# Opposition Brief — Brown v. North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_0010%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2001
- **Citation:** 531 U.S. 1190

## Text

No. 99-424

In the

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1999

~~

WILLIE M. BRown, DAviD S. BAGLEY. JOAN BAGLEY,
OrRIS CROSS, and RUSSELL ANDERSON, on behalf of
themselves and all others similarly situated,

Petitioners,
V.
NORTH CAROLINA DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES. -
Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to
the United States Court of Appeals
for the Fourth Circuit

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

MICHAEL F. EASLEY
North Carolina Attorney General

James Peeler Smith,* Special Deputy Attorney General
Harold F. Askins, Special Deputy Attorney General
North Carolina Department of Justice
Post Office Box 629
Raleigh, North Carolina 27602-0629
Telephone: (919) 716-6900

*Counsel of Record

————————

‘ ‘
|

GQ i¢

I
QUESTIONS PRESENTED

l. DOES AN IMPLEMENTINGREGULATION OF THE
AMERICANS WITH DISABILITIES ACT OF 1990, WHICH
REGULATION PROHIBITS A PUBLIC ENTITY FROM
PLACING A SURCHARGE TO COVER THE COST OF
MEASURES REQUIRED TO PROVIDE
NONDISCRIMINATORY TREATMENT TO ANY PERSON
OR GROUP OF PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES,
PROHIBIT A STATE FROM CHARGING A MODEST FEE
TO DEFRAY THE COST OF VOLUNTARILY PROVIDING
“HANDICAPPED” WINDSHIELD PLACARDS TO
MOBILITY IMPAIRED PERSONS SO THAT VEHICLES
TRANSPORTING THEM MAY PARK IN SPACES
RESERVED FOR SUCH VEHICLES?

p 4 IF SO, IS THE REGULATION A VALID EXERCISE
OF CONGRESS’S POWERS TO ENFORCE THE
FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT SO AS TO ABROGATE
THE STATES’ ELEVENTH AMENDMENT IMMUNITY
FROM SUIT?

THIS PAGE INTENTIONALLY LEFT BLANK

eS

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ...........-.ccccececces
op Re ee 8 i Vv

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS, STATUTES

AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED ............. l
pamemmenns OF THE CASE .... 2... cc ccc ccc cwccce 2
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT .............. 8

I. BECAUSE THE DECISION OF THE COURT
-BELOW IS CORRECT, IT IS NOT NECESSARY
FOR THIS COURT TO GRANT CERTIORARI TO
UNS WEESWY BEERS OCIOUOIN, coc c cc cccccnsccsaace 9

A. THE REGULATION EXCEEDS THE Powers OF
CONGRESS TO ENFORCE THE FOURTEENTH
RR STR ER aa en 0)

B. THE PANEL CORRECTLY DECIDED THE
JURISDICTIONAL ISSUE ON THE Basis OF THE
REGULATION ON WHICH PLAINTIFFS” CLAIM
WAS BASED RATHER THAN CONSIDERING THE
ADA As A WHOLE. ...................-05. 14

1\

iH. THE CONFLICT WITH THE DECISION OF THE
NINTH CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS IN DARE
Il CALIFORNIA DOES NOT REQUIRE THIS
COURT TO GRANT CERTIORARI INO THE

ORT ANT CAG. 6a co oud cae onsen eck een 17
kt. 6 Fe . :, rrn nnn ONMrEr ere ae are sea e 20
APPENDIX:

ES CH, VAT: BSED acess as nc deka s tans siess la
NC, Gt, SYAT. OOS ED ova cos vnc se se Sosa tennas 3a
Postions of 10) Seat. 3335 CIDER) 2. nc cc ccn cca cecccas 7a
23 CFR §§ 1235.1, 1235.2, 1235.3, 1235.4, 1235.5

pent Wve Fd Th. | rn. oaermera irae ara lla

Dare v. California. 1999 WL 717724
‘_, _o 2. © 0 Perea Terr eres ene 15a

SUN Ce ee, ee

y
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES

Alsbrook v.City of Maumelle, No. 99-423,
(pet. for cert. filed Sept. 8, 1999)... .0.0.00000.. 20

Amos v. Maryland Department of Correction,

178 F.3d 212 (4th Cir. 1999) ............., 10,18
Ashwander v. T.V_A., 297 U.S. 288 (1936) ............ 14

Brown vy. North Carolina Division of
Motor Vehicles, 166 F.3d 698 (1999) ...... passim

