# Opposition Brief — Janik v. AMICA Mutual Insurance

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_1831%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2001
- **Citation:** 534 U.S. 817

## Text

- Supreme Court, U.S.
Y FILED
ke)
NO. 00-1739 JUN 21 2001
In The CLERK

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

ERNEST A. JANIK, Jr., Individually, On behalf
of Grant Joseph Janik, on behalf of Tyler Newman Janik;
LEAH EILEEN JANIK, Individually, On behalf of Grant
Joseph Janik, On behalf of Tyler Newman Janik,
Petitioners
V.

AMICA MUTUAL INSURANCE COMPANY; NOBEL
SERVICE CORPORATION; AND IAS CLAIM
SERVICES, INC.

Respondents

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
United State Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

AMICA MUTUAL INSURANCE COMPANY’S
BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

ERIC G. WALRAVEN FANNING, HARPER &
Counsel of Record MARTINSON, P.C.
8117 Preston Road, 3" Floor
Dallas, Texas 75225
(214) 369-1300 (telephone)
(214) 987-9649 (facsimile)

ATTORNEYS FOR RESPONDENT
~ 20 June 2001

QUESTION PRESENTED

1. Whether an abuse of discretion occurred by denying
Plaintiffs’ 60(b)(3) motion and Motion to Reconsider
the denial of its 60(b)(3) motion.

LIST OF PARTIES

The parties to this case are:
Ernest A. Janik, Jr., Individually, On behalf of Grant Joseph
Janik, on behalf of Tyler Newman Janik; Leah Eileen Janik,
Individually, On behalf of Grant Joseph Janik, on behalf of
Tyler Newman Janik;
Amica Mutual Insurance Company;
Nobel Service Corporation; and
IAS Claim Services, Inc.
Pursuant to Rule 29.1, Respondent, Amica Mutual Insurance
Company is a mutual company and is not publicly traded.
Additionally, none of Amica’s subsidiaries are publicly traded.

Amica does not have a parent corporation.

ERIC G. WALRAVEN

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

CUES TIGIS PREREE ORD ook asaccacariasacncdeuuna i
Lees Se PARAMORE oso Kant enn bee ene il
TAREE GD ALTE RB ENE cba ade ddanensieseseues Vv
STATEMENT OF THE CASE 2.4.0 cccsccenveneascce 2
FYOCURMEGS CUETO io ks inndisieecnan 2
ge Mer rer rere erro er ren. 3

pA 8k 3) errr rey Trey Terre. yee ye eS 15

Whether an abuse of discretion occurred by denying
Plaintiffs’ Motions to set aside the trial court ——-

DEC. 56 ket e ee e 15
A.. NS GT RAWIO on civ vk cb eee shade 16
B. 60(b)(3) Motion and the Motion to
RII cbc cee err eae eae 18
a It was not an abuse of discretion to refuse to set

aside the judgment set aside because Amica
allegedly concealed information that it is
Number 1 in customer satisfaction, because

ill

Plaintiffs presented no evidence that they ever
made a discovery request that encompassed this
information and they presented no evidence of
how this alleged failure to disclose hindered trial
ED x0 0 ds vd Vidindanccinvhasdsseuekia 19

It was not an abuse of discretion to refuse to set
aside the judgment because Plaintiffs were
“confused” about IAS’ identity ............... 20

It was not an abuse of discretion to refuse to set
aside the judgment because of a delay in
producing the recap notes since it is undisputed
that Plaintiffs had the recap notes almost a year
SRS nb. nosessdsicadareteakandehibane 22

It was not an abuse of discretion to refuse to set
aside the judgment because AMICA failed to
produce documents showing that Plaintiffs
wanted their furniture 100% germ free, as there
is no evidence that such documents exist. ....... 22

It was rot an abuse of discretion to-refuse to set

aside the judgment because AMICA failed to
produce documents regarding generally
acceptable claims handling practices or
documents that demonstrated that it routinely

gave the benefit of the doubt to the insured, as

there is no evidence

that such Gocumemts CXist. 0... .cccccccceee 23

iv

6. It was not an abuse of discretion to refuse to set
aside the judgment because a defense expert
testified outside the scope of his report ......... 24

7. It was not an abuse of discretion to deny
Plaintiffs’ motion to reconsider because the
motion to reconsider failed to meet the required
heavy burden to set aside a judgment. .......... 24

8. It was not an abuse of discretion to refuse to set
aside the judgment because the alleged
withholding of the complained of material
deprived Plaintiffs’ of their constitutional right
SPINS. Knicks nbc cs cabal sue ieeas 25

SUE 6h.6b ss cab evds LEN NOh SaeA eee ee 27

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
FEDERAL CASES Page
Anderson v. Cryovac, Inc., 862 F.2d 910 (1* Cir. 1988) .. 16

Chrysler Corp. v. Superior Dodge, Inc., 83 F.R.D. 179
it By fp ERT EU POR er eee Te Ces errr e emu 17,19

Cutler v. Lewiston Daily Sun, 103 F.R.D. 172 (Me. 1984) 17
Government Financial Servs. One Ltd. Partnership v. Peyton
Place, Inc.,

629.36 67" Cie OS. icc ces 16

Harduvel v. General Dynamics Corp., 801 F. Supp. 597 (M.D.
a 2 aan area Ee arene ees mM Array ers ve ea? 17

MCI Telecommunications Corp. v. Matric Communications
Corp., 171 F.R.D. 7, 9 (D. Ma. 1997), aff'd. 135 F.3d 27 (1*

Re SE aos ea Sei os te et ae a We 17, 22
Ojedo-Toro v. Rivera-Mendez, 853 F.2d 25

See i a kn CA ae 4 ee a ee ee 17,22
Rozier v. Ford Motor Co., 573 F.2d 1332

re i ow oo ea a ea keene 16, 20
USM Corp. v. SPS Technologies, Inc., 694 F.2d 505

Cre NE i eae cd cas bean ewe cee es 17
Washington v. Patlis, 916 F.2d 1036 (5" Cir. 1990) ..... 21

Williams v. Time Warner Operations, Inc., 98 F.3d
Se IE eee cen era eke aku eka eee es 26

vi

FEDERAL RULES

cs asec cen ccccacsscveces 24
I oe tba cea seccccesecevcccs 23, 24
a ck ecw eacccecens 24
CRW Lk ga ehacsbbuvocscsccsesss 26
oN ere 18, 21, 26

Vii

NO. 00-1739

In The
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

ERNEST A. JANIK, Jr., Individually, On behalf
of Grant Joseph Janik, on behalf of Tyler Newman Janik;
LEAH EILEEN JANIK, Individually, On behalf of Grant
Joseph Janik, On behalf of Tyler Newman Janik,
Petitioners
v.

AMICA MUTUAL INSURANCE COMPANY; NOBEL
SERVICE CORPORATION; AND 1AS CLAIM
SERVICES, INC.

