# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Worthington Corp. v. Ronsini

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_0576%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2000
- **Citation:** 529 U.S. 1019

## Text

CU “PILED
BO 141 9 DEE 7 1999
OFFICE gf
No.6 EH

en es ---~

Jn the Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1999

WORTHINGTON CORPORATION,
Petitioner,
Vv.

ELAINE RONSINI, EXECUTRIX OF THE ESTATE OF FRANK
RONSINI

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE NEW
YORK SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE DIVISION, FIRST
DEPARTMENT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

FRANK H. GRIFFIN III JERROLD J. GANZFRIED

PHILIP W. VOGLER Counsel of Record

GOLLATZ GRIFFIN KAREN L. MANOS

& EWING, P.C. ALEXANDER B. BERGER

16th Floor HOWREY & SIMON

Two Penn Center Plaza 1299 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.
Philadelphia, PA 19102 Washington, D.C. 20004

(215) 563-9400 (202) 783-0800

Attorneys for Petitioner
Worthington Corporation

rte al a wal atl _— " z
- ™ a ——- yee ter ” ELE LL, OE TOT

| QUESTION PRESENTED

Contrary to this Court’s articulation of the
government contractor defense in Boyle v. United
Technologies Corp., 487 U.S. 500 (1988) and Hercules, Inc.
v. United States, 516 U.S. 417 (1996), and in conflict with
decisions of the Fourth, Fifth, Sixth and Seventh Circuits, the
state court in this case held that a defendant in a products
liability case based on a failure-to-warn theory is not entitled
to submit the government contractor defense to the jury
absent the “proscription of a warning” by the United States
Navy. Accordingly, the question presented is:

Whether the government contractor defense preempts
a state law failure-to-warn tort claim only when military
specifications expressly prohibit a warning?

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

Petitioner Worthington Corporation was one of 35
defendants in the initial Stages of the proceedings in the trial
court. The respondent in this Court, the plaintiff in the trial
court, is Elaine Ronsini, Executrix of the Estate of Frank
Ronsini.

Other defendants in the trial court were: Garlock,
Inc.; H&A Construction: Asbestospray Corp.; Robert A.
Keasbey Co.; Combustion Engineering, Inc.; U.S. Mineral
Products, Co.:; Owens-Corming Fiberglass Corp.; Rockwool
Manufacturing Co.: The Anchor Packing Co.; Foster
Wheeler Energy Corp.; Pittsburgh-Corming Corp.; Rapid-
American Corp. as successor-in-interest to Philip Carey
Manufacturing Corp.; John Crane, Inc.; A.W. Chesterton
Co., Inc.; Atlas Turner, Inc.; Allied Corp. as successor-in-
interest to The Bendix Corp.; Westinghouse Electric Corp.:
Rutland Fire Clay Co. d/b/a Rutland Products; General
Electric Co.; Uniroyal, Inc.; IMO Industries, Inc. as
successor to and formerly known as DeLaval Turbine,
Transamerican DeLaval and IMO DeLaval; York Industries
Corp.; Standard Insulation Co.; Crown Cork & Seal Co.,
Inc.; Ingersoll-Rand Co.; Gould Pumps, _Inc.; Quaker
Chemical Corp.; Selby Battersby & Co.: General Motors
Corp.; Detroit Diesel Corp. as successor to Detroit Diesel
Allison Division of General Motors; Volkswagen of
America, Inc.; VW Venture Corp., formerly known as or as
successor to World Wide Volkswagen Coprp.; Volkswagen
Werk Aktiengesellschaft: and Raymark Industries, Inc.

The case was tried using a “reverse” bifurcation
format, in which damages were litigated first. Following the
damages phase of the trial, the plaintiff settled, discontinued,
or otherwise dismissed the actions against all defendants
except Worthington Corporation and Atlas Turner, Inc. At
the subsequent liability trial, the only defendants were
Worthington and Atlas Turner.

RULE 29.6 STATEMENT
Petitioner Worthington Corporation’s corporate

parent is Dresser Industries, Inc, which is a wholly-owned
subsidiary of Halliburton Company.

ill

TABLE OF CONTENTS

RTE k BORE © RINE A iaenidarthovevnssnkesarunnssossresayereciadl
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING............ccccseeeeeeeees

UTE SPO EPS ERMMIEL Sihinscisscsicsscasasacersssecsecsbisasninnes

I. THE CONSTITUTION AND THE
GOVERNMENT-CONTRACTOR DEFENSE

REQUIRE UNIFORMITY OF DECISIONG............

Il. THE DECISION BELOW CONFLICTS WITH
DECISIONS OF THIS COURT AND OF

SAE RAMP eR EEE Uicoihcharens snistéssceqsbectencvaincecpebcassacsnect
Ree UG ies spchdaasbhatibvedinb socetesiiehiaidinenkadeveessaischenoten

INDEX TO APPENDICES

APPENDIX A: Decision and Order of the Supreme
Court of the State of New York, Appellate
Division, First Department, dated December 29,

EPO 5 ies ssinincsetoheidaccsantaviliknasliiiscalansbccadimiosgicslaeatalicdajiions

iV

APPENDIX B: Decision and Order of the Supreme
Court of the State of New York, dated May 20,
SDD F . ccscsocsrincssssdetiacdissepibtevemasistacbenmaeisintaiubcenadeeliblebeavins 6a

APPENDIX C: Verdict Sheet, Supreme Court of the
SRG OE POG TE cies aisccisstasnrasincniousranaatAbndaniseaienaiie 13a

APPENDIX D: Judgment of the Supre:ne Court of
the State of New York, dated September 8, 1997......... 21a

APPENDIX E: Order of the Supreme Court of the
State of New York, Appellate Division, First
Department, denying Worthington Corporation’s
Motion for Reargument or Leave to Appeal, dated
DERRY BG. RN sinckctisndecsdipheicdicintecsouinioiansieietmaabueeletanions 28a

APPENDIX F: Decision of the State of New York
Court of Appeals, denying Worthington
Corporation’s Motion for Leave to Appeal to the
Court of Appeals, dated September 16, 1999............... 30a

APPENDIX G: Provisions of the Constitution of the
Usted Sintes OF AM ics i cciicitietitietiataeicii 32a

APPENDIX H: Excerpts From the Trial Testimony
of Frank Ronsini (November 1, 1996).....................04 33a

APPENDIX I: Excerpts From the Trial Transcript
(November-December 1996) ..................:ccccseeeseeeeeeeeeees 36a

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES

In re “Agent Orange” Product Liability Litigation,
08 ©. Ba, 1066 CEDAW. Y; 1962) cncccccciscccssencsescccoreasce 12

In re Air Disaster at Ramstein Air Base, Germany,
81 F.3d 570 (Sth Cir.), mod. on other grounds,
Perez v. Lockheed Corp., 88 F.3d 340 (Sth Cir.),
cert. denied, 519 U.S. 1028 (1996).........ccccccccceeeeeees 14, 16

Bailey v. McDonnell Douglas Corp.,
FOP BL FPO GOT, 1GG3) vinscsscarcsorssensssecsececcccceesssscacee 14

Boyle v. United Technologies Corp.,
FF hae ita icdianebinindenensatntnscacnéareres passim

Dorse v. Eagle-Picher Industries, Inc.,
SIS P26 1487 (110s Cig, 1990) ..2....0cccrepeccssccecscccciee 14,18

Emory v. McDonnell Douglas Corp.,
148 F.3d 347 (4th Cir. 1998) oo... ee eeeeeeeeee 14, 16, 21

Feldman v. Kohler Co.,
918 S.W.2d 615 (Tex. Ct. App. 1996)... eee 20

Geier v. American Honda Motor Co.,
ROMs OE ee BARR acilbckdaoshsitenctesvcnaccacndpacsociscdcducnee 22

Goldman v. Weinberger,
re ee ce cudilbantns 21

Harduvel v. General Dynamics Corp.,

878 F.2d 1311 (11th Cir. 1989), cert. denied,
Fe I ia ialiiiitioniecencorecsircabentndyorsptnosenncecssnnne 1]

vi

In re Hawaii Federal Asbestos Cases,
BSD FD Te Fr his satis atthe ndebicctendcinncs 18

Hercules, Inc. v. United States,
SIG UG OFT TiS btcticinticictiaaians 3, 8,13

International Association of Independent Tanker Owners
(INTERTANKO) v. Locke, No. 98-1706 (U.S. 1999) .....22

Jackson v. Deft, Inc.,
223 Cal. App. 3d 1305, 273 Cal. Rptr. 214
(Ct. App. 1990), review denied, 1990 Cal.
LEXIS S536 CCL, TORE, Ba BO iecsaseiccsccosdcsscicssenssscies 20

In re Joint Eastern & Southern District New York Asbestos
Litigation, 897 F.2d 626 (2d Cir. 1990) ............. 14, 18, 19

Lichter v. United States,
SIA ALS. FAs CP iitnecidintectnsccttniteanbdiinoane 10

McCarty v. McCarty,
GOS is: REO ER istics sssikscrdsavdsyesbintsaaghitesakbiapenbaakens 10

McKay v. Rockwell International Corp.,
704 F.2d 444 (9th Cir. 1983), cert. denied,
SGA LE, TES iis iaestacecenD aac nisscdacbbctsrsderdicsesetasses 11

Miller v. United Technologies Corp.,
GEO A.2E BIG CCM: FIGS) ics ceisichccisniccssenncenacanasnscsbances 19

Natsios v. National Foreign Trade Council,
ING, DO-A7G GBs TOBE sscsseriintrnstvkansetnijassssansbasntbsivestionss 22

Nicholson v. United Technologies Corp.,
697 F. Supp. 598 (D. Conn. 1988)................csccsssscsssseees 19

Norfolk Southern Railway v. Shanklin,
PUK FE a TEs aes BOD dcstsscsknacehautacnscsiasciecsapbininnadcncdiatsh 22

Oliver v. Oshkosh Truck Corp.,
96 F.3d 992 (7th Cir. 1996), cert. denied,
PE Gis Be A CT Fes vicctecitinsiastinhacstacctnssies 14, 16, 18, 19

Russek v. Unisys Corp.,
921 F. Supp. 1277 (D.N.J. 1996)................. sa dataplaciiait 15

Shaw v. Grumman Aerospace Corp.,
778 F.2d 736 (11th Cir.1985), cert. denied,

OE RE Fe a Risiatehcsiteniosiinaiaxcossachstasscduiontnarscevenes 12
Smith v. Xerox Corp., :

BO A LFS CPE AE, LIF) iescevnsnscnsiscisevensdécsinestshsobenicn 16
Snell v. Bell Helicopter Textron, Inc.,

BOE ee Fe CEs BED vvtcstcieicisacsscesinotocesseneesisetcns 14
Tarble's Case,

UE Slscie ABS WUE DUE CEO PED ashes csivansscecosseccesseeseccoceses 10
Tate v. Boeing Helicopters,

IO FO a CO es FOGG) oii ccisinscccsccctvsccssistcssccsesecee 17
Tate v. Boeing Helicopters,

FFE Ie BE COME SNE, BOTS) ovnossscsarscssicrovvaicanesss 14, 16, 17
Timberline Air Service, Inc. v. Bell Helicopter-Textron, Inc.,

Se Ek FE CPO, CIID icsassncecocsscassevessasvconsacnscnasecese 19
Tozer v. LTV Corp.,

792 F.2d 403 (4th Cir. 1986), cert. denied,

eI sass eines sdhannuansnabteshernntnectueanesqacces 1]
United States v. Locke,

Ss TE I BO i cnccsecssonseinsaeshinsapscsiuincsanntensaia 22

ee ee ae, Meee enn ene ee

United States v. Oregon,
366 U.S. 643 (1960)... cceeeecceeteeeeeesereeeesneenesensnesnsnces 10

United States v. Winstar Corp.,
518 U.S. 839 (1996).......scsccccsseeeeeesssrsreeseeessnesenseseneennenes 12

Yeroshefsky v. Unisys Corp.,
962 F. Supp. 710 (D. Md. 1997).......:::eeeeseeesersees 3, 14, 15

CONSTITUTIONS AND STATUTES

U.S. Const. art. 1, § 8, cls. 1, 12-14... eeeeeeeeeeeeeees yr ie

USS. Const. art. I], § 2, Ch. 1... ceeeeeeeereeesereeeeeseneeneeenenenes pe

US. Const. art. VI, ch. 2.0... cceceeceseesseeneneeeeeeeeeeneneenteneeees 2,8

2B U.S.C. § 1257(a) ......scsscsssssssreecsrscceccsseeresnesnnensessnsonsenensanes 2
OTHER AUTHORITIES

Federalist Papers, No. 23, “The Necessity of a Government
as Energetic as the One Proposed to the Preservation of
the Union” (Dec. 18, 1787) ......:sssesecseseesensetsceeeersnesnsnes 9

U.S. Navy, Dictionary of American Fighting Ships (1967) ...4

iX

In the Supreme Court of the Anited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1999

No. 99-
WORTHINGTON CORPORATION,

Petitioner,

Vv.

ELAINE RONSINI, EXECUTRIX OF THE ESTATE OF FRANK
RONSINI

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE NEW
YORK SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE DIVISION, FIRST
DEPARTMENT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner Worthington Corporation respectfully
petitions for a writ of certiorari to review the judgment of the
Supreme Court of the State of New York, Appellate
Division, First Department in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The decision and order of the Appellate Division,
First Department is reported at 683 N.Y.S.2d 39 (Appendix
to Petition for Certiorari (“App.”) la). The orders and
opinions of the trial court (App. 6a & 21a) are unreported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Appellate Division, First
Department was entered on December 29, 1998. App. la.

a Pe

The Appellate Division, First Department denied a timely
motion for reargument or leave to appeal on May 18, 1999.
App. 28a. The New York Court of Appeals denied a timely
motion for leave to appeal on September 16, 1999. App. 30a.
The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
§ 1257(a).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Article VI, clause 2 of the United States Constitution
provides, in relevant part:

This Constitution, and the Laws of the United
States which shall be made in Pursuance
thereof . . . shall be the supreme Law of the
Land; and the Judges in every State shall be
bound thereby, any Thing in the Constitution
or Laws of any State to the Contrary
notwithstanding.

