# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Halbman v. St. Louis County

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_1548%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2001
- **Citation:** 531 U.S. 1183

## Text

FILED

(W #01023 ve 15
OFFICE OF THE CLER.

Supreme Court of the United States

RICH HALBMAN,

Petitioner,

Vv.

ST. LOuIs COUNTY, ET AL.,
Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

DAVID L. SHAPIRO KENNETH CHESEBRO*

1575 Massachusetts Avenue 1600 Massachusetts Avenue
No. 304 No. 801

Cambridge, MA 02138 Cambridge, MA 02138
(617) 495-4618 (617) 661-4423

JACK M. BEERMANN SEBASTIAN RUCCI

765 Commonwealth Avenue 3058 Chardonnay Lane
No. 970C Poland, OH 44514
Boston, MA 02215 (330) 707-1182

(617) 353-2577

Counsel for Petitioner
*Counsel of Record
December 18, 2000

BATEMAN & SLADE, INC.

QUESTION PRESENTED

Petitioner is a resident of a small Missouri city that was

disincorporated under Missouri law on the basis of a petition by

—a group of its citizens. Alleging that the disincorporation was
effected without notice to petitioner and other city residents,
petitioner filed this action in a federal district court under 42
U.S.C. § 1983, claiming violations of the federal Constitution.
The district court dismissed the action, and the Eighth Circuit
affirmed on the ground that the Rooker-Feldman doctrine
deprived the federal courts of jurisdiction. The doctrine was
invoked solely on the basis of an earlier state court action in
which petitioner was not a party. The decision below presents
the following question:

Did the court below err in extending the Rooker-
Feldman doctrine to bar this federal court action by a
nonparty to an earlier state court action?

i
i a a ey 5 it ki

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

The petitioner in this case is Rich Halbman.

Donald Thoele.

The respondents, all of whom appeared as appellees in the
Eighth Circuit, are: St. Louis County, a county having a charter
form of government; the City of Peerless Park, a municipal

Park; and Donna Asberry, John Asberry, Lisa Chambers, Mary
Corbett, Kevin Grady, Elisabeth Kreminski, Frank Kreminski,

(ii)

TABLE OF CONTENTS
QUESTION PRESENTED .......cccccccccccccccccccccces i
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING ..........cceseceeeeeee ii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ........ccccccccccccscccccees iv
CPR II ccctcccccccscccndactensccecguanneds l
FUERISC TIN » sv cccescccdccccesbeccccostccccevesiees |
STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED ............+445. l
STATEMENT OF THE CASE ...........cccccccccccccces 2
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT .............5005: 8

I, CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED TO
RESOLVE THE CONFLICT IN THE CIRCUITS
OVER WHETHER THE ROOKER-FELDMAN
DOCTRINE APPLIES TO A NONPARTY

TO AN EARLIER STATE COURT ACTION ............ .
per UUM URIN, 6... 5) fed chines ccscecetccnsce 10
SN SOAR Ee) oe Se rere aee 13

II. CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED TO
RESOLVE THE CONFLICT IN THE CIRCUITS OVER
WHETHER THE ROOKER-FELDMAN DOCTRINE
APPLIES WHERE THE FEDERAL COURT
PLAINTIFF DOES NOT ALLEGE INJURY

CAUSED BY THE STATE COURT JUDGMENT ....... 16
A. The Narrow Construction of Rooker-Feldman ........ 17
B. The Broad Construction of Rooker-Feldman ......... 20

MPT. oc tceccdawsescctbescdccpeccccoccctcers 23

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES: PAGE:

Allen v. Allen, 48 F.3d 259 (7th Cir. 1995) ............. 14
Allstate Ins. Co. v. West Virginia State Bar,
2000 U.S. App. LEXIS 30143 (4th Cir. Nov. 30, 2000) 19

Baker v. General Motors Corp., 522 U.S. 222 (1998) ..... 10
Bates v. Jones, 131 F.3d 843 (9th Cir. 1997),

cert. denied, 523 U.S. 1021 (1998) ..............06. 15
Bechtold v. City of Rosemount, 104 F.3d 1062

GaGa, Saree. vin bevand cet deswtekeuwines covers 21
Bennett v. Yoshina, 140 F.3d 1218 (9th Cir. 1998),

cert. denied, 525 U.S. 1103 (1999)...... pant anes: Seen
Brown & Root, Inc. v. Breckenridge, 211 F.3d 194

CORE: BONO 6 bcd Sedna eeekadees bt 19
Brown v. Sweeney, 2000 U.S. App. LEXIS 31325

Cm Co. Dae. Gee ina cnc dcdccaicss een is 15, 22
Carrington v. Rash, 380 U.S. 89 (1965) ............045. 6
Catz v. Chalker, 142 F.3d 279 (6th Cir. 1998) .......... 20
Centres, Inc. v. Town of Brookfield, 148 F.3d 699

(FURR. BO 5 bck ues teseivecce ewe eeeeiees 18
District of Colombia Court of Appeals v. Feldman,

GP Us SE CD 0 6 chan decides bbbwearehecs passim
E.B. v. Verniero, 119 F.3d 1077 (3d Cir. 1997) .......... 1]
FOCUS v. Allegheny County Court of Common Pleas,

73 F360 G34 GOCE TOS iiss einai. 11
4901 Corporation v. Town of Cicero, 220 F.3d 522

(7 CR. BOONE 5 ci a a aS SEPEE PT Crier ee 18
Garry v. Geils, 82 F.3d 1362 (7th Cir. 1996) ........... 18
GASH Associates v. Village of Rosemont,

opm Be fi is & = eee 17, 18
Gottfried v. Medical Planning Services, Inc., 142 F.3d

326 (6th Cir.), cert. denied, 525 U.S. 1041 (1998) ..... 12
Gross v. Weingarten, 217 F.3d 208 (4th Cir. 2000) ...... 11

ae

(iv)

CASEs: PAGE:

Hachamovitch v. DeBuono, 159 F.3d 687 (2d Cir. 1998) .. 19
Harpin v. Oakley Custom Homes, 2000 U.S. App.

LEXIS 25936 (10th Cir. Oct. 17,2000) ............. 20
Hill v. Town of Conway, 193 F.3d 33 (1st Cir. 1999) ..... 20
Homola v. McNamara, 59 F.3d 647 (7th Cir. 1995) ...... 18
Hoover v. Wagner, 47 F.3d 845 (7th Cir. 1995) ......... 14
Hussey v. City of Portland, 64 F.3d 1260 (9th Cir. 1995),

cert. denied, 516 U.S. 1112 (1996). ........ cece eee 6
In re Goetzman, 91 F.3d 1173 (8th Cir.),

cert. denied, 519 U.S. 1042 (1996)... .... cee eee ee 21
Johnson v. De Grandy, 512 U.S. 997 (1994) ......... 11-15

Johnson v. Rodrigues, 226 F.3d 1103 (10th Cir. 2000) .... 13
Kamilewicz v. Bank of Boston Corp., 92 F.3d 506

(7th Cir. 1996), rehearing en banc denied, 100 F.3d

1348, cert. denied, 520 U.S. 1204 (1997) ............ 18
Kramer v. Union Free School Dist., 395 U.S. 621 (1969) . 6
Leaf v. Supreme Court of Wisconsin, 979 F.2d 589

(7th Cir. 1992), cert. denied, 508 U.S. 941 (1993) ... 14
Long v. Shorebank Dev. Corp., 182 F.3d 548

(FRG Is 685 rab ke CERIEER CS 8,18
Marks v. Stinson, 19 F.3d 873 (3d Cir. 1994) ........... 11
Martin v. Wilks, 490 U.S. 755 (1989) .........cceeeeee 10

Meyer v. California Dep't of Rehabilitation,
1999 U.S. App. LEXIS 7278 (9th Cir. Apr. 12, 1999)... 20
Moccio v. New York State Office of Court Admin.,

Po FSG Pe Ce TOF i ic Fees Oho oe h 58* 20
Narey v. Dean, 32 F.3d 1521 (11th Cir. 1994) .......... 19
Nesses v. Shepard, 68 F.3d 1003 (7th Cir. 1995) ........ 17
Ortiz v. Fibreboard Corp., 527 U.S. 815 (1999) ......... 10
Parkview Associates Partnership v. City of Lebanon,

225 F.3d 321 (3d Cir. 2000) ............048. 18, 20, 21

2
(v)

CASES: PAGE:

Pennzoil Co. v. Texaco, Inc., 481 U.S. 1 (1987) .... 7, 20,21
Remer v. Burlington Area Sch. Dist.,

205 F.3d 990 (7th Cir. 2000) ....... cece ceeeeeees 18
Republic of Paraguay v. Allen, 949 F. Supp. 1269
(E. D. Va. 1996), aff'd on other grounds,

134 F.36 G58 COR Coe, BOSD hb cde dectascsccccacus 16
Reynolds v. Sims, 377 U.S. 533 (1964) .......0cccceeees 6
Richards v. Jefferson County, 517 U.S. 793 (1996) ...... 10

Roe v. Alabama, 43 F.3d 574 (11th Cir. 1995) .... 13, 15, 16
Rooker v. Fidelity Trust Co., 263 U.S. 413 (1923) ... passim

Sheehan v. Marr, 207 F.3d 35 (1st Cir. 2000) ........... 20
Snider v. City of Excelsior Springs, 154 F.3d 809

(Gtr Cle, 15GGD cccnccsescdvesdcemunnecss 14-15, 21
South Central Bell Telephone Co. v. Alabama,

S26 US. 16D CGE o.oo ckkas cdsintuwdncdesdtedase 10
Stanton v. District of Columbia Court of Appeals,
~ 327 F.38 72 QS. Gis, 1967) ic neces ccdtvancendse 19
T.W. by Enk v. Brophy, 124 F.3d 893 (7th Cir. 1997) ..... 14
United States v. Owens, 54 F.3d 271 (6th Cir.),

cert. dismissed, 516 U.S. 983 (1995) .........00000: 12
Valenti v. Mitchell, 962 F.2d 288 (3d Cir. 1992) ...... 10, 11
Van Harken v. City of Chicago, 103 F.3d 1346

(7th Cir.), cert. denied, 520 U.S. 1241 (1997) ........ 18
Williams v. Adkinson, 792 F. Supp. 755 (M. D. Ala. 1992),

aff'd without op., 987 F.2d 774 (11th Cir. 1993) ...... 16
Young v. Murphy, 90 F.3d 1225 (7th Cir. 1996) ......... 18

(vi)

28 U.S.C. § 1257
28 U.S.C. § 1331
28 U.S.C. § 1738
42 U.S.C. § 1983
R.S. Mo. § 79.490
R.S. Mo. § 79.495

Susan Bandes, The Rooker-Feldman Doctrine:

Evaluating Its Jurisdictional Status,

74 Notre Dame L. Rev. 1175 (1999) 9, 15, 20, 21
Jack M. Beermann, Comments on Rooker-Feldman

or Let State Law Be Our Guide,

74 Notre Dame L. Rev. 1209 (1999) 9, 10, 20, 21
Richard H. Fallon, Daniel J. Meltzer & David L. Shapiro,

Hart & Wechsler’s The Federal Courts and the

Federal System (4th ed. 2000 Supp.) ................ 9
Barry Friedman and James E. Gaylord,

Rooker-Feldman, From the Ground Up,

74 Notre Dame L. Rev. 1129 (1999)
D. Rowe, Jr., Rooker-Feldman: Worth Only the Powder

to Blow It Up?, 74 Notre Dame L. Rev. 1081 (1999) ... 9
Suzanna Sherry, Judicial Federalism in the Trenches:

The Rooker-Feldman Doctrine in Action,

74 Notre Dame L. Rev. 1985 (1999) 8-9, 12-16, 20
Symposium: The Rooker-Feldman Doctrine,

74 Notre Dame L. Rev. 1081 (1999)
18 Charles Alan Wright, Arthur R. Miller

& Edward H. Cooper, Federal Practice and

Procedure (2000 Supp.) ...........+.45- 10, 17, 20, 21

(vii)

[This page is intentionally left blank]

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Rich Halbman respectfully petitions this Court for a writ of
certiorari to review the judgment of the United States Court of
Appeal for the Eighth Circuit in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The Court of Appeals’ decision denying rehearing (App.
36a) is unreported. Its decision on the merits (App. 1a-13a) is
reported at 222 F.3d 488. The decision of the district court (App.
14a-23a) is unreported.

JURISDICTION —

The petition for rehearing and suggestion for rehearing en
banc was denied on September 18, 2000. App. 36a. The
jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The statutory provisions pertaining to the Rooker-Feldman
doctrine are as follows. 28 U.S.C. § 1257 states in relevant part:

§ 1257. State courts; certiorari

(a) Final judgments or decrees rendered by the
highest court of a State in which a decision could be
had, may be reviewed by the Supreme Court by writ of
certiorari where . . . the validity of a statute of any State
is drawn in question on the ground of its being
repugnant to the Constitution, treaties, or laws of the
United States... .

28 U.S.C. § 1331 provides:
§ 1331. Federal question

The district courts shall have original jurisdiction of
all civil actions arising under the Constitution, laws, or
treaties of the United States.

