# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — McClure v. Pennsylvania

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_0887%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2000
- **Citation:** 530 U.S. 1230

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED

991657 APR 7-929

uitit OF THE CLERK

In The
Supreme Court of the United States

EDGAR D. McCLURE,

Petitioner,

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA,
Respondent.

On Petition For Allocatur To The
Supreme Court Of Pennsylvania

¢

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

4

James R. HANKLE
(Counsel of Record)

SHERRARD, GERMAN & KELLY, P.C.
Attorneys at Law
35th Floor, One Oliver Plaza
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15222-2602
(412) 355-0200
FAX: (412) 261-6221

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

ent ie
PROM iasacuacsincni inci Wb inn Ni ce Tate inet Psat

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

The Pennsylvania Rules of Evidence, as promulgated
by the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania, provide that an
adult defendant cannot be impeached on cross-examina-
tion for prior sexual conduct with another adult, except
by record of conviction.

Petitioner was convicted on several counts of child
molestation. Defense counsel at trial refused to put him
on the stand in his own defense on the grounds that he
would be subject to questioning by the prosecution
regarding a later sexual tryst with the mother of the
victims. Defense counsel relied on character witnesses
alone. New appellate counsel raised a claim of ineffective
assistance of trial counsel because evidence of the affair
with the mother was inadmissible under the Pennsylva-
nia Rules of Evidence. There was no reason not to allow
Petitioner to take the stand. After the appropriate rules of
evidence were raised in the trial court, the Superior Court
of Pennsylvania, and, finally, the Supreme Court of Penn-
sylvania, all refused to respond to the issue raised, as the
two appellate courts merely adopted the opinion below.

The questions presented are:

1. Whether Petitioner is entitled to a written opin-
ion by state appellate courts in order to satisfy
the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth
Amendment and the Sixth Amendment’s right to
effective assistance of counsel;

il
QUESTIONS PRESENTED - Continued

Whether the use of summary dispositions of
appeals by state courts interferes with the ability
of the accused’s counsel to carry out an effective
appeal;

Whether state appellate courts should fall into
the same category as administrative and proba-
tion hearings that require written opinions in
support of decisions.

lil

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTIONS PRESENTED .....................000% i
Re Bes, , Se mer rye iii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .......................0- iv
PETITION FOR ALLOCATUR TO THE SUPREME
COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA................00-- 1
SY MEM viv ccadercowescbectvoasackveds 1
i ans td Sonn auda cst ¥dkocrciea ke 1
PENNSYLVANIA STATE RULES OF EVIDENCE.... 1
STATEMENT OF THE CASE.....................5. 3
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION ....... 5

THE CONVERGENCE OF THE DUE PROCESS
CLAUSE OF THE FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT
AND THE RIGHT TO EFFECTIVE ASSISTANCE
OF COUNSEL PROVIDED BY THE SIXTH
AMENDMENT REQUIRE THE APPELLATE
COURTS OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF PENN-
SYLVANIA TO ISSUE REASONED OPINIONS IN
sures. OF THEIR RULINGS..........0.00008 5

A. By simply adopting the fragmented opinion of
the trial court without issuing supporting
opinions, the state appellate courts thereby
deprived the accused of his constitutional
right to have zealous and informed legal
oer rT ree rrr ree eee 5

B. State appellate courts should be held to the
same standards as administrative and proba-
tion hearings that require written opinions in

NN Wr MN iin da ay wiannd saws sade eas 10
Ts na ea kk sae eke aad kee wees ceeeS 12
I OD hs os are WKS WV ie a 4 kp 4. oa Sees App. 1

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES
Anders v. California, 386 U.S. 738 (1967) ............. 10
Anderson v. Harless, 459 U.S. 4 (1982)................. 6
Cerbo v. Fauver, 616 F.2d 714 (3rd Cir. 1980), cert.

rane, SEF Tie TR CR 2 ho x koa cde ee eh eek betenes 7
Commonwealth v. Townsell, 474 Pa. 563, 379 A.2d 98

Log) Pe eee ne ean e ee rrr here 7
Commonwealth v. King, 253 Pa. Super. 224, 384 A.2d

Se Cs kia is bua oe G ke es banda ese. rere 4
EUs @. Lomi, GOP WD. Dr CUP ocak se eee csannds 9
Geders v. United States, 425 U.S. 80 (1976)............ 8
Gideon v. Wainwright, 372 U.S. 335 (1963)............. 8
Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254 (1970) ................ 11
Gray v. Lynn, 6 F.3d 265 (Sth Cir. 1993) .............. 9
Greenholtz v. Nebraska Penal Inmates, 442 U.S. 1

2 SNe mre eee ar IeP te Rat aoa ME hey gr tae Sue ae 11
Grijim &. Gitnein, 351 US. 12 CG) oc occ ccccccccnccas 9
Hannah v. Larche, 363 U.S. 420 (1960)................. 8
Harris v. Rivera, 454 U.S. 339 (1987).................. 7
Johnson v. Zerbst, 304 U.S. 458 (1938)..............--. s
Kimmel v. Morrow, 477 U.S. 365 (1986)................ 8
Matlovich v. Secretary of the Air Force, 591 F.2d 852

Seis Se EL 43 si eed ek eds bak eu ek Wk ea ae aes 10
Mayo v. Henderson, 13 F.2d 528 (2nd. Cir. 1994)....... 9

McMann v. Richardson, 397 U.S. 759 (1970)............ 8

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
Morrissey v. Brewer, 408 U.S. 471 (1972) ............. 11
Picard v. O'Connor, 404 U.S. 210 (1971)............... 6
Powell v. Alabama, 287 U.S. 45 (1932)........ ae ae 8
Prichard v. Lockhart, 990 F.2d 352 (8th Cir. 1993)...... 9
Strickland v. Washington, 466 U.S. 668 (1984).......... 7
Tuggle v. Netherland, 516 U.S. 10 (1995)............... 9
Wolff v. McDonnell, 418 U.S. 559 (1974).............. 11
OTHER AUTHORITIES
Martha I. Morgan, The Constitutional Right to Know
Why, 17 Harvard Civil Rights Civil Liberties
ee we ee ary ee ere 6
T. Emerson, Legal Foundations of the Right to Know
Why, 1976 Washington University Law Quar-
SR Bi do kana os 0 wns See ee ee 6
American Bar Association Standards Relating to
the Administration of Criminal Justice (3rd Ed.
POON «6 ik one's x REEL a KASS aEN bee eee ees Cae 9
STATUTES
ee RRs POE sc and ohne os edaaeeseuen likeaeia, 1

Ru.es OF EvIDENCE OF THE PENNSYLVANIA SUPREME COURT

Pennsylvania Rules of Evidence; Rules 608-609..... 1, 2

5
.

