# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Treasure Chest Casino v. Mullen

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_0592%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2000
- **Citation:** 528 U.S. 1159

## Text

ee

( \ Supreme Court, 0,5
FILED

99 1036 DEC 1 6 1999"
ee ee kc

an

iclE CLERK

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

TREASURE CHEST CASINO, et al.,
Petitioners,

¥.

DENNIS MULLEN, et al.,
Respondents.

On PETITION For Writ OF CERTIORARI
To Tue UNITED STATES CourRT OF APPEALS
For THe Firta Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

WILLIAM J. KELLy III *
ADAMS AND REESE LLP
4500 ONE SHELL SQUARE
New Or.eans, LA 70139
(504) 581-3234

Counsel for Petitioners

* Counsel of Record

BECKER GALLAGHER LEGAL PUBLISHING, INC.,
CINCINNATI, OHIO 800-890-5001

QUESTION PRESENTED

Do the Seventh Amendment and Federal Rule of Civil
Procedure 23(b)(3) permit a district court to certify a class
that will necessarily require different juries to adjudicate
separately the inextricably intertwined issues of negligence,
proximate cause, and comparative negligence, where various
class representatives attribute their purported injury to various
and discreet causes?

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING
Petitioner

The Petitioner in this case is defendant, Treasure
Chest Casino, LLC (“Casino”).

Respondents

The Respondents are Dennis Mullen, Sheila Bachemin
and Margaret Phipps, the plaintiff class representatives.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

FUSER SMIEU WEEN NGS ki ee ee a kh ee eee i

PAR Tipo 00) See PRUCEEUING 2.0.60. ees ii

po Aa ee na, yee ee arr ere ill
Pe PAA APRA ok os ke ewe en es Vv
NN 2 gay cra pnd a4 a ok 0 we ew Oe l
EE 4. oy 4 3-4 REA SP RT A A ]
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS, STATUTES

pee ee NU UINE ee eb eer ss ]
RTM MERRITT ST REE GO ee ]
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ......... 4

I. THIS COURT SHOULD GRANT
CERTIORARI BECAUSE THE
CASINO’S SEVENTH
AMENDMENT RIGHTS HAVE
MEY VEMREED Se ie ia 4

ill

II. THIS COURT SHOULD GRANT
CERTIORARI TO PRECLUDE
CIRCUIT COURTS FROM
SPLITTING NEGLIGENCE FROM
CAUSATION AND COMPARATIVE
NEGLIGENCE INTO SEPARATE
TRIAL PHASES TO CIRCUMVENT
THE REQUIREMENTS OF
PURE a 6a eR rae ae ei 15

Il. THE JUDGMENT DEFIES THE
CLEAR HOLDINGS OF AMCHEM
AND ORTIZ WITH REGARD TO
TRE APVEQUACT § GF
ig ee yt nara ee 24

LAMAN 6 ks ck Mee eR eRe eee 26
APPENDIX

Appendix A
Court of Appeal's Opinion - 8/19/99 ........ la

Appendix B
District Court Order & Reasons - 8/29/97 .... 29a

Appendix C

Court of Appeal's Order on Petition for
URN =~ EP OE eee ee eo 44a

1V

eu hs 6a ONS SUA ARN Peed NDA LNG lt

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases

Allison v. Citgo Petroleum Corp.
is Foe Wee CG AOD 6k bk ok ce 19

Amchem Products, Inc. et al. v. Windsor et al.
521 U.S. 591, 117 S.Ct. 2231,
OF 3).3.. 0: COs CD) ok Se passim

Atlantic and Gulf Stevedores, Inc. v.
Ellerman Lines, Ltd.
oon U.S. 355, C2 S.Ct. TE CGR)... os we 7

Baltimore & Carolina Line, Inc. v. Redman
295 U.S. 654, 55 S.Ct. 890 (1935) ......... 6

Barnes v. The American Tobacco Co.
176 F.R.D. 479 (E.D. Pa. 1997)
aff'd, 161 F.3d 127 (3d Cir. 1998),
cert. denied, 119 S.Ct. 1760, 143
LiMn OPE CINE ks oo een Cee 21, 2

Beacon Theatres, Inc. v. Westover
359 U.S. 500, 79 S.Ct. 948 (1959) ......... &

Castano v. American Tobacco Co.
547.30 704 (a CH OD ok eS. 4,19

Chauffeurs, Teamsters and Helpers,
Local No. 391 v. Terry

494 U.S. 558, 110 S.Ct. 1339 (1990),
quoting Parsons v. Bedford, 3 Pet. 433,
OF i, Ta Tae CO Oo ek VE ek 7

Cimino v. Raymark Industries, Inc.
bie F.sh> Lo Sp. Re ee 13

Curtis v. Loether
415 U.S. 189, 94 S.Ct. 1005 (1974) ........ 9)

Dairy Queen, Inc. v. Wood
369 U.S. 469, 82 S.Ct. 894 (1962) ......... 8

Dimick v. Schiedt
253 US: $74, 33: SG Bees ee) he bee ccs 8,9

Gavagan v. United States
955 F.2d 1016 (Sth Cir. 1992) ......... 19, 22

Gen. Tel. Co. of the Southwest v. Falcon
457 U.S. 147, 102 S.Ct. 2364 (1982)........ 24

Granfinanciera, S.A. v. Nordberg
492 U.S. 33, 109 S.Ct. 2782 (1989) ........ 9

In re Fibreboard
$93: F.28 TOG GO" Ck, Pe a bt te ee 18

In re Hotel Tel. Charges
500 F.2d GS at. APs wo ate 18

In re Joint E.& S. Dist. Asbestos Litigation
962 F.2d 721 Gee CR, TRRR as ee ie a 24

In the Matter of Rhone-Poulenc Rorer Inc.
$1 F.3d 1293 C7 U.. Boe) a cs eee 11, 13

vi

LN ihn Gh aa Rt li,

RASS Mlle hae abel eave 8 Di! Re gl Ll dd aca” ve

~ 2 Neer (ah eons

Kline v. Coldwell Banker
508 F.2d 226 (9th Cir.)
cert. denied,421 U.S. 963 (1974) .......... 18

National Super Spuds v. New YorkMercantile Exchange

COP ree Pee: TO) 24

Ortiz v. Fibreboard Corp.
119 S.Ct. 2295,

So Re bs 24, 25
Schulz v. Pennsylvania R.R. Co.

350 U.S. 523, 76 S.Ct. 608 (1956) ......... 7
Statutes
Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 23(a)(4) .......... 24
Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 23(b)(3) ....... passim
tae. 6 ee, eee As os Se Se le 7
Be Ren PI no kc Be RR ee ek l
Se rn ek i es Se 2, 15
gf | SESE ana ierner a Sette ee caer 15, 23
Uo Oe oe Sa ee PE |

Other Authorities

Harper, Jones & Gray, The Law of Torts
I ats ieee ie 22

Leslie W. O’Leary, “Mass Tort Class Actions:
Wil Amchem Spawn Creative Solutions?”
6S Def. Couns. J. 469 (1998)... 6 oes 15

Nicolas P. Terry, “Collapsing Torts,”
ao Oe 2 Rv. FET ID) wee 21

Vii

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeal (Appendix A) is
reported at 186 F.3d 620. The memorandum “Order and
Reasons” of the district court approving class certification
(Appendix B) is not reported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeal denying
Petitioner’s application for Rehearing En Banc and “[t]reating
the Petition for Rehearing En Banc as a Petition for Panel
Rehearing,” (Appendix C) was entered on September 17,
1999. This Petition for Writ of Certiorari is filed within
ninety (90) days of the denial of the Application for Rehearing
En Banc, which was treated as a Petition for Panel Rehearing.
This Court’s jurisdiction is therefore invoked pursuant to 28
U.S.C. § 1254(1) and 2106.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS, STATUTES
AND RULES INVOLVED

Pertinent provisions of the Seventh Amendment, the
Rules Enabling Act, and Fed. R. Civ. P. 23 are set forth in
the text of the Petition.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Treasure Chest Casino (“Casino”) appealed an order
certifying a class of its current and former employees who
suffer some form of “occupational respiratory illness” as a
result of an allegedly defective ventilation system on board
the M/V TREASURE CHEST CASINO. Plaintiffs allege that
the ventilation system renders the vessel unseaworthy under
the general maritime law and sue for maintenance and cure

]

SBMA i Ha pst tic aR EN BOR Aa) Sie ad

under the Jones Act. However, each of the three class
representatives has widely varying complaints about what has
caused their various ailments. Mullen and Bachemin
complain of second hand smoke. (App. A, p. 26a). Phipps
complains of dust on air vents, garbage and debris, and germs
on employee radios. Ibid. Mullen points to the Casino’s
temperature. Ibid. Bachemin complains of paint fumes. Ibid.
No two complaints are alike.

Moreover, it is beyond dispute that the respiratory
illnesses of which plaintiffs complain are not uniquely caused
by a casino environment, a riverboat environment, a vessel,
or any other condition which might connect a “respiratory
illness” to the Casino or its ventilation system. Evidence in
the record shows that virtually every American has
experienced bronchitis, allergies, a common cold, a runny
nose, hay fever, asthma, and every other condition
complained of in this case. (Petitioner’s Original Brief, p.
17; Reply Brief p. 1.) This is not surprising, as the potential
sources of those conditions are unlimited and can be caused
by anything and everything in any environment, anywhere in
the world. Ibid. Thus, there is no allegation in this case that
the diseases alleged have any sort of “medical footprint” (or
causal connection) that can uniquely tie the class member’s
specific complaint to the air aboard the Casino.

On June 25, 1997, the district court conducted its
hearing on class certification. On September 2, 1997, the
district court issued its “Order and Reasons” (“Order”)
certifying this matter as a class action. (App. B, p. 28a).
The Casino appealed pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1292(b) and on
August 19, 1999, a Panel of the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeal
affirmed class certification in a 2-1 decision, opining that a
Phase I jury could adjudicate the “common” issue of the
Casino’s negligence by determining whether the ventilation

2

system was defective. (App. A, p. 12 a- 14a). The Court of
Appeal contemplated that different juries could then in Phase
II separately adjudicate proximate cause, comparative
negligence, and damages for each of the approximately 100
to 200 class members.' Id.

Under the trial procedure contemplated by the Court
of Appeal,’ assuming that the Phase I jury found the
ventilation system to be defective, approximately 30
successive juries would have to determine in Phase II whether
each of the class members’ widely varying ailments were
proximately caused by the defect in the ventilation system.°
Moreover, because the 30 successive juries could not know
the precise basis upon which the Phase I jury found the
ventilation system to be defective, each of these juries would
necessarily have to hear this evidence again in order to
determine proximate cause. For example, if the ventilation
system was found to be defective because it did not

' See also Order, App B, pp. 33a-34a, in which the District Court
notes that Plaintiffs claim that there are 200 potential class
members, but that Plaintiffs have presented evidence that the
number of potential claimants will be between 100 to 150 persons.

* The District Court did not adopt a specific trial plan beyond
noting its “option” to bifurcate common issues from individual ones
if necessary. (App. B, pp. 38a-39a). The Casino argued on appeal
this was itself a reason that class certification was improper. The
Court of Appeal rejected this argument without discussion, instead
itself suggesting its own trial plan (which the Casino shows here is
unconstitutional). See p.5, infra.

> Assuming a median number of 150 plaintiffs and trials of five
plaintiffs at a time, there would be 30 trials in Phase II, each with
a separate jury.

adequately filter dust or germs, the successive juries would
have to hear this evidence in order to determine whether this
could have proximately caused a class member’s ailment
allegedly related only to second-hand smoke.

_ Ina dissenting opinion, Judge Emilio Garza cited the
Seventh Amendment and Castano v. American Tobacco Co.,
84 F.3d 734 (Sth Cir. 1996) to explain that the “ superiority”
requirement of class certification was not satisfied because
Phase II juries would necessarily have to reconsider the
Casino’s negligence, notwithstanding the Phase I jury’s prior
adjudication of this same issue. (App. A, pp. 26a-27a).
Judge Garza explained that this reconsideration of issues by
separate juries not only prevents a class action from being
superior, it also violates the Casino’s Seventh Amendment
right to have a single jury consider a common factual issue.
Ibid.

On September 2, 1999, the Casino filed its Petition for
Rehearing En Banc in the Court of Appeal. On September
17, 1999, the Court, treating the Petition for Rehearing En
Banc as a Petition for Panel Rehearing, denied the Petition.
(App. C, p. 44a).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. THIS COURT SHOULD GRANT CERTIORARI
BECAUSE THE CASINO’S SEVENTH
AMENDMENT RIGHTS HAVE BEEN
VIOLATED.

