# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Rogers v. Moore

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_1665%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2001
- **Citation:** 532 U.S. 941

## Text

G) Omrerne Cont, US.

oO.

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

JERRY LAYNE ROGERS, SR.,
Petitioner,

v.
MICHAEL W. MOORE,

Secretary, Florida Department of Corrections, State of
Florida,

BRADLEY D. CARTER,
Warden, Union Correctional Institution, Raiford, Florida,

Respondents.

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari To The
United States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Jerrel E. Phillips John G. Buchanan III
P.O. Box 14463 Timothy C. Hester*
Tallahassee, FL 32317 Benedict M Lenhart
(850) 877-8660 Mark E. Porada
COVINGTON & BURLING

1201 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW

Washington, DC 20004-2401
(202) 662-6000

* Counsel of Record

Jan 15, 2001 A s for Petitioner

001147 DEC 2220
eo. aoe

Ss4 pr

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Eleventh Circuit erred as a
matter of law in concluding that Petitioner’s federal
habeas corpus petition was procedurally barred under
state law, when the only state court to issue a written
opinion in this matter accepted Petitioner's arguments
that the state procedural bar was inapplicable and instead
addressed his claim on the merits.

2. Whether the Eleventh Circuit erred as a
matter of law in denying a certificate of appealability
when “jurists of reason” could disagree whether
Petitioner’s timely-filed state post-conviction proceeding,
which the state court addressed on the merits, effectively
tolled the one-year federal statute of limitations under 28
U.S.C. §2244(d)(2).

-ii-
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING AND
RULE 29.6 DISCLOSURE

The caption to this case contains the names
of all parties to this proceeding, both here and before the
United States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit.

No corporations or parent corporations are involved in
this matter.

-iii-

TABLE OF CONTENTS
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ...............::ccccsccccsseeseeecees v
INO is cikiidsincsisecindaupesscachusade nee 1
SSSR RIE ee oer annem. + oY 1
ei | Re 1
SEATEMENT OF THI CAGE ........0....cccseccccccsccscceoeses: 3
I. THE STATE POST-CONVICTION
II cas tnciiccidshadettbesthachichcobicsesalache pnciesensaiss 4
Il. THE FEDERAL HABEAS CORPUS
So eg _ aE Ra eR 8
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ..........-.cc.000-. 11
I. THIS CASE PRESENTS AN ISSUE OF
EXCEPTIONAL IMPORTANCE. ...0.......c.ccs0ecseesseees 11
Il. THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT’S INTERPRETATION
OF THE CERTIFICATE OF APPEALABILITY
REQUIREMENT CONTRADICTS THIS COURT'S
PRIOR HOLDINGS AND THE WELL-
ESTABLISHED MEANING OF THE STATUTORY
I i 12
A. The Standard for Issuing a Certificate of
Appealability is Extremely Lenient. ................ 12

B. The Eleventh Circuit's Decision Conflicts with
this Court’s Holdings and Effectively Denies
Habeas Corpus Petitioners the Right to Appeal
Even in Cases Where They Have Raised a

_ Clearly “Debatable” Claim. ...0..........cccccecceeesses 16

CONCLUSION

-V-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Federal Cases
Barefoot v. Estelle, 463 U.S. 880 (1983).............c.0000. 13, 14,15
Flanagan v. Johnson, 154 F.3d 196 (5th Cir. SP iccccticecnest 9
Franklin v. Hightower, 215 F.3d 1196 (11th Cir. 2000)..16, 21
Fuller v. Johnson, 114 F.3d 491 (5th Cir. 1997)... 16
Guenther v. Holt, 173 F.3d 1328 (11th Cir. 1999).........ccc0.... 9
Hall v. Cain, 220 F.3d 1022 (5th Cir. 2000) ........cecccssseesseeees 19
Hernandez v. Caldwell, 225 F.3d 435 (4th Cir. ye 9
Jefferson v. Welborn, 222 F.3d 286 (7th Cir. 2000)............ 21
Lambright v. Stewart, 220 F.3d 1022 (9th Cir. 2000) ....16, 19,

ponaatinncnretanietisntiatcanieteinitaibesipasighiasimiieiiainindiitiisolidei tcc vuaes 21
Lozada v. Deeds, 498 U.S. 430 (1991) (per curiam).............. 18
Mackey v. Dutton, 217 F.3d 399 (6th Cir. 2000) ...........0..00-. 16
Miller v. Johnson, 200 F.3d 274 (5th Cir. 2000) ............0:.0e-. 16
Moore v. United States, 173 F.3d 1131 (8th Cir. 1999)......... 9
Porter v. Gramly, 112 F.3d 1308 (7th Cir. 1997) 000.0... 16

Porter v. State, 670 So. 2d 1126 (Fla. Dist. Ct. App. 1996) ...6
Rogers v. United States, 180 F.3d 349 (1st Cir. 1999)........... 9
Schell v. Witek, 218 F.3d 1017 (9th Cir. 2000) (en banc).....16
Slack v. McDaniel, --- US. ---, 120 S. Ct. 1595 (2000) . passim

Smith v. Ward, 209 F.3d 383 (5th Cir. 2000) .........sccssscessees 19
Solis v. Garcia, 219 F.3d 922 (9th Cir. basins icinientiauiias 16
Tillman v. Cook, 215 F.3d 1116 (10th Cir. I aisaiinididensien 16
United States v. Cicero, 214 F.3d 199 (D.C. Cir. 2000)........ 9
Villegas v. Johnson, 184 F.3d 467 (5th Cir. y _, SaenaeRe he 19
State Cases

Brown v. State, 596 So. 2d 1026 (Fla. 1992) .0......sccscssesssesseeses 6
Demps v. State, 696 So. 2d 1296 (Fla. Dist. Ct. App. 1997) ..6
Haag v. State, 591 So. 2d 614 (Fla. 1992) 0.0... ecccsscssseeseesees 6
Federal Statutes |
SM: RMN aee Pomn tc” melt ee passim

MUG Giese passim

-Vi-
BO ER, BB eitccictsttcniaitiiaendaiti ke ne ee 17
Rules
eke hf ee 4

OPINIONS BELOW

The orders of the court of appeals d
Petitioner's motion for a certificate of appealability (App.
A-3 - A-4) and motion for reconsideration (App. A-1 - A-
2) are unreported. The orders of the district court
denying Petitioner's petition for habeas corpus (App. A-7
~ A-14) and motion for certificate of appealability (App.
A-5 - A-6) are unreported.

JURISDICTION

The order of the court of appeals was
entered on July 19, 2000. A timely motion for
reconsideration was denied on September 25, 2000. This
Court's jurisdiction rests on 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTES INVOLVED

Section 2244(d) of Title 28, U.S. Code
Provides in pertinent part:

(1) A 1-year statute of
limitations shall apply to an
application for a writ of
habeas corpus by a person in
Custody pursuant to the
judgment of a State court... .

(2) The time during which a
properly filed application for
State post-conviction or other
collateral review with

to the pertinent judgment or
claim is pending shall not be
counted toward any period

.%

of limitation under this
subsection.

Section 2253(c) of Title 28, US. Code
provides in pertinent part

(1) Unless a circuit justice or
judge issues a certificate of
appealability, an appeal may
not be taken to the court of
appeals from --

(A) the final order in a
habeas corpus proceeding in
which the detention
complained of arises out of
process issued by a State
court...

(2) A certificate of
appealability may issue
under paragraph (1) only if
the applicant has made a
substantial showing of the
denial of a constitutional

right.

Me
STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case has important ramifications for
the lower federal courts’ application of the federal habeas
corpus statutes and the gatekeeping function of 28 U.S.C.
§ 2253(c). It involves the entitlement of a federal habeas
corpus petitioner to appeal a district court finding of
procedural bar that is, at the very least, “debatable among
jurists of reason.” _ Petitioner (“Rogers”) sought state
post-conviction relief under Fla. R. Crim. P. 3.850,
alleging that the State of Florida (“State”) violated Brady
v. Maryland, 373 U.S. 83 (1963), when it failed to produce
a variety of exculpatory materials to Rogers before trial.!
The federal district court held that Rogers's federal
habeas corpus petition was time-barred because the court
concluded that Rogers’s state post-conviction motion
under Fla. R. Crim. P. 3.850 was untimely under Florida
law, even though the state court had assumed that Rogers
had valid arguments for avoiding state procedural bar
and had instead denied his motion on the merits. The
district court and later the Eleventh Circuit denied Rogers
a certificate of appealability.

