# Amicus Curiae Brief — Allender v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_0586%3A09

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1999
- **Citation:** 528 U.S. 873

## Text

oy,
No. 99-1030

In the Supreme Court of the United States

CITY OF INDIANAPOLIS, ET AL., PETITIONERS
Vv.

JAMES EDMOND, ET AL.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
AS AMICUS CURIAE SUPPORTING PETITIONERS

SETH P. WAXMAN
Solicitor General
Counsel of Record
JAMES K. ROBINSON
Assistant Attorney General
MICHAEL R. DREEBEN
Deputy Solicitor General
PATRICIA A. MILLETT
Assistant to the Solicitor
General
KARIN B. HOPPMANN
MICHAEL A. ROTKER
Attorneys
Department of Justice
Washington, D. C. 20530-0001
(202) 514-2217

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether checkpoints at which law enforcement
officers briefly stop vehicular traffic, check motorists’
licenses and vehicle registrations, look for signs of im-
pairment, and walk a “narcotics detection” dog around
the exterior of each stopped automobile violate the
Fourth Amendment.

(I)

Interest of the United States
Statement

Summary of argument

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Argument:
Vehicle checkpoints that serve governmental in-
terests in drug-detection and license-and-registra-
tion inspection are reasonable seizures under the

Fourth Amendment
A.

The Fourth Amendment permits vehicle check-
points where the government interests served

justify the intrusfion
A vehicle checkpoint may validly be established

to serve the government’s interests both in drug
detection and motor vehicle regulation

1. The interests served by the checkpoints are

I

2. The intrusion on liberty and privacy is
minimal

3. The checkpoints are highly effective .................

The court of appeals erred in holding that the
checkpoint program in this case is invalid be-

cause it serves law enforcement interests .................

The checkpoint in this case is valid because it is
objectively justified by its secondary purpose

to check driver’s licenses and registrations ...............
Conclusion

(IIT)

Page

18

30

IV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Bond v. United States, 120S. Ct. 1462 (2000) ............. 21, 25
Brower v. County of Inyo, 489 U.S. 593 (1989) .........s0000 25
Brown v. Texas, 443 U.S. 47 (1979) .......seseseeereee 10, 19, 26, 29
California v. Ciraolo, 476 U.S. 207 (1986) .......0ssecsseeesees 14
Camara v. Municipal Court, 387 U.S. 523 (1967) ........... 29
Cardwell v. Lewis, 417 U.S. 583 (1974) 9
Chandler v. Miller, 520 U.S. 305 1997) 25
Colorado v. Bertine, 479 U.S. 367 (1987) 29
Coolidge v. New Hampshire, 403 U.S. 443 (1971) ........000 30
Delaware v. Prouse, 440 U.S. 648 (1979) .........+ 8, 14, 19, 29
Florida v. Royer, 460 U.S. 491 (1983) 13
Graham v. Connor, 490 U.S. 386 (1989) .. 25
Horton v. California, 496 U.S. 128 (1990) ........ 23, 26, 27, 30
LaFontaine v. State, 497 S.E.2d 367 (Ga.), cert.

denied, 525 U.S. 947 (1998) 14
Marshall v. Barlow’s, Inc., 436 U.S. 307 (1978) ........00 9, 29
Maryland v. Wilson, 519 U.S. 408 (1997) ........ssecrssesseees 8
Massachusetts v. Painten, 389 U.S. 560 (1968) «0... 24
Merrett v. Moore, 58 F.3d 1547 (11th Cir. 1995),

cert. denied, 519 U.S. 812 (1996) 14, 23
Michigan Dep’t of State Police v. Sitz, 496 U.S.

444 (1990) passim
National Treasury Employees Union v. Von Raab,

489 U.S. 656 (1989) 11,13
New Jersey v. T.L.0., 469 U.S. 325 (1985) ......s.sssesessseseeees 8
New York v. Burger, 482 U.S. 691 (1987) 29
New York v. Class, 475 U.S. 106 (1986) 9,14
Ohio v. Robinette, 519 U.S. 33 (1996) 25
Park v. Forest Serv., 205 F.3d 1034 (8th Cir.

2000) 14
Pennsylvania v. Labron, 518 U.S. 938 (1996) .......sressees 9
Scott v. United States, 436 U.S. 128 (1978) 24-25
Skinner v. Railway Labor Exec. Ass’n, 489 U.S.

602 (1989) 21

South Dakota v. Opperman, 428 U.S. 364 (1976) ........++++ 8-9

Cases—Continued: Page
State v. Damask, 936 S.W.2d 565 (Mo. 1996) ...........:sese000 13
State v. Larson, 485 N.W.2d 571 (Minn. Ct. App.

1992) 15
State v. Rodriguez, 877 S.W.2d 106 (Mo. 1994) ..........sese00 14
Texas v. Brown, 460 U.S. 730 (1983) 29
United States v. Brignoni-Ponce, 422 U.S. 878

(1975) 29
United States v. Martinez-Fuerte, 428 U.S. 543

(1976) passim
United States v. McFayden, 865 F.2d 1306 (D.C.

Cir. 1989) 14
United States v. Mendenhall, 446 U.S. 544 (1980) ........... 13
United States v. Montoya de Hernandez, 473 U.S.

531 (1985) 11, 20
United States v. Morales-Zamora, 914 F.2d 200

(10th Cir. 1990) 14
United States v. Ortiz, 422 U.S. 891 (1975) 21
United States v. Place, 462 U.S. 696 (1983) .........ss0 11, 15
United States v. Prichard, 645 F.2d 854 (10th Cir.),

cert. denied, 454 U.S. 832 (1981) 14
United States v. Ramsey, 431 U.S. 606 (1977) ........00++ 20
United States v. Robinson, 414 U.S. 218 (1973) .......... 25, 26
Unites States v. Sharpe, 470 U.S. 675 (1985) «2... 28-29
United States v. Trevino, 60 F.3d 333 (7th Cir.

1995), cert. denied, 516 U.S. 1061 (1996) 14
United States v. Villamonte-Marquez, 462 U.S.

