# Opposition Brief — Strickland v. Pirie

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_1622%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2001
- **Citation:** 532 U.S. 1051

## Text

2) APR 25 2001

No. 00-1103 OFRCK OF THE CLERK

In the Supreme Court of the Gnited States

MICHAEL D. STRICKLAND, PETITIONER

RICHARD DANZIG, SECRETARY OF THE NAVY, ETAL.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENTS IN OPPOSITION

BARBARA D. UNDERWOOD
Acting Solicitor General
Counsel of Record
STUART E. SCHIFFER
Acting Assistant Attorney
General
ANTHONY J. STEINMEYER
MARK W. PENNAK
Attorneys
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530-0001
(202) 514-2217

QUESTION PRESENTED _ a
Whether petitioner could satisfy the equitable stan :
dards for bringing an action seeking an inju pee
ordering the Navy to invalidate his discharge and _
reinstate him in his military position, without first
attempting to make use of the avenues for review of a
discharge offered by the military.

(I)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Opinions below
Jurisdiction
Statement
Argument
Conclusion
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Amoco Prod. Co. v. Village of Gambell, 480 U.S.

531 (1987) 7
Cavanaugh v. Looney, 248 U.S. 453 (1919) 7
Chappeli v. Wallace, 462 U.S. 296 (1983) ........sessesves 8,9, 11
Chilcott v. Orr, 747 F.2d 29 (1st Cir. 1984) 14
Clinton v. Goldsmith, 526 U.S. 529 (1999) ..........+0++ 7, 11,12
Crane v. Secretary of the Army, 92 F. Supp. 2d

SE Ca TARe sks BOOS ctnseitinininsaccnicsicasrimnansinn site 15
Darby v. Cisneros, 509 U.S. 137 (1993) .. 5, 6, 11
Dowds v. Clinton, 18 F.3d 953 (D.C. Cir. 1994) ..........0+ 15
Gilligan v. Morgan, 413 U.S. 1 (1973) ...... ‘ 9
Goldman v. Weinberger, 475 U.S. 503 (1986) ...........se0e00+ ~
Guerra v. Scruggs, 942 F.2d 270 (4th Cir. 1991) .............. 14

| Guitard v. United States Secretary of Navy, 967 F.2d

UIE nn Gs OUD caeaiccceccccanannatantcimnatsataasagetncesnaninnaancantnaneeaasns 14
Hartikka v. United States, 754 F.2d 1516 (9th Cir.

III dsc la ainda icacenndtnciptcbaieenionsiacbammnsenteuneiatendsenene 14
Hecht Co. v. Bowles, 321 U.S. 321 (1944) ......ccccccseseseseeneeees 7
Mindes v. Seaman, 453 F.2d 197 (5th Cir. 1971) ............. 3
Orloff v. Willoughby, 345 U.S. 83 (1953) ........cceceesesereeseees 8,9
Ostrow v. Secretary of the Air Force, 48 F.3d

Oe Ges BD isisenicbsnkenpchsniinthecineisoncnnnestenctnennccnenscsncees 15
Robertson v. United States, 145 F.3d 1346 (10th

Cir. 1998), cert. denied, 525 U.S. 879 (1999) ..........sssseesees 15

(IIT)

1V

Cases—Continued:
Saad v. Dalton, 846 F. Supp. 889 (S.D. Cal. 1994)

Sampson v. Murray, 415 U.S. 61 (1974) ........ccccee

Schlesinger v. Councilman, 420 U.S. 738

CEUETTED acsisssnenictsiecpanstinetininpsitelitiotiseiicidniiunmaiiesiitamibeibestennasioa
United States v. Stanley, 483 U.S. 669 (1987) ........

Weinberger v. Romero-Barcelo, 456 U.S. 305

CRITEIID ir

Section 723.3(e)(4) .........00 siiniientaiiitsinitaliadibiiisa
SOE -: TED acicicticsinsessricinstatnisceenitniabtaniieisensididiouss Shen
PIII SII: erithisttiesenitaciiesinatiiinitiaghiiibakibaasin eta
SOUND Meme Accs ssttenedasntpnincibsliieipptnieiinedibinash
OE TD chisesctecisitsserenciaiesipaiihtniaiibiamiiiasons
I TI iiacntiahsstiiiiiinniachatilaritiiineaaie ithe
I TD iahtsitinnsactisnitecicintinteadbaicsatinicsia uae
Sle as BE wsckectsccicatcatbaaddiceniadinimasbeees ear
SRE STI Bs Ay esciesiininsdiccnistcitnsnaciionaiciviicidaimaiiinina tied aaa

eeeeeeerere

eeeeeeeeees

In the Supreme Court of the Bnited Sates

No. 00-1103
MICHAEL D. STRICKLAND, PETITIONER

Uv.

