# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — R. W. Docks & Slips v. Wisconsin

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_2531%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2001
- **Citation:** 534 U.S. 1041

## Text

(\¥ "iitee
O01 520 SEP 25 2008
| BPrICEOFTRETI nnn

See

In The
Supreme Court of the United States

+

R.W. DOCKS & SLIPS,

Petitioner,

STATE OF WISCONSIN and WISCONSIN
DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES,

«

Respondents.

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The Supreme Court Cf Wisconsin

+

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

+

Jason W. WHITLEY
Counsel of Record
NovitzkE, Gust,
SemprF & WHITLEY
314 Keller Ave. N.
Ste. 399
Amery, Wisconsin 54001
Telephone: 715-268-6130
Facsimile: 715-268-7890

Don Paut Novitzke
Of Counsel
NovitzkE, Gust,
Semper & WHITLEY
314 Keller Ave. N.
Ste. 399
Amery, Wisconsin 54001
Telephone. 715-268-6130

Davip J. BEDERMAN
Of Counsel
GAMBRELL HALL
Atlanta, Georgia
30322-2770
Telephone: 404-727-6822

Bruce L. Rasmussen
Of Counsel
2116 2nd Ave.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
55404
Telephone: 612-874-7071

Counsel for Petitioner

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

“Th

~~

QUESTIONS PRESENTED
I.

Is the public trust doctrine a “background principle” of
state property law as to always be a complete defense to a
regulatory taking claim?

If.

Are individual condominium units to be regarded each as
the relevant parcel in the “takings fraction,” for purposes
both of the categorical rule of Lucas v. South Carolina
Coastal Council and the balancing test of Penn Central
Transportation Co. v. City of New York?

li

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIOINS PRESEN ESO? 6c. ccnesksadisaaewamoncns i
TABLE OF AUEPROIREE Wee soso cea cnacdathosenentes iii
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI............ 1
OPINIONS AND JUDGMENT BELOW ............. 1
FURTSORCTOON ..... ccc0vkendicbicda Mens vennuasaee s 1
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AT ISSUE ....... 2
STATEMENT OF THE CASE.............--0++0005: 2
A. ENOTROM FIGs 5 hss Ccd nd ewaeeeaslawsemss 2
B. FACTUAL BACKGRONIINGD 65 scccssinnwdseces 3
C. JUDICIAL BACKGROUND? on csccsccducnpiece 7
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ........... 10

I.

A TAKING CAN OCCUR EVEN WHEN THE
UNDERLYING REGULATORY ACTION IS BASED
UPON THE PUBLIC TRUST DOCTRINE......... 10

Il.

WHETHER THE REFUSAL TO ALLOW CONSTRUC-
TION OF 71 SEPARATE CONDOMINIUM UNITS
IS A CATEGORICAL TAKING UNDER LUCAS OR
PARTIAL TAKING UNDER PENN CENTRAL .... 17

COINCLATGIUIN 6.0 can civssnceuxnaebap eagelaiebess 22

a ee

iil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases
Boston Waterfront Dev. Corp. v. Commonwealth, 393
N.E.2d 356 (Mase. 1979) 2... .ccccrcccccccccccccess 13
Concrete Pipe & Prods. v. Constr. Laborers Pension
Trust, S086 U.S. 602 (1993). ....ccccsccccccccccceces 21
East Cape May Associates v. New Jersey, 693 A.2d
114 (N.J. Super. 1997). .........ccceeeeeeeeceeeeees 19
Eberle v. Dane County Bd. Of Adjustment, 227
Wis.2d 609, 595 N.W.2d 730 (1999)..........---4.- 17
Florida Rock Industries, Inc. v. United States, 18 F.3d
BIOS COG. Cie. T9DE)... occ cccccccsccccccecccccacccs 21
Gillen v. City of Neenah, 219 Wis.2d 806, 580
SRE ME CRUUED conse ccciccsscdersecsssstbcceces 11
Good v. United States, 39 Fed. Cl. 81 (1997)..........17
Illinois Central R.R. Co. v. Illinois, 146 U.S. 387
NG iiees da dbg whew idseesensseusciceudedcsenss 13

Kaiser Aetna v. United States, 444 U.S. 164 (1979)..... 17

Keystone Bituminous Coal Assn. v. DeBenedictis, 480

EE, ch Givcedseketeacrecs iheeeaneoenoe 19
Loveladies Harbor, Inc. v. United States, 28 F.3d 1171

CE Ds cca cneccasedetcccssarscsceccasencs 19
Lucas v. South Carolina Coastal Council, 505 U.S.

SE MEER Sa cc encccdvcdscnacciscccccscssvecs passim
McQueen v. South Carolina Coastal Council, 340 S.C.

Ge isi d shad cddu ks Caveussesdvccccasvesess 19

Muench v. Public Serv. Comm'n, 261 Wis. 492, 53
CP UED ccc ctsewesdsccdencereses 10, 12, 13

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
National Audubon Society v. Superior Court (Mono
Lake), 658 P.2d 709 (Cal. 1983) ........cccccssccess 13
Oneida County v. Converse, 173 Wis.2d 78, 496
IN.W2G 326 (Ct. App. T9RZ). 2 occ ccscccsccsssveness 11
Orion Corp. v. Washington, 747 P.2d 1062 (Wash.
1987), cert. denied, 486 U.S. 1022 (1988)........... 13

Palazzolo v. Rhode Island, 121 S.Ct. 2448 (2001)
EEE TTP Pe eC ee Terre 15, 16, 17, 20, 21, 22

Palm Beach Isles Association v. United States, 208
ae See Ce, Ge Bek 6 ave csssnctenenscstss 16

Penn Central Transportation Co. v. City of New York,
458 US. TOG CIGTED ocak cccccscccnescsasseccces passim

Pennsylvania Coal Co. v. Mahon, 260 U.S. 393
CRUE hk cca cccnssscciccsendbiasededhieesiktvdee 11, 14

R.W. Docks & Slips v. State, 2000 WI App. 183, 238
Wis.2d 182, 617 N.W.2d 519 (Ct. App. 2000) ....... 1

R.W. Docks & Slips v. State, 2001 WI 73, 244 Wis.2d
497, G2B W.W2G TEL CRG) ooo ec cccccenscns ly Fo We ha

R.W. Docks and Slips v. Department of Natural
Resources, 145 Wis.2d 854, 429 N.W.2d 86 (Wis.
App. BGGB) 6. oc cccccnvtvcnaccetcecsccstecsecsensas 7

Sea Cabins on the Ocean v. City of North Myrtle
Beach, 345 S.C. 418 (2001)...... bons caeenbnnesna ade 19

State v. Deetz, 66 Wis.2d 1, 224 N.W.2d 407 (1974)....11

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES —- Continued

Page

State v. Trudeau, 139 Wis.2d 91, 408 N.W.2d 337

PROT voc ccccdenancosonscnsunacssehecketeasdzaecs 11
Vermont v. Central Vermont Ry., 571 A.2d 1128 (Vt.

Peer rrr rr rrr Tr rere er rT er Tre 13
Volkema v. Department of Natural Resources, 542

N.W.2d 282 (Mich. App. 1996), cert. denied, 525

UD. - 1008 (3906) oc cc cccacvccdacsssovsduswenas¥ees 19
Zealy v. City of Waukesha, 201 Wis.2d 365 N.W.2d

BZD CIDDE) conc cvcccncvescccosscnasencagguaves teens 17
CONSTITUTIONS
SS. Camel, epee. Fo os icccsspivaccnnvandaes 2, 8, 3, 21
CEE Cat aed, FE Ss cn ca cde unos ed bhedkaveneas 2, 8
Wie. Comet. Axt. EA, G06: Bin ccccvvvccrsscssinsisesen a 32
Wad, Comet. Ast: £, ones TB. icc cvcaeartaacrratawsseesree 8
STATUTES
2B UGC. © UBT) aac ccddshcedececsccavevas ssrncsnes 1
OTHER AUTHORITIES
John E. Fee, Unearthing the Denominator in Regula-

tory Taking Claims, 61 U. Cui. L. Rev. 1535, 1557

Liege POEREER EET ECPOTT CLEP P Cee ete eer eee 19
Joseph L. Sax, Takings, Private Property and Public

Rights, 81 Yate L.J. 149 (1971)........-- eee eee eens 13

Takings and the Police Power, 74 Yate L.J. 36 (1964) .... 13

on mew Oe ee en . . ans Cg Rwy ~~ . o-+ «ee

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

R.W. Docks and Slips respectfully petitions for a writ
of certiorari to review a decision of the Supreme Court of
the State of Wisconsin.

OPINIONS AND JUDGMENT BELOW

The opinion of the Supreme Court of Wisconsin is
reported as R.W. Docks & Slips v. State, 2001 WI 73, 244
Wis.2d 497, 628 N.W.2d 781 (2001). The opinion is repro-
duced and attached to this petition as Appendix pages
1-17. (App. 1-17)

The decision of the Wisconsin Court of Appeals is
reported as R.W. Docks & Slips v. State, 2000 WI App. 183,
238 Wis.2d 182, 617 N.W.2d 519 (Ct. App. 2000); it is
reproduced and attached as Appendix pages 18-24. (App.
18-24) The decision of the Bayfield County Circuit Court
(Wisconsin) is unpublished. The Circuit Court Order and
Judgment and a partial transcript of the Decision is repro-
duced and attached as Appendix pages 25-31. (App.
25-31)

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Wisconsin Supreme Court was
filed on June 28, 2001. (App. 1) That decision was a final
judgment not subject to further review by any court save
the Supreme Court of the United States. This Court has
jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a).

+

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AT ISSUE

The Fifth Amendment to the United States Constitu-
tion provides in pertinent part: “nor shall private prop-
erty be taken for public use without just compensation.”

Section 1 of the Fourteenth Amendment to the United
States Constitution provides in pertinent part: “nor shall
any State deprive any person of life, liberty, or property,
without due process of law.”

Article IX, sec. 1 of the Wisconsin Constitution
adopts verbatim the Northwest Ordinance of 1787 and
provides: “The state shall have concurrent jurisdiction on
all rivers and lakes bordering on this state so far as such
rivers or lakes shall form a common boundary to the state
and any other state or territory now or hereafter to be
formed, and bounded by the same; and the river Missis-
sippi and the navigable waters leading into the Missis-
sippi and St. Lawrence, and the carrying places between
the same, shall be common highways and forever free, as
well to the inhabitants of the state as to the citizens of the
United States, without any tax, impost or duty therefore.”
(This provision is commonly referred to as the Public
Trust Doctrine.)

+

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
A. INTRODUCTION

The Petitioner, R.W. Docks & Slips (“R.W. Docks” or
“Docks”) is a general partnership in the business of
developing recreational marinas. (App. 3) In 1969, R.W.
Docks began the development of Port Superior Marina in

DoE ee RES it lat SMT ME RDS RE PRL HE ites be

Bayfield, Wisconsin. The marina was designed to be a
deep water sailboat harbor consisting of 272 boat slips
with associated on-land infrastructure. (App. 32-34)

The marina and infrastructure were built with the
approval of the Army Corps of Engineers and the Wis-
consin Department of Natural Resources (DNR). (App.
32-34) As the marina development neared completion,
R.W. Docks needed a final dredging permit to facilitate
construction of the iast 71 slips. (App. 3-4)

After eighteen years of cooperation, the Wisconsin
Department of Natural Resources denied the final permit
in order to protect a small emergent weed bed that had
grown behind the breakwater. (App. 35; App. 3-4) The
subject weed bed would never have grown except for the
sheltering effect of the breakwater built by R.W. Docks
and approved by the DNR. (App. 1-2) Thereafter, R.W.
Docks brought an inverse condemnation action against
the State of Wisconsin and the Wisconsin Department of
Natural Resources.

