# Opposition Brief — Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection v. Nigro, 120 S. Ct. 790 (2000) (No. 99-663)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_0237%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2000

## Text

—

—

No. 99-663

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA,
DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION,

Petitioner.
V.

JOSEPH P. NIGRO, TRUSTEE FOR THE ESTATE OF
TRI-STATE CLINICAL LABORATORIES, INC.,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A Writ OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UniveD STATES CourRT OF APPEALS FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

RESPONDENT?’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

JAMES M. MALLEY MATTHEW M. PAVLOVICH
Counsel to Trustee Special Counsel to Trustee
NiGRO & MALLEY Counsel of Record
Two Gateway Center Suite 1240
Suite 1270 Lawyers’ Building
Pittsburgh, PA 15222 Pittsburgh, PA 15219
(412) 471-8118 (412) 391-1014

Attorneys for Respondent

156270 @©) Counsel Press LLC
FORMERLY LUTZ APPELLATE SERVICES
(800) 274-3321 + (800) 359-6859

QUESTION PRESENTED

Where a Debtor commits a crime during the pendency
of a Chapter 11 bankruptcy, is the actual amount of the
resulting criminal penalty assessed against the Debtor
properly classified and prioritized as an administrative
expense under the Bankruptcy Code?

ul

LIST OF PARTIES

Respondent defers to Petitioner’s presentation of the
Parties to this action as stated in Petitioner’s brief.

STATEMENT PURSUANT TO RULE 29.6

At the time the Debtor, Tri-State Clinical Laboratories.
Inc., filed its bankruptcy petition, and throughout the entirety
of this case, no parent corporations were in existence and no
publicly held company owned 10% or more of Tri-State
Clinical Laboratories, Inc.’s stock.

ul

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
Question Presented ..................cccccuae i
Ns arn cack aba a bcd ssccccevace ll
Statement Pursuant to Rule 29.6 ............... 11
MI cc ec cc cae cccce 11
Table of Cited Authorities .................... \
Bore Or AMOONGICSS ...... 6. cca. Vii
memsommems OF Mee Case ...... ww eee l
Reasons for Denying the Writ ................. 3
I. The Actual Amount Of A Criminal Penalty
Imposed On A Bankruptcy Debtor In
Possession Is Not An Administrative Expense
Under The Bankruptcy Code And This Court
Should Not Review The Third Circuit’s
Decision To The Contrary. .............. 3

A. The Third Circuit Did Not Depart From
This Court’s Decision In Reading Co. v.
Brown When It Decided That Criminal
Penalties Assessed For Conduct
Engaged In During A Chapter 11
Proceeding Are Not An Administrative
era a 6 bb ew KK we ew on +

BRR PRAT EN LPG” tg Gy RELL Me gees NG Se BASS
ACO Ee EI gee Le 3

Conclusion

iv
Contents

The Court Of Appeals Did Not
Misconstrue The Legislative History Of
The Bankruptcy Code, And It Did Not
Depart From The Themes Of Reading.

aS eS SA RSS SDAA S OEE ES Oe ON AS 6S SS Ss

The Third Circuit’s Decision Does Not
Render 28 U.S.C. § 959(b) Inoperable.

2 De Se ESE Oe ee eS. eS ee ee ee ee oe ek ee

The Third Circuit’s Decision Is Not
Contrary To This Court’s Policy That
Federal Bankruptcy Courts Should Not
Invalidate State Criminal Proceedings.

2 RE eS > ae) ee es ee

The Third Circuit’s Decision Does Not
Stand Alone And In Conflict With The
Authoritative Decisions Of All Other, Or
Of Any Other, United States Courts Of
Appeals That Have Addressed This
Issue, Since No Other Courts Of Appeals
Have Addressed This Specific Issue.

a OR BS SOR OR ee ai i i ae oe a

The Third Circuit’s Decision Is
Consistent With The Concise Wording
Of § 503(b) Of The Bankruptcy Code,
Which Limits Administrative Expenses.