2

The Full Faith and Credit Act, 28 U.S.C. § 1738, provides
in relevant part:

§ 1738. State and Territorial statutes and
judicial proceedings; full faith and credit
***

The records and judicial proceedings of any court of
any .. . State, Territory or Possession . . . shall have the
same full faith and credit in every court within the
United States and its Territories and Possessions as they
have by law or usage in the courts of such State,
Territory or Possession from which they are taken.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case began when a group of residents of a small
Missouri city filed a petition with the county council to
disincorporate the city. The county council granted the petition.
A state court action was then filed in which the disincorporation
was challenged on state law and federal due process grounds.
That action resulted in a judgment for the defendants. Petitioner
Halbman brought a federal court suit under 42 U.S.C. § 1983,
challenging the disincorporation solely on federal grounds. The
U.S. Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit, affirming the
dismissal of the action by the district court, held that the Rooker-
Feldman doctrine’ barred the exercise of federal jurisdiction over
Halbman’s claims even though Halbman had not been a party in
the state court and alleged no harm flowing from its judgment.

" See Rooker v. Fidelity Trust Co., 263 U.S. 413, 415-16 (1923) (holding
that federal district court lacked jurisdiction to entertain a lawsuit that was
brought by the loser of a state court action and that was “merely an attempt to
get rid of the [state court] judgment for alleged errors of law committed in the
exercise of that jurisdiction”); District of Colombia Court of Appeals v.
Feldman, 460 U.S. 462, 476, 482 (1983) (reaffirming that “a United States
District Court has no authority to review final judgments of a state court in
judicial proceedings”) (citing Rooker, 263 U.S. at 415-16).

3

As the Eighth Circuit noted, its broad construction of the
Rooker-Feldman doctrine to bind a nonparty to an earlier state
court litigation conflicts with the law of other circuits that
interpret the doctrine much more narrowly. Moreover, by
applying the doctrine broadly to a case in which a federal
plaintiff did not allege injury-caused by the state court judgment
itself, but rather by the underlying conduct of defendants that had
been unsuccessfully challenged in the state court by others, the
decision below embraced one side of an additional conflict
between the circuits.

The Rooker-Feldman doctrine has been relied on by the
lower federal courts with increasing frequency in recent years,
with little guidance from this Court. This case presents an
excellent vehicle for this Court:to bring consistency and
coherence to the Rooker-Feldman doctrine, an increasingly
important aspect of federal law. . :

1. The Petition for “midaianparititin Without Election.”
In 1997, the City of Peerless Park, Missouri (located within St.
Louis County, a few miles west of the City of St. Louis) was
sized “fourth class” because it had fewer than 100 residents.
App. 3a. Missouri law afforded the citizens of a fourth-class city
two different ways to disincorporate their city. First, under R.S.
Mo. § 79.490, a majority of the city’s voters could ask the county
to hold an election on the issue. Under this option, the citizens
of the city would be given at least four weeks’ notice of the
election, and the affirmative vote of at least 60% of those voting
would be required to trigger disincorporation.

Alternatively, R.S. Mo. § 79.495 permitted “disincorporation
without election.” It authorized a county to disincorporate a
fourth-class city “upon petition of two-thirds of the voters of
such city, without an election in such city, provided that the
petition requests disincorporation without an election ... .”
Under Section 79.495, a properly executed petition would not
merely put disincorporation on the agenda of the county
government. Instead, the county government would be required

4

to disincorporate the city without an inquiry into the merits of the
issue, without notice to other residents of the city, and without
holding an election. App. 30a-3 la.

On December 11, 1997, eighteen registered voters of
Peerless Park filed a petition with the St. Louis County Council
invoking the “disincorporation without election” process set out
in Section 79.495, App. 3a, 15a. On January 22, 1998, the
Council delegated the matter to a hearing officer. App. 16a. At
the request of counsel for the petition signers, the hearing was
focused on “a sterile mathematical calculation” of whether the
petition was signed by two-thirds of the city residents who were
registered to vote on the date the petition was filed. Tr. of Jan.
29, 1998, at 57; see also id. at 321-25. The hearing officer
declined to consider any constitutional arguments on the basis
that he lacked jurisdiction over such issues. Report of Hearing
Officer dated March 3, 1998, at 7,

The hearing officer concluded that on the date the petition
was filed, Peerless Park had 27 registered voters, and that all
eighteen people who signed the petition were registered — so
that the two-thirds threshold of Section 79.495 had been met, and
therefore “the [County] Council must order Peerless Park to be
disincorporated.” Id. at 24-25. On March 19, 1998, the St. Louis
County Council adopted the hearing officer’s report in full and
ordered the disincorporation of Peerless Park effective on May
1, 1998. App. 16a.

2. The City’s State Court Action. The City of Peerless
Park and two of its officials then filed a State-court action against
the county and several county council members. App. 4a, 16a.
Its principal claim was that under Missouri law “the disi
ration was a ‘boundary change,’ reviewable by the Boundary
Commission, which would allow for an open public election.”
App. 16a; see also App. 4a, 34a-35a. “The complaint further
alleged that the council’s order was ‘voidable’ because [S]ection
79.495 violated the federal Due Process Clause by failing to
provide for notice of an impending petition drive.” App. 4a.

5

The eighteen Peerless Park residents who had signed the
petition intervened in the state court action to defend the order of
disincorporation.— App. 16a. Neither these residents nor the
defendants in the state court action sought to join Halbman or
any of the other residents of Peerless Park in an effort to make
the result of the state court action binding on all those who might
be affected by disincorporation. The state trial court issued an
order that was affirmed by the state appellate court. App. 4a,
16a, 24a-35a.

3. Halbman’s Federal Court Action. Shortly before the
State appellate court’s affirmance in the state court action brought
by the City of Peerless Park and its officials, a federal action was
filed under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 in which petitioner Halbman joined
as a plaintiff, alleging violations of the federal Constitution.
App. 4a.? Halbman was not only a resident of Peerless Park but
its Building Commissioner, a position that he would lose as a
result of disincorporation. App. 12a. As defendants, Halbman
named St. Louis County and the trustee for the City of Peerless
Park. Halbman contended that R.S. Mo. § 79.495’s provision for
“disincorporation without election,” as applied by the county to
the Peerless Park petition filed by eighteen residents on
December 11, 1997, violated his voting rights protected under
the First Amendment and the Equal Protection Clause of the
Fourteenth Amendment. App. 4a.

* The federal court action in which Halbman joined was initially filed
on April 30, 1999, by Rich Lemonds, another resident of Peerless Park who
was not registered to vote on the date the petition was filed, but who registered
the next day. App. 4a. Two weeks later, on May 13, 1999, the first amended
complaint was filed listing Halbman as a plaintiff. Several months later, on
August 24, 1999, the district court denied an effort by four other residents of
Peerless Park to join the lawsuit as plaintiffs.

6

Halbman’s claim was founded largely on two facts: (1) that
on the day after the disincorporation petition was filed (as soon
as he learned of it), he had registered to vote; and (2) that if his
vote had been counted in the calculus, “the number of signatures
on the petition would have been insufficient to effectuate
disincorporation.” App. 4a; see also Tr. of Jan. 29, 1998, at 222-
23. On this basis, Halbman maintained that principles of federal
law invalidate any refusal to count his vote, because his fellow
residents are not permitted to use Section 79.495 to “vote”
without prior notice on a matter that would otherwise require an
election. To permit such use, he contended, would circumvent
his right to register for and vote in an election, denying him the
right to participate in the voting process on an equal basis with
other citizens in the jurisdiction. See, e.g., Reynolds v. Sims, 377
U.S. 533, 561-62, 565 (1964) (protecting “full and effective
participation in the political processes”); Kramer v. Union Free
School Dist., 395 U.S. 621, 626-29 (1969) (equal protection is
denied if “some resident citizens are permitted to participate and
some are not”); Hussey v. City of Portland, 64 F.3d 1260, 1263-
65 (9th Cir. 1995), cert. denied, 516 U.S. 1112 ( 1996) (holding
that the use of a petition process as an alternative to an election
constitutes “voting” that is governed by the same standards
applicable to elections generally).

4. The Rulings of the District Court and Eighth Circuit.
The eighteen signers of the petition intervened in Halbman’s
federal court action to defend the disincorporation, just as they
had in reaction to the earlier state court action. They and the
defendants then moved to dismiss the action on various grounds,
including the argument that the Rooker-Feldman doctrine
deprived the federal district court of jurisdiction to hear the case,
given the earlier state court litigation on the disincorporation
issue. The district court ruled for the defendants on the merits,
App. 17a-21a, but also indicated that it agreed with the Rooker-
Feldman argument. App. 22a n.1.

7

The Court of Appeals, declining to reach the merits of —

Halbman’s claims, affirmed solely on the basis of the Rooker-
Feldman doctrine. App. 5a-13a. It construed that doctrine as
barring “not only straightforward appeals” from state court
judgments brought in federal courts, “but also more indirect
attempts by federal plaintiffs to undermine state court decisions”
— that is, efforts by federal plaintiffs to raise “general
constitutional claims that are ‘inextricably intertwined’ with
specific claims already adjudicated in state court.” App. Sa-6a.’

A key “complicating factor” in this analysis, the Court of
Appeals candidly noted, lay in the fact that Halbman was not “a
party to the state court action” and, further, that “the state court
plaintiffs who raised the due process challenge would not have
had standing to raise the first amendment and equal protection
{claims raised by Halbman] because the state court plaintiffs,
unlike [Halbman], were registered voters.” App. 9a. On this
point, the Court of Appeals observed that several circuits “have
held that the Rooker-Feldman doctrine does not apply to bar a
suit in federal court brought by a party that was not a party in the
preceding state court action.” App. 9a. But it found itself
persuaded by the approach that had been taken in other federal
court opinions that it is proper “to apply Rooker-Feldman against
parties who did not participate in the state suit.” App. 10a.
Thus, the Court of Appeals held that the fact “that appellants

> According to the Court of Appeals, a federal court claim is
“inextricably intertwined with a state court judgment ‘if the federal claim
succeeds only to the extent that the state court wrongly decided the issue
before it."” App. 6a (quoting Pennzoil Co. v. Texaco, Inc., 481 U.S. 1, 25
(1987) (Marshall, J., concurring)). The Court of Appeals found this
“inextricably intertwined” test met in this case on the basis that the Missouri
state court action had rejected attacks on the county’s order of
disincorporation, and that Halbman’s federal court action called into question
the county’s order of disincorporation. App. 6a-9a. See, e.g., App. 7a (noting
that “the relief sought” by Halbman “— to enjoin the disincorporation of
Peerless Park — would, as a practical matter, directly nullify the final
judgment of the state district court upholding disincorporation.”).

‘|
=

were not parties to the state suit is not by itself dispositive.”
App. 10a-11a. :

Under its view of the Rooker-Feldman doctrine, the Eighth
Circuit ruled against Halbman on the ground that “there can be
little doubt” that Halbman “had ample opportunity to bring [his]
first amendment and equal protection claims in state court.”
App. 12a. Although he was “well aware” of the state court
action, he did not file his federal court action until after the state
court plaintiffs had failed on their arguments against
disincorporation. App. 12a-13a. “This the Rooker-Feldman
doctrine does not allow,” the court held. App. 13a (citing Long
v. Shorebank Dev. Corp., 182 F.3d 548, 558 (7th Cir. 1999)).

On September 18, 2000, the court denied Halbman’s petition
for rehearing and suggestion for rehearing en banc. App. 36a.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED TO RESOLVE
THE CONFLICT IN THE CIRCUITS OVER WHETHER
THE ROOKER-FELDMAN DOCTRINE APPLIES TO A
NONPARTY TO AN EARLIER STATE COURT ACTION

As the Eighth Circuit observed in its decision below, the
lower federal courts are in conflict over the threshold issue of
whether the Rooker-Feldman doctrine may be applied to
preclude a plaintiff from suing in federal court on the basis of an
earlier state court action in which the plaintiff was not a party.
_ App. 9a-10a. This issue has recently drawn substantial scholarly
attention as an important one worthy of this Court’s plenary
review and definitive resolution. See generally Symposium: The
Rooker-Feldman Doctrine, 74 Notre Dame L. Rev. 1081-1233
(1999). See, e.g., Suzanna Sherry, Judicial Federalism in the
Trenches: The Rooker-Feldman Doctrine in Action, id. at 1985,
1112-23 (collecting and defending lower court rulings applying
the Rooker-Feldman doctrine to nonparties) (relied on by the
court below, see App. 10a); Barry Friedman and James E.

9

Gaylord, Rooker-Feldman, From the Ground Up, id. at 1129,
1141-47 (addressing the due process implications of these
rulings); Susan Bandes, The Rooker-Feldman Doctrine:
Evaluating Its Jurisdictional Status, id. at 1175, 1194-95
(describing the “rather frightening position” that the Rooker-
Feldman doctrine may be invoked against a federal plaintiff
based on an earlier state court action “brought by different parties
in an entirely different case”); Jack M. Beermann, Comments on
Rooker-Feldman or Let State Law Be Our Guide, id. at 1209,
1221-22 (noting that the application of the Rooker-Feldman
doctrine to nonparties involves “radical” changes, such as the
creation of “a complicated set of rules requiring nonparties to
intervene in numerous situations to preserve their rights,” thereby
effectively imposing federal court supervision of “the mandatory
party practice of the state courts”).

