# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Blakeney v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_0696%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2000
- **Citation:** 529 U.S. 1055

## Text

P ’ SuUOr ne Court, U.S.

No.
Jrrivc Vb THE Cire

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

ROY BLAKENEY,
Petitioner,
vs.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the
Sixth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

FREDERICK F. COHN

601 S. LaSalle Street
Suite 700

Chicago, IL 60605

(312) 641-0692

Attorney for Petitioner

o-—---_--—_

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. IS THE INTEREST OF SOCIETY
(ENCOMPASSED IN THE 4TH AMENDMENT TO THE
U.S. CONSTITUTION] TO INSURE THAT
SEARCHES OF HOMES ARE CONDUCTED PURSUANT
TO WARRANTS, VIOLATED BY HOLDING THAT A
PERSON'S RIGHT TO A HEARING [ENCOMPASSED
IN THE DUE PROCESS CLAUSE OF THE 5TH
AMENDMENT TO THE U.S. CONSTITUTION], TO
ASCERTAIN WHETHER A LAW ENFORCEMENT
OFFICER ~- WHO MADE A VERY FACTUALLY
WRONG STATEMENT IN A WARRANT APPLICATION
~ THEREBY LIED, OR WAS RECKLESS, OR MADE
AN INNOCENT MISTAKE, IS SATISFIED BY
PERMITTING A COURT TO DENY AN
EVIDENTIARY HEARING [ENCOMPASSED IN THE
CONFRONTATION CLAUSE OF THE 6TH
AMENDMENT TO THE U.S. CONSTITUTION], AND
TO JUST SPECULATE AS TO WHETHER THE
OFFICER LIED, OR RECKLESSLY DISREGARDED
THE TRUTH, OR MADE AN INNOCENT MISTAKE?

2. IS THIS DECISION BY SPECULATION /
ASSUMPTION, IN VIOLATION OF THE DUE
PROCESS REQUIREMENT THAT WHEN THERE IS A
FACTUAL DISPUTE IN COLLATERAL
PROCEEDINGS ATTACKING THE CONSTITUTIONAL,
BASIS OF A CONVICTION, EVIDENCE SHOULD
BE HEARD - AND THUS, IN CONFLICT WITH
SUCH DECISIONS OF THIS COURT AS
Machibroda v. United States, 368 U.S.
487, 7 L.Ed.2da 473 (1962), AND Anderson
v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 91
L.Ed.2d 202 (1986), AND IN CONFLICT WITH
THE 7th CIRCUIT IN Castillo v. United
States, 34 F.3d 443 (7 Cir. 1994)?

Te

ii

3. SHOULD THE RULE IN Franks v.
Delaware, 438 U.S. 154, 57 L.Ed.2d 667
(1978), THAT THERE IS NO NEED FOR A
HEARING, UNLESS THE WARRANT APPLICATION,
ABSENT THE FALSE STATEMENT, IS
INSUFFICIENT FOR A FINDING OF PROBABLE
CAUSE, BE LIMITED, WHERE THE BLATANT
MISSTATEMENT OF FACT IS CAUSED BY A LAW
ENFORCEMENT OFFICER'S DELIBERATE LIE OR
RECKLESS DISREGARD FOR THE TRUTH?

iii

PARTIES INVOLVED

Petitioner, Roy Blakeney, was the
defendant in the United States District
Court for the Eastern District of
Kentucky, London Division, and the
appellant in the United States Court of
Appeals for the Sixth Circuit.

Respondent, United States of America,
was the plaintiff in the United States
District Court for the Eastern District
of Kentucky, London Division, and the
appellee in the United States Court of
Appeals for the Sixth Circuit.

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Questions Presented.........cccecceee i
PAPE iOe TVG EVNG isn os ieee sees iii
TAULG OF CORTCENER, 6 cc ehis eevee sedeves 1v
Table of Cited Authorities......... vii
Peaver FOr COPtierar.. viwciscesceeena 1
Opinions and Orders Below............ 1
Jurisdictional Statement... ....cscees 2
Constitutional Provisions.Involved... 2
SEATOMORG GCE THO CAMO. cece esicacvcsun 2
STSCOMONS GE FOCTH. ccc eesevsiseesseas 3
Reasons for Granting Certiorari:.... 11

1. THE INTEREST OF SOCIETY
[ENCOMPASSED IN THE 4TH AMENDMENT TO THE
UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION] TO INSURE
THAT SEARCHES OF HOMES ARE CONDUCTED
PURSUANT TO WARRANTS, IS VIOLATED BY
HOLDING THAT A PERSON'S RIGHT TO A
HEARING [ENCOMPASSED IN THE DUE PROCESS
CLAUSE OF THE 5TH AMENDMENT TO THE
UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION], TO
ASCERTAIN WHETHER A LAW ENFORCEMENT
OFFICER - WHO MADE A VERY FACTUALLY
WRONG STATEMENT IN A WARRANT APPLICATION
~- THEREBY LIED, OR WAS RECKLESS, OR MADE

Vv

AN INNOCENT MISTAKE, I8 SATISFIED BY
PERMITTING A COURT TO DENY AN
EVIDENTIARY HEARING [ENCOMPASSED IN THE
CONFRONTATION CLAUSE OF THE 6TH
AMENDMENT TO THE UNITED STATES
CONSTITUTION], AND TO JUST SPECULATE AS
TO WHETHER THE OFFICER LIED, OR
RECKLESSLY DISREGARDED THE TRUTH, OR
MADE AN INNOCENT MISTAKE..........--. 12

2. THIS DECISION BY SPECULATION/
ASSUMPTION, IS IN VIOLATION OF THE DUE
PROCESS REQUIREMENT THAT WHEN THERE IS A
FACTUAL DISPUTE IN COLLATERAL
PROCEEDINGS ATTACKING THE CONSTITUTIONAL
BASIS OF A CONVICTION, EVIDENCE SHOULD
BE HEARD ~- AND THUS, IN CONFLICT WITH
SUCH DECISIONS OF THIS COURT AS
Machibroda v. United States, 368 U.S.
487, 7 L.Ed.2da 473 (1962), AND Anderson
v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 91
L.Ed.2da 202 (1986), AND IN CONFLICT WITH
THE 7th CIRCUIT IN Castillo v. United
States, 34 F.3d 443 (7 Cir. 1994)... 12

3. THE RULE IN Franks v. Delaware,
438 U.S. 154, 57 L.Ed.2d 667 (1978),
THAT THERE IS NO NEED FOR A HEARING,
UNLESS THE WARRANT APPLICATION, ABSENT
THE FALSE STATEMENT, IS INSUFFICIENT FOR
A FINDING OF PROBABLE CAUSE, SHOULD BE
LIMITED, WHERE THE BLATANT MISSTATEMENT
OF FACT IS CAUSED BY A LAW ENFORCEMENT
OFFICER'S DELIBERATE LIE OR RECKLESS
DISREGARD FOR THE TRUTH...........--- 21

COMMIS O SS 5 oe Cc CE OK Se bee betes eee 30

vi
Appendices:

App. A - Opinion of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit,
No. 98-5021, Roy C. Blakeney v. U.S.,
dated September 21, 1999........ App. 1

App. B - Order of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit,
No. 98-5021, Roy C. Blakeney v. U.S
filed December 1, 1999, denying
rehearing and rehearing en banc. App. 17

App. C - Report and Recommendation of
the Magistrate, U.S. Dist. Ct., E.D.
Ky., London Div., U.S. v. Roy C.
Blakeney, Criminal Case No. 86-6-5-1,
motion to vacate filed as: Civil Case
No. 96-316, filed April 8, 1997. App. 19

App. D - Order of U.S. District
Court, E.D. Ky., London Div., filed
December 8, 1997, U.S. v. Roy C.
Blakeney, Criminal Case No. 86-6-5-1,
motion to vacate filed as: Civil Case
No. 96-316 - denying motion under 28
U.8.Gs- Q 2000s i 5s 05 65h App. 40

App. E - Constitutional Provisions
ENVOLWOR. cc cecessSoccsssssscvduse App. 42

vii

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

Cases

Anderson v. City of Bessemer,
470 U.S. 564,
84 L.Ed.2d 518 (1985)......... 16,

Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc.,
477 U.S. 242,
OF EMSA 262 (39668). 6c ccs ces 15,

Berger v. California, 393 U.S. 314,
Si 0.08. 26 SOG. (2980) .isc ck. 15,

Buffalo v. Sunn, 854 F.2d 1158
ie Cae, Shs 61540kest seuss ee eas

California v. Green, 399 U.S. 149,
26 %. 06.26 489 (1970). ccc cscs: 15,

Castillo v. United States,
34 F.3d 443 (7 Cir. 1994). 15, 16,

Clark v. Procunier, 755 F.2d 394
(S Cir. 1988) ccccccvccsccscsccecsee

Franks v. Delaware, 438 U.S. 154,
57 L.E@.2da 667 (1978). 13, 18, 21,

Fuentes v. Shevin, 407 U.S. 67,
te aes ) oe eer reer

Illinois v. Gates, 462 U.S. 213,
Re Se BT Rs | ee ere

In re Murchison, 349 U.S. 133,
POEs. BER LIOOG) 6 vic kdne edcewcs

viii

Johnson v. United States, 333 U.S. 10,
S92 Lhe Bs 436 CODES) 2 cc ccve 18, 20, 22

Machibroda v. United States,
368 U.S. 487,
7 0.06.90 473. (5062) 05.255. 15, 18-19

Mapp v. Ohio, 367 U.S. 643,
S bs BG.2G LOC1L (1961) oc cccvacsacecs 20

Mullane v. Central Hanover Bank &
7a. Co., 339. 0.8. 306,
me Geass BOe CEOS) nhs ewe adeeeess 13

Olmstead v. United States,
277 U.S. 438, 485,
72 L.Ed. 944, 959 (1928)
(Brandeis, J., dissenting)........ 20

Payton v. New York, 445 U.S. 573,
63 L.Ed.2d 639 (1980) ‘a, 2

Pointer v. Texas, 380 U.S. 400,
£3 1..86.2@ 923 (1965) viccciaas ao, 23

State v. Federici, 179 Conn. 46,
635 A. SE S28 VASTS) 6 2634 <5kss eee ee 25

United States v. Alvarez,
L277 F.38 372 (3 Cats 1997). 4625 eee I8

United States v. Blakeney, 942 F.2d 1001
C6 Cah ZOPR oc baczs seoavece 2, POSSin

United States v. Cortina,
G30 7.86 S007 47 CaSs . 2906) ci ickinces 9

ix

United States v. Greene,
782 F.2G: 4366 (9- Cifs 29606). ..600% 25

United States v. Johnson, et al., No.
93-180-CR-T-24(C) (M.D. Fla. 1995). 5

United States v. Lefkowitz,
285 U.S. 452,
76 2508. B77. (2038)... 26, 16,26; 21

United States v. Mejia, 69 F.3d 309
Oe BOE Ue eek es awe acule 16

United States v. Shavers,
224 F.2G 2094 (8 Cir. 1975) ..ccece 25

Waller v. Georgia, 467 U.S. 39,
3 oe RS ae ees ere 13

Ward v. Lockhart, 841 F.2d 844
oe COs Be 543 ws koh neue & 6 eee 29

Constitutional Provisions and Statutes

UsS, CONSE. , OMONG. 4. 66 vic ca 2, passim

U.S. Const., amend. 5
eee Se ee eee 2, passim

U.S. Const., amend. 6 (confrontation;

right to be present)........ 2, passim
ae AAs Se ee bes eo wk ee eee kee 2
RP ia RS oie i ei io ee AK 2

oe Wess SB BOGS cai iiee cae 3, passim

Other Authority

2 LAFAVE, SEARCH AND SEIZURE, A TREATISE ON THE
FOURTH AMENDMENT
$ 3.4(e) at 249 (34-64. 1996)...14-25

Orfield, Deterrence, Perjury, and the
Heater Factor: An Exclusionary Rule
in the Chicago Criminal Courts,

63 U. CoLo. L. REV. 131 (1992)..... ae

5 WIGMORE, EVIDENCE § 1367
(3G O60. 1960) icc dies cee ekian -esees 2D

‘eiaiaiaael

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
SIXTH CIRCUIT

Petitioner, Roy Blakeney (defendant)
prays that a writ of certiorari issue to
review the judgment of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit,
affirming the judgment of the United
States District Court for the Eastern
District of Kentucky, London Division.