City of Boerne v. Flores, 521 U.S. 507 (1997) ...... 11,16

City of Cleburne v. Cleburne Living Center,
O73 .S. GILCEURee 20555 ees ese 6,10,13

Clark v. California, 123 F.3d 1267
(9th Cir. 1997). cert. denied,
S20 wm. OS. Zee CT ice vice keel in ee

Dare v. California, 1999 WL 717724
(9th Cir. Sept. 16,1999) .... 00.000... 17.18.19

Florida Department of Corrections v.
Wellington, No. 98-829, (pet. for
oust. Hes Phew, 06. Fe. ok vv os dice ee 20

Harper v. Virginia Board of Elections,
Bae ti COPE PEOE: kiko ccawieouse ee ae 12

Vi

VicCullon by Afar land. 4 Wheat 316 ( BREDD coccccece 12
New York vo United States, $05 US. 144. (1992)) ©... 16
- Oregon v. Michell, 400 11.8; 112 (1970) ....-----208: 13

Panhandle Oil Cov. State of Vississippt

ex rel. Knox, 277 U.S. 218 (1928) eee ee 12
Printz v. United States, 521 U.S. R98 (1997) .....-6-5- 16 |
Seminole Tribe v. Florida, 517 U.S. 44(1996) ....... 45 ;
Spector Motor Serv. Inc. vy. McLaughlin, )
ZIZUS. 101 (1944) 0... cece eee reer ete ees 14
STATUTES |
93 CEFR. § 1235.1 (1991) 2... eee eee cere eres rete 3 |
23 C.F.R. § 1235.6 (1996) «0.0... cere e eters essere 3 |
28 C.F.R. § 35.1301) (1999) «2... eee erent 4.8 :
42 U.S.C. §12101( bX 4) (1995)... eee eee et 14 |
N.C. GEN. STAT. ch. 20, art 2A (1998) ...-----e eee 2

N.C. GEN. STAT. § 37.6(a) (199B) “.. cc cece ee cere ceees 2
N_C. GEN. STAT. § 37.6(c) (1998) «eet 2

28 C_E.R. Pt 36, App. A. § 4.1.2 (1999) ...--- +222 200 5 3

Vu

28 C.F.R. Pt 36, App. A, § 4.6 (1999)

ss

Vill

boi hate ip ie

THIS PAGE INTENTIONALLY LEFT BLANK

3

No. 99-434

In the
Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1999

WILLIE M. BROWN, DaAvibd S. BAGLEY, JOAN BAGLEY.
ORRIS CROSS, and RUSSELL ANDERSON, on behalf of
themselves and all others similarly situated,

Petitioners.

NORTH CAROLINA DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES.
Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to
the United States Court of Appeals
for the Fourth Circuit

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS, STATUTES
AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED

Respondent believes that this case presents a question of
Congress's power to enforce the Fourteenth Amendment only
if it is determined that the States’ power to impose a minimal
charge for the issuance of a special parking placard for mobility
disabled persons is prohibited by 28 C.F.R. § 35.130(f). In
addition to the constitutional provisions, statutes and

regulations cited by petitioners, other statutes and regulations

5

involved are as follows: N.C. GEN. STAT. §§ 20-37.5, -37.6.
Public Law 100-641. and 23 C.F.R. § 1235. These statutes and

regulations are set out in the Appendix hereto.
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
A.

Since 1972 North Carolina has maintained a system for
providing parking spaces for persons with mobility
impairments. N.C. GEN. STAT. ch. 20, art 2A (1998). (App. la.)
Under current State law. upon presentation of a doctor's
certification, any vehicle owner with either a permanent or
temporary mobility impairment may obtain a license plate
authorizing the vehicle to park in a space reserved for the
handicapped. N.C. GEN. STAT. § 37.6(a) (1998). (App. 3a.)
Additionally, any mobility impaired person may obtain as
many as two placards designating a vehicle authorized to park
in a reserved space. N.C. GEN. STAT. § 37.6(c) (1998). (App.
3a.) The cost of a placard is $5.00 and the placard is good for
five years. Jd. (App. 3a.) A vehicle bearing one of these
familiar placards may park in any space reserved for such
vehicles. regardless of whether the space is located on a
government-owned parking lot. the public streets, or at a
shopping center.