The lower courts’ refusal to permit an
appeal was in error as a matter of law, and conflicts with

i In a separate state petition for writ of habeas corpus,
Rogers also alleged that he was\denied his right to the
effective assistance of appellate counsel through counsel’s
failure to raise two obvious claims of reversible error on
direct appeal: (1) that the trial court improperly considered
evidence of unproven crimes in sentencing Rogers, in
violation of settled Florida law; and (2) that the jury's
verdict was tainted by impermissible fear of the defendant.
That separate habeas corpus petition is not at issue here.

-4-

this Court's decisions that require the issuance of a
certificate of appealability whenever “jurists of reason”
could differ about the appropriate outcome. The state
trial court that heard Rogers’s Brady claim -- and the only
state court to issue a written opinion explaining its
holding -- rejected Rogers’s Brady claim on the merits
after accepting as true Rogers’s arguments for avoiding a
state procedural bar. That state post-conviction
proceeding - in which the state court decided Rogers's
Brady claim on the merits instead of rejecting it on
procedural grounds — was a “properly filed” state post-
conviction proceeding that tolled the federal habeas
corpus limitation period. The district court's conclusion
that the state proceeding was untimely contradicted the
state court’s own conclusion as to timeliness. Because
this issue is self-evidently one on which “jurists of
reason” can disagree, the Eleventh Circuit's denial of a
certificate of appealability, in these circumstances, cannot
be reconciled with this Court’s broad and lenient reading
of 28 U.S.C. § 2253(c).

Review by this Court is warranted to
ensure that the lower courts are properly applying the
standards for issuance of a certificate of appealability.
Only a case such as this one, where a certificate of
appealability has been wrongly denied, can squarely
frame the question of when an appeal should be
permitted from the denial of a federal habeas corpus
petition.

L THE STATE POST-CONVICTION
PROCEEDING

Rogers’s federal habeas corpus petition
challenges a March 1983 conviction arising out of the
robbery of a Captain D’s seafood restaurant in Orange

lb

County, Florida, for which Rogers was sentenced to 100
years’ incarceration. That conviction was later used as
substantive evidence in a murder case for which Rogers
has been sentenced to death, and it was used to support
an aggravating factor on which his death sentence is
based.?

The Brady claim advanced in Rogers’s
federal habeas corpus petition was first raised in Florida
state court on April 23, 1997, in a post-conviction motion
filed pursuant to Fla. R. Crim. P. 3.850. The state trial
court conducted a hearing on July 16, 1998, limited to the
issue of whether Rogers’s claims were procedurally
barred under state law.

Under the terms of Fla. R. Crim. P. 3.850,
Rogers was required to assert any collateral challenge to
his conviction within two years of the date his judgment
and sentence became final. However, Florida law
expressly recognizes an exception to the two-year
limitations period when “facts on which the claim is
predicated were unknown to the movant or the movant's
attorney and could not have been ascertained by the
exercise of due diligence.” Fla. R. Crim. P. 3.850(b)(3).
Florida law also recognizes an exception if “the defendant
retained counsel to timely file a 3.850 motion and counsel,

2 Both convictions were largely based upon testimony
of a disgruntled former business partner of Rogers, who
confessed to a string of robberies, including that in which
the murder occurred, for which he ultimately served only a
minor sentence under a plea bargain with the State. Before
being accused of these crimes by his former partner, Rogers
had no criminal record and continues to assert his innocence
of the crimes at issue.

ye

through neglect, failed to file the motion.” Id. Rogers
presented uncontroverted evidence (a) that the evidence
supporting his Brady claim was not discovered until well
after that two-year period, and (b) that he was actively
misled by his state-appointed lawyers into not filing a
timely Fla. R. Crim. P. 3.850 motion after the discovery of
that Brady material. The evidence presented by Rogers
showed that his lawyers had affirmatively promised him
that they would file a timely Fla. R. Crim. P. 3.850 motion,
and then failed to do so.

This evidence, if accepted, was clearly
sufficient to avoid a procedural bar under Florida law.
The limitations periods governing Florida post-conviction
proceedings under Fla. R. Crim. P. 3.850 are subject to
equitable tolling, in cases such as Rogers’s, where the
facts underlying the claims were unknown or the
defendant was actively misled by his lawyers. See, e.g.,
Steinhorst v. State, 636 So. 2d 498, 500 (Fla. 1994) (per
curiam); Brown v. State, 596 So. 2d 1026, 1027-28 (Fla.
1992); Haag v. State, 591 So. 2d 614, 616 (Fla. 1992); Demps
v. State, 696 So. 2d 1296, 1299 (Fla. Dist. Ct. App. 1997);
Porter v. State, 670 So. 2d 1126, 1127 (Fla. Dist. Ct. App.
1996).

The state trial court issued a written
decision on November 30, 1998, which denied Rogers's
Fla. R. Crim. P. 3.850 motion on the merits and not on
grounds of procedural bar. (App. A-24 - A-25.) The state
court initially noted that, strictly applying Fla. R. Crim. P.
3.850, the motion was “outside the express two-year
limitation provision in the rule” and was “several years
late.” (App. A-20 - A-21.) But the court then proceeded
to recount Rogers’s arguments that these claims could not
have been raised within two years after his conviction
became final, because the facts underlying the claims

-7-

were not known until CCR (the Capital Collateral
Representative, Rogers’s lawyers at the time) started to
uncover the police reports in April 1989. (App. A-20 - A-
21.) The court then discussed Rogers's contention that his
CCR lawyers had misled him for several years into
believing that they would file a timely Rule 3.850 motion
on his behalf, which would warrant tolling of the
limitations period in the interest of “fairness and equity.”
(App. A-22.) Although it did not explicitly resolve this
argument, the court “assum{[ed] all of what [Rogers] has
alleged is true.” (App. A-23.) The state court therefore
never rejected Rogers’s equitable tolling argument and
did not find that the motion was untimely. Rather, for
purposes of analysis, the court accepted Rogers's
arguments that the procedural bar did not apply.

After assuming the validity of Rogers's
tolling argument, the state court then proceeded to
address his Brady claim on the merits. (App. A-24 - A-25.)
The court concluded that Rogers’s Brady claim was
“flaw[ed],” and that the outcome of Rogers's trial “would
have been no different” if the State had complied with its
obligation under Brady to turn over the exculpatory
material. (App. A-24.) The state court determined that
the evidence the State failed to turn over to Rogers was
not “‘material’ as contemplated by Brady.” (Id.) While
Rogers disputes the state court's conclusions on the
merits of his Brady claim, the important point is that the
state court did, in fact, address and decide the merits of
his Rule 3.850 motion. Immediately after addressing and
rejecting the merits of Rogers’s Brady claim, the state
court ruled that, “[b]ased on the foregoing,” the Rule
3.850 motion was denied. (App. A-25.) The state court's
ruling thus did not state that Rogers's Brady claim was
denied because it was untimely under state law. To the

-8-

contrary, the court's conclusion follows immediately after
its discussion of the merits of Rogers’s Brady claim.

Rogers filed a timely notice of appeal to the
Florida Fifth District Court of Appeal. On August 10,
1999, the District Court of Appeal, without opinion,
affirmed the trial court's denial of the Rule 3.850 motion.
(App. A-15 - A-16.) Rogers sought discretionary review
in the Florida Supreme Court, which was denied on
October 4, 1999. (App. A-28 - A-29.)

Il. THE FEDERAL HABEAS CORPUS
PROCEEDING

Rogers filed a federal habeas corpus
petition on October 1, 1999, three days before the entry of
the Florida Supreme Court's decision denying Rogers's
petition for discretionary review of the District Court of
Appeal’s order affirming the state trial court’s denial of
Rogers's Fla. R. Crim. P. 3.850 motion. Thus, from April
23, 1997 through October 4, 1999, Rogers had a “properly
filed” state post-conviction proceeding pending in state
court.