Under the guise of the public trust doctrine, the
courts of the State of Wisconsin held that R.W. Docks
does not have a cognizable property interest which can be
unconstitutionally taken. (App. 12) As a result, the public
has gained the benefit of one acre of aquatic vegetation at
the expense of more than one million of R.W. Dock’s
dollars. |

B. FACTUAL BACKGROUND

1. This matter arises from a Wisconsin trial court
decision granting summary judgment in favor of the

Respondents, State of Wisconsin and the Wisconsin
Department of Natural Resources (DNR). The relevant
facts are undisputed. (App. 3) An illustration depicting
Port Superior Marina is reproduced in the Appendix at
page 37. The shaded areas on Docks #4 and #5 consist of
the 71 boat slips which are the subject of the petitioner’s
claim. (App. 37) With the exception of shaded areas on
Docks #4 and #5, all depicted structures are currently in
existence. (App. 3; 32-35)

2. In 1968, R.W. Docks applied to the Army Corps of
Engineers for a permit to construct a breakwater and boat
harbor in Pikes’s Bay of Lake Superior in Bayfield, Wis-
consin. (App. 33) At the same time R.W. Docks applied to
the DNR for a permit to construct a breakwater and boat
harbor, the DNR was fully apprized of the plaintiff’s plan
to install sailboat docks in the entire sheltered area. (App.
33) In 1969, the DNR granted the plaintiff a permit to
construct a breakwater sufficient to provide a protected
harbor for a marina. (App. 33) The Army Corps of Engi-
neers also granted the necessary permit for the construc-
tion of the breakwater and boat harbor. (App. 33)
Thereafter, construction of the marina moved steadily
forward. As needed, R.W. Docks applied to the Wisconsin
DNR for a contract to dredge material from the bed of
Lake Superior. (App. 35)

The initial construction phase consisted of the break-
water, four and one half docks containing 201 boat slips,
a legislated shoreline (seawall), a lagoon, pool, racquet
club, tennis court, wells and water system, sewage treat-
ment plant, lift station and sewer laterals and connec-
tions. (App. 33-34) Docks invested heavily in this
infrastructure to build a marina capable of supporting

gl

272 deep water sailing vessels. (App. 34) R.W. Docks
planned to recover the cost of these investments by
developing and selling the entire 272 boat slips. (App. 34)

In 1971, during the construction phase, a dispute
ensued between the plaintiff and the DNR over whether
the lagoon was located upland or on the lake bed. (App.
33-34) R.W. Docks assumed the lake’s natural shoreline
was the actual shoreline, while the DNR asserted that the
actual shoreline was located somewhere inland of the
natural shoreline. This dispute jeopardized the construc-
tion of Docks #4 and #5. (App. 33-34)

In resolving the dispute, R.W. Docks explained that it
was necessary to own land abutting the planned position-
ing of docks #4 and #5 in order to complete construction
of the marina. (App. 33-34) Therefore, the DNR agreed to
allow R.W. Docks to construct a legislated shoreline in the
upland area north of the lagoon and a quay, south of the
lagoon, on the lake bed which would facilitate access to
docks #4 and #5. (App. 33-34) The purpose of the quay
was to secure and provide access to docks #4 and #5.
(App. 33-34)

3. In 1977, the marina was converted to a condomin-
ium under Wisconsin law and recorded in the Bayfield
County Register of Deeds. (App. 34; App. 38-44) A partial
reproduction of the Condominium Association docu-
ments are attached to this petition as Appendix pages
38-44. The entire document is part of the lower court
record and is a public document accessible through the
Bayfield County Wisconsin Register of Deeds volume 307
of Records, pages 337-429.

The condominium units consist of 272 separate and
distinct boat slip units which includes the 71 slips at
issue. (App. 44) Each condominium unit was numbered,
1-272, and consisted of a floating boat slip and an
undivided interest in the common areas and marina facil-
ities. (App. 38-44) Two hundred and one of the units were
developed and sold prior to the DNR’s denial of the
permit necessary to complete the remaining 71 units on
docks #4 and #5. (App. 34)

4. The initial revenue from the sale of the first 201
units was used to pay for the breakwater, the existing
docks and the on-land infrastructure. (App. 34) However,
the revenue from these 201 units was not sufficient to
recapture the costs incurred in constructing the marina.
(App. 34) R.W. Docks, to date, has lost in excess of one
million dollars on the marina development. (App. 34) The
remaining 71 units have a combined value of approxi-
mately $1.5 million. (App. 35)

Port Superior Marina was developed on an incremen-
tal basis as demand for units warranted. For a period of
eighteen years, R.W. Docks would apply to the Army
Corps of Engineers for a permit to dredge and construct
floating docks and then, after receiving the federal per-
mit, contract with DNR to remove materials from the lake
bed. (App. 35; App. 3)

The DNR would routinely enter contracts with the
plaintiff for dredging which required only a nominal cash
payment, posting of a bond, and a proper disposal of
dredging spoils. (App. 35) The plaintiff complied with
this regulatory scheme and relied on it in the develop-
ment of the marina. (App. 35).

Sa BSR LT Giaet oR STF

lh ARP PRUE DE MNS Me MX ly SAAD ote ee

‘Set

“ Tee ee

In 1983, Docks applied to the DNR to dredge 20,000
cubic yards of material from the lake bed to facilitate the
completion of docks #4 and #5. Docks #4 and #5 were to
be anchored on the quay pursuant to the 1971 agreement
with the DNR. (App. 33-34) In a departure from its pre-
vious practice, the DNR, in 1986, refused to allow the
requested dredging. (App. 3; App. 35)

C. JUDICIAL BACKGROUND

1. This present litigation arises from the DNR’s 1986
denial of the final permit necessary to complete the
marina. The basis for the DNR’s refusal was that the
dredging would result in the destruction of a small emer-
gent weed bed that came into existence as a result of the
calming effect of the breakwater constructed by R.W.
Docks. (App. 1) But “[TJhe small emergent weed bed
would not have ‘emerged’ at all were it not for the
calming effect of a breakwater the developer had built in
the early stages of the project. The presence of the emer-
gent weed bed prompted the DNR to block the devel-
oper’s construction of the last set of boat slips in the
marina...” (App. 1-2; R.W. Docks & Slips v. State, 2001
WI 73, 244 Wis.2d 497, 628 N.W.2d 781 (2001)).

In a previous action, R.W. Docks appealed the DNR’s
1986 denial. After a series of exhaustive administrative
appeals, Wisconsin Circuit Court reviews and a Wiscon-
sin Court of Appeals’ decision, R.W. Docks and Slips v.
Department of Natural Resources, 145 Wis.2d 854, 429
N.W.2d 86 (Wis. App. 1988), R.W. Docks was ultimately
and finally denied the necessary dredging permit which

would facilitate the construction of the final 71 slips.
(App. 4)

2. On January 4, 1999, the plaintiff filed this present
inverse condemnation action in Bayfield County, Wiscon-
sin, alleging a taking of property without just compensa-
tion in violation of Article I, sec. 13 of the Wisconsin
Constitution and the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendment of
the Constitution of the United States. (App. 25)

On March 18, 1999, the Respondents, State of Wiscon-
sin and Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources filed
a motion for summary judgment seeking dismissal of the
complaint. (App. 25) On October 19, 1999, the Bayfield
County. Circuit Court granted summary judgment in
favor of the State and DNR. (App. 25-31) The Circuit
Court held that the denial of the permit was not an
unconstitutional taking because: 1) the right to build the
additional boat slips was not part of the plaintiff's title
pursuant to the public trust doctrine; 2) even if the plain-
tiff had a property right, such right was subject to the
public trust doctrine; and 3) the plaintiff retained consid-
erable practical use of the property and there is no evi-
dence showing adverse economic impact resulting from
state action. (App. 4, 25-30)

3. R.W. Docks filed a timely appeal to the Wisconsin
Court of Appeals. (App. 18) That court affirmed, stating
that Docks maintained the benefit of all or substantially
all of its property. In addition, the Court of Appeals
concluded that Docks assumed the risk of loss inherent in
commencing a project without all necessary permits, and
thus did not suffer a taking of property.

4. R.W. Docks’ timely petition for review to the
Wisconsin Supreme Court was accepted and on June 28,
2001, the Supreme Court of Wisconsin affirmed the lower
court’s decision. R.W. Docks & Slips v. State, 2001 WI 73,
244 Wis.2d 497, 628 N.W.2d 781 (2001). While recognizing
that private property can be subject to a regulatory tak-
ing, the Wisconsin high court concluded that there are
only two types of regulatory takings: those which result
in some sort of “physical invasion” of private property
and those which deny “all economically beneficial or
productive use of land.” (App. 7) Observing that R.W.
Docks was not physically invaded by any regulation and
that Docks still had 201 of the 272 slips, the court con-
cluded there was no categorical taking under Lucas v.
South Carolina Coastal Council, 505 U.S. 1003 (1992). (App.
7)

Next, the Wisconsin Supreme Court turned to the
question of whether R.W. Docks had been subjected to a
regulatory taking under Penn Central Transportation Co. v.
City of New York, 438 U.S. 104 (1978). However, before
proceeding to this inquiry the court addressed the ques-
tion of whether Docks had any property interest deserv-
ing of protection under the Fifth Amendment and the
Wisconsin Constitution. The court noted that if Docks
had no private property right, it can not have suffered an
unconstitutional taking. (App. 8) While recognizing that
the public trust doctrine originally existed to protect com-
mercial navigation, the court concluded that R.W. Docks
does not have a private property right because Wisconsin
has “expansively interpreted [the public trust doctrine] to
safeguard the public’s use of navigable water for purely

10

recreational purposes such as boating, swimming, fish-
ing, hunting, recreation and to preserve scenic beauty.”
(App. 10) The Wisconsin Supreme Court recognized that
R.W. Docks does have property rights as a riparian but
concluded that all such rights are subordinate to the
public trust doctrine insofar as the State sees fit to
expand, interpret, develop and apply the doctrine to pri-
vate riparians. Thus, the court held: “Docks has failed to
demonstrate a compensable regulatory taking under Penn
Central.” (App. 12)

+

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT
I.

A TAKING CAN OCCUR EVEN WHEN THE
UNDERLYING REGULATORY ACTION IS BASED
UPON THE PUBLIC TRUST DOCTRINE.

The Wisconsin Supreme Court has held that a rip-
arian property owner can never suffer a Penn Central
taking of his riparian rights if the governmental action is
exercised pursuant to the public trust doctrine. (App. 12)
Implicitly and logically it’: must be concluded that the
Wisconsin high court decision also applies to categorical
takings under Lucas. As the court aptly noted, if there is
no private property right there can not be an unconstitu-
tional taking. (App. 8)

1. As with many states of the Union, the public trust
doctrine developed in Wisconsin as a concept which pro-
vides that the state holds beds underlying navigable
waters in trust for all Wisconsin citizens. Muench v. Public
Serv. Comm'n, 261 Wis. 492, 501-02, 53 N.W.2d 514 (1952).

11

The public trust doctrine, in itself, does not create legal
rights, it “merely establishes standing for the state, the
ability to vindicate the public trust, to assert a cause of
action recognized by the existing law of Wisconsin.” State
v. Deetz, 66 Wis.2d 1, 13, 224 N.W.2d 407, 413 (1974).
Originally designed to protect commercial navigation, the
doctrine has been expanded to safeguard the public’s use
of navigable waters for enjoyment of natural scenic
beauty, as well as for recreational and nonpecuniary pur-
poses. See State v. Trudeau, 139 Wis.2d 91, 104, 408 N.W.2d
337 (1987); Gillen v. City of Neenah, 219 Wis.2d 806, 820,
580 N.W.2d 628, 633 (1998). From there it grew to public
control of boating, swimming, fishing, hunting, and pre-
servation of scenic beauty. Oneida County v. Converse, 173
Wis.2d 78, 83, 496 N.W.2d 124, 126 (Ct. App. 1992). And,
in the present matter, the public trust doctrine was
extended to enable the requisition of private property in
order to protect aquatic vegetation.