Article 2A was enacted by the General Assembly pursuant
to the Uniform System for Handicapped Parking (“USHP”) (25
C.F.R. 1235), which implements Pub. L. No. 100-641, -102
Stat. 3335 (Nov. 9, 1988). (App. 7a.) The purpose of the USHP

3
|

4
»)

is “to provide guidelines to States for the establishment of a
uniform system for handicapped parking for persons with
disabilities to enhance access and the safety of persons with
disabilities which limit or impair the ability to walk.” 23 C.F.R.
§ 1235.1 (1991). (App. 11a.) These regulations provide that
“[s]pecial license plates, removable windshield placards, or
temporary removable windshield placards displaying the
International Symbol of Access shall be the only recognized
means of identifying vehicles permitted to utilize parking
spaces reserved for persons with disabilities which limit or
impair the ability to walk.” 23 C.F.R. § 1235.6 (1996). (App.
13a.)

The State is not required by the Americans with
Disabilities Act (ADA) of 1990, to issue either special license
plates or placards. Implementing regulations to Title III of the
ADA govern the dimensions of parking spaces, of parking
access aisles for disabled persons, and the ratio of parking
spaces available for employees and visitors. App. A to 28
C.F.R. Pt. 36, §§ 4.1.2. and 4.6. Neither these regulations nor
any others issued pursuant to the ADA, however, purport to
regulate who shall be entitled to park in spaces reserved for the
mobility impaired. These matters are governed specifically by
the USHP and State law. Virtually every State has enacted
statutes implementing the USHP.

B.

Plaintiffs, five persons with mobility impairments, brought
this class action in which they allege that the charge imposed

4

by the North Carolina] Jivisionot Motor Vehicles (“DMV ) tor
the issuance of a removable windshield placard (“placard”) for
vehicles transporting persons with mobility impairments
violates 42 U.S.C. § 12132 (providing that disabled persons
shall not be denied “the benefit of the services, programs, OF
activities of a public entity” or subjected to discrimination by
reason of such disability), and 28 C.F.R. § 35.130) (“S
35.130(f)" or “the regulation’), an implementing regulation of

the ADA. The regulation provides that

{a} public entity may not place a surcharge on a
particular individual with a disability or any group of
individuals with disabilities to cover the costs of
measures, such as the provision of auxiliary aids or
program accessibility, that are required to provide that
individual or group with the nondiscriminatory
treatment required by the Act or this part.

28 C.F.R. § 35.130(f) (1999)

The district court granted the DMV’s motion to dismiss on
the grounds that the action was barred by the Eleventh
Amendment. The Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit
affirmed. but on the narrower ground that § 35.130(f) exceeded
Congress’s Fourteenth Amendment enforcement powers, and
therefore did not abrogate the States’ Eleventh Amendment
immunity. Plaintiffs’ motion for rehearing and rehearing ¢n

hanc was denied on May 11, 1999.

The majority opinion of the Fourth C ircuit followed the

analysis employed by this Court in Seminole Tribe v. Florida,

4)

S17 U.S. 44 (1996). Brown vo North Carolina Division of
Motor Vehicles, 166 F.3d 698, 703 (1999) (Pet. App. A-7). At
the outset, the court rejected the contention of the United States
that courts should “look broadly at the entire statutory
tramework--here Title If of the ADA--and ratify its
constitutionality without looking at the validity of its individual
provisions or the agency regulations promulgated under its
authority” to determine whether the States’ immunity was
validly abrogated. The court reasoned that such a “broad brush
review” would require courts “to ratify unnecessarily the
constitutionality of every provision in the title.” /d. (Pet. App.
A-9). The court also found that the need for administrability
required review of individual provisions in the event that only
parts of the title were found to be unconstitutional. /d at 704
(Pet. App. A-10). Finally, the court concluded that “the crucial
federalism concerns that animate the Eleventh Amendment.”
(Pet App. A-10), necessitate review of the individual
provisions lest the “important state interests in immunity” be
left “under protected.” /d (Pet App. A-11). The court also
reasoned that considering only the constitutionality of the
statute without reference to the constitutionality of the
implementing regulation would permit the States to be sued
pursuant to an unconstitutional agency regulation. /d (Per
App. A-11). Thus, the court concluded that “[rjeasons of
separation of powers, administrability, and federalism . . .
dictate a searching review of the legal basis for suit... . [In
determining whether it was acting pursuant to a valid exercise
of power, we examine the legality of the specific statute and
regulation whose asserted violation by state government gave

6

rise to the claim for relief in federal court.” /d. at 705 (Pet. App.
A-12).