Review of the decision below, and resolution of the conflict
in the circuits, is particularly warranted for three reasons. First,
the Rooker-Feldman doctrine has “experienced explosive growth
in the lower courts” in the past 15 years, during which it has been
addressed only in passing by this Court, producing a need for
clarification. Sherry, supra, 74 Notre Dame L. Rev. at 1087-88
& n.16. See also Bandes, id. at 1188 n.64 (“given the lack of
Supreme Court guidance on the subject, we currently have
multiple federal court decisions with no uniformity”); Thomas D.
Rowe, Jr., Rooker-Feldman: Worth Only the Powder to Blow It
Up?, id. at 1081, 1084 (noting apparent scholarly consensus that
“the proliferation of lower court case law with many different
emphases and some highly questionable decisions suggests” a
need for Supreme Court review of the Rooker-Feldman
doctrine); Richard H. Fallon, Daniel J. Meltzer & David L.
Shapiro, Hart & Wechsler’s The Federal Courts and the Federal
System 216 (4th ed. 2000 Supp.) (“The lower courts have had
difficulty interpreting and applying the Rooker-Feldman
doctrine, and to date, the Supreme Court has done virtually
nothing to give them guidance.”).

10

Second, the approach of the Eighth Circuit, in permitting the

_ invocation of the doctrine against nonparties, is unsupported by

any statutory text or discernible federal interest, or any need to

vindicate a state interest or concern. See Beermann, supra, 74
Notre Dame L. Rev. at 1218-19, 1221-23, 1228-29.

Third, the use of the doctrine to preclude a federal court
action by a nonparty to the prior state court proceeding raises
grave questions concerning a nonparty’s right to a day in court
under the due process clause of the Fourteenth Amendment.
See, e.g., Martin v. Wilks, 490 U.S. 755, 759-65 (1989). See also
Ortiz v. Fibreboard Corp., 527 U.S. 815, 846 (1999); South
Central Bell Telephone Co. yv. Alabama, 526 U.S. 160, 167-68
(1999); Baker v. General Motors Corp., 522 U.S. 222, 237 n.11
(1998); Richards v. Jefferson County, 517 U.S. 793, 797-802
(1996); Friedman & Gaylord, supra, 74 Notre Dame L. Rev. at
1141-43,

A. The Majority View

The majority view is that the Rooker-Feldman doctrine may
not be applied to block suit by a federal court plaintiff who was
not a party to the earlier state court litigation. See 18 Charles
Alan Wright, Arthur R. Miller & Edward H. Cooper, Federal
Practice and Procedure § 4469.1, at 630 (2000 Supp.) (noting
“rule that Rooker-Feldman doctrine does not defeat federal
jurisdiction when a nonparty brings the action, even though
decision may involve matters inextricably intertwined with a
State judgment”). At least six circuits — the Third, Fourth,
Sixth, Ninth, Tenth, and Eleventh Circuits — take this approach.

Third Circuit. The Third Circuit has long refused to apply
the Rooker-Feldman doctrine to bar suit by a federal court
plaintiff that was not a party to the earlier state court action. In
Valenti v. Mitchell, 962 F.2d 288 (3d Cir. 1992), that circuit
addressed a federal court ballot access lawsuit filed under 42
U.S.C. § 1983 in the aftermath of related state court litigation.
The court rejected the argument that the claims of all of the

11

plaintiffs should be dismissed based on the Rooker-Feldman
doctrine. Jd. at 294-95. With respect to the plaintiffs who had
not appeared as parties in the earlier state court litigation, the
Third Circuit held that “[a] non-party is not precluded from
relitigating matters decided in a prior action simply because it
passed by an opportunity to intervene.” Jd. at 297 (citations
omitted). The court could find “no authority which would
extend the Rooker-Feldman doctrine to persons not parties to the
proceedings before the state supreme court.” Jd.
In FOCUS v. Allegheny County Court of Common Pleas, 75
F.3d 834 (3d Cir. 1996), the Third Circuit reiterated its view
“that ‘Rooker-Feldman does not bar individual constitutional
claims by persons not parties to earlier state court litigation.” Jd.
at 840 (quoting Valenti, 962 F.2d at 298). See also Marks v.
Stinson, 19 F.3d 873, 886 n.11 (3d Cir. 1994) (holding that
Latino absentee voters were not barred from suit under Rooker-
Feldman “because they were not parties to any of the state court
proceedings on the matter”); E.B. v. Verniero, 119 F.3d 1077,
1092 (3d Cir. 1997) (reiterating that ““Rooker-Feldman does not
bar individual constitutional claims by persons not parties to
earlier state court litigation’”) (quoting Valenti, 962 F.2d at 298).

Fourth Circuit. In Gross v. Weingarten, 217 F.3d 208, 218
n.6 (4th Cir. 2000), the Fourth Circuit rejected the district court’s
reliance on the Rooker-Feldman doctrine to bar federal court
litigants from introducing certain evidence inconsistent with a
state court order in a proceeding in which they had not been
parties.. The Fourth Circuit read this Court’s decision in Johnson
v. De Grandy, 512 U.S. 997, 1005-06 (1994), as holding that the
Rooker-Feldman doctrine “does not apply . . . when the person
asserting the claim in the federal suit was not a party to the state

proceeding.” Jd.‘

* Johnson v. De Grandy involved a federal court voting rights lawsuit
filed by the federal government claiming that Florida’s reapportionment plan
for its legislature unlawfully diluted the voting strength of minorities in the
Dade County area. Pointing to an earlier lawsuit in the Florida Supreme Court

12

Sixth Circuit. In United States v. Owens, 54 F.3d 271 (6th
Cir.), cert. dismissed, 516 U.S. 983 (1995), the Sixth Circuit
agreed with the Third Circuit’s conclusion that “[t]he Rooker-
Feldman doctrine does not apply to bar a suit in federal court
brought by a party that was not a party in the preceding action in
state court.” Jd. at 274 (citing Valenti). It explained its
reasoning as follows:

A person who was not a party in the state court action
did not have an opportunity to litigate its claims. That
person must be allowed to bring an action in federal
court to attempt to vindicate its perceived rights,
otherwise it will have no chance to do so. A party has
no obligation to attempt to intervene in a state court
action when it is not named in the suit in order to
preserve its rights.
Id. See also Gottfried v. Medical Planning Services, Inc., 142
F.3d 326, 330 (6th Cir.), cert. denied, 525 U.S. 1041 (1998)

(reaffirming Owens holding).

Ninth Circuit. In Bennett v. Yoshina, 140 F.3d 1218 (9th
Cir. 1998), cert. denied, 525 U.S. 1103 (1999), the Ninth Circuit
upheld the district court’s decision in a federal voting rights case
that relied on Johnson v. De Grandy to hold that the Rooker-

in which the United States could have intervened, Florida argued that the
lawsuit should be dismissed under the Rooker-Feldman doctrine, “under
which a party losing in state court is barred from seeking what in substance
would be appellate review of the state judgment in a United States district
court....” 512 U.S. at 1005-06. On this issue, this Court held that the
doctrine was “inapt” because, unlike in Rooker or Feldman, “the United States
was not a party in the state court” and “was in no position to ask this Court to
review the state court’s judgment.” Instead, this Court concluded, “[tJhe
United States merely seeks to litigate its § 2 case for the first time.” Jd. at
1006. A number of lower federal courts have declined to follow the Johnson
v. De Grandy analysis, evidently viewing it as too “brief, equivocal, and

conclusory” to constitute “binding precedent.” Sherry, supra, 74 Notre Dame
L. Rev. at 1112 n.108.

13

Feldman doctrine was “not implicated in this case because it
applies only when the federal plaintiff was a party to the state
suit.” Jd. at 1223-24 (citing Johnson, 512 U.S. at 1006). The
court refused to preclude even the two federal court plaintiffs
that had participated as amici curiae in the state court proceed-
ings, given that amici “are not actually parties to a case, cannot
conduct discovery, and do not have the right to appeal an adverse
decision.” Jd. at 1124.

Tenth Circuit. In Johnson v. Rodrigues, 226 F.3d 1103
(10th Cir. 2000), the Tenth Circuit reversed the district court’s
dismissal of a lawsuit brought by a father against an adoption
agency and adoptive parents, following a state court adoption
proceeding to which the father had not been made a party. The
Tenth Circuit based its decision on its reading of Johnson v. De
Grandy as holding that “the Rooker-Feldman doctrine should not
be applied against non-parties.” Jd. at 1009-10 (citing cases).

Eleventh Circuit. In Roe v. Alabama, 43 F.3d 574 (11th Cir.
1995), a federal voting rights case, the Eleventh Circuit affirmed
the district court’s decision that the Rooker-Feldman doctrine
was inapplicable. Citing this Court’s decision in Johnson v. De
Grandy, the court held that because the federal court plaintiffs
were not parties to the earlier state court action, “[t]he Rooker-
Feldman doctrine does not apply.” Jd. at 580.

B. The Minority View

As noted in the decision of the Court of Appeals below,
App. 10a, some federal courts and judges have taken the contrary
view: that the Rooker-Feldman doctrine can be applied to bar
the suit of a federal court plaintiff who was not a party to the
earlier state court litigation. See also Sherry, supra, 74 Notre
Dame L. Rev. at 1112-13. We briefly summarize these cases.

Seventh Circuit. According to the court below, the Seventh
Circuit has “not hesitated to apply Rooker-Feldman against
parties who did not participate in the state suit.” App. 10a. The

14

Seventh Circuit decision cited in support of this statement is
T.W. by Enk v. Brophy, 124 F.3d 893 (7th Cir. 1997), a decision
that appears to rely on the Rooker-Feldman doctrine to preclude
a federal court action by a nonparty to the earlier state court
action. Jd. at 896, 898 (barring suit by an individual, not a party
to a state court child custody action, who sought to appear in
federal court as the guardian ad litem for the children involved).°

Eighth Circuit. In this case, the Eighth Circuit clearly
embraced the minority view that the Rooker-Feldman doctrine
may be applied against nonparties to the state court action. App.
10a. In so doing, the Eighth Circuit explicitly rejected its earlier
dictum that under this Court’s decision in Johnson v. De Grandy,
“the Rooker-Feldman rule does not bar a federal claim brought
by one who was not a party to the state court action and therefore
not in any position to seek appellate review of the state court
judgment.” Snider v. City of Excelsior Springs, 154 F.3d 809,
812 (8th Cir. 1998) (citing Johnson, 512 U.S. at 1005-06). That
statement was not determinative of the outcome in Snider
because of the Eighth Circuit’s conclusion that the federal court

* See also Sherry, supra, 74 Notre Dame L. Rev. at 1119. Prior
decisions of the Seventh Circuit appeared to follow the majority view. See,
e.g., Hoover v. Wagner, 47 F.3d 845, 849 (7th Cir. 1995) (in rejecting a
Rooker-Feldman argument against the federal court plaintiffs’ attack on a
state court injunction that impaired their anti-abortion protest activities, the
court observed that “the plaintiffs are not parties to the state court action, so
it is a little hard to describe what they are doing as circumventing the
prescribed mode of appellate review. Their rights have not been adjudicated;
and ordinarily that would bar the defendants’ invocation of Rooker-
Feldman.”) (citing Valenti, 962 F.2d at 297-98); Allen v. Allen, 48 F.3d 259,
261 (7th Cir. 1995) (noting that the Rooker-Feldman doctrine leaves “non-
parties free to pursue their claims” in federal court); Leaf v. Supreme Court
of Wisconsin, 979 F.2d 589, 597-98 (7th Cir. 1992), cert. denied, 508 U.S.
941 (1993) (holding that “because Haynes was not a party” to the earlier state
court proceedings, “the district court was not deprived of jurisdiction to
proceed on Haynes’s federal claims under the Rooker-Feldman doctrine”).

Cf Sherry, supra, 74 Notre Dame L. Rev. at 1118-19 (analyzing Leaf and
Allen decisions).

15

plaintiffs in that case had been parties to the state court lawsuit
(as members of a duly certified class). Jd. In the decision below 2
— in which the court noted that Halbman was not “a party to the “
state court action,” App. 4a — the Eighth Circuit, in rejecting its 8
prior dictum in Snider, heid instead that this Court’s statement in.
Johnson that Rooker-Feldman applies only to parties to the state
court action was itself dictum. App. 1l1an.6. The Eighth Circuit
recently reaffirmed this aspect of the decision below. Brown v.
Sweeney, 2000 U.S. App. LEXIS 31325, *1-2 (8th Cir. Dec. 8,
2000) (citing Lemonds v. St. Louis County, 222 F.3d 488, 492-95
(8th Cir. 2000)) (“Rooker-Feldman doctrine . . . applies even
where party to federal action was not party to state action”).

