# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — DeMaio v. Merit Systems Protection Board

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_2296%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2001
- **Citation:** 534 U.S. 953

## Text

(:) ‘upretne Coun. ys
cirkR

01 266 auc ' 3 2001

coer 7 “-
0} ‘ Ce OF TRE CLERK

No. 01-3022

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

LOUIS J. DE MAIO

. Petitioner

DEPARTMENT OF THE TREASURY
| and
THE MERIT SYSTEMS PROTECTION BOARD

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The U.S. Court Of Appeals
For The Federal Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Louis J. De Maio, Esq.
Counsel of Record
P.O. Box 347
Bel Air, Md. 21014
(410) 838-2404

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1). Whether a federal employee is protected against
prohibited personnel practices under the purview of the
Civil Service Reform Act of 1978 ?

2). Whether a federal employee can receive a fair and
impartial hearing before an Administrative Law Judge
when the federal Agency, a party to the litigation, has the
exclusive right to remove the Administrative Law Judge
from office under the Code of Federal Regulations ?

Be ne eee ee ee ae

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

Petitioner:

Louis J. De Maio
Respondents: |
Department of the Treasury

Merit Systems Protection Board

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Questions Presented for Review
Parties to the Proceedings

Table of Contents

Table of Authorities

Jurisdiction

Statement of Facts

Argument

Conclusion

Appendix:

Decision U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals
for Federal Circuit

Decision of MSPB

Decision of Administrative Law Judge

ill

Page

il

aii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page

Dugan v Ramsay 560 F. Supp 1230 4,7
Lopez v Dept. of Interior 5 13 88

MSPR Doc. De 03518810007

37 MSPR 24 5
Stover v Dept. of Interior (1994

MSPB) 63 MSPR 46 5
Degraaff v Dept. of Veterans

Affairs (1997 MSPR) 73 MSPR 574 5

—_ nee

STATUTES

28 USCA

Civil Service Reform Act of 1978
5USC 7121 (d)

Civil Rights Act 1964 as amended
5 USC 2302 (b)(1)

5USC7702

5USC7701

Y

a

a x
NWOUWWOR

Ad

CODE OF FEDERAL REGULATIONS

5 CFR 1201.101 4

5 CFR 1201.102 4

5 CFR 1201.103 4

5 CFR 1209.5 (a) 7 |
: |
8

~

5 CFR 1209.5 (b) 6
5 CFR 1201.133 7,
U.S. Constitution

14th amendment 6,7,8

OTHER AUTHORITIES
NORD Agreement Article 4, 41 2

iv

—

sensi.

JURISDICTION
On May 16, 2001 the Untied States Court of Appeals
for the Federal Circuit dismiss the Petitoners’ appeal for
lack of jurisdiction because the Board did not commit legal
error. From that decision comes this appeal under Title
28 of the United States Code Annotated.

STATEMENT OF FACTS

The Petitioner is employed as an Attorney (Estate
Tax) GS-905-12 by the Department of the Treasury, Internal
Revenue Service hereinafter called (Agency).

On 7-31-98 the Petitioner’s group manager, Ronald
Watt, issued a written memorandum to the Petitioner to
“no change “ an estate tax examined case that had been
returned by District Counsel with a recommended
deficiency exceeding $250,000.

On 10-15-98 a second case was returned from
District Counsel who refused to issue a Statutory Notice
of Deficiency where the tax liability exceeded $250,000.
The group manager issued a second written
memorandum to the Petitioner “to settle the case.”

The Petitioner’s Position Description only allows for
the determination of the correct tax and there is no critical
element that allows for the authorization “to settle cases.”
Settlement authority applies only to District Counsel
GS-905-14 and Appeals Officers GS-905-14.

The Petitioner refused “to settle” the two cases on
the premise that the Petitioner is not authorized under
his Position Description and such direction by the Agency
is a Prohibited Personnel Practice since such action is:

“a significant change in duties or responsibilities
which is inconsistent with the employee’s salary
and grade level.”

