# Amicus Curiae Brief — Pacific Lumber Co. v. Marbled Murrelet

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_0173%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2000
- **Citation:** 528 U.S. 1115

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S,
PIFEEF Dp

DEC @ 1999
No. 99-598

In the - ;

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

PACIFIC LUMBER COMPANY, a Delaware corporation; SCOTIA
PACIFIC COMPANY, LLC. a Delaware corporation, and
SALMON CREEK CORPORATION, a Delaware corporation,

Petitioners,

Me

MARBLED MURRELET (Brachyramphus marmoratus).
NORTHERN SPOTTED OWL (Strix occidentallis caurina), and
ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION INFORMATION CENTER,
INC.

Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

BRIEF AMICI CURIAE OF THE
AMERICAN FOREST & PAPER ASSOCIATION, NATIONAL
ASSOCIATION OF MANUFACTURERS, NATIONAL
CATTLEMEN’S BEEF ASSOCIATION, CALIFORNIA
CATTLEMEN'S ASSOCIATION, CALIFORNIA CHAMBER OF
COMMERCE, CALIFORNIA FARM BUREAU FEDERATION,
CALIFORNIA FORESTRY ASSOCIATION, CALIFORNIA MINING
ASSOCIATION, CONSTRUCTION MATERIALS ASSOCIATION
OF CALIFORNIA, MICHIGAN MANUFACTURERS
ASSOCIATION, WESTERN GROWERS ASSOCIATION and
WESTERN STATES PETROLEUM ASSOCIATION
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

Scott M. DuBoff*

Jeffrey D. Komarow

Wright & Talisman, P.C.

1200 G Street, N.W.. Suite 600
Washington, D.C. 20005-3802
(202) 393-1200

Counsel for Amici Curiae

* Counsel of Record

(Additional Counsel Listed on Inside Cover)
_————————————————————————————————OEOEEEEEE

William RO Murray

PELL bOth Street, NW). Suite SOO

Washington, DC 20046
Counsel for American

horest & Paper Assectition

Jan Amundson

1331 Pennsylvania Ave , NW
Washington, DC 20005
Counsel for Nattonal Avvocta

rroon of Manufacturers

John Braley

1221 th Street
Sacramento, CA 99814
Counsel for California

Cattlemen's Assoctition

bred Maine

1201 K Street, bth Bloor
Sacramento, CA 99814 3906
Counsel for California

Chamber of Commerce

Nancy Mo MeDonough
2300 River Plaza Drive
Sacramento, CA 99833
Counsel for Caltformui

Farm Bureau kederation

Mark So Rentz

400 Capitol Mall, Suite 350
Sacramento, CA 99814
Counsel tor California

Forestry Assoctanon

Adam Harper

One Capitol Mall, Suite 220
Sacramento, CA 95814 3229
Counsel for California
Minine Assoctation

Pat Mitchell

S99 Capitol Mall, LOth Bloor
Sacramento, CA 95814
Counsel for Construction
Matertaly Association of
Caltforma

J} Walker Henry

LOOL Woodward Avenue
Detront, ME 48226 1962
Counsel for Michigan
Manufacturers Assoctation

Jasper bo Hempel

LOOS bth Street, Suite
Sacramento, CA 95S14
Counsel for Western

Gsrowers Assoctation

Gregory Ro MeClintock

$0 S. Grand Ave, 25th Floor
Los Angeles, CA 90071
Counsel for Western

Srates Petroleum Assoctation

PABLE: OF CONTENTS

Pave
PABLE OF AUTHORITIES T
STATEMENT OF INTEREST OF AMIC7 ;
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRI 10
A. The Judicial Standard bor Fee Shitting To
Prevailing Citizen Suit Detendants Is) An
Important Issue That Requires The Court's
Attention . 10)
3 Ihe Ninth Circuit Failed To Follow The
Analysis Set borth In The Courts boverty
Decision 12
C. The Ninth Circuits Dual Standard Is
Inconsistent With Congress’ Determination
Phat Citizen Suits Are Limited To A Supple
mentary, Interstitial Role In) Environmental
Ienforcement 1S

CONCLUSION 19

PABLE OF AUTHORITIES

PAGE(S)

CASES

Alveska Pipeline Serv. Co. v. Wilderness Soc'y
471 U.S. EO CROTSS oc oe ec ee eens 10

Baker vo Dandar
158 F.3d S16 (ith Cir. 1998)... 0. ee ees IS

Carson Truckee Water Conservancy Dist.
v. Secretary of the Intertor,
748 F.2d 523 (Sth Cir. 19984). ........------ 11, 12,14

Christiansburg Garment Co. v. EEOC,
$34 U.S. 412 (9G7ER caine es passim

Doering vo Union County Bd. of Chosen Freeholders,
857 F.3d 898 (3G Cie. Ditee os c ae r ente 18

Fogerty v. Fantasy, Ine.,
$10 U.S. $27 (AGOGO «55s ee passim

Gwaltney of Smithfield, Lid. v. Chesapeake Bay
Found. Inc.
484 U.S. 9 (IGBEL. oc 05 ct tee ere cei ek 15, 16, 17

