# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Vacances Heliades S. A. v. AAR International, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_2368%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2001
- **Citation:** 534 U.S. 995

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED

@1 346 AUG 2 72001
No.

=z SS
IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

VACANCES HELIADES S.A. AND
NIMELIAS ENTERPRISES S.A..,

Petitioners,

V.

AAR INTERNATIONAL, INC.,

Respondent.

ON PETITION For A Writ OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED
STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

KONSTANTINOS ARMIROS
GARY I. BLACKMAN
LEVENFELD PEARLSTEIN
33 West Monroe Street
21st Floor

Chicago, Illinois 60603
(312) 346-8380

GEORGE N. KOTSONIS

LAW OFFICES OF

GEORGE N. KOTSONIS
Century Building, Suite 610
230 West Wells Street
Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53203
(414) 271-7474

August 2001

PAUL GONSON
Counsel of Record
STEPHEN G. TOPETZES
ERIN K. ARDALE
KIRKPATRICK & LOCKHART LLP
1800 Massachusetts Ave., N.W.
Second Floor
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 778-9000

Balmar Legal Publishing Services, Washington, DC 20005 (202) 682-9800

Nione Ah

a ak

i

QUESTION PRESENTED

In determining in which forum a case should proceed,
must the court give dispositive weight to a forum selection
clause in the agreement between the parties, or may it
consider the ciause as one factor together with other factors?

ii
STATEMENT PURSUANT TO RULE 29.6

Petitioner Vacances Heliades S.A. states that it has no
corporate parent and that no publicly held company owns ten
percent or more of Vacances Heliades S.A.’s stock.

Petitioner Nimelias Enterprises S.A. states that it is a
wholly-owned subsidiary of Vacances Heliades S.A.

on Oe ee ee ee ee

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
EEE ES a ED i
STATEMENT PURSUANT TO RULE 29.6 ...0.0.....0.cccccccceeee il
ES Le ili
SEE TD ccccnccnusnnssscquicsacsocceeseneesssceiznsonses iV
gE ea vi
EET ES EE l
STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION .....0..........ccccccscsscseseseeeeee 2
STATUTORY PROVISION INVOLVED ....0.0.....cccccccecceseeee 2
SPE UIO ED SOU. BUMS GPA ccccscensnsncasscesccesseocneuseccestonencosene 2
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION .........0.......... 5

iV
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases: j Page
Blanco v. Banco Indus. de Venezuela, S.A., 997 F.2d 974
ER ge SUN icteisiiiiecetaethaaceiabsitine dicing a all 8,9

The Bremen v. Zapata Off-Shore Co., 407 U.S. 1 (1972) ... passim

Caldas & Sons, Inc. v. Willingham, 17 F.3d 123 (Sth Cir.
I cicccasiesisln-oivaseabschtsnsnshaciiphdsasibesemnencettuadliuddeadeanagalisadsaauadeii 10

Citro Florida, Inc. v. Citrovale, S.A., 760 F.2d 1231
PN I dacinisdesnchinictastaalscnaciadaitae tala tasnttacaseescnateaiceabietabh 10

Com Systems, Inc. v. Nahmad, 1991 U.S. App. LEXIS
xe ee FS . _ | een eve eNO 9-10

Fil Leveraged U.S. Government Bond Fund Ltd. v. TCW
Funds Mgmt., Inc., 1998 U.S. App. LEXIS 17586

eels Se ME I cccalissncixicnisistnsheciinceenistiioinidamentiblinanasies 9
Gulf Oil Corp. v. Gilbert, 330 U.S. 501 (1947) 0... eee 7
Hunt Wesson Foods, Inc. v. Supreme Oil Co., 817 F.2d

Be SUED ilsciicctnicneisinsncnscniosictinsilailtniniipialddhiansaniecaaiéia 10
Keaty v. Freeport Indonesia, Inc., 503 F.2d 955 (Sth Cir.

SUPT cisinchinsniiciincarneieonasiibadaneejiiiadicssalisiainlaiviabiiainiiadadaaaiaiin 10
Milk ‘N’ More v. Beavert, 963 F.2d 1342 (10th Cir.

SII ascvienhindssinnbidacnssiaieteciptonidneh cneteheandaspaisiplalanpisacdieteinapbiaiaiadamanadadat 11
N. Cal. Dist. Council of Laborers v. Pittsburg-Des

Moines Steel Co., 69 F.3d 1034 (9th Cir. 1995) .............. 10
Piper Aircraft Co. v. Reyno, 454 U.S. 235 (1981) ................. 7

Royal Bed & Spring Co., Inc. v. Famoussul Indus. e
Comercio de Moveis Lida. 906 F.2d 45
CIE: TID accesstiscnneiscneetpniigtiendiisinninenabaamaeiedaiciniasideieiiiiints 6,7

Seward v. Devine, 888 F.2d 957 (2d Cir. 1989)...............0e 10

Re ee ere WER oreany

Recher eh Os:

Vv

Stewart Organization, Inc. v. Ricoh Corp., 487 U.S. 22

CITED natscietabisisnieipeneiahaimenteseuainaamna ~ Sy ee
Statutes:
Be AE. 9 VO Ce wi tntethiictncceadeeneeeeds, pay
BO Res STA) Ce stistssittentnpiietarinabiiiaies 2
Miscellaneous:

Patrick J. Borchers, Forum Selection Agreements in the
Federal Courts After Carnival Cruise: A Proposal for
Congressional Reform, 67 WASH. L. REV. 55 (1992)......... 6

Phoebe Kornfeld, The Enforcement of Forum-Selection
Clauses After Stewart Organization, Inc. v. Ricoh
Corporation, 6 ALASKA L. REV. 175 (1989) ..........cc. 6-7

Leandra Lederman, Viva Zapata!: Toward A Rational
System of Forum-Selection Clause Enforcement in

Diversity Cases, 66 N.Y.U. L. REV. 422 (1991) «0.0.0.0... 7
17 MOORE’S FEDERAL PRACTICE § 111.03 (2000)..........00...... 7
17 MOORE’S FEDERAL PRACTICE § 111.13 (2000).................. 7
17 MOORE’S FEDERAL PRACTICE § 111.74 (2000) .......0000000... 7
Shaan’ on Lain WE sci isicoicnsiDuaciciamasuaatnaiene 5
David H. Taylor, The Forum Selection Clause: A Tale of

Two Concepts, 66 TEMPLE L. REV. 787 (1993) ..............000. 7

UNITED STATES TRADE REPRESENTATIVE, 2001 TRADE
POLICY AGENDA AND 2000 ANNUAL REPORT OF THE
PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES ON THE TRADE
AGREEMENTS PROGRAM (March 2001) ...............::sseesseeeeeeee 5

vi
TABLE OF APPENDICES

Page

Appendix A — Judgment Of The United States Court Of
Appeals For The Seventh Circuit, Dated And Filed
AGE Bi, FOE scececcsecesesseevecnenessensennteasnnemnmentannnnsansanianiens A-l

Appendix B — Opinion Of The United States Court Of
Appeals For The Seventh Circuit, Dated And Filed
Agth 27 FETE nnsieninniiiniiaaael B-1

Appendix C — Judgment In A Civil Case Of The United
States District Court For The Northern District of
Illinois, Eastern Division, Dated And Filed June 13,

Appendix D —- Memorandum Opinion And Order Of The
United States District Court For The Northern District
of Illinois, Eastern Division, Dated And Filed June 13,
FOE. cxceacsescsmssssesintieniesanndininaaenn D-1

Appendix E — Section 20.B. “Nonexclusive Jurisdiction
in Illinois,” Aircraft Lease Agreement Between
AAR International And Vacances Heliades S.A.,
BataG DEa 06, FIGS cccscecssssenesnsiniasminemmaaaeiaae E-1

No.

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

VACANCES HELIADES S.A. AND
NIMELIAS ENTERPRISES S.A..

Petitioners,
Vv.

AAR INTERNATIONAL, INC.,
Respondent.

PETITION For A Writ OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED
STATES COURT OF APPEALS For THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

The Petitioners respectfully pray that a writ of certiorari
be issued to review the order and opinion of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit entered on April 27,
2001.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (App. B, infra, B-1
to B-26) is reported at AAR Int’l, Inc. v. Nimelias Enter. S.A.,
250 F.3d 527 (7th Cir. 2001). The opinion of the United
States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois (App.
D, infra, D-1 to D-8) is reported at AAR Int'l, Inc. v.
Vacances Heliades S.A., 100 F. Supp. 2d 875 (N.D. Ill. 2001).

2

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Seventh Circuit was entered on
April 27, 2001. On July 18, 2001, Justice Stevens extended
the time within which to file a petition for a writ of certiorari
to and including August 25, 2001. The jurisdiction of this
Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISION INVOLVED

The doctrine of forum non conveniens is not statutory.

28 U.S.C. § 1404(a) provides that “For the convenience
of parties and witnesses, in the interest of justice, a district
court may transfer any civil action to any other district or
division where it might have been brought.”

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

1. This case involves the weight to be given to a
clause in a business agreement between sophisticated
corporations designating a forum for resolution of disputes
about the agreement. These forum selection clauses are
common in domestic and international agreements, because
parties seek certainty. Confusion in the case law has
undermined this certainty in two important respects: first, as
a general matter, there is confusion regarding whether these
clauses are to be dispositive or merely a factor when a court
considers a motion to dismiss for forum non conveniens or to
transfer venue under 28 U.S.C. § 1404(a); and, second, there
is confusion regarding the extent to which the answer to that
question is affected by whether the forum selection clause
permits only one forum (is “exclusive”) or more than one
forum (is “nonexclusive”), and whether the forum selection
clause’s language requires the forum (is “mandatory”) or
merely permits it (is “permissive”).

The United States courts of appeal are divided in both
respects. It is significant that this division is occasioned by
two opinions of this Court with respect to forum selection

ee a eee

pa ee nee en et Oe eee

3

clauses. In The Bremen v. Zapata Off-Shore Co., this Court
directed the district courts, in considering a motion to dismiss
for forum non conveniens, to give a forum selection clause
dispositive weight. 407 U.S. 1, 15 (1972). On the other hand,
in Stewart Organization, Inc. v. Ricoh Corp., this Court
permitted the district courts, in considering motions to
transfer venue pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1404(a), to treat a
forum selection clause as only one of several factors. 487
U.S. 22, 29 (1988).

What has resulted is a The Bremen line of cases and a
Stewart line of cases at odds with each other. For the most
part, The Bremen line of cases gives the forum selection
clause dispositive effect, while the Stewart cases do not. The
consequence is that if the selected forum is another federal
court, a party will usually seek to enforce the agreement with
a motion to transfer venue under section 1404(a) and the
clause will be given a weak effect, whereas if the selected
forum is a foreign court, the agreement will generally be
enforced by a forum non conveniens motion and the clause
will be given a stronger effect.

Neither The Bremen nor Stewart speaks to the effect to
be given to clauses that are phrased in permissive rather than
mandatory terms or that select more than one possible forum.

2. Petitioner Vacances Heliades S.A. (“VH”) is a
French corporation. App. D, infra, D-1, n.1. In May 1998,
VH leased an airplane from Respondent AAR International,
Inc. (“AAR”), App. B, infra, B-2, an Illinois corporation,
App. D, infra, D-1, n.1, and, in turn, subleased the airplane to
Nimelias Enterprises S.A, App. B, infra, B-2, a Cypriot
corporation. App. D, infra, D-1, n. 1. After the airplane
experienced mechanical problems, VH was forced to remove
an engine from the airplane and repair it at considerable
expense. App. B, infra, B-4. Contending that AAR breached
the lease’s provision guaranteeing performance of the
engines, VH sued AAR in court in Greece, where the

4

petitioners did business and where the airplane was located.
Id.