The State responded to Rogers’s habeas
corpus petition by arguing that the petition was untimely
under the federal habeas corpus statute of limitations
enacted by the Antiterrorism and Effective Death Penalty
Act of 1996 (“AEDPA”), codified at 28 U.S.C. § 2244(d).
Section 2244(d)(1) provides that a “1-year period of
limitation shall apply to an application for a writ of
habeas corpus by a person in custody pursuant to the
judgment of a State court.” The federal courts of appeals
consistently have held that in cases such as this one,
where the habeas corpus petitioner’s conviction became
final prior to enactment of the AEDPA, such petitioners

-9.

have one year from the date of the AEDPA’s enactment —
April 24, 1996 -- to file a federal habeas corpus petition.

Rogers filed his Fla. R. Crim. P. 3.850
motion on April 23, 1997.3 The federal habeas corpus
Statute of limitations provides that the “time during
which a properly filed application for State post-
conviction or other collateral review with respect to the
pertinent judgment or claim is pending shall not be
counted toward any period of limitation under this
subsection.” 28 U.S.C. § 2244(d)(2). Thus, if Rogers's Fla.
R. Crim. P. 3.850 motion was a “properly filed
application” for state post-conviction relief, the federal
limitations period for all claims was tolled until after
Rogers filed his federal habeas corpus petition on October
1, 1999.

3 Some courts have stated in dicta that, for purposes of
applying the AEDPA limitation, one year from April 24,
1996 is April 23, 1997. See, e.g., Guenther v. Holt, 173 F.3d
1328, 1331 (11th Cir. 1999). Other courts have stated in dicta
that one year after April 24, 1996 is April 24, 1997. See, €.g.,
United States v. Cicero, 214 F.3d 199, 202 (D.C. Cir. 2000);
Rogers v. United States, 180 F.3d 349, 355 (1st Cir. 1999). The
only courts to have squarely addressed the issue, where the
exact date was dispositive, have held that the one-year
period from April 24, 1996 expired on April 24, 1997. See
Hernandez v. Caldwell, 225 F.3d 435 (4th Cir. 2000); Moore v.
United States, 173 F.3d 1131, 1135 (8th Cir. 1999); Flanagan v.
Johnson, 154 F.3d 196, 200-02 (5th Cir. 1998). In fact, under
Fed. R. Civ. P. 6(a), the one-year limitations period should
not begin to run until April 25, 1996 (the day after the
AEDPA was enacted), and thus should not expire until one
year later, April 25, 1997. By filing on April 23, 1997, Rogers
met the one-year deadline under any of these
interpretations.

-10-

The district court denied and dismissed
Rogers’s habeas corpus petition on the ground that the
“petition was not timely filed and must be denied on
timeliness grounds.” (App. All.) The district court
based its conclusion on the fact that Rogers's Fla. R. Crim.
P. 3.850 motion was filed more than two years after his
conviction became final and therefore was not a
“properly filed” state post-conviction proceeding under
28 U.S.C. § 2244(d)(2). In so holding, the district court
ignored the fact that (1) Rogers had argued before the
Florida state court that the state two-year limitations
period was equitably tolled and (2) the state court had
assumed the validity of Rogers’s arguments for equitable
tolling and instead rejected Rogers’s Brady claim on the
merits. The district court’s opinion did not take into
account the fact that the state court had addressed and
resolved Rogers's claim on the merits, nor did it explain
how a state post-conviction petition that was reached and
resolved on the merits could be anything but a “ properly
filed” state proceeding under § 2244(d)(2).

Rogers thereafter sought a certificate of
appealability in the district court, arguing that - at the
very least — “jurists of reason” could disagree as to
whether the state court's decision on the merits of
Rogers’s Brady claim meant that his state post-conviction
petition was “properly filed” under state law, such that
his federal habeas corpus petition would not be
procedurally barred. However, with no discussion
whatsoever and with no citation to any case law, the
district court denied Rogers’s motion for a certificate of
appealability. (App. A-5.)

Rogers then sought a certificate of

appealability from the court of appeals. Again, Rogers
argued that a certificate of appealability should be

-l1-

granted because, at the very least, reasonable jurists could
disagree as to whether the state court had found Rogers's
Fla. R. Crim. P. 3.850 motion to be time-barred or rather
had decided the motion on the merits. The court of
appeals denied Rogers’s motion for a certificate of
appealability in a one-paragraph order, citing this Court's
holding in Slack v. McDaniel, —- U.S. ---, 120 S. Ct. 1595
(2000). (App. A-3 - A-4) Rogers filed a motion for
reconsideration, arguing that, under Slack, a certificate of
appealability should issue whenever “reasonable jurists”
would find the district court's ruling “debatable” — a
standard that clearly has been met in this case. The court
of appeals denied Rogers's motion in a one-sentence
order, again citing Slack and providing no analysis of why
Rogers's claim failed to present a debatable issue among
jurists of reason. (App. A-1 - A-2.)

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. THIS CASE PRESENTS AN ISSUE OF
EXCEPTIONAL IMPORTANCE.

Although this case has a complicated
procedural past, the issue presented here is a simple one:
may the lower federal courts disregard this Court's clear
interpretation of the statutory requirement for a
certificate of appealability and effectively deny habeas
corpus petitioners the right to appeal in cases where the
district court's holding is, at the very least, debatable?
This case has significant implications for the reach of 28
U.S.C. § 2253(c)’s requirement for a certificate of
appealability. In cases from the pre-AEDPA era, when
petitioners required a “certificate of probable cause,”
through the recent post-AEDPA Slack case, this Court has
held that the requirement of a certificate of appealability
imposes a low threshold on federal habeas corpus

-12-

petitioners. The decisions of the lower courts in this case,
denying a certificate of appealability, cannot be
reconciled with this Court’s precedent, and take an
improperly constricted view of a federal habeas
petitioner's right to appeal.

The court of appeals thus has “decided an
important federal question in a way that conflicts with
relevant decisions of this Court.” S. Ct. R. 10(c). The only
way to ensure that the lower federal courts properly
apply this Court's decisions interpreting § 2253(c) is to
review a case such as this one, where the court of appeals
has misapplied this Court's holdings and has wrongly
denied a certificate of appealability. It is troubling and
contrary to this Court's precedent to preclude appeal by a
federal habeas corpus petitioner in the circumstances
presented here.

Il. THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT'S
INTERPRETATION OF THE CERTIFICATE OF
APPEALABILITY REQUIREMENT
CONTRADICTS THIS COURT'S PRIOR
HOLDINGS AND THE WELL-ESTABLISHED
MEANING OF THE STATUTORY
REQUIREMENT.

A. The Standard for Issuing a Certificate of
Appealability is Extremely Lenient.

The AEDPA provides the standard
governing the issuance of a certificate of appealability.
The statute provides that a “certificate of appealability
may issue . .. only if the applicant has made a substantial
showing of the denial of a constitutional right.” 28 U.S.C.
§ 2253(c).

ti

This Court recently addressed the
appropriate standard for issuing a certificate of
appealability under 28 U.S.C. § 2253(c). In Slack v.
McDaniel, --- U.S. ---, 120 S. Ct. 1595 (2000), the Court
provided lower federal courts with a clear standard to
apply in situations such as this, where the federal district
court has denied a petitioner’s habeas corpus petition on
procedural grounds without reaching the merits of the
claims.

When the district court
denies a habeas petition on
procedural grounds without
reaching the petitioner's
underlying constitutional
claim, a_ [certificate of
appealability] should issue
when the prisoner shows, at
least, that jurists of reason
would find it debatable
whether the petition states a
valid claim of the denial of a
constitutional right and that
jurists of reason would find it
debatable whether _the
district court was correct in
its procedural ruling.

