# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Allied Pilots Ass'n v. American Airlines, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_1543%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2001
- **Citation:** 531 U.S. 1191

## Text

fy Supreme Court, us. = :

ad!)

10

OLS 16 DEC 2 0 aggy
rice Ol Tit CLERK

IN THE
Supreme Court of the Anited States

ALLIED PILOTS ASSOCIATION,
RICHARD T. LAVoy,

and

BRYAN A. MAYHEW,
Petitioners,
Vv.

AMERICAN AIRLINES, INC.,
Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Fifth Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

EDGAR N. JAMES

JAMES & HOFFMAN, P.C.
1146 19th Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 496-0500

ROBERT M. WEINBERG
(Counsel of Record)
LAURENCE GOLD
BREDHOFF & KAISER, P.L.L.C.
805 15th Street N.W., Suite 1000
Washington, D.C. 20005
(202) 842-2600 |

Counsel for Petitioners

WILSON-EPES PRINTING CO., INC. — (202) 789-0096 -— WAasHiINGTON, D. C. 20001

o> ~

~N

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the contempt/procedural due process principle of
Mine Workers v. Bagwell, 512 U.S. 821 (1994), requires that
a compensatory civil contempt case involving a complex
injunction, disputed factual issues, and a serious sanction for
completed acts (here a $45,500,000 damages award) be
adjudicated in accord with the basic due process principles
governing the conduct of civil damages cases generally
embodied in the Fifth Amendment of the United States
Constitution—and, in the Federal Courts, the Federal Rules of
Civil Procedure—and not through expedited procedures of a
summary nature?

i)

II. The Court of Appeals’ Decision ............0seseee
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT
CONCLUSION ...0....ccccccccccesesececeneee Ee OS ee

iV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES Page
Alberti v. Klevenhagen, 46 F.3d 1347 (Sth Cir.—
RESP R AEE SA AMA PON ti aes AERP ed 16
Bloom v. Illinois, 391 U.S. 194 (1968) ............. 15, 22, 24

Brotherhood of Locomotive Firemen &
Enginemen Bangor & Aroostook R.R., 380

Fis FIO GAG. Cee TOT) ccccisnesitnicticdtinssathntsies 25
City of Monterey v. Del Monte Dunes Ltd, 119 S.

CR Te ee ecictitiaiadiebensinliacieigcisiink inti ais 28
Conley v. Gibson, 355 U.S. 41 (195Pxnu.....cceeeeeee 27
Cooke v. United States, 267 U.S. 517 (1925) ........ 15
Gompers v. Bucks Stove & Range Co., 221 U.S.

GE CIEE) scccscnesstiacctinetnasnnneniguditosiatiitanineincinee 15, 19
Green v. United States, 356 U.S. 165 (1958)......... 24
Latrobe Steel Co. v. United Steelworkers, 545 ‘

Feds RSID COG CET Peiisccaccncinncisntntnscntannitsanion 23, 25

Mine Workers v. Bagwell, 512 U.S. 821 (1994) ....passim
NLRB vy. Blevins Popcorn Co., 659 F.2d 1173

ERAS, SAE, BEBE) wpinenitcinsikesiineiiiiiaaiienaiabiatdilsacoeciale 25

~ Nelson v. Adams USA, 120 S. Ct. 1579 (2000)...... 26, 27
Placid Refining Co. v. Terrebonne Fuel & Lube,

108 F.3d 609 (Sth Cir. 1997) ............sccccsssssseeeees 16

Rogers v. Webster, 776 F.2d 607 (6th Cir. 1985) .. a7

Ryals v. United States, 69 F.2d 946 (Sth Cir.

BOD ccictnenitdios imitated iat ac 16
Shillitani v. United States, 384 U.S. 364 (1966)... 25
Teamsters v. Terry, 494 U.S. 558 (1990).............. 28
United States v. Powers, 629 F.2d 619 (9th Cir.

TTD sievisicsthsnsipsitnsshinesnncasiesaphestiacdelinitaica tc 17

Worden v. Searls, 121 U.S. 14 (1887) .................0. 14

ee

Vv is
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued a4
STATUTES
2B USC. § 12501) sc rscerscencass oe
OTHER —

Doug Rendleman, “Compensatory Contempt:
Plaintiff's Remedy When a Defendant Violates
an Injunction,” 1980 U. Ill. L. Forum 971

_—

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTORARI

The Allied Pilots Association, Richard T. LaVoy, and
Brian A. Mayhew pray that a writ of certiorari issue to review
the decision and judgment of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Fifth Circuit in American Airlines, Inc. v.
Allied Pilots Ass'n, No. 99-10814 (Sept. 21, 2000, as revised
Sept. 27, 2000).

DECISIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals is reported at 228 F.3d
574, and is reproduced as Appendix A in the separately
bound appendix to this Petition (“Pet. App.”) at pp. 1a-23a.
The order of the United States District Court for the Northern
District of Texas judging the Petitioners in civil contempt is
unreported and is reproduced as Appendix B at Pet. App. 24a-
28a. The District Court’s findings of fact and conclusions of
law on contempt liability filed with its contempt order is
unreported and is reproduced as Appendix C at Pet. App. 29a-
38a. The District Court’s final opinion on contempt liability
and damages is reported at 53 F.Supp.2d 909, and is
reproduced as Appendix D at Pet. App. 39a-96a.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered
September 21, 2000. This Court has jurisdiction under 28
U.S.C. § 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED

The Fifth Amendment to the United States Constitution
states, in pertinent part: “No person shall be ... deprived of
life, liberty, or property, without due process of law .. .”

2
STATEMENT OF THE CASE

I. THE DISTRICT COURT PROCEEDINGS

A. Introduction. In this case, the United States District
Court for the Northern District of Texas, Wichita Falls
Division (Kendall, D.J.), found that petitioners—the Allied
Pilots Association (“APA”); its President, Richard LaVoy;
and its Vice-President, Brian Mayhew—violated the District
Court’s temporary restraining order (“TRO”) and, on the
basis of that liability finding, imposed on petitioners a
$45,500,000 compensatory civil contempt sanction in favor
of respondent American Airlines, Inc. (“American”).

The expedited liability proceedings that resulted in this
judgment were summary in their nature:

© a February 10' American motion for a TRO, a non-
evidentiary hearing that afternoon, and the District
Court’s issuance of the TRO at 4:00 p.m. that day;

e a February 11 American motion for an order to show
cause why defendants (petitioners here) should not be
held in contempt and a District Court show cause
order—both stated in general and conclusory terms
and both served simultaneously on petitioners at 5:00
p.m. that afternoon;

e a February 12 hearing convened at 10:00 a.m. and

concluded that afternoon; and
e a February 13, 10 a.m. conclusive liability finding.

