# Opposition Brief — Wareham Education Ass'n v. Massachusetts Labor Relations Commission

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_0218%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1999
- **Citation:** 528 U.S. 1062

## Text

No. 99-643 ; NOV Le 1999

|
“) OPEInE OF fe GLERK

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

WAREHAM EDUCATION ASSOCIATION,
BRIDGEWATER EDUCATION ASSOCIATION,
and FAIRHAVEN EDUCATORS’ ASSOCIATION,
Petitioners,
Vz
MASSACHUSETTS LABOR RELATIONS COMMISSION,
DAVID DuPUIS, ELEANOR DuPUIS, BETSY ANN Woop,
CHARLES CIPOLLINI, and PETER ANTHONY,

Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
Supreme Judicial Court of Massachusetts

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

BRUCE N. CAMERON

(Counsel of Record)

GLENN M. TAUBMAN

c/o National Right to Work Legal
Defense Foundation, Inc.

8001 Braddock Road

Springfield, VA 22160

(703) 321-8510

Attorneys for Respondent Individual Teachers

November 1999

CO

‘is
QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether a small, affiliated union, or an individual
nonmember, should bear the burden of verifying the union’s
financial information when reliable information is necessary to
competently evaluate the union’s agency fee demand?

2. Whether independent and adequate state grounds exist to
support the decision below?
Pp

3. Where a union is found by an administrative agency to
have violated a state statute by the manner in which it demanded
compulsory union fees, may the administrative remedy include
temporary forfeiture of the fee until such time as the union
submits a legally proper demand?

.
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
CRIES LEC ees PUEOE TED 6 kk 68 cakes bu dde dees a eek i
TAREE CP ALT RH a 5 xc cbc csccaeenuennensn lil
Ceres ERA sks k-d0ccctacckeee ee l
SAE REUIEE nnn 05 0 0sntdnneneen ]
CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
Pa V pees GEOG VEEP nc bck nda cuceabacceseeeans 2
SIA TEEN OF Time CAMs oc... ckccncccacsucceasss 4
REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION ........... 9
I. Petitioners Cannot Point to a Seam,
Much Less a Split, in the Solid
Screen of Adverse Decisions Below ....... 9
Il. Transaction Costs Cannot Defeat
FVOG SPOOCR RAMS ok oki sce ccdanceess 12
Il. The Decision Below Also Rests
on Independent State Grounds ........... 14
IV. This Court Does Not Sit to
Revisit the Discretionary Remedial
Decisions of a State Administrative
pC, PEST Re ETT Tees ee ere 15
CKRUL RUS x0 6 bic uk onew hn eeeeeeee eee 17

TS nnn nC cnnnemncn tA

-lii-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases Page
Andrews v. Education Ass'n of Cheshire,

829 F.2d 335 (2d Cir. 1987) ............... 9, 12, 13, 14
Black v. Cutter Laboratories, 351 U.S. 292 i) 14
Chicago Teachers Union v. Hudson, 475 U.S. 292

on RS Ay a a eee eee nee passim
Damiano v. Matish, 830 F.2d 1363 (6th Cir. 1987) ........ 9
Dashiell v. Montgomery Cty., 925 F.2d 750

eek Day od x 4d ecw cn kouedens 9
Ferriso v. NLRB, 125 F.3d 865 (D.C. Cir. 1997) ......... 9
Fibreboard Paper Products v. NLRB, 379 U.S. 203

I a sg nei ule un ate eb kos CAA dy hae ke 15
Hohe v. Casey, 956 F.2d 399 (3d Cir. 1992) .......0.00.. 9

Hurley v. Irish-American Gay Group, 515 U.S. 557
a a 12

Knight v. Kenai Peninsula Borough Sch. Dist.,
131 F.3d 807 (9th Cir. 1997), cert. denied,
PM 6a ss ctw navn cccaceccccnccan 9

Lehnert v. Ferris Faculty Ass'n, 500 U.S. 507
ET a agai tba doe kek kok ake eek, 12

-iv-
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - continued

Cases Page

Lowary v. Lexington Local Bad. of Educ.,
903 F.2d 422 (6th Cir. 1990), cert. denied,

