# Opposition Brief — Mentavlos v. Anderson

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_2254%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2001
- **Citation:** 534 U.S. 952

## Text

( D Supreme Court, US.
FILBP
No. 01-224

[ SEP 5 20t——

CIn 6) he
Supreme Court of the

FFICE OF BE CLERK

Cinited States

JEANIE MENTAVLOS,

Petitioner,
V.

JOHN JUSTICE ANDERSON;
JAMES SALEEBY,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

Sandra J. Senn

Counsel of Record

Stephanie P. McDonald
SANDRA J. SENN, P.A.

3 Wesley Drive

Charleston, South Carolina 29407
(843) 556-4045

Counsel for Respondents

THE LEX GROUP ¢ 1108 East Main Street # Suite 1400 ¢ Richmond, VA 23219 oy
(804) 644-4419 ® (800) 856-4419 @ Fax: (804) 644-3660 ¢ www.thelexgroup.com a4

Il.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Whether upperclass students given limited
authority to correct minor rules infractions but who
instead violate written school policy expressly
prohibiting abusive treatment or discrimination
may fairly be deemed state actors at a college
whose mission is to educate civilian students and
produce community leaders?

Whether the Fourth Circuit properly applied the
state action test by exhaustively analyzing the
numerous facts and tests applicable in the state-
action context, recognizing that these criteria lack
rigid simplicity, and considering that state action
has been found when a private entity is entwined
with governmental policies?

Whether the actions of students at a state-
supported college, acting in a manner proscribed
by the college and known by the plaintiff to be
violative of the applicable rules, can in law or
fairness be attributed to the State of South
Carolina?

Whether the Fourth Circuit properly held that
upperclass students at The Citadel were not state
actors as they are no more members of the military
than students attending other state-supported
colleges in South Carolina and as the functions of
military protection and training have not been
delegated to them by the state or federal
governments?

Whether the District Court properly granted
summary judgment to Respondent Saleeby
because Petitioner failed to produce any evidence
of gender-based discrimination on his part?

QUESTIONS PRESENTED
TABLE OF CONTENTS
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
STATEMENT OF THE FACTS

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

I.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

The Fourth Circuit properly applied
the state action test by exhaustively
analyzing the numerous facts and
tests applicable in the state-action
context, recognizing that these criteria
lack rigid simplicity, and considering
that state action has been found when
a private entity is entwined with

governmental Policies ...........sssserseseeees

The actions of students at a state-
supported college, acting in a manner
proscribed by the college and known
by the plaintiff to be violative of the
applicable rules, cannot in law or
fairness be attributed to the State of

III, sac sanauennmidisnesennnoasenne

Il. The Fourth Circuit properly held that
upperclass students at The Citadel
were not state actors as they are no
more members of the military than
students attending other state-
supported colleges in South Carolina
and as the functions of military
protection and training have not been
delegated to them by the state or
federal governMe¢»t ............00ssssecsseseseeeessere 14

IV. The District Court properly granted

summary judgment to Respondent
Saleeby because Petitioner failed to

produce any evidence of gender-

based discrimination on his part...............+++ 20
IIE snncesisnecnonsopssecnsntncmnnisinenanestenninanacueseepnosicneneasentens 21
BPP TEI, covccerensnenenesiesnnecenmantannnnnonnnensniamannensinanniinte App. i

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page(s)

Cases:
Alton v. Hopgood,

Pe Be I, BEF GRE. TING Jaerseccscivenssnsoesnsvensanansnvevsniin 17
Alton v. Texas A&M University,

168 F.3d 196 (5% Cir. 1999) sinechaetaenint 17
Arlosoroff v. National Collegiate Athletic Ass.,

746 F.2d 1019 (4t Cir. 1984) ...........0.ccccscssesseseore 16
Blum v. Yaretsky,

457 U.S. 991, 102 S.Ct. 2777,

73 L.Ed.2d 534 (1982)...........0secsseesees seine 16
Brentwood Academy v. Tennessee Secondary School,

es TW Ce rseetsinsintntnnnincinininnainncininnreeanes passim
Dowe v. Total Action Against Poverty in Roanoke Valley,

BD FIG GES COO GG, TOT I) wessccnrcccesnesorsorserscesscornes 6,7,9
Hughes v. Halifax County School Board,

SS PA BED GEM Cae, BI) vecccrcesccsssscsecenessnereinonpns ime @
Indorato v. Patton,