579 (1983) 23, 26
Vernonia Sch. Dist. v. Acton, 515 U.S. 646

(1995) 8
Whren v. United States, 517 U.S. 806 (1996) ............... 24, 25,

27, 28
Wyoming v. Houghton, 526 U.S. 295 (1999) ........srere 9, 21

VI

Constitution and statutes: Page
U.S. Const.:
BRIBE, OY encrsisssesncniideiicainipanatebpatiamiiaciei passim
Amend. XIV 3
42 U.S.C. 1983 ohaccsinsinntaiin 3
Ind. Code Ann. (Michie 1997):
§ 9-18-2-21(b)(2) : 15
S PSS snscninnsiesniacseaniannnel 15
Miscellaneous:
Federal Highway Admin., Traffic Control Devices
Handbook (1983) 16
Forest Service Handbook 5309.11, Sec. 360 (Sept.
ROTI snscesernunessonisieipsenimenaneiielioniieebenessimeitlie 2
Memorandum of Understanding Between the Drug
Enforcement Administration and the Immigration
and Naturalization Service (Mar. 25, 1996) 1
4 Wayne R. LaFave, Search and Seizure (3d ed.
1996) sceteaeinannsaiiee 28

a0: OPT ERR

In the Supreme Court of the Anited States

No. 99-1030

CITY OF INDIANAPOLIS, ET AL., PETITIONERS
Vv.
JAMES E;DMOND, ET AL.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
AS AMICUS CURIAE SUPPORTING PETITIONERS

INTEREST OF THE UNITED STATES

This case involves the validity under the Fourth
Amendment of a vehicle checkpoint that serves inter-
ests in drug detection, license and registration checks,
and driver sobriety. The United States maintains vehi-
cle checkpoints for a variety of purposes. Because “the
smuggling of aliens and drugs are intermingled by
criminal organizations operating at an international
level,” Border Patrol officers are cross-designated to
search for and seize illegal narcotics in their checkpoint
operations.' Border Patrol canines are trained to detect
both concealed humans and drugs. In addition, the For-
est Service sometimes operates multi-purpose check-

1 See Memorandum of Understanding Between the Drug En-
forcement Administration and the Immigration and Naturalization
Service 1, 3 (Mar. 25, 1996).

(1)

2

points on roads within the National Forest System,
which-ean include verification of drivers’ licenses and
registration, assessments of impairment, and the con-
duct of canine sniffs of cars’ exteriors. Forest Service
Handbook 5309.11, Sec. 360 (Sept. 1998). Furthermore,
because motor vehicle transportation plays a critical
role in the nationwide distribution of illegal narcotics,
the Drug Enforcement Administration, the Department
of Transportation’s Drug Interdiction Assistance Pro-
gram, and other federal components have 4 substantial
interest in efforts to curb drug trafficking on the public
roadways.

STATEMENT

1. From August to November 1998, the Indianapolis
Police Department operated six motor vehicle “drug
checkpoints” on public roads. Pet. App. 5la-52a. At
those checkpoints, police officers stopped a predeter-
mined number of cars, checked each driver’s license and
registration, looked for signs of impairment, and, while
examining each driver’s documentation, walked a
narcotics-detection dog around the car. Id. at 2a, 25a,
58a. Stops averaged two to three minutes; officers en-
deavored to ensure that, absent individualized suspi-
cion, no vehicle was delayed more than five minutes.
Id. at 38a, 5la.

Police officers conducted the checkpoints in accor-
dance with detailed, written procedures promulgated
by the Indianapolis Police Department. Pet. App. 26a-
27a. The time and place of each checkpoint was set by
supervisory personnel weeks in advance “based on
geographical suitability, taking into consideration area
crime statistics and the ability to locate the checkpoint
in a location which [would] minimize the interference
with normal traffic flow.” Jd. at 56a-57a. The date of

3

each checkpoint (but not its exact location) was then
disseminated to the public. Jd. at 37a. Motorists
approaching the checkpoint were forewarned by lighted
signs stating: “NARCOTICS CHECKPOINT __
MILE AHEAD, NARCOTICS K-9 IN USE, BE
PREPARED TO STOP.” Id. at 57a. The checkpoint
itself was identified by marked police cruisers with
flashing lights. The stopped cars were met by a team of
police officers, at least one of whom was in full uniform.
Ibid. The governing procedures required that “no dis-
cretion [be] given to any officer to stop any vehicle out
of sequence,” and that “every vehicle * * * stopped
must be examined in the same manner [with] no excep-
tions.” Id. at 27a, 54a.

The “primary goal” of the checkpoints was to detect
narcotics traffickers and thus “to interrupt the flow of
illegal narcotics throughout Indianapolis.” Pet. App.
25a. “[A] secondary purpose of the checkpoints [was] to
check driver’s licenses and vehicle registrations.” Jd. at
44a. Police stopped a total of 1,161 vehicles, resulting in
109 arrests and thus an effectiveness rate of 9.4%. Id.
at 2a-3a, 13a, 55a. Those arrests were divided almost
equally between traffic and drug offenses. Jd. at 55a.

2. In October 1998, respondents, two motorists who
had been stopped at checkpoints, filed suit under 42
U.S.C. 1983 seeking damages and an injunction on the
ground that the checkpoints violated the Fourth and
Fourteenth Amendments. Complaint 1, 8. The district
court certified the case as a class action, Pet. App. 29a-
30a, but denied a preliminary injunction because it
found no likelihood of success on the merits of respon-
dents’ Fourth Amendment claim, id. at 32a-47a. Pro-
ceeding on a stipulated factual record, the district court
found that motorists suffered “minimal” subjective and
objective intrusion at the checkpoints, id. at 37a-40a,

while the stops effectively advanced important gov-
ernmental interests in the interdiction of narcotics and
the enforcement of licensing requirements, id. at 41a-
45a.

3. A divided court of appeals reversed, holding that
the checkpoints violated the Fourth Amendment. Pet.
App. 1a-28a.

a. The majority acknowledged that the checkpoint
stops, if evaluated at the programmatic level, “probably
are legal, given the high ‘hit’ rate and the only modestly
intrusive character of the stops,” Pet. App. 3a, and
given that they “advance[] the strong national, state,
and local policy of discouraging the illegal use of
controlled substances,” id. at 4a. The majority held,
however, that, in view of “the purpose of the roadblocks
* * * to catch drug offenders,” id. at 1la, the stop of
each car must be based on individualized suspicion
because the checkpoints “related to general criminal
law enforcement, rather than to primarily civil regula-
tory programs for the protection of health, safety, and
the integrity of our borders.” Id. at 4a (citation
omitted).

The majority distinguished the Border Patrol check-
points upheld in United States v. Martinez-Fuerte, 428
U.S. 548 (1976), on the ground that Indianapolis “makes
no attempt to defend its roadblocks on the basis that it
is trying to exclude a harmful substance or dangerous
persons[,] [t]hough that may be the ultimate aim.” Pet.
App. 10a. And it distinguished the sobriety checkpoints
upheld in Michigan Dep’t of State Police v. Sitz, 496
U.S. 444 (1990), because those checkpoints “are de-
signed to protect other users of the road from the dan-
gers posed by drunk drivers,” rather than “primarily
[to] catch[] crooks.” Pet. App. 8a.