Respondents

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
United State Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION OF AMICA MUTUAL
INSURANCE COMPANY

TO THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES:

Respondent, AMICA MUTUAL INSURANCE
COMPANY, (Amica), Defendant-Appellee below, respectfully
submits this Brief in Opposition in response to the Petition for
Writ of Certiorari filed by ERNEST A. JANIK, JR., et. al.,
(Janik), Plaintiff-Appellant below.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
A. Proceedings and Results

This case arises from multiple personal injury and
property damage claims asserted by Plaintiffs against the City
of Dallas, AMICA, IAS, and Nobel based on sewage flooding
on their property (R. Vol. 1, p. 1-53).

The district court granted summary judgment to AMICA
on Plaintiffs' causes of action for DTPA violations, coercion and
duress, breach of fiduciary duty, breach of quasi contract and
unconscionable contract, (R. Vol. 48, P. 559), and to IAS on
Plaintiffs' causes of action for conspiracy and unconscionable
contract.

The remaining claims against AMICA, IAS, and Nobel
were tried to a jury. The jury rejected all of Plaintiffs’ claims
except one. (R. Vol. 53, p. 5900-17). When asked whether
AMICA and/or IAS failed to acknowledge with reasonable
promptness pertinent communications with respect to claims
arising under the policy, the jury answered affirmatively as to
both (R. Vol. 53, p. 5915). Thereafter, the jury apportioned
responsibility for causing Plaintiffs’ damages as 25 percent
attributable to AMICA and 75 percent attributable to IAS (R.
Vol. 53, p. 5919). The jury then awarded Plaintiffs out-of-
pocket damages for costs to clean consumer goods of $2,815.73
(R. Vol. 53, p. 5922).

Because the liability finding bore no relationship to the
damages award, the court entered judgment in favor of AMICA
and IAS, and dismissed all of Plaintiffs’ claims against them
with prejudice (R. Vol. 53, p. 5927, R. Vol. 54, p. 6197, T. Vol.
83, P. 14-15).

Plaintiffs filed a number of post-trial motions including
a request that the court alter the JNOV (R. Vol. 53, p. 5928),
and two requests for a new trial. All of Plaintiffs’ post-trial
motions were denied (R. Vol 53, p. 6673-74, R. Vol 54, p.

2

6197-99). Ten days after the entry of judgment, in an
abundance of caution, AMICA and IAS made a renewed motion
for judgment as a matter of law (R. Vol. 53, p. 404). The court
denied that motion as moot in light of its denial of Plaintiffs’
Motion to Alter the JNOV and Plaintiffs’ Second Motion for
New Trial (P. R. Ex. Tab. L).

On Nov. 19, 1998, Plaintiffs perfected an appeal of the
trial court judgment to the Fifth Circuit. On Aug. 30, 1999,
while the first appeal was pending in the Fifth Circuit, Plaintiffs
filed a 60(b)(3) motion seeking to set aside the trial court
judgment based on fraud. On October 28, 1999, the district
court denied the 60(b)(3) motion. (App. A-12 -A-18) On Nov.
15, 1999, Plaintiffs filed a Motion to Reconsider the Plaintiffs
60(b)(3) motion, which was denied by the district court. (App.
A-19) The Fifth Circuit affirmed the district court’s ruling and
adopted its opinion. (App. A-1 - A-3).

B. Statement of Facts

This lawsuit stems from Plaintiffs’ dissatisfaction with
the handling of a property claim under a renter's policy issued
by AMICA and adjusted by IAS. Plaintiffs filed the claim
following a sewer backup that partially flooded their rented
home. Although AMICA paid the unscheduled personal
property (UPP) damage limits under the policy (Vol 3b, 34),
Plaintiffs had a laundry-list of complaints regarding the
handling of the claim.

The IAS adjusters who worked with the Plaintiffs
described Janik as "difficult." (T. Vol. 6, 173) Janik would not
respond to requests for meetings, would not accept offers of
help and kept issuing contradictory instructions to the adjusters
(T. Vol. 6, 26; T. Vol. 7A, 4-9; T. Vol. 6, 108, 110, 112, 129; T.
Vol. 3b, 3-4; D. Ex. 1-E; D. Ex. 1-F). In fact, Blackmon
Mooring, the company hired by Plaintiffs to move, store and
clean their furniture, described Janik's demands as impossible
‘T. Vol. 6, 30, 33, 77, 207-208). Their observation is supported

3

by the record, which shows that Janik took his furniture to three
different companies for cleaning, and he was not satisfied with
the work of any of three companies (T. Vol. 3b, 45-47).

The claim arose on Sunday, October 31, 1993, when
Plaintiffs returned to their rented home to discover that portions
of it were flooded with dirty water (T. Vol. 1C, 10). Plaintiffs
did not notify AMICA of the claim on Sunday, even though
adjusters would have been available (T. Vol. 6, 198-199).

The dirty water turned out to be city sewage, but
Plaintiffs asserted they did not realize it was sewer water for
several hours (T. Vol. 1 C, 10, 13). In any event, the Plaintiffs
and their oldest son spent the afternoon and evening cleaning up
their home both before and after discovering the water was
sewer water (T. Vol. 1C, 14-15; T. Vol. 2, 197-99, 201).

On Monday morning, Janik called Blackmon Mooring
to come and assist him in cleaning his personal property (T.
Vol.2, 205-206; T. Vol. 4b, 3). Blackmon Mooring came out
that day to assess the damage (T. Vol.2, 205-206).

He also called AMICA on Monday and verbally
notified Amica of the claim. (T. Vol. 2, 206; T. Vol. 6, 199).
AMICA immediately referred the claim to IAS, an independent
claims adjusting service used by AMICA (T. Vol. 6, 199-201).
IAS opened its file the next morning, Tuesday, and the adjuster,
Jene Montague, called Janik on Tuesday morning to set up an
appointment to tour the house (T. Vol. 2, 207; T. Vol. 4b, 6-7;
T. Vol. 6, 5).

Montague arrived at the house at approximately 2:30
p.m. on Tuesday, the day after AMICA received notice of the
claim (T. Vol. 1, 25; T. Vol. 2, 207). A Blackmon Mooring
representative was at the house when Montague arrived (T. Vol.
4b, 8).

According to Montague, Janik told him that Blackmon
Mooring was preparing estimates of what it would cost to clean
and repair the property (T. Vol. 6, 7-8). Montague says that he
told Janik that in his opinion the furniture would have to be
moved out of the house so that the homeowner could make

repairs to the house (T. Vol. 6, 8, 10-11), and he told Janik that
he would call AMICA and see if AMICA would agree to pay
for a pack-out (T. Vol. 6, 9). He denies telling Janik that he
could not move his furniture out of the house (T. Vol. 6, 9).

On Wednesday morning, Blackmon-Mooring removed
furniture that had been standing in water (T. Vol. 1, 55; T. Vol.
2, 209; T. Vol. 3b, 5). Janik says that he was surprised by this
but was told by the Blackmon Mooring representative that IAS
had said it was okay (T. Vol. 1, 55).

Also on Wednesday morning Greg Upah, a former
restaurant worker, turned car salesman, turned environmental
consultant, with no scientific degree (Vol 3b, 5; T. Vol. 5b, 3,
27-28) visited the house at Janik's request (T. Vol. Ic, 60; T.
Vol. 2, 208). After taking air samples, Upah warned Janik that
the house was unsafe causing Janik to become frightened for the
health of his family (T. Vol. Ic, 60).