A clause in the lease agreement captioned
“Nonexclusive Jurisdiction in Illinois,” provided that either
party could bring a case in the United States District Court for
the Northern District of Illinois, in the Illinois Supreme Court,
in any jurisdiction in which either party or its assets may be
found, or in any other appropriate jurisdiction. App. E, infra,
E-1. The clause further provided that neither party would
challenge the other party’s choice of forum in Illinois as
inconvenient. Jd. at E-2.

—

Instead of asserting its own claims (that VH was in
default of its lease obligations) as counterclaims in the Greek
action, AAR later chose to bring an original action against
VH in the United States District Court for the Northern
District of Illinois, Eastern Division. App. D, infra, D-2.
After AAR filed suit in that court, VH moved for the district
court to abstain in favor of the earlier filed action in Greece
and for dismissal on forum non conveniens grounds. Id. The
district court granted abstention but did not reach the forum
non conveniens issue. Id. at D-7.

On appeal, the United States Court of Appeals for the
Seventh Circuit reversed the abstention ruling and decided the
forum non conveniens issue. App. B, infra, B-1 to B-26. It
observed that “the district court did not address [that issue],
presumably deeming it mooted by its decision to abstain the
action.” Jd. at B-19. VH objected to the court of appeals’
consideration of this matter, for there had been no ruling by
the district court. Jd. The court of appeals noted that, as a
general rule, an appellate court may not consider an issue not
passed on below. Id. at B-20. But it viewed “the proper
resolution of the issue” as “clear” and “beyond any doubt”
and proceeded to decide the question. Id.

The court of appeals treated the combination of the
permissive forum selection clause’s provision that the

5

Northern District of Illinois would be an appropriate forum to
resolve a dispute together with the provision that a party
would not object to the other party’s choice of forum in
Illinois on convenience grounds as tantamount to a mandatory
forum selection clause. Jd. at B-24. It then held, stating that
it was following The Bremen, that the so-deemed
“mandatory” forum selection clause was dispositive of the
forum non conveniens motion.’ Id. In doing so, the Seventh
Circuit noted that other circuits disagreed with its approach.
Id. at B-22 to B-24. Because it believed that its ruling was
compelled as a matter of law, the court of appeals ordered the
district court to deny VH’s motion to dismiss on grounds of
forum non conveniens. Id. at B-25. :

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

A. Certainty in international agreements, recognized as
important in The Bremen in 1972, is needed even more today.
U.S. trade increased 25-fold between 1970 and 2000 and the
United States is the largest trading nation in the world.’

Issues as to the selection of a proper forum for the
resolution of disputes have been very much alive in the
courts. Shepards shows 1515 federal and state cases citing
The Bremen and 737 citing Stewart.’

' The Seventh Circuit said it would not apply the provision that a

party would not object to the other’s choice of forum in Illinois to either
the doctrine of abstention, see App. B, infra, B-19 or the first filed rule.
Id. at B-24, n.10.

, See UNITED STATES TRADE REPRESENTATIVE, 2001 TRADE POLICY
AGENDA AND 2000 ANNUAL REPORT OF THE PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED
STATES ON THE TRADE AGREEMENTS PROGRAM, Appendix I at 1 (March
2001).

* Shepards® on Lexis Nexis™ was accessed on August 16, 2001.

Note: The total number of cases will be less than the arithmetic total of _

these two numbers because some cases have cited both The Bremen and
Stewart.

ee

6

The conflicts and confusion in the courts with respect to
forum selection clauses warrant review by this Court. The
decision of the court of appeals in this case raises these issues
appropriately. The court of appeals candidly noted that other
circuits disagree with its holding both as to the dispositive
effect of a forum selection clause and as to its view that the
type of clause in this case was mandatory, and thus
dispositive.

B. The Seventh Circuit’s decision in this case
(following The Bremen) notes that it is in conflict with the
First Circuit’s decision in Royal Bed & Spring Co., Inc. v.
Famoussul Indus. e Comercio de Moveis Ltda., 906 F.2d 45
(1° Cir. 1990) (following Stewart). App. B, infra, B-22. In
Royal Bed, the First Circuit said:

“... [SJection 1404(a) does not apply. Nonetheless,
even though a foreign jurisdiction was chosen by
the parties, that fact should not preclude the
application of sound principles of forum non
conveniens enunciated in Stewart and similar
cases .... [T]he forum-selection provision is not
given dispositive effect. Rather, it is simply one of
the factors that should be considered and balanced
by the courts in the exercise of sound discretion.
See Stewart... .”

906 F.2d at 51.

It is difficult to understand why an identical forum
selection clause should be treated differently in motions to
transfer venue and in motions to dismiss on grounds of forum
non conveniens. One commentator has described this
difference as a “bizarre dichotomy.” The purpose of the two

* See Patrick J. Borchers, Forum Selection Agreements in the Federal
Courts After Carnival Cruise: A Proposal for Congressional Reform, 67
WASH. L. REV. 55, 70-71 (1992). Other commentators also criticize this
dichotomy. See Phoebe Kornfeld, The Enforcement of Forum-Selection
Clauses After Stewart Organization, Inc. v. Ricoh Corporation, 6 ALASKA

7

procedural mechanisms is essentially the same. The only real
difference is that a motion to dismiss for forum non
conveniens must be made when the alternative forum is not
within the United States because a motion to transfer venue
under 28 U.S.C. § 1404(a) will not be available. It is not
surprising that, in the absence of a forum selection clause,
federal courts consider similar factors when deciding motions
to transfer venue and motions to dismiss on grounds of forum
non conveniens.°

Because the Seventh Circuit’s decision in this case
conflicts with that of the First Circuit in Royal Bed with
respect to the dispositive effect to be given to forum selection
clauses in international agreements under the forum non
conveniens doctrine, and because both decisions continue the
confusion engendered by The Bremen and Stewart, review by
this Court is warranted.

C. Review is also warranted because the Seventh
Circuit’s interpretation of the forum selection clause conflicts
with interpretations of other courts of appeal.

Some courts of appeal expressly distinguish between
“mandatory” and “permissive” forum selection clauses when
considering motions to dismiss for forum non conveniens.
These courts give a “mandatory” forum selection clause

L. REV. 175, 191 (1989) (“Altogether, under Stewart, contracts become
equivocal and the contracting parties lose predictability and certainty in
their relationship.”); Leandra Lederman, Viva Zapata!: Toward A Rational
System of Forum-Selection Clause Enforcement in Diversity Cases, 66
N.Y.U. L. REV. 422 (1991); David H. Taylor, The Forum Selection
Clause: A Tale of Two Concepts, 66 TEMPLE L. REV. 787 (1993).

See 17 MOORE’S FEDERAL PRACTICE § 111.03 at *4, n.9 (transfer
factors same as forum non conveniens factors); 17 MOORE’S FEDERAL
PRACTICE § 111.74 at *8 (forum non conveniens factors); 17 MOORE’S
FEDERAL PRACTICE § 111.13 at *4 (Section 1404 factors). See also Piper
Aircraft Co. v. Reyno, 454 U.S. 235, 254 n.22 (1981); Gulf Oil Corp. v.
Gilbert, 330 U.S. 501, 508-509 (1947); and Stewart, 487 U.S. at 29.

8

dispositive weight when considering such a motion but weigh
a “permissive” forum selection clause as only one factor in
the analysis. However, when it is not clear that a clause is
“mandatory” — i.e., when the clause does not unambiguously
state that a party “must” in all circumstances go to only one
particular forum — the courts of appeal seem confused about
whether that clause should be characterized as “mandatory”
or “permissive.” As a result, nomenclature and drafting
confusion undermine desired certainty concerning such
agreements.

In the case presented for review, the Seventh Circuit
interpreted the parties’ forum selection clause as
“mandatory,” because, even though it was drafted with
“permissive” and “nonexclusive” language (i.e., it provided
that suit “may” be brought in Illinois and in other
jurisdictions), it also provided that a party would not object to
another party’s choice of venue in Illinois on the ground that
such a court is an inconvenient forum. App. B, infra, B-24.
As a result, the court held that the strict standards of The
Bremen applied, making the clause dispositive of VH’s
motion to dismiss for forum non conveniens. Id.

The Seventh Circuit acknowledged that the Second
Circuit took the contrary view of a similar clause in Blanco v.
Banco Indus. de Venezuela, S.A., 997 F.2d 974 (2d Cir. 1993).
App. B, infra, B-24. In Blanco, as in this case, the forum
selection clause was drafted in both “permissive” and
“nonexclusive” language (i.e., it provided that suit “may” be
brought in an English court, a New York state court, a New
York federal court, or a court in the City of Caracas,
Venezuela). Blanco, 997 F.2d at 979. In the case presented
for review, the Seventh Circuit asserted that Blanco’s
conclusion was “reasonable,” App. B, infra, B-24, because, as
Blanco said, the clause was not strengthened by any language
adding a party’s “irrevocable consent’” to a suit in the

9

designated fora or a waiver of forum non conveniens
objections.” Blanco, 997 F.2d at 979.

It is hard to understand why added language in a forum
selection clause specifically stating that a party will not object
to a chosen forum should have any effect at all, much less
turn a decision one way or the other. Presumably, such
nonobjections would be implicit in the parties’ agreement to
the clause. This Court seemed to say as much in The Bremen:
“...[It] is difficult to see why any such claim of
inconvenience should be heard to render the forum clause
unenforceable.” 407 U.S. at 16.

The Ninth Circuit arrived at the same conclusion of
unenforceability as the Second Circuit in Blanco, using a
different approach. In Fil Leveraged U.S. Government Bond
Fund Ltd. v. TCW Funds Mgmt., Inc., the Ninth Circuit
equated “exclusive” with “mandatory” and “nonexclusive”
with “permissive.” 1998 U.S. App. LEXIS 17586, at *5 (9th
Cir. July 29, 1998). Since the forum selection clause was
“nonexclusive,” the Fil court held that The Bremen’s
heightened standards did not apply. Jd. at *6. Fil is in direct
conflict with the case presented for review. See also the
following Ninth Circuit cases in contexts other than forum
non conveniens: Com Systems, Inc. v. Nahmad, 1991 U.S.
App. LEXIS 1318 (9th Cir. January 28, 1991) (affirming the
district court’s denial of a motion to dismiss based on a forum
selection clause solely because the forum selection clause
used the expressly permissive, rather than mandatory,

Fi Solely because of “the nonmandatory words the parties chose to
express their agreement...and not...because the permissive clause
contemplates more than one forum,” the court in Blanco distinguished The
Bremen’s exclusive and mandatory clause and refused to apply the stricter
standards to the forum non conveniens motion. Blanco, 997 F.3d at 979.
In Blanco, the dissenting judge accused the majority of the panel of ruling
on the basis that the clause was “nonexclusive,” see 997 F.2d at 985, but
the majority denied it was doing so. Id. at 979.

10

language “may” (“venue may be laid in Dade County”), and
not because of the clause’s nonexclusivity); N. Cal. Dist.
Council of Laborers v. Pittsburg-Des Moines Steel Co., 69
F.3d 1034, 1036 (9th Cir. 1995) (holding that a forum
selection clause providing that an arbitration award “shall” be
enforceable by a petition filed in a particular California state
court was “permissive” because it said nothing about
exclusive jurisdiction and instead only indicated consent to
jurisdiction in that court); Hunt Wesson Foods, Inc. v.
Supreme Oil Co., 817 F.2d 75, 77 (9th Cir. 1987) (holding
that a clause that provided that “the courts of California,
Orange County, shall have jurisdiction” did not provide for
exclusive jurisdiction, and therefore was permissive).