Circuit Court Individual Opinions and District Court
Decisions. Also articulating the minority rule concerning the
application of the Rooker-Feldman doctrine to nonparties are two
individual opinions by Ninth Circuit and Eleventh Circuit judges.
A concurrence in Bates v. Jones, 131 F.3d 843, 855-57 (9th Cir.
1997) (en banc) (Rymer, J., joined by O’Scannlain, J.,
concurring), cert. denied, 523 U.S. 1021 (1998), objected to the
district court having reached the merits of_a challenge to
California’s term limits for state officials, after the California
Supreme Court had already rendered a decision on the matter in
a case that was brought by entirely different parties. Arguing
that the Rooker-Feldman doctrine should bar the lawsuit, Judge
Rymer noted that the federal court action had been brought by
“different legislators, and different constituents,” but observed:
“I fail to see what difference that makes.” Jd. at 857. Cf.
Bandes, supra, 74 Notre Dame L. Rev. at 1194-95, 1199
(describing Bates concurrence as advancing a “rather frightening
position” that “would have devastating consequences for litigant
access to federal court”). Similarly, the dissent in Roe v.
Alabama, 43 F.3d 574, 586 (11th Cir. 1995) (Edmondson, J.,
dissenting), a federal voting rights case, questioned what it saw
as the majority’s view “that only absolute identity of parties in
the state court action and federal court action (without regard to
state-case parties possibly under the control of or in privity with

16

federal-case parties) will trigger a Rooker-Feldman bar in federal
court.”
Finally, as noted in the decision below, App. 10a, and by a
leading commentator cited in the decision, see Sherry, supra, 74 =
Notre Dame L. Rev. at 1113, federal district judges located in the :
Fourth and Eleventh Circuits have issued decisions that applied
the Rooker-Feldman doctrine to nonparties to the earlier state
court litigation, in reasoning that was not addressed on appeal.
~__ See Republic of Paraguay v. Allen, 949 F. Supp. 1269, 1273 (E.
D. Va. 1996), aff'd on other grounds, 134 F.3d 622, 626-27 &
n.4 (4th Cir. 1998); Williams v. Adkinson, 792 F. Supp. 755, 761-
63 (M. D. Ala. 1992), aff'd without opinion, 987 F.2d 774 (11th
Cir. 1993).

Il. CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED TO RESOLVE
THE CONFLICT IN THE CIRCUITS OVER WHETHER
THE ROOKER-FELDMAN DOCTRINE APPLIES WHERE
THE FEDERAL COURT PLAINTIFF DOES NOT ALLEGE
INJURY CAUSED BY THE STATE COURT JUDGMENT

Although the Eighth Circuit only briefly addressed the point
in its decision, App. 5a-9a, there is also a longstanding
disagreement among the circuits, and general confusion, over
what overlap between a federal court action and an earlier state
court action is enough to trigger the use of the Rooker-Feldman
doctrine. Even if this Court were to resolve the conflict
discussed in Part I by deciding that there are instances,
potentially embracing this case, in which the Rooker-Feldman
doctrine may be applied to a nonparty to a state court proceeding,
this further disagreement provides an additional reason for
granting certiorari in order to bring consistency and coherence to
another aspect of the doctrine.

As Rooker itself made clear, assuming that other conditions
for the application of this doctrine are met, the doctrine is
triggered if the federal court plaintiff explicitly asks that the state
court judgment be voided. Rooker v. Fidelity Trust Co., 263

17

U.S. 413, 414-16 (1923). The question is whether and to what
extent action short of such a request will trigger the Rooker-
Feldman doctrine. Some circuits narrowly confine the
circumstances that will trigger the doctrine, and others (including
the Eighth Circuit) broadly interpret its scope.

A. The Narrow Construction of Rooker-Feldman

The view taken by leading commentators and several circuits
is that the Rooker-Feldman doctrine should be narrowly
construed to “reduce the occasions that require a federal court to
give greater effect to a state judgment than would be recognized
in state courts.” 18 Wright, Miller & Cooper, supra, § 4469.1,
at 633 (2000 Supp.) (citation omitted). These authorities would
permit use of the doctrine to block only those federal court
“claims that seek to ‘undo a remedial order of some sort,”
effectively limiting the doctrine “to actions that seek an order
directed to a state court.” Jd. at 633-34, 662 & n.80 (quoting
Nesses v. Shepard, 68 F.3d 1003, 1004 (7th Cir. 1995) (Posner,
C.J.)).

The Seventh Circuit has followed this narrow, bright-line
test for triggering the Rooker-Feldman doctrine in numerous
cases during the past decade. In GASH Associates v. Village of
Rosemont, 995 F.2d 726 (7th Cir. 1993) (Easterbrook, J.), the
court held that the distinction between preclusion and the
Rooker-Feldman doctrine means that the doctrine is not triggered
simply because the federal court plaintiff presents a claim that
was earlier rejected by a state court:

The Rooker-Feldman doctrine asks: is the federal court
plaintiff seeking to set aside a state judgment, or does he
present some independent claim, albeit one that denies
a legal conclusion that a state court has reached in a
case to which he was a party? If the former, then the
district court lacks jurisdiction; if the latter, then there
is jurisdiction and state law determines whether the
defendant prevails under principles of preclusion.

—————

18

Id. at 728.

On the facts of the GASH Associates case, in which a
building owner was attacking the result of a state court
foreclosure action, the Seventh Circuit found the Rooker-
Feldman doctrine applicable on the basis that the plaintiff

has no claim independent of the state court’s adverse
decision. To put this differently, the injury of which
GASH complains was caused by the judgment, just as
in Rooker [and] Feldman .... GASH did not suffer an
injury out of court and then fail to get relief from state
court; its injury came from the judgment confirming the
sale....

Id. at 729. This view — that the Rooker-Feldman doctrine is
only triggered if the federal court plaintiff claims injury caused
by the state court judgment itself — has been reiterated by the
Seventh Circuit on numerous occasions.®

Five other circuits (the Second, Third, Fourth, Eleventh, and
D.C. Circuits) have to varying degrees followed the Seventh
Circuit in articulating a narrow scope for the Rooker-Feldman
doctrine, one that focuses on whether the federal court plaintiff
is alleging an injury caused by the state court judgment.

* See, e.g., Centres, Inc. v. Town of Brookfield, 148 F.3d 699, 702-03
(7th Cir. 1998) (“a federal claim alleging injury caused by a state court
judgment must be distinguished from a federal claim alleging a prior injury
that a state court failed to remedy,” and here the plaintiff “does not allege an
injury from the state court judgment itself; rather, it challenges the actions of
the defendants.”). See also 4901 Corporation v. Town of Cicero, 220 F.3d
522, 527-28 (7th Cir. 2000); Remer v. Burlington Area Sch. Dist., 205 F.3d
990, 997 (7th Cir. 2000); Long v. Shorebank Dev. Corp., 182 F.3d $48, 555-
56 (7th Cir. 1999); Van Harken v, City of Chicago, 103 F.3d 1346, 1349 (7th
Cir.), cert. denied, 520 U.S. 1241 (1997); Kamilewicz v. Bank of Boston
Corp., 92 F.3d 506, 510 (7th Cir. 1996), rehearing en banc denied, 100 F.3d
1348, cert. denied, $20 U.S. 1204 (1997); Young v. Murphy, 90 F.3d 1225,
1230-31 (7th Cir. 1996); Garry v. Geils, 82 F.3d 1362, 1365-68 (7th Cir.
1996); Homola v. McNamara, 59 F.3d 647, 650 (7th Cir. 1995).

19

The circuit that has been most explicit in agreeing with the
Seventh Circuit on this score is the Third Circuit. In Parkview
Associates Partnership. v. City of Lebanon, 225 F.3d 321, 326
(3d Cir. 2000), the Third Circuit noted “the overwhelming
precedent in this court construing the Rooker-Feldman doctrine
narrowly” in its decision reversing a district court’s reliance on
that doctrine. In that case, a nursing home seeking to expand had
been denied the necessary zoning variance, after which it had
appealed that result to state court on the record before the zoning
board, and lost. It then filed a federal court action alleging
violations of anti-discrimination statutes. Adopting the approach
of the Seventh Circuit, the Third Circuit found no Rooker-
Feldman bar to the nursing home’s federal court action, which
challenged the underlying zoning board decision and not the
ruling of the state court. Jd. at 328-29 (citing GASH Associates,
995 F.2d at 728).

The Fourth, Eleventh and D.C. Circuits have also favorably
(although more briefly) cited Seventh Circuit precedent in
emphasizing that the Rooker-Feldman doctrine targets those
plaintiffs who are attacking a state court judgment. See Brown
& Root, Inc. v. Breckenridge, 211 F.3d 194, 202 (4th Cir. 2000)
(quoting GASH Associates, 995 F.2d at 727); Allstate Ins. Co. v.
West Virginia State Bar, 2000 U.S. App. LEXIS 30143, at *22
(4th Cir. Nov. 30, 2000) (same); Narey v. Dean, 32 F.3d 1521,
1524-25 (11th Cir. 1994) (citing GASH Associates, 995 F.2d at
728); Stanton v. District of Columbia Court of Appeals, 127 F.3d
72, 75 (D.C. Cir. 1997) (same). The Second Circuit has cited
Seventh Circuit precedent in refusing to “extend or amplify the
Rooker-Feldman doctrine,” observing that “[w]hether the
Rooker-Feldman doctrine is coextensive with preclusion or
extends beyond preclusionary rules is a question that has
perplexed courts and commentators.” Hachamovitch vy.
DeBuono, 159 F.3d 687, 696 (2d Cir. 1998) (citing Garry v.
Geils, 82 F.3d 1362, 1367-68 (7th Cir. 1996)).

ied ah ia ana Se ea ee a

Ve

20

B. The Broad Construction of Rooker-Feldman

Several circuits, however, have construed the Rooker-
Feldman doctrine much more broadly. These circuits permit it
to be used, as the Eighth Circuit did in this case, see p. 7 & note
3, supra, to bar a plaintiff from proceeding in federal court even
where the plaintiff alleges no injury caused by the state court
judgment, but simply alleges an injury caused by the defendants
that a state court merely has failed to remedy.’ The basic theory
behind these decisions, one never articulated by a majority of this
Court, is that the Rooker-Feldman doctrine should bar suit
whenever “the federal court cannot rule for the plaintiff without
holding the state court judgment erroneous.” Sherry, supra, 74

Notre Dame L. Rev. at 1094-95 & n.41 (citing Pennzoil Cov. |

Texaco, Inc., 481 U.S. 1, 25 (1987) (Marshall, J., concurring),
and citing lower court applications of this theory).

This approach to the Rooker-Feldman doctrine involves a
“transmutation of res judicata doctrine into jurisdictional
dogma,” 18 Wright, Miller & Cooper, supra, § 4469.1, at 633
(2000 Supp.), in tension with the functioning of 28 U.S.C.
§ 1738, “which requires the federal court to give the judgment
the same effect as the rendering state would.” GASH Associates,

"See, e.g., Sheehan v. Marr, 207 F.3d 35, 39-40 (1st Cir. 2000); Hill v.
Town of Conway, 193 F.3d 33, 39-40 (Ist Cir. 1999); Moccio v. New York
State Office of Court Admin., 95 F.3d 195, 199-200 (2d Cir. 1996); Cazz v.
Chalker, 142 F.3d 279, 293-95 (6th Cir. 1998); Meyer v. California Dep't of
Rehabilitation, 1999 U.S. App. LEXIS 7278, at *2 (9th Cir. Apr. 12, 1999);
Harpin v. Oakley Custom Homes, 2000 U.S. App. LEXIS 25936, at *7-8
(10th Cir. Oct. 17, 2000).

* The opinion for the Court in Pennzoil did not mention the Rooker-
Feldman doctrine. The five justices who did discuss the doctrine articulated
varying views of its applicability and meaning, and no Justice joined in Justice
Marshall’s proposed construction of the doctrine. 481 U.S. at 18 (Scalia, J.,
joined by O’Connnor, J., concurring); id. at 21 (Brennan, J., joined by
Marshall, J., concurring in the judgment); id. at 28 (Blackmun, J., concurring
in the judgment).

21

995 F.2d at 728 (emphasis added). See also Bandes, supra, 74
Notre Dame L. Rev. at 1201 (noting the absence of any clear
rationale or direction in Justice Marshall’s proposed test);
Beermann, supra, 74 Notre Dame L. Rev. at 1211-12 (noting that
this construction of Rooker-Feldman circumvents this Court’s
rulings that state court judgments may not receive “greater
preclusive effect in federal court than they would receive in state
court.”).

The Eighth Circuit’s embrace of this theory to dispose of
Halbman’s lawsuit is clear from its past decisions and its
decision below. In Jn re Goetzman, 91 F.3d 1173, 1177-78 (8th
Cir.), cert. denied, 519 U.S. 1042 (1996), the court upheld a
district court’s reliance on the Rooker-Feldman doctrine to
dismiss a lawsuit that merely sought a result different from the
result of an earlier state court lawsuit. See also Bechtold v. City
of Rosemount, 104 F.3d 1062, 1065-66 (8th Cir. 1997). And in
Snider v. City of Excelsior Springs, 154 F.3d 809, 811 (8th Cir.
1998), the Eighth Circuit explicitly held that the Rooker-
Feldman doctrine is triggered if a determination by the federal
court in the plaintiffs favor would amount to a finding “that [the
state court] decision was wrong.”