PETITION FOR ALLOCATUR FROM THE
SUPREME COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Petitioner respectfully requests that a Writ of Cer-
tiorari be issued to review the judgment of the Supreme
Court of Pennsylvania.

OPINIONS BELOW

The order of the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania is
reported at 2000 WL 36083 (PA) and reproduced in the
Appendix; the per curiam order of the Superior Court is
unreported and reproduced in the Appendix; the opinion
of the trial court is unreported and reproduced in the
Appendix.

JURISDICTION

Supreme Court of Pennsylvania entered its order on
January 13, 2000 (App., infra).

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28
U.S.C § 1257(a).

PENNSYLVANIA STATE RULES OF EVIDENCE

Pennsylvania Rules of Evidence, Rule 608. Evidence of
Character and Conduct of Witness

Rule 608 reads as follows:

(a) Reputation Evidence of Character. The credibility of
a witness may be attacked or supported by evidence

(b)

in the form of reputation as to character, but subject
to the following limitations:

(1) the evidence may refer only to character for
truthfulness or untruthfulness; and

(2) evidence of truthful character is admissible only
after the character of the witness for truthful-
ness has been attacked by reputation evidence
or otherwise.

Specific Instances of conduct. Except as provided in
Rule 609 (relating to evidence of conviction of
crime),

(1) the character of a witness for truthfulness may
not be attacked or supported by cross-examina-
tion or extrinsic evidence concerning specific
instances of the witness’ conduct; however,

(2) in the discretion of the court, the credibility of a
witness who testifies as to the reputation of
another witness for truthfulness or untruthful-
ness may be attacked by cross-examination con-
cerning specific instances of conduct (not
including arrests) of the other witness, if they
are probative of truthfulness or untruthfulness;
but extrinsic evidence thereof is not admissible.

Rule 609. Impeachment by Evidence of Conviction of
Crime

Rule 609 reads as follows:
(a)

General Rule. For the purpose of attacking the cred-
ibility of any witness, evidence that the witness has
been convicted of a crime, whether by verdict or by
plea of guilty or nolo contendere, shall be admitted
if it involved dishonesty or false statement.

& ———

|

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On June 9, 1998, a three hour trial was held in the
Court of Common Pleas of Carbon County Pennsylvania,
and Edgar D. McClure (“Petitioner”) was found guilty by
a jury of five (5) counts of rape, five (5) counts of statu-
tory rape, four (4) counts of involuntary deviate sexual
intercourse, nineteen (19) counts of indecent assault, two
(2) counts of corruption of minors, and two (2) counts of
criminal conspiracy. Petitioner was sentenced to a prison
term of nineteen (19) to thirty-eight (38) years.

The facts at trial indicate that defense counsel failed
to put Petitioner on the stand in his own defense but
rather relied solely on character witnesses on behalf of
his client. The prosecution’s case consisted of the testi-
mony of the two female victims. In a post-sentence
motion and hearing, Petitioner was represented by new
counsel who argued, inter alia, ineffective assistance by
trial counsel for not affirmatively advising Petitioner to
testify in his own defense when Petitioner’s testimony
would have been exculpatory and not have exposed Peti-
tioner to impeachment regarding prior sexual conduct
with the mother of the victims.

The trial court rejected the citation of error on inef-
fectiveness of counsel by concluding that trial counsel
was justified in not calling on Petitioner to testify for two
reasons. First, Petitioner would have been subject to
cross-examination by revealing that he had visited the
house of the two girls. Secondly, the prosecution would
have been able to expose to the jury on cross-examination
that Petitioner had had a sexual liaison with the mother
of the girls on an occasion after the children had been

molested. Petitioner has argued that the perceived evi-
dence relating to the tryst with the mother was absolutely
barred by the Pennsylvania rules of evidence and, there-
fore, that trial counsel’s basic reason for not putting him
on the stand had no merit, since the testimony of the girls
had already established his presence in the home. Trial
counsel’s reasoning was fundamentally flawed.

The trial court’s opinion was silent on the issue of the
rules of evidence. In Petitioner’s post-trial appeal to the
Superior Court of Pennsylvania, the intermediate appel-
late court, the issue was raised with emphasis. That
Court, however, issued a ruling that “We . . . adopt the
trial court opinion in its entirety and affirm on that
basis.” Once again, the judiciary refused to address the
issue of the rules of evidence. An appeal was then taken
to the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania, which simply
refused to grant review. In sum, while Petitioner’s central
argument was raised at all levels, none of the courts
responded to the issue of what the appropriate rules of
evidence meant in their application to this case.

At all times in these appellate proceedings, Petitioner
has insisted that the failure of these courts to issue opin-
ions in support of their rulings violated the Due Process
Clauses of the Pennsylvania aad Federal Constitutions. In
specific terms, Petitioner alleges that it is Constitutional
error on the part of the Pennsylvania judiciary to refuse
to interpret the rules of evidence of the Pennsylvania
Supreme Court and thereby deprive appellate counsel of
the guidance and information needed to properly plan an
appellate strategy in defense of his client as provided by
the Sixth Amendment.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

I. THE CONVERGENCE OF THE DUE PROCESS
CLAUSE OF THE FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT
AND THE RIGHT TO EFFECTIVE ASSISTANCE
OF COUNSEL PROVIDED BY THE SIXTH
AMENDMENT REQUIRE THE APPELLATE
COURTS OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF PENN-
SYLVANIA TO ISSUE REASONED OPINIONS IN
SUPPORT OF THEIR RULINGS.

A. By simply adopting the fragmented opinion of
the trial court without issuing supporting opin-
ions, the state appellate courts thereby deprived
the accused of his constitutional right to have
zealous and informed legal defense on appeal.

B. State appellate courts should be held to the
same standards as administrative and probation
hearings that require written opinions in sup-
port of decisions.

A.

