# Opposition Brief — Purdy v. Burlington Northern Santa Fe Corp.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_0909%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2000
- **Citation:** 530 U.S. 1243

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S. 4
- FILED |

No. 99-1681 | = MAY 1 cnn
InThe | CLERK
Supreme Court of the United States ~~
&

WILLIAM S. PURDY,

Petitioner,

BURLINGTON NORTHERN SANTA FE
CORPORATION, A Delaware Corporation, and THE
BURLINGTON NORTHERN AND SANTA FE
RAILWAY COMPANY, A Delaware Corporation,

Respondents.

oe

On Petition For A ‘vrit Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Fifth Circuit
+

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
¢

VERONICA SMITH LEwiIs
Counsel of Record
Grec W. Curry
Lara M. Peirce
THOMPSON & KNIGHT L.L.P.
1700 Pacific Avenue, Suite 3300
Dallas, Texas 75201
(214) 969-1700

CHARLES W. SHEWMAKE
THE BURLINGTON NorTHERN AND
SANTA Fe Rartway COMPANY
3017 Lou Menk Drive
Fort Worth, Texas 76131 4
(817) 352-2358

Counsel for Respondents

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTION PRESENTED
Petitioner seeks to have this Court decide:

Whether the 1988 amendments to the Lanham
Act prevent non-profit, non-commercial, or pub-
lic service entities from obtaining federal regis-
tration for service marks?

ii

LIST OF PARTIES

Petitioner William S. Purdy and Respondents Bur-
lington Northern Santa Fe Corporation and The Bur-
lington Northern and Santa Fe Railway Company were
the only parties to the proceeding in the court of appeals
below.

Respondent Burlington Northern Santa Fe Corpora-
tion has no parent corporation, and no publicly held
company owns 10 percent or more of its-stock.

Respondent The Burlington Northern and Santa Fe
Railway Company is a wholly-owned subsidiary of
Respondent Burlington Northern Santa Fe Corporation.

lil

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
CUURUP NONE BW UNUIEET ETRE. 5 woke ccseccccesvescsocass i
ts AG ae 6 deen + ha eked eee aed oka ii
PR SP FU EURO NEM 5 6 6s caver esc dneassacnas iv
ey SN so Wk So hvn oooh ea beews geese aeons 1
STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED............. 1
Bamemeemees COP Bia CASE... nck. ccicecscccesoss 2
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT............. 7

1. The question Petitioner seeks to present was nei-
ther presented to nor decided by the district
court or the court of appeals................... 7

2. The decisions below do not conflict with the deci-
ee eee eka cbbe shea ke 12

PEG SUC GS Pine te Aw kes seh bp esnk 6 aaa 3 17

iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Allard Enters., Inc. v. Advanced Programming
Resources, Inc., 146 F.3d 350 (6th Cir. 1998)..... 10,

American Diabetes Ass‘n, Inc. v. National Diabetes
Ass'n, 533 F. Supp. 16 (E.D. Pa. 1981), aff'd, 681
ae Ge COE Gee, SE 6 x kos dace css cipanadabael 14,

Blinded Veterans Ass‘n v. Blinded Am. Veterans Foun-
dation, 872 F.2d 1035 (D.C. Cir. 1989) .......... 15,

Brach Van Houten Holding, Inc. v. Save Brach’s Coali-
tion for Chicago, 856 F. Supp. 472 (N.D. Il.
TIE Er ee oO E Te TE otra 5 aide ee Radon 14,

Committee for Idaho’s High Desert v. Yost, 881
F. Supp. 1457 (D. Idaho 1995), aff'd in part, 92
PO Bae Chee Ce Bese bcc xa nein dnecicie aes 14,

Kappa Sigma Fraternity v. Kappa Sigma Gamma Fra-
ternity, 654 F. Supp. 1095 (D.N.H. 1987), recon-
sidered in part by 659 F. Supp. 117 (D.N.H. 1987) 15,

Paramount Pictures Corp. v. White, 31 U.S.P.Q.2d
SOU Ge EA WE h6 esd sc dnctasgassauaaeeere

United States v. Crawley, 837 F.2d 291 (7th Cir.
I Pe Er Ter OD PE Perr Sere yer ree

United States Jaycees v. Philadelphia Jaycees, 490
F. Supp. 688 (E.D. Pa. 1979), vacated, 639 F.2d
roe ge | Pere eee reer rrr re 14,

United States Jaycees v. San Francisco Junior Chamber
of Commerce, 354 F. Supp. 61 (N.D. Cal. 1972),
aff'd, 513 F.2d 1226 (9th Cir. 1975) ............. 14,

United We Stand Am., Inc. v. United We Stand Am.
N.Y., Inc., 128 F.3d 86 (2d Cir. 1997), cert. denied,
ae Gas. SO CUE 6 543 sa beau used bees 12, 13, 14,

15

16

16

16

16

17

17

16

V

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
FEDERAL STATUTES
a2 UGA. | BRA oki cessed 1, 4
ED Cian We Ove ss cadenutnandseenens see 1, 4
SD WBA... © SRR s ics sendsiccacnasauae 12, 13, 14
BS SIBAS. © 0G as onc cncadsickee cena 1, 4, 12-15, 17

FIFTH Cmcurr Loca. RULEs
om Gm. T Ge is ocknskdededigsse eee eee 11

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

Respondents Burlington Northern Santa Fe Corpora-
tion and The Burlington Northern and Santa Fe Railway
Company respectfully request that this Court deny the
petition for writ of certiorari because, as set forth below,
the question petitioner seeks to present was neither pre-
sented to nor decided by the courts below and the deci-
sions of the courts below do not conflict with the
decisions of other courts.

OPINIONS BELOW

. The December 7, 1998 opinion of the United States
District Court for the Northern District of Texas is unre-
ported and reprinted at Pet. App. 5-10. The December 7,

~ | 1999 opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Fifth Circuit is also unreported and is reprinted at

Pet. App. 1-4.

¢

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Section 1 of the Lanham Act, 15 U.S.C.
§ 1051(a)(1)(A), is reprinted at App. 1-2.

Section 3 of the Lanham Act, 15 US.C. § 1053, is
reprinted at App. 2.

Section 45 of the Lanham Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1127, is
reprinted at Pet. App. 13-19.

