# Opposition Brief — Consolidated Rail Corp. v. Wightman

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_0507%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2000
- **Citation:** 529 U.S. 1012

## Text

No. 99-950 BA ia lad ) ei

‘ Chittee
IN THE L

Supreme Court of the United States —

CONSOLIDATED RAIL CORPORATION,
Petitioner,
v.

DARLENE M. WIGHTMAN, Individually and as Administratrix
of the Estate of MICHELLE L. WIGHTMAN, Deceased, and
MICHELLE WIGHTMAN CHARITABLE FOUNDATION,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE OuIO SUPREME COURT

nn ie an

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

THOMAS J. MURRAY Harvey L. FRUTKIN
Counsel of Record KERIN L. KAMINSKI
Mary O’ NEILL KARE GIFFEN
Murray & Murray Co., L.P.A. CAVITCH, FAMILO, DURKIN
111 East Shoreline Drive & FRUTKIN
P.O. Box 19 14" Floor, East Ohio Building
Sandusky, OH 44871-0019 Cleveland, OH 44114
(419) 624-3000 (216) 621-7860

Attorneys for Respondents

157485 @] Counsel Press LLC
(800) 274-3321 + (800) 359-6859

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
TORO OE TAGE PINE, io oc on cc cccnccasncces ill
ee ae SN a. Ga hk ek coke Hakan cpa to Oi vi
gE ee ae ere I
A. The Train-Car Collision ...........s006. 2
. B. The Ohio Supreme Court’s Decision ...... 5
| See en SERIE oo oo 1 55:05 tx dase 5
Reasons for Denying the Writ ................. 7

I. The Punitive Award Below Fully Conforms
So ery ee 7

Il. No Conflict Exists Among The Lower Courts

Regarding The Proportionality Analysis Of

The Second Guidepost In BMW v. Gore.
REE USE EE ee ECON Oe tare eee 11

III. There Is No Due Process Issue Arising From

| The Trial Court’s Discretionary Evidentiary
. ha cha sala Vea keen raees ss 14

IV. Petitioner’s Recusal Motion Raised No
Federal Due Process Issue And Violated Ohio
Procedural And Substantive Law Governing
Ne ee IE bw kk ae bes oaks eee be hn 16

Conclusion

Contents

Petitioner Did Not Raise a Due Process
Issue Below Regarding the Campaign
Contributions to Justices Pfeifer and
SWOHD. i. ak ctndcakeiess ee ee

Petitioner’s Recusal Application Was
DEMO obevks adeecies Gree es

Conrail’s Motion Below Was
Procedurally Improper and Extra-Legal
im POOR oo occ Kees ee ek

Petitioner’s Representation of Its

Motion Below is Substantially
| POTS PP OVE eee Toe Se

2e0e200@6896660680@ 06 66424 28 8.6 2.42 6.6-2 ee ee ee 6 ee

Page

17

20

20

21

aa

ili

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases:
Adams v. Robertson, 520 U.S. 83 (1997) ........ 18
Aetna Life Ins. Co. v. Lavoie, 475 U.S. 813 (1986)
PIPER ITES RY Pee STS RP eR RET EE Coe eo EG ees. 18

BMW of N. Am., Inc. v. Gore, 517 U.S. 559 (1996)
LIS a gs ra hee a ia an ae 1, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 13, 14

Crane v. Kentucky, 476 U.S. 683 (1986) ......... 16

Cuddy Mountain Concrete Inc. v. Citadel Constr.,
Inc., 121 Idaho 220, 824 P.2d 151 (Ct. App.

UN Oi hserg a h e e e fot AY 12
FTC v. Cement Inst., 333 U.S. 683 (1948) ....... 18
Huffman v. Hair Surgeon, Inc., 19 Ohio St. 3d 83,

ee ERMC LOEOD og ac coco icseccsscee 16
lannone vy. Frederic R. Harris, Inc., 941 F. Supp.

IG OD ns oc pos kh od k cb bcos 12
In re: Disqualification of Light, 36 Ohio St.3d 604,

ie MUM OU LEWOED 6 occ. caress scccceccs 20
In re Murchison, 349 U.S. 133 (1955) ........... 19

Murdock v. City of Memphis, 87 U.S. (20 Wall.) 590
NS SES oka a oak suy he va eeekenS 17, 18

iv

Cited Authorities

Page

Reitz v. Howlett, 106 Ohio App. 3d 409, 666 N.E.2d
296 (9" Dist. Summit Cty. 1995) ............. 16
Tumey v. Ohio, 273 U.S. 510 (1927) ...... Penis 18

TXO Prod. Corp. v. Alliance Resources Corp., 509
Rs Ee EE cbs Baa RRR ees Renee 13

Walston v. Monumental Life Ins. Co., 129 Idaho 211,
S2d FZ es Fees Sa i a 12

Ward v. Village of Monroeville, 409 U.S. 57
CUD TES o ic65 RSS ER CEG a ck 19
Webb v. Webb, 451 U.S. 493 (1981) ............ 18

Zoppo v. Homestead Ins. Co., 71 Ohio St. 3d 552,
GOA Pia Oe Ce kk kw bo KEG eA |

Cited Authorities

Other Authorities:

Stuart Banner, Note, Disqualifying Elected Judges
From Cases Involving Campaign Contributors,
40 Stan. L. Rev. 449 (1988) . 006.660.6000 ae ck

Canon 3(G)(1) of the Ohio Code of Judicial
Ns eee Re ce ee

Canon 7 of the Ohio Code of Judicial Conduct ...
Mark Grannis, Note, Safeguarding the Litigant’s
Constitutional Right to a Fair and Impartial

Forum, 86 Mich. L. Rev. 382 (1989) .........

Jason Levien & Stacie L. Falka Cleaning Up Judicial
Elections, 2 Mich. L. & Pol’y Rev. 71 (1997)

o- 9 2 eB eC 2 4.8 O° Soe OC 08 8 0:94.48 OS S.'6 2.2 ee &S 6 Oe Se Se Boe

Page

19

19

19

vi

TABLE OF APPENDICES

Appendix A — Opinton Of The Court Of Appeals
Of Ohio, Erie County Dated And Decided April
ED, TOD 655645556 eb nd end busccananeenian

Appendix B — Excerpts From Trial Transcript Of
The Common Pleas Court Of Erie County, Ohio
Dated May 20, 1996 ........... ccc ccccccees

Appendix C — Photograph Of Model Of Accident
OD oid cnecvasd eiwiekcsawdhut ate cdba thes

Appendix D — Cases In Which The Murray
& Murray Co., L.P.A. Was Lead Counsel For A
Party Or Amicus Curiae In The Ohio Supreme
te PT OPT RTE EOE Tee fy een rp ee ues

Appendix E — Excerpts From Trial Transcript Of
The Court Of Common Pleas, Erie County, Ohio
Sen COCOOOE BG; TS nck cc cwk vac hescwesns

Appendix F — Defendant’s Motion For Recusal And
Contsnnenne OF TRO TURE osc oc eke cscsndeses

Page

la

32a

36a

37a

39a

|
STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner, Consolidated Rail Corporation (“Conrail”),
claims it was denied due process by a punitive award
“imposed in a vacuum.” Some vacuum. More than ten
years ago, two young women died when a Conrail train struck
a car at a multi-track, mainline crossing in Sandusky,
Ohio after Conrail ignored an explicit police warning that a
train standing near the crossing created a danger of a train-
car collision. In 1990, a jury found punitive damages should
be assessed, and Ohio’s Sixth District Court of Appeals
upheld the verdict on the basis “there was clear and
convincing evidence ... [of] ... malice on the part of
Conrail.” Wightman v. Consol. Rail Corp. 94 Ohio App. 3d
389, 408, 640 N.E.2d 1160 (1994), Respondents’ Appendix
(“Resp. App.”) 29a. The Ohio Supreme Court declined to
hear the matter.’

A second jury, in 1996, assessed punitives at
$25,000,000. Conrail sought a remittitur, claiming
constitutional excessiveness. The trial court carefully
analyzed the evidence in light of BMW of N. Am., Inc. v.
Gore, 517 U.S. 559 (1996) and concluded the verdict was
not excessive. Nevertheless, it granted Conrail a $10,000,000
remittitur and relief from interest on the judgment.
Petitioner’s Appendix (“Pet. App.”) 64a.

1. Ohio law at the time of the first trial required the jury to
determine whether punitive damages should be assessed, after which
the judge was to determine the amount. The appellate court found
that the trial court, by failing to award punitive damages after the
jury’s findings, had not complied with the Ohio statute. Resp. App.
29a. After remand, the Ohio Supreme Court ruled litigants are
constitutionally entitled to a jury trial on punitive damages. Zoppo
v. Homestead Ins. Co., 71 Ohio St. 3d 552, 644 N.E.2d 397 (1994).
Therefore, the amount of punitives in Wightman became a jury issue.

2

After the appellate court rejected appeals by both parties,
the Ohio Supreme Court heard the Wightmans’ appeal and
Conrail’s cross-appeal. It upheld the appellate court’s finding
that the remitted punitive award was not constitutionally
excessive and also affirmed the lower court’s decision on
evidentiary issues raised by Conrail’s cross-appeal. The court
reversed the grant of interest relief to Conrail on statutory
grounds. Pet. App. 8a-12a.

Two months after oral arguments in the Ohio Supreme
Court, Conrail sought to recuse Justices Pfeifer and Sweeney
under Canon 3(G)(1) of the Ohio Code of Judicial Conduct
on the ground the “appearance of impropriety” had been
created because the law firm representing the Wightmans,
and relatives of the firm’s partners, had made admittedly
lawful contributions to the 1998 reelection campaigns of
these justices. Pet. App. 76a. This motion raised no federal
due process issue, was procedurally improper, and was
contrary to Ohio law requiring recusal motions to be filed
on a timely basis.

On December 6, 1999, Conrail filed its Petition for a
Writ in this Court. Because Petitioner has failed to mention
significant parts of the record, correction and clarification
are necessary.

A. The Train-Car Collision

On a February evening in 1989, a westbound Conrail
train stopped for minor repairs on a double track mainline
about 200 feet east of a grade crossing in Sandusky, Ohio,
creating a severe obstruction to the ability of southbound
motorists to see past the standing train. The train crew knew:

BAT OA cat GEN TL hs

3

1) the stopped train blocked the ability of
southbound motorists to see westbound trains
approaching the crossing;

2) high speed, westbound trains were due;

3) heavy Saturday night traffic was proceeding
over the crossing; and

4) the gates and lights could not positively signal
the approach of another train because they had
been disabled by the stopped train from doing
sO.

Pet. App. 59a.

The conductor immediately recognized the danger but,
he explained, rather than implement available measures to
prevent a crash, his “only option” under Conrail’s operating
procedures was to have the crew make the minor repairs
necessary to get the train moving again. About 20 minutes
prior to the collision, a police officer arrived, saw there was
a possibility of a collision, and immediately requested his
dispatcher to notify the railroad. Minutes later, the officer
was advised by radio Conrail had been notified of the danger,
and he left. Conrail ignored the warning. Although the train
was stopped for about an hour, the railroad, following a
longstanding operating practice, took no measures to prevent
a collision. Pet. App. 5la, 60a-61a.

Fifteen minutes after the police warning, Michelle
Wightman, operating her mother’s 1985 Ford, approached
from the north in a stream of southbound traffic. As she drove
onto the crossing at about 5 mph and attempted to see past

4

the standing train, the obstruction was so severe the car
was already in harm’s way when a 60 mph freight train
suddenly emerged. According to witnesses, the occupants
of the car “didn’t have a chance.”? Pet. App. 51a and
Resp. App. 32a-34a.

The Wightmans showed how a train standing near a
mainline crossing, combined with a system disabled from
signaling the approach of a second train, creates a great
danger of a crash — a fact known for 30 years in the railroad
industry. According to a retired railroad engineer with 43
years experience, about 99% of drivers proceed over the
crossing under these conditions. The engineer of the stopped
train, who had a clear view of the crossing throughout the
period prior to the crash, did not observe a single car turn
around. The Wightmans also showed how, without slowing
railroad operations, various measures could easily have
eliminated the possibility of a collision. Although Conrail’s
dispatcher and the engineer had continuing radio
communications, and both knew high speed trains were due,
neither did anything to protect against a collision. According
to Dr. William Berg, a civil engineer with a special expertise
in grade crossing safety, many collisions happen under
conditions “substantially similar” to those at the Sandusky
crossing. Pet. App. 39a.