RICHARD DANZIG, SECRETARY OF THE NAVY, ETAL.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENTS IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. 1-3) is
unpublished, but the decision is noted at 235 F.3d 1339
(Table). The opinion of the district court (Pet. App. 4-
50) is unreported.

JURISDICTION
The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
October 9, 2000. The petition for a writ of certiorari

was filed on January 4, 2001. The jurisdiction of this
Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

STATEMENT

Petitioner, a former Navy petty officer, brought this
action challenging his administrative “General Dis-
charge under Honorable Conditions.” The district court

(1)

2

granted summary judgment to respondents and dis-
missed the suit. Pet. App. 51-53. The court of appeals
dismissed his appeal. /d. at 2-3.

1. Before his discharge, petitioner had served in the
Navy for 17 years. On March 30, 1998, he was arrested
by the Jacksonville, Florida police on charges of lewd
and lascivious acts in the presence of a child, a second
degree felony under state law. Petitioner was charged
with having walked up to a woman and her children
while they were seated in a car, with his penis exposed
and masturbating. Petitioner contends that he had
merely been shaking sand out of his shorts in a private
area near a beach. Petitioner pleaded nolo contendere
to a charge of indecent exposure, a misdemeanor. He
was placed on 12 months’ probation, fined $1,000, re-
quired to complete 50 hours of community service, and
ordered to have no unsupervised contact with children.
Pet. App. 5-6.

Upon receiving a report of the incident, the Navy
Family Advocacy Program at Naval Station Mayport,
Florida, presented petitioner’s case to a review commit-
tee under Navy regulations. Pet. App. 7. That com-
mittee determined that the case was one of child sexual
abuse and forwarded its determination to the Bureau of
Naval Personnel. The Bureau in turn notified peti-
tioner that he was being considered for administrative
separation “by reason of ‘misconduct due to a civilian
conviction’ and ‘misconduct due to commission of a
serious offense.’” Jd. at 8. At petitioner’s request, an
administrative board was convened and military coun-
sel was appointed for him. After a hearing, the board
found misconduct but recommended that he none-
theless be retained in the Navy. /d. at 8, 10.

The board’s findings and recommendations were
reported to the Chief of Naval Personnel by petitioner’s

3

former commanding officer, who concurred with the =
recommendations. Pet. App. 10. The Chiefof Naval =

Personnel, however, disagreed with the recommenda-
tions and forwarded the case to the Assistant Secretary
of the Navy for a determination. Jd. at 11. The
Assistant Secretary concurred with the Chief of Naval
Personnel and ordered that petitioner be

with a “General Discharge (Under Honorable Condi-
tions).” Jbid. Petitioner’s unit was ordered to dis-
charge him by June 28, 1999. Jd. at 12.

2. Petitioner filed suit in district court, seeking to
enjoin the Navy from discharging him. The district
court initially issued a temporary restraining order
(TRO) prohibiting the Navy from discharging peti-
tioner. Pet. App. 12. The court ultimately extended
the TRO until August 9, 1999. Jbid. After that time,
petitioner’s discharge was held in abeyance by agree-
ment of the parties until the district court ruled on the
case. On January 12, 2000, after having held a hearing,
the district court issued an order denying petitioner’s
motion for a preliminary injunction and granting
summary judgment to respondents. /d. at 51-53. We
are informed that petitioner was discharged on
February 3, 2000.

The district court applied the substantive standards
governing review of an internal military decision set
forth in the Fifth Circuit’s decision in Mindes v. Sea-
man, 453 F.2d 197 (1971). Under those standards, the
availability of such review depends on (1) “[t]he nature
and strength of the plaintiff’s challenge to the military
determination,” (2) “(t]he potential injury to the plain-
tiff if review is refused,” (3) “(t]he type and degree of
anticipated interference with the military function,”
and (4) “(t]he extent to which the exercise of military

4

expertise or discretion is involved.” Jd. at 201; see Pet.
App. 28-29.