¢

ica eimai

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Respondent Burlington Northern Santa Fe Corpora-
tion is the holding company for, and the owner of, the
second largest railroad in North America, Respondent
The Burlington Northern and Santa Fe Railway Company
(Respondents are hereinafter referred to as the “Rail-
road”). The Railroad resulted from a business combina-
tion between Burlington Northern Inc. (“BN”) and Santa
Fe Pacific Corporation (“SF”), that was proposed in June
1994 and concluded in September 1995. The Railroad is
widely known as and recognized by “BNSF,” its service
mark. The Railroad’s predecessors used “BN” and “SF”
as their service marks. Thus, “BNSF” was a natural and
widely anticipated choice of mark for the Railroad. Well
before the BNSF business combination was finalized, the
press, members of the general public, and BN and SF
used “BNSF” to refer to the combined companies. The
Railroad has actively and consistently used its “BNSF”
service mark since the merger was completed.

Petitioner Purdy is a former employee of one of the
Railroad’s predecessors. In 1989, Purdy was involved in
an unfortunate accident in which he severed a fellow
employee’s legs. 3R 658-60, 689; 4R 788-89.1 Purdy has
suffered from a severe psychological disorder since this
accident. The Railroad Retirement Board (“RRB”) desig-
nated his wife as the administrator of his affairs after
determining that his psychological disorder renders him
permanently and totally disabled. Purdy has received

1 The citations herein refer to the record before the court of
appeals.

RRB disability benefits attributable to the period from
April 1990 to present. 2R 478-80; 3R 524-28; 4R 761.

Purdy has had a long and contentious history with
the Railroad. At the time this action was pending, Purdy
had sued the Railroad or one of its predecessors six times
and had brought numerous other administrative charges
or grievances against those parties. 3R 658-743, 745-49; 4R
at 750-61, 788-802. He has established several Internet
websites, which feature dripping blood and severed
limbs, that he uses to mount scathing attacks on the
Railroad. Purdy uses domain names which include the
Railroad’s “BNSF” mark, such as “www.bnsf.net”, for
some of his Internet websites and also operates out of his
home a “BNSF Corporation,” which has no employees,
has never entered into a contract, does not have a bank
account, and is not even listed in the telephone directory.
2R 415-21, 423-24, 447; 4R 811-69.

In June 1997, Purdy obtained federal registration for
the service mark “BNSF” from the United States Patent
and Trademark Office. He claims his “BNSF” stands for
the strained expression “Bringing Now Safety First” and
registered “BNSF” for use in connection with “[tlesting of
railroad equipment for others, collecting and providing
information concerning railroad safety problems to the
public, to governmental agencies and injured railroad
employees.” 2R 354-58, 492-93; 3R 553-59.

In the district court, the Railroad filed a motion for
summary judgment seeking cancellation of Purdy’s
“BNSF” registration on the ground that even if a!’
Purdy’s assertions regarding his alleged pre-registration
“BNSF” use were accepted as true, his use would not

meet the “use in commerce” standard that is a prerequi-
site to obtaining a valid federal service mark registration.
The Railroad pointed out that Purdy had testified that he
was operating a for-profit business (2R 433) but could, at
best, only show de minimis provision of services under the
mark “BNSF”.

In its unpublished opinion, the district court
observed that under Sections 1 and 3 of the Lanham Act,
15 U.S.C. §§ 1051(a)(1)(A), 1053, a “service mark is not
validly registered unless it has been ‘used in commerce’
in connection with the services the applicant describes in
his registration application” and that in 1988, Congress
amended the Lanham Act “to eliminate ‘token’ use of a
mark as a basis for registration.” Pet. App. 7-9. The
district court recognized that Section 45 of the Lanham
Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1127, now states “ ‘[t]he term ‘use in
commerce’ means the bona fide use of a mark in the
ordinary course of trade, and not made merely to reserve
a right in a mark’” and explains “ ‘a mark shall be

deemed to be in use in commerce . . . on services when it
is used or displayed in the sale or advertising of services
and the services are rendered. ...’” Pet. App. 6 (quoting

15 U.S.C. § 1127). Hence, the district court noted, “[t]he
court decisions seem to be uniform in holding that for
there to be ‘use in commerce’ to support a valid registra-
tion of a service mark, there must be proof, first, that the
mark has been used in the promotion of services, and,
second, that the services identified by the mark have been
rendered in interstate commerce.” Pet. App. 7.

This statutory standard was applied to an extensive
factual record. Although Purdy made many broad con-
clusory statements about his alleged pre-registration

“BNSF” use in his briefs, a detailed review of the evi-
dence showed he, at best, rendered the first service iden-
tified in his registration application under the mark
“BNSF” —- some unexplained form of “testing” — on behalf
of two close friends on three isolated occasions. 2R 275,
282, 288, 293-94; 4R 969, 970-71, 985, 995, 996A, 997-98; 5R
1016-18. Purdy submitted no evidence showing that he
rendered the second service identified in his registration
application under the mark “BNSF” - dissemination of
railroad safety information —- prior to filing his registra-
tion application. He instead only identified evidence sug-
gesting that he advertised his “Bringing Now Safety
First” organization and his “BNSF Corporation” by driv-
ing a dilapidated car with “BNSF” hand painted and/or
| shoe polished on its side, distributing “BNSF” business
cards, and posting a one-page flyer with biographical
| information about himself, such as a description of his
1989 accident while employed at a predecessor of the
Railroad. 5R 1007-09, 1022.

ieinaeasmitniienies aie on 2 —

The district court ruled that such a factual showing
did not meet the “use in commerce” standard under the
Lanham Act. The court explained:

The record is complete in the sense of demon-
strating everything on which Purdy relies as
constituting “use in commerce” when he
applied for registration of the mark. The court
has concluded that, even if all of the circum-
stances upon which Purdy relies were to be
accepted as factually correct, there still would
not be “use in commerce” within the meaning of
the Lanham Act. The summary judgment record
establishes without dispute that Purdy did not
make a bona fide use of the mark BNSF in the

1 0

6

ordinary course of trade before the mark was
registered to him. Whatever use he made of the
mark was token use that would not qualify for
registration.

Pet. App. 9. The district court thus concluded that
Purdy’s “BNSF” federal registration is “void ab initio and
should be canceled.” Pet. App. 9.

