# Opposition Brief — Bugryn v. City of Bristol

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_2426%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2001
- **Citation:** 534 U.S. 1019

## Text

(¢ Su So.
( &) preme Court, U

FILED
No. 01-407 OCT 9 2001
In The CLERK
Supreme Court of the United States

+

FRANK W. BUGRYN, JR., MARY DUDKO,
MICHAEL DUDKO, AND JOHN BUGRYN,

Petitioners,

CITY OF BRISTOL, PLANNING COMMISSION
OF THE CITY OF BRISTOL, AND THE
BRISTOL DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY,

Respondents.

*

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The Appellate Court Of The
State Of Connecticut

e

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENTS IN OPPOSITION

°

BRIAN T. HENEBRY
Counsel of Record

Carmopy & Torrance LLP
50 Leavenworth Street

P.O. Box 1110

Waterbury, CT 06721-1110

(203) 573-1200

Counsel for Respondents

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

\

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Ifa municipality exercises its condemnation authority
in such a manner that a specific and identifiable interest
may benefit from the condemnation, do the Fifth and
Fourteenth Amendments to the United States Constitu-
tion require the application of heightened scrutiny in
determining whether the condemnation is being carried
out for a public use?

2. If the answer to the first question is “yes,” is height-
ened scrutiny warranted in this case where the trial court
considered all the evidence regarding the circumstances
surrounding the condemnation and concluded that the
purpose of the taking was to develop a multi-lot indus-
trial park that would proceed with or without the
involvement of a particular private entity that never com-
mitted to purchasing one of the lots in the industrial
park?

ii

LIST OF PARTIES AND AFFILIATES

The names of all parties to the proceedings before the
Connecticut Appellate Court appear in the caption of the
case. Bristol is a city in the state of Connecticut. There are
no corporate petitioners.

ili

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTIONS PRESENTED ..............0..0-e0000.
LIST OF PARTIES AND AFFILIATES............... i
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ...............0.e0e0e00- iv
ce ee Cee 1
SES TEE EDT 1
STATEMENT OF THE CASE...........-...0-00000. 1
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT............. 5

1. The Petitioners’ Claim Is Contrary To Decisions
Of This Court And Is Unsupported By Any Fed-

SO ae EON ETRE ESCs SEEN 6
2. Petitioners’ “Heightened Scrutiny” Claim Is

Grounded In State Constitutional Law ......... 12
3. The Factual Predicate For The Petitioners’ Claim

Was Rejected By The Trial Court............... 18
rr: i a ie are re 22

NE an dade Was ha oso OER Kaeo koe s 25

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases
Acco Unlimited Corp. v. City of Johnston, 611 N.W.2d

ee SS NU eb oo oc b aac ok oped dackh os kde ex 15
AMSAT Cable Ltd. v. Cablevision Ltd. Partnership, 6

Pe er ClO CO BI i nas viva es naniee 9, 10, 13, 15
Avalonbay Communities, Inc. v. Orange, 256 Conn.

Pe ics, Ge cn TEE 5a 4 as ho AOR EASA tO ees 17
Berman v. Parker, 348 U.S. 26

Lo | Sr ers angen oem 7, i, 42, 16,23
Bugryn v. City of Bristol, 63 Conn. App. 98, 774

A.2d 1042, cert. denied, 256-Conn. 927, 776 A.2d

Se Ce iin. c Pasa xk Neh ee Ah a SR oes 5
Calderon v. Moore, 518 U.S. 149 (1996)............... 22

Casino Reinvestment Development Authority v.
Banin, 320 N.J. Super. 342 (N.J. Law Div. 1998) .... 16

Church of Scientology of California v. United States,

GE DP COMMON 8 5 ean heiens chawe base be kueseuee 22
Cincinnati v. Vester, 281 U.S. 439 (1930)............05. 7
City of Atlantic City v. Cynwyd Investments, 148 N.J.

as 2. Se Ae 15, 16
City of Lansing v. Edward Rose Realty, 442 Mich.

G26, SUZ N.W2G G38 (1998S) osc ckseicadeces 13, 14

City of Lansing v. Edward ee ealty, Inc., 192
Mich.App. 551, 481 N.W.2d 795 (Mich. A Pp-),
aff'd, 442 Mich. 626, 502 N.W.2d 638 (Mich.

bs PEL OEP ECOSPORT SET Ther oe net ae rere e 9
Hawaii Housing Authority v. Midkiff, 467 U.S. 229
| eer es Ltt eet e ete eee eee e eee n eens passim

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued
Page

Hawley v. South Bend, Dept. of Redevelopment, 270
Ind. 109, 383 N.E.2d 333 (1978) .............0.3 16, 17

International Paper Co. v. United States, 282 U.S. 399
RUPEE nie nn caeelcephesa anes cena 12

Joslin Mfg. Co. v. Providence, 262 U.S. 668 (1923)..... 11

Minneapolis Comm. Dev. Agency v. Opus Northwest,
LLC, 582 N.W.2d 596 (Minn. Ct. App.), review
denied, 1998 Minn. LEXIS 779 (1998) .............. 15

National Railroad Passenger Corp. v. Boston & Maine
Corp., S00 U.S. 407 CGI2) oo nas cis va venincns 6, 8, 10

Poletown Neighborhood Council v. City of Detroit, 410
Mich. 616, 304 N.W.2d 455 (1981)............. passim

Richardson v. City and County of Honolulu, 124 F.3d
1150 (9th Cir. 1997), cert. denied, 525 U.S. 871