Other constitutional provisions at issue in this case
(Art. I, § 8, cls. 1, 12-14; Art. I, § 2, cl. 1) are reprinted in
the Appendix. App. 32a.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

More than 50 years after it sold pumps and
compressors to the United States Navy for use on warships in
World War II, petitioner Worthington Corporation was held
liable by a New York State court on a products liability
claim. The adverse judgment in this case is premised on
personal injuries allegedly caused by Worthington’s failure
to issue warnings to military personnel. That result is all the
more remarkable because: (1) Worthington strictly complied
with all applicable military specifications; (2) there was no
claim that the design of the equipment was in any way
defective; (3) Worthington did not know of any risk to

ne

workers such as respondent; (4) respondent’s military service
began more than 25 years after the equipment was
manufactured and sold; and (5) the U.S. Navy had complete
control over the plaintiff's working conditions (including
cautionary warnings).

The decision below summarily disposed of
petitioner’s government-contractor defense, hotding that the
jury need not even be instructed on this issue of federal law.
That decision conflicts with decisions of the Fourth, Fifth,
Sixth and Seventh Circuits. It is also inconsistent with this
Court’s holdings on the government-contractor defense in
Boyle v. United Technologies, 487 U.S. 500 (1988) and
Hercules, Inc. v. United States, 516 U.S. 417 (1996).

These conflicting decisions on an important issue of
federal law should suffice to warrant this Court’s review. In
fact, there are further compelling reasons for certiorari. The
government contractor defense to state law tort claims poses
questions vital to the proper functioning of our federal
system. One need go no further than this Court’s current
docket to perceive the primacy of federalism issues,
specifically as they relate to preemption of state law. This
case presents an opportunity to address the relative roles of
the state and federal governments in a uniquely important
and practical context: military procurement of equipment to
“provide and maintain a Navy” (U.S. Const., art. I, § 8, cl.
13) and “provide for the common defense” in wartime. U.S.
Const., art. I, § 8, cl. 1.

In addition, the continuing and recurring importance
of the question presented in this case is reflected in the fact
that seven of the federal courts of appeals have addressed this
issue, as have appellate courts in numerous states. As the
lower courts have observed, those appellate holdings “vary
widely.” Yeroshefsky v. Unisys Corp., 962 F. Supp. 710, 717

Ey

(D. Md. 1997). In these circumstances, the justifications for
this Court’s review are compelling.

1. During World War II, Worthington Corporation
(“Worthington”) manufactured and sold hundreds of pumps
and compressors to the United States Navy for installation on
Fletcher class destroyers. As required by its Navy contracts,
Worthington manufactured the equipment in strict
compliance with detailed military specifications. App. 48a-
49a, 53a-59a, 63a-65a. Applicable military specifications
expressly required the internal component parts of the
equipment to include asbestos-containing gaskets. App. 50a-
54a. The military specifications also included explicit
requirements for markings on the equipment and for the
preparation of technical manuals. App. 53a, 55a-59a, 60a-
62a. The technical manuals Worthington was required to
prepare were reviewed and approved by the Navy:
subsequently, the Navy issued its own revision of some of
the manuals. App. 63a-65a, 69a-70a. Worthington could not
make changes to either the design of the equipment or the
technical manuals without Navy approval. App. 66a.

Worthington’s equipment was installed on the U.S:S.
John W. Weeks, before its commissioning in 1943, and on
the U.S.S. Gearing, before its commissioning in 1944. App.
49a. Over the ensuing 25 years -- before respondent’s brief
time on board -- both ships saw substantial combat, including
service during World War II, the Korean conflict, and the
Cuban missile crisis. U.S. Navy, Dictionary Of American
Fighting Ships, vol. 8, 194 and vol. 3, 31 (1967).

2. Frank Ronsini served on the U.S.S. Weeks and
U.S.S. Gearing at various times during the Vietnam conflict
from 1968 until 1972. In his work as a machinist, Ronsini
was exposed to a wide variety of asbestos-containing

i.

products while maintaining and repairing equipment in the
engine rooms of both destroyers. App. 42a-47a.

3. In 1996, Ronsini brought a personal injury suit
against Worthington and 34 other defendants, claiming that
they manufactured or sold asbestos-containing products to
which he was exposed in the Navy and elsewhere from 1967
through 1973. Ronsini’s sole theory of liability against
Worthington was that Worthington failed to warn him of the
danger allegedly inherent in the use of asbestos-containing
component parts inside the Worthington equipment. App.
41a, 66a-71a.!

At trial, Worthington asserted the government-
contractor defense to preclude liability for products sold to
the Navy in accordance with military-prescribed
specifications. Worthington introduced evidence to support
this proposition by showing that there were no dangers of
which Worthington was aware that the Navy was not. App.
36a-40a. Indeed, the Navy had far greater and more
sophisticated knowledge of the potential hazards and dangers
of asbestos-containing products than did Worthington. App.
36a-39a. And, as the trial court found on the record in this
case, Worthington had no knowledge of a risk about which it
could have warned workers like respondent. App. 8a. Based
on this record, Worthington requested a jury instruction on
the government contractor defense. Drawing directly from
this Court’s language in Boyle v. United Technologies Corp.,
487 U.S. 500, 512 (1988), Worthington requested that the
jury be instructed that a contractor could not be liable for:

1 Respondent expressly disavowed all claims against
Worthington based on any alleged design defect in its
product: “I am withdrawing my design defect claim.” App.
4la.

. =

goods supplied to the military if the United
States approved __ reasonably precise
specifications of the products, the material
conformed to those specifications, and the
supplier warned the United States about the
dangers and the use of the materials that were
known to the supplier but not to the United
States.

App. 67a. In response, respondent’s counsel argued that the
government contractor defense does not apply to claims
based on an alleged failure to warn: “Compliance with
standards is irrelevant. It doesn’t matter one way or the other
if you comply with standards.” App. 70a; see App. 67a-68a.
Ultimately, the trial judge gave the jury the following charge:

Adherence to government standards while
important, and some _ evidence of
reasonableness, does not relieve a party from
the obligation to make its product safe.
Compliance with those standards by a
defendant, even if proven, doesn’t preclude a
finding of a liability. However, you should
take compliance into consideration in deciding
whether or not the product was safe.

App. 73a.2. Accordingly, the jury was permitted to impose
liability even if it found that Worthington acted in strict

2 Petitioner also argued that any warning would have been
nullified and totally ineffective in light of the exigencies of
military service in wartime and the Navy’s total control over
respondent’s working conditions. On this point, respondent
testified unequivocally that during his military service on
board the ships he had no control over his working
conditions, much less the right to decide whether to work

me.

compliance with all federal standards and _ military
specifications.

4. The jury returned a verdict in favor of Ronsini,
specifically finding that Worthington’s products were
defective because they lacked warnings. App. 16a. On post-
trial motions, the court expressly found that “[t]here is no
evidence in the record that Worthington knew of the risk of
the asbestos containing product that the jury found that Frank
Ronsini used to workers like him so that Worthington ‘could
have warned him.’” App. 8a. Nevertheless, the trial court
upheld the finding of liability. In denying Worthington’s
post-trial motion to set aside the verdict, the court offered no
discussion of the government-contractor issue (“[t]he issues
Worthington raises, including the ‘Navy’ defense, require no
further discussion....”). App. 7a.

5. The New York Supreme Court, Appellate
Division, First Department, affirmed. App. la-Sa. With
respect to the government-contractor defense, the appellate
court held that petitioner was not entitled to have the jury
even consider the issue: “In the absence of any evidence of a
conflict between State warning requirements and any Federal
prescription of label information or proscription of a
warning, there was no basis for Worthington’s requested
government contractor defense charge ....”. App. 3a. The
New York Court of Appeals denied review. App. 30a-3 la.

with gaskets in the Worthington equipment or the right to
decide what to wear wlien performing such maintenance
services: “It wasn’t like a regular job. It wasn’t a union.”
App. 34a. Notwithstanding this record, the trial judge
instructed the jury that: “Each worker had a right to decide
for himself whether to work and what he would wear as
protection before continuing to work.” App. 75a.

Se

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

The judgment below is incorrect and conflicts with
decisions of this Court and federal courts of appeals on a
recurring issue at the very core of our federal system. The
decision below is contrary to the Supremacy Clause and to
the Constitution’s express assignment to the federal
government of the power to “provide and maintain a Navy”
and to “make Rules for the Government and Regulation of
__. naval Forces.” U.S. Const. art. VI, cl. 2; art. I, § 8, cls.
13, 14. Moreover, the decision below does not adhere to this
Court’s articulation of the government-contractor defense in
Boyle and Hercules and it squarely conflicts with decisions
of federal circuit courts of appeals. See pp. 13-19, infra.

Under the decision below, a government contractor
that assists its country in wartime (by providing equipment
exactly as Navy specifications required) can be held liable
under state tort law theories more than a half-century later.
Recognizing the inherent incompatibility between state law
liability and the constitutional imperatives for government
procurement and military preparedness, this Court and
federal courts of appeal in at least four circuits have rejected
the imposition of such liability on government contractors in
these circumstances.

This case is one of many in which state courts have
imposed liability on government contractors that federal
cases clearly prohibit. The impact of the decision below is
pointedly deleterious to federalism principles, particularly as
they apply to the military. Contrary to prevailing federal
standards, the rationale for liability is the absence of
“warnings” to military personnel serving decades after the
equipment was sold. As this case illustrates, such a regime
of liability would have profound repercussions: _ the
contractor had no knowledge at the time of sale of any risk to

Ye

military personnel performing these maintenance tasks, yet is
liable for failing to issue warnings to a sailor who was not
born until years after the Navy purchased the equipment. By
requiring government contractors to issue state-created
warnings directly to servicemen, notwithstanding the U.S.
Navy’s total control over their working conditions, the
decision below poses an ominous threat to national
uniformity in an area that is uniquely and exclusively federal.
By any measure, this case satisfies all accepted standards for
certiorari. It fully warrants this Court’s review.

I. THE CONSTITUTION AND THE
GOVERNMENT-CONTRACTOR DEFENSE
REQUIRE UNIFORMITY OF DECISIONS

1. The decision below directly impinges upon the
federal government’s constitutional authority and duty to
provide for the common defense. As this Court has
observed, the government-contractor doctrine has strong
constitutional underpinnings.

Article I, section 8, clauses 12 through 14 of the
Constitution grant Congress the exclusive power to “raise
and support Armies,” to “provide and maintain a Navy,” and
to “make Rules for the Government and Regulation of the
land and naval Forces.” See also Article II, section 2, clause
1. This language embodies the framers’ intent that powers
essential to the common defense vest exclusively in the
federal government. See Federalist Papers, No. 23, “The
Necessity of a Government as Energetic as the One Proposed
to the Preservation of the Union” (Dec. 18, 1787). Moreover,
the framers recognized that state interference in military
matters would undermine the national defense. /d.

This Court, too, has long recognized that the federal
government’s power to provide for the common defense is

-10-

necessarily plenary and exclusive. See, e.g., T arble’s Case,
80 U.S. (13 Wall.) 397, 408 (1871) (“No interference with
the execution of this power of the National government in the
formation, organization, and government of its armies by any
State officials could be permitted without greatly impairing
the efficiency, if it did not utterly destroy, this branch of the
public service”). Accordingly, the constitutional power to
support the armed forces with equipment and supplies is as
“clear and sweeping” as the power of conscription. Lichter v.
United States, 334 U.S. 742, 756 (1948). States are
precluded from interfering with the federal government’s
exclusive war-making powers. This proscription is so
pervasive and inviolate that it applies even when issues
traditionally reserved for the states are involved. For
example, in United States v. Oregon, 366 U.S. 643 (1960), a
case involving a mentally incompetent veteran who died
intestate in a veteran’s hospital, the Court upheld a federal
law requiring that the veteran’s personal property be used for
the comfort and recreation of other veterans, notwithstanding
an Oregon statute requiring that property left intestate escheat
to the state and the traditional jurisdiction of states over the
devolution of property. Similarly, in McCarty v. McCarty,
453 U.S. 210 (1981), the Court held that application of
California’s community property law in a divorce proceeding
would frustrate the federal military retirement system.

2. Drawing on these same fundamental principles,
this Court has correctly perceived the need to assure
government contractors that their adherence to federal
specifications will not open the door to conflicting state tort
liability schemes. Any departure from this rule would impair
the government’s ability to procure effective military
equipment. As this Court observed in Boyle, “the selection
of the appropriate design for military equipment to be used
by our Armed Forces ... often involves not merely
engineering analysis but judgment as to the balancing of

me

many technical, military, and even social considerations,
including specifically the trade-off between greater safety
and greater combat effectiveness.” 487 U.S. at 511.

State courts are particularly ill-suited to second-guess
military decisions. See Harduvel v. General Dynamics
Corp., 878 F.2d 1311, 1322 (11th Cir. 1989) (“With respect
to consumer goods, state tort law may hold manufacturers
liable where such a balance [between safety concerns and
cost and performance] is found unreasonable. In the
sensitive area of federal military procurement, however, the
balance is not one for state tort law to strike”), cert. denied,
494 U.S. 1030 (1990); Tozer v. LTV Corp., 792 F.2d 403,
406 (4th Cir. 1986) (“There is a danger in transporting the
rubric of tort law and product liability to a military setting
and military technology. While jurors may possess
familiarity and experience with consumer products, it would
be the rare juror — or judge — who has been in the cockpit of a
Navy RF-86 off the deck of a carrier on a low level, high
speed fly-by maneuver.”), cert. denied, 487 U.S. 1233
(1988); McKay v. Rockwell Int’l Corp., 704 F.2d 444, 449
(9th Cir. 1983) (“to hold military suppliers liable for
defective designs where the United States set or approved the
design specifications would thrust the judiciary into the
making of military decision”), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 1043
(1984).

Consistent with the Constitution and this Court’s
directives, federal courts recognize that:

The purpose of [the] defense ... is to permit
the government to wage war in whatever
manner the government deems advisable, and
to do so with the support of suppliers of
military weapons. Considerations of cost,
time of production, risks to participants, risks

ey a

to third parties, and any other factors that
might weigh on the decisions of whether,
when, and how to use a particular weapon, are
uniquely questions for the military and should
be exempt from review by civilian courts.