On 1-22-99 the Agency in a written reprimand to
the Petitioner for his refusal to comply with the written
directions of settling cases, incorporated in the letter of

1

reprimand is the written statement issued by the Chief of
Examination, Monica Baker, which states:
“your misconduct raises serious concerns about
your judgment, reliability, veracity, trustworthiness |
and ethical conduct.” !

This libelous statement is the third Prohibited
Personnel Practice engaged in by the Agency since it
reflects on:

“the character, loyalty or suitability of such
individual.” |

Based on these three prohibited personnel practices,
which are in writing and not in dispute as to their contents,
the Petitioner filed a grievance under the NORD
Agreement, the negotiated agreement between the
Agency and the National Treasury Employees Union.

The Petitioner filed a grievance under Article 4 of
the NORD Agreement entitled Protection Against
Personnel Practices. Article 41 of the NORD Agreement
states in part:

“any claimed violation, misinterpretation or
misapplication of any law, rule or regulation
affecting conditions of employment”.

The remedy sought was modification of the
Petitioner’s Position Description permitting settlement
authority.

Appeals has settlement authority because it is the
only Agency office that can consider hazards of litigation |
when evaluating a case; retroactive promotion to GS-905-
14 to enable the Petitioner’s salary and grade
commensurate with Appeals, back pay with interest
coupled with compensatory and punitive damages for
the written libelous and false written statement made by
the Agency as to the Petitioner’s character, loyalty and
e

wwe | a er ee ei.

The Agency denied the grievance and from that
denial the Petitioner appealed to the Merit Systems

2

ee

Protection Board hereinafter called (MSPB) within the

purview of the Civil Service Reform Act of 19785 USC

7121 (d) which states:
“An aggrieved employee affected by a prohibited
personnel practice under 2302 (b)(1) of this title
which also falls under the coverage of the
negotiated grievance procedure may raise the
matter under a statutory procedure or the
negotiated procedure, but not both. An employee
shall be deemed to have exerciséd his option under
this subsection to raise the matter under either a
statutory procedure or the negotiated procedure
at such time as the employee timely initiates an
action under the applicable statutory procedure or
timely files a grievance in writing in accordance
with the provision of the parties negotiated
procedure, whichever event occurs first. Selection
of the negotiated procedure in no manner
prejudices the right of an aggrieved employee to
request the MSPB to review the final decision
pursuant to section 7702 of this title in case of any
personnel action that could have been appealed
to the Board.”

In addition to the grievance being based on three
prohibited personnel practices, there is an allegation of
political favoritism to taxpayers. Also incorporated in the
grievance is reprisal based on discrimination since the
Petitioner previously filed a formal EEO Complaint in a
denial of a promotion. Since the prohibited personnel
practices did not apply to any other attorneys in the group
and only to the Petitioner, it appears that the reprisal is a
violation of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 as amended. The
grievance was made part of the appeal as Exhibit 7 and
discrimination is stated in 32 A of the appeal. The issue
of discrimination alone would warrant jurisdiction to
MSPB under 5 U S.C 2302 (b)(1). The issue of reprisal

3

ee

based on discrimination is part of the record.

An appeal to MSPB occurred on 2-17-2000 No.
PH-1221-00-0188-W-1.

By acknowledgment order dated 2-18-2000 directed -
the Agency to contact the Petitioner within 35 days to
discuss the possibility of settlement.

The Administrative Law Judge hereinafter called
(ALJ) granted the Agency an extension of time to respond
by Order dated March 8, 2000. The Agency representative
did not enter his appearance until March 9, 2000. It is
apparent that the ALJ acted in an ex parte manner in
violation of 5 CFR 1201.101, 5 CFR 1201.102 and 5 CFR |
1201.103. |

The ALJ subsequently granted all the Agency’s
Motions, denied all the Petitioner’s Motions, removed
documents from the official record i.e request to produce
documents and ultimately ruled in favor of the Agency
100 % and against the Petitioner 100 %. The ALJ, in
essence, assumed jurisdiction of the appeal, decided
everything in favor of the Agency except to hear the case
on the merits.

