# Opposition Brief — Connecticut ex rel. Blumenthal v. Department of the Interior

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_1557%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2001
- **Citation:** 532 U.S. 1007

## Text

ee er,

|
|
|

uprezoe Court, U.S.
FILED

a ~ 283 200)

No. 00-1032

se sac renee rn ree aN aK |

a

Jn the Supreme Court of the United States

STATE OF CONNECTICUT,
EX REL. RICHARD BLUMENTHAI
ATTORNEY GENERAL OF CONNECTIC!
PETITIONERS

}"

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF THE INTERIO!

ETAL.

( \ PI} / / / /t \ } ( Pe A lj R] ] { )F be
TO THE UNITED STATES COUR

FOR THE SECOND CIR

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

BARB 1). |
ct S for ¢
or i Re
if 4

Cré vera

ROGER MARTELLA
ELIZABETH ANN PETERSO)?
M. ALICE THURSTON
Attorney:
Departn ent of Just
Washington, D.C. 20530-0001

(202) ol 4 221

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

In 1988, Congress enacted the Connecticut Indian
Land Claims Settlement Act (Settlement Act), 25
U.S.C. 1751 et seg. The Settlement Act provided for
federal recognition of the Mashantucket Pequot Indian
Tribe (Tribe). In addition, in exchange for extinguish-
ing the Tribe’s claim of aboriginal title to hundreds of
acres of land, the Act established a fund for the pur-
chase of certain lands by the Tribe. The Act identified
boundaries within which any lands acquired by the
Tribe with those settlement funds would be held in
trust by the Secretary of the Interior and become part
of the Tribe’s reservation. The question presented is as
follows:

Whether the Settlement Act precludes the Secretary
of the Interior from exercising her general authority
pursuant to Section 5 of the Indian Reorganization Act,
25 U.S.C. 465, and regulations issued thereunder, to
take lands into trust for the benefit of the Tribe with
respect to lands that were not acquired by the Tribe
with settlement funds and that lie outside the bounda-
ries of the reservation established by the Settlement
Act.

(I)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Opinions DeE]OW .........-sessessesseesssnssnssnsensnnseneesnenncsnssnssnssncsnennennennenees 1
Fear tBeth I ..necccocecocccscasasacscsssnscsnssssesecsnssssssesoncssesssacsncosssscscenseseseseses 1
BtatemMent ..2.....cccccccccsccsessescecsssescesecsscsecsscsscsscsscsscssssosssenssessscssensscesss 2
ATguMent .......ccccccecesesesesesseseseessnsnessssensnssnersnsessnsnsnenesenenesessanenanenanens 11
COMUIBEOT onccacecccccncescscsscccsassessesesessscssesscsnsssncsscessnssensocsessseossossesneses 21
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:
Alaska Pac. Fisheries v. United States, 248 U.S.
TB CAGUB) cnccenccccssecscacssssascsssecsannscsnsccsscesesencossssoosnrcssscncncssnssooes 17
Choctaw Nation v. United States, 318 U.S. 423

CIGD) cnccscnccenacccocnccsasnacssnnsscsnonsennsecsnsessosssnssnsasaasnqscscssososscconssnesns 17
Choate v. Trapp, 224 U.S. 665 (1912) ......cccscssseseeseseseeeenees 17
County of Oneida v. Oneida Indian Nation,

470 US. BBB (1GBB) nncccrcsnsccncrececesesscsscssscscscsssescscsscscesscsssssocses 16
County of Yakima v. Confederated Tribes & Bands

of the Yakima Indian Nation, 502 U.S. 251

ETI. sccxssunntcssnncssecssnonssesnnndusinestatninisedetndsessvetensesinetenesanesasaniasstes 16
Good Samaritan Hosp. v. Shalala, 508 U.S. 402

(DGB) ccnccaceccannscssssessccsccsncssonscnsssoscsnccnssesssncesensnssssscosscconssscsssoesess 19
Hagen v. Utah, 510 U.S. 399 (1994) ........eccecesesseseseseeenenens 16
McClanahan v. Arizona State Tax Comm’n,

BAT UB, BOG CAGTID cecercccrecnsncrenscrsenscesssssocssssnnsscasessesnnsensnsassens 17
Montana v. Blackfeet Tribe, 471 U.S. 759 (1985) ..........+.. 16
Oregon Dep't of Fish & Wildlife v. Klamath Indian

Tribe, 473 U.S. 758 (1985) ........ccccccccscrcscsesscresecscrccessssessese 10, 17
Rodriguez v. United States, 480 U.S. 522 (1987) ........-0++: 12
Rust v. Sullivan, 500 U.S. 173 (1991) ......ccccccccceseseeeneeeeeees 10
Smiley v. Citibank (S.D.), N.A., 517 U.S. 735 (1996) ..... 19
Three Affiliated Tribes of the Fort Berthold Reservation

v. Wold E'ng’g, 467 U.S. 138 (1984) .......ccceseseseneeesenenees 16-17
Virginia Military Inst. v. United States, 508 U.S.

OG CRG aiccicosasccssinsrncscscrnsnsccnssnssessensnonsessessensnsensssssenscnsconnssents 20
Wisconsin v. City of New York, 517 U.S. 1 (1996) ........... 19

(IIT)

IV

Statutes and regulations: Page
Administrative Procedure Act, 5 U.S.C. 702 ........cccceceseees 6
Coastal Zone Management Act of 1972, 16 U.S.C.