In the decision below, in applying its broad construction of
the Rooker-Feldman test to dismiss Halbman’s case, the Eighth
Circuit cited both its earlier decision in Snider and Justice
Marshall’s Pennzoil concurrence articulating this theory. App.
6a. Under this view, the court stated, the Rooker-Feldman
doctrine may be used to foreclose “indirect attempts by federal
plaintiffs to undermine state court decisions.” App. Sa.
Applying this broad test, the court noted that the earlier state
court litigation brought by the City of Peerless Park and two of
its officials challenged the disincorporation petition on
constitutional grounds, but “the state court declined to reverse
the council’s disincorporation order.” App. 6a-7a. This, the
court held, was enough to bar Halbman’s lawsuit under the
Rooker-Feldmandoctrine either: (1) on the theory that a federal
court decision granting Halbman relief would somehow “nullify”

22

the state court’s order refusing others relief, App. 7a, or (2) on
the theory that Halbman’s federal claims “closely implicate the
decision of the state court,” even though “technically the suits
invoke distinct constitutional provisions.” App. 7a-8a. The
Eighth Circuit recently reaffirmed this aspect of the decision
below. Brown v. Sweeney, 2000 U.S. App. LEXIS 31325, *1-2
(8th Cir. Dec. 8, 2000) (citing Lemonds v. St. Louis County, 222
F.3d 488, 492-95 (8th Cir. 2000)) (Rooker-Feldman doctrine
applies “if federal claim succeeds only to extent state court
wrongly decided issue before it”).

Under the narrow approach to the Rooker-Feldman doctrine
embraced by the Seventh Circuit and several other circuits,
Halbman’s lawsuit could not be dismissed because that lawsuit
does not claim that the state court judgment caused Halbman
injury. Rather, his lawsuit simply ignores that judgment, which
was entered against others who elected to sue in state court, and
seeks only relief against defendants for their allegedly
unconstitutional actions. But under the broader, and
unwarranted, interpretation of the doctrine adopted by the court
below, Halbman’s lawsuit was dismissed.

Thus, if this Court determines (in disagreement with our
position in this case) that Halbman’s status as a nonparty to the
state court proceeding is not in itself a bar to the application of
the Rooker-Feldman doctrine, this case then presents an
excellent opportunity to resolve an equally important matter
concerning the basic scope and function of the doctrine.

23

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petition for a writ of certiorari
should be granted.

Respectfully submitted.
DAVID L. SHAPIRO KENNETH CHESEBRO*

1575 Massachusetts Ave. 1600 Massachusetts Ave.
No. 304 No. 801

Cambridge, MA 02138 Cambridge, MA 02138
(617) 495-4618 (617) 661-4423

JACK M. BEERMANN SEBASTIAN RUCCI

765 Commonwealth Ave. 3058 Chardonnay Lane
No. 970C Poland, OH 44514
Boston, MA 02215 (330) 707-1182

(617) 353-2577

Counsel for Petitioner

* Counsel of Record
December 18, 2000

TABLE OF APPENDICES

APPENDIX A
Decision of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Eighth Circuit entered August 3,2000............

APPENDIX B
Decision and judgment of the United States
District Court for the Eastern District of
Missouri entered October 15,1999 ............005-

APPENDIX C
Decision and judgment of the Circuit Court
of the County of St. Louis, State of Missouri,
eo ree per ree error 24a

APPENDIX D
Decision of the Court of Appeals of Missouri,
Eastern District, Division Two, entered
AGU Fag TPE i hod bei a 6h aes ewaees eA 34a

APPENDIX E
Order of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Eighth Circuit denying rehearing and
rehearing en banc, entered September 18,2000 ...... 36a

(This page is intentionally left blank]

APPENDIX A

United States Court of Appeals
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

No. 99-3007
Rich Lemonds; Rich Halbman,
Plaintiffs/Appellants,
v.

St. Louis County, a county having a
charter form of government; City of
Peerless Park, a municipal corporation;
Dudley McCarter, trustee for the City
of Peerless Park; Blanche Sutherland,

Defendants/Appellees,

Donna Asberry; John Asberry; Lisa
Chambers; Mary Corbett; Kevin Grady;
Elisabeth Kreminski; Frank Kreminski;
Mike McCole; Susan McCole; Greg
Lasky; Joseph Otzenberger; Elaine
Otzenberger; Thaddeus Otzenberger:
Arthur Otzenberger; Rosemarie
Otzenberger; Ritamarie Otzenberger;
Melvin Sutherland,

Intervenor
Defendants/Appellees.

*
*
.
.
e
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
=
*
.
*
*
=
.
*
*
.
*

Appeal from the
United States
District Court for
the Eastern District
of Missouri

2a

No. 99-3930

Rich Lemonds; Rich Halbman, °
*

Plaintiffs/Appellants, .
a

v. * Appeal from the

* United States

St. Louis County, @ county having 4 * District Court for

charter form of government, City of the Eastern District

Peerless Park, @ municipal corporation; of Missouri

Dudley McCarter, trustee for the City

of Peerless Park;
Defendants/Appellees,

ao
om
€
of
.
*
&
*
”

Mike McCole; Susan McCole; Greg
| Lasky; Joseph Otzenberger; Elaine

Intervenor

%
a
*
a
*
Otzenberger; Ritamarie Otzenberger; °
*
¥
*
| Defendants/Appellees. .

Filed: August 3, 2000

—

| Submitted: April 12, 2000

(Page numbering from 222 F.34 488 indicated in bold]

3a

[491] Before WOLLMAN, Chief Judge, MAGILL,
Circuit Judge, and FRANK;! District Judge.

WOLLMAN, Chief Judge.

Rich Lemonds and Rich Halbman (appellants) appeal from
the district court’s? denial of their requests for a preliminary
injunction and for leave to file a third amended complaint.
Appellants also appeal from the dismissal with prejudice of
their 42 U.S.C. § 1983 claims. We affirm.

3 L
On December 11, 1997, eighteen registered voters living
in Peerless Park, Missouri, filed a petition with the St. Louis
County Council (the council) requesting that their small city be

concluded that the petition met the requirements of Missouri
Statutes section 79.495, which calls for the disincorporation of
a “fourth class city” having a population of less than one
hundred people upon petition by two thirds of that city’s voters.
Accordingl y, the council ordered the requested disincorporati i ion
and appointed a trustee to represent the former city.

! The Honorable Donovan W. Frank, United States District Judge for the
District of Minnesota, sitting by designation.

2 The Honorable E. Richard Webber, United States District Judge for the
Eastern District of Missouri.

? Peerless Park consisted of ten households, all within one block of each
other. Although the petition appears to have been the culmination of a long-

4a

Shortly after this order was issued, the former city and two
of its former officials challenged the disincorporation in the
Missouri Circuit Court for St. Louis County (the state court).
The complaint, which named St. Louis County and several
members [492] of the council as defendants, sought to reverse
the disincorporation primarily on the grounds that the petition
was actually a request for a “boundary change,” and that, as
such, it was reviewable by the state Boundary Commission and
required an open public election under Missouri law. The
complaint further alleged that the council’s order was
“voidable” because section 79.495 violated the federal Due
Process Clause by failing to provide for notice of an impending
petition drive. The state court rejected the boundary change
argument, upheld the constitutionality of the statute, and found
that the statute’s requirements had been met. The court entered
judgment against the former city and its former officials. This
decision was affirmed by the Missouri Court of Appeals.
Neither appellant was a party to the state court action.

One week prior to the state appellate court affirmance,
appellants — residents of Peerless Park who were not
registered to vote when the petition was circulated — filed this
section 1983 action in federal district court against the County,
the city of Peerless Park, and the city’s trustee. The federal
complaint alleged that the statutory scheme permitting
disincorporation without an election violates both the First
Amendment and the Equal Protection Clause. The complaint
asserted that both appellants were “qualified” voters and that,
had they been notified that the petition was being circulated,
they would have registered so that they would be counted
toward the total number of voters residing in the city. As it was,
both appellants registered to vote on December 12, 1997, the
day after the petition was filed with the council; it is undisputed
that, had either of them done so previously, the number of
signatures on the petition would have been insufficient to
effectuate disincorporation. Appellants sought a preliminary

Sa

injunction, declaratory judgment, and permanent injunctive
relief voiding the disincorporation of Peerless Park.

The district court denied the request for a preliminary
injunction on June 19, 1999, and dismissed all claims with
prejudice on October 15, 1999. The court found that the
complaint failed to state a claim upon which relief could be
granted, that appellants lacked standing to raise their claims ir
any event, and that the suit was barred by res judicata principles
and the Rooker-Feldman doctrine. Timely appeals were taken
from both decisions, as well as from the court’s August 24,
1999, denial of leave to file a third amended complaint adding
four new plaintiffs. These appeals have been consolidated.

Il.

The Rooker-Feldman doctrine recognizes that, with the
exception of habeas corpus petitions, lower federal courts lack
subject matter jurisdiction over challenges to state court
judgments. See District of Columbia Court of Appeals v.
Feldman, 460 U.S. 462, 476; Rooker v. Fidelity Trust Co., 263
U.S. 413, 416 (1923). Instead, federal jurisdiction to review
most state court judgments is vested exclusively in the United
States Supreme Court. See 28 U.S.C. § 1257; Feldman, 460
U.S. at 486. Because the Rooker-Feldman rule is jurisdictional,
it may be addressed for the first time on appeal and may be
raised sua sponte. See Doctor's Associates, Inc. v. Distajo, 107
F.3d 126, 137 (2d Cir. 1997). We review questions of subject
matter jurisdiction de novo. See Charchenko v. City of
Stillwater, 47 F.3d 981, 982-83 (8th Cir. 1995).

The Rooker-Feldman doctrine forecloses not only straight-
forward appeals but also more indirect attempts-by federal
plaintiffs to undermine state court decisions. Thus, a corollary
to the basic rule against reviewing judgments prohibits federal
district courts from exercising jurisdiction over general
constitutional claims that are “inextricably intertwined” with

:
£
FE
:
4
E
‘

6a

specific claims already adjudicated in state [493] court. See
Feldman, 460 U.S. at 482 n. 16; Fielder v. Credit Acceptance
Corp., 188 F.3d 1031, 1034 (8th Cir. 1999); Neal v. Wilson,
112 F.3d 351, 356 (8th Cir. 1997). A general federal claim is
inextricably intertwined with a state court judgment “if the
federal claim succeeds only to the extent that the state court
wrongly decided the issue before it.” Pennzoil Co. v. Texaco,
Inc., 481 U.S. 1, 25 (1987) (Marshall, J., concurring). In such
cases, “where federal relief can only be predicated upon a
conviction that the state court was wrong, it is difficult to
conceive the federal proceedings as, in substance, anything
other than a prohibited appeal of the state-court judgment.” Jd.
The state and federal claims need not be identical. See Jn re
Goetzman, 91 F.3d 1173, 1177 (8th Cir. 1996)-

Deciding whether Rooker-Feldman controls this case
“requires determining exactly what the state court held” to
ascertain whether granting the requested federal relief would
either void the state court’s judgment or effectively amount to
a reversal of its holding.‘ Charchenko, 47 F.3d at 983; see
Snider v. City of Excelsior Springs, 154 F.3d 809, 811 (8th Cir.
1998). In addition to raising state law arguments not at issue
in this appeal, the state court action sought to invalidate the
council’s order on the basis of the federal Due Process Clause.
The complaint alleged that section 79.495 violates both
substantive and procedural due process principles by failing to
ensure that all residents of a fourth class city receive adequate
notice prior to the circulation of a disincorporation petition.
Resolving this challenge, the state court held:

“ Because the federal suit was filed prior to the decision of the Missouri
Court of Appeals, we focus on the opinion of the Missouri Circuit Court for
St. Louis County.

/ Ta

Because [plaintiffs] have no “life, liberty or

property” interest in the continued existence of - as
Peerless Park, . . . there is no constitutional

right to notice or a hearing. State law

provides, and [plaintiffs] received, more

process than [plaintiffs] were due. There is no
constitutional right to vote on disincorporation

of a fourth class city.

State ex rel. City of Peerless Park, Mo. v. Young, No. 98CC
1146 at 4-5 (St. Louis County, Mo., Cir. Ct., June 15, 1998)
(unpublished) (citation omitted), reprinted at App. 414, 419-20.
Accordingly, the state court declined to reverse the council’s
disincorporation order.

Turning to the federal complaint, we begin by noting that
the relief sought — to enjoin the disincorporation of Peerless
Park — would, as a practical matter, directly nullify the final
judgment of the state district court upholding disincorporation.
This fact alone may be sufficient to decide the case. See
Suzanna Sherry, Judicial Federalism in the Trenches: Rooker-
Feldman Doctrine in Action, 74 Notre Dame L. Rev. 1085,
1099 (1999) (suggesting that Rooker-Feldman applies wherever
the federal court “is in effect reviewing the state court judgment
even if it is not reviewing the decision”) (emphasis in original);
cf. Fed. R. Civ. P. 58 (distinguishing between judgments and
opinions); Fed. R. App. P. 36 (same).