See also the following Fifth Circuit cases: Caldas &
Sons, Inc. v. Willingham, 17 F.3d 123, 127, 128 (Sth Cir.
1994) (holding that, as opposed to the unambiguous
mandatory forum selection clause in The Bremen, the parties’
nonexclusive clause providing that “the courts of Zurich shall
be applicable” was “permissive” because it merely indicated
that the parties consented to — rather than required —
jurisdiction in Zurich); Keaty v. Freeport Indonesia, Inc., 503
F.2d 955, 956 (Sth Cir. .1974) (holding as permissive a clause
that provided that “the parties submit to the jurisdiction of the
courts of New York”). And see the Eleventh Circuit case,
Citro Florida, Inc. v. Citrovare, S.A., 760 F.2d 1231, 1231-32
(11th Cir. 1985) (emphasis in original) (The forum selection
clause “place of jurisdiction is Sao Paulo/Brazil’ does not
Clearly specify that Sao Paulo is the only place of
jurisdiction....The Bremen court, however, was faced with a
much more specific clause. There the contract provided that
any dispute “must be treated before the London Court of
Justice.’”y’

” These cases, in turn, appear to conflict with, e.g., Seward v. Devine,
888 F.2d 957, 962 (2d Cir. 1989) (affirming dismissal based on a
mandatory forum selection clause because the forum selection clause

11
D. The decision in this case was incorrect.

1. Although the court of appeals stated that its
decision was made on the basis of The Bremen, that case does
not support the court of appeals’ decision. In The Bremen,
the parties contracted to transport an oil rig from Louisiana to
the Adriatic Sea. 407 U.S. at 2. During transportation, the rig
was damaged and towed to Tampa, Florida, where one party
filed a suit in the federal district court. Jd. at 3. The other
party asked the court to enforce the forum selection clause
contained in the contract, requiring exclusive jurisdiction in
the High Court of Justice in London. Jd.

This Court in The Bremen placed much emphasis on the
certainty of that forum. This Court said:

“It cannot be doubted for a moment that the parties
sought to provide for a neutral forum for the
resolution of any disputes arising during the tow.
Manifestly much uncertainty and great inconvenience
to both parties could arise if a suit could be
maintained in any jurisdiction in which an accident
occurred or if jurisdiction were left to any place where
the Bremen or Unterweser might happen to be found.
The elimination of ail such uncertainty by agreeing
in advance in a forum acceptable to both parties is
an indispensable element of international trade,
commerce, and contracting.”

Id. at 13-14 (footnote omitted).

provided that a particular New York state court “shall” have jurisdiction)
and Milk ‘N’ More v. Beavert, 963 F.2d 1342, 1345-1346, (10° Cir. 1992)
(affirming a district court’s remand to state court because it was
sufficiently clear that a forum selection clause providing that “venue shall
be proper...in Johnson County, Kansas” required venue in that particular
State court).

12

The forum selection clause in this case was not at all like
the exclusive selection clause praised in The Bremen as
eliminating uncertainty. It was, rather, like the other situation
that this Court in The Bremen decried —“. . . any place where
the Bremen or Unterweser might happen to be found.” /d.
- As already noted, the forum selection clause in this case
permits, in addition to courts in Illinois, “jurisdiction where
[either party] or its assets may be found... or in any other
appropriate jurisdiction.” App. E, infra, E-1. In The Bremen,
this Court was concerned about multiple jurisdictions
between Louisiana and the Adriatic Sea. The subject matter
of the lease in this case is a Boeing 737 airplane. Jurisdiction
is potentially available virtually anywhere in the world.

2. “The proper resolution of this issue” was scarcely
“beyond any doubt,” as the Seventh Circuit said when it
undertook to consider the issue in the first instance and then
ruled as a matter of law. It should have remanded to the
district court for its initial determination.

E. This is an area of the law where predictability is
important. Business, their lawyers, and courts will benefit
from a clarification of the conflicts that divide the courts of
appeal. A possible solution to the current dichotomy between
The Bremen and Stewart lines of cases and the confusion
about wording could be (1) that a forum selection clause that
requires venue in only one jurisdiction be presumptively
dispositive in every context in which a district court is to
make a determination as to which forum a case is to proceed
in, and (2) that a clause that does not require such exclusive
venue be one factor to be given such weight as the court shall
determine, together with other factors, in its discretion.

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,
KONSTANTINOS ARMIROS PAUL GONSON
LEVENFELD PEARLSTEIN Counsel of Record

33 West Monroe Street
21st Floor

Chicago, Illinois 60603
(312) 346-8380

GEORGE N. KOTSONIS

LAW OFFICES OF

GEORGE N. KOTSONIS
Century Building, Suite 610
230 West Wells Street
Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53203
(414) 271-7474

August 2001

STEPHEN G. TOPETZES

ERIN K. ARDALE

KIRKPATRICK & LOCKHART

1800 Massachusetts Ave., N.W. LLP
Second Floor

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 778-9000

A-l

APPENDIX A:
JUDGMENT OF THE UNITED STATES COURT OF
APPEALS FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT,
DATED AND FILED APRIL 27, 2001

United States Court of Appeals
For the Seventh Circuit
Chicago, Illinois 60604

JUDGMENT — WITH ORAL ARGUMENT

Date: April 27, 2001

BEFORE: Honorable WILLIAM J. BAUER,
Circuit Judge

Honorable DANIEL A. MANION,
Circuit Judge

Honorable LANA DIAMOND ROVNER,
Circuit Judge

No. 00-2737

AAR INTERNATIONAL, INCORPORATED
Plaintiff — Appellant,

Vv.

NIMELIAS ENTERPRISES S.A., VACANCES HELIADES
S.A. and PRINCESS AIRLINES S.A..,
Defendants — Appellees.

A-2

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Northern District of Illinois, Eastern Division
No. 99 C 8090, Elaine E. Bucklo, Judge

For the foregoing reasons, we REVERSE, with costs, the
district court’s decision to abstain and REMAND with
instructions to vacate the dismissal order and to deny the
appellees’ motion to dismiss on grounds of forum non
conveniens. The above is in accordance with the decision of
this court entered on this date.

(1061-110393)

B-1

APPENDIX B:
OPINION OF THE UNITED STATES COURT
OF APPEALS FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT,
DATED AND FILED APRIL 27, 2001

In the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Seventh Circuit

No. 00-2737

AAR INTERNATIONAL, INCORPORATED,
Plaintiff-Appellant,

V.

Nimelias Enterprises S.A., Vacances Heliades S.A. and
Princess Airlines S.A.,

Defendants-Appellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the Northern
District of Illinois, Eastern Division.
No. 99 C 8090—Elaine E. Bucklo, J udge

ARGUED DECEMBER 7, 2000—DECIDED APRIL 27, 2001

B-2
Before BAUER, MANION, and ROVNER, Circuit Judges.

BAUER, Circuit Judge. AAR International, Inc. (“AAR”)
appeals from the decision of the district court granting the
appellees’ motion to abstain, stay and/or dismiss proceedings
which AAR had brought against Vacances Heliades S.A.
(“VH’’). AAR also asks us to remand the case to the district
court with instructions to deny VH’s alternative motion to
dismiss the action on grounds of forum non conveniens. For
the reasons set forth below, we reverse and remand.

BACKGROUND

AAR leased a Boeing 737-3Q8 aircraft to VH for a term
of 96 months pursuant to an Aircraft Lease Agreement in May
of 1998. Shortly thereafter, VH subleased the plane to
Nimelias Enterprises S.A., who in tur sub-subleased it to
Princess Airlines. VH and Nimelias have assigned to AAR
their rights under the sublease and subsublease, respectively.
On November 23, 1998, AAR contracted to sell its rights in
the plane, the lease, the sublease, and the subsublease to First
Security Bank as owner trustee for the benefit of TA Air X
Corp. However, on October 28, 1999, First Security Bank
and TA Air X Corp. assigned and transferred back all such
nights to AAR.

On August 23, 1999, First Security’ provided defendants
with written notice asserting that they were in default of their
obligations under the various lease and sublease agreements
in several respects. Specifically, AAR claimed that the
defendants had violated the lease by: (1) permitting
delinquent EuroControl charges of approximately Euro

1

AAR claims that it sent this notice together with First Security, but
VH claims that First Security sent it with a carbon copy to TA Air but that
the notice “on its face does not appear to have been communicated to
AAR.” However, VH does state that the later notice of termination of
lease was sent by First Security and signed by a representative of AAR.

B-3

700,000 to accrue on the plane;’ (2) failing to keep the plane
in serviceable condition by allowing an engine to be taken
off-wing and to remain unserviceable for over one year and
by failing to take required steps to enable the engine to be
repaired and maintained; and (3) failing to pay variable rent
under the lease for July, 1999. As a further response to these
alleged acts of default, AAR and First National provided the
defendants with written notice of termination of the lease on
September 7, 1999.

VH claims that AAR failed to fulfill some of its
obligations under the lease before it sent notice of the
defendants’ alleged default, and that at least one of the actions
that AAR characterizes as an act of default was caused by
AAR’s prior breach. Specifically, AAR notes that the lease
obliged AAR to deliver the plane “fresh from a Boeing
Maintenance Planning Document C-7 check (overhaul) with
all CPCP tasks current and completed.” VH claims that the
C-7 overhaul inspection “makes the [a]ircraft airworthy for at
least 8,000 flight hours.” However, VH claims that the

* BuroControl is the European Organization for the Safety of Air
Navigation. AAR claims that, by November 4, 1999, EuroControl had
asserted a lien against the plane to secure unpaid EuroControl route
charges plus interest in the amount of Euro 1,284,606,22 and had sued
Princess to recover this amount. AAR also asserts that it paid EuroControl
in order to recover possession of the plane, to discharge the lien, and to
terminate litigation over the lien, and that the defendants have refused to
reimburse AAR for the payment.

7 This contention is hotly disputed by AAR, which notes that the lease
expressly provides that the plane was leased in an “as is” condition and that VH
bore the risk of any mechanical problems with the plane, including the engine.

\

B-4

plane’s engines began to develop technical problems after
about 3,500 flight hours, and that a subsequent maintenance
check revealed that one of them was in need of immediate and
extensive repairs. VH asserts that it needed certain maintenance
records to perform the required repairs, including video
boroscopes of the engine which the lease had required AAR to
perform before delivering the plane to VH. VH maintains that it
contacted TA Air (which was at that time the owner-participant
of the plane and of AAR’s rights under the lease) and requested
the maintenance records (including the boroscopes), but that the
records could not be found. VH claims that after investigating
the matter, it concluded that the boroscopes had not been
completed. VH claims that it was unable to repair the engine
without the required maintenance documents, and was
therefore forced to take the engine off-wing and to replace it
with a substitute engine, which it had leased from another
company at a cost of $700,000. According to VH, TA Air
consented in writing to the engine substitution on June 3, 1999.
VH sent the original engine to an Israeli company for repairs.

On October 1, 1999, less than one month after First Security
and AAR had sent the defendants its notice of termination of the
lease, VH filed a complaint before the One Member First
Instance Court of Athens, Greece against “AAR Coprp.,”
(AAR’s parent company, which AAR insists is a wholly
separate legal entity from AAR), Transamerica Equipment
Financial Services, and TA Air. VH alleged that AAR and
TA Air had breached the lease and caused VH damages by
failing to perform required maintenance and by failing to
provide VH with the information necessary to repair the
engine. VH asserted that the defendants’ termination of the
lease was “invalid, improper and fraudulent” because: (1) it
came from the owner trustee of the aircraft (First Security)
rather than from the owner-participant (TA Air); and (2) it
was “supported on non-existent and unfounded grounds,
which have been created by those who have made the
termination.” (That is, VH claimed that AAR and TA Air were
themselves keeping the engine off-wing, and therefore keeping

————<— lll C——s—OSSS“itsON

B-5

the plane out of serviceable condition, by refusing to turn over
the records needed to make the repairs.) The complaint sought
the arrest of AAR’s assets in Greece (including the plane)’ as
security for VH’s damage claims, an order prohibiting the
deregistration and departure of the aircraft from Greece, and
the maintenance of the status quo until a hearing on the merits
of VH’s damage claims.

