# Opposition Brief — Blankenship v. McDonald

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_0246%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2000
- **Citation:** 528 U.S. 1153

## Text

KATHRYN I. BLANKENSHIP, PETITIONER
Vv.
ALAN A. MCDONALD, JUDGE,

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE
EASTERN DISTRICT OF WASHINGTON, ET AL.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENTS IN OPPOSITION

SETH P. WAXMAN
Solicitor General
Counsel of Record

DAVID W. OGDEN
Acting Assistant Attorney
General

MARLEIGH DOVER
ROBERT M. LOEB
Attorneys

Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530-0001
(202) 514-2217

; a ‘ : 40600
5) ee Oe | cd

No. 99-672

f

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether petitioner stated a claim under 42 U.S.C.
1985(2) of a conspiracy to injure a party or witness on
account of testimony before a “court of the United
States,” when she was not a party to the proceeding at
issue, and the proceeding was an administrative hear-
ing.

2. Whether an employee of the judicial branch may
bring an action under Bivens v. Six Unknown Named
Agents of Federal Bureau of Narcotics, 403 U.S. 388
(1971), against a district court clerk and judge regard-
ing the termination of her employment, even though
Congress has established a comprehensive remedial
scheme for job-related disputes involving federal em-
ployees under which judicial branch employees have
only limited remedies.

(1)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Opinions below 1
Jurisdiction 1
Statement
Argument 4
Conclusion .. 16

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:
Bivens v. Six Unknown Named Agents of Fed.

Bureau of Narcotics, 403 U.S. 388 (1971) .ccsrssssssssss.. passim
Brever v. Rockwell Int'l Corp., 40 F.3d 1119 (10th

Cir. 1994) 6
Bush v. Lucas, 462 U.S. 367 (1988) ...cceccscsssoe. 4, 8,9, 10, 138, 14
Carlson v. Green, 446 U.S. 14 (1980) 8
Carter v. Church, 791 F. Supp. 298 (M.D. Ga. 1992) ....... 6
Dawid v. United States, 820 F.2d 1088 (9th Cir. 1987) .... 4, 5-6
Davis v. Passman, 442 U.S. 228 (1979) 8,13
Deubert v. Gulf Fed. Sav. Bank, 820 F.2d 754 (5th

Cir. 1987) 6
Duffy v. Wolle, 123 F.3d 1026 (8th Cir. 1997), cert.

denied, 523 U.S. 1187 (1998) 14, 15
FDIC v. Meyer, 510 U.S. 471 (1994) 8
Graves v. United States, 961 F. Supp. 314 (D.D.C.

1997) 6
Guercio v. Brody, 814 F.2d 1115 (6th Cir. 1987) .............. 15
Heffernan v. Hunter, 189 F.3d 405 (3d Cir. 1999) ........... 6
Kimble v. D.J. McDuffy, Inc., 648 F.2d 340 (5th

Cir.), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 1110 (1981) 6
Lee v. Hughes, 145 F.3d 1272 (11th Cir. 1998), cert.

denied, 119 S. Ct. 1026 (1999) 5, 7, 9, 18, 14
Lindahl v. OPM, 470 U.S. 768 (1985) 9

(IID)

IV

Cases—Continued: Page
Morast v. Lance, 807 F.2d 926 (11th Cir. 1987) ................ 6
Rylewicz v. Beaton Servs., Ltd., 888 F.2d 1175 (7th -

Cir. 1989) 6
Schweiker v. Chilicky, 487 U.S. 412 (1988) ........s0000 3, 8, 9, 10
United States v. Fausto, 484 U.S. 439 (1988) .........0 9, 10, 13

Constitution and statutes:

U.S. Const.:

Art. III 6,7

Amend. I 3, 10, 14, 15

Amend. IV 7,8

Amend. V (Due Process Clause) 3, 8, 10

Amend. VIII (Cruel and Unusual Punishments

Clause) 8

Administrative Office of the United States Courts
Personnel Act of 1990, Pub. L. No. 101-474, § 3(a)(5),