We also find, however, that even if appellants were not

asking us effectively to overturn the state court’s judgment, the
federal claims they state so closely implicate the decision of the
state court that the federal suit would be barred anyway. See
Feldman, 460 U.S. at 482 n. 16. In reaching this conclusion,
we address two issues that complicate the inquiry.
_____ First, since Rooker-Feldman deprives federal courts of
jurisdiction over general claims not raised before the state court
only where such claims are inextricably intertwined with the

Ah nm - adnate < aeasnanei

8a

State court judgment, “a claim — particularly a claim under
federal law — is not precluded if it is ‘separable from and
collateral to the merits of the state-court judgment.”” Fielder,
188-494] F.3d at 1034 (quoting Pennzoil, 481 U.S. 1 at 21
(Brennan, J., concurring)). Thus, it is sometimes permissible
for a plaintiff to challenge the constitutionality of a state rule in
federal court even though a state court has previously upheld a
particular application of the rule to that same plaintiff, so long
as the general federal challenge does not involve review of the
state court decision. See Feldman, 460 U.S. at 482-86. _

On its face, appellants’ federal complaint in this case may
initially appear to articulate legal claims that are “separable
from and collateral to” those raised before the state court.
Indeed, whereas the state court faced a due process challenge,
the 36-page federal complaint studiously avoids any mention
of “due process.” Instead, appellants creatively invoke the First
Amendment, alleging that the secrecy of the petition process
effectively “silenced” them, suppressing “core political speech”
by preventing them from “conveying a political message
against the disincorporation of the City.” In addition, because
qualified but unregistered voters were not counted toward the
total number of city residents for purposes of determining
whether the requisite signatures of two thirds of the population
had been recorded, appellants rely on the Equal Protection
Clause to argue that the secret petition process denied them an
“equal opportunity to win votes.” my

Ultimately, we believe that these arguments do no more
than restate the claim for relief that was rejected on the merits
by the state court. Although technically the suits invoke distinct
constitutional provisions, as a substantive matter they both
challenge the basic fairness of the petition process based on the
concept of lack of notice. Thus, the first amendment and equal
protection arguments presented to the district court appear to be
nothing more than creative attempts to reclothe the failed due
process claim in new constitutional garb. As such, these

9a

arguments present us with a situation in which a decision
favorable to appellants could “only be predicated upon a
conviction that the state court was wrong.” Pennzoil, 481 U.S.
at 25 (Marshall, J., concurring). Without commenting on the
merits of appellants’ arguments, we simply reiterate that federal
plaintiffs cannot by artful pleading obtain a hearing of
disguised state court appeals that would otherwise be subject to
a Rooker-Feldman bar. See Fielder, 188 F.3d at 1034; Valenti
v. Mitchell, 962 F.2d 288, 296 (3d Cir. 1992) (party “cannot be
allowed to escape Rooker-Feldman by raising a new
constitutional theory in federal court”).

The second complicating factor is that the parties to this
suit are not the same as those who litigated in state court. Most
importantly, neither appellant was a party to the state court
action.* Appellants argue that the state court plaintiffs who
raised the due process challenge would not have had standing
to raise the first amendment and equal protection versions of
the same argument because the state court plaintiffs, unlike
appellants, were registered voters. Appellants also contend that
Rooker-Feldman “exists to prevent a party in a state court from
having two bites at the apple” and assert that “the Rooker-
Feldman doctrine has never been applied against nonparties.”

This is not quite accurate. We recognize that some courts
have held that the Rooker-Feldman doctrine does not apply to
bar a suit in federal court brought by a party that was not a
party in the preceding state court action. See, e. g., Bennett v.
Yoshina, 140 F.3d 1218, 1223-24 (9th Cir. 1998), cert. denied
sub nom. Citizens for a Constitutional Convention v. Yoshina,
525 U.S. 1103 (1999); United States v. Owens, 54 F.3d 271,
274 (6th Cir. 1995); [495] Valenti, 962 F.2d at 297-98; cf
Wright & Miller, Federal Practice & Procedure § 4469.1 (1999

* In addition, whereas Peerless Park was a plaintiff in the state court suit,
in this federal action the disincorporated city has been named as a
defendant.

10a

Supp.). Other courts, however, have not hesitated to apply
Rooker-Feldman against parties who did not participate in the
state suit, see 7.W. & M.W. v. Brophy, 124 F.3d 893, 898 (7th
Cir. 1997); Republic of Paraguay v. Allen, 949 F. Supp. 1269,
1273 (E. D. Va. 1996), aff'd on other grounds, 134 F.3d 622,
628 (4th Cir. 1997); Williams v. Adkinson, 792 F. Supp. 755,
761-63 (M. D. Ala. 1992), aff'd, 987 F.2d 774 (11th Cir. 1993)
(unpublished table decision), and more than one federal
appellate judge has expressed the view that the applicability of
Rooker-Feldman should not depend on identity of the parties
in the state and federal suits, see Bates v. Jones, 131 F.3d 843,
855-57 (9th Cir. 1997) (en banc) (Rymer, J., concurring); Roe
v. Alabama, 43 F.3d 574, 586 (11th Cir. 1995) (Edmondson, J.,
dissenting).

We are persuaded by the latter approach. Insisting that the
parties must be identical, it seems to us, confuses the Rooker-
Feldman doctrine with principles of res judicata. These
doctrines are not the same. See Hachamovitch v. DeBuono,
159 F.3d 687, 696 n.2 (2d. Cir. 1998) (noting that the “Rooker-
Feldman doctrine differs from preclusion in certain critical
ways”); Charchenko, 47 F.3d at 984-85 (conducting separate
analyses and finding claims barred by Rooker-Feldman but not
res judicata). Although the two rules often overlap in their
practical effects, they rest on contrasting foundations and serve
distinct purposes. Thus, whereas res judicata is largely a matter
of common law and involves, the impropriety of permitting
parties to have “two bites at the apple,” Rooker-Feldman is
based squarely on federal law and is concerned with federalism
and the proper delineation of the power of the lower federal
courts. Such courts are simply without authority to review
most state court judgments — regardless of who might request
them to do so. See Rooker, 263 U.S. at 416; Sherry, supra, at
1112-23. Accordingly, that appellants were not parties to the

lla

state suit is not by itself dispositive.*

That said, however, considering the situation of the parties
will often be helpful in the “inextricably intertwined” analysis.
The key inquiry, as always, must be whether the federal
plaintiff's interest in having a state rule set aside is inseparable
from his interest in upsetting a particular state court judgment
based on that rule. See Feldman, 460 U.S. at 482-86. This may
be the case where the federal plaintiff would have lacked
standing to bring the general challenge but for the state court’s
judgment, see Facio v. Jones, 929 F.2d 541, 545 (10th Cir.
1991), or where the relief sought in federal court both
implicates a state court decision and has merely retrospective
as opposed to prospective effect, compare Centifanti v. Nix,
865 F.2d 1422, 1430 (3d Cir. 1989) (disbarred attorney’s
prospective challenge to reinstatement rules not precluded by
Rooker-Feldman doctrine) with Stern v. Nix, 840 F.2d 208,
212 (3d Cir. 1988) (disbarred attorney’s retrospective challenge
to disbarment procedures precluded by Rooker-Feldman
doctrine).

Conversely, although the fact that appellants were not
parties to the state suit does not automatically preclude a
Rooker-Feldman bar, we recognize that some [496] courts
have declined to apply the rule where the federal plaintiffs
lacked a reasonable opportunity, through intervention or
otherwise, to litigate their claims in state court. See, e. g., Long

* We recognize that, in Snider, 154 F.3d at 812, we felt it necessary to
distinguish Johnson v. De Grandy, in which the Supreme Court stated that
the United States’s absence from a prior state court action supported the
conclusion that the Rooker-Feldman doctrine did not prevent the United
States from bringing a subsequent federal suit. See 512 U.S. 997, 1005-06
(1994). The absence of the United States from the state court proceedings
was not critical to the outcome in De Grandy, however, since the Court
additionally found, first, that the state court considered its own decision to
have been a mere “preliminary look” at the relevant claims and, second, that
the United States “had not directly attacked [the state court] judgment in
this proceeding.” Jd.

Ce ans ot gree te pram gRNRS darn acai t hee cit

srenpank Sab:

12a

v. Shorebank Dev. Corp., 182 F.3d 548, 558 (7th Cir. 1999);
Valenti, 962 F.2d at 296; Wood v. Orange County, 715 F.2d
1543, 1546-48 (11th Cir. 1983) (stating that when “plaintiffs
did not have a reasonable opportunity to raise their claims in
the state trial court where judgment was entered or on appeal of
that judgment, the [federal] district court will not usurp the role
of state appellate courts or the Supreme Court by accepting
jurisdiction”).’ si

In the present case, application of these principles
reinforces our conclusion that Rooker-Feldman bars the federal
claims. Appellants’ general constitutional challenge to section
79.495 is inseparable from their desire to reverse the
disincorporation of Peerless Park. Indeed, the only possible
basis for federal standing in this case arises from the council’s
disincorporation decision, which was sustained by the state
court in a judgment appellants now specifically ask us to
overturn. Moreover, because the entire upshot of a favorable
decision in this case would be to unwind the decision of the
state court, granting the requested relief would have only
retrospective effect. Appellants’ federal claims are thus
inextricably intertwined with the state court judgment. See
Feldman, 470 U.S. at 482 n.16.

Furthermore, there can be little doubt that both appellants
had ample opportunity to bring their first amendment and equal
protection claims in state court. Both Lemonds and Halbman
were city officials of Peerless Park up until its dissolution
(Lemonds was an alderman and Halbman was building
commissioner), and they were well aware of the state
proceedings. Indeed, Lemonds himself sponsored the bill to
hire an attorney for the city in the state court litigation and

~7 We note that this is not the same as creating a blanket exception for
procedural due process claims, a step we have expressly declined to take in
the past. See Goetzman, 91 F.3d at 1178; Postma v. First Fed. Sav. & Loan
of Sioux City, 74 F.3d 160, 162 n. 3 (8th Cir. 1996).

13a

received regular reports on the progress of the case. Yet, rather
than pursuing their claims before the state court, appellants
awaited that court’s adverse ruling before attempting to bring
their substantively identical challenges in federal district court.
This the Rooker-Feldman doctrine does not allow. See Long,
182 F.3d at 558.

Finally, we find no abuse of discretion in the district
court’s denial of leave to file a third amended complaint, as
appellees’ motion to dismiss based on the second amended
complaint was already fully briefed and under submission, and
granting further leave to amend would thus have imposed an
undue burden on appellees. See In re Milk Products Antitrust
Litigation, 195 F.3d 430, 438 (8th Cir. 1999), cert. denied sub
nom. Rainy Lake One Stop, Inc. v. Marigold Foods, Inc., 120
S. Ct. 1534 (U. S. Mar. 27, 2000); Fuller v. Secretary of
Defense, 30 F.3d 86, 89 (8th Cir. 1994) (standard of review).

The judgment is affirmed.

ie
PS
2
4
oa
Px

:
:
#
oS
3
BS
3
€
Pe
2
ry:
.

14a
APPENDIX B
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
EASTERN DISTRICT OF MISSOURI
EASTERN DIVISION

RICH LEMONDS, et al.,

)
)
Plaintiffs, )
vs. ) FILED
) OCT 15 1999
ST. LOUIS COUNTY, )
et al., ) Case No.
) 4:99CV00691 ERW
Defendants. )
MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

This matter is before the Court upon the Motions to
Dismiss plaintiffs’ Second Amended Complaint filed by
defendants and intervening defendants. [Documents #87 and
#93]. Plaintiffs claim in this action that the defendants, actions
in regards to the disincorporation of the city of Peerless Park
deprived them of due process, violated their equal protection
rights, and violated their rights under the First Amendment.
Defendants and intervening defendants claim that plaintiffs’
complaint fails to state a cause of action for which relief can be
granted for the following reasons: (1) the complaint is barred
by the doctrines of res judicata and collateral estoppel, because
plaintiffs’ complaint represents a collateral attack on a full and
final judgment in an action brought in the Missouri court
system and affirmed by the Missouri Court of Appeals; (2) this
Court lacks jurisdiction over this cause of action, because this
Court may not reverse the final judgment reached in the state
court system under the principles set forth by the Supreme
Court in Rooker v. Fidelity Trust Co., 263 U.S. 413 (1923) and

15a

District of Columbia Court of Appeals v. Feldman, 460 U.S.
462 (1983); (3) the plaintiffs’ second amended complaint fails
to state a cause of action for which relief can be granted; and
(4) plaintiffs lack standing to assert the claims in their second
amended complaint. Considering all these arguments under the
facts of this case, the Court concludes that the Motions to
Dismiss should be granted.

I. STATEMENT OF GENERAL
AND RELEVANT FACTS.

Plaintiffs Rich Halbman and Rich Lemonds were residents
of the city of Peerless Park. On or about December 11, 1997,
eighteen registered voters of what was at that time the city of
Peerless Park signed a petition to disincorporate Peerless Park.
On March 19, 1998, the St. Louis County Council issued an
Order to disincorporate Peerless Park pursuant to Mo. Rev.
Stat. § 79.495, which provides as follows:

“Disincorporation without election allowed, when
— The county governing body of any county in which
a city of the fourth class is located shall have the
power to disincorporate such city upon petition of
two-thirds of the voters of such city, without an
election in such city, provided that the petition
requests disincorporation without an election, and
provided that the population of such city is less than
one hundred.”

Any resident who is registered to vote, but does not sign
the petition for disincorporation, is considered to be against the

Plaintiffs claim that Susan McCole and Mary Corbett,
alderpersons of Peerless Park, circulated the petition to at least
some of the residents of Peerless Park, but failed to present the
petition to all of the Peerless Park residents. Plaintiffs claim
that they presented the petition to the residents of only six of

16a

the ten homes in Peerless Park. Plaintiffs also claim that
McCole and Corbett did not notify opponents of the petition or
provide a voting registration cutoff date. Plaintiffs claim that
these actions prevented opponents of the petition from
registering and voting against, or being counted as votes
against, the petition to disincorporate Peerless Park. Plaintiffs
claim that they would have voted against the petition if they
had been registered voters, but the actions taken by the
individuals circulating the petition prevented them from
registering and voting against disincorporation. Plaintiffs claim
their -votes would have prevented the disincorporation of the
City.