With respect to the first factor, the district court
extensively analyzed and rejected petitioner’s several
claims that the procedures used in his separation
violated Navy regulations. Pet. App. 30-35. The court
also rejected petitioner’s claim that his separation
violated principles of fundamental fairness because he
had pleaded nolo contendere to the state criminal
charge in reliance on a statement by his ship’s legal
officer that he would not be processed for separation if
he did so. The court held that petitioner’s contention,
which was similar to a claim of estoppel against the
government, failed because Navy regulations “clearly
indicate[] that [petitioner] would be processed for
separation for a civilian conviction” and because there
was no evidence that anyone had “deliberately misled”
petitioner. Jd. at 39. Finally, the court rejected peti-
tioner’s procedural due process claim on the ground
that petitioner had no liberty or property interest in his
military position. /d. at 41.

With respect to the second Mindes factor, the court
held that “the harm to [petitioner], although significant,
is not irreparable.” Pet. App. 43. The court relied on
the existence of further internal Navy remedies that
were available to petitioner, such as review before the
Board for Correction of Naval Records (BCNR). The
court explained that “[iJf an error were found sufficient
to warrant correction of [petitioner’s] misconduct
processing and discharge, he could be made whole by
later rulings of the BCNR or in a court.” Jd. at 43-44.
See also id. at 44-46.

With respect to the third and fourth Mindes factors,
the court found “that the potential interference with
[respondents’] ability to efficiently manage Naval per-

5

sonnel is great when a court interferes in a decision to
separate enlisted personnel.” Pet. App. 44; see also id.
at 47 (“{AJn involuntary separation from the military
has as its primary focus the preservation of the integ-
rity and fighting fitness of the armed forces.”). The
court found that the fourth factor “balances against
[petitioner], because this case clearly involves military
discretion exercised in matters of military personnel
moral[e] and discipline.” Jd. at 44.

3. The court of appeals affirmed in an unpublished
per curiam decision. Applying the Mindes test for
justiciability, which includes both the substantive
standards applied by the district court and procedural
elements concerning whether the servicemember has
invoked internal military remedies, the court stated
that dismissal for lack of jurisdiction was required
because petitioner had “failed to exhaust his admin-
istrative remedy before the Board for Correction of
Naval Records.” Pet. App. 2. The court also stated
that petitioner’s request for an injunction barring his
separation from the Navy is moot, because “[petitioner]
already has been discharged from the service.” /d. at 3.

ARGUMENT

The court of appeals’ decision is correct and does not
conflict with any decision of this Court or of any other
court of appeals. Further review is not warranted.

1. Petitioner’s principal argument (Pet. 8) is that the ©
court of appeals’ decision conflicts with this Court’s
decision in Darby v. Cisneros, 509 U.S. 137 (1993). This
Court held in Darby that, in cases brought under the
Administrative Procedure Act (APA), 5 U.S.C. 701 et
seq., the courts may apply the traditional doctrine of
exhaustion of administrative remedies “only when
expressly required by statute or when an agency rule

6

requires appeal before review and the administrative
action is made inoperative pending that review.” 509
U.S. at 154. The Court relied for that conclusion on
Section 10(c) of the APA, which provides that “agency
action otherwise final is final for the purposes of
[obtaining judicial review] whether or not there has
been presented or determined an application * * *,
unless the agency otherwise requires by rule and
provides that the action meanwhile is inoperative, for
an appeal to superior agency authority.” 5 U.S.C. 704.
In this case, the Navy has not required by rule that
sailors must bring their claims to the BCNR or other
internal review mechanisms before their separation is
final, and it has not provided that separation of a sailor
from the Navy will be “inoperative” until any such
review is completed.

a. Darby established that the general doctrine of
exhaustion of administrative remedies applies in APA
cases only under the circumstances specified in Section
10(c). But this Court noted in Darby that “federal
courts may be free to apply, where appropriate, other
prudential doctrines of judicial administration to limit
the scope and timing of judicial review.” 509 U.S. at
146. One such doctrine is the traditional equitable rule
that federal courts must weigh the public interest and
consider the hardship that an injunction would impose
before granting relief. That rule has particular force in
cases involving the military, in which interference—
especially premature interference—by a court can
implicate serious separation of powers concerns.