The ALJ dismissed the appeal based on lack of
jurisdiction by decision dated April 17, 2000.

The full Board refused to grant a hearing and
sustained the ALJ on the premise that there was no error
in law or by the regulations. |

From a decision of the Board an appeal was taken |
to the United States Court of Appeals for the Federal
Circuit 01-3022. |

The United States Court for the Federal Circuit
denied the Petitioner a hearing and ruled that the MSPB
does not have jurisdiction to adjudicate prohibited
personnel practices.

The Court refuse to follow the case of Dugan v
Ramsey 560 F. Supp. 1230 decided in the Federal District
Court of Rhode Island where the Court ruled that MSPB

4

———a_eaaQaQQQVuVM_

has jurisdiction over allegations of prohibited personnel
practices brought before it by direct appeal pursuant to 5
USC/7701.

Additionally, the Court refused to consider the case
of Lopez v Department of Interior 5-13-88, MSPB Doc.
No. DE 03518810007, 37 MSPB 24 which states allegations
of prohibited personnel practices can provide MSPB with
jurisdiction over an employee’s appeal despite provision
in the negotiated grievance procedure stating that it is
the exclusive means of resolving matters which falls
within its coverage for employees who alleges prohibited
personnel practices under 5 USCS 2302 (b)(1).

The Court did not consider Stover v Department of
Interior (1994 MSPB) 63 MBPR 46 where the Appellant
who alleges that he had disclosed violation of Agency
Rules and Regulations as well as gross mismanagement
and abuse of authority, a claim that entitled him to
jurisdiction hearing.

Lastly, an administrative judge erred in dismissing
a whistleblowers appeal for lack of jurisdiction since he
neglected to advise the Appellant of the requirements for
establishing jurisdiction. Degraaff v Department of
Veterans Affairs (1997 MSPB) 73 MSPR 574.

There is sufficient law within the Civil Service
Reform Act of 1978 and the Code of Federal Regulations
case law that indicates the MSPB does have jurisdiction
to adjudicate appeals involving protection to federal
employees against Agency’s involved in prohibited
personnel practices. The Court erred in not remanding
the case to MSPB for a hearing on the merits.

ARGUMENT

With evidence in the record of written definitive
violations of three prohibited personnel practices, political
favoritism in tax administration and reprisal based on
discrimination before the MSPB on appeal, to assert that
MSPB lacks jurisdiction to hear the case on the merits is
an absolute travesty of justice. The ALJ has protected the
Agency against any accountability or responsibility which
is grossly inconsistent with the protection of federal
employees as stated in the Civil Service Reform Act of
1978. The Agency is essentially protected from any wrong
doing and with partial ruling by the ALJ has a form of
immunity against any charges of any nature. Such
treatment to the Agency was exemplified in his case.

For example, when the Petitioner filed an appeal,
the ALJ imposed the burden of proof of jurisdiction and
timeliness of the appeal by the Petitioner. These issues
were not raised by the Agency but by the ALJ. It would
appear that any preliminary issues should be raised by
the parties and not the ALJ. Conversely, the ALJ granted
the Agency an extension of time to respond to the appeal
before the Agency representative even enter his
appearance and conducted in an ex parte manner. No
notice given to the Petitioner who is the attorney of record.
Is this equal protection under the 14th amendment to the
Constitution? The ALJ originally assumed jurisdiction
over the appeal and proceeded to rule 100% in favor of
the Agency. When it came time to hear the appeal on the
merits, the ALJ asserted MSPB lacked jurisdiction. Is this
due process under the law of the 14th amendment to the
Constitution? If the ALJ did not have jurisdiction in this
appeal the ALJ should have been precluded from granting
extensions, ruling on motions, denying motions removing
documents from the record or act in an ex parte manner.
The ALJ gave no reason why 5 CFR 1209.5 (b) does not
apply in this case.