BOGE 66 BOG. cecinsnsnsrnersecsnssssenensnsisinnnernenonnsianasnenmelaesasecssatrsanintannts 6
Connecticut Indian Land Claims Settlement Act of

ROR, BI STFC. TTR OE IG sseccccsstesennsccnsarsnninsneseniansaneninnssnse 2

Se a UD seta nip hiesciesntesketasenieclniactincinbinsdaiemcontenaani 16
Bee Ge IID eecnsdienntcicnniotaniccenennaninrnicseniiisignintniananticis 2, 3, 12
TE Fa, TD eiiiticcneicnsiklacsscrstinndssinmnisiecinniaaninnaniion 3
BE ES ia: TD iscdaesissicessccsineenncguinnidosnetalaitcsntiananeinciiaiatiions 2,13
BEE re I etait cca ccintininsesninsesiinicnnnsnecniaciiandiatniegs 2
I Tic: TUE anisanicis bnsiniteadsisainsninninninamsnnvintaniodamannntios 2,3, 11, 12
BE TE TR FOGG vicseiiieeniccsinnnetinsenianninianenn 3, 8, 11, 12, 13, 14
UE BD witch ttcnieneietemnmncnns 11
STFA, SO aieciechecsinitininsenteisintaiiinneiaandinetiniaasionenien 3, 12
SE TEE, Te cic nictecitiinsicetesnninnncinnninesiiancennniensiion 3
Oe SE TD etcicneccnnteinsnssncitsctantasinsnignenssiniinns 8,14, 15
OE EE EE. TID setstensntnciscasiscaincnnscisnmseennpinnitninnie 3, 8,15
25 U.S.C. 1TEAQDMB) ......0....cccrceseeseees 3, 7, 8, 9, 11, 12, 14, 15
BD UF aa NE haictcrtsnnscnnsnisniinntdaninnninininsnteniiienttanioatainavitaniti 2
Ee He icisitsicensntistesitinnesitiicinctanatinpsainirrcstnaticaiial 4,13
Indian Gaming Regulatory Act, 25 U.S.C. 2701 «2.2... 4
Indian Land Consolidation Act, 25 U.S.C 2202 et seq. ....... 13

FD UE TAs GED sieniisiistidansansersndaiecntanainiiniinieniannisnsnmininnsininoian 13
Indian Reorganization Act, 25 U.S.C. 461 et seq.:

9G Be Ua GE cictennicsntiscstnitirnsiens 4, 5,6, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 20

OF TE Ie erencitcnieissasieretncctinsennimianeninsibanitcepininindanis 13-14
Maine Indian Claims Settlement Act, 25 U.S.C. 1721

00 BOE. cxeccessrercnsesniceninnennnsnnnicssacminnensacagaasnansssensnsssessensnnneianenensnte 9

Te BOG sidiicnieltiiiintiininiiemeane 12
National Environmental Policy Act of 1969,

BB UI ER, GEE 6b COG, ccctacssenscnnnimncegusiertitmennannnnisiantanueasnasinanaans 6
National Gambling Impact Study Commniaaion Act,

Pub. L. No. 104-169, 110 Stat. 1482 ................sccscsssseseseeeees 18
Trade and Intercourse Act , 25 U.S.C.177 w...cecccccceeeeseeees 2
18 U.S.C. 1151 ceils seiipapadiieantaaminiiamial 5
ie 0s -pitesinieninenienienicceneniiniomincianiionnbinnion 4

a TEED cccnnimrsniininnsrnsncinicnennttanaciniinnnisenniaiiataninnamsasinsnin 4

eats BERET senntininssinecsensnennttsnvinnnenanciansncunenineninetenannsnnntintin 5

Miscellaneous: Page

Final Report of the National Gambling Impact Study
Camanstasion Gully 18, 1BGG) ...<.ccccccscscscsscecssciscccssosscrnssnsseones 18

H.R. Rep. No. 43, 98th Cong., Ist Sess. (1983) .........00 14,15

S. Rep. No. 222, 98th Cong., Ist Sess. (1983) ........ceceseeeeees 15

In the Supreme Court of the Gnited States

No. 00-1032

STATE OF CONNECTICUT,
EX REL. RICHARD BLUMENTHAL,
ATTORNEY GENERAL OF CONNECTICUT, ET AL.,
PETITIONERS

v.

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF THE INTERIOR,
ET AL.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. la-22a)
is reported at 228 F.3d 82. The opinion of the district
court (Pet. App. 23a-47a) is reported at 26 F. Supp. 2d
397.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
September 25, 2000. The petition for a writ of certiorari
was filed on December 22, 2000. The jurisdiction of this
Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

(1)

STATEMENT

1. Prior to 1983, the State of Connecticut recognized
the Mashantucket Pequot Tribe (Tribe) as the sole suc-
cessor to the aboriginal Western Pequot Tribe, which
formerly occupied portions of western Connecticut.
The Tribe had an existing, State-recognized reservation
of approximately 200 acres near the Towns of Ledyard,
Preston, and North Stonington, Connecticut. In 1976,
the Tribe filed a federal lawsuit against certain private
land owners, claiming that in 1855 Connecticut had
transferred nearly 800 acres of the Tribe’s land without
congressional approval, in violation of the Trade and
Intercourse Act, now codified at 25 U.S.C. 177. The
lawsuit clouded title to hundreds of acres of land in
Connecticut. The State intervened as a third-party
defendant. The parties subsequently negotiated a
settlement, which was later ratified by Congress in the
Connecticut Indian Land Claims Settlement Act of 1983
(Settlement Act), 25 U.S.C. 1751 et seg. Pet. App. 5a.

