# Opposition Brief — White v. Lachance

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_0204%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2000
- **Citation:** 528 U.S. 1153

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

FILED
(2) jan 1-2 2000
No. 99-629
In the Supreme Court of the Gui

JOHN E. WHITE, PETITIONER
Vv.

JANICE R. LACHANCE, DIRECTOR,
OFFICE OF PERSONNEL MANAGEMENT

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION

SETH P. WAXMAN
Solicitor General
Counsel of Record

DAVID W. OGDEN
Acting Assistant Attorney
General

WILLIAM KANTER

HAROLD D. LESTER, JR.
Attorneys
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530-0001
(202) 514-2217

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the court of appeals correctly determined
that, in evaluating whether a putative whistleblower
had an objective “reasonable belief” that his prior dis-
closures evidenced misconduct prohibited by the
Whistleblower Protection Act of 1989, 5 U.S.C.
2302(b)(8), the Merit Systems Protection Board may
not limit the evidence that it considers to the subjective
beliefs of the putative whistleblower and other simi-
larly situated employees.

(1)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Opinions below
Jurisdiction
Statement
Argument
Conclusion
Appendix

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Alabama v. White, 496 U.S. 325 (1990)
Alaska Airlines, Inc. v. Johnson, 8 F.3d 791 (Fed. Cir.
1993)
Frederick v. Department of Justice, 73 F.3d 349 (Fed.
Cir. 1996)
Gonzales v. Defense Logistics Agency, 772 F.2d 887
(Fed. Cir. 1985)
Haley v. Department of the Treasury, 977 F.2d 558
(Fed. Cir. 1992)
Harris v. Forklift Sys., Inc., 510 U.S. 17 (1998) .....s..0.0..
Herman v. Department of Justice, 193 F.3d 1375

(Fed. Cir. 1999)
Horton v. Department of the Navy, 66 F.3d 279 (Fed.

Cir. 1995), cert. denied, 516 U.S. 1176 (1996) .......cc..se.00-
Illinois v. Gates, 462 U.S. 218 (1983)
King v. Department of Health & Human Servs.,

133 F.3d 1450 (Fed. Cir. 1998) .........cccsssssssssessessseecsessverseeees
King v. Hillen, 21 F.3d 1572 (Fed. Cir. 1994) .....ccccsscessoee
Maryland v. Buie, 494 U.S. 825 (1990)
NLRB v. J. Weingarten, Inc., 420 U.S. 251 (1975) oo...
Ohio v. Robinette, 519 U.S. 33 (1996)
Ornelas v. United States, 517 U.S. 690 (1996) ......e.cccscee0e-.
Phillips Plastics Corp. v. Kato Hatsujou Kabushiki

Kaisha, 57 F.3d 1051 (Fed. Cir. 1995)

(IIT)

© © 0 © 0 MO

IV

Cases—Continued:

Quality Mfg. Co., 195 N.L.R.B. 197 (1972)
Torncello v. United States, 681 F.2d 756 (Ct. Cl.
1982)
United States v. Chemical Found., Inc., 272 U.S.1
(1926)
United States v. Cortez, 449 U.S. 411 (1981) ..............c000
United States v. Gray, 137 F.3d 765 (4th Cir.), cert.
denied, 119 S. Ct. 157 (1998)
White v. Department of the Air Force, 63 M.S.P.R.
90 (1994)

Statutes and regulation:

Whistleblower Protection Act of 1989:
5 U.S.C. 1221
5 U.S.C. 2302(b)(8)
5 U.S.C. 2302(b)(8)(A)
5 U.S.C. 2302(b)(8)(A)G)
5 U.S.C. 2302(b)(8)(A)(ii)
5 U.S.C. 7701(d)(1) (1994)
5 C.F.R. 1201.114(g) (1994)

Miscellaneous:
Black’s Law Dictionary (6th ed. 1990) ...

Page

of®

10

In the Supreme Court of the Anited States

No. 99-629
JOHN E. WHITE, PETITIONER

Vv.