The court then examined whether the State’s immunity
was effectively abrogated by the regulation. /d. (Pet. App. A-
12). The court found that in enacting the ADA Congress clearly
stated its intent to abrogate the States’ sovereign immunity, id..
and that in so doing Congress “‘invoke[d] the sweep of
congressional authority, including the power to enforce the
fourteenth amendment... . 42 U.S.C. §12101(b)(4).°" /d. (Pet.
App. A-13). But Congress's Section 5 power was limited to
remedying violations of rights protected by the Amendment;
Congress has no power “to define the substance of those right.”
Id.. citing City of Boerne v. Flores, 521 U.S. 507, 519 (1997)
(Pet. App. A-13).

The court recognized that “[u]nder Boerne, Section 5
enactments must target unconstitutional state action. The
Constitution, however. has given state governments significant
latitude in dealing with problems of disability.”/d. at 706 (Pet.
App. A-15). Relying on City of Cleburne v. Cleburne Living
Center, 473 U.S. 432 (1985), the court held that the
. constitutionality of statutes affecting the disabled must be
reviewed on a rational-basis test. /d. (Pet. App. A-16).

The Court explained why the sweep of § 35.130(f)
unconstitutionally intruded upon the “basic ability [of state
governments] to provide for their own citizens’ health and
welfare.” Jd. at 707 (Pet. App. A-17).

j

Here Congress, through the Attorney General, acted
to ban state surcharges designed to recover the costs
of programs provided for the benefit of disabled
persons. Such an act is only sustainable under the
Section 5 power if many of those surcharges “have a
significant likelihood of being unconstitutional.”
[Bourne, 117 S. Ct.] at 2170. In view of the efforts of
States to assist the handicapped, including the
admirable efforts of North Carolina which are at issue
here, that likelihood is not apparent to this court. Nor
has any party pointed us to any support in the
legislative record for the proposition that state
surcharges for handicapped programs are motivated
by animus toward the class. It may well be that some
subset of those surcharges is in fact so motivated. But
on the record before us, we can only believe that most
fees are like that imposed by North Carolina law--a
modest cost-recovery mechanism rationally employed
to recoup the costs of programs aimed at assisting
persons with disabilities. Such a fee is rationally
based and perfectly constitutional under Cleburne.

Id. (Pet. App. A-16-A-17).

The court proceeded to find that the regulation could not
be justified as a prophylactic measure because it was
disproportionate and incongruent to the “underlying
unconstitutional state action” [though no such action has been
identified]. /d. (Pet. App. A-16). Finally, the court concluded
that the regulation created a “positive entitlement to a free
handicapped parking space.” /d at 708 (Pet. App. A-18). As
such it transforms the Equal Protection Clause from “a
prohibition on invidious state action into a charter of positive

8

rights. Such a step, however, is beyond the scope of the

Fourteenth Amendment.” /d.

Judge Murnaghan, dissenting, disagreed with — the
majority ‘s analysis. First, he could find nothing to indicate that
“S$ 35.130(f) is anything like the now discredited [Religious
Freedom Restoration Act].” /d (Pet App. A-21). He then
opined that the fact that the disabled were not a suspect class

did not preclude Congress’s legislating to protect a class of

people that it found to be victims of invidious discrimination.
Id. at 708-09 (Pet. App. A-21-A-22). The dissent reasoned that
the regulation did not create an entitlement to a free parking
space. Judge Murnaghan summarized his view as follows:

It makes no more sense to allow states to recoup from
the disabled the costs of providing the remedial
programs needed to fully integrate them into society
than it would, for example, to permit universities
receiving federal funding to charge women higher
tuition rates to cover the cost of complying with Title
IX of the Civil Rights Act of 1964.

Id. at 709-10 (Pet. App. A-18).

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

The Fourth Circuit correctly held that “28 C.F.R. §
35.130(f), which prohibits a state from charging even a modest
fee to recover the costs of its efforts to aid the handicapped, lies
beyond the remedial scope of the Section 5 power. As such, it

9

is not a constitutionally valid exercise of power, and the effort
to abrogate must fail.” /d. at 705 (Pet. App. A-13).

lhe court’s narrow focus on the regulation rather than on
litle Il as a whole properly takes into account the principle of
federalism, which undergirds the structure of the Constitution.
and avoids unnecessarily deciding constitutional questions
which may reasonably be avoided. If this Court should issue its
writ of certiorari in this case, it should do so to affirm the
analytical approach and decision of the Fourth Circuit in this

Case.