6

The full Board for MSPB refuse to grant a hearing
to the Petitioner and the decision lacks any rationale as
to the partiality of the ALJ of why MSPB does not have
jurisdiction to adjudicate issues involving prohibited
personnel practices.

The U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit
went through great lengths in its decision to state that in
whistleblowing cases, the Petitioner must first seek
corrective action from Special Counsel before appealing
to the Board as stated in 5 CFR 1209.5 (a). However the
decision is completely devoid of why 5 CFR 1209.5 (b)
does not apply which gives the Petitioner the option either
to seek corrective action from Special Counsel before
appealing to the Board or to take the appeal directly with
the Board. It is a denial of due process under the 14th
amendment to the Constitution when the Petitioner elects
to appeal to the Board when the option is exercised under
5 CFR 1209.5 (b). Appealing to the Board directly gives
MSPB the jurisdiction to hear the case on the merits. The
Board is incorrect when it stated that there was no
violation of law or regulations by the ALJ.

The U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit
refuse to follow Dugan v Ramsay 560 F. Supp. 1230 in the
United States District Court for Rhode Island where the
Court ruled that the MSPB does have jurisdiction over
allegation of prohibited personnel practices brought
before it by direct appeal pursuant to 5 U SC 7701. The
U.S. Court of Appeals for Federal Circuit refusal to follow
his case which is essentially the identical issues of
jurisdiction of MSPB to adjudicate cases involving
prohibited personnel practices. The denial of the Federal
Circuit to follow this significant case is a denial of due
process under the 14th amendment to the Constitution.
Although this case was reversed on appeal for other
reasons, it was not for lack of jurisdiction.

The paramount regulation is 5 CFR 1201.133 which

7

gives the Agency the exclusive right to file a complaint
against the ALJ including the right to remove the ALJ from
office. In no forum of legal jurisdiction does a party to the
litigation have the right to remove the judge. Such a
regulation gives the Agency an unfair advantage by
having dominion and control over those who decide the
cases. The ALJ lack any independence and are fully
cognizance that to many cases decided against the Agency
tantamount to job removal. Job retention should never
be the basis of deciding a case. This regulation creates an
unlevel and slanted forum and grossly unfair to all those
seeking remedies under the law. Regulation 5 CFR
1201.133 is a denial of equal protection under the law as
stated in the 14th amendment to the Constitution. Such a
regulation, even if not exercised, but the mere threat of
removal is sufficient to give an incorrect decision. It is
not a question if 5 CFR 1201.133 should be abolished, it is
a question that 5 CFR 1201.133 must be abolished.

CONCLUSION

There are over 1.8 million federal employees. Most,
but not all, federal employees are covered under the Civil
Service Reform Act of 1978 and MSPB. Regardless of the
issue, the percentage of federal employees that are
successful before MSPB is less than 20 %. The Agency is
successful in over 80 % of the time and the reason is
abundantly clear. The Agency, a party to the litigation,
has the exclusive right under the Code of Federal
Regulations to remove the ALJ from his position. Job
retention should never be the basis of deciding the rights
of this Petitioner or any other federal employee seeking
justice before MSPB.

WHEREFORE, the Petitioner prays that this Honorable
Court grant the Petitioner’s Writ of Certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

Louis J. De Maio, Esq.
P.O. Box 347

Bel Air, Md. 21014
(410) 838-2404

APPENDIX
APP.

NOTE: Pursuant to Fed. Cir. R. 47.6, this disposition is
not citable as precedent. It is a public record. This
disposition will appear in tables published periodically.

United States Court of Appeals
for the Federal Circuit

01-3022
LOUIS J. DE MAIO,
V. Petitioner,
MERIT SYSTEMS PROTECTION BOARD,
Respondent.
DECIDED: May 16, 2001

Before RADER, Circuit Judge, PLAGER, Senior Circuit
Judge, and DYK, Circuit Judge. PER CURIAM

Louis J. De Maio (“Petitioner”) seeks review of the
final decision of the Merit Systems Protection Board
(“Board”) dismissing his appeal for lack of jurisdiction.
Because the Board did not commit legal error, we affirm.