CRN OO s suk 0s ound cred Roce Mee Ewe ea ened eeeee ae
Rindge Co. v. County of Los Angeles, 262 U.S. 700

tS | ry pees a hia, Mitre yh me rere mm 7
Ruckelshaus v. Monsanto Co., 467 U.S. 986 (1984) ...... 6

Small Landowners v. City and County of Honolulu,
832 FSupp. 1404 (D. Hawaii 1993), aff'd, Rich-
ardson v. City and County of Honolulu, 124 F.3d
1150 (9th Cir. 1997), cert. denied, 525 U.S. 871
ES: OEE Peer Perey PorT yen cereale eay Mere mee 9

Rr See re a ee ee 14

Township of West Orange v. 769 Associates, LLC, 341
N.J.Super. 580, 775 A.2d 657 (N.J. App. Div.
pS Perec ee eye eee Pee reir cee armen 16

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
Union Lime Co. v. Chicago & N.R. Co., 233 U.S. 211
(2DEA) ooo acdccccccscuvcnsesd casbeckdsstbhasuessawas 7
Vance v. Bradley, 440 U.S. 93 (1979)........... 2. ee eeee 9
Wilmington Parking Authority v. Land With Improve-
ments, 521 A.2d 227 (Del. 1987)........ 13, 14, 17, 21
STATUTES
2B USC. § TABU) vein oc civne Svcd canvakcebade cia 1
BB USS. 8 OER oiccaedids ccccabencebsetebsanacestsanes 9
Comm. Gam, Genk, © SG. so ius ceedu vussardsddssentes 3
Comm. Gis. Dent: B Rass oc ieessis dis Secevesi ties 2
Conn. Gom. Bint. © GiGi «seccscpaess esau Pre er

OTHER AUTHORITIES

2A Nichols on Eminent Domain (3rd Ed.),
OS TAMMOMOE 6c cCivek cscvebucvaguvaleeS teadeee rhamen 11

Annotation, “Eminent Domain —- Public Use,” 81
LSS SS4 CHO S 6 5 i Wie obSc cBS Vouk ee Gs es 7

OPINIONS BELOW

The order of the Connecticut Supreme Court denying
the petitioners’ petition for certification was issued on
June 7, 2001, and is reported at 256 Conn. 927, 776 A.2d
1143 (2001). The opinion of the Connecticut Appellate
Court is reported at 63 Conn. App. 98, 774 A.2d 1042
(2001). The opinion of the Connecticut Superior Court
(Kremski, S.T.R.) dated January 31, 2000 is unreported.
All three of these decisions are reprinted in the peti-
tioners’ appendix to the Petition for Writ of Certiorari.

+

JURISDICTION

The Connecticut Supreme Court denied the peti-
tioners’ petition for certification on June 7, 2001. The
Connecticut Appellate Court entered judgment on April
24, 2001. The petitioners invoke the jurisdiction of this
Court pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a). As outlined below
in section four of the “Reasons For Denying The Writ,”
the respondents contend that this case is moot.

¢

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On May 25, 1999, the City of Bristol deposited $1.29
million in the Superior Court of Connecticut in order to
commence condemnation proceedings with regard to two
parcels of land owned by respondents that were being
taken in connection with the City’s plans to develop an
industrial park. The Bristol Development Authority and

the Bristol City Council had previously voted unani-
mously to approve the project plan for the Southeast
Bristol Mini-Industrial Park, which will include twelve-
fifteen industrial lots.1 Prior to obtaining these approvals,
the Project Plan had been the subject of multiple public
hearings and had been reviewed and approved by the
Bristol Planning Commission, the Central Connecticut
Regional Planning Agency, and numerous state agencies.

As required by C.G.S. § 32-224(b)(12), the City Coun-
“Scit-and the Bristol Development Authority specifically
found as part of the approval process that the land and
- buildings within the boundaries of the project area will
be used “principally for manufacturing or other economic
base business purposes or business support services” and
that the project will contribute to the economic welfare of
the City of Bristol and the State of Connecticut. Accord-
ing to the Project Plan prepared by an independent con-
sultant, the net present value of the excess of tax
revenues over the estimated cost of development is
approximately $8.9 million. The Project Plan also states
that after 10 years the industrial park will create between
396 and 594 jobs for the City.

The City of Bristol ranks in the top 25% of Connecti-
cut’s poorest towns. It is considered an economically
disadvantaged community and a “targeted investment
community” under Conn. Gen. Stat. § 32-222(u). Like
many of the old manufacturing towns in the Northeast,

1 Under the project plan, the two parcels owned by
petitioners will be subdivided into four industrial lots.

manufacturing employment in Bristol has declined stead-
ily over the years. The number of manufacturing jobs in
the city declined in part as a result of several plant
shutdowns that occurred beginning in the 1970s. The
unemployment rates in Bristol in the 1990s were consis-
tently greater than the state and regional averages.

The petitioners filed an action to enjoin the takings in
the Connecticut Superior Court. The petitioners’ principal
claim was that the taking was designed to benefit a
private entity (Yarde Metals). In the proceedings below,
the petitioners never challenged the constitutionality of
Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 32-220 et seq., the Connecticut Eco-
nomic Development and Manufacturing Assistance Act of
1990 (“the Act”), under which these condemnation
actions were brought. Moreover, petitioners did not dis-
pute that: (1) one of the purposes of the Act was to
promote the development of industrial parks; (2) an
industrial park developed under the Act is a public use;
(3) the respondents complied with all necessary pro-
cedures required for exercising the power of eminent
domain under the Act; and (4) the Bristol City Council
and Bristol Development Authority made the necessary
factual findings required under Conn. Gen. Stat.
§ 32-224(b)(12), including a finding that the industrial
park will contribute to the economic welfare of the city
and the state.