I. BECAUSE THE DECISION OF THE COURT
BELOW IS CORRECT, IT IS NOT NECESSARY
FOR THIS COURT TO GRANT CERTIORARI TO
REVIEW THE DECISION.

A. THE REGULATION EXCEEDS THE POWERS OF
CONGRESS TO ENFORCE THE FOURTEENTH
AMENDMENT.

Petitioners’ argument begins with the false premise that the
minimal fee charged by the State for the windshield placard is
a charge for the cost of providing mobility impaired persons
with non-discriminatory treatment. Petitioners urge this Court
to issue its writ of certiorari, reverse the court below, and adopt
the reasoning of Judge Murnaghan, who accepted petitioners’
false premise and based his dissent upon it. This Court should

not do so.

10

According to Judge Murnaghan in his dissent below, “[alll
§ 35.130(f) really stands for . . . is the unspectacular
proposition that a state may not recover from victims of
discrimination the cost of ending discrimination against those
victims.” 166 F.3d at 708. (Pet. App. A-21). Although this may
describe the intent of the drafters of the regulation, the
description is completely inaccurate when the regulation 1s
applied to North Carolina’s minimal charge for the placard.

First. the statement is wrong because the placard is not a
measure to end discrimination. Rather, the purpose of the
placard is to enhance the ability of persons with mobility
impairments to more easily and fully partake of the benefits of
society, not to end invidious discrimination. Past failures of
architects and engineers to make buildings accessible to the
handicapped were not acts of intentional discrimination against
them. Nor was the failure to designate special parking places a
discriminatory act or omission by building owners or managers
against those with mobility impairments.' Moreover, the failure
of private entities to make their facilities more accessible to
those with mobility impairments cannot be imputed to the
State. If. indeed, the ADA is read to define such conduct as
discrimination prohibited by the Fourteenth Amendment, then

But see Judge Murnaghan’s concurring opinion in Amos y.
Marvland Department of Correction, 178 F 3d 212, 224 (4th Cir. 1999) ("A
state's decision to construct facilities and design programsas if the disabled
are not a part of society stems from attitudes formed during a ‘lengthy and
tragic history of segregation and discrimination, City of Cleburne, 473 U.S.

at 461 (Marshall, J., concurring in the judgment in part and dissenting in
part) (quoting Univ. of Cal. Regents v Bukke, 438 U.S. 265, 303 (1978).”).

EE —————————_

Congress has attempted unlawfully to redefine the scope and
meaning of the amendment. See City of Boerne v. Flores, 52)
U.S. 507 (1997) (holding unconstitutional the Religious
Freedom Restoration Act as in excess of Congress’s power to
enforce the Fourteenth Amendment and a violation of the
separation-of-powers doctrine).

Second, the above-quoted statement from the dissent in the
case below is wrong because the measure is not an attempt to
recover the cost of ending discrimination against those with
mobility impairments. The dissent’s comparison of the fee for
the placards to the costs for complying with Title IX of the
Civil Rights Act of 1964, 166 F.3d at 709-10 (Pet. App. A-23:
A-24), is completely erroneous. The minimal fee is charged for
a beneficial service voluntarily provided by the State, not one

which the State is under a legal obligation to provide.

The dissent below further errs in saying that “(t]he
regulation . . . merely ensures that the costs of correcting the
wrongs inflicted upon the disabled will be borne by the
wrongdoer (the state) rather than the victim (the disabled
individual or group).” /d. at 709. (Pet. App. A-22). Most of the
measures imposed by the ADA on private and public entities
have nothing to do with ending discrimination, at least as that
term is used in its constitutional sense. Rather, as noted above.
the special placards and license plates increase the ability of
disabled persons to enjoy the benefits of society to the same
extent as persons without disabilities. There is no

“wrongdoing” by anyone. Except in rare instances, there is no

] =)
discrimination at all. Thus, to call the State a “wrongdoer” is

not only wrong, it is unfair.