The “damages” proceedings were similarly abrupt and
irregular: a February 17 damages hearing presentation by
American affording petitioners no prior discovery and at

hich the District C luded petiti f isiting
the issue of liability while permitting American to supplement
its liability case; an April 12 damages hearing presentation by

All dates are in 1999 unless otherwise specified.

bhi simatic:

In detail, the District Court proceedings unfolded here as
follows.

B. The TRO Proceedings. This case arose out of a labor
dispute between American and APA, a national labor union
certified under the Railway Labor Act (“RLA”) to represent
some 9,300 American pilots. The dispute stemmed from
American’s acquisition of Reno Air, Inc. and American’s
announced intent to operate Reno without observing the terms
and conditions of the relevant collective bargaining
agreement. On February 5, after negotiations over the
integration of Reno failed, APA members began a sick-out.

On February 10, American filed its complaint against APA
and its national officers, directors and bargaining committee
for injunctive relief and damages, alleging that the sick-out
violated the RLA. With the complaint, American also filed a
motion for a TRO. On that same day, the District Court held
a non-evidentiary hearing, lasting approximately two hours,
and then issued its TRO at 4:00 p.m. R. 181, 114.

The TRO contained one generally prohibitory -paragraph
enjoining the defendants and all those legally associated with
them from, in essence, authorizing the continuation of, or
participating in, the sick-out.2 The TRO also stated one
general command, requiring the defendants and those acting
in concert with them to “take all reasonable steps in their
power” to prevent the continuation of the sick-out. The TRO,
lastly, imposed a number of specific, affirmative obligations,
requiring the defendants, inter alia, to: direct the APA

2 The complete text of the TRO is to be found infra pp. 29-30 in the
Addendum hereto.

4

members “to resume their normal working schedule”; issue a
notice to the APA membership, “by the most expeditious
means possible, . . . of the issuance, content and meaning of
the TRO”; instruct the members to “cease and desist” from
engaging in the sick-out; post the TRO notice on APA’s web
site; include the contents of the TRO “on all recorded
telephone hotlines”; report all compliance efforts to the court
by 12:00 noon on February 12, 1999.

C. APA’s TRO Compliance Efforts. Immediately after the
February 10, 4:00 p.m. issuance of the TRO, APA, through
LaVoy and Mayhew, began its compliance efforts by
drafting, and issuing at 7:30 p.m. that night, an initial alert on
the APA telephone hotline and web site that quoted the
entirety of the TRO’s prohibitory paragraph and advised the
membership of the following: the District Court has issued a
TRO enjoining APA; APA attorneys are reviewing the TRO;
APA “will comply with the Judge’s Order”; and APA will
provide the membership “with more specific information
about the [TRO] as soon as we have had an opportunity to
complete our review.” The alert—before quoting the TRO’s
prohibitory paragraph directed at “Defendants . . . their
agents, successors, deputies, servants and employees, and all
persons acting by, in concert with, through or under them, or

by and through their orders”—correctly identified the -

“defendants” referred to in that paragraph, who were not
otherwise identified in the text of the TRO, as “APA’s
national officers, board of directors, and general counsel.”
R.126. i

The following day, February 11, APA issued its full TRO
notice/return-to-work-directive to the membership as called

* For all relevant purposes, the definition was accurate; the defendants
were the APA, its individual national officers, its individual board
members, and its negotiating committee. The only technical inaccuracy
was its erroneous inclusion of APA’s general counsel in its identification
of the defendants.

5

for in the TRO. The notice/directive quoted the TRO in full;
instructed all pilots to “resume their normal. working
schedule” (as specifically directed by the TRO) and. to
“otherwise comply” with the TRO; and stated that the APA
and its officers “do not authorize, ratify or condone any sick-
out or slow down or violation” of the TRO. R. 157-58.
By 2:00 p.m. on February 11, the full notice was posted on all
national and local APA web sites, recorded by LaVoy on the
APA hotline, and sent via e-mail to all the pilots for whom
APA had an e-mail address. R. 150-51.

LaVoy also distributed return-to-work directives to the
APA’s national and local officers and committee members
instructing them to: comply with the TRO; inform all
members of the TRO’s issuance and distribute copies of the
TRO to each member; instruct all members to resume their
normal working schedule and otherwise comply with the
TRO; advise all members that the TRO prohibits any sick-out
or slowdown; and to post the TRO on all bulletin boards and
local APA web sites. APA also issued a written script for
volunteer pilots who were staffing the union’s phone watch,
which consisted of similar instructions. R. 152-55

D. The Show Cause Motion and Order. Also on February
11—some 24 hours prior to the time set in the TRO for APA
to report its compliance efforts to the court—American filed a
motion for an order to show cause why APA, LaVoy,
Mayhew, and the other defendants should not be held in
contempt. x.

The motion stated in the most general terms that: (1) the
number of pilots on the sick list was greater at 10:51 a.m. on
February 11 than the number on the list at 5:04 p.m. on
February 10; (2) the February 10 “hotline issued by APA by
telephone and internet is not in compliance with the Court’s
order,” and (3) “the APA and the individual named
defendants have not taken all reasonable steps in their power
to prevent continuation of the pilot sick-out against

Ui Ness

6

_ American.” R. 119-120. The attached declarations and
memorandum basically tracked rather than elaborated on the
motion’s contempt allegations. R. 121-26, 135. a

The District Court immediately signed the proposed order
to show cause that American submitted with its motion. R.
a 130. The order required petitioners to file “an answer
specifically admitting, denying, or responding to the Motion
for Contempt” by 9 a.m. February 12 and to appear and
defend the contempt charge by 10 a.m. February 12. Jd. The
order did not elaborate on the contempt allegations. APA’s
counsel received service of American’s motion, the
supporting declarations and memorandum, and the signed
show cause order together at 5:00 p.m., February 11. R. 140.

E. The February 12 Contempt Hearing. At 9:00 a.m. on
February 12, APA, LaVoy, and Mayhew filed an answer and
a motion to dissolve the order to show cause, both of which
maintained that: (1) the February 10 alert did not, on its face,
violate the TRO; (2) as of the evening of February 10, the
defendants had not yet had adequate time to comply fully
with the TRO; (3) compliance was effectuated by the full
TRO notice/return-to-work directive issued on February 11;
and (4) “[t]o conduct a contempt adjudication of defendants
in the manner prescribed denies defendants due process of
law, including ... adequate notice, an opportunity to appear,” —
and an “opportunity to prepare a defense.” R. 140-41.