With such a historical application it is obvious that
this doctrine gives the state the power to regulate naviga-
ble waters. To that end, R.W. Docks never questioned the
State’s right, through the DNR, to regulate. However, the
question is not whether the DNR has the power to regu-
late but, rather, has the exercise of that regulation gone
“too far.” Pennsylvania Coal Co. v. Mahon, 260 U.S. 393, 416
(1922). Indeed, in view of the decision below, the real
question is whether any regulation can ever go too far?
Under the Wisconsin Supreme Court’s analysis of rele-
vant takings and public trust doctrines, it can not. This
Petition thus raises the critical issue of whether the public
trust doctrine serves as a blanket immunity for states’

12

liability under the just compensation guarantee of the
federal Constitution.

A detailed analysis of the historic origins of the pub-
lic trust doctrine is, obviously, beyond the scope of this
Petition. But some recitations are required, if only for the
purpose of indicating the wide ambit of effect the Wis-
consin Supreme Court’s decision will have, if left unre-
viewed. In 1784, Virginia authorized the ceding of the
Northwest territory to the Confederation upon two con-
ditions: 1) the new states admitted to the Federal Union
were to have the same sovereign rights as the original
states; and 2) the navigable waters flowing into the Mis-
sissippi and the St. Lawrence rivers, and the connecting
water ways were to be forever free public highways.
These conditions were incorporated into the Northwest
Ordinance of 1787 which provided for the government of
the Northwest Territory. Muench v. Public Service Commis-
sion, 261 Wis. 492, 499, 53 N.W.2d 514, 516 (Wis. 1952).

Article IX, sec. 1 of the Wisconsin Constitution, incor-
porates verbatim the wording of the Northwest Ordi- -
nance with respect to navigable waters. The provision
provides:

“The state shall have concurrent jurisdiction on
all rivers and lakes bordering on this state so far
as such rivers or lakes shall form a common
boundary to the state and any other state or
territory now or hereafter to be formed, and
bounded by the same; and the river Mississippi
and the navigable waters leading into the Mis-
sissippi and St. Lawrence, and the carrying
places between the same, shall be common high-
ways and forever free, as well to the inhabitants
of the state as to the citizens of the United

13

States, without any tax, impost or duty there-
fore.” Id. at 261 Wis. 499-500, 53 N.W.2d 514,
516.

A number of jurisdictions have relied on the public
trust doctrine as a categorical exclusion of governmental
regulation from the ambit of the Takings Clause. Whether
the doctrine is viewed as an historic artifact of the North-
west Ordinance (affecting only the common law of prop-
erty in Illinois, Indiana, Wisconsin, Michigan and
Minnesota), or a wider concept that is in force in every
state of the Union, it is clear that it has been employed as
a means of evading this Court’s takings jurisprudence.
See Orion Corp. v. Washington, 747 P.2d 1062, 1072 (Wash.
1987), cert. denied, 486 U.S. 1022 (1988); Boston Waterfront
Dev. Corp. v. Commonwealth, 393 N.E.2d 356, 369 (Mass.
1979); Vermont v. Central Vermont Ry., 571 A.2d 1128, 1135
(Vt. 1989); National Audubon Society v. Superior Court
(Mono Lake), 658 P.2d 709, 723 (Cal. 1983). See also, Joseph
L. Sax, Takings, Private Property and Public Rights, 81 YALE
L.J. 149 (1971); Id., Takings and the Police Power, 74 Yate L.J.
36 (1964). This is despite the fact that in what is the locus
classicus of federal recognition of the doctrine, Illinois
Central R.R. Co. v. Illinois, 146 U.S..387 (1892), this Court
was careful to hold that states are still obligated under
the Just Compensation guarantee for certain regulatory

actions. See Id. at 455.

2. Likewise, in Lucas v. South Carolina Coastal Coun-
cil, 505 U.S. 1003 (1992), this Court held that a categorical
taking must be compensated unless the State regulation is
one which prohibits a use which was never a part of the
land owner’s title to begin with. Id. at 1027. In other

14

words, if the State imposed restriction prohibited some-
thing that was prohibited by the “background principles”
of state law or inherently noxious or a nvisance then no
taking could be realized. Id. at 1029.

Seizing on this concept, the State of Wisconsin con-
cluded that because the public trust doctrine is so long
acquiesced as to become a rule of property, then any
regulation perpetuated under that doctrine is, inherently,
a noncompensable taking under Lucas. (App. 12) No heed
is given to the fact that any such restrictive regulation
was never “part of the title.” The only necessary inquiry
is whether the regulation was brought to life under the
umbrella of the public trust doctrine. (App. 12) Likewise,
the Wisconsin Supreme Court's analysis gives no recogni-
tion to the fact that the specific regulation itself was
never part of a background principle or that the proposed
use, at least in the present matter, was not noxious.

In Pennsylvania Coal Co. v. Mahon, 260 U.S. 393 (1922),
this Court stated that while property can be regulated to
a certain extent, if regulation goes too far it will be
recognized as a taking. But if the Wisconsin Supreme
Court is to be credited, regulations promulgated under a
public trust doctrine can never go too far because all such
regulations, regardless of when or how they are applied,
relate back to an organic law of state property. (App. 12)
The narrowly-drawn exception in Lucas to categorical
compensable takings made in accordance with “back-
ground rules” of state property law, has thus been vastly
expanded by the Wisconsin Supreme Court-into a hard
and fast rule which is applicable without regard to factual
or individual nuances of each particular regulatory
action.

15

3. Similarly, Wisconsin courts are now able to dis-
miss any takings claim under Penn Central, 438 U.S. at
124, 127, 130 n.27. No riparian owner can ever have
reasonable investment-backed expectations because his
property rights are forever subordinate to the public trust
doctrine and, therefore, all regulatory action exercised
under its guise should have been anticipated by the rip-
arian. As noted by the Wisconsin Supreme Court:
“Assuming that riparian rights, subordinate as they are to
the rights of the pubic, are included in the ‘bundle of
rights’ recognized as private property for the purposes of
Fifth Amendment taking analysis, Docks has failed to
demonstrate a compensable taking under Penn Central.”

(App. 12)

Under the Wisconsin Supreme Court’s approach,
quick work can be made of takings claims under Penn
Central because the ad hoc inquiry concerning the charac-
ter of the governmental action, the economic impact of
the regulation on the claimant and the extent to which the
regulation interfered with distinct investment-backed
expectations need never be reached. (App. 12); Penn Cen-
tral, 438 U.S. 104, 124. “If there is no private property
right there can not be an unconstitutional taking.” (App.
8).

4. The Wisconsin Supreme Court’s mis-step is ana-
lytically similar to the pathology of the Rhode Island
Supreme Court’s decision reviewed by this Court in Pal-
azzolo v. Rhode Island, 121 S.Ct. 2448 (2001), which, inci-
dently, was decided on the same day the Wisconsin
Supreme Court decided the present matter. Id. It appears
the Wisconsin courts have merely shadowed the Rhode
Island concept in Palazzolo that a regulation in existence

16

prior to private ownership of property can never rise to
the level of a taking. Wisconsin has simply added a new
twist: the regulation need not predate the property inter-
est so long as the regulation is promulgated under the
public trust doctrine which, obviously, did predate the
property interest.

In this respect, a large portion of the present question
may have been addressed in Palazzolo v. Rhode Island, but
the guidance of that decision was unavailable to the
Wisconsin high court. It seems unlikely, though, that
Wisconsin would have reached a different conclusion
even with the benefit of the Palazzolo decision. Given its
belief that the public trust doctrine establishes a supra-
constitutional regulatory power, the Wisconsin Court’s
decision can not be wholly resolved by Palazzolo. So while
Petitioner would not be adverse to this matter being
GVR’ed in light of the Palazzolo decision, it is cognizant
that the issues raised here may well require plenary
review by this Court.

5. In addition to the foregoing reasons, this writ
should be accepted because the Wisconsin decision is in
conflict with court rulings in other navigable servitude
cases. In Palm Beach Isles Association v. United States, 208
F.3d 1374, 1385 (Fed. Cir. 2000), it was held that in order
to use a navigational servitude to avoid paying compen-
sation the government needs to show that regulatory
restriction was for a purpose related to navigation. Id. at
1385. Here, the Wisconsin — had nothing to do
with navigation.

Assuming that the public trust doctrine is no more
than what it was intended to be - a restriction on the

17

State’s ability to hinder commercial navigation — then the
Wisconsin decision is also in conflict with this Court’s
decision in Kaiser Aetna v. United States, 444 U.S. 164, 172
(1979) in which it was stated: “this Court has never held
that the navigational servitude creates a blanket excep-
tion to the Takings Clause.” See also, Good v. United States,
39 Fed. Cl. 81 (1997).

6. As a consequence of its application of the public
trust doctrine, Wisconsin has created a rule which wholly
abrogates traditional takings analysis. In Penn Central,
this Court held that in takings law it is best to avoid any
“set formula” and it is better to engage in individual “ad
hoc” factual inquiries as warranted by each case. Penn
Central, 438 U.S. at 124. In Palazzolo, this court flatly
rejected the idea that a sweeping doctrine can eviscerate
the need for each case to be analyzed under its own
factual background. Here, too, it is necessary that this
court address the question of whether the public trust
doctrine, as applied in Wisconsin, is wholly free of Fifth
Amendment limitations as developed under Lucas, Penn
Central and their progeny.

Il.

WHETHER THE REFUSAL TO ALLOW
CONSTRUCTION OF 71 SEPARATE
CONDOMINIUM UNITS IS A CATEGORICAL
TAKING UNDER LUCAS OR PARTIAL TAKING
UNDER PENN CENTRAL

1. According to its decisions in R.W. Docks & Slips v.
State, 2001 WI 73, 244 Wis.2d 497, 628 N.W.2d 781 (2001);
Zealy v. City of Waukesha, 201 Wis.2d 365, 548 N.W.2d 528
(1996) and Eberle v. Dane County Bd. Of Adjustment, 227

18

Wis.2d 609, 595 N.W.2d 730 (1999), the Wisconsin
Supreme Court appears not to recognize partial regula-
tory takings. Wisconsin recognizes only “two discrete
categories of regulatory action as compensable without
case-specific inquiry into the public interest advanced in
support of the restraint.” (App. 7) citing, Lucas v. South
Carolina Coastal Council, 505 U.S. 1003, 1015 (1992).
Accordingly, Wisconsin recognizes that the first type of
categorical taking involves a regulatory action that brings
about an actual physical “invasion” of private property.
Id. The second type involves regulatory actions that deny
“all economically beneficial or productive use of land.”
Id.

Here, however, the Wisconsin Supreme Court con-
cluded that because R.W. Docks has 201 of the intended
272 boat slips, Docks retained all or substantially all
practical uses of its property. (App. 7) Disposing thus
with R.W. Docks’ claim that he had suffered a total or
categorical taking under Lucas, the court proceeded to
conclude that Docks did not actually have any property
rights which could be unconstitutionally deprived and,
therefore, Docks could not have suffered a taking under
Penn Central either.

For some reason the court then proceeded with a
discussion of the Penn Central factors. (App. 15-17) Yet,
given the Wisconsin Supreme Court’s conclusion that no
categorical taking had occurred, what would be the point
of a Penn Central analysis when the Wisconsin courts do
not recognize that a non-physical regulatory action can
result in anything less than a categorical taking? In this
respect, Wisconsin jurisprudence tracks a number of
jurisdictions which appear to reject even the possibility of

19

partial regulatory takings, and which have prescribed
narrowing constructions of the “relevant parcel” being
taken by regulation. See, e.g., McQueen v. South Carolina
Coastal Council, 340 S.C. 65 (2000), vacated and remanded,
121 S.Ct. 2581 (2001); Sea Cabins on the Ocean v. City of
North Myrtle Beach, 345 S.C. 418 (2001); East Cape May
Associates v. New Jersey, 693 A.2d 114 (N.J. Super. 1997);
Volkema v. Department of Natural Resources, 542 N.W.2d 282
(Mich. App. 1996), cert. denied, 525 U.S. 1040 (1998); see
also, John E. Fee, Unearthing the Denominator in Regulatory
Taking Claims, 61 U. Cur. L. Rev. 1535, 1557 (1994).