Petitioners’ other arguments for certiorari are equally
invalid. It is simply not correct to say that the majority opinion
“would permit states to undermine the ADA by imposing
surcharges on individuals with disabilities whenever they use
public services.” (Pet. at 7.) Such a statement goes beyond
hyperbole. This case did not involve an attempt by the State to
charge the disabled for the cost of building an access ramp or
installing a special elevator for them. The State has never
contemplated, much less attempted. to charge for modifications
to facilities to make them more accessible to the disabled.

Petitioners also engage in gross exaggeration in their
paraphrase of Chief Justice Marshall's famous quote 4n
McCulloch yv. Maryland, 4 Wheat 316. 431 (1819). They assert
that the State’s “power to charge a fee on access is the power
to destroy the right of access.” (/er. at 8.) Perhaps the simplest
answer would be to paraphrase Justice Holmes’s equally
famous response in Panhandle Oil Co. v. State of Mississippi
ex rel Knox, 277 U.S. 218, 223 (1928) (Holmes, J., dissenting):
I he power to charge a fee is not the power to destroy while the

courts sit

Petitioners’ citation of Harper v 'irginia Board of Elections, 383
U.S 663 (1966) (holding the $1.50 Virginia poll tax unconstitutional) (Pet
at 8.) is completely inapposite. DMV does not argue that the charge for the
placards is constitutional because it is minimal. The charge is constitutional
because it is rationally related to the cost of providing a service. No one has

suyvested that the purpose or effect of the charge is to prevent poor disabled

—
lod

Petitioners would have the Court treat the fee as if it were
a legislative enactment affecting a suspect class. In City of
Cleburne, 473 U.S. 432, this Court refused to treat the mentally
retarded as a quasi-suspectclass and thereby subject legislation
affecting the retarded to heightened scrutiny. Consequently,
State legislation affecting the disabled is reviewed only to
determine whether the legislation is rationally related to a
legitimate governmental purpose. /d It is unquestionably
rational for the State of North Carolina to charge a minimal fee
10 defray the cost of voluntarily providing a beneficial service
to the handicapped. Under the aegis of Section 5, Congress has
no power to outlaw a fee that is not invidiously discriminatory
per se nor used to discriminate. Cf Oregon v. Mitchell, 400
U.S. 112(1970) (upholding Congressional ban on literacy tests,
which in fact had been used to prevent A frican-Americans from
voting).

Petitioners’ arguments in support of certiorari will not
withstand careful analysis. The charge is not an attempt by the
State to recover the cost of a measure required to end
discrimination against persons with mobility impairments. The
fee is a modest, rationally based measure to defray the cost of
the State's voluntarily providing a beneficial service to the
disabled. The majority opinion below correctly held that the
regulation is not congruent or proportional to any identifiable
constitutional violation. Indeed, nothing in the Congressional
_ findings indicates that the States have singled out the disabled

people from parking. Nor does the charge impinge upon the exercise of a

fundamental right like voting.

14

by charging them for the cost of remedial measures. The
regulation’s sweep, however, is so broad as to ban even State
charges. such as the fee at issue in the instant case, that are
neither discriminatory nor required to provide
nondiscriminatory treatment. 166 F.3d at 707. The majority
correctly decided the issue: therefore, the opinion of the court
below should be left undisturbed by this Court.

B. THE PANEL CORRECTLY DECIDED THE
JURISDICTIONAL ISSUE ON THE Basis OF THE
REGULATION ON WHICH PLAINTIFFS’ CLAIM
Was BASED RATHER THAN CONSIDERING THE
Apa AS A WHOLE.

It is axiomatic that a case should be decided on the
narrowest ground possible. Ashwander v. T.V.A., 297 U.S. 288,
346-48 (1936) (Brandeis, J., concurring). It 1s a cornerstone of
adjudication that a court should not decide constitutional
questions unless to do so is not reasonably avoidable. Spector
Motor Serv.. Inc. v. McLaughlin, 323 U.S. 101, 104 (1944):
Ashwander, 297 U.S. at 346-48. Petitioners fault the panel
majority for their adherence to these established principles of

judicial decision-making.