UE Rites PO ONE ok 40 oe Oka sree tekstas 9,14
Lowary v. Lexington Local Bd. of Educ.,

704 F. Supp. 1461 (N.D. Ohio 1988) ................. 9
Malden Educ. Ass'n, 15 MLC 1029 (1988) ............. 16

Pacific Gas & Electric Co. v. Public Utilities
CO Are Uae: CRE 5 50h ee Seis ces ka scuss 12

Ping v. National Educ. Ass'n, 870 F.2d 1369
Coes Cos ene aa cae a a eee 9

Prescott v. County of El Dorado, 177 F.3d 1102
aes Pe Pre pte ate ee ree ae 12

School Comm. of Greenfield v. Greenfield Educ.
Ass'n, 385 Mass. 70, 431 N.E.2d 180 (1982) .......... 13

School Comm. of Newton v. Labor Relations
es eG a a, a ee 15

Shea v. International Ass'n of Machinists,
Se FS re el, BD ok bs vs ev ee nennens 12

Springfield Educ. Ass'n (Belhumeur), 23 MLC 247
CRED Sic MEE Casa eee OEE WERE EERE 1]

Tashjian v. Republican Party of Conn., 479 U.S. 208
CUR 6 ab esas ss As ee eee ee ae 13

@V-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - continued

Cases

Therrien v. Labor Relations Comm'n,

390 Mass. 644, 459 N.E.2d 88 (1983) ........

Tierney v. City of Toledo, 917 F.2d 927

Ce i LEE eee Ore ae ree

Wareham Educ. Ass'n vy. Labor Relations
Comm'n, 430 Mass. 81, 713 N.E.2d 363 (1999)

Zacchini v. Scripps-Howard Broadcasting Co.,

433 UB. SORDID oo. occ vce cnkancdcas.

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions

Rica Sn: MII, Br ina oe nee,
me We: © Ee Oe foo oc hea eee a
2P ai CR hk oe eka ek ee

eh TREO: Te cho ee ee

WM. SEG. Te © oii cia kes

ee ene en

eae 9

ee ee

-vi-
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - continued

Miscellaneous Page

Arthur L. Bowker, Trust Violators in the Labor
Movement: A Study of Union Embezzlement,
oP 5. Ge TROD, PEN CEDURE i's oe ee uae kane cwarawacn 7,10

ale
IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

No. 99-643

WAREHAM EDUCATION ASSOCIATION,
BRIDGEWATER EDUCATION ASSOCIATION,
and FAIRHAVEN EDUCATORS’ ASSOCIATION,
Petitioners,
Vv.
MASSACHUSETTS LABOR RELATIONS COMMISSION,
DAVID DUPUIS, ELEANOR Dupuis, BETSY ANN Woop,
CHARLES CIPOLLINI, and PETER ANTHONY,

Respondents.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

OPINIONS BELOW

The decision and order of the Massachusetts Labor Relations
Commission is reported at 24 Massachusetts Labor Cases 23
(1997). The decision and order of the Massachusetts Supreme
Judicial Court is reported at 430 Mass. 81, 713 N.E.2d 363
(1999). Both opinions are set forth in the appendix to the
Petition for Writ of Certiorari.

JURISDICTION

To the extent this Court has jurisdiction, it is based on 28
U.S.C. § 1257 (a). Respondents argue below this Court lacks
jurisdiction based on the independent and adequate state grounds
for the decisions below.

re

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The First Amendment to the United States Constitution
provides: “Congress shall make no law respecting an establish-
ment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or
abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of
the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the Govern-
ment for a redress of grievances.”

Massachusetts General Laws chapter 150E § 11 says in
pertinent part:

If, upon all the testimony, the commission deter-
mines that a prohibited practice has been committed, it
shall state its findings of fact and shall issue and cause
to be served on the party committing the prohibited
practice an order requiring it or him to cease and desist
from such prohibited practice, and shall take such
further affirmative action as will comply with the
provisions of this section, including but not limited to
the withdrawal of certification of an employee organi-
zation established by or assisted in its establishment by
any such prohibited practice. It shall order the reinstate-
ment with or without back pay of an employee dis-
charged or discriminated against in violation of the first
paragraph of this section.