Pe SO ES PSE SO eee SS ee ee ee ee oe

2S eS SED OR OR SCA OS eS SO Oe Oe Oe Bb 6 ee Be

Page

10

16

18

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases:
Bates v. United States, 522 U.S. 23 (1997) ....... 16
Cumberland Farms v. Florida Dep't of Envtl.
Protection, 116 F.3d 16 (Ist Cir. 1997) ....... 13,14
Grogan v. Garner, 498 U.S. 279 (1991) ......... 16
In re Charles Bank Laundry, Inc., 755 F.2d 200 (Ist
Ee Pe ea ene 14
In re Mammoth Mart, Inc., 536 F.2d 950 (1st Cir.
cca. OE Cee re ee ee ene 14
In re N.P. Mining Co., 963 F.2d 1449 (11th Cir.
ena eee slg ua cee ee 12, 13, 14
Kelly v. Robinson, 479 U.S. 40 (1986) .......... 8
K-Mart Corp. v. Cartier, Inc., 486 U.S. 281 (1988)
[AUKGNADMES SOM Hehe ek aR eee 16
Oregon v. Witcosky (In re Allen Care Centers, Inc.)
96 F.3d 1328 (9th Cir. 1996) ................ 15, 16
Pennsylvania Department of Public Welfare v.
Davenport, 495 U.S. 552 (1990) ............. 8, 15

Reading Co. v. Brown, 391 U.S. 471 (1968) ......
Pere ee Wee Cee un pk baua eae ence 4,5, 6, 7, 12, 16

vi

Cited Authorities

Page

United States Department of Interior v. Elliot, 761

F.2d 168 (G0 Ss ca cee ee ek 14
Statutes:
18 Pa. Stat. An Or kaa cere ks 1]
11 U.S.C. § 1QGGRER 5a ee ee 15
1] U.S.C. § SOD 222 eae ee ee 17
11 U.S.C. § Si or eee 10, 12, 16, 17
11 U.S.C. § SOR eee eae 17
11 U.S.C. § SPARE Rei ee ee ees 2
11 U.S.C. § S2xGe cere rene ass mth, U7
11 U.S.C. § TR ee re 2
1] U.S.C. § FR ee ee 8
28 U.S.C. § 5G aa ete 9
Other Authority:

Black’s Law Dictionary 521 (6th ed. 1990) ...... 17

Vil

TABLE OF APPENDICES

Appendix — Relevant Statute

|

Respondent respectfully prays that a writ of certiorari
not issue to review the judgment and opinion of the United
States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit which has held
that the actual amount of a punitive criminal fine imposed
upon a Debtor during the pendency of a Chapter 11 Petition
was not an administrative expense of the Bankruptcy Estate.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On August 14, 1990, a voluntary petition pursuant to
Chapter 11 of the United States Bankruptcy Code was filed
by Tri-State Clinical Laboratories, Inc. (hereinafter,
“Debtor”). On January 21, 1992, a criminal complaint
(hereinafter, “Complaint”) was filed against Debtor
for alleged violations of Pennsylvania’s Solid Waste
Management Act (hereinafter, “Act”). Count I of the
Complaint accused Debtor of allegedly unlawfully storing
municipal waste on or about July 18, 1990. Count II of the
Complaint alleged that Debtor violated the Act on October
4, 1990, by allegedly disposing of infectious waste in a
municipal dumpster.

Debtor was ordered to pay a criminal fine in the amount
of $10,000.00, as a result of the allegations in Count I. Debtor
was also ordered to pay a criminal fine in the amount of
$20,000.00, as a result of the allegations in Count II.

Joseph P. Nigro was appointed as the Chapter 11 Trustee
in September, 1992. On Motion of Mr. Nigro, the case was
converted to Chapter 7 on October 6, 1992, and Mr. Nigro
was appointed the Chapter 7 Trustee on December 1, 1992.!

1. From this point forward “Respondent” will be used to refer
to Mr. Nigro acting solely in his Capacity as Trustee of the
Bankruptcy Estate of the Debtor.

2

On August 19, 1994, Petitioner filed a proof of claim in
which it asserted: 1) a $10,000.00 subordinated unsecured
claim pursuant to § 726(a)(4) of the United States Bankruptcy
Code (hereinafter, “Code”), on the basis of the Count |
criminal fine; and, 2) a $20,000.00 Administrative Claim
pursuant to § 726(a)(1) and § 507(a)(1) of the Code, on the
basis of the Count II] criminal fine.

There have been no averments or allegations that the
fines were assessed in relation to any actual costs or expenses
incurred by Petitioner, or for any monies disbursed by
Petitioner relating to the criminal acts, generally, or relating
to the prosecution of the criminal acts, specifically. The fines
were assessed solely as a punitive measure.

