at 652.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petition for a writ of
certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully Submitted,
David W. Skeen

Wright, Constable & Skeen, L.L.P.
100 North Charles Street, 16" Floor
Baltimore, Maryland 21201

(410) 659-1305

APPENDIX

la

PUBLISHED

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

Mary D. POoLLarp,
Plaintiff-Appellant,

v. No. 01-1342

HIGH’S OF BALTIMORE, INCORPORATED,
Defendant-Appellee.

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the District of Maryland, at Baltimore.
Andre M. Davis, District Judge.
(CA-99-3455-AMD)

Argued: October 29, 2001
Decided: February 25, 2002
Before WILKINSON, Chief Judge, GREGORY, Circuit Judge,

and Malcolm J. HOWARD, United States District Judge for the
Eastern District of North Carolina, sitting by designation.

Affirmed by published opinion. Chief Judge Wilkinson wrote the
opinion, in which Judge Gregory and Judge Howard joined.

COUNSEL

ARGUED: Paul Francis Evelius, WRIGHT, CONSTABLE &
SKEEN, L.L.P., Baltimore, Maryland, for Appellant. Christopher
Mark Feldenzer, LAW OFFICES OF NORMAN R. BUCHSBAUM,
Baltimore, Maryland, for Appellee. ON BRIEF: Norman R. Buchs-
baum, LAW OFFICES OF NORMAN R. BUCHSBAUM, Baltimore,
Maryland, for Appellee.

2 POLLARD v. HIGH’S OF BALTIMORE, INC.

OPINION
WILKINSON, Chief Judge:

Plaintiff Mary Pollard claims that defendant High’s of Baltimore,
Inc. violated her rights under the Americans with Disabilities Act
("ADA") by failing to accommodate her disability and by construc-
tively discharging her. Pollard also claims that she was wrongfully
discharged under Maryland law. The district court granted summary
judgment to High’s. Because Pollard’s impairment during her recov-
ery from back surgery was a temporary one not covered by the ADA,
and because High’s did not wrongfully discharge her, we affirm the
judgment of the district court.

I.

Plaintiff Mary Pollard was an Area Supervisor for defendant
High’s of Baltimore, Inc., which operates a chain of convenience
stores. Pollard began working for High’s in 1985 as a store clerk and
was eventually promoted to the Area Supervisor position. Area Super-
visors are responsible for monitoring ten to fifteen stores. This
requires spending considerable time driving from store to store within
an assigned area and occasionally filling in for clerks when clerks
and/or managers are unable to work. Area Supervisors must be on call
twenty-four hours a day in case of emergencies and typically work
more than forty hours per week.

In August 1997, Pollard injured her back while working as an Area
Supervisor. After a brief absence from work, she returned to her job
until December 1997. At that time, Pollard was informed by her per-
sonal physician, Dr. Brager, that she would need back surgery. She
had that surgery in January 1998 and also filed a claim with the Mary-
land Workers’ Compensation Commission. Because of complications
from the surgery, she was not cleared to return to work until April
1998.

In April 1998, Dr. Brager determined that Pollard could work with
the following restrictions: Pollard was limited to working eight hour
days, was prohibited from doing any repetitive bending or any lifting

3a

PoLLARD v. HIGH’s OF BALTIMORE, INC. 3

of more than five pounds, and was prohibited from driving for
extended periods of time. When she informed High’s of these condi-
tions, High’s told Pollard that it did not have "light-duty" for supervi-
sors and that she could not yet return to work.

During her recovery and attempts to return to work, Pollard contin-
ued to deal with High’s workers’ compensation insurance carrier and
rehabilitation specialists retained by the insurer. From May until June
1998, Pollard participated in a "work-hardening" program with a
physical therapist and consulted with vocational therapists provided
by the insurer. In June 1998, Dr. Rosenthal, who monitored Pollard’s
progress for the insurer, concluded that Pollard could return to work
as an Area Supervisor with restrictions.

On August 25, 1998, Pollard contacted High’s directly and
informed her District Manager, Patricia Kelly, that she was ready to
return to work. Shortly thereafter, a vocational therapist called Pollard
to arrange a meeting between himself, Pollard, and Dr. Brager. Dur-
ing this meeting on September 4, 1998, Dr. Brager reduced the work
restrictions he had imposed on Pollard in = eapsemaaighg Pollard
was still prohibited from working more than‘eight hours a day and
from bending repetitively, but the restriction on lifting was changed
to no more than twenty-five pounds, and Pollard was now permitted
to drive for extended periods.

On September 18, Pollard, the vocational therapist, Kelly, and
High’s Operation Manager, Timothy Sheehan, met to discuss Pol-
lard’s return to work. Everyone at the meeting acknowledges that they
discussed the ways in which Dr. Brager’s restrictions on heavy lifting
and repetitive bending could be implemented. The parties agreed that
Pollard could use the assistance of her coworkers and subordinates to
handle the more physically demanding tasks she would be required to
perform. However, the parties dispute what plan of action regarding
Pollard’s return to work eventually resulted from this discussion.

Pollard contends that in light of Dr. Brager’s eight hour work
restriction, Sheehan insisted that High’s would not permit her to work
as a "part-time" Area Supervisor. Therefore, it was proposed that Pol-
lard begin working as a store clerk. Pollard claims she had no choice
but to work first as a store clerk because she was convinced it was

os Renata aia

4a

4 POLLARD v. HIGH’s OF BALTIMORE, INC.

the only way she would be permitted to return to her position as an
Area Supervisor. High’s, however, contends that Pollard offered to °
work as a store clerk. According to High’s, this arrangement was
implemented to allow Pollard to regain her strength until she could
resume her duties as an Area Supervisor.

Regardless of whose suggestion it was, Pollard returned to work,
as a clerk, on September 23, 1998. She was paid $5.60 an hour, or
approximately $12,000 a year, while working as a clerk, compared to
the $40,000 a year she earned as an Area Supervisor. There is some
confusion about how the issue of Pollard’s pay was to be handled
since she was receiving workers’ compensation income. High’s con-
tends that it believed the insurer would continue to pay partial bene-
fits so that Pollard’s net income would not be reduced, but High’s
does not dispute that during the time Pollard worked as a clerk she
was not paid this difference. And while Pollard contends that High’s
should have known she was not being paid the difference, there is no
record that Pollard formally complained to “y High’s official about
her compensation.

Despite the modifications in the store clerk position to accommo-
date her restriction on heavy lifting and repetitive bending, Pollard
found the physical demands of working as a clerk unbearable. Pollard
experienced such pain that she rarely, if ever, completed any of the
eight hour shifts she had been assigned. Yet, on September 29, 1998,
when Dr. Brager lifted her eight hour work restriction, Pollard
reported this to Sheehan and expected to be returned to her Area
Supervisor position. Sheehan, however, insisted that Pollard had to
demonstrate that she could work an eight hour day as a store clerk
before she could return to her Area Supervisor position. Pollard con-
tinued to work as a clerk for approximately one more month before
quitting on October 29, 1998. When she quit, Pollard informed High’s
that she had obtained employment elsewhere. And Pollard did, in fact,
obtain immediate reemployment at a car dealership.