In re “Agent Orange” Prod. Liab. Litig., 534 F. Supp. 1046,
1054 n.1 (E.D.N.Y. 1982). Accord Shaw v. Grumman
Aerospace Corp., 778 F.2d 736, 740 (11th Cir. 1985), cert.
denied, 487 U.S. 1233 (1988) (“The military contractor
defense is available in certain situations not because a
contractor is appropriately held to a reduced standard of care,
nor because it is cloaked with sovereign immunity, but
because traditional separation of powers doctrine compels the
defense.”’)

Permitting states to second-guess military
procurement decisions through the imposition of state tort
liability on government contractors “will directly affect the
terms of Government contracts: either the contractor will
decline to manufacture the design specified by the
Government, or it will raise its price. Either way, the
interests of the United States will be directly affected.”
Boyle, 487 U.S. at 507. Cf. United States v. Winstar Corp.,
518 U.S. 839, 913 (1996) (Breyer, J. concurring)
(commenting on a different protection for parties to
government contracts that “in practical terms it ensures that
the government is able to obtain needed goods and services
from parties who might otherwise, quite rightly, be unwilling
to undertake the risk of government contracting”).

«43.

il. THE DECISION BELOW CONFLICTS
WITH DECISIONS OF THIS COURT AND
OF OTHER CIRCUITS

1. New York’s limitation of the government
contractor defense conflicts with this Court’s articulation of
the defense in Boyle v. United Technologies Corp., 487 U.S.
500 (1988), and Hercules Inc. v. United States, 516 U.S. 417
(1996). Indeed, the trial court denied Worthington’s
proposed jury instruction that incorporated the language of
Boyle verbatim. The Appellate Division went a step beyond,
holding that the government-contractor defense need not
even go to the jury. App. 3a.

In Boyle, this Court held (487 U.S. at 512) that:

Liability for design defects in military
equipment cannot be imposed, pursuant to
state law, when (1) the United States approved
reasonably precise specifications; (2) the
equipment conformed to those specifications;
and (3) the supplier warned the United States
about the dangers in the use of the equipment
that were known to the supplier but not to the
United States.

Consistent with that standard, the Court explained in
Hercules Inc. v. United States, 516 U.S. 417, 421 (1996), that
the government contractor defense “shields contractors from
tort liability for products manufactured for the Government
in accordance with Government specifications, if the
contractor warned the United States about any hazards
known to the contractor but not to the Government.” Under
this standard, the trial court’s correct and undisturbed finding
that there was no evidence that Worthington knew of a risk to

«Sh.

workers such as respondent should have resulted in entry of
judgment for Worthington. App. 8a.

2. Boyle recognized that the government contractor
defense is necessary to permit the armed forces to procure
effective military equipment in an efficient manner and to
avoid judicial scrutiny of military procurement decisions.
This interest exists regardless of “the label attached to the
claim.” Bailey v. McDonnell Douglas Corp., 989 F.2d 794,
801 (Sth Cir. 1993). For that reason, the federal courts of
appeals have unanimously held that the government
contractor defense applies to state law failure-to-warn claims
as well as to the design defect claims alleged in Boyle.3 But
the courts are directly in conflict and irredeemably
fragmented on how to apply the government contractor
defense to failure-to-warn claims: “[AJll appear to recognize
the applicability of the defense to a failure to warn claim, but
the applications vary widely.” Yeroshefsky v. Unisys Corp.,
962 F. Supp. 710, 717 (D. Md. 1997) (analyzing conflict
among decisions of the Second, Fifth, Sixth, Ninth and
Eleventh Circuits).

3 See Emory v. McDonnell Douglas Corp., 148 F.3d 347
(4th Cir. 1998); Snell v. Bell Helicopter Textron, Inc., 107
F.3d 744 (9th Cir. 1997); Oliver v. Oshkosh Truck Corp., 96
F.3d 992 (7th Cir. 1996), cert. denied, 520 U.S. 1116 (1997);
In re Air Disaster at Ramstein Air Base, Germany, 81 F.3d
570 (5th Cir.), mod. on other grounds, Perez v. Lockheed
Corp., 88 F.3d 340 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 519 U.S. 1028
(1996); Tate v. Boeing Helicopters, 55 F.3d 1150 (6th Cir.
1995); Dorse v. Eagle-Picher Indus., Inc., 898 F.2d 1487
(11th Cir. 1990); In re Joint E. & S. D. New York Asbestos
Litig., 897 F.2d 626 (2d Cir. 1990).

it.

The decision below exemplifies key issues on which
the nation’s appellate courts are divided. For example, the
New York court below engrafted additional requirements on
the three-part Boyle test. The first element in Boyle requires
only that the United States approve reasonably precise
specifications, not that it consider and reject a particular
alternative required by state law. Furthermore, the third
element in Boyle requires only that the contractor warn the
United States about dangers known to the contractor but not
the government; in contrast, the decision below requires the
contractor to warn of all dangers about which the contractor
knows or reasonably should have known. Similarly, the
decision below requires the contractor to show a “significant
conflict” between the particular military specifications and its
state law duty to warn. That standard effectively turns Boyle
on its head. The very purpose of the Boyle test was to define
those circumstances that present a ““‘significant conflict’ ...
between an identifiable ‘federal policy or interest and the
[operation] of state law.’” Boyle, 487 U.S. at 507 (citation
omitted). Adding these additional elements to Boyle narrows
the scope of the protection and allows states to second-guess
military procurement decisions.

3. On the question presented in this case, there is an
acknowledged split among the federal appellate courts. See
Yeroshefsky, 962 F. Supp. at 717-18; Russek v. Unisys Corp.,
921 F. Supp. 1277, 1289 (D.N.J. 1996). Two circuits (the
Fourth and Fifth) strictly apply Boyle to failure-to-warn
claims; two circuits (the Sixth and Seventh) apply Boyle with
slight modification that would have led to a different result
below; two circuits (the Ninth and Eleventh) apply the same
extreme modification of Boyle endorsed by the court below;
and one circuit (the Second) has modified Boyle in a
somewhat ambiguous manner that has been interpreted in
conflicting ways by other courts. Ultimately, the practical
impact of the conflict is that the result in this case would

1’?

have been different if it had been decided by four, and
possibly five, federal courts of appeals.

a. The Fourth and Fifth Circuits have held that
satisfaction of the three-part Boy/e test is itself sufficient to
preempt state law failure-to-warn claims. See Emory v.
McDonnell Douglas Corp., 148 F.3d 347, 352 (4th Cir.
1998) (“Indeed, when the Navy possesses the same
knowledge as its contractor, a requirement that the contractor
provide additional warnings to individual pilots risks
disruption of the chain of command. A contractor cannot be
forced to provide warnings to officers that would contradict
orders received from their superiors”); Smith v. Xerox Corp.,
866 F.2d 135, 137 (Sth Cir. 1989) (affirming summary
judgment in favor of defendant in case involving both design
defect and failure to warn claims, based solely on
establishment of three-part Boyle test and observing that:
“Boyle ... held that the government contractor defense
applies to both negligence and strict liability actions, as well
as to other state law tort claims”).4

4 But see In re Air Disaster at Ramstein Air Base,
Germany, 81 F.3d 570, 576 (Sth Cir.) (“A separate failure to
warn claim may survive the government contractor immunity
defense if the defendant cannot establish ‘an identifiable
federal interest or policy in the existence or methods of
warning and a significant conflict between the federal interest
or policy and the operation of state law.’... However, if the
failure to warn claim is part of the design defect or
unreasonably dangerous product theory of liability, then
government contractor immunity applies”) (emphasis added;
citations and footnote omitted), modified on other grounds,
Perez v. Lockheed Corp., 88 F.3d 340 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied,
519 U.S. 1028 (1996).

Bs

b. The Sixth and Seventh Circuits, taking a different
course, have modified the Boyle test with respect to failure-
to-warn claims. Tate v. Boeing Helicopters, 55 F.3d 1150,
1157 (6th Cir. 1995); Oliver v. Oshkosh Truck Corp., 96 F.3d
992, 1003-1004 (7th Cir. 1996), cert. denied, 520 U.S. 1116
(1997) (adopting Sixth Circuit test). The Sixth Circuit’s
modification of Boyle requires that the contractor show
additional government involvement in the decision whether
to give a warning:

When state law would otherwise impose
liability for a failure to warn of dangers in
using military equipment, that law is displaced
if the contractor can show: (1) the United
States exercised its discretion and approved
the warnings, if any; (2) the contractor
provided warnings that conformed to the

approved warnings; and (3) the contractor
warned the United States of the dangers in the
equipment’s use about which the contractor
knew, but the United States did not.

Tate, 55 F.3d at 1157.

The Sixth Circuit test, however, does not go to the
extreme reflected in the decision below. Accordingly, the
Sixth Circuit does not require that the specifications either
dictate or expressly prohibit warnings. /d. (“We reiterate
that the FTCA’s discretionary function exemption delineates
the contours of the defense. Government discretion is
required, not dictation or prohibition of warnings”); accord
Tate v. Boeing Helicopters, 140 F.3d 654, 660-61 (6th Cir.
1998) (“Contrary to plaintiffs’ argument, the government
contractor defense is not narrowly confined to those
situations where a particular military specification directly
conflicts with state law. Instead, the defense applies

wths

whenever state tort liability would otherwise restrict the
government’s ability to exercise its discretion in military
matters. This includes those situations in which the
government makes the informed decision not to include a
specification or require a warning because, in the
government’s view, one would be unnecessary oF
problematic.... Therefore, once the three conditions of the
Tate | analysis has been satisfied, and government discretion
has thus been established, significant conflict exists and the
government contractor defense applies”); Oliver, 96 F.3d at
1004 n.8 (“We cannot accept as consistent with Boyle the
suggestion that there is any strict requirement that the
government ‘prohibit’ warnings altogether or ‘dictate’ the
contents of the warnings actually incorporated”).

c. In contrast to all of these cases, the Ninth and
Eleventh Circuits, as well as the New York court below, have
added to the Boyle test a requirement that the specifications
either dictate the terms of the warning or expressly prohibit
the contractor from adding warnings. In Jn re Hawaii Federal
Asbestos Cases, 960 F.2d 806, 812 (9th Cir. 1992), the Ninth
Circuit held that the government contractor defense was
inapplicable because “the Navy in no way prohibited
[appellants] from placing warnings on their insulation
products,” and “[t]here thus existed no conflict between their
state law duty to provide adequate warnings to the users of
their insulation and the conditions imposed on them pursuant
to the agreements they had entered into with the
Government.” Accord Dorse v. Eagle-Picher Indus., Inc.,
898 F.2d 1487, 1489 (11th Cir. 1990) (per curiam) (finding
no conflict between state-imposed duty to warn and
specifications for asbestos-containing cement used at Navy
shipyard because the specifications, which required standard
commercial packaging, “d{id] not contain any prohibition
against health warnings on the product”).

20.

d. The position of the Second Circuit has been
interpreted in varying ways. In In re Joint Eastern &
Southern District New York Asbestos Litigation, 897 F.2d
626, 633 (2d Cir. 1990), the court remanded for the district
court to determine whether there was a significant conflict
between the military specifications and state law duty to
warn, observing that: “Just as nothing in the relevant
specification discusses product warnings, nothing in the
specification purports to place a limit upon any additional
information a manufacturer may have wished to convey to
those using the product.” Although some district courts have
incorrectly construed this holding to require that the
specifications expressly prohibit warnings, the Second
Circuit opinion does not support such a reading. Rather, the
Second Circuit itself observed that its holding is consistent
with Nicholson v. United Technologies Corp., 697 F. Supp.
598, 604 (D. Conn. 1988), in which the district court held
that when “the government provides ‘reasonably precise’
specifications for the contents of a maintenance manual,” a
contractor cannot “be held liable for deficiencies in the
contents” of the manual. Jd. at 604; see 897 F.2d at 633
(“Nicholson v. United Technologies Corp. is not to the
contrary”). Accordingly, in Oliver v. Oshkosh Truck Corp.,
96 F.3d at 1004 n.8, the Seventh Circuit correctly questioned
whether the Second Circuit “necessarily states a more
stringent standard than the one employed by the Sixth
Circuit.”

e. In contrast to the prevailing view in the federal
courts, some state courts of last resort have held that the
government contractor defense does not apply to failure-to-
warn claims unless the specifications expressly prohibit the
contractor from adding a warning required by state law. See
Miller v. United Technologies Corp., 660 A.2d 810, 836
(Conn. 1995) (“the government contractor defense applies
only if the government dictated with reasonable precision the

ee

content of the initial warnings included in the operational or
maintenance manuals and limited or precluded the
contractor from advising the user of additional information
or revisions”) (emphasis added); Timberline Air Serv., Inc. v.
Bell Helicopter-Textron, Inc., 884 P.2d 920, 930-31 (Wash.
1994) (rejecting argument that “compliance with design
specifications in accord with Boyle gives rise to the common
law defense as to any failure-to-warn claim,” and holding
that “the defense applies in the case of a failure-to-warn
claim only if there are precise government specifications
pertaining to warnings”). See also Feldman v. Kohler Co.,
918 S.W.2d 615, 627 (Tex. Ct. App. 1996) (finding no
“significant conflict between Texas’ failure to warn tort law,
and the requirements imposed by the government” contract
because “there is no showing that warnings of a particular
sort were either required or prohibited”); Jackson v. Deft,
Inc., 273 Cal. Rptr. 214, 221 (Ct. App. 1990) (holding that
the “evidence did not establish as a matter of law the
necessary significant conflict between federal contracting
requirements and state law” because although “certain
warnings were required by the military specifications, ... the
specifications [did not] place[] any limitation on additional
information from the manufacturers to users of their
products”), review denied, 1990 Cal. LEXIS 5536 (Cal. Dec.
12, 1990).

f. These varying standards for application of the
government contractor defense pose important and practical
dilemmas that require resolution by this Court. — First,
imposition of state tort liability on government contractors
for failing to warn users of dangers inherent in military
equipment manufactured in accordance with government
specifications risks disrupting the Armed Forces. A
proliferation of multiple, inconsistent, state-mandated
warnings to members of the armed forces could contradict
the orders of military superiors. This is especially true

Se

where, as here, the state courts do not require a finding as to
what would constitute a sufficient warning, or a finding that
any warning would have been heeded given the Navy’s total
control over the work schedules and working conditions of
its personnel in wartime. App. 34a (“It wasn’t like a regular
job. It wasn’t a union.”). At the very least, such a
cacophony of cautionary warnings would be inimical to good
order and discipline. See Emory, 148 F.3d at 352 (“Indeed,
when the Navy possesses the same knowledge as its
contractor, a requirement that the contractor provide
additional warnings to individual pilots risks disruption of
the chain of command. A contractor cannot be forced to
provide warnings to officers that would contradict orders
received from their superiors.”). This Court has frequently
recognized the importance of discipline and _ instinctive
obedience in the military. For example, in Goldman v.
Weinberger, 475 U.S. 503, 506-07 (1986), the Court
observed that:

[W]e have repeatedly held that “the military
is, by necessity a specialized society separate
from civilian society.” ... “[The] military
must insist upon a respect for duty and a
discipline without counterpart in civilian life,”
... In order to prepare for and perform its vital
role.... The military need not encourage
debate or tolerate protest to the extent that
such tolerance is required of the civilian state
by the First Amendment; to accomplish its
mission the military must foster instinctive
obedience, unity, commitment, and esprit de
corps.... The essence of military service “is
the subordination of the desires and interests
of the individual to the needs of the service.”