5

The majority recognized four exceptions to its hold-
ing that the Fourth Amendment prohibits vehicle
checkpoints aimed at law enforcement: checkpoints
“set up to catch a fleeing criminal”; checkpoints set up
when “it [is] impossible to prevent a crime without an
indiscriminate search”; checkpoints “the objective of
which is to protect a specific activity”; and checkpoints
to prevent “illegal importation whether of persons
* * *. or of goods.” Pet. App. 12a. The court sug-
gested, moreover, that if the “primary purpose” of the
checkpoints were to discover violations of the traffic
laws or drunk drivers, the addition of a narcotics-detec-
tion dog might be permissible. Jd. at 10a-11a.

b. Judge Easterbrook dissented. He criticized the
majority’s conclusion that a “law enforcement” purpose
would render a vehicle checkpoint unreasonable, noting
that “Martinez-Fuerte approved a roadblock to search
for alien smuggling, a violation of a criminal law; Sitz
approved a roadblock to search for drunk driving, a
violation of a criminal law.” Pet. App. 13a. The dissent
also disagreed that the primary purpose of a checkpoint
determines its constitutionality, noting that, under the
majority’s view, “if Indianapolis set out to find people
driving without licenses and only later added a dog to
sniff for drugs * * *, then the program would pass
constitutional muster. But if the City first decides to
search for drugs, then adds license checks * * * the
program is invalid.” Jd. at 18a-14a. Similarly, “(ilf a
program is designed primarily to search for people
using drugs in the car, and only secondarily to locate
drugs in the trunk, then it is valid; if it is designed
primarily to search for carried drugs, and only secon-
darily for ingested drugs, then it is invalid.” Jd. at 14a.
In the dissent’s view, “the reasonableness inquiry
under the fourth amendment is objective; it depends on

6

what the police do, not on what they want or think.”
Ibid.
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

1. Indianapolis’s checkpoint program is consistent
with the Fourth Amendment because the important
public interests that are effectively served by the
checkpoints outweigh the minimal intrusion imposed on
motorists using the public highways. The City’s
checkpoints serve not one, but two vital public
interests: the interdiction of narcotics trafficking and
the enforcement of license-and-registration require-
ments for motorists. Drug trafficking on the public
roadways has proven to be as formidable and intract-
able a law-enforcement problem as illegal immigration,
which this Court has held justifies a comparable Border
Patrol checkpoint program. Drug trafficking’s
attendant social costs—in lost lives, violence, crime, and
general public disorder—parallel, if not exceed, those
public-welfare concerns that sustain sobriety check-
points. Moreover, because public roadways are the
primary distribution network for illegal narcotics with-
in the country, drug traffickers, like alien smugglers,
depend upon automobile travel for their success.

This Court’s cases also have repeatedly indicated
that the Fourth Amendment permits license-and-regis-
tration checkpoints. Such checkpoints advance impor-
tant public-safety concerns by ensuring that usage of
the roadways is limited to those motorists and auto-
mobiles that satisfy the State’s licensing criteria.

Further, nothing in the actual execution of the check-
point process or in the driver’s individual experience at
the checkpoint exceeds what this Court has previously
sanctioned under the Fourth Amendment. The only
factual difference is the addition of a canine sniff of the

A OLE NG OPO ca ct

7

car’s exterior, but, because the sniff neither entails a
search nor lengthens the seizure, that distinction is of
no constitutional moment.

2. The court of appeals invalidated the checkpoints
because they served the needs of criminal law enforce-
ment, rather than distinct public policy needs. But so
do the immigration and sobriety checkpoints that this
Court has previously upheld. See Michigan Dep’t of
State Police v. Sitz, 496 U.S. 444 (1990); United States
v. Martinez-Fuerte, 428 U.S. 543 (1976). Indeed, this
Court has expressly rejected the imposition of a
“special needs” requirement on automobile checkpoints.
Sitz, 496 U.S. at 450.

The court of appeals also held that the primary pur-
pose of the checkpoint program’s designers was critical
to its legality. But the entire scope of the seizure was a
permissible means of implementing the checkpoints’
secondary purpose—license and registration verifica-
tion. The fact that the checkpoint program simultane-
ously advances another weighty public interest—
narcotics detection—without entailing any additional
intrusion upon motorists’ liberty and privacy should
enhance, not detract from, the checkpoint’s legitimacy.
In any event, the constitutionality of identically oper-
ated checkpoints should not turn upon post-hoc judicial
rankings of the competing public purposes subjectively
animating government officials. The Fourth Amend-
ment’s core function is to regulate what the police do in
their interactions with individuals, not what they think.

ARGUMENT

VEHICLE CHECKPOINTS THAT SERVE GOVERN-
MENTAL INTERESTS IN DRUG-DETECTION AND
LICENSE-AND-REGISTRATION INSPECTION ARE
REASONABLE SEIZURES UNDER THE FOURTH
AMENDMENT

A. The Fourth Amendment Permits Vehicle Checkpoints
Where The Government Interests Served Justify The
Intrusion

The “essential purpose” of the Fourth Amendment is
“to impose a standard of ‘reasonableness’ upon the
exercise of discretion by government officials.” Dela-
ware v. Prouse, 440 U.S. 648, 653-654 (1979). The valid-
ity of a particular practice under the Fourth Amend-
ment generally turns on balancing the governmental
interests promoted by the practice against its intrusion
on Fourth Amendment interests. See, e.g., id. at 654;
Vernonia School District 47J v. Acton, 515 U.S. 646,
652-653 (1995).

Two principles frame the inquiry into the validity of
Indianapolis’s vehicle checkpoints. First, the Fourth
Amendment does not impose an “irreducible require-
ment” of individualized suspicion. Acton, 515 U.S. at
653; New Jersey v. T.L.O., 469 U.S. 325, 340 (1985).
Rather, the “touchstone” of the constitutional inquiry is
“the reasonableness in all the circumstances” of the
practice at issue. Maryland v. Wilson, 519 U.S. 408,
411 (1997) (internal quotation marks omitted).

Second, what is reasonable “depends on the context.”
T.L.O., 469 U.S. at 387. This Court has traditionally
drawn a distinction between automobiles and homes or
offices in relation to the Fourth Amendment,” such that
“warrantless examinations of automobiles have been
upheld in circumstances in which a search of a home or

9

office would not.” South Dakota v. Opperman, 428 U.S.
364, 367 (1976); see also United States v. Martinez-
Fuerte, 428 U.S. 543, 561 (1976) (“[OJne’s expectation of
privacy in an automobile and of freedom in its operation
are significantly different from the traditional expecta-
tion of privacy and freedom in one’s residence.”). “The
fact that automobiles occupy a special category in
Fourth Amendment case law is by now beyond doubt.”
Marshall v. Barlow’s, Inc., 486 U.S. 307, 315 n.10
(1978). That distinction arises, in part, because of the

“obviously public nature of automobile travel,” under
which cars routinely “travel[] public thoroughfares
where both [their] occupants and [their] contents are in
plain view.” Opperman, 428 U.S. at 367-368; see also
Cardwell v. Lewis, 417 U.S. 588, 590 (1974). In addition,
automobiles, unlike homes or offices, are subject to a

“web of pervasive regulation.” New York v. Class, 475
U.S. 106, 112 (1986).

As an everyday occurrence, police stop and examine
vehicles when license plates or inspection stickers
have expired, or if other violations, such as exhaust
fumes or excessive noise, are noted, or if headlights
or other safety equipment are not in proper working
order.

Cutan eae at 368.”

Consistent with the special status of automobiles in
Fourth Amendment jurisprudence, this Court has twice
upheld vehicle checkpoints as reasonable seizures under

2 See also Wyoming v. Houghton, 526 U.S. 295, 303-305 (1999)
(passengers, as well as drivers, have a reduced expectation of pri-
vacy in cars traveling on the public thoroughfares); Pennsylvania
v. Labron, 518 U.S. 938, 940 (1996) (per curiam) (noting “the
individual’s reduced expectation of privacy in an automobile, owing
to its pervasive regulation”).