On November 12, 1999, Pollard brought this suit, alleging, inter
alia, that High’s violated her rights under the ADA by failing to
-accommodate her disability and constructively discharging her. Pol-
lard also brought an action under Maryland law claiming wrongful
termination. The district court granted summary judgment for High’s

POLLARD Vv. HIGH’S OF BALTIMORE, INC. 5

on November 21, 2000. The district court held that, as a matter of
law, Pollard was "not entitled to disability discrimination protection
because she cannot satisfy the ADA definition of a ‘qualified individ-
ual with a disability.’"" The court concluded that there was "no evi-
dence that the physical limitations arising from [Pollard’s] back injury
were severely limiting." The court also found that her immediate
reemployment elsewhere showed she was not "‘substantially limited’
in her ability to work" and that High’s did not regard Pollard as dis-
abled. Finally, the court determined that Pollard’s state law claim for
wrongful discharge also failed as a matter of law because she had "not
proffered evidence to create a factual issue as to whether her working
conditions were purposefully made so intolerable that she was forced
to quit." Pollard appeals.

II.
A.

We begin by considering Pollard’s ADA claim. The ADA prohibits
discrimination by a covered entity, including a private employer such
as High’s, "against a qualified individual with a disability." See 42
U.S.C. §§ 12111(2), 12112(a). Therefore, in order to come within the
ADA’s protected class, a plaintiff must first show that she is disabled
within the meaning of the Act. The ADA defines a "disability" as:
"(A) a physical or mental impairment that substantially limits one or
more of the major life activities of such individual; (B) a record of
such an impairment; or (C) being regarded as having such an impair-
ment." 42 U.S.C. § 12102(2). Pollard’s principal assertion is that she
is substantially limited in, infer alia, the major life activity of working
under § 12102(2)(A). Pollard asserts, and High’s does not dispute,
that her back injury is a physical impairment and that working is a
major life activity.’ Therefore, whether Pollard is "disabled" turns on
whether her back injury is substantially limiting.

‘The Supreme Court has noted "the conceptual difficulties inherent in
the argument that working could be a major life activity," but declined
to "decide this difficult question." Toyota Motor Mfg., Ky., Inc. v. Wil-
liams, 122 S. Ct. 681, 692 (2002). This question is likewise not necessary
to the resolution of this case.

6a

6 POLLARD v. HIGH’S OF BALTIMORE, INC.

In order to demonstrate that an impairment is substantially limiting,
an individual must show that she is significantly restricted in a major
life activity. See, e.g., Halperin v. Abacus Tech. Corp., 128 F.3d 191,
199 (4th Cir. 1997); 29 C.F.R. § 1630.2(j)(1). And in determining
whether an impairment is substantially limiting, courts may consider
the "nature and severity of the impairment," the "duration or expected
duration of the impairment," and the "permanent or long term impact"
of the impairment. 29 C.F.R. § 1630.2(j)(2).? These factors indicate
that a temporary impairment, such as recuperation from surgery, will
generally not qualify as a disability under the ADA. See, e.g., 29
C.F.R. § 1630.2(j), app. at 353. An impairment simply cannot be a
substantial limitation on a major life activity if it is expected to
improve in a relatively short period of time.

The Supreme Court’s unanimous opinion in Toyota Motor Mfg.,
Ky., Inc. v. Williams, 122 S. Ct. 681 (2002), supports this conclusion.
In Toyota, the Court stated that the ADA’s "substantially limits"
requirement indicates that an impairment must interfere with a major
life activity "‘considerabl[y]’ or ‘to a large degree.’" 122 S.Ct. at
691. And the Court stressed that an "impairment’s impact must also
be permanent or long-term." /d. The Court’s earlier opinion in Sutton
v. United Air Lines, Inc., 527 U.S. 471 (1999), further suggests that
temporary impairments will typically not allow an individual to claim
relief under the ADA. In Sutton, the Court held that corrective mea-
sures must be taken into account when evaluating an individual’s
impairment. 527 U.S. at 482, 488-89. If an individual’s ability to cor-
rect an impairment must be considered, it seems clear that the individ-
ual’s likelihood of recovery from a temporary impairment must also
be considered.

Prior precedent of this court likewise indicates that temporary
impairments usually do not fall within the ADA’s definition of "dis-

The persuasive authority of the Equal Employment Opportunity Com-
mission ("EEOC") regulations interpreting the ADA is unclear, and the
issue has explicitly been left open by the Supreme Court. See, e.g.,
Toyota, 122 S. Ct. at 689-90; Sutton v. United Air Lines, Inc., 527 U.S.
471, 480 (1999). However, because both parties accept the EEOC regula-
tions, and determining their validity is not necessary to decide this case,
we have no occasion to determine what level of deference they are due.

7a

POLLARD Vv. HIGH’sS OF BALTIMORE, INC. 7

ability." In Halperin, we stressed that "it is evident that the term “dis-
ability’ does not include temporary medical conditions, even if those
conditions require extended leaves of absence from work." 128 F.3d
at 199 (internal citations omitted). And several of our sister circuits
have taken a similar approach with respect to temporary impairments
under the Act. See, e.g., Gutridge v. Clure, 153 F.3d 898, 901-02 (8th
Cir. 1998) (holding that plaintiff's inability to work while recovering
from wrist and elbow surgery did not qualify as a disability under the
ADA and noting that "ike ADA requires permanent or long-term
impairments"); Heintzelman v. Runyon, 120 F.3d 143, 144-45 (8th
Cir. 1997) (same with regard to a temporary back injury); Rogers v.
Int'l Marine Terminals, Inc., 87 F.3d 755, 759 (Sth Cir. 1996) (same
with regard to recovery from ankle injury and surgery); McDonald v.
Pennsylvania, 62 F.3d 92, 95-96 (3d Cir. 1995) (same with regard to
recuperation from abdominal surgery); Evans v. City of Dallas, 861
F.2d 846, 852-53 (Sth Cir. 1988) (same under the Rehabilitation Act
of 1973 with respect to inability to work due to knee surgery).

However, while the presumption exists that temporary impairments
do not qualify as disabilities under the ADA, temporary conditions
still require a case-by-case evaluation under the Act. See, e.g., Toyota,
122 S. Ct. at 692; Sutton, 527 U.S. at 483; Ennis v. Nat'l Ass'n of Bus.
& Educ. Radio, Inc., 53 F.3d 55, 59-60 (4th Cir. 1995). Temporary
disabilities present a spectrum of cases and at some point the duration
of an impairment could be so long that it cannot properly be charac-
terized as temporary. We must therefore examine how severe Pol-
lard’s particular impairment was, how long her impairment was
expected to last, and how likely it was that her impairment would be
ameliorated over time.

B.

The undisputed evidence in this case demonstrates that Pollard suf-
fered a back injury in August 1997, eventually had to undergo surgery
in January 1998, and, due to an infection, had to take a leave of
absence from work until September 1998. However, this nine-month
absence is insufficient to demonstrate that Pollard had a permanent or
long-term impairment that significantly restricted a major life activity.
First, nothing in the nature or severity of Pollard’s impairment indi-
cated that she had anything other than a temporary impairment.

8a

8 POLLARD v. HIGH’S OF BALTIMORE, INC.

Recovering from surgery can frequently take several months. And this
is especially likely when there are complications, such as an infection.
But physical impairments while recuperating from surgery are not
evidence of a permanent disability. See, e.g., Gutridge, 153 F.3d at
901-02. Therefore, nothing in the nature of Pollard’s condition during
the time she worked for High’s suggested that she had a permanent
impairment or that she was not likely to make a full recovery.