Hallstrom v. Tillamook County,
493 US. 20 (1989)

Hensley v. Eckerhart,
O61 U.S. 200 (ROR cn xeee ree a eee Is

il

Newman v. Piggie Park Enters., Inc.,
390. U.S. 400 (1968) i)

Pennsylvania v. Delaware Valley Citizens’ Council for
Clean Atr,
eT ee, EOE, nw ek ese ee eee es 12, 14

Razore v. Tulalip Tribes,
eT oR ys) ee ee rc 9

Ruckelshaus v. Sterra Club,
PT ee Oe a ee Seek ee 8,9, 16

Sierra Club v. Shell Oul Co.,
ay ee ee 8 eee Se Car, TORT)... we ee ee ee Y

STATUTES, RULES AND REGULATIONS

Oe NR a dak pee bes Vd en ea eee 12
ees wa vk ae wna x dee bees ee RO 13
I Eas oa ais ads 6 Gas nee Oe 13
ECR ok he ea eS dees ee sales 13
PS re ra Pa arena a eran cra rere ae 13
ly eS aaies eee ks ORE ReaD 13
Ce eran Sree ar cr ar ae ea 13
2g gi A a i ae arma ar er ire ee Is
ER iy eb re as Lak ane sy eae re bae 7
re ey he Va ke Mak ee es oe ew a 7
Se eg 4 eh eee ke OE 17

IV
Re en eka a ce Ree shew eee 2
A iia s Seok aly oe ee oe ei ee 17
SUG. 54 es PR ae Ee eS passim
NY Ne Ne 2 gg gee week SK One ee ee ee LO
SEA, eo ae oe a oe ee a ee es 13
SO A ee 5 a we te Oe Re 9
AZUSA. S$ 4321, e7 ee a eo ee ee oe re 7
Ne og ak a ore he ae a Os oe Rae eS Y
2 oC yk Se eee ee ee rd era a ee re 13
Uy OO cs oh we es oe ese 6 ew Rew eS 12
MISCELLANEOUS
iO0tCome, Mec. 12724 (19048). ow. oc ccc i eee ceca lo
S. Rep. No. 92-414 (1971). . oi ce cc ete cee eens 5
H.R. Rep. No. 94-1558 (1976)... 0... cece ences 15

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Lerm 1999

No. 99-598

PACIFIC LUMBER COMPANY, a Delaware corporation,
SCOTIA PACIFIC COMPANY, LLC, a Delaware corpora
tion; and SALMON CREEK CORPORATION, a Delaware
corporation,
Petitioners,
\

MARBLED MURRELET (Brachyramphus marmoratus );
NORTHERN SPOTTED OWL (Strix occidentallis caurina);
and ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION INFORMATION

CENTER, INC.
Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit
BRIEF AMICT CURIAE OF THE
AMERICAN FOREST & PAPER ASSOCIATION, NATIONAL
ASSOCIATION OF MANUFACTURERS, NATIONAL
CATTLEMEN’S BEEF ASSOCIATION, CALIFORNIA
CATTLEMEN’S ASSOCIATION, CALIFORNIA CHAMBER OF
COMMERCE, CALIFORNIA FARM BUREAU FEDERATION,
CALIFORNIA FORESTRY ASSOCIATION, CALIFORNIA MINING
ASSOCIATION, CONSTRUCTION MATERIALS ASSOCIATION
OF CALIFORNIA, MICHIGAN MANUFACTURERS
ASSOCIATION, WESTERN GROWERS ASSOCIATION and
WESTERN STATES PETROLEUM ASSOCIATION
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

ne ee eet

Amict curiae American Forest & Paper Association, ef al,

submit this brief in support of Pettioners Pacific Lumber Com
pany, eo al. (collectively “PALC( yy." Pheir petition seeks re-
view of the judgment and opimon of the United States Court of
Appeals tor the Ninth Circuit in Marbled Murrelet v. Babbut,
IS? B 3d 1LO8L (1999) (reproduced at Pet. App. at 3a- 10a)
More specifically, this case concems a private enforcement
action (ciizen suit’) under section Tig) of the Endangered
Species Act (ESA), 16 USC. § 154002), and that statute's
“tee shifting” provision, secuon | led)? Secon 11(g)(4), like
the citizen suit provisions of nearly all other federal environ
mental statutes, authorizes rermbursement of the prevailing
liigant’s legal expense by the losing party. Pettoners had been
the defendants below, and earlier Ninth Circuit decisions ad-
dressing the merits ruled in their favor. The court of appeals
found that the actions by PALCO at issue in the case had ad
vanced the purposes of the ESA and dismissed the opposing
clams of Respondents Environmental Protection Information
Center, Inc., eral. (collectively “EPIC,” the plaintiffs below) as
untenable. Thereafter, PALCO, as the prevailing party, sought
renmbursement of its attorney’s fees. Although ESA section
L1(2-4) does not describe different standards for renmbursement
of atlomey’s fees incurred by prevailing plainufts as opposed to
prevatling defendants, and the Ninth Circuit's standard for fee
shifting in favor of a prevailing citizen suit plainuff merely
requires that the suit furthered the goals of the underlying statute,
the Ninth Circuit ruled that PALCO would not be eligible for

"No portion of this bref was authored by counsel for a party, and no per-
son or entty other than the amuct curtae and their members have made a
monetary contribution to the preparation or submission of this briet. The
Petthoners and Respondents have consented to the filing of this bret and thei
respective letters of consent have been tiled with the Clerk of the Court.