Opinions and Orders Below

The Opinion of the United States
Court of Appeals for the 6th Circuit,
No. 98-5021, dated September 21,\ 1999 ~
(not published, per Circuit Rule 206),
affirming the District Court's judgment
filed December 8, 1997, denying the
petition pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 2255
and dismissing the matter with prejudice
(App. D, pp. App. 40-41), is set out at
App. A, pp. App. 1-16. On December 1,
1999, the 6th Circuit entered its Order
[unpublished] denying petitioner's
timely-filed petition for rehearing with
suggestion for rehearing en banc. (App.
B; pp. App. 17-18)

On December 8, 1997, the District
Court filed its Order (App. D, pp. App.
40-41), accepting the Report and
Recommendations of the Magistrate filed
April 8, 1997. (App. c, pp. App. 19-39)

The Opinion of the 6th Circuit,

affirming petitioner's conviction and
sentence on direct appeal, United States
v. Blakeney, is reported at 942 F.2d
1001 (6 Cir. 1991).

Jurisdictional Statement

On September 21, 1999, the 6th
Circuit filed its Opinion. (App. Aj; pp.
App. 1-16) Timely-filed petition for
rehearing with suggestion for rehearing
en banc, was denied December 1, 1999.
(App. B; pp. App. 17-18) This Petition
is timely filed within 90 days.

Jurisdiction is invoked under 28
U.S.C. § 1254(1).

Constitutional Provisions Involved

U.S. Const., Amends. IV, V and VI,
set out at App. E, p. App. 42.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Jurisdiction in the court of first
instance [with respect to the underlying
judgment in Criminal Case No. 86-6-6-5-
1} is based on 18 U.S.C. § 3231, which
provides that the district courts of the
United States shall have original

The appeal proceeded after the 6th
Circuit (via Order filed September 23,
1998), granted petitioner's application
for a certificate of appealability.

jurisdiction of all offenses against the
laws of the United States. This cause
arose initially as a prosecution of
defendant, alleging offenses against the
laws of the United States.

Jurisdiction in the court of first
instance {with respect to the motion to
vacate, filed as Civil Case No. 96-316]
is based on 28 U.S.C. § 2255.

STATEMENT OF FACTS

Petitioner Roy Blakeney (hereafter,
petitioner, defendant, or Blakeney) was
convicted of drug trafficking and
sentenced to 15 years on each count of
the 3-count indictment,’ with the
sentences on counts 2 and 3 concurrent
with one another and consecutive to the
term on Count 1, for a total of 30
years. (R 473, Apx. pg. 66) # The
judgment was affirmed on direct appeal.
United States v. Blakeney, 942 F.2d 1001
(6 Cir. 1991) (hereafter, Blakeney).

Count 1 charged conspiracy re
methamphetamine; count 2, possession
with intent re phenylacetone, and count
3, possession with intent re
methamphetamine.

"R" refers to items in the 6th
Circuit Record on Appeal in the habeas
appeal, and “Apx." to pages of the Re-
Corrected Joint Appendix in that cause.

Subsequently, he filed a Motion to
Vacate under 28 U.S.C. § 2255, averring
(a) that the affidavit for warrant that
resulted in the search and evidence on
which he was convicted, contained a
false statement, that was shown to be
false by the conflicting testimony of
the same agent (Agent Alan Sadowski) on
the same subject in a different federal
criminal trial, and (b) that the false
statement was intentionally false or
made with reckless disregard for the
truth, and that the said statement in
the affidavit for warrant was material
and essential to the finding of probable
cause. (R 473, Apx. pgs. 69, 72-79)

The U.S. Magistrate Judge filed a
Report and Recommendation [hereafter, R
& R} that the sec. 2255 motion be denied
(R 486, R & R, Apx. pgs. 106-116; App.
C, pp. App. 19-39); petitioner filed
objections. (R 487, Apx. pgs. 117-119)

The District Court adopted the R & R,
denying the petition pursuant to 28
U.S.C. § 2255 and dismissing the matter
with prejudice. (R 505, Apx. pg. 105;
App. D, pp. App. 40-41)

Conflicting Sworn Allegations

Agent Sadowski's Affidavit’

* Sadowski's warrant affidavit is

attached to the sec. 2255 Motion. (R

In his affidavit for warrant to
search defendant's residence, Agent Alan
Sadowski averred an affirmative fact -
that Curtis Anderson’ was observed
placing a garbage bag in a dumpster.
Blakeney, 942 F.2d at 1024, 1025.°

Sadowski's Tampa Trial Testimony’

At trial in United States v. Johnson,
et_al., No. 93-180-CR-T-24(C) in the
United States District Court for the
Middle District of Florida, Tampa

473, Apx. pgs. 95-104)

Anderson was a co-defendant with
defendant, both in the Kentucky case and
in the Tampa case. Per the 6th Circuit
direct appeal opinion, evidence as to
the association between Anderson and
defendant was material both to the
finding of probable cause to arrest
defendant, Blakeney, 942 F.2d at 1024,
and to the finding of probable cause to
search defendant's residence. Id. at
1025.

6

The bag was found to contain items
connected to Bakes jewelry store, a
store that had been robbed. Ibid.

Sadowski's Florida trial testimony
is attached to the sec. 2255 Motion. (R
473, Apx. pgs. 80-94)

— eeeeEoEEEeEeEeEeEeee

Division,’ Agent Sadowski on January 10,
1995 testified before the Hon. Susan C.
Bucklew, and a jury, that he did not
observe Anderson place the bag in the
dumpster, but instead, that Anderson was
out of his sight for 6 or 7 minutes.’

(R 473, Apx. pgs. 84-89) This trial
testimony of Sadowski in the Florida
case is diametrically opposed to the
warrant affidavit averments that
"Anderson had been observed dumping a
large plastic garbage bag into a trash
dumpster," Blakeney, 942 F.2d at 1024;
otherwise put, that "Anderson also had
been observed disposing of evidence from
the jewelry robbery in the trash
dumpster .. . in Boca Raton." Id. at
1025. (See R 473, G. App. p. 44, Apx.

pg. 102.)

At the Tampa trial, Sadowski
testified:

"QO. *** It's your testimony
that you did not personally
see him (Curtis Anderson]
place the garbage bag into the

Defendant was convicted in the
Florida case.

A copy of Agent Sadowski's cross-
examination on Jan. 10, 1995, pages 1
through 15, is attached to Blakeney's
sec. 2255 motion, R 473, Apx. pgs. 80-
94.

dumpster?

A. That's correct, I did not
see him do that." (R 473, App.
A, p. 6, lines 21-23, Apx. pg.
85)

Sadowski testified, "From the time he
[Anderson] walked behind the sporting
goods store, reappeared and departed, I
would -- I would guesstimate six, seven
minutes had elapsed." (R 473, Apx. pg.
86)

Sadowski testified that the bag seen
in Anderson's hands was "generic":

"Q. *** Was this what we would
know as a generic black or
green plastic garbage bag?

A. That's correct, yes.

Q. Can you describe it more
specifically than I have?

A. No. It was a, uh, dark
colored, uh, heavy plastic
garbage bag like a Hefty bag
type thing." (R 473, Apx. pg.
85)

Sadowski never testified he could
identify the bag.

He also testified:

"Oo. Okay.

And, in fact, there were
other dumpsters and garbage
cans if you have continued
along behind the buildings; is
that correct?

A. Yes, further -- further
away." (R 473, Apx. pg. 86)

In the Tampa trial, it was called to
Sadowski's attention, and he
acknowledged, that in his affidavit in
Support of the search warrant (R 473,
Apx. pg. 87), it says "that Anderson was
observed taking a large plastic garbage
bag from the trunk of the Cadillac and
placing the bag in a garbage dumpster
behind 5th Avenue shops," (R 473, Apx.
pg. 87); Sadowski acknowledged, "that
what it [his affidavit] says." (R 473,
Apx. pg. 87) Then, the following
question and answer:

"Q. * * * Today you're saying that
you did not actually see him
[Anderson] place the bag into the
dumpster; is that correct?

A. That's correct." (R 473,
Apx. pg. 87)

Sadowski acknowledged that when he
stated in his affidavit that Anderson
was observed placing the bag in the
dumpster, this was an assumption on his

part.

(R 473, Apx. pg. 88)

Sadowski testified further,

"So the assumption on my part was
that he [Anderson] placed it there,
that's correct." (R 473, Apx. pg.
89)

And again:

"Q. * * * But the truth is you
never saw him [Anderson]
actually place the bag in the
dumpster?

A. That's correct." (R 473,
Apx. 89)

Findings Below

The Magistrate made two specific
findings (App. C, pp. App. 36-38) -
adopted by the District Court (App. D,
pp. App. 40-41):

FIRST:

"While petitioner has pointed
out a specific discrepancy in the
sworn testimony and asserted that
the challenged statement in the
affidavit was made with deliberate
or reckless disregard for the
truth, the undersigned does not
find any deliberate falsity in the
affidavit. It appears from the

10

record that the inaccuracy was not
a deliberate lie, but rather a

logical inference under the facts."
(Emphasis added.) (App. C, p. App.

36)

The Magistrate re-stated the same
finding in the CONCLUSION of the R & R:

"(Tjhis Court finds that the
challenged statement by the
FBI agent was an [sic.]
logical assumption and did not
rise to the level of
‘deliberate or reckless
falsity'." (App. C, p. App.
38)

SECOND:

"The undersigned .. . finds
that even if the challenged
statement is omitted from the
August 19, 1989 affidavit,
sufficient facts to find probable
cause are amply demonstrated.

Petitioner points to the Sixth
Circuit Court of Appeals statement
that ‘in the absence of the August
19, 1989 affidavit, the search
Warrant was not supported with
probable cause.' See [United States
v.}] Blakeney, 942 F.2d [1001] at p.

1026 [6 Cir. 1991]. However, the
lone inaccuracy in the August 19,
1989 affidavit does not invalidate
the entire affidavit. . . [E]ven if

ek eh i AR

11

the challenged statement is
omitted, the remaining information
fully supports a finding of
probable cause to issue the search
warrant." (R 486, R&R, p. 10,
Apx. pg. 115; App. C, p. App. 37)

The Magistrate re-stated the same
finding in the CONCLUSION of the R & R:

"(E]ven after examining the
affidavits in detail without the
challenged statement, the
undersigned finds that the
remaining facts recited in the two
affidavits provide sufficient facts
to support a finding of probable
cause to issue the search warrant
for the petitioner's residence."
(App. C, p. App. 38) (Emphasis in
original.)