Id. at 1604. This standard requires only a showing that
“reasonable jurists could debate whether . . . the petition
should have been resolved in a different manner or that
the issues presented were ‘adequate to deserve
encouragement to proceed further.” Id. at 1603-04
(quoting Barefoot v. Estelle, 463 U.S. 880, 893 n.4 (1983)).
Thus, it is clear from this Court’s holding in Slack that
lower federal courts are to apply a lenient standard when

-14-

deciding whether to grant a certificate of appealability
under § 2253(c). The question of the right to appeal
should not be converted into a premature adjudication of
the merits.‘

Although this Court has had only one prior
opportunity to interpret § 2253(c)’s post-AEDPA
certificate of appealability requirement, the Court has
provided ample guidance on the statute’s scope in pre-
AEDPA holdings concerning the former requirement of a
“certificate of probable cause.” Before the AEDPA, § 2253
permitted an appeal from the denial of a habeas corpus
petition only upon the issuance of a “certificate of
probable cause.” Section 2253 provided that “[ijn a
habeas corpus proceeding before a circuit or district
judge, the final order shall be subject to review, on
appeal, by the court of appeals for the circuit where the
proceeding is had,” if the petitioner obtained a certificate
of probable cause from “the justice or judge who
rendered the order or a circuit justice or judge.” This
Court held in Barefoot v. Estelle, 463 U.S. 880, 893 (1983),
that courts should issue such a certificate only if a
petitioner could “make a ‘substantial showing of the
denial of [a] federal right’ ” (citations omitted).

As this Court made clear in Slack, the
certificate of appealability requirement of § 2253(c)

‘ In Slack, the federal district court dismissed claims
contained in the petitioner's habeas corpus petition that had
not been raised in an earlier habeas corpus petition that in
turn had been dismissed for failure to exhaust available
state remedies. This Court l.eld that the district court's
dismissal on procedural grounds was erroneous. Slack, 120
S. Ct. at 1604-05.

eT

intended to adopt the requirements set forth in Barefoot.
“Except for substituting the word ‘constitutional’ for the
word ‘federal,’ § 2253 is a codification of the [certificate of
probable cause] standard announced in Barefoot... .”
Slack, 120 S. Ct. at 1605.

In Barefoot, the Court set forth several ways
in which a petitioner could make the “substantial
showing” necessary for the issuance of a certificate of
probable cause. To meet this “threshold inquiry,” Slack,
120 S. Ct at 1604, a petitioner needed only to
“demonstrate that the issues are debatable among jurists
of reason; that a court could resolve the issues [in a
different manner]; or that the questions are adequate to
deserve encouragement to proceed further.” Barefoot, 463
U.S. at 893 n. 4 (internal quotation marks omitted).
Therefore, it was not necessary for a petitioner to
demonstrate that he should prevail on appeal in order to
secure a certificate of probable cause. Rather, the inquiry
was simply whether a petitioner had presented a
“debatable” question whether the district court's holding
was correct. Indeed, this Court has emphasized that, in
examining a petitioner’s application to appeal from the
denial of a habeas corpus petition, “obviously the
petitioner need not show that he should prevail on the
merits. He has already failed in that endeavor.” Id. at 893
n. 4 (internal quotation marks omitted).

It is clear from Barefoot that federal courts
are barred from equating the standard for obtaining
permission to appeal with the standard for granting a
writ of habeas corpus. Although the certificate of
appealability requirement is designed as a gatekeeping
mechanism to prevent the courts from devoting scarce
judicial resources to frivolous issues, at the same time the

-16-

requirement cannot and should not be used as a
preliminary means of resolving debatable issues without
benefit of briefing and argument on appeal. In fact, many
courts of appeals have granted certificates of
appealability in cases where they ultimately have rejected
claims on the merits. See, e.g., Solis v. Garcia, 219 F.3d 922,
925 (9th Cir. 2000); Schell v. Witek, 218 F.3d 1017, 1021 n. 4
(9th Cir. 2000) (en banc); Mackey v. Dutton, 217 F.3d 399,
406 (6th Cir. 2000); Franklin v. Hightower, 215 F.3d 1196,
1199 (11th Cir. 2000); Tillman v. Cook, 215 F.3d 1116, 1120
(10th Cir. 2000). Thus, “the showing a petitioner must
make to be heard on appeal is less than that to obtain
relief.” Lambright v. Stewart, 220 F.3d 1022, 1025 (9th Cir.
2000).

Furthermore, this Court and the courts of
appeals have stressed that any doubts should be resolved
in the petitioner's favor, particularly where, as here, the
conviction was later used to support a death sentence.
“In a capital case, the nature of the penalty is a proper
consideration in determining whether to issue a
certificate of probable cause . .. .” Id. at 893; see also Miller
v. Johnson, 200 F.3d 274, 281 (5th Cir. 2000) (“the severity
of the penalty may be considered” in issuing a certificate
of appealability); Fuller v. Johnson, 114 F.3d 491, 495 (5th
Cir. 1997) (“we may properly consider the severity of the
penalty in making the determination” on a request for a
certificate of appealability); Porter v. Gramly, 112 F.3d
1308, 1312 (7th Cir. 1997) (finding that claim presented a
“debatable” issue, “especially in light of the death
sentence that hangs over [petitioner’s] head”).

B. The Eleventh Circuit’s Decision Conflicts
with this Court’s Holdings and Effectively
Denies Habeas Corpus Petitioners the
Right to Appeal Even in Cases Where

1%.

They Have Raised a Clearly “Debatable”
Claim.

It is beyond dispute that a “properly filed”
State post-conviction proceeding tolls the federal
limitation period for purposes of 28 U.S.C. § 2244(d)(2). It
is also undisputed that Rogers had a state post-conviction
proceeding pending from April 23, 1997 through October
4, 1999, and that Rogers's federal habeas corpus petition
was filed on October 1, 1999.

The court of appeals and the district court
below failed to address the pendency of Rogers’s state
post-conviction motion and its effect in tolling the federal
statute of limitations. As stated above, the Florida state
court accepted, for purposes of analysis, Rogers's
arguments that the state post-conviction statute of
limitations was tolled - arguments that if accepted would
render his Fla. R. Crim. P. 3.850 proceeding timely under
state law (and hence undisputedly a “properly filed”
proceeding for purposes of 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d)(2)). The
Florida court stated in its written opinion that it
“assum[ed] all of what [Rogers] has alleged is true.”
(App. A-23.) The state court therefore accepted that
Rogers’s post-conviction proceeding was timely for
purposes of analysis, and then proceeded to address and
reject Rogers's Brady claim on the merits. The state court
therefore did not find that the Fla. R. 3.850 motion was
procedurally barred.

At the very least, the state court's opinion
amounts to an implicit decision that Rogers's Fla. R. 3.850
petition was a “properly filed” state post-conviction
proceeding. The pendency of that proceeding tolled the
federal limitations period through, and beyond, October
1, 1999, the date on which Rogers filed his federal habeas

-18-

corpus petition. Because the state court reached and
rejected Rogers's claim on the merits, confirming it to be a
“properly filed” proceeding for purposes of 28 U.S.C. §
2244(d)(2), the court of appeals erred in concluding that
Rogers’s federal habeas corpus petition is barred under
the federal statute of limitations. And it defies common
sense for the court of appeals to hold that “reasonable
jurists could [not] debate” whether the state court
proceeding was “properly filed,” when the state court
disposed of a petitioner’s claims on the merits, not on the
basis of any procedural default under state law. Slack,
120 S. Ct. at 1603.

The court of appeals also failed to
recognize that a petitioner has raised a “debatable issue”
when other courts that have faced similar factual
situations have resolved them differently from the district
court below. In Lozada v. Deeds, 498 U.S. 430 (1991) (per
curiam), this Court held that, even though a question may
be well-settled in a particular circuit, the petitioner
satisfies the threshold standard for the certificate of
probable cause where a court in another circuit has
reached a different conclusion. In Lozada, the petitioner
had filed a habeas corpus petition alleging ineffective
assistance of counsel. The district court and court of
appeals held that the petitioner’s failure to allege any
prejudice arising from the ineffective assistance doomed
his claim under well-established Ninth Circuit law, and
so declined to issue a certificate of probable cause. Id. at
431. This Court reversed, holding that “the issue of
prejudice caused by the alleged denial of the right to
appeal could be resolved in a different manner from the
one followed by the District Court,” because “at least two
Courts of Appeals have presumed prejudice in this
situation.” Id. at 432. Thus, the fact that a court in
another circuit has decided a comparable issue in a

-19- -

different manner creates a “debatable issue” under the
Barefoot standard.