The Settlement Act extinguished the Tribe’s claim
of aboriginal title to hundreds of acres of land. 25
U.S.C. 1753. In exchange, the Act provided for federal
recognition of the Tribe, 25 U.S.C. 1758; established a
settlement fund to enable the Tribe to acquire certain
additional lands, 25-U.S.C. 1754; and identified bounda-
ries within which any lands acquired by the Tribe with
settlement funds would be held in trust by the Secre-
tary of the Interior and become part of the Tribe’s
reservation, 25 U.S.C. 1752(3). The Act defined the
Tribe’s reservation to include the 200-acre reservation
previously recognized by the State, as well as “any
settlement lands taken in trust by the United States for
the Tribe.” 25 U.S.C. 1752(7). The Act defined the
“settlement lands” to include certain lands provided by

3

the State to implement the settlement, as well as about
800 acres of “private settlement lands” that were iden-
tified on a map filed with the State. 25 U.S.C. 1752(3)
and (4).

Section 1754 of the Act, entitled “Mashantucket
Pequot Settlement Fund,” created a $900,000 settle-
ment fund. Under subsection (b) of that provision, en-
titled “Expenditure of Fund; private settlement lands;
economic development plan; acquisition of land and
natural resources,” the bulk of that fund was made
available immediately to acquire the “private settle-
ment lands.” 25 U.S.C. 1754(b)(2). Unexpended por-
tions of the fund could be used to finance an “economic
development plan,” which could include the acquisition
of property other than the private settlement lands.
25 U.S.C. 1754(b)(3). Subsection 1754(b) further pro-
vided that:

(7) Lands or natural resources acquired under this
subsection which are located within the settlement
lands shall be held in trust by the United States for
the benefit of the Tribe.

(8) Land or natural resources acquired under this
subsection which are located outside of the settle-
ment lands shall be held in fee by the Mashantucket
Pequot Tribe, and the United States shall have no
further trust responsibility with respect to such
land and natural resources. Such land and natural
resources shall not be subject to any restriction
against alienation under the laws of the United
States.

25 U.S.C. 1754(b)(7) and (8) (emphasis added).

The Settlement Act states that “all laws and regula-
tions of the United States of general application to
Indians * * * which are not inconsistent with any

4

specific provision of this subchapter shalli be applicable
to the Tribe.” 25 U.S.C. 1758(a).'

2. In January 1993, the Tribe asked the Secretary of
the Interior to take certain lands into trust for the
Tribe. The lands were located outside the reservation
delineated by the Settlement Act and (except as dis-
cussed below) were acquired by the Tribe without the
use of settlement funds.

Section 5 of the Indian Reorganization Act (IRA), 25
U.S.C. 465, grants the Secretary broad authority to
take lands into trust on behalf of Indian Tribes and
individual Indians. See Pet. App. 27a n.5 (quoting
Section 5). The Secretary’s determination whether to
take lands into trust pursuant to Section 5 is limited by
regulations issued by the Department of the Interior.
25 C.F.R. Pt. 151. Among other things, those regula-
tions obligate the Secretary to consider: (1) the Indians’
need for additional land; (2) the purposes for which the
land will be used; (3) the impact on the State and its
political subdivisions resulting from removal of the land
from State tax rolls; and (4) the jurisdictional problems
and potential conflicts that may arise from taking the
land into trust. 25 C.F.R. 151.10. Off-reservation,

1 At the time the Settlement Act was enacted, “the Tribe was
impoverished, with no obvious future source of revenue in sight.”
Pet. App. 3a. In 1990, the Tribe obtained approval to conduct
Class III gaming activities on its reservation, pursuant to the
Indian Gaming Regulatory Act (IGRA), 25 U.S.C. 2701. The Tribe
operates a casino on its reservation, which has proved to be
economically successful, generating new wealth for the Tribe as
well as economic opportunities for the surrounding non-tribal com-
munities. Pet. App. 3a, 46a n.24. The Tribe pays approximately
“$400,000 per year in property taxes to the Town of Ledyard” with
respect to the operation of the casino, and it employs numerous
non-Indian members of the community. bid.

5

noncontiguous lands may be taken into trust by the
Secretary in keeping with those criteria, but only
following notice to, and an opportunity to comment by,
state and local governments. The regulations specifi-
cally contemplate an opportunity for judicial review of
trust determinations. See 25 C.F.R. 151.12.’

The Tribe initially sought to transfer into trust six
parcels of land owned by it in fee, totaling about 245
acres. The land is located outside the reservation area
defined in the Settlement Act and within the Towns of
Ledyard, North Stonington, and Preston. Most of that
land is undeveloped, and the Tribe proposed to retain it
as a “green buffer” around the reservation that was
established by the Settlement Act. The only proposed
alteration to the land was the paving of an existing 4.5
acre gravel parking lot. The Tribe subsequently with-
drew its application with respect to an 82-acre tract of
land that had been purchased with settlement funds.
The revised application sought to have five lots, com-
prising about 165 acres, taken into trust by the
Secretary. It is undisputed that none of that land was
purchased with settlement funds.