Defendant appealed the Rule 23(b)(3) certification
based, in part, on the district court's lack of any specific trial
plan in its Order and Reasons. (App. B, p. 39a). In its
decision, the district court found that superiority was met

4

because the Court “has the option of bifurcating the legal and
factual questions common to the proposed class from the
questions unique to the individual members.” Ibid. It did not
order bifurcation, however, and it did not identify what issues
might be tried in which phases. Ibid. On appeal, the Casino
argued:

In the absence of any trial plan, articulated
theory of recovery, or other indication of how
this case will proceed on issues of liability for
each class member, there can be no
determination of whether the class action is a
superior procedural device.

(Casino’s Original Brief for Appellant p. 8).* Rather than
reversing the decision due to the lack of any trial plan,
however, the Court of Appeal affirmed certification and
ordered a bifurcated trial before separate juries in separate
phases. (App. A, p. 15a). The Court then asserted that it had
avoided any prohibited Seventh Amendment deprivation “by
leaving all issues of causation for the phase-two jury.” (App.
A, p. 16a). It held that when a jury considers comparative
negligence, “the focus is upon causation” and therefore,
according to the Court’s logic, the separate juries will not be
considering overlapping issues of fact and law. (App. A, p.
16a). But as its name suggests, the doctrine of comparative
negligence in this type of case mandates that the plaintiff's
own negligence be compared to the conduct of the defendant.
Ordering separate juries to consider such inextricably

4

See, also, App. A, p. 12a, in which the Court of Appeal’s
decision acknowledges this argument: “Treasure Chest argues that
the district court abused its discretion by failing to adequately
consider how a trial on the merits would be conducted.”

5

intertwined issues of fact is a violation of the Seventh
Amendment.

A. The Seventh Amendment guarantees the
right to a trial by jury.

The Seventh Amendment to the United States
Constitution guarantees litigants the right to a trial by jury in
most types of cases. It provides:

In Suits at common law, where the value in
controversy shall exceed twenty dollars, the
right of trial by jury shall be preserved, and no
fact tried by a jury shall be otherwise
reexamined in any Court of the United States,
than according to the rules of the common
law.

The Seventh Amendment explicitly guarantees not
only the basic right to have a case tried by a jury, but also the
equally important parallel right that the determinations of one
jury will not be undermined by reexamination by another
jury. As this Court has explained, “the amendment not only
preserves that right but discloses a studied purpose to protect
it from indirect impairment through possible enlargements of
the power of reexamination existing under the common law

” Baltimore & Carolina Line, Inc. v. Redman, 295

U. S. 654, 657, 55 S.Ct. 890, 891 (1935). Accordingly, once
a jury in a case issues a finding of fact, it is generally
unconstitutional for a subsequent jury in the same case to
reconsider the same issues that have already been tried by the
first jury.

The Seventh Amendment right to a trial by jury
squarely applies to the case at hand. The phrase “Suits at
common law” has been frequently interpreted by this Court
to mean suits in which legal rights are to be ascertained and
determined. In other words, “the amendment then may well
be construed to embrace all suits which are not of equity and
admiralty jurisdiction, whatever may be the peculiar form
which they may assume to settle legal rights.” Chauffeurs,
Teamsters and Helpers, Local No. 391 v. Terry, 494 U.S.
558, 564, 110 S.Ct. 1339, 1344 (1990), quoting Parsons v.
Bedford, 3 Pet. 433, 447, 7 L.Ed. 732 (1830). Moreover,
the “right extends to causes of action created by Congress.”
Terry at 565, 110 S.Ct. at 1344. For example, there is a
Seventh Amendment right to a jury trial on any claim brought
pursuant to the Jones Act, 46 U.S.C. § 688, such as the
claims in the instant case. Schulz v. Pennsylvania R.R. Co.,
350 U.S. 523, 523, 76 S.Ct. 608, 609 (1956); Atlantic and
Gulf Stevedores, Inc. v. Ellerman Lines, Ltd., 369 U.S. 355,
360, 82 S.Ct. 780, 784 (1962).

Accordingly, in a case such as this one a litigant has
a constitutional right to a trial by jury, and it is
unconstitutional to indirectly impair that right by allowing a
subsequent jury to reexamine an issue that has already been
decided by a previous jury.

B. This Court will grant certiorari when a
Seventh Amendment right to a jury trial is
in jeopardy.

The right to a trial by jury is a cornerstone of our
judicial system. Accordingly, this Court has expressed -- in
the strongest of terms -- the importance of safeguarding this
right: “Maintenance of the jury as a fact-finding body is of
such imporiance and occupies so firm a place in our history

7

ee eee

ouktasegmeshs titled

BERRI Sia iantnbita vey

ee en ee aS

Eel SRR Big heS LARA AS AB Oe

and jurisprudence that any seeming curtailment of the right
to a jury trial should be scrutinized with the utmost care.”
Dimick v. Schiedt, 293 U.S. 474, 486, 55 S.Ct. 296, 301
(1935) (emphasis added).

Because this right is so fundamental, this Court has
frequently emphasized that courts should go out of their way
to safeguard this right. For courts of appeal, this means that
they are instructed to exercise the extraordinary remedy of
mandamus to remedy any potential curtailment of the right to
a jury trial. As this Court has stated, “whatever differences
of opinion there may be in other types of cases, we think that
the right to grant mandamus to require jury trial when it has
been improperly denied is settled.” Beacon Theatres. Inc. v.
Westover, 359 U.S. 500, 511, 79 S.Ct. 948, 957 (1959).
And this Court subsequently stated that Beacon Theatres
“emphasizes the responsibility of the Federal Courts of
Appeal to grant mandamus where necessary to protect the
constitutional right to trial by jury... .” Dairy Queen, Inc.
v. Wood, 369 U.S. 469, 472, 82 S.Ct. 894, 897 (1962)
(emphasis added).

For this Court, the fundamental nature of the right to
a jury tria! means that this Court should grant certiorari to
remedy the curtailment of that right. For example, this Court
granted certiorari in Beacon Theatres because “any seeming
curtailment of the right to a jury trial should be scrutinized
with utmost care.” 359 U.S. at 501, 79 S.Ct. at 952, quoting
Dimick, supra. Likewise, in Dair ueen, this Court

“granted certiorari because the action of the Court of Appeal
seemed inconsistent with protections already clearly
recognized for the important constitutional right to trial by
jury in our previous decisions.” 369 U.S. at 470, 82 S.Ct. at
896.

This Court similarly decided -- “[iJn view of the
importance of the jury trial issue” in Civil Rights Act of 1968
cases -- to grant certiorari in Curtis v. Loether, 415 U.S. 189,
191, 94 S.Ct. 1005, 1007 (1974). And even when the right
to a jury trial was somewhat unclear, this Court has “granted
certiorari to decide whether petitioners were entitled to a jury
trial... .” Granfinanciera, S.A. v. Nordberg, 492 U.S. 33,
38, 109 S.Ct. 2782, 2788 (1989).

Considering that this Court has “emphasized the
responsibility” of courts of appeal to use the extraordinary
remedy of mandamus to protect the right to a jury trial, and
considering that this Court has itself not hesitated to grant
certiorari On numerous occasions when there was any
“seeming curtailment” of the right to a jury trial, the need for
this Court to grant certiorari is unquestionable in cases in
which the Seventh Amendment right to a jury trial is
endangered.

This is one of those cases.

c The trial plan adopted by the Court of
Appeal violates the Casino’s Seventh
Amendment rights, and thus this Court
should grant certiorari.

This is a case in which there has been at least a
“seeming curtailment” of the Casino’s Seventh Amendment
right to a jury trial. Dimick, 293 U.S. at 486, 55 S.Ct. at
301. In an attempt to justify the fairness of class certification,
the Court of Appeal adopted a trial plan in this case that had
not been adopted by the trial court -- a trial plan that
unconstitutionally calls for the reexamination of the verdict of
a Phase I jury by a Phase II jury. (App. A, pp. 14a-17a).
For this reason, this Court should grant certiorari.

9

ee

ibid ich Yee (GAR aight Leones:

Ph is ei aay

RDA Dade: Tam Agha

When the District Court in this case granted class
certification, it decided not to adopt any specific trial plan,
instead simply noting that it had “the option” to decide in the
future to bifurcate common issues from individual issues if
necessary. (App. B, p. 39a). Indeed, the Casino argued in
its appeal to the Court of Appeal that the absence of a trial
plan was itself a fatal flaw with the District Court’s approach
and thus a reason to reverse class certification. (See, p. 5,
supra).

But instead of acknowledging this flaw in the trial
court’s opinion, the Court of Appeal decided to adopt a trial
plan itself. In Phase I, a jury would decide whether the
Casino was negligent and/or whether the Casino was
unseaworthy because of a faulty ventilation system. Phase I
would not include any finding that the conditions on the
Casino did cause any injury, but instead only that they could
potentially cause injury for one or more class members. In
Phase II, different juries would decide whether this negligence
and/or unseaworthiness actually did cause any injuries to
specific class members, and the degree to which the
negligence and/or unseaworthiness was the cause of the class
member’s injury as opposed to some other contributing cause
including the comparative negligence of the class member
himself. See Mullen, (describing trial plan), (App. A, 14a-
17a), 186 F.3d at 628-29.°

5

Equally problematic is the means by which the Court of Appeal
reached its decision as to the Seventh Amendment. Even if a
doctrinal distinction between negligence and comparative negligence
does exist, such does not alone end the inquiry of whether factual
issues are so intertwined as to prevent their separate consideration
under the Seventh Amendment. The decision may be used by
future courts as a license to evade Seventh Amendment scrutiny.

10

For example, under the Court of Appeal’s trial plan,
a Phase I jury might decide that the Casino was negligent
and/or unseaworthy because the ventilation system failed to
adequately ventilate tobacco smoke, because of the presence
of dust on the air vents, and because of the temperature being
too hot, and the jury might further decide that there was no
negligence or unseaworthiness with regards to the other
complaints of the named plaintiffs (e.g., paint fumes, cold
temperature and germs on radios). In Phase II, an individual
class member whose claim is being tried by a separate jury
could then try to show that he suffered injuries as a result of
tobacco smoke and/or dust on air vents. The Casino might
then rebut these claims by showing, among other things, that
the class member’s injuries were primarily the result of
exposure to tobacco smoke, dust or any of millions of other
air contaminants at places other than the Casino, places at
which others were responsible for the air quality (maybe the
plaintiff himself). After all, there is no dispute that the
respiratory illnesses of which plaintiffs complain are not
unique to riverboat casinos -- evidence in the record shows
that virtually every American has experienced bronchitis,
allergies, a common cold, a runny nose, hay fever, asthma,
and every other condition complained of in this case as a
result of a multitude of causes. (App. A, 23a).

Because the same facts regarding the Casino’s conduct
would be examined by both the Phase I jury (in deciding
negligence) and the Phase II juries (in deciding proportional
fault and comparative negligence), the Court of Appeal’s trial
plan violates the Seventh Amendment. The Seventh Circuit
explained this problem with absolute clarity in a case in which
it granted a writ of mandamus and instructed a district court
judge to decertify a class because of Seventh Amendment
problems. In the Matter of Rhone-Poulenc Rorer Inc., 51
F.3d 1293 (7th Cir. 1995). The trial plan at issue in Rhone-

1]

ie CRAP MN) see

Poulenc was similar to the trial plan embraced by the Court
of Appeal in this case. As the Seventh Circuit explained, “the
first jury will not determine liability. It will determine merely
whether one or more of the defendants was negligent under
one of the two theories.” Id. at 1303. Afterwards, “a second
(and third, and fourth, and hundrecth, and conceivably
thousandth) jury will have to decide, in individual follow-on
litigation by class members . . . such issues as comparative
negligence -- did any class members knowingly continue to
use unsafe blood solids after they learned or should have
learned of the risk of contamination with HIV? -- and
proximate causation.” Id. Such a plan, the Seventh Circuit
held, “is inconsistent with the principle that the findings of
one jury are not to be reexamined by a second, or third, or
nth jury.” Id. The Court explained:

Both issues overlap the issue of the defendants’
negligence. Comparative negligence entails,
as the name implies, a comparison of the
degree of negligence of plaintiff and
defendant. Proximate causation is found by
determining whether the harm to the plaintiff
followed in some sense naturally,
uninterruptedly, and with reasonable
probability from the negligent act of the
defendant. It overlaps the issue of the
defendants’ negligence even when the state's
law does not (as many states do) make the
foreseeability of the risk to which the
defendant subjected the plaintiff an explicit
ingredient of negligence. A second or
subsequent jury might find that the defendants’
failure to take precautions against infection
with Hepatitis B could not be thought the
proximate cause of the plaintiffs’ infection

12

with HIV>a different and unknown blood-
borne virus. How the resulting inconsistency
between juries could be prevented escapes us.

Rhone-Poulenc, 51 F.3d at 1303 (citations omitted).