994.F. Sapp. 300 (E.D. Pa. 1996) .......cscssscerverscscscessereseens 8
Leeds v. Meltz,

ee a Ie, TAI crcccsteenennsviinrnernerinninisneisonmnncinens 14
Mentavlos v. Anderson,

85 F. Supp. 2d 609 (D.S.C. 2000)..........sessssssseeere passim

iv

Mentavlos v. Anderson,

DED F. SE BR Ge, Ba sccesnsccntscsieenensvscionennnen passim
Rendell-Baker v. Kohn,

457 US. 830, 102 S.Ct. 2764,

7S La Rae AEP GPE scinsiiicinstnecbinsininteanianianiniurinnsioes 16, 19
Yeo v. Town of Lexington,

131 F.3d 241 (1st Cir. 1997), cert. denied (1998) ..........+ 7
Statutes:
10 U.S.C, 8 FER Ge ciiccceneteatiss scl bictecariiiceninen 17
S.C. Cone Aum: Tapert wea taesencetistacsadcedccancbitinhccsintiieinsncninick 18
S.C. Codie Agume, pe tr aie autidinseadtatteinctictintinnntnttininicninatinccines 16
Constitutional Provisions:
Fepeartemereliiin Am iicsciccscsisinsereniiiennsnetnbainteciencianebnenetnannhaiate 7

T F E

Petitioner, a former student at The Citadel, brought
this action after leaving the school in 1996. All claims except
those against student defendants John Justus Anderson,
James Saleeby, and Edward Bohm were settled prior to the
district court's final ruling on the pending summary
judgment motions.

Initially, plaintiff's allegations depended upon proof
that the student defendants acted in concert with one or
more members of the college’s faculty or staff. When it
became apparent, however, that plaintiff could in no way
establish the proof necessary to support this theory, the
court allowed her to amend her complaint to allege that the
individual cadet defendants were themselves state actors.
See Mentavlos v. Anderson, 85 F. Supp. 2d 609, 611 (D.S.C.
2000). Plaintiff then withdrew her allegations under Section
1985, her allegations of due process violations under Section
1983, and her claims of a Section 1983 conspiracy. The only
claims remaining against defendants Anderson and Saleeby
allege violations of plaintiff's Fourteenth Amendment right
to equal protection.

The parties consented to the District Court's
resolution of any underlying factual questions relevant to
the state actor inquiry, and a bench trial was held on
November 17, 1999. On February 15, 2000, the District
Court ordered that summary judgment be granted in favor
of defendants Anderson and Saleeby, holding that they
were not state actors. The District Court further concluded
that the record revealed “no evidence that defendant
Saleeby’s actions towards the plaintiff were motivated by
gender bias.” Id. at 628.

On interlocutory appeal, the Fourth Circuit
considered the actions of the student defendants under both
prior state action analyses as well the flexible entwinement
framework set forth recently in Brentwood Academy v.

i ed

Tennessee Secondary School, 212 S.Ct. 924 (2001). The Fourth
Circuit affirmed the District Court’s granting of summary
judgment, holding that these “were students at a state-
supported college, acting in‘a manner proscribed by The
Citadel and known by Mentavlos to be violative of the
applicable rules. Under these circumstances, their actions
cannot in law or fairness be attributed to the State of
South Carolina, which is the pertinent inquiry
determined by the facts before us today.” Mentavlos v.
Anderson, 249 F.3d 301, 322 (4 Cir. 2001). Respondents are
now before this Court opposing the Petition for a Writ of
Certiorari.

STATEMENT OF THE FACTS

In the fall of 1996, Jeanie Marie Mentavlos decided to
enter The Citadel as one of its first four female freshmen.
Petitioner Mentavlos has alleged that she was mistreated
by other student members of the Corps of Cadets. She
claims that because of her gender, and as part of The
Citadel’s long fight to keep women out of the Corps,
certain individual student cadets acted in concert with The
Citadel and its leaders to sexually harass her and drive her
from the school.! At the close of discovery, the plaintiff
had produced no evidence to support her constitutional
claims.?

1 Petitioner has admitted that she has no evidence to suggest that
either Saleeby or Anderson was involved in this alleged conspiracy.

2 The Petition for a Writ of Certiorari again re-hashes a host
of issues not in any way associated with the current appellees (i.c.,
Shannon Faulkner ordeal and internet photo) or the state action

analysis.