Notwithstanding the six-year lapse between trials, the
conductor of the stopped train testified in the second trial
that he had not been instructed by Conrail in the interval to
do anything differently, if he encountered the same situation.
One of Conrail’s middle managers conceded that

2. Resp. App. 36a depicts a model used by witnesses to show
the position of trains and the Wightman vehicle moments before the
collision.

ni RSD Seta BA be be Mook Le iS wth OMEN ORIN el art lh dette ski

¢ oe ee ha

5

unscheduled stops for minor repairs, like that near the
Sandusky crossing, is “the type of thing . . . [that] . . could
occur at so many locations” in Conrail’s system. Pet. App.
59a-63a; Resp. App. 35a. As in the first trial, Conrail offered
no explanation for ignoring an explicit police warning at least
15 minutes prior to the collision.

B. The Ohio Supreme Court’s Decision

After meticulously applying the due process framework
in BMW vy. Gore, the court concluded the remitted punitive
award of $15,000,000 was not excessive and “did not violate
Conrail’s due process rights.” Wightman v. Consol. Rail
Corp., 86 Ohio St. 3d at 439, 715 N.E.2d 546 (1999),
Pet. App. 19a. In view of Petitioner’s challenge to the
impartiality of Justices Pfeifer and Sweeney, it is important
to note it was the Wightmans who first appealed the rulings
of Ohio’s Sixth District Court of Appeals and that Justices
Pfeifer and Sweeney ruled against them on the main issue
raised by their appeal, namely, whether it was an abuse of
discretion by the trial court to grant a $10,000,000 remittitur,
without a finding of excessiveness. Since two of the justices
agreed with the Wightmans on this point, had Justices Pfeifer
and Sweeney not voted as they did, Conrail might well face
a $25,000,000 punitive award, plus interest — a liability
nearly double that under the rulings supported by Justices
Pfeifer and Sweeney as part of the majority. On this score, it
seems Conrail will not take “yes” for an answer.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Petitioner has plainly failed to present any proper basis
for a writ. First, the decisions below reflect a deep respect
for the notion of due process expressed in BMW v. Gore. At

6

each stage, the Ohio courts reviewed the record with arduous
attention to the due process considerations embodied in
BMW. The decision of the Ohio Supreme Court, in particular,
accorded to Conrail precisely the kind of reasoned and
balanced analysis required by the three guideposts in BMW.
Although three justices of the Ohio Supreme Court dissented
in part with respect to some rulings below, none did so on
the basis the remitted punitive award was excessive under
the guidelines set forth in BMW. The upshot is, one trial
judge, three appellate judges, and seven justices of the Ohio
Supreme Court concluded the punitive award was not
unconstitutionally excessive.’

Contrary to petitioner’s assertion, there is no conflict
among the lower courts as to the application of the
proportionality analysis in BMW. Nor does the record support
Conrail’s attempt to bootstrap an ordinary discretionary
evidentiary ruling of a state court into a deprivation of due
process.

Finally, Conrail’s attempt to use admittedly lawful
campaign contributions to raise a due process issue for the
first time in this Court disregards this Court’s jurisprudence
regarding when a federal question may properly be raised
here.

3. One of the justices believed the award was based on
wrongful death as well as property damage, and thus was excessive
under Ohio law.

aaa

7

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

1. THE PUNITIVE AWARD BELOW FULLY
CONFORMS WITH BMW »v. GORE

The Ohio Supreme Court noted that the BMW court
described the degree of reprehensibility of defendant’s
conduct as “[p]erhaps the most important indicium of the
reasonableness of a punitive damages award .. . [and]...
that BMW’s conduct evinced no indifference to or reckless
disregard for the health and safety of others.” 517 U.S. at
575, 576. In its constitutional analysis, the Ohio Supreme
Court applied this criterion of reasonableness as follows:

It is with this guidepost, the most important one,
that this case distinguishes itself the most from
BMW. Ineffective gates at a railroad crossing are
of a completely different character than a painted-
Over scratch on a luxury automobile. Literally and
figuratively, we are dealing with the difference
between a scratch and a cataclysm — the
difference between a practice that might affect the
value of an automobile by ten percent, and a
practice that could result in massive property
damage, physical injuries, and untold
psychological pain. Conrail evinced a disregard
of the danger it posed to the health and safety of
motorists.

In this case, Conrail employees did nothing to
warn drivers of oncoming trains, despite the fact
that they saw vehicles crossing the track by
driving around the gates. Even after a phone call
from police, Conrail did not take preventative

8

measures to avert an accident. According to the
trial judge, this tragic case has done little to
persuade Conrail to change, citing Conrail’s
“corporate attitude which clearly fails to recognize
that the extremely dangerous practice which
produced the catastrophic collision needs to be
changed.”

We find that Conrail’s conduct reaches the level
of reprehensibility sufficient to warrant the
substantial punitive damages award the jury
imposed in this case.

Pet. App. 16a.

It is significant that the trial court, in reviewing the

record, made the following statement regarding Conrail’s

attitude toward public safety at its grade crossings:

The Court ... feels compelled, as a matter of
public safety, to do everything in its power to
insure .. . Conrail promptly changes the practice
which produced this unnecessary tragedy. After
much reflection, the Court has concluded that the
most effective way to deter Conrail from
continuing this practice is to limit the jury’s
verdict to an amount which will sufficiently
punish Conrail and create a positive inducement
to change its practices, rather than continue to
challenge the findings of the earlier jury and the
Court of Appeals.

Pet. App. 64a. The foregoing statement is a pointed reference
to the fact that Conrail did nothing during the six-year
interval between trials to correct the operating practice behind

9

this train/car collision. It is precisely this kind of conscious
indifference for the rights and safety of others which this
Court, in BMW, made the touchstone for determining
reasonableness in cases where, as here, the defendant’s
conduct threatens the rights and safety of human beings.

As to the second indicium, the ratio of punitive damages
to the actual harm inflicted on the plaintiff, the Court relied
directly on the BMW analysis. The court pointed out that
Ohio law, consistent with BMW, “has consistently rejected
the notion of a bright-line mathematical formula for the
computation of the reasonableness of punitive damage
awards.” It, therefore, concluded: “We see the ratio between
compensatory and punitive damages as less relevant here
because of the egregiousness of the act.” Pet. App. 17a.

Finally, the court analyzes the third BMW indicium,
namely, civil or criminal penalties that could be imposed
for comparable misconduct:

Conrail claims to have violated no Ohio statutes
on the night of the accident. Conrail argues that
even if it had not fully complied with all laws,
the maximum federal penalty for the willful
failure to comply with an order to remedy a
violation of signal-system safety regulations that
creates an imminent danger of death or injury is
$22,000 per violation. Section 209.409, Title 49,
C.F.R.

But the BMW case and its civil penalties are a
world away from this case. BMW requires that
the penalties imposed be for comparable
misconduct. In BMW, the $2,000 fine actually
applied to the specific conduct of the defendant

§
%
4
Fe ae

10

that was at issue. The $22,000 fine Conrail refers
to does not apply to the specific conduct involved
in this case. The $22,000 fine applies to the failure
to comply with an order to remedy a violation of
signal-system safety regulations. An order has to
have been made and disregarded by the railroad
company for the fine to be imposed. It is not a
fine for causing a death.

Pet. App.18a. The court commented that Conrail’s conduct
here was so egregious it could constitute involuntary
manslaughter under Ohio’s criminal code and that “the
applicable criminal and civil penalties available were
comparable to the punitive damages award.” Pet. App. 19a.

On the basis of the constitutional framework provided
by BMW vy. Gore, the Ohio Supreme Court concluded:

In considering the three guideposts set forth by
the court in BMW, we find that Conrail had fair
notice of the conduct that would subject it to
punishment as well as the severity of the possible
punishment. The award in this case was not
grossly excessive and did not violate Conrail’s
due process rights.

Pet. App. 19a.

of
is
4
%
4

1]

II. NO CONFLICT EXISTS AMONG THE LOWER
COURTS REGARDING THE PROPORTION-
ALITY ANALYSIS OF THE SECOND
GUIDEPOST IN BMW »v. GORE.

In BMW v. Gore, one of the three “guideposts”
for ascertaining whether the size of a punitive award
is unconstitutionally excessive is whether there is a
reasonable relationship between punitives and the harm
caused by the defendant’s conduct. /d. at 581. Petitioner
states that “the lower courts are in conflict on how to apply
the second guidepost” and argues the states will continue to
be “perplexed” and “confounded” by this issue until this
Court intervenes to “provide much-needed guidance.”
Petition at 2, 10, 20. The claimed conflict Conrail points to
is an alleged split among the lower courts as to whether, in
assessing proportionality between the punitive and
compensatory awards, a court may consider harm for which
the state does not permit a recovery of punitive damages.
Specifically, Conrail contends the Wightman court
considered the wrongful death of Michelle Wightman, in
addition to the property damage, in assessing the extent of
the potential harm engendered by Conrail’s dangerous
operating practices. Conrail urges this Court to resolve this
“conflict” by rejecting the approach of those lower courts,
with whom Ohio’s high court is allegedly arrayed, that
evaluate punitive damages by considering “all of the damages
awarded to a plaintiff, including amounts awarded for claims
that would not themselves be subject to punitive damages.”
Petition at 23. However, as we will show: (1) there is no
conflict in interpretation; (2) the Ohio Supreme Court strictly
complied with the teachings of BMW: and (3) the punitives
were not unconstitutionally excessive.

12

Conrail cites Walston v. Monumental Life Ins. Co., 129
Idaho 211, 923 P.2d 456 (1996), to support its assertion there
is a conflict as to an important federal question. Conrail
suggests the Idaho and Ohio Supreme Courts are the only
State courts of last resort that incorporate into their
proportionality analysis damages that do not support a
punitive award under state law.* However, petitioner has
misunderstood Idaho law. Conrail relies on Walston for the
proposition that Idaho takes into consideration the harm
caused by a breach of contract in assessing the excessiveness
of a punitive award, with the suggestion a breach of contract
will not support an award of punitives. Idaho, however, is
one of the states that actually permits an award of punitives
for breach of contract, at least where the breach is malicious
and conducted with total disregard for the interests of the
other party. See, e.g., Cuddy Mountain Concrete Inc. vy.
Citadel Constr., Inc., 121 Idaho 220, 824 P.2d 151 (Ct. App.
1992). As such, Idaho falls into line with the teachings of
the other cases cited by Conrail.

As to Ohio, it is clear, contrary to Conrail’s assertion,
the Wightman court did not factor wrongful death into its
proportionality analysis:

The injury here was catastrophic and could have
been financially more so. We are not persuaded
that if Michelle Wightman had been driving a

4. Conrail also cites Jannone v. Frederic R. Harris, Inc., 941
F. Supp. 403 (S.D.N.Y. 1996). A review of that decision, moreover,
does not disclose that the federal district court considered conduct
for which no punitives could be awarded in its assessment of
proportionality. In any event, only conflicts between or among the
federal circuit courts of appeal or among the states’ highest courts
should merit a writ.

13

$40,000 BMW that would make a more acceptable
ratio. An expensive car does not make the award
more legitimate. The award stands on its own.
This case offers one of those particular instances
where a particularly egregious act has resulted in
a small amount of economic damages.

Pet. App. 17a. This statement reflects a keen awareness of
the difference between Wightman’s economic damages and
the damages based on her wrongful death claim. Accordingly,
Petitioner fails to establish a conflict as to how this Court’s
proportionality guidepost is being interpreted by the lower
courts.