The Seventh Circuit’s analysis and holding in Rhone-
Poulnec was correct, and it cannot be reconciled with the
holding of the Court of Appeal in the instant case. The Court
of Appeal simply did not grasp the problem noted by the
Seventh Circuit. The court mistakenly thought that the Phase
II jury would not reexamine the findings of the Phase I jury
merely because the element of the cause of action that the
Phase I jury would decide was only “whether Treasure
Chest’s conduct was negligent or the Casino unseaworthy”
whereas the cause of action element that the Phase II jury
would decide was “only the degree to which those conditions
were the sole or contributing cause of the class member's
injury.” (App. A, p. 16a). Based on this purported
distinction, the court erroneously concluded that “no Seventh
Amendment implications affect our review of the district
court’s superiority finding.” Id. Indeed, the decision of the
Court violates its own well-known precedent in Cimino v.
Raymark Industries, Inc., 151 F.3d 297, 321 (Sth Cir. 1998).

But the Seventh Amendment does not say that it
merely bars the re-trial of an element of a cause of action.
Instead, it prohibits the retrial of facts: “no fact tried by a jury
shall be otherwise reexamined” by another jury. U.S. Const.
Amend. VII. A Phase I jury will have to consider facts
relating to the Casino’s conduct to determine whether that
conduct rose to the level of negligence. Likewise, to
determine unseaworthiness, the Phase I jury will have to
consider facts concerning the conditions on the ship to decide

13

whether those conditions were sufficiently bad to rise to the
level of unseaworthiness. In Phase II, these exact same facts
would have to be reexamined and reanalyzed. To determine
comparative negligence, a Phase II jury will have to decide
once again how bad the conduct of or conditions on board the
Casino were in order to compare it to other conduct or
conditions, including the plaintiff's own conduct in the case
of contributory negligence. The Court of Appeal was wrong
to conclude that because one jury is told to decide
“negligence” and another jury is told to decide “contributory
and comparative negligence,” this means that no fact tried by
one jury would be reexamined by a second jury. This was
fully recognized by the Seventh Circuit, and the split between
the Seventh and Fifth Circuits on this critical issue supports
the granting of certiorari.

In addition to conducting a flawed Seventh
Amendment analysis, the Court of Appeal incorrectly
Suggested that it might be unnecessary to worry about the
Seventh Amendment because the right to a jury trial had not
been argued on appeal. (App. A, pp. 15a-16a).° The Court
of Appeal’s majority opinion ignores that the Seventh
Amendment could not be a ripe issue on appeal to that court
when a trial plan had yet to be adopted. Indeed, the Casino
urged the district court to adopt a trial plan, and the Casino
argued on appeal that the very lack of a trial plan was a basis
to any Class certification. (See, p. 5, supra).

Further, because of the very language in the Court of
Appeal’s majority opinion regarding the Seventh Amendment,
the Casino has, at least up to this point, been deprived of its
fundamental Seventh Amendment rights without even having

* Despite the suggestion, the Court of Appeals held that its trial
plan did not violate the Seventh Amendment.

14

had a full and fair hearing on these rights. This is because the
Seventh Amendment was not even at issue until the Court of
Appeal issued its opinion, and yet in this same opinion the
Court of Appeal suggests that the Casino somehow waived
any Seventh Amendment argument. This simply cannot be.
Given that the Seventh Amendment right is a fundamental
right, this in and of itself supports the granting of certiorari.

Il. THIS COURT SHOULD GRANT CERTIORARI
TO PRECLUDE CIRCUIT COURTS FROM
SPLITTING NEGLIGENCE FROM CAUSATION
AND COMPARATIVE NEGLIGENCE INTO
SEPARATE TRIAL PHASES TO CIRCUMVENT
THE REQUIREMENTS OF RULE 23(b)(3).

A. The class members in this class were
undisputedly exposed to different conditions
for different amounts of time in different
ways, yet the Court of Appeal found this
irrelevant to the Rule 23(b)(3) analysis.

There are those who commend “creative solutions” to
this Court’s holding in Amchem Products, Inc. et al. _v.
Windsor etal., 521 U.S. 591, 117 S.Ct. 2231, 138 L.Ed. 2d
689, 65 U.S.L.W. 4635 (1997). See, Leslie W. O'Leary,
“Mass Tort Class Actions: Will Amchem Spawn Creative
Solutions?” 65 Def. Couns. J. 469 (1998). Indeed, this
Court warned of a tendency for courts to be “ever more
‘adventuresome’” in applying Rule 23 and reminded courts
that the Rules Enabling Act instructs that rules of procedure
“shall not abridge, enlarge or modify any substantive right.”
28 U.S.C. § 2072(b); Amchem, 117 S.Ct. at 2244.

The Court of Appeal’s decision at issue represents a
creative solution to the clear holding of Amchem. It

15

EEE

Te ee OR ne ge ee

dismisses the varying degrees of exposure, the lack of any
causal connection or “medical footprint” that might support
a finding of liability between the actions of the defendant and
the purported injury of the plaintiff, and the lack of any
particular complaint by which to test the superiority,
predominance or adequacy of representation of the class. To
remedy those problems, the Court of Appeal created a plan
for bifurcated trials. But such a plan reaps a host of new and
irrefutable difficulties, not the least of which are the
deprivation of the Casino’s Seventh Amendment rights and
the risk of illegitimate, contradictory, and myriad verdicts.

In Amchem, this Court clarified plaintiff's burden of
proving that common issues predominate over the individual
issues in a Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 23(b)(3) mass tort
Class action. 117 S.Ct. at 2250-51. In decertifying the
Amchem class, this Court noted the following “disparate
questions undermining class certification:”

Class members were exposed to different
asbestos-containing products, for different
amounts of time, in different ways, and over
different periods. Some class members suffer
no physical injury or have only asymptotic
pleural changes, while others suffer from lung
cancer, disabling asbestos, or from
mesothelioma. . . . Each has a different
history of cigarette smoking, a factor that
complicates the causation inquiry. . . .

Amchem, 117 S.Ct. at 2250 (citing 83 F.3d 610, 626). These
factors were highlighted by the Third Circuit “[i]n contrast to
mass torts involving a single accident.” Id. It is on these
factors that this Court decertified the class.

16

Amchem thus makes clear that class cohesion in a
mass tort setting may be undermined by disparities in
exposure, the extent of injuries and other conditions causing
or contributing to the complaint. Amchem, 117 S.Ct. at 2250.
Despite Amchem, the Court of Appeal found that disparities
in various degrees of exposure and disparities among the
various complaints of the class representatives were not
relevant to the Rule 23 inquiry:

Here, by contrast [to Amchem], the putative
class members are all symptomatic by
definition and claim injury from the same
defective ventilation system over the same
general periods of time.

(App. A, p. 12a).

There is no dispute that this is a class involving
exposure to the Casino’s ambient air during different shifts
and times, at different levels of concentration, among
individuals of varying life experiences. There is no dispute
that there is no single accident involved in this case. And the
variance in class members’ life experiences is exponentially
important in this case, because the causes of a “respiratory
illness” are undisputedly universal -- pollen, dust and smoke
exist, in infinitely varying concentrations, in homes,
automobiles, shopping malls, schools, neighborhoods and
churches, as well as in workplaces. The pollutants are
indoors and out, on water and land. Unlike an asbestos
product that can be connected to a situs through proof of
probable or actual exposure, the Casino does not have a
monopoly on pollen, dust or smoke.

Coinmon issues simply cannot predominate in the
absence of any single thread (or “medical footprint”)

17

connecting the conduct of the defendant to the injury of the
plaintiff: a class of persons who have had a common cold.
Therefore, this is precisely the type of class this Court warned
against certifying under 23(b)(3) as having predominantly
common issues. Amchem. 521 U.S at 615, 117 S.Ct. at
2245-46. In In re Fibreboard, 893 F.2d 706, 712 (5" Cir.
1990) the circuit court reasoned that, in a mass exposure
personal injury action:

There are too many disparities among the
various plaintiffs for their common concerns to
predominate. The plaintiffs suffer different
diseases, some of which are more likely to
have been caused by [the product] than others.
The plaintiffs were exposed to [the product] in
various manners and to varying degrees. The
plaintiffs’ lifestyles differed in material
respects.

Id. at 712. As in Fibreboard, variations of fact in this matter
make it clear that common issues do not “predominate over
questions affecting only individual members.” Id. at 712.
Plaintiffs’ allegations “raise such individualized questions of
law and fact as to overwhelm whatever kernel of common
issues migiit be involved.” In re Hotel Tel. Charges, 500
F.2d 86, 88 (9th Cir. 1974); see also, Kline v. Coldwell
Banker, 508 F.2d 226, 236 (9th Cir.) cert. denied, 421 U.S.
963 (1974).

18

B. The Court of Appeal’s “superiority”
analysis is fatally flawed because the
Casino’s negligence cannot be determined
separately from comparative negligence and
proximate cause. Juries will be rendering
illegitimate and potentially contradictory
verdicts

The bifurcated trial plan not only violates the Casino's
Seventh Amendment rights and the Rules Enabling Act, it
jeopardizes the “superiority” requirement of Rule 23(b)(3) by
creating substantial risk of inconsistent and invalid verdicts.
An examination of the “superiority” requirement of Fed. R.
Civ. P. 23(b)(3) “requires an understanding of the relevant
claims, defenses, facts, and substantive law presented in the
case.” Allison v. Citgo Petroleum Corp., 151 F.3d 402, 419
(Sth Cir. 1998). Accordingly, as Judge Garza notes in his
dissent, it is an abuse of discretion to certify a class action
without adequately considering “how a trial on the alleged
causes of action would be tried.” Castano, 84 F.3d at 752.
An examination of how this case might be tried under the
Panel opinion’s proposed bifurcation reveals that the Phase |
and Phase II issues are too intertwined to be considered
separately. Certiorari should be granted to prevent Circuit
Courts from circumventing Amchem and, simultaneously,
using adventuresome bifurcation schemes to reach
certification where substantive rights are implicated.

As Judge Garza notes in his dissent, “a defendant is
liable for negligence only when the plaintiff's injuries are
caused by the same conditions that render the defendant's
conduct negligent.” (App. A, p. 24a), citing Gavagan v.
United States, 955 F.2d 1016, 1020 (Sth Cir. 1992). Thus,
any determination in Phase II of whether a plaintiff was
injured by the same conditions that render the Casino's

19

conduct negligent necessarily involves reconsideration of the
same conditions considered in Phase I. The plaintiffs must
therefore do more than point to a common issue (namely,
whether there was any defect in the ventilation system at the
Casino) to support a Rule 23(b)(3) class.

Thus, the most that a Phase | judgment could
accomplish is a finding that the ventilation system could cause
injuries in hypothetical Circumstances. This is no
accomplishment because it does nothing to reduce the issues
to be tried in Phase II.’ In Phase II, the jury would look at
each individual class member and decide, in light of the
multiple possible exposures unique to that person, whether
any problem with the ventilation system was the proximate
cause of coughing, having a cold, getting asthma, or any
other ailments alleged. Any Phase I determination of
negligence in a vacuum would be of no assistance. Even if a
ventilation system could cause injuries for some people, this
conclusion does not reduce the work that must be done in
Phase II to determine whether the conditions at the Casino to
which a particular class member was exposed were a
proximate cause of his or her damages. As one court
explained when rejecting certification of a proposed class of
smokers for similar reasons:

Unless it is proven that cigarettes always cause
or never Cause addiction, “the resolution of the
general causation question accomplishes
nothing for any individual plaintiff.”

Compounding both the Seventh Amendment and _ the
“Superiority” problems inherent in this case is the fact that there are
likely to be numerous phase-two juries, not one, as apparently
contemplated by the Court of Appeal in its consideration of the
issues.

20

Indeed, the jury would still be required to
determine for each class member whether he
or she is addicted to cigarettes, and if so,
whether defendants (and which defendant)
caused that addiction.

Barnes v. The American Tobacco Co., 176 F.R.D. 479, 501
(E.D. Pa. 1997) (citations omitted), aff'd, 161 F.3d 127 (3d
Cir. 1998), cert. denied, 119 S.Ct. 1760, 143 L.Ed.2d 791
(1999).

The court cannot determine what risk of injury the
Casino unreasonably failed to prevent in the face of varying
and seemingly limitless causal agents and complaints. And
unless the ventilation system always caused a particular
injury, which is not and cannot be alleged, a finding of
“general causation” accomplishes nothing to advance the
adjudication of common claims. Barnes, 176 F.R.D. at 501.