Massachusetts General Laws chapter 150 E § 12 states:

The commonwealth or any other employer shall require
as a condition of employment during the life of a
collective bargaining agreement so providing, the
payment on or after the thirtieth day following the
beginning of such employment or the effective date of
such agreement, whichever is later, of a service fee to
the employee organization which in accordance with
the provisions of this chapter, is duly recognized by the
employer or designated by the commission as the
exclusive bargaining agent for the unit in which such

ie

employee is employed; provided, however, that such
service fee shall not be imposed unless the collective
bargaining agreement requiring its payment as a condi-
tion of employment has been formally executed,
pursuant to a vote of a majority ofall employees in such
bargaining unit present and voting.

Prior to the vote, the exclusive bargaining agent
shall make reasonable efforts to notify all employees in
the unit of the time and place of the meeting at which
the ratification vote is to be held, or any other method
which will be used to conduct the ratification vote. The
amount of such service fee shall be equal to the amount
required to become a member and remain a member in
good standing of the exclusive bargaining agent and its
affiliates to or from which membership dues or per
capita fees are paid or received. No employee organiza-
tion shall receive a service fee as provided herein unless
it has established a procedure by which any employee
so demanding may obtain a rebate of that part of said
employee’s service payment, if any, that represents a
pro rata share of expenditures by the organization or its
affiliates for:

(1) contributions to political candidates or political
committees formed for a candidate or political

party;

(2) publicizing of an organizational preference for a
candidate for political office;

(3) efforts to enact, defeat, repeal or amend legislation
unrelated to the wages, hours, standard of produc-
tivity and performance, and other terms and condi-
tions of employment, and the welfare or the
working environment of employees represented by
the exclusive bargaining agent or its affiliates;

(4) contributions to charitable, religious or ideological
causes not germane to its duties as the exclusive
bargaining agent;

(5) benefits which are not germane to the governance
or duties as bargaining agent, or the exclusive
bargaining agent or its affiliates and available only
to the members of the employee organization.

It shall be a prohibited labor practice for an em-
ployee organization or its affiliates to discriminate
against an employee on the basis of the employee’s
membership, nonmembership or agency fee status in
the employee organization or its affiliates.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Facts: David and Eleanor Dupuis are teachers in the
Bridgewater public schools. Betsy Ann Wood is a teacher in the
Wareham public schools. Charles Cipollini and Peter Anthony
are teachers in the Fairhaven public schools. Mr. and Mrs.
Dupuis, Ms. Wood, Mr. Cipollini and Mr. Anthony (hereinafter
collectively referred to as “teachers”) are subject to collective
bargaining agreements entered into by, respectively, the
Bridgewater Education Association (“BEA”), the Wareham
Education Association (“WEA”) and the Fairhaven Educators
Association (“FEA”).

The Bridgewater Education Association, the Wareham
Education Association and the Fairhaven Educators Association
(hereinafter collectively referred to as “associations” or “local
unions”) are affiliated on the state level with the Massachusetts
Teachers Association (“MTA”) and on the national level with the
National Education Association (“NEA”).

The teachers have not joined the associations or the
associations’ state and national affiliates. Nevertheless, thev are
required to pay agency fees to these unions and their affiliates as

a

a result of collective bargaining agreements between their
employers and the unions.

Although employers and unions are allowed to enter into
agency fee agreements in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts,
they are not required to do so. (G.L. c. 1S0E § 12) Asa result,
most of the local affiliates of the MTA have not entered into
agreements which coerce support from nonmembers. '

The smaller the local affiliate, the less likely it is to enter
into compulsory fee agreements with the employer. Almost
two-thirds of the local affiliates of the MTA (196) are smaller
than the smallest of the three local unions (i.e., WEA) involved
in this case. Of those 196 small locals, fewer than one-third (62)
have entered into coercive agreements. Of those 62, only 27
represent teachers who have not joined the union.

Beginning in 1989, the local unions demanded that the
teachers pay an agency fee which generally equaled the amount
of dues paid by voluntary union members.’