Respondents were low level sergeants, and many
cadets outranked them. They could not give official
punishment to the plaintiff, as said action would have had
to go through the chain of command and actually be
approved by a member of The Citadel faculty. Mentavlos, 85
F. Supp.2d at 618-619. At most, what the defendants could
do is simply write “white slips” or “performance reports”
for the plaintiff so that she would have to face charges of
violations?.

In her Petition, Mentavlos appears to once again
assert new allegations against these Respondents.
Switching gears from her prior claims in an attempt to
create sexual discrimination where none exists, she presents
the contradictory statement that Saleeby set a fire “at her
waist, close to her breasts, presumably so that her
undergarments would show through.” (Petition at p. 26).
Never once has she presented this “presumption” in the
past. Heretofore, she claimed that other defendants set
her t-shirt on fire near her breast area, but Saleeby was not
one of these defendants. If the Court reviews the
photographs of that t-shirt, it is difficult to imagine how
Ms. Mentavlos’ breasts or undergarments could have
possibly been located in the areas where the shirt was
burned. However, the t-shirt is a non-issue. Defendant
Saleeby has only been accused of setting Mentavlos’
sweatshirt (not t-shirt) on fire, on the tag area. This tag was
located near her waist, and near the pockets of the
sweatshirt, as photographed. 85 F. Supp.2d at 612, 612 n.4.
(Please see also photograph attached at App. 1).

The Fourth Circuit’s proper affirmance on the state
actor issue is of considerable importance as it will have a
lasting and tremendous impact on the viability of The

$ Interestingly, defendant Saleeby only wrote the plaintiff a
performance slip for merits and good conduct, not demerits.

Citadel's fourth class system as it currently exists.‘ This
issue was properly decided as a matter of law because
different juries could make varying determinations as to
whether a mere cadet, who is not even of significant rank,
can be a "state actor" for Section 1983 purposes. This issue is
important not only to the military school itself, but to any
parent who sends his or her child to military school.
Heretofore, it was simply not foreseeable that sending a
child to military college could subject that child to liability
for having become an "arm of the state."

Throughout this litigation, plaintiff has made
numerous, contradictory allegations, even as her theories of
liability continued to metamorphose. Yet two things are
certain. One, the plaintiff knew she did not have to obey
illegal orders such as allowing herself to be set on fire. Id. at
614; see also 249 F.3d at 322. Two, she was free to leave the
school at anytime and was certainly no prisoner there.

Petitioner now claims that the two remaining
defendants, Jamie Saleeby and Justus Anderson, were most
responsible for her plight. However, the record clearly
shows that Cadet Anderson had little contact with
Mentavlos. And Saleeby was, in fact, one of her few
comforters as other cadets chided her for being a poor cadet.
See e.g., 85 F. Supp.2d at 615. Ironically, though Mentavlos
now claims that Saleeby and Anderson were her worst foes,
they just so happen to be the only two defendants who
decided to challenge Ms. Mentavlos to prove her claims.
She simply failed to prove those claims to the District Court,
and the Fourth Circuit properly affirmed.

4 The Citadel could never afford to insure all cadets as potential
state actors, and it is highly unlikely that any military school could afford
said insurance.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

I. The Fourth Circuit properly applied the state action
test by exhaustively analyzing the numerous facts
and tests applicable in the state-action context,
recognizing that these criteria lack rigid simplicity,
and considering that state action has been found
when a private entity is entwined with
governmental policies.

Relying upon this Court’s recent opinion in
Brentwood Academy v. Tennessee Secondary School, 212 S.Ct.
924 (2001), Petitioner claims that the district court applied
too rigid a test for state action. An analysis of Brentwood,
however, demonstrates that the entity considered there is in
no way analogous to the student cadets in this case. In
Brentwood, the Court examined the Tennessee Secondary
School Athletic Association, “a not-for-profit membership
corporation organized to regulate interscholastic sport
among the public and private high schools in Tennessee that
belong to it. No school is forced to join, but without any
other authority actually regulating interscholastic athletics,
it enjoys the memberships of almost all the State's public
high schools (some 290 of them or 84% of the Association's
voting membership), far outnumbering the 55 private
schools that belong.” Id. at 928.