At 10:00 a.m. on February 12, the District Court convened
the contempt hearing. The only defendants in attendance
were those who were already in the Dallas-Fort Worth area—
LaVoy, Mayhew, APA Secretary-Treasurer Morgan, and
several members of APA’s negotiating committee. Tr. (Feb.
12) 5.

At the outset of the hearing, American made clear that
“we’re not going to ask for anything other than a coercive
fine today. ... that exists day to day until this union gets the
pilots back to work.” Jd. at 11-12. American’s liability case
consisted of the following:

7

e An American vice-president testified that the number
of pilots on the sick list had increased during the first
15% hours after the entry of the FRO—viz., from 4:00
p.m. February 10 to 10:51 a.m. February 11—and that
flight cancellations increased also. Id. at 15.

e American then called defendants LaVoy, Mayhew,
and Morgati as witnesses. The questioning by
American focused principally on the mechanics of the
drafting and dissemination of the February 10
telephone hotline and internet bulletin and on the
APA’s “phone watch” informing pilots who called the
APA headquarters of the issuance of the TRO. /d. at
~35-54, 98-107.

* Finally, American then called Larry Foster and Dennis
Patterson, local APA officials from the union’s
Dallas-Fort Worth “domicile” and questioned them
primarily regarding pre-TRO conduct. Jd. at 127-48,
170-84.

The only questioning that was directed at any points that
became a basis for the District Court’s liability findings was
the following:

e American and the court questioned LaVoy and
Mayhew as to the intent behind the sentence of the
February 10 alert that defined the defendants referred
to in the TRO paragraph excerpted in that message.
LaVoy responded that he believed the sentence was
accurate and factual; Mayhew testified that he wanted

4 “Domicile” is the term used by APA to describe its 10 constituent
local organizational units. Foster and Paterson testified that, prior to the
issuance the TRO, his domicile operated a “phone tree” in which three to
four volunteer pilots called APA members in that domicile and
encouraged the job action. After the TRO issued, Foster instructed his
phone volunteers to cease making these calls; the volunteers were then
given the “phone watch” script and directed to follow it when receiving
calls. Id. at 142-43.

to convey that the union and its officials “were under
the gun.” Id. 47-48; 105-06.

e American asked LaVoy whether a sentence in the
February 10 and February 11 messages stating that
“{t]his legal maneuvering by management does not
bring us any closer to a negotiated settlement” was
intended to encompass the TRO and whether LaVoy
had considered the impact of that sentence; LaVoy
responded that the sentence referred only to
American’s decision to pursue litigation rather than
negotiation and that it was simply an editorial
comment indicating that APA contested the litigation.
Id. at 48-50.

e American questioned LaVoy on whether APA had set
up a national “phone tree” to call APA’s 9,300
members; LaVoy confirmed that no “phone tree” had
been set up because of the volume of incoming calls.
Id. at 32. American inquired whether the APA
directives were phrased in the form of a “personal
message”; LaVoy stated that he believed the APA
hotline—which was recorded in his own voice—and

= written return-to-work directives were personal
messages from the leadership. Jd. at 137, 224-26.

After eliciting this testimony, American closed its case,
repeating its request that the District Court impose “a coer-
cive fine . . . that . . . exist[s] day to day until they have
reached compliance.” Jd. at 234.

At the conclusion of American’s case—given the
generality of the notice provided, the less-than 24-hour period
within which to prepare a defense, and American’s
representation that the hearing concerned prospective
coercive relief liability and not compensatory damages for
past misconduct—petitioners could do nothing more than
recall LaVoy, who testified to the APA’s compliance efforts,
particularly the February 11 TRO notice/return-to-work
directives. Id. at 188-222.

9
The District Court thereupon concluded the hearing and
informed the parties that a ruling would issue the following
morning. /d. at 239.

F. The Contempt Order, Findings of Fact, and Conclusions
of Law. At 10:00 a.m. the next moming (February 13), the
District Court issued its order concluding that APA, LaVoy,
Mayhew were in contempt.” The District Court announced
that its sanction would be an award of compensatory damages
to American, the amount of which wouid be determined at a
subsequent hearing. Foreshadowing the magnitude of its as-
yet undetermined damages finding, the District Court then
_ ordered that the APA, LaVoy, and Mayhew pay into the court

registry $10 million, $10,000, and $5,000 respectively, as a
deposit “toward the compensatory civil contempt fine likely
to be ordered in this case,” which the Court opined was likely
to be “eight figures.” Pet App. 28a. As the District Court
put things in its order, “when all the dust clears, all the assets

5 Throughout the February 12 hearing, the District Court played an
independent and active role as a complaining party, a role having nothing
to do with its role as a disinterested magistrate adjudicating a law case:

e During the hearing, the District Court interjected to relate
anonymous phone calls and messages the court had received from
“irate” air travelers. See, e.g., id. at 79-80, 147 (“[Mly phone is
ringing off the wall back here, and most of the calls that I’m getting
are urging me on, telling me, in essence, they think death by lethal
injection would be too good for the American Airlines pilots.”).

e The District Court questioned LaVoy, Mayhew, Morgan,
Foster, and Patterson on the size of their salaries and the source of
their training, and sua sponte called all of the members of APA's
negotiating committee who were present solely to elicit this same
testimony. Tr. (Feb. 12) 55, 124, 138-39, 161, 163-79, 185. This
“evidence” featured prominently in the Court’s contempt order,
where the court noted that many of the pilots “were taught to fly jets
at taxpayer expense in the U.S. military, which of course enables
them to earn their six figure incomes” and suggested that such pilots
were not justified in seeking “more money . . . merely because
American bought a small airline.” Pet. App. 26a.

10

of the Union, including their strike war chest, will be capable
of being safely stored in the overhead bin of a Piper Cub,”
Pet. App. 27a.

Together with its order, the District Court filed an opinion
stating its findings of fact and conclusions of law. In that
opinion, the District Court interpreted its TRO, in
combination with its comments at the TRO hearing, to mean
that “American Airlines planes needed to start flying again
immediately and that the unlawful sick-out of Union pilots
must immediately cease.” Pet. App. 33a. Thus interpreting
the TRO, the District Court found petitioners in contempt in
that APA had not accomplished that result in the 15¥-hour
period from February 10, 4:00 p.m. (when the TRO issued)
through February 11, 10:50 a.m. (when American inventoried
the sick list).