10

the Fourth Amendment by weighing “the gravity of the
public concerns served by the seizure, the degree to
which the seizure advances the public interest, and the
severity of the interference with individual liberty.”
Brown v. Texas, 443 U.S. 47, 51 (1979). In United
States v. Martinez-Fuerte, supra, the Court upheld the
Border Patrol’s use of permanent, fixed checkpoints on
roads leading to the interior of the country. The Court
found the “law enforcement needs served by check-
points”—controlling the flow of illegal aliens and
smuggling—to be “substantial[],” 428 U.S. at 556 &
n.12, while “the consequent intrusion on Fourth
Amendment interests is quite limited,” id. at 557. The
checkpoints’ interference with legitimate traffic was
“minimal,” and the exercise of discretion by officers was
controlled by the “regularized manner in which estab-
lished checkpoints are operated.” Jd. at 559.

In Michigan Department of State Police v. Sitz, 496
U.S. 444 (1990), the Court upheld sobriety checkpoints
at which cars were briefly stopped and drivers exam-
ined for signs of intoxication. Applying the “relevant
authorities” of Martinez-Fuerte and Brown v. Texas, id.
at 450, the Court noted that the “magnitude” of the
State’s interest in combating the problem of drunk
driving was undisputed, id. at 451. On the other side of
the ledger, the Court found, as it did in Martinez-
Fuerte, that the intrusion on motorists stopped at
sobriety checkpoints was “minimal.” Jd. at 452. While
the Court made clear that no searching examination of
the sobriety checkpoints’ “effectiveness” was required
in order to sustain them, id. at 454, the Court concluded
that the ability of the checkpoints to advance the

11

States’ interest was sufficient to strike the balance “in
favor of the state program.” Id. at 455.’

B. A Vehicle Checkpoint May Validly Be Established To
Serve The Government’s Interests Both In Drug
Detection And In Motor Vehicle Regulation

Applying this Court’s analysis in Martinez-Fuerte
and Sitz, the checkpoints in this case are valid under
the Fourth Amendment.

1. The Interests Served By the Checkpoints Are Sub-
stantial.

a. Indianapolis’s checkpoints serve the unquestiona-
bly vital public interest in reducing the flow of illegal
drugs, with its enormous attendant costs in human
lives, social disorder, and related criminal violence.
Like the problem of alien smuggling and immigration
violations, there is a “veritable national crisis in law
enforcement caused by smuggling of illicit narcotics,”
United States v. Montoya de Hernandez, 473 U.S. 531,
538 (1985), and “drug smugglers do not hesitate to use
violence to protect their lucrative trade and avoid
apprehension,” National Treasury Employees Union v.
Von Raab, 489 U.S. 656, 669 (1989). “[TJhe public has a
compelling interest in detecting those who would traffic
in deadly drugs for personal profit.” United States v.
Place, 462 U.S. 696, 703 (1983). The States’ “interest in
self-protection,” Von Raab, 489 U.S. at 670, from the

3 Although the state courts had found sobriety checkpoints
generally to be “ineffective,” see Sitz, 496 U.S. at 448-449, 453, this
Court held that the “decision as to which among reasonable alter-
native law enforcement techniques [to adopt] * * * remains with
the governmental officials who have a unique understanding of,
and a responsibility for, limited public resources, including a finite
number of police officers.” Id. at 453-454.

12

influx of illegal narcotics thus is a substantial and
weighty governmental concern.‘

The pervasive problem of drug smuggling, like alien
smuggling and other immigration offenses, has a close
nexus to the usage of public roadways. Whether illegal
drugs initially arrive in this country by boat, airplane,
or foot, they at some point end up on the public road-
ways for national distribution. Cf. Martinez-Fuerte,
428 U.S. at 552 (“Once within the country, the aliens
seek to travel inland * * * frequently meeting by
prearrangement with friends or professional smugglers
who transport them in private vehicles.”).° Like alien
smugglers, drug traffickers are lured by the speedy
distribution that highways and interstates offer, and
they are known to have preferred routes for transport-

4 The court of appeals stated (Pet. App. 10a) that “Indianapolis
makes no attempt to defend its roadblocks on the basis that it is
trying to exclude a harmful substance or dangerous persons[,]
[tJhough that may be the ultimate aim, [instead] the City concedes
that its proximate goal is to catch drug offenders in the hope of in-
capacitating them, and deterring others, by criminal prosecution.”
That analysis overlooks that, by arresting narcotics traffickers,
confiscating contraband, and deterring others from engaging in
similar smuggling efforts, Indianapolis’s program does exclude
drugs from the city.

5 Border Patrol agents have advised us that, especially follow-
ing the Mexican marijuana harvest in the Fall, there are times
when they discover more narcotics than aliens smuggled in cars
going through their checkpoints. The Border Patrol checkpoints at
Las Cruces, New Mexico, reported 129 drug seizures from Sep-
tember through December 1997, valuing approximately $8.6 mil-
lion. In the first three months of this year alone, those checkpoints
made 104 seizures of $3.7 million worth of illegal narcotics.

18

ing their contraband.’ Public roadways thus represent
a critical link in the nationwide drug trafficking chain.
Also like illegal immigration, drug trafficking on the
public roadways “poses formidable law enforcement
problems.” Martinez-Fuerte, 428 U.S. at 552. While
law enforcement personnel can identify and stop some
suspicious vehicles, as a general proposition “the flow of
traffic tends to be too heavy to allow the particularized
study of a given car that would enable it to be identified
as a possible carrier of illegal [drugs].” Id. at 557. Drug
traffickers, moreover, possess a “seemingly inexhausti-
ble repertoire of deceptive practices and elaborate
schemes,” that includes “adroit selection of source
locations, smuggling routes, and increasingly elaborate
methods of concealment.” Von Raab, 489 U.S. at 669.’
In particular, a requirement of particularized suspicion
before cars could be stopped at a checkpoint “would
largely eliminate any deterrent to the conduct of well-

6 See Pet. App. 12a (“The high hit rate of Indianapolis’s road-
block scheme suggests that Indianapolis has placed the roadblocks
in areas of the city in which drug use approaches epidemic propor-
tions.”); State v. Damask, 986 S.W.2d 565, 573 (Mo. 1996) (drug
checkpoint on a road that “is known as a popular route for the
transport of narcotics” upheld because it was designed “to discover
problems predictably associated with persons who traveled these
thoroughfares”).

7 See also United States v. Mendenhall, 446 U.S. 544, 561-562
(1980) (Powell, J., concurring) (“Much of the drug traffic is highly
organized and conducted by sophisticated criminal syndicates.
* * * (MJany drugs * * * may be easily concealed. As a result,
the obstacles to detection of illegal conduct may be unmatched in
any other area of law enforcement.”); cf. Florida v. Royer, 460 US.
491, 519 (1983) (Blackmun, J., dissenting) (“The special need for
flexibility in uncovering illicit drug couriers is hardly debatable.
Surely the problem is as serious, and as intractable, as the problem
of illegal immigration.”).