When certain penalties challenged by Brentwood, a
private school, were imposed, “all the voting members of
the board of control and legislative council were public
school administrators.” Id. at 929. The entwinement down
from the State Board was “unmistakable, just as the
entwinement up from the member public schools is
overwhelming. Entwinement will support a conclusion that
an ostensibly private organization ought to be charged with
a public character and judged by constitutional standards;
entwinement to the degree shown here requires it.” Id. at
933.

ein cries |

The Court did not abandon all prior state action tests
in Brentwood, but presented the limited holding that when
“the relevant facts show pervasive entwinement to the point
of largely overlapping identity, the implication of state
action is not affected by pointing out that the facts might not
loom large under a different test.” Id. at 934.

Here, even a flexible analysis of the facts and
relevant state action cases establishes that these student
cadets were not state actors for Section 1983 purposes. As
the opinion of the district court details, Petitioner produced
evidence which, if believed, would show that the
defendants were each involved in three incidents of
harassment or improper treatment. As to Saleeby, these
were the October 1996 lighting of plaintiff's clothing on fire
and his kicking or brushing with his foot to extinguish the
fire, the allegation that on one or more later occasions
Saleeby kicked the plaintiff in the legs, and that on one
occasion, Saleeby entered plaintiff's room wearing only
non-uniform shorts and shower-type shoes. Mentavlos, 85
F, Supp.2d at 621-613.

As to Anderson, plaintiff asserted that while making
crudely worded comments, Anderson pushed cardboard
into her face and chin, leaving welts that lasted one or two
days, that he stopped the plaintiff and another female cadet
after they came in drunk just before Thanksgiving break and
sent them to the company commander's room, and that he
made threatening statements to the plaintiff at various

times, including statemerits that he would physically harm
or kill plaintiff or her brother, who was an upperclass cadet.
The events alleged as to both defendants “all violate official
written school policy.” Mentavlos, 85 F. Supp.2d at 613-14.

Throughout this litigation and over the course of
several theories of liability, plaintiff has been unable to
establish any government participation in these private
activities. In Dowe v. Total Action Against Poverty in Roanoke
Valley, 145 F.3d 653, 658 (4% Cir. 1998), the Fourth Circuit
reiterated that:

Ai i

[a]cting under color of state law is
equivalent to that of state action under the
Fourteenth Amendment. The state action
requirement “reflects judicial recognition of
the fact that ‘most rights secured by the
Constitution are protected only against
infringement by governments.” “This
fundamental limitation on the scope of
constitutional guarantees ‘preserves an area
of individual freedom by limiting the reach
of federal law’ and ‘avoids imposing on the
State, its agencies or officials, responsibility
for conduct for which they cannot fairly be
blamed.”

Id. at 658 (internal citations omitted).

“The essential state action inquiry is whether the
government has been sufficiently involved in the challenged
actions that it can be deemed responsible for the plaintiff's
claimed injury. If there is no state action, then the court may
not impose constitutional obligations on (and thus restrict
the freedom of) private actors.” Yeo v. Town of Lexington, 131
F.3d 241, 248-49 (1st Cir. 1997), cert. denied (June 1, 1998). As
in Yeo, a case dealing with two student editors’ decision not
to publish an ad in a school yearbook, the actions of which
plaintiff complains as to both Anderson and Saleeby were
actions taken by students. The First Circuit explained in Yeo
that the only decisions that it found “which assume there is
state action do so where the parties agreed there was state
action and it was undeniable the decision makers were
government officials.” Id. at 251. This is not such a case.
Here, the students “are themselves at least facially private
actors.” Id. at 251.

Similarly, in Indorato v. Patton, 994 F. Supp. 300 (E.D.
Pa. 1998), a district court held that a state university football
player who struck a referee during a sanctioned football
game was not a state actor for Section 1983 purposes. The
court reached this result even though the athlete received a
scholarship, liability insurance and a uniform free-of-charge
from the school. Id. at 307. Rejecting plaintiff's arguments
under the “symbiotic relationship,” “joint participant,”
“nexus” and “government function” tests, the court noted
that plaintiff had failed to establish that playing football at a
state university was anything more than a student activity.
Mentavlos has likewise failed to demonstrate that any of the
acts taken against her by individual cadets were anything
more than student activities, particularly in light of The
Citadel administration’s orders that the cadets’ duty
required that they deal with the freshman women in a
professional manner. The Citadel’s “Blue Book” clearly
prohibits hazing and in fact, a cadet must obtain permission
from a fellow cadet before engaging in even the slightest
touching of him or her. 85 F. Supp.2d at 617.