_ After hearing four days of testimony from peti-
tioners, the mayor of the City of Bristol, the director of
the Bristol Development Authority, and the president of
Yarde Metals, the trial court denied the injunctive relief
requested. This testimony focused on the origins of the
project, the reasons why the City sought to develop the

industrial park, whether the City’s primary purpose was
to provide a benefit to Yarde Metals as alleged by peti-
tioners, and whether the project would proceed even if
Yarde Metals elected to relocate elsewhere.? The trial
court rejected petitioners’ claim that the purpose of the
taking was to benefit Yarde Metals, noting that Yarde
Metals’ involvement in the project remained in doubt and
finding that the City intended to proceed with the indus-
trial park with or without Yarde Metals.

The Connecticut Appellate Court affirmed the trial
court’s ruling in a unanimous decision, and the Connecti-
cut Supreme Court subsequently denied certification of
the same issue the petitioners are now asking this Court

2 The mayor of Bristol and the director of the Bristol
Development Authority testified that they always intended to
proceed with the project whether or not Yarde Metals elected to
relocate to the industrial park. Craig Yarde, the president of
Yarde Metals, testified that, although he was interested in
relocating to the industrial park, he had never committed to the
City -— contractually or otherwise — to purchase one of the lots
because: (1) he had been looking to relocate since 1996 in order
to eliminate the costs of operating out of multiple facilities, and
the delays and uncertainties occasioned by this litigation had
caused him to look for sites elsewhere; (2) until the litigation
was ultimately resolved and the City’s ownership was beyond
dispute, Mr. Yarde could not know the configuration of the land
the City could sell and whether the land that was ultimately
available would meet his company’s expansion needs at that
time. In addition to Yarde Metals, the City received a number of
inquiries from other companies interested in relocating to this
industrial park. The director of the Bristol Development
Authority testified regarding his efforts to market the industrial
park to companies located throughout the Northeast and Mid-
Atlantic regions.

to review.? Bugryn v. City of Bristol, 63 Conn. App. 98, 774
A.2d 1042, cert. denied, 256 Conn. 927, 776 A.2d 1143
(2001). Additional facts relating to the respondents’ claim
that this case is moot are set forth in section four below.

«

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

Petitioners contend that the Fifth and Fourteenth
Amendments to the United States Constitution require
“heightened scrutiny” in determining whether a condem-
nation is being carried out for a public use if the condem-
nation power is exercised in such a manner that a specific
and identifiable private interest may benefit. This conten-
tion is contrary to numerous decisions of this Court and
would thus require the outright reversal of long-settled
precedent of this Court. In fact, there is not a single
federal court decision that supports petitioners’ claim.
The petitioners seek review based upon the decisions of
the highest courts in two states that appear to disregard
the fact that the “heightened scrutiny” standard sought
by petitioners arose out of state constitutional law in
Michigan. Moreover, the petitioners’ claim is based upon
a factual predicate that the trial court rejected in its fact-
bound decision after fully considering all the evidence

3 The three-member panel of the Appellate Court included
Justice Ellen Peters, former Chief Justice of the Connecticut
Supreme Court. Prior to her service on the Connecticut Supreme
Court, Justice Peters was a professor at Yale Law School from
1956 to 1978. The respondents incorporate by reference the facts
set forth in the decisions of the Appellate Court and the trial
court, which are included in the Appendix to the Petitioners’
Brief. ~

presented by petitioners regarding the public use issue.
The trial court’s inquiry into all the facts and circum-
stances surrounding the condemnation satisfied even the
“heightened scrutiny” that petitioners advance. Finally,
the issue raised by petitioners is moot because their claim
for heightened scrutiny is based upon an alleged benefit
to Yarde Metals, and Yarde Metals purchased an indus-
trial plant in another town while this case was on appeal
and thus will not be relocating to the Southeast Bristol
Mini-Industrial Park. The petition is without merit and
should be denied.

1. The Petitioners’ Claim Is Contrary To Decisions
Of This Court And Is Unsupported By Any Fed-
eral Case Law.

The most striking aspect of petitioners’ brief is the
absence of a single citation to a federal court decision
supporting their claim. The reason for this pregnant
omission is simple: this Court has long held that the role
of courts in reviewing a claim that a particular exercise of
the condemnation power does not serve a public use is a
limited one. See National Railroad Passenger Corp. v. Boston
& Maine Corp., 503 U.S. 407, 422 (1992) (holding that
Court will not strike down a condemnation based upon
the public use requirement so long as the taking is “ratio-
nally related to a conceivable public purpose,” in reject-
ing private railroad’s challenge to condemnation of its
property by Interstate Commerce Commission for benefit
of Amtrak); Ruckelshaus v. Monsanto Co., 467 U.S. 986,
1014 (1984) (“[t]he role of the courts in second-guessing
the legislature’s judgment of what constitutes a public
use is extremely narrow.”); Hawaii Housing Authority v.