The District Court’s findings focused almost exclusively
on the APA’s February 10 communication. Pet. App, 41#
34a. But, rather than treating that communication for what it
was—an initial alert prefatory to the full February 11 notice
of the TRO/return-to-work directive that would issue upor
review of the TRO by counsel—the District Court determined
that APA was required to discharge all of its notice of the
TRO and return-to-work directive obligations within 4%
hours of the TRO’s issuance, a requirement nowhere stated in
the TRO itself, and that the February 10 communication was,
on that interpretation of the TRO, seriously incomplete, Pet,
App. 32a-33a. The District Court also focused 6n the

® The District Court, continuing in its aggrieved complaining party
role, opined in its order that the APA had been taken over by a “radical
element . . . determined to fly American Airlines . . . into the side of the
mountain” and suggested that the APA membership should Vote the
national officer defendants out of office for this “fiasco.” The orjer was
also replete with images of organized crime, describing the sick-qy as a
“shakedown,” “extortion,” and “the type of negotiation one usually sees
when doing business with one of the five families in New York,” Pet,
App. 24a-25a.

ll
sentence in the February 10 communication that had defined
the “defendants”—a term otherwise undefined in the TRO
text quoted therein—and found that it “sen[t) the clear
message that individual Union members were not covered.”
Pet, App. 32a.’

On these bases, the District Court concluded that the
February 10 initial alert was “foreseeably ineffective” and
that its ineffectiveness “was not only . . . foreseeable, it was
intended.” Pet. App. 33a.

Having treated APA's first word to its members as its last
word, the District Court, in the two sentences devoted to the
subject of APA's February 11 notice/retum-to-work
directives, concluded that these communications “came too
little too late,” Pet, App, 34a, And finally, that court found
that that petitioners violated the “all reasonable steps”
requirement because APA-—which put out its notice of the
TRO/retum-to- work directive through the internet, telephone
hotline, email, and hard coplese-used a “phone wateh” to
give members who called in notice of the THO and direction
io return to work rather than setting up a “phone bank” to
make outgoing calls to the pilots, Pet, App. 35a.

G. The “Damages” Proceedings. The District Court set
the damages hearing for February 17, without affording APA,
LaVoy, and Mayhew discovery. Petitioners responded by
moving to have the contempt judgment set aside on the
grounds that the adjudication of contempt liability was
“premature” and procedurally defective. R. 215-21. The
District Court denied that motion and announced that the
contempt issue could not be “relitigate{d].” Tr. (Feb. 17) 4.
In the course of the hearing, however, the District Court

’ ‘The District Court then faulted the initial alert for failing to include
the complete text of the ordering paragraphs of the TRO, failing to include
an instruction telling pilots to “resume their normal working schedule”
and to “cease and desist” from engaging in the sick-out. Pet. App. 32a-
33a.

12
permitted American, over objection, to supplement the record
on contempt with five additional exhibits from the pre-TRO
period, /d, at 57,

After American made its damages presentation, the District
Court continued the hearing until April 12. During that
period, the District Court allowed only “limited document
discovery.” /d. at 16-17, 60-61. And, when American moved
to prohibit APA from calling a number of pilot witnesses on
the ground that APA was “asking the Court to relitigate the
issue of contempt,” R. 678, 680, the District Court granted the
motion and disallowed the proposed witnesses, Tr, (April 12)
23; id, at 33 (“I don't want to revisit the contempt”),"

Notwithstanding this ruling, however, the District Court
granted, over APA's objection, American's second motion to
supplement the record of the Pebruary 12 contempt hearing
with materials direetly relating to contempt liability, BR, 774,
702-775, ‘These materials, in addition to those admitted on
rebruary 17, were later relied on by the Distriet Court in ite
June 24 opinion to supplement its February 15 findings on
contempt liability, Pet, App, 52a-53a, 62a-65a, 69a,

H, The Damages Order and Final Opinion, At the close
of the damages hearing on April 15 the District Court
assessed $45,507,280 in damages for the two-day February
10-February 12 period in which the court found the
defendants in contempt. Tr. (April 15) 272.

On June 23, 1999, the District Court stated its judgment on
damages in writing in a heavily revised and augmented
opinion on liability as well as on damages. This lengthy

* The District Court told APA's counsel that “probably all your sick
pilots are going to get a chance to testify” in other lawsuits. Tr. (April 12)
32. Observing that the defendants were defending class actions filed by
passengers, the court opined that APA members may possibly be held
personally liable, “Now, if that’s the case, all these folks are probably
going to get a chance to have their depositions taken. That would
preserve your record, and we can talk about that later.” /d. 32-33.

13 uss
opinion made new contempt findings based on the evidence
that the District Court admitted after the February 12
contempt hearing, evidence which was not tested through
examination in the crucible of a trial. See Pet. App. 52a-53a,
62a-65a, 69a.”

Petitioners timely appealed.

Il, THE COURT OF APPEALS’ DECISION

In their appeal, APA, LaVoy, and Mayhew argued, insofar
as is pertinent here, that the District Court's use of expedited
procedure of a summary nature for determining liability for
compensatory civil contempt damages violated the
contempt/procedural due process principle enunciated in this
Court's decision in Mine Workers v, Bagwell, 512 U.S, 821
(1994), The Court of Appeals rejected that argument in the
following lerma;

Defendants argue that yi were entitled io more

process than they received during the contempt phase of
this proceeding, As primary authority for this assertion,

* Indeed, the June 23 decision reste in large part on a new theory of
liability based upon American's untested post-Pebruary 12 evidence: In
its February 13 contempt findings, the District Court rested its contempt
findings on alleged sins of commission (¢.g., the language used by LaVoy
and Mayhew in the February 10 alert) and on alleged sins of omission
(e.g., APA's failure to implement a “phone bank”), But in its revised
opinion, that court found the APA’s compliance actions inadequate and
contemptuous by finding that the February 10 and February 11
communications were framed in “code language” whose true import was
that the pilots should defy the TRO. Pet. App. 69a. This finding was
based on the untested liability evidence submitted by American after the
close of the February 12 hearing: e-mails sent by pilots and by local APA
“domicile” officials. /d. The District Court, finding that these
communications signaled to members that any APA post-TRO return-to-
work directives should not be taken seriously, also found that APA's
failure affirmatively to disavow such signals by using specific locutions
such as “clear the sick list immediately” was itself an act of contempt. /d.
at 53a, 66a, 72a-73a.

14

the defendants assert that the standard applied in
International Union, UMWA v. Bagwell, 512 U.S. 821
(1994), should apply in the situation sub judice. We
decline the invitation to apply the principle enunciated in
Bagwell to civil contempt situations.

