# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Lynch v. Department of the Treasury

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_0922%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2000
- **Citation:** 530 U.S. 1215

## Text

Supreme Court, U.&
(D FILED

991697 APR 2 1 2000

Urricc. UE THE CLERS

In The
Supreme Court of the United States

¢

PETER A. LYNCH,

Petitioner,

DEPARTMENT OF THE TREASURY,
BUREAU OF ALCOHOL, TOBACCO & FIREARMS,

Respondent.

+

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Ninth Circuit

4

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

4

Peter A. LYNCH

Counsel of Record

Sam S. SHELDON

CozEN AND O’CONNOR

501 West Broadway, Suite 1610
San Diego, California 92101
Telephone: (619) 234-1700

Attorneys for Petitioner

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Whether the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals may,
consistent with 5 U.S.C. § 552, et al., the Freedom of
Information Act’s (“FOIA”) purpose of wide access to
public records, deny an in camera review of withheld
documents and/or a trial on the merits when proven
agency bad faith conduct exists, that directly conflicts
with the Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals opinion in Jones v.
FBI, 41 F.3d 238, 243 (6th Cir. 1994) and the Eighth Circuit
Court of Appeals opinion in Miller v. U.S. Department of
Agriculture, 13 F.3d 260, 264 (8th Cir. 1993).

ii
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS BELOW

Peter A. Lynch, petitioner herein, filed the action.

Department of the Treasury, Bureau of Alcohol,
Tobacco & Firearms, respondent.

——— TOT a

iii
TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ............
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS BELOW.........
CITATIONS TO OPINIONS BELOW................
RF Oe TE eee ree Tee re ee Te
PROVISIONS OF LAW INVOLVED ................
i Bot eS eer ee ree eee eer re

I. ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEEDINGS UNDER
LA or re ee ere eee

Il. THE LOWER COURT PROCEEDINGS .......
EXISTENCE OF JURISDICTION BELOW ...........
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION.......

I. THE COURT OF APPEALS’ FAILURE TO CON-
DUCT IN CAMERA REVIEW OF THE WITH-
HELD DOCUMENTS WHEN THERE WAS
PROVEN BAD FAITH ACTIONS BY THE
RESPONDENT, CONFLICTS DIRECTLY WITH
OPINIONS IN THE SIXTH CIRCUIT AND
EIGHTH CIRCUIT COURTS OF APPEALS
AND THUS REQUIRES THIS COURT TO SET-
TLE THE CONFLICTING ISSUE AMONG THE
EES ee Me Peer ree eer

oe vada ew ny ia ads ho n9s deawenee ea Ene

iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page

FEDERAL CASES
Department of Air Force v. Rose, 425 U.S. 352 (1976) .... 10

EFA. v. Mink, 440 US. 73 (19793) «occ cook vcv vacances 10
Jones v. FBI, 41 F.3d 238 (6th Cir. 1994) ...... 7, 8, 9, 10
Miller v. U.S. Department of Agriculture, 13 F.3d 260

See ee a oo es ee ee 7, 8, 9, 10

FEDERAL STATUTES
28 United States Code

US ED ics aga eh ee ee 1

PE IE fo owe eireeunee see ee 6
5 United States Code

Te x es hn hs A a eee 1

Pe So lee a aes 1

TO THE HONORABLE WILLIAM H. REHNQUIST,
CHIEF JUSTICE, AND TO THE HONORABLE ASSOCI-
ATE JUSTICES OF THE SUPREME COURT OF THE
UNITED STATES.

Peter A. Lynch respectfully petitions for a writ of
certiorari to review the judgment of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit in this case.

¢

CITATIONS TO OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals which is the
subject of this petition (App. 1-10, infra) was filed on
January 28, 2000, and is not reported.

The opinion of the district court was entered on June
9, 1998 (App. 11-27, infra) and is not reported.

o

JURISDICTION

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Ninth Circuit was entered on January 28, 2000 (App.
1-10, infra). The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked
under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

PROVISIONS OF LAW INVOLVED

The underlying action was based upon 5 U.S.C. § 552,
et al., the Freedom of Information Act (“FOIA”). 5 U.S.C.
§ 552(a)(3) provided petitioner the right to make a request
under FOIA to the respondent:

Except with respect to the records made avail-
able under paragraphs (1) and (2) of this subsec-
tion, each agency, upon any request for records
which (i) reasonably describes such records and
(ii) is made in accordance with published rules
stating the time, place, fees (if any), and pro-
cedures to be followed, shall make the records
promptly available to any person.

When the respondent denied the request and subse-
quent administrative appeal, a complaint seeking injunc-
tive relief was filed pursuant to 5 U.S.C. § 552(a)(4)(B):

On complaint, the district court of the United
States in the district in which the complainant
resides, or has his principal place of business, or
in which the agency records are situated, or in
the District of Columbia, has jurisdiction to
enjoin the agency from withholding agency
records and to order the production of any
agency records improperly withheld from the
complainant. In such a case the Court shall
determine the matter de novo, and may examine
the contents of such agency records in camera to
determine whether such records or any part
thereof shall be withheld under any of the
exemptions set forth in subsection (b) of this
section, and the burden is on the agency to
sustain its action.

STATEMENT OF CASE

On September 23, 1996, a catastrophic fire occurred
on the property located at 5200 Southland Drive, Salt
Lake City, Utah resulting in losses over $1,000,000.00.

a San AT Cats lr ai Sek Ak

Part of the property was insured by Unigard Insurance
Company (“UNIGARD”).

The Salt Lake County Fire Department requested
respondent ATF’s National Response Team (“NRT”) to
assist in the investigation of the fire. NRT is activated
when there is property damage over $1,000,000, or when
the resources needed to investigate an incident exceed
those locally.! Therefore, although ATF is a law enforce-
ment organization, NRT when activated, based upon the
above two factors, is not conducting a criminal investiga-
tion. Additionally, NRT, when activated, does not come in
and take over an incident from the local incident com-
mander. The NRT team leader is responsible for ensuring
that the team is working under the local incident com-
mander’s direction.

On the day of the fire, UNIGARD retained a private
fire investigator, Ronald Campbell, to investigate the
cause and origin of the fire.2 Mr. Campbell arrived on the
fire scene that same day. NRT then directed UNIGARD,
through Mr. Campbell, to bring heavy equipment to the
site. Due to his apprehension of NRT using heavy equip-
ment, Mr. Campbell videotaped NRT’s conduct at the fire
scene.

NRT’s use of this heavy equipment destroyed key
physical evidence at the fire scene.* Mr. Campbell was
then precluded by NRT from retrieving the remains of the
destroyed evidence. In Mr. Campbell’s expert opinion,

1 See journal article, “ATF On Call,” (App. 28-40, infra).
2 See Declaration of Ronald Campbell (App. 64-66, infra).
3 (App. 64-66, infra).

NRT’s use of heavy equipment at the fire scene was not
warranted.

UNIGARD, on the day of the fire, also retained an
attorney, petitioner Peter A. Lynch (“LYNCH”), to assist
them in their investigation of the loss.4 LYNCH is pres-
- ently the legal advisor to the San Diego County Fire and
Arson Task Force.° He is also a legal columnist for the
California Conference of Arson Investigators. LYNCH has
taught courses and published many articles on the subject
of fire scene spoliation. Finally, as an attorney, LYNCH
has handled over one hundred fire cases. Subsequently,
LYNCH on behalf of UNIGARD, and in his own right,
filed a FOIA request about the NRT’s actions at the site.

I. ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEEDINGS UNDER FOIA

On October 15, 1996, pursuant to FOIA, UNIGARD
requested that ATF provide them a copy of all investiga-
tion reports pertaining to the fire.

On November 6, 1996, after not receiving a response,
UNIGARD renewed the FOIA request. On February 26,
1997, when it still had not received a response, UNI-
GARD sent yet another request to ATF by certified mail.

On March 10, 1997, ATF finally responded and
denied UNIGARD’s request asserting that the “release of
these records could reasonably be expected to interfere

4 See Supplemental Declaration of LYNCH (App. 41-49,
infra).

5 See http://www.calaction.com.

ae eee ;

with enforcement proceedings.” On March 19, 1997, UNI-
GARD filed an administrative appeal. On May 6, 1997,
ATF denied UNIGARD’s administrative appeal asserting
the same grounds that it previously provided on March
10, 1997.

II. THE LOWER COURT PROCEEDINGS

On June 12, 1997, UNIGARD filed a Complaint for
injunctive relief against ATF. On August 4, 1997, UNI-
GARD filed a Motion seeking the district court to compel
ATF to compile a Vaughn Index of the withheld informa-
tion. However, on September 14, 1997, the district court
denied UNIGARD’s Motion. Then, on December 13, 1997,
the district court dismissed UNIGARD’s Complaint for
lack of subject matter jurisdiction. The district court ruled
that UNIGARD did not have standing because the FOIA
request was made in LYNCH’s personal capacity and not
on behalf of UNIGARD.

On December 22, 1997, LYNCH filed a Complaint
against ATF seeking injunctive relief against ATF. Speci-
fically, LYNCH was requesting that the district court
order ATF to produce its investigative records related to
the fire scene and that the court sanction ATF for bad-
faith tactics.

On June 9, 1998, the district court, without holding
an oral argument or conducting an in camera inspection of
the withheld documents, issued an order granting ATF’s
Motion to Dismiss or for Summary Judgment and dis-
missed LYNCH’s Complaint in its entirety. The district
court ruled that the release of the information requested
by LYNCH was compiled for law enforcement purposes

and could reasonably be expected to interfere with
enforcement proceedings. However, the district court in
its ruling failed to consider ATF’s bad-faith actions at the
fire scene and its bad-faith actions related to the denial of
the FOIA request.

On August 5, 1998, LYNCH filed a Notice of Appeal
before the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals. On January 28,
2000, in an opinion not reported, the Ninth Circuit Court
of Appeals affirmed the district court order without
addressing ATF’s bad-faith actions at the fire scene and
its bad-faith actions related to the denial of the FOIA
request.

¢

EXISTENCE OF JURISDICTION BELOW

The district court had jurisdiction under 5 U.S.C.
§ 552(a)(4)(B).

The court of appeals had jurisdiction of the appeal
under 28 U.S.C. § 1291.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

I. THE COURT OF APPEALS’ FAILURE TO CON-
DUCT IN CAMERA REVIEW OF THE WITHHELD
DOCUMENTS WHEN THERE WAS PROVEN BAD
FAITH ACTIONS BY THE RESPONDENT, CON-
FLICTS DIRECTLY WITH OPINIONS IN THE
SIXTH CIRCUIT AND EIGHTH CIRCUIT COURTS
OF APPEALS AND THUS REQUIRES THIS COURT
TO SETTLE THE CONFLICTING ISSUE AMONG
THE CIRCUITS

In the instant case, the Ninth Circuit’s failure to
conduct an in camera inspection and/or a trial on the
merits when there was proven bad-faith actions by the
respondent with respect to its underlying activities
related to the FOIA request and proven bad-faith actions
by the respondent with respect to its denial of the FOIA
request, conflicts directly with the Sixth Circuit Court of
Appeals’ opinion in Jones v. FBI, 41 F.3d 238, 243 (6th Cir.
1994) and the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals’ opinion in

Miller v. U.S. Department of Agriculture, 13 F.3d 260, 264
(8th Cir. 1993).

At the court of appeals level, conflicting decisions
regarding the issue of when proven bad-faith actions on
the part of the government agency with respect to the
underlying activities related to the FOIA request necessi-
tate an in camera inspection and/or a trial on the merits
are proliferating and the need for guidance from this

Court is acute. This case is a rare opportunity to provide
that guidance.

In Jones v. FBI, the Sixth Circuit faced the same issue
as the Ninth Circuit did in the present case, the issue of
when there is proven bad-faith actions on the part of the

government agency with respect to the underlying activ-
ities related to the FOIA request, whether the court
should accept the government's affidavits alone without
conducting either an in camera inspection and/or a trial
on the merits. The Sixth Circuit held that when there is
evidence of bad-faith actions on the part of the govern-
ment agency with respect to the underlying activities
related to the FOIA request, a court may not grant sum-
mary judgment on the basis of the government's affi-
davits alone without conducting either in camera
inspection and/or a trial on the merits:

where such evidence is strong, it would be an
abdication of the court’s responsibility to treat
the case in the standard way and grant sum-
mary judgment on the basis of Vaughn affidavits
alone. It would risk straining the public’s ability
to believe — not to mention the plaintiff’s — that
the courts are neutral arbiters of disputes whose
procedures are designed to produce justice out
of the clash of adversarial arguments.