2. These issues were well-articulated in Leveladies
Harbor, Inc. v. United States, 28 F.3d 1171 (Fed. Cir. 1994),
where it was asked whether the plaintiff could maintain a
taking claim under circumstances where he was pre-
cluded, by regulation, from developing only a portion of
his property. Loveladies at 1179-80. In a footnote, the Wis-
consin Court declined Petitioner’s “invitation to follow
the lead” of Loveladies. (App. 15, n.5) The problem with
this footnote does not arise so much from the spurned
invitation as it does from the Court’s rejection of the idea
that a compensable taking can result from something less
than a total wipe-out of the property owner’s value. See,
Lucas at 1019 n.8 (whether a loss of some but not all
economic use can result in a compensable taking). And,
as noted by this Court in Keystone Bituminous Coal Assn. v.
DeBenedictis, 480 U.S. 470, 497 (1987), “our test for regula-
tory taking requires us to compare the value that has
been taken from the property with the value that remains
in the property, [and] one of the critical questions is
determining how to define the unit of property whose
value is to furnish the denominator of the fraction.”

20

The Penn Central analysis is intrinsically bound-up
with partial regulatory takings. “[W]here a regulation
places limitations on land that fall short of eliminating all
economically beneficial use, a taking nonetheless may
have occurred, depending on a complex of factors includ-
ing the regulation’s economic effect on the landowner, the
extent to which the regulation interferes with reasonable
investment-backed expectations, and the character of the
government action.” Palazzolo, 121 S.Ct. at 2457. The
analytical process set forth in Penn Central enables courts
to decide on an ad hoc basis whether a partial taking has
occurred. But the Wisconsin Supreme Court trivializes
the Penn Central analysis by simply holding that there are
no partial regulatory takings. (App. 13-14)

3. A related question raised in this petition is
whether R.W. Docks’ remaining 71 slips and the infra-
structure associated with those slips should be viewed as
individual separate pieces of property. Docks asserted,
but the lower courts did not resolve, the fact that each
unit is a separate parcel pursuant to the condominium
declaration. (App. 34, 38-44) Likewise, the courts did not
recognize that R.W. Docks sold the original 201 slips prior
to the 1986 regulatory action. (App. 34; App. 7)

If the remaining 71 slips are viewed as separate from
the first 201 slips then there should be no doubt that
Docks has stated a valid claim for a categorical total
taking under Lucas. Each slip is a separate and distinct
parcel of real estate under Wisconsin condominium law.
Each slip is a condominium unit which consists of a place
on the surface of the lake and an undivided interest in the
common on-land infrastructure. (App. 38-44) The
removal of any one of the existing 201 slips would be a

21

total deprivation of that property owner’s interest in his
or her property. Likewise, the refusal to allow the con-
struction of the final 71 slips is a total deprivation of 71
distinct property interests which are completely separate
from the original 201.

4. The conundrum raised by the Wisconsin Supreme
Court’s rationale needs to be resolved here because it is at
odds with the underlying purpose for the Penn Central
analysis. “To the extent that any portion of property is
taken, that portion is always taken in its entirety; the
relevant question, however, is whether the property taken
is all, or only a portion of, the parcel in question.” Con-
crete Pipe & Prods. v. Constr. Laborers Pension Trust, 508
U.S. 602, 644 (1993). The rule of law is, and has been, as
stated in Palazzolo: “Our polestar instead remains the
principles set forth in Penn Central itself and our other
cases that govern partial regulatory takings. Under these
cases, interference with investment-backed expectations
is one of a number of factors that a court must examine.”
Palazzolo, 121 S.Ct. at 2466. Wisconsin’s rejection of Peti-
tioner’s “invitation” to apply these principles is deserv-
ing of this Court’s attention.

Nothing in the language of the Fifth Amendment
compels a court to find a taking only when the Govern-
ment divests the total ownership of the property; the
Fifth Amendment prohibits the uncompensated taking of
private property without reference to the owner’s
remaining property interests. Florida Rock Industries, Inc.
v. United States, 18 F.3d 1560, 1568 (Fed. Cir. 1994). This
Petition thus raises the question unsuccessfully mooted in
Palazzolo. In that decision, the Court properly regarded

22

the question of determining the “denominator in the tak-
ings fraction” as “difficult” and “persisting.” 121 S.Ct. at
2465. Unlike in Palazzolo, these arguments were “pressed”
below in the state courts, although by no means satisfac-
torily resolved.

CONCLUSION

At stake in this Petition is nothing less than the
integrity of this Court’s takings jurisprudence. This is
true in respect not only of delimiting “background princi-
ples” of state property law that can sweepingly defeat all
regulatory takings claims, but also determining the rele-
- vant parcel for purposes of both Lucas’ categorical taking
rule and Penn Central's balancing test. The petition for a
writ of certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Jason W. WHITLEY
Counsel of Record
Novitzke, Gust,
Sempr & WHITLEY
314 Keller Ave. N.
Ste. 399
Amery, Wisconsin 54001
Telephone: 715-268-6130
Facsimile: 715-268-7890

Don Paut NovitzkE
Of Counsel
Novitzke, Gust,
Semper & WHITLEY
314 Keller Ave. N.
Ste. 399
Amery, Wisconsin 54001
Telephone: 715-268-6130

Davip J. BEDERMAN
Of Counsel
GamBrRELL HALL
Atlanta, Georgia
30322-2770
Telephone: 404-727-6822

Bruce L. RASMUSSEN
Of Counsel
2116 2nd Ave.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
55404
Telephone: 612-874-7071

Submitted: September 24, 2001

“Ve a a Oe ee ee Oe eer

App. 1

IN SUPREME COURT
2001 WI 73
NOTICE

This opinion is subject to further
editing and modification. The final
version will appear in the bound
volume of the official reports.

No. 99-2904
STATE OF WISCONSIN

R.W. Docks & Slips,
Plaintiff-Appellant-Petitioner,
v.

State of Wisconsin and Wisconsin
Department of Natural Resources,

Defendants-Respondents.

(FILED JUN. 28, 2001)
REVIEW of a decision of the Court of Appeals.
Affirmed.

{ 1 DIANE S. SYKES, J. This case pits a small emer-
gent weedbed along the shores of Lake Superior in
Bayfield, Wisconsin, against the developer of a private
marina on those same shores. The Wisconsin Department
of Natural Resources sided with the weedbed, and denied
the developer a dredging permit needed to complete the
final phase of the marina development. The case has an
ironic twist: the small emergent weedbed would not have
“emerged” at all were it not for the calming effect of a

App. 2

breakwater the developer had built in the early stages of
the project. The presence of the emergent weedbed
prompted the DNR to block the developer’s construction
of the last set of boat slips in the marina, 71 out of a total
of 272 slips.

{ 2 So the developer took the DNR to court, alleg-
ing a regulatory taking without just compensation. The
case was dismissed on summary judgment, and the court
of appeals affirmed, concluding that because the devel-
oper retained the benefit of all or substantially all of its
property - including over 200 boat slips and various
recreational facilities associated with the marina onshore
- the denial of a permit for the construction of the
remaining boat slips was not an unconstitutional taking.

{3 We affirm. As takings law has evolved, there is
no compensable categorical taking unless the regulatory
action in question deprives a property owner of all eco-
nomically beneficial use of his property. We do not per-
form the analysis piecemeal, but, rather, consider the
property as a whole in order to determine the extent of
the deprivation. Because the denial of the dredging per-
mit did not deny the marina developer all economically
beneficial use of its property, there was no categorical
regulatory taking.

{4 Further, and again considering the property as a
whole, the regulatory action in this case at most affected
only the developer’s riparian right of reasonable access to
the lake, which is subordinate to the public trust doctrine.
Therefore, the DNR’s action did not so severely impact or
interfere with the developer’s reasonable investment

App. 3

expectations as to constitute an unconstitutional taking
under traditional, ad hoc takings analysis.

|

45 The relevant facts are undisputed. R.W. Docks, a
general partnership in the business of developing
marinas, is the riparian owner of 1100 feet of frontage
along Lake Superior in Bayfield, Wisconsin. In 1969,
Docks began building a marina, called Port Superior, on
this lake frontage land. At the outset, Docks sought and
obtained permits from the DNR and the Army Corps of
Engineers to construct a breakwater and boat harbor in
connection with the marina development.

¢ 6 The marina was then built in stages. The initial
phases of the project consisted of the breakwater, several
docks eventually containing 201 boat slips, a sea wall, a
lagoon, a solid pile quay structure placed on the lakebed,
a port, racquetball club, tennis court, and supporting
infrastructure. Throughout the gradual development of
the marina, Docks sought and received the necessary
permits from the DNR, including dredging permits pur-
suant to Wis. Stat. § 30.20.

{7 In 1977, Docks converted the marina into condo-
miniums. The 201 condominium boat slips, each of which
included an undivided interest in the common areas of
the marina facilities, were developed and sold before
Docks obtained the necessary permits to complete con-
struction of the final 71 boat slips at the marina.

q 8 In 1983, Docks applied to the DNR for a permit
to dredge 20,000 cubic yards of material from the lakebed,

App. 4

a necessary prerequisite to the completion of the remain-
ing 71 boat slips. The DNR, after expressing concern over
the environmental impact of the dredging, divided the
application in two, the first to remove 5,000 cubic yards,
and the second to remove 15,000 cubic yards of lakebed
material. The DNR then granted the first dredging per-
mit. In 1986, the DNR denied the second, larger dredging
permit, and without the permit, the final 71 boat slips
could not be built.

{ 9 The permit was denied primarily because a
small emergent weedbed had developed near the shore
within the marina as a result of the sheltering effect of the
breakwater that Docks had built. Weedbeds, evidently,
are good for many things, including the proliferation of
game fish, forage fish and associated macroinvertebrates
and zooplankton, and so the DNR acted to protect this
environmentally sensitive natural resource.

q{ 10 After exhausting available administrative
appeals and judicial review of the DNR’s action, Docks
sued the DNR in circuit court alleging an unconstitu-
tional taking of its property without just compensation.
The Bayfield County Circuit Court, the Honorable
Thomas J. Gallagher, granted the DNR’s motion for sum-
mary judgment, concluding that: (1) Docks did not have a
recognizable property interest in the 71 undeveloped boat
slips; (2) even if Docks had a recognizable property inter-
est in the 71 undeveloped boat slips, there was no uncon-
stitutional taking because its riparian right to construct
structures on the bed of Lake Superior was subject to the
public trust doctrine; and (3) there was no unconstitu-
tional taking because Docks retained considerable practi-
cal use of the property.

App. 5

¢ 11 The court of appeals affirmed only the last
conclusion of the circuit court, refraining from addressing
the alternate arguments. The court of appeals agreed that
the denial of the final dredging permit did not constitute
a regulatory taking because Docks maintained the benefit
and use of all or substantially all of its marina property.
Furthermore, the court concluded that Docks assumed
the risk inherent in commencing the project without all
necessary permits, and therefore any economic loss it
suffered as a result of the inability to build the last 71
slips could not be transferred to the State on a regulatory
takings theory. We accepted review.

II

¢ 12 We review a circuit court’s decision granting or
denying a motion for summary judgment independently,
using the same methodology as the circuit court. Wiscon-
sin Dep't of Corrections v. Kliesmet, 211 Wis. 2d 254, 259,
564 N.W.2d 742 (1997); Wis. Stat. § 802.08(2). “[S]ummary
judgment is proper where there are no genuine issues of
material fact and the moving party is entitled to judg-
ment as a matter of law.” Kenefick v. Hitchcock, 187 Wis. 2d
218, 224, 522 N.W.2d 261 (Ct. App. 1994).