14

disguised smuggling operations.” Martinez-Fuerte, 428
US. at 557.

b. The checkpoint program also serves the secon-
dary purpose of verifying driver’s licenses and
registrations. Pet. App. 44a. This Court has repeatedly
indicated that checkpoints for license and registration
verification are permissible under the Fourth Amend-
ment, because they serve the States’ “vital interest in
ensuring that only those qualified to do so are per-
mitted to operate motor vehicles, that these vehicles
are fit for safe operation, and hence that licensing,
registration, and vehicle inspection requirements are
being observed.” Prouse, 440 U.S. at 658; see also id. at
663. Similarly, in Martinez-Fuerte, the Court predi-
cated its decision upholding checkpoints for illegal
aliens in part on the existence and historical acceptance
of license and registration stops. 428 U.S. at 560 n.14
(“Stops for questioning, not dissimilar to those involved
here, are used widely at state and local levels to enforce
laws regarding drivers’ licenses, safety requirements,
weight limits, and similar matters.”).°

8 The courts of appeals and highest state courts have unani-
mously sustained properly constituted license-and-registration
checkpoints. See Merrett v. Moore, 58 F.3d 1547 (11th Cir. 1995),
cert. denied, 519 U.S. 812 (1996); United States v. Morales-
Zamora, 914 F.2d 200, 202-203 (10th Cir. 1990) (collecting cases);
United States v. McFayden, 865 F.2d 1306 (D.C. Cir. 1989); United
States v. Prichard, 645 F.2d 854 (10th Cir.) (license and insurance
checkpoint), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 832 (1981); LaFontaine v. State,
497 S.E.2d 367 (Ga.), cert. denied, 525 U.S. 947 (1998); see also
Park v. Forest Serv., 205 F.3d 1034, 1040 (8th Cir. 2000)
(allegations that checkpoint “consisted of an identification and reg-
istration check” do not describe an unconstitutional seizure);
United States v. Trevino, 60 F.3d 333 (7th Cir. 1995), cert. denied,
516 U.S. 1061 (1996); cf. State v. Rodriguez, 877 S.W.2d 106 (Mo.
1994) (commercial vehicle inspection checkpoints); but see State v.

15

2. The Intrusion on Liberty and Privacy Is Minimal. ~—_

The overall intrusion on motorists’ liberty and
privacy interests at Indianapolis’s checkpoint, as in
Martinez-Fuerte and Sitz, is minimal. -Officers first ask
for the driver’s license and registration. Pet. App. 53a.”
That is a familiar and constitutional inquiry for traffic
checkpoints. See p. 14, supra. The officers next check
for signs of driver impairment, Pet. App. 58a, which is
no more intrusive here than in Sitz. The officers also
walk a narcotics- detection canine around the exterior
of the vehicle while the license and registration are
being checked. See Pet. 3; Pet. App. 57a. A sniff by a
narcotics-detection dog of the publicly exposed exterior
of personal effects is not a search. United States v.
Place, 462 U.S. at 707 (dog sniff of luggage is not a
search); see also Class, 475 U.S. at 114 (“The exterior of
a car, of course, is thrust into the public eye, and thus to
examine it does not constitute a ‘search.’”). The dog
makes its “observations from a public vantage point
where [it] has a right to be.” California v. Ciraolo, 476
U.S. 207, 218 (1986); see also Pet. App. 40a. And
motorists have no reasonable expectation of privacy in
odors, particularly of contraband substances, emanating
from their automobiles. Moreover, because the canine
sniff is conducted on a car that has already been prop-
erly stopped for a license, registration, and sobriety
check, the sniff itself should not expand the length of
the detention at the checkpoint and thus does not entail
an independent seizure of the vehicle and its occupants.

Larson, 485 N.W.2d 571 (Minn. Ct. App. 1992) (document check-
point invalidated because officers had too much discretion).
9 Indiana law requires drivers to display their license and regis-
~ tration upon the demand of a police officer. Ind. Code Ann.
_§§ 9-18-2-21(b)(2), 9-24-13-3 (Michie 1997).

16

Absent the development of individualized suspicion, the
average length of the delay is two to three minutes. Id.
at 38a, 57a. That is not discernibly longer than the time
motorists are required to spend stopped at a toll booth
on a busy day or at a traffic light at a busy intersection.
See Fed. Highway Admin., Traffic Control Devices
Handbook 4-100 (1983). It is shorter than the average
time of the Border Patrol checkpoints upheld in
Martinez-Fuerte. See 428 U.S. at 547 (three to five
minute stop). The stipulated record reveals no inordi-
nately intrusive questioning by officers nor visual
inspection of the vehicle or passengers beyond “what
can be seen without a search.” Id. at 558.

The subjective intrusion on law-abiding motorists
(Sitz, 496 U.S. at 452) is also minor. The police officers’
actions are regularized and their discretion is closely
cabined. The checkpoint locations are selected weeks in
advance by high-level officials based on reasonable and
objective criteria, such as crime statistics, traffic vol-
ume, and operational safety. Pet. App. 56a-57a; see also
Sitz, 496 U.S. at 458; Martinez-Fuerte, 428 U.S. at 559.
Cars are stopped on the basis of a predetermined,
objective formula (such as every tenth car). Pet. App.
37a-38a, 54a, 57a; cf. Sitz, 496 U.S. at 453. The steps
officers implement in the checkpoint procedure are also
regimented, Pet. App. 37a-38a, 58a-54a, providing “visi-
ble evidence, reassuring to law-abiding motorists, that
the stops are duly authorized and believed to serve the
public interest,” Martinez-Fuerte, 428 U.S. at 559.
Furthermore, the public is provided advance notice of
the checkpoints’ operation (but not precise location).
Pet. App. 37a. On the roadways, lighted signs warn
motorists as they approach the checkpoints. Jd. at 57a;
cf. Martinez-Fuerte, 428 U.S. at 545-546, 559 (because
of signs, motorists “are not taken by surprise”). The

Ssabcen ot

17

presence of marked police cruisers and uniformed offi-
cers demonstrates the checkpoints’ official character.
Pet. App. 57a. Consequently, the “motorist can see that
other vehicles are being stopped, he can see visible
signs of the officers’ authority, and he is much less
likely to be frightened or annoyed by the intrusion.”
Martinez-Fuerte, 428 U.S. at 558.

3. The Checkpoints Are Highly Effective.

Indianapolis’s checkpoints are “spectacularly success-
ful,” Pet. App. 18a, with an arrest rate approaching ten
percent, id. at 3a, 18a. Roughly half of those arrested
were charged with driving offenses and the other half
with drug offenses. Ibid. That effectiveness rate ex-
ceeds what this Court has sustained in earlier check-
point cases. See Sitz, 496 U.S. at 455 (1.6% arrest rate
for drunk drivers); Martinez-Fuerte, 428 U.S. at 554
(apprehension rates of 17,000 illegal aliens per ten
million cars and 725 déportable aliens per 146,000
vehicles).