Second, there is no evidence that Pollard’s impairment was
expected to be permanent or long-term during the relevant time period
in 1998. In fact, communications to High’s from Pollard and her per-
sonal physician, Dr. Brager, indicated that her condition was thought
to be only temporary and that Pollard would soon be able to resume
her full duties as an Area Supervisor. Doctors’ evaluations, which
indicate that an individual’s impairment is improving, are persuasive
evidence that the impairment is expected to be only temporary. See,
e.g., Mellon v. Fed. Express Corp., 239 F.3d 954, 956-57 (8th Cir.
2001); Heintzelman, 120 F.3d at 145.

Dr. Brager’s contemporaneous treatment notes and his orders based
on these notes explained that Pollard was expected to make a full
recovery. Brager’s notes documented Pollard’s improvement and pro-
gressively removed her work restrictions. For example, Dr. Brager’s
August 18, 1998 note stated that "overall [Pollard] is doing reason-
ably well." Brager went on to explain:

I feel that there is a good chance that after an initial "break
in" that she will be able to get back to the kind of work that
she had done in the past. However, it is not reasonable for
us to expect that she will be able to jump right back in to
fourteen hour days and lifting heavy items on a repetitive
basis. It is my recommendation that the patient go back to
work at no more than eight hours per day with no lifting
greater than 15 to 20 pounds and no repetitive bending.

Two weeks later, on September 4, 1998, Brager wrote another note,
indicating that Pollard was improving and removing some of his prior
restrictions on her activities. He wrote:

PIR cee A oe Nt bP

Patient is doing quite well with normal activities of daily
living. She is spending more time in and out of her car.

POLLARD Vv. HIGH’s OF BALTIMORE, INC. 9

Overall, I think there is no question that she is now ready
to go back to work at eight hours per day, and I think that
we can even increase her lifting limit to 25 pounds. I still do
not want her to do repetitive bending.

Brager also stated that he would see Pollard again in several weeks
to reevaluate her "for further return to normal duties at work."

On September 29, 1998, several days after Pollard’s return to work
as a store clerk, Brager wrote a third progress note again explaining
that Pollard continued to improve. Brager wrote that she had a "nor-
mal gait with good mobility throughout." And he removed Pollard’s
eight hour work restriction, stating, "I feel at this time [Pollard] is
ready to return to her regular work, unlimited hours, with the only
restriction being that she not lift more than 25 pounds or that she not
bend on a repetitive basis."

In addition to the information Brager provided to High’s, Dr.
Rosenthal, who monitored Pollard’s condition for the workers’ com-
pensation insurer, also reported Pollard’s progressive improvement
over time. Rosenthal rendered an early opinion in February 1998,
shortly after Pollard’s surgery, indicating that he had doubts about her
ability to return to work. However, Rosenthal modified his opinion as
he followed Pollard’s recovery. On June 26, 1998, after examining
Pollard, he stated that "Pollard is doing quite well." He explained: "I
believe that she can return to work as an area supervisor at the present
time; however, she will have some slight restrictions." Rosenthal con-
cluded by stating, "I believe that with time her symptoms will con-
tinue to improve and it is likely that in several months she may
improve enough to actually return to full duty at work." On July 22,
1998, after watching a videotape of Pollard doing various activities,
Rosenthal reaffirmed his conclusion that Pollard was improving.

Additionally, Pollard repeatedly communicated to High’s that she

was ready and able to return to full-time duty as an Area Supervisor.

And Pollard has admitted that, during her employment with High’s,
neither she nor any of her treating physicians or attorneys ever com-
municated to any High’s official that her physical impairment was
permanent. As the district court correctly noted, they could not have

FNaD eee eT SOUND ECO ED SOOO Ea

10a

10 POLLARD Vv. HIGH’s OF BALTIMORE, INC.

done so because there was no medical evidence at that time to support
a conclusion that Pollard’s condition was long-term or permanent.’

Pollard contends that nothing in her doctors’ reports specifically
stated that her impairment was temporary, and that Brager never lifted
all of her work restrictions, indicating that she had a permanent or
long-term impairment. We are unpersuaded. In the end, Pollard was
left with only the restrictions that she not lift more than twenty-five
pounds or bend repetitively. These mild limitations are not signifi-
cantly restricting. And we have consistently held that similar restric-
tions are not evidence of a permanent impairment that substantially
limits any major life activity under the ADA. See, e.g., Halperin, 128
F.3d at 200; Williams v. Channel Master Satellite Sys., Inc., 101 F.3d
346, 349 (4th Cir. 1996).

Pollard also seems to claim that because High’s observed that she
could not perform the modified duties of a store clerk for eight hours,
High’s should have recognized that she had a permanent impairment,
or at a minimum, an impairment of an indefinite duration. However,
in the same breath, Pollard argues that High’s should have allowed
her to return to her position as an Area Supervisor. This indicates that
she felt capable of performing an Area Supervisor’s duties, which
indisputably include filling in for store clerks. All tiat Pollard’s
inability to complete her shift as a store clerk indicated was that, con-
sistent with both the contemporaneous medical reports and Pollard’s

*However, on July 14, 2000, Dr. Brager changed his original opinion
and determined that Pollard was permanently disabled and had been
since January 1998. Contrary to Pollard’s assertion, Dr. Brager’s revised
opinion and the opinions of her hired vocational experts, based on that
2000 report, do not affect our analysis under the ADA because "the date
of an adverse employment decision is the relevant date for determining
whether a plaintiff is a ‘qualified individual with a disability.’"" EEOC v.
Stowe-Pharr Mills, Inc., 216 F.3d 373, 379 (4th Cir. 2000); see also Grif-
Sith v. Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., 135 F.3d 376, 380 (6th Cir. 1998). And as
the district court noted, there does not appear to be any “authority in the
case law interpreting the ADA to allow a medical practitioner’s nunc pro
tunc opinion to contradict his own contemporaneous opinion concerning
a patient’s disability in order to shore up a discrimination claim."

POLLARD v. HiGH’s OF BALTIMORE, INC. 11

own statements, Pollard needed a longer break-in period. It did not
indicate that her impairment was permanent.‘

Furthermore, Pollard immediately took a job with a car dealership
when she left High’s. This reinforces our conclusion that Pollard was
not substantially limited in the major life activity of working. In order
to be substantially limited in the major life activity of working, “one
must be precluded from more than one type of job, a specialized job,
or a particular job of choice." Sutton, 527 U.S. at 491-92. An individ-
ual must demonstrate that she is unable to work in a broad range of
jobs. Id.; see also 29 C.F.R. § 1630.2(j)(3)(i). And obtaining a new
job is evidence that an impairment is not substantially limiting. See,
e.g., Halperin, 128 F.3d at 200; Heintzelman, 120 F.3d at 145. As the
district court noted, Pollard’s immediate reemployment elsewhere
belies the assertion that she was "disabled" within the ADA’s defini-
tion or that her impairment was anything other than temporary during
the time of her employment at High’s.

‘Pollard claims that she has produced evidence indicating that High’s
knew that she was permanently disabled in 1998. However, this evidence
consists solely of a single handwritten note by Pollard’s vocational thera-
pist regarding a conversation he had with Sheehan about Pollard’s per-
formance as a store clerk. In that conversation, Sheehan allegedly said
that he was “not optimistic" about Pollard’s improvement. This isolated
statement is insufficient to contradict the overwhelming evidence from
Pollard’s doctors and Pollard herself that her condition was improving
and was only temporary.