Significantly, the Indorato court held that:

Plaintiff's comparison of football players with
state troopers is irrelevant. The fact that both
football players and state troopers may, inter
alia, wear uniforms, “function in a quasi-
military structure,” have “specific job
assignments,” and follow rules, ... is not
dispositive on the issue of whether
Defendant is a state actor. As the court
explains throughout this opinion, what
matters is the nature and extent of
Defendant's contacts with the state.

Id. at 305 n.10. The same must be said of the students in this
case.

—

“The central inquiry in determining whether a
private party’s conduct will be regarded as action of
the government is whether the party can be described “in
all fairness” as a state actor.” Dowe at 659. Brentwood did
not eliminate this central inquiry. In Hughes v. Halifax
County School Board, 855 F.2d 183 (4 Cir. 1988), a former
school employee sued school officials and fellow
employees under Section 1983, alleging that “he was
assaulted, battered, and subjected to intentional emotional
distress under color of state law because he was accosted
by county employees with retaliation in their eyes, on
county land, with county-owned rope, during work
hours.” Id. at 186. Rejecting the indicia of authority relied
upon by Hughes, the Fourth Circuit stated that if the
actions of his fellow employees amounted to state action,
then “any employee of the state who commits a tort has
potentially violated 1983. We cannot endorse such a
result.” Id. at 187. The same result would follow here if
this Court were to permit a holding that these individual
student cadets were state actors with respect to their
involvement with this plaintiff. To do so would dictate
that any Citadel cadet who commits a tort against an
underclassman has potentially violated 1983. Such a result
would be untenable and inconsistent with the purpose of
this statute.

II. The actions of students at a state-supported
college, acting in a manner proscribed by
the college and known by the plaintiff to be
violative of the applicable rules, cannot in law or
fairness be attributed to the State of South
Carolina.

Plaintiff initially attempted to characterize the
actions of cadet defendants Anderson and Saleeby as “state
action” by asserting that they “acted as aider, abettor or
co-conspirator in concert with the state actions” of

The Citadel defendants. She abandoned this claim,
however, when an examination of her evidence,
revealed that she could not support such a theory,
especially as to Anderson and Saleeby. To diate,
plaintiff has produced no evidence that any member of
The Citadel administration was ever involved in any
hazing, harassment, or otherwise improper acts. She has
also been unable to establish that any member of The
Citadel administration, faculty, or staff acquiesced in the
acts of the individual students or that “administrators and
faculty encouraged, sanctioned and refused to prevent
hazing, harassment and abuse of the new female
students, including plaintiff.” See Mentavlos, 85 F. Supp.2d
at 619 (“Nonetheless, it is quite clear that the school did
not endorse or encourage abuses of the fourth class
system and, in fact, endeavored to discourage abuses of
the type alleged by plaintiff’). Thus, it is difficult to
comprehend how the individual, unauthorized actions
of either student Anderson or Saleeby could be
categorized “in all fairness” as attributable to the State.
Indeed, plaintiff's abandonment of the constitutional
conspiracy causes of action is telling in that it epitomizes
the lack of proof that she has been able to set forth to
connect the private acts of the student cadets to any state
actor.

The District Court and Fourth Circuit considered
and noted numerous policies demonstrating that the
actions of which plaintiff has complained were forbidden
and that the school was taking steps to eliminate such
instances. For example:

10

1. Hazing. Hazing is a violation of the South
Carolina State Law and Citadel
Regulations and is punishable by
expulsion from The Citadel. Hazing is
defined as striking, offering bodily harm,
treating with violence, verbal abuse or
any treatment of a tyrannical, abusive, or
humiliating nature by a member of a
higher class to a member of a lower class.
Hazing includes requiring performance of
personal service or humiliating verbal
abuse.

2. Other major violations of the Fourth Class
System on the part of upperclassmen,
which may not constitute hazing, are
considered serious offenses and are
punished in accordance with Annex B.

3. All violations of the Fourth Class System
are reported immediately. Hazing and
major violations of the Fourth Class
System are reported to the Commandant
within one hour of its discovery,
regardless of the time of day.

Blue Book, (Supp. App. at pp. 364-423) Chap. 16-H.1-3. See
also Blue Book, Chap. 16.J.7. (also prohibiting requiring
freshmen to perform tasks of a personal nature for
upperclassmen); Chap. 16.G.3. (prohibiting touching
without permission and allowing touching only to provide
correction and only in an open area in full view of at least
one other cadet); & 16.G.4. (allowing freshmen to "focus
exclusively on academics" while attending class and during
published study periods).