¢ 13 The issue in this case is whether the DNR’s
denial of the final dredging permit constituted a regula-
tory taking of Docks’ property without just compensa-
tion. This is also a question of law that we review without
deference to the lower courts. Zealy v. City of Waukesha,
201 Wis. 2d 365, 372, 548 N.W.2d 528 (1996). The Fifth
Amendment to the United States Constitution, made
applicable to the states by the Fourteenth Amendment,

App. 6

provides that private property shall not “be taken for
public use, without just compensation.” Article I, Section
13 of the Wisconsin Constitution provides that “[t]he
property of no person shall be taken for public use with-
out just compensation therefor.” We have stated that:

Takings jurisprudence has developed from
two competing principles: on one hand, respect
for the property rights of individuals; on the
other, recognition that the government retains
the ability, in furtherance of the interests of all
citizens, to regulate an owner’s potential uses of
land. Thus, in Euclid v. Ambler Realty Co., 272
U.S. 365, 47 S.Ct. 114, 71 L.Ed. 303 (1926), the
United States Supreme Court held municipal
zoning to be a permissible exercise of the police
-power, while in Pennsylvania Coal Co. v. Mahon,
260 U.S. 393, 415, 43 S.Ct. 158, 159-60, 67 L.Ed.
322 (1922), the Court held that “while property
may be regulated to a certain extent, if regula-
tion goes too far it will be recognized as a tak-
ing.” Such takings are described as
“constructive” or “regulatory” takings.

Zealy, 201 Wis. 2d at 373.

{14 “A ‘taking’ need not arise from an actual phys-
ical occupation of land by the government.” Eberle v. Dane
County Bd. of Adjust., 227 Wis. 2d 609, 621, 595 N.W.2d 739
(1999). If a regulatory restriction or action of the govern-
ment deprives a property owner of all economically bene-
ficial use of his property, there has been a categorical
regulatory taking subject to compensation. Lucas v. South
Carolina Coastal Council, 505 U.S. 1003, 1015 (1992); Zealy,
201 Wis. 2d at 374-75.

re

App. 7

Y 15 In determining whether a regulatory restric-
tion “goes too far” for purposes of the Fifth Amendment,
the United States Supreme Court has generally
“eschewed any ‘set formula’ for determining how far is
too far, preferring to ‘engag[e] in . . . essentially ad hoc,
factual inquiries.” Lucas, 505 U.S. at 1015 (citing Penn
Cent. Transp. Co. v. New York City, 438 U.S. 104, 124
(1978)); Zealy, 201 Wis. 2d at 373. However, the Supreme
Court has recognized “at least two discrete categories of
regulatory action as compensable without case-specific
inquiry into the public interest advanced in support of
the restraint.” Lucas, 505 U.S. at 1015. The first includes
regulatory actions that bring about some form of physical
“invasion” of private property. Id. The second includes
regulatory actions that deny “all economically beneficial
or productive use of land.” Id. We have in Wisconsin
interpreted this latter category to include regulatory
actions that “deny the landowner all or substantially all
practical uses of a property.” Eberle, 227 Wis. 2d at 622;
Zealy, 201 Wis. 2d at 374.

{ 16 The DNR’s denial of the dredge permit in this
case did not bring about a physical invasion of private
property. Nor did it deny Docks all economically benefi-
cial or productive use of its property, or substantially all
practical use of its property, inasmuch as it retained the
economic benefit and use of the 201 boat slips and related
recreational facilities at the marina. Accordingly, there
has been no categorical regulatory taking under Lucas
and Zealy.

9 17 We are left, then, with the ad hoc factual,
traditional takings inquiry of Penn Central and Zealy. This
involves an analysis of the nature and character of the

App. 8

governmental action, the severity of the economic impact
of the regulation on the property owner, and the degree
to which the regulation has interfered with the property
owner’s distinct investment-backed expectations in the
property. Zealy, 201 Wis. 2d at 374 (citing Penn Cent., 438
U.S. at 124).

7 18 But first there is a threshold question, and that
is the nature and extent of the private property interest at
stake here. This case involves riparian rights, which are
subject to and limited by the public trust doctrine. The
State argues that the bed and waters of Lake Superior
belong to the public, not Docks, and so no taking of
private property occurred. Indeed, the Supreme Court
has stated that:

[t]he hallmark of a protected property interest is
the right to exclude others. That is “one of the
most essential sticks in the bundle of rights that
are commonly characterized as property.” Kaiser
Aetna v. United States, 444 U.S. 164, 176, 100 S.Ct.
383, 62 L.Ed.2d 332 (1979). That is why the right
that we all possess to use the public lands is not
the “property” right of anyone — hence the sar-
donic maxim, explaining what economists call
the “tragedy of the commons,” res publica, res
nullius.

Coll. Sav. Bank v. Florida Prepaid Postsecondary Educ.
Expense Bd., 527 U.S. 666, 673 (1999). If Docks had no
private property right to place boat slips on the lakebed
at the marina, it cannot have suffered an unconstitutional
taking.

a

App. 9

{ 19 The public trust doctrine originated in the
Northwest Ordinance of 1787 and the Wisconsin Consti-
tution, Article IX, Section 1.1 See Gillen v. City of Neenah,
219 Wis. 2d 806, 820, 580 N.W.2d 628 (1998). The state
holds titic to the beds of lakes, ponds, and rivers as
follows:

“The title to the beds of all lakes and ponds, and’
of rivers navigable in fact as well, up to the line
of ordinary high-water mark, within the bound-
aries of the state, became vested in [the state] at
the instant of its admission into the Union, in
trust to hold the same so as to preserve to the
people forever the enjoyment of the waters of
such lakes, ponds, and rivers, to the same extent
that the public are entitled to enjoy tidal waters
at the common law.”

State v. Trudeau, 139 Wis. 2d 91, 101, 408 N.W.2d 337
(1987) (quoting Illinois Steel Co. v. Bilot, 109 Wis. 418, 425,
84 N.W. 855 (1901)). This includes the beds of the Great
Lakes as well as lesser inland waters. Id. Public owner-
ship of the bed of a lake applies whether the water is

1 Wisconsin Const. art. IX, § 1 states:

Jurisdiction on rivers and lakes; navigable waters.
The state shall have concurrent jurisdiction on all
rivers and lakes bordering on this state so far as such
rivers or lakes shall form a common boundary to the
state and any other state or territory now or hereafter
to be formed, and bounded by the same; and the river
Mississippi and the navigable waters leading into the
Mississippi and St. Lawrence, and the carrying places
between the same, shall be common highways and
forever free, as well as to the inhabitants of the state
as to the citizens of the United States, without any tax,
impost or duty therefor.

App. 10

deep or shallow, and extends to areas covered with
aquatic vegetation within the ordinary high water mark
of the body of water in question.? Id. at 103-04. Although
the public trust doctrine originally existed to protect com-
mercial navigation, it has been expansively interpreted to
safeguard the public’s use of navigable waters for purely
recreational purposes such as boating, swimming, fish-
ing, hunting, recreation, and to preserve scenic beauty.
See State v. Bleck, 114 Wis. 2d 454, 457, 338 N.W.2d 492
(1983); see also Gillen, 219 Wis. 2d at 820.

{ 20 The legislature administers the trust for the
protection of the public’s rights, and it may use the
power of regulation to effectuate the intent of the trust.
Id. at 498. In this regard, as applicable here, the legisla-
ture has declared it to be unlawful to place a structure on
the bed of a navigable waterway unless a permit has been
granted by the DNR, or unless the structure is otherwise
authorized by statute.* See Wis. Stats. §§ 30.12, 30.13;
Cassidy v. DNR, 132 Wis. 2d 153, 158, 390 N.W.2d 81 (Ct.
App. 1986). Further, the legislature has prohibited the

2 The high water mark is: “[T]he point on the bank or shore
up to which the presence and action of the water is so
continuous as to leave a distinct mark either by erosion,
destruction of terrestrial vegetation, or other easily recognized
characteristic.” State v. Trudeau, 139 Wis. 2d 91, 102, 408 N.W.2d
337 (1987) (citing Lawrence v. American W.P. Co., 144 Wis. 556,
562, 128 N.W. 440 (1911)).

3 A “structure” for these purposes has been defined as
“something constructed or built ... something made up of more
or less interdependent elements or parts.” State v. Bleck, 114 Wis.
2d 454, 463, 338 N.W.2d 492 (1983).

LON ht nn Sti das San nF

HO taba Sac ‘ee eal oh tps ain Sa HS te ices s Bek

App. 11

removal of material from the bed of a navigable water-
way without a permit. Wis. Stat. § 30.20.

' J 21 However, subject to the requirements of the
public trust doctrine, “Wisconsin has . . . recognized the
existence of certain common law rights that are incidents
of riparian ownership of property adjacent to a body of
water.” Bleck, 114 Wis. 2d at 466. These include:

[t]he right to reasonable use of the waters for
domestic, agricultural and recreational pur-
poses; the right to use the shoreline and have
access to the waters; the right to any lands
formed by accretion or reliction; the right to
have water flow to the land without artificial
obstruction; the limited right to intrude onto the
lakebed to construct devices for protection from
erosion; and the right, now conditioned by stat-
ute, to construct a pier or similar structure in aid
of navigation.

Cassidy v. DNR, 132 Wis. 2d at 159 (footnotes omitted).

{ 22 The rights of riparian owners, however, are
qualified, subordinate, and subject to the paramount
interest of the state and the paramount rights of the
public in navigable waters. Bleck, 114 Wis. 2d at 467-68.
The common law only requires that riparian owners be
allowed reasonable access and use. Sterlingworth Condo.
Ass'n, Inc. v. DNR, 205 Wis. 2d 710, 731, 556 N.W.2d 791
(Ct. App. 1996).

[E]very . . . right which a riparian owner
acquires, as such, to the waters. . . by his land,
is restricted always to that which is a... rea-
sonable use, and these terms are to be measured
and determined by the extent and capacity of
the [lake], the uses to which it has been put, and

App. 12

the rights that other riparian owners on the
same [lake] also have.

Id. (citing Apfelbacher v. State, 167 Wis. 233, 239, 167 N.W.
244, 245 (1918); State v. Zawistowski, 95 Wis. 2d 250,
261-62, 290 N.W.2d 303, 309 (1980)).

{ 23 The public trust doctrine as an encumbrance
on riparian rights is established “by judicial authority so
long acquiesced in as to become a rule of property.”
Franzini v. Layland, 120 Wis. 72, 81, 97 N.W. 499 (1903). It
is part of the organic law of the state, and is to be broadly
and beneficially construed. Diana Shooting Club v. Hust-
ing, 156 Wis. 261, 271-72, 145 N.W. 816 (1914).

{ 24 The DNR’s denial of the dredging permit
affected only Docks’ ability to construct the final 71 boat
slips on the bed and in the waters of Lake Superior, and,
as such, implicated only Docks’ riparian rights, which are
subject to the public trust doctrine. Assuming that rip-
arian rights, subordinate as they are to the rights of the
public, are included in the “bundle of rights” recognized
as private property for purposes of Fifth Amendment
takings analysis, Docks has failed to demonstrate a com-
pensable regulatory taking under Penn Central and Zealy.*

4 Docks claimed at oral argument that United States v.
Chandler-Dunbar Water Power Co., 229 U.S. 53 (1913) supported
its position that it had a property right for Fifth Amendment
purposes in the 71 additional boat slips. The riparian property
owner in Chandler-Dunbar claimed a right to construct in the
river and upon its land such structures as were necessary to
control and use the current of the river for commercial
purposes, provided only that such structures not impede or
hinder navigation. As the Court noted, under state law, the
owner of riparian land carried title all the way to the middle

App. 13

7 25 In Zealy, we noted that the United States
Supreme Court has not endorsed an analysis that subdi-
vides a contiguous property for purposes of determining
whether a compensable taking has occurred. Zealy, 201
Wis. 2d at 375-76.

[R]ather, the Court has consistently held that a
landowner’s property in such a case should be
considered as a whole.

“ ‘Taking’ ” jurisprudence does not divide a
single parcel into discrete segments and
attempt to determine whether rights in a
particular segment have been entirely abro-
gated. In deciding whether a particular gov-
ernmental action has effected a taking, this
Court focuses rather both on the character
of the action and on the nature and extent of
the interference with rights in the parcel as
a whole....

Penn Central, 438 U.S. at 130-31, 98 S.Ct. at
2662-63. Similarly, in Keystone [Bituminous Coal

thread of the riverbed. However, the Court found this title to be
qualified at best, subordinate to the public right of navigation.
The Court stated that the riparian owner had the “right of access
to deep water, and when not forbidden by public law may
construct for this purpose, wharves, docks, and piers in the
shallow water of the shore. But every such structure in the water
of a navigable river is subordinate to the right of navigation,
and subject to the obligation to suffer the consequences of the
improvement of navigation, and must be removed if Congress,
in the assertion of its power over navigation, shall determine
that their continuance is detrimental to the public interest in the
navigation of the river” Id. at 70. Thus, Docks’ reliance on this
case is misplaced. Chandler-Dunbar actually stands for the
proposition riparian rights are subject to the public’s superior
rights.