These findings - reached without an
evidentiary hearing - were adopted by
the District Court without an
evidentiary hearing. (App. D, pp. App.
40-41)

REASONS FOR GRANTING CERTIORARI

1. THE INTEREST OF SOCIETY
([ENCOMPASSED IN THE 4TH AMENDMENT TO THE
U.S. CONSTITUTION] TO INSURE THAT
SEARCHES OF HOMES ARE CONDUCTED PURSUANT
TO WARRANTS, IS VIOLATED BY HOLDING THAT
A PERSON'S RIGHT TO A HEARING
[ENCOMPASSED IN THE DUE PROCESS CLAUSE

12

OF THE STH AMENDMENT TO THE U.S.
CONSTITUTION], TO ASCERTAIN WHETHER A
LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICER - WHO MADE A
VERY FACTUALLY WRONG STATEMENT IN A
WARRANT APPLICATION - THEREBY LIED, OR
WAS RECKLESS, OR MADE AN INNOCENT
MISTAKE, IS SATISFIED BY PERMITTING A
COURT TO DENY AN EVIDENTIARY HEARING
[ENCOMPASSED IN THE CONFRONTATION CLAUSE
OF THE 6TH AMENDMENT TO THE U.S.
CONSTITUTION], AND TO JUST SPECULATE AS
TO WHETHER THE OFFICER LIED, OR
RECKLESSLY DISREGARDED THE TRUTH, OR
MADE AN INNOCENT MISTAKE.

2. THIS DECISION BY SPECULATION/
ASSUMPTION, IS IN VIOLATION OF THE DUE
PROCESS REQUIREMENT THAT WHEN THERE IS A
FACTUAL DISPUTE IN COLLATERAL
PROCEEDINGS ATTACKING THE CONSTITUTIONAL
BASIS OF A CONVICTION, EVIDENCE SHOULD
BE HEARD - AND THUS, IN CONFLICT WITH
SUCH DECISIONS OF THIS COURT AS
Machibroda v. United States, 368 U.S.
487, 7 L.Ed.2d 473 (1962), AND Anderson
v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 91
L.Ed.2d 202 (1986), AND IN CONFLICT WITH
THE 7th CIRCUIT IN Castillo v. United
States, 34 F.3d 443 (7 Cir. 1994).

The process by which search warrants
are obtained - ex parte hearing - is an
exception to the norm; as a rule,
judicial decisions concerning rights of

13

citizens must be made, in the open,’
after a hearing,’’ where both the
prosecution and the defense have the
right to contest, by examination, the
credibility and accuracy of what a
witness asserts. This being so, when
there is a major discrepancy between
what a witness asserts in his affidavit
for warrant, and what he should know is
the truth - for resolution of the issue
whether he lied, was reckless, or just
made an innocent mistake, this Court
"requires" a hearing: "(T]he Fourth
Amendment requires that a hearing be
held at the defendant's request."
Franks v. Delaware, 438 U.S. 154, 156,
57 L.Ed.2d 667, 672 (1978). (Emphases
added.) *’

'° See In re Murchison, 349 U.S.

133, 99 L.Ed. 942 (1955); Waller v.
Georgia, 467 U.S. 39, 81 L.Ed.2d 31
(1984) (right to public trial applies to
hearing on motion to suppress evidence).

'' Mullane v. Central Hanover Bank &

sckues £6. ,° 339 0.8: 306, 314, 94 L.Ed.
865, 873 (1950); Fuentes v. Shevin, 407
U.S. 67, 90 n.21, 32 L.8d.24 556, 575
n.21 (1972).

12

More fully stated:

"([Wje hold that, where the
defendant makes a substantial
preliminary showing that a false

14

Because, as this Court held in
Franks, a defendant has a burden to
prove by a preponderance of evidence,
that in making the false statement in
the warrant affidavit, the law
enforcement officer lied intentionally,
or acted with reckless disregard for the
truth - as opposed to making an innocent
mistake - the Fourth Amendment's hearing
requirement as per Franks must be just

statement knowingly and
intentionally, or with reckless
disregard for the truth, was
included by the affiant in the
warrant affidavit, and if the
allegedly false statement is
necessary to the finding of
probable cause, the Fourth
Amendment requires that a hearing
be held at the defendant's request.
In the event that at that hearing
the allegation of perjury of
reckless disregard is established
by the defendant by a preponderance
of the evidence, and, with the
affidavit's false material set to
one side, the affidavit's remaining
content is insufficient to
establish probable cause, the
search warrant must be voided and
the fruits of the search excluded
to the same extent as if probable
cause was lacking on the face of
the affidavit." Id. at 155-56, 57
L.Ed.2d at 672. (Emphases added.)

Ae LS a TO

|

i a'r

25

that - a hearing, which includes
defendant's right to make inquiry of the
officer by cross- examination, the
"greatest legal engine ever invented for
the discovery of truth." California v.
Green, 399 U.S. 149, 158, 26 L.Ed.2a
489, 497 (1970), quoting 5 WIcMorE,
EVIDENCE § 1367 (3d ed. 1940). Cross-
examination has a significant effect on
the "integrity of the fact-finding
process." Berger v. California, 393 U.S.
314, 315, 21 L.Ed.2d 508, 510 (1969).
"INJo one experienced in the trial of
lawsuits, would deny the value of cross-
examination in exposing falsehood and
bringing out the truth... ." Pointer
v. Texas, 380 U.S. 400, 404, 13 L.Ed.2a
923, 926 (1965).

Here, the Magistrate found, and the
District Court concurred, that the FBI
Agent's "inaccuracy" was a "logical
inference" or "logical assumption" and
not a deliberate or reckless falsehood,
and denied a hearing. (App. C, pp. App.
36, 38; App. D, pp. App. 40- -41)

This decision by speculation/
assumption, violates due process, which
requires that when there is a factual
dispute, evidence should be heard,
Machibroda v. United States, 368 U.S.
487, 7 L.Ed.2da 473 tr: Anderson v.
Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 91
L.Ed.2d 202 (1986); ‘Castillo Vv. United
States, 34 F.3d 443 (7 Cir. 1994), and
that testimony should be taken where

16

factual disputes exist. Castillo v.
United States, supra; accord, Buffalo v.
Sunn, 854 F.2d 1158 (9 Cir. 1988).

The importance of live testimony in
determining credibility, due to "matters
that cannot be gleaned from a written
transcript," is underscored in United
States v. Mejia, 69 F.3d 309, 315 (9
Cir. 1995), utilizing principles
recognized and applied by this Court in
Anderson v. City of Bessemer, 470 U.S.
564, 575, 84 L.Ed.2d 518, 529 (1985)
("variations in demeanor and tone of
voice that bear so heavily on the
listener's understanding of and belief
in what is said").

Here, denying petitioner a hearing is
crucial, where there is good reason to
believe that at a hearing, confronting
Agent Sadowski, a competent counsel
could demonstrate the agent's motive to
lie, and that he lied - or, at the very
least, acted with reckless disregard for
the truth. Courts realize that agents
can be overzealous. As this Court has
long recognized, officers, because they
are overzealous, violate citizens'
rights. United States v. Lefkowitz, 285
U.S. 452, 464, 76 L.Ed. 877, 882
(1931). Such overzealousness leads

“Security against unlawful
searches is more likely to be
attained by resort to search

. - ome

17

them to "puff" in warrant applications -
i.e., to be reckless, or downright lie.
See United States v. Cortina, 630 F.2d
1207 (7 Cir. 1980); see also Orfield,
Deterrence, Perjury, and the Heater
Factor: An Exclusionary Rule in the
Chicago Criminal Courts, 63 U. CoLo. L.
REV. 131 (1992).

Here, the very facts (see pp. 3-9,
Supra) militate against the irrational
decision of the Magistrate, upheld by
the District Court and the 6th Circuit.
Those facts are:

Agent Sadowski was an experienced
agent with the FBI. It is an unbalanced
“equation” to equate the real facts (see

pp. 6-9, supra):

seeing Anderson take a bag from his
trunk and disappear behind a
building, where he remained for a
few minutes (at least three) in an
alley where there were back doors
to many businesses and many
dumpsters, hence, a place where
what was found could have been left
by others and what Anderson left
could have been placed into a

warrants than by reliance upon the
caution and sagacity of petty
officers while acting under the
excitement that attends the capture
of persons accused of crime." Ibid.

18

different dumpster (see Apx. 84-
86),

to the false statement in the Affidavit
(see p. 5, supra):

"Anderson was observed taking a
large plastic bag from the trunk of
the Cadillac and placing that Pai
in a garbage dumpster...

(App. A, p-. App. 4; Apx. 87)

And when such statement is made by an
experienced officer, it demonstrates an
officer lying. He is lying to obtain
what he knows he cannot obtain if he
does not lie. It is folly to believe he
was not acting in bad faith. See United
states v. Alvarez, 127 F.3d 372, 375 (5
Cir. 1997).

Finally, because the exclusionary
rule of the Fourth Amendment has as its
purpose, to protect all citizens - to
deny a hearing, where a prima facie
misstatement has been made - is contrary
to the purposes of the Fourth Amendment.
It is contrary to this Court's decisions
favoring warrants, Johnson v. United
states, 333 U.S. 10, 13-14, 92 L.Ed.
436, 440 (1948); United States v.
Lefkowitz, 285 U.S. 452, 464, 76 L.Ed.

, 882 (1931); Payton v. New York, 445
573, 63 L.Ed.2d 639 (1980);

38 U.S. 154, 156, 57 L.Ed.2d 667, 672
(1978); Machibroda v. United States, 368

)
S
requ iring a hearing, Franks v. Delaware,
434
9

19

U.S. 487, 7 L.Ed.2da 473 (1962); Anderson
Vv. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 91
L.Ed.2d 202 (1986); and recognizing the
need for cross-examination, California
Vv. Green, 399 U.S. 149, 158, 26 L.Ed.2d
489, 497 (1970); Berger v. California,
393 U.S. 314, 318, 21 Li 84.24 508, 510
(1969); Pointer v. Texas, 380 U.S. 400,
404, 13 L.Ed.2d 923, 926 (1965), and for
live testimony. Anderson v. City of
Bessemer, 470 U.S. 564, 9735, 84 L.84.24
518, 529 (1985).

Moreover, as to the need to hear
evidence where material facts are in
issue in a sec. 2255 proceeding, this
6th Circuit decision in Blakeney's case,
conflicts with the 7th Circuit's
decision in Castillo v. United States,
34 F.3d 443 (7 Cir. 1994).

This Court has an obligation to
citizens and to the judicial process, to
uphold the purpose of the 4th Amendment,
and not merely "wink" at police
corruption; for it is just as corrupt
for police to lie to convict the
ever~so-guilty, as to lie as part of a
payoff to help to acquit the guilty.

And when a trial court, or reviewing
court, accepts or condones such a lie -
calling it a "mistake," or a "logical
inference"’’ - the court acts contrary

It is not that inferences cannot
be drawn in the warrant procurement

20

to the interests of citizens and
contrary to dictates of the U.S.
Constitution, and tends to provide an
incentive to the police to lie, and/or
violate citizens' rights. Mapp v. Ohio,
367 U.S. 643, 659, 6 L.Ed.2d 1081, 1092
(1961), citing Mr. Justice Brandeis,
dissenting in Olmstead v. United States,
277 U.S. 438, 485, 72 L.Ed. 944, 959
(1928).

Unless this Court grants certiorari
in this case and takes appropriate
action, this Court is a tacit
confederate in the insidious use by the
government of a false statement by an
officer who violated his sworn duty to
uphold the law. Failure to act when
confronted with such a situation,
renders the Court an accomplice of the
wrongdoing, and encourages the
continuing use of blatant lies in
warrant applications. See Mapp, supra;
dissent of Justice Brandeis in Olmstead,

supra.