In May 1995, the Secretary, after considering the
regulatory criteria governing Section 5 determinations,
granted the Tribe’s application to take the land into
trust. Pet. App. 2a.

3. Following the Secretary’s action, petitioners filed
this action pursuant to the Administrative Procedure

2 Land that is taken into trust by the Secretary ordinarily is
considered to be “Indian country” within 18 U.S.C. 1151. In addi-
tion, Indian trust lands generally are exempted from state or local
taxation, local zoning and regulatory requirements, and state
criminal and civil jurisdiction over certain matters involving
Indians on those lands. Pet. App. 4a.

6

——

Act, 5 U.S.C. 702, seeking to enjoin the Secretary from
taking the land into trust on the ground, inter alia, that
she was precluded from doing so under the terms of the
Settlement Act.*? The Secretary deferred taking the
lands into trust pending the outcome of this litigation.

On cross-motions for summary judgment, the district
court granted summary judgment for petitioners. Pet.
App. 23a-47a. The court observed that, while “Con-
gress has enacted numerous [Indian land claim] settle-
ment acts,” “[t]his appears to be the first case in which
a state has opposed a trust acquisition by the Secretary
on the ground that the acquisition is barred by a federal
statute approving an Indian land claims settlement.”
Id. at 26a. On the merits, the court framed the parties’
disagreement over the interpretation of the Settlement
Act as follows:

The parties’ dispute centers on the meaning of
the phrase “acquired under this subsection” in
§ 1754(b)(8). [Petitioners] suggest, in effect, that
the phrase means “acquired by or for the Mashan-
tucket Pequot Tribe.” Thus construed, the phrase
renders § 1754(b)(8) a prohibition against the Secre-
tary’s accepting into trust any land located outside
the settlement lands. [Respondents] contend that
§ 1754(b) of the statute, the section in which sub-
section (8) appears, pertains to the use of the Settle-
ment Fund and, accordingly, that the phrase

3 Petitioners also claimed, inter alia, that Section 5 of the IRA
amounts to an unconstitutional delegation of legislative authority
to the Executive Branch, and that the Secretary’s decision to take
the land at issue into trust violated the National Environmental
Policy Act of 1969, 42 U.S.C. 4321 et seqg., and the Coastal Zone
Management Act of 1972, 16 U.S.C. 1451 et seg., and was otherwise
arbitrary and capricious. See Pet. App. 24a n.1.

7

“acquired under this subsection” means “purchased
with money from the Settlement Fund.” Construed
in this manner, the provision’s acknowledged pro-
hibition on the Secretary’s § 465 authority is not
triggered in this case because the land at issue was
not purchased with Settlement Fund money.

Pet. App. 32a-33a.

The district court determined that Section 1754(b)(8)
and, in particular, the phrase “acquired under this sub-
section” is ambiguous. Pet. App. 33a. The court then
considered “other indicia of statutory meaning,”
beginning with the legislative history, and concluded
that “[petitioners’] interpretation of the statute is
correct.” Jd. at 34a. In so holding, the court declined
to accord any deference to the Department of the
Interior’s interpretation of the Settlement Act, or to
invoke the canon of construction that ambiguities
contained within statutes passed for the benefit of
Indians should be construed in favor of the Indians. /d.
at 42a-46a. The court permanently enjoined the Secre-
tary from taking the land into trust. Jd. at 47a.

4. The court of appeals reversed. Pet. App. la-22a.
The court held that the Settlement Act does not cate-
gorically preclude the Secretary from taking the lands
at issue into trust and, in particular, that Section
1754(b)(8) “applies only to land purchased with settle-
ment funds.” Jd. at 9a.

The court began with the language of the statute.
“Reading § 1754 as a whole,” the court found “that the
phrase ‘acquired under this subsection’ in § (b)(8) is
determinative of the statute’s reach.” Pet. App. 9a.
The court explained that, given that Section 1754 is en-
titled “Mashantucket Pequot Settlement Fund,” and
that the heading of subsection (b) of that section refers

8

specifically to the “Expenditure of Fund,” the reference
in Section 1754(b)(8) to “‘acquired under this subsec-
tion’ is logically read to mean ‘acquired with settlement
funds.’” Id. at 9a-10a. Petitioners’ contrary interpreta-
tion, the court reasoned, simply “renders the phrase
‘acquired under this subsection’ superfluous.” Jd. at 9a.*

The court explained its construction of Section
1754(b) as follows:

{L]Jand acquired by the Tribe with settlement funds
are either automatically taken into trust under
§ (b)(7) if they are within the boundaries of the
settlement lands, or may not be taken into trust if
outside those boundaries. The statute is silent with
regard to lands, like the contested 165 acres here,
not purchased with settlement funds. As to such
lands, whether or not they are within settlement
land boundaries, the Settlement Act does not apply.
The Tribe may apply to the Secretary to take them
into trust under the 1934 IRA, and the Secretary’s
decision will be governed by the considerations
outlined in the relevant regulations. Nothing in
§ (b)(7) supplants the Secretary’s power under the
IRA to take into trust lands acquired without the
use of settlement funds.