Conrail also asserts, regardless of any conflict, the
punitives in Wightman violate BMW criteria because the ratio
of the punitive damages awarded is disproportionate to the
actual damages. Petitioner again misstates the law. This
Court has made clear the proper ratio analysis is to ascertain
“whether there is a reasonable relationship between the
punitive damages award and the harm likely to result from
the defendant’s conduct as well as the harm that actually
has occurred.” BMW, supra, at 581, citing TXO Prod. Corp.
v. Alliance Resources Corp., 509 U.S. 443, 460 (1993).
(Emphasis in original.) Thus, where the potential for great
harm is substantial, “even low compensatory damages may
support a higher ratio than high compensatory damages.”
BMW at 831. In BMW, unlike the instant case, substantial
potential harm was not an issue. As this Court observed,
“there is no suggestion that Gore or any other BMW
purchaser was threatened with additional potential harm.”
Id. at 830. Pivotal to that analysis was the fact the harm
engendered by BMW’s corporate decision to repaint luxury

14

automobiles was, ipso facto, limited to a decrease in the
economic value of the car; no additional harm was threatened.

Conrail also suggests the Court revert to the mindless
application of a mathematical litmus test to determine the
constitutionality of a punitive award by comparing the ratios
of punitive to actual damages in various cases. (“[T]he
punitive damages award in this case cannot stand, as a ratio
of 6,250 to 1 is drastically greater than the ratio found
constitutionally deficient in Gore.” Petition at 24.) Conrail
neglects to mention this is an approach “consistently
rejected” by this Court. BMW at 582. As the Ohio Supreme
Court points out, the harmful nature of Conrail’s conduct
would not change if, instead of having destroyed a used Ford
Tempo, it had demolished a BMW worth $40,000. Pet. App.
12a, 17a. Presumably, the ratio in the latter instance would
be more acceptable to Conrail, being 325 to 1. Thus, as this
Court did in BMW, the Ohio court recognized the absurdity
of using an arbitrary ratio as determinative in cases where,
as here, the defendant’s conduct consciously disregards the
lives and safety of people.

lil. THERE IS NO DUE PROCESS ISSUE ARISING
FROM THE TRIAL COURT’S DISCRETIONARY
EVIDENTIARY RULINGS.

Conrail claims it was denied a fair tria] because
of evidentiary rulings. According to Conrail, the trial court
prevented it from presenting expert testimony regarding the
facts and circumstances Surrounding the collision and
from showing that Michelle Wightman “had consumed
several alcoholic beverages on the night in question.” Petition
at 4, 18. The truth is Conrail had the opportunity to present
more evidence in the second trial than it had offered in the

15

first, had it chosen to do so. Although the railroad did not
designate an expert reconstructionist in the first trial, it did
so in the second and the record is crystal clear the only reason
Conrail did not call its designated reconstructionist to testify

is it chose not to do so.5

Furthermore, Conrail’s assertion in this court that

Michelle Wightman “consumed several alcoholic beverages”
is pure invention. The only evidence regarding alcohol
consumption was that a witness had seen Michelle taking
two sips of wine cooler and that she had a blood alcohol

5. During the trial, this occurred:

Wightmans’ counsel: . . . you’re going to bring in a
reconstructionist. Yesterday you introduced the fact, you
suggested that you could see the headlights.

Conrail’s counsel: I’m not — who said I’m bringing
in a reconstructionist?

Wightmans’ counsel: You said in your opening
Statement that you could see the headlight and you’re
suggesting for something like twelve seconds . .

Conrail’s counsel: Am | going to be allowed to bring
in that person here to show that Judge?

Wightmans’ counsel: 1 would think if he can show that
she could see the headlight for twelve seconds, of
course, he should be able to bring . . .

The Court: Sure. He didn’t have a problem with that.
So I will let you do that.

Resp. App. 34a-35a.

16

level of one-third the legal limit. Resp. App. 39a-45a. The
Ohio Supreme Court upheld the appellate court’s ruling that
the trial court had not abused its discretion by excluding
evidence “showing Michelle Wightman had consumed a
small amount of alcohol prior to the conclusion .. .”
Pet. App. 9a.

Under Ohio law, a trial court’s exclusion of evidence
can be reversed only upon a showing of a clear abuse of
discretion that materially prejudiced the objecting party.
Huffman v. Hair Surgeon, Inc., 19 Ohio St. 3d 83, 87, 482
N.E.2d 1248 (1985); Reitz v. Howlett, 106 Ohio App.
3d 409, 666 N.E.2d 296 (9" Dist. Summit Cty. 1995).
Conrail’s arguments regarding the exclusion of evidence,
therefore, are but an attempt to bootstrap proper discretionary
rulings into errors of constitutional dimensions. These
evidentiary rulings, moreover, are different in kind from
those described in the cases cited by Conrail where criminal
defendants were precluded from introducing critical
exculpatory evidence due to a mechanistic application of the
State’s evidentiary rules. Indeed, the cases cited by Conrail
underscore this Court’s “reluctance to impose constitutional
constraints on ordinary evidentiary rulings by state trial
courts.” Crane v. Kentucky, 476 U.S. 683 (1986).

IV. PETITIONER’S RECUSAL MOTION RAISED NO
FEDERAL DUE PROCESS ISSUE AND
VIOLATED OHIO PROCEDURAL AND
SUBSTANTIVE LAW GOVERNING SUCH A
MOTION

Petitioner invites this Court to determine the “fairness
of Ohio’s system of electing judges and financing their
campaigns” because of contributions to the reelection

17

campaigns of Justices Pfeifer and Sweeney by members of
the firm representing Darlene Wightman and family members
of its partners which, says Conrail, compromised its due
process right to an impartial appellate review. This assertion
is devoid of merit on several grounds.°

A. Petitioner Did Not Raise a Due Process Issue Below
Regarding the Campaign Contributions to Justices
Pfeifer and Sweeney.

Petitioner for the first time raises a federal question here.
Specifically, it claims an infringement of due process
“because large financial contributions to a judge from a
lawyer with a case pending before the judge certainly create
the appearance of a quid pro quo.” Id. at 12-13. Conrail’s
motion below, however, relied solely upon alleged violations
of Ohio Code of Judicial Conduct which, as this Court has
made clear, cannot give rise to a matter reviewable in this
Court. Murdock v. City of Memphis, 87 U.S. (20 Wall.) 590

6. Prior to the second trial and while the issue of a litigant’s
constitutional right to a trial by jury on punitives was pending in
the Ohio Supreme Court, Conrail! requested J udge Ann B. Maschari,
who presided at the first trial, to apply the very statute whose
constitutionality was under review, and to set the amount of damages
herself. When she refused this request, Conrail filed a motion asking
Judge Maschari to recuse herself from further participation in the
case, which she did. Resp. App. 46a-47a. The case was assigned to
the Honorable Joseph Cirigliano who, as noted above, reduced the
award by $10,000,000 and granted Conrail interest relief. Conrail’s
recusal motion, therefore, challenged the impartiality of two justices
who had voted to uphold the remittitur granted Conrail by Judge
Cirigliano. In short, this Petition is about Conrail’s unhappiness with
the size of an already remitted punitive award that might well have
been much larger had Justices Pfeifer and Sweeney agreed with the
Wightmans’ contention the remittitur was improper under Ohio law.

18

(1875). Petitioner has thus failed to meet its burden of
showing it properly presented a federal claim to the Ohio
Supreme Court and, therefore, there is no basis for a writ.
As this Court observed in Adams y. Robertson, 520 U.S. 83
(1997), “it would be unseemly to our dual system of
government to disturb the finality of state judgments on a
federal ground that the state court did not have the occasion
to consider.” Jd. at 210, citing Webb y. Webb, 451 U.S. 493,
500 (1981).

Moreover, this Court has clearly stated most matters
relating to judicial qualification do not rise to a constitutional
level. The balancing of such factors as kinship, personal bias,
State policy, and remoteness of interest are generally left to
legislative discretion. FTC y. Cement Inst., 333 U.S. 683,
702 (1948); Tumey v. Ohio, 273 U.S. 510, 523 (1927). Indeed,
even where bias or prejudice exists, and even where there is
a failure to adhere to the local code of judicial conduct, such
infirmities alone do not constitute a violation of due process.
Aetna Life Ins. Co. v. Lavoie, 475 U.S. 813, 821 (1986).

Moreover, in an effort to force this case into a
constitutional framework, Conrail focuses on language in
various opinions holding that a litigant need not show a
judge’s decision was actually influenced by a personal
interest in the case. Conrail, however, ignores the required
predicate before issues of bias arise; in each of the cases
cited, there was the requisite direct interest in the outcome.
See, e.g., Lavoie, supra (The judge’s opinion had the clear
and immediate effect of enhancing both the legal status and
settlement value of his own case); Tumey, supra (The mayor
who presided over the case was personally and financially
interested in the decision, for under state law at the time, he
would receive no fee unless he found the defendant guilty);

19

Ward v. Village of Monroeville, 409 U.S. 57, 60 (1972)
(The fees produced from the mayor’s court accounted for a
substantial portion of municipal revenues); Jn re Murchison,
349 U.S. 133 (1955) (A judge serving as a “one-man grand
jury” in investigating a crime cannot later preside over a
contempt hearing for actions that took place during the grand
jury proceedings). Tellingly, Conrail cites no case where a
judge was disqualified for the receipt of lawful campaign
contributions.

As noted by the authorities cited in Conrail’s brief, the
states have addressed the appropriate balance to be struck
between the interests of full participation by attorneys in the
election process with the need to ensure judges are insulated
from potential for bias. Most commentators, including those
cited by Conrail, suggest striking that balance by limiting
the amount and specifying the timing of financial
contributions. See, e.g., Stuart Banner, Note, Disqualifying
Elected Judges From Cases Involving Campaign
Contributors, 40 Stan. L. Rev. 449 (1988); Mark Grannis,
Note, Safeguarding the Litigant’s Constitutional Right toa
Fair and Impartial Forum, 86 Mich. L. Rev. 382 (1989);
Jason Levien & Stacie L. Falka Cleaning Up Judicial
Elections, 2 Mich. L. & Pol’y Rev. 71 (1997). This is exactly
the balance struck by Ohio in its adoption of Canon 7 of the
Ohio Judicial Code. Ohio has enacted limitations both upon
the amount of contributions to election campaigns of
Supreme Court justices and the period within which those
donations may be solicited. These limitations, among the
most restrictive in the nation, were strictly complied with
by Justices Pfeifer and Sweeney.

20

B. Petitioner’s Recusal Application Was Dilatory

Under Ohio law, a party who fails to act promptly in
seeking to recuse a judge will be deemed to have waived his
or her objections, except in “extraordinary circumstances.”
In re: Disqualification of Light, 36 Ohio St.3d 604, 522
N.E.2d 458 (1988). Petitioner attempts to gloss over this
requirement by asserting “after the oral argument, Conrail
obtained the final post-election campaign finance reports of
two justices of the Supreme Court ... both of whom had
been reelected just prior to the November, 1998 argument,”
Petition at 7, 8. This implies the campaign finance reports
were not public knowledge, until after oral arguments. The
truth, however, is all Murray contributions were first publicly
reported on April 23, 1998, one month prior to the date on
which Conrail filed its first brief on the merits and nearly
seven months prior to oral arguments. Petitioner offers no
explanation for this delay or, for that matter, how it manages
to find an appearance of impartiality by two justices who
affirmed a $10,000,000 remittitur to a verdict the trial court
found was not constitutionally excessive. Thus, because
Conrail has failed to establish that its federal claim was
presented to the Ohio court in a timely and proper manner,
its application for a writ should be denied.

C. Conrail’s Motion Below Was Procedurally Improper
and Extra-Legal in Nature.

Conrail’s motion below did more than seek the recusal
of two justices. Under the heading “background,” Petitioner
sets forth what amounts to a “Statement of the Case” from
Conrail’s point of view, including numerous factual
contentions of no relevance to the subject matter of the
motion. Such a filing, nearly two months after presentation

21

of oral arguments, was entirely improper and raises the
inference Conrail was using this motion to influence the
Court on the merits. This impropriety rendered the motion
extra-legal and, therefore, it is unfair to criticize the Ohio
Supreme Court for not formally responding to it. This can
fairly be seen as an abuse of the judicial process that was, in
a fundamental sense, an attack on the very procedures that
undergird our notion of due process.