104 Stat. 1097 11
Back Pay Act:

5 U.S.C. 5595 11

5 U.S.C. 5596 (1994 & Supp. IV 1998) 11

5 U.S.C. 5596(b)(1)(A) 13

5 U.S.C. 5596(b)(2)(A) 13
Civil Service Reform Act, Pub. L. No. 95-454,

92 Stat. 1111 4, 9, 10, 18, 14, 15
Family and Medical Leave Act, 5 U.S.C. 6381(1) (1994

& Supp. IV 1998) 11
Federal Exployees Family Friendly Leave Act, 5 U.S.C.

6301(2) 11
5 U.S.C. 8331(1)(A) (1994 & Supp. IV 1998) ... 11
5 U.S.C. 8701(a)(1) 11
5 U.S.C. 8901(1)(A) (1994 & Supp. IIT 1997) 11
28 U.S.C. 451 6
28 U.S.C. 753 2
28 U.S.C. 753 (1994 & Supp. III 1997) 11

28 U.S.C. 756 2,11

Statutes—Continued: Page
42 U.S.C. 1985(2) 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
42 U.S.C. 1985(3) 3,5

Miscellaneous:

H.R. Rep. No. 770, 101st Cong., 2d Sess. (1990) .......--vss0 11, 12

Jn the Supreme Court of the United States

No. 99-672
KATHRYN I. BLANKENSHIP, PETITIONER
Vv.
ALAN A. MCDONALD, JUDGE,

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE
EASTERN DISTRICT OF WASHINGTON, ET AL.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENTS IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet..App. 1-7) is
reported at 176 F.3d 1192. The opinion of the district
court (Supp. App. 1-14) is unreported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
May 14, 1999. A petition for rehearing was denied on
July 22, 1999 (Pet. App. 8-9). The petition for writ of
certiorari was filed on October 12, 1999. The juris-
diction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

(1)

2

STATEMENT

1. In 1985, pursuant to the authority granted by
Congress, 28 U.S.C. 758, 756, the District Court for the
Eastern District of Washington appointed petitioner to
the position of court reporter. Pet. App. 2. Petitioner
worked primarily in the courtroom of respondent
United States District Court Judge Alan A. McDonald.
Respondent James Larsen, the Clerk for the Eastern
District of Washington, supervised the court reporters.
Ibid.

The Eastern District has adopted an equal em-
ployment opportunity (EEO) plan in conformance with
the directions of the Judicial Conference. See Dis-
crimination Complaint Procedures, Equal Employment
Opportunity Plan, United States District Court for
the Eastern District of Washington (Mar. 1993) (re-
printed in C.A. E.R. 86-100). The EEO plan provides
an administrative complaint and hearing mechanism to
resolve claims of discrimination and retaliation or re-
prisal for alleging discrimination or serving as a witness
in connection with an EEO complaint. Supp. App. 6-8.

In February 1994, deputy clerk Christine Mearns
filed an administrative complaint of sex and handicap
discrimination under the Eastern District’s EEO Plan.
Supp. App. 2. Petitioner was subpoenaed to testify at
the administrative EEO hearing on the complaint. Pet.
App. 3; Supp. App. 2. Petitioner alleges that, during
the course of her testimony at the EEO hearing, she
testified that Judge McDonald had required her to act
improperly on several occasions, such as requiring her
improperly to certify and to notarize documents. Ibid.
Petitioner claims that following her testimony at the
EEO hearing her relationship with Judge McDonald
deteriorated. C.A. E.R. 9-10.

3

In November 1994, petitioner received a negative
performance report, which stated that she had missed
deadlines for filing transcripts. Supp. App. 3. In
February 1995, respondent Larsen recommended that
the District Court terminate petitioner’s employment.
Pet. App. 4. The Court discharged petitioner effective
March 3, 1995. C.A. E.R. 14. Each of the then-active
judges in the Eastern District signed the termination
letter. Pet. App. 4; Supp. App. 3. Petitioner did not file
a complaint under the Eastern District EEO Plan.
Ibid.