App. 14

Ass'n v. DeBenedictis], 480 U.S. at 498 107 S.Ct. at
1248-49, the Court noted practical arguments
against allowing the segmentation of the prop-
erty at issue:

“Many zoning ordinances place limits on
the property owner’s right to make profita-
ble use of some segments of his property. A
requirement that a building occupy no more
than a specified percentage of the lot on
which it is located could be characterized as
a taking of the vacant area. . . . [O]ne could
always argue that a setback ordinance
requiring that no structure be built within a
certain distance from the property line con-
stitutes a taking because the footage repre-
sents a distinct segment of property for
takings law purposes.”

Zealy, 201 Wis. 2d at 376.

{ 26 The Supreme Court has reaffirmed its opposi-
tion to subdividing property for purposes of takings anal-
ysis:

[W]e rejected this analysis years ago in Penn
Central . . . where we held that a claimant’s
parcel of property could not first be divided into
what was taken and what was left for the pur-
pose of demonstrating the taking of the former
to be complete and hence compensable. To the
extent that any portion of property is taken, that
portion is always taken in its entirety; the rele-
vant question, however, is whether the property
taken is all, or only a portion of, the parcel in
question.

Concrete Pipe & Prods. v. Constr. Laborers Pension Trust, 508
U.S. 602, 642-44 (1993).

App. 15

{1 27 Accordingly, we evaluate the character of the
DNR’s action, its economic impact and the degree to
which it interfered with Docks’ investment-backed expec-
tations in light of the marina as a whole rather than the
parcel that was to have contained the 71 boat slips.5 And
we do so recognizing that at most, only riparian rights of
reasonable access and use, subject to the public trust
doctrine, are implicated here.

q 28 The DNR acted primarily to protect an emer-
gent weedbed on behalf of the public, and secondarily, to
prevent interference with the rights of neighboring rip-
arian owners. Reasonable minds can differ about whether
governmental protection of weedbeds is of such a charac-
ter as to outweigh private property interests. But the
state, not Docks, holds title to the lakebed, and therefore,
to the extent that a private property interest is implicated
here, it is riparian only and therefore qualified in nature,
encumbered by the public trust doctrine. We have “jeal-
ously guarded the navigable waters of this state and the
rights of the public to use and enjoy them.” Delta Fish and
Fur Farms v. Pierce, 203 Wis. 519, 523, 234 N.W. 881 (1931).
The character of the governmental action in this case,

5 Docks invites us to follow the lead of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit in Loveladies Harbor, Inc.
v. United States, 28 F.3d 1171, 1181 (Fed. Cir. 1994), and adopt “a
flexible approach, designed to account for factual nuances” in
determining whether to consider the property as a whole or
only that portion affected by the regulatory action in question.
We declined to do so in Zealy v. City of Waukesha, 201 Wis. 2d 365,
378, 548 N.W.2d 528 (1996), and also decline to do so here, where
the private property right asserted is so limited.

App. 16

therefore, weighs against a finding that Docks has suf-
fered a compensable regulatory taking.

{ 29 Similarly, our evaluation of the severity of the
economic impact of the DNR’s action, and the extent to
which it interfered with Docks’ investment-backed expec-
tations, is strongly influenced by the fact that the devel-
opment of this private marina on the bed and waters of
Lake Superior was encumbered by the public trust doc-
trine and heavily regulated from the get-go. A riparian
owner may apply to the DNR for a permit to remove
material from or erect a structure on the bed of a naviga-
ble waterway in order to facilitate reasonable access and
use. But the riparian owner does not have a right to the
issuance of a permit if it is detrimental to the public
interest. See Wis. Stat. §§ 30.12, 30.13 and 30.20.

{| 30 Docks alleges that the revenue from the sale of
the 201 existing boat slips was insufficient to cover the
cost of developing the marina and that it has to date lost
in excess of $1 million. It claims that the final 71 boat
slips would have a combined value of approximately $1.5
million, enough to cover its losses and make a small
profit. But the fact that the marina development has thus
far yielded a loss does not make out a takings case, and
Docks never possessed an unfettered “right” to a particu-
lar number of boat slips in the first place. Under the
circumstances of this case, the DNR’s action cannot be
said to have “gone too far” to cause the sort of negative
economic impact or substantial interference with invest-
ment expectations as to amount to a regulatory taking.

{ 31 In any event, the DNR’s denial of the final
dredging permit has not interfered with Docks’ present

App. 17

economic use of its property, considered as a whole. It
has a 201-slip marina, and associated recreational facili-
ties, and may have other means of recouping its losses. It
is true that Docks’ plans for a larger marina have been
frustrated, but those plans were encumbered by the pub-
lic trust doctrine and contingent upon the periodic issu-
ance of DNR permits from the beginning. See Concrete
Pipe, 508 U.S. at 645 (rejecting takings claim where claim-
ant “had long been subject to federal regulation, and
‘[t]hose who do business in the regulated field cannot
object if the legislative scheme is buttressed by subse-
quent amendments to achieve the legislative end’ ”).

{ 32 Accordingly, we conclude that the DNR’s
denial of the final dredging permit did not deny Docks all
economically beneficial use of its property, or substan-
tially all practical use of its property, and as such, did not
constitute a categorical regulatory taking. In addition,
because the DNR’s action affected only riparian rights,
subordinate to the public trust doctrine, and affected only
a small portion of the marina development as a whole, it
cannot be said to have resulted in the sort of severe
economic impact or interference with distinct investment-
backed expectations as to constitute a regulatory taking
under traditional, ad hoc takings analysis.

By the Court. —- The decision of the court of appeals is
affirmed.

App. 18

COURT OF APPEALS NOTICE
DECISION

DATED AND FILED This opinion is subject to

further editing. If pub-

July 11, 2000 lished, the official version

‘ will appear in the bound

Page snc yep ss volume of the Official
: PP Reports.

of Wisconsin
A party may file with the
Supreme Court a petition
to review an adverse deci-
sion by the Court of
Appeals. See Wis. Start.
§ 808.10 and Rute 809.62.

No. 99-2904

STATE OF WISCONSIN IN COURT OF APPEALS
DISTRICT III

R.W. Docks & S.uIPs,
PLAINTIFF-APPELLANT,
Vv.

StTaTE OF WISCONSIN AND WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF
NATURAL RESOURCES,

DEFENDANTS-RESPONDENTS.

APPEAL from a judgment of the circuit court for
Bayfield County: THOMAS J. GALLAGHER, Judge.
Affirmed.

Before Cane, C.j., Hoover, P.J., and Peterson, J.

q@1 CANE, C.J. R.W. Docks & Slips appeals from a
summary judgment dismissing Docks’ claim against the

App. 19

Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources. Docks
argues that the circuit court erred by concluding that the
DNR’s denial of a dredging permit did not constitute a
regulatory taking. Because Docks maintains the benefit of
all or substantially all of its property and because it
assumed the risk of loss inherent in commencing a project
without all necessary permits, we affirm the circuit
court’s judgment dismissing Docks’ claim.

BACKGROUND

{2 The relevant facts are undisputed. Docks, a gen-
eral partnership in the business of developing recre-
ational marinas, developed Port Superior in Bayfield.
Port Superior was designed to consist of 272 boat slips. In
1986, the DNR refused to grant Docks the dredging per-
mit necessary to construct the remaining seventy-one of
its 272 planned boat slips. After exhausting the available
administrative appeals, Docks filed suit against the DNR
in circuit court, alleging a taking of property without just
compensation in violation of both the state and federal
constitutions. The circuit court subsequently granted the
DNR’s motion for summary judgment and this appeal
followed.

ANALYSIS

{3 Whether summary judgment was appropriately
granted presents a question of law that we review inde-
pendently of the circuit court. See Fortier v. Flambeau
Plastics Co., 164 Wis. 2d 639, 651-52, 476 N.W.2d 593
(Ct. App. 1991). When reviewing summary judgments,
we utilize the same analysis as the circuit court and must

App. 20

apply the standards set forth in Wis. Stat. § 802.08(2). See
Schultz v. Industrial Coils, 125 Wis. 2d 520, 521, 373
N.W.2d 74 (Ct. App. 1985). In general, “summary judg-
ment is proper where there are no genuine issues of
material fact and the moving party is entitled to judg-
ment as a matter of law.” Kenefick v. Hitchcock, 187
Wis. 2d 218, 224, 522 N.W.2d 261 (Ct. App. 1994).

44 The circuit court concluded that (1) Docks did
not have a recognizable property interest in the seventy-
one undeveloped boat slips; (2) even if Docks had a
recognizable property interest in the undeveloped boat
slips, its interest was subject to the public trust doctrine;}
and (3) in any event, there was no unconstitutional taking
because Docks has retained considerable practical use of
the property. Docks contends that the circuit court mis-
characterized its argument. It concedes that the DNR had
the authority to deny the permits necessary to develop
the remaining boat slips. Docks argues, however, that the
DNR’s denial of the dredging permit necessary to com-
plete the remaining seventy-one boat slips constituted a
regulatory taking of Docks’ property without just com-
pensation. Specifically, Docks contends that the DNR’s
denial of the dredging permit either deprived Docks of
substantially all of the beneficial use of its property or
deprived it of its reasonable investment expectations.

1 Under the public trust doctrine, “the state holds the beds
of navigable waters in trust for all of its citizens.” State v. Bleck,
114 Wis. 2d 454, 465, 338 N.W.2d 492 (1983). Although originally
designed to protect commercial navigation, the doctrine “has
been expanded to safeguard the public’s use of navigable
waters for purely recreational and nonpecuniary purposes.” Id.

App. 21

475 The issue of whether the DNR’s denial of the
dredging permit constituted a regulatory taking of Docks’
property without just compensation is a question of law
that this court reviews de novo. See Zealy v. City of
Waukesha, 201 Wis. 2d 365, 372, 548 N.W.2d 528 (1996).
Article I, § 13 of the Wisconsin Constitution provides:
“The property of no person shall be taken for public use
without just compensation therefor.” Our supreme court
has recognized, however, that a taking “need not arise
from an actual physical occupation of land by the govern-
ment.” Eberle v. Dane Cty. Bd. of Adjust., 227 Wis. 2d
609, 621, 595 N.W.2d 730 (1999). Rather, “[t]here can be a
‘taking’ if a restriction, short of an actual occupation,
deprives the owner of all, or substantially all, of the
beneficial use of his property.” Id. (quoting Howell
Plaza, Inc. v. State Highway Comm’n, 66 Wis. 2d 720,
726, 226 N.W.2d 185 (1975)). Takings that do not involve
physical invasions of land are called “regulatory tak-
ings.” Id. at 622.

{76 When a landowner alleges a regulatory taking, a
court should examine the following factors: (1) the char-
acter of the governmental action; (2) the economic impact
of the regulation on the claimant; and (3) the extent to
which the regulation has interfered with distinct invest-
ment-backed expectations. See Zealy, 201 Wis. 2d at 374.
Although a court should consider these factors, “the rule
emerging from opinions of our state courts and the
United States Supreme Court is that a regulation must
deny the landowner all or substantially all practical uses
of a property in order to be considered a taking for which
compensation is required.” Id.

App. 22

{7 Before determining whether a regulatory taking
has occurred, however, a court must first determine what
is the property at issue. See id. at 375. Our supreme court
has recognized that a landowner’s property should be
considered as a whole:

“Taking” jurisprudence does not divide a single
parcel into discrete segments and attempt to
determine whether rights in a particular seg-
ment have been entirely abrogated. In deciding
whether a particular governmental action has
effected a taking, this Court focuses rather both
on the character of the action and on the nature
and extent of the interference with rights in the
parcel as a whole.