On April 1, 1997, Respondent filed the Trustee’s
Objection to Proof of Claim Filed by the Commonwealth of
Pennsylvania, Department of Environmental Resources, and
a Notice of Hearing With a Response Deadline, on April 1,
1997. Although Respondent’s Objection did not address the
claim based upon the Count I criminal fine, Respondent has
objected to the Administrative characterization of the actual
amount of the Count II criminal fine.

On April 9, 1997, a hearing was held before the
Bankruptcy Court, at which point in time it was determined
that the facts were not in dispute. On August 21, 1997, the
Bankruptcy Court entered an order sustaining Respondent’s
objection, and held that Petitioner had a valid unsecured
claim.

An appeal was timely filed by Petitioner to the United
States District Court for the Western District of Pennsylvania.
On May 5, 1998, the decision of the Bankruptcy Court was
affirmed by the District Court.

3

A timely appeal was filed with the United States Court
of Appeals for the Third Circuit, and on June 2, 1999, the
Court of Appeals affirmed the decision of the District Court,
which had affirmed the decision of the Bankruptcy Court.
Petitioner’s request for hearing en banc was denied on July
21, 1999.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT
I.

THE ACTUAL AMOUNT OF A CRIMINAL PENALTY
IMPOSED ON A BANKRUPTCY DEBTOR IN
POSSESSION IS NOT AN ADMINISTRATIVE
EXPENSE UNDER THE BANKRUPTCY CODE AND
THIS COURT SHOULD NOT REVIEW THE THIRD
CIRCUIT’S DECISION TO THE CONTRARY.

Petitioner is correct when it states that the issue presented
before this Honorable Court is “clear cut and
straightforward.” However, Petitioner is incorrect when it
states that the Third Circuit’s decision ignores “the text of
the Bankruptcy Code and misconstru[es] legislative history
to circumvent this Court’s decision in Reading Co. v. Brown,
391 U.S. 471 (1968), [which] encourages other debtors in
possession to engage in similar cost-benefit analysis when
deciding if they should comply with state and federal laws.”
Pet. at 4.

On the contrary, in its decision, the Third Circuit has
applied the plain text of the Code, and properly refused to
create legislation by adopting a holding which would do what
the United States Congress has chosen not to do, as of this
date. Despite Petitioner’s attempts to have the judicial branch

ces Fah at

a
:
ie}
4
4
=4
a
3 a
a
xo
x
ire
tpg
.,
Be
3]
iy
bas}
Be
ay
\s
aa
Sag
‘B
way
fat}
vat
3

4

legislate in this case, the Third Circuit has honored the intent
of Congress by properly interpreting the legislative history
of the Bankruptcy Code while honoring the themes
established by this Honorable Court in Reading.
Additionally, Petitioner’s argument that Chapter 11 debtors
in possession (hereinafter, “DIPs”) will now somehow be
encouraged to commit criminal acts as cost-cutting measures
is unrealistic and without merit. Furthermore, no other circuit
courts have ruled on the specific issue of the prioritization
of the actual amounts of punitive criminal fines incurred by
a DIP, and as such, the Third Circuit’s decision does not
conflict with any other courts in this land. This case’s holding
stands alone because the facts of this case clearly make this
case unique. Therefore, no compelling reasons exist for this
Petition to be granted by this Honorable Court.

A. The Third Circuit Did Not Depart From This Court’s
Decision In Reading Co. v. Brown When It Decided
That Criminal Penalties Assessed For Conduct
Engaged In During A Chapter 11 Proceeding Are Not
An Administrative Expense.

Contrary to Petitioner’s analysis of the Third Circuit’s
holding in this case, the Third Circuit’s decision actually
furthers the rationale espoused by this Honorable Court in
Reading.

Whether this present case is contrasted with Reading,
or compared to Reading, it is important to study the
underlying claim of both subject creditors in each of the
cases. In Reading, this Honorable Court was confronted with
a claim filed by a Creditor whose house was destroyed by a
fire which resulted from the negligence of the receiver of
the Debtor’s estate, and one of the receiver’s workmen. The.
claim of the creditor was based upon a civil tort, through

Pee Natt ltl el A ie Ry Dah Dian MANE SO

CCID Sn sate

LJ ne Oe ti ites EP atc tc

5

which the creditor sought reimbursement of actual damages
caused by the estate. The claim in Reading arose through a
mere accidental act of a receiver. Reading Co., 391 US. at
477. It was in this context that this Honorable Court stated
that those creditors that suffer an actual injury by the
operation of the business should recover ahead of other
creditors. /d. at 482, 485.