On Thursday, Janik received testing results from Upah
indicating that the kitchen floor contained asbestos particles (T.
Vol. lc, 68; T. Vol. 3b, 8). According to Janik when he called
Montague on Friday morning to tell him about the asbestos,
Montague told him he had better move out of the house because
Montague did not want a total loss under the policy (T. Vol. 1c;
69; T. Vol. 3b, 8). Janik claims that he perceived this as a threat
to either move out of the house or he would not get the money
coming to him under the policy (T. Vol. Ic, 70-71).

Montague's account differs. He says that he told Janik
on Thursday morning that AMICA had agreed to pay for the
pack-out (T. Vol. 6, 14). During that conversation, Janik told
Montague that Janik had hired Upah, and Montague told Janik
that AMICA would not pay for Upah (T. Vol. 6, 16). It is
undisputed that on Thursday afternoon, Janik sent Montague a
fax thanking him for his excellent service (D. Ex. 1-C).

According to Montague, Janik did not tell him about the
asbestos discovery until Friday, the day after Montague told
Janik that AMICA would pay for a pack- out (T. Vol. 6, 15). At
that time, Janik also told Montague that Blackmon Mooring

would begin removing his property from the house (T. Vol. 6,
15). Montague says that he also told Janik that because of
Janik's concerns regarding the contamination, Blackmon
Mooring would hire a specialist to run tests to determine if the
furniture was repairable or if it would have to be replaced (T.
Vol. 6, 16). There was no evidence in the record that Janik
objected to hiring the chemist. Montague denies threatening
Janik (T. Vol. 6, 17).

On Friday, Janik signed a contract with Blackmon
Mooring backdating the contract to Wednesday, because he
believed that he had to backdate the contract for the insurance
to cover the pack-out (T. Vol. 1C, 70; T. Vol. 2, 210-211; D.
Ex. 1-B). The contract provided that AMICA was to pay
Blackmon Mooring directly (D. Ex. 1-B), but Janik
subsequently rescinded those instructions (T. Vol. 6, 212-213).

Blackmon Mooring spent all day Saturday and Monday
packing out the house (T. Vol. 1C; T. Vol. 3b, 9-19). Janik's
furniture and belongings were all out of the house on Monday,
eight days after the sewer back-up.

On Nov. 9, Janik called Montague and asked for an
advance under the ALE section of the policy and also asked for
a copy of the Blackmon Mooring bid (T. Vol. 6, 20). Montague
promptly responded to this communication by checking the next
day with Blackmon Mooring regarding the status of the
estimate. He was told the estimate was incomplete (T. Vol. 6,
20). On Nov. 12, Montague sent a report to AMICA
recommending that it hire an independent chemist to evaluate
the contamination of Janik's property because of the
disagreement between Blackmon Mooring and Janik regarding
whether the property could be restored (T. Vol. 6, 20-21; D. Ex.
IT 73). AMICA agreed (T. Vol. 6, 75-76, 205-206 ), so on the
15th, Montague directed Blackmon Mooring to hire a chemist
(Vol 6, 23). AMICA was not involved with the selection of the
chemist (T. Vol. 6, 205). At that time, Montague was told by
Blackmon Mooring that some items had been test-cleaned and
would be returned to Janik (T. Vol. 6, 25).

6

On Nov. 15, Blackmon Mooring delivered its estimate
and asked Janik for approval to begin cleaning the property (T.
Vol. 4b, 12) (D. Ex. IT-65). Janik, however, did not give
Blackmon Mooring permission to proceed (T. Vol. 4B, 15) (Ex.
1-D). In fact, Janik never gave Blackmon Mooring permission
to clean the property (T. Vol. 4b, 19).

On Nov. 19th, Janik went to the IAS offices to pick up
the $2,000 advance check that AMICA agreed to pay even
though such an advance was not provided for under the policy
terms (T. Vol. 6, 25). At the office, Janik and Montague
discussed Blackmon Mooring's cleaning estimate and the
additional testing (T. Vol. 6, 25). Janik said he wasn't sure he
wanted the property cleaned (T. Vol. 6, 25).

Montague also told Janik that AMICA needed additional
information regarding the destroyed property listed on the
earlier inventory before the claim could be paid (T. Vol. 6, 25-
26). Montague then introduced Janik to Debbie Allen of IAS
and told him she would be available to assist him in completing
the forms (Vol 1C, 82-82; T. Vol. 6, 26; T. Vol. 7A, 4-5).
Although Allen made repeated efforts to contact Janik regarding
completing the forms, he never responded to the offers of
assistance (T. Vol. 7a, 5-9)(D. Ex. IT 66).

On Nov. 21, Janik sent Montague a fax thanking him for
the advance and saying he would not make any
recommendations until he reviewed the chemist report (T. Vol.
3b, 14; T. Vol. 6, 27) (Ex. D. 1-D). On Nov. 30, Blackmon
Mooring told Montague that it still did not have the chemist
report (T. Vol. 6, 28). Again on Dec. 6, Blackmon Mooring
told Montague that it still did not have a written report from the
chemist, but that the tests showed heavy contamination on the
items that had actually been in the flood water, but only light to
moderate contamination on other items (T. Vol. 6, 28).

On Dec. 13th, Montague again spoke with Blackmon
Mooring who expressed concern about Janik's demands.
According to Blackmon Moor.ng, Janik wanted assurances that
the property would be 100% germ-free (T. Vol. 6, 30).

7

Fatah his anecdote eee! Moin Ca Rls Ee hbo ie Lead nN ATOM Wns Ad bes

De Aira in Sr thcblsese he Rape ded vena Wnts vba Ae sali tals dese SS ss sao Sanh ie lak ae aaa ene csc ti hates Sete ake SNE tsa ee OD

BPAY REISE ap ge RUNDE FEENEY a ASE ANNUAL PA WHE

Blackmon Mooring told Montague that it wanted to test clean
some of the property to see how it worked, but that Janik was
reluctant to proceed (T. Vol. 6, 28-29). Again Blackmon
Mooring told Montague that it only had a verbal report from the
chemist, but promised to try to get a written report as soon as
possible (T. Vol. 6, 28).

On Dec. 14th, a Blackmon Mooring representative met
with Montague to discuss the claim and asked for a meeting
with AMICA and IAS to discuss Janik's demands (T. Vol. 6,
30). Montague says he believed that Blackmon Mooring
wanted the meeting because it was concerned that it would clean
the property, but that Janik would refuse to accept it, leaving
Blackmon Mooring with the bill (T. Vol. 6, 30). Montague says
there was no discussion of Janik attending the meeting one way
or the other (T. Vol. 6, 31, 32).

The other participants in the meeting, David Terry of
IAS and Tom Ferris of AMICA, concurred that Blackmon
Mooring requested the meeting and that they made no effort to
conceal the meeting from Janik (T. Vol. 6, 76-77, 79-80, 206-
207). The IAS log book, however, has a scratch out on the list
of participants (P1. Ex. 442). Janik claimed that scratch out was
his name and indicated he was deliberately excluded from the
meeting (T. Vol. 2, 111-114).