Not surprisingly, other courts faced with
facts comparable to those raised here have issued
certificates of appealability. In Lambright, for instance, the
Ninth Circuit issued a certificate of appealability when it
was “arguable that the state court adjudicated the merits
of the claim,” holding that the petitioner “met the
procedural test the Court established in Slack.” Lambright,
220 F.3d at 1027.

And in Smith v. Ward, 209 F.3d 383 (5th Cir.
2000), the Fifth Circuit issued a certificate of appealability
in a case where the state court dismissed a petitioner’s
State post-conviction petition as untimely under state law.
In Smith, the court of appeals acknowledged that, under
circuit precedent, a state post-conviction petition would
be deemed “properly filed” under 28 U.S.C. § 2244(d)(2)
only if it was “submitted according to the state’s
procedural requirements, such as the rules governing
notice and the time and place of filing.’ ” Villegas v.
Johnson, 184 F.3d 467, 469 (5th Cir. 1999). The state court
in Smith rejected the petitioner's claim as untimely
without ever reaching the merits. Nevertheless, the court
of appeals held that an untimely state post-conviction
petition will be deemed- a “properly filed” state
proceeding as long as the state court “accept[s] a
prisoner's application for filing and review[s] it to
determine whether any of the Statutory exceptions to
untimely filing are applicable.” Smith, 209 F.3d at 385; see
also Hall v. Cain, 220 F.3d 1022 (Sth Cir. 2000) (holding
that a state post-conviction proceeding that ultimately
was rejected by the state court as repetitive was a
“properly filed” state proceeding, as long as the state
court “would have to review [the claims] to discern

-20-

whether they actually were repetitive and thus not
subject to review”).

Under the Lambright and Smith holdings,
Rogers's Fla. R. Crim. P. 3.850 petition would be deemed
a “properly filed” state post-conviction proceeding. As in
Lambright, there is -- at the very least - an ambiguity as to
whether the Florida state court accepted Rogers's tolling
arguments and decided his Brady claim on the merits.
And like the Smith case, even if the state court had
rejected Rogers’s Brady claim as untimely under state law,
it is clear that the state court analyzed the exceptions to
the state statute of limitations and considered whether
such exceptions were applicable to the facts of this case.
Because both the Ninth Circuit in Lambright and the Fifth
Circuit in Smith resolved virtually identical cases by
issuing certificates of appealability - the opposite of the
result reached by the district court below -— the court of
appeals erred in concluding that Rogers failed to present
even a “debatable issue” that would support issuance of a
certificate of appealability. —

In sum, Rogers had pending a “properly
filed” state court proceeding that tolled the federal statute
of limitations until October 4, 1999 -- after Rogers filed his
federal habeas corpus petition. The court of appeals was
utterly wrong in its analysis because it overlooked the
significance of the pending state proceeding in relation to
the tolling of the one-year federal statute. The court of
appeals also failed to follow this Court's precedents that
require courts to presume that an ambiguous state court
decision rested on federal grounds, not state procedural
rules, and by inference was a “properly filed” state post-
conviction proceeding. Finally, the court of appeals
clearly erred in denying a certificate of appealability
when other courts faced with similar facts have granted

24. 3

such certificates. Because other courts have resolved
similar disputes differently, by definition it is “debatable
whether the district court was correct in its procedural
ruling.” Slack, 120S. Ct. at 1604.5

CONCLUSION

Justice Kennedy’s opinion for the Court in
Slack, 120 S. Ct. at 1603, provides a fitting conclusion for
this petition: “The writ of habeas corpus plays a vital role
in protecting constitutional rights. In setting forth the
preconditions for issuance of a [certificate of
appealability] under § 2253(c), Congress expressed no
intention to allow trial court procedural error to bar
vindication of substantial constitutional rights on

appe gd

5 Slack states that a certificate of appealability will not
be granted unless the petitioner shows both that the district
court erred in its procedural ruling and that “the petition
states a valid claim of the denial of a constitutional right.”
Because the courts below did not address the merits of
Rogers's claims, it is appropriate for the court of appeals to
address that issue upon remand. Slack, 120 S. Ct. at 1604.
Several courts of appeals have held that a petitioner will
satisfy the merits showing as long as a “quick look’ at the
face of the complaint . . . determine[s] [that] the petitioner
has ‘facially allege[d] the denial of a constitutional right’ ”
Lambright, 220 F.3d at 1026 (citing Jefferson v. Welborn, 222
F.3d 286, 289 (7th Cir. 2000)); see also Franklin v. Hightower,
215 F.3d 1196, 1200 (11th Cir. 2000). Clearly, Rogers’s
habeas corpus petition “facially alleges” two legitimate
claims, and the court of appeals would have no basis for
refusing to grant a certificate of appealability on the merits
prong of the Slack test.

a.

The petition should be granted.
Respectfully submitted,
Jerrel E. Phillips John G. Buchanan III
P.O. Box 14463 Timothy C. Hester*
Tallahassee, FL 32317 Benedict M. Lenhart
(850) 877-8660 Mark E. Porada

January 15, 2001

COVINGTON & BURLING

1201 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20004

(202) 662-6000

* Counsel of Record
Attorneys for Petitioner

APPENDIX

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 00-11743-E

JERRY LANE ROGERS, SR.,

Petitioner-Appellant,
versus

MICHAEL W. MOORE, Secretary of the
Florida Department of Corrections,

D.T. O'NEILL, Warden, Union Correctional
Institution, et al.,

Respondents-
Appellees

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Middle District of Florida

Before EDMONDSON and Hull, Circuit Judges,

A-1

BY THE COURT:

Upon reconsideration of this Court's order dated July 19,
2000, appellant's motion for a certificate of appealability
is DENIED because appellant has not made the requisite
showing. See 28 U.S.C. § 2253(c)(2); Slack v. McDaniel
120 S.Ct. 1595, 1600-01 (2000).

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 00-11743-E

JERRY LANE ROGERS, SR.,

Petitioner-Appellant,

versus

MICHAEL W. MOORE, Secretary of the
Florida Department of Corrections,

D.T. O'NEILL, Warden, Union Correctional
Institution, et al.,

Respondents-
Appellees

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Middle District of Florida

ORDER:

To merit a certificate of appealability,
appellant must show that reasonable jurists would find
debatable both (1) the merits of an underlying claim, and
(2) the procedural issue that was the basis for the district

A-3

court's order of dismissal. See Slack v. McDaniel, 120
S.Ct. 1595, 1604 (2000). Because his petition is plainly
barred by 28 US.C. § 2254’s one-year statute of
limitations, appellant has failed to satisfy the second
prong of Slack. Accordingly, the motion for a certificate
of appealability is DENIED.

/s/ EMMETT R. COX
UNITED STATES CIRCUIT

JUDGE

A+

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
MIDDLE DISTRICT OF FLORIDA
ORLANDO DIVISION
JERRY L. ROGERS, SR.,
Petition,
Vv. Case No. 6:99-cv-1251-Orl-
19A
MICHAEL W. MOORE, et al.,

Respondents.

ORDER

This case is before the Court on the following motion:

MOTION: PETITIONER’S APPLICATION
FOR

CERTIFICATE OF APPEALABILITY
(Doc. No. 21)

FILED: April 3, 2000

THEREON it is ORDERED that the motion is
DENIED.

A-5

Petitioner has not made a_ substantial
showing of the deprivation of any federal constitutional
right.

DONE AND ORDERED in Chambers at
Orlando, Florida, this 5th day of April, 2000.

/s/ Patricia C. Fawsett
PATRICIA C. FAWSETT
UNITED STATES

DISTRICT JUDGE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
MIDDLE DISTRICT OF FLORIDA
ORLANDO DIVISION
JERRY L. ROGERS, SR.,
Petitioner,

vs Case No. 6:99-cv-1251-Orl-
19A

MICHAEL W. MOORE, et ai.,

Respondents.