‘Pollard also claims that High’s regarded her as having an impairment
that substantially limited her in the major life activity of working. See 42
U.S.C. § 12102(2)(C). In order to demonstrate that High’s regarded her
as disabled, Pollard must show that High’s entertained a misperception
about her condition. She must show that High’s mistakenly believed her
to have either a substantially limiting impairment that she did not have,
or a substantially limiting impairment when, in fact, her impairment was
nonlimiting. Sutton, 527 U.S. at 489; see also Haulbrook v. Michelin N.
Am., Inc., 252 F.3d 696, 703 (4th Cir. 2001). Pollard has failed to present
evidence to indicate that High’s regarded her as disabled. High’s would
not allow Pollard to resume her Area Supervisor position until she dem-
onstrated that she could work eight hours or more. But, as previously dis-
cussed, this was not done based on a faulty perception that she would
never return to that position. As the district court noted, the evidence
indicates that High’s believed Pollard’s "work limitations were tempo-
rary and that she would eventually, if not soon, return to her former
duties."

12a

12 POLLARD Vv. HIGH'S OF BALTIMORE, INC.

Of course, an impairment that is not substantially limiting under
the ADA definition of "disability" can still be a source of understand-
able concern for the individual affected. We do not make light of Pol-
lard’s surgery or the period of recuperation that followed it. However,
applying the protections of the ADA to temporary impairments, such
as Pollard’s, would dramatically expand the scope of the Act. See,
e.g., Halperin, 128 F.3d at 200. Congressional findings, enacted as
part of the ADA, require the conclusion that Congress did not intend
for the Act’s protections to extend to individuals with temporary
impairments. Congress found that "some 43,000,000 Americans have
one or more physical or mental disabilities." 42 U.S.C. § 12101(a)(1).
If Congress had intended temporary disabilities to be covered by the
Act, this number undoubtedly would have been much higher. Cf
Toyota, 122 S.Ct. at 691 (drawing same conclusion with respect to
extending the ADA to individuals with impairments that preclude the
performance of "some isolated, unimportant, or particularly difficult
manual task"); Sutton, 527 U.S. at 484-87 (drawing same conclusion
with respect to extending the ADA to individuals with correctable
physical limitations). Federal courts are simply not in the position to
extend the ADA without a directive from Congress, and we decline
to do so in this case.

Ill.

We next turn to Pollard’s state law claim that she was wrongfully
terminated in retaliation for filing a workers’ compensation claim.‘
See Adler v. Am. Standard Corp., 432 A.2d 464, 473 (Md. 1981); Md.
Code Ann. Lab. & Empl. § 9-1105. In order to establish this claim,
Pollard must show that she was discharged in the first place. Ordinar-
ily, an employee who resigns would not have a right of action for abu-
sive discharge. Beye v. Bureau of Nat'l Affairs, 477 A.2d 1197, 1201
(Md. Ct. Spec. App. 1984). However, it is sometimes necessary "to
discard form for substance" and the law therefore recognizes the con-
cept of "constructive discharge." Jd. Under Maryland law, the stan-
dard for measuring whether a resignation is actually a constructive
discharge is "whether the employer has deliberately caused or allowed

*Pollard also makes a claim for constructive discharge under the ADA,
but because we determined that Pollard was not disabled within the
meaning of the Act, we need not review this claim.

13a

POLLARD Vv. HIGH’S OF BALTIMORE, INC. 13

the employee’s working conditions to become so intolerable that a
reasonable person in the employee’s place would have felt compelled
to resign." /d. at 1203. By using strong words such as "deliberately,"
"intolerable," and "compelled," Maryland courts, like those in most
states, have set a high standard for constructive discharge claims.

Pollard cannot meet this high threshold. And High’s simply cannot
be said to have rendered Pollard’s working conditions intolerable.
High’s honored Pollard’s request to return to work. And it was hardly
remiss of an employer to ease an employee’s return to the workplace
after that employee had undergone back surgery. It is undisputed that
the Area Supervisor position Pollard wanted involved long hours,
often in excess of forty hours per week, extensive driving between
stores, and supervisory pressure in addition to physical labor and
occasionally filling in as a clerk. Pollard admits that she rarely, if
ever, was able to work more than five or six hours in a modified store
clerk position, so High’s was justified in its conclusion that she was
not yet ready to return to her Area Supervisor position and that she
needed a longer break-in period. If providing such a temporary break-
in period were impermissible, the law would be creating perverse
incentives for employers to force recuperating employees into posi-
tions prematurely, leading potentially to additional liability for the
employer and, most unfortunately, to considerable pain and relapses
for the employee.

Moreover, the conditions under which Pollard returned were hardly
intolerable. To the contrary, as the district court noted:

[Pollard] acknowledges that each time she informed Shee-
han of her need to depart early for the day because of dis-
comfort caused by her back, he never imposed upon her any
condition that she remain at work or suffer adverse conse-
quences. She does not assert she was denied the assistance
of her co-workers to implement the lifting and bending
restrictions imposed by Dr. Brager.

Pollard’s reduction in salary when she returned to work as a store
clerk does not reveal a deliberate attempt by High’s to make Pollard’s
working conditions intolerable. While there is some dispute about
how her pay was going to be handled during this interim period, there

Disks il AON eine th

14 POLLARD v. HIGH’S OF BALTIMORE, INC.

is no dispute that High’s believed its workers’ compensation insur-
ance carrier was going to pay Pollard the difference between her store
clerk and Area Supervisor salaries. And although Pollard alleges that
High’s should have known that there were problems relating to her
pay, there is no record that Pollard made a formal complaint about not
receiving the workers’ compensation benefits. Instead, Pollard quit
and took a position with a car dealership.

In allowing Pollard to return to work initially as a clerk for a lim-
ited period each day, High’s actions paralleled, in substance, the rec-
ommendations of Pollard’s doctors that she return to work with
restrictions that would be modified over time. The law does not
require a company to insist that an employee perform immediately at
pre-surgery levels. The hazards of such a course are obvious, and
High’s acted responsibly in not subjecting Pollard to them.’

IV.

For the foregoing reasons, we affirm the judgment of the district
court.

AFFIRMED

"Even if Pollard could proffer enough evidence to show a constructive
discharge, she fails to show a causal nexus between her alleged construc-
tive discharge and the filing of her workers’ compensation claim as
required by Adler. Pollard claims that Sheehan twice made negative
comments about the fact that she had hired a disability lawyer and that
these comments are enough to evidence retaliatory animus. However,
Sheehan’s two brief, off-hand comments about Pollard’s particular attor-
ney made seven months apart do not evidence retaliatory animus for fil-
ing a workers’ compensation claim.

15a

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF MARYLAND

MARY D. POLLARD, °
Plaintiff, * Civil Action No.:
AMD 99 CV 3455
+
v.
*
HIGH’S OF BALTIMORE, INC.,
*
Defendant.
k
+ * - © * a + om ; a

MEMORANDUM

Plaintiff, Mary Pollard, has brought this action
against her former employer, High’s of Baltimore, Inc.,
under the American with Disabilities Act, 42 U.S.C. § 12101
et seq., alleging that High’s discriminated against her by
failing to accommodate a disability, demoting her and
constructively discharging her. Pollard also alleges a
wrongful discharge claim under state law.' Now pending in
High’s motion for summary judgment. The issues have been
fully briefed and no hearing is necessary. For the reasons set
forth below, I shall grant High’s motion for summary
judgment.

