# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Graves v. Boone

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_0672%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2000
- **Citation:** 529 U.S. 1087

## Text

() Suprema Court, (Le
FIDED

991435 FeR28

No.

UFriC: OF THE ciepx

In The
Supreme Court of the United States

¢

EDWIN THOMAS GRAVES, #16552,

Petitioner,

BOBBY BOONE, Warden,
Mack Alford Correctional Center,

and

DREW EDMONDSON, Attorney General
of the State of Oklahoma,

Respondents.

¢

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The Tenth Circuit Court Of Appeals

¢

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

®

JoHN Davip ECHOLS
Counsel of Record

P.O. Box 701196
Tulsa, OK 74170-1196
918/299-3802 [voice]
defender@pianosa.com

Attorney for Petitioner

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

oma

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Whether the habeas corpus limitations period of the
Anti-Terrorism and Effective Death Penalty Act [the
“AEDPA”] can expire while a state court judgment is
still subject to certiorari review by the Supreme Court
of the United States? Stated differently, whether a
state court proceeding is pending until it is final?

This question is relevant to this case because:

A. The District Court and the Court of Appeals
deemed Mr. Graves’ habeas petition untimely
even though the AEDPA limitations period calcu-
lated by the United States District Court had
expired after the opinion of the Oklahoma Court
of Criminal Appeals was issued on post-convic-
tion, and before the time within which Mr. Graves
could have sought certiorari review in this Court.

When does the limitations period of the AEDPA begin
to run for federal constitutional errors arising during
state court post-conviction proceedings?

This question is relevant to this case because:

A. On habeas, Mr. Graves asserted that the post-
conviction procedures of the Oklahoma trial and
appellate courts violated his federal constitu-
tional due process rights in at least two respects:

i. Oklahoma’s procedural bar against raising
Strickland claims concerning trial counsel on
post-conviction is a violation of fundamental
14th Amendment due process, and is neither
independent, nor adequate.

ii. Oklahoma’s de jure and de facto denial of
evidentiary hearings on Strickland issues
concerning both trial and appellate counsel

ii
QUESTIONS PRESENTED - Continued

is a violation of fundamental 14th Amend-
ment due process, and is neither indepen-
dent, nor adequate.

Mr. Graves presented these fundamental due
process claims to the United States District Court
within 30 days from the date the Court of Crimi-
nal Appeals issued its opinion denying these fun-
damental due process rights, only to have his
entire habeas petition dismissed as untimely
under the AEDPA.

Whether federal habeas jurisdiction for petitioners in
state custody can ever extend to due process viola-
tions arising from state court’s application of a pro-
cedural bar to Strickland claims concerning trial
counsel's ineffectiveness, and/or the summary denial
of evidentiary hearings concerning Strickland claims?

This question is relevant to this case because:

A.

The District Court based its ruling entirely on the
AEDPA limitations provisions. Mr. Graves’
appeal to the Tenth Circuit specifically asserted
the grounds set out in Question 2, supra. How-
ever, the Court of Appeals made no ruling con-
cerning the beginning of the limitations period,
but instead ruled that due process violations in
state court post-conviction proceedings are not
cognizable in a federal habeas corpus action.

|
&
b 4

iii
TABLE OF CONTENTS

a RO RAE AL
MN eS
NG ins aden the dekdecnnsedvadusden
I Ne nin eo Rid on Kio 5 ches rdkew anaes
NE, od ks c cas bswavecpetwess
Constitutional and Statutory Provisions ............
Reasons Why The Writ Should Be Granted.........

eR Ns a ee ee kate

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases
Barnett v. Lemaster, 167 F.3d 1321 (CA10 1999)....... 8
Beaulieu v. United States, 930 F.2d 805 (CA10
a | ape aR are am Mame Paper cy ory sr py Sn Wer pti eas ger Ne 11

Brecheen v. Reynolds, 41 F.3d 1343 (10th Cir. 1994) .... 11
Brewer v. Reynolds, 51 F.3d 1519 (10th Cir. 1995).... 11

Hicks v. Oklahoma, 447 U.S. 323 (1980) ............. 13
Miller v. Champion, 161 F.3d 1249 (CA10 1998) ..10, 11
Steele v. Young, 11 F.3d 1518 (10th Cir. 1993) ....... 12
Strickland v. Washington, 466 U.S. 668 (1984) ....... 10
Texaco, Inc. v. Short, 454 U.S. 516 (1982)............. 6
Vasquez v. Hillary, 474 U.S. 254 (1986)............... 6

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

US. Cone Ame: 5 Set Fa 2 aes basic as tivinr 6
Cah COR, NN Fn vn 8 6 cca ode cee snes daaceenens y
CLS. Cee Mame Gg. ook kv cake bk enka eee 2
U.S. Conssr., Anmmepnemner 14. .....0 cc cn ccscveccs 2, 13, 14

STATUTES AND RULES

AEDPA, Pub.L. No. 104-32, 110 Stat. 1214............ 2
Re ON a ini ee ee 2
Ue 6 ea 2, 12

BEC BT asec 13

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
ae APE Ses iba AS 66 ea ae 7
y EN aa | inmate a 2 33; 32, 2
Rs GR I Bi ads ec nb Seu N a pac eka ve deusnes 9
ed Sa Dee Or Wii hak EAN ea eae chen icas 13

OPINIONS BELOW

1. The unpublished opinion of the Court of Appeals for
the Tenth Circuit is set out verbatim at Appendix
pages 1-5. The Circuit Court’s opinion is also avail-
able online at:
http://www.kscourts.org/cal0/cases/1999/11/99-7013.htm

2. The unpublished opinion of the United States District
Court for the Eastern District of Oklahoma is set out
verbatim at Appendix pages 9-12. The District Court's
minute order denying Mr. Graves’ motion for a new
trial is set out verbatim at Appendix page 8. The
District Court’s minute order denying Mr. Graves’
request for a certificate of appealability is set out
verbatim at Appendix pages 6-7.

3. The unpuolished opinion of the Oklahoma Court of
Criminal Appeals affirming the Okiahoma County
District Court’s denial of post-conviction relief is set
out verbatim at Appendix pages 13-18.

4. The unpublished opinion of- the Oklahoma County
District Court’s denying Mr. Graves’ application for
post-conviction relief is set out verbatim at Appendix
pages 19-23.

5. The unpublished opinion of the Oklahoma Court of
Criminal Appeals affirming Mr. Graves’ conviction on
direct appeal is set out verbatim at Appendix pages
24-31.

6. The unpublished judgment and sentence of the trial
court is set out verbatim at Appendix pages 32-34.

*

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Tenth Circuit denying the writ of habeas corpus was

issued on November 30, 1999. [No petition for rehearing
was filed.] This Court’s jurisdiction is invoked under 28
U.S.C. § 1254(1), petitioner having asserted below and
herein a deprivation of his rights under the United States
Constitution.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

1. This case involves the Fifth Amendment to the United
States Constitution, which provides in relevant part:

No person shall be ... deprived of life, liberty,
or property, without due process of law[.]

2. This case also involves the Sixth Amendment to the
United States Constitution, which provides in rele-
vant part:

In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall
enjoy the right . . . to have the Assistance of
Counsel for his defense.

3. This case also involves the Fourteenth Amendment to
the United States Constitution which applies the Sixth
Amendment to the states and which provides, in per-

tinent part:
No . . . State [may] deprive any person of life,
[or] liberty . . . without due process of law.

4. This case also involves the limitations provisions of
the Anti-Terrorism and Effective Death Penalty Act of
1996 (“AEDPA”), Pub.L. No. 104-32, 110 Stat. 1214. In
pertinent part, the AEDPA, 28 U.S.C. § 2244(d)(1)
provides that:

§ 2244(d)

(1) A 1-year period of limitation shall apply to
an application for a writ of habeas corpus by a

person in custody pursuant to the judgment of a
State court. The limitation period shall run from
the latest of -

(A) the date on which the judgment
became final by the conclusion of direct
review or the expiration of the time for
seeking such review;

(B) the date on which the impediment to
filing an application created by State action
in violation of the Constitution or laws of
the United States is removed, if the appli-
cant was prevented from filing by such State
action;

(C) the date on which the constitutional
right asserted was initially recognized by
the Supreme Court, if the right has been
newly recognized by the Supreme Court
and made retroactively applicable to cases
on collateral review; or

(D) the date on which the factual predicate
of the claim or claims presented could have
been discovered through the exercise of due
diligence.