JUDGMENT IN A CIVIL CASE
Decision by Court. This action came to trial or hearing
before the Court. The issues have been tried or heard and
a decision has been rendered.
IT IS ORDERED AND ADJUDGED ad

that the petitioner, Jerry L. Rogers, Sr., take
nothing and the action be dismissed.

Date: March 6, 2000 SHERYL L. LOESCH,
CLERK

By:_/s/ M. Pleicones

M. Pleicones, Deputy

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
MIDDLE DISTRICT OF FLORIDA
ORLANDO DIVISION
JERRY L. ROGERS, SR.
Petitioner
Vv. CASE NO. 6:99-cv-1251-Orl-19A
MICHAEL W. MOORE, et al.,

Respondents.

ORDER

Petitioner initiated this action for habeas
corpus relief pursuant to 28 U.S.C. section 2254. Upon
consideration of the petition, the Court ordered
Respondents to show cause why the relief sought in the
petition should not be granted. Thereafter, Respondents
filed a timely reply to the petition for writ of habeas
corpus in compliance with this Court's instructions and
with the Rules Governing Section 2254 Cases in the Unite
States District Courts (Doc. No. 13, filed December 23,
1999).

Procedural History

Petitioner was charged by information with
armed robbery. A jury trial was held, and Petitioner was
found guilty as charged in the information. On March 4,
1983, the trial court adjudicated Petitioner guilty of armed
robbery and sentenced Petitioner to imprisonment for a
term of 100 years. Petitioner filed a direct appeal with the

A-8

Florida Fifth District Court of Appeal, which affirmed per
curiam on March 20, 1984. Mandate was issued on April
6, 1984.

On March 12, 1985, Petitioner filed a
motion for postconviction relief with the state trial court,
which was denied on June 24, 1985. Petitioner appealed
the denial, and the state appellate court affirmed the
denial per curiam on July 23, 1985. Mandate was issued
on August 9, 1985.

On December 27, 1985, Petitioner filed a
second motion for postconviction relief with the state trial
court,2 which was denied on March 31, 1986. Petitioner
appealed the denial and the state appellate court affirmed
the denial per curiam on August 5, 1986. Mandate was
issued on August 22, 1986.

1 Although the motion was actually filed with the state trial
court on March 20, 1985, under the “mailbox rule,” it
appears that the motion would be deemed filed on March
12, 1985, the date when the motion was signed and
presumably submitted to the prison authorities. See Haag v.
State, 591 So.2d 614, 617 (Fla. 1992) (“Under the mailbox
rule, a petition or notice of appeal filed by a pro se inmate is
deemed filed at the moment in time when the inmate loses
control over the document by entrusting its further delivery
or procession to agents of the state. Usually, this point
occurs when the inmate places the document in the hands of
prison officials.”); see also Burns v. Morton, 134 F.3d 109, 113
(3rd Cir. 1997) (“[W]e hold that a pro se prisoner's habeas
petition is deemed filed at the moment he delivers it to
prison officials for mailing to the district court.”).

2 That was the filing date under the mailbox rule.

A-9

On April 23, 1997, Petitioner filed a third
motion for postconviction relief with the state trial court,
which was denied on November 30, 1998. Petitioner
appealed the denial, and the state appellate court
affirmed the denial per curiam on August 10, 1999.
Mandate was issued on August 27, 1999.

On December 28, 1998, Petitioner filed a
petition for writ of habeas corpus with the state appellate
court, which was denied on-January 11, 1999. On
September 17, 1999, Petitioner filed a notice to invoke the
discretionary jurisdiction of the Supreme Court of
Florida. On October 4, 1999, the Supreme Court of
Florida dismissed the case for lack of jurisdiction.

Petitioner’s Habeas Petition is Untimely

(1) <A 1-year period of limitation shall apply to an
application for a writ of habeas corpus by a person in
custody pursuant to the judgment of a State court. The
limitation period shall run from the latest of --

(A) the date on which the judgment of conviction
became final by the conclusion in direct review or
the expiration of the time for seeking such review;

(B) the date on which the impediment to filing an
application created by State action in violation of
the Constitution or laws of the United States is
removed, if the applicant was prevented from
filing such State action.

(C) _ the date on which the constitutional right asserted
was initially recognized by the Supreme Court, if
the right has been newly recognized by the
Supreme Court and made retroactively applicable
to cases on collateral review; or

A-10

es ee

(D) the date on which the factual predicate of the
claim or claims presented could have been
discovered through the exercise of due diligence. '

(2) The time during which a properly filed application
for State post-conviction or other collateral review with
respect to the pertinent judgment or claim is pending
shall not be counted toward any period of limitation
under this subsection.

Section 2244(d)(1) went into effect on April
24, 1996. Thus, a prisoner, like Petitioner, whose
conviction became final prior to April 24, 1996, had until
April 23, 1997, absent any tolling, to file a federal habeas
petition regarding such conviction. Wilcox v. Florida
Department of Corrections, 158 F.3d 1209, 1211 (11th Cir.
1998) (petitioners whose convictions become final before
the enactment of the AEDPA must be provided a
reasonable time to file their section 2254 petitions, and
one year from the effective date is a reasonable period).
Petitioner’s initial federal habeas petition was file
stamped by the Clerk’s office on October 1, 1999.

Pursuant to section 2244(d)(2), the one year
period is “tolled” for the time during which a properly
filled state postconviction or collateral proceeding is
pending. However, there was no tolling in this case.
Therefore, Petitioner's October 1, 1999, habeas petition
was not timely filed and must be denied on timeliness
grounds.

The Court is aware that Petitioner filed his
third Rule 3.850 motion on April 23, 1997; that the state
trial court denied the motion on November 30, 1998, and
that the state appellate court affirmed the denial on
August 10, 1999 (issuing mandate on August 27, 1999).

A-11

However, the third motion for postconviction relief was
not properly filed under section 2244(d)(2). “[A] properly
filed application” under section 2244(d)(2) “is one
submitted according to the _ state’s procedural
requirements such as the rules governing the time and
place of filing.” Lavasz v. Vaughn, 134 F.3d 146, 148 (3rd
Cir. 1998). Florida Rule of Criminal Procedure 3.850
provides that a motion for postconviction relief must be
filed with the clerk of the court in which he (or she) was
convicted and sentenced and within two years of when
the judgment and sentence become final. Here, clearly
Petitioner did not file his third motion for postconviction
relief within the two year time limit proscribed by Rule
3.850. Therefore, his third motion for postconviction
relief was not “properly filed” under section 2244(d)(2).
See United States ex rel Morgan v. Gilmore, 26 F. Supp.2d
1035, 1038 (N.D. Ill. 1998) (an untimely state court
petition for leave to appeal the denial of a postconviction
petition did not toll the limitations period for filing a
federal habeas corpus petition; an untimely state court
petitioner was not a “properly filed application” within
the meaning of the tolling provision).3

Similarly, the petition for writ of habeas
corpus filed with the state appellate court had no tolling

3 Moreover, the trial court found that Petitioner’s third
motion for postconviction relief was untimely filed. Thus,
on the basis of the trial court's finding, the third motion for
postconviction relief was not “properly filed” under section
2244(d)(2). See Webster v. Moore, 199 F.3d 1256, 1257 (11th
Cir. 2000) (the state court’s holding that a petitioner's
motion for postconviction relief was time-barred is “due
deference”).

A-12

effect. Since the one year period concluded before
Petitioner initiated his state habeas petition, the tolling
provision of section 2244(d)(2) does not apply. See
Newton v. Strack, No. CV 97-2812 (RJD), 1997 WL 752348,
at *2 (E.D.N.Y. October 15, 1997) (“if the state motion
were filed in excess of one year after the conviction
becomes final), the state motion would be irrelevant to
the limitation calculation. The timing of such a motion is
relevant only if the motion precedes expiration of the
applicable limitations period and therefore is made when |
a habeas petition could also timely be filed.”); see also
Cromwell v. Keane, 33 F. Supp. 2d 282, 285 (S.D.N.Y. 1999)
(“Once the limitations period is expired, collateral
petitions can no longer serve to avoid a statute of
limitations.”); Bingham v. Anderson, 21 F. Supp. 2d 639,
641-42 (S.D. Miss. 1997) (if the petitioner does not “file the
application for writ of habeas corpus in federal court
within one year after the conviction becomes final, plus
the period of time as to which a motion for post
conviction relief is pending, [he or she] waive[s] or lose[s]
[his or her] right to review by federal court.”).