4 The court rejected petitioners’ argument that this construc-
tion in turn rendered Section 1754(b)(5) superfluous, explaining
that petitioners had “miscontrue[d] the meaning of [that pro-
vision].” Pet. App. lla. “Section (b)(5) pertains to trust responsi-
bilities over the settlement funds and provides for the automatic
stripping of trust responsibilities ‘[aJs the fund . . . is disbursed.’”
Id. at 11a-12a (quoting subsection (b)(5)). Subsection (b)(5), how-
ever, “is silent as to the status of lands purchased with settlement
funds”; instead, the court explained, that issue is dealt with by
subsections (b)(7) and (b)(8) of Section 1754. Id. at 12a.

Pet. App. 10a.

Although the court found “little, if any, ambiguity”
(Pet. App. 12a) as to the meaning of Section 1754(b)(8),
it nevertheless considered other evidence of Congress’s
intent. Considering the statute as a whole and its
purpose, the court explained that nothing in the statute
“indicates that Congress intended to establish the
outermost boundaries of the Tribe’s sovereign terri-
tory.” Jd. at 18a. By contrast, the Maine Indian Claims
Settlement Act (Maine Settlement Act), 25 U.S.C. 1721
et seq.—upon which all agree the Mashantucket Pequot
Settlement Act was modeled—broadly circumscribed
the authority of the United States to acquire lands in
trust for the affected tribes “[e]xcept for the provisions
of this subchapter,” and thus “supplant[ed] the
Secretary’s authority to take land into trust under the
1934 IRA beyond that expressly contemplated by the
Maine Settlement Act.” Pet. App. 14a (quoting Maine
Settlement Act). “The absence of an analogous
provision in the Settlement Act at issue in this case
confirms that the Settlement Act was not meant to
eliminate the Secretary’s power under the IRA to take
land purchased without settlement funds into trust for
the benefit of the Tribe.” Jbid.

The court also considered the legislative history of
the Settlement Act, but concluded that it offered “only
ambiguity, contradiction, and silence.” Pet. App. 16a.
At the same time, the court concluded that its interpre-
tation was supported by the canon that statutes passed
on behalf of Indians should be construed in favor of
the Indians. /d. at 17a-18a. In the court’s view, the
relatively favorable economic situation enjoyed by the
Tribe today “does not strip the Indian canon of its
force,” particularly since the Tribe was impoverished at
the time the Settlement Act was enacted. Jd. at 18a-

10

19a (citing Oregon Dep’t of Fish & Wildlife v. Klamath
Indian Tribe, 473 U.S. 753 (1985)). In addition, the
court concluded that “the deference we generally owe
to an agency’s interpretation of an ambiguous statute
supports our view of this appeal.” Jd. at 19a. As the
court explained, even though a subordinate employee
of the Department of the interior had taken differing
positions on the scope of the Settlement Act, the
agency’s views were still entitled to consideration,
because the agency had “provided a reasoned analysis
in support of its new determination that § (b)(8) refers
only to land purchased with money from the settlement
fund.” Jd. at 21a (citing Rust v. Sullivan, 500 U.S. 178,
186-187 (1991)).

Finally, the court observed that, to the extent that
petitioners were objecting to the Secretary’s exercise
of her authority to take land into trust pursuant to the
IRA “because the Mashantucket Pequots now have the
purchasing power to make substantial real estate
acquisitions,” petitioners’ arguments would be better
addressed to Congress than to the courts. Pet. App.
22a. “Other federally recognized Indian tribes are not
saddled with a geographical limit to the land that can be
taken into trust by the Secretary.” Jd. at 21a. And, as
the court put it, “we see no reason to fashion a rule [in
this case] that limits the Tribe from seeking authori-
zation, after administrative proceedings, to have land
placed into trust with the Secretary simply because
* * * [of] the Tribe’s recent economic good fortune.”
Id. at 21a-22a.

5. The court of appeals remanded the case for
further proceedings. Pet. App. 22a. On remand, peti-
tioners will be permitted to press their arguments that
Section 5 of the IRA is an impermissible delegation of
legislative power, and that the Secretary’s decision to

11

take the land at issue in this case into trust pursuant to
Section 5 was arbitrary and capricious. See note 3,
supra; Gov’t C.A. Br. 38-39.

ARGUMENT

The court of appeals correctly and unanimously re-
jected petitioners’ contentions that the Settlement Act
precludes the Secretary from taking the lands at issue
in this case into trust on behalf of the Tribe pursuant to
her general authority under Section 5 of the IRA. The
court’s ruling does not conflict with any decision of this
Court or any other court of appeals, and the inter-
locutory posture of this case strongly counsels against
further review here.

1. Petitioners renew (Pet. 13-21) their argument
that the Settlement Act prevents the Secretary from
taking the lands at issue into trust pursuant to Section
5 of the IRA, even though the lands were not purchased
with settlement funds. That contention was properly
rejected by the court of appeals.

Given its plain meaning, the phrase “acquired under
this subsection” in Section 1754(b)(8) of the Settlement
Act limits the trust prohibition to lands acquired
through the particular means identified in Section
1754(b)—.e., the expenditure of the settlement fund.
See 25 U.S.C. 1754(b)(1) (“The Secretary is authorized
and directed to expend, at the request of the Tribe, the
Fund together with any and all income accruing to such
Fund in accordance with this subsection.”). As the
court of appeals explained, that conclusion is supported
by the headings used in Section 1754, the language of
other provisions of Section 1754, and the statute as a
whole. See Pet. App. 9a-lla. Petitioners’ contrary con-
struction all but renders the key phrase “acquired
under this subsection” superfluous. Jd. at 9a.