11

The Blue Book provides as follows regarding contact
with freshmen:

K. Contact with Fourth Classmen.

»* * *€ & & ®

2. Training, counseling, and _ inspecting
fourth classmen is restricted to the chain
of command. Correcting and reporting
fourth classmen is the responsibility of all
cadets and officers associated with The
Citadel who may observe an infraction of
the part of a fourth classman.

Blue Book, Chap. 16.K.2.

Mentavlos, 85 F. Supp.2d at 617-618; see also 249 F.3d at 308-

310.

»* + * & © ®

"All personnel have an obligation to
report any Fourth Class System violations to
an appropriate authority." Blue Book, Chap.
16.F.4. Freshmen also have formal rights to
appeal their treatment as freshmen. Blue
Book, Chap. 16.M.

The school expressly prohibits
discrimination on the basis of gender and
various other impermissible criteria. Blue
Book, Chap. 1.H.1-6. The Blue Book provides
extensive guidance as to what is considered
sexual harassment and provides a variety of
means for handling complaints. Blue Book,
Chap. 1.H.1- 7. Training was given to the
higher ranking cadet officers prior to the
arrival of the female students to insure the
anti-discrimination policy was disseminated.

12

The record simply does not support plaintiff's
argument that any harassment or hazing by other student
cadets that took place at The Citadel was controlled or
directed by school officials. Indeed, the uncontradicted
testimony has demonstrated that any isolated acts by
individual cadets were in no way coerced or even
encouraged by the administration. To the contrary, such
conduct was discouraged and cadets found to have
participated in such activities were disciplined, and even
expelled, a punishment viewed as overly harsh by many
observers.

In fact, “the very abuses plaintiff alleges as to the
present defendants were punished or adequately addressed
when brought to the school's attention. Plaintiff reported
the Anderson cardboard incident when it occurred.
Anderson was punished. When plaintiff raised concerns
that males (including Saleeby) were wearing boxer shorts in
view of the female cadets, the cadets were reminded of the
need to dress appropriately.” Mentavlos, 85 F. Supp. 2d at
619.5

The plaintiff's reports as to other allegations of
abuse also led The Citadel to impose serious, if not
severe, sanctions. “A number of cadets, including these
defendants, were effectively placed on house arrest
during the investigations.” “While the school's response to
plaintiffs December reports necessarily did not occur
until after plaintiff left the school, it evidences the fact
that the school did not condone the behaviors at issue.
Perhaps most telling is the fact that several cadets
involved in the alleged instances of harassment (including
Anderson) resigned, rather than face a commandant's

5 Plaintiff was mistaken as to Saleeby wearing boxer shorts, as
those shorts were obtained for the FBI and by the court. They are thick,
gym like shorts with a company logo and no “flap” or opening as found
on boxer shorts. 85 F. Supp.2d at 619 n.15

13

board. This strongly suggests that these cadets were well
aware that the incidents of alleged hazing would not be
treated lightly.” Id. at 619-620.6

Private conduct constitutes state action only if it
is compelled, or significantly encouraged, by the state, not
when it is merely authorized, or acquiesced in, by the
state. See e.g., Leeds v. Meltz, 85 F.3d 51, 54 (2™4 Cir.
1996)(“extensive regulation and public funding, either
alone or taken together, will not transform a private actor
into a state actor; instead, the state must have exerted its
coercive power over, or provided significant encouragement
to, the defendant before the latter will be deemed a state
actor’). Here, there was neither authorization nor
acquiescence.

Ill. The Fourth Circuit properly held that upperclass
students at The Citadel were not state actors as
they are no more members of the military than
students attending other state-supported colleges
in South Carolina and as the functions of
military protection and training have not been
delegated to them by the state or federal
governments.

Petitioner’s argument relies heavily upon her
assertion that “it goes without saying that training civilians
for a military career is a traditional governmental function,
since preparing and controlling the military is a central and
exclusive governmental role.” The record makes clear,
however, that

6 Saleeby faced a commandant’s board and was suspended from
the school for one year. Anderson’s resignation precludes his return to
the school. 249 F.3d at 309-310.

14

[w]hile The Citadel bases its educational
experience on a military model, the
comparison to the [service] academies ends
there. The education is no more at
government expense than at any other state
supported college. Neither do Citadel
students incur a service obligation simply
because they attend The Citadel. Most
significantly, Citadel cadets are not members
of the armed forces, unless they are members
of the reserve as a consequence of signing a
contract in a ROTC program. In that regard,
Citadel cadets stand in no different position
than an ROTC student at any other college,
whether public or private.