2. Petitioner filed suit in federal district court
against Judge McDonald, Clerk Larsen, and their
wives. Supp. App. 1. Alleging that she was fired in
retaliation for her testimony at the EEO hearing, she
asserted claims under Bivens v. Six Unknown Named
Agents of Federal Bureau of Narcotics, 403 U.S. 388
(1971), for violations of her First and Fifth Amendment
rights, as well as claims under 42 U.S.C. 1985(2) and (8)
and state law. C.A. E.R. 15-28. She sought
compensatory, exemplary and punitive damages. Jd. at
23-24.

The district court granted respondents’ motion to
dismiss. Supp. App. 1-14. The court held that peti-
tioner’s Bivens claims were precluded under the analy-
sis set forth in Schweiker v. Chilicky, 487 U.S. 412
(1988). Supp. App. 4, 8-11. The court reasoned that
Congress’s failure to provide petitioner and other judi-
cial branch employees with a more complete remedy
was not inadvertent. Jbid. The district court also
dismissed petitioner’s remaining claims. Jd. at 11-14.
As to the Section 1985(2) claim, the district court noted
that petitioner conceded that “her section 1985 claim is
not cognizable [under Ninth Circuit precedent] because

4

she was not a party to the proceedings in which she
testified.” Jd. at 13.

3. Petitioner appealed the district court’s ruling, and
the court of appeals affirmed. Pet. App. 1-7. The court
rejected petitioner’s argument “that because she has no
administrative or judicial remedies under the [Civil
Service Reform Act] as a member of the excepted ser-
vice, she is entitled to assert a Bivens claim.” Id. at 4-5.
The court held that the Civil Service Reform Act
(CSRA) contains an “elaborate remedial system that
has been constructed step by step, with careful atten-
tion to conflicting policy considerations.” Id. at 5
(quoting Bush v. Lucas, 462 U.S. 367, 388 (1983)). The
court held that it would be improper to permit a Bivens
action here because “congressional action has not been
inadvertent in providing certain remedies and denying
others to judicial employees.” Pet. App. 6. The court
explained that “Congress has given judicial employees
certain employment benefits and remedies, such as
back pay, severance pay, family and medical leave, and
health and retirement benefits. Congress has withheld
other benefits and remedies, such as review of adverse
personnel decisions.” Jbid. The court concluded that
“[t]his demonstrates that the lack of more complete
remedies was not inadvertent.” Jbid. The court also
rejected petitioner’s claim under 42 U.S.C. 1985(2)
because, in David v. United States, 820 F.2d 1038, 1040
(1987), the Ninth Circuit had previously held that
Section 1985(2) provides a remedy only to a litigant who
is hampered in presenting an effective case, not to a
witness. Pet. App. 7.

ARGUMENT

The court of appeals correctly affirmed the district
court’s dismissal of petitioner’s complaint. Petitioner

5

did not state a valid claim under Section 1985(2) be-
cause her testimony in an adriinistrative EEO hearing
is not testimony before a “wrt of the United States.”
This case therefore is not a suitable vehicle to resolve
the conflict among the courts of appeals on the question
whether Section 1985(2) provides a remedy to wit-
nesses as well as litigants. Further, the court of
appeals correctly dismissed petitioner’s Bivens claims,
and its decision does not present a conflict with any
other court of appeals that warrants this Court’s re-
view. This Court recently denied review of the Bivens
issue raised by petitioner. See Lee v. Hughes, 145 F.3d
1272 (11th Cir. 1998), cert. denied, 119 S. Ct. 1026
(1999). Review of that issue is likewise not warranted
here. Therefore, the petition should be denied.

