# Opposition Brief — Lovitt v. Virginia

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_1797%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2001
- **Citation:** 534 U.S. 815

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

~ | 1LED
JUN 13 200!
No. 00-1703
CLERK
In The

Supreme Court of the United States

*

ROBIN LOVITT,

Petitioner,

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA,
Respondent.

¢

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The Supreme Court Of Virginia

+

RESPONDENT'S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

¢

RANDOLPH A. BEALES
Acting Attorney General of Virginia

KATHERINE P. BALDWIN
Senior Assistant Attorney General
Counsel of Record

OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL
900 East Main Street
Richmond, Virgitiia 23219

(804) 786-4624

Counsel for Respondent

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO,, (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

CAPITAL CASE
QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Is there any compelling reason to review the Vir-
ginia Supreme Court’s decision, predicated on settled
law, that evidence of unadjudicated criminal conduct was
admissible in the sentencing phase to prove future dan-
gerousness?

2. Is there any compelling reason to review the eleven
other rulings of the Virginia Supreme Court which the
petitioner refers to in summary fashion, including state
law matters, discretionary trial court rulings, the suffi-
ciency of the evidence and the constitutionality of the
“future dangerousness” aggravating factor?

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
TABLE OF CONTIONESD «. ossssscacdweceescnttaesnce ii
TABLE OF AUPTRROURESOE 6005s secsccnesevnseaees iii
STATEMENT OF TEE CAG occ i sssinncscdeseceunc 1
I. ProceeGings .... x c.ccetasneanaaiaeesssbounes 1
HE. Petts. .....5+csnneckcnseeee eee e eee ees bebae ses 1
REASONS WHY THE PETITION FOR A WRIT OF
CERTIORARI SHOULD BE DENIED............. 10

I. The Virginia Supreme Court’s Rejection Of
Lovitt’s Challenge To The Admission Of Evi-
dence Of Unadjudicated Conduct Presents No
Compelling Reason To Grant Certiorari...... 11

A. The facts are not as Lovitt represents.... 12
B. The issue has been decided by this Court.. 14

II. Lovitt’s “Additional Errors” Argument Does
Not Niieit Rawheer «5. osccccanecuayasesawnese 20

CONCLUGIAN .. s. 4040400 Gaaeaee eee Reaen ee eae iees 25

ili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases
Beaver v. Commonwealth, 352 S.E.2d 342 (Va. 1987),

cert. denied, 483 U.S. 1033 (1987) ..............045- 19
California v. Ramos, 463 U.S. 992 (1983)..........+..- 23
Correll v. Commonwealth, 352 S.E.2d 352 (Va.), cert.

Gonted, GEE UES. S51 CADET) 0 ovis dcvcdacncccnsncenads 20
Dawson v. Delaware, 503 U.S. 159 (1992) ............. 15
Duncan v. Henry, 513 U.S. 364 (1995)............645- 21
Gardner v. Florida, 430 U.S. 349 (1977)........ 14, 15, 17
Georgia v. McCollum, 505 U.S. 42 (1992) ............. 24
Gray v. Netherland, 518 U.S. 152 (1996) .............. 14
Hawks v. Commonwealth, 321 S.E.2d 650 (Va. 1984) .... 13
Jackson v. Virginia, 443 U.S. 307 (1979)............... 22
Jurek v. Texas, 428 U.S. 262 (1976)............ 15, 16, 23

Lovitt v. Commonwealth, 537 S.E.2d 866 (Va. 2000) . ..passim

McMillan v. Pennsylvania, 477 U.S. 79 (1986)
Re hie te ers abe whan eee a 10, 16, 18, 19

Mu’Min v. Virginia, 500 U.S. 415 (1991).............. 24
Nichols v. United States, 511 U.S. 738 (1994).......... 15
Payne v. Tennessee, 501 U.S. 808 (1991)............... 15
Profitt v. Florida, 428 U.S. 242 (1976) ................ 16
Pulley v. Harris, 465 U.S. 37 (1984) ............... 20, 23

Schulp v. Delo, 513 U.S. 298 (1995) ..........---- eee 15

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
Simmons v. South Carolina, 512 U.S. 154 (1994)....... 22
State v. McCormick, 397 N.E.2d 276 (Ind. 1979)....... i7
Tuilaepa v. California, 512 U.S. 967 (1994) ............ 15
United States v. Watts, 519 U.S. 148 (1997)........... 15
Walker v. Commonwealth, 515 S.E.2d 565 (1999),

cert. Gemied, SEB UD. FIZS GGG) « cn ccsestcsscvcces 18
Williams v. New York, 337 U.S. 241 (1949)

PaeKikur dd iene sie AeA ae eee 14, 15, 16, 17, 19
Witte v. United States, 515 U.S. 389 (1995) ........... 15
Wolff v. McDonnell, 418 U.S. 539 (1974).............. 12

STATUTES AND RULES
Virginia Code:

ee avn tvcackinst sabe 20, 23

Bt ree eer ee ee ree 14

i Sanh ks bas eee wae es Conmearee eel 18
SG. Gem. Oh. BR. ID oa ve cccksiekens 12, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24

We NN Gy Bes Get sce hse ke rigerasnconoeas oxecneen 23

’
IT oh

STATEMENT OF THE-CASE
I. Proceedings

Robin Lovitt was tried on September 20, 1999, by a
jury in the Circuit Court of Arlington County, Virginia
and found guilty of the November 18, 1998, capital mur-
der of Carlton Dicks during the commission of robbery.
The jury also found Lovitt guilty of robbery. In a separate
sentencing hearing, the jury sentenced Lovitt to death for
the capital murder and to life imprisonment for the rob-
bery. The jury based the death sentence on the “future
dangerousness” aggravating circumstance.