Jones v. FBI, 41 F.3d, supra at 242-243. In Jones, the court
further noted that an in camera review is warranted, espe-
cially involving actual agency bad faith — “where it
becomes apparent the subject matter of a request involves
activities which, if disclosed, would publicly embarrass
the agency or that a so-called ‘cover-up’ is presented,
government affidavits lose credibility.” Id.

Similarly, the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals in Mil-
ler v. U.S. Department of Agriculture, 13 F.3d, supra at 264,
also found that evidence of bad faith can overcome the
government's affidavits necessitating an in camera review
and/or trial on the merits.

——— es —~™

be ete

In the present case, the Ninth Circuit rejected the
holdings in Jones and Miller by stating in a conclusory
manner that “none of Lynch’s allegations of bad faith
indicate that the district court was required to have
engaged in further scrutiny of ATF’s declarations... ”.6
Rather, the Ninth Circuit simply believed that it was
permissible to rely on ATF’s boiler plate affidavits despite
the undisputed evidence showing the following: (1) the
fire scene was destroyed by the ATF;7 (2) ATF’s report
about such destruction has been hidden; (3) an ATF agent
threatened UNIGARD’s lead fire investigator, Mr. Camp-
bell, after an article written about the destruction of the
fire scene appeared in Fire Engineering. “After The Fire’s
Out: Spoliation of Evidence and The Line Firefighter,”
Fire Engineering (January 1998), Vol. 151, No. 1.8 The
author of this article was LYNCH. The article contained
photographs from the subject fire scene showing ATF
agents destroying key physical evidence.? Accordingly,
there is a strong public interest in the public’s right to
know whether the ATF was involved in mishandling
evidence at the fire scene and attempted to cover it up.
This is especially true based on prior misconduct of the
respondent highlighted by Congressional hearings
responding to the Waco, Texas and Ruby Ridge incidents.

© (App. 6, infra).
” See Mr. Campbell’s declaration regarding destruction of
evidence (App. 64-66 infra).

® See a copy of the article (App. 50-63, infra) and LYNCH’s
Supplemental Declaration regarding threat to Mr. Campbell
(App. 47, infra).

% (App. 57, infra).

10

The public has a right to know in the present case if the
respondent was again involved in misconduct.

Yet contrary to the holdings in Jones and Miller, the
Ninth Circuit did not order an in camera review and/or a
trial on the merits although both options would have
ensured a finding that the courts are neutral arbiters of
disputes. Therefore, the Ninth Circuit’s rubberstamping
questionable affidavits after proven agency bad faith
directly conflicts with the holdings Jones and Miller and is
an error necessitating reversal.

The decision in the instant case by the Ninth Circuit
further creates a conflict with the FOIA’s purpose of
providing wide-ranging public access to government doc-
uments. The Act seeks to permit access to official infor-
mation long shielded unnecessarily from public view and
attempts to create a judicially enforceable public right to
secure information from possibly unwilling official
hands. EPA v. Mink, 410 U.S. 73, 80 (1973). Disclosure is
the objective of the Act. Department of Air Force v. Rose,
425 US. 352, 361 (1976). The decision below therefore
contradicts not only the Sixth and Eighth Circuits’ hold-
ings with respect to bad-faith evidence, but also the
express purpose of the Act. The Court should grant cer-
tiorari to review these important conflicts.

In sum, the court of appeals’ split on the availability
of in camera review and/or a trial on the merits when
there is proven bad-faith actions on the part of the govern-
ment agency with respect to the underlying activities
related to the FOIA request is critical. There is no realistic
prospect for resolution of this far-reaching conflict with-
out a decision by this Court. Any appellate decision

11

hereafter will simply side with the Sixth and Eighth Cir-
cuit position or side with the Ninth Circuit and, at best,
shift the weight of authority in one direction or the other
from its current state. As a result of the difficulty of
securing appellate review, trial courts will rarely obtain
guidance from the Federal Courts of Appeals on this
issue, and the opportunities for this Court to review the
issue will be few. This case presents such an opportunity
and the Court should take it.

¢

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be
granted.

Dated: April 20, 2000

Respectfully submitted,

CozeEN AND O’CONNOR
Peter A. LYNCH
Counsel of Record

Sam S. SHELDON
Attorneys for Petitioner

App. 1
APPENDIX

NOT FOR PUBLICATION
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

PETER A. LYNCH, No. 98-56368
Plaintiff-Appellant, D.C. No.
" CV-97-02290-JNK
DEPARTMENT OF THE MEMORANDUM!

TREASURY; BUREAU OF
ALCOHOL, TOBACCO &
FIREARMS,

(Filed Jan. 28, 2000)

Defendants-Appellees.

eee eae we

Appeai from the United States District Court
for the Southern District of California
Judith N. Keep, District Judge, Presiding

Argued and Submitted January 4, 2000
Pasadena, California

Before: TROTT and W. FLETCHER, Circuit Judges, and
MOLLOY, District Judge.?

' This disposition is not appropriate for publication and
may not be cited to or by the courts of this circuit except as may
be provided by Ninth Circuit Rule 36-3.

* The Honorable Donald W. Molloy, United States District
Judge for the District of Montana, sitting by designation.

App. 2

Overview

Plaintiff-appellant Peter Lynch (“Lynch”) appeals the
district court’s order granting a summary judgment
motion brought by defendant-appellee Department of the
Treasury, Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms
(“ATF”) in Lynch’s action seeking release of records
under the Freedom of Information Act (“FOIA”), 5 U.S.C.
§ 552. The records Lynch requested related to a fire in Salt
Lake City in September 1996. The district court concluded
that ATF properly withheld the records under FOIA’s
exemption for law enforcement records. See 5 U.S.C.
§ 552(b)(7)(A). On appeal, Lynch argues that the district
court did not have an adequate factual basis to make its
decision. Alternatively, Lynch argues that the court erred
in concluding that ATF properly withheld the records
under the “law enforcement” exemption. This court has
jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1291. We AFFIRM.

We will not recite the facts of the case here, as the
parties are familiar with them.

3 Under section 552(b)(7)(A), records need not be released
if they are “records or information compiled for law
enforcement purposes, but only to the extent that the
production of such law enforcement records or information (A)

could reasonably be expected to interfere with enforcement
proceedings. ...” 5 U.S.C. § 552(b)(7)(A) (1996).

A SAME MOAN RED U

App. 3

Discussion

A. Standard of Review

Review of a grant of summary judgment in a FOIA
case is unlike the normal standard for summary judgment
review. Instead of determining whether a genuine issue
of material fact exists, we employ a two-step standard.
First, the court determines whether the district court had
an adequate factual basis for its decision. Fiduccia v.
United States Dep't of Justice, 185 F.3d 1035, 1040 (9th Cir.
1999). If so, the court undertakes a de novo review of the
district court’s conclusion as to the applicability of an
exemption from FOIA’s disclosure requirement. Id. Fac-
tual findings underlying this conclusion are reviewed for
clear error. Id.

B. Adequate Factual Basis

Lynch first argues that this court should remand the
case to the district court because the district court did not
have an adequate factual basis for determining whether
the requested records fell within the section 552(b)(7)(A)
exemption. The district court based its conclusion that the
documents were exempt on the declarations of four indi-
viduals involved in the fire investigation. Citing Lewis v.
IRS, 823 F.2d 375, 380 (9th Cir. 1987), and Weiner v. FBI,
943 F.2d 972, 978 n.5 (9th Cir. 1991), the district court
concluded that neither a Vaughn index‘ nor an in camera

* A Vaughn index is a list of all documents requested by a
FOIA plaintiff, describing the document sufficiently to identify
it, but not so much as to reveal the secret nature of any

App. 4

inspection of the records were necessary when a FOIA
matter involves the (b)(7)(A) exemption.

In reviewing an agency’s decision to withhold
records under FOIA, a district court “may examine the
contents of such agency records in camera.” 5 U.S.C.
§ 552(a)(4)(B) (Supp. 1999). However, “It]he in camera
review provision is . . . designed to be invoked when the
issue before the district court could not be otherwise
resolved.” NLRB v. Robbins Tire & Rubber Co., 437 U.S. 214,
224 (1978). While ATF has the burden of proving the
applicability of an exemption from FOIA, see Minier v.
CIA, 88 F.3d 796, 800 (9th Cir. 1996), it may meet this
burden by submitting detailed affidavits showing that the
information and records requested logically fall within
the claimed exemptions. See id.; see also Lewis, 823 F.2d at
378 (“If the affidavits contain reasonably detailed
descriptions of the documents and allege facts sufficient
to establish an exemption, the district court need look no
further.”) (internal quotations omitted); Campbell v. United
States Dep't of Justice, 164 F.3d 20, 30 (D.C. Cir. 1998), as
amended (1999) (“[T]he affidavits must show, with reason-
able specificity, why the documents fall within the
exemption.”); Wright v. OSHA, 822 F.2d 642, 646 (7th Cir.

information. See Vaughn v. Rosen, 484 F.2d 820, 826-27 (D.C. Cir.
1973). When employed by a district court, the government is
typically required to cross-reference each item on the list with
its purported justification for exemption. Id- at 827. The purpose
of the index is to “afford the FOIA requester a meaningful
opportunity to contest, and the district court an adequate
foundation to review, the soundness of the withholding.”
Wiener v. FBI, 943 F.2d 972, 977 (9th Cir. 1991).

App. 5

1987) (“The agency need only provide sufficient informa-
tion to allow a court to review the agency’s claimed
exemption.”). Boilerplate affidavits are not enough to
sustain the agency’s burden. See Wiener, 943 F.2d at
978-79; see also Miller v. United States Dep't of Agric., 13
F.3d 260, 263 (8th Cir. 1993) (stating that FOIA “would
stand as a universal bar against disclosure” if boilerplate,
conclusory affidavits were enough).

ATF’s declarations made clear that the records Lynch
requested included witness statements, reports of investi-
gation, cause and origin reports, photographs, and sur-
veillance authorizations. In addition, the declarations
stated that premature release of these records could harm
the inter-agency task force’s efforts at corroborating wit-
ness statements and determining the possible cause and
motive behind the fire; alert potential suspects as to the
investigation’s existence; disclose the task force’s investi-
gative focus; identify and cause harm to witnesses; inter-
fere with surveillance; or result in destruction of
evidence.

These declarations have much more in common with
the specificity and detail of the affidavits offered in Lewis,
823 F.2d at 378-79, than the boilerplate affidavits other
courts have found insufficient to sustain an agency’s
burden in FOIA cases. See Wiener, 943 F.2d at 978-79:
Campbell, 164 F.3d at 30-31; Wright, 822 F.2d at 646. Unlike
the agencies’ explanations in Wiener and Campbell, which
failed to make any specific references to the subject mat-
ter underlying the records, here the ATF declarations
contextualize their claims for exemption. The declarations
repeatedly refer to the fire and its investigation, note the
specific categories of records in the investigative file, and

App. 6

relate the type of dangers one could reasonably expect to
encounter upon release of the various kinds of informa-
tion. While the declarations did not “tailor the explana-
tion[s] to the specific document withheld,” Wiener, 943
F.2d 979, they are sufficient to show that the information
requested “logically falls within the claimed exemptions.”
Minier, 88 F.3d at 800. Furthermore, under exemption
(b)(7)(A), the government need not “make a specific fac-
tual showing with respect to each withheld document
that disclosure would actually interfere with a particular
enforcement proceeding.” Lewis, 823 F.2d at 380. But see
Fiduccia, 185 F.3d at 1043 (noting, in a case discussing
other (b)(7) exemptions, “[w]here documents are with-
held altogether, the requester needs a Vaughn index of
considerable specificity to know what the agency pos-
sesses but refuses to produce”).

Because ATF’s declarations are sufficiently detailed
and tailored to the case at hand, and because they dem-
onstrate that the requested records logically fall into the
identified FOIA exemption, we conclude that the district
court had an adequate factual basis for its decision in this
case. None of Lynch’s allegations of bad faith indicate
that the district court was required to have engaged in
further scrutiny of ATF’s declarations describing the
records requested and the harm expected to result from
their release.

C. The Applicability of the “Law Enforcement”
Exemption

To qualify for an exemption under section
552(b)(7)(A), the records Lynch requested must have been

App. 7

“compiled for law enforcement purposes” and must “rea-
sonably be expected to interfere with enforcement pro-
ceedings.” 5 U.S.C. § 552(b)(7)(A) (1996). To fit within the
section 552(b)(7) set of exemptions, records need only
have been compiled for a law enforcement purpose at the
time the government invoked the exemption. See John Doe
Agency v. John Doe Corp., 493 U.S. 146, 153-55 (1989). As
ATF’s declarations make clear, at the time Lynch made his
FOIA request, both the ATF and the inter-agency task
force investigations were ongoing. By the time ATF
denied Lynch’s FOIA request, ATF had just closed its own
individual investigation; however, the inter-agency task
force — of which ATF was a member - continued its
investigation. Even though ATF itself may not have been
contemplating any law enforcement proceedings at the
time Lynch’s FOIA request was denied, the records at
issue were related to the inter-agency task force’s investi-
gation. See New Eng. Med. Ctr. Hosp. v. NLRB, 548 F.2d 377
(1st Cir. 1976) (holding that records fit within exemption
even though file from which they came was labeled
“closed,” where they were still closely related to a pend-
ing open case). Because the inter-agency task force’s
investigation continued throughout Lynch’s FOIA
request, it is inconsequential that ATF may have closed its
own individual investigation prior to Lynch’s notice that
his administrative appeal had been denied. Therefore, the
district court correctly concluded that the requested
records were compiled “for law enforcement purposes.”