(2) The time during which a properly filed
application for State post-conviction or other
collateral review with respect to the pertinent
judgment or claim is pending shall not be coun-
ted toward any period of limitation under this
subsection.

5. This case also involves 28 U.S.C. § 2254 which pro-
vides in relevant part:

§ 2254

(a) The Supreme Court, a Justice thereof, a cir-
cuit judge, or a district court shall entertain an

application for a writ of habeas corpus in behalf
of a person in custody pursuant to the judgment
of a State court only on the ground that he is in
custody in violation of the Constitution or laws
or treaties of the United States.

(b)

(1) An application for a writ of habeas
corpus on behalf of a person in custody
pursuant to the judgment of a State court
shall not be granted unless it appears that —

(A) the applicant has exhausted the
remedies available in the courts of the
State; or

(B)

(i) there is an absence of available
State corrective process; or

(ii) circumstances exist that ren-
der such process ineffective to pro-
tect the rights of the applicant.

(2) An application for a writ of habeas
corpus may be denied on the merits, not-
withstanding the failure of the applicant to
exhaust the remedies available in the courts
of the State.

(3) A State shall not be deemed to have
waived the exhaustion requirement or be
estopped from reliance upon the require-
ment unless the State, through counsel,
expressly waives the requirement.

(c) An applicant shall not be deemed to have exhausted
the remedies available in the courts of the State, within
the meaning of this section, if he has the right under the

law of the State to raise, by any available procedure, the
question presented.

(d) An application for a writ of habeas corpus on behalf
of a person in custody pursuant to the judgment of a
State court shall not be granted with respect to any claim
that was adjudicated on the merits in State court proceed-
ings unless the adjudication of the claim -

(1) resulted in a decision that was contrary to,
or involved an unreasonable application of,
clearly established Federal law, as determined
by the Supreme Court of the United States; or

(2) resulted in a decision that was based on an
unreasonable determination of the facts in light
of the evidence presented in the State court
proceeding.

(e)

(1) Ina proceeding instituted by an application
for a writ of habeas corpus by a person in cus-
tody pursuant to the judgment of a State court, a
determination of a factual issue made by a State
court shall be presumed to be correct. The appli-
cant shall have the burden of rebutting the pre-
sumption of correctness by clear and convincing
evidence.

(2) If the applicant has failed to develop the
factual basis of a claim in State court proceed-
ings, the court shall not hold an evidentiary
hearing on the claim unless the applicant shows
that -

(A) the claim relies on -

(i) a new rule of constitutional law, made
retroactive to cases on collateral review by
the Supreme Court, that was previously
unavailable; or

(ii) a factual predicate that could not have
been previously discovered through the
exercise of due diligence; and

(B) the facts underlying the claim would be
sufficient to establish by clear and convinc-
ing evidence that but for constitutional
error, no reasonable fact finder would have
found the applicant guilty of the underlying
offense.

+

REASONS WHY THE WRIT SHOULD BE GRANTED

I. The Court of Appeals’ interpretation of the AEDPA
undermines the jurisdiction of this Court, conflicts
with the AEDPA’s plain language, and abridges the
fundamental right to petition for a writ of habeas
corpus.

The Writ of Habeas Corpus represents the essence of
America’s commitment to government under law, and the
Constitution forbids its peacetime suspension. U.S. Const.
Art. I, Section 9, ci. 2. This constitutionally protected
right to petition for judicial inquiry into unconstitutional
and illegal confinement is the last, best, and sometimes
only hope of prisoners for whom the regular appellate
process has proven fruitless. At the time of his conviction
in 1987, Mr. Graves had a vested right to ultimately bring
his constitutional claims to the federal courts. U.S. Const.
Art. I, § 9, ci. 2. Vasquez v. Hillary, 474 U.S. 254, 264-65,
106 S.Ct. 617, 88 L.Ed.2d 598 (1986) [Conviction set aside
23 years later]. The AEDPA cannot be construed or
applied in a fashion that subverts this vested, fundamen-
tal, and historical right. Texaco, Inc. v. Short, 454 U.S. 516,
527 n.21, 102 S.Ct. 781, 791 n.21, 70 L.Ed.2d 738 (1982).

The tolling provisions of the AEDPA provide that the
time during which a state court post-conviction proceed-
ing is “pending” is excluded from the calculation of the
limitations deadline. 28 U.S.C. § 2244(d)(2). This case, and
no doubt many others, turns on the interpretation of this
single word: Is a post-conviction action “pending” in a
state court until the date the state court’s decision is filed
of record, or is it “pending” until the time within which it
is subject to certiorari review in this Court has expired,
e.g., until it is a final judgment?

In its decision below, the Court of Appeals ruled that
the post-conviction “tolling period” ends at the moment
the state’s highest court files its decision. Although this
Court has not yet addressed this specific issue, logic, the
fundamental nature of the right of habeas corpus, and
basic statutory interpretation dictate that the Court of
Appeals’ judgment is mistaken, and that a state court
post-conviction proceeding must be deemed to remain
pending until it is no longer subject to certiorari review by
this Court.!

The Court of Appeals recognizes that the term
“pending” means “until it becomes final” when the inter-
pretation is made within the context of discretionary
review by the state courts.

. . The crux of this appeal is whether the
limitations period was tolled until the state
court denied the second habeas application, as
the district court found, or whether it remained

' Upon information and belief, a petition for certiorari
including a question substantially similar to this is pending in
Rhine v. Boone, No. 99-6598, petition filed October 4, 1999.

tolled until the state supreme court denied cer-
tiorari, as Barnett asserts.

Barnett v. Lemaster, 167 F.3d 1321 (CA10 1999)

While there is a distinction between certiorari review by
state courts, and certiorari review by the Supreme Court
of the United States, the Barnett Court determined that
the term “pending” necessarily includes the time when a
suit is subject to appeal.

. . . We conclude the term [pending] must be
construed more broadly to encompass all of the
time during which a state prisoner is attempt-
ing, through proper use of state court pro-
cedures, to exhaust state court remedies with
regard to a particular post-conviction applica-
tion. Such a construction comports with the
generally-accepted definition of the term. See,
e.g., Beverly Community Hosp. Assoc. v. Belshe,
132 F.3d 1259, 1264-65 (9th Cir. 1997) (statutory
reference to “pending” lawsuits encompasses
not only undecided cases at district court level
but also cases pending on appeal), cert. denied,
119 S.Ct. 334 (1998); de Rodulfa v. United States,
461 F.2d 1240, 1253 (D.C. Cir. 1972) (“suit is
pending until the appeal is disposed of, and
until disposition any judgment appealed from
it is still sub judice”).

{Barnett, id.]
[bracketed material and emphasis added]

There is no logical or rational basis for defining the
term in one way when referring to certiorari review by a
state court and certiorari review by this Court. It is also
clear that the view adopted by the Court of Appeals in
Mr. Graves’ case would result in an illogical construction

that would have the AEDPA limitations period continue
to run even while this Court was considering a prisoner’s
certiorari petition. For example, if a state court prisoner
submitted a petition for certiorari to this Court [whether
following direct appeal or a post-conviction action], that
petition might be pending in this Court for more than the
year contemplated by the AEDPA. If such time was not
tolled, one can imagine a situation in which a petitioner
was granted certiorari by the Supreme Court, and his case
remanded to the Court of Criminal Appeals for further
proceedings, only to later find that his right to habeas
corpus review had expired while the Supreme Court had
been considering his case. In another case, this Court
might simply deny certiorari, but if that order declining
discretionary review was issued after the first anniver--
sary of the state court decision for which review was
sought, the fundamental right to seek a writ of habeas
corpus would have simply vanished from the legal land-
scape without the prisoner ever having had a chance to
exercise it.