On March 1, 2000, the trial court held a post-verdict
hearing at which it considered the probation officer’s
report, additional evidence and argument of counsel. The
court imposed the sentences which had been fixed by the
jury. On November 3, 2000, the Supreme Court of Virginia
unanimously affirmed the convictions and sentences.
Lovitt v. Commonwealth, 537 S.E.2d 866 (Va. 2000). On
January 12, 2001, the Supreme Court of Virginia denied
Lovitt’s petition for rehearing. Lovitt filed his petition for
a writ of certiorari in this Court on May 14, 2001.

II. Facts

The Supreme Court of Virginia found the facts
regarding the guilt phase of trial to be as follows:

The evidence showed that in the early morning
hours of November 18, 1998, Clayton Dicks was
stabbed six times in the chest and back while
working during the overnight shift at Champion
Billiards Hall (the pool hall) in Arlington
County.

A few months before the killing, Lovitt
worked as a cook at the pool hall on an evening
shift that ended when Dicks arrived to begin the
overnight shift. Amy Hudon, the manager at the
pool hall, testified that about two months before
Dicks was killed, she had trouble opening a cash
register drawer near a pool table and asked
Lovitt to help her open the drawer. Lovitt
opened it by “wedging” a pair of scissors into
the drawer’s latch. About two months before the
killing, Lovitt quit working at the pool hall.

On November 17, 1998, the day before the
killing, Lovitt went to the Arlington home of his
cousin and tried to sell him a television set. The
same day, Lovitt spoke to an acquaintance in a
failed attempt to find a job.

Later that night, Lovitt went to the pool hall
between 8:00 and 10:00 p.m. and spoke with
people he knew. When Lovitt asked some of
them for money, each refused his request. Two
of these people recalled that Lovitt wore a flan-
nel shirt that night. The bartender that night,
Thomas Schweiker, did not know Lovitt but
remembered giving matches to a man leaning
over the bar. Later, Schweiker noticed that a
pitcher containing cash from cigarette sales was
missing from beneath the bar where the man
had been leaning. Schweiker testified that the
man, an African-American in his middle or late
twenties, had a stocky build and facial hair, and
was wearing a plaid flannel shirt.

Dicks arrived at the pool hall between 1:30
and 2:00 a.m. The other employees present
when Dicks arrived had left the pool hall by 3:00
a.m., leaving Dicks as the sole employee on the
premises. The last four patrons in the pool hall

that morning left between 2:45 and 3:00 a.m.
One of these patrons was Officer Dennis A. Hol-
land of the United States Capitol Police, who
was a long-time patron at the pool hall. Holland
testified that he saw a man who looked “famil-
iar” enter the pool hall as he and his friends
were leaving. Holland described the man as
being black, about five feet, ten or eleven inches
tall, weighing between 185 and 190 pounds, and
wearing a flannel shirt.

About 3:25 a.m., Jose N. Alvarado and
Carlos Clavell entered the pool hall and saw two
men arguing behind the bar. Alvarado testified
that one man was shorter than the other, and
that the shorter man repeatedly shoved the tal-
ler man, who was wearing an apron. Alvarado
stated that he and Clavell watched as the
shorter man stabbed the taller man six or seven
times with a silver-colored weapon. Alvarado
saw blood on the taller man’s apron and
watched as the taller man fell to the floor behind
the bar. Clavell testified that he heard the taller
man begging the shorter man to stop attacking
him. Both Alvarado and Clavell saw the
assailant repeatedly kick the man who had
fallen to the floor.

Alvarado and Clavell immediately ran from
the pool hall to a service station, where
Alvarado telephoned the “911” emergency
response number and reported what they had
seen. Although Alvarado could not identify
Lovitt as Dicks’s assailant at the preliminary
hearing held in this case, Alvarado testified at
trial that he was about “80% certain” that Lovitt
was the assailant.

When police and emergency medical per-
sonnel arrived at the pool hall in response to
Alvarado’s telephone call, they found Dicks
lying on the floor behind the bar in a pool of
blood. Dicks was alive but was unable to speak
and was taken by helicopter to a nearby hospi-
tal. The multiple stab wounds prevented his
heart from functioning, and he died while
awaiting surgery.

Dicks had been stabbed six times, five times
in the chest and once in the back. Four of these
wounds were lethal. Dicks also suffered two
areas of internal hemorrhage on both sides of
his head, as well as external abrasions on both
shoulders and on his left knee.