“See LOU SC. § 1540(2)(4) (the district court's final order “may award
costs of ligation (including reasonable attorney and expert witness fees) to
any party, Whenever the court determines such award ts appropriite”’)

reimbursement of its legal expense unless it could prove that

EPIC’s citizen suit was frivolous and without foundation. Pet.
App. at 6a. The Ninth Circuit relied on this Court's Christians
burg decision and the so-called “dual” standard tor fee shifting
in favor of prevailing defendants in civil mghts cases. See
Christiansbure Garment Co. v. EEOC, 434 U.S. 412 (1978); see
also Foverty v. Fantasy, Inc., 51O U.S. 517, 520-21 (1994).

Like Petitioners, amici submit that the Ninth Circuit's ruling
IS erroneous, misconstrues decisions of this Court and contra-
dicts Congress’ intent regarding the role of citizen suit enforce-
ment under the ESA. Moreover, the implications of the Ninth
Circuit’s decision clearly transcend the ESA and can seriously
distort citizen suit enforcement under essentially all federal
environmental laws. Review by this Court ts necessary to ad-
dress these important matters.

STATEMENT OF INTEREST OF AMICI

A. Amici consist of voluntary business associations repre
senung a broad spectrum of commerce and industry in the
United States.

Amicus American Forest & Paper Association (“AF&PA”)
is the national trade associauion of the forest, pulp, paper, paper
board and wood products industry. AF&PA represents ap-
proximately 400 member companies and related trade
associations (whose memberships are in the thousands) which
erow, harvest and process wood and wood fiber, manufacture
pulp, paper and paperboard products from both virgin and recy-
cled fiber; and produce solid wood products. With an annual
payroll of approximately $46 billion, this vital national industry
accounts for over 8% of the total United States manufacturing
output, employs some 1.4 million people and ranks among the
top ten manufacturing employers in 46 states.

Amicus National Association of Manufacturers (“NAM”) 1s
the nation’s oldest and largest broad-based industrial trade asso-

4

ciation. Its more than 14,000 member companies and subsidiar-
ies, including 10,000 small manufacturers, employ approxt-
mately 85% of all manufacturing workers and produce over 80%
of the nation’s manufactured goods. More than 158,000 addi-
tional businesses are affiliated with NAM through its Associa-
tions Council and National Industral Council.

Amicus National Cattlemen's Beet Association (“NCBA”)
is the national marketing and trade association for America’s
approximately one million cattle farmers and ranchers. NCBA
is a consumer-focused and producer-directed organization repre-
senting the largest segment of the nation’s food and tiber indus-
try. Through the NCBA, cattkemen work to create positive
business conditions and provide stewardship for protection of
the land from which they make their living while providing
consumers with the finest beef products.

Another amicus, California Catthkemen’s Association
CCA”), is the principal advocate for California’s $1.32 billion
beef cattle industry, and represents CCA’s members—trom
rangeland producers to feedlot operators—on a vanety of legis-
lative, regulatory affairs and judicial matters. Nearly 40 million
acres of California rangeland are owned or, in the case of public
rangeland, managed by CCA members (half of that acreage 1s
privately owned). CCA members are dedicated to the steward-
ship of California’s natural resources and the production of
wholesome beef products for the state, national and intemational
markets.

Amicus Calitorna Chamber of Commerce (“Calitornia
Chamber’) is a statewide business association with more than
11,000 members, both individual and corporate, who represent
virtually every economic interest in the state. The Califormia
Chamber represents its members (9OC% of which are small- or
medium-sized businesses) before the Californta legislature, local
governments and the courts on a broad spectrum of legislative,

regulatory and judicial matters affecting its members.

Amicus Calitornia Farm Bureau Federation (“CFBF”) con-
sists Of 53 county Farm Bureaus, through which it represents
approximately 40,000 individual member farm and ranch fami-
hes i 56 California counties. CFBF's purposes are, among
others, to protect and advance the social, economic and educa-
ional interests of California farmers, including environmental
protection. CFBF’s member farmers and ranchers provide and
preserve habitat for many species of plants, fish and wildlife and
support such habitat by prudent resource management. More
than 90°% of the CFBF’s family farm and ranch members qualify
as small businesses under federal law, and are unable to absorb
the costs of defending unmeritorious claims under the Endan
gered Species Act. The threat of such claims has become a
powerful disincentive against providing wildlife habitat on
agricultural lands in California.

The diverse membership of amicus Calitornia Forestry As-
sociation (“CFA”) includes owners of forestland, forest products
manufacturers, biomass energy producers, professional foresters,
licensed loggers and wholesalers and retailers of forest products.
CFA serves as a central voice for California's forest resource
companies and provides a comprehensive range of services
including advocacy, coalition building and strategic program
development. Members manage their forestland to protect the
environment and produce a sustainable yield of umber for the
manutacture of forest products.