Similarly, the determination as to whether a release
of records could reasonably be expected to interfere with
enforcement proceedings is to be made as of the time the
agency decided to withhold the documents. See Bonner v.

App. 8

United States Dep't of State, 928 F.2d 1148, 1152 (D.C. Cir.
1991); Institute for justice and Human Rights v. Executive
Office of the U.S. Attorney, No. C 96-1469 FMS, 1998 WL
164965, at *3 (N.D. Cal. Mar. 18, 1998). At the time Lynch
filed his FOIA request, both ATF and the inter-agency
task force were investigating the fire. By the time his
administrative appeal was denied, ATF had closed its
inquiry, but the task force’s investigation continued. The
vitality of the investigation at the time of Lynch’s request
certainly evidences that some legal action was at least
“contemplated” or “in prospect.” See Solar Sources, Inc. v.
United States, 142 F.3d 1033, 1040 (7th Cir. 1998) (records
reasonably expected to interfere with ongoing investiga-
tion even though originally compiled for now closed
investigation that is the subject matter of the FOIA
request at issue); Manna v. United States Dep't of Justice, 51
F.3d 1158, 1164 (3d Cir. 1995) (law enforcement proceed-
ing must be “pending or prospective”); Miller, 13 F.3d at
263 (government may withhold documents where
enforcement proceeding “then pending or contem-
plated”); New Eng. Med., 548 F.2d at 383 (FOIA not
intended to prevent withholding where enforcement pro-
ceeding “pending or in prospect”).

After demonstrating that a law enforcement proceed-
ing exists —- whether “pending,” “prospective,” or merely
“contemplated” — ATF must also show that release of the
requested records could reasonably be expected to “inter-
fere” or “cause some articulable harm” to those proceed-
ings. Manna, 51 F.3d at 1164. The district court concluded
that the ATF declarations - stating that release of the

records would highlight areas of investigative concern,

veo

App. 9

alert potential suspects as to the existence of the investi-
gation, identify possible witnesses, interfere with surveil-
lance, or result in the destruction of evidence — were
sufficient for this purpose. These are similar to the types
of dangers found sufficient for exemption in New Eng.
Med., 548 F.2d at 383, and Wright, 822 F.2d at 647. More-
over, the district court’s conclusion is fully consistent
with Lewis, which held that, under exemption (b)(7)(A),
an agency “need only make a general showing that dis-
closure of its investigatory records would interfere with
its enforcement proceedings.” Lewis, 823 F.2d at 380
(applying earlier statutory language requiring that dis-
closure “would” interfere with enforcement proceedings).

The fact that no governmental agency had, at the
time of Lynch’s request, filed a criminal charge or civil
action relating to the fire proves nothing dispositive
about the active nature of the investigation. Moreover,
that no agency has filed such a charge or action since the
denial of Lynch’s request is not relevant to the question at
hand. See Bonner, 928 F.2d at 1152. If Lynch now believes
that, three years after the fire, no proceeding is currently
pending or contemplated, his recourse is to resubmit an
FOIA request for the records at this time.

Finally, Lynch argues that the district court erred
when it declined to consider his identity in the course of
determining whether release of the records would reason-
ably interfere with enforcement proceedings. Notwith-
standing the Third Circuit's apparently contrary ruling in
Manna, 51 F.3d at 1164, the district court’s decision was
proper under both Supreme Court and Ninth Circuit
precedent. United States Dep’t of Justice v. Reporters Comm.
for Freedom of the Press, 489 US. 749, 771 (1989) (“[T]he

App. 10

identity of the requesting party has no bearing on the
merits of his or her FOIA request.”); Schiffer v. FBI, 78
F.3d 1405, 1411 (9th Cir. 1996) (same).

For the foregoing reasons, it is clear that the records
Lynch requested were compiled for law enforcement pur-
poses, and their release could reasonably be expected to
interfere with enforcement proceedings.

Conclusion

The district court had an adequate factual basis to
determine whether ATF correctly invoked the “law
enforcement” exemption in withholding the records
Lynch requested. Furthermore, the district court correctly
concluded that ATF properly withheld the requested
records. Therefore, we AFFIRM the district court’s order
granting summary judgment for ATF.

App. 11

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

PETER A LYNCH, CASE NO. 97-CV-2290 K
>
Plaintiff, ) (POR)
" ) ORDER GRANTING
“a ) DEFENDANT’S MOTION
DEPARTMENT OF THE ) FOR SUMMARY
TREASURY, BUREAU) JUDGMENT; DENYING
OF ALCOHOL, ) PLAINTIFF’S CROSS-
TOBACCO AND ) MOTION FOR SUMMARY
FIREARMS, ) JUDGMENT; DENYING
ae PLAINTIFF'S REQUEST
sia dennanie FOR IN CAMERA
) REVIEW; AND DENYING
) PLAINTIFF’S REQUEST
) FOR JUDICIAL NOTICE
(Filed Jun. 9, 1998)

Defendant Department of the Treasury, Bureau of
Alcohol, Tobacco & Firearms (“ATF”) has filed a motion
to dismiss or for summary judgment. Plaintiff Peter A.
Lynch has filed an opposition and cross-motion for sum-
mary judgment. Defendant opposes plaintiff's cross-
motion. Both parties are represented by counsel.

I. BACKGROUND

Defendant ATF is an agency of the United States
charged with responsibility for the administration of fed-
eral investigations of potential arson and criminally
related fires. Plaintiff represented Unigard Insurance
Company which Insures a commercial structure that suf-
fered a catastrophic fire loss on September 23, 1996 at

App. 12

5200 Southland Drive, Salt Lake City, Utah (“the site”).
Defendant ATF assumed investigative jurisdiction of the
fire site precluding private parties such as Unigard from
Investigating and accessing the site. Plaintiff asserts that
ATF improperly used heavy equipment on the site during
its investigation.

By letter dated February 26, 1997, plaintiff submitted
a “request for information” to ATF pursuant to the Free-
dom of Information Act (“FOIA”) 5 U.S.C. § 552. Plaintiff
sought information about the site, including (1) all
reports and related records concerning the fire; (2) all
reports and records concerning any testing, inspection or
analysis of any evidence collected at the scene; and (3) all
witness statements and interviews concerning the fire.
(Pla. Exh. C, Letter of 2/26/97).

By letter dated March 10, 1997, ATF denied plaintiff's
request for information alleging that the material was
exempt from public disclosure pursuant to 5 U.S.C.
§ 557(b)(7)(A). This exemption permits a government
agency to withhold “records or information complied for
law enforcement purposes” to the extent that disclosure
“could reasonably be expected to interfere with enforce-
ment proceedings.” On March 19, 1997, plaintiff submit--
ted an administrative appeal, pursuant to 5 U.S.C.
§ 552(a)(6)(A), of the denial of his FOIA request. On May
6, 1997, the appeal was denied on the ground that the
records were exempt from disclosure under the law
enforcement exemption. Specifically, ATF stated that pre-

mature release of the requested investigative materials

would interfere with an ongoing criminal investigation.

App. 13

In late April 1997, ATF closed its investigation of the
fire at the site. (Def. Exh. D(D), Cooper Decl. | 9: Def.
Exh. D(E), Samacki Decl. 4 9). ATF Participates in an
inter-agency arson task force along with the Salt Lake
City Fire Department, Salt Lake County Fire Department,
and the Salt Lake County Sheriff's Department. (Def. Exh.
E, Samacki Supp. Decl. ¥ 1; Def. Exh. F, Barker Decl. { 1).
Members of the task force conduct their investigations
jointly. Id. The Salt Lake County Fire Department, along
with the Salt Lake County Sheriff’s Department, is still
investigating the matter as a part of the inter-agency task
torce. (Def. Exh. E, Samacki Supp. Decl. { 7).

On June 12, 1997, Unigard Insurance Company filed
an action for judicial review of the denial of the adminis-
trative appeal filed by Lynch pursuant to 5 U.S.C.
§ 552(a)(4)(B). Unigard Insurance Company v. Department of
the Treasury, Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms, Case
No. 97-CV-1126-K (AJB). On August 15, 1997, Unigard
tiled a motion seeking to compel ATF to compile, pur-
suant to the holding in Vaughn o. Rosen, 484 F.2d 820 (D.C.
Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 415 U.S. 977, an itemized index of
the materials withheld along with justification for the
refusal to produce each category of records. By order of
September 14, 1997, this court denied Unigard’s motion
to compel production of a Vaughn index, holding that the
materials requested “could reasonably be expected to
intertere with the law enforcement proceeding currently
underway in the State of Utah.” Case No. 97-CV-1126-
K(AJB), Order of 9/14/97 at 8. This court further stated
“[blecause the documents are Properly exempt under
exemption (b)(7)(A), a Vaughn index is not required.” Jd
(citing Miscavtage v. Internal Revenue Service, 2 F.3d 366,

,

App. 14

367 (11th Cir. 1993)). A Vaughn index need not be pro-
duced for exemption (b)(7)(A) withholdings because
(b)(7)(A) is a general exclusion, by which the entire class
of materials is “per se exempt from disclosure regardless
of the content of each document withheld.” Id. (quoting
Weiner v. Federal Bureau of Investigation, 943 F.2d 972, 978
n.5 (9th Cir. 1991)). By order of December 13, 1997, this
court dismissed Unigard’s action for lack of subject mat-
ter jurisdiction, holding that Unigard lacked standing to
bring an action for judicial review of the denial of a FOIA
request where Unigard did not make that request. Case
No. 97-CV-1126-K(AJB). Order of 12/13/97 at 5-6.

On December 22, 1997, plaintiff Lynch filed the
instant action seeking the same relief previously sought
by Unigard in Case No. 97-CV-1126-K(AJB). In dismissing
Unigard’s action, this court found that Lynch made the
FOIA request at issue. Thus, the issue of standing raised
in the prior action is not present here.

Defendant now moves to dismiss plaintiff's action,
or, in the alternative, for summary judgment. Plaintiff
opposes and cross-moves for summary judgment. Defen-
dant opposes the cross-motion. The court notes that both
parties to this action have discussed the filings in Case
No. 97-CV-1126-K (AJB) as if they were filed in this
action. Unless the parties have submitted these filings as
exhibits in this case, they are not part of the record under
consideration here.

Il. LEGAL STANDARD

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 12(b)(6) allows a
court to dismiss a complaint for failure to state a claim

ae hie

‘
OP Pe Io eT AER ls ee Oe

aA le ea

Selina Mbps 8 ck

App. 15

upon which relief can be granted. Such a dismissal can be
based on either the lack of a cognizable legal theory or
the absence of sufficient facts alleged under a cognizable
legal theory. Balistreri v. Pacifica Police Dept., 901 F.2d 696,
699 (9th Cir. 1990). Under Rule 12(b)(6), a complaint
should not be dismissed for failure to state a claim unless
it appears beyond doubt that plaintiff could prove no set
of facts in support of his or her claim for relief. Levine v.
Diamanthuset, Inc., 950 F.2d 1478, 1482 (9th Cir. 1991). In
applying this standard, the court must treat all of plain-
tiff’s factual allegations as true. Experimental Eng’g. Inc. v.
United Technologies Corp., 614 F.2d 1244, 1245 (9th Cir.
1980). On a Rule 12(b)(6) motion, the court assumes that
all general allegations “embarce whatever specific facts
might be necessary to support them.” Peloza v. Capistrano
Unified Sch. Dist.,.37 F.3d 517, 521 (9th Cir. 1994) cert.
denied, 515 U.S. 1173 (1995). However, the court does not
have to accept as true conclusory allegations that contra-
dict facts which may be judicially noticed or which are
contradicted by documents referred to in the complaint.
See, e.g., Mallis v. United States Bankr. Court, 828 F.2d 1384,
1388 (9th Cir. 1987). The court likewise, is not bound to
assume the truth of legal conclusions simply because they
are stated in the from of factual allegations. Western Min-
ing Counsel v. Watt, 643 F.2d 618, 624 (9th Cir.), cert.
denied, 454 U.S. 1031 (1981).