On October 8, 1999 AAR Corp. and TA Air filed
handwritten responses with the Greek court. AAR Corp.
denied that the arrest of its assets and of the aircraft was
necessary, arguing that it was a publicly traded corporation
with significant assets, and that therefore VH was exposed to
no financial risk. AAR Corp. also argued that it should be
free of any legal liability because AAR’s rights in the lease
were assigned to TA Air at the time that the engine failure
occurred, and because the contract expressly provided that the
plane was leased “as is” with no warranty. On October 11,
1999 the Athens court issued a brief handwritten provisional
order prohibiting the deregistration and departure of the plane
pending a subsequent hearing, which was set for November
11, 1999. At the November 11 hearing, counsel for the
parties appeared and presented arguments. AAR claims that
during the hearing, its local counsel orally argued that AAR
was a separate entity from AAR Corp., that only the former
was a party to the lease, and that VH had therefore named the
wrong party in its complaint. On November 15, 1999, the
court reaffirmed and extended the October 11th provisional
order pending a final decision cn the merits. On November
15, TA Air filed a written objection to the November 11
order, in which it argued that AAR, Corp. and AAR
International, Inc. were separate entities. On October 28,
1999 TA Air transferred back its interest in the plane and the
lease to AAR.

‘ VH claims that it sought the arrest of AAR’s assets in Greece and of
the aircraft as security for its claims for damages stemming from AAR’s
alleged breach of the Lease. AAR disputes this characterization.

B-6

On November 22, VH filed a second action against
“AAR, International Inc. Corp.” and TA Air in the Multi
Member First Instance Court in Athens (the “second Athens
action”). This time, VH sought substantial damages for costs
arising out of the failure of the onginal engine. Specifically,
VH ciaimed $3.9 million to cover the cost of leasing a
replacement engine, plus approximately $200,000 to cover
late fees and a lost security deposit in connection with that
leasing. VH’s theory of recovery in the second Athens action
was that AAR breached the lease by failing to perform the
required video boroscopes on the engine before delivery, by
failing to deliver the engine in working condition for 8,000
flight hours, and by failing to provide VH with the
maintenance records necessary to repair the original engine.
The damages sought covered the period from the filing of the
first action on October 1, 1999 to the date of the filing of the
second action. The Greek court set a court date for December
14, 2000. The parties dispute what was to occur on this date;
VH claims that the case was “set for trial” on that date, while
AAR contends (through the affidavit of its Greek attorney)
that the December 14 date was for a preliminary hearing only,
that no witness examination or discovery was scheduled to
occur until after that date, and that no tnal would likely occur
for several years.

On December 13, AAR filed suit against VH, Nimelias,
and Princess (the “appellees”) in the Northern District of
Illinois, seeking damages for the defendants’ breach of the
lease. The asserted grounds for the suit were identical to
those stated in the written notice of default (namely, that the
appellees had allowed the engine to go off-wing, that they had
allowed EuroControl liens to accrue, and that they had failed
to pay variable rent on the plane for July, 1999.) The
complaint asserted that these acts of default justified AAR in
terminating the lease in September, 1999. AAR sought
damages in excess of $21 million to cover costs of returning
the plane or of any engine to the United States, and of
restoring the plane to airworthy condition. AAR also sought

)

ee a ee ee ee ee eee ee ee eee

B-7

reimbursement for the EuroControl charges that it claimed it
was forced to pay on Princess’ behalf.

On January 25, 2000 the Athens court issued a written
decision in the first Athens action under the title “Provisory
Measures Procedure.” After concluding that Greek law
applied to the action, the court found several facts to be
“probable” in light of its consideration of witness testimony,
oral arguments, documents, and written submissions
presented by the partics during the November 11 hearing. For
example, the court found it probable that AAR Corp. and
AAR are the same legal person, and that AAR Corp. failed to
deliver- the aircraft with its engines properly maintained,
forcing VH to lease a replacement engine in order to continue
operating the aircraft, thereby incurring expenses of
221,000.000 Greek Drachmae. The court also found that the
aircraft appeared to be AAR Corp.’s “sole negotiable asset,”
and that the situation regarding AAR Corp.’s assets was
“doubtful, creating a financial risk for [VH] as per the
Satisfaction of its requirements.” The court then held that
these provisional findings supported VH’s requested “safety
measure of conservatory seizure for 221,000 Grd against
[AAR Corp.]” plus an additional 29,000 Grd in interest and
fees. The court then ordered “the conservatory seizure of any
movable or real estate of [AAR Corp.]” and of the aircraft “in
order to ensure [VH]’s claim against [it] . . . up to the amount
of 250,000 Grd.” The court also expressly allowed AAR
Corp. to cancel (or if the seizure had already been enforced, to
replace) the seizure by providing the Court’s Secretarial
Service with a bank guarantee in the form of an irrevocable
line of credit in the same amount from a creditable bank
operating in Greece.’

The parties provide differing characterizations of the
purpose and effect of the first Athens action. VH describes

* The court also found that VH’s claims against the other defendants
(Transamerica and TA Air) “do not appear to be proven.”

B-8

the first Athens action as an emergency action seeking the
seizure (or arrest) of the aircraft to guarantee that there would
be assets available to satisfy a judgment that VH may obtain
against AAR, and seeking an assessment of those damages.
VH asserts that the “findings” made by the Athens court on
January 25 are not provisional, and in support of this
proposition it provides an affidavit of its Greek attorney which
States that it is extremely rare where the Multimember First
Instance Court of Athens will overturn the findings of the
Emergency Court. Conversely, AAR presents the testimony of
its own Greek attorney, who states by affidavit that under
applicable Greek law and procedure, the First Athens action
was provisional in nature, and nothing adjudicated therein
constitutes a finding of fact or law for any purpose. Further,
he asserts that the order entered by the Athens court on October
11, 1999 was meant only to protect the status quo ante until
hearing on the petition, and that the November 11 order
likewise only maintained in effect the prior order pending a
judgment. Furthermore, AAR’s Greek lawyer states that the
Greek court did not need to have personal jurisdiction over any
of the defendants in order to issue such provisional relief, and
that no ruling in the first Athens action operates as a finding that
the Athens court has jurisdiction over the defendants or that such
defendants have been formally served with process (other than
by telegram). Finally, he asserts that the January 25, 2000 order
in the first Athens action constituted only a temporary arrest (or
attachment) of the aircraft and a provisional order prohibiting the
deregistration and departure of the Aircraft pending the final
resolution of VH’s claims.

Subsequently, VH instituted two additional related actions
in the Greek courts. After AAR posted the bank guarantee and
attempted to remove the plane from Greece on February 4,
2000, VH filed another emergency proceeding (the “third
Athens action”). Like the first action, this action sought the
immediate seizure of the aircraft as well as a prohibition
against the deregistration and departure of the plane until a
final and unappealable decision is issued (and in any case

B-9

until the engine is repaired). It also sought the attachment of
all of “AAR International Corp.”’s assets in Greece, and a
provisional order prohibiting the deregistration or take-off of
the aircraft, as well as any other action which might change
the actual and legal status of the plane and or any other assets
of the defendant. The purpose of this action was to secure
potential recovery under the second Athens action, that is, it
was a request for temporary relief pending the outcome of that
action in order to ensure that “AAR International Corp.” had
sufficient assets available to cover any potential damages
awarded against it in the second action.

On February 7, 2000, the Athens Court granted VH the
relief it sought in the third action, and again ordered the
seizure of the aircraft and provisionally prohibited its
deregistration or departure. Once again, the court provided
that the plane would be allowed to be deregistered and
removed from Greece if AAR posted a bank guarantee in the
amount of 250,000 Grd. AAR posted the bank guarantee
Shortly thereafter, and removed the plane from Greece. In
addition, VH filed a fourth action in Athens, which it
describes as a continuation or renewal of the first Athens
action. WH claims that, under Greek law, it was obliged to
file the fourth, “non-emergency” action in order to recover
any damages from AAR and to maintain in force all of the
orders and decisions given according to the emergency
procedure. VH asserts that the fourth Athens action is
“exactly the same case” as the first Athens action, except that
it is filed according to “ordinary” or “non-emergency”
procedures.

In the federal action, the appellees moved the district
court to abstain under the Colorado River doctrine in light of
the pending Greek actions, or in the alternative, to dismiss the
action on grounds of forum non conveniens. Finding that the
American action was parallel to the ongoing Greek litigation
and that the Colorado River factors favored abstention, the
district court granted the appellees’ motion to abstain. The

B-10

court did not address the forum non conveniens issue. AAR
appealed.

DISCUSSION

A) Abstention

Federal courts have a “virtually unflagging obligation” to
exercise the jurisdiction conferred on them by Congress.
Colorado River Water Cons. Dist. v. United States, 424 US.
800, 817(1976). Nevertheless, in “exceptional” circumstances, a
federal court may abstain from hearing a suit and “await the
outcome of parallel proceedings as a matter of ‘wise judicial
administration, giving regard to the conservation of judicial
resources and comprehensive disposition of litigation.’” Finova
Capital Corp. v. Ryan Helicopters U.S.A., Inc., 180 F.3d 896,
898 (7th Cir. 1999) (quoting Colorado River, 424 US. at
817). However, because the federal courts have a “heavy
obligation” to exercise jurisdiction, “only the clearest of
justifications will warrant dismissal” of the federal action in
deference to a concurrent state proceeding in the name of wise
judicial administration Colorado River, 424 U.S. at 819, 820.
Therefore, our task in determining whether abstention is
appropriate is “not to find some substantial reason for the
exercise of federal jurisdiction by the district court, . . . [but] rather
. . . to ascertain whether there exist ‘exceptional’ circumstances,
the ‘clearest of justifications,’ that can suffice under Colorado
River to justify the surrender of that jurisdiction.” Moses H.
Cone Mem’! Hosp. v. Mercury Constr. Corp., 460 U.S. 1, 25-
26 (1983). We review a district court’s decision to abstain
under Colorado River for abuse of discretion. See Finova,
180 F.3d at 898. However, to avoid reversal, a district court
must exercise its discretion under the standards prescribed by
Colorado River. That is, it must consider the factors listed in
Colorado River and its progeny and determine whether in
light of those factors exceptional circumstances exist
warranting abstention. See Moses H. Cone Mem'l Hosp., 460
U.S. at 19. If there is any substantial doubt that the parallel

B-11

litigation will be “an adequate vehicle for the complete and
prompt resolution of the issues between the parties,” it would be
a “serious abuse of discretion” for the district court to stay or
dismiss a case in deference to the parallel litigation. Jd. at 28.
Moreover, while the situation confronting a court on a motion to
abstain “is somewhat different where, as here, the alternate forum is
not the tribunal of a state of the federal union to which, under our
Constitution, we owe a special obligation of comity,” we apply the
same general principles with respect to parallel proceedings in a
foreign court in the interests of international comity. Finova, 180
F.3d at 898 (citing Ingersoll Milling Mach. Co. v. Granger, 833
F.2d 680, 685 (7th Cir. 1987) (internal quotation omitted)).