' Out of 300 local affiliates, only 137 have agency fee agreements.

> Dues for the Bridgewater Education Association for the year at issue

were $299, of which $30 was retained by the BEA, $191 was sent to the
MTA and $78 was forwarded to the NEA. The agency fees demanded of the
Dupuis for that same year were $275.45, of which $30 was retained by the
BEA, $186.95 was sent to the MTA and $58.50 was forwarded to the NEA.
Dues for the Wareham Education Association for the 1987-88 school

year were $283, of which $30 was retained by the WEA, $178 was sent to the
MTA and $75 was forwarded to the NEA. The agency fee demanded of Ms.
Wood for that same year was $242.63, of which $29.18 was retained by the
WEA, $157.57 was sent to the MTA and $55.88 was forwarded to the NEA.
The dues for the Wareham Education Association for the 1988-89 school year
were $299, of which $30 was retained by the WEA, $191.was sent to the
MTA and $78 was forwarded to the NEA. The agency fee demanded of Ms.
Wood for 1988-89 was $262.73, of which $30 was retained by the WEA,
(continued...)

.”

The local unions’ fee demands were not accompanied by
an audit of their financial books and records. An audit would
allow the teachers to have a trustworthy basis on which to review
the local unions’ actual expenditures to decide whether they
thought the fee demand was excessive. The fee demands
provided some unaudited financial information, but did not
disclose all union expenditures.

For objecting nonmembers like the teachers, the local
unions’ state and national affiliates calculated a reduced agency
fee that was less than the dues paid by voluntary union members.
These calculations included audits of the affiliates’ books and
records.

The MTA, the state affiliate which receives the lion’s
share of the compelled fees, “rebates” a portion of these fees to
the local in what it terms “local office support.” This local office
support, which can be up to 50% of total local expenses, carries
some strings with it. One of those “strings” is that the local
affiliate cedes to the MTA the authority to require an audit of the
local’s books “in the event the MTA deems it necessary.”

The authority of the MTA to require audits of its local
affiliates became a matter of internal controversy after this case
was filed. The MTA employs what it calls “regional services
consultants” to handle relationships with the local affiliates. One
MTA regional services consultant, Charles Baldwin, became
alarmed when he noticed that both “malfeasance” and

> (...continued)
$174.23 was sent to the MTA and $58.50 was forwarded to the NEA.

The dues for the Fairhaven Education Association for the year at issue
were $314, of which $45 was retained by the FEA, $191 was sent to the MTA
and $78 was forwarded to the NEA. The agency fees demanded of Mr.
Anthony and Mr. Cipollini for that year were $290.45, of which $45 was
retained by the FEA, $186.95 was sent to the MTA and $58.50 was
forwarded to the NEA.

ieee ini stecatiaiieieii ieee

“nonfeasance” were taking place when it came to the handling of
money by local affiliates.

Mr. Baldwin wrote a letter to MTA’s Executive Director
(with a copy to the General Counsel and others) relating his
experience, and reporting that he consulted with Mike O’Neil, a
C.P.A. employed by the MTA, and learned from him of a list of
other MTA locals which had similar problems. Baldwin
Suggested that a way to combat this serious problem was to
“make it disadvantageous for our locals not to have their books
audited each year.”

The teachers have an independent basis for fearing that
locals have something to hide from the knowledgeable eyes of
experts. When the FEA was required to bring its financial books
and records to a Labor Relations Commission hearing, the FEA
refused (on advice of MTA counsel) to produce the books and
records to the nonunion teachers if those teachers insisted upon
being aided in the matter by their own attorney.

Nationwide, there is a rising concern about the trustwor-
thiness of the financial records of small unions. According to one
published study, when it comes to officer embezzlement of union
funds, “[t]he vast majority of all victim labor Organizations, 78
percent, were local unions.” Arthur L. Bowker, Trust Violators
in the Labor Movement: A Study of Union Embezzlement, 19 J.
Lab. Res. 571, 574 (1998). Indeed, the introduction to this study
summarized part of the findings that, “victim unions were small
in financial and membership size.” Jd. at 571.