The Fifth Circuit affirmed the district court’s ruling
in an opinion that is also unpublished. The appellate
court noted that the district court had “correctly stated
the applicable law and focused on the twin requirements
of ‘use in commerce’ to support a valid service mark
registration: that the mark has been used in the promo-
tion of services, and that the services identified by the
mark have been rendered in interstate commerce.” Pet.
App. 2. The Fifth Circuit concluded that Purdy’s alleged
“BNSF” use failed to meet the “use in commerce” stan-
dard for the same reason that the district court did. The
court explained Purdy had “not fulfilled the second part
of the test - the actual rendition of services in interstate
commerce — except by sporadic and insubstantial transac-
tions,” all of which “involved work performed for long-
time friends” and thus constituted merely “[njominal or
token sales.” Pet. App. 3.

7

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

1. The question Petitioner seeks to present was neither
presented to nor decided by the district court or the
court of appeals.

Purdy seeks to have this Court determine whether
“the 1988 amendments to the Lanham Act [were]
intended to deny non-profit, non-commercial or public
service entities from obtaining protectable service mark
rights?” Pet. i. This issue was never before the lower
courts.

The district court did not state or suggest that the
1988 amendments to the Lanham Act precluded non-
profit organizations from obtaining federal registration
for their service marks. The district court instead merely
noted that “token use” is no longer a sufficient basis for
federal registration. The court explained that “[p]rior to
November 16, 1989 . . . a single or ‘token’ sale was bona
fide use of a mark and was sufficient foundation upon
which an applicant could file to register such a service
mark,” but “the legislative history [for the 1988 amend-
ments to the Lanham Act] demonstrates that Congress
wished to eliminate ‘token’ use of a mark as a basis for
registration, and instead apply a stricter standard that
requires ‘commercial use of the type common to a partic-
ular industry in question.’” Pet. App. 8-9 (emphasis
added) (quoting Paramount Pictures Corp. v. White, 31
U.S.P.Q.2d 1768, 1774 (T.T.A.B. 1994)).

There is nothing in the district court’s opinion to
indicate that the court required Purdy to demonstrate he
was operating a for-profit enterprise to meet this “com-
mercial use” standard. The district court did not reference

Purdy’s profit motive, or his lack thereof. No such discus-
sion appears because, as the Railroad pointed out to the
district court, Purdy testified that he was operating a for-
profit business. 2R 433.

Similarly, the question Purdy seeks to have this Court
address was never presented to the court of appeals.
Purdy presented the following issue for review before the
appellate court: “Did the district court err in canceling
Mr. Purdy’s service mark registration for ‘BNSF,’ where
Purdy continuously and deliberately used his mark in
commerce from three years prior to his appication for
service mark registration through the present, and such
use was not mere ‘token use’ as ruled on a factual deter-
mination by the district court?” App. 4. Purdy maintained
that the district court had erred in granting the Railroad’s
summary judgment motion because the court “incorrectly
ruled on a fact determination.” App. 5. After reciting the
standards governing resolution of summary judgment -
motions, Purdy argued:

~ Appellant respectfully submits that the district
court violated all of these rules in granting sum-
mary judgment in favor of Burlington. The trial
court ignored the factual assertions contained in
all of more than a dozen affidavits and other
evidence filed by Appellant, which demonstrate
conclusively that BNSF Company used its ser-
vice mark in interstate commerce continuously,
openly, deliberately and notoriously from a
period of three years prior to the filing of the
service mark registration application through to
the present. The trial court must, therefore, have
necessarily determined, as a matter of fact, that
these witnesses were not credible, weighed the
evidence and found it wanting, and refused to

draw legitimate inferences in favor of BNSF.
This ruling is therefore directly contrary to the
trial court’s limited role in ruling on summary
judgment motions established by the Supreme
Court.

App. 7-8.

The court of appeals disagreed, explaining: (1) it had
“reviewed the district court’s opinion and the record
evidence de novo”; (2) the district court had “accepted all
of Purdy’s allegations as true and still found that ‘Purdy
did not make a bona fide use of the mark BNSF in the
ordinary course of trade before the mark was registered
to him’ ”; and (3) it “agree[d] with the district court’s
application of the facts to the law.” Pet. App. 2-3.

Purdy did not claim to be operating a non-profit
enterprise before the court of appeals, just as he had not
before the district court. Instead, in his appellate briefs,
Purdy maintained he had received “income . . . through
sales” of his “testing and safety services” and argued that
he had “over the years, earned a substantial amount of
money from the provision of the services. ...” App. 4-5,
15. In addressing his contentions, the court of appeals
thus explained that, contrary to his assertions, “[t]he
record identifies only a handful of instances in which
Purdy was paid anything for his ‘services’, and all of
these incidents involved work performed for long-time
friends,” “Purdy’s activities . . . do not demonstrate use
of the service mark in furtherance of a business intended
to provide services for reimbursement,” and Purdy “ren-
dered services for reimbursement . . . in only a de minimi

10

fashion.” Pet. App. 3-4. These statements regarding pay-
ment and reimbursement respond to the specific asser-
tions Purdy himself put before the court. They cannot
reasonably be translated into a ruling that Purdy’s federal
service mark registration is invalid because he did not
operate a for-profit enterprise.”

Similarly, the court of appeals’ observation that “[flor
several years, Purdy has conducted information-gather-
ing and -dissemination regarding railroad safety matters,
but the record is bereft of evidence that he was engaged
in trade or commerce using the ‘BNSF’ mark” (Pet. App.
3) cannot be read as a ruling that “Purdy was required to
demonstrate that [his] advocacy services were performed
in connection with a for-profit commercial enterprise,” as
Purdy maintains. Pet. 4. Instead, there the court was
merely explaining that Purdy submitted no evidence
showing that whatever advocacy services he provided
were performed “using the ‘BNSF’ mark.” Pet. App. 3
(emphasis added).

The court of appeals could not rule upon the impact of
Purdy’s profit motive, or lack thereof, because this was not
a contested issue. In his opening brief, Purdy argued that
his “lack of a strong profit motive does not preclude” him
from obtaining “service mark protection.” App. 8. As

2 The court of appeals also cited Allard Enters., Inc. v.
Advanced Programming Resources, Inc., 146 F.3d 350 (6th Cir.
1998) in response to Purdy’s contentions. Purdy claimed Allard
demonstrated his “BNSF” registration was valid since his pre-
registration use was the same as the use found to establish
common-law rights in Allard. App. 16-17. The court of appeals
explained that Purdy’s use was not the same as the use at issue
in Allard, and thus, Allard “reinforces our conclusion” that the
district court should be affirmed. Pet. App. 3-4.