D. Petitioner’s Representation of Its Motion Below is
Substantially Misleading

It is one thing to lay out facts, quite another to use
characterizations that have no factual basis. The petition
repeatedly uses terms such as “questionable contributions,”
“ethical questions,” and “issue of impropriety” to insinuate
something for which there is simply no basis. These invidious
characterizations are used to support an argument regarding
Canon 7 of the Ohio Code of Judicial Conduct for which
there is no authority, namely, the notion that contributions
by different individuals can be aggregated to create both an
ethical violation and due process issue. The Murray firm
consists of nine partners, whose families span three
generations and consist of nearly 100 people. Because of
the nature of this firm’s practice, there has probably not been
a time in the past 15 years when the Murray firm has not had
at least one major case pending in the Ohio Supreme Court.’
Throughout that period, the law firm has openly exercised

7. Resp. App. 37a is a list of cases, most of which are published
in the 2000 edition of Martindale-Hubbell, in which the Murray
firm was either lead counsel for a litigant or amicus curiae in the
Ohio Supreme Court in the past two decades. This list does not
include many more cases in which the Murray firm petitioned the
Ohio Supreme Court for a discretionary review.

22

its right to support judicial candidates of its choice, within
the bounds of Ohio’s campaign rules. There has never been
the slightest suggestion of any impropriety against the firm
or its members. Conrail’s position, therefore, necessarily
leads to the conclusion, unless all firms are ethically bound
to impose limitations on the number of partners who may
Support the candidate of his or her choice, the Murray
partners, not to mention family members, are precluded from
contributing solely by virtue of their relation by blood — a
proposition tantamount to a Bill of Attainder.

Conrail also implies a connection between the campaign
contributions and the Murray firm’s “stake” in the outcome
of the case. This, says Petitioner, makes its right to a fair
trial “more acute” because the plaintiff's law firm has
“millions of dollars in fees at stake in the outcome of a
pending appeal.” Petition at 13. This is a highly misleading
assertion. For one thing, Darlene Wightman has assigned
fifty percent of the punitive damages recovered to the
Wightman Charitable Foundation. The Murray firm,
therefore, will receive much less than one-third of the
punitive award for ten years of work to hold Conrail
accountable for conduct shown to be consciously disregardful
of the lives and safety of people for decades.

Conrail also asserts the Ohio Supreme Court “for the
first time ruled that post-judgment interest could run on
punitive damages, thereby increasing the already excessive
penalty by approximately one-third, or by more than
$5,000,000.” Petition at 15. This implies a connection
between the post-judgment interest ruling and the
contributions. Conrail, however, fails to mention that this
ruling was based upon unambiguous language in Ohio’s post-
judgment interest statute, a reading that was concurred in by
all seven justices.

23

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth, the Petition should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

THOMAS J. MuRRAY

Counsel of Record

Mary O’NEILL

Murray & Murray Co., L.P.A.
111 East Shoreline Drive

P.O. Box 19

Sandusky, OH 44871-0019
(419) 624-3000

HARVEY L. FRUTKIN

KERIN L. KAMINSKI

KAREN GIFFEN

CAvitcH, FAMILO, DurRKIN

& FRUTKIN

14" Floor, East Ohio Building
Cleveland, OH 44114

(216) 621-7860

Attorneys for Respondents

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A — OPINION OF THE COURT OF
APPEALS OF OHIO, ERIE COUNTY DATED AND
DECIDED APRIL 15, 1994
WIGHTMAN, Admr., et al.,

Appellees and Cross-Appellants,
V.
CONSOLIDATED RAIL CORPORATION et al.,

Appellants and Cross-Appellees.*

Court of Appeals of Ohio,
Erie County.

No. E-92-75.

Decided April 15, 1994.

x * *

AsBoop, Presiding Judge.

This is an appeal and cross-appeal from a judgment of
the Erie County Court of Common Pleas which, following a
jury trial, awarded $1,000,000, the amount of the jury verdict,
in compensatory damages to the estate of Michelle
Wightman.

* Reporter’s Note: A discretionary appeal to the Supreme
Court of Ohio was not allowed in (1994), 70 Ohio St.3d 1442, 638
N.E.2d 1044.

2a

Appendix A

Defendant-appellant Consolidated Rail Corporation
(“CRC”) sets forth the following assignments of error:

“I. The trial court erred in failing to direct a verdict in
appellant’s favor at the close of all the evidence, finding the
negligence of plaintiff's decedent was the sole proximate
cause of the accident at issue.

“II. The trial court erred and denied appellant a fair trial
as a matter of law in connection with the jury charge as
follows:

“1. In refusing to instruct and submit appellant’s
interrogatory to the jury regarding the willful and wanton
misconduct of the decedent and in giving a punitive damage
charge as to appellant;

“2. In failing to instruct and submit appellant’s
interrogatory to the jury concerning the intervening and
superceding acts of the City of Sandusky Police Department;

“3. By instructing the jury in a contradictory and
confusing manner and in providing erroneous instructions

of law;

“4. By failing to submit required verdict forms to the
jury; and

**S_ In other instructional errors manifested in the record.

“III. The trial court erred and denied appellant a fair
trial in the admission of evidence as follows:

é
a
a
x.

pal dt ede ve RW astta:’ Ase
ans . 5

3a
Appendix A

“1. By admitting over objection expert’s opinions
inadmissible under Rules of Evidence 701 through 705;

“2. By admitting over objection testimony of plaintiff s
witnesses on matters of law and on facts not of record;

“3. In permitting plaintiff's witnesses to testify over
objection as to the private, inter-company rule of defendant.

“IV. Other errors at law occurring at time [of] trial and
brought to the attention of the trial court by the appellant.”

Plaintiffs-appellees, Darlene M. Wightman, administrator
of the estate of Michelle L. Wightman, deceased, and Darlene
M. Wightman, individually, set forth the following assignments
of error on cross-appeal:

“I. The trial court erred by refusing to submit the issue
of punitive damages to the jury on Darlene Wightman’s
property damage claim.

“Il. The trial court erred in refusing to award punitive
damages, attorneys fees, and costs to Darlene Wightman.

“Ill. The trial court erred in refusing to order Conrail to
pay interest at the statutory rate on one million dollars from
the date of the jury’s verdict or, in the alternative, for each
day entry of judgment has been delayed as a result of
defendants’ motion to disqualify.”

The facts that are relevant to the issues raised on appeal
are as follows. On February 19, 1989, at approximately 12:05

4a

Appendix A

a.m., the decedent, Michelle Wightman, was driving her
mother’s 1985 Ford southwest on Remington Avenue
approaching a railroad crossing in the city of Sandusky. A
short distance to the east of the crossing, a train owned and
operated by CRC was stopped for repairs on the tracks closest
to Michelle. When she got to the crossing, the gates were
down and the red lights were flashing. Michelle proceeded
to drive around the gates and began to cross the railroad
tracks when another train owned by CRC that was traveling
westbound on a second set of tracks appeared from behind
the stopped train and struck Michelle’s car, killing her and
her passenger instantly.

On September 12, 1989, Michelle’s mother, appellee
Darlene Wightman, acting both in her capacity as
administrator of Michelle’s estate and individually, brought
suit against CRC and the train’s engineer, appellant Louis
Nelson. The complaint set forth two causes of action. The
first cause of action contained four counts. Count one set
forth a claim for wrongful death which alleged: (1) that CRC
was negligent in permitting the stopped train to stand in such
close proximity to the crossing and obstruct the ability of
motorists to observe a second train approaching without
taking reasonable precautions to protect motorists; (2) that
CRC was negligent in operating a train at a speed which
created a foreseeable risk of injury or death; (3) that CRC
was negligent in failing to train and advise its crews as to
what reasonable measures should be taken in such
circumstances to protect motorists; and (4) that Nelson was
negligent in failing to reduce the speed of his train as he
approached the crossing, in failing to notify the crew of the
disabled train that he was approaching the crossing at such a

OO ets aaatt,

Sa

Appendix A

high rate of speed and in failing to give adequate warning to
motorists that his train was approaching the crossing.’

Count two of the first cause of action set forth a
survivorship claim.’ Count three of the first cause of action
set forth a claim for funeral and burial expenses.’

In count four of the first cause of action, appellees
alleged: (1) that CRC had habitually permitted similar
circumstances to exist at various points in its system which
has resulted in numerous deaths and injuries; (2) that CRC
failed to take reasonable steps to protect motorists at the
crossing, despite the fact that it had actual knowledge for
approximately one hour prior to the decedent’s death, that a
situation existed in which harm was certain or substantially
certain to occur; and (3) that these acts and omissions
constitute an intentional, wanton and reckless disregard for
human life and the safety of the public, which conduct bars
appellants from avoiding liability in this action because of
any alleged acts or omissions on the part of the decedent.
For their first cause of action appellees requested a minimum
of $79,500 in compensatory damages.

1. Although there is no judgment entry in the record which
dismissed Nelson, at the conclusion of the evidence the parties
stipulated that Nelson could be dismissed from the case.

2. There is no judgment entry in the record which dismissed
this claim, however, it does not appear that it was pursued at trial
since the evidence did not support such a claim.

3. There is no judgment entry in the record as to any disposition
on this claim.

6a

Appendix A

The complaint’s second cause of action set forth Darlene
Wightman’s personal claim for property damage, for the loss
of her automobile as a result of appellants’ negligence and
‘intentional, wanton and reckless misconduct.” For this cause
of action, appellee Darlene Wightman requested compensatory
damages in excess of $1,000 and as well as punitive damages
in excess of $25,000.

On December 18, 1989, appellants filed their answer and
on October 3, 1990, appellees filed an amended complaint
which amended their requests for compensatory and punitive
damages. On October 16, 1990, the case proceeded to trial
by jury. At the conclusion of appellees’ case, appellants
moved for a directed verdict, which the trial court denied.
At the conclusion of all of the evidence, the court denied
both appellants’ renewed motion for a directed verdict and
appellees’ motion for directed verdict. The case was then
submitted to the jury with eight interrogatories.

On October 30, 1990, the jury entered a verdict in favor
of the estate of the decedent in the amount of $1,000,000.
By its response to the interrogatories, the jury: (1) found
that the $1,000,000, exclusive of funeral and burial expenses,
would compensate the estate of the decedent without regard
to the negligence of either party; (2) apportioned the
negligence of the parties to the accident as sixty percent to
appellant CRC and forty percent to the decedent; (3) found
that appellant CRC “authorized, participated in, or ratified
actions or omissions of an agent or servant that demonstrated
‘malice’ * * * and that such malice was, by clear and
convincing evidence a proximate cause of the accident”; and
(4) found that appellant CRC should be liable for punitive
damages.

‘
a
i
£
S
¥..
i
‘
fa
°
be
z
¢
4
4
4 &
s.
:
f

. a
SS ae

es Saat Sa ee

SDE Le ee EST, TED

ee’ att

7a
Appendix A

On October 31, 1990, the court filed its judgment entry
which set a hearing on the punitive damages for November
3, 1990. On November 13, 1990, before the proceedings on
punitive damages were concluded, appellants’ attorney filed
an affidavit of bias or prejudice against the trial judge in the
Supreme Court of Ohio. Because of this filing, the trial court
stayed further proceedings on the case pending determination
of the issue of disqualification. On February 11, 1991, the
affidavit of disqualification was found not well taken. On
May 20, 1991, the trial court filed its judgment entry which
set a further hearing on the punitive damages for June 14,
1991. After further continuances, the hearing on punitive
damages was ultimately held on August 9 and September
20, 1991.

Prior to that hearing taking place, however, on June 10,
1991, CRC filed a motion for judgment notwithstanding the
verdict as to the punitive damage award. In support of its
motion, CRC argued that: (1) punitive damages are not
recoverable in a wrongful death case and therefore punitive
damages could only be awarded as to Darlene Wightman’s
property damage claim; (2) Wightman could only prevail
on her claim for compensatory damages if the jury
determined that CRC’s negligence exceeded Michelle
Wightman’s; (3) since the trial court refused to charge the
jury on CRC’s defense of comparative negligence and the
jury never considered that issue, no judgment can be properly
entered on her property damage claim and, therefore, the
punitive damage award was not proper; (4) punitive damages
cannot be awarded on Darlene Wightman’s claim since no
verdict was ever entered in her favor; (5) while the parties
did stipulate as to the amount of compensatory damages to

8a

Appendix A

which Darlene would be entitled upon a finding of liability,
there was no stipulation as to liability on that claim; (6) there
is no evidence in the record from which the jury could
properly have found that CRC acted with malice and,
therefore, the punitive damage award was not proper, and
(7) that the award of punitive damages is unconstitutional
since it violated the Due Process and Excessive Fines Clauses
of the United States Constitution.