Judge Garza properly noted in his dissent that if these
juries were not to consider the same facts, then there is even
a greater risk -- the risk of illegitimate jury verdicts. App. A,
p. 24a). As Judge Garza explained, this is because such an
approach would not even properly adjudicate the issue of the
Casino’s negligence. (App. A, p. 26a D 27a). The hazards
found by the Phase I jury to constitute negligence might not
be the same hazards upon which the Phase II juries would
determine proximate cause. Id.°

* The extent to which each plaintiff actually knew of the risk of

contact with tobacco smoke or other contaminants in a casino and
voluntarily confronted that risk is an issue individual to each
plaintiff. See, e.g., Nicolas P. Terry, Collapsing Torts, 25 Conn.
L. Rev. 717, 732-33 (1993) (and numerous articles cited
therein)(defining “assumption of risk” and questioning whether the

21

The suggestion that a Phase | jury can make a
determination of negligence without making a consideration
of “those risks or hazards whose likelihood made the conduct
unreasonably dangerous” (i.e. the alleged causal agent,
agents, Or multiple combinations of various different agents)
does violence to Rule 23 and negligence law.

The determination of whether a plaintiff “ unreasonably
ran a foreseeable risk of injury” turns upon both the conduct
of the defendant and the nature of the precise risk of harm
alleged. Harper, Jones & Gray, The Law of Torts (2d ed.
1986.) Vol. 3 18.2 at 655. The scope of the Casino's duty,
Which is likewise necessary to determine negligence, is
determined by consideration of injury itself. Gavagan, 955
F.2d at 1020; Harper, supra, at Vol. 3, § 18.2 at 655.

The Panel decision implicitly Suggests that the Casino
may be held “negligent as a matter of law” or “legally
negligent” without regard for the extent to which the various
claims as to the “risks or hazards” at issue will render a phase
I verdict as to “negligence” futile and invalid. The dissenting
opinion (App. A, p. 18a) highlighted the difficulties inherent
in attempting to make a determination as to “negligence”
without considering the risks or harm alleged, particularly in
light of the various claims asserted:

. . . [IJf the class jury finds the ventilation
system negligent because of excessive smoke,
a plaintiff should not be able to recover for
injuries caused by dust or germs. If it finds
the ventilation system negligent solely because

doctrine is subsumed by comparative negligence). This factor
further complicates both the bifurcation scheme and the superiority
finding.

22

of high levels of dust or germs, plaintiff should
not be able to recover for injuries caused by
smoke, temperature, or paint fumes. . . . Put
simply, an individual jury might award
damages caused by smoke, even though the
class jury found Treasure Chest liable only as
to excessive dust or germs. This sort of “mix-
and-match” verdict simply does not satisfy the
elements of negligence, because it would hold
Treasure Chest liable for hazards that were
never found to constitute a negligent breach of
duty.

(App. A, pp. 24a-25a). This is no accomplishment; it is an
attempt to find negligence in a vacuum. Barnes v. The
American Tobacco Co., 176 F.R.D. at 501.

If the Court of Appeal’s decision is allowed to stand,
then the federal judiciary, and the Circuit Courts, will have
inconsistent precedents as to when class certification 1s
appropriate. This is the very circumstance in which certiorari
consideration 1s most suitable. By using Rule 23 in an
adventuresome way to attain certification, the Court of Appeal
has violated the Rules Enabling Act by utilizing a procedural
rule to abridge and modify the substantive rights of the
litigants. 28 U.S.C. § 2072(b). The fiction invoked by the
Court that bifurcation cures all ills not only violates
Substantive rights, it creates precedent which threatens
Amchem and Rule 23(b)(3)'s attempted safeguards against
undue prejudice.

23

fil. THE JUDGMENT DEFIES THE CLEAR
HOLDINGS OF AMCHEM AND ORTIZ WITH
REGARD TO THE ADEQUACY OF
REPRESENTATION.

Amchem demands vigorous and tenacious commitment
to class interests on the part of class representatives and
counsel. 521 U.S. at 625-26, 117 S.Ct. at 2250-51. Rule
23(a)(4) requires that a representative's supposed “common
interest” be based upon an alignment of interests in disputes
of fact and law, and that there be a similar “factual predicate”
underlying the claims. National Super Spuds v. New York
Mercantile Exchange, 660 F.2d 9, 18-19 & n.7 (2nd Cir.
1981). A class representative must be part of the class and
suffer the same injury. Gen. Tel. Co. of the Southwest v.
Falcon, 457 U.S. 147, 159, 102 S.Ct. 2364, 2371 (1982).
In this way, Rule 23(2)(4) offers “structural assurance of fair
and adequate representation of diverse groups and individuals
effected.” Amchem, 117 S.Ct. at 2251; In re Joint E.& S.

Dist. Asbestos Litigation, 982 F.2d 721, 721-43 (2nd Cir.

1992).

The class representatives in this case attribute their
various ailments to different causes. They thus represent a
“separate constituency” and adequacy of representation is not
met. Amchem, 117 S.Ct. at 2251. Mullen and Bachemin
complain of second hand smoke: Phipps complains only of
dust on air vents and germs on the employee radios; Mullen
also complains about the temperature; Bachemin also
complains about paint fumes. The Court of Appeal found
these variances irrelevant. ( App. A, p. 12a).

The disregard for the various allegations among the
representatives presents a square and irreconcilable conflict
which, if not addressed by this court, will erode the import of

24

the holdings in Amchem, 1175 S. Ct at 2251 and Ortiz v.
Fibreboard Corp.119 S.Ct. 2295, 144 L.Ed. 2d 715 (1999),

The claims of the three purported class representatives
themselves highlight the lack of adequate representation.
Mullen’s claim that he suffers an occupational related
respiratory illness is inextricably intertwined with his
conditions of long term morbid obesity, sleep apnea,
depression and anxiety, high blood pressure, degenerative
disc disease, asthma, osteoarthritis, “hypersensitivity” to
cologne or other fumes, and a history of smoking and drug
use.

Sheila Bachemin’s medical history is also engrained in
her occupational respiratory illness claim. Her history
consists of a 20 year smoking career, hay fever, allergies,
sinus infections and shortness of breath. Margaret Phipps, on
the other hand, has her own history of allergies, hayfever,
sensitivity to chemicals and sunlight. Each distinct history
will play a pivotal role in any causation or liability
determination. The differences in medical histories is but one
factor outlining the highly individualized nature of the claims.
Because the plaintiffs’ experts and treating physicians all
testify that hay fever, allergies and other respiratory
conditions may come from virtually any source, the plaintiffs’
various life experiences, employment histories, hobbies, and
genetics will also necessarily affect a liability determination
in this action.

Of course, not only are the conditions leading to the
claims various and divergent, but the very complaints
themselves are dissimilar. Mr. Mullen complains that the
vessel was either too hot or too cold for him. Ms. Phipps
claims it was dust hanging from the air vents and germs on

25

employee radios that made her ill, Ms. Bachemin thinks it
was the smoke.

Given this broad array of claims and histories, no
judgment as to one representative can be binding on any other
individual. The nature of the plaintiffs’ proposed class thus
precludes compliance with Rule 23.

CONCLUSION

The decision of the Court of Appeal violates the
United States Constitution, Fed.R.Civ.P. 23(b)(3), and the
Rules Enabling Act. The decision creates precedent which,
if allowed to stand, will vitiate the fundamental Seventh
Amendment right to a trial by jury in cases where factually
interwined issues of negligence and comparative negligence
are posited for bifurcation before separate juries. This Court
should issue a writ of certiorari now to prevent lower courts
from denying or abridging this fundamental constitutional
right.

Further, if allowed to stand, this decision erodes the
predominance and superiority elements of Rule 23(b)(3). As
Judge Garza properly recognized, the outcome of this case
may create an avenue for future courts to certify actions
where predominance of common issues is in question, merely
by selecting common issues to be adjudicated in one common
trial and by disregarding the myriad and potentially
overwhelming individual issues of causation and comparative
negligence. The current trial plan created and endorsed by
the Court of Appeal will necessarily create a labyrinth of
“mix and match verdicts” which will accomplish nothing to
advance the resolution of these claims. There can be little
doubt that the order, if allowed to stand, will not only cause

26

this case to disintegrate into a series of individual suits tried
separately, it will create a license for future courts to certify
cases improperly under Fed.R.Civ.P. 23(b)(3) in similar
circumstances, A writ of certiorari should issue now.

Respectfully Submitted,

ADAMS AND REESE LLP
William J. Kelly UI

4500 One Shell Square

New Orleans, LA 70139
Telephone: (504) 581-3234
Facsimile: (504) 566-0210

Appeal Counsel for Petitioner,
TREASURE CHEST CASINO, L.L.C.

27

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

[Filed August 19, 1999 ]

No. 97-31189

DENNIS MULLEN,
Plaintiff- Appellee,

¥.

TREASURE CHEST CASINO,
LLC; ET AL,
Defendants,

TREASURE CHEST CASINO,
LLC,

DENNIS MULLEN;

SHEILA BACHEMIN;

MARGARET PHIPPS,
Plaintiffs - Appellees,

¥,

TREASURE CHEST CASINO,
LLC; ET AL,

)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
Defendant - Appellant. )
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
Defendants, )

la

Court of Appeals Opinion - 8/19/99

TREASURE CHEST CASINO, )
FE ae )
Defendant - Appellant. )
)

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Eastern District of Louisiana

Before EMILIO M. GARZA, BENAVIDES, and DENNIS,
Circuit Judges.

BENAVIDES, Circuit Judge:

Treasure Chest Casino, LLC (“Treasure Chest”)
appeals from an interlocutory order of the district court
certifying under Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 23(b)(3) a
plaintiff class consisting of injured Treasure Chest employees.
We affirm the district court’s class certification.

I. BACKGROUND

The appellees, Dennis Mullen, Sheila Bachemin, and
Margaret Phipps (collectively, the “Named Plaintiffs”), are
former employees of the M/V Treasure Chest Casino (the
“Casino”), a floating casino owned and operated out of
Kenner, Louisiana by appellant Treasure Chest. Mullen was
an assistant pit boss, Bachemin was a dealer, and Phipps was
employed as a slot-floor person and dealer.

Each Named Plaintiff has suffered respiratory illness
allegedly caused by the Casino’s defective and/or improperly
maintained air-conditioning and ventilating system. Each was
diagnosed with asthma and bronchitis while employed aboard

2a

Court of Appeals Opinion - 8/19/99

the Casino. Mullen and Bachemin, while aboard the Casino,
suffered respiratory attacks requiring hospitalization.
Kathleen McNamara, the Named Plaintiffs’ physician,
testified in a deposition that as many as half of the 300 Casino
employees that she had treated suffered from similar
respiratory problems. She attributed the Named Plaintiffs’
and other crew members’ maladies to extremely smoky
conditions in the Casino.

In January 1996, the Named Plaintiffs filed suit against
Treasure Chest, making Jones Act, unseaworthiness, and
maintenance and cure claims. They sought Rule 23
certification of a class consisting of

all members of the crew of the M/V Treasure
Chest Casino who have been stricken with
occupational respiratory illness caused by or
exacerbated by the defective ventilation system
in place aboard the vessel.

The parties conducted pre-certification discovery that included
deposing the Named Plaintiffs, Dr. McNamara, and two other
physicians. The parties then briefed the district court, which
heard arguments in July 1997.

On August 29, i997, the district court certified the
proposed class under Rule 23(b)(3). Under the court’s plan,
the liability issues common to all class members will be tried
together in an initial trial phase. Those common issues
include whether the employees of the Casino are seamen
within the meaning of the Jones Act, whether the Casino is a
vessel within the meaning of the Jones Act, whether the
Casino was rendered unseaworthy by the air quality aboard,

3a

Court of Appeals Opinion - 8/19/99

and whether Treasure Chest was negligent in relation to the
Casino’s ventilation system. If the class prevails on the
common liability issues in phase one, the issues affecting only
individual class members will be tried in a second phase in
waves of approximately five class members at a time. These
limited issues include causation, damages, and comparative
negligence.

Treasure Chest sought to appeal the class certification
order, and the district court certified the issue for
interlocutory appeal under 28 U.S.C. § 1292 (b) . We
granted
Treasure Chest permission to appeal.

Il. DISCUSSION

A class may be certified under Rule 23(b)(3) only if it
meets the four prerequisites found in Rule 23(a) and the two
additional requirements found in Rule 23(b)(3). The four
23(a) prerequisites include

(1) numerosity (a class so large that joinder of
all members is impracticable); (2)
commonality (questions of law or fact common
to the class); (3) typicality (named parties’
claims or defenses are typical of the class); and
(4) adequacy of representation (representatives
will fairly and adequately protect the interests
of the class).

Amchem Products, Inc. v. Windsor, 117 S. Ct. 2231, 2245

(1997). The two 23(b) requirements are “predominance” and
“superiority”: “Common questions must ‘predominate over

4a

cesarean re Ti wh ee rT en crags

Court of Appeals Opinion - 8/19/99

any questions affecting only individual members’; and class
resolution must be ‘superior to other available methods for the
fair and efficient adjudication of the controversy.’” /d. at
2246 (quoting Fed. R. Civ. P. 23(b) (3)).