On December 15, Janik sent instructions to IAS
retracting his authorization for direct payment to Blackmon
Mooring and requiring his signed approval before any
Blackmon Mooring invoice could be paid (T. Vol. 2, 212-213;
D. Ex. 18). Janik testified at trial that he became dissatisfied
with Blackmon Mooring after visiting its facility because he
thought it was not taking proper care of his belongings and
because its workers used bad language (T. Vol. Ic, 80).

On Dec. 22, IAS, AMICA and Blackmon Mooring met
to discuss the claim (T. Vol. 6, 32). At that time, Blackmon
Mooring told AMICA and IAS that the chemist could not give
assurances that the items would ever be completely cleaned to
the point of being 100% germfree, which was what the Janiks

8

ee ee ars

wanted (T. Vol. 6, 33, 77, 207-208). Following the meeting,
David Terry of IAS drafted a report outlining three options: 1)
clean everything and if Janik would not accept it, then work it
out with him; 2) test clean a few samples and see how the
samples came out; 3) declare a total loss and tender the limits
(T. Vol. 6, 76; D. Ex. IT 76). After reviewing the report,
AMICA's Tom Ferris said that he decided to pay the limits,
believing it was the only thing that would satisfy Janik (T. Vol.
6, 210).

On Dec. 23, Janik sent a fax to Rick Mandel of
Blackmon Mooring requesting a copy of the chemist report,
among other items (T. Vol. 6, 33; P. Ex. 267-A). He addressed
the fax to Rick Mandel, and copied it to Montague. Montague
testified he did not interpret the fax as asking him for anything,
because it was addressed to Blackmon Mooring (T. Vol. 6, 33-
34), and because he thought Janik already knew the results (T.
Vol. 6, 34).

On Jan. 3rd, Janik sent another fax addressed to both
Blackmon Mooring and Montague asking for a response to the
Dec. 23 fax (T. Vol. 6, 34-35; P. Ex. 268-A). Once again,
because the letter was addressed to Blackmon Mooring,
Montague did not think the letter was requesting anything from
him (T. Vol. 6, 35).

Blackmon Mooring sent the chemist report to Janik on
Jan. 11, but left off Exhibit A to the report (T. Vol. 3b, 15; T.
Vol. 6, 35). On Jan. 12, Janik sent a fax to Montague asking him
for Exhibit A (T. Vol. 6, 35; D. Ex. 268-A). Montague then
faxed a letter to AMICA asking if he could send Exhibit A to
Janik, to which AMICA immediately responded "Absolutely"
(T. Vol. 6, 36-37; Ex. 268-F, 522-E, IT-74). On Jan. 14,
Montague faxed the report to Janik (T. Vol. 6, 38).

AMICA's Tom Ferris testified he assumed all along that
the Janiks had the test results (T. Vol. 6, 211), and he was
surprised in January to learn that they did not (Vol 6, 211).
Ferris further testifed he never told anyone to hide the test
results from the Janiks (T. Vol. 6, 206). Likewise, Montague

9

LS AG es TENN SLED DTN SSM A igs

said he did not realize Janik did not know about the chemist's
testing results because when the meeting with the Blackmon
Mooring representatives took place, the Blackmon Mooring
representative talked about his and Janik's discussions (T. Vol.
6, 29).

On Jan. 14, Montague also told Janik that AMICA was
ready to make a payment decision but that AMICA needed a
final contents and damage listing and ALE documentation (Vol
6, 39; Ex. 268-E). After receiving a Jan. 17 fax from Janik (T.
Vol. 6, 39), Montague called AMICA and asked if all the
personal property was to be considered a total loss (T. Voi. 6,
39-40).

AMICA responded with a fax that it was willing to
consider any items that had not been cleaned a total loss and that
it would consider the cleaned items a total loss as well, if Janik
was not satisfied with the level of cleanliness, but that it needed
itemization (T. Vol. 6, 40; D. Ex. IT 75). On Jan. 20, Montague
left Janik a voice mail saying that AMICA had decided to total
all personal property, but that AMICA needed itemized
documentation and that IAS would be happy to assist him in
completing the documentation (T. Vol. 6, 41-43; D. Ex. IT 69).

A few days later, Montague stopped working on the
claim because he was sent to California to adjust claims arising
from the North Ridge earthquake (T. Vol. 6, 44). Terry then
took over handling the claim for IAS (T. Vol. 6, 80-81).

On Feb. 8, at 7:30 a.m., Janik sent a fax to IAS and
AMICA directing them to pay certain Blackmon Mooring
invoices, but only subject to AMICA resolving Janik's problems
with the Blackmon Mooring invoices (T. Vol. 3b, 17-18; T. Vol.
6, 88; D Ex. 1-E). One of the invoices that Janik directed to be
paid was invoice number 497, dated Dec. 23, 1993, in the
amount of $2,815.73 (D. Ex. 1E; D. Ex. 3B). The same
morning, Janik sent another fax to AMICA asking AMICA to
pay Blackmon Mooring appropriately as soon as possible (T.
Vol. 3b, 18-19; Ex. 1F). Again he asked AMICA for help
resolving his billing dispute with Blackmon Mooring (T. Vol.

10

3b, 19).

Terry responded to these faxes by contacting Blackmon
Mooring in an attempt to resolve the open issues (T. Vol. 6, 87-
88, 90; D. Ex. IT-70; D. Ex. IT 78). On Feb. 9, he made a
report to AMICA discussing the stalemate between Janik and
Blackmon Mooring (7. Vol. 6, 89-91; D. Ex. IT 78).

On Feb. 15, Janik again sent two faxes regarding
payment to Blackmon Mooring. The first was addressed to
David Terry and Valerie DeShotel asking AMICA to pay the
proper amount to Blackmon Mooring (T. Vol. 3b, 20; Ex. D 1-
G). He sent a second fax to David Terry asking that Blackmon
Mooring be paid the proper amounts (T. Vol. 3b, 21; Ex. D 1-
H).

On Feb. 15, Janik and Terry talked on the phone
regarding the problems with Blackmon Mooring and payment
of the claim. Janik recorded the conversation without Terry's
knowledge (T. Vol. 44b, 36-42; T. Vol. 6, 92; D. Ex. IT-70).
Terry told Janik that his efforts to resolve Janik's dispute with
Blackmon Mooring were unsuccessful and that IAS and
AMICA did not know what else they could do to assist Janik
with his dispute, but that if Janik suggested something, they
would be willing to pursue his suggestion (D. Ex. IT 70). Terry
also explained that AMICA could make the draft for the
Blackmon Mooring bill payable to both Janik and Blackmon
Mooring jointly and that would protect Janik's interests and give
him leverage to settle his dispute with Blackmon Mooring since
Blackmon Mooring could not cash the check without Janik's
signature (T. Vol. 4b, 36-42; T. Vol. 6, 92-93). Terry told Janik
that AMICA did not care how the checks were cut and was
willing to comply with Janik's wishes (T. Vol. 4b, 36-42; T.
Vol. 6, 95-96). Janik directed Terry to cut the check jointly (T.
Vol. 4b, 41; T. Vol. 5a, 4; D. Ex. IT 70). He also told Terry that
he was worried about out of pocket charges from Blackmon
Mooring, and Terry told him that would not happen, but if it did
to call Terry and he would handle it (D. Ex. IT-70, p 3).