I

' Pollard relies on the supplemental jurisdiction statute, 28
U.S.C. § 1367(a), in respect to her state law claim, but it
appears that jurisdiction may exist on the basis of diversity
of citizenship.

l6a

Pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c) summary judgment
is appropriate “if the pleadings, depositions, answers to
interrogatories, and admissions on file, together with the
affidavits, if any, show that there is no genuine issue as to
any material fact and that the moving party is entitled to
judgment as a matter of law.” Anderson v. Liberty Lobby,
Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 247 (1986). A fact is material for
purposes of summary judgment, if when applied to the
substantive law, it affects the outcome of the litigation. Jd. at
248. Summary judgment is also appropriate when a party
“fails to make a showing sufficient to establish the existence
of an element essential to that party’s case, and on which that
party will bear the burden of proof at trial.” Celotex Corp. v.
Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 322 (1986).

A party opposing a properly supported motion for
summary judgment bears the burden of establishing the
existence of a genuine issue of material fact. Anderson, 477
U.S. at 248-49. “When a motion for summary judgment is
made and supported as provided in [Rule 56] must set forth
specific facts showing that there is a genuine issue for trial.”
Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(e). See Celotex Corp., 477 U.S. at 324;
Anderson, 477 U.S. at 252; Shealy v. Winston, 929 F.2d
1009, 1012 (4 Cir. 1991). Of course, the facts, as well as
the justifiable inferences to be drawn therefrom, must be
viewed in the light most favorable to nonmoving party. See
Matsushita Elec. Ind. Co. v. Zenith Radio Corp., 475 U.S.
574, 587-88 (1986). The court, however, has an affirmative
obligation to prevent factually unsupported claims and
defenses from proceeding to trial. See Felty v. Graves-
Humphreys Co., 818 F.2d 1126, 1128 (4" Cir. 1987).

II

Viewing the evidence in the light most favorable to

Pollard, the material facts are as follows. High’s operates a

17a

chain of approximately 100 convenience stores. The chain is
managed by the Operations Manager, Timothy Sheehan.
The chain is divided into two districts of approximately fifty
stores, each managed by a District Manager who supervises
the work of several Area Supervisors. Each Area Supervisor
is responsible for ten to 15 stores. Each store is staffed by a
Store Manager or Assistant Manager and a Store Clerk.

The responsibilities of an Area Supervisor are varied.
Generally speaking, an Area Supervisor monitors and
assures the compliance of the stores within her area of
responsibility with all aspects of store operation. This
requires considerable amounts of time driving between the
stores in the assigned area. Though the parties dispute the
frequency with which an Area Supervisor is called upon to
do so, they agree that that an Area Supervisor is required

- from time to time to work the shifts of Store Clerks and/or

Managers who are unable to work. Accordingly, an Area
supervisor must be able to perform the duties (including the
physical tasks) of Sales Clerks, Assistant Managers and
Managers, but again, the quantum and frequency of physical
exertion required of an Area Supervisor are hotly disputed by
the parties. The parties agree that an Area Supervisor is
required to be on call 24 hours a day in case of emergencies
or alarm calls. The parties also agree that an Area
Supervisor typically works an average of greater than 40
hours per week, and often as many as 60 hours per week.

Upon her graduation from high school in 1985,
Pollard began working for High’s as a Store Clerk. She was
eventually promoted to an Area Supervisor under District
Manager Patricia Kelley’s direct supervision. Pollard was on
duty as an Area Supervisor when she injured her back in late
August 1997. She stopped working for approximately two

18a

weeks, returned to work and continued to work (in
considerable pain) until early December 1997. After
consulting with her personal physician, Dr. Myles Brager,
Pollard informed Sheehan and Kelley that she was scheduled
to undergo surgery to correct the painful disc problem in her
back.

Pollard underwent surgery in January 1998. In the
same month she filed a claim with the Maryland Workers’
Compensation Commission with the assistance of retained
counsel. Pollard’s recovery from back surgery was
substantially slowed by complications caused by a serious
infection to the wound.

In April 1998, Poliard was cleared to return to work
by Dr. Brager with the following conditions: that she be
limited to eight hour work days; that she be prohibited from
doing any repetitive lifting or any lifting of more than five
pounds; and that she be prohibited from driving from
extended periods of time. After receiving notice of these
conditions, High’s told Pollard that it did not have “light-
duty” for supervisors and that Pollard could not yet return to
work.”

Throughout May 1998 and June 1998, Pollard
participated in a “work-hardening” program with a physical

? During her period of convalescence and in connection with
her attempts to return to work. Pollard was dealing with
High’s_ workers’ compensation insurance carrier and
rehabilitation specialists retained by that insurer. Except as
to Pollard’s allegations regarding the carrier’s reduction in
her benefits checks once she returned to work, see infra note
5, High’s has not challenged Pollard’s attribution to it of the
actions of the insurance carrier or its subcontractors.

19a

therapist and she also consulted with vocational therapists.
The workers’ compensation insurer provided all of these
services. In June 1998, Dr. Mark Rosenthal, who monitored
Pollard’s progress for the workers’ compensation insurer
concluded that Pollard could return to work as an Area
Supervisor with restrictions. He informed Pollard that
High’s should be contacting her to make arrangements, but
after several weeks High’s had not contacted Pollard?

Pollard finally contacted High’s directly on August
25, 1998. In her conversation with Kelly, her District
Manager, Pollard made it clear that she was ready to return
to work. Kelly responded that she would look into the
matter and would get back to Pollard. Soon thereafter, a
vocational therapist contacted Pollard and arranged a
meeting between himself, Pollard and Pollard’s treating
physician, Dr. Brager. At that meeting, which occurred on
September 4, 1998, Dr. Brager adjusted slightly the
conditions he had established in April for Pollard’s return to

> Pollard grew frustrated with the lack of contact from
High’s. She interprets High’s inaction during July and
August 1998, together with certain statements by the
vocational therapist indicating that he was looking for a new
job for her, certain statements by Sheehan expressing
surprise that she had retained counsel to represent her in
connection with her workers’ compensation claim and
High’s insistence that she perform adequately as a Store
Clerk for full eight hour shifts as a condition of her
resumption of supervisor duties, as probative of High’s intent
to discriminate against her. I need not determine whether the
inference of intentional discrimination proposed by Pollard
on the basis of these facts would be sufficient to support a
prima facie case inasmuch as I have concluded, as discussed
in the text, that at the time of these events Pollard was not
entitled to protection under the ADA.

_

20a

work: Pollard was still prohibited from working more than
eight hours a day and she was still prohibited from repetitive
lifting, but the restriction on lifting was changed from no
more than five pounds to no more than 25 pounds.
Apparently, Dr. Brager also authorized Pollard to drive for
extended periods of time.

On September 18, 1998, Pollard, the therapist, Kelly
and Sheehan met to discuss Pollard’s return to work as
authorized by Dr. Brager. All present appear to
acknowledge that they discussed the possible means of
implementing Dr. Brager’s restrictions against heavy lifting
and repetitive bending. It was agreed that Pollard could use
the assistance of her coworkers and/or subordinates to handle
the more physically demanding tasks she would be required
to perform. |

The present dispute can be traced most directly to the
parties’ divergent versions of the plan of action which
resulted from the meeting of September 18, 1998. High’s
contends that at this meeting Pollard offered and Sheehan
agreed to implement Dr. Brager’s restrictions by permitting
Pollard to recommence work as a Store Clerk in High’s
Hereford, Maryland store. Specifically, High’s contends the
parties agreed that this arrangement would allow Pollard to
regain her strength (while performing the duties of a Store
Clerk) until she could resume her position (performing all
relevant duties) as an Area Supervisor.