(Citations omitted).

os

Finally, this case provides an opportunity to address
fundamental issues of federalism in a critical national
context. A telling reflection of the centrality of such issues to
our constitutional framework is this Court’s growing docket
of Supremacy Clause preemption cases.) Granting review in
this case would add a dimension to the Court’s current
consideration of federalism issues and allow the Court to
speak in a broader context than the cases currently pending.

5 The currently pending preemption cases in which this
Court has granted review are: Natsios v. National Foreign
Trade Council, No. 99-474 (whether Massachusetts law
preventing state agencies from contracting with companies
that do business in Myanmar is preempted by foreign affairs
power of the national government); Norfolk Southern
Railway v. Shanklin, No. 99-312 (whether state law claims of
negligence based on inadequate warning devices at railway
grade crossing are preempted where warning devices at
crossing were installed with federal funds under a project
approved by the federal government), Geier v. American
Honda Motor Co., Inc., No. 98-1811 (whether state common
law claims that an automobile was defectively designed
because it lacked airbags are preempted where automobile
manufacturer complied with federal motor vehicle safety
standards that permit, but do not require, installation of
airbags in passenger vehicles); International Ass'n of
Independent Tanker Owners (INTERTANKQO) v. Locke, No.
98-1706 (whether Washington law __ prescribing
comprehensive standards for oil tankers is preempted by
federal statutes, regulations, and international treaty
commitments that prescribe different standards and
requirements governing the same subject matters), United
States v. Locke, No. 98-1701 (same).

-23-
2 CONCLUSION
| The petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted.

JERROLD J. GANZFRIED
Counsel of Record
KAREN L. MANOS
ALEXANDER B. BERGER
HOWREY & SIMON
1299 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20004
(202) 783-0800

FRANK H. GRIFFIN III
PHILIP W. VOGLER
GOLLATZ GRIFFIN
& EWING, P.C.

16th Floor

Two Penn Center Plaza
Philadelphia, PA 19102
(215) 563-9400

Counsel for Petitioner
Worthington Corporation

December 1999

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A

Decision and Order of the Supreme Court of the State
of New York, Appellate Division, First Department,

dated December 29, 1998

Lerner, P.J., Wallach, Tom, Andras, JJ.

3219-
3220-
3221-
3222-
3223

In re: New York City Asbestos Litigation

Elaine Ronsini, etc.,
Plaintiff-Respondent-Appellant,
Alani Golanski

-against-

Garlock, Inc., et al.,
Defendants,

-and-

Worthington Corporation, et al.,
Defendants-Appellants-Respondents,
Jerrold J. Ganzfried
Roger P. McTiernan

Argentina Cardinal, etc.,
Plaintiff-Respondent-Appellant,
Alani Golanski

-against-

2a

Garlock, Inc., et al.,
Defendants,

John Crane, Inc.,
Defendant-Appellant-Respondent,
William E. Fay, III

Judgments, Supreme Court, New York County (Karla
Moskowitz, J.), entered September 8, 1997, to the extent
appealed from, awarding the Ronsini plaintiff damages
against Worthington Corporation and Atlas Turner, Inc., and
awarding the Cardinal plaintiff damages against John Crane,
Inc., and bringing up for review three separate orders, same
court and Justice, entered on or about June 4, 1997, which,
inter alia, denied defendants’ motions to dismiss the
complaints or, in the alternative, to set aside the verdicts and
direct a new trial, unanimously affirmed, without costs.
Appeals from the aforesaid orders unanimously dismissed,
without costs, as subsumed in the appeals from the
judgments. Plaintiffs’ appeals, unanimously dismissed,
without costs, as abandoned.

In these consolidated actions to recover for
mesothelioma caused by exposure to asbestos, viewing the
evidence in the light most favorable to the prevailing
plaintiffs (Elkins v Ferencz, _ AD2d___, 677 NYS2d 342),
we find that the evidence was sufficient for the jury to
identify that defendant Worthington’s product contained
asbestos components that caused Mr. Ronsini’s injury. There
was evidence that the specifications for the Worthington
component required that it supply enough replacement parts
for there to be Worthington components still in use at the
time of Mr. Ronsini’s exposure, and it was reasonable to
infer that such parts had in fact been supplied and used. It is
therefore unnecessary to reach this defendant’s argument that
it is not responsible for replacement parts manufactured or
supplied by others. Nor was the jury’s determination against

3a

the weight of the evidence (Lolik v Big V_ Supermarket, 86
NY2d 744, 746).

In the absence of any evidence of a conflict between
State warning requirements and any Federal prescription of
label information or proscription of a warning, there was no
basis for Worthington’s requested government contractor

defense charge (see, In re “Agent Orange” Producer Liability
Litigation, 996 F2d 1425, 1436, cert denied 510 US 1140:

Russek v Unisys Corp., 921 F. Supp 1277, 1292). Nor did
this defendant carry its heavy burden of showing that the

Navy’s failure to warn Mr. Ronsini was so extraordinary and
unforeseeable that it broke the chain of proximate causation

(see, Pagowski v Martinez, 197 AD2d 400).

The determination that Atlas Turner components
contributed to Mr. Ronsini’s injury was based upon sufficient
evidence and a fair interpretation of the evidence. In addition
to Mr. Ronsini’s testimony that he saw a 50-60 pound bag
with the name “Atlas”, he testified that Atlas’s cement
insulation was the only such product that he remembers
being used on board the ship where he worked and another
seaman testified to similar effect, thus distinguishing the
instant situation from those in which the person identifying
the product did not see an open bag of the subject product or
know that its contents had actually been used (cf., Cawein v
The Flintkote Co., 203 AD2d 105; Diel v The Flintkote Co.,

204 AD2d 53; see also, In re New York Asbestos Litigation,
212 AD2d 463). Assuming arguendo that the trial court

erroneously excluded evidence tending to show the existence
of similarly-named entities that may have produced asbestos
components, any such error did not influence the verdict
because this evidence would have been cumulative of
testimony that Atlas Turner did not sell its insulting cement
in this country and was prohibited by statute from doing so.

4a

The jury determination that asbestos particles were
released by Mr. Cardinal’s work as a pipefitter also had a
rational basis and was not against the weight of the evidence,
inasmuch as the jury merely acted within its province in
resolving conflicting testimony on this issue.

Admission of the testimony of the late-noticed expert
witnesses was not an improvident exercise of discretion in
view of the failure to show that the failure to identify them
was either willful or prejudicial (Flour City Architectural
Metals v Sky-Lift Corp., 242 AD2d 471). Nor was there any
error in preclusion of the settling defendants’ interrogatories

(see, State Univ Constr, Fund v Kipphut & Neuman Co. , 159
AD2d-1003).

The claimed verdict sheet error is unpreserved
(Vavosa v Stiles, 220 AD2d 363, 364), and there was no
evidence that the jury was confused by the charge on
proximate cause (cf. Aragon v A & L Refrig. Corp. , 209
AD2d 268), which we find to have been adequate. The
comments by plaintiff's counsel now complained of were
either the subject of prompt and appropriate curative
instructions (see, Mena _v New York City Tr. Auth., 238
AD2d 159, 160) or unpreserved (see, Figueroa vy Maternity
Infant_Care Family Planning Project, 243 AD2d 424, ly
denied 91 NY2d 807).

As to the challenge of defendant John Crane, Inc. to
the apportionment of 30% liability against it, this defendant
has not carried its burden of demonstrating the amounts of
the equitable shares attributable to the settling defendants
(see, Bigelow v Acands, Inc., 196 AD2d 436; Zalinka v

, 221 AD2d 830, 831), and

5a

deviate from what is reasonable compensation under the
circumstances.

We have considered defendants’ other contentions
and find them to be unavailing.

THIS CONSTITUTES THE DECISION AND
ORDER OF THE SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE
DIVISION, FIRST DEPARTMENT.

ENTERED: DECEMBER 29, 1998

/s/ Catherine O. Wolfe
CLERK

6a
APPENDIX B

Decision and Order of the Supreme Court of New
York, dated May 20, 1997

SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK

COUNTY OF NEW YORK : IAS PART 26

IN RE: NEW YORK ASBESTOS LITIGATION

FRANK RONSINI,

Index No. 108809/96

Plaintiff,
~against-
GARLOCK, ET AL. DECISION AND ORDER
Defendant.

MOSKOWITZ, KARLA, J.S.C.

”

In this group of mesothalioma “extremis” Cases,
defendant Worthington moves, after phase I and phase II
trials, pursuant to CPLR 4404, for renewal of its trial motions
for dismissal, to set aside the verdict as against the weight of
the evidence, in the interests of justice and, alternatively, for

7a

a new trial on all grounds and to vacate the phase | damages
award of the trial as grossly excessive.

The jury reached a verdict in phase I on December 5,
1996 and in phase II on December 26, 1996.

Courts are reluctant to interfere with jury verdicts
unless damages are clearly excessive or a verdict is not
supported by the evidence.

Here, Worthington’s primary argument is_ that
plaintiff failed to prove that any asbestos supplied by
Worthington was inhaled by Mr. Ronsini. Worthington’s
attorneys argued vigorously on this issue as well as the others
now raised during trial and | find no reason to change the
rulings I made then. The primary issue was left for the trier
of fact. The jury unanimously found for the plaintiff and had
sufficient competent evidence before it that plaintiff Frank
Ronsini was occupationally exposed to defendant
Worthington’s products; that its asbestos-containing products
were defective and they were a proximate cause of Mr.
Ronsini’s injuries. The jury thus credited Frank Ronsini’s
testimony that he was the only one who could work the
Worthington air compressor and how the pumps and gaskets
needed removing, scraping and chipping and the dust created.

I believe that I did not commit any error in excluding
or including evidence, expert or other, or in charging the
jury. The issues Worthington raises, including the “Navy”
defense, require no further discussion except for the jury’s
finding of recklessness.

The New York State Court of Appeals has just
handed down a decision affirming lower courts’ decisions
setting aside juries’ findings of reckless disregard for
workers’ safety and assessments of punitive damages. In the
M ‘New York City As tie - lia Mal

Sa

Westinghouse Elec. Corp.; (and another action), __ NY2d

__, NYLJ, Feb. 13, 1997, at 27, col 4. In affirming, the
Court defined the level of conduct required to support a
finding of recklessness or of gross negligence: “*The actor
has intentionally done an act of an unreasonable character in
disregard of a known or obvious risk that was so great as to
make it highly probable that harm would follow’ and has
done so with conscious indifference to the outcome” (Inre
N.Y.C. Asbestos Litig., supra). The Court applied that
standard and found the evidence insufficient, at most
revealing “Westinghouse’s general awareness that exposure
to high concentrations of asbestos over long periods of time
could cause injury, but not that workers such as Maltase or
Stallone were at risk at any time it could have warned them.”

Id.

In this action, although plaintiff introduced evidence
of Worthington’s involvement in the heating and ventilation
industry and placement of ads in the industry’s magazine at
the relevant time period, that is too circumstantial to support
a finding of recklessness. There is no evidence in the record
that Worthington knew of the risk of the asbestos containing
product the jury found that Frank Ronsini used to workers
like him so that Worthington “could have warmed him.”
Therefore, the jury’s finding of recklessness is set aside as
speculative.

Defendant Worthington also moves to reduce the
jury’s 11% apportionment against Worthington in phase II.
While various arguments are made about Ronsini’s exposure
to Worthington’s product as opposed to similar products,
plaintiff placed sufficient evidence before the jury for it to
conclude, as it did, that 11% was the appropriate percentage
of contribution. Thus, I decline to disturb the percentage.

e
i
<2
2
3
?

9a

Defendant Worthington questions its responsibility
for the bankrupt shares. The issue of what, if any,
responsibility the non-settling defendants bear for the
bankrupts — Manville and GAF — is controlled by the
decision in In re Brooklyn Navy Yard Asbestos Litig., 971
F2d 831 (2nd Cir. 1992), Article 16 of the CPLR and GOL §
15-108.

if the jury’s finding of recklessness had stood,
defendant Atlas Turner would have been liable for those
shares. CPLR 1602(7).

Because I have set aside the jury’s finding of
recklessness, CPLR 1602(7) precludes joint and several
liability for non-economic loss.

However, CPLR 1601(1) states the following as
relevant:

“Limited liability of persons jointly liable

1. Notwithstanding any other
provision of law, when a verdict or decision
in an action or claim for personal injury 1s
determined in favor of a claimant in an action
involving two or more tortfeasors jointly
liable or in a claim against the state and the
liability of a defendant is found to be fifty
percent or less of the total liability assigned
to all persons liable, the liability of such
defendant to the claimant for non-economic
loss shall not exceed that defendant’s
equitable share determined in accordance
with the relative culpability of each person
causing or contributing to the total liability

for non-economic loss; provided, however

ion (or in a claim against
the state, in a court of this state).

2. Nothing in this section shall be
construed to affect or impair any right of a
tortfeasor under section 15-108 of the general
obligations law.” {Underlining added].

Decisional law places a bankrupt party within this
definition because, “although it [a bankrupt] is subject to
suits, the automatic stay precludes processing a claim against
[it}” (In_re Brooklyn Navy Yard Asbestos Litig., supra, at
846. Thus, the total shares of fault the jury attributed to the
bankrupts — Manville and GAF - cannot be subtracted from
the total liability in determining the equitable shares for non-
economic loss of non-settling defendants Atlas Turner and
Worthington.