Terry says that when the conversation concluded, he

11

a8 ye bar Rc bap Spel pig Mire Vcd ll SRG pee Mi were Puch idinae dswsibed Sankt

o LEP MALAI APRS POOLE VELG LEP PEO NLS LILLE DP. GOLA GL even

thought that Janik agreed the proper way to proceed was to issue
two checks (T. Vol. 6, 93). Janik admitted that at the time he
was talking to Terry, he agreed with Terry's suggestion to have
a joint draft, but that subsequently he changed his mind (T.
Vol.4b, 41; T. Vol. 5a, 4).

On Feb. 19, Janik sent another fax asking that AMICA
issue a check in the proper amount to Blackmon Mooring (T.
Vol. 3b, 22-23; Ex. D. 1-1). Terry then picked up the two drafts
from AMICA and left a message for Janik telling him the drafts
were ready (T. Vol. 6, 93-94). On Feb. 21, he also advised
Janik by letter that two drafts were ready (T. Vol. 3b, 24-25; D.
Ex. J). Janik responded by sending Terry a fax saying that Janik
did not agree with the way the payment was being made and
that he resented the telephone tactics (T. Vol. 6, 94; D. Ex. 1H).
He then reversed his prior directions to Terry and said he
wanted Blackmon Mooring paid directly (T. Vol. 6, 101).

This was the third time Janik changed his instructions
regarding how to pay Blackmon Mooring. His original contract
with Blackmon Mooring authorized direct payment (D. Ex. 1-
B), then he retracted the agreement for direct payment (T. Vol.
3b, 3-4; Ex. 18). He directed IAS to pay certain invoices, then
rescinded that order the same day (D. Ex. 1E, D Ex. 1F).
Finally, Janik specifically directed IAS to cut a joint draft for
the payment of Blackmon Mooring and then when his wishes
were followed, he reversed himself again (D. Ex. IT 70, D. Ex.
IH).

On Feb. 21, Terry sent a letter to Janik saying he did not
understand the fax since he thought Janik was in agreement
regarding issuance of the joint draft for $15,889.65 and that he
contacted Blackmon Mooring and they had the property ready
for pick-up (Vol. 6, 98). He also told Janik that AMICA was
ready to pay the balance. The letter also asked Janik to let Terry
know how Janik wanted to proceed on the Blackmon Mooring
draft (T. Vol. 6, 99).

On Feb. 21, 1999, Terry made another report to AMICA
in which he discussed Janik's about face on issuing the joint

12

draft for payment of Blackmon Mooring's invoice (T. Vol. 6,
99; D. IT 79). AMICA then decided to issue one check to
Blackmon Mooring for $15,889.65 and another check to the
insured for $44,000, but because there was a dispute between
the insured and Blackmon Mooring, AMICA said it needed a
signed proof of loss before IAS released the drafts (T. Vol. 6,
101-102). AMICA then reissued the draft for $15,889 payable
to Blackmon Mooring only (T. Vol. 6, 101).

AMICA's Tom Ferris testified that once Janik requested
the deletion of his name from the $15,889.65 draft, then
AMICA needed the proof of loss as evidence of Janik's
authority to AMICA to pay the claim directly to Blackmon
Mooring (T. Vol. 6, 212). He said AMICA never intended to
deny the claim unless the proof of loss was provided, nor was
the proof of loss considered an end to the claim (T. Vol. 6, 212).
Ferris said the proof of loss would act as a receipt for the money
paid and as an acknowledgment by the insured that he knows
where the money is going (T. Vol. 6, 213). In this case, the
acknowledgment was important because of Janik's dispute with
Blackmon Mooring regarding the amount of its invoices (T.
Vol. 6, 213). Ferris also explained that he didn't pay the Janiks
the $44,000 figure because that amount would vary depending
on what was owed to Blackmon Mooring (T. Vol. 6, 229).

On Feb. 23, Terry sent a letter to Janik telling him that
based on his instructions AMICA had issued a check for
$15,889 to Blackmon Mooring only and a check to him and his
wife for $44,110.35 ($60,000 minus 15,889) (Vol 3b, 26-27; T.
Vol. 6, 102; Ex. 1-K). Terry also enclosed a proof of loss form
and asked Janik to sign and return it, saying that as soon as
Terry received the signed proof of loss, the drafts would be
released (T. Vol. 6, 103).

On Feb. 24, Janik sent a letter to Terry complaining
about his piecemeal approach to the claim, complaining that
Janik's requests were being ignored, requesting a full written
evaluation of Janik's losses and demanding to know when he
could pick up his property (T. Vol. 3b, 30-31; Vol 6, 104; Ex.

13

PISA AC RL AOE AEN OSE MEANT! BAN EPSON OE

D 1-L). Terry responded the next day by telling Janik he could
pick up his property whenever he wanted as Blackmon Mooring
was willing to release it as soon as it received payment (T. Vol.
3b, 32; Ex. DI-M). Terry also explained he had not yet
evaluated the ALE claim because he did not believe he had all
the expenses (T. Vol. 6, 104). He again reiterated that AMICA
was ready to deliver the drafts upon receipt of the proof of loss
and he again explained to Janik that AMICA's policy did not
provide coverage for medical expenses (T. Vol. 3b, 32-33; T.
Vol. 6, 105-107).

On Feb. 28, Janik sent Terry a letter again complaining
about Terry's failure to respond on the ALE claim (Vol 3b, 34-
36; T. Vol. 6, 107-108; Ex. D 1-N). On March 2, Terry wrote
Janik and explained that Terry hadn't responded on the ALE
claim because he did not think he had all the expenses and he
also asked Janik to call him regarding the ALE claim (T. Vol.
3b, 36-37, Vol 6, 108; Ex, D 1-O). Janik never responded to
Terry's request for a phone call (T. Vol. 6, 109). Terry again
told Janik the drafts were ready to be released as soon as the
proof of loss was signed and that signing the proof of loss would
not affect his ALE claim (T. Vol. 3b, 36-37; T. Vol. 6, 108-
109).

On March 7, Terry sent Janik another letter telling him
he didn't understand and couldn't read some of the
documentation submitted in support of Janik's ALE claim and
again asking fora meeting so they could review the information
together (T. Vol. 3b, 38-39; T. Vol. 6, 110; Ex. D 1-P). Janik
never responded (T. Vol. 6, 112).

In the March 7 letter, Terry again stated the two drafts
were ready and would be released to Janik as soon as IAS
received the proof of loss (T. Vol. 3b, 39; T. Vol. 6, 110-111).
On the same date, Terry forwarded his fourth report to AMICA
regarding the handling of the claim and explained his difficulty
getting documertation from Janik regarding the ALE claim (T.
Vol. 6, 112-113; D Ex. IT 80). AMICA responded that Terry
should work up the claim as best he could so that AMICA could

14

Ds aa etna alee nba ear Matha me ‘ Lh DUIS Gee aR ORM Bie MAE Ge ARN ES AR:

EIT LOL LENIN SET NES REA EAN TEI IG 9 2 ERM pe eB OP ENG 2

AR GABE RE ES SEH

LEE TAM PLAT ENIOAG DEEL GILL RENTS,

get the claim paid (T. Vol. 6, 114).