BACKGROUND
Petitioner is employed by the Department of the
Treasury, Internal Revenue Service (“agency”) as an
attorney. In 1998, petitioner was directed by his group

Al-1

~

manager to settle certain tax cases but refused to do so.
Petitioner alleged that he was not authorized to settle
cases because such an action would involve a significant
change in his duties and responsibilities that would be
inconsistent with his position description, salary, and
grade. On January 22, 1999, petitioner received a written
reprimand from the agency for his refusal to comply with
his manager’s directions.

Petitioner filed a grievance at the district level, which
was denied. On February 17, 2000, petitioner filed an
appeal with the Board charging the agency with having
engaged in prohibited personnel practices by directing
him to settle the cases that he allegedly was not authorized
to settle and for sending him a reprimand letter that
questioned his veracity, trustworthiness, and ethics.
Petitioner alleged that the agency’s actions were based
on his whistleblower activities and submitted two letters
he had sent to an agency superior, which he claimed
contained protected disclosures.

In the Board’s initial decision, the administrative
judge dismissed petitioner’s appeal for lack of
jurisdiction. De Maio v. Dep’t of the Treasury, No. PH-
1221-00-0199-W-1 (M.S.P.R. Apr. 17, 2000). The
administrative judge held that the Board had jurisdiction
only if (1) the matter appealed was an “otherwise
appealable action” or (2) petitioner had first sought
corrective action from the Office of Special Counsel
(“OSC”). The administrative judge found that the matter
was not an “otherwise appealable action” under 5 C.ER.
§ 1209.2(b)(2), and that petitioner had not exhausted his
remedies before the OSC, as prescribed by 5 U.S.C. §
1214(a)(1).

Petitioner’s subsequent petition to the Board was
denied on September 5, 2000. This petition for review
followed.

A1-2

DISCUSSION

Decisions of the Board must be sustained unless they
are arbitrary, capricious, not in accordance with law,
obtained without procedures required by rule, law, or
regulation, or unsupported by substantial evidence. See
5 U.S.C. § 7703(c); Hayes v. Dep't of the Navy, 727 F.2d
1535, 1537 (Fed. Cir. 1984). Whether the Board has
jurisdiction to adjudicate a case is question of law, which
this court reviews do novo. Forest v. Merit Sys. Prot. Bd.,
47 F3d 409, 410 (Fed. Cir. 1995). When an individual
appeals to the Board, he has the burden of proving, by a
preponderance of the evidence, that the Board has
jurisdiction. id; 5 C.F.R. § 1201.56(a)(2). The question in
this case is whether the Board erred in concluding that it
lacked jurisdiction to hear petitionees appeal.

The Board’s jurisdiction is limited to that expressly
granted by statute or regulation. Cruz v. Dep’t of the Navy
, 934 F.2d 1240, 1243 (Fed. Cir. 1991) (en banc). Petitioner
contends that the Board has jurisdiction to review and
decide his appeal based on 5 U.S.C. § 7701(a). This court
has held, however, that § 7701 confers jurisdiction over a
prohibited personnel practice only when the prohibited
personnel practice is otherwise appealable to the Board
by law, rule, or regulation. Brodt v. Merit Sys. Prot. Bd.,
11 F.3d 1061, 1062 (Fed. Cir. 1993). As the Board found, no
statute or regulation makes the actions of which petitioner
complains appealable to the Board under § 7701. Petitioner
cites 5 U.S.C. § 7701 (c)(2) for the proposition that the
Board has jurisdiction to adjudicate claims concerning
prohibited personnel practices. Section 7701 (c)(2) states
that an agency’s decision cannot be sustained by the Board
if the decision is shown to have been based ona prohibited
personnel practice. Although this section offers a defense
against action by an agency, it is inapplicable to the
threshold question of jurisdiction, which is addressed by
§ 7701 (a).