Midkiff, 467 U.S. 229, 240-41 (1984) (the scope of the
public use requirement is “coterminous with the scope of
a sovereign’s police powers” and the judiciary should
defer to legislature’s public use determination unless the
use involves an “impossibility” or is “palpably without
reasonable foundation”); Berman v. Parker, 348 U.S. 26, 32
(1954) (“[t]he role of the judiciary in determining whether
that power [of eminent domain] is being exercised for a
public purpose is an extremely narrow one”); see also
Richardson v. City and County of Honolulu, 124 F.3d 1150,
1157-58 (9th Cir. 1997), cert. denied, 525 U.S. 871, 168
(1998) (rejecting claim that city land reform ordinance
violated public use requirement and holding that mini-
mum scrutiny test set forth in Midkiff applied rather than
heightened scrutiny sought by landowners). Thus,
despite the relative frequency with which challenges to
the eminent domain power are based upon claims that no
public use is served, no federal court has ever adopted
the heightened scrutiny test proposed by petitioners. This
speaks volumes about the merits of petitioners’ claim.4

In Hawaii Housing Authority v. Midkiff, wherein this
Court first held that the public use requirement is coter-
minous with the scope of the police power, the Court

4 This Court has also repeatedly held that it regards with
great respect judgments of state courts as to what constitutes a
public use, and such judgments should be upheld unless clearly
without ground. See Cincinnati v. Vester, 281 U.S. 439, 446 (1930);
Rindge Co. v. County of Los Angeles, 262 U.S. 700, 706 (1923);
Union Lime Co. v. Chicago & N.R. Co., 233 U.S. 211 (1914); see
generally Annotation, “Eminent Domain - Public Use,” 81
L.Ed.2d 931, § 3, at 937-39, and cases cited therein.

|

upheld the constitutionality of a land reform statute that
authorized the use of eminent domain for the specific

purpose of transferring the property to another private

entity. 467 U.S. at 239-245. The court held that:

There is, of course, a role for courts to play in
reviewing a legislature’s judgment of what con-
stitutes a public use, even where the eminent
domain power is equated with the police power.
But the Court in Berman made clear that it is ‘an
extremely narrow’ one... . In short, the Court
has made clear that it will not substitute its
judgment for a legislature’s judgment as to what
constitutes a public use, ‘unless the use be pal-
pably without reasonable foundation.’ . .

Fo be sure, the Court’s cases have repeatedly
stated that ‘one person’s property may not be
taken for the benefit of another private person
without a justifying public purpose, even
though compensation be paid.’ . . . But where
the exercise of the eminent domain power is
rationally related to a conceivable public pur-
pose, the Court has never held a compensated
taking to be proscribed by the Public Use
Clause.

Id. at 240-41.5

5 While Berman and Hawaii Housing Authority v. Midkiff
involved challenges to the constitutionality of a statute, the
standard of review set forth in these cases and their progeny is
equally applicable to legal challenges to particular exercises of a _
legislatively-delegated condemnation power by federal or local
agencies. See National Railroad Passenger Corp. v. Boston & Maine
Corp., 503 U.S. at 422-423 (applying Midkiff deferential standard
to a challenge to a condemnation by Interstate Commerce
Commission for benefit of Amtrak pursuant to eminent domain

The only federal court that has specifically addressed
petitioners’ argument soundly rejected it. In AMSAT
Cable Ltd. v. Cablevision Ltd. Partnership, 6 F.3d 867, 875
(2nd Cir. 1993), the Second Circuit stated:

Plaintiffs rely on a case applying a Michigan
Constitutional test requiring a “clear and signifi-
cant” showing that a condemnation statute that
serves private interests is predominantly
directed toward serving public interests. City of
Lansing v. Edward Rose Realty, Inc., 192 Mich.
App. 551, 481 N.W.2d 795 (Mich. App.), aff'd,
442 Mich. 626, 502 N.W.2d 638 (Mich. 1993) (dis--
cussing state and federal standards). However,
the federal standard is otherwise. As stated in
Hawai Housing Authority v. Midkiff, 467 U.S. 229,
241, 104 S.Ct. 2321, 2329, 81 L.Ed.2d 186 (1984),
the exercise of eminent domain power will be
upheld where it is “rationally related to a con-
ceivable public purpose.... ”

power under 45 U.S.C. § 562(d)); Small Landowners v. City and
County of Honolulu, 832 F.Supp. 1404, 1409 (D. Hawaii 1993),
aff'd, Richardson v. City and County of Honolulu, 124 F.3d 1150 (9th
Cir. 1997), cert. denied, 525 U.S. 871 (1998) (judicial deference
given to legislative findings of public use is equally applicable
to findings of municipality required as conditions for exercise of
eminent domain power, citing Vance v. Bradley, 440 U.S. 93,
110-111 (1979)). In the present case, both the Bristol Planning
Commission and the Bristol City Council were required under
Conn. Gen. Stat. § 32-224(b)(12) to find, prior to authorizing the
condemnation, that “the land and buildings within the
boundaries of the project area will be used principally for
manufacturing or other economic base business purposes or
business support services” and that “the project will contribute
to the-economic welfare of the City of Bristol and the State of
Connecticut.”

10

Id. at 875. Respondents have been unable to find any
other federal decisions that discuss the decisions of the
Michigan, Delaware, and New Jersey courts relied upon
by petitioners in support of their claim for “heightened
scrutiny.” The reason for the dearth of federal case law on
this issue is clear: “heightened scrutiny” is contrary to
every decision of this Court addressing the issue.