The police recovered from the pool hall a
cash register that was lying on the floor near
where Dicks was found. The register was broken
into pieces, the cash drawer had been removed
from the register and was missing, and a torn
piece of a ten-dollar bill was found nearby. A
pair of scissors with orange handles that was
usually kept in a container on the bar was miss-
ing. A police canine unit found an orange-
handled pair of scissors bearing blood lying
open in the woods about 15 yards behind the
pool hall.

Warren A. Grant, Lovitt’s cousin, testified
that Lovitt arrived at Grant’s home in the early
morning hours of November 18, 1998. Grant
lived about a quarter of a mile from the pool
hall in a residential area located on the “other-
side” of the woods. Grant stated that Lovitt
knocked on his door sometime between 1:30 and
3:00 a.m. Lovitt was wearing a plaid shirt and
entered the house carrying what looked like a

large, square, gray metal box. After Lovitt
unsuccessfully tried to open the locked box,
Grant eventually opened it by using a screw-
driver to “pop” some of the screws securing the
box. Lovitt removed money from the opened
cash register drawer and divided the cash
between himself and Grant. Lovitt left the cash
register drawer with Grant and instructed him
to “get rid of [it].” A few days later, Grant began
cutting the cash drawer into pieces with tin
snips and put them in a bag.

Grant's girlfriend, Delores L. Harris, testi-
fied that she was in Grant’s house that morning
and watched Grant and Lovitt open the cash
register drawer. She noticed that Lovitt looked
“sweaty” and gave him a towel.

On November 20, 1998, Arlington Detective
Noel E. Hanrahan obtained pieces of the cash
register drawer from Grant. Four days later,
Lovitt was arrested and charged with the pre-
sent offenses. At that time, he was wearing a
plaid shirt and a dark jacket, and he told the
police that he had been wearing the same
clothes for the past few days. When Officer
Stephen Ferrone collected Lovitt’s clothing at
the jail, Ferrone asked a detective whether he
needed to seize Lovitt’s jacket. Ferrone testified
that, upon hearing this question, Lovitt stated,
“I wasn’t wearing it when it happened.”

Julian J. Mason, Jr., a forensic scientist
employed by the Virginia Division of Forensic
Science, qualified as an expert witness on the
subject of tool mark identification. He testified
that the cash register drawer Grant surrendered
to the police had been removed from the broken
cash register found on the floor of the pool hall.

6

Mason also stated that the pry marks on the
cash register drawer were made by the scissors
that were found in the woods behind the pool
hall.

Lawrence Abrams, an identification techni-
cian for the Arlington County Police Depart-
ment, testified that he was not able to obtain
fingerprints from the handle of the scissors due
to its irregularly-shaped surface. The only iden-
tifiable fingerprints obtained in relation to the
present crimes were Grant’s fingerprints that
were obtained from the cash register drawer.

Carol Palmer, a forensic scientist employed
by the Virginia Department of Forensic Science,
qualified as an expert witness on DNA testing.
Palmer extracted human DNA from two places
on the scissors, on a blade near the tip and on a
blade near the finger loops. She also extracted
blood from three small circular areas on the left
front side of Lovitt’s jacket, but the DNA tests
were inconclusive and Palmer was unable to
determine whether the blood on the jacket was
human. Palmer found no blood on the flannel
shirt, black jeans, or shoes that Lovitt was wear-
ing when he was arrested.

Palmer testified that she performed DNA
testing using the “polymerase chain reaction,”
or PCR, technique on the DNA extracted from
the scissors. The DNA extracted from the tip of
the scissors displayed a DNA profile that
matched the DNA profile of Dicks. The profile
derived from this sample did not match the
DNA profiles of either Lovitt or Grant, thus
eliminating both as contributors of this DNA.
Palmer stated that the chance of someone other

than Dicks contributing the DNA sample on the
tip of the scissors was 1 in more than 5.5 billion.

The DNA extracted from the mid-section of
the scissors also matched the DNA profile of
Dicks. However, Palmer stated that this DNA
evidence, unlike the DNA evidence from the tip
of the scissors, did not exclude either Lovitt or
-Grant and, thus, was inconclusive as to them.

After Lovitt’s arrest, he was intarcerated in
the Arlington County Jail in the same unit as
Casel Lucas. Lovitt and Lucas developed a
friendship during the two months that they
lived together in this unit. Lovitt first told Lucas
that after leaving the bathroom at the pool hall
on the night of the murder, Lovitt saw a His-
panic man stabbing Dicks. Lovitt_told Lucas
that, at that time, Lovitt saw the cash register
drawer, grabbed it, and ran from the pool hall.

According to Lucas, Lovitt later stated that
he knew Dicks and was aware that no one else
would be in the pool hall late at night. Lovitt
further related that he waited in the bathroom
until everyone left the pool hall before coming
out of the bathroom to attempt to open the cash
register drawer. Dicks confronted Lovitt as he
unsuccessfully attempted to open the cash
drawer. Lovitt told Lucas that he had to kill
Dicks because Dicks had recognized him.
According to Lovitt, Dicks asked him, “Why
[are] you doing this?” Lovitt admitted to Lucas
that he stabbed Dicks several times and took the
cash register drawer to his cousin’s house where
he and his cousin split the money before leaving
to buy some drugs. Lovitt told Lucas that he
discarded the murder weapon while en route to
or from Grant’s house, and that he changed his

Fe nee

clothes at Grant’s house because he had blood
on his shirt and pants.