Al1-3

Petitioner further relies on Dugan v. Ramsey, 560 F.
Supp. 1230 (D. R.I. 1993), rev’d, 727 F.2d 192 (1st Cir. 1984),
for the proposition that the Board has jurisdiction over
allegations of prohibited personnel practices. In that case,
the district court states that § 7701 did not make
employment eligibility status disputes directly appealable
to the Board, id. at 1232.33, and denied district court
review because Dugan had not exhausted his
administrative remedies by first filing a charge with the
OSC. Dugan, 560 F. Supp. at 1234-35. The First Circuit
reversed on the jurisdictional question, finding that the
government had waived the exhaustion of remedy
requirement. Dugan, 727 F.2d at 194. The First Circuit did
not hold that § 7701 confers jurisdiction for direct appeals
to the Board over disputes involving prohibited personnel
practices. Here, because the agency actions of which
petitioner complains are not directly appealable to the
Board by any law or regulation, he may not file a direct
appeal from them under § 7701.

In the case of personnel actions not directly
appealable to the Board, an individual is required to
exhaust administrative remedies by first filing a complaint
with the OSC, which is responsible for investigating such
claims and seeking corrective action from the Board where

it deems appropriate. 5 U.S.C. § 1214(a)(3); Briley v. Nat’
Archives & Records Admin., 236 F.3d 1373, 1377 (Fed. Cir.
2001); Wren v. Merit Sys. Prot. Bd.,,681 F.2d 867, 873 (D.C.

Cir. 1982). Only when his administrative remedy has been
exhausted is an individual entitled to file an Individual
Right of Action appeal under 5 U.S.C. § 1221 from a
personnel action that is not otherwise appealable. See 5
U.S.C. § 1214(a)(3), 1221 (a); Marano v. Dep’t of Justice, 2
F.3d 1137,1139 (Fed. Cir 1993). To the extent that Dugan,
which did not even address the current exhaustion
requirement, suggests that exhaustion of remedies
available with the OSC is not required, we disagree with

Al-4

the decision.

See Briley, 236 F.3d at 1377; Willis v. Dep’t of Araic., 141

F.3d 1139, 1142 43 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Since petitioner has
not exhausted his remedies before the OSC, we
conclude that the Board did not err in finding that it
lacked jurisdiction to review his appeal.

COSTS

No costs.

Al1-5

APP. 2

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
MERIT SYSTEMS PROTECTION BOARD

LOUIS J. DE MAIO, DOCKET NUMBER
Appellant, PH-1221-00-0188-W-1
V.

DEPARTMENT OF THE TREASURY,
Agency.
DATE: Sep 5, 2000

Louis |, De Maio, Bel Air, Maryland, pro se.
Robert E. Norman, Esquire, Atlanta, Georgia,

for the agency.

BEFORE

Beth S. Slavet, Acting Chairman
Susanne T. Marshall, Member

FINAL ORDER

The appellant has filed a petition for review in this
case asking us to reconsider the initial decision issued by
the administrative judge. We grant petitions such as this
one only when significant new evidence is presented to
us that was not available for consideration earlier or when
the administrative judge made an error interpreting a law
or regulation. The regulation that establishes this standard
of review is found in Title 5 of the Code of Federal
Regulations, section 1201.115 (5 C.E.R. § 1201.115).

After fully considering the filings in this appeal, we
conclude that there is no new, previously unavailable,
evidence and that the administrative judge made no error
in law or regulation that affects the outcome. 5 C.ER. §
1201 11 5(d). Therefore, we DENY the petition for review,

A2-1

The initial decision of the administrative judge is final.
This is the Board's final decision in this matter. 5 C.ER.
§1201.113.