After reviewing the ALE documentation, Terry sent a
letter to Janik on March 9 outlining what expenses Terry
thought would be covered under the ALE and enclosing a proof
of loss for the ALE (T. Vol. 6, 127-129). Terry again offered to
discuss the claim with Janik (T. Vol. 6, 129).

On March 9, Terry made another report to AMICA (T.
Vol. 6, 132; D. Ex. IT 81). In that report, Terry noted that after
reviewing the policy, he thought the proof of loss provision may
have been waived (T. Vol. 6, 133). He then recommended that
AMICA forget about the proof of loss, because the claim wasn't
moving and AMICA was a company that always gave the
insured the benefit of the doubt anyway (T. Vol. 6, 133).

During his testimony, Janik noted that one draft of the
March 9 report discussed waiver of the proof of loss provision
and one draft did not (T. Vol. 2, 81). Terry said the draft
containing the discussion of the waiver was the one that went to
AMICA, because he specifically wanted to include it as an issue
(T. Vol. 6, 133-134).

On March 21, Terry sent Janik another letter saying
AMICA was ready to pay both the UPP claim and the ALE
claim upon receipt of the proofs of loss (T. Vol. 3b, 40; T. Vol.
6, 134-135; Ex. D 1-Q). On that day, Terry also sent another
report to AMICA telling AMICA that Janik had requested
another advance and that Janik had paid Blackmon Mooring
himself (T. Vol. 6, 135-137; D IT 83). As soon as AMICA
heard that all of the money would go to Janik, it told Terry it no
longer needed the proof of loss and directed payment to Janik
immediately (T. Vol. 6, 138, 218).

On March 23, AMICA mailed a Janik a $60,000 draft
(T. Vol. 1C, 92; T. Vol. 3b, 40-41; T. Vol. 6, 139-140; D. Ex.
1-R). He also sent Janik a check for $1,020.42 for additional
living expenses and said that he would be sending a check for
$115.16 for Janik's film developing costs (T. Vol. 3b, 41).

On March 28, Terry again wrote to Janik offering to
meet with him if he had any questions regarding the ALE claim

15

RL A le PM DA ai SEDI TAO A SAO St DI PAR AS OE DAIL ALLL 8 ASL ha NR LORIE Li DAZE y BOL LRN CIDP AAA LLPA AEE EDEL NACL IOLA DENIED 0 Ne F

(T. Vol. 6, 140-141). In April AMICA's branch manager met
with Janik in an effort to resolve Janik's unhappiness regarding
the claims handling (T. Vol. 6, 219-220). The attempt at
resolution was unsuccessful.

After Janik picked up his property from Blackmon
Mooring, he took it to Restoration Specialist, but he wasn't
satisfied with its work either (T. Vol. 3b, 45-47), so he took
some of the property to a third cleaning specialist and he threw
the remaining property away (T. Vol. 3b, 45-47).

ARGUMENT

E. Whether an abuse of discretion occurred by denying
Plaintiffs’ Motions to set aside the trial court
judgment based on fraud.

A. Standard of Review

Appellate courts review a trial court’s denial of a
60(b)(3) motion for abuse of discretion. Rozier v. Ford Motor
Co., 573 F.2d 1332, 1346 (5" Cir. 1978). Rule 60(b)(3) permits
a court to “relieve a party ...from a final
judgment...for....fraud...misrepresentation, or other misconduct
of an adverse party....” Fed. R. Civ. P. 60(b)(3). A party
seeking to set aside a judgment on these grounds, however,
must meet the following standard: he must demonstrate by clear
and convincing evidence that 1) the adverse party engaged in
fraud or other misconduct; 2) he must show that the misconduct
foreclosed full and fair preparation or presentation of his case.
Government Financial Servs. One Ltd. Partnership v. Peyton
Place, Inc., 62 F.3d 767, 772 (5" Cir. 1995); Rozier v. Ford
Motor Co., 573 F.2d at 1339. As with all defects in the course
of litigation, in order to warrant relief, he must show that the

16

RE Maa Ae

.

RYLAND MS ASP Eee FA UE

error was harmful—it must have affected the substantial rights of
the movant. Anderson v. Cryovac, Inc., 862 F.2d 910, 924 (1*
Cir. 1988)(citing Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 61).

If the motion is based on the movant’s allegation that the
adverse party concealed evidence during the discovery process,
then the movant must show that the concealed evidence
substantially interfered with his ability to prepare for trial. Jd.
Substantial impairment may be shown by establishing the
material’s likely worth as trial evidence or by elucidating its
value as a tool for obtaining meaningful discovery. Jd. at 926.
It may exist if a party shows that the concealment precluded
inquiry into a plausible theory of liability, denied it access to
evidence that could have been probative on an important issue
or closed off a potentially fruitful avenue of direct or cross
examination. /d. at 925. In other words, the allegedly
concealed information must be materially related to the primary
issue. See MCI Telecommunications Corp. v. Matrix
Communications Corp., 171 F.R.D. 7, 9 (D. Ma 1997), aff’d.,
135 F.3d 27, 34 n.13 (1* Cir. 1998).

Moreover, the movant must have actively concealed
information during the discovery process. Fraud in responding
to discovery is more than simply putting opposing counsel to
the burden of getting a discovery order. USM Corp. v. SPS
Technologies, Inc., 694 F.2d 505,509 (7" Cir. 1982).
Additionally, no fraud exists where the allegedly withheld
documents were never specifically requested nor diligently
sought. Chrysler Corp. v. Superior Dodge, Inc., 83 F.R.D. 179,
195 (D. Md. 1979). Finally, a narrow or precise answer to the
question actually asked and the failure to volunteer more
information does not constitute misconduct. Harduvel v.

17

General Dynamics Corp., 801 F. Supp. 597, 608-09 (M.D. Fla.
1992).

Lastly, a movant may not be entitled to relief where the
alleged misconduct was discovered in time to oppose it, since
the actual cause of the adverse judgment is not the alleged
misconduct but the movant’s failure to act. Cutler v. Lewiston
Daily Sun 103 F.R.D. 172, 174-75 (Me. 1984)(relief not
warranted where the cause of an adverse summary judgment
was not defendant’s misstatement in its motion for summary
judgment that certain facts were undisputed, but plaintiff's own
failure to timely file written objections.) See also Ojedo-Toro
v. Rivera-Mendez, 853 F.2d 25, 29 (1* Cir. 1988)(party cannot
prevail on a 60(b)(3) motion where movant had knowledge of
alleged misconduct.)

B. 60(b)(3) Motion and the Motion to Reconsider

Plaintiffs sought to set aside the judgment because of the
following acts of alleged “fraud”: 1) Amica allegedly withheld
documentary evidence that it was number one in customer
satisfaction; 2) IAS allegedly gave Plaintiffs confusing
information regarding its identity; 3) Amica and IAS allegedly
delayed in producing recap notes; 4) AMICA and IAS failed to
produce any documentary evidence that Plaintiff Ernest Janik
wanted his furniture 100% germ-free; 5) AMICA and IAS
failed to produce any documentary evidence regarding
acceptable claims handling procedure or that AMICA routinely
gave the benefit of the doubt to its insureds; 6) a defense expert
allegedly testified outside the scope of his expert report.