Contempt proceedings are naturally “summary in
form and swift in execution.” Ryals v. United States, 69
F.2d 946, 947 (Sth Cir. 1934). The defendants’
argument that they are entitled to what amounts to a full
trial on the merits of their contempt charge is contrary to
case law. See, e.g., Placid Refining Co. v. Terrebonne
Fuel & Lube, 108 F.3d 609, 613-14 (Sth Cir. 1997)
(holding that civil contempt proceeding that gave “notice
and an opportunity to be heard” was constitutional),
accord Alberti v. Klevenhagen, 46 F.3d 1347, 1359 (Sth
Cir. 1995). [Pet. App. 16a-17a.]

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

This case presents in the most pointed fashion the one
fWajor contempt/procedural due process question left open in
this Court’s seminal decision in Mine Workers v. Bagwell,
412 U.S. 821 (1994): The question of the requisite
procedures for hearing and deciding compensatory civil
contempt cases bottomed on allegations of “out-of-court
violations of a complex injunction,” Bagwell, 512 U.S. at
837, viz., the requisite procedures for the class of contempt
cases that are “nominally those of contempt [but] really

i to award damages to the plaintiff’ for past
conduct, Worden v. Searls, 121 U.S. 14, 26 (1887).

The contempt power—particularly when exercised through
expedited procedures of a summary nature—places the
greatest strains on the rule of law and on the judicial branch
as one of the three separate branches of government, each
with delimited powers.

Given that strain and given the inherent human frailties of
any trial judge who is faced with a supposed disobedience or

connas of haviaain tel saad aie Bagwell,
512 U.S. at 831."°

And, given the delicate nature of that balance—as well as
the stakes for the parties, for the trial courts, and for the fair

Indeed, it is the Fifth Circuit’s ill-considered answer to this
question that presents the most compelling case for a well-
considered answer by this Court.

The Court of _ Appeals ruled that compensatory civil

defendants, in contrast to all other civil damages case
defendants, are not entitled to the procedural due process that
attends “‘a full trial on the merits of their contempt charge” —
as provided for in the federal courts by the Federal Rules of
Civil Procedure—but only to the expedited procedures of a
summary nature offered by the “[s]imple,” conclusory notice

—

° This Court's modern contempt precedents progress from the early

the claims of due process. See, ¢.g., Gompers v. Buck's Stove & Range
Co., 221 U.S. 418, 444 (1911) (requiring proof beyond a reasonable doubt
in criminal contempts); Cooke v. United States, 267 U.S. 517, 525
(1925 requiring notice of charges and right to present a defense and have
and assistance of counsel in criminal contempts); Bloom v. Illinois, 391
U.S. 194 (1968) (requiring jury trial for “serious [criminal] contempts”);
and Bagwell, 512 U.S. at 836-37 (holding that fixed, non-compensatory
fines for out-of-court violations of complex injunctions cannot be imposed
absent criminal procedural protections).

16
and the immediate, next-day hearing provided here. Pet.
App. 17a.

In so ruling, the court below “decline[d] the invitation to
apply the principle enunciated in Bagwell to civil contempt
situations,” and instead relied entirely on Court of Appeals
cases that in no way support the proposition that a party may
be found liable for, and sanctioned with, massive
compensatory contempt damages for past conduct absent full
civil due process. Pet. App. 16a.""

"' Ryals v. United States, 69 F.2d 946, 947 (Sth Cir. 1934), is a
museum piece whose obsolescence is proved by Bloom v. Illinois, 391
U.S. 194 (1968). Ryals was a criminal contempt case in which the trial
court summarily adjudged the defendant in contempt for assaulting a court
officer and imprisoned him for one year without a charge, a jury trial,
findings of fact, or a judgment of guilt. The Court of Appeals reversed,
requiring “a formal charge, a hearing before the court, and a formal
judgment of guilt,” but not a jury trial. Under Bloom, an alleged criminal
contempt and a punishment of one year’s imprisonment is not subject to
“summary . . . and swift” adjudication at all but to a full trial by jury.

Aside from drawing on Ryals for its general—and entirely
anachronistic—language, the Court of Appeals cited three cases to justify
eschewing analysis under this Court's “Bagwell principle,” viz., that due
process in the context of the contempt power requires a “balance”
between “the competing concerns of necessity and potential arbitrariness,”
512 U.S. at 832:

e Placid Refining Co. v. Terrebonne Fuel & Lube, 108 F.3d 609,
613-14 (Sth Cir. 1997), was cited for the proposition that a “civil
contempt proceeding that gave ‘notice and an opportunity tobe
heard’ was constitutional.” Pet. App. 17a. In fact, that case held that
a compensatory civil sanction of attorney's fees and costs, entered
“falfter extensive discovery and a hearing on the merits,” id. at 612,
was constitutional.

e Alberti v. Klevenhagen, 46 F.3d 1347, 1359 (Sth Cir. 1995),
cited as in “accord” with Placid Refining, was a coercive civil
contempt case, which under the Bagwell principle eschewed by the
Court of Appeals, is a class of cases entirely distinct from
compensatory civil contempt cases. See infra pp. 24-26.

17

The decision below could not be more wrong. in its
holding. The proposition that a compensatory civil contempt
defendant facing a complex legal claim that rests on the proof
of crucial disputable facts as to events that have occurred in
the past and that entails millions of dollars of potential
liability—here, $45,500,000—is not entitled to the basic
procedural protections accorded all other civil-damages case
defendants cannot be squared with the “principle [of]
Bagwell” and defies every due process precept.

Nor could the decision be more wrong in its method.
Simply stated, the Courts of Appeals are not entitled to decide
legal questions by cavalierly dismissing the principles
enunciated in this Court’s decisions and by placing their
reliance on inapposite lower court precedents. That is
particularly so where, as here, the decision breaks faith with
this Court’s contempt/due process precepts and with the
general understanding that in the Federal Courts, civil
contempt liability proceedings are to be adjudicated in
accordance with the due process benchmark provided by the
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. See, e.g., Rogers v.
Webster, 776 F.2d 607, 610 (6th Cir. 1985) (“Civil contempt
is a civil proceeding governed by the Federal Rules of Civil
Procedure.”).

And, it is difficult to see how a post-Bagwell contempt/due
process decision could be more far-reaching in its
mischievous potential. The Virginia courts’ aggressive

e United States v. Powers, 629 F.2d 619 (9th Cir. 1980) (cited for
its “simple notice” statement) is a non-summary criminal-contempt
case involving a “discrete readily ascertainable” fact (a witness's
failure to appear), and again under the Bagwell principle, is
inapposite. Moreover, the Powers court went on to say: notice must
“inform the contemnor of the nature of the charge and enable the
contemnor to prepare a defense,” that a “reasonable” notice period
varies with the circumstances, and that a five-day notice period
(borrowed from Criminal Rule 45(d) and Civil Rule 6(d)) should
apply absent “a compelling need to shorten the time.” /d. at 625.