Atlas Turner also moves to reduce the jury’s verdict
in phase I as excessive. The jury awarded four million
dollars ($4,000,000) for pain and suffering to date and two
million, five hundred thousand dollars ($2,500,000) for six
months of future pain and suffering. The jury also calculated
future lost earnings over 23 years at two million dollars
($2,000,000).

Atlas Turner contends that one million, two hundred
thousand dollars ($1,200,000) for past and three hundred
thousand ($300,000) for future pain and suffering are
adequate.

I have reduced awards in other mesothelioma actions
and do so here so that the verdict is consistent with other

4
ee
2a
a
ey
ee
iP
aad
=
oe
ba
:
'
We
a
a
oe
a
Bi
fe
%
E24
ad
ay
rey:
a
Z
A
4
a”
+
=
=

lla

decisions in this jurisdiction. Thus, the award for past pain
and suffering is reduced from four million dollars
($4,000,000) to three million, five hundred thousand dollars
($3,500,000) and for future pain and suffering from two
million, five hundred thousand dollars ($2,500,000) to one
million, five hundred thousand dollars ($1,500,000). Thus,
Frank Ronsini is relatively young (46 years), was in
otherwise excellent health, had strong employment prospects
and a previous vigorous lifestyle. Mr. Ronsini’s testimony
(by videotape) showed a strong, articulate man who was fully
aware of what he had already been through and would have
to endure in the future. He had symptoms of the disease
beginning in November, 1994. By the time of trial, he had
fought the disease for more than two years, a relatively long
time, and undergone several procedures. The jury had ample
basis to make its awards, as reduced. The awards deviate
from reasonable compensation only to the extent found. The
awards, as reduced, for pain and suffering do not materially
deviate from reasonable compensation for this disease for
this length of time for such a relatively young man. In
addition, there was support in the record for the award of
future lost wages based on Dr. Tinari’s evaluation.

I have considered the remainder of Atlas Turner’s
contentions and they are denied.

To summarize, defendant’s motion is granted to the
extent of striking the jury’s finding of recklessness in phase
II. The damages in phase I are reduced as directed and the
motion is otherwise denied. The parties are directed to serve
and submit any proposed judgments to Part 26 by June 20,
1997 and counter judgments by June 27, 1997. Attorneys are
to appear in IA Part 26 for a hearing on any contested issues
concerning the molding of the judgment on July 10, 1997 at
2:00 PM.

The foregoing is the order of the Court.

12a
Copies to all counsel before filing and entry.

Dated: 5/20/97

/s/ Karla Moskowitz

KARLA MOSKOWITZ, J.S.C.

Sh i eS oth a aS Sale a dl Sa

13a

APPENDIX C

Verdict Sheet, Supreme Court of the State of New York

[reprinted in CA App. 746-753]

A 746
Exhibit C, Ronsini Damages Verdict Sheet
(pages A746 through A747)

Justice Karla Moskowitz December, 1996
IAS Part 26

FRANK RONSINI CASE, INDEX WO. 108809/96
Questions for the Jury

$. State the amount, if any, awarded to FRANK RONSINI for pain
and suffering up to the date of your verdict.

$ =A G0 ,00 2

Dissenting Juror (if any)

2. State the asount, if any, awarded to FRANK RONSINI for future

pain and suffering.
+3, S00, 090
over _E_ months

Dissenting Juror (if any) L KE

3. Set forth the amount awarded for lost earnings up to the date
of your verdict.

Dissenting Juror (if any) pean cc

4. Set forth the amount awarded for future lost earnings from the
date of your verdict until he could be expected to stop

working.
OOY

over years

aa

Dissenting Juror (if any)

sed medical and

Ss. Set forth the armount avarded for past unreiabur
ancillary expenses.
s_ AS vve
en,
Dissenting Juror (if any)
Notify Court Officer you have reached a verdict.
Jurors Signatures:
Juror 1 Juror 2
Juror 3 Juror 4
Juror 5 Juror 6
«wed! coun: ga ®

pence RRRANOHNAT NE

SA Sn ic RA Aa a ae re ak RR Sa

SAAR LR LONG BAERS ILLIA DIRE AEE EN EHR IIE

lSa

A 748
Exhibit D, Ronsini Liability Verdict Sheet
(pages A748 through A753)

Justice Karla Moskowitz (~~ Gi) @® December, 1996

IAS Part 26
FRANK ROMSINI CASE, INDEX WO. 108809/96

Questions for the Jury

la. Was FRANK RONSINI occupationally exposed to any asbestos-~
containing products manufactured, distributed or sold by Atlas
Turner Inc.?

Yes No

Dissenting Serer (if any) Mont

If your answer is "No", skip to 2a.

1b. If you answered “YZS", vere the asbestos-containing products
of Atlas Turner Inc. defective because of lack of warnings?

Yes / Ko.

Dissenting Juror (if any) __#27¢

If your answer is “No", skip to 2a.

lc. If you answered "YES", were Atlas Turner Inc.’s asbestos-
containing defective products a proximate cause of FRANK
RONSINI’s injuries?

Yes / No

Dissenting Juror (if any) Node

. Answer the next question.

2a. Was FRANK RONSINI occupationally exposed to any asbestos~
containing products manufactured, distributed or sold by
Worthington Corporation?

Yes Jv No

Dissenting Juror (if any) Now

If your answer is "Wo", and answered "WO" to either
la, ib or lc, go no further.

16a

A 749

2b. If you answered *YES" to 2a., were the asbestos-containing
products of Worthington Corporation defective because of lack
of warnings? .

Yes er

Dissenting Juror (if any) Nowe
If your answer is "No", and answered "NO" to either
la, 1b or 1c, go no further.

2c. If you answered "YES" to 2b., was the failure to warn by
Worthington -Corporation‘s asbestos-containing defective
products a proximate cause of FRANK RONSINI’s injuries?

Yes f No

Dissenting Juror (if any) Hel
If your answer is "No", and answered "NO" to either
la, ib or lc, go no further.

3. If you answered "YES", was FRANK RONSINI exposed to any
asbestos-containing products manufactured, distributed or sold
by any of the following companies? '

If your ansver is "yes", check Box 3a- next to company
name below.
Dissenting Juror (if any)
3b. 3c.
Company

Eagle Pitcher

R. K. Porter

Johns Manville Corp.
Keasbey & Mattison
Keene Corp.

Nicolet Industries Inc.

philip Carey Mfg. Co.

Unarco Industries

RL

nN
tien

ieee

|.

17a

A 750

3b. For each ys as to which you checked off Box 3a. above in
ansver to Question 3, were the asbestos-containing products of
the company defective because of lack of warnings?

If your answer is "Yes", check Box 3b. next to company
name above.

Dissenting Juror (if any) Z aft

3c. For each company as to which you checked off Box 3a. and 3b.
in answer to Questions 3a. and 3b., was the company‘s
asbestos-containing defective products @ proximate cause of
injury to FRANK RONSINI?

If your answer is "Yes", check Box 3c. next to company
name above.

Dissenting Juror (if any) pot

4. If you answered "YES", was FRANK RONSINI exposed to any
asbestos-containing products manufactured, distributed or sold
by any of the following companies?

If your answer is "Yes", check Box 4a. next to company
name belov.

Dissenting Juror (if any) pers

4a. 4b. 4c.
Failure Proxcimate
Company Exposed to Warn cause
Armstrong Cork & Seal Co.Inc. Pav kom oe AE Ye
Detroit Diesel Corporation / J J
General Motors Corporation pe eae a ——
Fiberboard Corporation if aioe ne ee it
GAF Corporation / Ruberoid / / ae
Garlock, Inc. / / :, ean
General Electric Co. / ae mY aa
IMO Industries, Inc.
Delaval ' ae a ae is

A 751
Ingersoll] Rand Company J edn
Owens-Corning Fiberglass Corp. J oe
Pittsburgh Corning Corp. / J

(Onibestos)
Raybestos Manhattan Inc.
The Anchor Packing Co.

Volkswagen of Ametica Inc. /
Volkswagen AG

4b.

4c.

nN
—

n—
nN

Meh HS

>

For each company as to which you checked off Box 44. above in
ansver to Question 4, vere the asbestos-containing s of
the company defective because of leck of warnings

If your answer is “yee", check Box 4b. next to company
name above.

Dissenting Juror (if any) per

For each company as to which you checked off Box 4a. and 4b.
in answer to Questions 4a. and 4b., was the company’s
asbestos-containing defective products a proximate cause of
injury to FRANK RONSINI?

If your anever ie "Yee", check Box 4c. next to company
name above.

Dissenting Juror (if any) hale

For defendant Atlas Turner Inc., Worthington Corporation and
for each of the companies for which you checked all three
boxes in answer to Questions J4., 3b., 3c., 48., 4D. and 4c.,
atate the percentage of responsibility that that company bears
tor FRANK RONSINI‘s injury. The percentages sust total 100%.

Company Percentags
Atlas Turner Inc. aan a
Worthington Corporation i :
Arastrong Cork & Seal Co.Inc. 35 Xv
Detroit Diesel Corporation / 5

General Motors Corporation a

Gyre > >

EPO Dg Gee

Va veg

PO Py res f Tt Fe

sab AO the Solan

wag any Ai

Delt, idk ee

‘

Eagle Pitcher

Fiberboard Corporation
GAF Corporation / Ruberoid
Garlock, Inc.

Genera) Electric Co.
Gould Fumps Inc.

u@. K. Porter

IMO Industries, Inc. /
Delaval

Ingersoll Rand Company

Johns Manville Corp.

Keasbey & Mattison

Keene Corp.

Wicolet Industries Inc.
Owens-Corning Fiberglass Corp.
Philip Carey Mfg. Co.

pittsburgh Ccrning Corp.
(Unibestos)

Raybestos Manhattan Inc.
The Anchor Packing Co.
Unarco Industries

Volkswagen of America Inc. /
Volkswagen AG

TOTAL:

Dissenting Juror (if any) __sle*

’
v.5 &
3 ‘
5 t
_ «
| or
at.
> aor
e. aee
4 t
© :
3 :
ee | %
4 :
3 a
‘vee
4 :
ul :
Be s
< a
200, *

Was the conduct of Atlas Turner Inc. reckless with respect to

the wisias oF warn?

Yes No

Dissenting Juror (if any) Pkaa c

ae Nn

20a

A %53
9 Was the conduct of Worthington Corporation reckless with
respect to the failure to warn?
Yes RE ee
Dissenting Juror (if any) jrdb
Notify Court Officer you have reached @ verdict.
Jurors Signatures:
Juror 1 Juror 2
Juror 3 4 Juror 4
Juror 5 Juror 6
a
6

SFE a, Nace Le

SSA ii EAR eR et AE

2la

APPENDIX D
Judgment of the Supreme Court of New York, dated
September 8, 1997
SUPREME COURT OF THE
STATE OF NEW YORK
COUNTY OF NEW YORK
ee PIS Fe errr et TT ee xX
IN RE: NEW YORK CITY ASBESTOS
LITIGATION
educdedddds sand sedeebudetaudq xX
THIS DOCUMENT RELATES TO
Index No.: 108809-96
ELAINE RONSINI. Executrix of the
Estate of FRANK RONSINI.
Assigned To Hon.
Plaintiff, Karla Moskowitz
-against- JUDGMENT
GARLOCK, INC., H&A

CONSTRUCTION; ASBESTOSPRAY
CORP; ROBERT A. KEASBEY CO.;
COMBUSTION ENGINEERING, INC.,
U.S. MINERAL PRODUCTS, CO.;
OWENS-CORNING FIBERGLAS, CORP;
ROCKWOOL MANUFACTURING CO.;
THE ANCHOR PACKING COMPANY;
FOSTER WHEELER ENERGY CORP.;
PITTSBURGH-CORNING CORP.;
RAPID-AMERICAN CORPORATION as
successor-in-interest to Phillip Carey
Manufacturing Corp.; JOHN CRANE, INC.;
A.W. CHESTERTON CO., INC.; ATLAS
TURNER, INC.; ALLIED CORPORATION
as Successor in-interest to The Bendix

Corporation; WESTINGHOUSE
ELECTRIC CORPORATION;
WESTINGHOUSE ELECTRIC

CORPORATION; WORTHINGTON

22a

CORPORATION; RUTLAND FIRE CLAY
COMPANY db/a_ Rutland Products;
GENERAL ELECTRIC COMPANY;
UNIROYAL, INC., IMO {NDUSTRIES,
INC. as successor to and formally known as
Delaval Turbine, Transamerica Delaval and
IMO Delaval; YORK INDUSTRIES
CORPORATION, STANDARD
INSULATION COMPANY; CROWN
CORK & SEAL CO., INC.; INGERSOLL-
RAND COMPANY; GOULD PUMPS,
INC.; QUAKER CHEMICAL

| CORPORATION; SELBY BATTERSBY &

| COMPANY: GENERAL MOTORS
CORPORATION; DETROIT DIESEL
CORP. as successor to Detroit Diesel
Allison Division of General Motors;
VOLKSWAGEN OF AMERICA, INC.,
Www VENTURE CORPORATION,
formerly known as or as successor to
WORLD WIDE VOLKSWAGEN
CORPORATION; VOLKSWAGEN WERK
AKTIENGESELLSCHAFT, RAYMARK
INDUSTRIES, INC.

PITTSBURGH CORNING INDEX NO. 591585
CORPORATION,

Third-Party Plannff,
-against-

AP GREEN INDUSTRIES, INC., ABEX
CORPORATION; ARMSTRONG WORLD
INDUSTRIES, INC., GAF CORPORATION,
GENERAL REFRACTORIES COMPANY,
INC.,; HARBISON WALKER
REFRACTORIES, NORTH AMERICAN
REFRACTORIES COMPANY; PLIBRICO
SALES & SERVICE COMPANY, UNITED
STATES GYPSUM CO., VOLKSWAGEN
OF AMERICA, INC.; THOMAS

PE rT ea
x

23a

O'CONNOR & COMPANY, _ INC;
AMERICAN PREMIER, INC.,

Third-Party Defendants.