By simply adopting the fragmented opinion of the trial
court without issuing supporting opinions, the state
appellate courts thereby deprived the accused of his
constitutional right to have zealous and informed legal
defense on appeal.

This appeal raises the important and novel question
of whether the provisions of the Due Process Clauses of
the Fourteenth and Sixth Amendments guarantee of
effective assistance of counsel converge in their require-
ments so as to mandate that state appellate courts issue
reasoned opinions to explain and justify their rulings. It
is intended here to provoke consideration of a problem
that arises when a convicted defendant and his new

appellate attorney appeal the verdict by requesting the
state courts to interpret the State Supreme Court’s own

rules of evidence, only to have these judicial bodies
remain silent, thereby failing to offer any reason by which
counsel could plan and execute an appeal. The result of
the refusal to issue opinions for their rulings forces appel-
late counsels to work in legal darkness and, in such a
context, to properly advise clients. The very judicial pro-
cess itself, in short, ironically creates a denial of effective
assistance of counsel.

In this case, the Federal claim of Due Process was
duly raised in the appeals to the Superior Court of Penn-
sylvania and the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania. Ander-
son v. Harless, 459 U.S. 4 (1982); Picard v. O’Connor, 404
U.S. 210 (1971).

Because this practice of failing to write opinions is
pervasive among the States and leads inexorably to simi-
lar results throughout the country, the instant issue meets
the criteria necessary to constitute a matter of grave legal
concern that demands Constitutional review.

The general issue has been characterized in academic
literature as “the constitutional right to know why.” Mar-
tha I. Morgan, The Constitutional Right to Know Why, 17
Harvard Civil Rights Civil Liberties Law Review 297
(1982). The literature covers a wide range of reasons for
state appellate courts to write opinions, including First
Amendment rights, sentencing, and the value of individ-
ualized human dignity, all of which fall within the param-
eters of the Due Process Clauses. See also: T. Emerson,
Legal Foundations of the Right to Know Why, 1976 Washing-
ton University Law Quarterly 1 (1976). At this point,

howewer, there has been no judicial reasoning on the
requirement of written opinions as related to the Sixth
Amendment.

While the concept of effective assistance is usually
limited to trial tactics, it is no less important to apply the
same standards to appellate representation where it is
well-settled that ineffectiveness will also lie. Cerbo v. Fau-
ver, 616 F.2d 714 (3rd Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 449 U.S. 858
(1980'); Commonwealth v. King, 253 Pa. Super. 224, 384 A.2d
1314 (1978); Commonwealth v. Townsell, 474 PA. 563, 379
A.2d 98 (1977) (addressing the necessity of developing a
strategy for appeals).

The landmark case of Strickland v. Washington, 466
U.S. 668, 685 (1984) held that the United States Constitu-
tion guarantees a fair trial based on the Due Process
Clause, and the basic elements of a fair trial are derived
from the Sixth Amendment’s Counsel Clause. Strickland’s
convergence of these two Constitutional principles
shoulld be extended to appellate procedures as well.

This raises again the agonizing problem of how coun-
sel is expected to provide adequate guidance to a client in
the absence of written reasons for appellate decisions.
While federal courts have no supervisory power over
state trial courts, the “work of appellate judges is facili-
tated when trial judges . . . explain controversial rulings”
in accordance with due process principles, even though
the occasion for explanations are “the exception rather
than the rule.” Harris v. Rivera, 454 U.S. 339 (1987). Where
there is a valid allegation that evidence would have been
barred from trial because of a state rule, thus demolishing
trial counsel’s reasoning in not putting Petitioner on the

stand, summary dispositions by the appellate courts must
be seen as providing one of those exceptions.

The right to counsel “is the right to effective assistance
of counsel,” McMann v. Richardson, 397 U.S. 759, 771, n. 14
(1970), and there should be no interference with the abil-
ity of counsel to make independent decisions about how
to conduct a defense. Geders v. United States, 425 U.S. 80
(1976). The defense process must, by necessity, include
the appellate process. Denial of effective counsel is a
direct violation of due process and the right to a fair trial.
Powell v. Alabama, 287 U.S. 45, 58 (1932); Johnson v. Zerbst,
304 U.S. 458 (1938); Gideon v. Wainwright, 372 U.S. 335
(1963). The same standard should apply to the appellate
process, for while it appears repugnant to our sense of
fair play to have a trial court deny defendant’s access to
information required for the preparation of a defense at
that level, it should be equally improper to deny appel-
lants critical information that is needed for the appellate
process. “Due process embodies the differing rules of fair
play.” Hannah v. Larche, 363 U.S. 420 (1960). A rejection of
the written appellate reasons requirement is inconsistent
with our constitutional plan of government at the trial
stage, and for identical reasons in the appeals process.
The failure of appellate courts to state in writing the
reasons for their decisions is one of the most pernicious
ingredients of judicial unfairness.

This Court’s own decisions regarding the right to
appellate due process have not yet indicated a finality on
the subject. In Kimmel v. Morrow, 477 U.S. 365, 383 (1986),
this court decided that relief on ineffective assistance
grounds will be afforded regardless of the “underlying
attorney error.” Indeed, for an appellant to have a fair

chance to present persuasive arguments, it is essential for
the appellate court to properly perform its function by
offering “each defendant a fair opportunity to obtain an,
adjudication on the merits of his appeal.” Evitts v. Lucey,
469 U.S. 387, 406 (1985) (the Due Process Clause puts
limitations on the State’s adjudication of the appellate
process in criminal cases); See also: Griffin v. Illinois, 351
U.S. 12 (1956).

Other federal courts that have addressed this issue
have invariably decided that a claim of ineffective assis-
tance may be based on counsel’s incompetent handling of
a state law issue. Mayo v. Henderson, 13 F.2d 528, 523 (2d
Cir. 1994); Gray v. Lynn, 6 F.3d 265 (5th Cir. 1993); Prichard
v. Lockhart, 990 F.2d 352 (8th Cir. 1993). In a more recent
holding, this Court has reversed and remanded a decision
of the Virginia Supreme Court on the grounds that evi-
dence before a jury should have been excluded as an
influencing factor, but that the Virginia courts failed to
inquire into the matter. Tuggle v. Netherland, 516 U.S. 10
(1995).