For the foregoing reasons, this

process; it is that inferences should be
drawn only by an impartial judicial
officer, not by an overzealous law
enforcement officer. Johnson v. United
states, 333 U.S. 10, 13-14, 92 L.Ed.
436, 440 (1948); United States v.
Lefkowitz, 285 U.S. 452, 464, 76 L.Ed.

877, 882 (1931).

21

Court should review this case.

3. THE RULE IN Franks v. Delaware,
438 U.S. 154, 57 L.Ed.2d 667 (1978),
THAT THERE IS NO NEED FOR A HEARING,
UNLESS THE WARRANT APPLICATION, ABSENT
THE FALSE STATEMENT, IS INSUFFICIENT FOR
A FINDING OF PROBABLE CAUSE, SHOULD BE
LIMITED, WHERE THE BLATANT MISSTATEMENT
OF FACT IS CAUSED BY A LAW ENFORCEMENT
OFFICER'S DELIBERATE LIE OR RECKLESS
DISREGARD FOR THE TRUTH.

The rule of Franks, supra - that no
hearing is required on whether the
factual misstatement was a purposeful
falsehood or made with reckless
disregard for the truth, or was merely
an innocent mistake, if the other
factual averments in the warrant
application are sufficient to
demonstrate probable cause - is contrary
to and undermines the effectiveness of
this Court's holdings that to protect
persons in their homes, residence
searches must "normally" be by way of
warrants obtained before neutral
magistrates, Johnson v. United States,
333 U.S. 10, 13-14, 92 L.Ed. 436, 440
(1948); Payton v. New York, 445 U.S.
573, 63 L.Ed.2d 639 (1980), in order to
deter improper police action motivated
by overzealousness in catching their
prey. United States v. Lefkowitz, 285
U.S. 452, 464, 76 L.Ed. 877, 882 (1931)
(see quotation, fn. 13, pp. 16-17,

Supra).

22

The Franks rule - by thus restricting
the requirement of a hearing, to
Situations where the averments absent
the incorrect information are
insufficient for probable cause - is
contrary to the foregoing mandatory
constitutional principles invoked in
Points 1 and 2 above; because where,
after a hearing, it can be proven that
the officer lied on a given issue, there
is no longer any reason to give credence
to any of the other factual allegations
this officer made in the warrant
application. Merely because the other
facts in the warrant application - as is
often the case - can not be demonstrated
to be lies by "hard" evidence, the very
nature of the allegations may, as here,
be sufficiently subjective (i.e.,
related to the officer's mental state),
that even though specific “hard" proof
of falsehood may not be forthcoming, all
the other allegations may also be lies.

That is the situation here.

The 6th Circuit sets out what the two
affidavits state as follows:

"(Rjead together, the
affidavits [in support of the
warrant to search Petitioner's
apartment] set forth the
following information:

(1) A burgundy Cadillac had
been linked to the jewelry

23

store robbery, and Petitioner
had a burgundy Cadillac
registered under an alias;

(2) Items fitting the
description of items stolen
from the jewelry store were
found in Petitioner's
Cadillac;

(3) Petitioner, Anderson, and
Johnson were all using
aliases;

(4) A silver Cadillac, driven
by Johnson, was also
registered to Petitioner's
alias;

(5) The plastic garbage bag
Anderson was observed carrying
behind the Fifth Avenue Shops
was found to contain jewelry
store price tags, several
pieces of jewelry, and other
evidence from the robbery of
the Green Bay jewelry store;
and

(6) When Petitioner, Anderson,
and Johnson were arrested on
outstanding arrest warrants,
Johnson's wife was in
possession of $15,680 in cash
and a ring which matched the
description of a ring taken in
the Green Bay robbery." (App.

24

A, pp. App. 14-15)

Paragraph 1 is vague and may be the
result of a reckless or lying officer,
cleverly constructing something out of
nothing. The assertion that a burgundy
Cadillac had been linked to the store
robbery, is not true. “Linked" means
involved. Here, there was nothing more
than mere speculation. The affidavit
for the search warrant reads:

"7, Witnesses to the
armed robbery of BAKE'S
JEWELRY, Green Bay, Wisconsin,
which occurred on August 11,
1989, have advised that during
the early morning hours of
that date, an unknown white
male and white female were
observed in a burgundy
Cadillac in the vicinity of
BAKE'S JEWELRY STORE."
(Attachment to R.473; Apx. 98;
par. 7, Affidavit dated Aug.
21, 1989)

This proves no "link". Under
Illinois v. Gates, 462 U.S. 213, 76
L.Ed.2d 527 (1983), there remains under
the balancing test, a requirement of
reliability. Here, there is no basis
for a court to find that the statement
in par. 7 is reliable evidence of
defendant's involvement in a crime.

Even with citizen witnesses, who are

et Ste

ae MAR GIR Ea FE NS ets Stina Pe eS peed

25

deemed credible, i.e., are not lying,
there is the issue of reliability, or
linkage. A magistrate does not know Se
by "early morning hours," the affiant
meant to refer to a time before or after
the crime; a magistrate does not know if
"vicinity" means, a block, or a mile; a
magistrate does not know if by "witness
to armed robbery" the affiant means
persons who actually saw the robbery, or
just saw this car some unknown distance
from, and unknown time-span before or
after, the robbery. Furthermore, the
information - burgundy Cadillac - is
just too general, fitting too many cars.
Similarly, the description of unknown
white male - with no description as to
age, size or height, is just too
general, to have any discernible
meaning. Here the description of the
car, would fit too many cars, and hence,
did not provide probable cause.

"{A}) description which would
fit many people [or cars) will
not suffice [to provide
probable cause]." 2 LAFAVE,
SEARCH AND SEIZURE, A TREATISE ON
THE FOURTH AMENDMENT § 3.4(c) at
243 (3d ed. 1996).

See United States v. Shavers, 524 F.2d
1094 (8 Cir. 1975); United States v.
Greene, 783 F.2d 1364, 1367 (9 Cir.
1986); State v. Federici, 179 Conn. 46,
425 A.2d 916 (1979).

26

Paragraph 2 also appears to be a
misstatement of facts known by the
agent. First, it was not items, plural.
What the affidavit alleged, was that one
(1) watch was found. Moreover, the
agent had an inventory of every Bake's
Jewelry watch stolen, and he knew, or if
he had consulted the inventory, should
have known, that what was found in
petitioner's car was not one of the
stolen Bake's Jewelry watches. This can
be proved at evidentiary hearing.

There is reason to believe he had
checked the inventory. As to a ring
found with Johnson's wife, he averred:

"Your affiant has reviewed a
listing of items stolen from
the aforementioned armed
robbery of BAKES'S JEWELRY
STORE and has found a ring
identical to the above
amethyst piece identified as
stock number R 3639."
(Attachment to R.473; Apx.
103; from par. 11 of Affidavit
dated Aug. 19, 1989)

Because he checked the listing of
items stolen (i.e., inventory) to make
sure that the ring found was a stolen
ring, we can properly assume he checked
- and Knew - that the watch found in
petitioner's car was not a watch stolen
in the robbery. If it was a stolen
watch, he, having gone over the

27

inventory, would have stated it was a
watch listed on the inventory, as he did
with the stolen ring.

Paragraphs 3 and 4 merely show that
petitioner and his friends may have been
using assumed names. It did not prove
that petitioner had any part in the
Wisconsin robbery.

Paragraph 5 was the crucial paragraph
that contained the agent's lie.

Paragraph 6 connected Johnson and his
wife. There is no connection to
petitioner Blakeney.

Hence, remove the lie, and knowing
the truth about Paragraphs 2 and 3
demonstrates there was no probable cause
to search petitioner's home. Therefore,
even under Franks as it now exists, the
6th Circuit was wrong when it found
there was probable cause. (App. A, pp.
App. 15-16)

The robbery occurred on 8/11/89; the
observation of Anderson on 8/18/89; the
arrest of defendant, on 8/19/89.
Paragraph 7 of the affidavit dated Aug.
19, 1989 (Apx. 101-02) - summarized as
par. 5 in the 6th Circuit's summary at
App. A, p. App. 14 (see P. 23, supra)
("the plastic garbage bag Anderson was
observed carrying . . . was found to
contain . . . (fruits and evidence of
the Bakes robbery]") - thus becomes THE

28

crucial fact constituting probable
cause, considering what is set out in
par. 8 of the Affidavit:

"8. Your affiant retrieved
that garbage bag and after opening
it, observed numerous jewelry store
price tags utilized to price
jewelry in retail stores, jewelry
display racks normally utilized to
display jewelry in retail stores,
identification tags for several
jewelry stores located in northern
states; one tag identifying BAKE'S
JEWELRY in Green Bay, Wisconsin,
several pieces of duck tape,
diamond certification appraisals,
and several pieces of women's
jewelry." (Apx. 102)

It is paragraphs 7 and 8 together,
that (arguably) provide probable cause.
Without par. 7 (Apx. 101-02) (summary
par. 5; App. A, p. App. 14, there is
nothing but surmise and suspicion.

Without the evidence that Anderson
possessed tags used in Wisconsin jewelry
stores, and a Bakes tag, all the other
evidence demonstrated only that: (a)
Johnson's wife had money; (b) Johnson's
wife possessed a stolen item, one stolen
ring, days after the event, and
petitioner may have possessed a stolen
watch.

There was no probable cause to

|
|
:

29

believe petitioner was involved in the
Wisconsin robbery, or that he possessed
in his house, items from that robbery.
One can buy a piece of stolen (burgled)
jewelry in the "market place," without
being involved in the burglary. Cf.
Ward v. Lockhart, 841 F.2d 844 (8 Cir.
1988) (recent possession of burgled
items insufficient to prove burglary) ;
Clark v. Procunier, 755 F.2d 394 (5 Cir.
1985) (same). Hence, the untrue portion
of the Affidavit was crucial.

Because par. 7 of the agent's
Affidavit is a lie, and the remaining
averments may also contain
misstatements, a hearing should have
been held.

We ask this Court to hold that
Judicial integrity and integrity of law
enforcement are more important than
catching who we may think is the "bad
guy." Law, and respect for the law,
demand rejection of the 6th Circuit
decision.

30

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, certiorari

should be allowed. \
\
O-

¢ |

\ (> ;
FREDERICK F. COHN

Attorney for Petitioner

APPENDICES

App. 1
APPENDIX A

NOT RECOMMENDED FOR PUBLICATION

NOT RECOMMENDED FOR FULL-TEXT
PUBLICATION

Sixth Circuit Rule 206 limits citation to specific
situations. Please see Rule 206 before citing in a
proceeding in a court in the Sixth Circuit. If
cited, a copy must be served on other parties and
the Court.
This notice is to be prominently displayed if this
decision is reproduced.

No. 98-5021

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

ROY C. BLAKENEY,
Petitioner-Appellant,
Vv.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent-Appellee.
ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED
STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR
THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF
KENTUCKY
OPINION FILED

SEP 21 1999
LEONARD GREEN, Clerk

App. 2

BEFORE: KEITH, BOGGS, and CLAY, Circuit
Judges.

PER CURIAM. Petitioner, Roy C.
Blakeney, appeals from the order entered
by the United States District Court for
the Eastern District of Kentucky on
December 8, 1997, denying Petitioner's
motion to vacate his conviction and
sentence pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 2255.
Petitioner was convicted of conspiracy
to unlawfully manufacture
methamphetamine, possession with intent
to manufacture, distribute and dispense
approximately 150 gallons of
phenylacetone, and possession with
intent to distribute approximately 14
pounds of methamphetamine.