RAPID AMERICAN CORPORATION, INDEX'NO. 591496
Third-Party Plaintiff,
-against-
RAYMARK INDUSTRIES, INC.,
Third-Party Defendants.
OWENS CORNING CORPORATION, «INDEX NO. 591585

Third-Party Defendants.
-against-

ARMSTRONG WORLD INDUSTRIES,
é INC., formerly Armstrong Cork Company
e and Armstrong Contracting and Supply;
: TURNER & NEWALL, INC., individually
: and as successor to Turner & Newall PLC,
and as alter ego of Keasbey & Mattison
s Company and Bel Asbestos Mines, Ltd.,
i GAF CORPORATION, individually and as
successor tot he Ruberoid Co. and Vermont
Asbestos Corporation, BENJAMIN
FOSTER, INC.; EASTERN
REFRACTORIES, INC., and RAYMARK
INDUSTRIES, INC., individually and as
successor to Raybestos Manhattan, Inc.,

Third-Party Defendants.

WHEREAS, plaintiff Frank Ronsini, having settled
and discontinued this personal injury action against A.W.
Chesterton, Foster Wheeler Corporation, Garlock, Inc., The
Anchor Packing Company, Combustion Engineering, Inc.,

24a

IMO Industries, Inc., General Electric Corporation, Ingersoll-
Rand Company, Crown Cork & Seal Co., Inc., Rapid
American Corporation, Gould Pumos, Inc., Pittsburgh
Corning Corp., Allied Signal Corporation, Uniroyal, Inc.,
General Motors Corp. (for Detroit Diesel Corp.). Owens-
Coming Fiberglas Corp., Volkswagen of America, Inc.,
W.W. Venture Corp., and Volkswagen Werk Aktien-
Gesellschaft:

AND, the action against the defendant, Rockwool
Manufacturing Co. and Standard Insulation Co. having been
stayed due to said defendants’ bankruptcy:

AND, the Court having dismissed plaintiff's action
against Selby Battersby & Company, Quaker Chemical
Corporation, Westinghouse Electric Corporation, and John
Crane, Inc., Rutland Fire & Clay Company, and York
Industries Corporation:

AND, a Stipulation of Dismissal having been filed in
plaintiff's action against H&A Construction, Asbestospray
Corp., Robert A. Keasbey Co., U.S. Mineral Products Co.,
and Empire Ace Insulation Co.;

AND, the trial of this action having proceeded against
ATLAS TURNER INC., and WORTHINGTON
CORPORATION;

AND, the issues in the above entitled action having
duly come on for trial before the Hon. Karla Moskowitz, a
Justice of this Court, and a jury, at a Special Term, Part 26 of
this Court held at the courthouse thereof, located at 60 Centre
Street on or about the 12th day of November, 1996, the
plaintiff, FRANK RONSINI, having duly appeared by his
attorneys, Levy, Phillips & Konigsberg, L.L.P., and the
defendant Atlas Turner, Inc., by its attorneys Barry,
McTiernan & Moore, and the defendant Worthington

25a

Corporation by its attorneys Costello. Shea & Gaffney and
the issues having been duly tried and the jury on the 25th day
of December, 1996 having found defendants ATLAS
TURNER, INC. and WORTHINGTON CORPORATION,
jointly and severally liable for compensatory damages and
having rendered a compensatory damage award in favor of
the plaintiff in the sum of Eight Million Eight Hundred Five
Thousand One Hundred Eighty Two ($8,805,182) Dollars
against defendants ATLAS TURNER INC. and
WORTHINGTON CORPORATION and the jury having
apportioned the equitable share of the damages pursuant to
the General Obligations Law § 15-108, as set forth in the
Special Verdict Form;

AND, upon consideration of motions by the parties,
the Court issued a Decision and Order dated May 20, 1997
reducing the past and future pain and suffering amounts to
$3,500,000 (from $4,000,000) and $1,500,000 (from
$2,500,000) respectively and further striking the jury’s
finding of recklessness, thus yielding a total reduced verdict
of $7,305,182;

IT IS NOW, ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND
DECREED that the Judgment rendered in this action dated
August 15, 1997 is hereby withdrawn and rescinded:

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND
DECREED that all claims against all defendants, third-party
defendants and other like parties except defendants
Worthington Corporation and Atlas Turner, Inc. are hereby
severed;

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND
DECREED that plaintiff, Elaine Ronsini, as Executrix for
the Estate of Frank Ronsini, residing at 9 Chestnut Street,
Cornwall, New York 12518, has judgment severally against
defendant Worthington Corporation (2001 Ross Avenue, -

26a

Dallas Texas 75201) only for non-economic damages in the
lump sum of Seven Hundred Forty-Eight Thousand
($748,000) Dollars, plus post-verdict interest as accumulated
from December 26, 1996 to entry of judgment in accordance
with C.P.L.R. §5002, 5004 in- the sum of

BE Dollars,
making in all the sum of $785,145.88 ( _) Dollars that
the plaintiff has execution severally against defendant
Worthington Corporation thereof and:

iT IS FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND
DECREED that plaintiff Elaine Ronsini, Executrix of the
Estate of Frank Ronsini, has judgment severally against
defendant Atlas Turner, Inc. (854 Boulevard, Quellet West,
Thetford Mines Quebec G6G785) only, for non-economic
damages in the lump sum of Eight Hundred Sixteen
Thousand Five Hundred ($816,500) Dollars, plus post verdict
interest which has accumulated from December 26, 1996 to
entry of Judgment in the sum of $40,547.62 (_____)
Dollars, making in all the sum of $857,047.62 (__ )
Dollars that the plaintiff has execution severally against
defendant Atlas Turner, Inc. thereof and;

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND
DECREED, that plaintiff Elaine Ronsini, Executrix of the
Estate of Frank Ronsini further has judgment against
defendants Atlas Turner, Inc. and Worthington Corporation
jointly and severally as follows:

a) Five Hundred Forty One Thousand Thirty-
Four ($541,034) Dollars in a lump sum plus post-verdict
interest accumulating from December 26, 1996 to entry of
judgment in accordance with C.P.L.R. § 5002, 5004, in the
sum of ($34,151.84) Dollars, plus costs and disbursements as
taxed in the sum of $4440.50 ( ) Dollars, plus post-
verdict interest on the present value of the annuity contract
($471,099) accumulating from December 16, 1996 to entry

27a

of judgment in accordance with C.P.L.R. § 5002, 5004, in the
sum of ($29,737.32) Dollars, making in all the sum of
$609,363.66 ( _) Dollars that the plaintiffs has
execution jointly and severally against defendants Atlas
Turner, Inc. and Worthington Corporation thereof,

b) Defendants (or their insurance carriers) are
directed to purchase an annuity contract — the present value
of which is deemed to be $471,099 (which will reflect the
provisions of C.P.L.R. § 5035 and a copy of which shall be
provided to plaintiff's attorney), issued by a qualified insurer,
approved and designated as qualified by New York’s
Superintendent of Insurance — to be approved by the Court,
which will provide for annual payments in equal monthly
installments, in advance to the plaintiff starting at $26,876
per year for 23 years, increased annually at 4% compounded
annually, and it is further.

Judgement signed this 8 day of Sept, 1997

/s/_ Karla Moskowitz
KARLA MOSKOWITZ, J.S.C.

/s/
CLERK

28a
APPENDIX E

Order of the Supreme Court of the State of New
York, Appellate Division, First Department, denying
Worthington Corporation’s Motion for Reargument

or Leave to Appeal, dated May 18, 1999

At a Term of the Appellate Division of the Supreme
Court held in and for the First Judicial Department in the
County of New York, on May 18, 1999

Present — Hon. Richard W. Wallach Justice Presiding
Alfred D. Lerner
Peter Tom
Richard T. Andrias _ Justices.

Inre: New York City Asbestos Litigation
Elaine Ronsini, etc.,
Plaintiff-Respondent-Appellant,

-against-

Garlock, Inc., et al.,
Defendants,

-and-

Worthington Corporation, et al., ;
Defendants-Appellants-Respondents,

Argentina Cardinal, etc.,
Plaintiff-Respondent-Appellant,

-against- Index #108440/96

Garlock, Inc., et al.,

29a
Defendants,

John Crane, Inc.,
Defendant-Appellant-Respondent.

Defendants-appellants, Worthington Corporation,
John Crane, and Atlas Turner, Inc., having separately moved
for reargument of, or in the alternative, for leave to appeal to
the Court of Appeals from, the decision and order of this
Court entered on December 29, 1998 [Appeal Nos. 3219-
3220-3221-3222-3223],

Now, upon reading and filing the papers with respect
to the motions, and due deliberation having been had thereon,

It is ordered that the motions be and the same hereby
are denied in their entirety.

ENTER:

/s/ Catherine O. Wolfe
Cler

30a

APPENDIX F

Decision of the State of New York Court of Appeals,
denying Worthington Corporation’s Motion for Leave
to Appeal to the Court of Appeals,
dated September 16, 1999

State of New York,
Court of Appeals

Ata session of the Court, held at Court of
Appeals Hall in the City of Albany

on the sixteenth day

of September 1999

Present, HON. JUDITH S. KAYE, Chief Judge, presiding.
1-10 Mo. No. 784

In the Matter of New York City

Asbestos Litigation

Elaine Ronsini, &c.,
Respondent,

Vv.
Garlock, Inc., et al.,
Defendants,
and Worthington Corporation,
Appellant,
and Atlas Turner, Inc.,
Respondent.

(And another action.)

A motion for leave to appeal to the Court of Appeals
in the above causes having heretofore been made upon the

3la

part of the appellant herein and papers having been submitted
thereon and due deliberation having been thereupon had, it is

ORDERED, that the said motion be and the same
hereby is denied with one hundred dollars costs and
necessary reproduction disbursements.

/s/ Stuart M. Cohen
Stuart M. Cohen
Clerk of the Court

32a

APPENDIX G

Provisions of the Constitution of
the United States of America

Article 1, Section 8, Clauses 1, 12-14:
The Congress shall have the Power...

To raise and support Armies, but no
Appropriation of Money to that Use shall be
for a longer Term than two Years;

To provide and maintain a Navy;

To make Rules for the Government and
Regulation of the land and naval Forces;

Article Il, Section 2, Clause 1:

The President shall be Commander in Chief of
the Army and navy of the United States...

Article VI, Clause 2:

This Constitution, and the Laws of the United
States which shall be made in Pursuance
thereof: and all Treaties made, or which shall
be made, under the Authority of the United
States, shall be the Supreme Law of the Land;
and the Judges in every State shall be bound
thereby; any Thing in the Constitution or
Laws of any State to the Contrary
notwithstanding.

eT eee eer

33a

APPENDIX H

Excerpts From the Trial Testimony of Frank Ronsini
(November 1, 1996) ,

[reprinted in Plaintiff's CA App. 157-159]

Q. Did there ever come a time when you were in
the engine room on either the Weeks or the Gearing where
you would actually try to get to a vent so that you could
breathe better?

A. Yes.
Q. Why was that, sir?
A. Because the temperature was so high.

Q. And did you ever try to get some fresh air and
just get out of the engine room; or you couldn’t do that?

A. I don’t think anybody ever ran out of the
engine room.

Q. Is that because you were assigned there by the
officer and you were expected to be below deck?

A. I would think so.

Q. Was there any kind of air conditioning on the
ship, because you mentioned that you did some work on air
conditioning?

A. Yes, there was.

34a

Q. Was that air conditioning in the engine room?

A. No.

Q. Where was the air conditioning that you
worked on?

A. Officers’ quarters.

Q. So the engine room was never air conditioned
on either ship?

A. No, sir.

Q. Now, the air conditioning work you did, did
that bring you into contact with any type of asbestos?

A. Not that I can remember.

Q. What about ducts or pipes, duct work, things
like that? Was that covered with any type of asbestos
material?

MR. BILLIG: Objection.

THE WITNESS: The ducting work, I don’t
remember; but I myself did not do work on the
ducting work.

BY MR. REICH:

Q. Did you ever complain to anyone in the Navy
about any of these dust conditions?

A. No.
Q. Any reason why?

A. It wasn’t like a regular job. It wasn’t a union.

ee ee a ne rome

35a

Q. Now, let me just go back for a moment. The
brake dust that, or the dust that you indicate came from the
brake jobs you did: Did you ever have that brake dust
analyzed?

Did you ever ask an expert or did your lawyer
to your knowledge ever have an expert speak to you about
what the dust was made of?

MR. KOMITOR: I’m going to object;
attorney-client privilege.

MR. REICH: | will rephrase to work product.

MR. KOMITOR: I will object to that
question.

BY MR. REICH:

Q. Did you ever personally come to have
knowledge as to what this dust was that you were exposed at
Xaviers consisted of?

A. Not personally, no.

Q. Did anyone who worked with you as a
mechanic ever tell you that they analyzed or had analyzed the
dust?

A. No.

at

Mora

APPENDIX I

Excerpts From the Trial Transcript (November-
December 1996)

jreprinted in Joint CA App. 743-747|

Castleman - Plaintiff - Cross/Garry

Q. And you've in fact testified as to the state of
knowledge of the United States government as to asbestos
diseases and the cause of asbestos disease, have you not?

A. Yes. | mean it’s a little vague to talk about
the United States Government. I mean obviously, the
Library of Congress had all the literature, but that doesn't
mean anybody in United States Government knew everything
in the Library of Congress.

Certainly you know, you testified as of 1919 the IS
Bureau of Labor Statistics, published a study that spoke to
the dangers of asbestos and the connection between asbestos
exposure and disease, correct?

A Yes.

Q. And the United States government
from time to time after 1918, published a variety of different
materials that demonstrated the knowledge of the United
States government through its various agencies as to the
dangers of asbestos and the connection between asbestos and
certain disease processes, correct?

A. Right.

37a

Q. And in addition to just the United States
government as an entity, through whatever agencics you've
devoted a section of your book to, the knowledge that the
United States Navy had with respect to the dangers of
asbestos and the association between asbestos and certain
disease processes, did you not?

A, Yes.

Q. And in fact, in the portion of your book
devoted to the United States Navy, you make reference to a
publication called Safety Review, occupational health
hazards derived -- I'm sorry Safety Review from 1947
volume 4, page 13, January 1947.

Do you recall that?
A. I hope I got the reference right. Yes, I recall

it.