JANICE R. LACHANCE, DIRECTOR,
OFFICE OF PERSONNEL MANAGEMENT

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. 1-9) is
reported at 174 F.3d 1378. The opinion and order of the
Merit Systems Protection Board is reported at 78
M.S.P.R. 38 (1998).’

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
May 14, 1999. A petition for rehearing was denied on

1 The opinion and order of the Merit System Protection Board
is reproduced in this brief at App., infra, la-8a.

(1)

2

July 16, 1999 (Pet. App. 10). The petition for a writ of
certiorari was filed on October 12, 1999. The jurisdic-
tion of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

STATEMENT

1. Petitioner, Mr. John E. White, was a GM-13
Supervisory Education Services Specialist (ESS) at
Nellis Air Force Base, Nevada. His duties included
negotiating memoranda of understanding with those
colleges and universities providing on-base education
services at Nellis. In 1992, the Air Force proposed to
implement the Bright Flag Quality Education System
(QES), which was intended to establish quality stan-
dards for schools contracting with Air Force bases for
educational services. Pet. App. 2.

On May 4, 1992, the Air Force conducted a meeting
attended by representatives of some of the schools and
the Tactical Air Command. During the meeting, peti-
tioner publicly criticized some of the standards that the
QES would require, claiming that they were too
burdensome and would seriously reduce the education
opportunities available on base. Petitioner repeated
these concerns in private meetings with Air Force
officials. Pet. App. 3.

On June 1, 1992, petitioner’s immediate supervisor
detailed petitioner for 120 days from his GS-13 ESS
position to a GS-12 Administrative Officer position,
with no reduction in pay, because his supervisor had
lost confidence in his ability to implement and support
the QES. Petitioner thereupon filed a complaint with
the Office of Special Counsel (OSC), claiming that his
complaints regarding the QES were protected by the
Whistleblower Protection Act of 1989 (WPA), 5 U.S.C.
2302(b)(8), and that the 120-day detail violated the
WPA. Pet. App. 3. The WPA defines a “prohibited

3

personnel practice” as the taking or failure to take a
personnel action with respect to an employee because of

(A) any disclosure of information by an employee or
applicant which the employee or applicant reason-
ably believes evidences —

(i) a violation of any law, rule, or regulation, or

(ii) gross mismanagement, a gross waste of
funds, an abuse of authority, or a substantial and
specific danger to public health or safety, if such
disclosure is not specifically prohibited by law

* * *

5 U.S.C. 2302(b)(8)(A). On July 28, 1992, OSC notified
petitioner that he had the right to seek corrective
action with the Merit Systems Protection Board
(MSPB) under 5 U.S.C. 1221, which he did. Pet. App. 3.

Before the MSPB, petitioner alleged that he had
made disclosures that he reasonably believed consti-
tuted gross mismanagement and that were therefore
protected under the WPA. In an initial decision dated
October 26, 1992, an MSPB administrative judge
dismissed petitioner’s claim, finding that his disclosures
at various meetings did not rise to the level of a “rea-
sonable belief” of gross mismanagement protected by
the WPA. Pet. App. 3. The full board reversed this
decision, finding that an objective “reasonable belief”
that agency conduct constitutes gross mismanagement
is conclusively established if the putative whistleblower
shows (1) that he is familiar with the conduct in ques-
tion and subjectively believes that it constitutes gross
mismanagement and (2) that other similarly situated
employees share his belief about the conduct. White v.
Department of the Air Force, 63 M.S.P.R. 90, 95 (1994);
Pet. App. 3. In finding that petitioner had established a

4

“reasonable belief” of gross mismanagement, the
MSPB did not rely upon any review or analysis of the
QES standards to which petitioner objected, and did
not identify the reasons that the proposed QES stand-
ards could objectively be deemed to evidence gross mis-
management.