Amicus Calitornia Mining Association is a statewide organi-
zation dedicated to the advancement of responsible mining.
consistent with protection of the environment and other natural
resources, and the education of the public to the vital roles min
erals and mining play in our society. The mining industry di-
rectly contnbutes over $3 billion to the Califorma economy each
year,

Amicus Construchon Matenals Association of Caliomia
(CMAC™) represents aggregate and ready mix producers in

6

Northern California. CMAC was formed in February 1998 and
represents the largest geographic area of any similar organization
in the United States. CMAC members provide aggregate and
concrete products for roads and highways, residential and com-
mercial buildings and public and private water supply systems.
CMAC its an advocate for 1ts members before various forums,
including federal courts, on important issues of regulatory and
economic policy.

Another of the amici, Michigan Manufacturers Association
(“MMA”), is a business association of private Michigan employ-
ers studying matters of general interest to its members, promot-
ing their interests and the interests of all Michigan employers
and the general public in the proper administration of laws re-
lating to its members, and otherwise promoting the general
business and economic welfare of Michigan. MMA’s more than
4,000 members employ 90% of the industnal work force in
Michigan—over one million people. An important aspect of
MMA’s activities is representing its members as an amicus
curiae in a broad range of matters before the courts.

Amicus Western Growers Association (“WGA”) ts an agn-
cultural trade association whose California and Anzona-based
members are growers, packers and shippers of more than half of
the nation’s fresh produce. WGA was formed in 1926 in Calt-
fornia’s Imperial Valley as a marketing protective organization
to address escalating railroad transportation costs. Among
WGA’s services to 1ts members today is representation in a
vaniety of legislative, regulatory and judicial forums in important
matters of law and policy, such as this case.

Amicus Wester States Petroleum Association (“WSPA”) is
a trade association representing companies that produce, refine,
market and transport most of the crude oil, motor fuel and other
petroleum products in the western United States. One of
WSPA’s primary functions is to represent the interests of its
members in regulatory and judicial proceedings, such as this

case, which present issues having considerable importance to the
petroleum industry.

B. Amici and their members are ¢ommitted to the goals of
the ESA and all other federal and state «.:ws for the protection of
the environment. To that end, amici’s members routinely spend
vast sums. Nevertheless, just as in this case involving PALCO,
amict’s members have been (or presently are) defendants in
citizen enforcement suits under the ESA or other federal envi-
ronmental statutes. The citizen suit provisions of these statutes
routinely provide for fee shifting, in the same manner as section
11(g)(4) of the ESA.

EPIC’s suit against PALCO related to PALCO’s harvesting
of timber in northern California, which is subject to comprehen-
sive regulation by the California Department of Forestry. Where
a “threatened” or “listed” species under the ESA may exist
within a proposed harvest area, California regulations mandate
procedures in a timber harvest plan to avoid a “take” of those
species. See 16 U.S.C. § 1538. The adequacy of the procedures
must be verified in advance, and one method for doing so ts to
obtain the concurrence of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
(“FWS”) that the procedures will avoid such “takes.” In this
case, FWS reviewed PALCO’s harvest plan and confirmed (after
certain suggested modifications were made) that the plan was
acceptable. In response, EPIC filed a citizen suit claiming that
FWS’ concurrence was “agency action” within the meaning of
ESA section 7(a)(2), 16 U.S.C. § 1536(a)(2). In addition. EPIC
claimed that PALCO’s proposed logging operations would by
definition constitute “takes” of threatened species.”

Reversing district court rulings, the Ninth Circuit concluded
that EPIC had failed to allege any claims against PALCO (or the
FWS) that were serious or a fair ground for litigation. See Pet.

EPIC also claimed that FWS* concurrence was a major federal action
under the National Environmental Policy Act, 42 U.S.C. § 4321 er seq., Which
would require preparation of an environmental impact statement.

App. at da, -bsatoa, 7a, SOa-S ta, S3ao Instead, the Ninth Cir
curt recognized that PWS* concurrence regarding the adequacy
of procedures to avoid “takes,” provided in response to
PALCO?’s request, did not transform the timber harvest plan into
federal agency action, and timber harvesting on private Lands
remamed a matter of exclusive state regulation. In addition, the
Ninth Circurtemphasized that protection of endangered species
had been enhanced by communication between PALCO and
EWS, while the burdensome ESA section 7 procedures EPIC
sought to cngratt would undermine the ESA's objectives. dd. at
SSa.

As the prevailing party, PALCO applied to the district court
for recovery of its attorney's tees. Phe district court reyected
PALCO?’s request, ruling that ESA citizen suits should be go
erned by the Christiansburg “dual” standard tor tee shifting in
civil rights cases, under which a defendant can recover its tees
only where the plainttt’s Lawsuit was frivolous, unreasonable ot
without foundation, On appeal, the Ninth Circuit agreed wath
the district court and ruled that C/liristiansburg 'y dual standard
tor tee shifting should extend to suits under ESA’ section
Liqgd¢-b) and by impheation to virtually all other environmental
CHuzen sults.