Id. at 376 (quoting Penn Cent. Transp. Co. v. New York
City, 438 U.S. 104, 130-31 (1978)). To the extent that Docks
may argue that it has been deprived of all or substantially
all of the beneficial use of its property, it is mistaken. We
do not look to the value of the undeveloped boat slips,
but rather to the value of Docks’ property as a whole.
Further, any depreciation in the property’s value must
not be based upon changing the character of the land at
the expense of harm to public rights. See id. at 380.
Despite its inability to develop the seventy-one boat slips,
Docks retains the reasonable use of the whole of its
‘riparian property, including the existing 201 boat slips,
marina and appurtenant structures.

{8 Docks nevertheless argues that its investment-
backed expectations have been thwarted. It contends:

[T]he taking has resulted from government
approval of the development of marina facilities
and infrastructure necessary to incorporate five

App. 23

main docks and then, after the facilities and
infrastructure have been built, refusing the nec-
essary permit to complete the marina in order to
protect a weedbed that would have never grown
but for R.W. Docks’ investments.

Conversely, the DNR responds that “a property owner
who acquires and begins to develop property knowing
that permits are required to do so, cannot presume the
permits will be granted, and assumes the risk of loss in
the event of a denial.” We agree. Although Docks inti-
mates that the DNR granted the previous permits with
knowledge of Docks’ intent to ultimately build 272 boat
slips, it nevertheless concedes that it did not have all
permits necessary to complete the project and further
concedes that the DNR had the authority to deny the
necessary permits. As such, Docks should not have pre-
sumed that all necessary permits would be granted. It
assumed the risk of loss in the event of the DNR’s denial
of the permits sought.

49 Because Docks maintains the benefit of all or
substantially all of its property and because it assumed
the risk of loss inherent in commencing a project without
all necessary permits, we affirm the circuit court’s judg-
ment dismissing Docks’ claim.? |

By the Court. - Judgment affirmed.

2 We refrain from addressing any alternative arguments
because only dispositive issues need be addressed. See Sweet v.
Berge, 113 Wis. 2d 61, 67, 334 N.W.2d 559 (Ct. App. 1983).

App. 24

Not recommended for publication in the official
reports.

App. 25

STATE OF WISCONSIN BAYFIELD COUNTY
CIRCUIT COURT

R. W. DOCKS & SLIPS,
Plaintiff,
v. Case No. 99-CV-1

STATE OF WISCONSIN and
WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF
NATURAL RESOURCES,

Defendants.

ORDER AND JUDGMENT
(FILED OCT. 19, 1999)

The plaintiff R. W. Docks & Slips filed this action
claiming that the denial of a permit to develop 71 addi-
tional slips in its 201-slip marina was a taking of private
property without compensation, in violation of the state
and federal constitutions. The defendants State of Wis-
consin and Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
moved for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
The parties filed briefs and supporting documents, and a
hearing on the motion was held before the court on
August 31, 1999. The plaintiff appeared by its attorneys
Bruce A. Rasmussen and Don P. Novitzke, and the defen-
dants appeared by Assistant Attorney General JoAnne F.
Kloppenburg. At the hearing the court issued an oral
decision, having reviewed the pleadings, briefs and
papers filed with the court and having heard the argu-
ments at the hearing.

App. 26

For the reasons stated in the oral decision on August
31, 1999, a transcript of which is attached and incorpo-
rated by reference, the court finds that 1) there is no
recognizable property interest in the additional 71 slips
because under the longstanding common law principle of
the public trust doctrine the right to build these addi-
tional slips was not part of the plaintiff’s title, 2) even if
there is a recognizable property interest that could be
taken, there was no unconstitutional taking because the
plaintiff’s riparian rights to construct structures on the
surface and above the bed of Lake Superior were always
subject to the public trust doctrine, which has long been
in place in Wisconsin, and 3) even if there is a recogni-
zable property interest, there was no unconstitutional
taking because the plaintiff has retained considerable
practical use of the property in that it has built and sold
201 slips, the property is not valueless but is worth at
least $2 million, and there is no evidence showing
adverse economic impact resulting from the state action.

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED that:

1. The defendants’ motion for summary judgment is
GRANTED.

2. The complaint is DISMISSED.

3. JUDGEMENT is ENTERED with costs in the
amount of $100 in favor of the defendants.

App. 27

Dated this 19 day of October, 1999.

BY THE COURT:

/s/ Thomas J. Gallagher
THOMAS J. GALLAGHER
Circuit Court Judge

STATE OF WISCONSIN BAYFIELD COUNTY
CIRCUIT COURT

R. W. DOCKS & SLIPS,
Plaintiff,
Vs.

STATE OF WISCONSIN and
WISCONSIN D.N.R.,

Defendants. Case No. 99-CV-01

HONORABLE THOMAS J. GALLAGHER, PRESIDING

PARTIAL TRANSCRIPT
DECISION

Hearing held on August 31, 1999 at the Bayfield County
Courthouse, Washburn, WI

App. 28

Appearances: For the Plaintiff:
Mr. Don Paul Novitzke,
Attorney of Record
Mr. Bruce Rasmussen,
Attorney at Law

For the Defendant:
Ms JoAnne Kloppenburg,
Assistant Attorney Gen.

[2] THE COURT: Alright, here’s what I’m going to
do. I’m going to grant the defendant’s motion for sum-
mary judgement dismissing the plaintiff's complaint on
the merits, together with the taxable costs and disburse-
ments of the action. And here’s why:

First of all, I find that the plaintiffs have no recogni-
zable property interest at stake in this case. What the
plaintiffs are claiming in the complaint, and I have to
liberally construe the complaint in the plaintiffs’ favor to
even go by the test as to whether it states a cause of
action, is that the plaintiff somehow has a property,
recognizable property interest, in developing 71 more
boat slips than are already there. Plaintiff has developed
a marina, there’s breakwater, already 201 slips. There’s
already considerable improvements connected with the
marina on the riparian land adjacent to Lake Superior to
which the plaintiffs claim, I guess, that it owns, although
that’s not entirely clear to me, liberally construing the
complaint I will give them that. The 71 boat slips do not
exist today, they have not been built, and they will not
apparently be built, because they cannot obtain the
approval they need to build them from the Department of
Natural Resources. Those decisions were made by the
Department, and by Administrative Law Decision, and

App. 29

by Circuit Court Decision affirming the Administrative
Law Decision. At least one of the Administrative Law
Decisions apparently was not even taken for review in
the Circuit Court, that’s concerning the estoppel issue. So
it’s settled, as far as this case goes, they’re not going to be
[3] able to develop the remaining 71 boat slips which
were to be built on the surface of Lake Superior.

Plaintiff on the one hand contends that the 71 boat
slips are somehow a recognizable property interest of
riparian land owner, even though they don’t exist, and on
the other hand claim that condominium declaration filed
in the Register of Deeds Office in this county creates this
recognizable property interest in the 71 boat slips, which
apparently are, I’m satisfied are included in the condo-
minium declaration. That’s on record. No approval by
anyone were necessary to record these condominium dec-
larations. All they had to do was hire a surveyor, have
some lawyer draft the condominium declaration as to
conform to the statute and title them to be recorded in the
Register of Deeds Office. I do not find that creates recog-
nizable property interest under either the Fifth Amend-
ment, or the Wisconsin Constitution. These 71 slips that
exist only in condominium declaration cannot be con-
veyed today they do not exist. Any right of riparian land
owner, including the right to develop these condominium
slips that are in the declaration are qualified by the Public
Trust Doctrine in this State where the State owns the bed
of Lake Superior. That’s a long standing common law
tradition, so that such use of riparian rights by the plain-
tiff were always not part of its title to begin with. Even if
somehow one can find that there is a recognizable prop-
erty interest that could be taken, there’s been no taking.

App. 30

As I indicated earlier, such a right was always subject to
the property . . . subject to the Public Trust and well
understood for [4] centuries in this State that the State
powers over the Public Trust Doctrine, or under the Pub-
lic Trust Doctrine over construction on the surface of
Lake Superior and above the bed of Lake Superior. That
anyone who acquired riparian rights takes that title sub-
ject to the Public Trust Doctrine.

Further, the plaintiff has had reasonable use of the
property. They have constructed a considerable marina
development. They have constructed 21, and sold .. . not
21, 201, and sold 201 boat slips under condominium
ownership. This property is not valueless. The plaintiffs
themselves give the riparian real estate a value at the
present time of $2 million Dollars. They have retained a
considerable practical use of the property. They appar-
ently no longer have an active interest in the operation of
the marina, but they could have, and I’m not satisfied, in
any event, that the evidence submitted by the plaintiff in
opposition to the motion show any adverse economic
impact. And even if it did that was probably due to
business decision, or other development problems that
were made, or created by the plaintiff.

For those reasons I’m not even going to bother to go
to the just compensation issue. And Ms Kloppenburg, do
you want to draft something?

MS KLOPPENBURG: Certainly.

THE COURT: Thank you.

App. 31

I, DELORES KITTLESON, do hereby certify that the
above transcript is a complete and accurate copy of the
proceedings taken by me on the Stenograph Machine, and
transcribed into typewritten form by myself.

Dated: 9-29-99

/s/ Delores Kittleson
DELORES KITTLESON
CIRCUIT COURT REPORTER
BAYFIELD COUNTY
COURTHOUSE
P. O. BOX 12
WASHBURN, WI 54891

App. 32

CIRCUIT COURT
STATE OF WISCONSIN BAYFIELD COUNTY

R. W. DOCKS & SLIPS,
Plainti:f,
Vv. Case No. 990-CV-1

STATE OF WISCONSIN and
WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF
NATURAL RESOURCES,

Defendants.

AFFIDAVIT OF ROBERT F. HOLMGREN

STATE OF MINNESOTA )
) ss.
COUNTY OF HENNEPIN _)

Robert F. Holmgren, being duly sworn and on his
oath, deposes and says of his own personal knowledge:

1. I am the managing agent of plaintiff and have
been since the inception of the Pike’s Bay Marina project
in Bayfield County, Wisconsin in 1968.

2. Attached hereto is an illustration which accu-
rately depicts Port Superior Marina at the time of the
proceedings herein.

3. Plaintiff acquired the parcel of real estate riparian
to Pike’s Bay in 1968 for the purpose of developing a
sheltered harbor with depths sufficient to accommodate
sailboats.

App. 33

4. In 1968, plaintiff applied to the U. S. Army Corps
of Engineers for a permit to construct a breakwater and
boat harbor. I fully apprised officials of the Corps of
plaintiff’s plans to install sailboat docks in the entire
sheltered harbor. The Corps gave plaintiff permission to
proceed and in 1972 formally issued a permit “to con-
struct a breakwater and boat harbor in Pike’s Bay on Lake
Superior in Bayfield, Wisconsin.”

5. Upon receiving permission from the Corps to
proceed, plaintiff applied to the Department of Natural
Resources for a contract to remove materials from the bed
of Lake Superior. A contract was made between the
Department of Natural Resources and Plaintiff on Decem-
ber 30, 1968.

6. In 1968, plaintiff also applied to the Department
of Natural Resources for a permit to construct a breakwa-
ter and boat harbor. I fully apprised officials of the
Department of Natural Resources of plaintiff’s plans to
install sailboat docks in the entire sheltered harbor. In
1969, the Department issued plaintiff a permit to con-
struct a breakwater on the bed of Lake Superior “to
provide a protected harbor for a marina.”

7. In 1971, plaintiff commenced construction of a
lagoon in what it considered upland on the assumption
that the shoreline of the lake was the natural shoreline. A
dispute ensued with the Department of Natural
Resources over whether the lagoon was actually on the
lakebed. I explained to officials of the Department of
Natural Resources that it was necessary for plaintiff to
own the real estate which subtended docks 4 and 5 as
construction of those docks was necessary to complete

App. 34

the marina. The Department of Natural Resources and
plaintiff ultimately reached a negotiated settlement which
was designed to permit plaintiff to construct docks 4 and
5. The Department of Natural Resources and plaintiff
agreed to a legislated shoreline in the upland which gave
plaintiff riparian rights to the area occupied by docks 4
and 5 and the Department of Natural Resources agreed to
grant plaintiff, as riparian owner, a permit to construct a
structure on the bed of the lake. The purpose of the
structure, called the quay, was to serve as the base of
docks 4 and 5 of the marina.