Petitioner appealed his conviction
to this Court, which affirmed the
judgment of the district court. See
United States v. Blakeney, 9[{[4)2 F.2d
1001 (6th Cir. 1991). After his
conviction was upheld, Petitioner filed
a 28 U.S.C. § 2255 motion to vacate or
set aside his sentence, claiming that
new evidence had been discovered.
According to Petitioner, the affidavit
for the search warrant that resulted in
the search of his apartment contained an
intentionally false statement and
therefore all [p. 2] evidence from this
search must be suppressed. The district
court denied his motion and Petitioner
now appeals that decision.

I.

App. 3

On March 12, 1986, a federal grand
jury returned an indictment charging
Petitioner and Herbert Spencer with
conspiracy to manufacture, possess and
distribute methamphetamine, in violation
of 21 U.S.C. §§ 846, 841(a)(1) and 18
U.S.C. § 2. Spencer was tried in the
Eastern District of Kentucky, convicted
on all counts, and sentenced to 27 years
imprisonment, while Petitioner absconded
and remained a fugitive at the time of
Spencer's trial. See United States v.
Spencer, 1988 WL 10698 (6th Cir. Feb.
11, 1988).

In August 1989, federal law
enforcement agents were investigating
the whereabouts of Curtis Anderson, John
Johnson, and Petitioner in connection
with an armed robbery of Bake's Jewelry
Store in Green Bay, Wisconsin. All three
were identified and placed under
surveillance in Boca Raton, Florida.

In the course of the surveillance,
on August 18, 1989, FBI Special Agent
Alan Sadowski observed Curtis Anderson
leave an apartment and drive away ina
Cadillac. Agent Sadowski followed
Anderson to a shopping district, where
he saw him get out of the car, open the
trunk, and retrieve a large plastic
garbage bag from the trunk. Anderson
then went behind a building called Fifth
Avenue Shops and reappeared a few
minutes later without the bag. Agent
Sadowski immediately went behind the

ie
3
Ne
4
és
es
=
3
2s
:
a
ed
|
ay
4
2
2
am
¥
“
:

App. 4

Fifth Avenue Shops and saw several
garbage dumpsters. He looked into the
nearest dumpster, saw a large plastic
bag that appeared to be identical to the
one he had seen Anderson Carrying, and
retrieved it. The plastic bag was the
only one in the dumpster and was found
to contain jewelry tags (including one
with the name of Bake's Jewelry Store)
and jewelry that matched the [p. 3]
inventory of the stolen items. Anderson,
Johnson, and Petitioner were al]
arrested on outstanding fugitive
Warrants the next day, August 19, 1989.
Evidence recovered at the time of the
arrest from Petitioner's car and from
John Johnson and his wife included items
matching descriptions of the stolen
jewelry.

Immediately after the arrests,
Agent Sadowski appeared before a United
States magistrate judge and swore to an
affidavit in support of a warrant to
search Johnson's hotel room. The
affidavit contained the following
statement:

ANDERSON was observed taking a
large plastic bag from the trunk
of the Cadillac and placing that
bag in a garbage dumpster behind
FIFTH AVENUE SHOPS.

On the basis of that affidavit,
agents searched Johnson's hotel room.
That search yielded more stolen jewelry
as well as documents linking Johnson and

App. 5

Anderson to Petitioner at his Boca Raton
address. The agents then returned to the
magistrate with a second affidavit
recounting the new evidence seized
during the search of the hotel room,
incorporating the first affidavit, and
seeking permission to search
Petitioner's residence for further
evidence of the jewelry store robbery.
In addition to incorporating all of the
statements contained in his first
affidavit, Sadowski's second affidavit
stated that:

Based upon the affiant's
experience, the items found in the
hotel room registered to Anderson,
and the Gucci watch found in the
trunk of Blakeney's vehicle, your
affiant has good reason to believe
that {evidence of the robbery}
will be at [Blakeney's residence}.

Based on the information contained
in the two affidavits, the magistrate
judge found that there was probable
cause to search Petitioner's residence
and issued a warrant authorizing the
search. The search of Petitioner's
apartment yielded, among other things, a
recipe for methamphetamine manufacture,
chemical equipment for methamphetamine
production, and a lease for property in
{[p. 4] Pleasureville, Kentucky, where
agents had earlier found the remains of
a methamphetamine laboratory. See
Blakeney, 942 F.2d at 1008.

App. 6

Petitioner was returned to
Kentucky, and on September 6, 1989, he
and two co-defendants were indicted in
the Eastern District of Kentucky and
charged with (i) conspiracy to
manufacture, distribute and dispense
methamphetamine, in violation of 21
U.S.C. § 846; (ii) conspiracy to
4 manufacture, distribute and dispense
d approximately 150 gallons of
q

phenylacetone, in violation of 21 U.S.c.
'841(a)(1) and 18 U.S.C. § 2; and (iii)
possession with intent to distribute

$ approximately 14 pounds of

4 methamphetamine, in violation of 2]

2 U.S.C. § 841(a)(1) and 18 U.S.c. 52.

The case was tried before a jury
and Petitioner was found guilty on all
counts of the indictment. On May 8,
1990, the district court sentenced him
to 30 years imprisonment. This Court
affirmed Petitioner's conviction on
direct appeal in an opinion issued
August 23, 1991. See Blakeney, 942 F.2d
1001.

After his federal trial in
Kentucky, Petitioner and several co-
defendants, including Johnson and
Anderson, were tried in Florida on a
Criminal RICO charge. See United States
v. Johnson, et al., Case No. 93-180-CR-
: T-24(C) (M.D. Fla. 1995). During this
j trial, Agent Sadowski testified that,
contrary to the statement contained in
his August 19, 1989 affidavit, he had
not actually seen Anderson place the

+
x
3
i
+
%
¢
=
4
3
¥
s:
&
a
:
4
4
i
>
:

App. 7

garbage bag in the dumpster behind the
Fifth Avenue Shops building. Rather,
Agent Sadowski testified, he had
observed Anderson carry the bag behind
the building, where he remained out of
view for a few minutes, and then return
empty-handed. Agent Sadowski further
testified that he immediately went
behind the building and retrieved the
only bag in the dumpster, and that the
bag appeared to be identical to the one
Anderson had been carrying moments
earlier. Based [p. 5] on Sadowski's
revised statement, Petitioner moved the
court for a Franks hearing, claiming
that the affidavit upon which the
magistrate had relied in issuing the
search warrant contained a known false
statement and therefore the fruits of
the search of his Boca Raton home should
be suppressed. The Florida district
court denied Petitioner's motion,
holding in effect that the evidentiary
record was sufficiently developed at

In Franks v. Delaware, 438 U.S.
154 (1978), the Supreme Court held that
where a defendant makes a substantial
preliminary showing that a false
statement knowingly and intentionally,
or with reckless disregard for the
truth, was included by an affiant in
search warrant affidavit, and if the
allegedly false statement is necessary
to the finding of probable cause, the
Fourth Amendment requires that a hearing
be held at defendant's request.

a
3
;
4
:
3

Pd i a oe

PEP ALL SE MB a ath je ead

re

aes Na ate ND
rosa att

;
z
>
3
i

App. 8

trial, and that no deliberate falsehood
tainted the warrant. Petitioner was
subsequently convicted on the RICO
charge in Florida, and he appealed to
the Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals,
which upheld his conviction on August
21, 1997, in an unpublished table
decision. See United States v. Johnson,
124 F.3d 220 (11th Cir. 1997) (Table).

While his appeal to the Eleventh
Circuit was pending, Petitioner moved
the district court in the Eastern
District of Kentucky to vacate his
sentence pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 2255,
Claiming that newly discovered evidence
had surfaced in his Florida trial.
Petitioner further claimed that Agent
Sadowski's testimony during the Florida
trial established that his August 19,
1989 affidavit, which ultimately led to
evidence used for his methamphetamine
convictions, was intentionally false.
Petitioner argued that Agent Sadowski's
false statement in the affidavit was
essential to the magistrate judge's
finding of probable cause for the search
and that, as a result, the search was
executed in violation of the Fourth
Amendment, requiring the fruits of the
search to be suppressed.

On April 8, 1997, United States
Magistrate Judge J.B. Johnson, Jr.
recommended that Petitioner's motion be
denied. The magistrate found that Agent
Sadowski's affidavit did not contain a
deliberate falsity; rather, the

App. 9

magistrate deemed the inaccuracy to be a
logical inference under the /[p. 6]
facts. The magistrate further found that
even if the challenged statement were
omitted from the affidavit, sufficient
facts still existed to support probable
cause sufficient for the issuance of the
search warrant. The magistrate thus
determined that Petitioner was not
entitled to a Franks hearing or any
other relief under § 2255.

Petitioner filed objections to the
magistrate's report, but the district
judge, after a de novo review of the
record, concurred with the result
recommended by the magistrate and issued
an order on December 8, 1997 adopting
the magistrate's report and
recommendation and denying Petitioner's
§ 2255 motion.

II.

In reviewing the denial of a 28
U.S.C. § 2255 petition, this Court
applies a de novo standard of review of
the legal issues and will uphold the
factual findings of the district court
unless they are "clearly erroneous."
Hilliard v. United States, 157 F.3d 444,
447 (6th Cir. 1998). Where no
evidentiary hearing is held, the
district court's denial of the motion
will be upheld where "the files and
records of the case conclusively
establish that the prisoner is entitled
to no relief." 28 U.S.C. § 2255; see

BAS NA REUTER A TOA Rel eC AC Nic OO CA SAAS ALORA. SY6TS

hay

BEE DIR Re Sit asi hols as

App. 10

also Baker v. United States, 781 F.2d
85, 92 (6th Cir. 1986).

Iit.

The government urges this Court to
reject Petitioner's argument on grounds
of issue preclusion since his Florida
conviction is now final. The government
argues that Petitioner is merely
attempting to relitigate an issue
already decided by the Middle District
Court of Florida and affirmed by the
Eleventh Circuit. We decline to do Te)
for several reasons. First, the Eleventh
Circuit affirmed Petitioner's entire
conviction without issuing an opinion,
giving no indication of the rationale
behind its decision. Second, the issue
before us is Closely connected to the
question of probable cause which [p. 7}
has already been considered by this
Court on direct appeal. Consequently, we
feel justice would best be served by
full consideration of Petitioner's claim
on its merits.

Iv.

Petitioner argues that the
Kentucky district court improperly
denied his § 2255 motion without the
benefit of a Franks hearing on his claim
that the false statement in Agent
Sadowski's affidavit required
Suppression of evidence used in
Petitioner's drug conviction. We
disagree. Under Franks, “a defendant is

App. 11

entitled to an evidentiary hearing on
the veracity of the statements of the
affiant in a warrant affidavit if and
only if (1) there is a substantial
preliminary showing that specified
portions of the affiant's averments are
deliberately or recklessly false and (2)
a finding of probable cause would not be
supported by the remaining content of
the affidavit when the allegedly false
material is set to one side." United
States v. Campbell, 878 F.2d 170, 171
(6th Cir. 1989).