11

Purdy recognized below, in its response, the Railroad
explained that it did “not contend that Purdy’s ‘BNSF’
registration was properly canceled . . . because he did not
have a profit motive. ...” App. 13, 15-16. Because there
was no dispute between the parties regarding the via-
bility of a federal service mark registration for a non-
profit organization, the court could not possibly rule
upon that point. Thus, if there was any language in the
court of appeals’ decision that could potentially be inter-
preted as addressing that issue, it would clearly be dic-
tum. See United States v. Crawley, 837 F.2d 291, 292-93 (7th
Cir. 1988) (defining dictum as language in an opinion

where “the issue addressed . . . was not presented as an
issue” and is “not refined by the fires of adversary pre-
sentation”).

This Court should deny the petition for certiorari
i simply because the language Purdy seeks to have it
review is dictum at most. Moreover, the language at
issue appears in an unpublished opinion which is not
precedent except under the limited circumstances set
forth in 51TH Cir. R. 47.5.4.3 There is clearly no reason why
this Court should review unpublished dictum.

3 51H Cir. R. 47.5.4 provides: “Unpublished opinions issued
on or after January 6, 1996, are not precedent, except under the
doctrine of res judicata, collateral estoppel or law of the case (or
similarly to show double jeopardy, abuse of the writ, notice,
sanctionable conduct, entitlement to attorney’s fees or the
like).”

4 In the fifteen months since the district court decision and
five months since the court of appeals’ decision, neither has
been cited by any tribunal for the point of law that Purdy says
they established.

eee em

12

2. The decisions below do not conflict with the deci-
sions of other courts.

Purdy has identified no case in which the court deter-
mined whether non-profit activities can be used to meet
the 15 U.S.C. § 1127 “use in commerce” standard and
create a valid basis for federal registration of a service
mark. Thus, there is clearly no conflict for this Court to
resolve. Purdy’s contention that there is conflict is based
on mischaracterization of the decisions he references.

Purdy repeatedly asserts that in United We Stand
America, Inc. v. United We Stand, America New York, Inc.,
128 F.3d 86 (2d Cir. 1997), cert. denied, 523 U.S. 1076
(1998), “the Second Circuit ruled that the Lanham Act
provision at issue, 15 U.S.C. § 1127, does not contain a
‘commercial activity’ requirement.” Pet. 5; see also Pet.
10-11. This is false. In fact, in United We Stand, the court
did not even address the 15 U.S.C. § 1127 “use in com-
merce” standard. Instead, the Second Circuit addressed a
claim that the defendant’s conduct constituted trademark
infringement in violation of Section 32 of the Lanham
Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1114(1)(a), which the court explained
“bars unauthorized use of a mark ‘in commerce... in
connection with the sale, offering for sale, distribution, or
advertising of any goods or services [if] . . . such use is
likely to cause confusion ...*” United We Stand, 128 F.3d
at 88-89 (quoting 15 U.S.C. § 1114(1)(a)).

In United We Stand, the defendants used the mark at
issue in connection with political activities. Id.
They maintained their conduct did not violate 15 U.S.C.

—

13

§ 1114(1)(a) because, inter alia, that statutory provi-
sion specifies “that the use prohibited must be ‘in com-
merce.’” Id. at 89, 92. The Second Circuit rejected this
defense, explaining “[t]he history and text of the Lanham
Act show that ‘use in commerce’ reflects Congress’s
intent to legislate to the limits of its authority under the
Commerce Clause, rather than to limit the Lanham Act to
profit-seeking uses of a trademark.” Id. at 92; see also id. at
92-93 (“It appears that ‘use in commerce’ denotes Con-
gress’s authority under the Commerce Clause rather than
an intent to limit the Act’s application to profit-making
activity.”). Thus, in United We Stand, the court addressed
the meaning of the “in commerce” limitation in 15 U.S.C.
§ 1114(1)(a), not the “use in commerce” standard of 15
U.S.C. § 1127. In United We Stand, there is absolutely no
reference to 15 U.S.C. § 1127, the provision that Purdy
claims the courts below improperly construed.

15 U.S.C. § 1127 contains a specific and detailed
definition of “use in commerce”:

The term ‘use in commerce’ means the bona fide
use of a mark in the ordinary course of trade,
and not made merely to reserve a right in a
mark. For purposes of this Act, a mark shall be
deemed to be in use in commerce -

on services when it is used or displayed in the
sale or advertising of services and the services
are rendered in commerce, or the services are
rendered in more than one State or in the United
States and a foreign country and the person
rendering the services is engaged in commerce
in connection with the services.

14

15 U.S.C. § 1127. Pet. App. 16. The language in this
provision is significantly different from the “in com-
merce” limitation in 15 U.S.C. § 1114(1)(a) and cannot be
read as merely denoting “Congress’s authority under the
Commerce Clause. . . . ” United We Stand, 128 F.3d at 92.
Thus, the Second Circuit’s ruling on the meaning of the
term “in commerce” as used in 15 U.S.C. § 1114(1)(a)
cannot be read as a decision on the meaning of the term
“use in commerce” as used in 15 U.S.C. § 1127.

There is similarly no conflict between the decisions
below and the other cases Purdy cites. None of the addi-
tional cases Purdy cites addresses the standard for federal
registration of a service mark under 15 U.S.C. § 1127. In
Committee for Idaho's High Desert v. Yost, 881 F. Supp. 1457
(D. Idaho 1995), aff'd in part, 92 F.3d 814 (9th Cir. 1996);
American Diabetes Ass'n, Inc. v. National Diabetes Ass’n, 533
F. Supp. 16 (E.D. Pa. 1981), aff'd, 681 F.2d 804 (3d Cir.
1982); United States Jaycees v. Philadelphia Jaycees, 490
F. Supp. 688 (E.D. Pa. 1979), vacated, 639 F.2d 134 (3d Cir.
1981); and United States Jaycees v. San Francisco Junior
Chamber of Commerce, 354 F. Supp. 61 (N.D. Cal. 1972),
aff'd, 513 F.2d 1226 (9th Cir. 1975), the courts ruled on
claims for trademark infringement and/or false designa-
tion of origin in violation of the Lanham Act brought by
non-profit organizations without addressing the validity
of any federal mark registration.5 In Brach Van Houten
Holding, Inc. v. Save Brach’s Coalition for Chicago, 856

> In fact, in two of these cases, the non-profit organization
did not have a federal registration for its mark. See Committee for
Idaho's High Desert, 881 F. Supp. at 1465; American Diabetes Ass'n,
533 F. Supp. at 19.