Treasure Chest argues on appeal that the district court
erred in finding any of the Rule 23 requirements satisfied. '
Before evaiuating the six requirements seriatim, we note that
the district court maintains great discretion in certifying and
managing a class action. See Montelongo v. Meese, 803 F.2d

' Treasure Chest also argues on appeal that implicit in
Rule 23 is an additional requirement that any class must be capable
of objective identification before it can be certified. It contends
that because being a member of the class in this Case is contingent
upon ultimate issues of causation, i.e., whether the class member’s
illness was “caused or exacerbated by the defective ventilation
system,” Treasure Chest is prejudiced by being forced to defend
against claimants who may not end up being members of the class.
This same argument was already rejected by this Court in Forbush
v. J.C. Penney Co., 994 F.2d 1101 (Sth Cir. 1993). There, we
considered a defendant's contention that a Class of pension
beneficiaries was “hopelessly ‘circular’” because membership in
the class was defined by the improper reduction of the class
members’ benefits, which was also the ultimate issue in the case.
fd at 1105. We found that the defendant’s argument was “meritless
and, if accepted, would preclude certification of just about any
class of persons alleging injury from a particular action. These
persons are linked by this common complaint, and the possibility
that some may fail to prevail on their individual claims will not
defeat class membership.” /d. Here, because the class is similarly
linked by a common complaint, the fact that the class is defined
with reference to an ultimate issue of Causation does not prevent
certification.

Sa

Court of Appeals Opinion - 8/19/99

1341, 1351 (Sth Cir. 1986). We will reverse a district court’s
decision to certify a class only upon a showing that the court
abused its discretion, see Jenkins v. Raymark Industries, 782
F.2d 468, 471-72 (Sth Cir. 1986), or that it applied incorrect
legal standards in reaching its decision, see Forbush v. J.C.
Penney Co., 994 F.2d 1101, 1104-05 (5th Cir. 1993).

A. Numerosity

The court found that “the class is so numerous that
joinder of all members is impracticable,” Fed. R. Civ. P.
23(a) (1), referring to three factors. First, the class would
likely consist of between 100 and 150 members. Second,
Owing to the transient nature of employment in the gambling
business, it was likely that some of the putative class members
were geographically dispersed and unavailable for joinder.
Third, putative class members still employed by the Casino
might be reluctant to file individually for fear of workplace
retaliation. Treasure Chest challenges only the second of the
district court’s three reasons. It asserts that the district
court’s claim that class members would be geographically
dispersed was unsupported by evidence. They reference the
court’s own comment that the “plaintiff has not introduced
any specific evidence that there are potential class members
that have moved out of the area.”

We find no abuse of discretion in the district court’s
finding of numerosity. Although the number of members in
a proposed class is not determinative of whether joinder is
impracticable, see Zeidman vy. J. Ray McDermott & Co., 651
F.2d 1030, 1038 (5th Cir. 1981), the size of the class in this
case--100 to 150 members--is within the range that generally
satisfies the numerosity requirement. See 1 Newberg on

6a

Court of Appeals Opinion - 8/19/99

Class Actions § 3.05, at 3-25 (3d ed. 1992) (suggesting that
any Class consisting of more than forty members “should raise
a presumption that joinder is impracticable”); cf. Boykin vy.
Georgia-Pacific Corp., 706 F.2d 1384, 1386 (Sth Cir. 1983)
(finding that numerosity requirement would not be met by a
class with 20 members but was met by a class with 317
members),

Furthermore, the additional factors mentioned by the
district court support its finding of numerosity. See Zeidman,
651 F.2d at 1038 (discussing relevant factors including, for
example, “the geographical dispersion of the class, the ease
with which class members may be identified, the nature of the
action, and the size of each plaintiff's claim"). Not-
withstanding the lack of any direct evidence, the district court
reasonably inferred from the nature of the putative class
members’ employment that some of them would be
geographically dispersed. It also reasonably presumed that
those potential class members still employed by Treasure
Chest might be unwilling to sue individually or join a suit for
fear of retaliation at their jobs. Based upon those
considerations, it was within the district court's discretion to
find that joinder of all 100 to 150 class members would be
impracticable.

B. Commonality

The district court found that “there are questions of
law or fact common to the class,” Fed. R. Civ. P. 23(a) (2),
on the basis of the class members’ identical theories of
liability, their common claims under the Jones Act, and their
uniform allegations of suffering injury from second-hand
smoke. ‘Treasure Chest challenges the district’ court's

7a

Court of Appeals Opinion - 8/19/99

assertion that all plaintiffs’ claims relate to second-hand
smoke,

The district court did not abuse its discretion in finding
commonality. The test for commonality is not demanding and
is met “where there is at least one issue, the resolution of
Which will affect all or a significant number of the putative
class members.” Lightbourn y. County of El Paso, 118 F.3d
421, 426 (Sth Cir. 1997), In this case, the putative class
members will assert claims for negligence under the Jones Act
and for operating an unseaworthy vessel. The common issues
pertaining to these theories of liability--i.e., the class~
members’ status as Jones Act seamen, the negligence of
Treasure Chest, and the unseaworthiness of the Casino--are
independently sufficient to establish commonality. It is
therefore irrelevant whether the class members uniformly
allege damages from second-hand smoke.

C. Typicality

The district found the “the claims or defenses of the
parties are typical of the claims or defenses of the Class,” Fed.
R. Civ. P. 23(a) (3), because the Named P'aintiffs and the
class members, by definition, all allege to have suffered
occupation-related respiratory illness. Treasure Chest
contends that the Named Plaintiffs’ claims are not typical of
the class because a wide array of claims could fall under the
“respiratory illness” category.

We find no abuse in the district court's finding of
typicality, Like commonality, the test for typicality is not
demanding. It “focuses on the similarity between the named
plaintiffs’ legal and remedial theories and the theories of those

8a

Law af. 4ypaals Opinion - 8/19/99

whom they purport to represent.” Lightbourn, 118 F.3d at
426. In this case, the Named Plaintiffs’ and the proposed
class members’ legal and remedial theories appear to be
exactly the same. The class complaint indicates that they will
all premise liability for the Casino's defective air ventilation
system under the Jones Act and the doctrine of seaworthiness.
Any variety in the illnesses the Named Plaintiffs and the class
members suffered will not affect their legal or remedial
theories, and thus does not defeat typicality.

D. Adequacy of Representation

The district court stated that “the representative parties
will fairly and adequately protect the interests of the class,”
Fed. R. Civ. P. 23(a) (4), because the Named Plaintiffs’
interests are identical to the interests of the proposed class and
their attorneys have extensive experience litigating class
actions and Jones Act cases. Treasure Chest argues on the
appeal that the district court's finding was erroneous because
the Named Plaintiffs and the class members have suffered
from varied illnesses and have varying susceptibilities to
respiratory ailments.

We find no abuse of discretion in the district court's
finding. Differences between mamed plaintiffs and class
members render the named plaintiffs inadequate
represeniatives only if those differences create conflicts
between the named plaintiffs’ interests and the class members’
interests. See Jenkins v. Raymark Industries, Inc., 782 F.2d
408, 472 (Sth Cir. 1986) (considering whether named
plaintiffs have “an insufficient stake in the outcome or
interests antagonistic to the unnamed members” in evaluating
adequate representation requirement). The differences

9a

Court of Appeals Opinion - 8/19/99

described by Treasure Chest may Create variances in the ways
that the Named Plaintiffs and class members will prove
causation and damages. A class member who has never
smoked, for example, may have less difficulty in proving that
the conditions inside the Casino caused her asthma than will
Bachemin, who has a history of smoking and whose claim
may be subject to a defense of contributory negligence. Such
a difference, however, does not affect the alignment of their
interests. Nothing indicates that the class members will be
inadequately represented by the Named Plaintiffs and their
counsel.

E. Predominance

We see no abuse in the district court’s finding that
“the questions of law or fact common to the members of the
class predominate over any questions affecting only individual
members.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 23(b) (3). “In order to
‘predominate,’ common issues must constitute a significant
part of the individual cases.” Jenkins, 782 F.2d at 472. The
district court held that the issues to be tried commonly --
seamen status, vessel status, negligence, and seaworthiness--
Were significant in relation to the individual issues of
Causation, damages, and contributory negligence. Treasure
Chest argues on appeal that the district court abused its
discretion by failing to Weigh the common against the
individual issues and by improperly finding causation to be a
common issue,

Treasure Chest’s arguments are without merit. First,
although the court's predominance inquiry was not lengthy,
there is no indication that the court limited its inquiry to
counting issues instead of weighing them. Second, explicit in

10a

Court of Appeals Opinion - 8/19/99

the district court's decision is a finding that causation is a
unique issue that will be resolved in the trial plan’s second-
phase individual trials.

Even examining the district court’s predominance
analysis more closely, we find no abuse. The common issues
in this case, especially negligence and seaworthiness, are not
only significant but also pivotal. They will undoubtedly
require the parties to produce extensive evidence regarding
the Casino’s air ventilation system, as well as testimony
concerning Treasure Chest’s knowledge of, and response to,
the Casino employees’ respiratory problems and complaints.
The phase-one jury will have the difficult task of determining
whether the air quality aboard the Casino resulted from a
negligent breach of Treasure Chest’s duty to its employees or
rendered the Casino unseaworthy. If Treasure Chest prevails
on those two issues alone, they will prevail in the case.

Moreover, this case does not involve the type of
individuated issues that have in the past led courts to find
predominance lacking. For example, in Amchem Products,
Inc, v. Windsor, 117 8. Ct. 2231 (1997), the Supreme Court
found that common issues did not predominate where the
members of the plaintiff class were exposed to asbestos-
containing products from different sources over different time
periods, some of the class members were asymptomatic while
others had developed illnesses, and the class members were
from a variety of states requiring the application of a
multitude of different legal standards. See id. at 2250 (citing
Georgine v. Amchem Products, Inc., 83 F.3d 610, 626 (3d
Cir. 1996)). Similarly, in Castano v. American Tobacco Co.,
84 F.3d 734 (Sth Cir. 1996), this Court found that a putative
class of addicted smokers did not meet the predominance

lla

peta pile

ee

7
EAs. allan

Court of Appeals Opinion - 8/19/99

requirement because there were complex choice-of-law issues
and the case involved novel addiction-as-injury claims with no
track record from which a court could determine which issues
were “significant.” See id. at 741-45. Here, by contrast, the
putative class members are all symptomatic by definition and
claim injury from the same defective ventilation system over
the same general period of time. Because all of the claims are
under federal law, there are no individual choice-of-law
issues. And, because negligence and doctrine-of-sea-
worthiness claims are time-tested bases for liability, the
district court could reasonably evaluate the significance of the
common issues without first establishing a track record.

F. Superiority

We also find no abuse of discretion in the district
court’s finding that “a class action is superior to other
available methods for the fair and efficient adjudication of the
controversy.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 23(b) (3). The district court
based its superiority finding on the fact that the class litigation
in this case would not present the degree of managerial
complexities that prompted this Court to decertify the putative
class in Castano, Specifically, the district court mentioned
the lack of any complex choice-of-law or Erie problems, and
that the class would consist of only hundreds, instead of
millions, of members. The bifurcated-trial plan, the court
found, would “promote judicial economy and avoid the
wasteful, duplicative litigation which would inevitably result
if these cases were tried individually.” Treasure Chest argues
that the district court abused its discretion by failing
adequately to consider how a trial on the merits would be
conducted. It contends that because the Named Plaintiffs
describe somewhat different causes for their ailments, a

12a

Court of Appeals Opinion - 8/19/99 ~

phase-one judgment of negligence or unseaworthiness related
sutery wo wbdaccu simoakenowld be inadequate insofar as it

would preclude plaintiffs from recovering for ailments that
were caused by sources other than tobacco smoke in the
phase-two trials.

We find no merit in Treasure Chest’s argument. First,
Treasure Chest overstates the importance of the Named
Plaintiffs’ conjecture regarding their own illnesses. It is true
that, in addition to making second-hand smoke complaints,
Dennis Mullen has complained about the temperature aboard
the Casino, Sheila Bachemin has described one incident where
paint fumes on the Casino “kicked in” her asthma, and
Margaret Phipps has stated that her asthma might have been
caused by dust on the air vents or germs on the radios used by
multiple casino employees. As lay witnesses, however, the
Named Plaintiffs’ opinions about the possible causes of their
Own respiratory conditions are of negligible evidentiary
weight and probably would not be admissible at trial. See
Fed. R. Evid. 701 (limiting admissibility of nonexpert opinion
testimony); Doddy v. Oxy USA, Inc., 101 F.3d 448, 460 (Sth
Cir. 1996) (“[A] person may testify as a lay witness only if
his opinions or inferences do not require any specialized
knowledge and could be reached by any ordinary person.”);
Henry v. A/S Ocean, 512 F.2d 401, 408 (2d Cir. 1975)
(finding that the plaintiff in a Jones Act suit was properly
prevented from testifying to his opinion that his persistent
colds and skin rash had been caused by an accident in which
he was knocked overboard). The medical experts already
deposed in this case have unwaveringly cited excessive
secondhand smoke as the most likely Casino-related factor to
have exacerbated or caused the putative class members’
respiratory problems. It is thus likely that the trial will focus

l3a

LO en OMe oY

ee ery

Court of Appeals Opinion - 8/19/99

on excessive second-hand smoke as both the effect of the
defective ventilation system and the cause of the putative class
members’ respiratory problems.