12

The design of Section 1754(b)(8) is clear. Section
1754 establishes a fund with which the Tribe could
purchase “private settlement lands” that could be
added to its reservation. 25 U.S.C. 1752(3). Congress
anticipated that there might be a surplus in the fund
after purchasing those lands, and it provided that
remaining funds could be used to fund an “economic
development plan,” which could be used to acquire addi-
tional property. 25 U.S.C. 1754(b)(2). Section
1754(b)(8) directs that the Secretary shall not take any
additional property so acquired—e., under Section
1754(b), with settlement funds—into trust. Section
1754(b)(8) simply does not address the status of lands
acquired with resources other than those provided by
the settlement fund.

By contrast, the Maine Settlement Act, which the
parties agree was the model for the Settlement Act
under which this case arises (see Pet. App. 13a), does
contain an express prohibition on the exercise of the
Secretary’s general Section 5 authority to take non-
settlement lands into trust for the Indian Tribes
covered by that Act. See 25 U.S.C. 1724(e). “(I]t is
generally presumed that Congress acts intentionally
and purposely in the disparate inclusion or exclusion.”
Rodriguez v. United States, 480 U.S. 522, 525 (1987)
(citations omitted). And, as the court of appeals con-
cluded, the disparate provisions of the Maine Settle-
ment Act and the Mashantucket Pequot Settlement Act
in this case furnish “strong” evidence that, in enacting
the Mashantucket Pequot Settlement Act, Congress did
not intend, sxb silentio, to circumscribe the Secretary’s
Section 5 authority to take land into trust with respect
to lands acquired by the Tribe without using settlement
funds. Pet. App. 13a.

13

Petitioners’ reliance (Pet. 14-15) on the Indian Land
Consolidation Act (ILCA), 25 U.S.C. 2202 et seq., is
misplaced. The ILCA specifically provides that “noth-
ing in this section is intended to supersede any other
provision of Federal law which authorizes, prohibits, or
restricts the acquisition of land for Indians with respect
to any specific tribe, reservation, or state[s].” 25 U.S.C.
2202. In that regard, the ILCA operates in the same
fashion as the savings clause of the Settlement Act at
issue in this case, which provides that all federal Indian
laws of general applicability are applicable to the
Mashantucket Pequot Tribe, except as specifically pro-
vided by the Settlement Act. 25 U.S.C. 1758(a). Peti-
tioners identify nothing in the ILCA that operates by
itself to preclude the lands at issue in this case from
being taken into trust by the Secretary under the IRA,
or that specifically bears on the construction of Section
1754(b) of the Settlement Act. In any event, peti-
tioners’ reliance on the separate ILCA simply under-
scores that their interpretation lacks footing in the
terms of the Settlement Act itself.’

° Petitioners are correct (Pet. 14) that certain provisions of the
IRA are inconsistent with certain other “specific provisions” of the
Settlement Act—provisions not at issue here. For example, the
Settlement Act precludes the Secretary from taking into trust
pursuant to Section 5 of the IRA any lands outside the settlement
lands if they are purchased with settlement funds. Similarly, the
Department has concluded that it cannot add lands to the reser-
vation, pursuant to Section 7 of the IRA, given the finite definition
of the newly formed reservation in the Settlement Act. 25 U.S.C.
1752(7). Those specific provisions of the IRA are therefore dis-
placed to the extent they are inconsistent with the Settlement Act.
Since taking lands into trust does not automatically add lands to a
reservation, however, petitioners are incorrect in asserting (Pet.
15) that, because the Secretary’s authority under Section 7 of the

14

Petitioners’ resort (Pet. 17-18) to legislative history
is also unavailing. As the court of appeals explained,
nothing in the legislative history compels a different
conclusion from the one that follows from the statutory
text. Pet. App. 15a-17a. Indeed, if anything, the legis-
lative history simply confirms that Section 1754(b)
“establishes the terms under which the settlement fund
is to be administered,” H.R. Rep. No. 43, 98th Cong.,
Ist Sess. 7 (1983), which is consistent with the court of
appeals’ conclusion that the key phrase—“acquired
under this subsection”—in Section 1754(b)(8) means
acquired with settlement funds. The other aspects of
the legislative history relied upon by petitioners do not
confirm their interpretation of the statute, but instead
at most introduce “only ambiguity, contradiction, and
silence.” Pet. App. 16a.

The court of appeals’ interpretation does not render
Section 1754(b)(5) superfluous. See Pet. 16-17. Section
1754(b)(5) relieves the United States of its trust re-
sponsibility over settlement funds or property acquired
with such funds as monies are disbursed from the
settlement fund. Subsection (b)(5) does not address the
distinct question of the legal status of lands that are not
acquired with settlement funds. The purpose of sub-
section (b)(8), by contrast, is to establish the legal
status of lands that are purchased with settlement
funds but are located outside the statutorily-defined
settlement lands. The legislative history makes clear
that the two provisions have distinct purposes, explain-
ing that subsection (b)(5) is addressed to the United
States’ responsibility with regard to specific funds that

IRA is displaced, her authority under Section 5 of the IRA to take
lands into trust is also displaced.