Although Plaintiffs complain that they were unable to
prepare for trial because of Amica’s and IAS’s gamesmanship
during discovery, Plaintiffs never asked for most of the material

18

they subsequently complained they didn’t receive. Any
material they asked for and did not receive was the subject of a
timely objection by Amica. Plaintiffs did not bring any motions
to compel against Amica during the entire eighteen-month
discovery period (Exhibit “A” and Exhibit “B” to Amica’s
Response to Plaintiff's Motion for Relief from Judgment’).
Assuming that Plaintiffs believed Amica was being
obstreperous in its discovery responses, then they should have
filed a motion to compel discovery, rather than wait until they
received an adverse judgment and then cry foul.

Plaintiffs also complain they were surprised by some of
the testimony at trial. Yet, Plaintiffs did not take a single
deposition of a defense fact witness nor of a defense expert
witness prior to trial. (Exhibit “A” and Exhibit “B” to Amica’s
Response to Plaintiff's Motion for Relief from Judgment)
Undoubtedly, Plaintiffs were surprised by some of the testimony
at trial. This surprise, however, did not result from Amica’s
“gamesmanship.” It was caused solely by Plaintiffs’
lackadaisical approach to trial preparation.

i. It was not an abuse of discretion to refuse to set aside
the judgment set aside because Amica allegedly
concealed information that it is Number 1 in
customer satisfaction, because Plaintiffs presented no
evidence that they ever made a discovery request
that encompassed this information and_ they
presented no evidence of how this alleged failure to
disclose hindered trial preparation.

' Record references are not available for the 1999 district
court actions.

19

Plaintiffs’ complain that defense witnesses testified
during trial that Amica was number one in consumer
satisfaction and that they were not given this information during ~
the discovery process. First, as the district court noted, the
Plaintiffs did not produce any evidence that they made a
discovery request that encompassed this information. See
Chrysler Corp. v. Superior Dodge, 83 F.R.D. at 195. Amica
was under no obligation to provide information about consumer
happiness with its services unless such information was the
subject of a proper discovery request and relevant to the lawsuit.
Without evidence that Plaintiffs made such a request, Plaintiffs
cannot establish misconduct by clear and convincing evidence.

Additionally, no evidence existed that the alleged
withholding of information about Amica’s high level of
customer satisfaction in any way impaired Plaintiffs’ ability to
prepare for trial. See Rozier v. Ford Motor Co., 573 F.2d at
1339 (must show misconduct prevented full litigation of the
case). The alleged evidence that Amica is the highest-rated
insurance company in the land would not have helped Plaintiffs
in their quest to establish Amica as uncaring and bullying. It
would not have helped in their quest for punitive damages.
This information would not have established a theory of liability
nor did it foreclose an avenue of cross-examination.

As the district court observed, Plaintiffs acknowledged
that they had information in their possession regarding
consumer complaints regarding Amica’s services, but they
chose not to use this information to cross-examine Amica’s
witnesses because it was a timed trial. In essence, Plaintiffs
admit that it was their own litigation strategy that stopped the
cross-examination, not any alleged misconduct on the part of

20

Amica. In retrospect, Plaintiffs may regret some of their
decisions regarding strategy, but those decisions were not due
to the misconduct of Amica and IAS and cannot be used to set

aside the judgment.

y 2 It was not an abuse of discretion to refuse to set aside
the judgment because Plaintiffs were “confused”
about IAS’ identity.

Plaintiffs failed to establish by clear and convincing
evidence any misconduct with regard to the identity of IAS.
The only evidence that Plaintiffs pointed to as evidence of
misconduct in this regard was Exhibit “B” to their first motion,
which was a copy of letter from IAS counsel to Plaintiffs’
counsel outlining the corporate history of IAS. Plaintiffs did not
produce any evidence that this corporate history was incorrect.
Instead, their sole contention was that it was confusing.
Plaintiffs’ confusion over evidence does not justify a new trial.

Plaintiffs’ Exhibit “B” shows that IAS has undergone
several corporate reorganizations, acquisitions etc. with
accompanying name changes. This is not unusual in today’s
business environment. The footnotes in the letter indicates each
of the representations was backed up by reference to an official
document. Plaintiffs did not alleged any of these documents
were incorrect. Because Plaintiffs have not produced any
evidence of misconduct with regard to IAS’ identity, they are
not entitled to have the judgment set aside on that ground.

Plaintiffs’ also claim that IAS representative David
Terry’s testimony at trial conflicted with Exhibit “B.” First, not
every discrepancy in testimony rises to the level of fraud. See

21

Washington v. Patlis, 916 F.2d 1036, 1039 (5" Cir.
1990)(holding conflicting testimony does not constitute clear
and convincing evidence of fraud under 60(b)(3)). Second,
Plaintiffs were free to present that conflicting information to the
jury and have the jury interpret the meaning of the conflict. See
Id. Plaintiffs’ attorney could easily have shown Exhibit “B” to
the jury and reminded the jury of David Terry’s testimony, and
argued that this information was confusing. Plaintiffs are
apparently unhappy because they only picked up on the alleged
conflict between David Terry’s-testimony and Exhibit “B” at
trial. They, however, likely would have heard David Terry’s
explanation before trial, if they had bothered to depose him.
Finally, it is unclear why this alleged confusion is even
relevant. IAS stipulated as to who was the proper party to the
litigation. IAS didn’t escape from the judgment because of a
misnomer in the complaint, and Plaintiffs were not prevented
from putting on any evidence of liability because of this alleged
confusion. The entire matter is a red herring. Unless the
alleged fraud is materially related to a submitted issue, it is not
grounds for setting aside a judgment. See MCI
Telecommunications Corp. 171 F.R.D. at 9.

a It was not an abuse of discretion to refuse to set aside
the judgment because of a delay in producing the
recap notes since it is undisputed that Plaintiffs had
the recap notes almost a year before trial.

Plaintiffs admit they had the recap notes prior to trial,
because defense experts provided them. (R. Vol. 56, p. 0013) In
fact, the expert files were first produced to Plaintiffs almost a
year before trial. (See Exhibit “B” to Amica’s Response to

22

Ee

Plaintiff’ s Motion to Set Aside the Judgment). A movant may
not prevail on a 60(b)(3) motion when he had access to the
information. Ojeda-Toro v. Rivera-Mendez, 853 F.2d at 29.
Thus, evidence which Plaintiffs had for more than a year before
trial cannot serve as a basis for setting aside a judgment.

Plaintiffs’ complaint about the recap notes is that his
experts did not have them when filing their report. This
complaint is without merit. Plaintiffs’ expert Robert Lazarus
filed a supplemental expert report on Jan. 7, 1998 in which he
discussed the recap notes. (See Exhibit “C” to Amica’s
Response to Plaintiff's Motion to Set Aside the Judgment ).
This supplemental report was filed more than eight months
before trial. Thus, the alleged delay in producing the recap
notes did not hinder Plaintiffs’ trial preparation.