Rule 12(b) also provides:

If, on a motion asserting the defense numbered
(6) to dismiss for failure of the pleading to state
a claim upon which relief can be granted, mat-
ters outside the pleading are presented to and
not excluded by the court, the motion shall be

App. 16

treated as one for summary judgment and dis-
posed of as provided in Rule 56... .

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 56(c) provides that
summary judgment is appropriate if there is no genuine
issue as to any material fact, and the moving party is
entitled to a judgment as a matter of law. The movant has
the initial burden of demonstrating that summary judg-
ment is proper. Adickes v. S.H. Kress and Co., 90 S.Ct. 1598,
1608 (1970). The burden then shifts to the nonmovant to
show that summary judgment is not appropriate. Celotex
Corp. v. Catrett, 106 S.Ct. 2548, 2553. To make such a
showing, the nonmovant must go beyond the pleadings
to designate specific facts showing that there is a genuine
issue for trial. Id. However, in considering this motion,
the evidence of the nonmovant is to be believed and all
justifiable inferences are to be drawn in his or her favor.
Anderson v. Liberty Lobby Inc., 106 S.Ct. 2505, 2513 (1986).

III. DISCUSSION

A. Defendant’s Motion to Dismiss or for Summary
Judgment

Defendant moves to dismiss or for summary judg-
ment on the grounds that the information subject to
plaintiff’s FOIA request falls within an exemption to the
disclosure requirements of FOIA. Because this motion
relies on matters outside of the pleadings, the court con-
siders it as a motion for summary judgment under Rule
56.

Under FOIA, a district court has the authority “to
enjoin the agency from withholding agency records and
to order the production of any agency records improperly

App. 17

withheld from the complainant.” 5 U.S.C. § 552(a)(4)(b).
Thus, to obtain an injunction proving defendant from
withholding the information sought, plaintiff must show
that defendant “(‘improperly;’ (2) ‘withheld;’ (3) ‘agency
records.’ ” Kissinger v. Reporters Committee for Freedom of
the Press, 445 U.S 136, 150 (1980). “Judicial authority to
devise remedies and enjoin agencies can only be invoked
if the agency has contravened all three components. .. . ”
Id. Here, both parties agree that defendant withheld
agency records. Thus, the only question before the court
is whether that withholding was improper.

If an agency record is withheld, the withholding is
improer if the document does not fall within a FOIA
exemption. Spurlock v. Federal Bureau of Investigation, 69
F.3d 1010, 1016 (9th Cir. 1995). In determining whether
the withholding was improper, the -court considers
whether the document fell within the exemption at the
time it was invoked by the agency in response to the
FOIA request. Bonner v. United States, 928 F.2d 1148, 1152
(D.C. Cir. 1991) (holding that when a district court
reviews an agency decision to withhold information, that
decision “ordinarily must be evaluated as of the time it
was made.”)

In order to prevail on its summary judgment motion,
defendant must demonstrate that the records fell within
an exemption at the time the exemption was invoked. To
meet its burden of demonstrating that the records fall
within the exemption, defendant may offer, inter alia,
affidavits/declarations of agency employees as evidence.
See Lewis v. Internal Revenue Service, 823 F.2d 375, 378 (9th
Cir. 1987). To defeat this motion, plaintiff must present
some evidence that would raise a genuine issue for trial

App. 18

concerning whether the records fit within that exemption
at the tie defendant invoked it.

Defendant has submitted declarations in support of
its contention that the records at issue fall within the
(b)(7)(A) exemption. Defendant's exhibits include the
declarations of: Robert L. Pritchett, the chief of the
records disclosure branch of ATF (Def. Exh. C(A)); John
Cooper, an ATF Special Agent responsible for monitoring,
coordinating, and supporting field enforcement activities
within the Special Operations area, which includes under
cover operations, witness security, and informant utiliza-
tion (Def. Exh. D(D)); Jeffrey P. Sarnacki, an ATF Special
Agent in the Salt Lake City Field Office who is a Certified
Fire Investigator assigned to the Inter-agency arson task
force which investigates all fires occurring within Salt
Lake City and unincorporated Salt Lake county (Def. Exh.
D(E) and E); and Dennis C. Barker, a Captain in the Salt
Lake County Fire Department and Commander of the
Interagency Fire Investigation Task force (Def. Exh. F).

To show that there remains a genuine issue for trial,
plaintiff has submitted his own declaration and the decla-
ration of Ronald A. Campbell, a Certified Fire Investiga-
tor who was with the Pendleton Fire Department for 27
years and, since retiring, has operated a fire investigation
business for 7 years (Pla. Exh. D).!

Here, defendant asserts that the requested records
fall within FOIA’s law enforcement exemption, 5 U.S.C.
§ 557(b)(7)(A). This exemption provides in pertinent part:

' Campbell was hired by Unigard Insurance Company to
investigate the fire at the site.

App. 19

(b) This section does not apply to matters that are —

(7) records or information complied for law
enforcement purposes, but only to the
extent that the production of such law
enforcement records or information

(A) could reasonably be expected to
interfere with enforcement pro-
ceedings. .. .

5 U.S.C. § 557(b)(7)(A). In 1996, FOIA was amended to
broaden the scope of the (b)(7) exemptions. See e.g. United
States Dep't of Justice v. Reporters Comm. for Freedom of the
Press, 489 U.S. 749, 756 n.9 (noting that the amendments
represent “a considered congressional effort ‘to ease con-
siderably a Federal law enforcement agency’s burden in
invoking” the exemption under § 557(b)(7)). The amend-
ments eliminated the former requirement that the records
be investigatory in nature to come under the exemption;
so long as the records are complied for “law enforcement
purposes,” they are exempt. Federal Bureau of Investigation
v. Abramson, 456 U.S. 615, 630-31 (1982).

Defendant submits that there can be no question that
information gathered in an ATF investigation is complied
for law enforcement purposes. The Secretary of the Treas-
ury has statutory responsibility to enforce federal fire-
arms and explosives laws. See Gun Control Act of 1968,
Section 103, Public Law 90-618, and 18 U.S.C. § 847. These
responsibilities have been delegated to ATF by Treasury
Order No. 120-01. See also 27 C.ER. § 70.33. ATF is in fact
a law enforcement agency that was called upon to investi-

gate the fire at the site.

App. 20

Plaintiff contends that there was no law enforcement
purpose involved in this ATF investigation. Plaintiff has
submitted an article about ATF’s National Response Team
that was published in the membership magazine for the
National Fire Protection Association. See Pla. Exh. 2.2
According to plaintiff, the magazine article shows that
there was no law enforcement purpose for the investiga-
tion in which the information was complied, because: (1)
the article explains that when ATF assists in local investi-
gations the leader always ensures that the ATF team
works under the direction of the local chief, and (2) the
article shows that the goal of ATF’s National Response
Team’s investigations is not always to determine criminal
intent. Even if this magazine article were accepted as
evidence, it does not raise a triable issue concerning
whether the information was complied for a law enforce-
ment purpose. First, there is no reason to believe that
ATF’s position as the lead agency or as an assisting
agency in an investigation has any bearing on whether
the information is compiled for a law enforcement pur-
pose. Second, for the purposes of the (b)(7)(A) exemption,
the law enforcement purpose need not relate to proceed-
ings that are criminal in nature. See-Manna v. United States
Dep't of Justice, 51 F.3d 1158, 1165 (3rd Cir. 1995) (includ-
ing civil action within the meaning of “law enforce-
ment”); Injex Indus. v. National Labor Relations Board, 699
F.Supp. 1417, 1420 (N.D. Cal. 1986) (including regulatory
proceedings within the meaning of “law enforcement”).

2 Plaintiff has established no foundation to show that this
article should be considered as any sort of evidence by the
court.

App. 21

The court finds that there is no genuine issue con-
cerning whether the information was complied for law
enforcement purposes. The only remaining question is
whether disclosure of the information “could reasonably
be expected to interfere with enforcement proceedings.”
See 5 U.S.C. § 557(b)(7)(A).

Disclosure of information interferes with law
enforcement Proceedings whenever the government's
case would be harmed by premature release of informa-
tion or where disclosure would impede an investigation
prior to enforcement proceedings. See Bevis v. Dep't of
State, 801 F.2d 1386, 1388 (D.C. Cir. 1986). Again, the court
emphasizes that this determination is made in view of the
circumstances at the time the exemption was invoked. See
Bonner, 928 F.2d at 1152. Thus the court will not address
the parties’ discussions concerning the current status of
any investigation.

Defendant denied plaintiff's request for information
on March 10, 1997, invoking exemption (b)(7)(A). Plaintiff
thereafter filed an administrative appeal of this decision.
By letter of May 6, 1997, defendant informed plaintiff that
his administrative appeal had been denied. At the time
defendant initially denied plaintiff’s request, defendant's
investigation into the fire was ongoing and defendant
determined that release of the files may have hindered
the investigation. (Def. Exh. C(A), Pritchett Decl. { 25-26).
In late April 1997, ATF closed its investigation of the fire
at the site. (Def. Exh. D(D), Cooper Decl. { 9; Def. Exh.
D(E), Samacki Decl. q 9). Contrary to plaintiff’s asser-
tions, ATF’s closure of its investigation is not dispositive
of this issue. Even after an investigation is closed, the
(b)(7)(A) exemption may be applicable if disclosure could

App. 22

be expected to interfere with a related law enforcement
proceedings. See e.g. New England Medical Center Hospital
v. National Labor Relations Board, 548 F.2d 377, 385-86 (1st
Cir. 1976) (applying exemption (b)(7)(A) to closed file
documents where they “remain fully relevant to a specific
pending enforcement proceedings, although, to be sure,
not the one for which they were precisely intended”).
Here, the Salt Lake County Fire Department, along with
the Salt Lake County Sheriff’s Department, continued to
investigate the matter as a part of the inter-agency task
force in which defendant ATF participates. (Def. Exh. E,
Samacki Supp. Decl. { 7). State and local law enforcement
proceedings qualify for the (b)(7)(A) exemption. Cf. Hop-
kinson v. Shillinger, 866 F.2d 1185, 1222 n.27 (10th Cir.
1989).

According to plaintiff, defendant must present docu-
ment by document explanations to show that the infor-
mation would interfere with the investigation. Plaintiff is
mistaken. The Supreme Court has held that the (b)(7)(A)
exemption may be applied generically, rather than on a
document by document basis. See National Labor Relations
Board v. Robbins Tire & Rubber Co., 437 U.S. 214, 224 (1978).
The Ninth Circuit has described (b)(7)(A) as a “general
exclusion.” Lewis v. Internal Revenue Service, 823 F.2d 375,
380 (9th Cir. 1987). Indeed, the Ninth Circuit explained
that a document by document index (“Vaughn index”)
was “not required in Lewis because the entire class of
documents requested was per se exempt from disclosure
regardless of the content of each document withheld.”
Weiner v. Federal Bureau of Investigation, 943 F.2d 972, 978
n.5 (9th Cir. 1991). Thus, neither a Vaughn index, nor a

App. 23

document-by-document in camera review are necessary
when the matter involves the (b)(7)(A) exemption.

Here, the declarations submitted by defendant list
the types of information by category and give an explana-
tion of how the information could interfere with the
investigation. According to the Samacki declaration, the
information includes witness statements, reports of inves-
tigation, cause and origin report, photographs, and sur-
veillance authorizations. Def. Exh. E, Samacki Decl. q 6.
Defendant asserts that release of any records, including
photographs, would highlight areas of investigative con-
cern. Id. According to the Pritchett declaration, which
also lists the information by category,? at the time plain-
tiff’s request was denied, “it was ATF’s belief that the
release of these records could, among other things, alert
potential suspects as to the existence of the investigation,
identify possible witnesses, interfere with surveillance, or
result in the destruction of evidence.” Def. Exh. C(A),
Pritchett Decl. { 26. Defendant has satisfied its burden of
showing that disclosure of the information could reason-
ably be expected to interfere with law enforcement pro-
ceedings.

The court finds that plaintiff's arguments concerning
alleged spoliation of evidence at the fire scene by ATF are

* The Pritchett declaration also lists the types of
information in the file, but omits “photographs” as a category.
Def. Exh. C(A). Pritchett Decl. ] 24. Plaintiff asserts that the
absence of photographs from Pritchett’s declaration shows that
defendant is acting in bad faith in this action. Defendant
voluntarily informed the court that photographs should have
been included, but were omitted by clerical error. See Def. Exh.
C. The court does not find that defendant acted in bad faith.

App. 24

completely irrelevant to the issues before the court on
this action for judicial review of a FOIA decision.
Whether such spoliation is actionable has no bearing on
the issue of whether, under FOIA, ATF should be required
to disclose the information. The court therefore finds
irrelevant any evidence of such spoliation. This court
makes no determination of whether plaintiff may be able
to bring some cause of action against ATF in relation to
the spoliation allegations.