18

attempt in Bagwell to expand coercive civil contempt made it
all but certain that trial judges could—and thus would—hold
parties in contempt and impose monetary penalties through
expedited procedures of a summary nature, thereby
dispensing with any need to invoke criminal contempt with
its attendant procedural due process complexities and its due
process protections against abuse of the contempt power. The
Fifth Circuit’s aggressive expansion of compensatory civil
-contempt is of. the same order: The Court of Appeals’
decision opens the widest alternate leeway for the very abuse
of the contempt power that Bagwell’s criminal contempt/due
process holding is intended to preclude: adjudication by the
judge who has issued a complex injunction—outside the
institutionalized procedures for the even-handed admin-
istration of the law—of claims of out-of-court disobedience
of that injunction with the end in view of imposing substantial
monetary liability on the defendant.

As this case shows, the costs of opening that leeway are
great. We are, of course, most mindful of the multimillion
dollar judgment in this case issued without the process that is
deemed due to defendants facing large damages claims—and
far smaller ones. But, given the nature of the contempt power
and its potential for abuse, the harm worked by the decision
below to the interest in ev suring even-handed use of judicial
power and to the federal court civil justice system—while
immeasurable—is far greater still. i

In schematic terms, the multimillion dollar retrospective
compensatory damages case here and the multimillion dollar
retrospective fine case in Bagwell were means of adjudicating
indirect contempts ‘through expedited proceedings of a
summary nature. The Virginia courts “levied contempt fines
for widespread, ongoing, out-of-court violations of a complex
injunction” without observing the procedures that due process
requires in ordinary criminal proceedings. So here, the
District Court awarded compensatory damages for such “out-

_—_———— rrr

19

of-court violations of a complex injunction” without —
observing the procedures that due process requires in ordinary
civil proceedings.

The results in the Virginia courts and in the courts below
here were predictably similar—a judicial finding of liability
and the consequent imposition of a multimillion dollar
judgment. And, those results are contrary to the genius of the
judicial system as a justice system and to this Court’s
contempt/due process jurisprudence as most recently
elaborated in Bagwell.

In sum, all of the considerations that called for a grant of
certiorari in Bagwell—together with the added considerations
of safeguarding the vitality and integrity of the Court’s
decision in that case and of assuring the fair and even-hand
administration of the law by the Federal Courts—call for a
grant of certiorari in this case.

Il

The Bagwell litigation was, of course, focused by an
ongoing dispute as to whether scheduled non-compensatory
fines for violations of a complex injunction were properly
characterized as forward-looking, coercive civil sanctions—
requiring only expedited proceedings of a summary nature—
or as retrospective sanctions for “ ‘completed act[s] of
disobedience,’ such that the contemnor cannot avoid or
abbreviate the [punishment] through later compliance”—
requiring full criminal procedure. 512 U.S. at 828-29

(quoting Gompers, 221 U.S. at 443).
Consequently, the Bagwell opinion treats with the requisite

procedures in compensatory civil contempt cases only in
_ passing and in the most general terms.'? And, the Bagwell

See $12 U.S. at 838 (“Our holding [that non-compensatory fines
cannot be imposed for out-of-court disobedience of complex injunctions
absent a jury trial and other criminal procedural protections) leaves

20

holding—that such retrospective non-compensatory sanctions
can not be imposed absent full criminal due process—does
not in terms determine what process is due on the civil side
where a party faces allegations of “out-of court disobedience
to a complex injunction” and where the remedy meted out is
not a forward-looking coercive sanction but rather a non-
purgable retrospective award of compensatory damages for
past acts of alleged disobedience.

But, it is our submission that the Bagwell analysis, and the
Bagwell principle crystallized by that analysis, do dictate the
answer to the contempt/due process question here as well as
to the question posed in Bagwell itself. The very analysis and
the very principle that led this Court to conclude that the non-
compensatory $52,000,000 sanctions in Bagwell could not,
consistent with due process, be imposed absent full criminal
due process also resolutely counsel that the $45,500,000
compensatory contempt sanction imposed here could not,
consistent with due process, be imposed without full civil due
process in the form of the “full trial on the merits” that the
Court of Appeals held was not necessary here.

(1) Bagwell addressed “the ultimate question” posed by
any contempt/due process case: “what procedural protections
are due before any particular contempt penalty can be
imposed.” 512 U.S. at 830-31. This “ultimate question,” the
Court explained, requires careful attention both to the purpose
of the contempt power and to its inherent dangers. In this
regard, the Court observed first that:

[t]he traditional justification for the relative breadth of
the contempt power has been necessity: Courts
independently must be vested with “power to impose
silence, respect, and decorum, in their presence, and
submission to their lawful mandates, and ... to preserve
themselves and their officers from the approach and

unaltered the longstanding authority of judges . . . to enter broad
compensatory awards for all contempts through civil proceedings.").

—_~

21

insults of pollution.” Anderson v. Dunn, 6 Wheat. 204,
227 (1821). [512 U.S. at 831.]

And, the Court then added that:

the contempt power also uniquely is “liable to abuse.”
Bloom, 391 U.S., at 202, quoting Ex parte Terry, 128
U.S. 289, 313 (1888). Unlike most areas of law, where a

vulnerable and human qualities of a judge's
temperament,” Bloom, supra, at 202, and its fusion of
legislative, executive, and judicial powers “summons
forth . . . the prospect of ‘the most tyrannical
licentiousness.’” Young v. United States ex rel. Vuitton,
481 U.S. 787, 822 (1987) (SCALIA, J., concurring in
judgment), quoting Anderson, 6 Wheat., at 228. [512
US. at 831.]

All this being so, the Court’s “jurisprudence in the
contempt area has attempted to balance the competing
concerns of necessity and potential arbitrariness by allowing a
relatively unencumbered contempt power when its exercise is
most essential, and requiring progressively greater procedural
protections when other considerations come into play.” 512
US. at 832.

Having set forth the considerations that must be weighed in
determining the appropriate level of procedural due process,
the Bagwell Court put the matter in concrete terms by stating
the paradigm case for necessity and the paradigm case for the
most exacting procedures:

“The necessity justification for the contempt authority is at
its pinnacle, of course, where contumacious conduct threatens
a court’s immediate ability to conduct its proceedings, such as
where a witness refuses to testify, or a party disrupts the

/

22

court.” 512 U.S. at 832-33. This judicial “power of self-
defense”—permitting the immediate summary adjudication of
such “direct” contempts provided that the court does not mete
out “serious” punishment—has “been tolerated” because “of
the court’s substantial interest in rapidly coercing compliance
and restoring order, and because the contempt’s occurrence
before the court reduces the need for extensive factfinding
and the likelihood of an erroneous deprivation.” Id.