This Court must resolve this issue in a way that is
consistent with the fundamental nature of the right of
habeas corpus. Mr. Graves’ collateral attack through post-
conviction must be deemed “pending” until the judgment
of the state court is no longer subject to reversal or
review, and the 90 day window of opportunity for cer-
tiorart review allowed by Supreme Court Rule 13 has
expired. 7

10

2. The Court of Appeals’ refusal to address fundamen-
tal due process claims which arose for the first time
during post-conviction proceedings, conflicts with
the AEPDA’s plain language, abridges the funda-
mental right to petition for a writ of habeas corpus,
and frees the Oklahoma Court of Criminal Appeals
from the superintending jurisdiction of this Court.

The District Court committed plain error when it
refused to address the merits of Mr. Graves’ claims that
he was denied due process of law on post-conviction by:
1) the refusal of the state courts to permit Strickland
claims concerning trial counsel to be raised on post-
conviction; and, 2) the refusal of the state courts to permit
the presentation of evidence in support of his constitu-
tional claims. The Court of Appeals has consistently iden-
tified these constitutional deficiencies as matters within
federal habeas jurisdiction. In Miller v. Champion, the
Court of Appeals addressed both issues within the con-
text of Strickland claims:

. . . However, notwithstanding Oklahoma state
law to the contrary, we have held that a state
prisoner may raise an ineffective assistance of
counsel claim for the first time in a § 2254 pro-
ceeding unless (1) he had an opportunity to
consult with separate counsel on direct appeal
in order to obtain an effective assessment of trial
counsel’s performance and (2) the State pro-
vided a procedural mechanism that afforded
him an opportunity to develop adequately the
factual basis of his ineffective assistance claim

11

on direct appeal. See English v. Cody, 146 F.3d
1257, 1263 (10th Cir. 1998).

Miller v. Champion, 161 F.3d 1249 (CA10 1998)

The same constitutional criticism of Oklahoma’s pro-
cedural rule limiting claims of trial counsel’s ineffective-
ness to direct appeal and barring consideration on post-
conviction was addressed in Brecheen v. Reynolds:

The practical effect of this ruling [by the Okla-
homa court] is to force [the petitioner] either to
raise this claim on direct appeal, with new coun-
sel but without the benefit of additional fact-
finding, or have the claim forfeited under state
law. This Hobson’s choice cannot constitute an
adequate state ground under the controlling
case law because it deprives [the petitioner] of
any meaningful review of his ineffective assis-
tance claim.

Brecheen v. Reynolds, 41 F.3d 1343, 1363-64
(CA10 1994), cert. denied, 115 S.Ct. 2564 (1995)

See also, Brewer v. Reynolds, 51 F.3d 1519 (10th Cir. 1995)
and Beaulieu v. United States, 930 F.2d 805, 807 (CA10
1991).

These specific federal constitutional claims were nec-
essarily presented to the state courts for the first time on
post-conviction, and the federal constitutional injuries
suffered by Mr. Graves did not come into being until the
Oklahoma Court of Criminal Appeals rejected them in its
August 7, 1997, OrpeR AFFIRMING THE DeNniAL OF Post
ConvicTION Retier. See Appendix page 14.

Mr. Graves then presented these claims in his § 2254
writ, which was filed in the United States District Court
just one month later. It is axiomatic that one month is less

12

than one year, and it was therefore the plainest of plain
error for the District Court to rule these claims time
barred under the AEDPA. It is as if the District Court
ruled that the “date of injury” of all constitutional errors
within post-conviction proceedings “relate back” to the
date of the final judgment on direct appeal. If this inter-
pretation is permitted to stand, the Oklahoma Courts will
have effectively escaped all future habeas corpus review of
any action taken on post-conviction by any Oklahoma
Court with respect to any prisoner who has been “out of
court” for more than the AEDPA’s one year limitations
period.

This plain error was then compounded when the
Court of Appeals omitted any reference to the District
Court’s error while nevertheless affirming the dismissal
of Mr. Graves’ writ on the grounds that, “Mr. Graves
challenges to Oklahoma’s post-conviction procedures do
not amount to federal constitutional claims in a federal
habeas action. See Steele v. Young, 11 F.3d 1518, 1524 (10th
Cir. 1993).” See Appendix page 5. Not only was this
broad ruling de hores the District Court’s opinion, it
unreasonably denies habeas jurisdiction to legitimate fed-
eral constitutional claims.

The requirement of exhaustion of state remedies
offers state courts the opportunity to conform their deci-
sions to the supreme law of the land, and 28 U.S.C. § 2254
expressly confers jurisdiction on this Court to reexamine
and, if necessary, set aside state court orders and judg-
ments whenever they are shown to have:

1. resulted in a decision that was contrary to,
or involved an unreasonable application of,

13

clearly established Federal law, as deter-
mined by the Supreme Court of the United
States; or

2. resulted in a decision that was based on an
unreasonable determination of the facts in
light of the evidence presented in the State
court proceeding.

28 U.S.C. § 2254(d)

In addition to the fundamental rights identified in
Miller v. Champion and Bresheen v. Reynolds, 14th Amend-
ment due process and equal protection of the law impose
on the States a federal constitutional duty to provide due
process of law with respect to rights existing or created
under state law. While there may be no independent
federal constitutional requirement that a particular state
conduct its post-conviction affairs in a particular way,
Oklahoma’s post-conviction proceedings are created by
such statutes, 22 O.S. §§ 1080, et seq., and these statutory
rights create due process liberty interests within the
scope of 14th Amendment due process of law. Hicks v.
Oklahoma, 447 U.S. 323 (1980).

It is essential that this Court assume certiorari juris-
diction and reverse the judgment of the Court of Appeals.
If this Court allows the District Court’s judgment that
constitutional errors occurring for the first time during
post-conviction proceedings are time barred whenever
the direct appeal judgment is time barred under the
AEDPA, then the Oklahoma Courts will have effectively
escaped habeas corpus review of any action taken on post-
conviction by any Oklahoma Court with respect to any
prisoner who has been “out of court” for more than the

14

AEDPA’s one year limitations period. Even more troub-
ling, if the decision of the Court of Appeals is allowed to
stand, the Oklahoma Courts will have effectively escaped
habeas corpus review of any action taken on post-convic-
tion by any Oklahoma Court with respect to any prisoner,
whether or not the prisoner has been “out of court” for
more than the AEDPA’s one year limitations period.
Freed of oversight, the Court of Criminal Appeals could
openly and directly contrad:ct this Court’s interpretation
of federal constitutional law in a post-conviction proceed-
ing, and the victimized prisoner could never reach the
merits on habeas. The 14th Amendment demands more of
federal oversight.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the Court should grant
certiorari review in this case and upon full consideration,
remand this case to the Court of Appeals for the Tenth
Circuit with instructions to reinstate Mr. Graves’ petition
for the Great Writ.

Respectfully submitted,

JoHN Davip EcHOoLs
P.O. Box 701196
Tulsa, OK 74170-1196
918/299-3802 [voice]
918/299-9765 [fax]
defender@pianosa.com

Attorney for Edwin Thomas Graves

App. 1

APPENDIX

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

EDWIN THOMAS
GRAVES,
No. 99-7013
(D.C. No. CV-97-512-S)
(E.D. Okla.)

Petitioner-Appellant,
V.

|

|

|

|

|
BOBBY BOONE, Warden, |
Mack Alford Correctional |
Center; THE ATTORNEY !
GENERAL OF THE |
STATE OF OKLAHOMA, |
|

Respondents-Appellees.

ORDER AND JUDGMENT*
(Filed Nov. 30, 1999)

Before ANDERSON, BARRETT, and BRISCOE, Circuit
Judges.

After examining the briefs and appellate record, this
panel has determined unanimously that oral argument
would not materially assist the determination of this
appeal. See Fed. R. App. P. 34(a)(2); 10th Cir. R. 34.1(G).

* This order and judgment is not binding precedent, except
under the doctrines of law of the case, res judicata, and
collateral estoppel. The court generally disfavors the citation of
orders and judgments, nevertheless, an order and judgment
may be cited under the terms and conditions of 10th Cir. R. 36.3.

App. 2

The case is therefore ordered submitted without oral
argument.

Petitioner-appellant Edwin Thomas Graves appeals
the district court’s denial of his 28 U.S.C. § 2254 petition
for writ of habeas corpus. He also appeals the district
court’s denial of a certificate of appealability. The district
court determined that Mr. Graves’ petition was not
timely. We affirm the district court and deny a certificate
of appealability.