Lovitt, 537 S.E.2d at 870-73.

The Supreme Court of Virginia found the facts
regarding the sentencing phase of trial to be as follows:

During the penalty phase of the trial, the Com-
monwealth presented evidence of Lovitt’s crimi-
nal record. In October 1975, when Lovitt was 11
years old, he was charged with assault and
placed in protective supervision. Also as a juve-
nile, in August 1979, Lovitt was committed to
the Beaumont Learning Center of the State
Department of Corrections (Beaumont) based on
adjudication of charges of breaking and entering
and larceny. While at Beaumont, Lovitt was dis-
ciplined for fighting, assault, and possessing
contraband items. After his release from Beau-
mont in 1980, Lovitt was convicted of grand
larceny in 1981 and was sentenced to 12 months
in jail.

Between 1983 and 1985, Lovitt was con-
victed of petit larceny, grand larceny, breaking
and entering, and distribution of marijuana. In
1986, Lovitt was convicted of attempted robbery
and was sentenced to a term of imprisonment of
from one to three years. After being released on
parole in August 1987, Lovitt’s parole was
revoked in August 1988 based, in part, on addi-

! tional arrests and his failure to pass certain drug
tests. Lovitt later was convicted of statutory bur-
glary and grand larceny. While incarcerated on
these convictions and the parole violation,
Lovitt was disciplined for damaging property
and for fighting.

In September 1990, Lovitt again was
released on parole. In early 1991, Lovitt was
convicted of possession of cocaine, grand lar-
ceny, and burglary. While incarcerated on these
charges, Lovitt was the subject of ten disciplin-
ary actions for offenses including possession of
contraband, disobeying direct orders, assault,
possession of intoxicants, and manufacturing
“shank handles.” After being released on parole
in October 1996, Lovitt was convicted in 1997 of
possession of marijuana, petit larceny, unlawful
entry, assault' and battery, and destruction of
property. Lovitt was on parole at the time of the
present offenses.

In October 1998, Arlington County Police
Officer Jerome A. Lee detained Lovitt in an
apartment parking lot in Arlington. Lovitt had
parked his car behind the apartments, appeared
to be very nervous, and consented to a search of
his vehicle. Lee found a long kitchen knife on
the floor of the passenger area and a soda can
used to smoke crack cocaine in the rear floor
area of the vehicle.

Lovitt presented testimony from his sister,
Amanda Jones, who testified that Lovitt was the
oldest of 12 children and that he helped take
care of his younger siblings, although not
“gladly.” Lovitt also presented testimony from
four deputies employed by the Arlington
County Sheriff’s Office, who stated that Lovitt
had not presented any disciplinary problems
while being held in jail on the present charges.

Lovitt, 537 S.E.2d at 873.

CEN SETNER) otter teen ee ee

10

REASONS WHY THE PETITION FOR A WRIT
OF CERTIORARI SHOULD BE DENIED

Summary

Lovitt’s petition confuses two legal principles: the
burden of proof required for guilt and the admissibility of
evidence at a capital sentencing hearing. This case presents
no question of whether the State must prove the elements
of an offense to establish a defendant’s guilt beyond a
reasonable doubt but rather whether the due process
standard of proof of guilt can be imported into the arena of
admissibility of evidence in a sentencing proceeding and
specifically applied as some sort of threshold requirement
as each fact or piece of evidence is admitted. By asking
this Court to require that state trial courts in capital
sentencing proceedings apply a “burden of proof” stan-
dard to each fact or piece of evidence before it can be
admitted, Lovitt essentially is asking that the State meet
multiple burdens of proof, first for each fact or piece of
evidence and then again for the ultimate fact at issue, i.e.,
the aggravating factor and/or recommended sentence.
Nothing in this Court’s precedents, however, supports
such an extraordinary requirement regarding the admis-
sibility of evidence and in fact this Court has made clear
that the Constitution requires no “standard of proof” for
admissibility. See McMillan v. Pennsylvania, 477 U.S. 79,
91-92 (1986). Lovitt’s “conflict among the States and fed-
eral circuits” argument attempts to further confuse these
two distinct trial processes and does not demonstrate any
unsettled question regarding the admissibility of evi-
dence. Lovitt’s characterization of the evidentiary pro-
cedures in Virginia, the unadjudicated evidence in his

11 é'

case and its possible effect, are incorrect in any event, and
cannot support a grant of the writ of certiorari.

I. The Virginia Supreme Court's Rejection Of Lovitt’s
Challenge To The Admission Of Evidence Of Unad-
judicated Conduct Presents No Compelling Reason
To Grant Certiorari.