1. Petitioner first contends (Pet. 8-14) that this
Court’s review is needed to resolve a conflict among the
courts of appeals regarding the construction of 42
U.S.C. 1985(2). Although there is a conflict, this case
does not present a suitable vehicle to resolve it, because
petitioner cannot state a claim under Section 1985(2)
regardless of how the Court might resolve the conflict.

Section 1985(2) prohibits conspiracies “to deter, by
force, intimidation, or threat, any party or witness in
any court of the United States * * * from testifying to
any matter pending therein, freely, fully, and truthfully,
or to injure such party or witness in his person or pro-
perty on account of his having so attended or testified.”
42 U.S.C. 1985(2). The statute permits a “party” so in-
jured to sue for recovery of damages “occasioned by
such injury.” 42 U.S.C. 1985(8).

The Ninth Circuit has construed the statute to pro-
vide a damages remedy only to a “litigant [who] was
hampered in being able to present an effective case,”
and not to a witness who is not a party. David v. United

6

States, 820 F.2d 1038, 1040 (1987). See also Rylewicz v.
Beaton Servs., Ltd., 888 F.2d 1175, 1180 (7th Cir. 1989).
This construction has been rejected by the Third and
Tenth Circuits. See Heffernan v. Hunter, 189 F.3d 405,
409-411 (3d Cir. 1999); Brever v. Rockwell Int'l Corp.,
40 F.3d 1119, 1125 & n.7 (10th Cir. 1994).

This case does not, however, present a suitable vehi-
cle for resolving the conflict on the question whether
the statute provides a remedy to a non-party witness,
because petitioner has not stated a valid claim under
Section 1985(2) however that question might be re-
solved. The statute applies only to testimony before a
“court of the United States.” 42 U.S.C. 1985(2). That
term includes only courts (such as federal district
courts) created by Act of Congress “the judges of which
are entitled to hold office during good behavior.” 28
U.S.C. 451. Petitioner’s complaint here fails to state a
Section 1985(2) claim because the testimony for which
she allegedly was terminated was testimony in an
administrative EEO hearing, not before a court of the
United States sitting in its Article III capacity. Every
court that has addressed the issue has held that Section
1985(2) does not encompass testimony given at an
administrative proceeding. See Deubert v. Gulf Fed.
Sav. Bank, 820 F.2d 754, 758 (5th Cir. 1987); Morast v.
Lance, 807 F.2d 926, 930 (11th Cir. 1987); Kimble v. D./.
McDuffy, Inc., 648 F.2d 340, 347 (5th Cir.) (en banc),
cert. denied, 454 U.S. 1110 (1981); Graves v. United
States, 961 F. Supp. 314, 319 (D.D.C. 1997); Carter v.
Church, 791 F. Supp. 298, 300 (M.D. Ga. 1992) (testi-
mony to EEOC not covered).

In the court of appeals, petitioner did not contest that
Section 1985(2) is limited to proceedings before a “court
of the United States.” Petitioner argued, however, that
the administrative EEO hearing at which she testified

7

should be deemed such a court because the hearing was
conducted by Chief Judge Quackenbush in a courtroom.
Plaintiff’s Opp. to Motion to Dismiss 23-24 (C.A. E.R.
124-125). That argument lacks merit, because Judge
Quackenbush was presiding over an administrative pro-
ceeding, pursuant to the Eastern District’s EEO Plan,
C.A. E.R. 97-98, and was not sitting in his capacity as
an Article III judge over an Article III case or con-
troversy.'