As amuct explain below, the dual standard that the Ninth
Circuit adopted in this case for purposes of section LIC)
contradicts the statute's plain meaning and is not supported by
any policy objectives underlying the statute. Phe importance ot
this issue ts considerable and clearly transcends the ESA. In that
regard there are more than [50 tee shitting provisions in federal
statutes, see Ruckelshaus vo Sterra Club, 403 U.S. O80, OS4
(1983), and such provisions are commonly tound in antitrust,
evil aghts, copyright and trademark, and cnavironmental laws.
As an example, the Ninth Circuits decision concermming the ESA
directly attects the tee shitting provisions of more than a dozen
other environmental statutes, each of which are virtually ident

9

cal to section EL(g)(4), id. at 682 not, and are often interpreted
in part materia. See Hallstrom v. Uillamook County, 493 U.S
20, 23-25 (1989).

As Petitioners note (Pet. at 12-13), lower court decisions re-
garding tee shifting in environmental citizen suits are tinconsis
tent. Kor example, Sterra Club vy. Shell Oil Co., 817 F.2d 1169
(Sth Cir, 1987), upheld an award of htugation costs to a prevail
ing defendant in reliance on 33 USC. § 1365(d), the fee shifting
provision of the Clean Water Act's citizen suit statute, without
suggesting that different standards for such awards apply to
prevathing defendants as opposed to prevailing plainutts (nor
were such standards otherwise discussed). Other decisions
interpreting the same statutory language adopt a dual standard
under which a successful ciazen suit plaintiff is entitled to re
covery of tts attorney's tees by virtue of prevailing-party status,
While a successful defendant can recover its fees only by proving
that the plainttl’s suit was trivolous. See, ¢.g., Razore v. Tulalip
Inibes, 66 F.3d 236 (9th Cir. 1995) (interpreting tee shifting
provisions of Clean Water Act, 33 U.S.C. 1365(d), and Resource
Conservation and Recovery Act, 42 U.S.C. § 6972(¢)). The need
for clartication by this Court increases as additional statutes,
such as the ESA tn this case, are added to the mix. Given the
frequency of environmental citizen suits, uncertainty regarding
the standard tor tee shifting for prevailing defendants 1s likely to
continue to resultin considerable litigation absent resolution by
the Court.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

A. The Judicial Standard For Fee Shifting To Prevailing
Citizen Suit Defendants [s An Important Issue That
Requires The Court's Attention

This case provides a unique opportunity to clanfy the inter-

pretation of fee shitting statutes, which authorize district courts
to depart trom the “American Rule” and award attorney's fees

10

and other htigation costs to prevailing parties.” The Court
should decide which of (wo conthicting mterpretations of similar
tee shifting statutes applies to the award of attorney's fees to
defendants in environmental ligation,

In L97S the Court announced in Christiansburg the dual
standard under which planttts who prevail in employment
discrimination litigation under Pithle VILot the Civil Rights Act
of 196-4 are ordinantly awarded attorney's fees, but a prevailing
defendant may recover such tees only if the plainttf’s action was
“trvolous, unreasonable, or without foundation, even though not
brought in subjective bad faith” Christiansburg, 434 U.S. at
421. Sixteen vears later in Foverty vo Fantasy, Inc., S10 US.
S17, the Court concluded that prevailing parties in copyright
htgation — plantitts aad detendants — must be treated alike, and
reyected the view that the Copyright Act's fee shifting provision,
L7 USC. § S05, either compelled or permitted the courts to look
more favorably upon an attorney's fee request by a prevarling
plantitt as compared to a prevatling defendant”) Fogerty em
phasized that section 505 “gives no hint that successful plaintitts
are to be treated differently than successful defendants.” S10
US. ats22. Fogerty then distinguished Christiansburg despite
the similanty in the language of the fee shifting provisions of the
Copyright Actand Tithe Vilbot the Civil Rights Act. The Court
noted that “a Title VIE phunttt 2. 1s ‘the chosen instrument of
Congress to vindicate “a policy [of equality] that Congress

een)

considered of the highest priority. fd. at 523 (quoting Chris

nunsburg, 4340S. at 48). Fogerty further explained that
[o]ften-times, in the civil rights context, mmpecunious
... phanttts can all afford to litigate their claims against de

4 4: ’ :
The general rule in the United States is that ligants pay their own attor
ney's tees, absent legislation providing otherwise. AlvesAa Pipeline Serv. Co
vo Wilderness Soc'v, 421 US) 240 (1975)

.

17 USC. $505 provides that the court may award “a reasonable attor
Nev's fee to the prevatling party as part of the costs” of a civil action under the
Copyright Act

11

fendants with more resources. Congress sought to redress

this balance in part, and to provide incentives tor the bring-

ing of meritorious lawsuits, by treating successtul plamtutts

more favorably than successtul defendants.
SIO. ULS. at 524. The Court found that the factors relied upon tn
Christansburg were “absent in the case of the Copyright Act.”
Md. at 523. It also observed that Congress could not have tn-
tended to incorporate its Christiansburg holding into secuon 505
of the Copyright Act because Christiansburg was decided two
years after Congress enacted that provision. See td. at 523 19.