The American Bar Association Standards Relating to
the Administration of Criminal Justice (Third Ed. 1992)
provide in pertinent parts:

Standard 4-8.4 Conduct of Appeal

(a) Appellate counsel should be diligent in
perfecting appeals and expediting their
prompt submission to appellate courts.

Standard 4-8.5 Post-conviction Remedies

After a conviction is affirmed on appeal,
appellate counsel should determine whether

10

there is any ground for relief under other post-
conviction remedies. If there is a reasonable
prospect of a favorable result, counsel should
explain to the defendant the advantages and
disadvantages of taking such action. Appellate
counsel is not obligated to represent the defen-
dant in a post-conviction proceeding unless the
client has agreed to do so. In other respects, the
responsibility of a lawyer in a post-conviction
proceeding should be guided generally by the
standards governing the conduct of lawyers in
criminal cases.

It is imperative to ask how appeals can be perfected when
state appellate courts outright refuse to address valid
issues properly before them and thus eclipse a matter of
fundamental importance to an incarcerated defendant.
How, as required by law, can appellate counsel ade-
quately weigh whether to even take an appeal in the first
instance? Anders v. California, 386 U.S. 738 (1967). And
finally, what justice is there in having clients pay good
coin to appellate attorneys who are forced to make edu-
cated guesses in the face of a mute judicial system?

B.

State Appellate Courts should be held to the same stan-
dards as administrative and probation hearings that
require written opinions in support of decisions.

In the area of administrative law, federal courts have
generally required that decisions be based on formal find-
ings. A leading case, Matlovich v. Secretary of the Air Force,
591 F.2d 852 (D.C. Cir. 1978), held that a reasoned expla-
nation is designed “to inform the aggrieved person of the
grounds of the administrative action so he can plan his

11

course of action.” A person adversely affected by a deci-
sion, and their counsel as well, are thereby in a much
better position to determine the legitimacy of a holding.
Additionally, the reasoned explanation requirement
forces a disclosure of why a particular decision was
reached and in a cumulative sense leads to greater consis-
tency in the law. See also: Greenholtz v. Nebraska Penal
Inmates, 442 U.S. 1 (1979); Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254,
267 (1970) (procedural due process requiring a statement
of reasons to terminate welfare benefits is one of the
“minimum procedural safeguards” attaching to adminis-
trative proceedings).

This Court has held, as well, that a required state-
ment of reasons flows from the Due Process Clause to
parole revocation and probation proceedings and prison
disciplinary procedures. See, respectively, Morrissey v.
Brewer, 408 U.S. 471 (1972); Wolff v. McDonnell, 418 U.S.
559 (1974).

The marked trend in the case law of this Court,
therefore, is towards granting increased access to the
reasons behind judicial actions. While this impulse seems
strongest in administrative and parole and pardon cases,
the basic rationale must apply equally to state appellate
courts that should offer guidance to those defendants and
their attorneys in preparing a defense for one whose very
life hangs in the balance. An accused who is denied
effective assistance of counsel because of an infringement
of the Due Process Clause under these factual circum-
stances is effectively denied the opportunity to redress
any harm caused by state appellate courts.

¢

12

CONCLUSION

Linked together under the Bill of Rights, the Due
Process Clause and the Sixth Amendment’s guarantee of
effective assistance of counsel mandate that state appel-
late courts, when faced with a challenge to their own
rules, offer a written reason for their decisions. Other-
wise, there is no basis on which to assess the court's
actions, leaving a defendant in a “legal limbo” on appeal.
The present system by which state courts fail to explain
the reasons why an appeal is unsuccessful violates a
defendant’s constitutional right to effective assistance of
counsel.

Petitioner respectfully requests that this Petition be
granted so that he can pursue a knowledgeable and
informed course of appeals in the state courts.

Respectfully submitted,

James R. HANKLE, EsQuire
Attorney for Petitioner

SHERRARD, GERMAN & KELLY, P.C.
Attorneys at Law

35th Floor, One Oliver Plaza
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15222-2602
(412) 355-0200

FAX: (412) 261-6221

App. 1

APPENDIX A

IN THE COURT OF COMMON PLEAS OF
CARBON COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA
CRIMINAL DIVISION

COMMONWEALTH OF
PENNSYLVANIA
No. 260 CR 96
VS.
EDGAR D. McCLURE,

Defendant

David W. Addy, Esquire Counsel for Commonwealth
Assistant District Attorney

James R. Hankle, Esquire Counsel for Defendant

OPINION AND ORDER
Webb, J. - November 20, 1998

Edgar D. McClure has filed Post-Sentence Motions to
the judgments of sentence imposed for various sexual
offenses committed against two minor girls.

FACTS

The facts, when viewed most favorably to the Com-
monwealth as verdict winner, begin with the dysfunction
of the family of the victims, Melissa and Jennifer, born on
November 28, 1979 and October 28, 1985, respectively.
The girls have never been married, and are two of twelve
children born to parents Brian and Susan O'Neill. N.T.
6/9/98 at 17-18, 31, 47 & 55. The dysfunction began with

App. 2

Brian subjecting Susan and the children to physical
abuse, id. at 19-21 & 48-49, and escalated to his use of
threats and beatings to force Melissa and Jennifer to
engage in sexual acts with him and other men. Id. at 19-30
& 49-55. Neither girl understood the nature or wrongful-
ness of the sexual behavior, but submitted because they
feared their father. Id. at 26-30 & 54-55.

This pattern of abuse continued after the family
moved to Carbon County in 1987, id. at 18, where the
father allowed McClure to sexually molest Melissa
approximately once every month or every other month
during 1990 through 1992. The father would send Melissa
to his bedroom with McClure to “play house,” his euphe-
mism for sex, and peek through or listen at the door,
while McClure engaged in vaginal and oral sex with
Melissa. Id. at 24-33. During this time period, McClure
was in his fifties, Id. at 62, while Melissa was only 10 to 12
years old.

Eventually, the sexual molestation extended to Jen-
nifer, who was subjected to vaginal intercourse with
McClure approximately once or twice a month during
1991 through 1992. Id. at 50-55. When Jennifer was only 5
and 6 years old, the father would take her to his bedroom
with McClure, order her to undress, and watch as
McClure engaged in vaginal intercourse.