These same concerns exist here. In one local, the
auditors had to work on the accounting records to bring them to
the point where they could be audited. According to an MTA
employee and an MTA auditor, at least eight MTA locals
suffered from malfeasance and nonfeasance on the part of local
officers when handling funds.

It takes a certain minimal amount of time, even for
trained professionals, to determine if a small union’s financial

-8-

records are trustworthy. The local unions’ own expert testified
that he would budget 60 hours to audit a small local. In its
decision, the Massachusetts Labor Relations Commission
recounted the steps a certified public accountant takes in
determining whether a union’s financial statements are trustwor-
thy. These include confirming the amount of financial transac-
tions with outside banks and vendors. (Appendix to Petition
“App.” at 30a-31a) Obviously, this test would take longer for a
teacher who is untrained in the science of auditing financial
records—assuming such testing with banks and vendors would
even be possible.

Proceedings Below: After the teachers received the
agency fee demands which failed to include an audit of local
union expenses, they timely filed prohibited practice charges
with the Massachusetts Labor Relations Commission challenging
the procedures by which the local unions demanded their agency
fees, and other matters not pertinent here. The charges raised the
constitutional and state statutory right of the teachers to receive
from the local unions audited information so they could gauge
the propriety of the unions’ fee demands.

The Commission issued a complaint alleging that these
three local unions did not provide the teachers “with an inde-
pendent auditor’s financial statement of its revenues and
expenses for the fiscal year preceding the period for which the
fee was demanded.” Since the local unions had not provided the
teachers with any audited financial information at the time of the
agency fee demand, the Commission’s allegation was admitted
by all three unions. The local unions did not plead any affirma-
tive defense to their failure to provide an audit to the teachers.

The Commission held several hearings. Recommended
Findings of Fact were issued by Commissioner William Dalton
on October 28, 1996. A unanimous final decision and order was
handed down by the Commission on October 29, 1997, holding
that the local unions violated state law by failing to provide
audited financial information to the teachers. Upon the request
of the local unions, the Supreme Judicial Court granted direct

ACS Se ee nttaaa o deca

-9.

review of the Commission’s decision. On July 15, 1999, the
Supreme Judicial Court unanimously affirmed the decision of the
Commission.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

I. PETITIONERS CANNOT POINT TO A SEAM, MUCH
LESS A SPLIT, IN THE SOLID SCREEN OF
ADVERSE DECISIONS BELOW.

In Chicago Teachers Union v. Hudson, 475 U.S. 252,
307 n.18 (1986), this Court determined that a union must provide
an audit of its books and records whenever it makes an agency
fee demand upon nonmembers. Specifically, this Court required
that the union’s “major categories of expenses” be disclosed “as
well as verification by an independent auditor.” (/d.)

A phalanx of federal circuit courts have reaffirmed the
Hudson audit requirement. None have rejected it for public
employees. Second Circuit: Andrews vy. Education Ass’n of
Cheshire, 829 F.2d 335, 340 (2d Cir. 1987); Third Circuit: Hohe
v. Casey, 956 F.2d 399, 415 (3d Cir. 1992); Fourth Circuit:
Dashiell v. Montgomery Cty., 925 F.2d 750, 756-57 (4th Cir.
1991); Sixth Circuit: Lowary v. Lexington Local Bd of Educ.,
903 F.2d 422, 431-32 (6th. Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 498 U.S. 958
(1990); Tierney v. City of Toledo, 917 F.2d 927, 933-36 (6th Cir.
1990); Damiano v. Matish, 830 F.2d 1363, 1370 (6th Cir. 1987);
Seventh Circuit: Ping v. National Educ. Ass’n, 870 F.2d 1369,
1374 (7th Cir. 1989) (quoting Lowary v. Lexington Local Bd of
Educ., 704 F. Supp. 1461, 1466 (N.D. Ohio 1988)); Ninth
Circuit: Knight v. Kenai Peninsula Borough Sch. Dist., 131 F.3d
807, 813 (9th Cir. 1997), cert. denied, 524 U.S. 904 (1 998); D.C.
Circuit: Ferriso v. NLRB, 125 F.3d 865, 867-72 (D.C. Cir. 1997).