NOTICE TO THE APPELLANT REGARDING
YOUR FURTHER REVIEW RIGHTS
You have the right to request the United States Court
of Appeals for the Federal Circuit to review this final
decision. You must submit your request to the court at
the following address:
United States Court of Appeals
for the Federal Circuit
717 Madison Place, N.W.
Washington, DC 20439

The court must receive your request for review no
later than 60 calendar days after your receipt of this order.
If you have a representative in this case, and your
representative receives this order before you do, then you
must file with the court no later than 60 calendar days
after receipt by your representative. If you choose to file,
be very careful to file on time. The court has held that
normally it does not have the authority to waive this
statutory deadline and that filings that do not comply with
the deadline must be dismissed. See Pinal v. Office of
Personnel Management, 931 F.2d 1544 (Fed. Cir. 1991).

If you need further information about your right to
appeal this decision to court, you should refer to the
federal law that gives you this right. It is found in Title 5
of the United States Code, section 7703 (5 U.S.C. § 7703).
You may read this law as well as review other related

material at our web site, http:/ /www.mspb.gov.

FOR THE BOARD:
Clerk of the Board
Washington, D.C.

A2-2

———Sw

E VICE

I certify that this ORDER was sent today:
By certified mail to:

Louis J. De Maio

P. 0. Box 347

Bel Air, MD 21014

By regular mail to:
Robert E. Norman, Esq.
Department of the Treasury
General Legal Services
401 W. Peachtree Street, NW., Suite 2110
Stop 180-R
Atlanta, GA 30308

Kenneth L. Bates

U.S. Office of Personnel Management
Employee Relations Division

1900 “E” Street, N.W., Room 7412
Washington, DC 20415

Merit Systems Protection Board
Northeastern Regional Office

2nd & Chestnut Streets, Room 501
Philadelphia, PA 19106

By hand to:
Office of the Special Counsel
1730 M Street, N.W.
Suite 300
Washington, DC 20036-4505

September 5, 2000 s/Ameeran Ali
Legal Assistant

Washington, DC

A2-3

APP. 3
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
MERIT SYSTEMS PROTECTION BOARD
NORTHEASTERN REGIONAL OFFICE

LOUIS J. DE MAIO, DOCKET NUMBER
Appellant, PH-1221-00-0188-W-1

V.

DEPARTMENT OF THE TREASURY,

Agency.
DATE: April 17, 2000
Louis J. De Maio, Esquire, Bel Air, Maryland, pro se.
Robert E. Norman, Esquire, Atlanta, Georgia,
for the agency.
BEFORE
Sandra J. Squire
Administrative Judge
INITIAL DECISION

On February 15, 2000, Louis J. De Maio, Esquire,
filed an appeal alleging that his employing agency, the
Department of the Treasury, engaged in prohibited
personnel practices. The appellant currently works as an
Attorney (Estate Tax), GS-12, with the Internal Revenue
Service, Baltimore, Maryland. For the reasons set forth
below, the appellant’s request for a hearing is denied and
the appeal is DISMISSED.

A3-1

LS ER EN TN CT Ae

[JURISDICTION

The Merit Systems Protection Board (Board) may
only adjudicate appeals from those actions which are
made appealable to the Board under law, rule, or
regulation. See 5 U.S.C. §7701(a); see also5C E.R. § 1201.3
(1999). The regulations of the Board, if specifically 5 C.ER.
§1201,56(a)(2) (1999). provide that appellants have the
burden of demonstrating, by a preponderance of the
evidence, that the Board has jurisdiction over an appeal.
A preponderance of the evidence is defined as that degree
of relevant evidence which a reasonable person,
considering the record as a whole, would accept as
sufficient to find that a contested fact is more likely to be
true than untrue. 5 C.ER. § 1201.56(c)(2) (1999).

The appellant was afforded an opportunity to
provide evidence of the Board’s jurisdiction via the
Board’s February 18, 2000 Acknowledgment Order, and
a Show Cause Order dated March 27, 1999. The appellant
made several responses to the jurisdictional issue which
I have considered. The agency responded to the appeal
on March 17, 2000, and included with its response a
motion to dismiss based on jurisdiction. Following review,
the agency’s motion is GRANTED.