15

have been disbursed under the Settlement Act. Pet.
App. 1la-12a.°

Petitioners point to a difference in language used in
subsections (b)(7) and (b)(8) (“acquired under this
subsection”) and in subsection (b)(5) (“purchased with
these sums”), and argue (Pet. 16) that Congress would
not have used both phrases to mean acquired with
settlement funds. The phrase “purchased with these
sums,” however, makes sense in the context of sub-
section (b)(5). As written in subsection (b)(5), “pur-
chased with these sums” does not refer to the settle-
ment fund, but rather to “sums paid” from the “Fund or
any portion thereof [as] disbursed by the Secretary in
accordance with this section [1754].” 25 U.S.C.
1754(b)(5). Because subsection (b)(5) is more specific
regarding the Secretary’s responsibility with respect to
“portion[s] * * * disbursed” and “sums paid” from the
settlement fund, it makes sense that Congress did not
use the more general “acquired under this subsection”
phrase found in subsections (b)(7) and (b)(8). Con-
versely, because subsections (b)(7) and (b)(8) are ad-
dressed primarily to the status of lands, and not the
disbursement of settlement funds, it makes sense that
Congress did not use the “sums paid” formulation
employed in subsection (b)(5).

® The committee reports explain:

Section [1754](b)(5) provides that as portions of the settlement
fund are disbursed to the proper tribal officials, the United
States shall have no further responsibility for the use of those
funds disbursed. The United States, of course, retains a
responsibility for those monies that remain in the settlement
fund.

S. Rep. No. 222, 98th Cong., Ist Sess. 14 (1983); H.R. Rep. No. 43,
supra, at 8.

16

Finally, the court of appeals correctly rejected the
contention that the Settlement Act was “a compre-
hensive statute intended to settle once-and-for-all the
extent of the Mashantucket Pequot’s sovereignty.”
Pet. App. 13a. The Settlement Act resolved specific
aboriginal land claims in a specific suit, and was ex-
plicitly intended to “remove all clouds on titles resulting
from such Indian land claims.” 25 U.S.C. 1751(c).
Petitioners err (Pet. 20-21) in attempting to broaden
the enactment in an effort to prevent this Tribe from
receiving the benefit of laws generally applicable to all
other Indian Tribes. That there may be some uncer-
tainty as to what lands may ultimately become Indian
trust lands is true for all States in which Indian Tribes
own (or may acquire) property that may be taken into
trust pursuant to the IRA. The uncertainty is not
unique to the Settlement Act at issue in this case, and is
not a result of the court of appeals’ interpretation of
that Act.

2. Petitioners argue (Pet. 21-28) that the court of
appeals improperly invoked the canon of construction
that ambiguities contained within statutes or treaties
passed for the benefit of Indians should be resolved in
favor of Indians. That contention is without merit.
This Court often invokes that canon in interpreting
federal enactments pertaining to Indian Tribes and has
recently observed that the canon is “deeply rooted in
this Court’s Indian jurisprudence.” County of Yakima
v. Confederated Tribes & Bands of the Yakima Indian
Nation, 502 U.S. 251, 269 (1992).’ In addition, as the

7 See, e.g., Hagen v. Utah, 510 U.S. 399, 411 (1994); Montana v.
Blackfeet Tribe, 471 U.S. 759, 766 (1985); County of Oneida v.
Oneida Indian Nation, 470 U.S. 226, 247 (1985); see also Three
Affiliated Tribes of the Fort Berthold Reservation v. Wold Eng’g,

‘17

court of appeals recognized, the Court has invoked the
canon “where Indians were at no legal disadvantage.”
Pet. App. 18a-19a (discussing Oregon Dep’t of Fish &
Wildlife v. Klamath Indian Tribe, 473 U.S. 753, 758,
766 (1985)). Congress legislates against the backdrop of
the settled Indian canon of construction.

In any event, the court of appeals’ discussion of the
Indian canon of construction does not warrant review.
That is particularly true in light of the fact that that
discussion was not necessary to the court’s conclusion
that the Settlement Act does not preclude the Secre-
tary from taking into trust lands that are not purchased
with settlement funds. The court based its holding first
and foremost on its reading of the statutory provisions
at issue, see Pet. App. 9a-12a; it simply added that, to
the extent that there was any ambiguity in the statute,
its interpretation found “additional support in the
unique canon of construction governing statutory pro-
visions involving Indians.” Jd. at 17a.

Petitioners contend that the Indian canon of con-
struction is outdated, and suggest that “[c]larification
of the rule is particularly important in the era following
enactment of the Indian Gaming Regulatory Act
(IGRA] when many tribes, like the Mashantucket
Pequots, have attained great wealth and benefit
through the assistance of non-Indian business inter-
ests.” Pet. 28. The lower court case law does not sup-
port that conclusion. But, in any event, this case would
be a poor vehicle in which to consider that argument in

467 U.S. 138, 149 (1984); McClanahan v. Arizona State Tax
Comm'n, 411 U.S. 164, 174 (1973); Choctaw Nation v. United
States, 318 U.S. 428, 431-433 (1943); Alaska Pac. Fisheries v.
United States, 248 U.S. 78, 89 (1918); Choate v. Trapp, 224 U.S.
665, 675 (1912).