For example, in Weinberger v. Romero-Barcelo, 456
U.S. 305, 329-330 (1982), plaintiffs sued to enjoin the
Navy from discharging wastes in violation of the Clean
Water Act. This Court held that a court “should pay
particular regard for the public consequences in

7

employing the extraordinary remedy of injunction,” and
it noted that “[aJn injunction should issue only where
the intervention of a court of equity ‘is essential in
order effectually to protect property rights against
injuries otherwise irremediable.’” Jd. at 312 (quoting
Cavanaugh v. Looney, 248 U.S. 453, 456 (1919)). More-
over, the Court relied on the existence of an alternative
non-judicial remedy—the possibility that the Navy
could apply for and obtain a permit for its discharges—
in holding that the district court was not required to
issue an injunction against the Navy. See also Amoco
Prod. Co. v. Village of Gambell, 480 U.S. 531, 542-544 &
n.8 (1987) (noting that the existence of alternative
means to obtain statutory goal militated against injunc-
tion); Hecht Co. v. Bowles, 321 U.S. 321, 329 (1944) (“A
grant of jurisdiction to issue compliance orders hardly
suggests an absolute duty to do so under any and all
circumstances.”). Those principles do not conflict with
Darby, and they fully justify the refusal by the courts
below to interfere with military discipline and person-
nel actions while internal military avenues of relief
remain available. Cf. Clinton v. Goldsmith, 526 U.S.
529, 537-540 (1999) (holding injunctive relief under the
All Writs Act unavailable because of existence of alter-
native avenues of relief).

When a servicemember seeks to obtain an injunction
in a matter affecting the relationship between the .
servicemember and military superiors, there is a para-
mount public interest in avoiding judicial interference
—especially premature judicial interference—in inter-
nal military affairs. That public interest rests both on
the public interest in the military’s ability to maintain
discipline and thereby serve its function of protecting
the Nation’s security and on the separation of powers
concerns that are necessarily implicated by undue

8

judicial intrusion into internal military affairs. Accord-
ingly, the public interest in avoiding an injunction in
cases like this is at its apex. Applying the traditional
equitable principles recognized in cases such as
Romero-Barcelo, a court therefore would ordinarily
abuse its discretion in issuing an injunction—and,
therefore, in entertaining a suit for an injunction—
when the servicemember’s alleged injury can be
redressed by internal military means.’

i. The military services play a crucial role in pro-
tecting the national security. “To prepare for and
perform its vital role, the military must insist upon a
respect for duty and a discipline without counterpart in
civilian life.” Schlesinger v. Councilman, 420 U.S. 728,
757 (1975). Having developed as a result of “centuries
of experience,” Chappell v. Wallace, 462 U.S. 296, 300
(1983), the “military exigencies” that require such disci-
pline are “as powerful now as in the past.” Schlesinger,
420 U.S. at 757. Indeed, “[t]he essence of military
service ‘is the subordination of the desires and interests
of the individual to the needs of the service.’” Goldman
v. Weinberger, 475 U.S. 503, 507 (1986) (quoting Orloff
v. Willoughby, 345 U.S. 83, 92 (1953)). In short, “no
military organization can function without strict disci-
pline and regulation that would be unacceptable in a
civilian setting.” Chappell, 462 U.S. at 300.

The “heirarchical structure of discipline and obedi-
ence to command” is “unique in its application to the
military establishment and wholly different from civil-
ian patterns.” Chappell, 462 U.S. at 300; see also Orloff,
345 U.S. at 94 (“The military constitutes a specialized
community governed by a separate discipline from that

1 The same principles apply a fortiori to the issuance of tempo-
rary or preliminary relief in such cases. See note 4, infra.