The Antiterrorism and Effective Death Penalty Act of
1996 (AEDPA), establishes a one-year limitations period
in which prisoners must file their habeas petitions. see 28
U.S.C. § 2244(d)(1). The limitations period triggers when
the prisoner’s direct appeal becomes final. See Hoggro v.
Boone, 150 F.3d 1223, 1225 (10th Cir. 1998). For prisoners
whose convictions became final before April 24, 1996 -
AEDPA’s effective date — the limitations period com-
mences on April 24, 1996 and expires one year later, on
April 24, 1997. See id. at 1225-26. Time spent pursuing
state post-conviction relief tolls the one-year grace
period. See 28 U.S.C. § 2244(d)(2); Hoggro, 150 F.3d at
1226.

Mr. Graves was convicted of first-degree murder in
Oklahoma state court on September 30, 1987, and sen-
tenced to life imprisonment. The Oklahoma Court of
Criminal Appeals denied his direct appeal on September
3, 1992. On August 7, 1997, the Oklahoma Court of Crimi-
nal Appeals affirmed the District Court of Oklahoma
County which denied Mr. Graves’ April 21, 1997 request
for post-conviction relief. Mr. Graves filed this petition
for habeas relief in the Eastern District of Oklahoma on

App. 3

September 8, 1997 — 502 days after April 24, 1996. Out of
those 502 days, Mr. Graves spent 108 days pursuing state
post-conviction relief. Subtracting 108 days from the total
elapsed time of 502 days leaves 394 days, an amount in
excess of the one-year grace period.

Mr. Graves argues on appeal that: (1) the record
establishes a denial of his constitutional rights requiring a
certificate of appealability; (2) the doctrine of reasonable
opportunity applies; (3) the limitations period runs while
a petitioner can seek certiorari review in the United
States Supreme court; (4) the limitations period is an
affirmative defense limiting the district court to respon-
dents’ arguments; (5) the district court erred by not equi-
tably tolling the limitations period; (6) the limitations
period does not run while Oklahoma’s appellate and
post-conviction procedures fail to provide a constitu-
tional means of exhausting state remedies for federal
constitutional violations; and (7) the limitations period
does not run as to unconstitutional procedures in state
court post-conviction proceedings, and the district court
must address federal constitutional claims which do not
arise in the first instance until state court post-conviction
proceedings are concluded.

Mr. Graves’ arguments on appeal do not save his
petition. The time during which a petition for writ of
certiorari is pending in the United States Supreme Court
as well as the time during which such a petition can be
filed is not within the ambit of § 2244(d)(2) and is not
excluded from the one-year limitations period. See Rhine
v. Boone, 182 F.3d 1153, 1156 (10th Cir. 1999), petition for
cert. filed, (U.S. Oct. 4, 1999) (No. 99-6598). In addition,
Mr. Graves has not presented any compelling reason why

App. 4

the grace period should be equitably tolled. See Irwin v.
Department of Veterans Affairs, 498 U.S. 89, 96 (1990)
(describing rare situations in which federal courts have
permitted equitable tolling). Nor are we swayed by his
related argument that we should apply a reasonable
opportunity analysis rather than that set forth in Hoggro
and other of our decisions.

Mr. Graves also argues that the district court erred by
not strictly adhering to respondents’ arguments pertain-
ing to the limitations period. We see no significance in the
district court’s purported deviation. First, respondents
did raise the defense of limitations. Second, federal dis-
trict courts are empowered in habeas cases to consider
petitions and dismiss them if “the petitioner is not enti-
tled to relief in the district court.” Rules Governing Sec-
tion 2254 Cases in the United States District Courts, 28
U.S.C. foll. § 2254 Rule 4; see also Kiser v. Johnson, 163 F.3d
326, 328 (5th Cir. 1999) (holding that rule 4 “differentiates
habeas cases from other civil cases with respect to sua
sponte consideration of affirmative defenses”)

Mr. Graves’ remaining contentions essentially chal-
lenge Oklahoma’s post-conviction procedures. Mr. Graves
contends that AEDPA’s one-year limitations period never
started to run because he was not afforded a fuli oppor-
tunity to exhaust his federal constitutional claims. Mr
Graves claims that the Oklahoma state courts impeded
him, within the meaning of § 2244(d)(1)(B), by denying
him the opportunity to present evidence in support of his
ineffective assistance of counsel claim. In addition, Mr.
Graves contends that he was not allowed to develop the
necessary factual record under § 2244(d)(1)(D). We do not

App. 5

find, on the record before us, that the § 2244(d)(1) limita-
tions period “raises serious constitutional questions and
possibly renders the habeas remedy inadequate and inef-
fective.” Miller v. Marr, 141 F.3d 976, 978 (10th Cir.), cert.
denied, 119 S. Ct. 210 (1998). Mr. Graves’ challenges to
Oklahoma’s post-conviction procedures do not amount to
federal constitutional claims in a federal habeas action.
See Steele v. Young, 11 F.3d 1518, 1524 (10th Cir. 1993).

Accordingly, we DENY Mr. Graves’ request for a
certificate of appealability and DISMISS the appeal.

Entered for the Court

Stephen H. Anderson
Circuit Judge

App. 6

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE
EASTERN DISTRICT OF OKLAHOMA

EDWIN THOMAS
GRAVES,

Fettoner, No. CIV 97-512-S
V.

BOBBY BOONE, et al.,

Respondents.

Ne ee eee eee ee

ORDER DENYING CERTIFICATE OF APPEALABILITY
(Filed Febr. 11, 1999)

Petitioner has filed a notice of intent to appeal the
court’s orders entered July 23, 1998, dismissing his peti-
tion for a writ of habeas corpus and December 31, 1998,
overruling his motion for new trial. After a careful review
of the record the court concludes petitioner has failed to
make a “substantial showing of the denial of a constitu-
tional right,” as required by 28 U.S.C. § 2253(c)(2), as
amended by the Antiterrorism and Effective Death Pen-
alty Act of 1996, Publ L. No. 104-132, 110 Stat. 1214
(1996). See also Lennox v. Evans, 87 F.3d 431, 434 (10th Cir.
1996), cert. denied, __ U.S. __, 117 S.Ct. 746 (1997), over-
ruled in part by United States v. Kunzman, 123 F.3d 1363,
1364 n.2 (10th Cir. 1997).

Accordingly, petitioner is denied a certificate of
appealability.

App. 7

IT IS SO ORDERED this 11th day of February 1999.

/s/ Frank H. Seay
FRANK H. SEAY
UNITED STATES
DISTRICT JUDGE

App. 8

United States District Court
for the Eastern District of Oklahoma
December 31, 1998

John David Echols, Esq.
P.O. Box 701196
Tulsa, OK 74170

CIVIL MINUTES

6:97-cv-00512

Graves v. Boone

DOCKET ENTRY

MINUTE ORDER: ENTERING ORDER overruling Peti-
tioner’s motion for new trial [10-1]. (FHS) (cc: all counsel)

WILLIAM B. GUTHRIE, Clerk

By: Sheila May
Deputy Clerk

THIS NOTICE SENT to THE FOLLOWING
COUNSEL:

John David Echols, Esq.
Katharine J. Hodgins, Esq.

App. 9

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE
EASTERN DISTRICT OF OKLAHOMA

EDWIN THOMAS

)
GRAVES, )
fe )

wetitioner, | No. CIV 97-812-8
v. )
BOBBY BOONE, Warden, ?
et al., ‘
Respondents. _)

ORDER

(Filed July 23, 1998)

This action is before the court on respondent’s
motion to dismiss petition for failure to file within the
limitations period. Petitioner, an inmate in the custody of
the Oklahoma Department of Corrections who is incarcer-
ated at Mack Alford Correctional Center in Stringtown,
Oklahoma, attacks his conviction in Oklahoma County
District Court Case Number CFR-87-1715 for Murder in
the First Degree.