In his appeal and subsequent submissions, the
appellant raised a number of concerns about the agency’s
grievance system, and the agency’s failure to take steps
to protect the government’s interest in regard to
impending statutes. The appellant also asserted that the
agency engaged in prohibited personnel practices by
changing his duties and responsibilities which are
inconsistent with his salary and grade level, and issuing
him a letter of reprimand, allegedly containing untrue
written statements concerning his character, loyalty,

A3-2

veracity, trustworthiness and ethical conduct. Assuming
that the appellant intended these to be allegations of
prohibited personnel practices, such arguments do not
confer jurisdiction on the Board. See Hunter v. Department
of the Army, 40 M.S.P.R. 449, 451 n. (1989) (an allegation of
a prohibited practice, alone, cannot invoke Board
jurisdiction). Further, there is no entitlement to appeal to
the Board from a letter of reprimand. Likewise, there is
no entitlement to appeal to the Board on agency grievance
issues, or the concerns the appellant raised about the
agency’s failure to take steps to protect the government’s
interest in regard to impending statutes. See 5 US,C§ 7501
et seq.; 5 C,ER. § 1201.3 (1999) (descriptions of Board
jurisdiction found in laws, rules and regulations).

As noted, it does not appear the appellant is appealing
an “otherwise appealable action” as defined at 5 C.RR.£
1209.2(b)(2), or (b) that he has first sought corrective action
from the Special Counsel. The appellant must show that
the matter appealed is an “otherwise appealable action,”
or that he has first sought corrective action from the
Special Counsel before the Board will accept his appeal.
The appellant’s submissions to date do not evidence such.
If the appellant takes his allegations of merit systems
principle violations to the Office of Special Counsel, a
letter of reprimand may be appealed as an individual right
of action (IRA) appeal under the provisions of the
Whistleblower Protection. Act (WPA), Pub.L. No. 101-12,
103 Stat. 16 (1989). However, the appellant has not taken
this matter to the OSC. Thus, the Board has no jurisdiction
to decide this appeal, and the matter must be dismissed.

A3-3

a es

DECISION
The appeal is DISMISSED.

FOR THE BOARD: s/Sandra J. Squire

Administrative Judge

NOTICE TO APPELLANT

This initial decision will become final on
May 22, 2000, unless a petition for review is filed by that
date or the Board reopens the case on its own motion.
This is an important date because it is usually the last
day on which you can file a petition for review with the
Board. However, if this initial decision is received by you
more than 5 days after the date of issuance, you may file
a petition for review within 30 days after the date you
actually receive the initial decision. The date on which
the initial decision becomes final also controls when you
can file a petition for review with the Court of Appeals
for the Federal Circuit. The paragraphs that follow tell
you how and when to file with the Board or the federal
court. These instructions are important because if you
wish to file a petition, you must file it within the proper
time period.

BOARD REVIEW
You may request Board review of this initial decision
by filing a petition for review. Your petition, with
supporting evidence and argument, must be filedwith:

The Clerk of the Board
Merit Systems Protection Board
1120 Vermont Avenue, NW., Room 806
Washington, DC 20419

A3-4

If you file a petition for review, the Board will obtain the
record in your case from the administrative judge and
you should not submit anything to the Board that is
already part of the record. Your petition must be
postmarked, faxed, or hand delivered no later than the
date this initial decision becomes final, or if this initial
decision is received by you more than 5 days after the
date of issuance, 30 days after the date you actually receive
the initial decision. If you fail to provide a statement with
your petition that you have either mailed, faxed, or hand
delivered a copy of your petition to the agency, your
petition will be rejected and returned to you.

JUDICIAL REVIEW
If you are dissatisfied with the Board’s final decision,
you may file a petition with:

The United States Court of Appeal
for the Federal Circuit
717 Madison Place, NW.

| Washington, DC 20439
You may not file your petition with the court before this
decision becomes final. To be timely, your petition must
be received by the court no later than 60 calendar days
after the date this initial decision becomes final.

NOTICE TO AGENCY/INTERVENOR

The agency or intervenor may file a petition for review
of this initial decision in accordance with the Board’s
regulations.

A3-5

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_2296%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