Mentavlos, 85 F. Supp.2d at 622.

Colonel Joseph Trez, Commandant of Cadets,
testified that the primary mission of The Citadel is to
educate students. It does so within a military framework to
prepare its students for postgraduate work as leaders and
- managers of our country. Trez recalled that in 1996, two of
the 1800 students were commissioned officers, and only
because they had attended an early commissioning program
elsewhere. And even those commissions were not federally
recognized until the end of their college years. None of the
cadets involved here-Mentavlos, Anderson, or Saleeby-held
ROTC contracts. It was stipulated that only about one-third
of the Corps of Cadets enters the military upon graduation.
249 F.3d at 314-316. Further, even if the school itself were
performing an exclusive public function, it does not
automatically follow that the students themselves would be
state actors.

15

With respect to other factors of the state action
analysis, it is clear that:

it is not enough that an institution is highly
regulated and subsidized by a state. If the
state in its regulatory of subsidizing function
does not order or cause the action
complained of, and the function is not one
traditionally reserved to the state, there is no
state action. A private school’s discharge of
employees was not state action in spite of the
fact that the school was extensively regulated
and highly subsidized by the state. The
state’s regulatory and funding activities had
not compelled the discharge of those
employees, Rendell-Baker v. Kohn, 457 US.
830, 102 S.Ct. 2764, 73 L.Ed.2d 418 (1982); see
also Blum v. Yaretsky, 457 U.S. 991, 102 S.Ct.
2777, 73 L.Ed.2d 534 (1982), just as they had
not compelled a private nursing home’s
involuntary transfer and discharge of a group
of Medicaid patients.

Arlosoroff v. National Collegiate Athletic Ass., 746 F.2d 1019,
1022 (4% Cir. 1984). The fact that state assistance has been
given to The Citadel and that its professors and
administrators are state employees is likewise not enough.
Nor are the statutes creating and regulating The Citadel
unique under South Carolina law. The University of South
Carolina receives aid from the State, and similar statutes
regulate the powers and composition of its board of trustees,
its fund-raising activities, and its acquisition of facilities. See
e.g. S.C. Code Ann. §59-117-10, et seg. It simply does not
follow, however, that such regulation and funding would
render the students at such institutions state actors.

16

In support of her argument that the state itself would
consider the students state actors, plaintiff relies upon that
the categorization of The Citadel as a “Senior Military
College” by 10 U.S.C. § 2111a, amended in 1997 in response
to action taken by the Secretary of Defense. The findings of
fact upon which plaintiff relies note “the long-standing
relationship of the Armed Forces with the senior military
colleges” and the interests of the United States Department
of Defense. Plaintiff also cites a line of authority relating to
Section 1983 actions and National Guard officers and
seemingly analogizes the state and federal interrelationship
of that entity to the “special military” status of The Citadel.

Plaintiff continues to cite Alton v. Texas A&M
University, 168 F.3d 196 (5% Cir. 1999), as one of the judicial
opinions which “have assumed that upper-class cadets
imposing discipline on lower class cadets are “state actors.”
A reading of both the Fifth’s Circuit’s opinion and the
district court’s opinion in Alton v. Hopgood, 994 F. Supp. 827
(S.D. Tex.), however, demonstrates that the state action
argument was never pursued by the student defendants in
the Texas A&M case. The Texas district court’s opinion did
not even consider this step in the Section 1983 analysis and
the Fifth Circuit’s language seems to ask why such the state
action argument was not asserted.

Of greater significance is the fact that plaintiff
devotes much of her argument in this section to how
Congress views the unique positions of the six military
colleges and then misses the key step in the argument by
failing to analyze how the state views the students
themselves. In fact, plaintiffs only mention of the state’s
viewpoint during this discussion is to set forth the following
statutory language:

17 ss

All members of the board of visitors,
administrative staff and faculty personnel of
The Citadel, the Military College of South
Carolina, shall be eligible to be commissioned
officers in the unorganized militia of South
Carolina and the Governor shall issue
commissions to such of them as are
designated by the college according to the
rank prescribed by that institution.

S.C. Code Ann. § 25-1-520. But the question here is not
whether the college, board of visitors, administrative staff or
faculty personnel are state actors, but whether student
cadets, under the facts of this case, are. And they are
noticeably absent from this statute, which is the only such
evidence which plaintiff presents in her brief to support the
“state consideration” factor.