15

F. Supp. 472, 475-76 (N.D. Ill. 1994), the court rejected a
non-profit organization’s claim that it did not violate the
Lanham Act because its use of the mark at issue did not
meet the statutory definition of “services.” In Kappa Sigma
Fraternity v. Kappa Sigma Gamma Fraternity, 654 F. Supp.
1095, 1099, 1102 (D.N.H. 1987), reconsidered in part by 659
F. Supp. 117 (D.N.H. 1987), the court rejected the defen-
dants’ argument that their use of the mark at issue was
not “in commerce” within the meaning of the Lanham
Act because they had only used the mark on one college
campus in New Hampshire. And, in Blinded Veterans
Ass'n v. Blinded American Veterans Foundation, 872 F.2d
1035, 1036 (D.C. Cir. 1989), the court ruled that the non-
profit plaintiff’s name “is not a protectable trademark
because the term ‘blinded veterans’ is generic.” None of
these cases makes any reference to 15 U.S.C. § 1127, the
“use in commerce” standard it contains, or any aspect of
the requirements for federal registration of a service
mark. They cannot be read to conflict with the decisions
below, even if the decisions below are interpreted in the
manner Purdy suggests.® ;

Moreover, Purdy’s claimed use of “BNSF” is vastly
different from the use of the organizations involved in the
cases he identifies. In each of the cases Purdy cites, the
non-profit organization at issue had made extensive use
of its mark for decades in providing substantial, costly

6 In Allard, 146 F.3d at 359-61, the Sixth Circuit ruled that
the defendant had limited common-law rights to use a service
mark because it had made some bona fide use before the plaintiff.
Allard did not rule upon the validity of a federal service mark
registration and thus also cannot be read to conflict-with
Purdy’s suggested interpretation of the decisions below.

16

services to the public. See United We Stand, 128 F.3d at 90
(noting that defendants had “engaged in political orga-
nizing; established and equipped an office; solicited poli-
ticians to run on [their] slate; issued press releases
intended to support particular candidates and causes;
endorsed candidates; and distributed partisan political
literature”); Blinded Veterans Ass'n, 872 F.2d at 1036-37
(“Blinded Veterans Association is a nonprofit organiza-
tion founded in 1945 by a group of blinded World War II
veterans” that “has approximately 6,500 members,”
“employs sixteen persons on its headquarters staff in
Washington, D.C. and eight field representatives outside
the nation’s capital,” and has an “annual operating bud-
get [that] is just under $1.5 million”); Committee for Idaho's
High Desert, 881 F. Supp. at 1463-66 (“As a result of
Plaintiff's continuous and exclusive use of its name in
conducting its business since 1980, Plaintiff has gained
substantial notoriety, influence, and prominence... . ”);
Brach Van Houten, 856 F. Supp. at 475 (stating that defen-
dant “is engaged in soliciting donations, preparing press
releases, holding public meetings and press conferences,
propounding proposals for the reorganization of Brach’s
ownership and/or management, and other activities
designed to bring about change in the Brach’s organiza-
tion and enhance the stability of workers’ jobs”); Kappa
Sigma Fraternity, 654 F. Supp. at 1096-97 (“Plaintiff .. . is
an unincorporated collegiate fraternal organization with
an international membership of more than 132,000 per-
sons,” “has chapters on or in close proximity to the
campuses of 198 colleges and universities in the United
States and Canada,” and “alumni chapters in many major
cities in the United States.”); American Diabetes Ass'n, 533

17

F. Supp. at 18 (“Plaintiffs, as the leading charitable orga-
nizations in the diabetes field, have been engaged in
raising money to fund research, render services, and
inform the public for forty years. . . . ”); United States
Jaycees v. Philadelphia Jaycees, 490 F. Supp. at 690-91 (not-
ing that plaintiff organized as a civic group in 1920 and
has continuously existed since then); United States faycees
v. San Francisco Junior Chamber of Commerce, 354 F. Supp.
at 63 (same).

Thus, even if the cases Purdy cites had held that the
non-profit organizations at issue met the 15 U.S.C. § 1127
“use in commerce” standard that is a prerequisite to valid
federal registration, Purdy’s situation would not fall
within their scope. Purdy could only identify three occa-
sions prior to the filing of his registration application on
which he claimed to have provided his “testing” services
under the mark “BNSF” to three close friends. Purdy
could identify no railroad safety information he dissemi-
nated under the mark “BNSF” prior to filing his registra-
tion application. Purdy’s purported use falls far short of
that identified in the cases he cites.

Even if the courts below and the courts cited by
Purdy were presumed to have addressed the same statu-
tory provision (which they did not), their results are not
inconsistent. There is no conflict for this Court to resolve.

e

CONCLUSION

Purdy seeks to have this Court review language that
is, at most, dictum in a nonprecedential opinion. The
decisions below do not conflict with those of any other

18

court. Purdy’s petition for writ of certiorari should be

denied.

Respectfully submitted,

THOMPSON & KNiGHT L.L.P.
VERONICA SMITH Lewis

Grec W. Curry

Lara M. Peirce

1700 Pacific Avenue, Suite 3300
Dallas, Texas 75201

(214) 969-1700

CHARLES W. SHEWMAKE

THE BURLINGTON NorTHERN AND
SANTA Fe Rartway COMPANY

3017 Lou Menk Drive

Fort Worth, Texas 76131

(817) 352-2358

Counsel for Respondents

App. 1

15 U.S.C. § 1051. Registration of trade-marks
(a) Trade-marks used in commerce

The owner of a trade-mark used in commerce may
apply to register his or her trade-mark under this chapter
on the principal register established;