We first consider whether Agent
Sadowski's statement to the effect that
he had observed Anderson place the
garbage bag in the dumpster behind the
Fifth Avenue Shops building constitutes
a substantial preliminary showing of
deliberate or reckless falsehood. The
Kentucky and Florida trial courts, in
examining this question, concluded that
Agent Sadowski's statement was neither
deliberately false nor made with a
reckless disregard for the truth but
rather was merely a "logical inference
under the facts." Agent Sadowski, on
cross-examination in the Florida trial,
admitted that he had seen Anderson carry
a bag behind a building, only to emerge
empty-handed a few minutes later. Agent
Sadowski testified that when he went
behind the building and looked in the
nearest dumpster, there was only one
plastic bag in the dumpster and that bag
appeared to be identical to the one he
had seen Anderson carrying. Agent

}
wets
£
“
»
*
Hy
A
e

¢ a eee ra Sey ae
Ca AEACA LRG S 068 SSA AG tee ta ST GS oe

eRe teSe

App. 12

Sadowski further testified that although
there were other dumpsters behind the
Fifth Avenue Shops building, he did not
believe that Anderson would have had

[p. 8] time to walk all the way down to
the other dumpsters and back during the
few minutes he was out of view, and so
he looked in the dumpster closest to
where had last seen Anderson. It is
apparent that Sadowski logically and in
good faith concluded that Anderson had
placed the bag in the dumpster, even
though he did not actually see him do
So. And while hindsight tells us that
Agent Sadowski's inference was
undoubtedly the correct one, the
question before us is whether his
statement that he had actually observed
Anderson place the bag in the dumpster
is enough for a substantial preliminary
Showing of deliberate or reckless
falsehood. Our review of Agent
Sadowski's testimony and the relevant
case law lead us to conclude that it was
not. Agent Sadowski was cross-examined
extensively about his misstatement by
defense counsel in the Florida trial. He
admitted that he had made an assumption
based on facts he knew to be true. There
is no indication that Agent Sadowski's
Statement was anything other than a
permissible and logical inference, and
Petitioner has presented no evidence
which would establish that Agent
Sadowski made a false statement
knowingly or recklessly, as required by
Franks. In United States v. Ayen, 997
F.2d 1150, 1153 (6th Cir. 1993), this

App. 13

Court held that although an intentional
or recklessly made false statement must
be stricken from the affidavit, a
defendant cannot succeed in his
challenge to the search warrant by
demonstrating non-material negligence,
carelessness, or innocent mistakes.
Given the circumstances, we are
convinced that Agent Sadowski's
statement, while not technically
accurate, does not rise to the level of
a deliberate or reckless falsehood.

Regardless of the outcome on the
first prong of the Franks analysis,
however, the second prong must certainly
prove fatal to Petitioner's challenge.
It is plain that even if Agent
Sadowski's misstatement were in fact
proven to be deliberate or reckless, the
district court properly denied a Franks
hearing because the statement in
question was not essential to a finding
of probable cause. /[p. 9) "“[{I)f, when
material that is the subject of the
alleged falsity or reckless disregard is
set to one side, there remains
sufficient content in the affidavit to
support a finding of probable cause, no
hearing is required." Franks, 438 U.S.
at 171-72. Thus, our inquiry ceases
where, as here, there remains sufficient
evidence to support a finding of
probable cause even if the challenged
statement is excluded. See Mays v. City
of Dayton, 134 F.3d 809, 815 (6th Cir.
1998).

There were two affidavits

——

App. 14

Submitted in support of the Warrant to
search Petitioner's apartment. The
second affidavit incorporated the first
and read together, the affidavits set
forth the following information:

‘

(1) A burgundy Cadillac had been
linked to the jewelry store
robbery, and Petitioner had a

burgundy Cadillac registered under
an alias;

(2) Items fitting the description
of items stolen from the jewelry

Store were found in Petitioner's

Cadillac;

(3) Petitioner, Anderson, and
Johnson were al] using aliases;

(4) A silver Cadillac, driven by
Johnson, was also registered to
Petitioner's alias;

as Or Sam o. 2

(5) The plastic garbage bag
Anderson was observed carrying
behind the Fifth Avenue Shops was
found to contain jewelry store
price tags, several pieces of
jewelry, and other evidence from
the robbery of the Green Bay
jewelry store; and

(6) When Petitioner, Anderson, and

Johnson were arrested on
outstanding arrest warrants,
Johnson's wife was in possession
ofS 15,680 in cash and a ring

EEE

App. 15

which matched the description of a
ring taken in the Green Bay
robbery.

In light of the above listed
factors, it is plain to us that even if
Agent Sadowski's challenged statement
were omitted, there would still be
sufficient evidence to establish
probable cause to search Petitioner's
apartment for evidence connected to the
jewelry store robbery. This Court has
defined probable cause as “reasonable
grounds for belief, supported by less
than prima facie proof but more than
mere suspicion." United States v. Smith,
182 F.3d 473, 477 (6th Cir. 1999)
(citation and internal /[p. 10]
quotation omitted). We are convinced
that, under the totality of the
circumstances, the unchallenged
information in the affidavits was more
than sufficient to provide reasonable
grounds for belief that Petitioner may
have been in possession of additional
stolen items. See Illinois v. Gates, 462
U.S. 213, 238 (1983) (directing courts
to adopt a practical, common-sense
approach in determining whether, under
the totality of the circumstances, there
is a fair probability that contraband or
evidence of a crime will be found in a
particular place). We therefore find
Petitioner's claim that Agent Sadowski's
challenged statement was essential to a
finding of probable cause to be without
merit. The district court properly
denied Petitioner's § 2255 motion

App. 16

without the benefit of a Franks hearing.
Petitioner has failed to Show that Agent
Sadowski's misstatement was deliberately
Or recklessly false. Moreover, even if
Agent Sadowski's statement that he had
observed Anderson placing the garbage
bag in the dumpster were proven to be
deliberately or recklessly false, the
district court Properly held that this
Statement was not material to the
probable cause determination.

For the reasons set forth above,
the Order of Judge Jennifer B. Coffman
of the United States District Court for
the Eastern District of Kentucky is
hereby AFFIRMED.

App. 17

APPENDIX B
No. 98-5021
FILED
Dec 01 1999

LEONARD GREEN, Clerk

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

ROY C. BLAKENEY,

Petitioner-Appellant,

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

ee ee eee ee eee

Respondent-Appellee.

BEFORE: KEITH, BOGGS and CLAY,
Circuit Judges.

The court having received a
petition for rehearing en banc, and the
petition having been circulated not only
to the original panel members but also

App. 18

to all other active’ judges of this
court, and no judge of this court having
requested a vote on the Suggestion for
rehearing en banc, the petition for
rehearing has been referred to the
Original panel.

The panel has further reviewed the
petition for rehearing and concludes
that the issues raised in the petition
were fully considered upon the original
Submission and decision of the case.
Accordingly, the petition is denied.

ENTERED BY ORDER OF THE COURT

Signed:

Leonard Green, Clerk

Judge Siler recused himself from
participation in this ruling.

App. 19
APPENDIX C

Eastern District of Kentucky
FILED
APR 8 1997
AT LONDON
LESLIE G. WHITMER
CLERK, U.S. DISTRICT COURT

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
EASTERN DISTRICT OF KENTUCKY
LONDON DIVISION
CRIMINAL CASE NO. 86-6-5-1

MOTION TO VACATE FILED AS:
CIVIL CASE NO. 96-316

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
PLAINTIFF

Vs. REPORT AND RECOMMENDATION

ROY C. BLAKENEY
DEFENDANT

om kkkkKKK

This matter is before the Court
upon the "Motion to Vacate, Set Aside,
or Correct Sentence" (DE#473) pursuant
to 28 U.S.C. §2255 by the petitioner,
Roy C. Blakeney. Petitioner is
represented by counsel. This matter was
referred to the undersigned Magistrate
Judge for initial consideration and a
report and recommendation pursuant to 28
U.S.C. §636(b). The undersigned

Sam tate tie Paci Ty

App. 20

Magistrate Judge having considered the
Motion and Memorandum in Support
(DE#473, 474), Response (DE#479), and
Reply (DE#485), and being fully advised,
recommends as follows:

FACTS AND PROCEDURAL HISTORY

On March 12, 1986, a federal
indictment was returned against
petitioner and Herbert B. Spencer,
charging them with violation of 18
U.S.C. §846, 18 U.S.c. §841(a)(1), and
18 U.S.C. §2, including conspiracy to
unlawfully manufacture methamphetamine
in connection with a methamphetamine
laboratory in Kentucky. Petitioner was a
fugitive while the trial of co-defendant
Spencer proceeded in the United States
District Court for the Eastern District
of Kentucky. The jury found Spencer
guilty on all counts.

On August 18, 1989, FBI Agent Alan
Sadowski was surveilling curtis Anderson
in Florida as part of an investigation
regarding the suspected [P- 2]
involvement of Roy C. Blakeney, Curtis
Anderson, and John Robert Johnson in the
burglary of Bake's Jewelry Store in
Green Bay, Wisconsin. All three
individuals were using "alias" names and
were fugitives under indictment for
other crimes. Respondent states that FBI
agents had also conducted a search of a
Florida warehouse used by petitioner,
and discovered semiautomatic weapons
wrapped in ski masks, lock picks, bank
bags and police call radio frequency

App. 21

books.

Subsequent to the surveillance of
Anderson, two affidavits were provided
to the Magistrate Judge in Florida for
the purpose of obtaining a search
warrant to search the petitioner's
Florida residence. The earlier affidavit
on August 19, 1989 was the basis for a
search of room #1023 of the Marriot
Hotel located in Boca Raton, Florida.
Petitioner was also arrested on August
19, 1989. The later affidavit was
attached to the earlier affidavit and
listed additional information such as
evidence found in the hotel room search
and in the trunk of petitioner’s car
upon his arrest. The Magistrate Judge
found sufficient probable cause and
issued the search warrant.

During the search of the
petitioner’s residence, police found
chemical equipment for methamphetamine
production, a lease for Kentucky real
estate where agents had previously found
the remains of a methamphetamine
laboratory, as well as a book, recipe,
and other written information concerned
with methamphetamine production. Items
discovered in the search of petitioner's
Florida residence were used as evidence
in the subsequent federal trial in
Kentucky.

On September 6, 1989, a
superceding [sic.] indictment was
returned in the Eastern District of
Kentucky charging petitioner and two co-
defendants each with one count of
conspiracy to manufacture, distribute,

App. 22

and dispense methamphetamine, in
violation of 21 U.S.C. §846, one count
of possession with intent to
manufacture, distribute, and dispense
approximately 150 gallons of
phenylacetone, in violation of 21 U.S.c.
§841(a) (1), and one count of possession
with intent to distribute approximately
fourteen pounds of methamphetamine, in
violation of 21 U.S.c. §841(a)(1) and 18
U.S.C. §2. Petitioner pleaded not guilty
and received a jury trial. Petitioner
did not testify at his trial.

Petitioner was convicted on all
three counts in the United States
District Court for the Eastern District
of Kentucky for violation of 21 U.S.c.
§846, 21 U.S.C. §841, and 18 U.S.C. §2.
The trial court sentenced petitioner on
May 8, 1990 to fifteen years
imprisonment on each count, with Counts
Two and Three concurrent with each other
and consecutive to Count One, fora
total of thirty years [p. 3]
imprisonment. Petitioner's co-
defendants were also convicted.

On direct appeal, the Sixth
Circuit Court of Appeals affirmed the
convictions and sentences on August 23,
1991. Petitioner's petition for writ of
certiorari to the United States Supreme
Court was denied on January 13, 1992.
See United States v. Blakeney, 942 F.2d
1001 (6th Cir. 1991), cert. denied, 502
U.S. 1035 (1992).

