# Reply Brief — D. H. L. Associates, Inc. v. O'Gorman

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_0768%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2000
- **Citation:** 529 U.S. 1110

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.
(4 FILED
‘APR 2 6 700
No. 99-1536
ChWHRK

IN THE LANE SS RE SE RO ER RON ci - OED J

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

D.H.L. ASSOCIATES, INC.,

Petitioner,
v.

JOHN O’GORMAN, ETAL.,

Respondents.
ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

PETITIONER’S REPLY TO BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

*WILLIAM C. NEWMAN
THOMAS J. MCCORMICK
LESSER, NEWMAN, SOUWEINE
& NASSER
39 Main Street
Northampton, Massachusetts 01060
(413) 584-7331

*Counsel of Record

BATEMAN & SLADE, INC. BOSTON, MASSACHUSETTS

TABLE OF CONTENTS
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ..........00-0-0-0-000.. ii

i. A Decision in Petitioner’s Favor on
the State Law Issues Would Resolve
the Entire Case, Including Claims
for Attorneys’ Fees and Costs, With-
out the Need to Address the Federal
Constitutional Questions. ........................ 2

IT. The State Constitutional Questions
Are Either Novel or Involve An Un-
settled Area of Law, and Therefore,
Are Appropriate Issues for Certifica-
tion, Otherwise Both the District
Court and the Court of Appeals
Would Have Decided Them. ..................... 3

Il. The Court of Appeals Applied the

. Wrong Standard to Determine
Whether the Federal Constitutional
Issues Should Be Decided While
Leaving Open for Adjudication by
the State Courts the State Issues
Which May Be Dispositive and
Would Render the Federal Opinion
PS this inensticaubitensabindasiiekian corasiedSaccecsea: 4

Be ote OL NE )

ll
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES:

A.F.M., Ltd. v. City of Medford,
428 Mass. 1020, 704 N.E.2d 184

(2990) ..:iccccsacsmunteuasneeelaee aes

Arizonans for Official English v. Arizona,

520 U.S. 43 (1997) o..ceccccsccsscesseeseeees

Clay v. Sun Insurance Office,

963 U.S. 207 19GUN ccserceliccces

Crane v. Commissioner of Public Welfare,
400 Mass. 46, 507 N.E.2d 751

(1Q9BT) cccciaconscaante enema

Johnson v. Commissioner of Public Wel-
fare, 419 Mass. 185, 643 N.E.2d

444 (1990) cscudaccc ee
Maher v. Gagne, 448 U.S. 122 (1980) ........

Michigan v. Long, 463 U.S. 1031 (1983) ....

T & D Video v. City of Revere,
423 Mass. 577, 670 N.E.2d 162

(ROWED ocxrsaseccucans ene eta

OI clin ts tinea tthitn teas nibh ne

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND CODES:

United States Constitution

First AMeENAMENL ............cececeneeeeeeeeeeeseoers
Massachusetts Declaration of Rights

I oa icidakxviatdnnsinsedewerVanaddeeaeaurnehetnans
United States Code

BD U.S.C. FB UGGS 2... nccccecsvccceccecscsccccsscsncees

:
a
3
P
‘
;
2

PETITIONER’S REPLY TO BRIEF IN

OPPOSITION

In this Reply, the petitioner responds to three
arguments made by the respondents in their Brief
in Opposition (“Opposition”) that are claimed to
support the decision of the federal courts to ad-
dress the federal constitutional claims and with-
hold decision on the potentially dispositive state
claims that may render the federal decision advi-

SOry:

(1)

(2)

(3)

that a claim for attorneys’ fees re-
quires a federal court to decide fed-
eral constitutional questions on
which the court otherwise would ab-
stain, Opposition, pp. 15-16;

that it was proper for the federal
courts to decline to certify the state
issues because the questions were
settled and not novel, Opposition, pp.
6-10; and

that the jurisdictional standard in
Michigan v. Long governs certification.
Opposition, pp. 13-15.

* i.

I. A Decision in Petitioner’s Favor on the
State Law Issues Would Resolve the En-
tire Case, Including Claims for Attor-
neys’ Fees and Costs, Without the Need
to Address the Federal Constitutional
Questions.

The respondents contend that certifying the
state constitutional questions to the Massachu-
setts Supreme Judicial Court would “not obviate
the need for adjudication of the federal questions
. . . [because] DHL would have to succeed in its
federal claims to obtain an award of attorneys
[sic] fees and costs... .” Opposition, p.15. This
contention simply is wrong as a matter of law.