Petitioner local unions acknowledge this unanimity by
candidly confessing that it is “well established” that “an
independent audit of the expenditures on which the agency fee is
based must be provided to fee payers.” (Pet. at 14)

-10-

The audit requirement is not some arcane technical
standard. Both the Supreme Judicial Court of Massachusetts and
the Massachusetts Labor Relations Commission acknowledged
the basis for the requirement of audited information is to allow
nonmembers some measure of assurance the local unions’
financial information is reliable. (App. at 10a-11a; 40a-41a)

This concern about reliability is magnified in small
locals. As mentioned above, the Bowker study found that when
it came to financial improprieties, “victim unions were small in
financial and membership size.” Bowker, 19 J. Lab. Res. at 571.

These kinds of concerns about small unions have proven
well founded in Massachusetts. The trial revealed auditors had
to work on the accounting records of one local to bring it to the
point where it could be audited. According to a union employee
and a union auditor, at least eight locals of the MTA suffered
from malfeasance and nonfeasance on the part of local officers
when handling funds.

Indeed, the local unions’ expert witness testified that in
“most” small locals one person handles all the accounting and,
therefore, the expert could not place any reliance on union
“internal controls.”

Since reliable financial information is at the heart of the
Hudson procedure, and the “Achilles’ heel” of small union
finances is reliability, the question becomes who should bear the
burden of determining the veracity of the local unions’ financial
records?

While the local unions can limit their financial burden
to $30 (the amount they collect), the financial burden on the
teacher seeking to protect First Amendment rights is significant.
The Massachusetts Labor Relations Commission recounted the
steps a certified public accountant takes to determine whether a
union’s financial statements are trustworthy. These include
confirming the amount of financial transactions with outside
banks and vendors. (App. at 30a-3 1a) The unions’ expert witness

its

testified that he would budget 60 hours to audit a small local.
This means that highly-trained professionals are required to
expend at least $2,000 worth of their time to review the account-
ing records of the Wareham Education Association to determine
whether the records can be relied upon.

Should Betsy Ann Wood (the Wareham nonmember) be
required to invest, at a minimum, 60 hours of her time to
determine whether the WEA’s financial records are adequate for
her to gauge the propriety of its claim to $30.00 of her money?
Hardly! This is the essence of an unconstitutional burden on free
speech rights.’

No proper consideration of the burden on these small
locals would be complete without a consideration of their large
state and national affiliates. The local unions’ affiliates are a
large and ready source of financial help. The MTA has an
annual income of nearly $13 million and the NEA has an annual
income of almost $118 million. The MTA not only has the
authority to require audits of its local affiliates, the record shows
it has paid for them in the past.

These local unions charge the teachers for all three levels
of the “unified” organization, on the basis that support for the
large state and national affiliates is essential to having the proper
resources for effective collective bargaining. The ability of these
affiliates to bring their “considerable economic” resources to
bear to help locals in need is the precise reason this Court ruled

> The local unions disingenuously suggest (Pet. at 20) that the

requirement of providing reliable audited financial information to nonmem-
bers is not important because they can skip “virtually cost-free and risk-free”
to the next stage of the Hudson procedure - which is the trial. A trial on the
amount of the state affiliate’s agency fee has already taken place. Springfield
Educ. Ass'n (Belhumeur), 23 MLC 247 (1997). Although that case is on
appeal, the nonmembers in that case proved the affiliate’s demands were
illegally high. The procedure took approximately eight years, 53 days of trial
and $50,000 in court reporters’ fees to Say nothing of attorney resources.

0

A’

nonmembers can be compelled to support all three levels of the
union hierarchy. Lehnert v. Ferris Faculty Ass'n, 500 U.S. 507,
523 (1991).

Affiliate resources, however, are a topic the local unions
would like to avoid when it comes to claiming “burden.” This
Court must not close its eyes, when evaluating claims of “bur-
den,” to the collections operation or the multilevel, interlocking
nature of these unions. Andrews, 829 F.2d at 340 n. 2.