Furthermore, even if the class does claim at trial that
the Casino’s ventilation system was defective in relation to
more than tobacco smoke, we are confident that the district
court can ably manage this case as a class action. Our
precedent limits a negligent party’s liability to injuries that are
caused by the same condition that rendered the party
negligent. See Gavagan v. United States, 955 F.2d 1016,
1020-21 (Sth Cir. 1992). The court can easily abide by this
precedent by instructing the jury to answer special verdicts
finding whether the Treasure Chest was negligent, or the
Casino was unseaworthy, as to each alleged causal agent, i.e.,
tobacco smoke, dust mites, fungi, paint fumes, et cetera. The
court can then properly limit the injuries for which the phase-
two juries could find Treasure Chest liable. Thus, if the
phase-one jury were to find that Treasure Chest was negligent
as to tobacco smoke but not as to paint fumes, any class
member whose injuries were found by a phase-two jury to be
caused by paint fumes would be unable to recover. Even
though rendering multiple special verdicts would complicate
the task for the phase-one jury and the court, we would see no
abuse in the district court’s finding such a process superior to
conducting duplicative individual trials.

We also agree with the district court that none of the
superiority concerns raised by our decision in Castano
requires a different result. There, many of the manageability
problems stemmed from the million-person class membership,
the complex choice-of-law issues, the novel addiction-as-
injury cause of action, and the extensive subclassing

l4a

Court of Appeals Opinion - 8/19/99

requirements. As already discussed, none of those problems
exist in this case. In fact, unlike the “Frankenstein’s
monster” feared in Castano, 84 F.3d at 745 n.19, this class
is akin to other bifurcated class actions this Court has
approved. See Watson v. Shell Oil Co., 979 F.2d 1014 (Sth
Cir. 1992) (finding no abuse in the district court’s
certification of a bifurcated class action arising from an oil
refinery explosion where liability and punitive damages would
be resolved commonly and injury, causation, and actual
damages would be resolved individually); Jenkins, 782 F.2d
468 (finding no abuse of discretion in district court’s
certification of a bifurcated class action where asbestos
producers’ “state of the art defense” as well as product
identification, product defectiveness, negligence, and punitive
damages would be resolved commonly and causation, actual
damages, and comparative fault would tried individually);
Hernandez v. Motor Vessel Skyward, 61 F.R.D. 558 (S.D.
Fla. 1973), aff'd, 507 F.2d 1278-79 (Sth Cir. 1975)
(unpublished) (certifying bifurcated class action on behalf of
350 passengers who were fed contaminated food aboard cruise
ship where negligence would be tried commonly and causation
and damages would be tried individually).

In Castano, this Court expressed a concern that having
one jury consider the defendant’s conduct and another
consider the plaintiffs’ comparative negligence could create
Seventh Amendment problems. See Castano, 84 F.3d at 750-
51 (citing /n re Rhone-Poulenc Rorer Inc., 51 F.3d 1293,
1303 (7th Cir. 1995)). This does not change our view of the
district court’s superiority finding. Treasure Chest did not
raise this issue to the district court nor has it been argued on
appeal. We are reluctant to find that the district abused its

15a

Behr $i Gat assis hs Galina as ANI

Court of Appeals Opinion - 8/19/99

discretion by failing to consider an issue that was not raised
by the parties.

In any case, we would not find the risk of infringing
upon the parties’ Seventh Amendment rights significant in this
case. The Seventh Amendment does not prohibit bifurcation
of trials as long as the “‘the judge [does] not divide issues
between separate trials in such a way that the same issue is
reexamined by different juries.’” Cimino vy. Raymark
Industries, Inc., 151 F.3d 297, 320 n.50 (Sth Cir. 1998)
(quoting Rhone-Poulenc, 51 F.3d at 1303); see Alabama_v.
Blue Bird Body Co., Inc., 573 F.2d 309, 318 (Sth Cir. 1978).
In Castano, we were concerned that allowing a second jury to
consider the plaintiffs’ comparative negligence would invite
that jury to reconsider the first jury's findings concerning the
defendants’ conduct. We believe that such a risk has been
avoided here by leaving all issues of causation for the phase-
two jury. When a jury considers the comparative negligence
of a plaintiff, “the focus is upon Causation. It is inevitable
that a comparison of the conduct of plaintiffs and defendants
ultimately be in terms of causation.” Lewis y. Timco, Inc.,
716 F.2d 1425, 1431 (Sth Cir. 1983) (en banc); see id.
(permitting the use of comparative negligence in strict liability
claims). Thus, in considering comparative negligence, the
phase-two jury would not be reconsidering the first jury’s
findings of whether Treasure Chest’s conduct was negligent
or the Casino unseaworthy, but only the degree to which those
conditions were the sole or contributing cause of the class
memiber’s injury. Because the first jury will not be
considering any issues of causation, no Seventh Amendment
implications affect our review of the district court’s
superiority finding.

Court of Appeals Opinion-.- 8/19/99

Ill. CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, we find that the district
court did not abuse its discretion in certifying under Rule
23(b) (3) a class of all Casino employees stricken with
occupation-related respiratory illnesses. AFFIRMED.

17a

CM ae i ae ames '..
BS el Fo A pee ee ee

Court of Appeals Opinion - 8/19/99
EMILIO M. GARZA, dissenting:

Treasure Chest Casino, L.L.C. (“Treasure Chest”)
appeals the district court’s order granting class certification
under Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 23(b)(3). The majority
affirms, finding that the district court did not abuse its
discretion in concluding that the plaintiffs’ class satisfies the
requirements of Rule 23. | respectfully dissent.

I

Plaintiffs Dennis Mullen, Sheila Bachemin, and
Margaret Phipps are crew members of the M/V Treasure
Chest Casino (“Casino”), a vessel owned and operated by
Treasure Chest in Kenner, Louisiana. They allege that they
suffered respiratory illnesses as a result of inadequate
ventilation aboard the vessel. According to the district court,
the plaintiffs attribute their illnesses to second-hand smoke
aboard the Casino. However, the record indicates that the
plaintiffs ailege other causes as well. In her deposition,
Phipps complains of dust on the air vents and germs on the
employee radios, and does not attribute her illness to second-
hand smoke. Mullen, who does complain of excessive smoke
aboard the Casino, also states in his deposition that his illness
may have stemmed from the Casino’s temperature being too
hot or too cold. Bachemin complains of second-hand smoke,
but she testifies about excessive paint fumes as well.

These plaintiffs sued Treasure Chest, on behalf of
themselves and persons similarly situated, for negligence
under the Jones Act, 46 U.S.C. § 688, for operating an
unseaworthy vessel, and for failing to provide Maintenance
and Cure. They moved to certify a class action under Rule

18a

Court of Appeals Opinion - 8/19/99

23(b)(3).' The district court certified a class consisting of “all
members of the crew of the M/V Treasure Chest Casino who
have been stricken with occupational respiratory illness
caused by or exacerbated by the defective ventilation system
in place aboard the vessel.” Treasure Chest now appeals.

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 23(a) sets forth four
prerequisites for all class actions:

(1) numerosity (a class so large that joinder of
all members is impracticable); (2)
commonality (questions of law or fact common
to the class); (3) typicality (named parties’
claims or defenses are typical of the class); and
(4) adequacy of representation (representatives
will fairly and adequately protect the interests
of the class).

Amchem Prods. v. Windsor, 521 U.S. 591, 613, 117 S. Ct.
2231, 2245, 138 L. Ed. 2d 689 (1997) (quotation marks
omitted). Once the criteria of Rule 23(a) are met, a party
must show that class treatment is appropriate under one of the
three categories enumerated in Rule 23(b). See id. at 614,
117 S. Ct. at 2245. Rule 23(b)(3), under which this class was
certified, demands “that the questions of law or fact common

' The plaintiffs also requested that the district court certify
a class under Rule 23(b)(1). The district court declined to address
Rule 23(b)(1), on the grounds that the plaintiffs raised it for the
first time their reply brief. On appeal, the plaintiff's do not raise
Rule 23(b)(1) as a basis for class certification.

19a

ee Re Ryne ar cme -, «|

tlh oO tle wt

eae te ak ee 0d _ ee Oe ch dim ae) ee

Court of Appeals Opinion - 8/19/99

to the members of the class predominate over any questions
affecting only individual members, and that a class action is
superior to other available methods for the fair and efficient
adjudication of the controversy.” FED. R. CIV. P. 23(b)(3).
These requirements are commonly referred to as
predominance and superiority. See Amchern, 521 U.S. at
615, 117 S. Ct. at 2246. Rule 23(b)(3) applies to cases for
which “a class action would achieve economies of time,
effort, and expense, and promote uniformity of decision as to
persons similarly situated, without sacrificing procedural
fairness or bringing about other undesirable results.” Id.
(quotations omitted).

The district court concluded that the plaintiffs’ class
satisfied Rule 23(a)’s requirements of numerosity,
commonality, typicality, and adequacy of representation. It
also found that common issues of law and fact predominated
over individual issues. The district court identified as
common issues (1) whether Casino employees are seamen
within the meaning of the Jones Act, (2) whether the Casino
is a vessel within the meaning of the Jones Act, (3) whether
the Casino was unseaworthy, and (4) whether the Casino’s
ventilation system was unreasonably suited to protect the class
members from harm. It classified contributory negligence,
damages, and causation as individual issues. Finally, the
district court ruled that a class action was superior to other
available methods of adjudicating the proposed class
members’ claims. In doing so, the district court relied on the
plaintiffs’ proposed trial plan, which provided: “The class
action would include an initial phase in which the liability
issues Common to all plaintiffs would be tried together. Later
if plaintiffs prevailed on liability, the unique issues such as
damages (and causation if necessary), would be tried in waves

20a

Court of Appeals Opinion - 8/19/99

of approximately five plaintiffs at a time.” The district court
reasoned that “this approach will promote judicial economy
and avoid the wasteful, duplicative litigation which would
inevitably result if these cases were tried individually.”

Ill

A district court “has wide discretion in deciding
whether to certify a proposed class.” Lightbourn v. County
of El Paso, 118 F.3d 421, 425 (Sth Cir. 1997). We may
reverse its decision only for abuse of discretion. See id.
Treasure Chest contends that the district court abused its
discretion in finding that the proposed class satisfied Rule 23.
According to Treasure Chest, the plaintiffs’ class lacks
numerosity, commonality, typicality, and adequacy of
representation, and fails to satisfy Rule 23(b)(3)’s
predominance and superiority requirements. The majority
examines these six requirements and concludes that the district
court did not abuse its discretion. Under the law of our
circuit, however, the district court abused its discretion in
finding that a class action was “superior to other available
methods for the fair and efficient adjudication of the
controversy.” FED. R. CIV. P. 23(b)(3).’

A court’s inquiry into superiority “requires an
understanding of the relevant claims, defenses, facts, and
substantive law presented in the case.” Allison v. Citgo

Because I believe that the plaintiffs’ class fails the
superiority requirement of Rule 23(b)(3), I would not reach the
other issues addressed in the majority’s opinion, i.e., numerosity,
commonality, typicality, adequacy of representation, and
predominance.

2la

Court of Appeals Opinion - 8/19/99

Petroleum Corp., 151 F.3d 402, 419 (Sth Cir. 1998); see also
FED. R. CIV. P. 23(b)(3) (requiring that in assessing whether
Class treatment is superior, a court must consider “the
difficulties likely to be encountered in the management of a
Class action”). It is an abuse of discretion to certify a class
without adequately considering “how a trial on the alleged
Causes of action would be tried.” Castano v. American
Tobacco Co., 84 F.3d 734, 75] (Sth Cir. 1996); of. Kentucky
Fried Chicken Corp. v. Diversified Packaging Corp., 552
F.2d 601, 603 (5th Cir. 1977) (“The district court’s failure to
consider the appropriate factors constitutes an abuse of
discretion. ”).

The district court certified a Class of all Casino
employees who were “stricken with occupational respiratory
illness caused by or exacerbated by the defective ventilation
system.” To prevail, these plaintiffs must prove both
hegligent breach of duty and proximate cause. See Gavagan
v. United States, 955 F.2d 1016, 1019 n.6 (Sth Cir. 1992).
Under the trial plan, the issue of “whether the ventilation
system of the M/V Treasure Chest Casino was unreasonably
suited to protect the proposed class members from harm” will
be tried as a common issue to a Class jury. However, the
issue of proximate cause will be tried as an individual issue to
individual juries.