On remand, the MSPB administrative judge, adopt-
ing the full board’s determination that petitioner’s
disclosures were protected by the WPA, found that the
Air Force had violated the WPA by detailing peti-
tioner, canceled petitioner’s detail, and ordered that he
be returned to his prior status. Pet. App. 3. The Air
Force appealed to the full board, and the Office of
Personnel Management (OPM) intervened as a matter
of right pursuant to 5 U.S.C. 7701(d)(1) and 5 C.F.R.
1201.114(g) (1994). After considering OPM’s argu-
ments, the MSPB affirmed its prior conclusion that
petitioner’s disclosures evidenced an objective “reason-
able belief” of gross mismanagement. Pet. App. 4.

2. The court of appeals reversed. Pet. App. 1-9. It
found that the MSPB’s per se test for establishing an
objective reasonable belief—“that [the employee] was
familiar with the alleged improper activities and that
his belief was shared by other similarly situated em-
ployees”—necessarily excluded consideration of other
potentially relevant factors, including independent and
objective review of the allegedly improper activities
themselves. Id. at 6-8. The court of appeals recognized
that “[a] purely subjective perspective of an employee

2 The Board initially denied OPM’s notice of intervention on the
ground that OPM had not sought to intervene as early as practica-
ble. Pet. App. 3-4. Ultimately, however, the Board conceded that
OPM’s intervention was timely, and er OPM’s arguments
on the merits. Id. at 4.

5

is not sufficient” to establish an objective reasonable
belief “even if shared by other employees.” Jd. at 7. It
determined, therefore, that a proper test for establish-
ing an objective reasonable belief “is this: could a
disinterested observer with knowledge of the essential
facts known to and readily ascertainable by the em-
ployee reasonably conclude that the actions of the
government evidence gross mismanagement?” Ibid.
The court of appeals then remanded this case to the
MSPB for reconsideration of the facts of this case in
light of all relevant evidence. Jd. at 9.

ARGUMENT

The decision of the court of appeals is both plainly
correct, and consistent with the decisions of this Court
and the court of appeals. Accordingly, further review is
not warranted (especially given the present interlocu-
tory posture of the case).

1. To maintain a claim under the WPA, a federal
employee must establish, among other things, that he
engaged in whistleblower activity by making a dis-
closure protected under the WPA—that is, one that he
“reasonably believes” evidences a violation of law, gross
mismanagement, gross waste of funds, abuse of author-
ity, or substantial and specific danger to public health
or safety.® 5 U.S.C. 2302(b)(8); see King v. Department
of Health & Human Servs., 133 F.3d 1450, 1452 (Fed.
Cir. 1998). None of the parties to this case disputes the
court of appeals’ holding that the test for determining
whether a putative whistleblower has a “reasonable
belief” that a disclosure evidences prohibited miscon-

8 The putative whistleblower must also establish that the
agency took, or threatened to take, a “personnel action” as defined
in the WPA, and that the whistleblower raised his whistleblower
reprisal claim with the Office of Special Counsel.

|

6

duct is an objective one. If the putative whistleblower’s
belief is not objectively reasonable, the disclosure is not
protected, precluding a claim under the WPA.

However, despite this ostensible recognition that the
determination of reasonable belief involves an objective
assessment, the MSPB set forth—and the petitioner
supports—a per se rule governing whether a putative
whistleblower has established a reasonable belief in the
occurrence of improper activity based on his, and other
similarly situated employees’, subjective beliefs. Pur-
suant to this standard, once a putative whistleblower
made a showing simply “that he was familiar with the
alleged improper activities and that his belief was
shared by other similarly situated employees,” Pet.
App. 6, the MSPB would have been precluded from
considering any evidence in the record regarding “rea-
sonable belief” beyond these two factual findings and
from evaluating the underlying basis of the alleged
belief independently to determine whether such belief |
was, in fact, objectively reasonable.