Defendant establishes that (1) the information was
compiled for law enforcement purposes; and (2) law
enforcement agencies continued to investigate the fire at
the time plaintiff’s request was denied and at the time his
administrative appeal was denied, such that release of
information could reasonably be expected to interfere
with enforcement proceedings. Plaintiff fails to raise any
genuine triable issue. Accordingly, the court grants
defendant’s motion for summary judgment.

B. Plaintiff's Cross-Motion for Summary Judg-
ment

For the same reasons that the court grants defen-
dant’s motion for summary judgment, the court denies
plaintiff’s cross-motion for summary judgment. Plaintiff
cannot show that, as a matter of law, the records do not
fit within the (b)(7)(A) exemption.

C. Plaintiff's Request for Judicial Notice

Plaintiff requests that the court take judicial notice of
the videotape evidence of spoliation filed in Case No. 97-

App. 25

CV-1126-K(AJB) and the declaration of Ronald A. Camp-
bell filed in that case. Plaintiff wants to ensure that the
court considers these items of evidence in deciding these
cross-motions. First, as noted above, any declarations
resubmitted as exhibits in this action are part of the
record in this case. Because plaintiff has attached the
Campbell declaration as an exhibit in this case, it is part
of this record and has been considered. Plaintiff's request
for judicial notice as to this document is denied as unnec-
essary.

Plaintiff did not submit the videotape as an exhibit in
this case. Therefore it is not part of this record. The court
would reach no different result on these cross-motions
even if the videotape were considered. As noted above,
the court finds that the allegation of spoliati on, which the
videotape supports, has no bearing on the issues before
the court in determining these cross-motions. The court
finds that the videotape is not the proper subject of
judicial notice.

IV. CONCLUSIONS

For the foregoing reasons, the court GRANTS defen-
dant’s motion for summary judgment and DENIES plain-
tiff’s cross-motion for summary judgment. The court also
DENIES plaintiff’s motion for document-by-document in

App. 26

camera review and DENIES plaintiff’s request for judicial

notice.
IT IS SO ORDERED.
DATED: 6-8-98 /s/ Judith N. Keep

JUDGE JUDITH N. KEEP
United States District Court
Southern District of California

App. 27

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

JUDGMENT IN A CIVIL CASE
Case Number: 3:97-cv-02290
(Filed June 10, 1998)

Lynch - plaintiff
v.

Treasury — defendant

[ ] JURY VERDICT. This action came before the Court
for a trial by jury. The issues have been tried and the
jury has rendered its verdict.

[X] DECISION BY COURT. This action came to trial or
hearing before the Court. The issues have been tried
or heard and a decision has been rendered

IT IS ORDERED AND ADJUDGED

Clerks Judgment: Defendant’s motion for summary judg-
ment is granted; Plaintiff’s motion for summary judg-
ment is denied; Court denies Plaintiff’s mot for
document-by-document in camera review and denies
Plaintiff's request for judicial notice; terminating case (cc:
all counsel)

6/10/98 Roberta Westdal
Date . Clerk

/s/ R. Bressi
by R. Bressi, Deputy Clerk

Entered on 6/10/98

pre — Keep
ref — Porter

App. 28

THE OFFICIAL MAGAZINE OF THE
NATIONAL FirRE PROTECTION ASSOCIATION

NFPAJourRNAL
May/June 1998
ATF

ON CALL

ATF’s National Response Teams can help local agencies inves-
tigate fires that are too big for them to handle alone.

Ed Comeau

Any fire investigation, no matter how small, requires a
range of skills and disciplines. A smaller incident may be
investigated by a few people from the local fire depart-
ment or state fire marshal’s office. If an incident is of such
catastrophic proportions that an investigation would
exceed the abilities of the local authority, however, there’s
a resource to call upon: the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco
and Firearms; (ATF) National Response Team (NRT).

There are four NRTs distributed across the country
made up of agents from throughout ATF. By bringing
together a team of specialists to work on an incident, it’s
possible to “blitz” the incident with resources in a very
short time - which is critical when conducting a fire
investigation. Until proven otherwise, every fire scene is
treated as a crime scene. If a crime has been committed,
it’s critical to gather the necessary evidence and try to
apprehend the guilty party. Unless the site is secured,
evidence may be lost or destroyed quickly, and witnesses’
recollections can become distorted, or even fade, with
time. Applying the wide range of resources available
through an NRT, the local fire department has the oppor-
tunity to process a scene quickly but thoroughly.

App. 29

At the request of the local authority having jurisdic-
tion (AHJ), ATF will mobilize at least 15 NRT members
and provide the local incident commanders with exten-
sive support in determining the cause and origin of a fire
or explosion. Even though ATF is a law enforcement
organization, the goal of the NRT investigation isn’t
always to determine criminal intent. While a number of
NRT investigations have resulted in arson prosecutions,
the outcomes of others have determined that the fires
weren't incendiary.

History of the NRTs

The first two NRTs were established in 1978 after the
Organized Crime Control Act of 1970 granted ATF the
authority to investigate and prosecute incidents involving
explosive devices. While the act Originally limited the
scope of the NRTs’ investigations to explosions, Special
Agent Ed Garrison notes that enterprising ATF agents
managed to prosecute a case where the defendants used
gasoline to burn a commercial building. The theory was
that gasoline, when combined with air, met the definition
of an explosive and thus qualified as a crime.”

Realizing that it couldn’t effectively respond within
24 hours of an incident using only two teams, ATF estab-
lished two more NRTs in 1980. The four teams are located
in the Midwest, the Northeast, the Southeast, and the
Western regions of the United States. In 1982, Congress
expanded ATF’s jurisdiction to include incidents involv-
ing fires as well as explosives through the Glenn Amend-
ment, introduced by Senator John Glenn of Ohio.

~ App. 30

Since 1978, NRTs have been activated 392 times to
conduct investigations involving 492 deaths, 2,465 inju-
ries, and property damage estimated in the billions of
dollars. Among the NRTs’ investigations are the world
Trade Center bombing in New York City in 1993, the
Oklahoma City bombing in 1995, the TWA 800 crash off
Long Island in 1996, and the Olympic bombing in Atlanta
in 1996.

Other investigations have included a warehouse fire
in New Orleans that destroyed a 1-million-square-foot
building; a fire in Seattle, Washington, that killed four
firefighters; an apartment building fire in Bremerton,
Washington, that killed four residents; and a bourbon
distillery fire in Kentucky that resulted in more than $5
million in damage.

Responses reached an all-time high in 1997 when the
NRTs were activated 39 times. They were deployed 22
times in 1996, and 19 times in 1995. In the first three
months of 1998, the NRT had already been activated five
times.

Structure of the NRT

Each NRT regional team involves 30 ATF agents and
specialists, and each is self-sufficient in terms of skills
and disciplines. An average NRT response will include 15
agents and specialists cross-trained in several of these
disciplines. \

Team members include a team leader, who’s respon-
sible for coordinating the NRT’s operations with local
officials, and a team supervisor, who manages the team,

4

:
4
|
a
4
|
3
4
3

aie

App. 31

determining the team members’ assignments and ensur-
ing that they have the necessary tools and equipment to
perform their jobs. Each team also has at least one certi-
fied fire investigator (CFI), responsible for determining
the origin and cause of the fire; an explosives enforce-
ment officer (EEO), responsible for evaluating any explo-
sive devices or remains found on the scene; and a fire
protection engineer (FPE), a relatively new addition to
the team. An FPE is invaluable in evaluating a building’s
design features, determining the role of suppression sys-
tems in a fire, and analyzing fire spread through com-
puter modeling.

[Pictures Omitted In Printing]

The team also includes a photographer to thoroughly
document the scene. The scene is also documented with
schematics of the structure and its contents, the locations
of the victims, and evidence.

A forensic chemist, a canine accelerant handler, and
an evidence technician are also part of an NRT. The
forensic chemist is responsible for gathering evidence
that will be sent for further analysis to a local or state
forensics laboratory or to one of ATF’s labs in Rockville,
Maryland; Atlanta, Georgia; or San Francisco, California.
The canine handler uses dogs to determine whether accel-
erants were used. ATF has roughly 45 dogs paired with
State or local authorities throughout the United States.
The evidence technician coordinates the collection of evi-
dence, keeps the evidence logs, and maintains the evi-
dence chain of custody until it’s turned over to the local
law enforcement agency.

App. 32

There are several specialties that only qualified per-
sonnel can fill, but many NRT members are cross-trained
in a variety of disciplines and can fill different positions
at an incident. This versatility allows for a much stronger,
integrated team approach.

NFPA and ATF Partnership

NFPA’s fire investigators often work closely on fire
scenes with ATF in a partnership that’s grown over the
years as each organization realizes the skills and abilities
the other has to offer. With the addition of fire protection
engineers to the NRT callouts, this alliance has become
even closer.

Some recent incidents at which NFPA has worked in
conjunction with ATF include the World Trade Center
explosion in New York; the Oklahoma City bombing; a
warehouse fire in Seattle, Washington; a warehouse fire
in New Orleans; the Treasury building fire in Washing-
ton, D.C.; an apartment building fire in Bremerton, Wash-
ington; and a retail store fire in Mableton, Georgia.

In addition to these responses, ATF uses NFPA’s
investigators as guest lecturers during training programs.
NFPA is also a partner in the development of an interac-
tive CD-ROM training program for fire investigators and
is participating in the design of the new ATF fire test
center in Maryland. In turn, ATF has helped NFPA
develop the script for and film a new six-part video
series, “Fire Investigations.”

This alliance has greatly enhanced the NFPA’s fire
investigations team’s ability to gather critical information

dy

App. 33

at fire scenes and has given ATF greater access to NFPA’s
broad expertise. Such a partnership has been a significant
“win-win” situation for both organizations.

Training NRT members

NRT training is extremely varied because of the unusual
conditions team members encounter during incidents.

“One year, the entire team was trained to use Bob-
cats™ for debris removal,” says Special Agent Jack Mal-
ooly, who’s been with the NRT program since 1980 and is
both a CFI and an EEO. According to Malooly, it’s often
necessary to use these small front end loaders and, since
a fire scene is a potential crime scene, ATF wanted to
reduce the number of civilians in such areas.

Other training programs have included how to oper-
ate oxyacetylene torches, as well as teaching sessions by a
pathologist. The recent addition of surveying equipment
on response trucks calls for still more specialized train-

ing.

“This equipment allows us to locate and map, very
accurately, the lay out of a building and the location of
evidence in relation to the building,” says Malooly.

The team leaders and team supervisors have also
been sent to advanced EPA hazardous materials schools,
and this year’s training program included topics such as
evidence spoliation, critical incident management, court
testimony, case studies, and interviewing - all in addition
to the normal training required annually.

App. 34

Equipment on the NRT

To support the NRTs, ATF has 38 vehicles distributed
across the United States that are essentially rolling fire
investigation toolboxes. Each vehicle’s equipment ranges
from pop-up shelters to latex gloves. Because digging out
a fire scene and collecting evidence is manual labor, each
truck carries a collection of shovels, saws, brooms, and
other tools.

The trucks also carry a variety of personal protective
equipment, including helmets, gloves, turnout clothing,
respirators, and splash suits. As part of scene safety,
teams implement an accountability system using name
tags for each agent.

Among the equipment used to document a fire scene
are 35-mm cameras, video cameras, drafting equipment,
and tape recorders. The trucks also carry a fax machine
and a copier, as well as reference books, such as NFPA’s
Fire Protection Handbook and the Fire Protection Guide to
Hazardous Materials.

In the truck are areas in which witnesses can be
interviewed, video-tapes watched and copied, and equip-
ment repaired.

ATF brings technology to the fire scene by using
electronic surveying equipment, which allows investiga-
tors to map a building and the locations of debris and
evidence much more accurately than they could using a
tape measure. Other high-tech applications include com-
puter models to help recreate fire scenes. All CFIs are also
provided with rugged, military versions of laptop com-
puters to use during investigations. |

be DOA lac Aah RL on Sat ta ELSON et Nach ais 9 Ob a tne rant

mere die We SANG ARN ant
the Wh Sat Athan 9 Bi

‘

Link OE aR ND edit tacten he nl

by a Stl) Sabb eels

App. 35

To help identify critical areas of a building, NRTs use
global positioning systems. By identifying the longitude
and latitude of a building, says Malooly, agents can get
information about potential lightning strikes from the
National Weather Service.

Evidence contamination is a big concern at any fire
scene. To avoid cross-contamination of evidence, tools are
thoroughly washed after every use and when they’re
being used in different areas. And wash lines are set up
so everyone entering and leaving the fire scene can clean
their footwear.