Respondent has filed a motion to dismiss, alleging
the petition was filed beyond the one-year statute of
limitations imposed by the Antiterrorism and Effective
Death Penalty Act of 1996, codified at 28 U.S.C. § 2244(d)
(“AEDPA”). The following dates are pertinent to the dis-
position of the motion:

09/03/92 Petitioner’s conviction affirmed by the
Oklahoma Court of Criminal Appeals in
Graves v. State, No. F-89-0303 (Okla. Crim.
App. Sept. 3, 1992).

12/02/92

04/21/97

06/03/97

08/07/97

09/08/97

App. 10

Expiration of the ninety-day period for a
certiorari appeal to the United States
Supreme Court.

Petitioner filed an application for post-con-
viction relief in the Oklahoma County Dis-
trict Court.

The district court denied petitioner’s appli-
cation for post-conviction relief in State v.
Graves, No. 87-1715 (Oklahoma County
Dist. Ct. June 4, 1997).

The denial of petitioner’s application for
post-conviction relief was affirmed in
Graves v. State, No. PC-97-954 (Okla. Crim.
App. Aug. 7, 1997).

Petitioner filed this petition for a writ of
habeas corpus.

On April 24, 1996, the President signed the AEDPA
into law, amending 28 U.S.C. § 2244 to add a one-year
statute of limitation period for filing a writ of habeas
corpus by state prisoners:

(1) A 1-year period of limitation shall apply to
an application for a writ of habeas corpus by a
person in custody pursuant to the judgment of a
State court. The limitation period shall run from
the latest of -

(A) the date on which the judgment became
final by the conclusion of direct review or the
expiration of the time for seeking such review;

(B) the date on which the impediment to filing
an application created by State action in viola-
tion of the constitution or laws of the United
States is removed, if the applicant was pre-
vented from filing by such State action;

App. 11

(C) the date on which the constitutional right
asserted was initially recognized by the
Supreme Court, if the right has been newly rec-
ognized by the Supreme Court and made retro-
actively applicable to cases on collateral review;
or

(D) the date on which the factual predicate of
the claim or claims presented could have been
discovered through the exercise of reasonable
diligence.

(2) The time during which a properly filed
application for State post-conviction or other
collateral review with respect to the pertinent
judgment or claim is pending shall not be coun-
ted toward any period of limitation under this
subsection.

28 U.S.C. § 2244(d).

The Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals has since held
that a petitioner whose conviction became final on or
before April 24, 1996, must file his petition for a writ of
habeas corpus before April 24, 1997. See Miller v. Marr,
141 F.3d 976 977 (10th Cir. 1998); see also United States v.
Simmonds, 111 F.3d 737, 746 (10th Cir. 1997).

Acknowledging the Simmonds holding, respondent
asserts that because his conviction was final in 1992,
petitioner’s deadline for filing this petition was April 23,
1997. With respect to petitioner’s post-conviction pro-
ceedings, respondent contends the one-year grace period
was for filing a habeas petition, not for pursuing post-
conviction remedies.

A plain reading of 28 U.S.C. § 2244(d)(2) shows that
the federal courts are required to toll time spent in state

App. 12

court post-conviction litigation. Applying the statute to
petitioner’s case, the one-year limitations period began to
run on April 24, 1996, the effective date of AEDPA. Peti-
tioner filed this habeas petition on September 8, 1997, 502
days after AEDPA went into effect. However, the 108
days, from April 21, 1997, to August 7, 1997, when peti-
tioner’s post-conviction action was pending should be
subtracted from the 502 days. The resulting elapsed time
of 394 days is [sic] exceeds the one-year limit.

ACCORDINGLY, respondent’s motion to dismiss
time barred petition is GRANTED, and this action is
DISMISSED in its entirety.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 23rd day of July 1998.

/s/ Frank H. Seay
FRANK H. SEAY
UNITED STATES
DISTRICT JUDGE

on nec inaieaall

App. 13

IN THE COURT OF CRIMINAL APPEALS
OF THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA

EDWIN THOMAS
GRAVES

Petitioner, Case No. PC 97-954

V.

THE STATE OF
OKLAHOMA

Respondent.

Nm meee eee ee ee”

ORDER AFFIRMING DENIAL OF
POST-CONVICTION RELIEF

(Filed Aug. 7, 1997)

Petitioner, through counsel, filed an Application for
Post-Conviction Relief in the District Court of Oklahoma
County, Case No. CRF 87-1715. The Honorable Daniel
Owens, District Judge, denied the Application. From the
District Court’s Post-Conviction Findings, Petitioner
appeals.

Petitioner was convicted in Case No. CRF 87-1715 of
first degree Murder. On direct appeal, we affirmed his
conviction and sentence of life imprisonment. Graves v.
State, F 89-0303 (Okl.Cr. September 3, 1992) (not for pub-
lication). In the Application for Post-Conviction Relief
filed in the District Court, Petitioner raised five (5) propo-
sitions of error.! Judge Owens found that all claims which

' Petitioner alleged five errors of law occurred: separation
of jurors during deliberations, lack of instruction on lesser-
included offense, lack of instruction on second degree

App. 14

could have, or should have, been raised on direct appeal
were waived, and that all claims which were previously
raised were barred by res judicata. Judge Owens exam-
ined Petitioner’s allegation of ineffective assistance of
appellate counsel and determined such a claim was not
supported by the law or the record. As set forth in the
Post-Conviction Findings, Judge Owens denied post-con-
viction relief.

On appeal, Petitioner complains that the District
Court’s decision to deny relief was error. Petitioner
argues that he should have been granted an evidentiary
hearing to prove his allegations of ineffective assistance
of appellate counsel and ineffective assistance of trial
counsel. Petitioner also regurgitates the other issues he
raised in the District Court and states they each should be
considered “to the extent each relates to the Proposition
One claim of ineffectiveness of appellate counsel.” Peti-
tioner also encourages this Court to “modify its rules and
decisions to the extent that it allowed every substantial
legal issue not presented on direct appeal to be presented
and considered in post-conviction proceedings.”

We decline Petitioner’s request to modify all of our
prior decisions and our rules to allow every substantial
legal issue not presented on direct appeal to be presented
and considered in post-conviction proceedings. The Post-
Conviction Procedure Act, 22 O.S.1991, § 1080 et seq. was
not intended to provide a second appeal under the mask
of a post-conviction application. Fox v. State, 880 P.2d 383,

manslaughter, ineffective assistance of trial counsel, and
ineffective assistance of appellate counsel.

semanas

App. 15

384 (Okl.Cr.1994), cert. denied, __. U.S. __, 115 S.Ct. 1318,
131 L.Ed.2d 199 (1995). The Act very specifically limits
what types of claims may be raised. See 22 O.S. 1991,
§ 1080 et. seq.

We will not consider an issue which was raised on
direct appeal (and is therefore res judicata) or an issue
which could have been raised on direct appeal but was
not (and is therefore waived). See Mayes v. State, 921 P.2d
367, 370 (OklI.Cr.1996) and citations therein. An exception
exists when the court finds a ground for relief asserted
which for sufficient reasons was not asserted or was
inadequately asserted in a prior application to secure
relief. 22 O.S.1991, § 1086.

A sufficient reason for failing to previously raise or
for inadequately asserting an issue requires a showing
that some impediment external to the defense prevented
petitioner and counsel from constructing or raising a
claim. Johnson v. State, 823 P.2d 370, 373 (Okl.Cr.1991); see
also McCleskey v. Zant, 499 U.S. 467, 111 S.Ct. 1454, 113
L.Ed.2d 517 (1991). As “sufficient reason” for not assert-
ing the claims raised in the application, Petitioner claims
his appellate counsel was ineffective for not raising three
“fundamental, reversible errors” and for not raising inef-
fective assistance of trial counsel. Petitioner does not
explain how he or his direct appeal counsel was pre-
vented from constructing or raising the claims raised
here. Rather, Petitioner argues that examination of the
underlying claims would reveal their validity and would
require and support a finding of deficient performance of

appellate counsel.