9

of the civilian.”). Because undue outside intervention in
the system of military command risks compromising
that structure, the judiciary must be “scrupulous not to
interfere with legitimate [military] matters.” Orloff,
345 U.S. at 94. “Civilian courts must, at the very least,
hesitate long before entertaining a suit which asks the
court to tamper with the established relationship
between enlisted military personnel and their superior
officers; that relationship is at the heart of the necessar-
ily unique structure of the Military Establishment.”
Chappell, 462 U.S. at 300.

ii. In addition to the special needs of military disci-
pline, core constitutional separation-of-powers princi-
ples also require courts to exercise exceptional caution
before intervening in internal military matters. The
Constitution grants plenary authority to Congress “[t]o
raise and support Armies,” “[t]o provide and maintain a
Navy,” and “[t]o make Rules for the Government and
Regulation of the land and naval Forces.” U.S. Const.
Art. I, § 8, Cls. 12-14. It also provides that “(t]he
President shall be Commander in Chief of the Army
and Navy of the United States.” Jd. Art. II, § 2, Cl. 1.
Because such broad authority over military matters
and personnel is entrusted to Congress and the
President—not to the courts—“[o]rderly government
requires that the judiciary be as scrupulous not to
interfere with legitimate Army matters as the Army |
must be scrupulous not to intervene in judicial
matters.” Orloff, 345 U.S. at 94. Indeed, “(t]he com-
plex, subtle, and professional decisions as to the com-
position, training, equipping, and control of a military
force are essentially professional military judgments,
subject always to civilian control of the Legislative and
Executive Branches.” Gilligan v. Morgan, 413 U.S. 1,
10 (1973).

10

iii. Because of the exceptional dangers posed by
undue—and, in particular, premature—judicial inter-
vention in military personnel matters, the public inter-
est, which is always a factor of overriding importance in
exercising equity jurisdiction, generally prohibits
courts from issuing injunctions in cases in which inter-
nal military remedies are available to address the
plaintiff servicemember’s complaint. That does not
mean that courts have no role to play in enforcing
constitutional and statutory requirements applicable to
servicemembers. But “judicial inquiry into, and hence
intrusion upon, military matters,” United States v.
Stanley, 483 U.S. 669, 682 (1987), should be avoided in
cases in which a servicemember has alternative, intra-
service remedies available.

b. This case provides a typical instance in which
judicial intrusion into military matters is impermissible.
Petitioner has made no effort to avail himself of at least
two administrative processes—the BCNR and the Dis-
charge Review Board—that could have remedied any
violation of law that took place in his separation from
the Navy. Indeed, these expert bodies offer not only
the expertise in military matters not possessed by a
district court, but also the ability to develop an admin-
istrative record that would likely assist in any ultimate
judicial review sought by petitioner. Most importantly,
however, the investigation and resolution of petitioner’s
claims by those bodies would not be an unwanted and
potentially damaging interference with military disci-
pline, but would instead be an invocation of an available
procedure that is within the structure of internal mili-
tary remedies that Congress has specifically provided. .

i. First, the BCNR has statutory authority to
“correct any military record * * * when [it] considers
it necessary to correct an error or remove an injustice.”

11

10 U.S.C. 1552(a)(i). A claimant or the claimant’s heir
may “file[] a request for the correction within three
years after he discovers the error or injustice,”
although the Board may excuse failure to satisfy that
limitations period “if it finds it to be in the interest of
justice.” 10 U.S.C. 1552(b).? The function of the BCNR
is to determine “the existence of error or injustice,” and
when appropriate, “to make recommendations to the
Secretary” of the Navy. 32 C.F.R. 723.2(b). The BCNR
has the authority to consider claims of “constitutional,
statutory and/or regulatory violations.” 32 C.F.R.
723.3(e)(4). The Secretary of the Navy, upon receipt of
a BCNR recommendation, is empowered to “direct such
action as he or she determines to be appropriate.” 32
C.F.R. 723.7(a). The Secretary thus may order rein-
statement, back pay, promotion, or any other relief he
finds “appropriate.” See Goldsmith, 526 U.S. at 538;°
Chappell, 462 U.S. at 301-303.

2 Petitioner accordingly would have three years from the date
of his discharge in February 2000 to file a claim before the BCNR.

3 Clinton v. Goldsmith, supra, presented the question whether
the Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces, acting in aid of its
jurisdiction over appeals from some courts-martial, had jurisdic-
tion under the All Writs Act, 28 U.S.C. 1651(a), to enjoin the Presi-
dent and other officials from dropping an officer from the rolls.
During the oral argument in Goldsmith, the government stated -
that “under this Court’s decision in Darby v. Cisneros, unless there
is a specific statutory or regulatory requirement of exhaustion, the
servicemember need not, before bringing an APA action, exhaust
* * * the provided administrative remedy, such as the BCMR.
He can do it, but he can also make a challenge to the actual decision
to drop him from the rolls.” Tr. at 11, Clinton v. Goldsmith, supra
(No. 98-347). The Court, however, recognized in Darby the con-
tinued application of “other prudential doctrines of judicial admini-
stration to limit the scope and timing of judicial review” in APA
actions. 509 U.S. at 146. For the reasons given in this brief,