8. In 1977, plaintiff converted the marina to a 272
boat/slip marina condominium under Wisconsin law.
Two hundred one of these condominium units were
developed and sold.

9. Plaintiff invested heavily in the improvements
required by a first class marina of 272 boat slips. Among
the improvements made by plaintiff are land acquisition,
breakwater, seawall, dredging, pool and racquet club,
swimming pool, tennis court, surfacing and landscaping,
wells and water system, sewage treatment plant, lift sta-
tion and force main, sewer laterals and connections.

10. Plaintiff planned to recover its investment by
developing and selling the entire 272 condominium units.
The revenues from the first units sold would be used to
pay for the improvements and plaintiffs profit, if any,
would be derived from the sale of the final units. Plaintiff
developed and sold 201 units. The revenues from these
units was not sufficient to pay for the improvements and
plaintiff has lost in excess of one million dollars on the
marina development.

App. 35

11. The remaining 71 units have a retail value of
approximately $1.5 million.

12. The regulatory scheme imposed by the Corps
and the Department in 1968 for dredging and dock con-
struction worked as follows. Plaintiff would apply to the
Corps for a permit to dredge and construct docks. Upon
receipt of the permit from the Corps, plaintiff would
apply to the Department of Natural Resources for a con-
tract to remove materials from the bed of the lake. The
Department of Natural Resources would routinely enter
contracts with plaintiff requiring a nominal cash pay-
ment, posting of a bond, and proper disposal of dredging
soils. The Department of Natural Resources required no
permits of its own. This regulatory scheme as to dredging
contracts remained in effect until 1986 when the Depart-
ment refused to contract with plaintiff for the removal of
15,000 cubic yards of material from the bed of the lake
and until 1996 when the Department first imposed a
requirement for a structure permit to construct floating
docks. Prior to 1996, plaintiff continued to install finger
docks on the previously constructed main docks.

13. Plaintiff in good faith applied to the Department
for all approvals required by the Department to complete
its marina but its applications were denied.

Further affiant sayeth naught save that he gives this
affidavit in opposition to defendants’ motion for sum-
mary judgment.

/s/ Robert F. Holmgren

Robert F. Holmgren

App. 36

Subscribed and sworn to before me
this 20th day of May, 1999.

/s/ Lee A. Sanford
Notary Public

(SEAL) LEE A. SANFORD
NOTARY PUBLIC « MINNESOTA
My Comm. Expires Jan. 31, 2000

App. 37

PORT SUPERIOR MARINA
BAYFIELD, WISCONSIN

Large Emergent a SN :
Weedbed mit

Small Emergent Weedbed

9 Existing Slips

m4 Proposed Slips

PIKES BAY - LAKE SUPERIOR

ILLUSTRATION

App. 38

Exhibit 70
Exhibit K

Port Superior Marina Association

in Port Superior Village
Bayfield Wisconsin 316951

DECLARATION OF TRUST
IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE UNIT OWNERSHIP
ACT OF WISCONSIN
PORT SUPERIOR MARINA ASSOCIATION

Article 1. Purpose: This Declaration of Trust is exe-
cuted by the undersigned developers, Robert F.
Holmgren and Gertrude I. Holmgren d/b/a R. W. Docks
& Slips, a Minnesota partnership, licensed to do business
in Wisconsin, fee simple owner of the real estate
described hereinafter, for the purpose of forming an asso-
ciation for itself and all future owners pursuant to the
UNIT OWNERSHIP ACT, Sections 703.01 to 703.28 of the
Wisconsin Statutes.

Article 2. Name: The name of the association shall be
Port Superior Marina Association.

| Article 3. Duration: The period of existence of the
| association shall be perpetual.

Article 4. Definition: Unless the context of this Decla-
ration requires otherwise, the definitions of the words
used herein, in the By-laws, and in any other documents
executed pursuant to this Declaration of trust shall be
those set forth in Wisconsin Statutes Section 703.02.

Article 5. Description of Land: The property submitted
and subjected to the provisions of the Unit Ownership

ES ESS a

App. 39

Act is a Leasehold Interest as described in Volume 307
page 383 & 384 in the Register of Deeds for Bayfield
County describing real, personal property and/or ease-
ments, said Leasehold Interest is described as follows:

REGISTER’S OFFICE __)
) SS.
Bayfield County, Wis. )

RECORDED AT 4:30 P.M.
ON OCT 3-77 IN

Vol. 307 of Rec

Page 337-429, Incl.

/s/ Otto Korpela
REGISTER OF DEEDS

Fee Due 71.30

Marina Area

That part of Government Lot 3, Section 22, T. 50
N., R. 4W, Bayfield County, Wisconsin,
described as follows: Beginning at an iron pipe
at the intersection of the North-South 1/4 line of
said Section 22 with the water’s edge of Lake
Superior. Thence N. 00° 21' E., along said 1/4 line
233.24 feet, to a °/s inch rebar. Thence S. 76° 04'
43"W., 609.89 feet to a 1" iron pipe. Thence S. 29°
43' 20" E., 221.30 feet to a '/2" rebar. Thence N.
60° 16' 40" E., 188.66 feet to a 1/2" rebar. Thence
S. 29° 43' 20" E., 121.25 feet to a 1/2" rebar.
Thence S. 60° 16' 40" W., 325.85 feet (passing
thru a }/2" rebar at 188.66 feet.) Thence S. 29° 43’
20" E., 19.62 feet to a 1" iron pipe on the Bulk-
head line of Lake Superior. Thence N. 60° 49' 11"
E., 607.18 feet along said Bulkhead line to the
point of beginning. Together with an easement
for purposes of egress, ingress and regress over

App. 40

and across a strip of land 30 feet in width on
either side of the following described line; Com-
mencing at the Southwest corner of said Section
22; thence east along the South section line a
distance of 1,320 feet; thence North 692 feet;
thence North 57° East a distance of 90 feet to the
point of beginning; thence South 30° East a dis-
tance of 420 feet; thence North 72° East a dis-
tance of 368 feet more or less. To be included
along with this description are all docks, fuel
and waterlines, breakwalls and seawalls of Port
Superior Marine Association and area between
breakwalls and seawalls, in Lake Superior and
bulkhead lines as established. Grantors reserve
easement on above described premises to use
parking facilities and grant same to others. Par-
cel contains 3.08 acres.

Also:

A second easement for purposes of egress,
ingress and regress over and across the follow-
ing described property: That part of Govern-
ment Lot 3, Section 22, T. 50 N., R 4W., Bayfield
County, Wisconsin, described as follows: To
locate point of beginning, commence at the iron
pipe marking the intersection of the North-
South '/s line of said Section 22 with the water’s
edge of Lake Superior. Thence run S. 87° 48' 20"
W., 317.23 feet to a 1/2 inch rebar. Thence S. 60°
16' 40" W., 188.66 feet to a 1/2 inch rebar. Thence
N. 29° 43' 20" W., 221.30 feet to a 1 inch iron pipe
which is the point of beginning. Thence S. 75°
37° 10" W., 142.25 feet to a 1/2 inch iron pipe.
Thence S. 29° 43' 20" E. 40 feet. Thence N. 75° 37'
10" E. 142.25 feet. Thence N. 29° 43' 20" W. 40
feet to the point of beginning.

App. 41

All as described in the Plat of Survey attached hereto as
Exhibit “A” and incorporated herein by reference as a
portion of this Declaration of Trust.

Article 6. Description of Buildings: All buildings and
attachments located on premises.

Article 7. The Units: The unit numbers of the units
contained in the said Exhibit “A” are as follows: Boat
Slips numbered consecutively from 1 through and includ-
ing 272 and Docks “A”; “1”; “2”; “3”; “4”; and “5.”

Each future lessee shall be entitled to the exclusive
possession of his unit in accordance with the terms of this
Declaration. Each unit, together with its undivided inter-
est in the common areas and facilities, shall for all pur-
poses constitute real property.

The location, approximate area, and immediate com-
mon area to which each unit has access is set forth in
Exhibits “A” and “B”. The legal description of each unit
shall consist of its number as aforesaid. Every deed, lease,
mortgage, or other document may describe a unit by its
identifying number shown on Exhibit “A”, and such
description shall be good and sufficient for all purposes.
No unit owner may sub-divide his unit smaller than that
shown on Exhibit “A”. Each unit shall consist of the space
enclosed and bounded by the interior surfaces of the unit
as shown on Exhibit “A”, and further designated on
Exhibit “B”, subject to any encroachment created by set-
tlement or moving of the docks, or permissible repairs or
modifications which are deemed valid easements for the
benfit [sic] of such unit owners, or the common element;
as the case may be, excepting such as may be created by
willful conduct.

Les Ue Rene

App. 42

Article 8. Description of Common Areas and Facilities:
The common areas and facilities shall consist of all of the
property designated on the said Plat of Survey (Exhibit
“A”) as common areas. Any structures erected or main-
tained within said common boundary as aforesaid shall
be a part of the common areas and facilities.

All easements and rights described herein are appur-
tenant, running with the land, perpetual, bonding on the
undersigned, its successors and assigns, and where desig-
nated as common areas and facilities, shall constitute
such common areas and facilities pursuant to this Decla-
ration of Trust.

Article 9. Description of Limited Common Areas and
Facilities: There are no limited common areas as defined
in the unit Ownership Act designated as such in this
Declaration of Trust, except that when all units are leased
the By-laws may designate specific parking areas as lim-
ited common area reserved for the use of parking.

Article 10. Value of Property: The value of the property
as defined in the Unit Ownership Act is $1,496,000.00.
The value of each unit and the percentage of undivided
interest in the common areas and facilities appertaining
to each unit and its owner for all purposes, including
voting, shall be an average value of $5500 for each of the
units and each unit shall have an equal share of one vote
per unit owned.

Each unit owner shall own an undivided interest, in
the percentages hereinbefore set forth, in the common
areas and facilities as a tenant in common with all other
unit owners, and, except as may otherwise be limited in
this Declaration, shall have the right to use and occupy

App. 43

the common areas and facilities for all purposes incident
to the use and occupancy of his unit, including the right
to vote as hereinafter set forth, and such incidental uses
permitted by this Declaration, which right shall be appur-
tenant to and run with his unit. The above percentages
shall be permanent and may not change without consent
of all unit owners by amendment to this Declaration.

The building and premises, including ali individual
units, are to be used solely for recreational purposes in
strict conformity with the restrictions and covenants
hereto attached.

Article 11. Rights and Obligations of the Association:
Robert F. Holmgren and Gertrude I. Holmgren d/b/a R.
W. Docks & Slips (“The Developer”) shall retain fee sim-
ple title to the Boat Slip/ Units, Common Areas and Facil-
ities (hereinafter referred to as “demised premises”) (See
Attachment “A”) for and during the term hereinafter
mentioned. Said “demised premises” is more particularly
described in this Declaration and Exhibits, recorded
under the Unit Ownership Act, in the office of the Regis-
ter of Deeds, Bayfield County, Wisconsin, which are made
a part hereof by reference.

App. 44
EXHIBIT A-1l
on SBIR In GT ee ee F—=E
- _~
— i oe
Dock A foc | Dock °2
sf Sk le7 lo?
iT 13 ime $4 jos joc
crytl sa lo oy
| 1 $e oy TT o>
ila ” 4 1 ; 99 hy mI loo
$F) 9¢ inal ?
cos 2 eg ees
Panne ? _ fe y} 7
! s canlei ‘Tt! °
r ‘ rll 3 e? ¥?
1G ‘ rae ry L
5 se pad | ie tw] ry
7 oo 3? anion
| 7 “TL * = 1 = Yo
t —=— ~"

: — 4 UJ - +
Tin a 7 ri : ?
is te CFA
134 4 bp Ht?
' “ | ._-* 2
te fp jf ta £9 j Lo
¥ o ott ¢? pa Sv
t ——— — -— Li =a —EE ~- ot -_—_

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_2531%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