The court of appeals correctly recognized that, con-
trary to the language of the statute, the MSPB decision
below improperly substituted a “subjective perspec-
tive” standard for one of objective reasonableness.‘

4 Black’s Law Dictionary 1265 (6th ed. 1990) provides two defi-
nitions for the term “reasonable belief.” In the criminal context,
reasonable belief or probable cause sufficient to make an arrest
exists when an officer’s knowledge of the facts and circumstances
“are sufficient in themselves to justify a man of average caution in
belief that a felony has been or is being committed.” In the tort
context, the existence of a reasonable belief denotes both that the
actor actually believes in a fact or circumstance, and “that the cir-
cumstances which he knows, or should know, are such as to cause a
reasonable man so to believe.” The objective standard set forth in

7

Pet. App. 7. The court held that the two factors identi-
fied in the MSPB’s per se test “may be of some rele-
vance” in determining whether a putative whistle-
blower’s belief is objectively reasonable. Jd. at 8. It
further held, however, that the “board may not limit its
inquiry” to those two factors. Ibid. Specifically, the
court of appeals recognized that, in a case in which the
alleged impropriety involves written policy, the board
should review and consider the allegedly improper
policy itself in evaluating the objective reasonableness
of the putative whistleblower’s belief that prohibited
conduct exists. Jd. at 7-8. As the court of appeals prop-
erly determined, evidence of the putative whistle-
blower’s actual belief, and of the subjective beliefs of
other employees, cannot per se establish an objectively
“reasonable belief.”

2. Contrary to petitioner’s claim (Pet. 8), the court of
appeals has not “initiate[d] a new standard for the
reasonableness of an employee’s or applicant’s belief.”
The court has repeatedly held that a finding of rea-
sonable belief within the meaning of the WPA must be
supported by substantial evidence, and that courts
must consider the contradictory evidence in the record.
See, ¢.g., Frederick v. Department of Justice, 73 F.3d
349, 352-353 (Fed. Cir. 1996); Horton v. Department of
the Navy, 66 F.3d 279, 283 (Fed. Cir. 1995) (finding,
after examination of the entire record, that the whistle-
blower’s “reasonable belief of wrongdoing was not sup-
ported by substantial evidence”), cert. denied, 516 U.S.
1176 (1996). Pursuant to this inquiry, the court consid-
ers whether the record establishes “that a reasonable
person would conclude” that the disclosure revealed

the opinion of the court of appeals is consistent with both of these
formulations.

8

wrongdoing under the WPA. Herman v. Department
of Justice, 193 F.3d 1375, 1379-1380 (Fed. Cir.1999); see
also Frederick, 73 F.3d at 353 (“no reasonable fact-
finder could conclude” that the disclosure was protected
under the statute); Haley v. Department of the Treas-
ury, 977 F.2d 553, 557 (Fed. Cir. 1992) (holding, after
considering the background statutory scheme and
“{pletitioner’s extensive experience” in his job, that
petitioner’s belief that a violation of FIRREA and its
implementing regulations had occurred was not rea-
sonable).

Furthermore, in a host of other contexts, it is well
settled that subjective belief alone is not sufficient to
establish reasonableness under an objective standard,
and that application of a reasonableness standard re-
quires an independent evaluation of the totality of the
circumstances. For example, in the employment dis-
crimination context both this Court and the court of
appeals have held that, when determining whether an
“environment woulc reasonably be perceived” as hos-
tile or abusive, courts must look at “all the circum-
stances,” Harris v. Forklift Sys. Inc., 510 U.S. 17, 22-23
(1993) (Title VII); actual psychological harm constitutes
only one relevant factor that “may be taken into
account,” ibid.; accord King v. Hillen, 21 F.3d 1572,
1580 (Fed. Cir. 1994) (approving the Equal Employ-
ment Opportunity Commission Guidelines objective
reasonableness standard, which states that “[i]n deter-
mining whether alleged conduct constitutes sexual
harassment, the Commission will look at the record as a
whole and at the totality of the circumstances”). Simi-
larly, reasonableness requirements in the National
Labor Relations Act are measured “by objective stan-
dards, under all the circumstances of the case.” NLRB
v. J. Weingarten, Inc., 420 U.S. 251, 257 n.5 (1975)

9

(quoting Quality Mfg. Co., 195 N.L.R.B. 197, 198 n.3
(1972)). Likewise, under patent law, the “reasonable
apprehension of suit” test, applied in determining
whether an alleged infringer can bring declaratory
judgment action against the patentee, “requires more
than the nervous state of mind of a possible infringer; it
requires that the objective circumstances support such
an apprehension.” Phillips Plastics Corp. v. Kato
Hatsujou Kabushiki Kaisha, 57 F.3d 1051, 1053-1054
(Fed. Cir. 1995).