But “[s]ummary adjudication becomes less justifiable once
a court leaves the realm of immediately sanctioned, petty
direct contempts.” 512 U.S. at 832. And, “further procedural
protections are afforded for contempts occurring out of court,
where the considerations justifying expedited procedures do_
not pertain.” Jd. at 833. “For a discrete category of indirect
contempts”—those “involving out-of court disobedience to
complex injunctions,” id., and the imposition of “serious
criminal penalties” including “determinate, retrospective
criminal fines which [the defendant party] had no opportunity
to purge once imposed,” id. at 837—concerns of potential
arbitrariness are preeminent. Because such cases “often
require elaborate and reliable fact finding,” and because the
alleged contempts themselves “do not obstruct the court’s
ability to adjudicate the proceedings before it,” this Court
observed, “the risk of erroneous deprivation from the lack of
a neutral factfinder may be substantial.” Jd. at 834.

Hence, Bagwell holds that such contempts require the full
protections normally incident to the criminal process: “Under
these circumstances, criminal procedural protections ... are
both necessary and appropriate to protect the due process
rights of parties and prevent the arbitrary exercise of judicial
power.” 512 U.S. at 834. “Where, as here, ‘a serious
contempt is at issue, considerations of efficiency must give
way to the more fundamental interest of ensuring the even-
handed exercise of judicial power.’” Jd. at 839 (quoting
Bloom, 391 U.S. at 209).

For this very reason, compensatory civil contempt in no
way implicates the countervailing judicial “necessity”
concerns that, as Bagwell makes clear, provide the sole
justification for resort to expedited process of a summary
nature and for departing from the due process guarantees that
attend ordinary civil (or ordinary criminal) actions.

It is equally to the point that the other Bagwell
considerations—those that go to the need for “elaborate and
reliable factfinding”—also forcefully counsel against the kind
of expedited process of a summary nature by which this
compensatory civil contempt case was dispatched.

First, the proceedings here clearly involve alleged “out-of-
court disobedience of a complex injunction” within the
intendment of Bagwell. The TRO’s terms required the APA
and its officers to issue their notice and return-to-work
directives through manifold media in order to reach its 9,300
pilot members scattered throughout the country, and to
otherwise use “all reasonable steps within their power” to
effectuate an end to the sick-out. Moreover, as the District
Court read the TRO, it required that “American Airlines
planes . . . start flying again immediately” and required too

'3 See also Doug Rendleman, “Compensatory Contempt: Plaintiff's
Remedy When a Defendant Violates an Injunction,” 1980 U. Ill. L. Forum
971 (1980) (“Judges use criminal and compensatory contempt when it is
too late to coerce the defendant into the desired mode of conduct.”).

24

that the sick-out “must immediately cease.” Pet. App. 32a, —
33a, 50a. It should be needless to say that such commands
raise substantial issues of-compliance, of ability to comply,
and of agency. This case is at the other extreme from those
“involving discrete, readily ascertainable acts, such as turning
over a key or payment of a judgment,” in which “the need for
extensive, impartial factfinding is less pressing.” Bagwell,
512 U.S. at 833.

Second, and of equal moment, this case points up the
unique dangers of the contempt power, and bears out most
vividly this Court’s admonition that “contumacy”—whether
real or perceived—“often strikes at the most vulnerable and
human qualities of a judge’s temperament.” 512 U.S. at 831
(quoting Bloom, 391 U.S. at 202). The District Court's
assertion of the role of an active—and actively aggrieved—
complaining party, see supra pp. 9-10, proves again the
concern that “[w]hen the responsibilities of lawmaker,
prosecutor, judge, jury and disciplinarian are thrust upon a
judge he is obviously incapable of holding the scales of
justice perfectly fair and true .... He truly becomes the
judge of his own cause.” Green v. United States, 356 U.S.
165, 199 (1958) (Black, J., dissenting).'*

In sum, in compensatory civil contempt proceedings such
as the one at issue here, there is no judicial necessity that
permits departure from the incidents of civil due process
applicable in all civil damages proceedings. And, there is
every potential for unfairness to alleged contemnors from
using the precipitate process utilized by the District Court
here to determine the complex legal and factual issues as to
compliance with a court order and as to damages resulting

'4 Green’s holding that a jury trial is not available in criminal contempt
was overruled by the Court ten years later in Bloom, 391 U.S, at 199, a
decision that vindicated Justice Black’s Green dissent.

25

consequences can weigh inthe balance." (ws

(3) To put the foregoing in proper perspective, we hasten
to add that civil contempt is not a unitary category and that
expedited procedures of a summary nature are proper in
coercive civil contempt cases. Whereas compensatory civil
contempt provides retrospective relief, “[cJoercive sanctions,
in contrast, look to the future and are designed to aid the
plaintiff by bringing a defiant party into compliance with the
court order.” Latrobe Steel, 545 F.2d at 1344. In such
proceedings, the “necessity” side of the balance tips heavily

in favor of abbreviated process to meet the exigency of

continuing or threatened court-order disobedience and to
secure prompt obedience to the order.

And, on the other side of the balance, “potential
arbitrariness” is alleviated by the unique characteristics of the
coercive civil contempt regime. That regime entails a three-
stage process, consisting first of the issuance of the

underlying order (such as the TRO here); second, an
expedited hearing leading to a “conditional order finding ...
contempt” and threatening conditional sanctions for the
defendant's failure to carry out the court's specific commands
as spelled out in the contempt order; and third, imposition of
the threatened penalty, after due notice and a hearing, if the
party fails to comply. See, e.g., NLRB v. Blevins Popcorn
Co., 659 F.2d 1173, 1184 (D.C. Cir. 1981).

The defining feature—and the saving grace—of coercive
civil contempt regime is that the initial finding of contempt is
both conditional and prospective, allowing the defendant an
opportunity to purge through compliance and avoid the

'S And, as the D.C, Circuit noted decades before Bagwell, “Certainly
the history of contempt litigation, especially in regard to labor disputes,
prescribes extreme care and insistence on the full indicia of due process in
contempt cases.” Brotherhood of Locomotive Firemen & Enginemen v.
Bangor & Aroostook R.R.,, 980 F.2d $70, 582 (D.C, Cir, 1967),

26

sanction. See Bagwell, 512 U.S. at 828-29; Shillitani v.
United States, 384 U.S. 364, 366-69 (1966). The danger to
alleged contemnors and to the integrity of the civil justice
system inhering in the summary part of this procedure is thus
mitigated by the provisional nature of the contempt finding,
the additional specification of the actions required to satisfy
the underlying order, and the opportunity to “purge” the
contempt.