Subsequent to his federal trial in
Kentucky, petitioner and numerous co-
defendants were convicted and sentenced

App. 23

on May 10, 1995 in the United States
District Court for the Middle District
of Florida for offenses such as RICO
violation, conspiracy to commit RICO -
violation, and conspiracy under the
Hobbs Act. See United States v. Johnson
et al., Case No. 93-180-CR-T-24(C). The
petitioner's federal conviction in the
previous Kentucky case provided a
predicate act for the petitioner's
federal conviction in the Florida case.

During the Florida trial, FBI
Agent Sadowski testified on January 10,
1995 regarding his surveillance of
Curtis Anderson in Florida and his
affidavit thereto. Id., TR. p. 10. See
also DE#473, Petition with attached
"Excerpt of Transcript of Testimony".
The record indicates that on August 18,
1989, Agent Sadowski was surveilling
Curtis Anderson in Florida and observed
him exit Apt.# 107, 5151 West Club
Circle, Boca Raton, and enter a
Cadillac. Agent Sadowski then followed
Anderson to a strip mall, "Fifth Avenue
Shops", where he observed Anderson get
out of the Cadillac, open its trunk, and
remove a large plastic bag.

The following fact provides the
basis for petitioner's argument in his
present motion under §2255: Agent
Sadowski then testified that he had
observed Anderson carry the bag and walk
behind the shops, out of Agent
Sadowski’s view, for several minutes and
then return without the bag. Agent
Sadowski further testified that he
immediately went to the back of the

App. 24

store where a dumpster was located and
retrieved the only bag in the dumpster.
The agent testified that it appeared to
be identical to the bag carried by
Anderson moments earlier and that the
dumpster was the only dumpster in the
immediate vicinity that Anderson could
have reached in that time interval. See
TR. p. 10. The bag contained evidence of
the jewelry store robbery.

In his earlier affidavit on August
19, 1989, Agent Sadowski had stated that
"Ande~son was observed taking a large
plastic bag from the trunk of the
Cadillac and placing that bag in a
garbage dumpster behind the FIFTH AVENUE
SHOPS." This is the only alleged
discrepancy between the affidavit and
the testimony in Florida on January 10,
1995.

Subsequent to the agent's
testimony in Florida, petitioner,
through his [p. 4] counsel, requested a
hearing under Franks v. Delaware, 438
U.S. 154, 98 S.Ct. 2674, 57 L.Ed.2a 667
(1978) in order to suppress the fruits
of the search of the petitioner's
Florida residence. On November 17, 1995,
the United States District Court in
Florida denied the motion. See United
States v. Johnson et al., supra, TR.

Vol.VIII, p.114-116.

Petitioner’s appeal of his federal
conviction in Florida was pending before
the 11th Circuit Court of Appeals, Case
No. 95-2626, at the time the present
petition was filed. Petitioner also
recently indicated in his reply brief,

App. 25

filed March 19, 1997, that this appeal
was still pending. Research to date does
not reveal a decision by the Eleventh
Circuit Court of Appeals. The
petitioner’s motion to hold the
appellate decision "in abeyance",
pending disposition of the present §2255
motion, was denied in Florida.
Petitioner is currently in federal
custody at F.C.I. in Miami, Florida.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

A. Applicability of Amended §2255

The present §2255 motion to
vacate, set aside, or correct was filed
on August 9, 1996 subsequent to the
passage on April 24, 1996 of the
"Antiterrorism and Effective Death
Penalty Act of 1996" (hereinafter
"AEDPA") which contained significant
amendments to 28 U.S.C. §2255. This
Court notes that because the amended
statute was only recently enacted, there
are no Sixth Circuit Cour. of Appeals
opinions regarding the applicability and
possible retroactive effect of the new
one-year limit on filing petitions in
non-capital cases. But see Lyons v. Ohio
Adult Parole, 105 F.3d 1063 (6th Cir.
1997) (for discussion of retroactivity
with regard to other provisions of the
AEDPA) .

Other courts have reached
differing conclusions on related issues.
See Boria v Keane, 90 F.3d 36 (2d Cir.

1996), petition for cert. filed, 65 USLW

App. 26

3342 (Oct. 11, 1996) (No. 96-628); Lindh
v. Murphy, 96 F.3d 856, 86 1-77 (7th
Cir. 1996) (en banc), cert. granted in
part, i127 8.ct,. 726, 65 USLW 3483, 65
USLW 3487 (Jan. 10, 1997) (No. 96-6298);
Thye v. United States, 96 F.3d 635, 636-
37 (2d Cir.1996) (per curiam). See also
United States ex rel. Austin v. Gilmore,
1996 WL 243047 (N.D. Ill. May 9, 1996)
(unpublished) (declining to apply
provisions of the amended statute absent
guidance from the Court of Appeals or
Supreme Court).

If applicable in this instance,
new provisions of the AEDPA may require
dismissal of this petition because such
petition exceeds the new one-year period
of [p. 5] limitations. Under the prior
version of §2255, the statute provided
that "A motion for such relief may be
made at any time." This language has now
been replaced with the following
language:

"A l-year period of limitations
Shall apply to a motion under this
section. The limitation period
Shall run from the latest of--

(1) the date on which the judgment
of conviction becomes final;

(2) the date on which the
impediment to making a motion
created by governmental action in
violation of the Constitution or
laws of the United States is
removed, if the movant was
prevented from making a motion by
Such governmental action;

App. 27

(3) the date on which the right
asserted was initially recognized
by the Supreme Court, if that
right has been newly recognized by
the Supreme Court and made
retroactively applicable to cases
on collateral review; or

(4) the date on which the facts
supporting the claim or claims
presented could have been
discovered through the exercise of
due diligence." AEDPA, amended
§2255.

The above subsections (1) and (4) would
apply to petitioner’s present motion.

With regard to subsection (1),
petitioner's federal conviction in
Kentucky was "final" for purposes of the
AEDPA time limitation in 1992 when the
United States Supreme Court denied
petitioner's petition for writ of
certiorari. The respondent points out in
a footnote that the petitioner’s §2255
motion is clearly outside the time limit
under subsection (1), but also notes
that that the United States Department
of Justice ("DOJ") has taken the
position that if a conviction became
final before April 24, 1996, the DOJ
will not attempt to enforce subsection
(1) of the AEDPA’s time limit provisions
until one year after the AEDPA was
passed, i.e. April 24, 1997.

While petitioner’s conviction in
the United States District Court (M.D.
Fla., Tampa Division) is not considered
final because it is currently being

App. 28

appealed to the 11th Circuit Court of
Appeals, Case No. 95-2626, the date of
finality for the Florida conviction
would not provide a basis for the
“latest date" under Subsection (1) of
the AEDPA with regard to the present
§2255 motion, as this motion properly
concerns only the petitioner’s federal
conviction and sentence in Kentucky.

With regard to Subsection (4) of
the habeas statute, the present motion
is [p. 6] arguably based on "newly
discovered evidence", Specifically,
testimony given by an FBI agent in the
petitioner's trial in the United States
District Court for the Middle District
of Florida on January 10, 1995. Thus,
Such date would be the "latest date" for
purposes of determining the one-year
period of limitations under subsection
(4). The present motion was filed on
August 9, 1996, which is well over one
year beyond the date of the new
testimony which provides the basis for
the present motion. Petitioner certainly
"discovered" the facts Supporting his
Claim on January 10, 1995,

The application of Subsection (4)
of the time limit Provisions of the
AEDPA has not been briefed by either
party in this case. Rather than deciding
the issue on an unbriefed record, this
court will instead hola only that, if
applied to this petition, the time limit
amendments to the Act would bar this
petition. As the newly amended statute
does not Specify an effective date for
non-capital cases and in light of the

App. 29

fact that no Sixth Circuit Court of
Appeals case has yet decided the
retroactivity issue with regard to the
new one-year limitation provision of the
AEDPA, this Court in this instance
declines to apply the one-year statute
of limitations against this petitioner.
As this petition can be dismissed on
other grounds, those other grounds will
be set forth in the following analysis.

B. Procedural Analysis

Subsequent to Agent Sadowski’s
testimony in the Florida case,
petitioner requested a hearing under
Franks v. Delaware, 438 U.S. 154, 98
S.Ct. 2674, 57 L.Ed.2da 667 (1978) in the
United States District Court for the
Middle District of Florida. The Court
denied the request. An appeal of
petitioner’s conviction in that court is
presently pending before the Eleventh
Circuit Court of Appeals, although the
record before this Court does not ~
indicate what issues were raised in that
appeal. Petitioner subsequently filed a
motion under §2255 in this Court, with
jurisdiction based on petitioner's
earlier conviction in the United States
District Court for the Eastern District
of Kentucky.

Thus, this Court is presented with
a situation in which a federal court
from another circuit, conducting a
separate criminal trial involving
related charges (i.e. linked by a
predicate act) against the same

App. 30

petitioner with the same counsel, has
denied the petitioner's trial motion for
a Franks hearing, and the conviction in
that trial is presently being appealed.
The procedural waters are further
muddied because petitioner now attacks a
different conviction in the present
§2255 motion, making a second request
for a Franks hearing on the same factual
and legal basis [p. 7] as the previous
request (i.e. the new testimony arising
in the Florida case regarding the
surveillance and affidavit). It is not
the province of this Court to review the
findings of the United States District
Court in Florida, and this Court
questions whether it may independently
consider the Florida testimony as
grounds for this §2255 motion when the
Same underlying argument has already
been rejected by a federal court in
another circuit.

While this Court, as the
sentencing court in the present case,
certainly has jurisdiction to consider a
collateral attack on the federal
Kentucky conviction, the respondent
argues that a second consideration of
this Franks issue is precluded by the
Florida court's decision and cites
Montana v. United States, 440 U.S. 147,

99 S.Ct. 970, 59 L.Ed.2a 210 (1979) in
Support. Petitioner argues that
"preclusion" is not appropriate because
the appeal to the Eleventh Circuit Court
Of Appeals has not yet been decided, and
thus, the decision is not truly "final".
Assuming that the Florida court’s denial

App. 31

of the motion for the Franks hearing is
one of the petitioner’s grounds for
appeal, the undesirable possibility of
differing results in two different
circuits regarding the same evidence,
legal issue, and defendant could arise
if this petition is reviewed on its
merits.

In addition to the argument that
the Florida Court’s decision to deny a
Franks hearing is not final, petitioner
also raises the argument that the
statements made by the Florida court
have not “necessarily decided the
matters that have to be determined in
this [(Ky.] case -- that is, whether the
inaccurate statements were made
purposefully or with reckless disregard
for the truth, and whether the
inaccurate statements were essential to
the determination of probable cause."
DE#485, Petitioner's Reply, p.9.

Contrary to petitioner’s argument
that these issues were not resolved, the
record shows that the federal court in
Florida denied the petitioner’s motion
for a Franks hearing for two reasons: 1)
the allegedly false statement was not
made with deliberate or reckless
disregard for the truth, and 2) even
without the challenged statement, the
information was sufficient to support a
finding of probable cause. The Honorable
Susan Bucklew, United States District
Court Judge, stated: "I not even
prepared to say that it was made with
reckless disregard for the truth. He
[FBI Agent Sadowski} made an assumption.

App. 32

However, if I move on and take the
evidence as he testified to what he
actually saw....I think this is
sufficient probable cause in the
affidavit for the Magistrate Judge in
this case to Sign....the search warrant
and find there was probable cause to
search." United States v. Johnson. et
al., supra, T.R. pp.114-115.