App. 16

The test for determining the effectiveness of both
trial and appellate counsel is the standard of “reasonably
effective assistance” set forth in Strickland v. Washington,
466 U.S. 668, 104 S.Ct. 2052, 2064, 80 L.Ed.2d 674, 692-693
(1984). Cartwright v. State, 708 P.2d 592, 594 (Okl.Cr.1985).
In Lockhart v. Fretwell, 506 U.S. 364, 369-70, 113 S.Ct. 838,
842-43, 122 L.Ed.2d 180, 189 (1993), interpreting Strick-
land, the Supreme Court held:

[an appellant] alleging prejudice must show
“that counsel’s errors were so serious as to
deprive the defendant of a fair trial, a trial
whose result is reliable.” Stricland [sic], 466 U.S.
at 687, 104 S.Ct. at 2064; see also Kimmelman v.
Morrison, 477 U.S. 365, 374, 106 S.Ct. 2574, 2582,
91 L.Ed.2d 305 (1986) (“The essence of an inef-
fective-assistance claim is that counsel’s
unprofessional errors so upset the adversarial
balance between defense and prosecution that
the trial was rendered unfair and the verdict
rendered suspect”); Nix v. Whiteside, supra, 475
U.S., at 175 106 S.Ct. at 998. Thus, an analysis
focusing solely on mere outcome determination,
without attention to whether the result of the
proceeding was fundamentally unfair or unreli-
able, is defective. To set aside a conviction or
sentence solely because the outcome would
have been different but for counsel’s error may
grant the defendant a windfall to which the law
does not entitle him. See Cronic, supra, 466 U.S.
at 658, 104 S.Ct. at 2046.

Day v. Hargett, 937 P.2d 502, 503 (Okl1.Cr.1997).

The record does not establish that Petitioner’s appel-
late counsel rendered deficient performance sufficient to
show the trial was unfair or the verdict suspect. Failure to

———aaaoEaaE————_

App. 17

raise each and every issue is not determinative of ineffec-
tive assistance of counsel and counsel is not required to
advance every cause or argument regardless of merit. See
Cartwright v. State, 708 P.2d 592, 594 (Okl.Cr.1985); Day v.
Hargettt, 937 P.2d 502, 503 (Okl.Cr.1997)

The record before this court, consisting only of Peti-
tioners assertions that the outcome of the proceedings
would have been different, fails to establish that Peti-
tioner was denied effective assistance of appellate coun-
sel. Petitioner also complains that the District Court
should have held an evidentiary hearing on the claims of
ineffective trial and appellate counsel. However, the Dis-
trict Court was not required to hold an evidentiary hear-
ing on those allegations, because Petitioner had not
shown the existence of a genuine issue of material fact
which had to be resolved through an evidentiary hearing
and was necessary for a determination of the issues
raised. 22 O.S.1991, § 1084.

An “appeal to this Court under the Post-Conviction
Procedure Act constitutes an appeal from the issues
raised, the record, and findings of fact and conclusions of
law made in the district court.” Rule 5.2, Rules of the
court of Criminal Appeals, 22 O.S.Supp.1996, Ch.i8, App.
We cannot conclude from the record before us that the
trial court erred in denying relief or that Petitioner has
shown he is entitled to post-conviction relief.

THEREFORE IT IS THE ORDER OF THIS COURT
that the Post-Conviction Findings of the district Court,
denying post-conviction relief in Case No. CRF 87-1715,
should be AFFIRMED.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

Se Ee See Ten Oe a eT

App. 18

WITNESS OUR HANDS AND THE SEAL OF THIS
COURT this 7th day of August, 1997.

/s/ Reta M. Strubhar
RETA M. STRUBHAR,
Vice Presiding Judge

/s/ Gary L. Lumpkin
GARY L. LUMPKIN, Judge

/s/ James F. Lane
JAMES F. LANE, Judge

/s/ Charles A. Johnson
CHARLES A. JOHNSON, Judge

ATTEST:

/s/ James Patterson
Clerk

pa

App. 19

IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF OKLAHOMA COUNTY
STATE OF OKLAHOMA

EDWIN THOMAS GRAVES, )
Petitioner, )
eet )
i ) Case No.
THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA, ) CRF-87-1715
Renpennent. (Filed June 04, 1997)

POST CONVICTION FINDINGS
ORIGINAL CHARGE: Murder in the First Degree.

JUDGMENT AND SENTENCE: Life imprisonment.

APPLICATION FOR POST-CONVICTION RELIEF
FILED: April 21, 1997.

RESPONSE OF THE DISTRICT ATTORNEY: May 20,
1997.

WAS FORM AUTHORIZED BY COURT OF CRIMINAL
APPEALS USED? Yes

PROCEEDING IN COURT OF CRIMINAL APPEALS, IF
ANY: Direct Appeal in case number F-89-303.

IS THERE A GENUINE ISSUE OF MATERIAL FACT?
No

IS AN EVIDENTIARY HEARING NECESSARY? No

IS THE TESTIMONY OF THE TRIAL JUDGE MATE-
RIAL TO SUCH A HEARING? No

App. 20

STATEMENT REGARDING
MATERIALS REVIEWED FOR DECISION

The Court has reviewed the following materials for

the making of its decision:

1.

1. Petitioner’s brief and attachments thereto.

2. State’s response brief and attachments
thereto.

FINDINGS OF FACT

On September 23, 1987, Petitioner was convicted by a
jury trial before the Honorable Judge Charles Owens.
On September 30, 1987, Judge Owens sentenced Peti-
tioner pursuant to the jury’s recommendation.

Petitioner filed a direct appeal with the Court of
Criminal Appeals wherein he raised two propositions
of error. They were as follows:

Proposition I: Evidence at trial was insufficient to
support a conviction for First
Degree Murder.

Proposition II: Insufficient evidence existed to find
flight.

The Court affirmed the Petitioner’s convictions with-
out modification or reversal.

Petitioner filed the instant application wherein he
raises five propositions of error. They are as follows:

Proposition I: Separation of jurors during deliber-
ation.

Proposition II: No 22 O.S. §837 jury instruction.
Proposition III: No 22 O.S. §716 jury instruction.

—

App. 21

Proposition IV: Ineffectiveness of trial counsel.
Proposition V: Ineffectiveness of appellate counsel.

Petitioner requests that his judgment and sentence be
vacated and/or have his case dismissed with preju-
dice, or be granted a new trial.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

The post-conviction procedure act is not intended to
be a second direct appeal. Fox v. State, 880 P.2d 383,
384 (Okl.Cr.1994), cert. denied, _ U.S. __, 115 S.Ct.
1318, 131 L.Ed.2d 199 (1995), the Court is not required
to consider issues which were raised on direct appeal
and barred by res judicata. Thomas v. State, 888 P.2d
522, 525 (Okl.Cr.1994), cert. denied, __ U.S. __, 116
S.Ct. 123, 133 L.Ed.2d 73 (1995). Issues which could
have been raised on direct appeal, but were not, are
waived. Castro v. State, 814 P.2d 158, 159
(Okl.Cr.1991), cert. denied, 502 U.S. 1063, 112 S.Ct. 947,
117 L.Ed.2d 116 (1992). The issues raised by Petitioner
were or could have been raised on direct appeal.

Petitioner’s claim of ineffective assistance of trial
counsel is without merit, and barred by controlling
case law. A claim of ineffective assistance of counsel
is to be treated the same as any other issue raised on
direct appeal, not through collateral attack, or it is
waived. Berget v. State, 907 P.2d 1078, 1084
(Okl.Cr.App.1995), cert. denied, 116 S.Ct. 2504; Strong
v. State, 902 P.2d 1101, 1103 (Okl.Cr.App.1995). Issues
which could have been raised on direct appeal, but
were not, are waived. Castro v. State, 814 P.2d 158, 159,
(Okl.Cr.App.1991) cert. denied, 502 U.S. 1063, 112
S.Ct. 947, 117 L.Ed.2d 116 (1992).

Petitioner is now precluded from raising this issue for
the first time in a Post-Conviction Proceeding. Mat-
ters which have or could have been raised on direct

App. 22

appeal, but were not, will not be considered in Post-
Conviction Proceedings. Nguyen v. State, 879 P.2d 148
(Ok.Cr.App.1994).

The record provided by Petitioner does not support
Petitioner’s claim that appellate counsel was ineffec-
tive. There is nothing in the record to show that
appellate counsel’s representation fell below an objec-
tive standard of reasonableness and that there is a
reasonable probability that, but for counsel’s
unprofessional errors, the result of the proceeding
would have been different. Strickland v. Washington,
466 U.S. 668, 104 S.Ct. 2052, 80 L.Ed. 674 (1984).