The petitioners’ claim that federal law is unclear as to
the degree of scrutiny required where there is a direct
benefit to a specific and identifiable private entity (as
opposed to some benefit) is patently incorrect. In
numerous cases addressed by this Court there was clearly
a direct benefit to a private entity as a result of a taking,
but the court applied a deferential standard in reviewing
the public use issue. In National Railroad Passenger Corp.,
Midkiff and Berman, the condemnation resulted in the
transfer of ownership from one private_party to another,
and this Court applied the same test: whether the taking
is rationally related to a conceivable public purpose.
National Railroad Passenger Corp. v. Boston & Maine Corp.,
503 U.S. at 422 (ICC condemned railroad properiy to be
transferred to Amtrak, a private corporation); Hawaii
Housing Authority v. Midkiff, 467 U.S. at 240-43 (land
reform legislation resulted in transfer of condemned
property to private owners in order to address land oli-
gopoly); Berman v. Parker, 348 U.S. at 32-34 (where
redevelopment statute allowed property taken to be
transferred to private redevelopers, Court held that “[w]e
cannot say that public ownership is the sole method of
promoting the public purposes of community redevelop-
ment projects”). In all of these cases, there was a substan-
tial and direct benefit to the private party who ultimately

11

acquired the condemned parcel, and the Court applied
the same deferential standard of review in each case.

The petitioners provide absolutely no explanation or
delineation between condemnations that provide some
benefit, as opposed to those that provide a direct benefit,
to a private entity. This is simply a meaningless distinc-
tion that represents an attempt to create confusion in the
case law where there is none. Heightened scrutiny for
any compensated taking would be directly contrary to the
rulings in Berman, Midkiff, and their progeny.® Under the
petitioners’ approach, any taking that contemplated the
ultimate transfer of the condemned property to a private
entity (whether for purposes of economic development or
any other purpose) would provide a direct benefit to that
entity and would therefore have to be reviewed under
heightened scrutiny. Such an approach would require the
reversal of well-established precedent and result in the
invalidation of scores of state and federal economic
development statutes.

This Court has made it clear that the mere fact that a
particular taking may have some incidental benefit to a
private entity does not invalidate the taking. See Joslin
Mfg. Co. v. Providence, 262 U.S. 668 (1923); 2A Nichols on
Eminent Domain (3rd Ed.), § 7.03[5][a] at p. 7-46.

¢ The petitioners’ claim that different levels of scrutiny can
be applied to “public use” challenges in much the same manner
that different levels of scrutiny are applied to claims under the
Equal Protection Clause. Petitioners’ Brief at 15-16. This
argument ignores the fact that Midkiff established that the public
use requirement of the Taking Clause is coterminous with a
sovereign’s police powers. There is no case law that would
support applying different levels of scrutiny in this context.

The mere fact that property taken outrigh by
eminent domain is transferred in the first
instance to private beneficiaries does not con-
demn that taking as having only a private pur-
pose. The Court long ago rejected any literal
requirement that condemned property be put
into use for the general public. ‘It is not essential
that the entire community, nor even any consid-
erable portion, . . . directly enjoy or participate
in any improvement in order [for it] to consti-
tute a public use.’ . . . ‘[W)hat in its immediate
aspect [is] only a private transaction may .. . be
raised by its class or character to a public affair.’

Hawatt Housing Authority v. Midkiff, 467 U.S. at 243-44
(internal citations omitted). If the purpose of the taking is
primarily to serve a public benefit, then that same public
use continues after the property is transferred to a private
entity. International Paper Co. v. United States, 282 U.S. 399,
408 (1931). The operative issue, therefore, is whether the
purpose of the taking is to serve a public benefit. This
inquiry ts inherently fact specific. As discussed in section
3 below, this factual issue was addressed in detail by the
trial court, which rejected petitioners’ claim that the pri-
mary purpose of the taking at issue was to benefit a
private entity (Yarde Metals). (See Trial Court Decision in
Petitioners’ Appendix at App. 35).

2. Petitioners’ “Heightened Scrutiny” Claim Is
Grounded In State Constitutional Law.

As discussed above, there is absolutely no support in
any federal decisions for the “heightened scrutiny” stan-
dard advanced by petitioners. The petitioners’ argument
is based upon decisions of the Michigan and Delaware

el i 0s

. AF IONE me

a RN TIRE

13

Supreme Courts that purport to apply heightened scru-
tiny to public use claims where a taking results in a
benefit to a specific and identifiable private entity. See
City of Lansing v. Edward Rose Realty, 442 Mich. 626,
638-39, 502 N.W.2d 638 (1993), citing Poletown Neighbor-
hood Council v. City of Detroit, 410 Mich. 616, 634-35, 304
N.W.2d 455 (1981); Wilmington Parking Authority v. Land
With Improvements, 521 A.2d 227, 231 (citing Poletown). A
brief review of these decisions demonstrates, however,
that the origin of the “heightened scrutiny” standard lies
in state constitutional law first enunciated by the Michi-
gan Supreme Court in the Poletown case. The test appears
to have been applied by the Delaware Supreme Court
(and by subsequent decisions of the Michigan Supreme
Court) in cases involving federal constitutional issues
without any discussion or analysis of whether the test is
consistent with federal law. See id.

The “heightened scrutiny” standard relied upon by
petitioners originated in the 1981 decision of the Michi-
gan Supreme Court in Poletown Neighborhood Council v.
City of Detroit, supra.’ Significantly, Poletown did not
involve any federal constitutional issues. Rather, the sole
constitutional issue in that case was whether the taking of
a large tract of land by the Detroit Economic Develop-
ment Council for subsequent conveyance to General

7 The respondents are unaware of a single decision prior to
Poletown discussing or applying heightened scrutiny to a public
use issue. Moreover, respondents were unable to find a single
federal court decision that has cited Poletown, although the
heightened scrutiny standard adopted in Poletown has been
discussed and rejected by the Second Circuit. See AMSAT Cable
Ltd. v. Cablevision, 6 F.3d 867, 875 (2nd Cir. 1993).