Additionally, in Reading, this Honorable Court stated:
“We hold that damages resulting from the negligence of a
receiver acting within the scope of his authority as receiver
give rise to ‘actual and necessary costs’ of a Chapter XI
arrangement.” /d. at 485. Thus, claims that should be deemed
to be administrative expenses are those involving actual
damages, and which result from activity of a receiver (or
DIP, in this case) acting within the scope of its authority.

The Third Circuit’s opinion in the present case is
consistent with the aforementioned Reading analysis. In the
present case, Debtor engaged in “egregious” criminal
conduct, according to the Petition. Pet. at 3. The Proof of
Claim filed by Petitioner is comprised solely of the actual
amount of a punitive, criminal, fine assessed against the
Debtor as a result of the Debtor’s violation of criminal
Statutes. There are no facts of record which indicate that the
$20,000.00 fine has been assessed as reimbursement for
Petitioner’s damages.’

In the present case, the Third Circuit stated:

It is neither reasonable nor necessary for a
commercial enterprise to violate criminal laws and

2. In fact, Petitioner states in its statement of the case that the
proof of claim was filed seeking to collect the $20,000.00 criminal
“penalty” as a Chapter 11 administrative expense. Pet. at 3.

endanger the public ... Rather we believe
Congress intended only for those “actual
necessary costs and expenses” that arise in context
of, or compensate for, legitimate business
activity, or the losses resulting therefrom, to be
treated as expenses of preserving the estate, and
accorded priority as an administrative expense.

Petitioner’s App. at 13a.

Finally, Reading stated that an important statutory
objective in bankruptcy is: “fairness to all persons having
claims against an insolvent.” Reading Co., 391 U.S. at 477.
This Honorable Court placed such an emphasis on that
specific objective, that it was held to be the “decisive”
statutory objective. /d. In the present case, the Third Circuit
followed Reading’s theme of fairness to all creditors when
it stated that if Petitioner’s claim is deemed to be an
administrative expense:

The practical result would be that fines for
committing crimes would be paid by innocent
creditors ... rather than . . . the criminal. That is
as unfair as it is impractical. The payment of the
criminal fine would not compensate for any
damages resulting from Tri-State’s conduct. It
would merely cause Tri-State to satisfy its
obligations to the state out of the pockets of Tri-
State’s creditors.

Petitioner’s App. at 13a.

The Third Circuit’s opinion does follow the rationale
behind Reading’s belief that those who suffered actual

5

injuries from the operation of a business should recover ahead
of other creditors, and that fairness mandates that all innocent
creditors should not have to pay the punitive fine incurred
as a result of Debtor’s criminal acts.

None of the cases cited by Petitioner, including Reading,
are factually similar to this case. All cases cited by Petitioner
involve civil fines, and none involve punitive criminal fines.
Although the facts of this case make it truly unique, the Third
Circuit applied the themes of Reading to this case in order
to render a just decision.

B. The Court Of Appeals Did Not Misconstrue The
Legislative History Of The Bankruptcy Code, And
It Did Not Depart From The Themes Of Reading.

Seeking to have this Honorable Court do what only
Congress may do, Petitioner has taken a portion of the Third
Circuit’s opinion out of context.

Although the Third Circuit does reference and discuss
11 U.S.C. § 726(a)(4) in its opinion, the Third Circuit does
not rely upon the legislative history of § 726(a)(4) of the
Code, exclusively when rendering its decision in this case.
Petitioner’s App. at 212. The Third Circuit simply cites to
the legislative history of this code section in the context of
discussing the legislative history of the Code, in general. In
addition to considering the legislative history of the Code,
the Third Circuit stated that its decision was also based upon
policy considerations evidenced by the text of the code and
cases interpreting same. Petitioner’s App. at 21a.>

3. In fact, after discussing the legislative history of § 726(a)(4),
the Third Circuit specifically stated, “Thus, prepetition fines were
(Cont’d)

ic
4

8

By analyzing the legislative history of the entire Code,
the Third Circuit concluded that there was a distinction
between a portion of a criminal fine which was compensatory
and a portion of which was non-compensatory. In its opinion,
the Third Circuit determined this by analyzing § 523(a)(7)
of the Code, and the cases of Kelly v. Robinson, 479 U.S. 40
(1986), and Pennsylvania Department of Public Welfare v.
Davenport, 495 U.S. 552 (1990), which interpreted same.
Petitioner's App. at 20a-21a. It was only after this analysis
that the Court determined that a distinction between the
compensatory nature of a criminal fine, and the non-
compensatory nature of such a fine, should be maintained
throughout the Code:

We do not believe that Congress intended for us
to ignore the non-compensatory character of a
criminal fine in deciding if it is an administrative
expense under § 503, while explicitly requiring
that consideration under § 523(7). Rather, for the
reasons previously stated, we conclude that
§ 503’s restriction to “expenses of preserving the
estate” limits such expenses to those that
constitute compensation for expenditures
necessary to the operation of the Debtor-in-
possession’s business.

Petitioner’s App. at 21a.

(Cont’d)
accorded second class status in the distribution scheme.” Petitioner’s
App. at 18a. The Third Circuit never explicitly or implicitly stated

that its reference to § 726(a)(4) was dispositive in this case, in any
way. Petitioner’s App. at 18a.

9

Although the Third Circuit does mention Code sections
involving pre-petition penalties in its opinion, Petitioner is
incorrect in stating that the Third Circuit relied upon those
Code sections in its disposition of this case.

C. The Third Circuit’s Decision Does Not Render
28 U.S.C. § 959(b) Inoperable.

Respondent agrees that a DIP is required to manage and
operate property in its possession according to the
requirements of the valid laws of the state in which such
property is located, according to 28 U.S.C. § 959(b).

However, in claiming that the Third Circuit’s opinion
renders § 959(b) inoperable, Petitioner’s reasoning is flawed
when it states:

Any deterrent effect, however, is lost if a Debtor
operating postpetition is allowed to do so
with impunity, knowing that any penalty is
characterized as a general unsecured claim and,
therefore, in all probability will never be paid.
Treating the criminal penalty as an administrative
expense insures its payment, thereby reinforcing
the deterrent effect by not allowing a debtor in
possession and creditors to benefit from engaging
in cost-cutting criminal behavior.

Pet. at 9.

It was never held that Petitioner’s claim is denied in its
entirety. The Third Circuit affirmed the orders of the District
Court and the Bankruptcy Court, which held that Petitioner’s

10

claim is allowed as an unsecured claim.‘ Petitioner still has
a valid unsecured claim against the bankruptcy estate in this
case.

Petitioner would have this Honorable Court believe that
if Petitioner receives payment on its claim from the
bankruptcy estate, and possibly to the exclusion of other
creditors, this would have a deterrent effect on possible
criminal conduct of DIPs in the future. The opposite is true.
The true way to punish someone is to focus on the source of
payment of the fine, to the exclusion of the recipient of said
payment.

This case, however, involves the Debtor’s commission
of a criminal act. Deeming the actual amount of a criminal
fine to be an “administrative expense” will have no deterrent
effect on a criminal actor. The Third Circuit’s interpretation
that § 503(b) creates an administrative expense for claims
involving reimbursement of actual costs, and not for claims
involving the actual amounts of punitive criminal fines, does
not ‘““emasculate” any federal statute requiring DIPs to operate
a business in accordance with state law.

D. The Third Circuit’s Decision Is Not Contrary To This
Court’s Policy That Federal Bankruptcy Courts
Should Not Invalidate State Criminal Proceedings.

The Third Circuit held that Petitioner has an unsecured
claim, not an administrative claim pursuant to § 503(b) of

4. The Order of Court issued by the Bankruptcy Court is
reproduced in Petitioner’s App. at 42a; the Order of Court issued
by the District Court is reproduced in Petitioner’s App. at 29a; and,
the Judgment issued by the Third Circuit is reproduced in Petitioner's
App. at 25a.

vi OO ee ee eS

11

the Bankruptcy Code. The Third Circuit neither denied
Petitioner’s claim, nor did it ever deem that Petitioner’s claim
is dischargeable. If it had, it would indeed have had the effect
of invalidating the state criminal proceedings in this case,
as Petitioner claims is the result of the decision below. Just
because Petitioner’s claim is not treated preferentially, as
compared to other claimants, that does not mean that the
Third Circuit invalidated (either actually or theoretically),
Petitioner’s criminal complaint.