2. Petitioner also asks (Pet. 14-24) this Court to re-
view the dismissal of her Bivens claims. In accord with
the Eleventh Circuit’s ruling in Lee, supra, however,
the court of appeals correctly rejected petitioner’s con-
tention that judicial branch employees may bring
Bivens claims against their supervisors for work-
related disputes. This Court recently denied the
petition for a writ of certiorari in Lee. 119 S. Ct. 1026
(1999). It should likewise deny the petition in this case.

a. In Bivens v. Six Unknown Named Agents of
Federal Bureau of Narcotics, 403 U.S. 388 (1971), the
Court permitted the plaintiff to sue for money damages
federal officers who violated his Fourth Amendment

' In her reply brief on appeal, petitioner claimed (for the first
time) that the retaliation she alleged was based in part on
testimony that she gave earlier in a civil case and in a disciplinary
hearing against an attorney. Appellant Reply Br. 22. In her com-
plaint, however, petitioner claimed retaliation based on only her
testimony at the administrative EEO hearing. The complaint did
not mention her testimony in the civil case and referenced her
testimony at the attorney disciplinary hearing only in describing
the events about which she testified at the EEO hearing. Com-
plaint 7-8 (C.A. E.R. 7-8). Moreover, in her response to re-
spondents’ motion to dismiss in district court, petitioner identified
only her testimony at the EEO hearing as the testimony protected
from retaliation under Section 1985(2). Plaintiff’s Opp. to Motion
to Dismiss 23-24 (C.A. E.R. 124-125).

8

rights. In permitting that suit, the Court relied on
several important considerations: (1) Congress had not
provided a remedy; (2) there were “no special factors
counselling hesitation in the absence of affirmative
action by Congress”; and (8) there was “no explicit
congressional declaration” that money damages not be
awarded. Id. at 396-397. Following Bivens, the Court
permitted similar damage actions against federal
officials under the Fifth Amendment’s Due Process
Clause and the Eighth Amendment’s Cruel and Un-
usual Punishments Clause. Again, each time the Court
noted the absence of an alternative remedial scheme
created by Congress and the absence of other “special
factors” counseling against the provision of a court-
created damages remedy. See Davis v. Passman, 442
U.S. 228, 245-247 (1979); Carlson v. Green, 446 U.S. 14,
18-20 (1980).

This Court’s “more recent decisions have responded
cautiously to suggestions that Bivens remedies be
extended into new contexts.” Schweiker v. Chilicky,
487 U.S. 412, 421 (1988). See also FDIC v. Meyer, 510
U.S. 471, 484 (1994). The Court has held that Bivens
actions against individual federal officials are precluded
when Congress has established a statutory remedial
scheme to handle a particular category of disputes with
the federal government, even if the remedial scheme
does not provide redress for the particular alleged
constitutional wrong. See Chilicky, supra; Bush v.
Lucas, 462 U.S. 367 (1983). “When the design of a Gov-
ernment program suggests that Congress has provided
what it considers adequate remedial mechanisms for
constitutional violations that may occur in the course of
its administration,” it is inappropriate for a court to
afford “additional Bivens remedies.” Chilicky, 487 U.S.
at 423. The “concept of ‘special factors counselling

9

hesitation in the absence of affirmative action by Con-
gress’ has proved to include an appropriate judicial
deference to indications that congressional inaction has
not been inadvertent.” Ibid.

Petitioner cannot maintain a Bivens action here be-
; cause Congress has, through the Civil Service Reform
* Act (CSRA), Pub. L. No. 95-454, 92 Stat. 1111, estab-
lished.a comprehensive Statutory remedial scheme to
handle employment disputes with the federal gov-
ernment. In the CSRA, Congress “comprehensively
overhauled the civil service system,” Lindahl v. OPM,
470 U.S. 768, 773 (1985), and created a “new framework
for evaluating adverse personnel actions against
[federal employees],” id. at 774. The CSRA details
the protections and remedies available to federal
employees in such actions, including the availability of
administrative and judicial review. See United States
v. Fausto, 484 U.S. 489, 443 (1988). That “elaborate
remedial system,” which “has been constructed step by
step, with careful attention to conflicting policy con-
siderations,” may not “be augmented by the creation of
a new judicial remedy for the constitutional violation at
issue.” Bush, 462 U.S. at 388.