To meet both the deficient performance and prejudice
prongs, the Petitioner must establish that his appel-
late counsel failed to raise issues warranting reversal,
modification of sentence, or remand for resentencing.
Hooks, 902 P.2d at 1107; Mann v. State, 856 P.2d 992,
994 (Okl.Cr.1993), cert. denied, __ U.S. __, 114 S.Ct.
1869, 128 L.Ed.2d 490 (1994).

The fact that appellate counsel did not raise every
issue now raised by Petitioner is not evidence of
ineffectiveness. It is the role of appellate counsel to
carefully select and develop the legal issues to be
presented to the Court and not raise every non-frivo-
lous issue conceivable. Jones v. Barnes, 463 U.S. 745,
749, 103 S.Ct. 3308, 77 L.Ed.2d 987 (1983).

Further, appellate counsel is not ineffective, and
counsel actions do not establish a sufficient reason for
a default, the mere fact that counsel fails to recognize
either the factual or the legal basis for a constitutional
claim, or failed to raise the claim even if recognized.
Webb v. State, 835 P.2d 115, 116, (Okl.Cr.1992), citing
Murray v. Carrier, 477 U.S. 478, 486, 106 S.Ct. 2639, 91
L.Ed.2d 397 (1986).

ORDER: Application denied.

App. 23

NOTICE: YOU MAY APPEAL THIS ORDER BY FILING A
PETITION IN THE COURT OF CRIMINAL APPEALS
WITHIN THIRTY DAYS FROM THIS DATE. (THIS
ORDER TO BE FILED BY THE CLERK AS PART OF THE
MINUTES IN THIS CASE.) 3

DATED this 3rd day of June, 1997.

COURT REPORTER PRESENT

/s/ Daniel L. Owens
DISTRICT JUDGE

App. 24

CLIENT COPY

IN THE COURT OF CRIMINAL APPEALS
OF THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA

EDWIN THOMAS

GRAVES NOT FOR
Aintiai ) PUBLICATION
oa | No. F-89-0303

THE STATE OF )

OKLAHOMA, )

Appellee. ‘
OPINION
(Filed Sep. 3, 1992)
BRETT, J.:

Appellant, Edwin Thomas Graves, was tried by jury
for the crime of Murder in the First Degree, (21
O.S.Supp.1982 § 701.7), in the District Court of Oklahoma
County, Case No. CRF-87-1715. The jury returned a ver-
dict of guilty and set punishment at life imprisonment.
Appellant was sentenced accordingly. From this judg-
ment and sentence, appellant perfects this appeal.

At trial, testimony was presented that on March 24,
1987, Joyce Graves’ body was found in a ditch, under-
neath a mattress, along the side of County Line Road in
Oklahoma City. The body appeared to be nude, hairless!
and badly beaten with a cut in the back of the head.

1 The decedent’s hairlessness is due to a thyroid condition
and is in no way relevant to her death.

WA Pio

App. 25

Testimony further established that Joyce was last
seen with her husband, appellant, at the Peppermill Club
on March 19, 1987. At this time, Joyce appeared to be
intoxicated but did not appear to have any physical inju-
ries. During the evening, appellant became angry with
Joyce’s socializing at the club and the two exchanged
words, however, no physical violence took place. The
couple was then asked to leave. Shortly thereafter, Joyce
left the club. Appellant stayed and finished his shuffle
board game then left approximately twenty (20) to thirty
(30) minutes after Joyce.

Appellant took the stand and corroborated the above
stated facts. He then testified that while driving home
from the club he saw Joyce walking past the block in
which they lived. He pulled over to the side of the road,
picked her up and put her in the backseat of his car.
appellant observed that during this time Joyce had lost
consciousness but he thought she had passed out from
having had too much to drink. When they got home,
appellant testified that he attempted to carry Joyce’s
unconscious body into the house but fell to the ground.
Appellant then dragged Joyce into the house, took her
clothes off in the living room, and dragged her into the
bedroom. He tried to lift her on the bed but could not. At
this time, appellant observed that she had a cut [sic] the
back of her head but it did not appear to be bleeding. He
then left her on the floor to “sleep it off” and went to bed.

Appellant testified that when he woke up the next
morning, he saw that the cut on Joyce’s head had bled
somewhat and there was dried blood in her mouth. He
rolled Joyce onto her stomach and attempted artificial
respiration. A large amount of blood spilled from Joyce’s

App. 26

mouth. He then felt her pulse and realized she was dead.
Appellant testified that in a state of panic, he wrapped
Joyce’s dead body in a blanket and put her in the trunk of
his taxi cab. Appellant put Joyce’s wig, clothing, purse
and several other belongings into a plastic garbage bag
and took them out to the garage. He then tried to clean
the blood off the carpet.

Appellant testified that he planned to bury Joyce’s
body so he bought a pick and shovel. He traveled around
town all day but could not find a suitable spot for burial.
That evening, he made arrangements to be late in deliver-
ing his cab. Finally, after having made arrangements to be
late in delivering his cab, appellant left Joyce’s body
underneath a mattress in a ditch along the side of a road.
He then disposed of Joyce’s clothes in a nearby dumpster.

Between the period of March 20 and 24, appellant
checked on the body daily. On March 23, he informed a
friend of Joyce’s that Joyce had left him on March 19 in
the middle of the night and had stolen three hundred and
fifty dollars ($350.00). Appellant further contacted Joyce’s
daughter in Portland, Oregon telling her that Joyce had
left him and he did not know where she was. He told her
that he would file a missing person’s report and call her
back. Appellant never called her back.

While checking the body on March 24, appellant
realized that it had been discovered. Appellant imme-
diately contacted Charles Smith and offered to sell his
car. Smith accpeted [sic] and gave appellant three hun-
dred dollars ($300.00). Appellant told Smith that his wife
had left him and gave Smith the impression that he was
going to look for her. Smith testified that appellant

!

App. 27

seemed to be in a hurry to leave town. Appellant went
straight to the airport from his meeting with Smith, flew
to Dallas, bought a bus ticket and traveled around Cali-
fornia.

An autopsy on Joyce Graves’ body was performed on
March 25. Upon an external examination, two lacerations
on the head, one which cut down to the skull; a large
number of contusions over the face and body, some
occurring after death; and an abrasion on the left knee
where the skin had been scraped off were found. Inter-
nally, bleeding into the skin and tissues of the contusions;
a subdural hematoma with actual bleeding into the skull
and bleeding into the brain itself and the brain stem were
found. The examining pathologist felt that the manner of
death was a homicide. In his opinion, Joyce’s death
resulted from a blunt trauma to the back of the head
which caused bleeding directly into the brain. These inju-
ries were consistent with that of being beaten. He testi-
fied, however, that the head injuries could have been
caused by hitting something while falling. He further
testified that several of Joyce’s contusions were defense-
type injuries but several could have been caused by being
carried or dragged.

On March 28, while appellant was away, police
obtained a search warrant of the Graves’ home. During
their search of the bedroom, they discovered a large
blood stain on the carpet at the foot of the bed. The stain
appeared to have been cleaned but blood residue
remained in the carpet fibers. Blood splatters that had not
been cleaned were also found on the box spring portion
of the bed. The blood was consistent with that of Joyce
Graves’.

;

App. 28

Appellant called Smith several days after his depar-
ture from Oklahoma City. Smith told appellant that Joyce
was dead and that appellant was wanted for questioning.
Appellant decided to return home. On March 31, he
called the police from Texas, informed them that he was
coming home and would talk to them by noon the next
day. Appellant did as he said and told police the same
story he testified to at trial.