Pollard has a different recollection of the meeting.
She asserts that in light of Dr. Brager’s eight hour restriction,
Sheehan was insistent that High’s would not permit her to
work “part-time” as an Area Supervisor. Accordingly,
Pollard contends, it was Sheehan who proposed that Pollard

2la

begin working as a Store Clerk to permit her to build up her
strength instead of allowing her to resume immediately her
duties as an Area Supervisor notwithstanding her eight hour
restriction.’ Pollard contends, finally, that she had no choice
but to accede to Sheehan’s proposal that she resume work as
a Store Clerk, as she had become convinced during the
meeting that compliance with Sheehan’s proposals was the
only way she would be permitted to return to her position as
an Area Supervisor (if indeed she had any chance of
returning to that position).

Pollard returned to work on September 23, 1998, as a
Store Clerk. She was paid $5.60 per hour, or approximately
- $12,000 per year, rather than the approximately $40,000 per
year she had previously earned as an Area Supervisor.>

* Sheehan, apparently believing that Pollard was still under
Dr. Brager’s restrictions to refrain from driving for extended
periods of time, also proposed that Pollard work in High’s
Hereford, Maryland store, which was the closest High’s store
to Pollard’s Hanover, Pennsylvania home. Pollard contends
that she never told Sheehan that she was still prohibited from
driving for long periods of time or that driving caused her
discomfort. She does not indicate that she corrected
Sheehan’s apparent misapprehension.

> The parties vigorously dispute the issue of how Pollard’s
pay was to be handled in view of the workers’ compensation
income she was receiving; High’s contends that it believed
that the workers’ compensation insurer would continue to
pay partial benefits so that her net income would not be
reduced when she returned to work. Indisputably, neither
High’s nor its insurer paid the difference between Pollard’s
earnings as a clerk and her customary earnings as an Area
Supervisor during the few weeks she worked at reduced pay.

22a

Pollard’s theory of the case is that she was effectively
“demoted” and that the circumstances of the “demotion” rise
to the level of a constructive discharge, apparently under
both the ADA and state law.

In any event, it is undisputed in the summary
judgment record that despite the prohibitions against heavy
lifting or repetitive bending, the physical demands of
working as a Store Clerk caused Pollard such pain that she
rarely if ever completed any of the eight hour shifts to which
she was assigned. Pollard seeks to bolster her claim of

According to Sheehan’s uncontroverted deposition
testimony, he spoke to the workers’ compensation insurer
and “they said to me that they were going to not pay her for
the amount of hours that she worked times her hourly rate.”
In other words, apparently, he believed the salary Pollard
earned as a Store Clerk would be deducted from her weekly
workers’ compensation benefit. In this way she would
experience no reduction in her net workers compensation
income during her “break-in period” after her surgery.
Apparently, two weeks after Pollard commenced working as
a Store Clerk, Sheehan learned additional information that
may have caused him to doubt his assumptions.

Pollard never complained to Sheehan about her
compensation as a Store Clerk or about the reduction in her
workers’ compensation check. She does not allege that she
complained to any High’s official about compensation.
Moreover, on October 22, 1998, Pollard’s workers’
compensation attorney raised several issues with High’s
attorney about Pollard’s work conditions, but her
compensation was not one of the problems mentioned. In
any event, Pollard quit (barely six weeks after returning to
work) before the issue of her compensation was properly
raised and any efforts to resolve that issue had been
undertaken.

ee

23a

discrimination by arguing that Sheehan purposefully insisted
that she work as a clerk (and complete the tasks requiring
constant standing and occasional bending those duties
entailed) even though, she contends, she could have
performed all of the (less physically demanding) duties of an
Area Supervisor by working a seven-day-per-week, eight-
hour-per-day schedule.

Approximately a week after Pollard returned to work,
on September 29, 1998, Dr. Brager lifted the eight hour
restriction. Pollard reported this information to Sheehan,
expecting he would permit her to return to her position as an
Area Supervisor. To Pollard’s surprise, however, Sheehan
demurred, insisting that Pollard must demonstrate her ability
to work an eight hour day as a Store Clerk before she could
return to her position as an Area Supervisor.

All told, Pollard worked as a Store Clerk for
approximately six weeks. She stopped working for High’s
on October 29, 1998. She informed her Store Manager that
she had obtained employment elsewhere and quit. Pollard’s
mother, a Store Manager at another High’s store, told High’s
that Pollard had taken a job with a car dealership in Hanover,
Pennsylvania.

III

Even accepting Pollard’s factual contentions as true,
as a matter of law, she is not entitled to disability
discrimination protection because she cannot satisfy the
ADA definition of a “qualified individual with a disability.”
Under the ADA, a qualified individual with a disability is
“an individual with a disability who, with or without
reasonable accommodation, can perform the essential
functions of the employment position that such individual

24a

holds or desires.” 42 U.S.C. §12111(8). “Disability” is
defined as “(1) A physical or mental impairment that
substantially limits one or more of the major life
activities...(2) A record of such an impairment; or (3) being
regarded as having such an impairment.”

1630.2(g).

29 CFR. §

“Working” is a “major life activity” 29 C.F.R. §

1630.2(i). The ADA regulations define “substantial limits”

as

(i) Unable to perform a major
life activity that the average
person in the _ general
population can perform; or (ii)
Significantly restricted as to
the condition, manner or
duration under which an
individual can perform a
particular major life activity as
compared to the condition,
manner, or duration under
which the average person in
the general population can
perform that same major life
activity.

29 C.F.R. § 1630.2(j)(1). Three factors must be considered
in determining whether an individual is substantially limited
in a major life activity:

The nature and severity of the impairment;

25a

(ii) | The duration or expected duration of the
impairment; and

(iii) | The permanent or long term impact, or the
expected permanent or long term impact of or
resulting from the impairment.

29 C.F.R. § 1630.2(j)(2).

Generally, a temporary impairment, such as a broken
limb or a period of months recuperating from surgery, does
not qualify as a disability. See, e.g., Gutridge v. Clure, 153
F.3d 898, 901-902 (8 Cir. 1998) (plaintiff with carpal
tunnel syndrome necessitating five separate surgeries and
recuperation periods when unable to work not disabled),
cert. denied sub nom. Gutridge v. Midland Computer, Inc.,
526 U.S. 1113 (1999); Heintzelman v. Runyon, 120 F.3d 143,
145 (8 Cir. 1997) (back injury which temporarily kept
plaintiff out of work, but from which her doctor expected
near full recovery, did not qualify as disability); Rogers v.
Int'l Marine Terminals, Inc., 87 F.3d 755, 759 (5" Cir. 1996)
(temporary disability recovering from ankle injury and
surgery not a “disability? under ADA); McDonald vy.
Pennsylvania Dept. of Public Welfare, 62 F.3d 92, 96 (3"
Cir. 1995) (plaintiff's inability to work for two months while
recuperating from abdominal surgery did not make her
disabled); Evans v. City of Dallas, 861 F.2d 846, 852 (5"
Cir. 1988) (inability to work due to knee surgery did not
qualify as handicap under Rehabilitation Act of 1973).