The trucks also carry power tools such as saws and
drills. To avoid introducing any gasoline to the fire scene
that might be mistaken for an accelerant, however, these
tools are electrically powered by a generator on the truck.

Activating an NRT

When NRTs were first formed, the threshold for activa-
tion was property damage over a million dollars or sig-
nificant loss of life or injury. However, this has been
changed over the years to allow for more latitude in
determining when an NRT is needed. A team can now be
called in when the resources needed to investigate an
incident exceed those available locally.

According to Mike Bouchard, chief of ATF’s Arson
and Explosives Branch, getting in touch with the local
ATF special agent in charge (SAC) is the first step in
activating an NRT. The local fire department or law
enforcement agency asks the SAC to look into its prob-
lem, and the SAC sends a representative to evaluate the

App. 36

incident. If they feel that an NRT callout is required, ATF
headquarters in Washington is notified. The team leader
for the NRT in that area is then notified and assembles
the team from the agents available in the region. These
agents are usually drawn from those assigned to the
region’s team, but agents from across the country can be
called upon to fill out the response.

The objective is to assemble the team and be on the
scene within 24 hours of activation. The local ATF office
plays a pivotal role in the initial stages of an incident by
providing agents to help secure the scene, to identify
potential witnesses to be interviewed, and to make logis-
tical arrangements, such as lodging and transportation.
Local ATF agents continue to assist throughout the inves-
tigation in a variety of roles.

When the NRT arrives on the scene, the team leader
and the team supervisor get an initial briefing from local
fire and police officials. The function of the NRT is to
support the local efforts.

“ATF doesn’t come in and ‘take over’ an incident
from the local incident commander,” according to
Bouchard. “Our goal is to work with the local authori-

”

ties.”

Throughout the course of the on scene investigation,
briefings are held twice a day, once in the morning before
work starts to outline the objectives for the day, and again
at the end of the day to summarize the findings and
correlate all of the information obtained. These briefings
are critical to a smooth operation, since information is
gathered from so many different sources. Information
provided by a witness, for example, can be critical in

App. 37

determining the direction that the on-scene digging may
take.

The NRT has two major functions: interviewing and
scene documentation and reconstruction. Both are critical
in recreating the sequence of events surrounding a fire or
explosion.

Interviews help the NRT identify potential witnesses
who can help determine cause and origin. An agent is
placed in charge of coordinating all the interviews, and a
center is established to manage the activities of the inter-
view teams and to correlate the information they obtain.
Whenever possible, ATF agents and local law enforce-
ment or fire officials conduct the interviews together.

Information from the interviews is collected in a cen-
tralized computer database called ASCMe, which stands
for “advanced serial case management.” This system cor-
relates the data gathered from the myriad interviews and
helps determine either common factors in, or discrepan-
cies between, people’s accounts.

Scene documentation is an arduous and time-con-
suming process in which all of the phases of debris
removal and evidence collection are painstakingly
recorded. Removing debris can be as simple as shoveling
wreckage into wheelbarrows, or it may involve the use of
Bobcats or heavy equipment.

Scene documentation can be physically demanding.
One of Special Agent Lynne DeMent’s more memorable
experiences occurred one July at a hazardous materials
scene in Houston, Texas, where all of the investigators
spent the week wearing SCBAs in 95°F weather.

App. 38

“What a week that was,” says DeMent.

When an investigation is completed, the ATF agents
and the local officials meet to determine the next course
of action based on the evidence uncovered. If a criminal
prosecution is warranted, the local district attorney and
the local U.S. attorney become involved to decide
whether the case will be tried locally or on the federal
level. At this point, all the information and evidence
gathered during the investigation is turned over to the
local ATF office and the local authority.

On average, an NRT is on the scene for three to four
days, at a cost of about $15,000, all at no cost to the local
jurisdictions.

Chief Superintendent Warren McDaniels of the New
Orleans Fire Department has used NRTs four times since
1991. When asked to describe how they operated, his
immediate response was “highly professionally.” Chief Al
Duke of the Bremerton, Washington, Fire Department
echoes McDaniels’ sentiments. He recently asked the NRT
to assist at a large apartment complex fire in which four
residents died.

“The ATF brings resources to bear on an incident that
are simply not available within our department,” Duke
says. “We would have been there three weeks trying to
dig out the scene.” Both chiefs emphasized how careful
the ATF is to avoid the appearance of taking over an
incident. At all times, the NRT team leader made sure
that the team worked under the chief's direction.

As part of the federal Government Performance
Review Act (GPRA), government agencies are now

App. 39

required to ensure that they’re responding to the needs of
the people they serve. To this end, ATF conducts a follow-
up survey with the AHJ after an incident is over.
Bouchard notes that most surveys come back indicating
overwhelming satisfaction with the level of service pro-
vided. One of the major complaints, if it could be called a
complaint, is that local authorities wish the teams could
remain on the scene longer.

International Response Team

Recently, the concept of the NRT was expanded to the
international arena through an International Response
Team (IRT).

“The IRT is activated at the request of the Depart-
ment of State for any fire or explosion in the world
against U.S. interests,” says Bouchard. A formal agree-
ment between ATF and the Department of State’s Diplo-
matic Security Service was initially designed to support
the Diplomatic Security Service’s own investigations, but
it has since been expanded to provide “technical / forensic
assistance and oversight to foreign governments on for-
eign territory.”

The IRT has responded to 13 incidents throughout
the world, including vehicle bombings, embassy attacks,
and assassinations in countries such as Peru, Argentina,
El Salvador, Ecuador, Pakistan, Grenada, Korea, Mac-
edonia, and Surinam. A typical IRT response is composed
of at least two people - a supervisory agent and a CFI or
EEO, depending upon the nature of the incident.

App. 40

As the use of NRTs expands, their effectiveness
improves. Faster response times, improved training and
equipment, expanded staffing, and more expertise in the
field are creating a valuable federal resource.

Ed Comeau is NFPA’s chief fire investigator.

App. 41

Graeme A. Reid, Esq.

Bar No. 171190

Sam S. Sheldon, Esq.

Bar No. 190502

COZEN AND O’CONNOR

501 West Broadway, Suite 1610
San Diego, California, 92101-3536
(619) 234-1700

Attorney for Plaintiff
PETER A. LYNCH

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

PETER A. LYNCH, CASE NO.
Plaintiff, 97-CV-2290R (POR)
SUPPLEMENTAL

V.

DEPARTMENT OF
THE TREASURY,
BUREAU OF

)

)

)

) DECLARATION OF

)

)
ALCOHOL, TOBACCO

)

)

)

)

PETER A. LYNCH

DATE: May 4, 1998
TIME: 10:30 a.m.
CTRM: 5

(Hon. John S. Rhodes)

(Filed Mar. 17, 1998)

AND FIREARMS,
Defendant.

)
I, PETER A. LYNCH, do hereby depose and say:

1. I obtained a B.S. degree in criminal corrections
from Illinois State University with high honors in 1981.

2. I obtained a J.D. degree from Southern Illinois
University School of Law at Carbondale in 1984.

App. 42

3. I was on active duty as a Captain with the United
States Marine Corps from 1984 to 1987 as a criminal
prosecutor and defense attorney.

4. I ama certified fire and explosion investigator. |
have been certified since November 23, 1990.

5. [ama senior partner with the law firm of Cozen
and O’Connor in its San Diego, California office.

6. I have handled a minimum of one hundred fire
cases (overly conservative effort) with Cozen and O’Con-
nor for corporate clients, insurers and private individ-
uals.

7. I was originally hired by Unigard Insurance
Company to assist them with their investigation of this
fire loss at 5200 Southland Drive, Salt Lake City, Utah
which is the basis of this FOIA action. Also hired to
conduct the cause and ongin investigation was Mr. Ron
Campbell. The fire occurred on September 23, 1996.

8. I am the legal advisor to the San Diego County
Fire and Arson Task Force. That task force is made up of
local, city, county and federal fire departments working
together to combat arson fires in San Diego County. Rep-
resentatives from ATF are members of this task force.
This task force is similar to the task force in existence in
Salt Lake City, Utah.

9. I have taught courses to the San Diego County
Fire and Arson Task Force. Those separate courses
include instruction on fire scene spoliation of evidence
and trial testimony.

App. 43

10. I am a member of the California Conference of
Arson Investigators. The primary mission of the Califor-
nia Conference of Arson Investigators (CCAI) is the
reduction of arson fires through the establishment of a
professional organization to improve the quality of fire
investigations, reduce incidence of arson, and network
information.

11. I was an instructor on spoliation of evidence at
the California Conference of Arson Investigators Annual
Conference, Fresno, California in 1996. The CCAI recently
reprinted in its March 1988 publication my article from
Fire Engineering (attached hereto as Exhibit “1”) on spolia-
tion of evidence at the fire scene.

12. I have written extensively on fire scene spolia-
tion. Attached are articles recently published: Lynch,
“After the Fire’s Out: Spoliation of Evidence in the Line
Firefighter,” Fire Engineering (January 1998), Vol. 151, No.
1 (attached hereto as Exhibit “2”); Lynch “Watch Out for
Civil Tort Liability From Spoliation of Evidence,” Fire &
Arson Investigator (June 1997) (attached hereto as Exhibit
“3"); Lynch, “Mishandling Fire Claims Can Lose Court
Cases,” Best’s Review (November 1996) (attached hereto as
Exhibit “4”). These three articles have been reprinted
throughout the country and in Canada. I have been
retained as an expert witness in fire cases.

13. The acts by ATF at the scene in Utah show on
the videotape, previously lodged with Judge Keep in
opposition to ATF’s earlier motion for summary judg-
ment, constitute spoliation of evidence at a fire scene.
Evidence is mishandled and not properly collected com-
promising its integrity.

App. 44

14. Basic evidence handling was not followed by
ATF agents during their investigation at the fire scene
which is one basis of the Freedom of Information Act
request. The national standard for fire investigation is
NFPA 921. The edition applicable to the investigation is
the 1995 edition. Chapter 9 details how evidence is to be
handled at a fire scene. Those sections are attached as
Exhibit “5.” Section 9-3.1 covers preservation of the fire
scene.

“The fire scene itself should be considered
evidence because the examination and
analysis of that fire scene is vitally impor-
tant in determining the origin of the fire,
the cause of the fire, and the responsibility
for the fire. The preservation of the fire
scene should begin with arriving fire-fight-
ing units. Improper preservation of the fire
scene will usually result in the contamina-
tion, loss, or unnecessary movement of
other physical evidence within that fire
scene, any one of which may reduce the
evidentiary value of the physical evidence.
The fire investigator should, therefore,
secure the fire scene from unauthorized
intrusions. Access to the fire scene should
be limited to only those persons who need
to be there.”

15. “Fire crews should avoid causing unnecess-
ary damage when using straight stream
hose lines, pulling ceilings, breaking win-
dows, collapsing walls, and performing
overhaul and salvage. Use of power tools
and gasoline- or diesel-powered equipment
should be carefully monitored to guard
against fuel spillage, and refueling of any

App. 45

equipment should be done outside the
building.”

16. As can be seen from section 9-3.1, use of heavy
equipment by ATF constitutes contamination, loss of
unnecessary movement of other physical evidence within
the fire scene reducing the evidentiary value of the physi-
cal evidence. Further, the use of the heavy equipment
caused unnecessary damage to the fire scene.

17. Section 9-3.2 states concerning preservation of
physical evidence:

“The fire investigator will usually locate
specific items of physical evidence within
the fire scene. The movement of such phys-
ical evidence should be avoided whenever
possible until it has been properly docu-
mented.”

18. “Often, it will be necessary for the fire
investigator to preserve and protect the
specific items of physical evidence. Burn
patterns on the floor, for example, may
have to be roped off or covered with a tarp
to prevent from being walked on. Other
physical evidence may have to be covered
with cardboard boxes to protect it. What-
ever type of physical evidence is encoun-
tered, the fire investigator should take
every reasonable precaution to preserve
and protect it.”

19. Based on Section 9-3.2, the use of heavy equip-
ment to move and collect evidence is not a reasonable
precaution to preserve and protect physical evidence.

20. “Section 9-4 covers contamination of physi-
cal evidence. It states, “Contamination of

App. 46

physical evidence can occur from improper
methods of collection, storage, or ship-
ment. Like improper preservation of the
fire scene, any contamination of the physi-
cal evidence may reduce the evidentiary
value of the physical evidence.”

21. Use of heavy equipment to retrieve physical
evidence placed under a chain of custody is an improper
method of collection of physical evidence. That -consti-
tutes contamination of physical evidence reducing any
evidentiary value of that evidence as shown on the video-
tape. Why would the agents of ATF be collecting physical
evidence after it has been dumped on the ground by
heavy equipment?