Justice Thomas concurred in the Fogerty result: but con
cluded that the mayority’s statutory analysis was flatly inconsis-
tent with Christiansburg. See td. at 535. He reasoned that the
plain language of both statutes required the application of an
evenhanded rule and opined that the Court “should acknowledge
that Christiansburg mistakenly cast aside the statutory language
to give effect to equitable considerations.” /d. at 538. Justice
Thomas stated that, while stare decisis might counsel against
overruling Christiansburg, he would “decline to extend Chris-
tiansburg’s analysis to other contexts.” Jd. at 539,

The Court has not addressed the question of whether the
Christiansburg dual standard or the Fogerty evenhanded stan-
dard applies to the neutrally worded fee shifting provisions of
the ESA and other environmental laws, and there 1s tnconsts-
tency and uncertainty in the lower federal courts over which
standard should apply. While Fogerty teaches that Christians-
burg is the product of “important policy objectives of the civil
rights statute,” td. at 523, and certainly does not automatically
apply outside the civil mghts context, in this case the Ninth
Circuit, without even mentioning Fogerty, overruled its prior
decision in Carson- Truckee Water Conservancy Dist. v. Secre-
tary of the Interior, 748 F.2d 523 (9th Cir. 1984), which had
refused to apply Christiansburg in determining whether to award
attorney's fees under the ESA. The fatal flaws in the decision

| y

below, which this Court should correct, are the Ninth Circuit's
farlure to consider and apply the reasoning of Fogerty and tts
nusplaced relance on dicta in Pennsvivanta v. Delaware Valley
Citizens’ Council for Clean Air, A478 US. 5-40 (T9806).

B. The Ninth Circuit Failed To Follow The Analysis Set
Forth In The Court's Fogerty Decision

The Ninth Circuit failed at the outset to follow the most ba-
sic teaching of Fogerty, that is, to begin its analysts by examia
inv the language of the statute. In that regard, section 112-4)
of the ESAs unabashedly neutral and makes no distinction
between prevailing plantiftts and detendants. The statute,
moreover, is clear in providing that the award of attorney's fees
and other costs ts discretionary — fees “may” be awarded “where
appropriate” In short, pust as the Court found in Fogerty with
respect to the Copyright Act. the tee shifting provision of the
ESA “gives no hint that successtul plaintitts are to be treated
differently trom successtul defendants.” STO ULS. at 522. In-
deed. in Carson: Truckee, based on a similar analysis, the Ninth
Circutt had tself apphed an evenhanded standard. See 748 F.2d
at S25-26

The Ninth Circuit also tailed to consider the tact that Con-
gress Knew how to differentiate between plaintiffs and deten
dants in awarding attorney's fees when it wanted different
standards to apply. Under the Government in the Sunshine Act,
litigation costs, including attorney's fees, may be awarded to the
substantially prevailing party, “except that costs may be assessed
against the plaintitt only where the court tinds that the suit was
imitated by the phaunttt prrmarnily tor trivolous or dilatory pur-
poses. SUS.C.§ S52b0). Similarly, under the Natural Gas
Pipeline Satety Act, 49 USC. § OOLIT(b). a court may, “in the
interests of justice” award attorney's fees in citizen suits to a
prevailing plainttt, but a prevailing defendant may be awarded
such costs only if the planttt’s action was “unreasonable,

frivolous, or meritless.” As a turther example, in cases involvy-

13

ing antitrust claims under the National Cooperative Research and
Production Act, Congress provided that the district court “shall”
(1) award to a substantially prevailing clammant the cost of
suit attributable to such claim, including a reasonable at
tomey s tee, or
(2) award to a substantially prevailing party detending
against any such claim the cost of suit attributable to such
claim, including a reasonable attorney's fee, if the clam,
or the claimant's conduct during the litigation of the
claim, was frivolous, unreasonable, without foundation,
or in bad faith.
IS USC. § 4304¢a) (emphasis added): see also 1S USC.
S$ ISe(d) (in antitrust actions brought by a state, courts may
award fees to prevailing defendant tf “the State attorney general
has acted in bad faith, vexatiously, wantonly, or for oppressive
reasons 9, 31 ULS-C. § 37 30(d)(4) Cin quit fam action courts may
award fees to prevatling defendant if plainttf’s claim “was
clearly frivolous, clearly vexatious, or brought primarily tor
purposes of harassment”), 42 U.S.C. § TELLS Gin antitrust ac-
tions under Health Care Quality Improvement Act, courts shall
award fees to prevailing defendant if plainttf's claim was
“frivolous, unreasonable, without foundation, or in bad faith”);
IS U.S.C. § L692k(a(3) Gin private acuon under Fair Debt
Collection Practices Act. courts “may award” fees to a success-
ful defendant on a finding that plainuff's action “was brought in
bad faith and for the purpose of harassment”); 15 U.S.C. §
1693m(f) (courts “shall” award fees to prevarling defendant in
private acuion under the Electronic Fund Transter Act upon
finding that the “unsuccessful action” was brought “in bad faith
or for purposes of harassment”): 15 U.S.C. $$ 36084), 361 1d)
(defendant in suit under Condominium and Cooperative Abuse
Rehet Act may recover reasonable fees where court finds that
plainuff’s action was “frivolous, malicious, or lacking in sub-
stantial ment”). In sharp contrast to these statutes, Congress

~~

i-t

made no distinction between plamtitts and detendants when 1
enacted the tee shifting proviston of the ESA. This strongly
supports the conclusion that Congress did not intend the dual
standard that has been adopted by the Ninth Circuit in this case.