Application of the rule of these cases and a
dispassionate assessment of the “nature and severity” of her
impairment, the “duration or expected duration of the
impairment” and the “expected ... long term impact of” her

——_

26a

impairment, compel the conclusion that Pollard was not
“disabled” under the ADA. The undisputed record here
shows that during Pollard’s employment with High’s she
suffered a serious back injury which, together with a serious
infection following surgery, required her to remain out of
work for at least six months. However, there is no evidence
that the physical limitations arising from her back injury
were severely limiting or that at the relevant time they were
understood to be or expected to be permanent. To the
contrary, the communications to High’s from Pollard and her
treating physician indicated that her disability was temporary
and that she would be able to resume her full duties as Area
Supervisor in the not distant future. For example, Dr.
Brager’s August 18, 1998 notes explain:

I feel that there is a good
chance that after an_ initial
“break in” that she will be able
to get back to the kind of work
that she had done in the past.
However, it is not reasonable
for us to expect that she will be
able to jump right back in to
fourteen hour days and lifting
heavy items on a repetitive
basis. It is my
recommendation that the

patient go back to work at no
more than eight hours per day
with no lifting greater than 15
to 20 pounds and no repetitive
bending.

27a

High’s Reply, Ex. 3 (Myles D. Brager, M.D. Progress Note,
August 18, 1998). Two weeks later Dr. Brager wrote:

Patient is doing quite well with
normal activities of daily
living. She is spending more
time in and out of her car.
Overall, I think there is no
question that she is now ready
to go back to work eight hours
per-day, and I think we can
even increase her lifting limit
to 25 pounds. I still do not
want her to do repetitive
bending. We will do this for
several weeks. I will see her in
one month and re-evaluate her
at that time for future return to
normal duties at work.

High’s Reply, Ex. 4 (Myles D. Brager, M.D. Progress Note,
September 4, 1998). On September 23, 1998, Pollard went
back to work as a Store Clerk in the High’s store in
Hereford, Maryland. On September 29, 1998, Dr. Brager
wrote that Pollard’s physical examination continued to
improve and that she “reveal[ed] normal gait with good
mobility throughout.” He removed the eight hour work
restriction and allowed her to work “unlimited hours.” He
maintained the 15 pound lifting restriction and the
prohibition on repetitive bending. High’s Reply, Ex. 5
(Myles D. Brager, M.D. Progress Note, September 29,
1998).

28a

While there is evidence that the medical practitioner
retained by the workers’ compensation insurance carrier
rendered an early opinion which refutes that of Dr. Brager, it
is arguably itself internally contradictory® and that physician
clearly modifies his opinion as he follows Pollard’s recovery
from surgery. In June 1998, for example, after he examined
Pollard, he concluded:

I believe that she can return to
work as an area supervisor at
the present time; however, she
will have some _ slight
restrictions [as detailed in Dr.
Brager’s note]....I believe that
with time her symptoms will
continue to improve and it is
likely that in several months
she may improve enough to
actually return to full duty
work.

Pollard Resp., Ex. 4 (Dr. Mark Rosenthal, Orthopaedic Note,
June 26, 1998). In July 1998, after viewing a videotape of
Pollard doing various activities, Dr. Rosenthal reaffirmed his
June conclusions. Thus, by the time Pollard returned to
work in September 1998, Dr. Rosenthal was expressing the
opinion that Pollard’s physical condition would soon
improve to the degree that she could return to full duty work
without restrictions. Indeed, Pollard effectively admitted
that during her employment with High’s she never
communicated to High’s that her injury or impairment was

® See Pollard Resp. Ex. 4 (Dr. Mark Rosenthal, Orthopaedic
Note, February 9, 1998).

29a

permanent. High’s Reply p.3 n.3 (citing Defendant’s
Request to Admission No. 5).

To overcome this evidence of the then transitory
(even if serious) nature of her impairment, Pollard seeks to
rely upon a July 14, 2000, opinion of Dr. Brager that she is
“permanently disabled and had been since at least January
1998.”’ As indicated above, however, this “retrospective”
opinion is_ contradicted by Dr. Brager’s own
contemporaneous notes concerning Pollard’s then current
and expected future capabilities at the time she was working
at High’s. Moreover, the record shows that she left her job
with High’s to work at a car dealership on or about October
29, 1998. Thus, during the relevant time period while she
was employed by High’s, as far as anyone knew or expected,
she suffered from only a temporary impairment requiring
mild limitations on her work activities and thus, she did not
qualify as disabled under the ADA.®

’ Dr. Brager’s July 2000 opinion was: “[P]laintiff is on a
permanent basis, significantly restricted, as compared to the
average person in each of the activities of standing, lifting,
bending, stooping, squatting, kneeling and remaining in one
position; that, on a permanent basis, plaintiff should engage
in no prolonged standing or sitting, no lifting of more than
20 pounds on an occasional basis, no repetitive bending,
stooping, squatting, or kneeling; and that further surgery will
not benefit plaintiff.” I am aware of no authority in the case
law interpreting the ADA to allow a medical practitioner’s
nunc pro tunc opinion to. contradict his own
contemporaneous opinion concerning a patient’s disability in
order to shore up a discrimination claim.

* it is clear, as well, that Pollard did not have “a record of
such an impairment,” 29 C.F.R. § 1630.2(g)(2), since the
medical records quoted above indicate that her physical

30a

Even if I were to disregard this record, however, and
conclude that Pollard had generated a dispute of material fact
as to whether the “nature and severity,” the “duration or
expected duration,” and the “expected ... long term impact
of her impairment entitled Pollard to ADA protection as of
fall 1998, she would still not qualify as disabled under the
ADA because her immediate reemployment elsewhere
shows she was not “substantially limited” in her ability to
work. The ADA regulations provide:

impairment was expected to be temporary and that her
physician was permitting increasingly more strenuous
activity. A contrary interpretation would permit any person
who undergoes surgery to claim the protection of the ADA.
Likewise, there is no evidence to create a factual dispute that
High’s “regarded [Pollard] as having such an impairment.”
| 29 C.F.R. § 1630.2(g)(3). High’s was not willing to let
Pollard resume her Area Supervisor position until she had
demonstrated that she could work eight hours or more, but
there is no evidence to indicate that High’s management did
not believe that her work limitations were temporary and that
she would eventually, if not soon, return to her former duties.
Pollard’s unhappiness with the pace of her return to full
duties as an Area Supervisor is not probative of her ADA
claim on the theory that she was “regarded as” disabled
under ADA. In this regard, the parties’ dispute over whether
the Store Clerk position or the Area Supervisor position was
the more physically demanding is not material to the issue of
whether Pollard was “disabled” within the contemplation of
the ADA in fall 1998. Federal anti-discrimination statutes
simply do not impose a requirement on employers that they
act wisely or even rationally, but only that they not act
discriminatorily. Ct. Harvey v. Anheuser Busch, Inc., 38
F.3d 968, 973 (8"" Cir. 1994) (‘Federal courts do not sit as a
super-personnel department that reexamines an entity’s
business decisions”).

3la

The term substantially limits
means significantly restricted
in the ability to perform either
a Class of jobs or a broad range
of jobs in various classes as
compared to the average
person having comparable
training, skills and abilities.
The inability to perform a
single, particular job does not
constitute a substantial
limitation in the major life
activity of working.

29 C.F.R. § 1630.2(j)(3)(1). The regulations also allow
consideration of the following factors_in determining
whether an individual is substantially limited in the major
life activity of “working”:

(A) The geographical area to which the individual
has reasonable access;

(B) The job from which the individual has been
disqualified because of an impairment, and
the number and types of jobs utilizing similar
training, knowledge, skills or abilities, within
that geographical area, from which the
individual is also disqualified because of the

- impairment...