Prior to entering the Order disincorporating Peerless Park,
the St. Louis County Council referred the petition to Hon. John
E. Bardgett, Jr. for a recommendation and report. Following an
evidentiary hearing held on January 29, 1998, Bardgett found
that the petition satisfied section 79.495. He submitted this
report to the County Council on or about March 3, 1998. The
Council based its March 19, 1998 Order to disincorporate
Peerless Park on Bardgett’s report.

Following the Council’s Order, Peerless Park, through its
mayor and two of its aldermen, filed a lawsuit in the Circuit
Court of the state of Missouri contesting this action, arguing
that the disincorporation was a “boundary change,” reviewable _
by the Boundary Commission, which would allow for an open
public election. The members of the County Council were
named as Respondents in- this action and the eighteen
intervening defendants in this matter intervened there as well.
The court upheld the jurisdiction of St. Louis County and
disincorporated the City. The Missouri Court of Appeals
upheld that decision on April 13, 1999. Its mandate issued May
5, 1999. Peerless Park has now been disincorporated and is a
part of St. Louis County.

17a
Il. STANDARDS GOVERNING MOTIONS TO DISMISS

A complaint shall not be dismissed for its failure to state
a claim upon which relief can be granted unless it appears
beyond a reasonable doubt that the plaintiff can prove no set of
facts in support of a claim entitling him or her to relief.
Breedlove v. Earthgrains Baking, 140 F.3d 797, 799 (8th Cir.
1998) (citing, inter alia, Conley v. Gibson, 355 U.S. 41, 45-46
(1957)). In addition, this Court must view the facts alleged in
the light most favorable to the plaintiff. Schuer_v. Rhode, 416
U.S. 232, 236 (1976). The issue is not whether the plaintiff will
ultimately prevail, but whether the plaintiff is entitled to present
evidence in support of his or her claim. Jd. Analyzing
plaintiffs’ claims under these standards, the Court concludes
that plaintiffs’ complaint fails to state a cause of action for
which relief can be granted for the reasons that follow.

III. PLAINTIFFS’ EQUAL PROTECTION
CLAIM FAILS AS A MATTER OF LAW

First, the Court finds that plaintiffs’ Equal Protection claim
fails as a matter of law, because a rational relationship exists
between the requirement that only registered voters, as opposed
to unregistered voters, are counted in determining whether a
city should be disincorporated and the Governmental interest in
efficiency and prevention of fraud. Courts have made clear that
“*TR]estrictions affecting the right to vote must cause a
discrimination of some substance before the compelling state
_ interest test is triggered.’” Coalition for Sensible and Humane
Solutions v. Wamser, 590 F. Supp. 217, 222 (E.D. Mo. 1984)
(quoting United States v. State of South Dakota, 636 F.2d 241,
244 (8th Cir. 1990)). As defendant St. Louis County notes,
plaintiffs have not been deprived of the right to vote in this
case, because section 79.495 allows for disincorporation
without an election. As the Supreme Court has noted, states
have ““broad powers to determine the conditions under which

A LR LORE TT
a tae ee ee ee

18a

the right to suffrage may be exercised.’”” Evans v. Cornman,
398 U.S. 419, 422 (1970) (quoting Lassiter v. Northhampton
Election Board, 360 U.S. 45, 50 (1959)). The Equal Protection
Clause comes into play “‘once the franchise is granted to the
electorate.” Jd. (citing Harper v. Virginia Board of Elections,
383 U.S. 663, 665 (1966)) (emphasis added). Under section
79.495, no election is required if two-thirds of the voters of a
city petition for disincorporation. Thus, the state did not grant
the franchise to the electorate in this case. Therefore, because
this case does not involve an election or voting rights, the Court
does not find that the “compelling interest” test applies to this
case.
Moreover, plaintiffs have not established that any alleged
voting restriction in this case causes discrimination of “some
substance.” Plaintiffs appear to argue that the procedure
utilized by those supporting the disincorporation of Peerless
Park discriminated against those opposing such disincorpora-
tion. In reality, however, the only residents not counted in the
determination of whether to disincorporate Peerless Park were
those residents who were not registered to vote. The Court does
not find any case law supporting the view that a restriction
limiting the right to be counted in a petition to disincorporate
solely to registered voters causes a discrimination of “some
substance.” Murrah v. State of Arkansas, 532 F.2d 105, 106
(8th Cir. 1976) (noting and citing several cases for the
proposition that it “has been uniformly held that persons not
registered to vote do not constitute a distinct and identifiable
group such that there has been an intentional, systematic
exclusion of a distinct class”); cf. Morgan v. City of Florissant,
147 F.3d 772, 773-74 (8th Cir. 1998) (noting difference in
voting jurisprudence between election laws providing for the
drawing and redrawing of state political subdivisions, which is
reviewed under a rational relationship test, and laws involving
the choice of legislative representatives or imposing restrictions
on voters based on characteristics such as wealth or race, which
is reviewed under the strict scrutiny test); Taxpayers United

19a

For Assessment Cuts v. Austin, 994 F.2d 291, 296 (6th Cir.
1993) (noting that while it is well settled that the right to vote
is a fundamental right, research does not “identify any decision
of the Supreme Court or a lower federal court holding that
signing a petition to initiate legislation is entitled to the same
protection as exercising the right to vote”).

This absence of such case law is not surprising, because if
such a “voting” restriction did amount to discrimination of
“some substance,” the Court believes that every election would
be open to challenge from unregistered voters who are
dissatisfied with the result. Plaintiffs have not demonstrated
that the voting restriction at issue here causes discrimination of
“some substance.” The right to vote in any election or other
procedure is only a “‘right to participate in elections on an
equal basis with other citizens in the jurisdiction. St. Louis
County, Mo. v. City of Town and Country, 590 F. Supp. 731,
737 (E.D. Mo. 1984). All unregistered voters, including
plaintiffs and any unregistered individuals who would have
favored disincorporation, were excluded from the calculation
of whether Peerless Park should be disincorporated. Thus, no
form of discrimination requiring strict scrutiny is present under
the facts of this case. Therefore, the rational basis test applies.
Because a rational basis exists between the consideration of
only registered voters and the Governmental interest in
efficiency and prevention of fraud, plaintiffs’ equal protection
claim fails as a matter of law.

IV. PLAINTIFFS’ DUE PROCESS CLAIM
FAILS AS A MATTER OF LAW.

For the same reasons set forth supra in Section III, the
Court concludes that plaintiffs, due process claim fails as a
matter of law. In addition, plaintiffs, due process claim fails as
a matter of law, because plaintiffs have not demonstrated that
Missouri law has created an interest sufficient to constitute a
“legitimate claim of entitlement” subject to protection under

20a

the due process clause under the facts of this case. See
Dobrovolny v., Moore, 126 F.3d 1111, 1113 (8th Cir. 1997)
(noting that right to state initiative process is a “right created by
state law,” which means that if certain procedures for
exercising such a right are not provided under the state law
creating the right, the parties arguing that a denial of such
procedures deprives them of due process “have no right or
interest which would entitle them to due process protection”).
For these reasons, plaintiffs’ due process claim fails as a matter
of law.

V. PLAINTIFFS’ FIRST AMENDMENT
CLAIM FAILS AS A MATTER OF LAW.

Plaintiffs have based their First Amendment claim on the
Supreme Court’s recent decision in Buckley v. American
Constitutional Law Foundation, 119 S. Ct, 636 (1999).
Plaintiffs argued that their First Amendment rights were
violated under the principles set forth in cases like Buckley,
because the individuals circulating the petition to
disincorporate Peerless Park secretly circulated the petition
only to those individuals who, like the circulators, were in favor
of disincorporation.

Under the facts of this case, however, it is clear that
plaintiffs’ First Amendment rights have not been impinged by
any governmental action in this matter. As the Court noted
supra in Section III, the consideration of the signatures of only
those individuals who are registered to vote is reasonably
related to the goals of efficiency and fairness in determining
whether a fourth-class city should or should not be
disincorporated. The principles set forth in Buckley do not lead
the Court to a contrary finding and plaintiffs have not directed
the Court to any other law supporting their claims. Buckley
involved Colorado statutes placing restrictions on petition
circulators. In the present case, however, no restrictions were
placed on any petition circulators by any Missouri law.

2la

Plaintiffs have not directed the Court to any governmental
action in this case that limited their First Amendment rights.
Plaintiffs could have distributed their own petitions or other
anti-disincorporation propaganda to opponents or proponents
of the disincorporation of Peerless Park, regardless of their
status as unregistered voters. Therefore, Buckley and Meyer v.
Grant, 486 U.S. 414 (1988), another case discussing state
restrictions on petition circulators, do not apply to the facts of
this case. 7

While plaintiffs argue that the petition was only circulated
to individuals who wished to disincorporate Peerless Park,
which prevented unregistered opponents of the disincorporation
from registering and being counted against disincorporation,
such selective circulation of a petition is acceptable under the
First Amendment. In fact, in arguing against such selective
circulation, it is plaintiffs, not defendants, who argue in favor
of a restriction on the First Amendment rights of petition
circulators. A requirement that all petition circulators present
the petition to their opponents would inhibit the freedom of the
circulators to engage in one-on-one association with those who
share their same goals and ideals. In addition, the additional
time and resources required to present petitions to all potential
opponents of disincorporation would limit the number of
individuals capable of circulating petitions in the manner
desired by plaintiff. Therefore, such a restriction would, like the
restrictions at issue in Buckley and Meyer, reduce the-number
of voices who could convey the messages of the proponents
and opponents of disincorporation. For these reasons, the Court
finds that plaintiffs’ First Amendment claims fail as a matter of
law and should be dismissed.

22a
VI. CONCLUSION.

For the reasons set forth in this Memorandum and Order,
the Court finds that plaintiffs’ claims fail as a matter of law and
shall be dismissed.’

Accordingly,

IT is HEREBY ORDERED that the Motions to Dismiss
filed by both defendant and the intervenor defendants
[Documents #87 and #93] are GRANTED; and

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that all other pending
motions are DENIED as moot.

An appropriate judgment shall accompany this
memorandum and order.

Dated this 15th day of October, 1999.

E. Richard Webber
United States District Judge

! Because the Court has concluded that plaintiffs’ claims fail as a matter
of law for the reasons set forth in this memorandum and order, no further
discussion of defendants’ other claims supporting dismissal is indicated.
However, the Court believes that if plaintiffs’ claims did not fail as a matter
of law for the reasons set forth supra., this Court would lack jurisdiction
over plaintiffs’ claims under the principles set forth by the Supreme Court
in Rooker v. Fidelity Trust Co., 263 U.S. 413 (1923) and District of
Columbia Court of Appeals v. Feldman, 460 U.S. 462 (1983), because
granting the relief requested by plaintiffs would require this Court to
“effectively reverse the state court decision” and “void its holding.” Snider
v. City of Excelsior Springs, Missouri, 154 F.3d 809, 811 (8th Cir. 1998).
In the proceedings that took place in the Missouri court system, the Missouri
courts upheld the disincorporation of Peerless Park, noted that there was “no
constitutional right to vote on disincorporation of a fourth class city,” and
even found that plaintiff Rich Lemonds was “not a voter” under Missouri
law. The Court believes that granting plaintiffs the relief they seek would
reverse these decisions made by the Missouri state courts. The Court
believes the Rooker-Feldman doctrine cautions the Court against granting
such relief.

23a
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
EASTERN DISTRICT OF MISSOURI
EASTERN DIVISION
RICH LEMONDS, et al.,

Plaintiffs,

)

)

)

) FILED

) OCT 15 1999
)

)

)

)

Vs.

ST. LOUIS COUNTY,
et al., Case No.
4:99CV00691 ERW

Defendants.
JUDGMENT

In accordance with the Memorandum and Order of this
Court, which was filed on this date and incorporated herein,
IT IS HEREBY ORDERED, ADJUDGED and
DECREED that all of plaintiffs’ claims against defendants are
dismissed with prejudice.
Dated this 15th day of October, 1999.
_ls/_

E. Richard Webber
United States District Judge

24a

APPENDIX C
IN THE CIRCUIT COURT
OF THE COUNTY OF ST. LOUIS
STATE OF MISSOURI
STATE ex rel. CITY OF )
PEERLESS PARK, )
MISSOURI, et al., )
)
Relators, )
VS. ) Cause No. 98CC 1146

)

ROBERT D. YOUNG, ) Division No. 39
et al., )
)
Respondents. )

FINDINGS OF FACT
AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW
Findings of Fact

1. All of the records and proceedings of the St. Louis
County Council (“County Council”) In the Matter of
Disincorporation of the City of Peerless Park, as fully and
entirely as they remain among the records, papers and files of
said County Council, have been filed with this court by
Respondents in obedience to the Writ of Certiorari.

2. The City of Peerless Park is a fourth class city located
in St. Louis County, Missouri.

A. On June 11, 1990 the Board of Trustees of the Village
of Peerless Park duly enacted Ordinance 9-1990 providing for
the holding of an election to be held in the Village of Peerless
Park at the time of the holding of the primary election on

25a

August 7, 1990 for the purpose of submitting to the qualified
electors of said village a proposal to change the classification
of the village of Peerless Park from that of a village to that of
a fourth class city.