Despite the multiple occurrences in each year,
McClure was charged with only one count of the various
crimes per year in regard to each girl. The jury found
Defendant guilty of all charges submitted to it. Speci-
fically, for the sexual abuse of Jennifer, McClure was

App. 3 -

convicted of rape!, statutory rape?, indecent assault, cor-
ruption of minors*, and conspiracy. As to Melissa, the
convictions included these crimes as well as involuntary
deviate sexual intercourse (IDSI)°. Timely Post-Sentence
Motions were then filed.

1 The amended 1984 rape statute was in effect during the
incidents in question and provided, inter alia, that a person
commits rape when he engages in sexual intercourse with
another person not his spouse, who is so mentally deficient that
such person is incapable oi consent. 18 Pa.C.S.A. § 3101 &
§ 3121(4).

2 A person who is 18 years of age or older commits
statutory rape, a felony of the second degree, when he engages
in sexual intercourse with another person not his spouse who is
less than 14 years of age. 18 Pa.C.S.A. § 3101 & § 3122 (1976).

3 A person who has indecent contact with another not his
spouse, or causes the complainant to have indecent contact with
him, is guilty of indecent assault, . . . if (1) he does so without the
consent of the other person; (2) he knows that the other person
suffers from a mental defect which renders her incapable of
appraising the nature of her conduct; (3) he knows that the other
person is unaware that a (sic) indecent contact is being
committed; or (6) he is over 18 years of age and the other person
is under 14 years of age. 18 Pa.C.S.A. § 3126(1) (2) & (3) (1976);
18 Pa.C.S.A. § 3126(6) (effective 4/3/90).

4 Whoever, being of the age of 18 years and upwards, by
any act corrupts or tends to corrupt the morals of any minor less
than 18 years of age, . . . is guilty of a misdemeanor of the first
degree. 18 Pa.C.S.A. § 6301 (1978).

> A person commits a felony of the first degree when he
engages in deviate sexual intercourse with another person: (4)
who is so mentally . . . deficient that such person is incapable of
consent; or (5) who is less than 16 years of age. 18 Pa.C.S.A.
§ 3101 & § 3123(4)(5) (1973).

App. 4

DISCUSSION

Defendant raises the issues of the sufficiency of the
evidence, the weight of the evidence, prosecutorial mis-
conduct and the ineffectiveness of his trial attorneys.

SUFFICIENCY OF EVIDENCE

Defendant challenges the sufficiency of the evidence
to support his convictions for conspiracy and all of the
sex offenses. The standard for reviewing the sufficiency
of the evidence is whether the evidence admitted at trial
and all reasonable inferences drawn therefrom, when
viewed in the light most favorable to the Commonwealth
as verdict winner, is sufficient to support all elements of
the offenses beyond a reasonable doubt. Commonwealth v.
Miller, 664 A.2d 1310, 1314 (Pa. 1995), cert. denied, __ US.
__, 116 S.Ct. 932, 133 L.E.2d 859. In sex offense prosecu-
tions, the testimony of the victim, standing alone, is suffi-
cient to convict. Commonwealth v. Kunkle, 623 A.2d 336
(Pa.Super. 1993), alloc. denied, 637 A.2d 281 (Pa. 1993).

Here, the testimony of both victims amply supported
Defendant’s convictions. Melissa attested to vaginal and
oral intercourse during 1990 through 1992, supporting the
convictions for rape and IDSI, respectively. For Jennifer,
her testimony of vaginal intercourse supported the rape
convictions for the years 1991 and 1992. The indecent
assaults and corruption of minors are sustained by any of
the sexual contacts.

App. 5

LACK OF SPECIFIC DATES

Nonetheless, Defendant argues that the Common-
wealth did not establish with any degree of specificity
particular dates on which the sexual acts occurred. While
the Commonwealth must establish to a reasonable degree
of certainty the approximate date of the offense charged it
need not always prove a single specific date of the crime.
Commonwealth v. Robinson, 462 A.2d 840, 842 (Pa. Super.
1983), quoting, Commonwealth v. Devlin, 333 A.2d 888, 899
(Pa. 1975). Accord: Commonwealth v. Niemetz, 422 A.2d
1369 (Pa.Super. 1980).

[T]he rule has been somewhat relaxed when the
victim is a child . . . When a young child is a
victim of a crime, it is often impossible to ascer-
tain the exact date when the crime occurred. He
or she may have a vague sense of the days of the
week, the months of the year, and the year itself.
If such children are to be protected, imprecision
concerning times and dates must be tolerated.

Commonwealth v. Luktisch, 680 A.2d 877, 880 (Pa.Super.
1996) (citations omitted). Any leeway permissible would
vary with the nature of the crime and the age and condi-
tion of the victim, balanced against the rights of the
accused. Niemetz, 333 A.2d at 892 (footnote and citations
omitted).

Here, the facts are analogous to Niemetz and its prog-
eny. The crimes occurred repeatedly against very young
girls over a two or three year period, as opposed to an
isolated incident. Thus, they were not susceptible to
being dated with a reasonable degree of certainty. Com-
monwealth v. McClucas, 516 A.2d 68 (Pa.Super. 1986).

App. 6

Despite minor inconsistencies in their recollection,
the girls recounted graphic details of the abuse. The jury
heard and observed the girls as they testified, and the
credibility of the witnesses and the weight to be accorded
the evidence produced are matters within their province.
Commonwealth v. Perez, 698 A.2d 640, 645 (Pa.Super. 1997)
(citations omitted). Based on their testimony, the jury
could reasonably believe that the girls were subjected to
repeated sexual abuse and find at least one occurrence
during each of the relevant years.

CONSPIRACY

In regard to conspiracy, McClure argues there was
insufficient evidence to prove an agreement between
himself and the father to commit the sex crimes. In order
to convict a defendant of a conspiracy, a fact finder must
conclude that he reached an agreement with his co-con-
spirator to commit the crime. 18 Pa.C.S.A. 903(a)(1); Com-
monwealth v. Anderson, 552 A.2d 1064, 1071 (Pa.Super.
1988), alloc. denied, 571 A.2d 379 (Pa. 1989) (citations
omitted). The existence of a common agreement between
co-conspirators, may be inferred from circumstantial evi-
dence surrounding the allegedly conspiratorial activities,
and from the relationship between and the conduct of the
parties. Id.