In the appeal below, Lovitt made the summary,
boiler-plate argument that “the Virginia statute violates
the Eighth and Fourteenth Amendments’ [sic] heightened
reliability requirement for capital sentencing because it
allows the sentencer to prove the statutory aggravating
factor of future dangerousness by evidence of unadjudi-
cated criminal conduct. It fails to satisfy any standard of
proof before such conduct may be used.” (Opening Br. of
Def. at 25).1 The Virginia Supreme Court rejected the
claim in the “Issues Previously Decided” section of its
opinion, citing to three previous opinions where the court
had rejected the same claim. Lovitt, 537 S.E.2d at 874.

Lovitt claims that certiorari should be granted
because there allegedly is a conflict among the States and
federal circuits over the issue and because Virginia takes
the “extreme position that such evidence is per se admissi-
ble under the federal constitution because the jury should
have before it ‘all possible relevant information about the

1 In addition to this conclusory claim, Lovitt made one
further reference to the issue in his reply brief, citing a law
review article for the proposition that other States prohibit the
use of unadjudicated conduct. (Reply Br. of Def. at 7).

Hee ETO ATR ot TTT TR ee

12

individual defendant whose fate it must determine’ ”

(Pet. at 9, emphases in original). He further alleges that,

in his sentencing hearing, the jury was exposed to a
_ plethora of unadjudicated conduct evidence, that this was
unfair to him and violated the Due Process Clause of the |
Fourteenth Amendment. Lovitt’s argument is both factu-

ally and legally flawed for several reasons. It certainly

presents no matter which compels a grant of certiorari.

See Sup. Ct. R. 10 (certiorari granted only for “compelling

reasons”). :

A. The facts are not as Lovitt represents.

Lovitt misstates the record when he says that the
unadjudicated evidence included the records submitted
by the Commonwealth which showed that he had
engaged in various assaultive behaviors during his years
of incarceration as a juvenile and adult. (Pet. at 6). Those
records hardly can be classified as “unadjudicated:” they
are, rather, records of institutional due process hearings
and findings made of punishable offenses. (Pet. at 6: VSC
App. 2017-29, 2031-33) As the prosecutor accurately rep-
resented to the trial judge without objection, “these are
documents that were — we took out all the opinion docu-
ments. The documents are from due process hearings that
were had for infractions, serious incidents.” (VSC App.
1658). See Wolff v. McDonnell, 418 U.S. 539, 564-65 (1974)
(notice and opportunity to be heard in proceedings
involving institutional offenses).

What Lovitt is left with to complain about are the
unchallenged eyewitness accounts of law enforcement
officers that (1) in 1998, an officer saw a knife in Lovitt’s

13

car during a traffic stop, (2) in 1997, an officer found a
razor in Lovitt’s pants during an arrest, (3) in 1990, Lovitt
tested positive for cocaine while on parole and (4) in
1998, Lovitt refused to go to substance abuse counseling
at his parole supervisor’s direction. Lovitt fails to articu-
late how any standard of proof requirement could have
been violated by the admission of this evidence.? Obvi-
ously, even under Lovitt’s proposed “beyond a reason-
able doubt” standard, such was met for these facts.>

Lovitt also mischaracterizes the law governing
admission of evidence in Virginia. According to Lovitt,
because evidence of unadjudicated conduct is “per se”
admissible, it comes in without any “shield” against
“unreliable or unfairly prejudicial evidence” and “a
defendant must suddenly defend himself against
numerous different charges.” (Pet. at 17-18). Of course
this is not the case. In Virginia, evidence is admissible
only if it is relevant and the test for relevancy is whether
“the legitimate probative value outweighs the incidental
prejudice to the accused.” Hawks v. Commonwealth, 321
S.E.2d 650, 652 (Va. 1984). Moreover, in all Virginia capital

2 Lovitt also completely ignores the mammoth number of
criminal records presented which showed that over the course
of many years he had been found guilty of and punished for
many violent crimes, including larcenies, burglaries, drug
offenses, assaults and attempted robbery. (VSC App. 1936-2016).
This extensive, unchallenged “adjudicated conduct” evidence
simply renders any argument Lovitt has regarding the
admission of unadjudicated conduct evidence harmless beyond
any reasonable doubt.

3 The same can be said for the records which showed that
Lovitt had been found to have committed, and punished for.
committing, various serious institutional infractions.

nS ee ee

14

murder trials, upon motion by the defendant, the Com-
monwealth must give notice of its intention to use evi-
dence of unadjudicated conduct, including a description
of the conduct and the time and place it is alleged to have
occurred. Va. Code § 19.2-264.3:2. Lovitt made such a
motion and the Commonwealth complied with the statu-
tory mandate. Other matters aside, Lovitt certainly can-
not complain about having “suddenly” to defend himself
against any evidence.‘ |

B. The issue has been decided by this Court. -

Whether framed as a question of admissibility vel non
or one of admissibility with a standard of proof, the issue
of whether a sentencer may consider evidence of a defen-
dant’s prior misconduct which has not previously been
formally adjudicated is not new or even open. In Williams
v. New York, 337 U.S. 241 (1949), this Court held that the
Constitution allows a sentencer in a capital case to con-
sider evidence of unadjudicated conduct. Lovitt’s only
argument around this controlling precedent is that Wil-
liams allegedly was called into question by Gardner v.
Florida, 430 U.S. 349 (1977). But Gardner did not overrule

* Lovitt says that certiorari should be granted in his case in
part because the Court granted certiorari in Gray v. Netherland,
518 U.S. 152 (1996), but Gray does not help Lovitt. The issue in
Gray was whether the Constitution required notice of the use of
unadjudicated acts where it was uncontested that the |

prosecutor had not given the required notice before presenting
extensive evidence of other murders. There was no question
raised or considered in Gray concerning the admissibility vel non
of such evidence; indeed, it is implicit in Gray that the evidence
would be admissible if the alleged notice requirement were met.