In a desperate search for any aberration in the solid wall
of adverse precedent and common sense protection for nonmem-
bers’ rights, the local unions claim that Prescott v. County of El
Dorado, 177 F.3d 1102 (9th Cir. 1999) “would appear to
sanction the financial disclosure provided by [the local unions]
in this case.” (Pet. at 16)

That brings us to the essence of this Petition. Against a
solid wall of adverse precedent, the most the local unions can say
is that Prescott appears to support them. Appearance has proven
deceiving to the local unions, for the Supreme Judicial Court of
Massachusetts relied upon Prescott in ruling against them. (App.
at 10a)

Il. TRANSACTION COSTS CANNOT DEFEAT FREE
SPEECH RIGHTS.

“[OJne important manifestation of the principle of free
speech is that one who chooses to speak may also decide ‘what
not to say.”” Hurley v. Irish-American Gay Group, 515 U.S.
557, 573 (1995) (quoting Pacific Gas & Electric Co. v. Public
Utilities Comm'n, 475 U.S. 1, 16 (1986). The teachers here do
not want to join these unions and do not want to support their
political and ideological activities.

These are “core” First Amendment concerns. Lehnert
500 U.S. at 516; Shea v. International Ass’n of Machinists, 154
F.3d 508, 517 (Sth Cir. 1998) (Nonunion employees who call
upon the court in this type of case “to protect the[ir] free speech

-]3-

nights ... from intrusive union procedures ... [raise] rights whose
protection are at or near ‘the core’ of the First Amendment”).

The fundamental First Amendment rights involved in this
litigation require that prophylactic procedures “be carefully
tailored to minimize the infringement.” Hudson, 475 U.S. at 303.

The state courts of Massachusetts have determined that
the teachers’ stake in this litigation is their free speech rights
while the unions’ stake is “only [to] funds to which [they are]
entitled by statute and agreement.” School Comm. of Greenfield
v. Greenfield Educ. Ass'n, 385 Mass. 70, 84, 431 N.E.2d 180,
189 (1982).*

In general, cost considerations are not a sufficient basis
to defeat First Amendment claims. Tashjian v. Republican Party
of Conn., 479 U.S. 208, 218 (1986).

Specifically, the Second Circuit has ruled that burden is
not a proper defense to the required Hudson procedures:

[T]he district court should not have approached
this question with a balancing test in which the
cost to the union and the practicality of the proce-
dures were to be weighed against the dissenters’
First Amendment interests. We believe that the
procedures mandated by Hudson are to be ac-
corded all nonmembers of agency shops regard-
less of whether the union believes them to be
excessively costly. Excessive cost cannot form
the basis for allowing the union or the govern-
ment to avoid Hudson’s requirement ....

It is probably more accurate to say that the unions’ interest is only
contractual. The court below noted that Massachusetts law only permits, and
does not mandate, union security agreements. (App. at 9a) Reflected in the
record is the fact that most of the MTA’s locals have not entered into agency
fee agreements.

~14-

Andrews 829 F.2d at 339.
The Sixth Circuit, after quoting from Andrews, opined:

Although it may be somewhat burdensome on the
unions, full disclosure of financial information is
a minimal requirement in exchange for this
interference. Hudson and a due regard for First
Amendment values lead to this conclusion.

Lowary, 903 F.2d at 432.°

If the amount of money at issue were a cognizable
concern, this Court in Hudson would not have imposed the
constitutionally required procedures with this note: “The amount
at stake for each individual dissenter does not diminish this
concern [about the risk that constitutional rights will be vio-
lated]. For, whatever the amount, the quality of respondents’
interest in not being compelled to subsidize the propagation of
political or ideological views that they oppose is clear.” Hudson,
475 U.S. at 305.

lil. THE DECISION BELOW ALSO RESTS ON
INDEPENDENT STATE GROUNDS.

If there are adequate and independent state grounds for
the decision of a state court, this Court is deprived of jurisdic-
tion. Zacchini v. Scripps-Howard Broadcasting Co., 433 U.S.
562, 565-68 (1977); Black v. Cutter Laboratories, 351 U.S.292,
297-99 (1956). In the court below, the Massachusetts Labor
Relations Commission vehemently argued:

The Unions conveniently ignore the fact that the
Commission’s decision here rests not only on the
First Amendment requirements ... but also rests

> The defendant local union in Lowary was less than one-third the size
of the smallest union here.