In the instant case, an agreement can be inferred from
the manner in which the crimes occurred. The father sent
McClure upstairs to his bedroom with one girl at a time.
The girl was then instructed to undress and “play house,”
which she understood to mean submitting to the various
sexual acts. The father would remain in the room, or peek

App. 7

through or listen at the door, while McClure actually
completed the sexual crimes underlying the conspiracy.
Based on this coordinated conduct, the friendship of the
co-conspirators, and the duration of the abuse, the jury
could infer the requisite agreement for conspiracy.

WEIGHT OF THE EVIDENCE

The Superior Court has explained the proper stan-
dard of review applicable to a challenge to the weight of
evidence:

A true “weight of the evidence” claim contends
the verdict is a product of speculation or conjec-
ture. Such a claim requires a new trial only
when the verdict is so contrary to the evidence
as to shock one’s sense of justice. A decision
regarding the weight of the evidence is within
the sound discretion of the trial judge whose
decision will not be reversed on appeal absent
an abuse of that discretion.

Commonwealth v. Dougherty, 679 A.2d 779, 785 (Pa.Super.
1996). A review of the record in this case reveals that the
verdict was not against the weight of the evidence.

PROSECUTORIAL MISCONDUCT

Defendant next accuses the prosecution of miscon-
duct arising from several statements made at trial. Gener-
ally, comments by a prosecutor do not constitute
reversible error unless the unavoidable effect of such
comments would be to prejudice the jury, forming in their
minds fixed bias and hostility toward the defendant so
that they could not weigh the evidence objectively and

App. 8

render a true verdict. Commonwealth v. Morales, 701 A.2d
516, 527-528 (Pa. 1997). Prosecutorial misconduct will not
be found where comments were based on the evidence or
proper inferences therefrom or were only oratorical flair.
Id. at 528. Moreover, in order to evaluate whether the
comments were improper, the court must look at the
context in which they were made. Id.

In opening argument, McClure contends the Com-
monwealth impermissibly expressed an opinion of his
guilt by stating: “My words can’t do what they endured
justice.” N.T. 6/9/98 at 9. This portion of opening argu-
ment shows the prosecution was merely introducing the
victims and preparing the jury for the graphic nature of
the testimony they were about to hear. To cast this state-
ment as other than oratorical flair is to contort its context
and substance.

In regard to closing argument, Defendant highlights
four instances of alleged prosecutorial misconduct. In the
first one, Defendant claims the jury was misled about a
police report. However, the prosecutor never mentioned a
police report when closing. The statement cited by Defen-
dant is, instead, from the defense’s closing argument.
N.T. 6/9/98 at 95-96.

Secondly, Defendant claims the prosecutor misstated
the law of conspiracy:

First, criminal conspiracy; acting in accordance
with another — specifically Brian James O'Neill,
the father — with the intent to achieve a criminal
result. Conspirators don’t have to have a written
contract. They just have to act together to form a
result.

App. 9

N.T. 6/9/98 at 102. Read as a whole, the Court can see no
€rror in this statement. A conspiracy can be inferred from
the acts of the conspirators done in furtherance of the
Criminal aim. See discussion supra. Moreover, the Court
Provided a full and proper charge on the elements of
Conspiracy. N.T. 6/9/98 at 135-139. Therefore, no preju-
dice inured to Defendant.

The third statement from closing argument arises
from the prosecutor calling Defendant’s co-conspirator
“ dirt”:

Ladies and gentleman, I also don’t want you to
be put off by the number of witnesses. Although
there are no corroborating witnesses, ladies and
gentleman, the testimony is very clear that Mr.
McClure came to Palmerton. The testimony is
equally clear that he went up to Dad’s bedroom
and had his way from each one of them. Who
else in that bedroom would I submit to you?
Who would I have to give you in that bedroom? Mr.
McClure, who, as Mr. Garfield has pointed out, has
chosen not to testify and stand on that? Brian
O'Neill? I wouldn't put that dirt on the stand in

front of you.

N.T. 6/9/98 at 112 (emphasis added). A review of the
transcript reveals the prosecutor merely mirrored the
€xact language used by the defense in its closing argu-
Tent. Id. at 92. The prosecutor is entitled to fairly
Tespond to closing remarks made by defense counsel.
Commonwealth v. Hawkins, 701 A.2d 492 (Pa. 1997), cert.
denied, ___ U.S. __, 118 S.Ct. 1535, 140 L.E.2d 685. Where
both sides used the same oratical flair, the Court cannot
fathom how this amounts to prosecutorial misconduct.

App. 10

Defendant’s final challenge is also derived from the
above text and focuses on the reference to Defendant's
choice not to testify. This passing statement did not imply
Defendant was guilty based on his unwillingness to tes-
tify, and thus, did not violate his constitutional right
against self-incrimination. Commonwealth v. Kelly, 528
A.2d 1346 (Pa.Super. 1987), alloc. denied, 535 A.2d 1057
(Pa. 1987).

Rather, the remarks were proper rebuttal to the argu-
ments of defense counsel. During closing argument, the
defense focussed on Defendant’s decision to not testify,
the victim’s lack of credibility and the limited amount of
testimony presented by the prosecution. The prosecuting
attorney properly responded by referring to the fact that
the dirth of eyewitnesses in the bedroom was due to the
hidden nature of sexual abuse.

Additionally, this Court properly instructed the jury
on Defendant’s absolute right to not take the stand, from
which the jury could draw no inference of guilt.
N.T.6/9/98 at 133. The Court further advised them that
Defendant is presumed innocent and need not present
any evidence, because the burden of proof is on the
prosecution to prove each and every element of the
offenses. Id. at 118-119 and 133. Therefore, any prejudice
to Defendant was mitigated by these instructions.

INEFFECTIVENESS OF TRIAL COUNSEL

The standard of review when evaluating a claim of
ineffectiveness of counsel is well settled. It is presumed
that trial counsel is effective and defendant has the bur-
den of proving otherwise. Commonwealth v. Lewis, 708

App. 11

A.2d 497 (Pa.Super. 1998), alloc. denied, __ A.2d ___ (Pa.
1998) (citations omitted). The first determination is
whether the issue underlying the claim is of arguable
merit. Id. If the claim is without merit, then the inquiry
ends because counsel will not be deemed ineffective for
failing to pursue an issue without basis. Id. Even if the
underlying claim has merit, the defendant must establish
that the course of action chosen by counsel had no rea-
sonable basis designed to effectuate the client’s interests
and, finally, that the ineffectiveness prejudiced his right
to a fair trial. Id.