In evaluating the propriety of the district court’s decision to
abstain under Colorado River, we must first determine whether
the federal and foreign proceedings are parallel. See Finova, 180
F.3d at 898 (citing Caminiti & lIatarola, Lid v. Behnke
Warehousing, Inc., 962 F.2d 698 (7th Cir. 1992)). This is a legal
issue which we review de novo. See Property & Cas. Ins. Lid. v.
Central Nat'l Ins. Co. of Omaha, 936 F.2d 319, 321 (7th Cir. 1991)
(citations omitted); Ryan v. Johnson, 115 F.3d 193, 196 (3d Cir.
1997) (citation omitted). If the actions are not parallel, the
Colorado River doctrine does not apply. See Interstate Material
Corp. v. City of Chicago, 847 F.2d 1285, 1287 (7th Cir. 1988).
Suits are parallel if “substantially the same parties are litigating
substantially the same issues simultaneously in two fora.”
Schneider Nat’! Carriers, Inc. v. Carr, 903 F.2d 1154, 1156 (7th
Cir. 1990). Suits need not be identical to be parallel, see Caminiti,
962 F.2d at 700, and the mere presence of additional parties or
issues in one of the cases will not necessarily preclude a finding that
they are parallel. See id. at 701; Lumen Constr., Inc. v. Brant
Constr. Co., Inc., 780 F.2d 691, 695 (7th Cir. 1985). The question
is not whether the suits are formally symmetrical, but whether there
is a “substantial likelihood” that the foreign litigation “will dispose
of all claims presented in the federal case.” Day v. Union Mines
Inc., 862 F.2d 652, 656 (7th Cir. 1988) (quoting Luznen, 780 F.2d at
695).

B-12

The district court found that the federal action and the
Greek actions were parallel. The court reasoned that:

[t}]here is a substantial likelihood that [the Greek]
cases will dispose of all the issues in the federal
litigation because a single member of the Greek
court, which normally sits as a panel of three, has
found on an emergency hearing that AAR is liable
to the defendants here (overlapping with some of
the plaintiffs there) and has ruled in a preliminary
way on damages.

The court also found that AAR had offered “no plausible
reason to think that this ruling will be reversed by the full
panel,” and stated that “if there will be anything more to
litigate in this matter than liability and damages, AAR does
not explain what it is.” Finally, the district court concluded
that if the ruling of the Greek judge is upheld, “that would
probably end the matter,” because the ruling would be entitled
to recognition and would have preclusive effects over the
claims brought in the federal action.

AAR challenges the district court’s finding on several
grounds,° but we can resolve the matter by addressing only
one. AAR maintains that the claims that it brought in the
federal case are distinct from and independent of the claims
brought in the second Athens action, and that therefore it is
unlikely that the second Athens action will dispose of them.
In support of this argument, AAR points to section 1E of the
lease, which provides in relevant part:

Lessee will pay all Base Rental, Variable Rental,
Supplemental Rental, costs, charges, fees and
expenses in connection with the use, possession and
operation of the Aircraft, including mainienance,

For example, AAR argues that it was not a party to any of the Greek
actions, and that therefore those actions are not parallel to the federal
action. While we do not decide the issue, we assume throughout the
opinion that AAR was a party to the Greek litigation.

B-13

insurance, state, local, provincial and all other taxes,
and risk of loss or other casualty. Such obligations
of Lessee will be paid in full and will be absolute
and unconditional under any and all circumstances
and regardless of other events, including any of the
following: (a) Any right of set-off, counterclaim,
recoupment, defense or other right (including any
right of reimbursement) which Lessee may have
against Lessor . . . including any claim Lessee may
have for the foregoing. (b) Unavailability or
interruption in the use of the Aircraft for any reason,
including ... any defect in airworthiness.
merchantability, fitness for any purpose, fitness,
design . . . . (d) Invalidity or unenforceability . . . or
other defect in this Lease. (e) Failure or delay on the
part of any party to perform its obligations under
this Lease. (f) Other cause which but for this
provision would or might have the effect of
terminating or in any other way affecting any
obligation of Lessee hereunder.

AAR urges that, according to this provision of the lease, the
appellees’ obligation to pay rent, to keep the aircraft in
operational condition, and to discharge any liens against the
aircraft--which is the focus of the federal claim--is absolute
and unconditional, and is not subject to any claims and
defenses that VH may have against AAR. AAR notes that
VH’s obligations under this provision were not and are not at
issue in any of the Greek actions, and that therefore no ruling
in those actions could have preclusive effect over AAR’s
claims in the federal action. Therefore, AAR argues that even
if the Athens court has ruled in a preliminary fashion that
AAR is liable to VH for damages resulting from the failure of
the engine, it has not ruled that this breach by AAR excused
the defendants from their independent duties. Indeed, AAR
maintains that any such finding would flatly contradict the
terms of section 1E of the lease.

B-14

We agree with AAR. On the facts presented, it does not
seem substantially likely that the Greek actions will dispose
of all of the claims presented in the federal suit. It is quite
possible that AAR’s claim that the appellees breached the
lease by taking the engine off-wing will be disposed of in the
Greek action, as such a claim would be precluded by a final
judgment by the Greek court that AAR breached the contract
and forced VH to remove the engine when it leased the
aircraft with a defective engine.’ However, AAR’s other
claims are not currently before the Greek courts in any of the
Greek actions, and it does not seem likely that any of the
Greek courts will resolve the legal and factual issues
supporting those claims in deciding the claims actually before
them. The only lease-based defense that AAR has put forward
in any of the Greek actions is that under a separate section of
the lease, the aircraft was leased on an “as is” basis with no
warranties of any kind. It has not injected the issue of the
interpretation of section-1E into any of the Greek litigation by
way of either a defense or a counterclaim. Nor has AAR
alleged in any of the Greek actions that the appellees failed to
pay rent or to discharge any liens, or that the appellees had a
duty to pay such expenses irrespective of any alleged breach
on AAR’s part. Neither AAR nor any of the appellees have
sought a declaration of their rights under section 1E in any of
the Greek actions. Therefore, even if the provisional rulings in
the first and third Athens actions are upheld on appeal and
VH prevails in the second Athens action as well, the
appellees’ obligations and potential liability under section 1E
of the lease for failing to pay rent and to keep the aircraft free
of liens will not have been decided. While we do not decide
the issue and interpret section 1E, we cannot find AAR’s
argument that section 1E makes the appellees’ duty to pay
rent and to discharge liens absolute irrespective of any breach
by AAR implausible as a matter of law. Given this, we cannot

” Even this is uncertain, however. Because, if AAR prevails in the
Greek actions, its claims against the appellees will not be resolved.

B-15

say that it is substantially likely that the issue will be disposed
of in the Greek litigation. Because “it would be a serious
abuse of discretion” to abstain under Colorado River if “there
is any substantial doubt” “that the parallel . . . litigation will
be an adequate vehicle for the complete . . . resolution of the
issues between the parties,” Moses H. Cone Mem’! Hosp., 460
U.S. at 28, and because any doubt regarding the parallel
nature of the foreign suit should be resolved in favor of
exercising jurisdiction, see Allen v. Board of Educ., Unified
Sch. Dist. 436, 68 F.3d 401, 403 (10th Cir. 1995), we
conclude that the federal and foreign actions are not parallel.

None of this is meant to signal a retreat from our holding in
Day. In that case, we found that a claim brought in federal court
by a group of former shareholders against the purchasers of
their stock was parallel for Colorado River purposes to a
pending state court action involving essentially the same
parties, where the federal action turned on the interpretation
of the payment provision of the stock pvrchase agreement
which was the subject of the state litigation. Day v. Union
Mines, Inc., 862 F.2d 652, 655-57 (7th Cir. 1988). We found
the federal and state suits to be parallel even though the
particular issue presented in the federal claim--the interpretation
of the payment provision of the stock purchase agreement--was
not specifically raised in the state court proceeding. In the state
action, the purchasers of the stock had claimed that the
shareholders breached certain representations and warranties,
thereby relieving the purchasers of their obligations under the
stock purchase agreement. The state action therefore addressed
the validity, enforceability, and interpretation of the entire stock
purchase agreement, of which the payment provision was a part.
Under these circumstances, we agreed with the district court’s
conclusion that the issue presented in the federal claim would be
disposed of in the state litigation, regardless of which party
prevailed in the state case. See id. at 656. We reasoned that if the
purchasers won the state case, then the purchase agreement
would be declared invalid in toto, and the shareholders would be
left unable to enforce its payment provision against the

B-16

purchasers. We further surmised that if the shareholders won
the state case, then this would constitute a finding by the state
court that they were entitled to payment, and the state court
would almost inevitably have to interpret the payment
provision in order to determine the amount of payment that
they could collect. Given this, we concluded that the issue
presented in the federal action was premature, since it could
not be resolved until the issue presented in the state action
(the validity of the stock purchase agreement) was decided.
Therefore, we found that the federal and state actions were
parallel, and we ruled that “where the validity, enforceability
and interpretation of a contract are at issue in both federal and
state courts, and the state litigation was commenced first and
has progressed substantially towards completion, entry of a
stay does not under Colorado River constitute an abuse of
discretion.” Id.

We find this case to be distinguishable from Day. VH has
not argued in any of the Greek actions that AAR’s claimed
breach invalidated the lease or excused VH from its lease
obligations to pay rent and discharge liens against the aircraft.
Rather, it seeks to hold AAR liable for breaching certain
claimed warranties which would not necessarily implicate its
own obligations under section 1E of the lease. Therefore, it is
possible that VH could prevail in the Greek action without
defeating all of AAR’s claims in the federal action. In addition,
it is not necessarily the case that the issue presented by VH in
the foreign action must be resolved before the district court can
rule on the claim presented in the federal action. While actions
filed in separate fora alleging breaches of different provisions
of the same contract may frequently be deemed parallel for
Colorado River purposes, see generally Evans Transp. Co. v.
Scullin Steel Co., 693 F.2d 715 (7th Cir. 1982); Microsoftware
Computer Sys., Inc. v. Ontel Corp., 686 F.2d 531 (7th Cir.
1982) (overruled on other grounds by Gulfstream Aerospace
Corp. v. Mayacamas Corp., 485 U.S. 271 (1988)); Darsie v.
Avia Group Int’l, Inc., 36 F.3d 743 (8th Cir. 1994); Manley,
Inc. v. Keystone Food Prods., Inc., 859 F.2d 80 (8th Cir.

B-17

1988), the presence of section 1E of the lease prevents us
from drawing such a conclusion here.

Citing Channell v. Citicorp Nat’! Services, Inc., 89 F.3d
379 (7th Cir. 1996), the appellees seem to argue that the
Greek actions are parallel to the federal action because the
claim brought by AAR in the federal action arises from the
same “operative facts” as the claims brought in Greece, and
therefore should have been pled as a compulsory counterclaim
in the Greek actions. However, Channell addressed the scope
of a district court’s authority under 28 U.S.C. § 1367 to
exercise supplemental jurisdiction over claims that form part
of the same “case or controversy” under Article III of the
Constitution, and not the standards for determining whether
actions are parallel for purposes of Colorado River abstention.
Channell is therefore inapplicable here. Moreover, in
concluding that an automobile lessor’s counterclaim seeking
contractual termination payments against lessees who had
brought an action for violation of the Consumer Leasing Act
was sufficiently connected to the lessees’ claims (under §
1367’s liberal standards) to allow the court to assert
jurisdiction over the counterclaims, we were careful in
Channell to note that the lessees’ claims and the lessor’s
counterclaims were based on the same clause of the lease, and
that the basic issues were integral to the lessees’ case even
before the counterclaim was brought. See id. at 385-86. As
has been noted, AAR’s federal claim does not bear a similar
relationship to the Greek claims.