This Court has most frequently assessed reasonable-
ness in the Fourth Amendment context, considering
whether officers have “a reasonable belief based on
specific and articulable facts” that a certain intrusion is
warranted. Maryland v. Buie, 494 U.S. 325, 337 (1990)
(allowing protective sweep of a house during arrest
where the officers have “reasonable belief” that the
area harbors an individual posing a danger to those on
the arrest scene). In such cases, reasonableness “is
measured in objective terms by examining the totality
of the circumstances.” Ohio v. Robinette, 519 U.S. 33,
39 (1996) (internal quotation marks omitted); see also,
e.g., Alabama v. White, 496 U.S. 325, 328 (1990) (totality
of circumstances must be considered in determining
whether objectively reasonable suspicion existed). The
“totality of the circumstances” that the court must
evaluate in determining whether a suspicion was
reasonable refers to “the whole picture,” from which
the court must be able to identify a “particularized and
objective basis” for the reasonable suspicion. United
States v. Cortez, 449 U.S. 411, 417 (1981). And to sup-
port a magistrate’s warrant determination, “(sufficient
information must be presented” to “allow that official to
determine probable cause; his action cannot be a mere

10

ratification of the bare conclusions of others.” Illinois
v. Gates, 462 U.S. 213, 239 (1983).

The teaching of all of these cases—that reasonable-
ness requires an objective evaluation of the totality of
the circumstances—refutes petitioner’s attempt to
equate “an objective evaluation of the employee’s be-
liefs” with a mandatory acceptance, and reliance upon,
his and others’ subjective beliefs, to the exclusion of
any other evidence. It would be inappropriate for a
court to find probable cause to search based solely upon
the shared views of several police officers, without
discussing the basis for that belief. “Because probable
cause,” like the WPA “reasonable belief” standard, “is
an objective test, [the court must] examine the facts
within the knowledge of arresting officers to determine
whether they provide a probability on which reasonable
and prudent persons would act; [the court] do[es] not
examine the subjective beliefs of the arresting officers
to determine whether they thought that the facts
constituted probable cause.” United States v. Gray, 137
F.3d 765, 769 (4th Cir.) (citing Ornelas v. United States,
517 U.S. 690, 695-696 (1996)), cert. denied, 119 S. Ct. 157
(1998). Similarly, the court of appeals correctly found
that reasonable belief in gross mismanagement is not
established merely by the shared views of. several
employees, without an analysis of the basis for their
views.

Because the objective reasonableness standard set
forth by the court of appeals comports both with the
language of the statute, and with precedent from this
Court and the court of appeals, no further review is
warranted.

3. Petitioner suggests that the decision below fails
to provide federal employees with the protection Con-
gress intended for disclosing “governmental mis-

11

management and/or wrongdoing” (Pet. 12), but he is
mistaken. Disclosures made by federal employees are
protected by the WPA only if they are reasonably
believed to evidence either “a violation of any law, rule,
or regulation” (5 U.S.C. 2302(b)(8)(A)(i)), or “gross
mismanagement, a gross waste of funds, an abuse of
authority, or a substantial and specific danger to public
health or safety” (5 U.S.C. 2302(b)(8)(A)(ii)). Conspicu-
ously excluded from statutory protection are state-
ments of disagreement with agency policy—as the
court of appeals recognized, “[t]he WPA is not a wea-
pon in arguments over policy or a shield for insubordi-
nate conduct.” Pet. App. 7. Also excluded from statu-
tory protection are allegations of mismanagement that
is not serious enough to constitute gross mismanage-
ment. Finally, allegations of gross mismanagement are
protected only if they are objectively reasonable.
These limitations, which appear on the face of the
statute, were not created by the decision below but by
Congress itself. It is petitioner’s proposed standard,
and not the decision below, that would undermine the
purpose of the WPA, by extending the protection of the
statute to any allegation of mismanagement believed by
the employee and others, whether or not their belief is
objectively reasonable.