4. It was not an abuse of discretion to refuse to set aside
the judgment because AMICA failed to produce
documents showing that Plaintiffs wanted their
furniture 100% germ free, as there is no evidence
that such documents exist.

Plaintiffs produced no evidence that AMICA has
documents reflecting that Plaintiff wanted his furniture 100%
germ free. Unless AMICA had such documents in its
possession, custody and control, it was not obligated to produce
the documents. Fed. R. Civ. P. 34. :

Moreover, Plaintiffs produced no evidence that they
made any discovery requests that encompassed such documents,
if they exist. The Plaintiffs complained that defense witnesses
testified that Janik wanted his furniture 100% germ free (T. Vol.
6, 30). The testimony of the defense witnesses, however,

23

appears to be based on anecdotal information exchanged among
the various defense witnesses. No one testified that Plaintiffs
made a written request that the furniture be 100% germ free.
Plaintiffs might have been justified in objecting to this
testimony as hearsay, or otherwise impeaching the testimony,
but they are not entitled to have the judgment set aside based on
- the testimony. Moreover, they possibly would not have been
surprised by the testimony if they had ever bothered to take the
deposition of a defense witness prior to trial. Finally, Plaintiffs
conceded they were able to dispute this information by
presenting their own evidence to the jury that Plaintiffs wanted
the materials cleaned to EPA standards. Thus, without more,
Plaintiffs were certainly not entitled to, and the Fifth Circuit did
not err by refusing, a new trial.

5. It was not an abuse of discretion to refuse to set aside
the judgment because AMICA failed to produce
documents regarding generally acceptable claims
handling practices or documents that demonstrated
that it routinely gave the benefit of the doubt to the
insured, as there is no evidence that such documents
exist.

Plaintiffs produced no evidence that AMICA had

documents regarding generally acceptable claims handling
procedures in its possession, custody or control. Unless
AMICA had such documents in its possession, custody and
control it was not obligated to produce the documents. Fed. R.
Civ. P. 34(c). Although Amica’s expert Ken Shumaker testified
regarding generally accepted claims handling procedures, his
testimony indicates that the basis for this testimony was his
many years in the insurance industry. (T. Vol. 6, p. 234-259).

24

$e ee

Likewise, a review of the testimony from witnesses that Amica
routinely gave the benefit of the doubt to its insureds seems to
be based on the witnesses experience in the industry and not on
any written document that they reviewed. (T. Vol. 6, p. 109-
112).

6. It was not an abuse of discretion to refuse to set aside
the judgment because a defense expert testified
outside the scope of his report.

scope of his expert report, then such testimony was improper.
See Fed. R. Civ. P. 26(a). The remedy, however, is for
Plaintiffs to move to have the testimon y stricken. See Fed. R.
Civ. Prac. 37(c). No authority exists for the proposition that
testimony exceeding the scope of an expert report justifies .
setting aside a judgment.

7. It was not an abuse of discretion to deny Plaintiffs’

motion to reconsider because the motion to
reconsider to meet the required heavy burden to set

aside a judgment.

Plaintiffs’ Motion to Reconsider was devoid of any
evidence showing that the trial court had abused its discretion
in denying the Motion to Set Aside Judgment. Indeed, all of the
evidence submitted in support of the Motion to Reconsider

Specifically, with regards to their complaints that Amica
withheld information that it was number one in consumer
satisfaction, Plaintiffs claim they were damaged by this lack of

25

disclosure because as a result, they fail to used Plaintiffs Ex.
431, 432 and 433 which allegedly involved thousands of pages
of complaints against Amica. (PL. R. Ex. 2, tab H, p. 8).
Plaintiffs admit that they had the impeachment evidence ready
and available at trial. It was simply because they chose to
present other evidence, that they did not emphasize this
evidence to the jury. It had nothing to do with any alleged
withholding of material by Amica.

With regards to their complaints regarding the testimony
that Amica always gave its insured the benefit of the doubt, that
Plaintiffs wanted their furniture to be 100% germ free and
_Amica’s claims-handling procedures, they failed to produce any
evidence that written material to that effect existed as opposed
to the testimony being based on the experience of the witness or
anecdotal information.(PL. R. Ex. 2, tab H, p- 9, 10, 12).

8. It was not an abuse of discretion to refuse to set aside
the judgment because the alleged withholding of the
complained of material deprived Plaintiffs’ of their
constitutional right to trial by jury.

Plaintiffs argue they were deprived of a trial by jury
because the alleged discovery abuse resulted in Amica receiving
summary judgment on some of the causes of action asserted
against Amica by Plaintiffs and in receiving a JNOV following
trial on the merits.

First, Plaintiffs did not raise this below in their 60(b)(3)
motion or the motion to reconsider and is therefore waived. Cf.
Williams Transportation v. Times Warner Operation, Inc., 98
F.3d 179, 183 (5 1996)(refusing to review argument not raised
in response to motion for summary judgment).

26

Second, Plaintiffs have already raised this issue in their
brief filed in a previous appeal. Thus, this is an impermissible
attempt at two bites of the apple. Moreover, if Plaintiffs felt
evidence was being withheld that would have precluded
summary judgment on those claims, they should have filed a
motion for extension of time to respond to the summary
judgment so that discovery could be conducted under Federal
Rule of Civil Procedure 56(f). They still would have had to ask
for the material and in most cases there is no evidence that they
did so. In addition, the material still must exist before Amica
would have an obligation to produce it.

It is unclear how this alleged material, if it existed,
would have changed the partial summary judgment. Amica
received summary judgment on Plaintiffs’ causes of action for
DTPA, coercion and duress, breach of fiduciary duty, breach of
quasi contract and unconscionable conduct. Plaintiffs do not
explain how any of the allegedly withheld material relates to
any of these causes of action. To the extent that the recap notes
might have affected Plaintiffs’ defense to any of the summary
judgment claims, it should be noted that AMICA did not receive
partial summary judgment until June 1998. (R. Vol. 48, p.559).
Plaintiffs had the recap notes in their possession for months by
then, as their expert had filed a supplemental report on January
7, 1998, discussing the recap notes. (Exhibit “C” to Amica’s
Response to Plaintiff's Motion).

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated, the Supreme Court of the United
States should affirm the opinion of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, and grant such further relief as is
just. “se

27

Respectfully submitted,

FANNING, HARPER & MARTINSON
8117 Preston Road, 3“ Floor

Dallas, Texas 75225

(214) 369 - 1300 (Telephone)

(214) 987 - 9649 (Facsimile)

Eric G. Walraven
SBN 00794814

ATTORNEYS FOR RESPONDENT

28

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

This is to certify that three true and correct copies of the
foregoing instrument have been mailed via first-class mail to the
following parties of record in compliance with this Court’s rules
on this 20th day of June, 2001:

James J. S. Johnson

Plaza of the Americas

600 North Pearl Street, #860
Dallas, Texas 75201
Attorney for Plaintiffs

R. Brent Cooper
Cooper & Scully, P.C.
Founders Square #100
900 Jackson Street |
Dallas, Texas 75202
Attorney for IAS

ERIC G. WALRAVEN

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_1831%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