Nevertheless, it could be argued that a claim brought in a
federal action based on a claim which would be a compulsory
counterclaim in a pending foreign action might make the
federal action “parallel” to the foreign action, because the
federal claim would be “disposed of” in the foreign action in
one way or another. (That is, it would either be asserted as a
counterclaim in the foreign action and decided there, or lost if
not asserted before the conclusion of the foreign action. Either
way, conclusion of the foreign litigation would leave nothing
left for the federal court to decide.) However, the appellees

B-18

point to no authority (nor have we found any) suggesting that
a federal action is parallel to a state or foreign action for
Colorado River abstention purposes when the claim upon
which the federal action is based is pleadable as a compulsory
counterclaim in the other action. Moreover, it is unclear that
Greece has a compulsory counterclaim rule analogous to FED.
R. CIv. P. 13(a). VH submitted the affidavit of its Greek
lawyer, which states that Greek law provides for the filing of
counterclaims either in the original action or in a separate
procedure, and that “if a party choose [sic] the way of
separate procedure,” then the Greek court has the power to
unify the claim with the original procedure. Moreover, the
affidavit states that “claims not asserted in any of the current
proceedings or not presented on time even in a separate
procedure (which will be unified with the existing procedures
as . . . mentioned above[)] . . . or before the current
proceedings are concluded, will be lost.”* From the affidavit,
it is not clear whether a Greek court’s “unifying” of
counterclaims brought in separate proceedings with the
original proceeding is mandatory or discretionary. Thus it is
not clear that counterclaims neither filed in the original action
nor unified with that action before the decision is reached will
be “lost.”

In addition, even if we were to conclude that either of the
Greek actions were parallel to the federal action, we would
not affirm the district court’s decision to abstain in this case.
Once a district court determines that the federal action and the
foreign action are parallel, its next task is “to balance the
considerations that weigh in favor of, and against, abstention,
bearing in mind the exceptional nature of the measure.”
Finova, 180 F.3d at 898. One of the ten factors that the court
must consider is the relative inconvenience of the federal
forum. See id. In considering this factor, the district court
placed undue weight on the inconvenience of the federal

AAR’s Greek lawyer submitted an affidavit denying that Greece has
a compulsory counterclaim rule.

O_O

B-19

forum for the appellees, and did not adequately consider the
inconvenience of the Greek forum for AAR. The court took
judicial notice that the law firm representing AAR “advertises
itself as a global law firm . . . and is presumably able to
litigate even in Athens.” Putting aside the district court’s
rather unorthodox use of judicial notice, we find that the court
erred in considering the law firm’s ability to litigate in Athens
as part of the “convenience” calculus. The proper inquiry is
the relative inconvenience of the competing fora to the
parties, not to their lawyers. Moreover, the district court did
not even consider section 20B of the Lease, which provides
that the appellees “irrevocably consent” to non-exclusive
jurisdiction in Illinois and “irrevocably waive any claim that
any such suit, action or proceeding brought in any court in or
of the State of Illinois has been brought in an inconvenient
forum.” While we reject AAR’s argument that section 20B
bars VH’s entire abstention claim (because an abstention
motion is not the same as an objection to venue on grounds of
inconvenience, and inconvenience to the parties is only one of
the many factors that a district court weighs in deciding
whether to abstain), we do find that this provision of the lease
is relevant to the convenience analysis and should have been
weighed by the court. The court should have determined
whether section 20B precluded the defendants from objecting
to the inconvenience of venue in Illinois altogether, therefore
ceding the inconvenience factor of the abstention analysis to
AAR. At the very least, this error would require us to remand
to the district court for reconsideration, even if we found the
Greek and the federal litigation parallel.

B) Forum non conveniens

AAR also asks us to remand this case to the district court
with instructions to deny VH’s motion to dismiss the federal
action on grounds of forum non conveniens. The appellees
brought their forum non conveniens motion before the district
court as an alternative to their abstention motion, but the
district court did not address it, presumably deeming it
mooted by its decision to abstain the action. AAR now asks us

B-20

to decide the merits of the motion in its favor. The appellees
object that because the district court did not rule on this
matter, there is nothing for us to review.

As a general rule, an appellate court may not consider an
issue not passed on below. See Singleton v. Wulff, 428 U.S.
106, 120 (1976). However, this rule is subject to certain
limited exceptions. For example, an appellate court may
resolve an issue not decided by the district court where “the
proper resolution [of that issue] is beyond any doubt.” See id.
at 121 (citing Turner v. City of Memphis, 369 U.S. 350
(1962)). “The matter of what questions may be taken up and
resolved for the first time on appeal is one left primarily to the
discretion of the courts of appeals, to be exercised on the facts
of individual cases.” Singleton, 428 U.S. at 120. In exercising
this discretion, we have resolved issues which were not
resolved below where, inter alia, “both parties have briefed
and argued [the issue’s] merits,” and where “the benefit of a
district court hearing is minimal because proper resolution of
the issue is clear.” United States v. Brown, 739 F.2d 1136,
1145 (7th Cir. 1984). See also Otto v. Variable Annuity Life
Ins. Co., 814 F.2d 1127, 1137-38 (7th Cir. 1986) (deciding a
summary judgment motion raised below but not reached by
the district court “in the interests of judicial economy,” where
the parties had a “full and fair opportunity to argue all
relevant aspects of the . . . issue” before both the district and
the appellate courts, and where the correct resolution of the
issue was Clear).

AAR argues that the proper resolution of this issue is
beyond any doubt (therefore making it a candidate for
resolution on appeal) because section 20B of the lease
provides that the appellees irrevocably consent to the non-
exclusive jurisdiction of the Illinois federal and state courts,
and irrevocably waive any objection to the venue of any
action brought in Illinois as well as any objection that any
such action has been brought in an inconvenient forum. AAR
notes that we have held that when parties freely negotiate a
forum selection clause, the clause is to be enforced in

B-21

accordance with its terms except in exceptional circumstances,
see Bonny v. Society of Lloyd’s, 3 F.3d 156, 159-61 (7th Cir.
1993), and that the appellees have identified no such
circumstances here. The appellees counter that, while they do
not dispute the enforceabilty of section 20B’s forum-selection
clause, such clauses are not dispositive of a court’s decision to
grant or deny a motion to dismiss based on forum non
conveniens. Citing Comedy Partners v. Street Players Holding
Corp., 34 F. Supp. 2d 194, 197 (S.D.N.Y. 1999) and Finova, the
appellees contend that courts entertaining such motions may
properly weigh concerns such as systematic integrity, judicial
economy and comity, and are not bound by any agreement
between the parties not to object to venue on grounds of
inconvenience. Moreover, the appellees note that the forum
selection clause at issue in this case provides for concurrent,
non-exclusive jurisdiction in Illinois state and federal courts, and
therefore by its terms does not purport to make Illinois the
mandatory or exclusive forum for adjudicating disputes over the
contract. Therefore, even if the existence of a mandatory forum
selection clause were wholly dispositive of the issue (which the
appellees deny), this rule would be of no help to AAR.

Before we can determine whether the resolution of this
issue is sufficiently clear to permit us to decide it instead of
remanding it, we need to determine what legal standards
govern a court’s analysis of a motion to dismiss on forum non
conveniens grounds when the parties have agreed to a forum
selection clause like the one in this case. The usual forum non
conveniens analysis (that is, the analysis applicable to cases not
involving forum selection clauses) consists of a two-step
inquiry. The court must first determine that an adequate
alternative forum is available to hear the case, meaning that all
parties are within the jurisdiction of the alternative forum and
amenable to process there, and that the parties would not be
treated unfairly or deprived of all remedies if the case were
litigated in the alternative forum. See Kamel v. Hill-Rom Co.,
Inc., 108 F.3d 799, 802-03 (7th Cir. 1997). If the court finds
that such an adequate alternative forum exists, then the court

B-22

must proceed to weigh a host of private interest factors (for
example, the “relative ease of access to sources of proof” in
each forum, and “the availability of compulsory process for
the attendance of unwilling witnesses”), and public interest
factors (for example, “administrative difficulties stemming
from court congestion,” and the interest of trying a diversity
case in a forum that is “at home with the law that must govern
the action.”) Id. at 803. Moreover, under the usual analysis,
there is “a strong presumption in favor of the plaintiff's
choice of forum, which may be overcome only when the
private and public interest factors clearly point towards trial in
the alternative forum.” See Macedo v. Boeing Co., 693 F.2d
683, 688 (7th Cir. 1982) (citations omitted), and this is
particularly true where a domestic plaintiff has filed suit in his
own home forum. See id.; see also Kamel, 108 F.3d at 803.

However, some of our sister circuits have suggested that
where the parties to an international dispute have agreed to a
mandatory forum selection clause, the usual forum non
conveniens analysis no longer applies, and the only question
remaining for the district court to determine is whether the
forum selection clause is enforceable under the standards set
forth in Bremen v. Zapata Off-Shore Co., 407 U.S. 1 (1972).
See Evolution Online Sys., Inc. v. Koninklijke PTT Nederland
N.V., 145 F.3d 505, 509-10 (2d Cir. 1998) (suggesting that a
district court should first apply the Bremen standards to
determine whether the forum selection clause was
enforceable, and should only reach the defendant’s motion to
dismiss on forum non conveniens grounds if it finds that the
parties did not form a contract containing a forum selection
clause); Cf. Mitsui & Co. (USA), Inc. v. Mira M/V, 111 F.3d
33, 37 (Sth Cir. 1997) (rejecting appellant’s challenge to the
enforcement of a mandatory forum selection clause for reasons
of forum non conveniens, and stating that “increased cost and
inconvenience are insufficient reasons to invalidate foreign
forum-selection or arbitration clauses.”); but see Royal Bed &
Spring Co., Inc. v. Famossul Industria e Comercio de Moveis
LTDA., 906 F.2d 45, 51 (1st Cir. 1990) (ruling that a forum

B-23

selection provision is not dispositive of a motion to dismiss
on forum non conveniens grounds, but rather is “simply one
of the factors that should be considered and balanced” in the
ordinary forum non conveniens analysis.) In Bremen, the
Court ruled that a freely negotiated mandatory forum
selection clause is enforceable unless the party challenging its
enforcement can “clearly show that enforcement would be
unreasonable and unjust, or that the clause was invalid for
such reasons as fraud or overreaching,” or that “trial in the
[chosen] forum will be so gravely difficult and inconvenient
that he will for all practical purposes be deprived of his day in
court.” Applying these standards together with standards
articulated in later Supreme Court cases, we have ruled that a
forum selection clause is presumptively valid and enforceable
unless (1) “[its] incorporation into the contract was the result
of fraud, undue influence, or overweening bargaining power;
(2) the selected forum is so gravely difficult and inconvenient
that [the complaining party] will for all practical purposes be
deprived of its day in court; or (3) [its] enforcement . . . would
contravene a strong public policy of the forum in which the
suit is brought, declared by statute or judicial decision.”
Bonny, 3 F.3d at 160 (internal citations and quotation
omitted).

Nevertheless, it can be argued that the Bremen and
Bonny standards should not control in this case, for as VH
notes, the forum selection clause in the Lease agreement is
permissive, not mandatory. (That is, it provides that suit may
be brought in Illinois as well as in other jurisdictions, but does

* We have also noted that “the only good reason for treating a forum
selection clause differently from any other contract . . . is the possibility of
adverse effects on third parties,” and have ruled that where that possibility
is slight, it should be treated like any other contract, Northwestern Nat'l.
Ins. Co. v. Donovan, 916 F.2d 372, 376 (7th Cir. 1990), and should
therefore be enforced “unless it is subject to any of the sorts of infirmity,
such as fraud and mistake, that justify a court’s refusing to enforce a
contract.” Id. at 375.