Ce ne

4

-15-

on the Commission’s application of the broad
policies underlying the language of Section 12 of
Chapter 150 E.

The local unions’ Petition fails to mention, much less
discuss, the jurisdictional problems presented by the Commis-
sion’s decision to rest its opinion not only upon First Amend-
ment requirements, but aiso upon the Commission’s application
of the broad policies underlying the Massachusetts labor statute,
G.L. c. 150E. The Commission argued before the court below
that its decision was based upon “sound labor policy” and its
opinion stated its audit requirement for small locals was a result
of recognizing and accommodating “divergent interests when
interpreting and applying the Law.” (App. at 42a)

IV. THIS COURT DOES NOT SIT TO REVISIT THE
DISCRETIONARY REMEDIAL DECISIONS OF A
STATE ADMINISTRATIVE AGENCY.

Remedial decisions of the National Labor Relations
Board are subject to limited judicial review. Fibreboard Paper
Products v. NLRB, 379 U.S. 203, 216 (1964). The Massachusetts
Supreme Judicial Court has ruled the Massachusetts Labor
Relations Commission has similar discretionary statutory
authority under state law (compare 29 U.S.C. § 160 (c) with
Mass. G.L. c. 150E § 11), when it comes to questions of remedy.
Therrien v. Labor Relations Comm 7, 390 Mass. 644, 648, 459
N.E.2d 88, 91 (1983); School Comm. of Newton v. Labor
Relations Comm'n, 388 Mass. 557, 580 (1983).

There is no abuse of discretion in the Commission’s
remedial decision. The Commission has not denied the local
unions the ability to require reimbursement for their collective
bargaining expenses at some future time. It has only released the
teachers’ money from escrow based on the local unions unlawful
demand. (App. at 43a: “Cease and desist from requiring the
Charging Parties to pay an agency service fee ... based on the
invalid demands.”)

-16-

The local unions can make a new agency fee demand
when they comply with the constitutionally required procedures.
The Commission places essentially no restrictions on a union’s
ability to continue making agency fee demands on nonmembers,
even though earlier demands were illegal.

Malden Education Association, 15 MLC 1029 (1988) is
instructive. In that case, the Malden Education Association
made four agency fee demands upon a nonmember for the same
year (1983-84). These demands were made on September 19,
1983, November 18, 1983, February 29, 1984 and November 9,
1984. Jd. at 1032. The Commission held that the first two
demands were illegal because the union had not filed the proper
financial information. Jd. at 1035, 1037. However, when the
union later filed the proper financial information, the Commis-
sion determined the third and fourth demands to be valid. Jd. at
1035.

In its argument to the court below, the Massachusetts
Labor Relations Commission stated: “[n]Jone of [the cases cited
by the local unions] arose under a regulatory scheme like that in
Massachusetts where a union’s right to collect a fee is only
triggered by a valid demand.” To the extent that a union has a
nght to collect a fee from Massachusetts teachers, the Commis-
sion’s decision does nothing to thwart that right. Instead, it
simply requires that right to be enforced in a way that is consis-
tent with state law and the First Amendment.

A remedial decision, based upon a state regulatory
scheme, is beyond the purview of this Court.

sit.

CONCLUSION

The local unions present no meritorious reason for a writ
of certiorari in this case. With respect to all issues the local
unions have raised, the decision of the Supreme Judicial Court
either rested on adequate and independent state law grounds or
correctly followed the applicable decisions of this Court. The
court below properly affirmed the state remedial determination
of the administrative agency. The local unions cannot point to
any conflict among the courts of appeals concerning the issues
and no real conflict exists concerning this issue. Therefore, the
local unions’ Petition should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

Bruce N. Cameron

Counsel of Record

Glenn M. Taubman

c/o National Right to Work
Legal Defense Foundation, Inc.

8001 Braddock Road, Suite 600

Springfield, VA 22160

(703) 321-8510

Attorneys for Respondent
Individual Teachers
November 1999

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_0218%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