Pinally, the Ninth Circuit applied the Christiansburg stan
dard in reliance on this Court's decision ino Pennsylvania v.
Delaware Vallev Cittcens’ Council for Clean Air, 478 US. 5-46,
Which, according to the Ninth Circuit, had “essentially over
ruled” its own decision in Carson-lruckee. Pet. App. at Sa.
Veit submit that the Ninth Circuit misinterpreted Delaware
Valley, especially in view of the more recent Fogerty decision.
burst, the issue in Delaware Valley was not whether Cliristianys
burg should be applied to prevailing defendants in environ
mental litigation. Rather, the issue was whether a prevailing
plantitt could recover attorney's fees for participation man
adnunistrative proceeding, and whether the district court im
properly increased tees above the lodestar. See #78 U.S. at 557
SS. Purthermore, insotar as dicta in Delaware Valley suggests
that the fee shifting provisions in civil mghts and environmental
legislation should be interpreted stmiiarly, Fogerty counsels that
acloser and more critical examination of the structure and pur-
poses of the statutory schemes and their similarities and differ
ences is inorder. Although the Ninth Circuit's decision here
suggests a “common purpose” between the Civil Rights Act and
the ESA, that statement appears to be an extrapolation from the
deta in Delaware Valley rather than the product of a thorough
analysis of the two statutes. Moreover, as avicr show in the next
section, this Court's decisions subsequent to Delaware Valley
demonstrate that private enforcement of the civil nghts laws
serves a fundamentally different role than citizen enforcement of
the ESA and other environmental laws.

C. The Ninth Circuit’s Dual Standard Is Inconsistent
With Congress’ Determination That Citizen Suits
Are Limited To A Supplementary, Interstitial Role In
Environmental Enforcement

Phe Ninth Circuit fundamentally misconstrued the intent of
Congress when tt stated that the Civil Rights Act provisions
addressed in Christiansburg and the Endangered Species Act
eluzen suit provisions underlying this case “have a common
purpose.” See Pet. App. at 8a. Although not considered by the
Ninth Circuit, a predicate for Christiansburg ‘sy dual standard tor
fee shifting was the fact that the individual private plamnttts
favored by the dual standard were “the chosen instrument of
Congress to vindicate “a policy that Congress considered of the
highest priority.” Christiansburg, 434 U.S. at 418 (quoting
Newman v. Pregte Park Enters., Inc., 390. U.S. 400, 402 (1968 ));
see also TLR. Rep. No. 94-1558, at 1F (1976) CL P]he effective
enforcement of Federal civil rights statutes depends largely on
the efforts of private cizens.”). In stark contrast, there 1s noth
ing in the legislative history of the Endangered Species Act (or
any other environmental statute) to suggest that private plaintiffs
Were Congress’ chosen instruments” tor enforcement or that
Congress intended to “depend largely on private plainttts” to
entorce environmental laws. Quite the contrary, Congress in-
tended a limited “interstitial” role for environmental citizen
suits——“to supplement rather than supplant governmental ac-
tion.” Gwalmey of Smithfield, Lid. v. Chesapeake Bay Found.,
Inc., 484 U.S. 40, 60-61 (1987). Given the “supplementary
role” Congress intended for such suits, they are proper only
Where government enforcement agencies “fail to exercise their
enforcement responsibility.”” /d. (quoting S. Rep. No. 92-414,
at 64 (L971): see also Hallstrom v. Tillamook County, 493 U.S.
20, 29 (1989) (primary responsibility for enforcing environ-
mental laws ts vested in government agencies, “thus obviating

io

the need for citizen suits”) Thus, tar trom sharing a common

purpose, the private enforcement provisions of the federal civil
{

ryhts and environmental laws have very different purposes

The Ninth Circuits dual standard has the pernicious effect
of encouraging the “potentially intrusive and) burdensome
ciizen suit higation that Congress mtended to avoid. See Hall
strom, FOS LS. at 29) Gawaliney, AS4 US. atOl. This case ts a
clear example. Nothing in the various ESA and NEPA clams
that Respondents pursued against PALCO and the federal gov
ermment amounted to a serious question justifying litigation, as
the Ninth Circunt repeatedly acknowledged. See. eog.. Pet. App.
at 45a (reyecting Respondents’ strained argument “that the State
of Calitormia can somehow ‘delegate’ its authority to intluence
private action to the federal government”); see also supra p. 8.
In tact, EPIC’s claims, if they had been sustained by the courts,
would have clearly undermined the ESA's objectives, while the
actions of Petthoners challenged below by EPIC most assuredly
advanced the protections to which the ESA ts directed. The
court of appeals emphasized these points in reyecting EPIC's
ESA contentions as untenable:

Protection of endangered species would not be enhanced
by arule which would require a tederal agency to perform

"Nor are environmental citizen suit plamntutts analogous to the ““umpecunt
ous” plantitts that have often been the object of civil nights violations. See
Fogersy, SIOUS at S24. see alyo Christransburg, 434 US. at 420 (plain
att}s| of lumited means” are the focus of the Civil Rights Act's tee shitting
provision) (quoting Remarks of Senator Humphrey, 110 Cong. Ree. 12724
(19s) Environmental ciazen suits, on the other hand, are frequently
brought by Large organizations with substantial budgets and equally substan
tial membership bases. Yee Pet at 20-210 In tact. the forestry property that
underlies this case has alone been the subject of more than 1S lawsuits by
Respondent EPIC. See id. ato n7

\s a turther indication of the very different posture of civil rights suits in
comparison to environmental crazen suits, acivil nghts planttt is eligible tor
a tee award even if its success Was only nominal or technical in nature, see
Christraburg, 434 US. at tlo. while tee shitting in environmental citizen
suits is not authored where litigation success Was merely technical or proce-
dural Rucdkelyhaus, 4603 US. at O88 19

17

the burdensome procedural tasks mandated by section 7
sunply because itt advised or consulted with a private party.
Such a rule would be a disincentive for the agency to give
such advice or consultation. Moreover, private parties who
wanted advice on how to comply with the ESA would be
loath to contact the USEWS tor tear of triggering burden
some bureaucratic procedures. As a result, desirable
communication between private entities and federal agen
cies on how to comply with the ESA would be stifled, aad
protection of threatened and endangered spectes would
suffer.

Pet. App. at 83a (emphasis added). The Ninth Circuit's dual

standard tor tee shifting clearly encourages such counterproduc

tive litigation.

Sunply put, Congress” determination that environmental cit
zen suits, such as suits under ESA section L1(2)(4), should serve
a “supplementary” or secondary role, see Gwalmey, 484 US. at
60, cannot be squared with the Ninth Circuit's position dimin
ishing the value of a vigorous defense challenging untenable
claims, such as those presented in this case by Respondents. It
thus bears emphasis that the ESA has various goals which are
quite distinct trom citizen suit enforcement, such as voluntary,
incentive-based conservation programs, see 16 U.S.C. §
1531(a)(5),” and placing principal enforcement responsibility
with the secretanes of the Departments of Commerce and Inte-
nor. See 16 U.S.C. § [540(e), (22) (enforcement by United
States precludes citizen suit). Given those distinct goals, cituzen
suit “defendants who seek to advance . . . meritorious . . . de-
fenses [thereby vindicating tie ESA’s other goals] should be
encouraged to litigate them to the same extent that plaintiffs are
encouraged to litigate meritorious claims.” Fogerty, 510 U.S. at
4

See also Hallstrom, 493 U.S. at 29 (achieving compliance through ad-
mimistratve action “eliminate|s] the need for any access to the courts”).

Is

Hinally, the evenhanded tee shifting standard advocated by
Pethhhoners and aauct will not deter mertorious citizen suit
clams and wall protect vartous interests that EPIC can be ex
pected to raise in opposition to the petition in this case. In that
regard, it should be noted that fee awards are not a matter of
rght and are, instead, discretionary with the district courts.
Phere is no precise rule or formula tor such determimations— the
district courts exercise their discretion in light of a variety of
equitable considerations and based on the circumstances of the
case. See Hensley vo kckerhart, 401 US. 424, 430-37 (1983);
see also Doering vo Union County Bd. of Chosen breeholders,
S57 F.2d 191, 195 (3d Cir. L988) (given that fee shifting ts
discretionary, equitable considerations govern). The plaintitt’s
ability to pay, impact on its ability to bring meritorious suits, and
other factors may be appropriate considerations ina given case
and would affect a tee award to a prevailing defendant. See 857
Be2d at 197) see also Baker v. Dandar, 158 F.3d S16, 528-29
(Lith Cir. L998). The Ninth Circuit's dual standard, on the other
hand, preempts consideration of such factors regardless of the
circumstances, and, in practical effect, means that a prevailing
ciuzen suit defendant will rarely, if ever, recover its fees.

In sum, the Ninth Circuit's dual standard for fee shifting in
environmental ciuzen suits creates considerable uncertainty and
raises significant issues that will continue to be litigated until
resolved by this Court.

EE ea Ce

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above, the petition for a writ of cet
tioran should be granted.

Respecttully submitted,

Score M. DUBOEE*

JEEEPREY D. KOMAROW

WRIGHT & TALISMAN, PLC.
1200 G STREET, N.W

SUITE 600

WASHINGTON, DC) 20005-3802
(202) 393-1200

Counsel for Amict Curtae
American Forest & Paper

Association, et al.

| ‘counsel of Record

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_0173%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