When a case involves both state and 42 U.S.C.
§ 1983 claims, a plaintiff is entitled to an award of
attorneys’ fees under § 1983 when the case is de-
cided solely on the basis of a state claim as long
as the federal claims are substantial and arise out
of a “common nucleus of operative fact.” Maher v.
Gagne, 448 U.S. 122, 132 n.15 (1980)(citations
omitted). Johnson v. Commissioner of Public Wel-
fare, 419 Mass. 185, 187, 643 N.E.2d 444
(1994)(same); Crane v. Commissioner of Public
Welfare, 400 Mass. 46, 49-50, 507 N.E.2d 751
(1987)(same).!

1 Like certification, the Maher rule furthers the goal of
vindicating rights “without undermining the longstanding
judicial policy of avoiding unnecessary decision of impor-
tant constitutional issues.” Maher, 448 U.S. at 133 (cita-
tions omitted).

Here, the federal courts and the parties all
agree that the state and federal constitutional
claims arise from the same operative facts and
that the latter claims are substantial. Accord-
ingly, if the state constitutional law questions
were reached and resolved in the petitioner’s fa-
vor, the entire case — including the attorneys’
fees issue — would be resolved without the need
for any court to address the federal constitutional
questions.

II. The State Constitutional Questions Are
Either Novel or Involve An Unsettled
Area of Law, and Therefore, Are Appro-
priate Issues for Certification, Otherwise
Both the District Court and the Court of
Appeals Would Have Decided Them.

After reaching the First Amendment issues, the
district court remanded the state constitutional
questions to the state courts for adjudication.
The respondents did not contest this order, and
the Court of Appeals let it stand.

Accordingly, the respondents’ claim that the
State issues are neither novel nor unsettled is
clearly frivolous. If the issues were clear and set-
tled, the lower federal courts would have decided
them. Clay v. Sun Insurance Office, 363 U.S. 207,
209-10 (1960).

Indeed, District Court Judge Keeton explained
during the trial of this case that he was reluctant
to decide the case on state constitutional grounds
precisely because Massachusetts’ article 16 juris-

prudence in this area of adult entertainment is
unsettled. Petition for a Writ of Certiorari (“Peti-
tion”), pp. 8-9, Appendix, p. 75a.?

III. The Court of Appeals Applied the Wrong
Standard to Determine Whether the Fed-
eral Constitutional Issues Should Be De-
cided While Leaving Open for Adjudica-
tion by the State Courts the State Issues
Which May Be Dispositive and Would
Render the Federal Opinion Advisory.

In its decision, the Court of Appeals stated
without citation that “[b]ecause we are not con-
vinced that state law provides an independent
and sufficient basis for deciding the case,” the
district court did not err by declining to certify the
state law questions. Petition Appendix at 25a.
The phrase “independent and sufficient basis” ar-
guably conjures up the jurisdictional standard of
Michigan v. Long, 463 U.S. 1031 (1983), where
this Court articulated the test for determining
whether the federal courts should exercise juris-
diction over a federal question when a state’s

2 The respondents also mention timeliness. Opposition, .
pp. 2, 16-17. The remand and certification motions were
decided on the merits. Timeliness was not a consideration.
In any event, the motions were timely, prompted by the de-
cisions of the Supreme Judicial Court in T & D Video v. City
of Revere, 423 Mass. 577, 670 N.E.2d 162 (1996) and
A.F.M., Ltd. v. City of Medford, 428 Mass. 1020, 704 N.E.2d
184 (1999), which were decided two and five years, respec-
tively, after this case was filed by the petitioner in state
court and removed to federal court by the respondents.

highest court has decided the case arguably un-
der both state and federal law grounds. Long
held that a federal court may not reach the fed-
eral question in such circumstances if the state
court’s state law decision is based on adequate
and independent state. grounds appearing plainly
in its written decision.

In their brief, the respondents faulted the peti-
tioner for failing to mention the Long standard in
its Petition. Opposition, pp. 13-14. Long’s hold-
ing, however, has no application to the present
case. The tests for certification are the related
threshold questions whether the state law issues
are unsettled and whether resolution of the state
law questions may dispose of the case, Arizonans
for Official English v. Arizona, 520 U.S. 43, 78-79
(1997) — not whether the state law provides an
adequate and independent basis for deciding the
case. No basis for certification exists if the state
law is reasonably clear. The federal court simply
would, as all federal courts routinely do, decide
the state claim. By applying the Long test to the
certification question, the Court of Appeals erred.

CONCLUSION.

For the above reasons, and for the reasons
Stated in its Petition, the petitioner respectfully
requests that this Court grant certiorari to resolve
the important question of when federal courts
should decide federal constitutional issues, but

leave unresolved for remand the potentially dis-
positive state law claims.

Respectfully submitted,

The Petitioner,
by its attorneys,

*WILLIAM C. NEWMAN
THOMAS J. MCCORMICK
LESSER, NEWMAN, SOUWEINE
& NASSER
39 Main Street
Northampton, Massachusetts 01060
(413) 584-7331

*Counsel of Record

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_0768%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