18

light of the fact that the Settlement Act at issue was
passed five years before IGRA. Similarly, while
petitioners highlight the recent economic success
enjoyed by the Tribe in this case, it is undisputed that,
at the time of the enactment of the Mashantucket
Pequot Settlement Act, “the Tribe was impoverished,
with no obvious future source of revenue in sight.” Pet.
App. 3a. Thus, as the court of appeals explained below,
even accepting petitioners’ argument “that the Indian
canon of construction applies with less force to statutes
or treaties negotiated with a wealthy, powerful, and
well-represented Indian tribe,” that principle “has no
application” with respect to the Settlement Act in-
volved in this case. Jd. at 19a.*

3. Petitioners argue (Pet. 28-29) that the court of
appeals improperly took account of the Department of
the Interior’s interpretation of the Settlement Act.
That argument also does not merit review. To begin
with, just as was true with respect to the Indian canon
of construction, the court’s discussion of the agency’s
interpretation was not necessary to the court’s holding
that the Settlement Act does not prevent the Secretary
from taking the lands at issue into trust; rather, the
court simply added that, “{i]nsofar as agency deference

8 Petitioners imply that the Nation’s Indian Tribes have been
transformed by the passage of the IGRA into wealthy, co-equal
participants in the legislative process. That is incorrect. The vast
majority of the Nation’s Indian Tribes continue to live at or below
the poverty level. In addition, “[m]Jore than two-thirds of Indian
Tribes do not participate in Indian gambling at all.” Final Report
of the National Gambling Impact Study Commission 6-2 (July 18,
1999), drafted pursuant to the National Gambling Impact Study
Commission Act, Pub. L. No. 104-169, 110 Stat. 1482. And for the
majority of Indian Tribes that do have gambling facilities, “the
revenues have been modest.” /d. at 6-3.

19

remains appropriate in this case, it confirms our
interpretation of the Settlement Act.” Pet. App. 19a.

In any event, as this Court has repeatedly recog-
nized, agencies are not forbidden from clarifying
or changing their position on the interpretation of a
statute with which they are charged with admini-
stering. As long as an agency provides a reasoned
explanation for its change in position, its interpretation
may still be afforded deference by a reviewing court.
See Smiley v. Citibank (S.D.), N.A., 517 U.S. 735, 742
(1996); Good Samaritan Hosp. v. Shalala, 508 U.S. 402,
416 (1993). The court of appeals in this case concluded
that “[t]he Department of the Interior has provided a
reasoned analysis in support of its new determination
that § 8(b) refers only to land purchased with money
from the settlement fund,” and that, “even according
[that interpretation] less deference than usual,” the
court should still “take account of the agency’s posi-
tion.” Pet. App. 2la. That conclusion is correct and
does not merit further review.”

” Moreover, the factual premise of petitioners’ argument—i.e.,
that the Department changed its position on the proper inter-
pretation of the Settlement Act—is itself debatable. A regional
solicitor of the Bureau of Indian Affairs initially concluded that
lands located outside the settlement area must be held in fee and
may not be held in trust, relying primarily on the legislative
history of the Settlement Act. Following a more detailed analysis
of the statute, however, that same official later reconsidered his
view and determined that the lands at issue could be taken into
trust. The regional solicitor was not authorized to bind the De-
partment, and the agency itself has only adopted one position: that
the Settlement Act does not prevent the Secretary from exercising
her general authority pursuant to the IRA with respect to lands
that are not acquired with settlement funds. Cf. Wisconsin v. City
of New York, 517 US. 1, 23 (1996) (“[T]he mere fact that the Secre-
tary’s decision overruled the views of some of his subordinates is

20

4. Finally, review is not warranted to consider
petitioners’ broad-brush arguments that the sover-
eignty of Connecticut has been (or will be, with respect
to hypothetical future trust applications by the Tribe)
improperly diminished. The only question decided by
the court of appeals is whether the Settlement Act
categorically precludes the Secretary from exercising
her general authority under Section 5 of the IRA to
take lands into trust for the Tribe, even with respect to
lands that were not acquired by the Tribe with settle-
ment funds. To the extent that petitioners object to the
scope of the Secretary’s authority to take lands into
trust for Indians pursuant to Section 5, or to the exer-
cise of that authority in this case based on particular
factors other than the Settlement Act, they may pre-
sent those arguments on remand to the district court,
and possibly still prevail in their effort to prevent the
Secretary from taking the lands at issue into trust. See
note 3, supra; Gov’t C.A. Br. 38-39. In that regard, the
interlocutory nature of this case in itself counsels
strongly against granting certiorari. See Virginia
Military Inst. v. United States, 508 U.S. 946, 946 (1993)
(“We generally await final judgment in the lower courts
before exercising our certiorari jurisdiction.”) (Scalia,
J., respecting the denial of the petition for writ of
certiorari).

by itself of no moment in any judicial review of his decision.”); see
Gov't C.A. Br. 35-36.

21

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.
Respectfully submitted.

BARBARA D. UNDERWOOD
Acting Solicitor General

JOHN C. CRUDEN
Acting Assistant Attorney
General

ROGER MARTELLA

ELIZABETH ANN PETERSON

M. ALICE THURSTON
Attorneys

MARCH 2001

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_1557%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