B-24

not mandate that suit must be brought exclusively in Illinois.)
At least one circuit has held that the traditional forum non
conveniens analysis (rather than the stricter scrutiny required
by Bremen) applies in cases involving permissive forum
selection clauses. See Blanco v. Banco Industrial de
Venezuela, S.A., 997 F.2d 974, 979-80 (2d Cir. 1993). This
conclusion seems reasonable. However, in this case we have
more than merely a permissive forum selection clause; we
have such a clause plus unambiguous language providing that
the lessee shall-not object to venue in an Illinois state or
federal court on the ground that such a court is an
inconvenient forum. We have held that by agreeing to a
mandatory forum selection agreement, a party waives
objections to venue in the chosen forum on the basis of cost or
inconvenience to itself. See Northwestern Int’l, 916 F.2d at
375, 378 (7th Cir. 1990). It would seem incongruous to
conclude that a party does not similarly waive such objections
when he agrees to a permissive forum selection clause which
specifically provides for the waiver of convenience-based
objections to suits brought in a particular venue. See generally
Blanco, 997 F.2d at 979 (deciding to apply the traditional
forum non conveniens analysis rather than the Bremen
standards where the forum selection clause at issue was
permissive and did not include either the defendant’s
irrevocable consent to suit in designated fora or the defendant’s
waiver of forum non conveniens objections). The forum
selection clause and the waiver provisions at issue here were part
of a lease that was freely negotiated between sophisticated
international corporations. Whatever inconvenience VH would
suffer by being forced to litigate in a court in [Illinois was
foreseeable at the time that it agreed to waive objections based
on such factors. See Bremen, 407 U.S. at 17-18. Under these
circumstances, we conclude that the stricter standards announced
in Bremen and Northwestern Int’l should control the analysis
of the appellees’ forum non conveniens motion.”

° The appellees rely on Comedy Partners for the proposition that a

B-25

Therefore, the appellees’ forum non conveniens motion
must fail unless they can demonstrate one of the three factors set
forth in Bonny. This they cannot do, because they have
effectively conceded the enforceability of the lease’s forum
selection clause. When confronted with AAR’s argument that
the forum selection clause and its waiver provisions should
control the disposition of its forum non conveniens motion, the
appellees argued only that cases like Bonny are inapposite, that
the forum selection clause was permissive rather than
mandatory, and that contractual agreements not to object to
venue on grounds of convenience are not dispositive of forum
non conveniens motions. Although AAR cited " ony and
argued that the appellees had not established that any of its
three factors were present in this case, the appellees merely
asserted that Bonny was inapplicable and did not argue in the
alternative that the forum selection clause and its waiver
provisions were unenforceable under Bonny. In effect, the
appellees have premised their entire argument regarding forum
non conveniens on the assumption that the standards set forth
in Bonny and Bremen do not control the forum non conveniens
inquiry in this case. We have rejected that assumption, and
unfortunately for the appellees, they have waived any
argument that the forum selection clause is unenforceable.

permissive forum selection clause containing irrevocable consent to suit in
a particular forum plus a waiver of forum non conveniens objections is not
“binding on the court” and is not dispositive of a forum non conveniens
motion. However, Comedy Partners did not involve a motion to dismiss
on grounds of forwn non conveniens. Rather, it involved a motion to
dismiss pursuant to the “first filed rule,” which is more analogous to an
abstention motion than a forum non conveniens motion. As we have noted,
a contractual agreement not to object to the inconvenience of a particular
venue is not dispositive of an abstention motion. Moreover, the statements
in Comedy Partners regarding the effect of a contractual agreement not to
object to venue upon a motion to dismiss the action in deference to an
earlier filed suit is dicta. The court actually held that the party challenging
the dismissal could not rely on the alleged contractual agreement not to
object to venue, because its substantive claim was premised on a denial
that the contract existed in the first place.

B-26

Therefore, since the forum non conveniens issue was
fully briefed by both of the parties on appeal, the resolution of
the issue is clear, and the dispositive issue (the enforceability
of the forum selection clause) is a question of law which we
review de novo, see Bonny, 3 F.3d at 159 (citations omitted),
we conclude that nothing would be gained by remanding this
issue to the district court for further consideration. See
Amcast Indus. Corp. v. Detrex Corp., 2 F.3d 746, 749-50 (7th
Cir. 1993); Bruneau v. FDIC, 981 F.2d 175, 178-79 (Sth Cir.
1992). Accordingly, we hold that appellee’s motion to dismiss
on grounds of forum non conveniens should be denied.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, we REVERSE the district
court’s decision to abstain and REMAND with instructions to
vacate the dismissal order and to deny the appellees’ motion
to dismiss on grounds of forum non conveniens.

REVERSED and REMANDED.
A true Copy:
Teste:

Clerk of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

C-1

APPENDIX C:

JUDGMENT IN A CIVIL CASE OF THE UNITED
STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE NORTHERN
DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS, EASTERN DIVISION,
DATED AND FILED JUNE 13, 2000

United States District Court

Northern District of Illinois
Eastern Division

AAR International, Inc. JUDGMENT IN A CIVIL CASE

‘ Case Number: 99 C 8090

Vacances Heliades S.A.., et al.

C] Jury Verdict. This action came before the Court for
a trial by jury. The issues have been tried and the
jury rendered its verdict.

xe Decision by Court. This action came to heating
before the Court. The issues have been heard and a
decision has been rendered.

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED AND ADJUDGED | that
defendants’ motion to abstain and dismiss the case without
prejudice is granted.

Michael W. Dobbins, Clerk of Court
/s/ Matthew P. John
Matthew P. John, Deputy Clerk

Date: 6/13/2000

syeiiul Aindap surrey; 221940 $,4491 [eNUI9 —_
Ul PsAta5es AUN aeC “ss

s Aindap fdW
woonsnod

[dW
‘a8pnf ayensiZew/s3pnf 0) Adod

3d1}0U pajiew sep :
‘WO0} OS OV IEW

000Z/¢ 1/9

"s2onou jlew 0} 3uN2s430q

sjeniut Aindap 3unays0p

‘Quoydsyai Aq jasUNOD Pr1jNnON

——<srsysoprsiepy
‘Weis s a3pnf Aq pajrew ssonon fh

S29nou jo Jaquinu ;
JOquUNN posinboi sa9nou ON

jusWIND0q Zz

‘nos uado ul pasiape ‘pasinbas saonou ON

[-s9pso aNUIW [eUIZII0 ay) 0} PayseNe Jopso des [leap soyuNysoq] FH (11)

‘J2PIC pur uoiuldg winpueloWwsy 19Uq “poyedea Os]e SI 9SBd SIY) UI Jas ajNpaYyos AuYy
‘JOOW SB PSIBUIULIA) SI asked sIy) Ul UONOW BuIpued Auy ‘ulede opty ABW yyy ‘II YIM oUOp ae
SUNOD YOOIH By) USYM Papnydedd jou SI IY) JoeW SIY) Ul deSINI] OF SuIy Aue SI oJaY) J] “powuesd
st aoipnfaid ynoyyim ased oY) SSIWISIP pue UleIsqe 0) UOHOU! sJUEpUajoq] [ANU 19x90P 1210) He (01)

(7®)IpdOwd (De) epdOUA «17 F1MY [es9uaH [[] (W)pdous

C-2

{0} uensundjuswises3e/Aq] s1sOd inyIIM pue sdipnfaid [InoyWM/yIM] Pessiusip si ased styp = [[] (6)
12 0} ponunuosspjoy [Suuesyy] [pein Aingpyousg]) C) (g)
ye UO [40} J9S-94/J0} JOS] RU, = 7} (L)
ye 40} 98 ~~ U0 [40} 39S-34/40J 9S] [0) ponuNUOS/pPjay} 2oUsJaJUOD JeINe1g = [|] (9)
1e JO} 19S UO [40} 19S-34/J0J J9S] (0) ponuNUOs/pjoy] BuisesYy snes C (S)
18 JO} Jas uo Butea Buyjny = [7] (p)
anp Jorg Jamsue 0} Ajdoy ° anp UOHOW 0) Joliquamsuy =] (¢)
anp uonow jo woddns ui jaug =] (Z)
[‘2noge xog ,,UONOP,, Ul BuNst] asn } Jo uonow pay =] (1)
‘AUMLNA LAMOOd
‘NOLLOW
[ poiuesaid Buisq uONOW sy) JO auMMeU sy) A[jouQ 31815
(q) pure ‘yynurejd Aued ..¢ ‘iuepuajap ‘yynureyd “32 ‘uonow ayy Buyy Awed oy ayesiput (2) xoq Suimojjo} ay) UT)
ATLL
‘18 19 ‘SOpeljap{ SoouRdeA ‘SA “OUT ‘[EUONeWIOIU] YYV aASVO
0002/€ 1/9 ALVG 0608 9 66 YadWAN ASVO
dspnf pausissy uey) aspnf ajesjsisey 10
Jao J aBpnf Buy oppong “Y eure[y aspnf paudissy jo awen

SJOUNT]] JO JDAISI, UABYPAON] JAN 39149S1G $278IS patUy

D-1

APPENDIX D:
MEMORANDUM OPINION AND ORDER OF THE
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS,
EASTERN DIVISION,
DATED AND FILED JUNE 13, 2000

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS
EASTERN DIVISION

AAR INTERNATIONAL, INC.,

Plaintiff,
v. ) No. 99 C 8090
VACANCES HELIADES S.A. )
NIMELIAS ENTERPRISES S.A., and )
PRINCESS AIRLINES S.A..,
Defendants.
)

MEMORANDUM OPINION AND ORDER

In 1998, AAR International (“AAR”) leased an airplane
to Vacances Heliades and Nimelias Enterprises (the
“defendants”).' A dispute arose about the satisfaction of the
parties’ obligations under the lease, and Vacances filed a

1

AAR International is an Illinois corporation with its principle place
of business in this state; Vacances Heliades is a French corporation with
its principal place of business in France, and Nimelias Enterprises, is a
Cypriot corporation with its principal place of business also in France.

D-2

lawsuit in the First Instance Court of Athens, Greece, against
AAR, Transamerica Equipment Financial Services and TA
Air X Corporation, alleging breach of the lease. On
November 22, 1999, Vacances filed a second case in Athens
seeking damages for the alleged breach. In addition, AAR’s
lawyer states that there is a third Athens action that he is
defending. On December 13, 1999, AAR filed this alienage
action I now consider in the Northern District of Illinois. The
defendants move that I abstain. I grant the motion and
dismiss the case without prejudice.

I.

I have a “virtually unflagging obli zation” to exercise the
jurisdiction conferred on me by Congress, but in exceptional
cases, I should stay or dismiss a suit and await the outcome of
parallei proceedings as a matter of “wise judicial
administration, giving regard to the conservation of judicial
resources and comprehensive disposition of litigation.”
Colorado River Water Conservation Dist. v. United States,
424 U.S. 800, 817 (1976) (internal citation omitted). Federal
courts usually grapple with abstention in the context of
parallel state court proceedings. Here, the alternate forum is
not the tribunal of “a state of the federal union to which,
under our Constitution, [I] owe a special obligation of
comity.” Ingersoll Milling Mach. Co. v. Granger, 833 F.2d
680, 685 (7th Cir. 1987). Nevertheless, in the interests of
international comity, I apply the same general principles with
respect to parallel proceedings in a foreign court. Finova
Capital Corp v. Ryan Helicopters U.S.A., Inc., 180 F.3d 896,
898 (7th Cir. 1999).