In enacting the ADA, Congress announced its intention “to
invoke the sweep of congressional authority, including the
power to enforce the fourteenth amendment and to regulate
commerce. in order to address the major areas of discrimination
faced day-to-day.”42 U.S.C. § 12101(b)(4)(1995).A review of
the Congressional findings, 42 U.S.C. §12101, and individual
provisions of the Act quickly shows that Congress was

Pe EN OT ee

=

15

concerned not only with ending intentional discrimination
against the disabled, but also, and probably more so, with
eliminating physical barriers that hindered full participation in
society by the disabled. The Act was aimed at both the public
and private sectors. Because of the broad scope of the Act, it is
necessary to examine its provisions individually to determine
whether they are founded on the Commerce Clause, the
Fourteenth Amendment, or possibly some other constitutional
provision. Obviously, measures that may be valid under one
provision of the Constitution may not be sustainable under
another.

In its answer and briefs, DMV contended that the ADA did
not effectively override the States’ immunity. The district court
agreed and dismissed the action. However, the order of the
district court was broader than necessary to determine the
immediate question presented. Had the district court order
stood, no private action could have been brought under the
ADA against a State by a citizen in federal court. The Fourth
Circuit's narrower approach appropriately avoided reaching
this question. Because North Carolina had not waived its
immunity or consented to federal jurisdiction, and the DMV
acknowledged that Congress clearly intended to override the
State's immunity, the court properly limited its inquiry to
whether the regulation at issue was a valid measure under
Section 5 of the Fourteenth Amendment. The,court declined to
employ a “broad-brush review” in order to avoid unnecessarily
passing on whether Title II effectively abrogated the States’
immunity. Likewise, the court refused to decide the

constitutionality of an entire statute based on a challenge to one

16

provision of that statute. 166 F.3d at 703-04. Moreover.
concerns of federalism and the States’ Eleventh Amendment
immunity militated against a broad-brush review. The court
appropriately recognized that “[rJatifying an entire title and
finding abrogation without examining the actual, specific legal
basis for suit could subject a state to suit in federal court
pursuant to an unconstitutional provision buried in the midst of
an otherwise constitutional statutory scheme.” /d. at 704. (Pet.
App. A-11). Furthermore, to review the statute without
reviewing the regulation “would lead to the abrogation of
immunity in cases even where the agency rule was
unconstitutional or beyond the bounds of delegated authority.”
Id. (Pet. App. A-11)2

Petitioners also argue that the Fourth Circuit misapplied City of
Boerne. 521 U.S. 507. (Pet. at 10). The court did not err. Even given its
broad Section 5 enforcement powers, Congress does not have the power to
require the States to provide free of charge a service to the disabled,
assuming the disabled were treated as a suspect class. If the regulation has
the effect of requiring States to provide the service but prohibits them from
charging for it, the regulation would violate Boerne’s proportionality and
congruence test. Furthermore, such an interpretationof the regulation would
also violate New York v. United States, -505 U.S. 144 (1992), by
commandeering the States’ legislative and administrative processes, and
Printz v. United States, 521 U.S. 898 (1997), by commandeering the
resources of the States.

apeaceathontal mn as

BE OARS, Hie LES

17

ll. THE CONFLICT WITH THE DECISION OF THE
NINTH CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS IN DARE V.
CALIFORNIA DOES NOT REQUIRE THIS COURT
TO GRANT CERTIORARI IN THE INSTANT CASE.

Petitioners have filed a supplemental brief in which they cite
Dare v. California, 1999 WL 717724 (9th Cir. Sept. 16, 1999)
(petition for rehearing and suggestion for rehearing en banc
filed Sept. 30, 1999) (App. 15a), as creating a conflict between
the circuits requiring this Court to grant certiorari. In / Jare, the
Ninth Circuit considered a challenge to California’s charge for
the parking placard. California’s provision of special license
plates and placards for persons with mobility disabilities was
pursuant to the USHP and is quite similar to the program in
North Carolina. The majority opinion found that the fee charged
by California violated § 35.130(f).

The Dare majority first concluded that the placards were in
fact measures required to provide persons who have mobility
disabilities with nondiscriminatory treatment. (App. 24a.) The
Ninth Circuit did not employ the Fourth Circuit’s surgical
approach of examining whether the regulation, as opposed to
Title Il, effectively abrogated the States’ immunity. (App. 20a.)
The court then found that UHSP was merely “hortatory” and
had no effect on the court’s analysis. (App. 23a) (“Even
California concedes that in recognizing principles of federalism
and state sovereignty, Congress rendered state compliance with
Public Law 100-641 completely voluntary.”)). The majority
then found that the placards were required to provide

nondiscriminatory treatment for the mobility disabled The
majority reasoned as follows:

18

The ADA requires special parking arrangements such
as handicapped parking spaces. These spaces allow
disabled people equal access to public buildings in
which California provides services, programs, and
activities. Because California polices handicapped
parking spaces, disabled people need placards or
license plates to use them. California thus meets the
ADA’s requirement for nondiscriminatory access to
public buildings by providing disabled people with
placards and license plates.