Q. And in that particular publication in 1947, is it
not correct that the United States Navy, in it's own
publication, indicated that activities engaged in the handling
of asbestos installation and pipe covering should thoroughly
investigate the environmental conditions under which these
operations are performed, taking the necessary dust counts
and checking existing ventilation facilities to insure that the
hazard is being effectively and continuously controlled in
those instances where mechanical exhaust ventilation must
be supplemented by the wearing of personal protective
equipment.

Personnel exposed to such hazards should be
furnished the Navy half mask confirming to bureau ships, it
goes on to describe the particular personal mask or personal
respirator type equipment that the Navy recommended,
correct?

38a

A. I think so, yes. I haven’t looked at this in
awhile, but that sounds like what it would have conveyed.

THE COURT: There is a question about what
page this is from that you were reading from.

Counsel, what page are you reading from, for
the record, please, and has this document been marked for
identification?

MR. GARRY: I'll mark it, your Honor.

THE COURT: Deemed? Are you asking,
somebody? K? What are we up to.

MR. GARRY: I think we're up to J on ours.

THE COURT: Deemed J. Deemed.

What page is this.

MR. GARRY: 13 of the safety review, 1947,
published by the United States Department of the Navy.

Q. Correct?
A Yes.

Q. So I am correct, doctor, am | not, that the
United States Navy, as early as 1947, was aware of the
association between asbestos and disease and the need to
protect workers in the navy by the use of appropriate
ventilation systems, and where appropriate, respiration
devices and the appropriate checking of dust levels in the
naval work environment, correct?

A. Yes.

MR. GARRY: That's all I have.

39a
CROSS-EXAMINATION

BY MR. McTIERNAN:

Q. Doctor, in respect to your book, was your
book written before or after you got your doctorate?

A. It was the same as my doctoral thesis. It was
published a few months before the doctoral thesis was
accepted by the faculty committee.

Q. And you indicated to one lawyer that a group
of plaintiffs’ lawyers had in affect been supporting you for

the better part of four years while you were doing this work?

A. That’s your characterization.

{END OF EXCERPT]

40a

{reprinted in Joint CA App. 772-773}
Castleman - by Plaintiff - Recross/Garry
RECROSS-EXAMINATION
BY MR. GARRY:

Q. Dr. Castleman, the Fleischer article from 1943
that you mentioned --

MR. KOMITOR: Objection, your Honor,
beyond the scope of redirect.

THE COURT: Overruled.
That was a --

A what?

The Fleischer study from 1943?

Fleischer study? That was 1946.

eo + 2

I’m sorry, that was published by commission
of the United States Navy?

A. Right, but with the disclaimer that it did not
represent the opinion of the navy.

Q. But published by commission of the United
States Navy, correct?

A. _ Right.
[END OF EXCERPT]

* * *

4la

[reprinted in Joint CA App. 1118]
Proceedings
THE COURT: It is overruled.
MR. BLUTMAN: 130, 20 to 22. Your

Honor --

MR. KOMITOR: I will tell you, Judge, I’ve
told counsel that I am withdrawing my design defect
claim, they claim that I didn’t have one, so rather than
dispute about it, we only have going on failure to
warn.

I’ve withdrawn all the questions that we
talked about in terms of the kinds of substitutions,
what was available, I took out of Mr. Arsi’s
deposition.

This I want to keep in because it’s still
important to know if Mr. Arsi believes to this day
whether you even need to substitute asbestos. That’s
an important question.

That’s an important question --
THE COURT: I sustain the objection. Next.
MR. BLUTMAN: 204.

THE COURT: What line?
[END OF EXCERPT]

* * *

42a

|reprinted in Joint CA App. 1127-1133]
Reading EBT ~ Ronsini

"QO. Allright. Why don’t we go back then.
What do you recall? What type of equipment do you
recall being in the main engine room on the U.SS.
Weeks.

"A. Worthington.

"Q. Right now I am asking you for the
type of equipment, not the manufacturer. I will ask
you that next.

"A. Type of equipment?
"Q. Yes.

"A. Steam propulsion pumps, turbines, oil
separators, oil lubricators, haz mat pumps.

"Q. Can you spell that?

"A. No. Haz mat pumps. They are pumps
that produce fresh water for the ship.

"Q. Anything else.

"A. Generators, air compressors, oil
separators, steam pipes and valves. That’s about all I
can think of nght now.

"Q. Allright. Now, I am going to go back
over everything you just named and ask if you recall
the manufacturer. We will start with the steam
propulsion pumps.

43a
"A. Some of the steam propulsion pumps
were manufactured by Worthington, and I believe

some were produced by Goulds.

"Q. Do you recall the manufacturers of the
turbines.

"A. General Electric and Westinghouse.

"Q. Do you recall the manufacturer of the
oil separators.

"A. | On the steam propulsion pumps, the
name I recall was Worthington.

"Q. Is an oil separator the same as a steam
propulsion pump.

"A. Correct.

We go now to -- that ends at page 144, line
10.

We go to page 145, line 2.
"Q. Air compressors.

"A. Ingersoll Rand, Worthington.

{END OF EXCERPT]

44a

"A. Yes, sir.

much would that add up to.

on that?

company.

{reprinted in Joint CA App. 1142-1146]
Reading EBT - Ronsini

"Q. Okay. Now, was that a separate
turbine frorn the General Electric and Westinghouse
turbines that you mentioned on the ship.

"Q. Now you referred to a block material
on the Worthington air compressor. Shall we call it
air compressor/turbine, would that be fair.

"A. Sure.
"Q. Do you know who supplied the block.
“i No, sir.

"Q. If you added up all the time you were
involved in removing the asbestos containing block
from the Worthington air compressor/turbine, how

"A. | How much time | actually consumed

"Q. During your time on the Weeks.
"A. T would have to tell you without --
"Q. You can estimate.

"A. Well, that air compressor gave us the
most problems. I don’t know if you represent that

45a

"Q. ‘Take a wild guess, sir. Just take a wild
guess.

"A. Let me put it to you this way. I don’t
remember how many cylinders they had, but I
remember how many cylinders you had.
Unfortunately I was the only guy who knew how to
work on that thing. I spent quite a bit of time,
seriously, on the Worthington air compressor.

Plus, the Worthington air compressor, maybe
just to enlighten you, I don’t know if you know this,
and if I say this and I embarrass you I’m not trying to
do that, the Worthington air compressor was a much
more complicated air compressor, given the fact
that’s one of the reasons it broke down more.

And also, too, it was a very important air
compressor. It was an air compressor we used to get
our fishes off the tubes. It was a torpedo launcher, so
it was a very, very important. So we had to make
sure there wasn’t going to be any problems with it, so
I spent a lot of time on it.

"Q. Can you answer my question, though,
about the total amount of time you dealt only with the
block that you removed from that piece of
equipment?

"A. _ [really couldn’t answer that question.
"Q. Would it be a week, more than a week.

"A. _ I remember working on the
Worthington for two or three days in a row, tearing it
completely apart, for not the first or second time that
we had to do it.

46a

"Q. So two to three days would be a total
of how much time you spent with respect to the
block.

"A. Atone time, yes.

"Q. And on how many occasions would
you work on that.

"A. | tore that piece of equipment apart
probably three or four times.

Going onto -- that ends at page 166, line 16.
Going onto page 167, line 15.

"Q. Now, your duties specifically with
respect to the Worthington oil separators -- by the
way, was this a situation like the Ingersoll Rand
versus Worthington air compressors, they were in
different parts of the engine room or are the
DeLavalle and Worthington in the same place.

"A. We had three DeLavalle oi! separators.
One was in the main engine room, one was in the aft
engine room, and one was in the shaft alley of the
machine shop. That was for the diesels. | worked on
all three of them.

"“Q. And I’m sorry. Where were the
Worthington oil separators.

"A. Air compressors?

"Q. You mentioned Worthington as a
manufacturer of an oil separator earlier, is that
correct.

eS

47a
"A. Main and aft engine room.

"Q. So there were two Worthington oil
separators is that correct? I don’t want to
mischaracterize what you said.

"A. In each engine room there was a
duplicate of each pump, in each engine room, so if
you had one lubricator pump you had two. If you had
one condensation pump you had two. The aft engine
room had all the same pumps except for different
shafts.

[END OF EXCERPT]

ee I

48a

[reprinted in Joint CA App. 1799-1800]
Arsi - Defendant/Worthington - Direct/Garry

Q. Now, you mentioned the marine and Navy
department. Is there a separate department for sales to those
particular entities?

A. Yes. Both Worthington and Ingersoll-Rand
and currently Ingersol-Dresser Pump have always had special
departments to handle government and Navy sales because of
the advanced and complex technical nature of those
particular products to meet government's needs in the
contracts that they ask you to bid to.

Q. Is there something different about selling
pump equipment for use on naval vessels as opposed to sale
for other commercial purposes?

A. Yes. Naval vessels are governed by many
military specifications, many government standards. They
tend to be more complex than a standard commercial piece of
equipment, because the Navy and the government have
additional needs you don’t find in the commercial world,
such as a pump being especially reliable or shockproof for
war ships that may have to go to war, in harms way, so these
requirements usually require specialists to review those
documents and be sure you’re in compliance. If you’re not in
compliance your equipment wouldn’t be accepted and you
would not be able to supply it.

[END OF EXCERPT]

49a

[reprinted in Joint CA App. 1814-1815]

Arsi - Defendant/Worthington - Direct/Garry

Q. What portion of your search revealed records,
if any?

A. Both the two ships in question, which are the
Weeks and the gearing are part of a larger class, the DD692
class and we uncovered that Worthington did, if fact, supply
hundreds of pumps to the DD692 class during the war and
those pumps were intended to use on the Weeks and the
Gearing.

[END OF EXCERPT]

50a

|reprinted in Joint CA App. 1830-1835]

Arsi - By Defendant Worthington - Direct

MR. GARRY: DI.

THE COURT: DL The next one you are
showing the jury will be D2.

Q. Could you describe for the jury what this
drawing represents, Mr. Arsi?

A. This is a portion of a very, very long drawing
called a plan, which shows me the same cross-sectional
picture of the turbine driven main feed pump.

As you can see, it is much more complex than
the auxiliary condensate pump. This portion here is the
turbine, there is a single long shaft, this portion here is the
pump, and by the same analysis of identifying the piece parts
and getting the numbers, I can find the packing on the parts
lists, which is a further down portion of this same drawing.
This packing is number 249, this packing is number 250. |
can do the same --

MR. GARRY: I’m showing the jury D3.

A. I can do the same analysis on the list of
materials that was applicable to those pumps, and [ can come
down to 249, packing, 250 packing, six rings, plastic
metallic, and get the navy’s nomenclature, this is ND, Naval
Department specification, it gives a code.

Sla

I can go to those Naval Department
specifications, look up that code and determine exactly what
that has to be.

Q. So which particular piece of equipment was
this referable to, Mr. Arsi?

A. This long plan is representative of the turbine
driven main feed pump, and on it includes all the piece parts
for both the turbine and the pump, and it shows the gasket,
which is sheet asbestos, and the navy’s identifier, and it
shows the packing, which is plastic metallic, and the navy’s
identifier.

This is a portion of a very long drawing that’s
about 12 feet long.

Q. Is there anything we have not yet covered?
A. The main condensate pump.

Q. Okay. Could you explain to the jury what this
drawing represents and which components you are able to
determine were asbestos containing?

A. This is the assembly drawing for the main
condensate pump, which is the third and final service. It has
the pictorial representation of the pump.

I can find that the packing, in this case number
74, | come over to 74 and find packing ring, quantity, six
cotton case plastic metallic, Naval Department specification
33P25, symbol 1433, and a size.

I can also do it for any other piece parts, and
you'll see there is a gasket, 1/64th inch thick, one per pump,
it’s asbestos, and there is the Naval Department
specifications, 33P13, symbol 2150.

52a

Does that cover the three categories of
equipment that we’ve discussed?

A. Yes.

THE COURT: Arye you finished with the
board?

MR. GARRY: Yes.

Q. So if you could, Mr. Arsi, just once again for
the jury’s benefit recap for these three types of equipment,
explain again which they were and which asbestos containing
components were on each.

MR. KOMITOR: Objection, your Honor.
THE COURT: Sustained, repetitive.

Q. Other than the gaskets, the split case gaskets
on the pumps and the turbines, and the valve packing for the
turbines, were there any other asbestos containing
components on any of the equipment that Worthington
supplied for the Gearing and Weeks?

MR. KOMITOR: Objection.
THE COURT: Overruled.
A. No.
Q. ‘Did Worthington have a choice with respect
to whether it was to supply asbestos containing components
for use on naval vessels?

MR. KOMITOR: Objection, your

Honor.

EEE

53a
THE COURT: Sustained.

Members of the jury, disregard that question.
You are leading.

Q. Why did Worthington provide asbestos
containing components that you identified on the drawings
and in the records that you reviewed?

A. These particular pieces of equipment were
built to DeLavalle plans and standards. The materials of
construction and the design were government issued to us to
supply, and the identifying information on the drawings and
plans identified asbestos and many other components for the
rest of the parts, and that’s the way the pumps were built, to
be in compliance with the government’s contracts.

Q. How did Worthington make a determination
as to whether the particular components complied with the
government standard?

A. In instances such as these, where the
government standard is identified, we would go to the --
something called the QPL, qualified products list, which is a
government issued document that will identify the qualified
products and manufacturers for the various items that are
identified by their standards.

Q. If the government calls for asbestos, can you
use something else?

MR. KOMITOR: Objection.

THE COURT: Sustained. Reframe the
question.

MR. GARRY: I'll ask another question.

54a

Q. From your review of the records, was the
equipment that you have testified about here today designed
and built to naval specifications?

A. Yes.

Q. Based on your familiarity with the record
keeping procedures of Worthington and its successors, if
there had been any additional pump equipment sold for use
on these vessels, would there be a record of it at your
company?

A. Yes, there would.

Q. And did you make a search for additional

records?
A. I did.
Q. Did you find anything?
A. For any specific time frame or forever or --
Q. For sale on this particular class of vessels,

which is inclusive of the Weeks and the Gearing.

MR. KOMITOR: Objection.

[END OF EXCERPT]

55a

[reprinted in Joint CA App. 1901-1905]

Norton - by Defendant Worthington - Direct

Q. What was the purpose of this particular
compressor that was sold to the USS Weeks and the USS
Gearing class?

A. This was a turbocharger compressor. It was
used -- or torpedo compressor, excuse me, to charge bottles
to fire torpedoes.