(C) The job from which the individual has been
disqualified because of an impairment, and
the number and types of other jobs not
utilizing similar training, knowledge, skills or

32a

abilities, within that geographical area, from
which the individual is also disqualified
because of the impairment....

29 C.E.R. § 1630.2(j)(3)(ii).

These indicia fatally undermine Pollard’s claim that
she was “substantially limited.” The fact that Pollard left her
job at High’s and immediately began to work at a car
dealership in Hanover, Pennsylvania belies the assertion that
she was “disabled” as defined by the ADA during the time of
her employment with High’s. The uncontested fact indicates
that Pollard had access to a geographical area which included
Hanover (indeed she lived there), and that there were jobs
there that she was qualified for and physically able to
perform.”

® While Pollard was working at High’s during the period
following her surgery, she was unable to work long hours,
and usually could not even complete a full eight hour shift,
even after her doctor had removed any limitation on the
number of hours she could work. Pollard argues that prior to
her injury she was able to minimize the occasions on which
she was required to cover for absentee Store Clerks or Store
Managers under her supervision through the development of
good relationships with her subordinates and __ proper
planning. She does not contend however, that she thus
eliminated the requirement. Moreover, while her method
may have mitigated her need to work as a Store Clerk or
Manager in the past, it does not in any way serve to remove
from the Area Supervisor job qualification that she be able
to, if necessary, work as a Store Clerk or Manager when no
replacement is available. Given that Pollard was out of work
for nine months, and given the high turnover of High’s
employees, it is likely that Pollard would require some time
to once again establish the requisite relationships with new

33a

Thus, even though it was not required to do so under
the ADA, the record shows that High’s was willing to
“accommodate” Pollard during her period of impairment by
allowing her to work as a Store Clerk with reduced duties
(no heavy lifting or repetitive bending) and flexible hours.
Pollard does not deny that she did not communicate her
dissatisfaction with the accommodations to High’s
officials.'° Moreover, she clearly did not allow herself
sufficient time in the Store Clerk position to work her way
back to an Area supervisor position; that is, she failed
repeatedly to complete a full eight hour shift. Instead, after
six weeks as a Store Clerk, she unilaterally terminated her
employment with High’s and went to work elsewhere.

For the reasons, I conclude as a matter of law that
during the fall of 1998 Pollard was not a “qualified
individual with a disability” under 42 U.S.C. § 12111(8).
Accordingly, she was not entitled to ADA protection during
her employment with High’s and I shall grant summary
judgment to High’s on the ADA claim.

IV
Pollard’s state law claim likewise fails as a matter of

law. Pollard alleges that she was discharged in retaliation for
filing a workers’ compensation claim. Such a discharge

employees to reduce her need to cover for them as required
by the job description.

0 The one exception is that Pollard raised some of the issues
she has raised in this lawsuit via a letter from her attorney to
High’s attorney on October 22, 1998. However, she quit on
October 29, 1998, and therefore never determined what
efforts High’s might make to redress her concerns.

34a

would violate a clear mandate of public policy, Md. Code
Ann. Lab. & Empl. § 9-1105, and would constitute an
abusive discharge under Maryland law. Ewing v. Koppers
Co., 312 Md. 45, 49, 537 A.2d 1173, 1175 (1988).
However, Pollard has not proffered evidence generating a
factual issue that she was discharged. Rather, by her own
admission, she quit. Even if Maryland recognized cause of
action for constructive abusive discharge,'! and Pollard cites

1! Under some federal nondiscrimination statutes, a

constructive discharge occurs “when an employer creates
intolerable working conditions in a deliberate effort to force
the employee to resign.” Carter v. Ball, 33 F.3d 450, 459

(4" Cir. 1994); Johnson v. Shalala, 991 F.2d 126, 131 (4"

Cir. 1993) (citing Bristow v. Daily Press, Inc., 770 F.2d
1251, 1255 (4" Cir. 1985)), cert. denied, 513 U.S. 806
(1994). “A plaintiff alleging constructive discharge must ...+
prove two elements: deliberateness of the employer’s action,

and intolerability of the working conditions.” Bristow, 770

F.2d at 1255 (emphasis added), cert. denied 475 U.S. 1082

(1986); see also Martin v. Cavalier Hotel Corp., 48 F.3d

1343, 1354 (4™ Cir. 1995); Johnson, 991 F.2d at 131. The

determination of whether the employee’s working conditions

are intolerable is based on the objective standard of whether
a reasonable person in the employee’s position would have

felt compelled to resign. See Munday v. Waste Management
of N. Am. Inc., 126 F.3d 239, 244 (4" Cir. 1997), cert.

denied, 522 U.S. 1116 (1998); Bristow, 770 F.2d at 1255.

The Fourth Circuit has acknowledged that the “traditional

standard of constructive discharge ... does not neatly

translate to the context” of failure to accommodate claims.

See Johnson, 991 F.2d at 131-32. As I mention in the text,

there is no authority for the proposition that the Maryland

Court of Appeals would apply these standards to state law

claims. In any event, no reasonable fact finder could

conclude that these standards are satisfied by the available

evidence in this case.

35a

no cases to support this theory, she has not proffered
evidence to create a factual issue as to whether her working
conditions were purposefully made so intolerable that she
was forced to quit.

Pollard concedes that Area Supervisors are required
~ from time to time to cover the shifts of absentee Store Clerks
and Store Managers. She also acknowledges that after her
return from surgery, she rarely if ever completed an eight
hour work day as a Store Clerk in the Hereford store. She
acknowledges that each time she informed Sheehan of her
need to depart early for the day because of discomfort caused
by her back, he never imposed upon her any condition that
she remain at work or suffer adverse consequences. She
does not assert that she was denied the assistance of her co-
workers to implement the lifting and bending restrictions
imposed by Dr. Brager. These facts undercut her
constructive discharge claim. Apart from these allegations
Pollard does not claim that she was otherwise mistreated by
High’s although she mentions some friction with employees
at the store to which she was assigned and that she felt
humiliated by High’s insistence that she work as a clerk prior
to resuming her supervisor duties. Thus, while Pollard did
file a workers’ compensation claim in January 1998, the
record reveals little more than that she left her job nine
months later. Accordingly, I shall grant summary judgment
as to the abusive discharge claim.

Vv

For the reasons set forth above, defendant’s motion

Re ae
36a

for summary judgment shall be granted. An order follows.

Filed: November 21, 2000

ANDRE M. DAVIS
United States District Judge

37a

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF MARYLAND

MARY D. POLLARD, -

Plaintiff, * Civil Action No.:

AMD 99 CV 3455
*

¥.

HIGH’S OF BALTIMORE, INC.,

Defendant.

* * * * *

ORDER

*
*
*
*

In accordance with the foregoing Memorandum, it is
this 21 day of November, 2000, by the United States
District Court for the District of Maryland ORDERED

(1) That the defendant’s motion for summary
judgment is GRANTED and JUDGMENT IS ENTERED IN
FAVOR OF THE DEFENDANT; and further

(2) That the Clerk of the Court shall CLOSE
THIS CASE and TRANSMIT copies of this Order and the
foregoing Memorandum to counsel of record.

ANDRE M. DAVIS
United States District Judge

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386015_0018%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