12

Second, the Discharge Review Board also has broad
powers under 10 U.S.C. 1553. While the Discharge
Board may not reinstate a discharged or dismissed
serviceman, it is authorized to “change a discharge or
dismissal, or issue a new discharge, to reflect its
findings.” 10 U.S.C. 1553(b). See also 32 C.F.R.
724.202(a)(2). The function of the Discharge Board is,
inter alia, to correct any “injustice or inequity in the
discharge issued.” 32 C.F.R. 724.203(b). Such review is
conducted on the basis of military records and “such
other evidence as may be presented to the board,”
including evidence that may be presented “in person or
by affidavit.” 32 C.F.R. 724.202(a)(3). Aggrieved per-
sons may be represented by counsel or by other per-
sons. Ibid. The jurisdiction of the Discharge Review
Board includes all discharges other than those pursuant
to general court-martial. 32 C.F.R. 724.107. A

longstanding equitable doctrines governing the issuance of injunc-
tions ordinarily preclude courts from granting such relief so long as
internal military remedies are available. ~

In its opinion in Goldsmith, the Court noted that one reason
that All Writs Act jurisdiction was not available to the plaintiff
was that the plaintiff had alternative remedies available—either
“to present his claim to the Air Force Board for Correction of
Military Records,” 526 U.S. at 538, or to the federal courts either
on APA review of the Board’s decisior or in a suit for money
damages under the Tucker Act, id. at 539-540. The Court thus
recognized and relied upon the fact that judicial review is available
after a decision of the Board of Corrections, a proposition that is
entirely consistent with the position taken in this brief. It is
noteworthy that the Court did not suggest that a district court
could exercise jurisdiction over the decision to drop the plaintiff
from the rolls prior to a decision by the Board of Corrections;
nothing in Goldsmith accordingly suggests that a district court
could properly exercise jurisdiction over the analogous decision in
this case to discharge petitioner.

t

servicemember has up to 15 years to apply for such
review. 32 C.F.R. 724.205(b). Thus, the Discharge
Review Board could change petitioner’s discharge:to a
fully honorable discharge if the law or equities in his
case so required.

ii. It is worth emphasizing that the facts that inter-
nal military remedies may take some time to operate,
and that petitioner may in the meantime be separated
from the service, do not warrant permitting him to
proceed directly to district court. In Romero-Barcelo,
for example, the alternative remedy on which the Court
relied (the ability of the military to apply for and obtain
a discharge permit) would not have remedied the
existing violation of law as quickly as a simple order by
the district court, perhaps even as a matter of tempo-
rary or preliminary relief, to the military to cease its
discharges. Nonetheless, the Court held that the
alternative remedy may be sufficient to warrant the
court’s withholding cf injunctive relief. Here, the
public interest in avoiding undue intrusion by the
judiciary in internal military discipline is of overarching
importance. So long as internal military remedies are
available to petitioner, the fact that their invocation
may take some time (as, of course, would district court
litigation) does not justify a court’s exercise of its
equity jurisdiction.‘

* It is difficult to conceive of circumstances in which a district
court would be warranted in granting a temporary restraining
order or preliminary injunction in a federal military personnel
matter. Such forms of preliminary relief are necessarily tentative,
and the fact that they are subject to change later in the litigation
serves to make them particularly threatening to the ability of the
military command structure to administer military personnel in

14

ec. In any event, further review in this case is unwar-
ranted. The Fifth Circuit’s decision is unpublished, and
it therefore does not have full precedential effect even
in the Fifth Circuit. See 5th Cir. R. 47.5.4. Petitioner

the interests of the Nation’s security.