On October 19, 1998, a hearing was held on the issue
of the trial attorneys’ effectiveness. Although the Court
has not set forth separate findings of fact and conclusions
of law, we believe that this portion of the discussion
clearly enunciates the facts adduced from the hearing and
the legal conclusions derived therefrom.

Defendant first claims the defense team was ineffec-
tive by pursuing a character defense, instead of an alibi.
At the hearing, the trial attorneys, Michael Garfield and
Robert Yurchak, testified credibly to discussing the possi-
ble defenses with McClure. Ultimately, a character
defense was chosen, which would present McClure as an
honest family man based on his lack of a criminal record,
his good reputation in the community and his consistent
denial of the charges.

In addition, the defense attorneys had rejected an
alibi defense, because McClure admitted to being present
in the victims’ home during the years in question,
although he denied committing the crimes. Therefore, the
real issue was not whether Defendant was somewhere

App. 12

else when the crimes occurred, see Commonwealth v.
Kolenda, 676 A.2d 1187 (Pa. 1996), but whether the jury
would believe the victim’s version of events. The defense
strategy of emphasizing Defendant’s good character,
inferring it was unlikely that he committed any of the
offenses, was thus a reasonable one.

When presenting this defense at trial, Defendant
asserts that more than four character witnesses should
have been called to testify. The defense informed the
Court and the jury that there were many character wit-
nesses in the courtroom willing to testify. However, the
Court limited the presentation, because it would be
cumulative. N.T. 6/9/98 at 81. These four character wit-
nesses lived near McClure, and included an ex-police
officer/ex-Marine and three co-workers from the com-
pany where Defendant had worked for many years. The
Court properly instructed the jury that the testimony of
the character witnesses alone could raise a reasonable
doubt and justify a verdict of not guilty. N.T. 6/9/98 at
133-134. Therefore, the presentation of the character
defense was more than adequate and did not constitute
ineffectiveness of counsel.

McClure next states that his work schedule should
have been offered into evidence to disprove the alleged
frequency of the crimes. However, his attorneys found
many time gaps in it, including weekends and vacations,
which were consistent with the girls’ account. Thus, the
work schedule was of limited evidentiary value, if not
harmful to the defense.

Related to this issue is trial counsels’ alleged ineffec-
tiveness for failing to call certain witnesses. In order to

App. 13

establish that trial counsel was ineffective for failing to
call witnesses, a petitioner must:

(1) identify the witness or witnesses;

(2) demonstrate that counsel actually
knew, or had a duty to know, the identity of the
witness or witnesses prior to trial;

{3) demonstrate that the witnesses or wit-
nesses were ready, willing and able to testify for
the defense at trial; and

(4) demonstrate that the proposed testi-
mony would have been helpful to the defense
asserted at trial.

Commonwealth v. Schultz, 707 A.2d 513, 519 (Pa.Super.
1997).

First, McClure claims his wife should have been
called to fill in the gaps in his work schedule. However,
the wife could not account for much of the time, because
her husband often spent weekends alone in Easton, Penn-
sylvania, approximately an hour from the scene of the
crime.

In addition, Defendant asserts his wife should have
been called as a character witness and to recount that no
abuse occurred when they twice visited the victims’ home
together. Defendant's exercise of self-control in his wife’s
presence was of limited value in showing no abuse dur-
ing the visits when she was not there. Her worth as a
character witness was also compromised by her natural
bias as Defendant's spouse. Thus, the relevance and help-
fulness of the wife’s testimony is questionable, and no
ineffectiveness can attach in not calling her.

App. 14

Defendant next argues his trial attorneys were inef-
fective in failing to call him to testify at trial. The decision
whether to testify is ultimately to be made by the accused
after consultation with counsel. Commonwealth v. Whitney,
708 A.2d 471 (Pa. 1998). Trial counsel is not ineffective
where the decision to not call defendant was reasonable.
Id.

At the hearing on the Post-Sentence Motion, McClure
admitted to discussing the pros and cons of testifying at
trial with his attorneys. Although testifying would have
allowed him to deny the accusations directly to the jury, it
would have opened the chosen defense to attack. Speci-
fically, Mcclure could have been cross-examined about his
admissions to the police of a sexual relationship with the
victims’ mother, who was also the purported common
law wife of his friend and co-conspirator. This evidence
would have contradicted McClure’s claim of good charac-
ter for chastity and respect for family values.

In addition, testifying could have drawn attention to
McClure’s repeated visits to the victims’ home. This
would have given rise to contemplation as to why he
continued a relationship with the father, even visiting
him in prison while standing accused in the present case.
Therefore, it was reasonable to not call McClure to the
stand based on his relationship with the victims’ family,
the character defense, and the decision being left to
McClure after full discussion with his trial attorneys.
Further, as discussed supra, the Court advised the jury

that no inference of guilt could be drawn from Defen-
dant’s decision to not testify. N.T. 6/9/98 at 133.

App. 15

McClure also asserts the defense should have called
Pat Lennox, Crystal Mervin and his step-daughter to
testify at trial. Not only did Defendant fail to demon-
strate their willingness and availability to testify, he
merely posits questions or theorizes about what they
might have stated. Without knowing the content of their
proposed testimony, this Court cannot determine its rele-
vance and value to the case.

Similar to this claim, Defendant argues that the
defense should have investigated his case more thor-
oughly, but points to no evidence of an exculpatory or
helpful nature, which would have been found. Accord-
ingly, since both claims are based on pure conjecture, the
Court can find no merit in them.

In his next allegation of ineffectiveness, McClure
states the defense’s closing argument failed to properly
survey or attack the evidence. In closing argument, Attor-
ney Garfield argued against the credibility of the victims.
He also highlighted the role of Defendant’s good charac-
ter and the Commonwealth’s burden of proving the
charges beyond a reasonable doubt. N.T. 6/9/98 at
88-101. Since these were the key issues, the content of
closing argument was reasonable, even if brief.

The final issue is the allegation of counsels’ ineffec-
tiveness in failing to properly respond to adverse pretrial
publicity. Specifically, McClure asserts the defense should
have: 1) questioned the potential jurors about the adverse
impact of any pretrial publicity; and 2) filed a motion to
change venue and venire.