(1) By filing in the Patent and Trademark Office -

(A) a written application, in such form as may be
prescribed by the Commissioner, verified by the appli-
cant, or by a member of the firm or an officer of the
corporation or association applying, specifying appli-
cant’s domicile and citizenship, the date of applicant’s
first use of the mark, the date of applicant’s first use of
the mark in commerce, the goods in connection with
which the mark is used and the mode or manner in which
the mark is used in connection with such goods, and
including a statement to the effect that the person making
the verification believes himself, or the firm, corporation,
or association in whose behalf he makes the verification,
to be the owner of the mark sought to be registered, that
the mark is in use in commerce, and that no other person,
firm, corporation, or association, to the best of his knowl-
edge and belief, has the right to use such mark in com-
merce either in the identical form thereof or in such near
resemblance thereto as to be likely, when used on or in
connection with the goods of such other person, to cause
confusion, or to cause mistake, or to deceive: Provided,
That in the case of every application claiming concurrent
use the applicant shall state exceptions to his claim of
exclusive use, in which he shall specify, to the extent of
his knowledge, any concurrent use by others, the goods

App. 2

on or in connection with which and the areas in which
each concurrent use exists, the periods of each use, and
the goods and area for which the applicant desires regis-
tration;

(B) a drawing of the mark; and

(C) such number of specimens or facsimiles of the
mark as used as may be required by the Commissioner.

15 U.S.C. § 1053. Service marks registrable

Subject to the provisions relating to the registration
of trademarks, so far as they are applicable, service marks
shall be registrable, in the same manner and with the
same effect as are trade-marks, and when registered they
shall be entitled to the protection provided in this chapter
in the case of trade-marks. Applications and procedure
under this section shall conform as nearly as practicable
to those prescribed for the registration of trade-marks.

App. 3

|

98-11485

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FEDERAL FIFTH CIRCUIT

BURLINGTON
NORTHERN SANTA FE
CORP.,

A Delaware Corporation;

BURLINGTON
NORTHERN AND SANTA
FE RAILWAY COMPANY,
A Delaware Corporation

Plaintiffs-Appellees,
v.
WILLIAM S. PURDY, ET AL, -
Defendants,

WILLIAM S. PURDY, An
Individual,

Defendant-Appellant.

APPEAL FROM DECISION OF THE U.S. DISTRICT
COURT FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS,
FORT WORTH DIVISION CIVIL ACTION NO.
4-98CV-70A ENTERED ON DECEMBER 7, 1998
FROM JUDGE JOHN MCBRYDE

BRIEF FOR DEFENDANT-APPELLANT

App. 4

STATEMENT OF ISSUE FOR REVIEW

Did the district court err in cancelling Mr. Purdy’s
service mark registration for “BNSF,” where Purdy con-
tinuously and deliberately used his mark in commerce
from three years prior to his application for service mark
registration through the present, and such use was not
mere “token use” as ruled on a factual determination by
the district court?

MR. PURDY’S BNSF COMPANY HAS DERIVED ECO-
NOMIC BENEFIT FROM THE INTERSTATE SALES OF
SERVICES AND PRODUCTS AS WELL AS FROM
CONTRIBUTIONS SUFFICIENT TO CARRY OUT ITS
PURPOSES

The primary puzpose of his BNSF company is the
promotion of railroad safety and has not been to make a
large profit. The BNSF income has been sufficient to carry
out the objectives of the company. The income has been
through sales of services and products and through con-
tributions from interested persons. While his BNSF com-
pany has made money it has not made more than four
hundred dollars in any one month. Under his disability,
Purdy is permitted to make as much as four hundred
dollars a month. (A22 417-19; A26 47; A35 425; D72 Ex.
21)

Mr. Purdy does not know the total receipts he has
received for the testing and safety services he provided.
He knows the amount is substantial, but again not more
than $400 in any one month. Purdy received payments in
various forms from a wide variety of persons including

App. 5

Mr. Bifulk, Mr. McAllister, Mr. Minnis, and others. For
example, Leroy Minnis of New York paid BNSF $100 in
July of 1995 for information provided to him and for the
information that BNSF company would collect and pro-
vide to him at a later time. In the Summer of 1996, Purdy
returned to provide Minnis with the additional informa-
tion Minnis had requested. Minnis paid Purdy an addi-
tional $100 at that time. Purdy returned to New York
again in September of 1997 and against collected and
provided information to Minnis regarding railroad safety.
(A26 47; A35 25)

While some of BNSF company’s safety activities were
provided to friends of Purdy, the activities were not in
any manner intended to be, nor were the activities lim-
ited to use only by friends. The safety activities were
used by Burlington engineers and others, in interstate
commerce, to benefit the general public. BNSF company’s
safety activities provided safety information to literally
thousands of interested persons throughout the United
States and Canada, and not just “friends” of Purdy. (A19-
A22; A25-A26)

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

As demonstrated above, BNSF company used its
“BNSF” service mark in commerce on a continuous basis
from 1993 to the present. This use was not “token use” as
incorrectly ruled on a fact determination by the district
court. The facts overwhelmingly demonstrate that BNSF

App. 6

company continuously provided its railroad safety ser-
vices throughout the United States both prior to the filing
of its service mark application, and through the present.

This use has included advertising of and provision of
services in collecting information and monitoring railroad
crossings, in providing safety information to railroad
employees and others addressing these issues in testing
various railroad equipment, and in providing railroad
safety information directly to interested members of the
public in several states through written and oral commu-
nications. These uses qualify as “services” under the Lan-
ham Act as that term has been interpreted by the courts.

Moreover, this use cannot be characterized as “token
use” as that term has been interpreted by the courts.
While BNSF’s use has, in fact, continuously expanded
through the short period of time it has been in business,
the courts, including courts in this Circuit, has uniformly
held that as long as the use is in commerce, and is
continuous and deliberate, the quantum of use is not
relevant. Nor does a registrant have to be a highly prof-
itable corporate enterprise, or even have a strong profit
motive, to qualify for service mark registration.

Remarkably, Burlington admits that BNSF company’s
web site services qualify as “use in commerce” of the
“BNSF” service mark, yet argues that the same activities
performed by BNSF company in its “low tech” phase do
not qualify for service mark protection. Burlington’s con-
tention is contrary to the Lanham Act’s service mark
statutory provisions, and the uniform case law and other

App. 7

authorities interpreting the statutory provisions. The dis-
trict court erred in granting summary judgment to Bur-
lington and cancelling BNSF’s service mark registration
for its mark, “BNSF”.

STANDARD OF REVIEW

Appellate court review of the district court’s ruling
granting summary judgment is de novo review. Montgom-
ery v. Brookshine, 34 F.3d 291, 294 (5th Cir. 1994 (citations

omitted).