4. Petitioner claims that the court below imposed an
insurmountable obstacle to claims under the WPA, by
requiring the employee to rebut with “irrefragable
proof” a mandatory presumption that public officers
perform their duties correctly, fairly, in good faith, and
according to law. Pet. i, 12. The court, however, im-
posed no such requirement. Instead, the court merely
noted that the presumption would govern the ultimate
determination whether gross mismanagement had
actually occurred, and therefore it was relevant to the

12

determination whether the employee could reasonably
believe that it had occurred. It made this observation
in the course of holding that the MSPB had erroneously
limited its consideration to the subjective beliefs of the
employees, and should instead have considered all
available evidence as to the reasonableness of those be-
liefs. Pet. App. 8. The presumption itself is well estab-
lished, see Alaska Airlines, Inc. v. Johnson, 8 F.3d 791,
795 (Fed. Cir. 1993); United States v. Chemical Found.,
Inc., 272 U.S. 1, 14-15 (1926), as is the principle that
“this presumption stands unless there is ‘irrefragable
proof to the contrary.” Alaska Airlines, 8 F.3d at
795 (quoting Torncello v. United States, 681 F.2d 756,
770 (Ct. Cl. 1982)); see Gonzales v. Defense Logistics
Agency, 772 F.2d 887, 892 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Petitioner
has provided no basis for seeking to overturn this long-
established precedent.

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.
Respectfully submitted.

SETH P. WAXMAN
Solicitor General

DAVID W. OGDEN
Acting Assistant Attorney
General
WILLIAM KANTER

HAROLD D. LESTER, JR.
Attorneys

JANUARY 2000

APPENDIX
MERIT SYSTEMS PROTECTION BOARD

DE-1221-92-0491-M-I

JOHN E. WHITE, APPELLANT
Vv.

DEPARTMENT OF THE AIR FORCE, AGENCY
AND
OFFICE OF PERSONNEL MANAGEMENT, INTERVENOR

[Filed: Mar. 10, 1998]

OPINION AND ORDER

Before ERDREICH, Chairman, SLAVET, Vice Chair,
and MARSHALL, Member.

This appeal is before the Board tu consider the Office
of Personnel Management’s (OPM) arguments on
intervention, on behalf of the agency. For the reasons
set forth below, we AFFIRM our prior decisions and
conclusions in this appeal.

BACKGROUND

A complete discussion of the factual and procedural
history of this case may be found in White v. Depart-
ment of the Air Force, 71 M.S.P.R. 607 (1996) [herein-
after White II ], and White v. Department of the Air
Force, 63 M.S.P.R. 90 (1994) [hereinafter White I]. The
following discussion sets forth the relevant facts neces-
sary to address OPM’s arguments on intervention.

(la)

2a

On June 1, 1992, the agency detailed the appellant
from his Education Services Officer (ESO) position to
an Administrative Officer position without reducing his
pay. The agency ordered the detail because it lost
confidence in the appellant’s ability to support the
Bright Flag Quality Education System (QES). White J,
63 M.S.P.R. at 92-98. The QES contained various
quality standards that applied to colleges and universi-
ties contracting with Air Force bases throughout the
nation to provide on-base educational services ranging
from specific classes to degree-granting programs. Id.
at 93 n. 2.

The appellant alleged that the agency ordered his
detail in retaliation for his criticism of the agency’s
implementation of the QES, and of the standards
required under the QES, during meetings with agency
officials. The appellant first pursued this matter with
the Office of the Special Counsel, and then in an
individual right of action (IRA) appeal with the Board,
claiming that his disclosures evidenced gross mis-
management and abuse of authority, and were,
therefore, protected under the Whistleblower Protec-
tion Act (WPA). The administrative judge declined to
hold the hearing the appellant had requested, and
dismissed the appellant’s IRA appeal for lack of
jurisdiction, concluding that the appellant’s disclosures
were not protected under the WPA. Jd. at 92-94.