14

Motors for an assembly plant constituted a taking for a
private use in violation of Article 10, § 27 of the Michigan
Constitution. 410 Mich. at 628-29. In announcing the
“heightened scrutiny” standard it was applying, the
Court cited no authority - state or federal - in support of
this test. Id. at 634-35. The Poletown court ultimately
affirmed the trial court’s factual determination that the
public interest was the predominant interest being
advanced and therefore held that the taking was valid. Id. |

In subsequent decisions, the Michigan Supreme |
Court has applied the Poletown “heightened scrutiny” test |
in cases involving (unlike Poletown) both state and federal
constitutional claims regarding the public use issue. See
City of Lansing v. Edward Rose Realty, 442 Mich. at 638-39;
Tolksdorf v. Griffith, 464 Mich. 1, 9, 626 N.W.2d 123 (2001).
However, in neither of these cases did the court ever
expressly address the question of whether the Poletown
test is inconsistent with federal law, nor did the court
discuss the state constitutional roots of the test. Similariy,
the Delaware Supreme Court adopted the Poletown
“heightened scrutiny” test without discussing or noting
that Poletown was based on state constitutional law. Wilm-
ington Parking Authority v. Land With Improvements, 521
A.2d at 231. Moreover, in Wilmington Parking Authority
the court never even discussed whether the Poletown test
is inconsistent with federal law. The only court that has
actually addressed Poletown’s roots in state constitutional
law concluded that the “heightened scrutiny” test is

a

Ee a ae ne

15

contrary to federal law.* See AMSAT Cable Ltd. v. Cablevi-
sion Ltd. Partnership, 6 F.3d at 875.

The conflict between the highest appellate courts in
Connecticut, Michigan, and Delaware is therefore not a
significant conflict warranting the review of this Court
because: (1) the Michigan and Delaware decisions are
clearly contrary to federal law; (2) the conflict arose not
from a reasoned analysis of federal law but rather from
the borrowing of a test that has its origins in state consti-
tutional law; (3) the Michigan and Delaware courts never
even considered or evaluated how the Poletown test com-
pares to the standard of review applied by federal courts
following Midkiff.°

® In addition to the decision of the Connecticut Appeliate
Court, at least one other state court has rejected “heightened
scrutiny” in the context of a public use challenge to a
condemnation, but it did not expressly discuss the state
constitutional origin of the Poletown test. See Minneapolis Comm.
Dev. Agency v. Opus Northwest, LLC, 582 N.W.2d 596, 599 (Minn.
Ct. App.), review denied, 1998 Minn. LEXIS 779 (1998) (holding
that heightened scrutiny is contrary to both the national trend
and Minnesota precedent); cf. Acco Unlimited Corp. v. City of
Johnston, 611 N.W.2d 506 (lowa 2000) (in equal protection
challenge to condemnation, property owner conceded that
heightened scrutiny did not apply because claim did not
involve a fundamental right or suspect classification).

% The petitioners’ reliance upon decisions from New Jersey
and Indiana is misplaced. See Petitioners’ Brief at 13 n.9. As
petitioners concede, the New Jersey Supreme Court's only
statement on this issue has been in dicta. See City of Atlantic City
v. Cynwyd Investments, 148 N.J. 55, 73, 689 A.2d 712 (1997).
Moreover, neither of the New Jersey decisions cited by
petitioners include any discussion or analysis of the Poletown
test's origins in Michigan constitutional law, nor do they
evaluate whether “heightened scrutiny” is contrary to federal

16

There is a second reason why the decisions of the
Michigan and Delaware Supreme Courts do not, at least
at this time, create a conflict that is worthy of the time
and attention of this Court. Despite the appellation of
“heightened scrutiny,” one could question whether the
Poletown test actually differs from the deferential “ratio-
nal relation” test applied by federal courts under the
Berman/Midkiff line of cases. If the Michigan and Dela-
ware courts have truly adopted a “heightened scrutiny”
standard (analogous to heightened scrutiny analysis
under the equal protection clause), then it is clearly con-
trary to the decisions of this Court and review is not
warranted for that reason. If, however, the Poletown court,
through the use of the term “heightened scrutiny,” simply
meant that a trial court addressing a public use issue

—must consider any evidence that the stated purpose of the
taking is pretextual, then the Poletown test is not true
“heightened scrutiny” analysis and is consistent with fed-
eral law. Interpreted in this manner, the Poletewn test is
analogous to a rule of relevance in cases involving public

An nae

law. See id.; Township of West Orange v. 769 Associates, LLC, 341
N.J.Super. 580, 583-84, 775 A.2d 657 (N.J. App. Div. 2001). Prior
to the Township of West Orange decision, a New Jersey trial court
held that the Cvnwyd court had not embraced the “heightened
scrutiny” standard, but rather simply reaffirmed the settled
principle that a condemnation can be invalidated where the
stated public purpose differs from the actual purpose of the
taking. Casino Reinvestment Development Authority v. Banin, 320
N.J. Super. 342, 346 (N.J. Law Div. 1998). Similarly, the decision
of the Indiana Supreme Court in Hawley v. South Bend, Dept. of
Redevelopment, 270 Ind- 109, 383 N.E.2d 333 (1978) is of little
relevance here. As petitioners admit, the Hawley court did not j
adopt a “heightened scrutiny” standard. A