15

or question the validity of Williams; rather, it held Wil-
liams not applicable because the evidence in Gardner had
been kept confidential even from the defendant. Gardner,
430 U.S. at 356-57.

Lovitt’s argument that Williams implicitly was over-
ruled, and his suggestion that the precedent of Williams
does not measure up to the more recent “heightened
standard of reliability” requirement for capital cases, are
belied by this Court’s consistent reliance on Williams after
Gardner. For example, in United States v. Watts, 519 U.S.
148, 117 S.Ct. 633, 635 (1997), Witte v. United States, 515
U.S. 389, 397 (1995), and Nichols v. United States, 511 U.S.
738, 747 (1994), the Court referenced Williams for the
principle that evidence of unadjudicated crimes is appro-
priate to consider in sentencing. In Schlup v. Delo, 513 U.S.
298, 326 (1995), a capital case, the Court cited Williams for
the principle that there is “reduced procedural protec-
tion” in the sentencing phase. See also Dawson v. Delaware,
503 U.S. 159, 163 (1992); Payne v. Tennessee, 501 U.S. 808,
857 (1991) (both citing Williams). Of course, in Jurek v.
Texas, 428 U.S. 262, 276 (1976), the Court made clear that
“(wJhat is essential is that the jury have before it all
possible relevant information about the individual defen-
dant whose fate it must determine” and in Tuilaepa v.
California, 512 U.S. 967, 976-77 (1994), the Court speci-
fically upheld against constitutional challenge the use of
an aggravating factor requiring the sentencer to consider
the defendant’s violent “criminal activity,” including
unadjudicated conduct. Thus, there can be no doubt that
the holding in Williams remains good law and obviates
any need for a grant of certiorari to redetermine the same
issue.

16

In McMillan v. Pennsylvania, the petitioners argued
that before unadjudicated acts could be considered by the
sentencer, they must be proven by at least clear and
convincing evidence. The Court held as follows:

petitioners do not and could not claim that a
sentencing court may never rely on a particular
fact in passing sentence without finding that
fact by “clear and convincing evidence.” Sen-
tencing courts have traditionally heard evidence
and found facts without any prescribed burden
of proof at all. See Williams . . . . We see nothing
in Pennsylvania’s scheme that would warrant
constitutionalizing burdens of proof at sentenc-
ing.

477 U.S. at 91. The Court went on to observe that “we
have consistently approved sentencing schemes that
mandate consideration of facts related to the crime, e.g.,
Profitt v. Florida, 428 U.S. 242 (1976), without suggesting
that those facts must be proved beyond a reasonable
doubt.” Id. at 92.

The reason for this rule is quite simple: “criminal
sentencing takes place only after a defendant has been
adjudged guilty beyond a reasonable doubt.” McMillan,
477 U.S. at 92 n.8. Sentencing involves the quite different
concern of what punishment is appropriate for a crime
which already has been proven beyond a reasonable
doubt and requires the sentencer to “exercise a wide
discretion in the sources and types of evidence” it will
consider. Williams, 337 U.S. at 246; Jurek, 428 U.S. at 276
(“all possible relevant information”). Given this consis-
tent precedent holding that the Constitution does not

17

require burdens of proof for particular evidence pre-
sented at a criminal sentencing, there is no call for a grant
of certiorari on the matter.

Indeed, given this Court’s holdings discussed above,
Lovitt’s “conflict” argument does not bear much discus-
sion. He contends that state courts in Washington, Indi-
ana, Alabama and Tennessee prohibit the use of
unadjudicated conduct evidence altogether, but admits
that Tennessee bases its prohibitive rule on state law. (Pet.
at 11). Of the three remaining States, only one — Indiana -
even mentions Williams v. New York in its decision prohib-
iting unadjudicated conduct evidence. The others cer-
tainly cannot represent any kind of “conflict” worthy of
certiorari review when they do not even recognize this
Court’s controlling precedent on the matter. And the
decision from Indiana — State v. McCormick, 397 N.E.2d
276 (Ind. 1979) — cannot be considered as a true “conflict”
for at least two reasons. First, like petitioner, the court in
McCormick misread Gardner as somehow overruling Wil-
liams, a conclusion, as discussed above, shown to be
wholly inaccurate by Gardner itself. Second, the decision
in McCormick appears to have been driven largely by the
fact that, under state law, the statutory aggravating factor
of an unadjudicated murder was required to be proven
beyond a reasonable doubt and the Indiana court was
unwilling to allow such “trials within trials” to occur. 397
N.E.2d at 278. This 1979 case simply does not present a
conflict on any constitutional issue that compels a grant
of certiorari.