* * *

Balancing those considerations, because Indianapo-
lis’s checkpoints serve substantial public interests,
involve no greater degree of intrusion than this Court
has previously held is permissible for vehicle check-
points, and have proven to be a highly effective means
of combating an intractable law enforcement problem
on the public roadways, they are valid under the
Fourth Amendment.

18

C. The Court Of Appeals Erred In Holding That The
Checkpoint Program In This Case Is Invalid Because It
Serves Law Enforcement Interests

The court of appeals acknowledged that, if Indianapo-
lis’s checkpoints were reviewed under this Court’s
checkpoint precedents, they “probably are legal, given
the high ‘hit’ rate and the only modestly intrusive
character of the stops,” Pet. App. 3a, and “the strong
national, state, and local policy of discouraging the
illegal use of controlled substances,” id. at 4a. The
court held, however, that motor vehicle checkpoints
must be justified on the basis of a “special need” other
than enforcement of the criminal law. Jd. at 5a. That is
incorrect.

1. This Court’s checkpoint cases foreclose any such
requirement. In Sitz, the same claim was made that the
sobriety checkpoints could be upheld only if predicated
on “a showing of some special governmental need,
beyond the normal need, for criminal law enforcement.”
Sitz, 496 U.S. at 450. But this Court found it “perfectly
plain” that the Court’s requirement of special needs
beyond routine law enforcement in drug-testing cases

was in no way designed to repudiate our prior cases
dealing with police stops of motorists on public
highways. Martinez-Fuerte, supra, which utilized a
balancing analysis in approving highway check-
points for detecting illegal aliens, and Brown v.
Texas, supra, are the relevant authorities here.

Ibid. Similarly, in Brown v. Texas, this Court stated
that the Fourth Amendment requires either that sei-
zures be based on individualized suspicion “or that the
seizure must be carried out pursuant to a plan
embodying explicit, neutral limitations on the conduct
of individual officers,” without confining the latter to

19

special needs above and beyond general law enforce-
ment interests. 443 U.S. at 51 (emphasis added).”

Sitz cannot be distinguished on the premise (Pet.
App. 8a-9a) that sobriety checkpoints serve primarily a
public-safety function. The record in Sitz established
that “an arrest would be made” for any driver found
intoxicated at the checkpoint. 496 U.S. at 447. While
those arrests simultaneously performed the functions of
enforcing the criminal law and promoting public safety
by removing drunk drivers from the road, the check-
points at issue here also serve significant public-safety
ends by removing drugs from their primary distribu-
tion network and thus averting the human and societal
toll that their trafficking and usage exacts.

Martinez-Fuerte further establishes that the social
harms to be advanced by a checkpoint program are not
confined to traffic safety or regulatory ends. There, the
checkpoints directly enforced the criminal prohibitions
on alien smuggling and illegal entry, which this Court
characterized as a “significant law enforcement need[].”
Martinez-Fuerte, 428 U.S. at 555. Indeed, each of the
defendants in Martinez-Fuerte had been prosecuted.
Id. at 547-550. Running through the opinion, moreover,
is a recognition of the vital role checkpoints play in
addressing the “formidable law enforcement problems”
posed by illegal-alien traffic. Id. at 552, 556-557 & n.12.

Nor can Martinez-Fuerte be distinguished, as the
court of appeals suggested (Pet. App. 10a), on the basis

10 See also Prouse, 440 U.S. at 654-655 (“In those situations in
which the balance of interests precludes insistence upon some
quantum of individualized suspicion, other safeguards are gener-
ally relied upon to assure that the individual’s reasonable expecta-
tion of privacy is not subject to the discretion of the official in the
field.”) (footnote and internal quotation marks omitted).

20

that the Border Patrol’s checkpoints promoted essen-
tially the “regulatory purpose” of deporting illegal
aliens. While the passenger aliens found in a stopped
automobile may be administratively deported rather-
than prosecuted, the car’s driver, whose Fourth
Amendment rights are directly implicated by the
stop, is “routinely prosecute[d]” by the government.
Martinez-Fuerte, 428 U.S. at 553 n.9. Furthermore,
this Court rejected precisely such an administrative/
law enforcement distinction in Martinez-Fuerte. See
id. at 560 n.14 (“The fact that the purpose of such laws
is said to be administrative is of limited relevance in
weighing their intrusiveness on one’s right to travel.”).
The court of appeals also suggested (Pet. App. 9a)
that Martinez-Fuerte is irrelevant because the check-
points in that case were founded upon the federal gov-
ernment’s unique authority over foreign relations and
immigration. This Court, however, did not rest its
analysis on an immigration-authority exception to the
Fourth Amendment. Nor would such a rationale have
merit, given that Border Patrol checkpoints occur as far
as 100 miles away from the border and often are situ-
ated in locations where metropolitan areas interrupt
the traffic flow from the border. In any event, apart
from intrusions at the border, see Montoya de Hernan-
dez, 473 U.S. at 537-538; United States v. Ramsey, 431
U.S. 606, 616 (1977), the Fourth Amendment imposes
the same constraints on the federal government and the
States. Thus, while immigration control furnished the
particular interest in Martinez-Fuerte, States also may
establish checkpoints to serve their own weighty inter-
est in regulating narcotics smuggling on public roads.”

11 The court of appeals’ contention that checkpoint stops must
rest on “concerns other than crime detection,” Pet. App. 5a

21

2. The rationale for requiring “special needs” beyond
routine law enforcement in other contexts has no
application to the checkpoints operated in this case.
The drug testing cases, for example, involve both a
search and seizure of an individual, and one that
implicates a uniquely personal activity.” If such per-
sonal intrusions were permitted for routine crime
detection, it would do much to undermine the general
principle of Fourth Amendment law that intrusions on
the person require some individualized suspicion. By
contrast, the “practice of stopping automobiles briefly
for questioning” at a checkpoint involves only a brief
seizure and no search; it “has a long history evidencing
its utility”; and it “is accepted by motorists as incident

(citation and emphasis omitted), also conflicts with the court’s own
view (id. at 5a-6a) that roadblocks to detect fugitives or threatened
violations of criminal laws are permissible. Such roadblocks plainly
advance criminal law enforcement needs. While they also may
address particular exigencies in preventing crimes or escapes,
drug seizures likewise terminate further criminal activity involv-
ing both the smuggler and the drugs and may thereby avert the
violence that pervades drug trafficking and drug usage.

2See Bond v. United States, 120 S. Ct. 1462, 1464 (2000)
(“Physically invasive inspection is simply more intrusive than
purely visual inspection.”); Houghton, 526 U.S. at 303 (cases
involving “the unique, significantly heightened protection afforded
against searches of one’s person” do not govern searches during
automobile stops); Skinner v. Railway Labor Exec. Ass’n, 489 US. -
602, 617 (1989) (“There are few activities in our society more per-
sonal or private than the passing of urine.”); cf. United States v.
Ortiz, 422 U.S. 891, 895 (1975) (because a traffic stop is “considera-
bly less intrusive than a search,” suspicionless checkpoints may be
appropriate for the former but are not for the latter).