Agent Sadowski candidly admitted
at trial that the discrepancy at issue
was [p. 8] based on an assumption on his
part. Regardless of any holding in
regard to the inaccuracy in the
affidavit, the record shows that the
trial court in Florida determined that
the petitioner was also not entitled to
a hearing because probable cause existed
even without the challenged statement.
See e.g. United States y. Barone, 584
F.2d 118 (6th Cir. 1978), cert. denied,
439 U.S. 1115 (1979) (warrant will be
voided only if the false statement is
necessary to establish probable cause).

C. Franks Analysis

Even assuming, without holding,
that this Court may at this time
consider the second request for a Franks
hearing and that this §2255 motion is
not an impermissable substitute for an
appeal, the petitioner is not entitled
to relief under the issue presented in
this §2255 motion.

In the direct appeal of his
Kentucky federal conviction, the
petitioner attacked the Magistrate's

App. 33

finding of probable cause to issue the
search warrant. A Magistrate’s finding
of probable cause is entitled to great
deference. See United States v. Pelham,
801 F.2d 875, 877 (6th Cir. 1986), cert.
denied, 479 U.S. 1092 (1987). In the
present case, the Sixth Circuit Court of
Appeals held that the Magistrate
properly found probable cause to issue
the search warrant for the purpose of
searching the petitioner’s home for
evidence of a jewelry store robbery.
United States v. Blakeney, 942 F.2d 1001
(6th Cir. 1991).

The Sixth Circuit upheld the
finding of "probable cause" based on
numerous facts set forth in the two
affidavits, including: 1) that a
burgundy Cadillac was linked to the
robbery and that petitioner had a
burgundy Cadillac registered under an
"alias", 2) that items fitting the
description of the stolen items were
found in the petitioner’s Cadillac, 3)
evidence linked to the robbery and a
catalog mailed to the petitioner's alias
were found in the hotel room of
defendant's associates, 4) Curtis
Anderson had frequented the petitioner's
residence, and 5) Curtis Anderson had
been observed disposing of evidence of
the jewelry store robbery in a trash
dumpster. The Sixth Circuit Court of
Appeals found that both affidavits were
relied upon to find probable cause.

A reading of the August 19, 1989
affidavit shows that it was extensive
and highly detailed. See DE#473,

App. 34

Affidavits attached to "Insert". The
subsequent affidavit, attached to the
earlier affidavit, provided numerous
additional details, including 1)
information regarding the alias used by
petitioner for his car registration and
for utilities at his Florida residence,
2) items found in the prior search of
the hotel room, ie. cocaine, drug
paraphernalia, a mail item addressed to
[P. 9] petitioner, and a Gucci watch in
its original box, 3) items found in the
trunk of petitioner's car upon
petitioner's arrest, i.e. another Gucci
watch in its original box, and so forth.

When an issue has been determined
and rejected on direct appeal, such
issue will not generally be reexamined
in a motion under §2255. See Stephan v.
United States, 496 F.2d 527 (6th Cir.),
cert. denied, 423 U.S. 861 (1975) (issues
in post-conviction §2255 motion that
were raised previously raised on direct
appeal were subject to dismissal as
prior adjudicated Claims). A §2255
motion may not be used to relitigate an
issue that was raised and considered on
direct appeal absent highly unusual
circumstances. See United States v.
Prichard, 875 F.2a 789-9 1 (10th Cir.
1989) (per curiam).

Petitioner, however, brings this
§2255 motion based on new testimony and
asserts that the Sixth Circuit court of
Appeals decision in the present case was
based on an affidavit now shown to
contain a material false statement.
Petitioner again seeks to challenge the

App. 35

validity of the search warrant for his
residence, and alleges that, absent the
false statement, probable cause for the
search was not established. Presumably,
petitioner seeks to invalidate the
search warrant, suppress evidence, and
obtain an order vacating the
petitioner's conviction. Petitioner also
assails the respondent's discussion of
the legal standard for newly-discovered
evidence and negates any question that
petitioner might be asking for a new
trial. See DE#485, Reply, p. 10.
Petitioner states:

"Newly discovered evidence, that
surfaced in defendant’s [sic]
affidavit for search warrant,
fruits of which were used in the
Kentucky trial, was intentionally
false, and that false information
was essential to finding of
probable cause. Therefore,
evidence obtained in violation of
4th Amendment was used against
defendant in the case under attack
in this Motion. The tainted
Warrant spawned all subsequent
evidence against defendant
Blakeney used in Kentucky trial."
(DE#473, Petition, p.5)

Assuming arguendo that the merits
of the present motion under §2255 may be
considered, petitioner has not
demonstrated that he is entitled to a
Franks hearing before this Court. The
Supreme Court held in Franks v.

App. 36

Delaware, 438 U.S. 154, 98 8.Ct. 2674,
57 L.Ed.2d 667 (1978) that where a
petitioner makes a substantial
preliminary Showing of falsity, "and if
the allegedly false statement is
necessary to the finding of probable
cause, the Fourth Amendment requires
that a hearing be held at the
defendant's request." Id. at 455, 156.
See also United States v. [p- 10]
Bennet, 905 F.2d 931 (6th Cir. 1990).

While petitioner has pointed out a
specific discrepancy in the sworn
testimony and asserted that the
challenged statement in the affidavit
was made with deliberate or reckless
disregard for the truth, the undersigned
does not find any deliberate falsity in
the affidavit. It appears from the
record that the inaccuracy was not a
deliberate lie, but rather a logical
inference under the facts. Petitioner
cites United States vy. Cortina, 630 F.2d
1207 (7th Cir. 1980) ana United States
Vv. Baxter, 889 F.2d 731 (6th Cir. 1989)
in support. However, those cases Simply
found that the respective affidavits
lacked probable cause without their
false assertions.

The essential question to consider
next, is whether, if the challenged
statement in the affidavit is
disregarded, the remaining information
Supports a finding of probable cause to
issue the search warrant. See United
States v. Campbell, 878 F.2d 170 (6th
Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 894
(1989); United States yv. Ursury, No. 94-

App. 37

1127, slip opinion, (6th Cir. March 26,
1997). Probable cause is "defined as
reasonable grounds for belief, supported
by less than prima facie proof but more
than mere suspicion." United States v.
One 1984 Cadillac, 888 F.2d 1133, 1135
(6th Cir. 1989). Petitioner argues that
without the challenged statement, the
remaining information in the affidavit
is insufficient to find probable cause.
The undersigned disagrees and finds that
even if the challenged statement is
omitted from the August 19, 1989
affidavit, sufficient facts to find
probable cause are amply demonstrated.
Petitioner points to the Sixth
Circuit Court of Appeals statement that
"in the absence of the August 19, 1989
affidavit, the search warrant was not
supported with probable cause." See
Blakeney, 942 F.2d at p. 1026. However,
the lone inaccuracy in the August 19,
1989 affidavit does not invalidate the
entire affidavit. See United States v.
Campbell, 878 F.2d 170 (6th Cir. 1989),
cert. denied, 493 U.S. 894 (1989);
United States v. Barone, 584 F.2d 118
(6th Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 439 U.S.
1115 (1979); United States v. Bennet,
905 F.2d 931 (6th Cir. 1990). As noted
earlier, the August 19, 1989 affidavit
was lengthy and highly detailed, and the
subsequent affidavit provided additional
material information. Thus, even if the
challenged statement is omitted, the
remaining information fully supports a
finding of probable cause to issue the
search warrant. Petitioner is not

App. 38

entitled to a Franks hearing or to any
other relief under §2255 in this Court.

[p. 11]
CONCLUSION

Therefore, even assuming that the
Franks issue may properly be considered
at this time, this Court finds that the
challenged statement by the FBI agent
was an [sic.] logical assumption and did
not rise to the level of "deliberate or
reckless falsity". Furthermore, even
after examining the affidavits in detail
without the challenged statement, the
undersigned finds that the remaining
facts recited in the two affidavits
provide sufficient facts to support a
finding of probable cause to issue the
search warrant for the petitioner's
residence.

Thus, petitioner is not entitled
to a Franks hearing or any other relief
under §2255, as he has not shown any
constitutional violation of his Fourth
Amendment right to be secure "against
unreasonable searches and seizures
-+-+-and no Warrants shall issue, but
upon probable cause, Supported by Oath
or affirmation, and particularly
describing the place to be searched and
the persons or things to be seized."
U.S. Constitution, Fourth Amendment.

RECOMMENDATION

It is RECOMMENDED that the "Motion
to Vacate or Set Aside Sentence"
(DE#473) by the defendant, Roy Cc.

App. 39

Blakeney, be denied, and that this
matter be dismissed with prejudice and
stricken from the docket.

Particularized objections to this
Report and Recommendation must be filed
within ten (10) days of the date of
service of the same or further appeal is
waived. United States v. Walters, 638
F.2d 947 (6th Cir. 1981); Thomas v. Am,
474 U.S. 140 (1985). Poorly drafted
objections, general objections or
objections that require a-.judge’s
interpretation should be afforded no
effect and are insufficient to preserve
the right of appeal. See Howard v.
Secretary of Health and Human Services,
932 F.2d 505 (6th Cir. 1991). A party
may file a response to another party’s
objection within ten (10) days after
being served with a copy thereof. Rule
72(b), Fed. R.Civ.P.

This the _8th_ day of April, 1997.

[signed]

J.B. JOHNSON, JR.
UNITED STATES MAGISTRATE JUDGE

App. 40
APPENDIX D

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
EASTERN DISTRICT OF KENTUCKY
LONDON DIVISION

Eastern District of Kentucky
FILED

DEC 8 1997

AT LONDON
LESLIE G. WHITMER
CLERK, U.S. DISTRICT COURT

CIVIL ACTION NO. 96-316
CRIMINAL ACTION NO. 86-6-5-1

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
PLAINTIFF,

Vv. ORDER

ROY C. BLAKENEY,
DEFENDANT.

ceuekeek RR eR keke et

This matter is before the court
upon the Report and Recommendation of
United States Magistrage Judge J.B.
Johnson, Jr. (Record No. 486). The
Plaintiff has filed objections (Record
No. 487) to the Report and
Recommend .ition.

When the parties to the action
Submit objections to the magistrate
judge's report, the court reviews the
record de novo. 28 U.S.C. §
636(b) (1) (Cc).

App. 41

After review of the record de novo
in light of the plaintiff's objections,
the court concurs with the result
recommended by the magistrate judge in
that this case should be dismissed.
Therefore,

IT IS ORDERED that the defendant's
petition pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §2255 is
DENIED.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the
above-styled action is DISMISSED WITH
PREJUDICE and STRICKEN from the active
docket.

This the _8th_ day of December,
1997.

[signed]

Jennifer B. Coffman
United States District
Judge

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN OF THE
ENTRY OF THIS ORDER OR JUDGMENT
ON 12-9-27

LESLIE G. WHITMER, CLERK

BY: (signed) Shirley Allen D.C.

App. 42
APPENDIX E
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED
U.S. Const., Amend. IV, provides:

"The right of the people to be
secure in their persons, houses,
Papers, and effects, against
unreasonable searches and
seizures, shall not be violated,
and no Warrants shall issue, but
upon probable cause, Supported by
Oath or affirmation, and
particularly describing the place
to be searched, and the persons or
things to be seized."

U.S. Const., Amend. V, provides, in
pertinent part:

“NO person shall ... be
deprived of life, liberty or
property, without due process
of law; .. ."

U.S. Const., Amend. VI, provides, in
pertinent part:

"In all criminal
prosecutions, the accused
Shall enjoy the right

to be confronted with the
witnesses against him; ..."

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_0696%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