17

use issues. Specifically, the Poletown test could be con-
strued as simply meaning that where a party contests a
taking on the ground that it is for a private benefit, not a
public use, then the court must not merely “rubber
stamp” the decision of the condemning authority, but
must instead consider any evidence of the facts and cir-
cumstances surrounding the taking that would tend to
show that the true purpose differs from the stated pur-
pose. Cf. Wilmington Parking Authority v. Land With
Improvements, 521 A.2d at 231 (discussing Poletown test
and then stating that in reviewing projects where private
parties may benefit, the trial court should examine any
evidence of the “underlying purpose” of the condemnor);
Hawley v. South Bend, Dept. of Redevelopment, 270 Ind. at
120 (court must consider all evidence regarding what is
the principal use to be made of property). If the Poletown
test simply means that evidence that a taking is truly for
a private benefit must be considered if offered, then it is
entirely consistent with federal law.!°

These two alternative interpretations of the Poletown
test are mutually exclusive. Either the Poletown test repre-
sents true heightened scrutiny and is therefore contrary
to federal law, or it is simply a rule of relevance and thus
there is not a true conflict between the decisions of the

10 Even applying a deferential standard of review,
Connecticut courts have struck down takings where there was
sufficient evidence that the stated purpose of the taking was
pretextual. See Avalonbay Communities, Inc. v. Orange, 256 Conn.
957, _. A.2d ___ (2001) (invalidating taking of land for
purported purpose of developing an industrial park where real
purpose was to prevent development of subject parcel for
affordable housing).

18

highest courts in Connecticut, Michigan, and Delaware.
Under either interpretation, the petitioners’ writ should
be denied. Moreover, the fact that neither the Michigan
nor Deiaware Supreme Courts specifically addressed the
state constitutional origins of the Poletown test suggests
that this conflict between state courts — if it is indeed a
true conflict - has not been addressed with sufficient
clarity by the state courts so as to warrant this Court’s
review of the issue at this time.

3. The Factual Predicate For The Petitioners’ Claim
Was Rejected By The Trial Court.

The writ should also be denied because the peti-
tioners’ entire claim rests upon a factual claim that was
rejected by the trial court after thoroughly considering all
the evidence offered by petitioners in support of their
contention that the purpose of this taking was to benefit a
local manufacturer named Yarde Metals, rather than to
obtain the economic development benefits of job creation
and an increased tax base. This was not a case where the
trial court merely “rubber stamped” the decision of the
City of Bristol to exercise the power of eminent domain
without examining evidence regarding the origin and
underlying purpose of the project. Rather, the trial court
conducted several days of hearings at which the peti-
tioners’ counsel extensively questioned the director of the
Bristol Development Authority, the mayor of the City of
Bristol, and the president of Yarde Metals regarding peti-
tioners’ claim that the purpose of this taking was to
benefit Yarde Metals. After hearing all this testimony and

19

reviewing the numerous documentary exhibits, the trial
court found that:

[a]lthough the city had numerous discussions
with and made plans to have Yarde Metals as an
anchor tenant in the proposed industrial park,
no agreement or contract, written or oral, was
made with Yarde Metals. Furthermore, and
more telling, the evidence shows the city plans
on developing the industrial park whether or
not Yarde Metals indeed becomes a tenant. This
court notes that even if Yarde Metals becomes
the hoped-for anchor tenant, it will have to com-
ply with the developmental plan as approved by
Bristol’s Developmental Board and City Coun-
cil. Therefore, this court finds that the home-
owners’ claims of constitutional right violations
are without merit.

(Trial Court Decision, Petitioners’ Appendix at 35).

Even in the unlikely event this Court were to grant
certification and ultimately adopt a “heightened scru-
tiny” test, it is hard to conceive how the analysis on
remand would be any different from the thorough anal-
ysis of the public use issue conducted by the trial court.
The petitioners cite no evidence on the “private/public”
use issue that was excluded by the trial court, nor do they
even attempt to explain how “heightened scrutiny” could
change the trial court’s factual findings in any manner.
The simple truth is that the trial court, after conducting a
detailed analysis of the petitioners’ factual claims regard-
ing the purpose of this taking, rejected their claim that
the purpose of this industrial park was to benefit Yarde
Metals. Having been unsuccessful in attempting to con-
vince the trial court that the underlying purpose of the

20

industrial park at issue was to benefit Yarde Metals, the
petitioners now raise this standard of review issue in this
petition.

Moreover, even if this Court were to grant certifica-
tion, the “heightened scrutiny” issue should not even be
reached unless the trial court was clearly erroneous in
determining that this taking was not designed to benefit
Yarde Metals. In their petition for certification to the
Connecticut Supreme Court, the petitioners expressly rec-
ognized that their “heightened scrutiny” claim was
dependent upon a factual argument that the trial court
rejected. Specifically, the petitioners asked the Connecti-
cut Supreme Court to review the following two questions:

A. When condemnation authority is exercised
in such a manner that it is designed to benefit a
specific and identifiable private interest, should
the Court apply heightened scrutiny in deter-
mining whether the predominant interest being
advanced is the public interest?

B. If the answer to the preceding question is in
the affirmative, did the Court err in failing to
apply the strict scrutiny in the instant case.

(Petition for Certification to Connecticut Supreme Court
at pp. 1-2). Noticeably absent from the petition for a writ
of certiorari to this Court is any reference to the second
question above, namely, whether there are sufficient facts
in this record to establish that the trial court should have
applied heightened scrutiny in this case. The trial court’s
factual findings that Yarde Metals never committed to the
project, and that the industrial park would proceed with
or without Yarde Metals, preclude the application of

21

heightened scrutiny here, even if this Court were to rule
that it should apply in some circumstances.