Certainly, The Citadel uses a military model
that more closely resembles life at a service
academy than life at most college
campuses—even those offering ROTC
programs. The Citadel is not, however,
primarily in the business of training military
officers. Its mission is the production of "the
whole [person]," not the production of
citizen-soldiers. . . . Plaintiff's theory equating
The Citadel to a service academy is also
troubling in that this court can see no
significant distinction between what The
Citadel does and what many private
secondary schools do: using a military model
as a basis for instilling discipline and
providing leadership training.

18

Under plaintiff's theory, every high school military
academy would be engaged in an "exclusive state function."
The long standing prevalence of such private institutions,
- demonstrates the non-exclusivity of military model training.
Indeed, it would appear that most high schools based on a
military model are private institutions, although Junior
ROTC is offered at a number of public schools as a
component of the educational offerings.

Mentavlos, 85 F. Supp.2d at 622-623.

This is not the rare case in which the plaintiff can
complain that any failure of The Citadel to intervene in
actions taken by private persons has given rise to state
action because again, the evidence is undisputed that
plaintiff failed to avail herself of the many resources that
the school made available to her to address any problems
that she might encounter as a freshman cadet. See 249 F.3d at
309-310 (noting that Mentavlos did not voice the majority of
her complaints until just before withdrawing in December).

The District Court and Fourth Circuit properly
concluded “that The Citadel is in the business of providing a
post-secondary education with a goal of assisting students
to achieve a well-rounded development in all spheres of life
and with an emphasis on leadership training. That the
school seeks to achieve these goals through a military model
may make its system of training fairly unique. It does not,
however, convert the primary business of The Citadel into
that of producing military officers. It is beyond dispute that
providing post-secondary education is not traditionally an
exclusive state function. See, e.g., Rendell-Baker v. Kohn, 457
US. 830, 842, 102 S.Ct. 2764, 73 L.Ed.2d 418 (1982) (while
providing high school level education is a public function, it
is not traditionally the exclusive province of the state).”
Mentavlos, 85 F. Supp.2d at 624.

The ramifications of finding state action in this case
are dangerous. A holding that student cadets are state
actors, particularly those not specifically in a plaintiff's
chain of command, could convert any state law tort

19

occurring between students into a potential constitutional
claim in the federal courts. The result urged by the
Petitioner could be extended to encompass the students at
all manner of institutions, as the District Court and Fourth
Circuit prudently recognized.

IV. The District Court properly granted summary
judgment to Respondent Saleeby because
Petitioner failed to produce any evidence of
gender-based discrimination on his part.

Here, even if defendant Saleeby could be fairly
categorized as a state actor, the District Court properly
entered summary judgment in his favor as the record
reveals no evidence that Saleeby's actions toward the
plaintiff were in any way motivated by gender bias. "In her
deposition in this action, plaintiff conceded that, with the
exception of the fire incident, Saleeby's actions towards her
were just playful harassment" and that from the beginning,
she felt "that [Saleeby] was a professional cadet." Mentavlos,
85 F. Supp.2d at 615.

It is now evident that Saleeby did not wear "only
boxer shorts" when entering plaintiff's room. Mentavlos at
619 n.15. And even the most cursory glance at the
photograph of the shirt that plaintiff was wearing during
the fire incident confirms that her breasts were in no way
involved. (Appendix at p. ).

Although the District Court held that plaintiff's
evidence of gender motive as to defendant Anderson was
weak, it declined to enter summary judgment in Anderson's
favor on this basis. But as there is no suggestion in the
record that Saleeby 's actions were ever motivated by any
gender-based animus toward the plaintiff, and as his actions
indeed suggest the opposite, the District Court properly
entered summary judgment for Saleeby on this issue as well.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated, a writ of certiorari should not
be granted to review the proper decision and judgment of
the Fourth Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

Sandra J. Senn

Counsel of Record

Stephanie P. McDonald

Post Office Box 12279

Charleston, South Carolina 29422
(843) 556-4045

Counsel for Respondents

Charleston, South Carolina
September 5, 2001

21

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Appendix to Brief in Opposition

Photograph of
Mentavlos’ Citadel Sweatshirt ...............sssssssesseeneeseenseees App. 1

App. i

ee, ey A
— "ose + sco 84e 60400"
' -

App. 1

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_2254%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