On November 21, 1991, appellants filed a “post-trial
consolidated brief and motion for new trial.” In this brief,
appellants set forth the issues in the case that remained to be
resolved before the entry of final judgment, which included:
(1) appellees’ request for attorney fees, costs and interest on
the award from the date of the verdict; (2) whether appellee
Darlene Wightman was entitled to a punitive damage award
since there was no judgment entry or verdict on her property
damage claim; and (3) whether appellee Darlene Wightman
was entitled to a punitive damage award based upon the
amount of actual damages that she sustained. Appellants also
requested a new trial in order to “prevent a manifest
miscarriage of justice,” primarily citing the issue of the
decedent’s comparative fault and the fact that the jury was
not instructed that the decedent's conduct could have been
found to be willful and wanton.

On February 11, 1992, the trial court filed a judgment
entry in which it summarily denied CRC’s motion for
judgment notwithstanding the verdict without setting forth
any reason for the denial. On November 10, 1992, the trial
court filed a judgment entry in which it summarily denied
appellants’ motion for new trial, again without setting forth

9a

Appendix A

any reasons. In that same entry the trial court entered
judgment in favor of the estate of Michelle Wightman in the
amount of the jury’s verdict of $1,000,000 in compensatory
damages, but awarded no punitive damages. The trial court
noted on the judgment entry that there was no just cause for
delay. Thereafter both parties filed a notice of appeal.

Before we address the parties’ specific assignments of
error, this court feels compelled to state that it has been
difficult at best to consider the issues raised on appeal due
to the failure of the trial court to set forth in its various
judgment entries any basis for its denials of the parties’
motions or the basis for its denial of punitive damages. This
court and the parties have therefore been left to speculate as
to the basis for the court’s rulings. Our review of this case
has been further complicated by the fact that not all of the
claims and parties to this suit have been disposed of.
Although the court did use the requisite Civ.R. 54(B)
language, we fail to see why it did not dispose of the
remaining claims.

I. APPEAL
A

In its first assignment of error appellant asserts that the
trial court erred by failing to direct a verdict in its favor at
the close of the evidence. In support of this assignment of
error appellant argues that when the decedent proceeded
around the gates and across the railroad tracks, she violated
both state and municipal law governing motorists’ conduct
at railroad crossings, as well as a common-law duty to look

(10a

Appendix A

and listen, and such violations constituted negligence per
se. Appellant also argues that the evidence demonstrates that
the decedent intentionally violated these laws and the
crossing warnings and that had she not done so the accident
would not have occurred and, therefore, the sole cause of
the accident was the decedent’s own negligence.

Appellees respond that the cases of Schellhouse v.
Norfolk & W. Ry. Co. (1991), 61 Ohio St.3d 520, 575 N.E.2d
453, and Brown v. Consol. Rail Corp. (Oct. 11, 1991), Erie
App. No. E-90-35, unreported, 1991 WL 253917, are
dispositive of this issue. Appellees submit that, pursuant to
that authority, the jury’s finding that appellant CRC acted
with malice and that that malice was a proximate cause of
the accident removes all issues of negligence from the case
and, therefore, the trial court properly found that the
decedent’s estate was entitled to recover the full amount of
the compensatory damages assessed by the jury.

Civ.R. 50(A)(4) provides that:

“When a motion for a directed verdict has been properly
made, and the trial court, after construing the evidence most
strongly in favor of the party against whom the motion is
directed, finds that upon any determinative issue reasonable
minds could come to but one conclusion upon the evidence
submitted and that conclusion is adverse to such party, the
court shall sustain the motion and direct a verdict for the
moving party as to that issue.”

In considering a motion for a directed verdict, neither
the weight of the evidence nor the credibility of the witnesses

tines ot.

Fie hiknise)

Fs age erg

IRE DAY HBP cal Th helt 1 tld Cele I gt BARRARD DG 2 tieiNeatn

TS Pe

lla

Appendix A

is for the court’s determination. Posin v. A.B.C. Motor Court
Hotel (1976), 45 Ohio St.2d 271, 275, 74 0.0.2d 427, 429,
344 N.E.2d 334, 338. Where there is substantial evidence to
support the position of the party against whom the motion is
directed upon which reasonable minds may reach different
conclusions, the motion must be denied. /d.

In Schellhouse, supra, the Supreme Court of Ohio
determined that if a railroad committed an intentional tort
with malice and if that intentional tort was a proximate cause
of the plaintiff's damage, the negligence of the plaintiff's
decedent is not a defense and the plaintiff would be entitled
to full recovery. That court stated that “[a]cts committed with
actual malice constitute behavior qualitatively different from
that which may be characterized as merely negligent.” /d.,

61 Ohio St.3d at 524, 575 N.E.2d at 456. The Schellhouse
court noted that:

“Contributory negligence, prior to the enactment of R.C.
2315.19, did not bar recovery in an action predicated upon
the willful, wanton or reckless conduct of a defendant.
Likewise, the provisions of a statute which operate to prevent
or reduce the recovery of a plaintiff due to her comparative
negligence should not apply in such a case. Accordingly, in
a civil action for tort or wrongful death, a finding by the
jury that a plaintiff (or plaintiff’s decedent) was
comparatively negligent will not defeat or diminish the
recovery of damages where the defendant’s intentional tort.
committed with actual malice, proximately caused the
injury.” /d., 61 Ohio St.3d at 525, 575 N.E.2d at 457.

12a

Appendix A

In Brown v. Consol. Rail Corp. (Oct. 11, 1991), Erie
App. No. E-90-35, unreported, 1991 WL 253917, this court,
citing Schellhouse, supra, determined that a finding of actual
malice negates a set-off for damages under Ohio’s
comparative negligence law.

Even if there had been no evidence presented to support
a finding of malice, under the comparative negligence
doctrine the fact that the decedent violated state and
municipal traffic codes would not automatically establish
that she was the proximate cause of the accident and would
not preclude competent evidence as to appellant’s own
negligence. See Kromenacker v. Blystone (1987), 43 Ohio
App.3d 126, 131, 539 N.E.2d 675, 680; Case v. Norfolk &
W. Ry. Co. (1988), 59 Ohio App.3d 11, 570 N.E.2d 1132;

Brown, supra.

In this case, to grant a directed verdict, the trial court,
upon its review and assessment of the evidence would have
had to conclude that reasonable minds could reach no other
conclusion but that the decedent was negligent and that her
negligence was the sole proximate cause of her death.
Contrary to appellants’ assertions, our review of the record
indicates that there was evidence presented from which the
jury could have reasonably concluded that appellant CRC
acted with actual malice or at the very least acted negligently
and that its actions were a proximate cause of the accident.
We find, therefore, that the trial court did not err in denying
appellant’s motions for a directed verdict. Accordingly,
appellant's first assignment of error is found not well taken.

Lo ek a

13a

Appendix A
B

In its second assignment of error appellant asserts that
it was denied a fair trial as a result of errors in the court’s
instructions to the jury. Appellant sets forth several specific
areas in which it contends the trial court erred in its
instructions: (1) in refusing to instruct the jury that the
decedent’s intentional violation of known duties could be
found to constitute willful and wanton misconduct, and in
refusing to submit an interrogatory to the jury on that issue;
(2) by instructing the jury as to CRC’s alleged intentional
misconduct when the evidence did not warrant such an
instruction; (3) in failing to charge the jury that the conduct
of the Sandusky police officer could be found to be an
intervening and superseding act relieving appellants of any
liability and in failing to submit an interrogatory to the jury
on this issue; (4) in giving jury instructions that were, in
general, contradictory and confusing and erroneous as a
matter of law; (5) in failing to charge the jury and submit
the required verdict forms to the jury as to the claims
involving Nelson’s liability and Darlene Wightman’s
property damage claim.

We will first address appellant’s assertions as to the
specific instructions that it claims were erroneously excluded
from the jury charge as well as the corresponding
interrogatories that it asserts should have been submitted to
the jury.

“It is well established that the trial court will not instruct
the jury where there is no evidence to support an issue. Riley
v. Cincinnati (1976), 46 Ohio St.2d 287, 75 0.0.2d 331,

EEE SESS EES Tee ee a a ae

l4a

Appendix A

348 N.E.2d 135. However, the corollary of this maxim is
also true. [Footnote omitted.] ‘Ordinarily requested
instructions should be given if they are correct statements
of the law applicable to the facts in the case and reasonable
minds might reach the conclusion sought by the instruction.’
Markus & Palmer, Trial Handbook for Ohio Lawyers
(3 Ed.1991) 860, Section 36:2. See, also, Feterle v. Huettner
(1971), 28 Ohio St.2d 54, 57 0.0.2d 213, 275 N.E.2d 340,
at the syllabus: ‘/n reviewing a record to ascertain the
presence of sufficient evidence to support the giving of a(n]
* * * instruction, an appellate court should determine
whether the record contains evidence from which reasonable
minds might reach the conclusion sought by the
instruction.’ " (Emphasis added.) Murphy v. Carrollton Mfg.
Co. (1991), 61 Ohio St.3d 585, 591, 575 N.E.2d 828, 832.

The use of jury interrogatories is governed by Civ.R.
49(B), which provides in pertinent part:

“The court shall submit written interrogatories to the
jury, together with appropriate forms for a general verdict,
upon request of any party prior to the commencement of
argument. Counsel shall submit the proposed interrogatories
to the court and to opposing counsel at such time. The court
shall inform counsel of its proposed action on the requests
prior to their arguments to the jury, but the interrogatories
shall be submitted to the jury in the form the court approves.
The interrogatories may be directed to one or more
determinative issues whether issues of fact or mixed issues
of fact and law.

TIT Ce ee ee ee wy iets were

1Sa

Appendix A

“The court shall give such explanation or instruction as
may be necessary to enable the jury both to make answers to
the interrogatories and to render a general verdict, and the
court shall direct the jury both to make written answers and
to render a general verdict.”

Although Civ.R. 49(B) requires a trial court to submit
interrogatories to the jury once it is requested to do so, the
court still retains limited discretion “to reject submission of
the interrogatories where the request is untimely or the
proposed interrogatories are ambiguous, confusing,
redundant, or otherwise legally objectionable. Proper jury
interrogatories must address determinative issues and must
be based upon trial evidence.” Ramage v. Cent. Ohio
Emergency Serv., Inc. (1992), 64 Ohio St.3d 97, 107, 592
N.E.2d 828, 836. In Ramage, supra, the court, citing Ragone
v. Vitali & Beltrami, Jr., Inc. (1975), 42 Ohio St.2d 161,
165-166, 71 O.0.2d 164, 166, 327 N.E.2d 645, 649, stated:

“Authority is still vested in the judge to control the
substance and form of the questions, and if the interrogatories
are not based on the evidence, are incomplete, ambiguous
or otherwise legally objectionable, the judge need not submit
them to the jury.” 64 Ohio St.3d at 107-108, 592 N.E.2d at
836.

This court has thoroughly reviewed the arguments of
the parties concerning the jury charge, the entire transcript
of the proceedings before the trial court and the applicable
law. As to appellant’s assertions going to the effect of the
conduct of the decedent, this court finds that not only would
the evidence not support the giving of such an instruction

l6a

Appendix A

and interrogatory but the requested instruction and
interrogatory were not correct statements of the law. See
Payne v. Vance (1921), 103 Ohio St. 59, 133 N.E. 85. As to
appellant’s assertion that the jury charge should have
included the instruction and interrogatory as to the Sandusky
police officer’s conduct being a superseding and intervening
cause, we find that the evidence in the record does not support
the giving of such an instruction and interrogatory. As to
appellant’s assertions as to the issue of Nelson’s liability
not being submitted to the jury, the briefs and the record
indicate that the parties stipulated that Nelson could be
dismissed from the case and therefore it was not necessary
to submit the issue of his negligence to the jury.*

As to appellant’s assertions that the trial court’s jury
instructions were generally confusing, contradictory and
erroneous:

“A charge to the jury should be a plain, distinct and
unambiguous statement of the law as applicable to the case
made before the jury by the proof adduced.” Marshall v.
Gibson (1985), 19 Ohio St.3d 10, 12, 19 OBR 8, 10, 482
N.E.2d 583, 585, citing Parmlee v. Adolph (1875), 28 Ohio
St. 10, paragraph two of the syllabus. “ * * * [A]n incomplete
charge will constitute grounds for reversal of a judgment
where the charge as given misleads the jury.” Marshall,
supra, 19 Ohio St.3d at 12, 19 OBR at 10, 482 N.E.2d at
585.