B. A Special Election was held on August 7, 1990 in
which a majority of the voters of the Village of Peerless Park
voted in favor of the proposition to become a fourth class city.

C. Relators admitted in the Petition for Writ of Certiorari
filed with this court on April 7, 1998 that Peerless Park is a
fourth class city.

D. At the proceedings before County Council, Peerless
Park admitted that it was a fourth class city.

3. Respondent St. Louis County is a charter county of the
first class and the individual respondents are councilmen of St.
Louis County, acting in their representative capacity.
Intervenors are residents and qualified voters of Peerless Park

who signed the Petition to Disincorporate Peerless Park.

4. On the 19th day of March, 1998 the County Council
adopted an order disincorporating the City of Peerless Park,
pursuant to Section 79.495 R.S.Mo. effective May 1, 1998, and
provided the Council shall appoint a trustee, pursuant to
Section 79.510 R.S.Mo. prior to May 1, 1998. A copy of the
order is attached to the Petition as Plaintiff s Exhibit 1.

5. The City of Peerless Park has, and at all relevant times
herein has had, a population of less than 100.

6. On December 10, 1997, Intervenors Mary Corbett and
Susan McCole prepared a Petition for Disincorporation of
Peerless Park.

7. On December 10, 1997, the Petition that had been
prepared by Corbett and McCole was signed by them and
sixteen other persons.

26a

8. On December 10, 1997, McCole witnessed each and
every person executing the Petition.

9. All eighteen persons who signed the petition on
December 10, 1997, did so voluntarily and in the presence of
McCole, and knew that they were asking the County Council to
disincorporate the City of Peerless Park without an election.

10. All eighteen persons who signed the petition on
December 10, 1997 resided in Peerless Park at the addresses
listed on the Petition and were registered voters of Peerless
Park. 5B

11. On the morning of December 11, 1997, Susan McCole
went to the St. Louis County Board of Election Commissioners,
where she executed an affidavit attesting that she witnessed and
collected the signatures, and had the affidavit notarized.

12. On December 11, 1997, Susan McCole and others filed
the Petition (with eighteen signatures) with the St. Louis
County Council.

13. The Petition was signed by two-thirds of the legal
voters of the City of Peerless Park.

A. On December 11, 1997, there were 30 persons shown
on the Board of Election Commissioners list of “Active
Registered Voters”; ‘ :

B. Three of the thirty persons shown on the Board of
Election Commissioners list did not reside in the City of
Peerless Park on December 11, 1997, or any time thereafter:
Paula C. Benz, Kenneth J. Otzenberger, and Bernard J.
Otzenberger;

C. On December 11, 1997, there were 7 persons shown on
the Board of Election Commissioners list of “Inactive Prior
Registrants.” Those inactive prior registrants were not residents
of Peerless Park on December 11, 1997 and thus did not have

27a

a right to vote in Peerless Park on December 1, 1997;

D. Richard Lemmonds was not registered as a voter of
Peerless Park on December 11, 1997 and thus did not have a
right to vote in Peerless Park on December 11, 1997.

E. On December 11, 1997, there were 27 legal voters of the
City of Peerless Park (i.e., 30 less three).

F. The Petition was signed by eighteen registered voters
and residents of Peerless Park, all of whom had a right to vote
in Peerless Park on December 11, 1997.

14. Eighteen of twenty-seven voters constitute two-thirds
of the voters of Peerless Park as of December 11, 1997.

15. The disincorporation of Peerless Park would result in
a transfer of jurisdiction between what is now the City of
Peerless Park, a municipality, and St. Louis County, but would
not result in a municipality.

16. County Council provided Relators with actual notice
of the Petition to Disincorporate and allowed Relators to fully

participate in the proceedings before it.
Conclusions of Law

1. The disincorporation of Peerless Park is not a
“boundary change” as that term is used in Section 72.400(1)
R.S.Mo. Therefore, the Boundary Commission Law, sections
72.400 et seg. R.S.Mo. does not apply.

2. County Council has jurisdiction to disincorporate
Peerless Park pursuant to Section 79.495 R.S.Mo. The power
of the legislature to disincorporate cities is practically
unlimited. Jn re the City of Kinloch, 242 S.W. 2d 59 (Mo. 195
1) The County Council has been given authority by Section
79.495 R.S.Mo. to act as the legislative agent to abolish fourth
class cities with a population less than 100 upon petition of

28a
two-thirds of the voters of such city, without an election. Jd.

3. Because relators have no “life, liberty or property”
interest in the continued existence of Peerless Park, Hunter v.
City of Pittsburgh, 207 U.S. 161, 52 L. Ed. 151, 28 S. Ct. 40
(1907), there is no constitutional right to notice or a hearing.
State law provides, and Relators received, more process than
Relators were due. There is no constitutional right to vote on
disincorporation of a fourth class city.

4. Peerless Park is a fourth class city. The Special Election
of August 7, 1990 complied with the notice requirements of
Chapter 115 R.S.Mo. and was thus valid. Chapter 115 governs
all public elections in the state, except elections for which
ownership of real property is required for voting. The
requirement of Section 72.070 R.S.Mo. that the election to
become a fourth class city be held not more than 30 days after
the Ordinance for holding the election is passed is in direct
conflict with Section 115.125 R.S.Mo. Statutes are to be
construed together and harmonized if possible. O'Flaherty v.
State Tax Commission of Missouri, 680 S.W.2D 2d 153, 155
(Mo. Banc 1984). However, when one statute deals with a
subject in a particular way, and a second statute deals with the
same subject in a more detailed way, the more general yields to
the more specific. Id. at 154. The legislature, through the
“Comprehensive Election Act of 1977,” (“Chapter 115")
sought to “simplify, clarify and harmonize the laws governing
elections.” Section 115.003 R.S.Mo. Chapter 115 is the more
specific of the two statutes and governs when. all elections,
including an election to become a fourth class city, may be
held.

Finally, even if the notice for the election had been legally
defective, the election result cannot be collaterally attacked
eight years later. Defective notice of an election can only be
litigated by an election contest brought within the time allowed
by Chapter 115 R.S.Mo. “The wording of a proposition on a

29a

ballot and the propriety of the notice of election provided are
issues cognizable only in an election contest.” (Emphasis
added.) Beatty v. Metropolitan St. Louis Sewer Dist., 700
- §.W.2d 831, 838 (Mo. Banc 1985), followed in State v. County
Com'n of Johnson County, 918 SW.2d 252, 255 (Mo. Banc
1996) and McCollum v. Director of Revenue, 906 SW.2d 368,
369 (Mo. Banc 1995).

5. The Petition to Disincorporate was signed by two-thirds
of the legal voters of Peerless Park. A “voter” is defined by
Missouri law as “registered voter, or legal voter.” Section 1.035
R.S.Mo. A person who is otherwise qualified but not registered
is not a voter, State ex rel. Socialist Workers’ Party of Missouri
v. Kirkpatrick, 513 S.W.2d 346 (Mo. 1974). A person who is
registered but not eligible is not a voter, Art. VIII, §2, Mo.
Const., § 115.135 R.S.Mo., Marre v. Reed, 775 SW.2d 951
(Mo. banc 1989). A person who is not a “resident” of a city i is
not a legal voter in the city. Jd.

John Asberry’s signature on the Petition to Disincorporate
is valid. The sworn testimony at the proceedings before County
Council, which was uncontroverted, establishes that on
December 10, 1997 (the date he signed the Petition to
Disincorporate), John Asberry resided at 2 Thornhedge Drive
in Peerless Park, the address he listed on the Petition. The
Affidavit of Richard Ward does not raise an issue of material
fact as to where John Asberry resided on December 10. At
most, the Affidavit raises an issue as to where John Asberry
resided in November 1997, which is not a material fact. On the
date John Asberry signed the Petition, his residence was the
address he listed on the Petition and he was a legal voter of the
City of Peerless Park.

Richard Lemmonds is not a legal voter because he was not
registered to vote in Peerless Park on December 11, 1997. A
person who is otherwise qualified but not registered is not a

voter. Scott v. Kirkpatrick, $13 S.W.2d 442 (Mo.banc 1974). A
saionn whe does nat saghner to vate by clos of buslaees on thn

30a

fourth Wednesday prior to an election is not entitled to vote in
that election. Section 115.135 R.S.Mo. The essence of Scott is
that a person must be legally entitled to vote on the measure
proposed by a petition on the day that he signs it. Persons who
fail to register to vote before a petition is circulated are not
legal voters.

Kenneth Otzenberger is not a legal voter because he was
not a resident of Peerless Park on December 11, 1997. His
affidavit, which asks the County Board of Election
Commissioners to remove him from the rolls and recites that he
doesn’t live in Peerless Park and hasn’t for more than six
months and doesn’t intend to in the future, is sufficient to
establish that he abandoned his residence in Peerless Park with
the intent of establishing a new residence elsewhere before
December 11, 1997.

6. The form of the Petition to Disincorporate complies
with the requirements of Section 79.495 R.S.Mo. The
provisions of Sections 115.019 and 115.700 R.S.Mo. do-not
apply to petitions to disincorporate a fourth class city without
an election. By their terms, the above sections apply to petitions
for “local issues” as discussed elsewhere in Chapter 115, i.e.
elections. Even if the above sections apply, the failure to
include a column for “date signed” is merely a technical error
which does not effect the sufficiency of the Petition.

7. County Council had authority under Section 79.495
R.S.Mo. to determine the number of “voters of such city.” The
list of registered voters from the Board of Election
Commissioners was evidence on this subject, but not
conclusive or unimpeachable as against the substantial
evidence showing that some persons on-the voter rolls were
not, in fact, residents of the city and thus not voters “of the
city.” Kinloch, supra, at 65.

3la

Because the determined facts meet with the requirements
of Section 79.495 R.S.Mo. the statute is mandatory in
effectuating the legislative will. Id. Therefore, the Order of
County Council disincorporating Peerless Park is hereby
affirmed.

SO ORDERED:

s/ Patrick Clifford, Jud
6/15/98

32a

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT
OF THE COUNTY OF ST. LOUIS
STATE OF MISSOURI

STATE ex rel. CITY OF
PEERLESS PARK,
MISSOURI, et al.,

)

)

)

)

Relators, )
vs. ) Cause No. 98CC 1146

)

)

)

)

)

ROBERT D. YOUNG,
et al.,

Division No. 39

Respondents.
JUDGMENT

In this action, relators seek a Writ of Certiorari and a
judgment reversing the order of the St. Louis County Council
(“County Council”) disincorporating the City of Peerless Park.
This matter is before the Court on Intervenors’ Motion for
Summary Judgment and Respondents’ Motion for Summary
Judgment. The Court has heard argument of counsel and has
reviewed the motions, responses and memoranda of law
submitted by the parties.

The court finds that Intervenors’ Motion for Summary —
Judgment and Respondents’ Motion for Summary Judgment
and Relators’ Responses thereto show that there is no genuine
issue as to any material fact and that Intervenors and
Respondents are entitled to judgment as a matter of law.

Pursuant to the Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law
filed herewith, the Court hereby enters judgment in favor of
Intervenors and Respondents and against Relators. Costs taxed
against Relators.

33a

SO ORDERED:
s/ Patrick Clifford, Jud
6/15/98

34a

APPENDIX D

COURT OF APPEALS OF MISSOURI
EASTERN DISTRICT, DIVISION TWO

April 13, 1999, Filed
98 S.W.2d 142

STATE OF MISSOURI
EX REL. CITY OF
PEERLESS PARK, et al.,
Realtors/Appellants,
v. No. ED74704
ROBERT D. YOUNG, et al.,
Respondents,

and

DONNA ASBERRY, et al.,

ee a i a a a a a a ey A ee e_

—Intervenors.

Before: James R. Dowd, P.J., Lawrence G. Crahan, J.,
& Richard B. Teitelman, J.

ait 35a

OPINION

ORDER PER CURIAM.

The City of Peerless Park, the city’s mayor, and two of its
aldermen (collectively, “Appellants”) appeal from the summary
judgment entered by the Circuit Court of St. Louis County
affirming the action of the St. Louis County Council
disincorporating the City of Peerless Park pursuant to Section
79.495, RSMo 1994. Appellants argue that pursuant to Section
72.400(2), the disincorporation of a city is a boundary change
and is subject to the provisions of the Boundary Commission
Law and that disincorporation pursuant to Section 79.495
RSMo is therefore erroneous.

We have reviewed the briefs of the parties and the record
on appeal and find no error of law. No precedential or
jurisprudential purpose would be served by an extended
opinion. The judgment is affirmed pursuant to Rule 84.16(b).

-_—

36a

APPENDIX E
United States Court of Appeals
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT
_ No. 99-3007EMSL
Rich Lemonds, et al., ss e.
. ORDER
Appellants, ‘ DENYING
? PETITION FOR
v. ° REHEARING
° AND FOR
St. Louis County, et al., & REHEARING
PPS . EN BANC
%

Appellees.

The petition for rehearing en banc is denied. The petition
for rehearing by the panel is also denied.
(5128-010199)
September 18, 2000

Order Entered at the Direction of the Court:
/s/ Michael E. Gans

Clerk, U.S. Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_1548%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