In upholding the district court’s bifurcated approach to
these two issues, the majority relies on three Cases, in which
we allowed a district court to try the issue of negligence
separately from the issue of proximate cause. See Watson vy.

Court of Appeals Opinion - 8/19/99

Shell Oil Co., 979 F.2d 1014 (5" Cir. 1992);° Jenkins v.
Raymark Industries, Inc., 782 F.2d 468 (Sth Cir. 1986);
Hernandez v. Motor Vessel Skyward, 507 F.2d 1278 (Sth Cir.
1975) (unpublished). In general, of course, district courts
have the authority to bifurcate a trial, trying some issues on
a class basis and others individually. See FED. R. CIV. P.
23(c)(4)(A) (authorizing class treatment with respect to
particular issues); FED. R. CIV. P. 42(b) (authorizing separate
trials for separate issues). However, in all of the cases cited
by the majority, the class members’ injuries stemmed from a
single hazard. In the instant case, the class members attribute
their various ailments to different aspects of the air aboard
the Casino. Mullen and Bachemin complain of second-hand
smoke, whereas Phipps complains only of dust on air vents
and germs on employee radios. Mullen, additionally, points
to the Casino’s temperature. Bachemin complains of paint
fumes.

The district court abused its discretion by failing to
consider the difficulties posed by the plaintiffs’ divers
allegations.* In a negligence case, a defendant owes a duty

> Our opinion in Watson is no longer binding precedent on
our circuit. As we have explained: “While [Watson] was awaiting
rehearing en banc, it settled. According to the Internal Operating
Procedure accompanying STH CIR. R. 35, the effect of granting a
rehearing en banc is to vacate the previous opinion and judgment
of the Court and to stay the mandate.” Castano, 84 F.3d at 740
n.12 (quotation marks and citations omitted); see Watson v. Shell
Oil Co., 53 F.3d 663, 664 (Sth Cir 1994) (en banc).

* The plaintiffs suggest in a footnote that we should
“disregard” the fact that the disparate sources of illness they allege

23a

eaisaa | Svbitetine Sh areOS etintns 5 oy

Sis SR Mali haat 6 sie SWRA CHA GAOT DN, OR ACTS WR uy

ne eas ee

GRE SSNS ieee ae ud

uA
E,

2
S

Court of Appeals Opinion - 8/19/99

“only with respect to those risks or hazards whose likelihood
made the conduct unreasonably dangerous.” Gavagan, 955
F.2d at 1020 (emphasis omitted) (quoting 3 HARPER, JAMES &
GRAY § 18.2, at 655). In other words, a defendant is liable
for negligence only when the plaintiff's injuries are caused by
the same conditions that render the defendant’s conduct
negligent. This principle is important to consider, because in
this case, different plaintiffs allege different “risks or
hazards.” /d. For example, if the class jury finds the
ventilation system negligent because of excessive smoke, a
plaintiff should not be able to recover for injuries caused by
dust or germs. If it finds the ventilation system negligent
solely because of high levels of dust or germs, plaintiffs
should not be able to recover for injuries caused by smoke,
temperature, or paint fumes.

The district court’s trial plan fails to account for the
fact that the plaintiffs allege a variety of different “risks or
hazards.” There is nothing in the trial plan to ensure that the
hazards found by the class jury to constitute negligence are
the same hazards based on which the individual juries would

(e.g., smoke, temperature, germs, dust, fumes) might preclude
Class certification. They argue that a magistrate judge’s ruling
prevented them from discovering the precise nature of the defects
in the ventilation system. The magistrate’s discovery ruling is not
before us on appeal. Even if it could be shown that discovery was
insufficient, it does not follow that we must approve a class that
fails to meet the requirements of Rule 23. Rather, we must
decertify such a class, even if further discovery may eventually
justify class treatment. See Alabama v. Blue Bird Body Co., 573
F.2d 309, 323 (Sth Cir. 1978) (decertifying class where discovery
was insufficient to determine whether common issues existed).

24a

Court of Appeals Opinion - 8/19/99

determine proximate cause. Put simply, an individual jury
might award damages caused by smoke, even though the class
jury found Treasure Chest liable only as to excessive dust or
germs. This sort of “mix-and-match” verdict simply does not
‘satisfy the elements of negligence, because it would hold
Treasure Chest liable for hazards that were never found to
constitute a negligent breach of duty. The district court failed
to consider the potential for its bifurcated approach to yield
such illegitimate verdicts.°

Of course, the risk of unjustified verdicts could be
avoided if the individual juries determined for themselves
whether a given plaintiffs’ injuries were caused by “those
risks or hazards whose likelihood made the conduct
unreasonably dangerous.” /d. To do so, however, the
individual juries would be required to make essentially the
same inquiry made by the class jury, that is, whether the
hazards posed by the Casino’s ventilation system
unreasonably failed to protect the plaintiffs from harm. This
overlap between the issues decided by the class jury and the
individual juries impacts a court’s superiority inquiry for two
reasons. First, it may eviscerate one of the primary rationales
for class treatment--judicial efficiency. See Castano, 84 F.3d
at 749. Where the class jury and the individual juries must
consider similar issues, it is likely that evidence presented at
the class trial will be repeated during the individual trials.

> The majority suggests that the district court can avert

this problem by instructing the class jury to answer special verdicts
as to each hazard alleged by the plaintiffs. However, such special
verdicts are not included in the district court’s trial plan.

25a

Court of Appeals Opinion - 8/19/99

See id. As we have noted, “[t]he net result may be a waste,
not a savings, in judicial resources.” Jd.

Second, having separate juries consider essentially the
same issue may run afoul of the Seventh Amendment.
“[I]nherent in the Seventh Amendment guarantee of a trial by
jury is the general right of a litigant to have only one jury
pass On a common issue of fact.” Alabama v. Blue Bird Body
Co., 573 F.2d 309, 318 (Sth Cir. 1978); see U.S. CONST.
amend. VII (“no fact tried by a jury shall be otherwise
reexamined in any Court of the United States”). Therefore,
a court may try a certain issue to a different jury only when
that issue is “distinct and separable from the others.” Blue
Bird Body, 573 F.2d at 318. “Such a rule is dictated for the
very practical reason that if separate juries are allowed to pass
on issues involving overlapping legal and factual questions the
verdicts rendered by each jury could be inconsistent.” /d.
When the bifurcation of class and individual issues risks
improper reconsideration of issues assigned to the class-wide
jury, appellate courts have not hesitated to decertify the class.
See Castano, 84 F.3d at 751: In re Rhone-Poulenc Rorer Inc..,
51 F.3d 1293, 1302-03 (7th Cir. 1995).

These same concerns--judicial efficiency and the
Seventh Amendment--are also implicated by the district
court’s plan to handle the issue of comparative negligence.
Under the trial plan, comparative negligence will be
considered by the individual juries, whereas the Casino’s
negligence will be considered by the class jury. These two
issues are too closely related to allow bifurcated treatment.
“Comparative negligence, by definition, requires a
comparison between the defendant’s and the plaintiff’ s
conduct.” Castano, 84 F.3d at 751: see also Rhone-Poulenc,

-

26a

Court of Appeals Opinion - 8/19/99

51 F.3d at 1303. Therefore, to properly try the issue of
comparative negligence, the parties may need to repeat
evidence concerning the Casino’s conduct that was already
presented to the class jury. See Castano, 84 F.3d at 751.
Furthermore, in comparing the negligent conduct of the
Casino with the negligent conduct of each plaintiff, the
individual juries may “impermissibly reconsider[]” the class
jury’s determination as to the Casino’s negligence, in
violation of the Seventh Amendment. /d.; see also Rhone-
Poulenc, 51 F.3d at 1303. Accordingly, “class treatment can
hardly be said to be superior to individual adjudication.”
Castano, 84 F.3d at 751 (finding that a bifurcated class action
failed Rule 23(b)(3)’s superiority requirement where the
district court planned to try the issues of negligence and
comparative negligence to separate juries).

IV

The district court in this case failed to consider “the
difficulties likely to be encountered in the management of a
Class action.” FED. R. CIV. P. 23(b)(3). Specifically, it dia not
address how the disparate hazards alleged by each plaintiff
impact whether bifurcated class treatment is feasible. This
failure to adequately examine “how a trial on the alleged
causes of action would be tried” constitutes an abuse of
discretion and requires that we vacate the class certification
order. Castano, 84 F.3d at 752. Accordingly, I dissent.

27a

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
EASTERN DISTRICT OF LOUISIANA

[Filed August 29, 1997 ]

No. 96-0052

DENNIS MULLEN, ET AL.
Plaintiff,

¥.

TREASURE CHEST CASINO,
L.L.C. & BOYD GAMING
CORPORATION,

Defendant.

ORDER AND REASONS
Entered: September 2, 1997

Considering the memoranda and arguments of counsel
and the applicable law, IT IS ORDERED that plaintiffs’
Motion to Certify Class Action be and hereby is GRANTED

for the following reasons.
I. BACKGROUND

Plaintiffs Dennis Mullen, an Assistant Pitt Boss, Sheila

28a

District Court Order & Reasons - 8/29/97

Bachemin, a Dealer, and Margaret Phipps, a Slot-Floor
Person and Dealer, filed a complaint against Treasure Chest
Casino, L.L.C. (“Treasure Chest”), and Boyd Gaming
Corporation (“Boyd”), on behalf of themselves and persons
similarly situated, alleging that they suffer from illnesses
caused by and/or exacerbated by their exposure to second-
hand smoke while employed by the defendants. Defendants
operate a vessel used as a casino. Plaintiffs claim that the
gamblers who use defendants’ casino are incessant smokers
and that the ventilation system of the defendant’s vessel is
inadequate.' Plaintiffs claim that defendants are liable to them
for negligence under the Jones Act, 48 U.S.C. § 688, for
operating an unseaworthy vessel, and for failing to provide
Maintenance and Cure to the plaintiffs.

_ Il. MOTION TO CERTIFY CLASS ACTION

Plaintiffs filed a Motion to Certify Class Action, in
which plaintiffs seek to certify a class consisting of:

all members of the crew of the M/V Treasure
Chest Casino who have been stricken with
occupational respiratory illness caused by or
exacerbated by the defective ventilation system
in place aboard the vessel.

Certification of a case as a class action is governed by Rule 23
of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, which provides:

' Plaintiffs contend that encapsulation psychologically

induces gambling, thus suggesting that to some extent the exposure
is deliberate.

29a

District Court Order & Reasons - 8/29/97

(a) Prerequisites to a Class Action. One or
more members of a class may sue or be sued
as representative parties on behalf of all only

if

(b)

(1)

(2)
(3)

(4)

the class is so numerous that
joinder of all members is
impraticable,

there are questions of law or
fact common to the class,

the claims or defenses of the
representative parties are
typical of the claims or
defenses of the class, and

the representative parties will
fairly and adequately protect
the interests of the class.

Class Actions Maintainable. An action
may be maintained as a class action if
the prerequisites of subdivision (a) are
satisfied, and in addition:

(1)

the prosecution of separate

actions by or against individual

members of the class would

create a risk of

(A) inconsistent or varying
adjudications with
respect to individual
members of the class
which would establish
incompatible standards
of conduct for the party
Opposing the class, or

30a

District Court Order & Reasons - 8/29/97

(B) adjudications with
respect to individual
members of the class
which would as a
practical matter be
dispositive of the
interests of the other
members not parties to
the adjudications or
substantially impair or
impede their ability to
protect their interests;
or

(2) the party opposing the class has
acted or refused to act on
grounds generally applicable to
the class, thereby making
appropriate final injunctive
relief or corresponding
declaratory relief with respect
to the class as a whole, or

(3) the court finds that the
questions of law or fact
common to the members of the
class predominate over any
questions affecting only
individual members, and that a
class action is superior to other
available methods for the fair
and efficient adjudication of the

ete

controversy. The matters
pertinent to the findings
include:

3la

District Court Order & Reasons - 8/29/97

(A) the interest, of members
of the class in
individually controlling
the prosecution or
defense of separate
actions;

(B) the extent and nature of
any litigation concern-
ing the controversy
already commenced by
Or against members of
the class;

(C) the desirability or
undesirability of
concentrating the
litigation of the claims
in the particular forum:

(D) _ the difficulties likely to
be encountered in the
management of a class
action.

A. RULE 23(a)
1. NUMEROSITY

Plaintiffs argue that joinder of all of the potential
parties to this suit would be impracticable. In considering
whether the requirements of Rule 23(a)(1) are met, courts
consider the practicability of joinder in light of the particular
circumstances before it. Generally, courts look to the number
of the potential claimants, their geographic disparity, their
financial ability to bring individual suits and the potential fear

32a

District Court Order & Reasons - 8/29/97

of retaliation for their bringing individual suits. See |
NEWBERG ON CLASS ACTIONS §3.06 (3rd ed. 1992).