Instead, if Petitioner had objected to the dischargeability
of the debt underlying its claim, Petitioner’s claim would
have survived dischargeability, pursuant to § 523(a)(7) of
the Code. Additionally, and ironically, Petitioner has the
ability to pursue the officers of Debtor in this case pursuant
to a valid state law. 18 Pa. Stat. ANN. § 307.° As a result of
the Third Circuit’s decision, Petitioner could still choose to
pursue the officers of Debtor, personally ultimately place
the officers of the corporation in a position where they would
be forced to use whatever means necessary to pay the fines,
including selling their personal assets which are not even
part of the bankruptcy estate (since the Debtor is solely the
corporation). Just because Petitioner has failed to avail itself
of this potential remedy does not mean that it does not exist.

The Third Circuit’s decision does not “invalidate” any
state criminal proceeding. In fact, the Third Circuit’s decision
bolsters and reinforces the criminal proceedings involving
Petitioner in state court.

5. Subsection (e) of Section 307 of 18 Pa. Stat. ANN., entitled
“Liability of organizations and certain related persons” has been

reproduced in the Appendix to this Response. Respondent’s App.
at la.

=

v
3
7
I

Bs

~

12

E. The Third Circuit’s Decision Does Not Stand Alone
And In Conflict With The Authoritative Decisions
Of All Other, Or Of Any Other, United States Courts
Of Appeals That Have Addressed This Issue, Since
No Other Courts Of Appeals Have Addressed This
Specific Issue.

The Third Circuit was the first Circuit Court to address
the specific issue stated in the Question Presented portion
of this Reply. Thus, if the Third Circuit Court’s holding
“stands alone”, it is alone not due to a conflict with other
Circuit Courts, but due to the unique facts of this case.

In the Petition, Petitioner seeks to “boot-strap” the claim
in the present case which involves the actual amount of a
punitive criminal fine assessed for “egregious criminal
conduct”, into administrative expense priority pursuant to
§ 503(b). Petitioner attempts to do this by citing to other
circuits which have dealt with facts and issues not the same
as the facts and issue before this Honorable Court in the
present case.

Petitioner cites to Jn re N.P. Mining Co., 963 F.2d 1449
(11th Cir. 1992), which involved a civil fine imposed for
the violation of a strip-mining regulation. Pet. at 11. The
N.P. Mining court did not comment on punitive criminal fines
assessed for egregious criminal conduct of DIPs. N.P. Mining
chose to distinguish itself from Reading, a case relied upon
by Petitioner, since Reading involved reimbursement of
actual damages to the creditor. N.P. Mining, 963 F.2d at 1456.

Although adopting Reading’s view that in some cases
“costs ordinarily incident to operation of a business” are to
be accorded administrative-expense priority, N.P. Mining felt

13

that ensuring compliance by trustees with state law is
sufficient justification to place civil penalties in the category
of “some cases” where costs Ordinarily incident to the
operation of a business are deemed to be administrative
expenses. /d. at 1458.

However, if a DIP (through its corporate officers) is
clearly intent on engaging in criminal activity in violation
of acriminal statute, at the possible risk of losing the officer’s
liberty or personal assets to a state enforcement agency, then
merely deeming a criminal fine to be an administrative
expense of a bankruptcy estate is definitely not going to
encourage the DIPs to comply with state laws. The Third
Circuit correctly recognized that the facts of the present case
could not possibly allow for the N.P. Mining rationale to be
dispositive in this case without the Third Circuit first
inferring that criminal conduct is part of the ordinary and
necessary operation of a business:

... doing so [applying N.P. Mining’s rationale
here] would require us to infer that disposing of
infectious human waste in a manner that not only
endangers members of the general public, but also
constitutes criminal activity, is part of the ordinary
and necessary operations of a business.

Petitioner’s App. at 23a. Fortunately, the Third Circuit chose
not to insult the integrity of all business owners.

In its second attempt to illustrate a conflict where none
exists, Petitioner cites to Cumberland Farms v. Florida Dep't
of Envtl. Protection, 116 F.3d 16 (1st Cir. 1997). Cumberland
Farms involved a civil fine imposed upon a DIP, Cumberland
Farms, for its failure to “establish and maintain evidence of

i
€
.
a
5
ke

s
?
3
i
t
a
34
3
bs

a

SOON LS Weer cs!