22. Section 9-5.5 discusses collection of electrical
equipment and components. ATF in this case collected
and preserved electrical components and equipment. Part
of Section 9-5.5 states:

“When practical, it is recommended that
any fixtures housing such equipment and
components be removed without disturb-
ing the components within them. Electrical
distribution panels, for example, should be
removed intact. . . . If the removal of indi-
vidual components becomes necessary, the
fire investigator should be careful not to
operate or manipulate them, and to care- ©
fully document their position and function
in the overall electrical distribution sys-
tem.”

How can ATF justify removing electrical junction boxes
and related physical evidence while dropping them on

App. 47

the ground? That is not consistent with the requirements
of Section 9-5.5.

23. How can AYF justify its handling of key physi-
cal evidence with heavy equipment? Mr. Campbell’s pre-
viously filed declaration concludes the use of heavy
equipment to retrieve physical evidence constitutes spoli-
ation of evidence. I agree. That is the only rational con-
clusion based on NFPA 921.

24. The only reason why ATF is not releasing its
report now is because it will confirm the destruction of
key physical evidence at the fire scene potentially consti-
tuting a tort. ATF is trying to silence any criticism of its
investigative mishaps by withholding the report and pho-
tographs. Query, how can photographs disclose the target
of the criminal investigation? Clearly, there was no arson-
ist found at the fire scene related to this fire. ATF does
not have photographs of its suspects. ATF has photo-
graphs of the fire scene showing how it mishandled it.
After my article in Fire Engineering which used the photo-
graphs of ATF mishandling evidence, Mr. Campbell was
contacted by an ATF agent. That ATF agent criticized the
article and claimed ATF would rethink providing access
to fire scenes in the future based on criticism contained in
that article.

25. Standard fire texts such as Kirk’s Fire Investiga-
tion, 4th Ed., also caution fire investigators from damag-
ing evidence at a fire scene. Attached as Exhibit “6.” That
test states at page 192:

“Preservation of evidence means just that —
preserve it until it reaches the laboratory or
court. Preservation, via proper collection

App. 48

and packaging, means the evidence is not
allowed to change by .. . breaking, spoil-
ing, or being contaminated. . . . With fragile
objects, avoid further breakage by padding
in suitable containers and hand-carry to the
lab.”

No competent fire investigator would even try to argue
that using heavy equipment to retrieve brittle electrical
equipment .4is proper.

26. There is public interest in this case based on the
newspaper article previously lodged about the fire, the
articles I wrote, and previous Congressional hearings
about ATF’s actions at Waco, Texas and Ruby Ridge.

27. The court should see the claim of an ongoing
criminal investigation as a sham to hide ATF’s miscon-
duct and evidence handling from the public. The public,
myself and UNIGARD have a right to know about the
mishandling of key physical evidence by ATF. ATF’s
declarations provide no authorities to contradict NFPA
921 and Kirk's Fire Investigation on correct evidence han-
dling.

28. What is particularly important for the court to
note is J. Rick Miller of the U.S. Bureau of Alcohol,
Tobacco and Firearms served on the Technical Committee
on Fire Investigations, NFPA 921. ATF cannot claim igno-
rance of the national standard on how to preserve evi-
dence at a fire scene when one of its agents served on the
committee promulgating NFPA 921.

29. This court should deny ATF’s motion and order
disclosure because ATF’s acts are to protect its own
image, not an ongoing criminal investigation.

App. 49

30. The editor of Kirk’s Fire Investigations (Fourth
Edition) in his preface states:

“The author’s extensive experience in the
analysis of explosive materials and investi-
gations of explosion scenes as a member of
the U.S. Treasury Department, Bureau of
Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms is reflected

in the material in those topics in this edi-
tion.”

This is attached as Exhibit “6.”

Further, the acknowledgements section notes the

input of ATF agents Jerry Taylor, Gus Gary and Larry
McCune attached as Exhibit “7.”

I declare under the penalty of perjury under the laws
of the State of California that the foregoing is true and
correct as to the best of my knowledge. Executed this 13th
day of March, 1998 at San Diego, California.

/s/ Peter A. Lynch
PETER A. LYNCH

App. 50

Fire ENGINEERING

TRAINING THE FIRE SERVICE FOR 121 YEARS e
JANUARY 1998

AFTER THE FIRE’S OUT:
SPOLIATION OF EVIDENCE
A-N-D-T-H-E
LINE FIREFIGHTER
BY PETER A. LYNCH

Frequently in suppressing and overhauling a fire, a
firefighter faces the dilemma of what to do with evidence.
Should he save it? Should he move it? Where should it be
stored? Can it be taken apart? Should anyone_be called
before evidence is disturbed? Should the evidence be
discarded? Focusing on how these issues are handled is
of concern because of the dangers presented by the devel-
oping tort of spoliation of evidence, which is civil liability
for damaging or destroying physical evidence at a fire
scene.

$:00000665006600660000600640000000600005000000500000000060006 5008050000500 0080000000000080000000000000000098

@ PETER A. LYNCH is a senior member of the national
law firm of Cozen and O’Connor, P.C. in its San Diego
regional office. The major emphasis of his practice is the
representation of individuals, companies, and insurers
that arise from fire losses to include personal injury,
subrogation, coverage, and defense matters. He has writ-
ten and published more than 20 articles, has lectured
extensively on fire litigation topics, and has been retained
as an expert witness. He is the legal advisor to the San
Diego County-Wide Fire and Arson Task Force.

App. 51

Firefighters are normally immune from a spoilation
claim when evidence is impacted by extinguishing a fire.
They also have civil immunity if the fire department
assigns them to investigate the fire’s cause and origin.
However, if the firefighter has been informed of a poten-
tial civil action and evidence is negligently destroyed
thereafter, potential liability for spoliation of evidence
may arise. Further, damaging evidence after a firefigh-
ter’s duties have been completed can constitute spolia-
tion of evidence. That may subject a normally immune
firefighter to civil tort liability.

OVERVIEW OF SPOLIATION

In California, the recognized elements of negligent
spoliation of evidence are the following:

e Plaintiff possessed a potential defense to a claim
for damages against a defendant.

e Defendant knew or reasonably should have
known of this claim for damages by plaintiff.

e Defendant knew or reasonably should have
known of the existence of the physical evidence and
knew or reasonably should have known that it might

constitute evidence in pending litigation involving plain-
tiff.

e Defendant knew or reasonably should have
known that if he did not act with reasonable care to
preserve the physical evidence, the potential evidence
could be destroyed, damaged, lost, or concealed.

e Defendant failed to act with reasonable care.

App. 52

e Defendant’s failure to act with reasonable care
caused the destruction of, damage to, or loss or conceal-
ment of such evidence.

e As a result, plaintiff sustained damage, namely
plaintiff’s opportunity to prove its claim was interfered
with substantially.!

Consider the following scenario: A firefighter or fire
investigator tells others he will preserve a piece of evi-
dence after a fire has been suppressed. He then fails to
save the evidence or damages it. He is then accused of
mishandling evidence. He may be subject to liability for
negligent or intentional spoliation of evidence.

Claims of governmental immunity for firefighters are
covered by discretionary immunity. For example, under
California Singular Government Code Section 820.2, that
immunity may not apply where the firefighter has ful-
filled all his duties and is performing an intentional or
negligent act outside the scope of his duties. This
assumes his official duties are completed and he later
damages evidence at the scene. [See, Clemente v. State
(1985) 40 Cal.3d 202 (affirmed applying law of the case).]

In Clemente, a police officer’s acts in the course of an
investigation of a traffic accident were held to be outside
the scope of his discretionary immunities, and he was
subject to civil liability. The Appellate Court opinion
affirmed by the California Supreme Court stated as fol-
lows:

1 See BAJI No. 7.96. BAJI No. 7.97 defines the elements of
intentional spoliation of evidence.

App. 53

“What is involved under these allegations is not
the discretion of Officer Lexom in deciding
whether to investigate a traffic accident, pur-
suant to the discretionary authority vested in
him by Vehicle Code Section 2412 . . . but
instead only his negligence in his conduct of the
discretionary investigation. Neither the discre-
tionary immunity of Government Code Section
820.2 nor the more specific discretionary immu-
nity of failure to enforce a statute . . . immunizes
the officer and the state from legal consequences
of this negligence. . . . Government, through its
agents, is held to the same standard of care that
law requires of private citizens in the perfor-
mance of duties imposed or assumed.” [Clemente
v. State (1980) 101 Cal.App.3d 374, 379, affirmed,
Clemente v. State (1985) 40 Cal.3d 202.]

Arguably, this same analysis from Clemente could
apply to firefighters. That may defeat the standard gov-

ernment immunity of a firefighter. Because firefighters ~

face potential liability for intentional or negligent spolia-
tion of evidence, they need to understand these torts to

avoid liability for destruction of evidence at a fire scene. 1

believe a claim of governmental immunity may not pro-
tect a firefighter if the destructive conduct happened after
his normal duties had been concluded. That result fol-
lows because his acts may be outside the scope of his
employment.

SPOLIATION DEFINED

Spoliation of evidence is the destruction of or failure
to save evidence that could have been used by another in
future litigation. Currently, remedies for spoliation of

App. 54

evidence include criminal penalties, adverse inferences,
sanctions, and spoliation tort liability. [Willard v. Caterpil-
lar, Inc. (1995) 40 Cal.App.4th 892, 907.]

PENALTIES FOR SPOLIATION

California places criminal liability on parties who
willfully destroy or conceal any book, paper, or other
matter to be used as evidence at trial - California Penal
Code Section 135; People v. Fields (1980) 105 Cal.App.3d
341. California’s Evidence Code and several California
cases hold that when a party fails to produce evidence
that would normally have been produced, the trier of fact
may infer that the evidence not produced was adverse to
the party. [See, California Evidence Code Section 413 and
913; Breland v. Traylor Engineering & Manufacturing Com-
pany (1942) 52 Cal.App.2d 415, 426.]

California courts can sanction parties if the court
determines a party has spoliated evidence. The court will
first impose monetary sanctions. For more serious viola-
tions, a court may impose evidence sanctions and termi-
nating sanctions. These remedies generally are applied in
civil actions. [Willard v. Caterpillar, Inc. (1995) 40
Cal.App.4th 892, 907.]

CIVIL CASE LAW ON SPOLIATION

In Puritan Insurance Co. v. Superior Court (1985) 171
Cal.App.3d 877, a defense expert misplaced a drive shaft
that would have been the central focus of the plaintiff's
personal injury case. The court directed the defendant to
produce the drive shaft. When the defendant did not

App. 55

comply, the court sanctioned the defendant by refusing to
allow testimony from the defendant’s expert related to
his examination of the missing drive shaft.

In Kuhns v. State of California (1992) 8 Cal.App.4th
982, the defendant in a personal injury case refused to
turn over documents relevant to highway design. The
plaintiff had been severely injured when his vehicle
turned over on the highway. In sanctioning the defendant
the court ordered the defendant to admit that the high-
way was dangerous and the defendant had knowledge of
the danger. The court also went on to preclude a design
immunity defense.

California was the first jurisdiction to officially recog-
nize the tort of spoliation of evidence. In Smith v. Superior
Court (1984) 151 Cal.App.3d 491, the defendant, Smith,
was blinded when a wheel fell off a passing van and hit
the windshield of her car. The van was towed to a Ford
dealer that had recently installed customized wheels on
it. The dealer promised Smith that it would preserve
certain parts of the van so that Smith’s experts could test
them. The dealer subsequently lost or destroyed the parts
Smith had requested be saved. This made it impossible
for Smith’s experts to pinpoint the exact cause of the
wheel’s coming off the van. Smith sued the dealer, claim-
ing intentional spoliation of evidence. The court opined
that the dealer’s loss of parts it had promised to preserve
severely prejudiced Smith’s probability of recovering
damages for her injuries. The trial court sustained the
defendant’s demurrer. The appellate court reversed, hold-
ing that Smith had stated a cause of action for intentional
spoliation of evidence.

Soon after Smith, the California courts expanded
the tort of spoliation of evidence to include negligent

Aop. 56

behavior. In Velasco v. Commercial Bldg. & Maintenance Co.
(1985) 169 Cal.App.3d 874, plaintiffs were injured by an
exploding bottle. They brought the pieces of the bottle to
an attorney. The attorney placed the bottle pieces in a
paper bag and left the bag on his desk overnight. The
attorney’s maintenance company accidentally mistook
the bag for trash and disposed of the bag while cleaning
the attorney’s office. The court held that plaintiffs could
maintain a cause of action for negligent spoliation of.
evidence needed in pending litigation. Id. at 877. Further,
the court made it clear that a cause of action for spolia-
tion exists whether or not the spoliator had any prior
connection to the spoliation victim.