(a) Number

Plaintiffs claim that the potential number of the
proposed class is approximately 200 persons. Plaintiffs base
this estimate on the testimony of Dr. Kate McNamara, who
treated employees of the M/V Treasure Chest Casino through
their health insurance policies which were provided by the
vessel as part of their employment. Dr. McNamara indicates
that she has treated approximately 100 to 150 of the
defendants’ employees for upper respiratory sinusitis and
bronchitis and exacerbated asthma conditions related to
inhalation of second-hand smoke. See Deposition of Dr.
McNamara at p. 143-44.

There is no particular number of potential claimants
which makes joinder impracticable for purposes of Rule
23(a)(1). Courts have certified classes of as few as 15
plaintiffs’ and have denied class certification for as many as
300 plaintiffs. The number of potential claimants is only
relevant to the extent that it indicates that joinder would be
impracticable. However, a sufficiently large number of
potential claimants alone may indicate that the numerosity
requirement is met. See 1 NEWBERG ON CLASS ACTIONS

* See Manning v. Princeton Consumer Discount Company,
Inc., 390 F. Supp. 320, 324 (E.D.Pa. 1975), aff'd, 533 F.2d 102
(3 Cir. 1976).

* See Minersville. Coal Co. v. Anthracite Export Ass'n, 55
F.R.D. 426, 428 (M.D.Pa. 1971).

33a

District Court Order & Reasons - 8/29/97

§3.05, at 3-25 (3rd ed. 1992). Plaintiffs have presented
evidence that the number of potential claimants in this case
will be between 100 to 150 persons.

(b) Geographic Disparity

Plaintiffs claim that many of the potential class
members may have moved due to the transient nature of
employment in the gambling business. The fact that potential
claimants may be geographically dispersed or difficult to track
indicates that it would be impracticable to join all of the
potential claimants. Although plaintiff has not introduced any
specific evidence that there are potential class members that
have moved out of the area, the court notes that the likelihood
that some of the potential class members are geographically
dispersed indicates that it would be impracticable to join these
members.

(c). Retaliation

Plaintiffs claim that some of the potential class
members may still be employed with the defendants and that
fear of retaliation might discourage potential plaintiffs from
becoming joined parties in this suit. Plaintiffs have presented
evidence through the testimony of plaintiff Sheila Bachemin
that some employees failed to complain about the ventilation
conditions aboard the vessel for fear of retaliation. See
Deposition Testimony of Sheila Bachemin at p. 92.
Accordingly, plaintiffs have presented evidence that fear of
retaliation may dissuade potential class members from filing
suit individually.

34a

District Court Order & Reasons - 8/29/97
(d) Conclusion - Numerosity

Plaintiffs have presented evidence that the number of
the potential class of plaintiffs will be between 100 to 150
persons, that this number includes members who may be
geographically dispersed and that the fear of retaliation may
dissuade potential class members from filing suits
individually. Therefore, plaintiffs have presented evidence
that joinder of all these potential class members is
impracticable within the meaning of Rule 23 (a) (1).

2. COMMON QUESTIONS OF LAW OR FACT

Plaintiffs argue that there are common questions of law
and fact underlying the proposed class members’ potential
claims. The proposed class of plaintiffs all seek to recover
under the same theories of liability, they all seek the benefits
of being Jones Act seamen and although their damages may
vary in degree, their alleged damages are similar in kind. The
proposed class of plaintiffs all allege that they suffered
damage as a result of inhaling second-hand smoke aboard the
defendants’ vessel. Accordingly, plaintiffs have presented
evidence that there are common questions of law and fact
underlying their claims.

3. TYPICALITY

Plaintiffs argue that the claims of the representative
parties are typical of the claims of the proposed class. The
class representatives in this case are the named plaintiffs,
Dennis Mullen, Sheila Bachemin, and Margaret Phipps, all of
whom claim to have fallen ill with occupational-related
respiratory problems while working aboard the M/V Treasure

35a

District Court Order & Reasons - 8/29/97

Chest Casino. The proposed class consists of coworkers of
the representative plaintiffs who have been stricken with
occupational respiratory illness caused by or exacerbated by
the alleged defective ventilation system aboard the M/V
Treasure Chest Casino. Accordingly, plaintiffs have
presented evidence that the claims of the representative parties
are typical of the claims of the proposed class.

4. ADEQUACY OF REPRESENTATION

Plaintiffs argue that the representative parties will
fairly and adequately protect the interests of the class.
Plaintiffs note that the representative plaintiffs have identical
interests with the proposed members of the class. In Horton
v. Goose Creek Ind. Sch. Dist., 690 F.2d 470 (Sth Cir.),
reh'g denied, 693 F.2d 524 (1982), and cert denied, 103
S.Ct. 3536 (1983), the Fifth circuit noted that “the adequacy
requirement [of Rule 23(a)(4)] mandates an inquiry into the
zeal and competence of the representative’s counsel” as well
as “into the willingness and ability of the representative to
take an active role in and control the litigation and to protect
the interests of the absentees.” Horton, 690 F.2d at 484.
Plaintiffs’ attorneys, Scott Bickford and John Martzell, certify
that they have represented hundreds of occupational-
respiratory Jones Act cases over the past twelve years and
have participated in numerous state and federal class-action
suits. Accordingly, plaintiffs have presented evidence that the
representative parties will fairly and adequately protect the
interests of the class.

36a

District Court Order & Reasons - 8/29/97
B. RULE 23(b) (3)°

Plaintiffs argue that the questions of law or fact
common to the members of the proposed class predominate
over any questions affecting only individual members and that
a class action is superior to other available methods for the
fair and efficient adjudication of the proposed class members’
claims.

1. Predominance

The issues of law and fact common to all of the
members of the proposed class will be the question of whether
the employees of the M/V Treasure Chest Casino are seamen
within the meaning of the Jones Act, whether the M/V
Treasure Chest Casino is a vessel within the meaning of the
Jones Act, whether the M/V Treasure Chest Casino was
unseaworthy, and whether the ventilation system of the M/V
Treasure Chest Casino was unreasonably suited to protect the
proposed class members from harm. The questions of law

* Plaintiffs also claim that in addition to Rule 23(b)(3),
Rule 23(b)(1) provides a basis for certification of the proposed
class in this case. However, plaintiffs raise this issue for the first
time in their reply memorandum. Issues raised for the first time in
a reply memorandum deprive a non-moving party of a meaningful
opportunity to respond. See Springs Indus., Inc. v. American
Motorists Ins., Co., 137 F.R.D. 238, 229 (N.D.Tex. 1991).
Therefore, pursuant to the principal that the basis upon which a
movant requests relief must be presented in his memorandum in
support of that request, this court does not express any opinion on
whether the plaintiffs would be entitled to certification under Rule
23 (b) (1).

37a

District Court Order & Reasons - 8/29/97

affecting only individual members will be whether the
members were contributorily negligent, the particular severity
of the damages allegedly suffered by the members, and extent
to which those damages were caused by the action or inaction
of the defendants. In mass tort litigation, the Fifth Circuit has
held that for purposes of Rule 23 (b) (3). “a class issue
predominates if it constitutes a significant part of the
individual cases.” Watson v. Shell Oil Co., 979 F.24 1014,
1022 (5" Cir. 1992). In the present case, the issues ofseaman
Status, vessel status, seaworthiness, and negligence constitute
a significant part of the individual cases of the proposed class
members. Accordingly, the questions of law or fact common
to the members of the proposed class predominate over any
questions affecting only individual members.

a Superiority

In Castano v. American Tobacco Co. , 84 F.3d 734 og
Cir. 1996), the Fifth Circuit reversed a lower court’s class
certification, noting that the lower court’s finding that a class
action was superior to other available methods for the fair and
efficient adjudication of the proposed class members’ claims
was erroneous in light of the managerial problems associated
with the claims of the class. Castano, 84 F.3d at 746-52. In
Castano, a district court certified a class consisting of all
nicotine-dependent cigarette smokers, their estates, and their
relatives. In reversing, the Fifth Circuit noted that the district
court failed to adequately consider the managerial problems
associated with such a class, such as the “difficult choice of
law determinations, Subclassing of eight claims. with
variations in state law, Erie guesses, notice to millions of
class members, further subclassing to take account of transient
plaintiffs, and the difficult procedure for determining who is

38a

District Court Order & Reasons - 8/29/97

nicotine-dependent.” /d. at 747. The court went on to note
that “[c]ases with far fewer manageability problems have
given courts pause.” Jd.

in the present case, all of the proposed class members’
claims arise under federal maritime law and therefore the
difficult choice of law and Erie problems present in Castano
do not exist in this case. Moreover, the proposed class
consists of hundreds, rather than millions, of members and
therefore the problems associated with notice which were
present in Castano, do not exist in this case. Plaintiffs
propose the following trial plan:

The class action would include an initial phase
in which the liability issues common to all
plaintiffs would be tried together. Later if
plaintiffs prevailed on liability, the unique
issues such as damages (and causation if
necessary), would be tried in waves of
approximately five plaintiffs at a time.

Because this court has the option of bifurcating the legal and
factual questions common to the proposed class from the
questions unique to the individual members, this court holds
that a class action is superior to other available methods for
the fair and efficient adjudication of the proposed class
members’ claims and that this approach will promote judicial
economy ard avoid the wasteful, duplicative litigation which
would inevitably result if these cases were tried individually.

39a

District Court Order & Reasons - 8/29/97

New Orleans, Louisiana, this 29th day of August,
1997.

/s/
MARY ANN VIAL LEMMON
UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

40a

District Court Order & Reasons - 8/29/97

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
EASTERN DISTRICT OF LOUISIANA

[Filed September 19, 1997 ]

No. 96-0052

DENNIS MULLEN, ET AL.
Plaintiff,

Wa

TREASURE CHEST CASINO,
L.L.C. & BOYD GAMING
CORPORATION,

Defendant.

ee i ee a a ee a a

ORDER

Considering the memoranda of counsel and the
applicable law, IT IS ORDERED that defendants’ Motion to
Certify Order of August 29, 1997 Granting Class Certification
for Interlocutory Appeal and for Stay of Proceedings Pursuant
to 28 U.S.C. § 1292(b) be and hereby is GRANTED in part
and DENIED in part. To the extent that the defendant’s
request that this court certify its order for interlocutory
appeal, this court finds, in accordance with 28 U.S.C.
§ 1292(b), that its order certifying a class in this case
“involves a controlling question of law as to which there is
substantial ground for difference of opinion and that an
immediate appeal from the order may materially advance the
ultimate termination of the litigation.” Accordingly,

4la

District Court Order & Reasons - 8/29/97

defendants’ motion is granted to the extent that it requests an
interlocutory appeal. However, to the extent that defendants
seek a stay of discovery in this case, defendants’ Motion is
DENIED.

New Orleans, Louisiana, this 19th day of September,
1997.
/s/
MARY ANN VIAL LEMMON
UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

42a

APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

[Filed September 17, 1999 ]

No. 97-31189

DENNIS MULLEN,
Plaintiff- Appellee,

¥.

TREASURE CHEST CASINO,
LLC; ET AL,
Defendants,

TREASURE CHEST CASINO,
LLC,
Defendant - Appellant.

DENNIS MULLEN;

SHEILA BACHEMIN;

MARGARET PHIPPS,
Plaintiffs - Appellees,

wa

TREASURE CHEST CASINO,
LLC; ET AL,
~ Defendants,

mee eee eee eee ees" ee”

43a

~

Court of Appeals Order on Petition for Rehearing - 9/17/99
TREASURE CHEST CASINO, )
LLC, )
Defendant - Appellant. )
)

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Eastern District of Louisiana, New Orleans

ON PETITION FOR REHEARING EN BANC

(Opinion 8/19/99, 5 Cir., P F.3d)

Before EMILIO M. GARZA, BENAVIDES, and DENNIS,
Circuit Judges.

PER CURIAM:

( X ) Treating the Petition for Rehearing En Banc as a Petition
for Panel Rehearing, the Petition for Panel Rehearing is
DENIED. No member of the panel nor judge in regular
active service of the court having requested that the court be
polled on Rehearing En Banc (FED. R. APP. P. and STH CIR. R.
35), the Petition for Rehearing En Banc is DENIED.

( ) Treating the Petition for Rehearing En Banc as a Petition
for Panel Rehearing, the Petition for Panel Rehearing is
DENIED. The court having been polled at the request of one
of the members of the court and a majority of the judges who
are in regular active service not having voted in favor (FED. R.
APP. P. and STH CIR. R. 35), the Petition for Rehearing En Banc
is DENIED.

Court of Appeals Order on Petition for Rehearing - 9/17/99

ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

/s/
United States Circuit Judge

REHG-6a :

45a

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_0592%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