Such coercive civil contempt cases stand on an altogether
different footing from the instant compensatory civil
contempt case, where the objective of the proceeding is not to
secure compliance with a court order under the exigent
circumstances of a continuing violation, but rather to provide
a retrospective damages remedy for past disobedience. There
is, therefore, no judicial “necessity” consideration that
justifies the truncated process that the District Court held
here.

(4) In the Federal Courts, the benchmark for full civil due
process is provided by the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.
As this Court recently pointed out, the Federal Rules,
particularly those ensuring “a proper opportunity to respond”
to a claim, “are designed to further the due process of law that
the Constitution guarantees.” Nelson v. Adams USA, 120 S.
Ct. 1579, 1584 (2000).

Because the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure embody the
basic due process requirements for adjudicating civil cases in
the Federal Courts and do so in a way that strikes a balance
between the need for fair and reliable fact finding on the one
hand and reasonable promptness in the resolution of civil
disputes on the other, there are compelling reasons to follow
those Rules in this context, and no reason not to. And, there
can be no question in this case that neither the Federal Rules
nor due process principles “countenance such swift passage
from pleading to judgment in the pleader'’s favor,” Nelson,
120 S.Ct, at 1584, as occurred here,

APA, LaVoy, and Mayhew. in the this case: Pye
notice of the nature and particulars of the claim to afford a
meaningful opportunity to respond, (2) sufficient time to
prepare a defense to a claim, and (3) a reasonable opportunity
for discovery.

The Federal Rules, first, contemplate that a party be
apprised of the nature and particulars of a claim for relief
standard of Rule 7(b)(1) (requiring a party to “state with
particularity the grounds” for the relief sought) or the
pleading standard of Rule 8(a)(2) (requiring “a short and
plain statement of the claim showing that the pleader is
entitled to relief”), that notice must at least permit the party
against who the claim is made to prepare an adequate
defense, See Conley v. Gibson, 355 U.S. 41, 58 (1957)
(Federal rules require “fair notice of what the plaintiff's claim
is and the grounds upon which it rests.”).

The Federal Rules, furthermore, contemplate “time and
opportunity to respond to” a claim. Nelson, 120 S. Ct. at
1584. In a civil case for damages allegedly caused by the
defendant’s completed acts, the Federal Rules set up a
framework by which the litigation progresses toward a trial
on the merits—beginning with an answer, then discovery, and
then pretrial proceedings—and do not provide for a simple
general notice on day one and an immediate dispositive
liability hearing on day two.

By dispensing entirely with these minimum due process
requisites—on no basis other than its misunderstanding that
the civil contempt power in all its manifestations is “naturally
‘summary in form and swift in execution’’—the Fifth
Circuit’s decision is incompatible with the fair and even-

)
|
|

28
handed administration of the law in a way that calls for this
Court’s correction.'®
CONCLUSION

For the above stated reasons, this petition for a writ of
certiorari to the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth
Circuit should be granted.

Respectfully Submitted,

EDGAR N. JAMES

JAMES & HOFFMAN, P.C.
1146 19th Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 496-0500

ROBERT M. WEINBERG

(Counsel of Record)
LAURENCE GOLD
BREDHOFF & KAISER, P.L.L.C.
805 15th Street N.W., Suite 1000
Washington, D.C. 20005
(202) 842-2600

'6 In the interest of completeness, and so that we neither overstate nor
understate the ramifications of the major proposition we have argued—
that compensatory civil contempt cases are in the class of civil damages
cases and subject to the due process regime that governs that class of
cases—we note that this proposition suggests that, in the Federal Courts,
such cases are, by reason of the Seventh Amendment, subject to the
protection of a jury trial. That suggestion depends not only on the
foregoing proposition being judged to be correct but also on the

1 of characterizing, for Seventh Amendment purposes, actions
different in kind from those known to Eighteenth Century England. See,
e.g., City of Monterey v. Del Monte Dunes, Lid., 119 S.Ct. 1624 (1999);
Teamsters v. Terry, 494 U.S. 558 (1990). Since the Court has not passed
on the correctness of our submission; since the courts below rejected our
submission without exploring a jury trial issue and that being so, no jury
trial issue has been explored in the courts below; and since the issue has
its own complexities, we merely put this place marker on it for the
purpose of the proceedings in this Court.

Text of the District Court February 10, 1999
Temporary Restraining Order.

IT IS ORDERED, that the Defendants, and each of them,
their agents, successors, deputies, servants and employees,
and all persons acting by, in concert with, through or under
them, or by and through their orders, are hereby temporarily
restrained pending a hearing on the preliminary injunction in
this matter:

(a) From calling, permitting, instigating, authorizing,
encouraging, participating in, approving or continuing any
staal ahh: Aenaiiameiiaill ain feelidiines iene
not limited to any strike, work stoppage, sick-out, slowdown
or other concerted refusals to fly over a minor dispute or
otherwise in violation of the RLA, 45 U.S.C., §§ 151-188
(1988).

AND IT IS FURTHER ORDERED:

(b) That the said Defendants and said other persons acting
in concert with them shall take all reasonable steps within
their power to prevent the aforesaid actions, and to refrain
from continuing the aforesaid actions if commenced.

(c) That the said Defendants shall instruct all pilots to
resume their normal working schedule, and provide Plaintiff a
copy of all such instructions.

(d) That APA and the individually named Defendants
notify, by the most expeditious means possible, all APA-
represented pilots employed by American of the issuance,
contents and meaning of this Temporary Restraining Order,
and produce a copy of all such messages to Plaintiff.

(ce) That the notice described in (d) above include a
directive from APA to those pilots who are engaging in a
sick-out or other concerted refusals to fly to cease and desist

1 eae Coe,

30
all such activity and to cease and desist all exhortations or
communications encouraging same.
(f) That APA and the individually named Defendants post
the notice described in (d) above to APA's Internet web site,
and provide a copy of the notice to the Plaintiff.

(g) That APA and the individually named Defendants
include the contents of the ordering paragraphs of this Order
on all recorded telephone hotlines under control of
Defendants or any of them, until such time as the Court has
acted on Plaintiffs Motion for a Preliminary Injunction, and
provide a copy of all messages to the Plaintiff.

(h) That APA and the individually named Defendants
report by 12:00 noon on February 12, 1999, by swom
affidavit, the methods used to effect the notice described in
(d) above to all APA-represented pilots.

(i) All copies required to be furnished to the Plaintiff by
Defendants under this Order shall also be contemporaneously
furnished to the Court.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_1543%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