In White I, however, the Board found that the
appellant’s disclosures were protected under the WPA
because the appellant reasonably believed that he
disclosed information that evidenced gross misman-
agement. Jd. at 94. The Board based this conclusion on
the appellant’s description of his disclosures and on

3a

documentary evidence showing that there was wide-
spread sharing of his views. Jd. at 95-97. The Board,
therefore, remanded the appeal for the administrative
judge to determine whether the appellant’s whistle-
blowing was a contributing factor in the action taken
against him, and if so, whether the agency had shown
by clear and convincing evidence that it would have
taken the same action in the absence of the retaliatory
factor. Id. at 98-99.

On remand, the administrative judge found that the
agency had retaliated against the appellant because of
his whistleblowing activities and ordered the appellant
reinstated to his position. 71 M.S.P.R. at 610. The
agency filed a petition for review, the appellant filed a
cross petition for review, and OPM sought to intervene,
arguing on behalf of the agency that the Board had
erred in determining that the appellant’s disclosures
were protected by the WPA. In White II, the Board
denied the agency’s petition and the appellant’s cross
petition. Jd. at 611-16. The Board also found that OPM
did not meet the statutory requirements for interven-
tion because it did not seek to intervene as early in the
proceeding as practicable, as required under 5 U.S.C.
§ 7701(d)(1) and 5 C.F.R. § 1201.114(g)(1), and thus did
not address the merits of OPM’s arguments. Id. at 616-
18. The Board, therefore, affirmed the initial decision,
and ordered corrective action. Jd. at 618.

OPM then filed a petition for review of the Board’s
final decision with the U.S. Court of Appeals for the
Federal Circuit, arguing that the Board erred in finding
that it had not timely intervened. While this matter
was pending, the Board requested that the court
remand the case to it for the purpose of deeming OPM’s

4a

intervention timely, and considering its arguments on
the jurisdictional issue of whether the appellant’s
disclosures were protected whistleblowing. The court
has granted this motion, and we, therefore, now
address the merits of OPM’s assertions.

OPM contends that the Board used an incorrect legal
standard in White I, to conclude that the appellant’s
disclosures were protected under the WPA because he
reasonably believed that he disclosed information that
evidenced gross mismanagement. OPM asserts that,
although the Board correctly stated that the test for
whether a putative whistleblower has a reasonable
belief in the disclosure is an objective one, it improperly
applied a subjective test in concluding that the appel-
lant met the requirements of the statute. OPM argues
that the Board improperly made the appellant’s sub-
jective “fear” of a substantial loss of educational ser-
vices the “touchstone” of its analysis, and that the
emotion of “fear” cannot constitute a rational ground or
motive, or a logical defense for the appellant’s actions.
OPM also asserts that the Board improperly relied
upon the widespread sharing of the appellant’s belief by
educational institutions and other ESOs to support its
conclusion that the appellant reasonably believed he
was disclosing gross mismanagement. OPM argues
that a shared belief, by itself, is insufficient to deter-
mine reasonableness because the others’ beliefs may
also be unreasonable, and the proper analysis must,
therefore, examine whether there was a rational basis
for the shared belief.

5a

ANALYSIS

We disagree with OPM’s claim that we made the
subjective emotion of “fear” the “touchstone” of our
conclusion in White I that the appellant’s disclosures
were protected under the WPA, and we instead find
that OPM has taken out of context the isolated use of
the word “fear.” As OPM avers, our decision in White I
includes the statement that the “appellant’s ‘fears’ that
there might be a substantial loss of educational services
and that the standards might be unworkable” sup-
ported the conclusion that he reasonably believed he
was disclosing gross mismanagement. 63 M.S.P.R. at
96. We further recognize that the word “fear” gener-
ally means a distressing emotion aroused by impending
pain, danger or peril. Random House College Diction-
ary 482-83 (Revised ed.1975).