We will first address appellant’s second assignment
of error which states that there is insufficient evidence to
show flight, therefore, the flight instruction was not justi-
fied. This assignment is addressed first because if the
evidence of flight is insufficient, flight can not be consid-
ered in determining appellant's first assignment of error.
Appellant failed to object to this particular instruction at
trial which operates as a waiver of all but fundamental
error. Long v. State, 654 P.2d 647 (Okl.Cr.1982). Determin-
ing which instructions are given to the jury is within the
discretion of the trial court and we will not interfere with
the trial court’s decision unless an abuse of discretion is
shown. Palmer v. State, 719 P.2d 1285, 1287 (Ok1.Cr.1986).
Flight exists when: 1) an accused departs from the scene
of a crime; 2) with a consciousness of guilt; 3) in order to
avoid arrest for the crime with which he is charged.
Wilson v. State, 250 P.2d 72 (Okl.Cr.1952). When evidence
supproting [sic] flight is admitted, the determination of
its existence is a question of fact for the jury thus the
flight instructions are warranted. Id.; McDonald v. State,
764 P.2d 202 (Okl.Cr.1988).

Appellant specifically contends that there was insuf-
ficient evidence to establish that he left town to avoid
arrest. He bases this contention on the fact that appellant

App. 29

did not leave the country when he was able and volun-
tarily turned himself over to the police. Although this is
true, the record also reveals that on March 24, appellant
left town within hours after discovering the police had
found his wife’s body and admitted to being in a state of
panic because of the body’s discovery. Given these facts,
we find sufficient evidence was presented to support a
finding of flight, thus, the trial court did not abuse its
discretion in giving the flight instruction.

Appellant’s first proposition of error contends that
there was insufficient evidence to show the required
intent of malice aforethought. Thus, he claims the convic-
tion for First Degree Murder should be reversed. “Malice
is that deliberate intention unlawfully to take away the
life of a human being, which is manifested by external
circumstances capable of proof.” 21 O.S.Supp.1985
§ 701.7; Short v. State, 634 P.2d 755 (Okl.Cr.1981). To
determine if malice was manifested by external circum-
stances, we must look to the totality of the circumstances.
See Short v. State, 634 P.2d 755 (Okl.Cr.1981). Malice can
be proven solely by circumstantial evidence and is within
the province of the jury to decide its existence. Cavazos
v. State, 779 P.2d 987 (Okl.Cr.1989); Barr v. State, 763 P.2d
1184 (Okl.Cr.1988). Furthermore, certain actions by appel-
lant such as flight and attempts to destroy evidence are
admissible to show a consciousness of guilt. See Wills v.
State, 636 P.2d 372 (Okl.Cr.1981); Wilson v. State, 250
P.2d 72 (Okl.Cr.1952).

Evidence at trial established the following: First,
Joyce had expressed a fear of appellant on the night of
her disappearance. Second, appellant was angry with

App. 30

Joyce right before her disappearance. Third, the patholo-
gist thought the death was a homicide because Joyce’s
injuries were consistent with that of being beaten. Fourth,
appellant was with Joyce at the time of her death, he hid
the body in a ditch along a country road so that it would
not be found and checked on it daily to make sure it was
covered. He further covered his tracks by attempting to
clean Joyce’s blood off the carpet, destroying her clothes,
lying about her where abouts [sic], and leaving town
when he realized the body had been discovered. This
evidence along with the photographs of Joyce’s dead
body, when looked at in the light most favorable to the
State, is sufficient for a jury to conclude beyond a reason-
able doubt that appellant intentionally and deliberately
murdered his wife. See Spuehler v. State, 709 P.2d 202
(OkI.Cr.1985).

In light of the foregoing reasons, appellant’s Judg-
ment and Sentence is AFFIRMED.

AN APPEAL FROM THE DISTRICT COURT OF
OKLAHOMA COUNTY BEFORE THE HONOR-
ABLE CHARLES OWENS, DISTRICT JUDGE

Appellant, EDWIN THOMAS GRAVES, was convicted of
Murder in the First Degree in the District Court of Okla-
homa County, Case No. CRF-87-1715, before Judge
Charles L. Owens, District Judge. Appellant was

App. 31

sentenced to life imprisonment. From this judgment and
sentence, appellant perfected this appeal. AFFIRMED.

DAN CONNALLY

ASSISTANT APPELLATE PUBLIC
DEFENDER

1660 CROSS CENTER DRIVE

NORMAN, OKLAHOMA 73019

ATTORNEY FOR APPELLANT

SUSAN BRIMER LOVING

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF
OKLAHOMA

SID BROWN

ASSISTANT ATTORNEY GENERAL

112 STATE CAPITOL BUILDING

OKLAHOMA CITY, OKLAHOMA
73102

ATTORNEYS FOR APPELLEE

OPINION BY: BRETT, J.
LANE, P.J.: CONCUR
LUMPKIN, V.P.J.: CONCUR
PARKS, J.: CONCUR
JOHNSON, J.: CONCUR

App. 32

THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA _)
) SS.
OKLAHOMA COUNTY )

In the District Court of the Seventh Judicial District of
the State of Oklahoma, sitting in and for Oklahoma
County, Oklahoma
THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA,

Plaintiff,

)

)

) No. CRF-87-1715
-VS- )

)

)

)

EDWIN THOMAS GRAVES,
DOB: 07-31-38

Defendant.

JUDGMENT AND SENTENCE ON CONVICTION
(Filed Oct. 8, 1987)

Now, on this 30th day of SEPTEMBER, 1987, the same
being a juridical day of said court, and the time duly
appointed for judgment in the above-entitled cause, and
said cause coming on for judgment, and the defendant
EDWIN THOMAS GRAVES being personally present in
open court, and being duly represented at all appear-
ances before the court by his attorney of record/CHRIS
‘ BOX, and having been legally charged with the offense of
MURDER IN THE FIRST DEGREE and having been duly
informed of the nature of the charge and having been
duly arraigned thereon, and having duly and properly
pleaded not guilty to said offense after having been duly
advised of his rights; and having been duly and legally
tried and convicted of the crime of MURDER IN THE

App. 33

FIRST DEGREE, and the defendant having been asked by

the court whether he has any legal cause to show
why judgment and sentence should not be pronounced
against him, and __ he stating no sufficient cause why

judgment and sentence should not be pronounced against
the defendant, and none appearing to the court, it is the
judgment of the court that said defendant is guilty of the
crime of MURDER IN THE FIRST DEGREE

It is Therefore, Ordered, Adjudged and Decreed by
the Court that EDWIN THOMAS GRAVES is sentenced to
a term of LIFE IMPRISONMENT under the direction and
control of the Department of Corrections of the State of
Oklahoma; and said defendant is committed to the said
Department of Corrections at the Oklahoma State Peni-
tentiary at McAlester, Oklahoma, pursuant to the Okla-
homa Corrections Act of 1967 and pursuant to the rules of
said Department, for the crime of MURDER IN THE
FIRST DEGREE said term of sentence to begin at and
from the delivery of the defendant to the Warden of the
State Penitentiary at McAlester, Oklahoma; and that said
defendant pay the cost of this prosecution, taxed at
$84.00, for which judgment is hereby rendered against the
defendant; and thereupon the defendant is by the court
notified of his right of appeal.

It Is Further Ordered, Adjudged and Decreed by the
court that the Sheriff of Oklahoma County, Oklahoma,
transport said defendant to the said State Penitentiary at
McAlester, Oklahoma, and that the Warden of said peni-
tentiary detain the said defendant according to this judg-
ment, sentence and order, and that the clerk of this court,
do immediately certify, under the seal of the court, and
deliver to the Sheriff of Oklahoma County, Oklahoma,

App. 34

two copies of this judgment, sentence and order, one of
the copies to accompany the body of the said defendant
to said penitentiary at McAlester, Oklahoma, and to be
left therewith at the said penitentiary, said copy to be
warrant and authority for the Imprisonment of the said
defendant and the other copy to be warrant and authority
of said Sheriff of Oklahoma County, Oklahoma, for the
transportation and imprisonment of the said defendant as
hereinbefore provided. Said last named copy to be
returned to the Clerk of said Court with the proceedings
thereunder endorsed thereon.

(Seal) /s/ Charles L. Owens
(COURT COST AND CHARLES L.
VICTIM COMPENSATION OWENS,

FUND IN THE AMOUNT District Judge

OF $20.00 TO BE PAID
WITHIN 6 MONTHS AFTER
RELEASE.)

Attest:

TOM PETUSKEY, COURT CLERK
TOM PETUSKEY, COURT CLERK

By /s/ Illegible, Deputy Court Clerk

ORIGINAL

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_0672%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