b. Petitioner argues (Pet. 19-21) that the CSRA
does not preclude her Bivens action, because, as a
preference-eligible member of the excepted service
(Pet. App. 4), she had no right to file a petition challeng-
ing the adverse personnel action with the Office of
Special Counsel of the Merit Systems Protection Board.
The court of appeals correctly rejected that contention.
See id. at 4-6; Lee, 145 F.3d at 1275-1276. In Bush, this
Court found that the “comprehensive procedural and
substantive provisions” (462 U.S. at 368) of the CSRA
constituted a “special factor counselling” hesitation
against permitting a Bivens action even though civil

10

service remedies offered “a less than complete remedy”
for the alleged First Amendment violation (id. at 372-
373). That conclusion applies with equal force to
petitioner’s First and Fifth Amendment claims here.

The courts may not circumvent Congress’s decision
in the CSRA not to provide a statutory review mecha-
nism for claims like petitioner’s by permitting Bivens
actions. This Court rejected that approach in Fausto,
when it held that the CSRA precluded an exempt, non-
preference eligible, federal employee from suing under
the Back Pay Act even though the CSRA did not pro-
vide the employee a right to judicial review of the
claims that he asserted. Because the CSRA is a com-
prehensive scheme and Congress’s failure to provide
judicial review could not be deemed an inadvertent
omission, the Court held that the limitations in the Act
may not be circumvented through resort to other
remedies. Fausto, 484 U.S. at 447-455.”

Congress has deliberately excluded court personnel
from the substantive provisions of the CSRA relating
to adverse employment actions. Instead, Congress has
extended only limited employment benefits and reme-
dies to court personnel. Most significantly, judicial
employees are entitled to backpay plus interest under

2 The Court applied the same reasoning in Chilicky. In that
case, the plaintiff claimed that federal officials administering the
Social Security disability program violated his due process rights.
487 U.S. at 420. If limited to the Social Security review scheme,
the plaintiff at most could have been granted retroactive disability
benefits, and had no possibility of receiving additional redress for
the harms caused by the alleged constitutional violation. Further,
the Act provided no monetary remedy against the alleged offend-
ing officials. Jd. at 424-425. The Court nonetheless held that the
Social Security Act’s “remedial scheme” precluded the assertion of
a Bivens claims against the individual officials. Jd. at 414.

11

certain circumstances, 5 U.S.C. 5596 (1994 & Supp. IV
1998), as well as severance pay, 5 U.S.C. 5595.2 In the
main, Congress has permitted the judicial branch to
manage its own personnel matters. Thus, district
courts have the authority to appoint and remove court
reporters, 28 U.S.C. 753 (1994 & Supp. III 1997); 28
U.S.C. 756, and the Judicial Conference has the author-
ity to “determin[e] standards” for the qualifications of
court reporters. 28 U.S.C. 753 (1994 & Supp. III 1997).
In 1990, Congress removed the employees of the
Administrative Office of the United States Courts (AQ)
from the CSRA. See AO Personnel Act of 1990, Pub. L.
No. 101-474, § 3(a)(5), 104 Stat. 1097, Congress
explained that the “separation of powers” counseled
that the judicial branch should be “mostly free” of
executive branch supervision of its personnel matters.
See H.R. Rep. No. 770, 101st Cong., 2d Sess. 5 (1990).

3 Court-appointed personnel are also covered by the Family
and Medical Leave Act, 5 U.S.C. 6381(1) (1994 & Supp. IV 1998),
and the Federal Employees Family Friendly Leave Act, 5 U.S.C.
6301(2). They are entitled to employment benefits such as health
insurance, 5 U.S.C. 8901(1)(A) (1994 & Supp. III 1997), life
insurance, 5 U.S.C. 8701(a)(1), and retirement benefits, 5 U.S.C.
8331(1)(A) (1994 & Supp. IV 1998).