In a case involving the discharge of a federal civilian employee,
this Court has held that a lower court would be “quite wrong in
routinely applying * * * the traditional standards governing
more orthodox ‘stays.’” Sampson v. Murray, 415 U.S. 61, 83-84
(1974). To obtain such relief, a federal civilian employee “at the
very least must make a showing of irreparable injury sufficient in
kind and degree to override the[] factors cutting against the
general availability of preliminary injunctions in Government per-
sonnel cases.” Jd. at 84. This Court “ha[s] held that an insuffi-
ciency of savings or difficulties in immediately obtaining other
employment—external factors common to most discharged em-
ployees and not attributable to any unusual actions relating to the
discharge itself—will not support a finding of irreparable injury,
however severely they may affect a particular individual.” Jd. at
92 n.68. It follows a fortiori that temporary or preliminary relief in
the even more sensitive context of personnel actions affecting
members of the military are likely to be unavailable. See, e.g.,
Guitard v. United States Secretary of Navy, 967 F.2d 737, 742 (2d
Cir. 1992) (holding that Sampson “applies with as much or greater
force in the case of a military discharge”); Guerra v. Scruggs, 942
F.2d 270, 274 (4th Cir. 1991) (holding that “Sampson’s higher
requirement of irreparable injury should be applied in the military
context given the federal courts’ traditional reluctance to interfere
with military matters”); Hartikka v. United States, 754 F.2d 1516,
1518 (9th Cir. 1985) (holding that Sampson requires the plaintiff to
“make a much stronger showing of irreparable harm than the
ordinary standard for injunctive relief”); Chilcott v. Orr, 747 F.2d
29, 34 (1st Cir. 1984) (holding that “the prospect of a general
discharge under honorable conditions is not an injury of sufficient
magnitude to warrant an injunction”). In sum, neither the irrepa-
rable injury nor the public interest prongs of the familiar four-part
test for temporary injunctive relief will be satisfied in an action
seeking to enjoin a military personnel decision.

15

claims (Pet. 9) that the decision in this case conflict
with Dowds v. Clinton, 18 F.3d 953 (D.C. Cir. 1994)
(Table), but that decision too is unpublished, and it
likewise lacks precedential effect. See D.C. Cir. R. 28(c)
(“Unpublished orders or judgments of this court,
including explanatory memoranda and sealed opinions,
are not to be cited as precedent.”). Accordingly, there
is no conflict in the circuits.

2. Petitioner claims (Pet. 10) that the court of
appeals erred in finding that his claim for a permanent
injunction precluding his discharge was moot. Peti-
tioner had been discharged by the time the court of
appeals issued its decision. He offers no reason why his
claim for a permanent injunction prohibiting his dis-
charge was therefore not moot. As petitioner notes
(Pet. 11), his claim for reinstatement was not moot. But
the court of appeals dismissed his appeal with respect
to that claim because of his failure to seek a remedy
before the BCNR, not because of mootness. The court
of appeals’ mootness holding was accordingly correct
and does not warrant further review.

3. Petitioner’s remaining contentions are that the
district court erred in its analysis of petitioner’s claim
that his discharge violated the Due Process Clause

5 Two other appellate decisions have addressed similar or re- |
lated issues, but they also were unpublished. Robertson v. United
States, 145 F.3d 1346 (10th Cir. 1998) (Table), cert. denied, 525 U.S.
879 (1999); Ostrow v. Secretary of the Air Force, 48 F.3d 562 (D.C.
Cir. 1995) (Table). The reported district court decisions are split.
Compare Saad v. Dalton, 846 F. Supp. 889, 891 (S.D. Cal. 1994)
(“{rjeview of military personnel actions * * * is a unique context
with specialized rules limiting judicial review”), with, e.g., Crane v.
Secretary of the Army, 92 F. Supp. 2d 155, 162 (W.D.N.Y. 2000)
(reviewing merits of discharge case despite availability of internal
military remedies).

16

(Pet. 12-18) and that his discharge violated the APA
because it was arbitrary and capricious (Pet. 18-22) and
not supported by substantial evidence (Pet. 23-25).
Those fact-bound contentions were not addressed by
the court of appeals, and they are therefore not ripe for
review by this Court. Petitioner is free to press those
claims on their merits before the BCNR, which has
the authority to consider claims of “constitutional,
statutory and/or regulatory violations.” 32 C.F.R.
723.3(e)(4). He may then seek judicial review of the
resolution of those claims.

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.
Respectfully submitted.

BARBARA D. UNDERWOOD
Acting Solicitor General

STUART E. SCHIFFER
Acting Assistant Attorney

General :
- ANTHONY J. STEINMEYER

MARK W. PENNAK

Attorneys

APRIL 2001

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_1622%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