22

to highway use.” Martinez-Fuerte, 428 U.S. at 561
n.14."

D. The Checkpoint In This Case Is Valid Because It Is
Objectively Justified By Its Secondary Purpose To
Check Driver’s Licenses And Registrations

The court of appeals did not find Indianapolis’s check-
point program unconstitutional because of anything the
officers did in implementing the checkpoints. Instead,
the court’s decision turned upon its conclusion that “the
purpose behind the [checkpoint] program is critical to
its legality,” Pet. App. 10a (emphasis omitted), and that
Indianapolis was “concern[ed] * * * primarily with
catching crooks,” id. at 8a. But even were the Court to
conclude that an interest in narcotics-detection is insuf-
ficient to support a checkpoint program, the check-
points in this case are adequately supported by their
valid “secondary purpose” (id. at 44a) to check driver’s
licenses and vehicle registrations.

1. The district court found—and the court of appeals
did not disagree—that Indianapolis’s checkpoints had
two purposes, the primary purpose of narcotics inter-
diction and the secondary purpose of enforcing the
drivers’ license and registration laws. Pet. App. 44a.

13 The court of appeals’ reliance (Pet. App. 5a) on Chandler v.
Miller, 520 U.S. 305 (1997), was also misplaced. In Chandler, the
Court stated that an exception to the ordinary requirement of
individualized suspicion for a search may exist when “‘special
needs’—concerns other than crime detection—are alleged in justi-
fication of a Fourth Amendment intrusion.” Jd. at 314. But, as the
dissenting opinion noted (Pet. App. 16a), Chandler acknowledged
(520 U.S. at 308) this Court’s decisions in Martinez-Fuerte and
Sitz—both of which involved checkpoints that, at least in part,
served crime detection interests. -Further, in Sitz, the Court made
clear that “special needs” analysis does not apply to vehicle check-
points. See p. 18, supra.

23

Because the constitutional validity of that secondary
purpose is unquestioned and because the scope of the
entire seizure was a permissible means of accomplish-
ing that purpose, the checkpoints are valid under the
Fourth Amendment regardless of their additional,
narcotics-detection purpose. Where one of the pur-
poses served by a vehicle checkpoint serves the impor-
tant public interests that this Court has held justify
such operations and where the checkpoint’s additional
purpose(s) do not alter the length or intrusiveness of
the seizure, the existence of multiple purposes does not
raise a Fourth Amendment problem. Cf. Horton v.
California, 496 U.S. 128, 188 (1990) (“The fact that an
officer is interested in an item of evidence and fully
expects to find it in the course of a search should not
invalidate its seizure if the search is confined in area
and duration by the terms of a warrant or a valid
exception to the warrant requirement.”); see also
Merrett v. Moore, 58 F.3d 1547, 1550-1551 (11th Cir.
1995), cert. denied, 519 U.S. 812 (1996).

To illustrate, the checkpoints at issue in Sitz and
Martinez-Fuerte had significant law-enforcement com-
ponents. Yet this Court sustained them without quan-
tifying or weighing the dual law enforcement and public
interest components of those checkpoints’ purposes. In
fact, in United States v. Villamonte-Marquez, 462 U.S.
579 (1983), this Court held that the Customs Service’s
“substantial” “governmental interest in assuring
compliance with documentation requirements”
is “particularly” enhanced, not diminished, when en-
forced “in waters where the need to deter or apprehend
smugglers is great.” Id. at 593.

Furthermore, a constitutional rule for multi-purpose -
checkpoints that turns upon which purpose is “primary”
and which purpose is “secondary” is unworkable. From

24

the vantage point of the individual who is stopped, the
intrusion is identical whether a license-and-registration
checkpoint is supplemented with a drug-detection
canine for the subsidiary purpose of narcotics control,
or whether a narcotics-interdiction checkpoint serves
the subsidiary goal of checking driver’s licenses, reg-
istrations, and sobriety. In either case, officers may
establish checkpoints with highly regulated protocols
that include a brief stop, a check of license and registra-
tion, and examination of the vehicle’s exterior by a
drug-detection dog. There is no apparent basis for
invalidating one practice while upholding the other.
Nor would there be a jurisprudentially practicable way
for courts to determine which purposes predominated
for particular checkpoints. Law enforcement agencies
may establish programs without clearly labeling (or
prioritizing) the purposes they serve. And the reasons
for maintaining a mixed-purpose checkpoint may vary
over time and as public office holders change. The
result under the Fourth Amendment should not depend
on such inquiries.”

2. a. A focus on the objective characteristics, rather
than subjective purposes, of a particular checkpoint is
consistent with general principles in Fourth Amend-
ment analysis. “[A]lmost without exception in evaluat-
ing alleged violations of the Fourth Amendment the
Court has first undertaken an objective assessment of

14 See Whren v. United States, 517 U.S. 806, 815 (1996) (“We
cannot accept that the search and seizure protections of the Fourth
Amendment are so variable * * * and can be made to turn upon
such trivialities.”); Massachusetts v. Painten, 389 U.S. 560, 565
(1968) (White, J., dissenting from dismissal of certiorari) (“[S]end-
ing state and federal courts on an expedition into the minds of
police officers would produce a grave and fruitless misallocation of
judicial resources.”).

25

an officer’s actions in light of the facts and circum-
stances then known to him.” Scott v. United States, 436
U.S. 128, 137 (1978).

[T]he fact that the officer does not have the state of
mind which is hypothecated by the reasons which
provide the legal justification for the officer’s action
does not invalidate the action taken as long as the
circumstances, viewed objectively, justify that
action.

Id. at 188.”

That rule equally applies to searches and seizures
involving traffic or transportation offenses. In Whren
v. United States, 517 U.S. 806 (1996), this Court unani-
mously held that a traffic stop for the commission of a
civil traffic infraction is reasonable, regardless of the
officers’ underlying motivation to search the car for
drugs. Id. at 813-815; see also Ohio v. Robinette, 519
U.S. 33, 38 (1996). In Brower v. County of Inyo, 489
U.S. 593 (1989), this Court refused to consider the sub-
jective intent of police officers in determining whether
a roadblock to stop a fleeing suspect constituted a
seizure. Id. at 598-599. Similarly, in United States v.
Robinson, 414 U.S. 218, 236 (1973), the Court held that
an objectively reasonable arrest for a traffic violation
justified a search incident to arrest for weapons and

15 See also Bond, 120 S. Ct. at 1465 n.2 (“(TJhe subjective intent
of the law enforcement officer is irrelevant in determining whether
that officer’s actions violate the Fourth Amendment * * *; the
issue is not his state of mind, but the objective effect of his
actions,” even where the officer lacks individualized suspicion.);
Graham v. Connor, 490 U.S. 386, 397 (1989) (“prior cases make
clear” that the “subjective motivations of the individual officers *
* * halve] no bearing on whether a particular seizure is
‘unreasonable’ under the Fourth Amendment”).

26

evidence, whether or not the officer had any objective
or fact-specific concern for his safety.”