4 Although petitioner is not an employee of the AO and thus
does not have remedies under the 1990 Act, those remedies are
similar to petitioner’s remedies under the court-adopted EEO
plans and the Back Pay Act. In the 1990 Act, Congress ordered
the AO to create an administrative scheme similar to the one avail-
able to petitioner here to handle employment disputes, including
those involving claims of discrimination and claims of retaliation or
reprisal for invoking or participating in the EEO process. See
H.R. Rep. No. 770, supra, at 5, 7-8. At the same time, Congress
extended the Back Pay Act to provide a back pay remedy in
addition to the administrative review scheme. Id. at 12. Congress
referred to the 1990 Act as establishing a “comprehensive

12

Those decisions reflect Congress’s determination
regarding the appropriate balance between respect for
the independence of the judicial branch and protection
of the rights of judicial branch personnel. Recognition
of the Bivens action that petitioner seeks to bring
would upset that congressionally mandated balance.

c. Petitioner also errs in suggesting (Pet. 21-24) that
this case raises a constitutional question because, she
asserts, she lacked any remedy to vindicate her consti-
tutional rights. Whether or not the Constitution
requires that there be a remedy to vindicate every
constitutional right, petitioner had an adequate remedy
here. Petitioner could have sought review of her re-
taliation claim through the administrative EEO process
adopted by the district court at the direction of the
Judicial Conference, as contemplated by Congress. See
pp. 2, 11, supra. The court’s EEO plan provides
informal and formal administrative procedures to re-
solve complaints (such as petitioner’s) of discrimination
and reprisal. C.A. E.R. 87-100.° Had she prevailed in

personnel system” (id. at 1) for AO employees and recognized that
this comprehensive system was similar to that available to “the
rest of the judicial branch” (id. at 5). Thus, Congress
demonstrated its approval of the remedies available to petitioner
here by extending the same remedies to AO employees.

5 When a complaint is filed, the court-appointed EEO Coor-
dinator conducts an investigation and prepares a report. If the
EEO Coordinator recommends rejection of the employee’s claim,
the complainant may ask that the matter be further reviewed.
Upon receipt of such a request, the Chief Judge or his designee
conducts any additional investigation deemed necessary, deter-
mines whether to hold a formal hearing, and issues a final decision
regarding the complaint. C.A. E.R. 95-99. There is no merit to
petitioner’s contention (Pet. 22 n.9) that this procedure is in-
adequate because the Clerk of the Court is a party to her com-
plaint and the Chief Judge was one of the judges who signed her

13

that process, petitioner would have been able to seek
reinstatement from the Chief Judge. She would also
have been entitled to restoration of any lost pay, with
interest, under the Back Pay Act.®

d. Petitioner’s reliance (Pet. 16-19) upon Davis v.
Passman, 442 U.S. 228 (1979), is misplaced. In Davis,
the Court permitted a former congressional staff
member to bring a Bivens action for sex discrimination
against a congressman. In Davis, however, the Court
did not address the preclusive effect of the CSRA,
which had been enacted only a few months before Davis
was decided. Lee, 145 F.3d at 1275. Moreover, in Bush,
the Court explained that it had relied upon the absence
of any equitable or, monetary remedy for the termi-
nated staff member in permitting the Bivens action in
Davis. See 462 U.S. at 377 & n.13. Unlike petitioner
here, the plaintiff in Davis had no remedial process and
no opportunity for back pay or reinstatement. See also

discharge order. The procedures provide for an impartial investi-
gator if the EEO Coordinator is directly involved in the complaint,
as well as for a designee to fulfill the duties of the Chief Judge.
C.A. E.R. 97.