Pursuant to Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 56, sum-
mary judgment shall only be granted where the plead-
ings, depositions, answers to interrogatories, admissions
on file, together with affidavits, show that there is no
genuine issue as to any material fact. “[S}ummary judg-
ment will not lie if the dispute about a material fact is
‘genuine’, that is, if the evidence is such that a reasonable
jury could return a verdict for the nonmoving party.”
Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 248 (1986).

In ruling on the motion, the trial judge, therefore,
cannot act as a juror by making credibility determinations
by weighing evidence. The court therefore cannot, as
occurred here, ignore substantial, uncontradicted and
unimpeached affidavit and deposition testimony proving
continuous use in commerce by BNSF company of its
service mark.-As the Supreme Court instructs:

Credibility determination, the weighing of evi-
dence, and the drawing of legitimate inferences
from the facts are jury functions, not those of a
judge, whether he is ruling on a motion for
summary judgment or for a directed verdict.

App. 8

The evidence of the non-movant is to be
believed, and all justifiable inferences are to be
drawn in his favor.

Id. at 255 (emphasis added).

Appellant respectfully submits that Judge McBryde
violated all of these rules in granting summary judgment
in favor of Burlington. The trial court ignored the factual
assertions contained in all of more than a dozen affidavits
and other evidence filed by Appellant, which demon-
strate conclusively that BNSF company used its service
mark in interstate commerce continuously, openly, delib-
erately and notoriously from a period three years prior to
the filing of the service mark registration application
through to the present. The trial court must, therefore,
have necessarily determined, as a matter of fact, that
these witnesses were not credible, weigh the evidence
and found it wanting, and refused to draw legitimate
inferences in favor of BNSF. This ruling is therefore
directly contrary to the trial court’s limited role in ruling
on summary judgment motions established by the
Supreme Court.

2. BNSF Used Its Service Mark in Commerce;
Its Lack of a Strong Profit Motive Does Not
Preclude BNSF From Service Mark Protec-
tion

“Commerce” means either interstate or foreign com-
merce. 15 U.S.C. § 1501. Services are performed in “com-
merce” if they are performed in more than one state. It
may even include provision of services in one state,

App. 9

where the customers travel to other states, or are from
other states. McCarthy, § 19:104-106, pp. 19-188 to 19-193
and cases there cited. “For a number of reasons, the
Patent and Trademark Office’s (PTO’s) definition of inter-
state commerce has considerably broadened over the
years.” at §19:104, p. 19-188. “Use in commerce” should
be read as “use affecting commerce.” Id. at 19:123
(emphasis in original). Because BNSF clearly provided its
safety testing and advice services in several states prior
to its registration in 1996, BNSF meets these broad
requirements. BNSF used its service mark “in commerce.”

However, commercial success is not required to
establish use of the mark “in commerce,” under relevant
case law authority from this Circuit and other courts
throughout the country, in uniform decisions spanning
the last 100 years. “As long as there is a genuine use of
the mark in commerce, however, ownership may be
established even if the first uses are not extensive and do
not result in deep market penetration or widespread rec-
ognition.” Allard Enterprises, 146 F.3d at 358. “The test
used to determine continuous prior user is not the value
of sales or advertising or the degree of familiarity of the
public with the mark.” Fieldcrest Mills, Inc. v. Couri, 220
F.Supp. 929, 931 (S.D. NY 1963); Drexel Enterprises, Inc. v.
Richardson, 312 F.2d 525, 527 (10th Cir. 1962).

The venerable case of Adam Hat Stores v. Lefco, 44
F.Supp. 442 (E.D. Pa. 1942), aff'd, 134 F.2d 101 (3d Cir.
1943) is particularly apt. “While it must be conceded from
the testimony in the record that no extremely great vol-
ume of business was conducted by the defendants with
respect to ‘Adams Clothes’ covering the years 1923 to
1933, nor that extensive advertising campaigns were

App. 10

employed in connection with the marketing of the prod-
uct, this is not a requirement, as it has been held from
_an early date that in order for equity to protect a trade-
mark, while there must be some use in connection
therewith, the quantum thereof need not be large.” Id.,
44 F.Supp. at 445 (citations omitted) (emphasis added); see
also McCarthy, § 16:6 at p. 16-8.

What the registrant is required to show, as BNSF does
here, is that its use of the mark is deliberate and contin-
uous, and not sporadic, casual or transitory. Bell v. Street-
wise Records, Ltd., 640 F.Supp. 575, 580 (D.Mass. 1986)
(citation omitted). The usage must be consistent with a
present plan of commercial use, but “it is not required
that a product be an instant success the moment it hits
the market.” Id.

This Circuit similarly does not require that the use of
the mark have gained the mark wide public recognition,
and additionally, this circuit holds that even a single use
in trade may sustain trademark rights if followed by
continuous commercial utilization. Blue Bell, Inc. v. Farah
Manufacturing Company, Inc., 505 F.2d 1260, 1265 (5th Cir.
1975); citing, Kathreiner’s Malzkaffee Fabriken v. Paster
Kniepp Medicine Co., 82 F. 321, 326-327 (7th Cir. 1897)
(importations, which were “not numerous, indeed,” were
as much as one would expect during the first years of

growth of an infant industry) (other citations omitted).

BNSF’s pattern of use of its service mark clearly
comports with these standards. BNSF began use of its
service mark, “BNSF,” in 1993. Its use started as a grass
roots campaign, slowly as one would expect in a new
company. BNSF’s use was, however, continuous over the

App. 11

years. BNSF now has significant exposure through its
web site, which Burlington Northern has admitted is
sufficient evidence of use in commerce. This conduct
establishes that BNSF used its service mark in commerce,
with a clear intent to adopt that mark evidenced by
BNSF’s continued use of the mark from 1993 to the pres-
ent.

Moreover, BNSF provided safety testing services to
Burlington Northern through its engineers, which ser-
vices were similar to services provided to Burlington
Northern by other safety corsulting companies. McCar-
thy, § 19:103, p. 19-187 (“use” necessary is use in the
“ordinary course of trade,” and not just “token use”).
BNSF’s provision of railroad safety services, similar to
services provided by other railroad safety services pro-
viders, was therefore bona fide use of its service mark in
the ordinary course of trade.