There is no sufficient reason to adopt a different
approach for checkpoints. The Brown v. Texas balanc-
ing test, which generally applies to checkpoint stops,
see Sitz, 496 U.S. at 450, weighs purely objective
factors. It looks first at “the gravity of the public
concerns served by the seizure,” Brown, 443 U.S. at 51
(emphasis added), not at what primary concerns
prompted adoption of the checkpoint program. In this
case, there can be no serious dispute that, whatever the
intent of the Indianapolis officials who adopted the
checkpoint program, the checkpoints served the impor-
tant public interest in ensuring that only properly
licensed and sober drivers in registered cars occupied
the public roadways. Those were the first things the
officers checked for at the roadblocks, those activities
alone defined the temporal and physical scope of the
seizure, and those offenses accounted for nearly half of
the arrests made.

The second and third Brown v. Texas factors—the
effectiveness of the checkpoints and the severity of the
interference with individual liberty—are also quin-
tessentially objective inquiries. The former often
focuses on statistical success rates. See Sitz, 496 U.S.
at 455; Martinez-Fuerte, 428 U.S. at 553-554. And the
intrusiveness of the seizure from the individual’s

16 See also Villamonte-Marquez, 462 U.S. at 584 n.3 (upholding a
brief, suspicionless detention of a ship for a documentation check
regardless of the agents’ ulterior motive to detect illegal drugs);
Horton, 496 U.S. at 138-139 (observation of items in plain view
need not be inadvertent).

27

standpoint turns on what officers actually do, not on
what supervisory officials think.” |

b. The court of appeals found (Pet. App. 10a) a
difference of constitutional magnitude between the
subjective purpose of individual officers implementing
the checkpoint, the consideration of which is imper-
missible, and the aggregated purpose of those law
enforcement officials who designed the checkpoint, the
consideration of which it deemed controlling. But if the
purpose of the officers actually executing the seizure is
irrelevant, there is no Fourth Amendment justification
for making dispositive the relative weights that the
program’s originators attach to the checkpoints multi-
ple purposes.” It would make little sense for courts to
invalidate otherwise constitutional checkpoint seizures
simply because the public officials in a particular
jurisdiction listed their purposes in the “wrong” order
in a press release or policy memorandum.

Nor is a purpose inquiry necessary to prevent “drag-
net searchfes] for criminals.” Pet. App. 10a. “Scrupu-
lous adherence” to the existing objective limitations on
checkpoint seizures will accomplish that goal. Horton,
496 U.S. at 140. As noted above, the justification for
checkpoints is confined to stops of motor vehicles on
public roadways because of their unique Fourth

17 The highway signs in this case warned drivers only of a
“narcotics checkpoint.” But the content of the warning signs did
not significantly influence the nature or degree of the intrusion.
Such warnings are not constitutionally compelled. See Sitz, 496
U.S. at 447-448 (no indication that warning signs were present).
And the warnings here would be unlikely to generate “fear and
surprise * * * in law abiding motorists.” Id. at 452.

18 See Whren, 517 U.S. at 815 (it is “somewhat easier to figure
out the intent of an individual officer than to plumb the collective
consciousness of law enforcement”).

28
Amendment status, and thus does not permit seizures
of pedestrians or searches of persons or cars. There is
also a practical limitation both on what crimes have a
sufficiently pervasive connection to the roadways to
make it sensible to commit law-enforcement resources
to checkpoints and what crimes can be policed effec-
tively through plain view inspections or canine sniffs in
the brief detention time permitted for checkpoint
seizures. Finally, “the expense to law enforcement
agencies and public intolerance of the inconvenience
impose a check on unreasonable recourse to this
power.” 4 Wayne R. LaFave, Search and Seizure
§ 9.6(a), at 311 (8d ed. 1996); see also zd. § 10.8(d), at 693.

c. The court of appeals also erred in relying (Pet.
App. 1la) on this Court’s dicta in Whren, supra, that
“the exemption from the need for probable cause (and
warrant), which is accorded to searches made for the
purpose of inventory or administrative regulation, is
not accorded to searches that are not made for those
purposes,” 517 U.S. at 811-812 (emphasis omitted).
Even assuming that this language applies to checkpoint
stops, which are not conducted for administrative or
inventory purposes and which entail limited seizures
not searches, it does not cast doubt on the validity of
Indianapolis’s checkpoints.

First, one reason to question putatively administra-
tive or inventory searches when they are made for law-
enforcement purposes is that those searches of persons’
homes and business premises, or of automobiles already
entirely within police custody, normally would require
the highest level of protection under the Fourth
Amendment: a warrant or probable cause. Brief auto-
mobile stops, by contrast, do not typically require that
level of justification, even outside the checkpoint con-
text. See, e.g., United States v. Sharpe, 470 U.S. 675

29

(1985) (investigatory stop of a vehicle justifiable on
reasonable suspicion); United States v. Brignoni-Ponce,
422 U.S. 873 (1975) (same). And checkpoint procedures
provide an objective level of regularity that protects
against arbitrary action by law enforcement officers,
without any need to scrutinize the official purpose. See
Brown v. Texas, 443 U.S. at 51; Prouse, 440 U.S. at 663.

Second, and in any event, the Court has never invali-
dated an otherwise-justified administrative or inven-
tory search by finding that there also was an underly-
ing law-enforcement purpose. Administrative and
inventory searches must be guided by objective limita-
tions on the police officers’ behavior.” Those limits sub-
stitute for the traditional probable cause requirement.
Once such objective limitations are in place, however,
and the general interests served by administrative and
inventory searches are furthered by the practice in
question, the existence of additional, important govern-
.mental purposes for a particular practice should not
provide a basis for invalidating it under the Fourth
Amendment.”

19 See New York v. Burger, 482 U.S. 691, 702-703 (1987) (ad-
ministrative search must “further” a “‘substantial’ government in-
terest” and must be “carefully limited in time, place, and scope”);
Colorado v. Bertine, 479 U.S. 367, 372 (1987) (“standardized proce-
dures” required for vehicle inventories); Barlow’s, 486 U.S. at 323
(“neutral criteria”); Camara v. Municipal Court, 387 U.S. 523, 538
(1967) (“reasonable legislative or administrative standards” must
govern administrative searches).

2 The court of appeals further erred in relying (Pet. App. 11a)
on the plurality’s pretext language in Texas v. Brown, 460 U.S.
730, 743 (1983). That language arose entirely in that portion of the
opinion addressing the requirement in the law at that time that
evidence in plain view be discovered inadvertently. See Coolidge
v. New Hampshire, 403 U.S. 443, 466 (1971). This Court dispensed

30

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the court of appeals should be
reversed.

Respectfully submitted.

SETH P. WAXMAN
Solicitor General

JAMES K. ROBINSON
Assistant Attorney General

MICHAEL R. DREEBEN
Deputy Solicitor General

PATRICIA A. MILLETT
Assistant to the Solicitor

General
KARIN B. HOPPMANN

MICHAEL A. ROTKER
Attorneys

MAY 2000

with that requirement seven years later. Horton, 496 U.S. at 138-
142.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_0586%3A09. Public record. Not legal advice.