® Under the Back Pay Act, a covered federal employee who is
found “by appropriate authority under applicable law, rule, [or]
regulation” to have been “affected by an unjustified or un-
warranted personnel action” resulting in a loss of pay is entitled,
“on correction of the personnel action,” to the lost pay with in-
terest. See 5 U.S.C. 5596(b)(1)(A) and (b)(2)(A). The duly adopted
EEO Plan constitutes an “applicable law, rule, [or] regulation,” and
a decision that an employee was improperly discharged would be a
finding by an “appropriate authority” that the employee was
“affected by an unjustified or unwarranted personnel action,” thus
entitling the employee, “on correction of the personnel action” (5
U.S.C. § 5596(b)(1)(A)) to back pay, with interest. See Fausto, 484
U.S. at 454 (within CSRA scheme, agency is an “appropriate
authority” for purposes of Back Pay Act).

14

462 U.S. at 390-391 (Marshall, J., concurring) (Congress
considered a remedy under the Back Pay Act to pro-
vide full compensatory relief for adverse employment
actions in violation of the First Amendment).

e. Finally, petitioner errs (Pet. 14-15) in contending
that this Court’s review is warranted to resolve a
conflict among the courts of appeals on the Bivens
issue.

Like the petitioner in Lee v. Hughes, supra, peti-
tioner here cites Duffy v. Wolle, 123 F.3d 1026 (8th Cir.
1997), cert. denied, 523 U.S. 1137 (1998), as creating a
conflict. That purported conflict does not warrant this
Court’s review. The Eighth Circuit in Duffy was not
presented with the considerations central to the rea-
soning of the court in this case; and, when presented
with those considerations in a future case, the Eighth
Circuit might well reach the same result as the court
did here.

In Duffy, the Eighth Circuit held that a court-
adopted EEO Plan, standing alone, did not preclude a
probation officer from asserting a Bivens sex discri-
mination claim against the judges who elected not to
promote him to the position of Chief Probation Officer.
Duffy, 123 F.3d at 1034-1035. As the Eleventh Circuit
noted in Lee, however, “the defendants in Duffy never
suggested that the CSRA preempted plaintiffs claim,
but rather argued only that plaintiff's Bivens claim
should have been dismissed because the local EEO Plan
provided plaintiff with a remedy.” Lee, 145 F.3d at 1276
n.4. Thus, the Eighth Circuit did not address the effect
on Bivens claims of the CSRA, the central considera-
tion behind the decision of the court of appeals in this
case.

Moreover, in Duffy the Eighth Circuit relied on the
defendants’ failure to “present[{] * * * support” for the

15

conclusion that the remedial scheme available to judi-
cial employees did not result from congressional in-
advertence. Duffy, 123 F.3d at 1085. As we have
explained at pages 10-11, supra, there is in fact sub-
stantial evidence that Congress deliberately chose to
provide judicial personnel with certain, limited reme-
dies, including the Back Pay Act, and otherwise to
permit the judicial branch to manage its personnel
matters. That evidence was not considered by the
Eighth Circuit in Duffy. Indeed, the court in Duffy
erroneously believed that there were no statutory
remedies available to judicial branch employees.

Guercio v. Brody, 814 F.2d 1115 (6th Cir. 1987), also
does not support further review here. In Guwercio, the
Sixth Circuit held that a bankruptcy judge did not
possess absolute immunity from a First Amendment
retaliation claim brought by his former secretary. The
claim at issue in Guercio was not an EEO claim, nor
was it redressable through an EEO administrative
hearing. The question whether a Bivens action by a
judicial branch employee is permitted in light of the
CSRA, a court-created EEO plan, and the Back Pay
Act remedy was never briefed by the parties and was
not addressed by the Sixth Circuit. Hence, the Sixth
Circuit’s decision does not conflict with the reasoning or
decision of the court of appeals here.

16

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.
Respectfully submitted.

SETH P. WAXMAN
Solicitor General’
DAVID W. OGDEN

Acting Assistant Attorney
General

MARLEIGH DOVER
ROBERT M. LOEB
Attorneys

JANUARY 2000

7 Respondents were represented by private counsel in the
court of appeals but requested that the Department of Justice
represent them in this Court. This brief is filed in our capacity as
counsel for the individual respondents, not on behalf of the United
States, which is not a party to this litigation.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_0246%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