A fair reading of White I, however, reveals that the
Board’s use of the word “fear” was meant in the context
of the appellant’s “beliefs” and “concerns” and of the
underlying reasons for his opinion. Indeed that decision
is replete with references to the appellant’s “belief” and
“concern” that the QES would cause loss of educational
services on a nationwide basis. The Board stated that
the “record contains evidence of substantial support for
the appellant’s ‘concerns’ regarding the agency’s ac-
tions in implementing QES and its requirements that
colleges and universities adhere to what the appellant
‘believed’ were unworkable and untenable quality
education standards,” and noted that the appellant ex-
pressed his “concerns” in two meetings. 63 M.S.P.R. at
95-96. Indeed, the very paragraph mentioning the
appellant’s “fear,” also states that the appellant’s “con-
cerns” were shared by a wide variety of education

6a

institutions and other ESOs. Id. at 96. Thus, contrary
to OPM’s claim, a complete review of White I estab-
lishes that the Board’s conclusion was based upon the
appellant’s “belief,” which is an opinion or conviction,
and “concern,” which is a matter that engages a per-
son’s attention, interest, or care, and not upon the
subjective emotion of “fear.” Random House College
Dictionary 123, 278 (Revised ed. 1975). Moreover, to
the extent that our use of the word “fear” encompasses
the emotional context of that word, our decision makes
clear that the appellant’s “fear” was reasonable, as
required under the WPA, based upon his knowledge of
the QES, and the shared beliefs of other ESOs and
educational institutions. 63 M.S.P.R. at 95-96.

OPM’s argument that the objective test for deter-
mining whether an appellant has a reasonable belief
that his disclosure evidences a matter covered by the
WPA cannot be satisfied merely because others share
the belief, is also without merit. Since White J, the
Board has reiterated the manner in which an employee
may establish that his belief was reasonable. The
Board has stated that an appellant may meet this test
by showing that he was familiar with the alleged
improper activities and that his belief was shared by
other similarly situated employees. See Schlosser v.
Department of the Interior, 75 M.S.P.R. 15, 20-21
(1997); Scott v. Department of Justice, 69 M.S.P.R. 211,
237-38 (1995), aff'd 99 F.3d 1160 (Fed.Cir. 1996) (Table).

Again, a review of White I shows that the Board
properly applied this standard. There was no question
regarding the appellant’s familiarity with QES because
he was an ESO and the agency initiated the appellant’s
detail because it lost confidence in his ability to support

Ta

that program. 63 M.S.P.R. at 93. The Board also
recognized that other ESOs shared the appellant’s opin-
ion, and cited specific evidence supporting this conclu-
sion. Jd. at 96. Thus, the Board correctly based its
determination on the appellant’s description of his
disclosures, including his familiarity with QES, and on
documentary evidence showing that there was wide-
spread sharing of his views, including similar views by
similarly situated ESO employees. Id. at 95-96. We,
therefore, conclude that OPM’s arguments, including its
assertion that the Board failed to consider alleged bias
against the QES by colleges and universities, improp-
erly focus on isolated aspects of our decision while
overlooking the cumulative effect of the basis for our
decision. As such, OPM’s arguments do not provide a
basis for disturbing our prior decisions in this appeal.

ORDER

This is the final order of the Merit Systems Protec-
tion Board in this appeal. 5 C.F.R. § 1201.113(c).

NOTICE TO THE APPELLANT REGARDING
FURTHER REVIEW RIGHTS

You have the right to request the United States
Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit to review the
Board’s final decision in your appeal if the court has
jurisdiction. See 5 U.S.C. § 7708(a)(1). You must sub-
mit your request to the court at the following address:

United States Court of Appeals
for the Federal Circuit
717 Madison Place, N.W.
Washington, DC 204389

8a

The court must receive your request for review no
later than 30 calendar days after receipt of this order by
your representative, if you have one, or receipt by you
personally, whichever receipt occurs first. See 5 U.S.C.

§ 7703(b)(1).

For the Board:
ROBERT E. TAYLOR,
WASHINGTON, D.C.

el ae ee

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_0204%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