Accordingly, it is hereby ORDERED AND
ADJUDGED as follows:

8 The Petition for Writ of Habeas
Corpus filed by Jerry L. Rogers, Sr. is DENIED, and this
case is DISMISSED WITH PREJUDICE. The Clerk of
the Court shall enter judgment accordingly.

2 The Clerk of the Court is directed to
close this case.

DONE AND ORDERED in Chambers at
Orlando, Florida, this 3rd day of March 2000.

A-13

Copies to:
psic 3/3/
Counsel of Record

s/ Patricia C. Fawsett
PATRICIA C. FAWSETT
UNITED STATES
DISTRICT JUDGE

A-14

IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL OF THE
STATE OF FLORIDA
FIFTH DISTRICT
JULY TERM 1999

JERRY LAYNE ROGERS, SR.,

Appellant,
v. CASE NO. 98-3525
STATE OF FLORIDA,

Appellee.

Decision filed August 10, 1999

3.850 Appeal from the Circuit Court
for Orange County,
A. Thomas Mihok, Judge

John G. Buchanan, III, Timothy C.

Hester, Benedict M. Lenhart, Catherine E.
Long and Glen D. Weinstein of Covington &
Burling, Washington, D.C., and Jerrel Phillips,
Tallahassee, for Appellant.

Robert A. Butterworth, Attorney
General, Tallahassee, and Maximillian J.
Changus, Assistant Attorney General,
Daytona Beach, for Appellee.

A-15

PER CURIAM.
AFFIRMED.

ANTOON, C.J., DAUKSCH AND HARRIS, JJ., concur.

A-16

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE
NINTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT, IN AND
FOR ORANGE COUNTY, FLORIDA

CASE NO. CR82-1963
DIVISION 12

STATE OF FLORIDA,
Plaintiff,

vs.

JERRY LAYNE ROGERS,

Defendant.

ORDER DENYING MOTION FOR POST
CONVICTION RELIEF

This matter came before the Court for
consideration of Defendant's third Motion for Post
Conviction Relief filed on April 23, 1997, pursuant to Rule
3.850, Florida Rules of Criminal Procedure. A hearing
was held on this matter on July 16, 1998. After reviewing
the file, motion, State’s response to the motion,
Defendant's Brief in Support of Argument that
Procedural Bar Does Not Apply, State’s response to that
brief, and Defendant's reply to the State’s response to that
brief, and considering counsels’ arguments, the Court
concludes that summary denial without hearing is
warranted.

A-17

FACTS

Defendant was charged along with co-
defendant, Thomas McDermid, with the armed robbery
of a Captain D’s restaurant in Orlando. At trial,
McDermid, who pled out, testified against Defendant.
Defendant was found guilty and sentenced to 100 years
in the Department of Corrections. This judgment and
sentence was per curiam affirmed without opinion on
appeal. See Rogers v. State, 447 So.2d 1369 (Fla. 5th DCA,
1984).

Defendant subsequently filed a Motion for
Postconviction Relief, pursuant to Florida Rule of
Criminal Procedure 3.850, on March 20, 1985, alleging
ineffective assistance of counsel. That motion was denied
by Order of June 24, 1995, and was affirmed on appeal.
See Rogers v. State, 474 So. 2d 231 (Fla. 5th DCA 1985).
Defendant then submitted a second rule 3.850 motion on
January 3, 1986, again alleging ineffective assistance of
counsel. That motion, by Order of March 28, 1986, was
also denied and subsequently affirmed on appeal. See
Rogers v. State, 492 So. 2d 678 (Fla. 5th DCA 1986).

In April of 1989, pursuant to section
27.7001, Florida Statutes, Capital Collateral Regional
Counsel (“CCR”) undertook to represent Defendant in
regard to a December 1984 murder conviction entered in
St. Johns County for which Defendant was sentenced to
death. Defendant's prior conviction in the Captain D’s
robbery was used as an aggravating factor in his St.
John’s County death sentence. Defendant now submits
this, his third, rule 3.850 motion challenging his
conviction for the Captain D’s Robbery.

ANALYSIS

A-18

Defendant alleges that co-defendant
McDermid confessed (in an unrelated proceeding 10
months after Defendant was sentenced in this case) that
he and Rogers not only committed the robbery for which
they were charged in this case, but also committed many
previous robberies together. Police reports and other
documents reveal that witnesses to those previous
robberies gave physical descriptions of the robbers that
are inconsistent with Rogers’s physical attributes, ie.,
they described McDermid’s accomplice as being taller
than Rogers who is 5’4” tall. Otner documents allegedly
show that witnesses identified a different person, George
William Cope, as McDermid’s accomplice in the previous
robberies. Cope’s height falls within the range described
by all of the witnesses.

Defendant thus argues that these
documents the State had in its possession and failed to
reveal to the defense were exculpatory in that they tend
to show that because McDermid confessed that Rogers
was his accomplice in the previous robberies, and
because Cope, or some other person, more closely
matches the described height of McDermid’s accomplice
in the previous robberies, it is likely that Cope, or some
other person, was actually McDermid’s accomplice in the
previous robberies. It, therefore, follows that because
McDermid’s accomplice in the Captain D’s robbery must
be Cope, or some other person. Thus, Defendant
contends that this evidence is exculpatory and was
withheld by the State in violation of Brady v. Maryland,
373 U.S. 83 (1963).

Normally, a rule 3.850 motion must be filed
within two years of final judgment and sentence. See Fla.
R. Crim. P. 3.850(b). The two-year window for

A-19

Defendant's motion began to run on April 6, 1984, the
date the mandate issued from the Fifth District Court of
Appeal. See Rosado v. State 654 So. 2d 623, 624 (Fla. 5th
DCA 1995) (holding rule 3.850 time rums from issuance
of mandate). Thus, Defendant had until April 6, 1986, to
file a timely rule 3.850 motion regarding this case. He
did, in fact, file two postconviction motions during this
period, and both were properly denied.

CCR, by Defendant’s own admission, did
not represent Defendant until April of 1989 (Def. Br. in
Support of Arguments that Procedural Bar Does Not
apply at 4). Therefore, in this case, CCR could not have
brought a timely rule 3.850 motion on Defendant's behalf
in any event because any rule 3.850 motion filed by CCR
on Defendant's behalf would have been at least three
years outside the express two-year limitation provision in
the rule.

Nevertheless, Defendant claims his motion
is saved in that it falls under the “newly discovered
evidence” exception in rule 3.850(b)(1). Evidence is
“newly discovered” when it could not have been
discovered by a defendant or his attorney within the two-
year time frame upon exercise of due diligence. See Fla.
R. Crim. P. 3.850(b)(1). Still, the two-year limitations
period applies to any newly discovered evidence in that a
defendant is obligated to file his rule 3.850 motion within
two years of actual discovery of that evidence. See
Adams v. State, 543 So. 2d 1244, 1247 (Fla. 1989).

It appears that the police reports alleged to
be “new evidence” could have been discovered, as the
State contends, by a mere public records request.
McDermid’s confession in which he named Rogers as his
accomplice in the previous robberies was made in

A-20

January 1984, well within two years following Rogers's
March 1983 conviction for the Captain D’s robbery. Had
defense counsel exercised due diligence in investigating
these previous robberies by simply submitting a public
records request, counsel would have received all police
reports relating to these robberies which counsel now
alleges are exculpatory. See, e.g., Ziegler v. State, 632 So.
2d 48, 50 (Fla. 1993).

In addition, even if this evidence could not
have been discovered by the exercise of the diligence,
Defendant is still time barred because he did not alert the
Court to this new evidence within two years of actual
discovery. The State correctly points out that Defendant
himself admits that his CCR representative made public
record requests on his behalf to acquire the police reports
in question. (Def. 3.850 Mot. at App. 39). This
correspondence with various police agencies spans from
October 1989 through March 1991. It indicates that, even
using the last date of correspondence, Defendant should
have alerted the Court to this newly discovered evidence
by March of 1993. Presentation of his “new” evidence is,
therefore, several year late.