* * +

App. 12

IN THE
Unrtep States Court OF APPEALS
For THE FiFtH CIRCUIT

No. 98-11485

BURLINGTON NorTHERN SANTA FE Corp.,
A Delaware Corporation;
THE BURLINGTON NorRTHERN AND SANTA FE RaILway
Company, A Delaware Corporation,

Plaintiffs - Appellees,
v.
WiiuraM S. Purpy, Et AL.,
Defendants,
WituiaM S. Purpy, an Individual,

- Defendant — Appellant.

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Northern District of Texas
Fort Worth Division

BritF FOR APPELLEES

App. 13

ARGUMENT

A. The district court properly canceled Purdy’s

. “BNSF” registration because he did not demon-
strate pre-application “use in commerce” in
connection with the services recited in his
application.

Appellant’s brief presents a host of irrelevant obser-
vations about trademark law. The Lanham Act’s defini-
tion of “services,” Purdy’s profit motive, and Purdy’s
size136 are not relevant to the issue before the Court:
whether the trial court properly granted summary judg-
ment on the record before it.

The Railroad does not contend that Purdy’s “BNSF”
registration was properly canceled because his purported
activities did not meet the statutory “services” definition,
because he did not have a profit motive, or because his
company was small. Rather, the Railroad maintains that
Purdy’s registration was properly canceled because he
did not demonstrate the requisite “use in the ordinary.
course of trade” before the filing date of his application.

* * *

136 See Purdy Brief at 20-23, 26-30.

98-11485

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FEDERAL FIFTH CIRCUIT

BURLINGTON
NORTHERN SANTA FE
CORP.,

A Delaware Corporation;

BURLINGTON
NORTHERN AND
SANTA FE RAILWAY
COMPANY,

A Delaware Corporation

Plaintiffs-Appellees,
v.
WILLIAM S. PURDY, ET AL,
Defendants,

WILLIAM S. PURDY,
An Individual,

Defendant-Appellant.

APPEAL FROM DECISION OF THE U.S. DISTRICT
COURT FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS,
FORT WORTH DIVISION CIVIL ACTION NO.
4-98CV-70A ENTERED ON DECEMBER 7, 1998
FROM JUDGE JOHN MCBRYDE

REPLY BRIEF FOR DEFENDANT-APPELLANT

App. 15

Appellees assert that Mr. Purdy cannot have used the
mark BNSF because he has been fully disabled since prior
to 1993. The facts show that Mr. Purdy is fully disabled
under the definition of the National Railroad Retirement
Board’s policies. These policies state that a person may be
fully disabled and still earn up to $400.00 per month. (5R
1010 {1, 1016 420, 1041, 1202, 1214) The record shows
that Mr. Purdy has, over the years, earned a substantial
amount of money from the provision of the services but
no more than $400.00 in any one month. (4R 977 47,
4R985 {{ 17-19, 5R 1018 25) Persons with disabilities are
not precluded from obtaining trademarks or trademark
protection under the trademark law.

* * *

III. BURLINGTON NORTHERN FAILS TO DISPUTE
AND THEREFORE CANNOT BE HEARD TO
DENY THAT APPELLANT’S ACTIVITIES CON-
STITUTE “SERVICES” UNDER THE LANHAM
ACT, THAT THE “USE” NECESSARY TO ESTAB-
LISH SERVICE MARK RIGHTS IS FAR
BROADER THAN THE USE NECESSARY TO
ESTABLISH RIGHTS TO A TRADEMARK, AND
THAT APPELLANT’S LACK OF PROFIT MOTIVE
AND SMALL SIZE ARE NOT CONTROLLING TO
THE ISSUE OF WHETHER APPELLANT CAN
MAINTAIN HIS SERVICE MARK RIGHTS

In Appellant’s opening brief, at pp. 20-23, and 26-30,
Appellant cited to treatise and case law authority that
conclusively establish: A) that the Lanham Act’s term
“services” is to be liberally construed; B) that Appellant's
services meet that broad definition; C) that use sufficient

App. 16

to support service mark registration is far broader than
use necessary to support trademark registration; D) that
Appellant's lack of a profit motive does not defeat Appel-
lant’s service mark rights; and E) that Appellant's small
size does not defeat his service mark registration rights.
In its brief, Burlington Northern simply states that these
issues are “not relevant,” without any attempt to contra-
dict Appellant’s positions. Burlington Northern's Brief at
32. Appellant’s positions on these issues, which are of
course highly relevant to Appellant’s argument here that
he is entitled to maintain his service mark registration
rights, are therefore conclusively established.

Finally, Burlington Northern contends that In re
Ames, 160 U.S.P.Q. 214 (TTAB 1968), and Allard Enter-
prises, 146 F.3d at 350, do not stand for the proposition
that advertising alone can support a valid registration.
Burlington Northern's Brief at 35. Burlington Northern
misconstrues Appellant's citations to these cases. (Open-
ing Brief at p. 25) In Ames, the court held that advertising
of services available to the pubic suffices to establish use
sufficient to support a service mark registration. Id. at
214-215. In Allard Enterprises, the Sixth Circuit held, in a
case where the party had not made a single sale of its
services and therefore had never performed its services in
commerce, that prior adoption of a service mark through
advertising of services available to the public was suffi-
cient to defeat the federal registration rights of plaintiff.
Id. at 358-360. Similarly here, Appellant's sales brochures

App. 17

and business cards advertised services that were avail-
able to the public, and under these authorities constitute
sufficient use to maintain its service mark registration.

* * +

VI. APPELLANT’S SERVICES WERE NOT PRO-
VIDED SOLELY TO FRIENDS

Another argument raised by Burlington Northern is
that Appellant is not entitled to registration because ser-
vices were rendered entirely to friends. (Burlington
Northern’s Brief at p. 39, and fn 163) As demonstrated in
Section II(C), this contention is also contrary to the facts,
and Burlington Northern’s case citations are therefore
inapposite.

Moreover, in Allard Enterprises, the Sixth Circuit
approved a marketing program apparently limited solely
to “friends” of the party seeking a priority of use deter-
mination. As long as the uses were sufficiently public and
were continuous and consistent, as Appellant’s were in
this case, a “word of mouth” marketing plan that targeted
“personal friends” is “not so atypical that no reasonable
person” could view it as “commercial.” Id. at 359.

+ * +

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_0909%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