4. The argument concerning Darlene Wightman’s property
damage claim and the punitive damage award will be dealt with
later in this opinion.

Gia neh hg RRR a ba Ces

i7a

Appendix A

Upon consideration of the jury charge as a whole, in
light of the evidence in the record and the applicable law,
this court finds that charge met the standard set forth in
Marshall, supra. Accordingly, appellant’s second assignment
of error is found not well taken.

es

In its third assignment of error appellant asserts that the
trial court committed prejudicial error by admitting the
opinion testimony of appellees’ witness, William Berg, and
the testimony of Glen Slyker. Appellant argues that: (1) Dr.
Berg’s testimony should not have been submitted to the jury
as that of an “expert” because his testimony contained
nothing of a scientific or technical nature and contained
nothing that was necessary to assist the jury in understanding
and deciding the facts before it; (2) the trial court erred in
admitting Berg’s testimony as to the existence and breach
of legal duties; (3) Berg’s testimony was based upon facts
that were not in evidence; (4) Berg should not have been
allowed to testify as to CRC’s private company rule; and (5)
witness Glen Slyker should not have been allowed to testify
as to the applicability of certain company rules of the Norfolk
& Western Railway.

Evid. R. 702 states:

“If scientific, technical, or other specialized knowledge
will assist the trier of fact to understand the evidence or to
determine a fact in issue, a witness qualified as an expert by
knowledge, skill, experience, training or education, may
testify thereto in the form of an opinion or otherwise.”

18a

Appendix A

Evid. R. 703 states:

“The facts or data in the particular case upon which an
expert bases an opinion or inference may be those perceived
by him or admitted in evidence at the hearing.”

Evid.R. 704 states:

“Testimony in the form of an opinion or inference
otherwise admissible is not objectionable solely because it
embraces an ultimate issue to be decided by the trier of fact.”

The admissibility of expert testimony is a matter within
the discretion of the trial court and its ruling thereon will
not be disturbed on appeal absent a showing of an abuse of
that discretion. Frank v. Vulcan Materials Co. (1988), 55
Ohio App.3d 153, 563 N.E.2d 339. An abuse of discretion
implies an attitude by the trial court that is unreasonable,
arbitrary, or unconscionable. Ruwe v. Bd. of Springfield Twp.
Trustees (1987), 29 Ohio St.3d 59, 61, 29 OBR 441, 443,
505 N.E.2d 957, 958.

At the trial, appellees’ witness, Dr. William Berg, was
permitted to testify as an expert over appellants’ objections.
Berg first testified as to the materials he had reviewed and
what he did to prepare for testifying at the trial. Berg then
reviewed the conditions that existed at the time of the
collision. Berg testified as to the time and space relationship
of the trains and vehicles, and the perception points and
reaction times of the motorists based upon all the impacting
factors, including how the physical characteristics of the
crossing grade affected those relationships. Berg also

19a

Appendix A

testified as to the placement and operation of railway warning
devices and how their unnecessary activation creates
credibility problems and hazards which lead to accidents,
which is a phenomenon that is well known to the railroad.
Berg also stated that the railroad industry recognizes the
hazards created by the unnecessary operation of automatic
warning signals and, therefore, certain operating rules contain
recommendations for such situations. Berg testified that
CRC’s Operating Rule 105° was such a rule and that it
acknowledges that one train can obscure the approach of
another and create a hazard by directing that to avoid
unnecessary operation of automatic warning devices, engines
and/or cars are not permitted to stand longer than necessary.
Berg also testified that that particular rule contains a
provision that when automatic warning devices are not
operating properly the dispatcher must be notified and
approaching trains must be directed to prepare to stop at
crossings until highway traffic is protected. Berg then stated
that, in his opinion, the principal causal factors of this
collision were: the sight obstruction created by the stopped
train; the operation of the warning devices for such a period
of time that they created a credibility problem; the fact that
the crew observed the conditions that existed, yet took no
action to protect approaching motorists; and the fact that
appellant’s rules were unclear as to what action the crew

5. A portion of CRC’s Operating Rule 105 was read to the
jury as follows: “When equipment is standing and obscuring the
view of highway traffic, an employee must protect highway traffic
against movement on adjacent tracks. Equipment stored on tracks
close to a public crossing must be placed to permit a clear view for
highway traffic using the crossing. When space permits, equipment
must be placed three hundred (300) feet from the crossing.”

20a

Appendix A

was to take in such circumstances. Berg also testified that
the decedent’s conduct was reasonable under the
circumstances since any reasonable person would have
believed that the warning devices were not functioning
properly and that it was safe to proceed cautiously. Berg
testified also as to reasonable alternatives that were available
to appellants which would have accommodated their needs
and interests while at the same time protected the crossing
and the motorists.

Later in the trial Glen Slyker, a retired engineer for
Norfolk & Western Railway, was called to testify by
appellees as a rebuttal witness.° Slyker testified that he
reviewed the operating book for Norfolk & Western Railway
and that there were rules contained therein that applied in
the type of situation that existed in this case. Slyker also
testified that based upon his experience and his observation
of customs and practices observed during his years with
Norfolk & Western, he had encountered many situations in
which he had to stop a train within three hundred feet of a
crossing and that there were rules in the book governing such
situations. He cited specifically to Rule 101(3) which
provided that when the end of a train stands near a grade
crossing, a crew member must, when practicable, protect the
crossing from movement on the adjacent tracks.

6. Slyker was called to rebut testimony by appellant CRC’s
witness, Louis Nelson. Nelson testified that he had reviewed the
operating rules for two other major railroads operating in Ohio and
found that both Norfolk-Southern Railroad and CSX had rules
similar to CRC’s Operating Rule 105. Nelson stated that these two
rules, N.S. 103(c) and CSX Rule 100-F provided that the required
distances for storing equipment near a crossing was only 100 feet.

SY esa ee Se. ane

Na ee ee

2la

Appendix A

Upon consideration of the testimony of William Berg
and the law as set forth above, this court finds that the trial
court did not abuse its discretion in finding that it was
necessary to assist the jury and that the admission of this
testimony was in compliance with Evid.R. 703, 704 and 705.
This court finds further that the trial court did not abuse its
discretion in admitting Berg’s testimony as to CRC’s Rule
105 and Glen Slyker’s testimony as to the rules of other
railway companies, particularly given the cautionary
instructions that were read to the jury concerning their
consideration of these rules.’ See Columbus v. T, aylor (1988),
39 Ohio St.3d 162, 164, 529 N.E.2d 1382, 1384. Accordingly,
appellant’s third assignment of error is found not well taken.

As its fourth assignment of error, appellant sets forth a
general assignment of error encompassing all other errors
that occurred at trial. Since appellant has set forth no
arguments in support of this assignment of error, we need
not address it. App.R. 12(A); State v. Rivers (1977), 50 Ohio
App.2d 129, 135, 4.0.0.3d 100, 103, 361 N.E.2d 1363, 1367.
Accordingly, appellant’s fourth assignment of error is found
not well taken.

7. The following cautionary instruction was given to the jury
both during the course of the trial and in the court’s final instructions:

“You are cautioned that the legal standard of care one party
owes to another is set by the law. Just as one party may not ignore a
duty owed to another by the promulgation of a private rule, a legal
duty is not created to a non-employee by the promulgation of a
private rule and the violation of such a rule, even if proven, is not
negligence in and of itself. Any alleged violation of a company rule
may be considered by you along with all other evidence presented
during trial on the issues presented.”

22a

Appendix A
Il. CROSS-APPEAL

A

In their first cross-assignment of error appellees assert
that the trial court erred by refusing to submit the issue of
punitive damages to the jury. In support of this assignment
of error appellees argue that that portion of R.C. 2315.21,"
which provides that the amount of punitive damages to be
awarded is to be determined by the court and not the jury
violates Section 5, Article I of the Ohio Constitution’ since
it denies the right to a jury trial on the issue of damages to
persons who suffer injury as a result of intentional
wrongdoing. Appellees assert that Article | guarantees an
individual the opportunity to have all factual issues in a civil
action decided by a jury and that, although the Supreme Court
of Ohio has not ruled on the constitutionality of this particular

8. R.C. 2315.21(C) provides in pertinent part:

“(1) Ina tort action, the trier of fact shall determine the liability
of any defendant for punitive damages.

“(2) In a tort action, whether the trier of fact is a jury or the
court, if the trier of fact determines that any defendant is liable for
punitive or exemplary damages, the amount of those damages shall
be determined by the court.”

9. Section 5, Article I of the Ohio Constitution provides:

“The right of trial by jury shall be inviolate, except that, in
civil cases, laws may be passed to authorize the rendering of any
verdict by the concurrence of not less than three-fourths of the jury.”

_

23a

Appendix A

statute, its decision in Kneisley v. Lattimer-Stevens Co.
(1988), 40 Ohio St.3d 354, 533 N.E.2d 743, makes it clear
that the statute is unconstitutional.

In response, appellant argues that this issue is moot since
there is no actual property damage award in the record on
which to base an award of punitive damages. In the
alternative, appellant asserts that in Digital & Analog Design
Corp. v. N. Supply Co. (1992), 63 Ohio St.3d 657, 590 N.E.2d
737, the Supreme Court of Ohio determined that, since the
right to punitive damages is an equitable right, as opposed
to a legal one, a litigant has no constitutional right to have a
jury determine the amount of punitive damages.

Initially we note that “[a]ll legislative enactments enjoy
a presumption of constitutionality.” Sedar v. Knowlton
Constr. Co. (1990), 49 Ohio St.3d 193, 551 N.E.2d 938. A
statute will be declared invalid only if its unconstitutionality
is shown beyond a reasonable doubt. Zoppo v. Homestead
Ins. Co. (July 8, 1993), Cuyahoga App. No. 62926,
unreported, 1993 WL 262641, citing Cincinnati Bd. of Edn.
v. Walter (1979), 58 Ohio St.2d 368, 376, 12 0.0.3d 327,
331, 390 N.E.2d 813, 819.

We find appellees’ assertion that the Supreme Court’s
decision in Kneisley, supra, requires us to find R.C. 2315.21
unconstitutional to be without merit. That case concerns the
right to a jury trial for the assessment of damages in
intentional tort actions against an employer and we decline
to apply it to the case before us.

24a

Appendix A

We do find, however, that the decision of the Supreme
Court in Digital & Analog Design Corp., supra, is dispositive
of this issue. In that case the court determined that an award
of attorney fees in a tort action does not compensate the
victim for damages flowing from the tort but is, rather, a
“punitive (and thus equitable) remedy that flows from a jury
finding of malice and the award of punitive damages.” /d.,
63 Ohio St.3d at 662, 590 N.E.2d at 742. The Digital court
found that there was no constitutional right to a trial by jury
on the issue of what amount of attorney fees should be
awarded in a tort action. /d. That court also stated:

“The General Assembly, through its enactment of R.C.
2315.21 and the amendment of R.C. 2315.18, [footnote
omitted] has now clarified that it is a proper function for the
trial court, in a jury trial in a tort action, to determine the
amount of punitive damages, but that the issue of liability is
expressly reserved to the jury. Although these provisions
were not in effect at the time the instant cause of action arose,
we are nonetheless persuaded that the approach taken by the
legislature is the proper course for the development of the
common law of this state.” /d., 63 Ohio St.3d at 663, 590
N.E.2d at 742-743.

In accordance with the foregoing this court finds that
appellees have failed to demonstrate beyond a reasonable
doubt that the provision of R.C. 2315.21 that directs that the
court determine the amount of punitive damages to be
awarded in a tort action once the finder of fact determines
liability therefor is unconstitutional. See Zoppo, supra.
Accordingly, appellees’ first assignment of error is found
not well taken.