Defendant also points to testimony
obtained subsequent to his trial from Mathew Armitage
and Roger Wimmer that he alleges implicates Cope in the
Captain D’s robbery. This evidence is also untimely.
Nowhere does Defendant users that these witnesses were
unavailable during discovery in Rogers's trial. Also, the
substance of this testimony is minimally exculpatory at

best.! Introduction of this evidence clearly would not
have changed the verdict rendered against Defendant.

To save his untimely motion, Defendant
asserts that CCR was ineffective in its representation in
that it did not file a rule 3.850 motion on Defendant's
behalf within two years of its discovery of the Brady
materials. (Def. 3.850 Mot. at 59-61). CCR did not
represent Defendant in this case, only in the death case
for which this conviction was used as an aggravator,
however, Defendant alleges that CCR represented that
they would investigate and collaterally attack the
judgment in this case.2, CCR counsel's alleged failure in
this regard does not give rise to a claim of ineffective
assistance of counsel upon which relief may be granted in
a rule 3.850 motion. Therefore, at best, Defendant cites
counsel’s error only as an appeal to this Court's sense of
fairness and equity.

1 Armitage generally states that McDermid once told him
about he and Cope “hitting a seafood place” sometime in
the past. (Def. 3.850 Mot. at 48). Wimmer’s testimony only
suggests that he witnessed McDermid and Cope engage in
drug and gun sales. (Def. 3.850 Mot. at 49).

_ 2 Defendant attaches to his motion a 1989 letter from CCR in

which CCR assured Defendant they would raise all
colorable claims attacking Defendant's sentence in this case

and all other cases used as aggravators in his death case.
(Def. 3.850 Mot. Ex. 43).

3 “[C]laims of ineffective assistance of postconviction
counsel do not present a valid basis for relief.” Lambrix v.
State, 698 So. 2d 247 (Fla. 1996) (citing Murray v. Giarratano,
492 U.S. 1 (1989) (death case); Pennsylvania v. Finley, 481
U.S. 551 (1987)).

A-22

Defendant, no doubt, recognizes that
“fairness” is his best line of defense as it is argued in
considerable detail in Defendant's Brief in Support of
Argument that Procedural Bar Does Not Apply. In that
brief, Defendant submits two theories for equitable relief:
(1) that the two-year limitations period should be
equitably tolled; and (2) that CCR’s inaction and
erroneous advice deprived him of his state-created right
to effective legal representation.

“The doctrine of equitable tolling was
developed to permit under certain circumstances the
filing of a lawsuit that otherwise would be barred by a
limitation period.” Machules v. Department of Admin.,
523 So. 2d 1132, 1133 (Fla. 1988) (citing Bailey v. Glover,
88 U.S. (21 Wall.) 342 (1874)). Equitable tolling may
properly be applied “when the [movant] has been misled
or lulled into inaction” as is alleged here. Id. at 1134.
Still, even assuming all of what Defendant has alleged is
true, neither of his arguments demonstrate that denial of
his motion as untimely would be unfair because even if
this Court finds Defendant's motion to be timely filed, the
allegations contained therein would not suffice to satisfy
the four prong test set out in Brady v. Maryland, 373 U.S.
83 (1963).4

4 Defendants must show: (1) the State possessed material
evidence favorable to him, (2) he did not possess the
evidence nor could he have in the exercise of due diligence;
(3) the evidence was suppressed by the State; (4) had the
evidence been disclosed, a reasonable probability exists that
the outcome of his trial would have been different. See e.g.,
Buenoano v. State, 708 So. 2d 941, 948 (Fla. 1998).

The evidence, even if viewed in a light
most favorable to Defendant, is not “material” as
contemplated by Brady. Evidence is material “only if
there is a reasonable possibility that, had the evidence
been disclosed to the defense, the result of the proceeding
would have been different.” United States v. Bagley, 473
U.S. 667, 682 (1985); see also Gorham v. State, 597 So.2d
782 (Fla. 1992). Had this evidence been disclosed to the
defense, the defense would have been afforded the
opportunity (absent any problems with admissibility) to
make its logically strained argument that because
McDermid’s accomplice in previous crimes might have
been George William Cope instead of Defendant, as
McDermid claimed, then McDermid’s accomplice in the
Captain D’s robbery must also be Cope. This argument,
had the jury been able to understand it, would have been
minimally exculpatory at best. The outcome of the result
of Defendant's trial surely would have bee no different if
it had been presented.

Also, a fundamental flaw exists in
Defendant's argument. He claims that the police were in
possession of exculpatory evidence that should have been
turned over to him as part of discovery prior to his trial.
However, the event that put Defendant on notice that the
State possessed this evidence, so he claims, is an
“omnibus confession” made by co-defendant McDermid
in which McDermid claimed to have committed several
previous robberies with Rogers. This confession was
made ten months after Rogers was sentenced in this case.
The police, therefore, were unaware of McDermid’s
confession at the time of the alleged Brady violation.

Defendant's Brady claim is incomplete
without the link supplied by McDermid’s confession.

A-24

Defendant argues in his motion that the police had in
their possession substantial evidence implicating Cope,
and not Rogers, in the previous robberies. At the time of
discovery in Rogers’s case, this evidence was not relevant
to Rogers because McDermid had not yet confessed. In
other words, absent McDermid’s confession, there was no
way for the State to know that the robberies they had
investigated might bear, in any way, on Rogers’s case. To
argue otherwise suggests that the state is obligated to
turn over all evidence of any other crime they have
investigated previous to the one allegedly committed by a
defendant in the hope that the defense will be able to find
some nexus between the persons being investigated in
those other crimes and the crime with which defendant is
charged that exculpates the defendant. This Court will
not support Defendant's suggestion.

Based on the foregoing, it is hereby
ORDERED:
1. Defendant's Motion for
Postconviction Relief is DENIED.

y Defendant is advised that he has
thirty (30) days from the rendition of
this Order in which to appeal.

3. The Clerk of the Court shall
promptly serve a copy of this Order
upon Defendant including an
appropriate certificate of service.

DONE AND ORDERED in Chambers, at
Orlando, Orange County, Florida this 30 day of Nov.,
1998.

/s/ A. Thomas Mihok

A-25

Honorable A. Thomas Mihok
Circuit Court Judge

A-26

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy
of the foregoing order was furnished by U.S. mail/hand
delivery to the Office of the State Attorney for the Ninth
Judicial Circuit, Post Office Box 1673, Orlando, FL 32802
and to John G. Buchanan, III, Timothy C. Hester, Benedict
M. Lenhart and Catherine E. Long, Attorneys for
Defendant, Covington & Burling, 120 Pennsylvania.
Avenue, N.W., P.O. Box 7566, Washington, D.C. 20004,
on this 30 day of Nov. 1998.

/s/_N. Royer
Judicial Assistant

A-27

SUPREME COURT OF FLORIDA

MONDAY, OCTOBER 4, 1999
JERRY LAYNE ROGERS, "
Petitioner, **CASE NO. 96,623
v. **DISTRICT COURT
OF APPEAL,
**5TH DISTRICT -
NO. 98-3525
STATE OF FLORIDA, =
Respondent. wd

It appearing to the Court that the notice
was not timely filed and- further that it is without
jurisdiction under Article V of the Florida Constitution, it
is ordered that the cause is hereby dismissed on the
Court’s own motion. See Jenkins vs. State, 385 So. 2d
1356 (Fla. 1980).

No motion for rehearing will be entertained

by the Court.
A True Copy H
TEST: cc: Hon. Marilyn N. Beuttenmuller,
Clerk

Hon. Fran Carlton, Clerk

Hon. A. Thomas Mihok, Judge
/s/ D. Causseaury Mr. JohnG. Buchanan, III
Debbie Causseaury Mr. Timothy C. Hester
Acting Clerk, Mr. Benedict M. Lenhart
Supreme Ct Ms. Catherine Long

A-28

Mr. Maximillian J. Changus

A-29

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_1665%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