14

financial responsibility.” Cumberland Farms, 116 F.3d
at 18. Since Cumberland Farms involves the imposition of
a civil fine, its holding does not mandate a different decision
in the present case, for the same aforementioned reasons that
N.P. Mining does not mandate a different decision in this
case.°

Another case cited by Petitioner is United States
Department of Interior v. Elliot, 761 F.2d 168 (4th Cir. 1985).
Although the Elliot court did hold that post-petition penalties
should be treated on an equal basis, the rational applied by
the Elliot court is inapplicable in the present case. Petitioner
cites to Elliot for the proposition that Section 57(j) of the
bankruptcy act allowed “all postpetition penalty claims
regardless of whether they were incurred by the Trustee or
by the Debtor in possession.” Pet. at 14. However, the last
part of that quote is the heart of the Elliot court’s rationale:
“_. the critical inquiry is the extent to which the creditors
could prevent the accrual of the penalties.” Elliot, 761 F.2d
at 172. What Elliot sought to establish by its holding was
the allocation of responsibility to creditors of the bankruptcy
estate. However, there has been no finding in this present
case as to what the creditors of the Debtor’s estate could

6. Petitioner discusses other First Circuit cases referenced in
Cumberland Farms, which involve civil fines. None of those cases
are relevant to the present case for the same reason that Cumberland
Farms is not: Jn re Charles Bank Laundry, Inc., 755 F.2d 200
(1st Cir. 1985) (holding that a civil compensatory fine qualified for
first-priority treatment, when the DIP was fined for violating an
injunction); and, Jn re Mammoth Mart, Inc., 536 F.2d 950 (1st Cir.
1976) (holding that claims entitled to first priority as cost or expense
of administration, must first pass through threshold of occurring
after filing of the Petition for relief, otherwise claim will not be
considered for administrative expense prioritization).

15

have possible done to prevent Debtor’s commission of the
criminal acts which prompted the fine. It is also difficult to
imagine that, in any bankruptcy case, any of the creditors
could possibly be expected to know that a DIP is engaging
in criminal activity.

Petitioner’s reliance upon the case of Pennsylvania Dep't
of Pub. Welfare vs. Davenport, 495 U.S. 552 (1990) for the
proposition that there is generally no difference between the
treatment of criminal and civil sanctions in the Bankruptcy
Code is misplaced. Pet. at 14. The issue in Davenport was
whether or not restitution obligations constitute “debts”
within the meaning of § 101(11), and would be therefore
dischargeable under Chapter 13. Davenport, 495 U.S. at 552.
The issue before this Honorable Court in Davenport did not
involve the treatment of criminal fines as compared to the
treatment of civil fines in terms of Bankruptcy Code.

Finally, Petitioner misapplies the case of Oregon v.
Witcosky (In re Allen Care Centers, Inc.), 96 F.3d 1328
(9th Cir. 1996) in its final attempt to show that the Third
Circuit’s decision conflicts with other circuit courts.
Petitioner alleges that the court in Witcosky denied
administrative expense status to the subject creditor’s claim
(based upon recoupment of funds advanced by a state agency
to the Debtor) because the “expenses were not a result of the
debtors wrongdoing, but simply from its insolvency.” Pet.
at 14. Petitioner also states that “in the Ninth Circuit, a state
only receives administrative expense priority if the Debtor
engages in wrongdoing.” Pet. at 14-15. What Petitioner fails
to state is that the Court in Witcosky was explaining why it
did not agree with the Oregon Department of Human
Resources’ assertion that its expenses “were entitled to
administrative priority under Reading as ‘costs ordinarily

16

incident to operation of a business.’ ” Witcosky, 96 F.3d at
1331. Ironically, the Ninth Circuit’s holding and rationale
actually narrow the application of Reading to prevent “boot-
strapping” efforts (such as the one attempted by Petitioner
in this case) when it stated, “the rule of Reading applies only
in cases involving ‘post-petition tort-like conduct.’ ” /d.

The Third Circuit is the first Circuit Court of Appeals
to encounter the issue of how to treat creditor claims based
upon the actual amount of purely punitive post-petition
criminal fines incurred during the pendency of a Chapter 11
bankruptcy. The Third Circuit’s analysis is consistent with
the analysis undertaken by all of the cases cited by Petitioner,
but since the subject matter of this case is different from all
others, there is no conflict between the circuits.

F. The Third Circuit’s Decision Is Consistent With The
Concise Wording Of § 503(b) Of The Bankruptcy
Code, Which Limits Administrative Expenses.