Lovitt also discusses cases from three other States -
Utah, California and Louisiana - which he says show a
conflict with Virginia on the question of standard of

18

proof, but none of those cases even mentions McMillan v.
Pennsylvania. (Pet. at 12-13). Moreover, they, like McCor-
mick, turn mostly on the statutory scheme of each particu-
lar State: aggravating factors must be proven beyond a
reasonable doubt; unadjudicated conduct is an aggrava-
ting factor; thus, the unadjudicated conduct must be
proven beyond a reasonable doubt. On that point of logic,
there is no conflict. Virginia also requires proof of aggra-
vating factors beyond a reasonable doubt. See Va. Code
§ 19.2-264.4(C). Virginia, however, only allows two aggra-
vating factors to be considered: future dangerousness and
vileness. See id.5 Virginia law does not require that each
discrete piece of evidence admitted to prove an aggrava-
ting factor must itself be established by proof beyond a
reasonable doubt. See Walker v. Commonwealth, 515 S.E.2d
565, 571-72 (Va. 1999) (relying on McMillan), cert. denied,
528 U.S. 1125 (2000). Lovitt shows no conflict with this
undeniably constitutional practice.

Finally, Lovitt attempts to show a conflict among the
federal courts of appeal on the standard of proof issue by
arguing that because the Ninth Circuit has said that evi-
dence of unadjudicated conduct must have “some mini-
mal indicium of reliability beyond mere allegation,” then
that Circuit imposes a “standard of proof” that Virginia
does not. (Pet. at 13). This argument is completely frivo-
lous: “indicia of reliability” is an admissibility concern, not
a “burden of proof” standard, and Virginia requires that
evidence of unadjudicated conduct, like all evidence, be

5 Unadjudicated conduct is not an aggravating factor in
Virginia. Evidence of unadjudicated conduct is admissible to
prove the aggravating factor of future dangerousness.

19

both relevant and reliable for admission into evidence.
See Beaver v. Commonwealth, 352 S.E.2d 342, 346-47 (Va.
1987), cert. denied, 483 U.S. 1033 (1987). Lovitt shows no
conflict between Virginia and any federal circuit.

In the final analysis, all that Lovitt has shown is that
some States have elected to prohibit the use. of certain
evidence in capital sentencing hearings and some have
elected to specify as aggravating factors certain unadjudi-
cated conduct by the defendant which must be proven
beyond a reasonable doubt or some other standard of
proof. States have the discretion to do so because,

it is normally “within the power of the State to
regulate procedures under which its laws are
carried out, including the burden of producing
evidence and the burden of persuasion,” and its
decision in this regard is not subject to proscrip-
tion under the Due Process Clause unless “it
offends some principle of justice so rooted in the

traditions and conscience of our people as to be
ranked as fundamental.”

McMillan, 477 U.S. at 85 (citations omitted). Virginia’s
statutory sentencing scheme, including the use of unad-
judicated conduct evidence to prove the aggravating fac-
tor of future dangerousness, is authorized by the Due
Process Clause as enunciated in Williams and McMillan.
Lovitt presents no compelling reason why this Court
should grant certiorari to revisit this settled law.

20

II. Lovitt’s “Additional Errors” Argument Does Not
Merit Review.

Lovitt argues in conclusory fashion that the Virginia
Supreme Court made eleven other “errors,” all of which
merit a grant of certiorari. Lovitt, however, fails to iden-
tify a single issue that compels an exercise of the Court’s
extraordinary review power.

First “Error”

Lovitt first complains that the Virginia Supreme
Court failed to conduct a proper “proportionality” review
of his sentence pursuant to Virginia Code § 17.1-313(E).
According to Lovitt, there never has been another death
penalty case in Virginia where the murderer found the
murder weapon at the scene of the robbery. This Court,
however, may not grant certiorari to review this issue
because it involves no federal issue. See Pulley v. Harris,
465 U.S. 37, 46 (1984) (proportionality review not
required by the Constitution); Sup. Ct. R. 10. Moreover, as
seen from the Virginia Supreme Court’s opinion, the
court undeniably conducted the sentence review required
by state law. Lovitt, 537 S.E.2d at 880-81.

6 Lovitt’s assertion that there was no evidence of his
intention to confront a victim, arm himself or use a weapon, is
ludicrous. Lovitt knew the pool hall and where the money,
scissors and manager were when he planned his robbery and
planned to leave no witnesses. At least one other Virginia death
penalty case involved the unimportant detail that the murderer
picked up his weapon at the scene of the robbery. See Correll v.
Commonwealth, 352 S.E.2d 352, 354 (Va.), cert. denied, 482 U.S. 931
(1987).