Q. Do you know in or around what time period
these compressors were provided to these ships?

A. Yes, this would be in the 1941 to ‘43 time
period.

Q. During World War II?
A. Yes.

Q. The tech manual that you found, the two tech
manuals there, is that correct?

A. Yes.

Q. What do they generally tell you in the
technical manual?

A. The technical manual is a general description
of the compressor. It then details materials, parts and
materials in a compressor. It goes through the operation of
the compressor, maintenance of the compressor, and then has
a bunch of drawings in it actually showing the compressor.

56a

Q. The tech manual, does that have any
relationship with the Navy?

A. Yes.

Q. Could you tell the jury how the tech manual
and Worthington and the Navy meet with respect to the tech
manual?

MR. KOMITOR: Objection.

THE COURT: Could you reframe the
question? Sustained.

Q. Can you tell the jury how the tech manual --
strike that.

is there any policy that the tech manual has to
be approved by the Navy?

A. Yes, the tech manuals are approved by the
Navy at Bureau of Ships, in particular, I believe in this time
frame, and they were supplied with the compressors.

MR. KOMITOR: Could you just read that
back?

THE COURT: Read that answer?
MR. KOMITOR: Yes.
THE COURT: Read back the answer.

(Whereupon, the requested portion was read
back by the Reporter.)

Q. And the specification of materials, that’s
contained within the tech manuals?

57a

A. Yes, that’s -- there are sections that list
material specifications, that’s correct.

Q. Would they have to be in compliance with
military specifications?

A. Yes, they would.

Q. Now, you indicated to us that the tech manual
as part of your search got you to the list of materials?

A. Yes.

Q. Like the one we have up here?
A. That’s correct.

Q. Why don’t you come down now.

(Whereupon, the witness left the
witness stand.)

Q. Now, you indicated to us from this particular
exhibit, Exhibit I, the type of destroyer and the class, and
that’s how you came to the conclusion this included the USS
Weeks and the USS Gearing?

A. That’s right.

Q. And it indicates where it was built, is that
correct?

A. That’s correct.

Q. And is there an indication of different types of
materials that made up the compressor?

A. Yes.

58a

Q. Those were the parts manufactured by
Worthington and parts that were not manufactured by
Worthington?

A. That’s correct.
Q. Let’s get night to the meat of it.

Could you find -- were there asbestos
containing gaskets as part of the compressor?

A. Yes, there were.
Q. Was that listed on this list of material?
A. Yes, they would be.

Q. And would this list of material have to have
been approved by the government?

A. Yes.

Q. Could you have provided material to the
government without having it been approved?

A. No.

Q. Could you get to the area that deals with
gaskets? Is that on here?

A. Yes. It’s interspersed in here.

Q. Would you take a look and just read the name
of the piece of equipment, and we’re specifically referring to
gaskets, and the type of material and the amount specified, all
right, sir?

A. Okay. We have here a piece number 259, it is
a gasket for first stage valve cover, there were four required

59a

per compressor. The material was listed as copper asbestos,
and the spec was 33GS5.

Q. Did we make that?
A. No.
[END OF EXCERPT]

60a

[reprinted in Joint CA App. 1943-1945]
Merrick - Defendant/Worthington - Direct/Garry

Q. Well, based on your knowledge that you say
you’ve accumulated over the years, was it your
understanding that the replacement parts that were put in the
compressors, namely the gaskets and packing, would be the
same kinds of parts that you originally supplied?

MR. BLUTMAN: Objection.
THE COURT: Overruled.
You may answer.

A. What was supplied as spare parts, would have
to match what the original equipment was. There was no
spec for it, no mill spec for the material. Méilitary
specification.

Q. And it’s your understanding that the people at
Worthington knew that, correct?

MR. BLUTMAN: Objection.
THE COURT: Sustained.

Members of the jury, disregard that
question.

Q. Now, this instruction manual that was marked
as Defendant’s Exhibit --

THE COURT: Was it marked?

6la
MR. BLUTMAN: Yes.

MR. KOMITOR: May I approach,
your Honor?

THE COURT: Yes.

Q. This instruction for the operation and
maintenance of turbine driven high pressure air compressors
marked as -- you’re right, it’s been wiped off. Defendant’s
Exhibit F, I think.

THE COURT: Is it, Counsel?

MR. BLUTMAN: Yes.

THE COURT: And it’s in evidence?
MR. BLUTMAN: Yes.

Q. Now, that was a manual, as you said on your
direct examination, a service manual that came with the

compressor, correct?

A. I said we furnish manuals with compressors,
nght.

Q. And this was the one that was furnished with
your compressor?

A. This one was made by NAVSECPHILA.
Q. This is your service manual, correct?
When I say “you,” I mean Worthington’s.
MR. BLUTMAN: Objection.
THE COURT: Overruled.

62a

A. We made the original. It was updated by
NAVSECPHILA.

Q. I see.

And do you know when this was
updated by NAVSECPHILA?

A. I believe it was 1972 time frame.

Q. And did Worthington have any input or role in
the updating of the manual, as far as you know?

A. Not that I can say for sure.

[END OF EXCERPT]

eT

63a

[reprinted in Joint CA App. 2003-2005]

Merrick - By Defendant Worthington - Direct

Q. Mr. Merrick, you can answer the question
about the paper trail. That’s fine.

I don’t mean to interrupt, but we were in the
middle of finding out how you get from specification number
to the purchase or replacement part.

A. The manufacturer tells the Navy what is
required in the way of spare parts to keep this equipment
operating.

Q. When you say the manufacturer tells the Navy
what is required in terms of spare parts, are you saying the
manufacturer tells the Navy what the specifications for those

parts are?
MR. KOMITOR: Objection, leading.
THE COURT: Sustained. Reframe
the question.
Q. Who determines what the specifications for

the particular part are going to be?

A. The manufacturer tells the Navy what parts
are required. The Navy then determines what the
specifications are, what the requirements are for each of
those parts.

The Navy has issued over the years many
thousands of specifications in great detail, telling the

64a

performance requirement for parts and supplies that they
want to purchase.

Q. Is there a name for those kinds of documents?

A. They go under the general name of
specifications, in this case, material specifications, detailed
requirements for individual materials.

When these are published, then manufacturers
are invited to submit samples of their products for testing.
The testing requirements are called out in each of these
material specifications. Every manufacturer whose products
are tested and satisfactorily complete the testing are then
listed in a qualified products listing associated with that
specification.

Again, the numbers cross-reference so that
there is a numerical QPL for each specification, and you can
call out a material such as a gasket by the military
specification, or back in World War II it was a Navy
specification, and then go look at the related product listing
under the same number and tell who has manufactured
products that meet the Navy’s requirements for that product.

Q. Have you reviewed any qualified products
lists with respect to, for example, asbestos compressed sheet
gaskets?

A Yes.

Q. And from what period of time? Have you
reviewed any that fall into the time frame between 1944 and
1968?

A. Yes. Most of the existing qualified products
lists that are -- that we have been able to find copies of date

65a

from the 1950s and later. There are very few of them that
anybody has been able to find prior to 1950.

Q. Has Worthington, to your knowledge, ever
appeared on qualified products list --

MR. KOMITOR: Objection.

THE COURT: Sustained.
[END OF EXCERPT]

66a

[Colloquy on Proposed Jury Instructions]

{reprinted in Joint CA App. 2222-2228]

THE COURT: Right, that warnings
need not be given.

Well, you want to say the knowledge
of the product at that time?

MR. KOMITOR: No.

THE COURT: Or that knowledge of
the product was such that warning need not be
given.

MS. HALBARDIER: Yes.

THE COURT: That no warnings were
adequate? That warnings need not be given.

MR. GARRY: Need not have been
given.

THE COURT: Thank you. That
warnings need not have been given, because
there were no warnings, right?

MS. HALBARDIER: Right.
MR. GARRY: Yes.

MR. KOMITOR: That warnings need
not have been given.

67a

THE COURT: Yes. Did we talk
about government standards?

MR. GARRY: Your Honor, I was
going to request -- I don’t think adherence to
the government standards charge is sufficient.
I object to it.

What I would ask be charged is --

THE COURT: Could you tell me
where you are reading from?

MR. GARRY: From Boyle versus
United Technologies with respect to
government contracts. If the United States
approved reason -- strike that. “That a
supplier could not be liable for a design defect
in goods supplied to the military if the United
States approved reasonably _sprecise
specifications of the products, the material
conformed to those specifications, and the
supplier warned the United States about the
dangers and the use of the materials that were
known to the supplier but not to the United
States.”

MR. KOMITOR: That’s only for
design defect, not for failure to warn. There is
no government contract defense in this case.
That only goes to having a defective design,
and we took that out of the case. There is no
government contract.

THE COURT: It has to do with
design, right? Is there some case where it’s
come in on failure to warn?

68a

MR. GARRY: Failure to warn, your
Honor, is nothing more than a branch of
design defect.

THE COURT: No, they are separate.

MR. GARRY: They are claiming that
the product is defective by reason of failure to
warn.

MR. KOMITOR: You are claiming --
you put asbestos in the product. The
government didn’t insist that you don’t put a
warning on the product. That’s the whole
reason why the Second Circuit --

MR. GARRY: I’m just requesting
that, your Honor.

MS. HALBARDIER: I join in the
request.

THE COURT: Unless you read
something to me in a failure to warn case, I
don’t think it applies to a failure to warn case.

MS. HALBARDIER: My problem
with the paragraph is it says, “Compliance
with standards.” I would ask for another
sentence there. “However, you may find that
defendant acted reasonably in light of
compliance with government standards.

MR. KOMITOR: No. That’s the
whole point.

THE COURT: But there has to be
another way. I’m willing to do balance, but

69a

I’m not sure that’s the way. However, you
might find -- you may find -- what was it?

MS. HALBARDIER: That defendant
acted reasonably.

THE COURT: But that’s not the
standard. The standard is that it would be the
opposite, that compliance for these standards
precludes liability. That’s the opposite.
That’s really -- it is not “reasonable,” it is a
question that the compliance -- if you want a
different word I’ll use a different word, but
not “reasonable.” That’s injecting something
that’s not there.

MR. KOMITOR: Does not preclude a
finding of liability or --

THE COURT: However, you --
MR. KOMITOR: You can say --
THE COURT: Requires.

MR. KOMITOR: Does not require or
preclude.

THE COURT: You want to say does
not require a finding and you may find
compliance precludes liability?

MR. KOMITOR: I don’t see how you
balance that.

THE COURT: Since you can’t agree I
want to move on. However, you may find

70a

compliance precludes a finding of liability.
The opposite.

MR. KOMITOR: You can’t say that.
It does not preclude a finding. The whole
point is that just because they comply with
government standards, it does not preclude a
finding, so you can’t say complies with
government --

THE COURT: The way it’s phrased,
if you look at the other one, --

MR. KOMITOR: There are certain
things you can’t balance.

THE COURT: Compliance is
equivalent to a safe product -- I don’t know, if
you go back to the paragraph before.

MR. KOMITOR: The reason the
language is there means that compliance to a
standard doesn’t necessarily say that you are
okay. Compliance with standards is irrelevant
is what the point is.

It is not balanced. Compliance with
standards is irrelevant. It doesn’t matter one
way or the other if you comply with standards.

THE COURT: We say it is
important and some_ evidence of
reasonableness, right? So really the issue is
whether the product is safe, right?

MS. HALBARDIER: Right.

Tla

THE COURT: Need not have been
given. It’s that — you may take compliance
into consideration in deciding whether the
product was safe.

MS. HALBARDIER: Okay.

MR. KOMITOR: You mean after the
sentence?

THE COURT: Yes.
MR. KOMITOR: Okay.
THE COURT: Is that okay?

MR. KOMITOR: All night, Ill live
with it. Actually, I’m going to object. I don’t
think you can balance it, so let me put my
objection on the record.

THE COURT: All night, fine.
Objection overruled.

[END OF EXCERPT]

72a

[reprinted in Joint CA App. 2896-2900]

Court’s Charge

The question for you in this case
however is whether even considering the
Navy’s response or lack of response after
defendants’ failure to warn -- I’m sorry.

_ The question for you in this case
however is, even after considering whether or
not the Navy’s response or lack of response --
it doesn’t --

Whether or not -- the question here for
you is whether the defendants’ failure to warn
was also a substantial cause of the injury as a
reasonable person would view the matter.

If under the circumstances a warning
by the defendants would have had no
appreciable effect in protecting the persons
claimed to have been injured, it could not
have been a substantial cause. If, under the
circumstances, a warning by the defendants
would have had an appreciable effect in
protecting the workers it could be found by
you to be a substantial cause.

You’re here to pass upon the
responsibility of the defendants here, not of
the Navy. Although you will have to consider
the Navy’s role in this whole matter in making
your determination about the responsibility of
the particular defendants before you, as well

73a

as if you get to it the issue of the
responsibility of the other defendants -- not --
of the other companies that distributed and
manufactured asbestos-containing products
that the defendants -- that you find, if you find
that the plaintiffs were exposed to them.

As to warnings: You may find
warnings should be given not only for those
hazards which were definitely established but
also for those hazards that were reasonably
expected to have existed or you may find that
the knowledge of the product was such that
warnings need not have been given.

Adherence to government standards
while important, and some evidence of
reasonableness, does not relieve a party from
the obligation to make its product safe.
Compliance with those standards by a
defendant, even if proven, doesn’t preclude a
finding of a liability. However, you should
take compliance into consideration in deciding
whether or not the product was safe.

In view of all that I’ve just stated, if
you find that the products of a defendant were
reasonably safe for their intended or
unintended, but reasonably foreseeable
purpose without warnings, you will find that
such products were not defective and the
defendants are not liable. And if you find that
you will not go any further.

However, on the other hand, if you
find that there were, the products were
defective, then for failing to warn, you will

74a

then consider whether or not the defective
product was a proximate or substantial
contributing cause to the plaintiff's injuries.

Remember, I told you before, that
something is a proximate cause of an injury if
it was a substantia! factor in bringing about
that injury. Its [sic] a substantial factor if it
had such an effect in producing the injury, that
a reasonable person would consider it to be a
cause of an injury; either an act or failure to
act can be a proximate cause of an injury --
forget what I just said about a fact.

The failure to warn -- just a second.
Fo

[Text truncated at 120,000 characters. The full text is on the page linked above.]

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_0576%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