The factual circumstances of the present case should
be contrasted with those in the Michigan and Delaware
cases where heightened scrutiny was applied. For exam-
ple, in Poletown, the City of Detroit was condemning an
entire neighborhood comprising a 465-acre tract for a
single user —- General Motors. Poletown, 410 Mich. at
636-37. In contrast, the Southeast Bristol Mini-Industrial
Park will include twelve-fifteen lots to be occupied by
multiple users. Moreover, unlike the present case, there
was no issue in Poletown as to whether General Motors
would purchase the site if the City acquired it, and there
was no evidence that the City would have proceeded
with the taking absent General Motors’ involvement.
Here, the trial court expressly found that Yarde Metals
never committed to the industrial park and that the City
planned to develop the park even without Yarde Metals’
involvement as a tenant. (Trial Court Decision at Peti-
tioners’ Appendix 35). Similarly, in Wilmington Parking
Authority v. Land With Improvements, 521 A.2d 227 (1986),
there was no evidence of any doubt that the private entity
allegedly benefited would ultimately participate in the
project, nor was there any evidence that the project
would have proceeded without that entity’s involvement.

In sum, the trial court’s decision demonstrates that it
engaged in the type of review that petitioners assert was
necessary, namely, an inquiry into the facts and circum-
stances underlying this taking. Having considered this
evidence carefully, the trial court rejected petitioners’
factual claim that the respondents exercised the eminent
domain power in order to directly benefit a specific and

22

identifiable private interest. The petitioners’ request for
this Court’s review of the “heightened scrutiny” issue is
therefore precluded by the factual rulings of the trial
court.?!

4. The Case Is Moot.

The final reason why the petition should be denied is
that this case is now moot because of events that occurred
while this matter was pending before the Connecticut
Appellate Court. “[I]f an event occurs while a case is
pending on appeal that makes it impossible for the court
to grant ‘any effectual relief whatever’ to a prevailing
party, the appeal must be dismissed” as moot. Church of
Scientology of California v. United States, 506 U.S. 9, 12
(1992); Calderon v. Moore, 518 U.S. 149, 150 (1996). The
premise of the petitioners’ entire case no longer exists
because Yarde Metals ultimately decided to move its
operations to another town in Connecticut due to the
long delay caused by this litigation. Specifically, Yarde
Metals purchased an existing industrial plant in the

11 Because the petitioners’ claim is based upon the factual
predicate that the City exercised “its condemnation authority in
such a manner as to directly benefit a specific and identifiable
private interest, the respondents have raised a second question
for certification (should this Court grant certiorari on the issue
raised by petitioners) as to whether this predicate finding exists
here. Specifically, if the Court grants the petition, the
respondents seeks certiorari on the issue of whether the record
in this case warrants the application of heightened scrutiny
given the trial court’s findings that the purpose of the taking
was to develop an industrial park that would proceed with or
without Yarde Metals’ involvement.

23

neighboring town of Southington, Connecticut in March
of 2001 and thus will not be relocating to the Southeast
Bristol Mini-Industrial Park. (During the trial, Yarde Met-
als’ owner had testified that he had begun looking at
industrial properties in other towns and had to move
forward in the near future with a decision on relocation.)

The decision of Yarde Metals to relocate to another
town renders this case moot because the only issue for
which petitioners seek certification is whether the trial
court should have applied heightened scrutiny to the
public use issue due to the alleged involvement of Yarde
Metals in this project. In the event that this Court were to
grant certification and overrule the Berman / Midkiff line of
cases, the most that petitioners could hope for is a
remand to the Connecticut courts for a determination as
to: (1) whether heightened scrutiny should be applied to
the facts of this case; and (2) if so, whether the taking is
valid under the heightened scrutiny test.

The outcome of such a remand is preordained and
therefore this Court cannot provide petitioners with any
practical relief. On remand, the petitioners would pre-
sumably offer evidence in support of their claim that
Yarde Metals allegedly receives a direct benefit from this
condemnation and therefore the taking is not for a public
use. The respondents would then introduce evidence con-
cerning Yarde Metals’ relocation to Southington and Bris-
tol’s plans to proceed with the industrial park, thereby
mooting petitioners’ entire case. The very fact that the
City of Bristol is still proceeding with the plans for devel-
opment of this industrial park (despite the loss of Yarde
Metals as a potential tenant) substantiates the trial court’s
factual finding that the purpose of this project was never

24

to benefit Yarde Metals, and that the project would go
forward with or without the involvement of Yarde Met-
als.

The petitioners are well aware of Yarde Metals’
relocation to Southington. The respondents are hard
pressed to understand why petitioners have sought cer-
tiorari because petitioners simply will not be able to
obtain the relief they ultimately seek - an injunction of
the taking. The most the petitioners can obtain from this
Court’s granting of certification is a Pyrrhic victory
requiring a remand whose outcome has already been
determined. While the pursuit of such victories may be a
noble endeavor, the petitioners have wholly failed to
provide this Court with any reasons why it should
address an argument that, in addition to being moot, is
contrary to its long-settled precedent, does not represent
a significant conflict among State courts, and relies upon
a factual predicate that was rejected by the trial court.

+

25

CONCLUSION

- For the foregoing reasons, the respondents respect-
fully request that the petition for a writ of certiorari be
denied.

Respectfully submitted,

BRiAN T. HENEBRY

Counsel of Record
Carmopy & Torrance LLP
50 Leavenworth Street
P.O. Box 1110

Waterbury, CT 06721-1110
(203) 573-1200

Counsel for Respondents

October 8, 2001

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_2426%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