One element in Smith and Velasco was that the party
suing under a spoliation theory asked the party who
spoliated the evidence to preserve the evidence. When a
party is not asked to preserve evidence, a claim for spoli-
ation of evidence may not lie. In Reid v. State Farm Mutual
Auto Insurance Co. (1985) 173 Cal.App.3d 557, Reid was
involved in a one-car accident. Later, insurance investiga-
tors determined that the accident was due to inattentive-
ness on Reid’s part. About one month after the accident,
the insurance company informed Reid that it had sold the
damaged car to a wrecking yard. The car was cut up and
sold for parts about one month later. During this period,
neither Reid nor his attorneys communicated their belief
to the insurance company that the car may have been
defective. They did not ask the insurance company to
preserve the car. Reid did not attempt to find out where
the car was until more than a year after the accident had
occurred. Reid filed suit against the insurance company,
claiming that it had destroyed the car, breaching the
covenant of good faith and fair dealing.

Se ne ee eee

<-o

(Top left) Arson investigators are using heavy equipment to retrieve an electrical outlet
box from a fire scene in Utah. The electrical outlet box was later placed under a chaim of
custody and is in storage now. How do you predict a jury will react to that evidence? (Top
right) Dropping physical evidence on the ground. (Bottom left and bottom right) Collect-
ing an electrical outlet from the dropped material. (Photos by Ronald A. Campbell, fire
investigator.)

App. 58

The Court of Appeals rejected Reid’s claim. It noted
that the insurance company had no duty to preserve the
car for Reid since the car was not considered a possible
cause of the accident when it was sent to the wrecking
yard. Further, Reid never requested that the car be saved.
Quoting Tarasoff v. Regents of University of California (1976)
17 Cal.3d 425, 434, 435, the court noted, “ ‘the most
important of these considerations in establishing duty is
foreseeability. As a general principal, a defendant owes a
duty of care to all persons who are foreseeably endangered
by his conduct, with respect to all risks which make the
conduct unreasonably dangerous.’ ” [Reid at 575. See also
Fern Durham v. Condor Insurance Company (1997) 57

Cal.App.4th 24.]
\

In Maria G. Gomez v. James Acquistance (1996) 50
Cal.App.4th 740, Jose Luis Gomez choked to death at
work when his clothing became tangled in a powered
post hole digger. A few days later, his employer
destroyed the post hole digger. Jose’s widow sued for
negligent and intentional spoliation of evidence, alleging
that destruction of the post hole digger prevented her
from recovering damages in a third-party action against
the manufacturer. The trial court granted the employer’s
motion of summary judgment, finding no spoliation of
evidence and holding California’s workers’ compensation
scheme barred the action against the employer. The Court
of Appeals reversed. The employee admitted it inten-
tionally ordered the post hole digger destroyed. How-
ever, the employer argued that the destruction was to
protect other employees from getting injured while using
that piece of equipment. The court held the widow’s
intentional spoliation of evidence cause of action was

App. 59

adequate because it alleged the defendant destroyed an
object that might constitute evidence in a lawsuit with the
purpose of harming the lawsuit or when harm to the
lawsuit is substantially certain to follow. The court also
rejected the exclusive remedy rule of the workers’ com-
pensation scheme. The court held destruction of the evi-
dence fell outside of the exclusive remedy because the
damage was not an injury within the meaning of the
workers’ compensation statutes. Moreover, the
employee’s widow’s cause of action for negligent spolia-
tion accrued at the earliest, when the post hole digger
was destroyed. At that time, the former employee was no
longer employed and no longer subject to provisions of
the Labor Code.

The court then noted a strong argument in favor of
the tort of spoliation of evidence. The court stated the
widow argued that spoliation is not a normal incident of
employment because the average worker has no reason to
expect his employer will destroy equipment or other
evidence of the cause of an industrial injury. California
has a fundamental public policy to protect the integrity of
civil litigation by encouraging the preservation and dis-
closure of evidence. While occasional injuries from defec-
tive work equipment may be an expected incident of
employment, workers should not be expected to antici-
pate the almost immediate destruction of such equipment
after an industrial accident. The court would not assume

that most employers routinely destroy equipment or
other relevant objects after industrial accidents. It sug-
gested employers could protect themselves against lia-
bility for spoliation by preserving such objects, at least
until they determine whether the affected employee

App. 60

intends to pursue a third party action. Consequently, the
Court of Appeals reversed the summary judgment earlier
granted to the employer.

STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS

The statute of limitations for spoliation claims in
California is two years. The court in Augusta v. United
Services Automobile Association (1993) 13 Cal.App.4th 4,
held that the two-year statute of limitations outlined in
California Code of Civil Procedure Section 339 (1) (Oblig-
ation where liability is not found in a written instrument)
applies to a cause of action for spoliation of evidence.
Third parties may sue for negligent spoliation of evidence
if they can show a special relationship between them-
selves and the party destroyed the evidence. [DeVera v.
Long Beach Transp. Co. (1986) 180 Cal.App.3d 782, 795.]

OTHER JURISDICTIONS

A brief noninclusive listing of other jurisdictions’
discussion of the issue follows: Bondu v. Gurvich
(Fla.Dist.Ct.App. 1984) 473 So.2d 1307; Hazen v. Munici-
pality of Anchorage (Alaska 1986) 718 P.2d 456; La Raia v.
Superior Court (1986) 150 Ariz. 118, 722 P2d 286; Gardner
v. Blackston (1988) 185GA.App.754, 365 S.E.2d 545; Murray
v. Farmers Ins. Co. (1990) 118 Idaho 224, 796 P.2d 101;
Rodgers v. St. Mary’s Hosp. of Decatur (1992) 149 Ill.2d 302,
597 N.E.2d 616, 620; Foster v. Lawrence Memorial Hosp.
(D.Kan. 1992) 809 F.Supp.831, 838. Ohio and New Jersey
recognize a tort of “fraudulent destruction of evidence.”
See Smith v. Howard Johnson Co., Inc. (1993) 67 Ohio St.3d
28; Hirsch v. General Motors Corp. (1993) 266 N.J.Super.22,

. App. 61

628 A.2d 1108; Rodriguez v. Webb (N.H. 1966) 680 A.2d
604.

PRACTICE POINTERS

Protecting life and property are goals of the fire
service. Fires have to be put out, which requires physical
items at the scene to be altered or destroyed. This article
is directed to firefighters who are at the scene after the
fire has been extinguished and overhaul has been com-
pleted. It can include fire investigators of a public agency
after the fire has been determined to be accidental.

Once you understand the tort of spoliation of evi-
dence, you can apply it to avoid such claims against you.
Even though a firefighter is generally immune from spoli-
ating evidence, it may hinder the criminal arson prosecu-
tion by giving a criminal defense attorney an argument to
suggest the prosecutor’s case is not trustworthy because
the evidence was mishandled. Does the O.J. Simpson
rush-the-judgment defense come to mind?

The physical remains of an item that is the suspected
cause of an arson fire should be kept for later use at trial.
This might include evidence of accelerants, matches, or
other devices used to set the fire.

Where physical evidence is to be removed from the
scene of a fire for further examination by an expert, first
photograph the physical evidence in place before it is
disturbed; again while it is being removed; and, finally,
after its removal. Prepare a detailed log indicating the
date, time, and direction of each photograph, as well as
the identity of the photographer. This information may be

App. 62

critical in determining the claim of custody of the physi-
cal evidence and in demonstrating that its removal did
not disturb or alter the evidence in any significant way.

The physical evidence may have been seriously dam-
aged in the fire. Take great care to ensure that all pieces of
the item suspected of causing the accident are retained.
An important component later found missing may result
in a failure in proof and give rise to other plausible
arguments as to negligent causation of the fire.

Do not limit your preservation of physical evidence
to the suspected cause of the fire. Photograph and retain
if possible also other objects located in the same general
area that could have caused the fire, such as appliances,
electrical line cords, wall outlets, and other potential
sources of ignition. Do not discard such items simply
because they have been ruled out as a potential cause of
the arson fire. It is important that they be properly
retained to corroborate the accuracy of the cause and
origin conclusion and to document the thoroughness of
the examination.

It is not unusual to find that a particular piece of
equipment suspected of causing the fire has almost been
totally destroyed by the arson fire itself. If this is the case,
it is important for you to check to see whether the prem-
ises contain additional identical items. In such circum-
stances, retain these items to allow comparisons between
the severely damaged evidence and its twin.

If you have taken an item of physical evidence into
custody yourself, always alert all known parties in writ-
ing that you have taken the evidence and stored it and
that you will make it available for a nondestructive,

App. 63

visual inspection between certain fixed dates. Say in your
letter that your scientific expert will then propose a
method for testing and analysis that can be circulated for
comment and approval among other experts before any
destructive analysis or testing is performed.

Sending such a letter should prevent claims that you
have destroyed essential evidence before the parties have
had a proper chance to inspect and analyze it.

CONCLUSION

Justice requires that evidence be handled properly.
The results of criminal and civil cases are altered when
evidence is mishandled or destroyed. A trial is a search
for the truth, not a fanciful recreation of one party's
theory of how a fire progressed. Juries decide cases based
on the evidence presented - not speculation. If evidence
is altered, or destroyed, the jury’s decision is necessarily
detrimentally impacted.

Firefighters are sworn to uphold federal, state, and
local laws. That includes proper handling of evidence.
Our justice system depends on the proper preservation of
evidence so that juries can reach correct results.

App. 64

Peter A. Lynch, Esq.

Bar No. 123603

COZEN AND O’CONNOR

501 West Broadway, Suite 1610
San Diego, California 92101-3536
(619) 234-1700

Attorney for Plaintiff
UNIGARD INSURANCE COMPANY

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

(Hon. Judith N.
Keep)

UNIGARD INSURANCE ) CASE NO. 97-CV-1126K
COMPANY, ) (AJB)
Plaintiff, DECLARATION OF
; ) RONALD A. CAMPBELL
IN OPPOSITION TO
DEPARTMENT OF THE ) MOTION TO DISMISS OR
TREASURY, BUREAU. ) FOR SUMMARY
OF ALCOHOL, JUDGMENT
TOBACCO AND
) DATE: November 17,
FIREARMS, ir
Defendant. )
) TIME: 10:30 a.m.
)
) CTRM: 16 (5th FL.)
)

I, RONALD A. CAMPBELL, do hereby depose and

Say: 5

1. Iam a Certified Fire Investigator. | was with the
Pendleton Fire Department for 27 years. I retired and
have operated a fire investigation business for the past

Se ee eee me Oey Po) on | eee: Oe eee ery err

App. 65

seven (7) years. I have taught fire cause classes at col-
leges.

2. I received the President’s Award for Outstanding
Public Service in 1988. | was named the Oregon Fire
Investigator of the Year in 1989. I was given an award of
Recognition in 1990 by the International Arson Investiga-
tors Association.

3. I was hired by UNIGARD INSURANCE COM-
PANY (“UNIGARD”) to investigate the fire loss at 5200
South Highland Drive, Salt Lake City, Utah 84101. That
fire happened in the early morning hours of September
23, 1996. I arrived at the scene on that day.

4. Attached to the Notice of Lodgement is a video-
tape I made of the BUREAU OF ALCOHOL, TOBACCO &
FIREARMS’ (“ATF”) conduct at the site. ATF directed
UNIGARD to bring heavy equipment to the site. ATF’s
use of heavy equipment destroyed key physical evidence
to include fire patterns on the structure. ATF’s use of
heavy equipment to retrieve physical evidence later put
under a chain of custody cannot be justified. Said equip-
ment more likely than not suffered damage as a result of
the use of that heavy equipment. It likely constitutes a
break in the chain of custody and potentially spoliated

evidence.

5. I was precluded by ATF from properly retrieving
that evidence. In my opinion, the use of heavy equipment
was not warranted and likely damaged that physical

evidence at the scene.

ee ate Tt, ke ee

+ Sante lint pete aa Dh

App. 66

6. I do not believe there is any ongoing investiga-
tion into the matter based on ATF’s closure of its file
without a prosecution being initiated.

7. Ihave not been advised of any newly discovered
evidence about this fire. Salt Lake City Fire Department
and ATF know I investigated the fire for UNIGARD. I
have not been contacted by them concerning any newly
discovered evidence.

8. Based on my thirty-four years of experience in
investigating fires, because ATF closed its file, there is no
realistic probability that any enforcement proceeding at
the state or local level will ever go forward.

I declare under the penalty of perjury that the forego-
ing is true and correct to the best of my knowledge.
Executed this 19th day of September, 1979.

/s/ Ronald A. Campbell
RONALD A. CAMPBELL
Certified Fire Investigator
Great Pacific Fire

Investigations

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_0922%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