The United States Bankruptcy Code is clear and
unambiguous, and the Third Circuit’s decision is consistent
with the Code.

This Honorable Court has held that whenever a court
analyzes the meaning of a particular statute, it must look to
the particular statutory language at issue, as well as the
language and design of the statute as a whole. Grogan v.
Garner, 498 U.S. 279, 287 (1991) (citing K-Mart Corp. v.
Cartier, Inc., 486 U.S. 281, 291 (1988)). Additionally, this
Honorable Court generally resists reading words or elements
into a statute that do not appear on its face. Bates v. United
States, 522 U.S. 23 (1997). It is against this backdrop that
the Third Circuit decided the present case.

17

Section 503(b) of the Code explicitly addresses the actual
amount of criminal fines, but only allows administrative
expense priority for the actual amount of criminal fines in
the context of taxes. Section 503(b) also explicitly addresses
administrative claims relating to criminal prosecutions, but
limits such claims to the “actual, necessary expenses”
incurred by a creditor “in connection with the prosecution
of a criminal offense relating to the case or to the business
or property of the Debtor.” 11 U.S.C. § 503(b)(3)(c)
(Emphasis added; text reprinted in Petitioner’s App. at
44a-4Sa).’

Further references to criminal fines in the Code are found
in § 523(a)(7), which explicitly references the actual amounts
of fines and penalties by exempting same from
dischargeability debts “to the extent such debt is for a fine,
penalty . . . payable to and for the benefit of a governmental
unit, and is not compensation for actual pecuniary loss, other
than a tax penalty .. .” 11 U.S.C. § 523(a)(7).

In its analysis of the Code, the Third Circuit found the
language of § 503(b) to be suggestive of a quid pro quo
exchange in which the estate accrues a debt for consideration
necessary to the operation of the business. Petitioner’s App.
at 7a. In its well reasoned opinion, the Third Circuit stated:
“Congress recognized the need to provide incentive to
creditors who would otherwise not continue to provide

7. The Third Circuit does state that since Congress expressly
included tax fines and penalties in § 503, this implies that had
Congress intended to include other types of fines and penalties within
the class of administrative expenses, it would have done so expressly.
Petitioner’s App. at 7a n.4. This follows the maxim “expressio unius
est exclusion alterius”, meaning the expression of one thing is the
exclusion of another. Black’s Law Dictionary 521 (6th ed. 1990).

18

services to a failing business. Accordingly, ‘the actual,
necessary costs and expenses of preserving the estate’ are
given priority under the Code.” Petitioner’s App. at 8a.

It was, in part, after this analysis of the actual language
of Bankruptcy Code, itself, that the Third Circuit properly
held that punitive criminal fines arising from post-petition
behavior are not administrative expenses. Petitioner's App.
at 23a.

There is no need for this Honorable Court to intervene
since Petitioner has failed to provide any compelling reasons
for this Honorable Court to grant its Petition.

CONCLUSION

For all of the foregoing reasons, Respondent respectfully
requests that this Honorable Court deny the Petition for Writ
of Certiorari to the United States Court of Appeals for the
Third Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

JAMES M. MALLEY MATTHEW M. PAVLOVICH
Counsel to Trustee Special Counsel to Trustee
NiGro & MALLEY Counsel of Record

Two Gateway Center Suite 1240

Suite 1270 Lawyers’ Building
Pittsburgh, PA 15222 Pittsburgh, PA 15219
(412) 471-8118 (412) 391-1014

Attorneys for Respondent

APPENDIX

a 6 WO hse aren To 9

la
APPENDIX — RELEVANT STATUTE

18 Pa. C.S.A. § 307(e)

§ 307. Liability of organizations and certain related
persons

(e) Persons acting or under a duty to act for
organizations. —

(1) A person is legally accountable for any
conduct he performs or causes to be performed in
the name of a corporation or an unincorporated
association or in its behalf to the same extent as
if it were performed in his own name or behalf.

(2) Whenever a duty to act is imposed by law

upon a corporation or an unincorporated
association, any agent of the corporation or
association having primary responsibility for the
discharge of the duty is legally accountable for a
reckless omission to perform the required act to
the same extent as if the duty were imposed by
law directly upon himself.

(3) When aperson is convicted of an offense
by reason of his legal accountability for the
conduct of a corporation or an unincorporated
association, he is subject to the sentence
authorized by law when a natural person is
convicted of an offense of the grade and the degree
involved.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_0237%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