25a

Appendix A
B

In their second cross-assignment of error appellees assert
that the trial court erred in refusing to award punitive
damages, attorney fees and costs to Darlene Wightman on
her property damage claim. Appellees argue that, while the
amount of punitive damages to be awarded lies within the
discretion of the trial court, it was not within the court’s
discretion to fail to award any punitive damages when the
jury expressly found that they are to be assessed. Appellees
argue further that once the finder of fact determines that
punitive damages may be recovered, an award of attorney
fees and costs is also warranted.

In response, appellant argues that the trial court properly
denied an award of punitive damages because there is no
verdict or judgment on Darlene Wightman’s property damage
claim and punitive damages are not recoverable in a wrongful
death action; that while appellant did stipulate at trial as to
the value of the car, it did not stipulate as to the issue of
liability, since the question of Darlene’s comparative
negligence was at issue; and that the issue of their liability
for the damage to Darlene Wightman’s car was never
submitted to the jury and no judgment was entered in her
favor on thai claim. Appellant argues in the alternative that
even if there was a judgment or verdict on the property
damage claim, the trial court has discretion to refuse to grant
an award of punitive damages based upon a finding that
actual damages were insufficient to support the award, citing
Ray v. Engard (Nov. 22, 1985), Lucas App. No. L-85-051,
unreported, 1985 WL 8229; Case v. Norfolk & W. Ry. Co.
(1988), 59 Ohio App.3d 11,570 N.E.2d 1132: Clark v. Totten

26a

Appendix A

(Apr. 24, 1986), Cuyahoga App. Nos. 50535, 50536,
unreported, 1986 WL 4970; Williams v. McCrory Corp. (Jan.
11, 1985), Montgomery App. No. 8963, unreported, 1985
WL 6680. Finally, appellant asserts that the trial court’s
decision to award no punitive damages was proper in that
the evidence presented at trial did not support a finding of
actual malice.

It is not disputed that punitive damages are not
recoverable in a wrongful death action. Rubeck v. Huffman
(1978), 54 Ohio St.2d 20, 8 O.0.3d 11, 374 N.E.2d 411.
The recovery of punitive damages in tort actions is provided
for, however, by R.C. 2315.21, which provides in pertinent
part:

“(B) Subject to division (D) of this section, punitive or
exemplary damages are not recoverable from a defendant in
question in a tort action unless both of the following apply:

“(1) The actions or omissions of that defendant
demonstrate malice, aggravated or egregious fraud,
oppression, or insult, or that defendant as principal or master
authorized, participated in, or ratified actions or omissions
of an agent or servant that so demonstrate,

“(2) The plaintiff in question has adduced proof of actual
damages that resulted from actions or omissions as described
in division (B)(1) of this section.

“(C)(1) Ina tort action, the trier of fact shall determine
the liability of any defendant for punitive or exemplary
damages.

27a
Appendix A

(2) Ina tort action, whether the trier of fact is a jury or
the court, if the trier of fact determines that any defendant is
liable for punitive or exemplary damages, the amount of those
damages shall be determined by the court.

“(3) In a tort action the burden of proof shall be upon ¢
plaintiff in question, by clear and convincing evidence, tc
establish that he is entitled to recover punitive or exemplary
damages.”

The first question we must address is whether the jury’s
determination that CRC is liable for punitive damages was
proper without a verdict or judgment on Darlene Wightman’s
property damage claim. The complaint in this action set forth
a claim for property damage for Darlene Wightman’s car,
which was the vehicle the deceased was driving, and for an
award of punitive damages. During the course of the trial
the parties agreed to stipulate to the value of the vehicle. At
the conclusion of the trial, the court did not instruct the jury
on Wightman’s property damage claim or submit a verdict
form on that issue. Although there appears to be no judgment
entry in the record as to the property damage claim, we find
that, since the jury determined that liability for the collision
rests with appellant CRC based on its finding of actual
malice, appellee Darlene Wightman is, as a matter of law,
entitled to judgment on the property damage claim in the
amount stipulated by the parties. Accordingly, upon the trial
court, on remand, entering the appropriate judgment on the
property damage claim, there is a proper basis for the award
of punitive damages. As to the issue of comparative
negligence, we find that since the jury determined that CRC
acted with malice, the existence of contributory negligence

28a

Appendix A

would not defeat or diminish her recovery of damages.
Schellhouse, supra.

Having determined that there is a proper basis for the
award of punitive damages, we must then address the issue
of whether the trial court abused its discretion in awarding
no punitive damages. Appellant asserts that the trial court
properly refused to award any amount for punitive damages
because the actual damages of $2,000 were insufficient to
support an award. Again, due to its summary entry, we do
not know the basis for the trial court’s denial of punitive
damages.

Upon review of R.C. 2315.21, however, we find that it
does not require that the actual damages upon which an award
of punitive damages is based be substantial. Although the
General Assembly has not set forth the factors to be
considered, our review of cases dealing with awards of
punitive damages compels us to conclude that the amount
of the actual damages sustained should not be the sole factor
in determining the appropriate award of punitive damages.
Rather, a number of factors must be considered by a trial
court in making its determination, while keeping in mind
that the purpose behind an award of punitive damages is
punishment of the guilty party and the deterrence of similar
conduct in the future. See, generally, Villella v. Waikem
Motors, Inc. (1989) 45 Ohio St.3d 36, 543 N.E.2d 464;
Calmes v. Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co. (1991), 61 Ohio
St.3d 470, 473, 575 N.E.2d 416, 419. These factors would
necessarily include, but are not limited to, the nature of the
conduct that resulted in the injury, the financial condition of
the defendant, the amount necessary to deter future similar

29a

Appendix A

conduct, and prior or similar acts by the defendant, as well
as the amount of actual or compensatory damages. Villella,
supra; Spadafore v. Blue Shield (1985), 21 Ohio App.3d 201,
21 OBR 215, 486 N.E.2d 1201: Estate of Morad v. Task
(Mar. 10, 1994), Cuyahoga App. No. 64787, unreported,
1994 WL 78157.

In light of all of the foregoing, this court finds that the
trial court abused its discretion in failing to award any amount
for punitive damages after the jury determined that appellees
are entitled to such an award.

As to appellant’s assertion that the evidence did not
support the jury’s finding of actual malice, the term “actual
malice” is defined as: “(1) that state of mind under which a
person’s conduct is characterized by hatred, ill will or a spirit
of revenge, or (2) a conscious disregard for the rights and
safety of other persons that has a great probability of causing
substantial harm.” (Emphasis sic.) Preston vy. Murty (1987),
32 Ohio St.3d 334, 512 N.E.2d 1174, syllabus.

Upon consideration of the entire record of proceedings
in the trial court, we find that there was clear and convincing
evidence to support the jury’s finding of actual malice on
the part of appellant CRC.

As to the issue of attorney fees, although our review of
the record shows that appellees requested an award of
attorney fees and costs, and the issue was briefed by both
parties, there appears to be nothing in the record to indicate
that the trial court ever ruled on that request. This issue is
therefore not before us on appeal but remains for the trial
court to address upon remand by this court.

30a

Appendix A

Accordingly, appellees’ second cross-assignment of
error is found well taken in part and not well taken in part.

C

In their third cross-assignment of error appellees assert
that the trial court erred in refusing to order CRC to pay
interest at the statutory rate on the $1,000,000 compensatory
damage award from the date of the jury’s verdict, or in the
alternative, for each day that the entry of judgment was
delayed as a result of appellants’ motion to disqualify the
trial judge.

As to this issue as well, our review of the record indicates
that, although this matter was raised and briefed, no
disposition was made by the trial court. This issue therefore
is not before us on appeal but remains for the trial court to
address upon remand by this court. Accordingly, appellees’
third cross-assignment of error is found not well taken.

On consideration whereof, this court finds that the
decision of the Erie County Court of Common Pleas is
affirmed in part and reversed in part. The decision of that
court denying appellee, Darlene Wightman, any award of
punitive damages is reversed and this case is remanded to
the trial court for determination as to the amount of punitive
damages to which appellee, Darlene Wightman, is entitled
in accordance with this opinion and for disposition of all
remaining matters.

3la

Appendix A

Court costs assessed to appellants.

Judgment affirmed in part,
reversed in part
and cause remanded.

GLASSER and SHERcK, JJ., concur.

32a

APPENDIX B — EXCERPTS FROM TRIAL
TRANSCRIPT OF THE COMMON PLEAS COURT OF
ERIE COUNTY, OHIO DATED MAY 20, 1996

IN THE COMMON PLEAS COURT OF
ERIE COUNTY, OHIO

No. 89-CV-4161

DARLENE M. WIGHTMAN, Admx. of the Estate of
MICHELLE L. WIGHTMAN, Deceased, et al.

Plaintiffs
CONSOLIDATED RAIL CORPORATION, et al.

Defendants

HONORABLE JOSEPH E. CIRIGLIANO,
Presiding

May 20, 1996
a + *
[186] * * *

Q Go slowly, Mr. Knehr, if you would.

A Can I sit down?

33a

Appendix B
THE COURT: Sure, go ahead.

A There were a couple of cars in front, they headed up this

way, and we followed them. A couple of cars got up here
and slowed down, went around, and another car would
come this way. And then finally it was their turn, and we
were behind them still. They got up there, slowed down
a couple of miles an hour, started going around.

What was your intention at that point?

I was going to wait for them to go, and probably wait for
a Car maybe to come this way, and kind of a view and
then go around myself. And started — well, the train
was parked over here about one hundred foot away with
its headlight on, and there was nobody there to, you know,
direct traffic or anything, the cop was down here. They
started going around, got about halfway or so, and all of
a sudden the light got really bright. I didn’t hear a horn
or anything, the only thing I knew about the train being
there was another headlight.

Then what happened? How long after you saw that [187]
light, how long elapsed until the car was hit?

It was only a couple of seconds. They didn’t have a
chance it didn’t seem like. They weren’t going to make
it as slow as they were going. And the train came up, hit
them, pushed them off and over the tracks. The train
finally slowed down, stopped. During that time, Tim got
out, he ran down and got the cop. And he came up, he
called on the CB, and waited for the train to stop to see

34a

Appendix B

what happened to the car. And then I forgot, and I was
scared, didn’t know what to do. And that’s it.

* * *

(300)}* * *

MR. MURRAY: That’s true. One of the elements
that the Court of Appeals has laid out specifically is the
nature of the conduct. Why in the world would you
(inaudible) because you don’t think the nature of the
conduct is very serious. You have got the police officer
(inaudible) for your opening statement. You’re going to
bring in a reconstructionist. Yesterday you introduced
the fact, you suggested that you could see the headlights.

MR. HOWES: I’m not — who said I’m bringing in
a reconstructionist?

MR. MURRAY: You said in your opening statement
that you could see the headlight and you’re suggesting
for something like twelve seconds. And all I’m trying to
do is —

MR. HOWES: Am I going to be allowed to bring
that person in here to show that, Judge?

THE COURT: Pardon?

MR. HOWES: Am] going to be allowed to do that?

35a

Appendix B

[301] MR. MURRAY: I would think if he can show
that she could see the headlight for twelve seconds, of
course, he should be able to bring (inaudible).

THE COURT: Sure. He didn’t have a problem with
that. So I will let you do that.

[626] * * *

Another thing that was testified to by the expert for
Plaintiff was this and let me read the answer that he gave,
he said, “It’s fruitless to attempt to put in a physical
system that’s permanently located at one location only
and say that we’re going to solve this problem, I mean
the problem similar to the one encountered in this
accident, because you can’t predict when a problem is
going to occur,” would you agree with that?

No, I don’t agree with that.
There are locations where you can predict because of the
nature of the train movements that this type of [627] thing

could have occurred?