First, McClure’s attorneys did, in fact, ask the jury
pool whether they had heard or read about the case in the

App. 16

newspaper, radio or television. N.T. 6/8/98 at 20. Only
one juror responded affirmatively and he, ultimately, was
not selected for the jury. Id. at 20-21 & 31-32. The Court
further advised the selected jurors to avoid learning of
the case from the media, since they must decide the case
solely on the evidence presented in court. N.T. 6/8/98 at
32.

Secondly, there was no actual prejudice preventing
the impaneling of an impartial jury, because only one
potential juror had even heard of the case, and he was not
chosen. Commonwealth v. Ricci, 670 A.2d 1129, 1140 (Pa.
1996), cert. denied, __ U.S. __, 117 S.Ct. 1257, 137 L.E.2d
[sic] 337. Also, McClure failed to present any evidence of
pretrial publicity, let alone sensational, inflammatory, or
slanted coverage. Thus this issue also lacks arguable
merit.

Accordingly, we enter the following

ORDER OF COURT

AND NOW, this 20th day of November, 1998, upon
consideration of Defendant’s Original and Supplemental
Post-Sentence Motions, the submissions of the parties,
and after argument held, it is hereby

ORDERED and DECREED that the Motions are
DENIED.

BY THE COURT:
/s/ R. Webb

Db Bian OER

App. 17

NOTICE OF RIGHTS

The following notice is provided to advise the Defendant:

i

Of the right to appeal to the Pennsylvania Superior
Court from the judgment of sentence and such appeal
must be filed within 30 days from the entry of this
order disposing of Defendant’s Post-Sentence
Motions, Pa.R.A.P. Rules 108 & 903;

Of the right to raise any issue properly preserved in
the record below, whether or not included in the Post-
Sentence Motions unless otherwise provided by law;

Of the right to assistance of legal counsel in the
preparation of the appeal;

Of the rights to proceed informa pauperis and to have
an attorney appointed to assist in preparation of the
appeal, if the Defendant is indigent; and

That the right to bail after sentencing, when the sen-
tence imposed includes imprisonment of 2 years or
more, is within the discretion of the judge. Pa.R.Cr.P.
Rule 4009(B) (1).

App. 18

APPENDIX B

COMMONWEALTH OF : IN THE SUPERIOR

PENNSYLVANIA, - COURT OF
A : PENNSYLVANIA
ppellee
V. .
EDGAR D. McCLURE, : No. 38 EDA 1999
Appellant ;

Appeal from the Judgment of Sentence, July 17, 1998,
In the Court of Common Pleas of Carbon County,
Criminal, No. 260 CR 96

BEFORE: CAVANAUGH, JOYCE, and OLSZEWSKI, JJ.
MEMORANDUM:

FILLED AUG 2 1999

This matter is before the Court on Edgar D.
McClure’s (Appellant) appeal from the judgment of sen-
tence of the trial court, as made final by the denial of
post-sentencing motions.’ For the following reasons, we
affirm. The tragic facts of this case were accurately set
forth by the trial court:

1 See Commonwealth v. Chamberlain 658 A.2d 395, 397 (Pa.
Super. 1995), appeal quashed, 543 Pa. 6, 669 A.2d 877 (1995) and
Pa.R.Crim.P. 1410 and comment thereto (providing that
judgment of sentence becomes final for purposes of appeal
when the trial court disposes of defendant’s post-sentencing
motion).

nani

App. 19

The facts . . . begin with the dysfunction of the
family of the victims, [M.O.]? and [J.O.], born on
November 28, 1979 and October 28, 1985,
respectively. The girls have never been married,
and are two of the twelve children born to par-
ents Brian and Susan O’Neill. N.T. 6/9/98 at
17-18, 31, 47 & 55. The dysfunction began with
Brian subjecting Susan and the Children to
physical abuse, id. at 19-21 & 48-49, and esca-
lated to his use of threats and beatings to force
[M.O.] and [J.O.] to engage in sexual acts with
him and with other men. Id. at 19-30 & 49-55.
Neither girl understood the nature or wrongful-
ness of the sexual

+ * *

—_

On July 17, 1998, the trial judged sentenced Appellant to

an aggregate sentence of nineteen (19) to thirty-eight (38)
years. Appellant filed post-sentence motions. Following a
hearing, the trial judge denied Appellant’s post-sentence
motions. This timely appeal followed.

Appellant presents the following issues for our con-
sideration: (1) whether the verdict finding Appellant
guilty of conspiracy was against the weight and suffi-
ciency of the evidence; (2) whether the trial court erred in
failing to find prosecutorial misconduct; and (3) whether
the trial court erred in failing to find ineffectiveness of
counsel.

In this case, we have thoroughly reviewed the record
and studied the briefs. We conclude that the trial court’s
November 20, 1998 opinion carefully and correctly

2 We will identify the victims by using their initials for
purposes of confidentiality.

App. 20

responds to the issues Appellant has raised. We therefore
adopt the trial court opinion in its entirety and affirm on
that basis. See Trial Court Opinion, 11/20/98.

Judgment of sentence affirmed.

App. 21

COMMONWEALTH OF : IN THE SUPERIOR

PENNSYLVANIA, - COURT OF
a : PENNSYLVANIA
ppellee
V.
Gk D. watts, CO ee
Appellant

Appeal from the Judgment of Sentence, July 17, 1998,
In the Court of Common Pleas of Carbon County,
Criminal, No. 260 CR 96

BEFORE: CAVANAUGH, JOYCE, and OLSZEWSKI, JJ.

JUDGMENT

ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, it is now here
ordered and adjudged by this Court that the judgment of the
Court of Common Pleas of CARBON County be, and the same
is hereby AFFIRMED.

BY THE COURT:

/s/ David A. Szewczak
PROTHONOTARY

Dated: AUGUST 2, 1999

App. 22

APPENDIX C

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA
MIDDLE DISTRICT

COMMONWEALTH OF : No. 866 M.D. Allocatur

PENNSYLVANIA, : Docket 1999
Respondent , Petition for Allowance of
" ' Appeal from the Superior
Court

EDGAR D. McCLURE,

Petitioner

ORDER
(Filed Jan. 14, 2000)
PER CURIAM:

AND NOW, this 13th day of January 2000, the peti-
tion for allowance of appeal is denied.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_0887%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