21

Second “Error”

Lovitt next complains that the Virginia Supreme
Court erred because it did not find the trial court had
abused its discretion by admitting evidence showing that
Lovitt failed to show up for an appointment with his
probation officer five hours after the murder or for an
unrelated court appearance the morning after the murder.
These evidentiary rulings do not involve any federal
issue and thus may not support a grant of certiorari. See
Duncan v. Henry, 513 U.S. 364, 366 (1995); Sup. Ct. R. 10.
Moreover, as the court below found, the highly probative
nature of this evidence of flight after a crime certainly
outweighed any incidental, potential prejudicial effect.
Lovitt, 537 S.E.2d at 876-77.

Third “Error”

Lovitt’s next complaint presents no issue worthy of
review: the decision to retain a juror who expressed emo-
tion about the unrelated killings of fellow students ten
years earlier, but who stated without reservation that she
would not let that experience affect her duty to remain
unbiased. The Virginia Supreme Court’s unremarkable
rejection of the claim, based on the discretion tradi-
tionally given to trial judges who see and hear the jurors,
certainly presents no unsettled issue of law to be resolved
by this Court. See Lovitt, 537 S.E.2d at 875.

22

Fourth “Error”

Lovitt further argues that the state court erred when
it procedurally barred an assignment of error relating to a
trial court ruling allowing testimony on reputation for
truth and veracity. See Lovitt, 537 S.E.2d at 876. This issue
without question involves only the application of state
law; it involves no federal issue and thus may not sup-
port a grant of certiorari. See Sup. Ct. R. 10.

Fifth “Error”

Lovitt’s fifth complaint is that the Virginia Supreme
Court erred when it did not allow a sentencing phase jury
instruction that the defendant would “die in prison” if
given a life sentence. The court below did not allow such
an instruction because it is not an accurate statement of
Virginia law, viz., prisoners may receive executive clem-
ency. Lovitt, 537 S.E.2d at 878. Lovitt’s jury was given the
no-parole instruction required by Simmons v. South Caro-
lina, 512 U.S. 154 (1994). He was entitled to no more.

Sixth “Error”

Lovitt’s “insufficient evidence” complaint is frivo-
lous. Under Jackson v. Virginia, 443 U.S. 307, 319 (1979),
there can be no question but that the evidence was suffi-
cient. See Lovitt, 537 S.E.2d at 877.

Seventh “Error”

His next complaint — that the Virginia Supreme Court
procedurally barred a claim that his counsel should have
been allowed to testify at trial allegedly to impeach a

23

Commonwealth’s expert regarding a pretrial interview -
clearly presents no federal issue. See Lovitt, 537 S.E.2d at
878 (applying Va. Sup. Ct. R. 5:25 requiring contempora-
neous objection); U.S. Sup. Ct. R. 10.

Eighth “Error”

In his eighth complaint, Lovitt states in conclusory
terms that the future dangerousness factor is unconstitu-
tionally “vague” on its face and as applied and “the
unadorned statutory terms are unconstitutionally vague.”
(Pet. at 26). Lovitt does not explain why he believes the
factor is “vague” or what “terms” are “vague.” These
unexplained statements hardly show a compelling reason
to grant certiorari. The Virginia Supreme Court’s rejection
of the claims — Lovitt, 537 S.E.2d at 874 - certainly
involves no open question of law to be resolved. See
California v. Ramos, 463 U.S. 992, 1002-03 (1983) (future
dangerousness appropriate consideration at sentencing);
Jurek, 428 U.S. at 275 (same).

Ninth “Error”

Lovitt next claims that the Virginia Supreme Court
erred because it rejected his argument that his sentence
was influenced by passion under Virginia Code
§ 17.1-313(C), based on the alleged fact that the victim’s
family sat near the jury during the trial. The Virginia
Supreme Court’s “arbitrariness” review of the sentence,
however, is not required by the Constitution and thus
may not support a grant of certiorari. See Pulley v. Harris.
Moreover, as the court below noted, there was nothing in
the record to support any finding of passion or prejudice,

24

much less any indication that the jury even knew who
was sitting where in the courtroom. Lovitt, 537 S.E.2d at
879.

Tenth and Eleventh “Errors”

Lovitt’s last two contentions require little comment.
He complains that the Virginia Supreme Court rejected
his arguments that he was entitled to individually ques-
tion his prospective jurors and to receive more peremp-
tory challenges than allowed by Virginia law. These
issues, however, do not involve any federal issue. See
Mu’Min v. Virginia, 500 U.S. 415, 430 (1991) (no constitu-
tional right to individual voir dire); Georgia v. McCollum,
505 U.S. 42, 57 (1992) (no constitutional right to any
peremptory challenges). The Virginia Supreme Court’s
rulings — Lovitt, 537 S.E.2d at 874 — do not, therefore,
compel a grant of certiorari. See Sup. Ct. R. 10.

¢

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

25

CONCLUSION

Respectfully submitted,

Commonwealth of Virginia,
Responden¢

By counsel:
RANDOLPH A. BEALES
Acting Attorney General of Virginia

KATHERINE P. BALDWIN
Senior Assistant Attorney General
Counsel of Record

OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL
900 East Main Street
Richmond, Virginia 23219

(804) 786-4624

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_1797%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