Well, this type of thing could occur at so many locations.

o* * * *

36a

APPENDIX C — PHOTOGRAPH OF MODEL
OF ACCIDENT SITE

37a

APPENDIX D — CASES IN WHICH THE MURRAY
& MURRAY CO., L.P.A. WAS LEAD COUNSEL FOR
A PARTY OR AMICUS CURIAE IN THE
OHIO SUPREME COURT

Delli Bovi v. Pacific Indemnity Co., 85 Ohio St. 3d 343
(1999); Stacy v. Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co., 85 Ohio St. 3d
1203 (1999); State ex rel. Banc One v. Walker, 86 Ohio
St. 3d 169 (1999); Waite v. Progressive Ins. Co., 85 Ohio
St. 3d 1226 (1999); Wightman vy. Consolidated Rail Corp.,
715 N.E.2d 546 (1999); Cope, et al. v. Metro. Life Ins. e:.
82 Ohio St. 3d 426 ( 1998); Landis v. Grange Mut. Ins. Co.,
82 Ohio St. 3d 339 ( 1998); Chance v. BP Chemicals, Inc.,
77 Ohio St. 3d 17 (1996); Coleman v. Sandoz Pharmaceuticals
Corp., 74 Ohio St. 3d 492 (1996); Hacker v. Dickman,
75 Ohio St. 3d 118 (1996); Roberts v. United States Fid. &
Guar. Co., 75 Ohio St. 3d 630 (1996); State ex rel. Lyons v.
Zaleski, 75 Ohio St. 3d 623 (1996); Weston v. Weston Paper
& Mfg. Co., 74 Ohio St. 3d 377 (1996); Kenty v. Transamerica,
72 Ohio St. 3d 415 (1995); Ross v. Tom Reith, Inc., 71 Ohio
St. 3d 563 (1995); Sharp v. Norfolk & Western Ry. Co.,
72 Ohio St. 3d 307 (1995); Borsick v. State Farm Fire &
Cas. Co., 68 Ohio St. 3d 1221 (1994); Frazier v. Depinet,
69 Ohio St. 3d 1211 (1994); Freeman v. Norfolk & Western
Ry. Co., 69 Ohio St. 3d 611 (1994); Horner v. Toledo
Hospital, 70 Ohio St. 3d 1211 (1994); Leber v. Smith,
70 Ohio St. 3d 548 (1994); Phung v. Waste Management,
71 Ohio St. 3d 408 (1994); Sanderson v. Ohio Edison Co.,
69 Ohio St. 3d 582 ( 1994); Sorrell v. Thevenir, 69 Ohio
St. 3d 415 (1994), Zoppo v. Homestead Insurance Company,
71 Ohio St. 3d 552 (1994): Borsick v. State Farm Mut. Auto.
Ins. Co., 68 Ohio St. 3d 81 (1993); Brinkman v. Ross,
68 Olhio St. 3d 82 (1993); Polikoff v. Adam, 67 Ohio St. 3d
100 (1993); Manufacturer’s Natl. Bank of Detroit v. Erie

38a

Appendix D

County Road Commission, 63 Ohio St. 3d 318 (1992);
Motorists Mutual Ins. Co v. Andrews, 65 Ohio St. 3d 362
(1992); Motorist Mut. Ins. Co. v. Said, 63 Ohio St. 3d 690
(1992); Padilla v. YMCA of Sandusky Co., 64 Ohio St. 3d
1439 (1992); Brady v. Safety-Kleen Corp., 61 Ohio St. 3d
624 (1991); Schellhouse v. Norfolk & Western Ry. Co.,
61 Ohio St. 3d 520 (1991); Drage v. Ameritrust Corp.,
49 Ohio St. 3d 604 (1990); Huston v. Konieczny, 52 Ohio
St. 3d 214 (1990); Renfro v. Smith Labs, 52 Ohio St. 3d 27
(1990); State ex rel. The Ohio Company v. Maschari,
51 Ohio St. 3d 18 (1990); Stepak v. Schey, 51 Ohio St. 3d 6
(1990); Burris v. Grange Mut. Companies, 46 Ohio St. 3d
84 (1989); Crosby v. Beam, 47 Ohio St. 3d 105 (1989);
Digital v. Analog Design Corp. v. North Supply Co., 44 Ohio
St. 3d 36 (1989); Miller v. Wikel Mfg. Co., Inc., 46 Ohio St.
3d 76 (1989); Carney v. McAfee, 35 Ohio St. 3d 52 (1988);
Gressman v. McClain, 40 Ohio St. 3d 359 (1988); Sharp v.
Norfolk & Western Ry. Co., 36 Ohio St. 3d 172 (1988);
Warner v. Waste Management, Inc., 36 Ohio St. 3d 91
(1988); Armstrong v. Marathon Oil Co., 32 Ohio St. 3d 397
(1987); Horman v. Veverka, 30 Ohio St. 3d 4 (1987); Viock
v. Stowe- Woodward Co., 34 Ohio St. 3d 602 (1987); Phung
v. Waste Management, Inc., 23 Ohio St. 3d 100 (1986); Jones
v. VIP Development Co., 15 Ohio St. 3d 90 (1984); Kisil v.
City of Sandusky, 12 Ohio St. 3d 30 (1984); Sumwalt v.
Allstate Ins. Co., 12 Ohio St. 3d 294 (1984); Yeager v. Local
Union 20, 6 Ohio St. 3d 369 (1983); Noroski v. Fallet,
2 Ohio St. 3d 77 (1982); Ruta v. Breckenridge-Remy Co.,
69 Ohio St. 2d 140 (1982); Masheter v. Welschenbach,
48 Ohio St. 3d 8 (1976); State v. Chaffin, 30 Ohio St. 2d 13
(1972).

39a

APPENDIX E — EXCERPTS FROM TRIAL
TRANSCRIPT OF THE COURT OF COMMON PLEAS,
ERIE COUNTY, OHIO DATED OCTOBER 16, 1990

IN THE COURT OF COMMON PLEAS,
ERIE COUNTY, OHIO

CASE NO. 89-CV-416

DARLENE M. WIGHTMAN, Admrx. of the Estate of
Michelle L. Wightman, Deceased, et al.,

Plaintiffs
~ vs —
Consolidated Rail Corp., et al.,
Defendants.
TRANSCRIPT
VOLUME ONE

TRANSCRIPT of MOTIONS BEFORE TRIAL;
TRIAL OF OCTOBER 16, 17, 18, 19, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26,
29 and 30, 1990; and HEARINGS OF NOVEMBER >
1990; AUGUST 9, 1991; AND SEPTEMBER 20, 1991,
had before HONORABLE ANN B. MASCHARI, Judge,
Court of Common Pleas, Erie County, Ohio.

* * *

[1062] Q Now, I want to go over very, very carefully with
you as you think about this, Michelle .... Stephanie,

40a
Appendix E

I want to go through every moment that evening when
you can recall seeing Michelle Wightman with anything
of an alcoholic nature in her hand, whether she had it in
her hand or whether she’s actually drinking it; okay?

(No audible response).

Now, can you remember approximately when it was that
evening that you first saw Michelle Wightman with
something of an alcoholic nature in her hand?

It was about ten . . . . about quarter to nine. It was about
fifteen minutes before we went and picked up Carrie.
We... . Michelle went in her sister’s room. That’s where
we had it kept, in her sister’s room, and she got a wine
cooler out and I seen her open it and I seen her take a sip
of it.

All right. Now, is that the first time that evening you’d
seen Michelle drink anything?

Yes.

Q Did you observe how much of it she drank?

A No. I know it wasn’t much because it was still ....

I seen that it was full. It wasn’t —

Okay. Now, just try and focus on that for a minute. You
saw her take a sip?

Yeah.

4la

Appendix E

[1063] Q And what did she do with it?

A

Q

Bin me Ber OD ess

>

She set it down.

Now, did you happen to observe how much was in that
wine cooler when she set it down?

No, I don’t... . I don’t pay attention.

Had you been with Michelle most of the time at least up
till a quarter to nine when you saw her take this sip?

Yeah, I was with her the whole time.

And that’s the first time you saw her take anything —
Yes.

— of an alcoholic nature that night?

Yes.

Did you see her drink any pop or anything like that?
No. Earlier in the day but not at night.

Now, at that point, if I understand it, was that when Carrie
called up and said come get me?

Yes.

Did you go with Michelle?

42a

Appendix E
A Yes.

Q Was Michelle perfectly normal in the way she talked and
walked and drove a car?

A Yes.

Q And you went over and got Carrie at her house?

* * *

[1071] Q Now, did you have an opportunity at that time,
Stephanie, to observe Michelle and how was she acting
and so forth?

A She was fine. She was normal like how she always was.

Q How is she always .... how is it that she always was,
Stephanie?

A She was the kind of person outgoing; she would make
friends with you; she was real friendly; she was. . . . she
was fun to be around.

Q Now, at that point, at the point where Michelle shakes
you out of your sleep and says you want to come with
me while I take Carrie home, thinking back again to
everything that you’ve now been able to remember about
that evening, do you remember Michelle having anything
of an alcoholic nature in her hand or drinking it other
than those two occasions you’ve described; that is, when
she took a sip and put it down on the table or when you

43a

Appendix E

saw her drinking what you don’t know was the same wine
cooler or a different one after you got back?

I seen her with two wine coolers and two beers in her
hand. She was taking them into the living room here
everybody .... there was a whole... . there was Bobby
and his friends were there.

All right. Now, I don’t think . . . . I don’t think that... .
is that on the statement about her having the [1072] two
wine coolers and two beers in her hand taking them in?
I don’t remember.

No.

Okay, all right. So if the question is . . . . if | understand
you, Stephanie, if the question is what you saw Michelle
Wightman consume, it would have been two occasions
when you saw her drinking from either two different wine
coolers or the same wine cooler; is that right?

Right.

Now, if the question is did you see her with anything of
an alcoholic nature in her hand, then what is the answer?

I seen her with the wine cooler that she was drinking and
the two other ones and the two beers that she was taking
into the living room.

I see. Now, when you saw her with these two wine coolers
and two beers, what, was she carrying them into where
the gang was gathered?

ok ae ae ae

A

44a

Appendix E
Yes.

Is that it?
Yeah.

All right. Now, at any time did you see Michelle
Wightman open a bottle of beer that evening?

I don’t know. I don’t —

[1073] Q Did you ever see her take a sip from any bottle of

A

aoe A OO

>

~

beer that evening?

Not that I remember. I remember hearing Bobby say... .
Bobby said —

Don’t get into what other people said.
Okay, no.

Just what you saw.

No.

At any time that evening did you see Michelle Wightman
take a drink from any bottle of beer or can of beer?

No.

Stephanie, can you remember any time that you’ve been
with Michelle in your entire life when you’ve seen her
drink a beer?

ae ae

45a

Appendix E
No.

You have seen her drink wine coolers?
Yes.

Have you seen her drink wine coolers in fact at home
with her mother present?

Yes.
Now, Stephanie, what kind of a.... you may not....
whether you zonk out or not, what kind of a sleeper are
you?

I’m a heavy sleeper.

And when you went to sleep that evening, do you think

46a

APPENDIX F — DEFENDANT’S MOTION FOR
RECUSAL AND CONTINUANCE OF THE TRIAL

IN THE COURT OF COMMON PLEAS
ERIE COUNTY, OHIO

CASE NO: 89-CV-416
JUDGE MASCHARI
DARLENE M. WIGHTMAN, et al.,
Plaintiffs,
v.
CONSOLIDATED RAIL CORPORATION, et al.,

Defendants.

DEFENDANT’S MOTION FOR RECUSAL
AND CONTINUANCE OF THE TRIAL

Defendant, Consolidated Rail Corporation, respectfully
moves the court to recuse herself from this case and to
continue the trial. Defendant submits this motion on the basis
that events occurring after the remand order from the court
of appeals have caused defendant to lose confidence in the
impartiality of the court.

In support of the motion, defendant submits copies of
the attached letter which it hand-delivered to Judge Maschari
on March 31, 1995, and the letter sent by plaintiff's counsel
to the court on January 25, 1995.

47a

Appendix F

Respectfully submitted,

VOGELGESANG, HOWES,
LINDAMOOD & BRUNN

s/ Thomas R. Himmelspach
Philip E. Howes (0016390)
Thomas R. Himmelspach (0038581)
Attorney for Defendant

400 Tuscarawas Street, West —
Suite 200

P.O. Box 20870

Canton, OH 44701-0870

(216) 456-3483

FAX: (216) 456-9533

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_0507%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