I first determine whether the federal and foreign
proceedings are parallel. Caminiti & latarola, Ltd. v. Behnke
Warehousing, Inc., 962 F.2d 698, 700 (7th Cir. 1992). They
are if substantially the same parties are litigating substantially
the same issues simultaneously in two fora. Schneider Nat'l
Carriers, Inc. v. Carr, 903 F.2d 1154, 1156 (7th Cir. 1990).
AAR argues that the plaintiff here is “ AAR International, “

D-3

while the defendant in the first Athens action is “AAR Corp.”
and, in the second, “AAR International, Inc. Corp,” which,
AAR says, does not exist. The Greek court, however, found
that AAR Corp. and AAR International, Inc. are “one and the
same legal person,” Decision No. 762/2000, January 25,
2000. AAR asks me to hold that this ruling has “no
conceivable basis in law or fact.” “Concerns of international
comity” and “respect for the capacities of foreign .. .
tribunals,” Mitsubishi Motors v. Soler Chrysler-Plymouth,
473 U.S. 614, 629 (1985), would require me to reject this
claim, and even if they did not, the basis would be provided
by AAR’s own conduct before the Athens Court, defending
the first Athens action as AAR Corp. and arguing that it
should not have had to post a bank guarantee because it was
publicly traded.

The present defendants are right to characterize AAR’s
argument that “ AAR International, Inc. Corp.” the named
defendant in the second Athens case, is not AAR, as fatuous.
This is not an Article Nine security interest filing where the
names have to be just right.’ The “nonexistent” defendant
seems to be defending the case just fine, and if it is different
from AAR, AAR has not explained why.

The parties are the same. Are the causes of action? They
need not be identical for proceedings to be parallel as long as
there is a “substantial likelihood” that the foreign litigation
“will dispose of all the claims presented in the federal case.”
Lumen Constr. Inc. v. Brant Constr. Co., 780 F.2d 691, 695
(7th Cir. 1985). AAR contends that the issues in the Athens
case differ because in the present case, AAR “is not seeking
an order for possession or recovery of the Aircraft,” while the
first and third actions seek a temporary arrest or attachment of
the aircraft and an order prohibiting its deregistration and

2

I note that AAR misspelled Vacances’ name throughout as
“Vacance”; it would not have been amused had Vacances replied that
there was no such company. -

D-4

departure, and the second Athens action seeks damages for
breach of lease. AAR also says that nothing the Greek courts
decide will have preclusive effects on a federal action because
different issues are raised in each of these actions.

However, these arguments will not wash, and not just
because on AAR’s own representation the Athens cases do not
seek “‘possession or recovery of the aircraft,” nor because the issue
of parallelism tums on the cause of action and not the remedy
sought. There is a substantial likelihood that those cases will
dispose of all the issues in the federal litigation because a single
member of the Greek court, which normally sits as a panel of
three, has found on an emergency hearing that AAR is liable to
the defendants here (overlapping with some of the plaintiffs there)
and has ruled in a preliminary way on damages. AAR offers no
plausible reason to think that this ruling will be reversed by the
full panel. If there will be anything more to litigate in this matter
than liability and damages, AAR does not explain what it is.

If the ruling was to be upheld, that would probably end the
matter. The Southern District of Texas stated that “there would
be little reason to deny the preclusive effects” of a Greek
judgment when “the recognizing jurisdiction has no concern
with any of the parties or the underlying transaction.” Mpiliris v.
Hellenic Lines, Limited, 323 F. Supp. 865, 874 (S.D. Tx. 1969),
affd 440 F.2d 1163 (Sth Cir. 1971). The factors that led that
court to deny preclusive effect, including different parties, id. at
873, and a substantial federal interest, id. at 874, do not apply
here. Accord Zorgias v. The SS Hellenic Star, 370 F. Supp. 591,
593 (E.D. La. 1972), aff'd 487 F.2d 519 (5th Cir. 1973)(Greek
judgment has preclusive effect when there was there is identity
of the parties and cause of action.). See also Vagenas, v.
Continental Gin Company, 988 F.2d 104, 106 (11th Cir. 1993)
(1951 treaty between United States and Greece, 5 U.S.T. 1829,
elevated foreign judgment to status of sister state judgment).

D-5
Il.

I now must balance the considerations for and against
abstention, bearing in mind the exceptional nature of the
measure, “with the balance heavily weighted in favor of the
exercise of jurisdiction.” Moses H. Cone Memorial Hosp. v.
Mercury Constr. Corp., 460 U.S. 1, 16, (1983). The Seventh
Circuit directs me to consider a laundry list of factors: (1) the
identity of the court that first assumed jurisdiction over the
property; (2) the relative inconvenience of the federal forum;
(3) the need to avoid piecemeal litigation; (4) the order in
which the respective proceedings were filed; (5) whether
federal or foreign law provides the rule of decision; (6)
whether the foreign action protects the federal plaintiff’s
rights; (7) the relative progress of the federal and foreign
proceedings; and (8) the vexatious or contrived nature of the
federal claim. Finova Capital Corp. 180 F.3d at 898-99
(citing Colorado River, 424 U.S. at 818)). Taking these in
order:

5
(1) The identity of the court that first took jurisdiction--
Greek--favors abstention. AAR argues that this factor is neutral,
because the issues in the first Athens action were “temporary”;
but jurisdiction is jurisdiction. The second Athens action,
morever, addresses the dispositive issues of liability and
damages.

(2) AAR claims that the relative inconvenience of the
federal forum favors my exercise of jurisdiction because the
Greek forum is inconvenient for an Illinois firm. However,
AAR’s are not the only interests I must consider. The airplane,
many critical witnesses, and documents are in Greece, and the
defendants here are European firms, for whom a Greek forum is
more convenient. I take judicial notice, also, that AAR’s counsel
advertises itself as a global law firm (“One Firm. One World.
Connected.” is the Baker & McKenzie slogan.), and is
presumably able to litigate even in Athens.

(3) AAR also says that the need to avoid piecemeal
litigation favors exercise of jurisdiction because Greek law

D-6

permits multiple lawsuits. However, the avoidance of
piecemeal litigation is supposed to promote judicial economy,
Finova, 180 F.3d at 899, and the most economical use of my
time is to let the Greek courts handle it. To exercise
jurisdiction would promote rather than reduce piecemeal
litigation, since there would be then be three or four cases on
different issues--according to AAR--on two _ continents.
Besides, AAR does not deny that Greek law permits the
consolidation of cases and the filing of counterclaims, which
might be advisable anyway, in view of the probable
preclusive effect of a Greek judgment.

(4) The order in which the respective proceedings were
filed favors abstention because the defendants here filed first
in Greece. AAR argues that the first Athens action was only a
little claim about a _ nondispositive issue conceming
provisional relief, but that action was part of a dispute arising
from a single transaction (the alleged breach of the lease) or
series of transactions. The second Athens action, moreover,
did go to liability for the breach and damages, and was also
filed before AAR went forum-shopping.

(5) Because this is an alienage case, the rule of decision
is provided by Illinois law under the terms of the lease
contract. There is no special federal interest. The Seventh
Circuit said that an alienage case does not “involv{e] the
application of legal rights or principles unique to, or specially
protected by, federal law; the federal interest in_ the
adjudication of a contractual dispute--even one governed by
Illinois . . . law--is far from overwhelming.” Finova, 180 F.3d
at 900.

(6) AAR has four arguments that the foreign action will not
protect the plaintiff's rights: Three of them boil down to the claim
that AAR got adverse rulings in the Greek courts. The Athens
court: (a) would not accept that AAR Intemational was not
identical to AAR Corp; (b) held that AAR may be liable to
Vacances in spite of AAR’s reading of the lease; (c) imposed a
bank guarantee requirement despite its determination that AAR is

ene

D-7

a publicly traded corporation. The principle seems to be that no
court can be fair that does not rule for the plaintiff on every
motion--a natural view for the party losing the motion, but one
without legal support.

AAR’s fourth argument, (d), is that Greece is ranked well
below the United States on the “Transparency Intemational
Corruption Perception Index.” Apparently I am supposed to
exercise jurisdiction because some people perceive that
“Greece” is “corrupt.” There is not a whisper of evidence that
the Athens Court is corrupt.

(7) AAR claims that the relative progress of the federal
and foreign proceedings is not “relevant” because the first and
third Athens actions were only for “provisional relief” and the
second Athens action has only been set for hearing in
December 2000, while I have set an “entirely realistic” trial
date for January 2001. However the defendants are correct
that the Athens court’s findings in its January 25, 2000 order
indicate that the court has made substantial progress in
weighing the merits of the case, which I have not begun to do.
The Greek proceedings are therefore much further advanced.

(8) AAR asserts, finally, that its claim was not vexatious
or contrived but was bona fide and legitimate. Perhaps, but it
is not enough.

Accordingly I GRANT the motion to abstain and
DISMISS the case without prejudice. If there is anything to
litigate in this matter that is not precluded when the Greek
courts are done with it, AAR may file again.

ENTER ORDER:
/s/ Elaine E. Bucklo

Elaine E. Bucklo
United States District Judge

Dated: June 13, 2000

E-1

APPENDIX E:

SECTION 20.B. “NONEXCLUSIVE JURISDICTION IN
ILLINOIS,” AIRCRAFT LEASE AGREEMENT
BETWEEN AAR INTERNATIONAL AND
VACANCES HELIADES S.A.,

DATED MAY 14, 1998

Ke eKEE KE KE

Aircraft Lease Agreement Between
AAR International and Vacances Heliades S.A.

Dated May 14, 1998

KeEKR EE EH

20. GOVERNING LAW AND JURISDICTION

* KK KK KK OK K

B. Nonexclusive Jurisdiction in Illinois

Lessee and Lessor each hereby irrevocably consents that any
legal action or proceeding against it or any of its assets arising
out of or relating to this Agreement or any other Operative
Document may be brought in any jurisdiction where it or any
of its assets may be found, in the courts of the United States
of America for the Northern District of Illinois or in the
Supreme Court of the State of Illinois, as the party bringing
such action or proceeding may elect, and by execution and
delivery of this Agreement each of Lessor and Lessee hereby
irrevocably submits to and accepts with regard to any such
action or proceeding, for itself and in respect of its assets,
generally and unconditionally, the jurisdiction of the aforesaid

E-2

courts and irrevocably agrees to be bound by any judgment
rendered thereby. Nothing herein shall prevent any party
from bringing any legal action or proceeding or obtaining
execution of judgment in any other appropriate jurisdiction.
Lessee and Lessor further agree that a final judgment in any
action or proceeding arising out of or relating to this
Agreement or any other Operative Document shall be
conclusive and may be enforced in any other jurisdiction
within or outside the United States of America by suit on the
judgment, a certified or exemplified copy of which shall be
conclusive evidence of the fact and the amount of the
indebtedness or liability therein described, or in any other
manner provided by Law. Each of Lessee and Lessor hereby
irrevocably waives, to the fullest extent permitted by Law,
any objection which it may now or hereafter have to the
laying of venue of any suit, action or proceeding arising out of
or relating to this Agreement or any other Operative
Document brought in any court in or of the State of Illinois,
and hereby further irrevocably waives any claim that any such
suit, action or proceeding brought in any court in or of the
State of Illinois has been brought in an inconvenient forum.
Lessee shall maintain the process agent specified for it in
Section 20(C), or such other Person located within the State
of Illinois as may be acceptable to Lessor, as its agent for
service of process in the State of Illinois during the Term, at
Lessee’s sole cost and expense. LESSEE HEREBY WAIVES
TRIAL BY JURY IN ANY JUDICIAL PROCEEDING TO
WHICH IT IS A PARTY INVOLVING, DIRECTLY OR
INDIRECTLY, ANY MATTER ARISING OUT OF OR
RELATING TO THIS AGREEMENT OR ANY OTHER
OPERATIVE DOCUMENT.

*HEEXHEE*XE

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_2368%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