Dare, 1999 WL 717724, at *4. (App. 24a.) By this faulty
syllogism, the majority found the special license plates and
placards mandated by the ADA, even though the multitude of
explicit regulations promulgated to implement the Act have no
such requirement. Having found that the ADA itself mandates
the placard program, the majority concluded that the charge
violates the ADA. (App. 25a.)The Dare majority then noted
that it adhered to the Ninth Circuit’s decision in Clark v.
California, 123 F.3d 1267, 1270-71 (9th Cir. 1997) (holding
that the ADA validly abrogated the States’ Eleventh
Amendment immunity), cert. denied, 118 S. Ct. 2340 (1998)
(App. 26a).*

Jud: > Fernandez dissented, however, on the ground that
the fee did not violate the ADA.

‘ Likewise, the Fourth Circuit held in Amos, 178 F.3d 212 that the
ADA was a valid exercise of Congress's Section 5 enforcement powers. The
Amos majority distinguished Brown, 178 F.3d at 221 n.8, but Judge Williams,
dissenting, felt that the reasoning in Brown controlled the case. 178 F.3d at

225.

en eee ETN

19

Nothing in the law requires that California police
usage of the spaces in order to assure that only
disabled people are taking advantage of them.
Indeed. if the federal government decided that usage
must be policed by the states, that would come at least
parlously close to an attempt to “commandeer state
government” into enforcing a federal government
policy at state cost. See Printz, 521 U.S. at ---, 117 S.
Ct. at 2381.

Dare, 1999 WL 717724, at *10. (App. 39a.) Judge Fernandez
also noted the USHP. He observed that the USHP provides that
there should be no additional charge for special license plates
but is silent as to placards. Such silence “suggests that
Congress did not see anything particular! y discriminatory in the
exaction of a small fee for the issuance of placards, if any were
issued at all.” /d. at *11. (App. 40a.)

It is respectfully suggested that should the State of
California submit a petition for writ of certiorari in this Court
to review the Dare decision, that the writ should be issued in
order to reverse the Ninth Circuit’s holding in that case and
hold instead that the charge for the placards does not violate §
35.130(f), as Judge Fernandez concluded. If this Court should
find that the charge does violate the regulation, then the Court
Should hold. as did the Fourth Circuit, that the regulation
exceeds the powers of Congress to enforce the Fourteenth
Amendment.

20

CONCLUSION

Because the Fourth Circuit correctly held that the
regulation exceeded the powers of Congress to enforce the
Fourteenth Amendment, the States’ Eleventh Amendment
immunity was not abrogated by the regulation. It is, therefore,
not necessary for this Court to issue its writ of certiorari to
correct the holding of the court below. The question of whether
Congress effectively overrode the State's Eleventh Amendment
immunity is not necessarily before the Court. Only if the Court
should find that the Fourth Circuit erred by the narrow scope of
its opinion would it be necessary to decide the issue of whether
the ADA validly abrogated the States’ Eleventh Amendment
immunity. That issue, however, is before the Court in Florida
Department of Corrections v. Wellington, No. 98-829, pet. for
cert. filed, Nov.16, 1998, and is also presented in Alsbrook
v.City of Maumelle, No. 99-423, pet. for cert. filed Sept. 8,
19999

One of the questions presented in the petition for certiorari in

Maumelle was the following:

Whether the ADA was a proper exercise of the power
granted to Congress by § 5 of the Fourteenth Amendment to the

United States Constitution such that the immunity granted to the
State of Arkansas by the Eleventh Amendmentto the United States
Constitution was abrogated.

21

—

Respectfully submitted.

MICHAEL F. EASLEY
North Carolina Attorney General

James Peeler Smith*
Special Deputy Attorney General

Harold F. Askins
Special Deputy Attorney General

October 20, 1999 *Counsel of Record

_—

THIS PAGE INTENTIONALLY LEFT BLANK

APPENDIX

+ ee

STL TPP aperert teetimy 7

TABLE OF CONTENTS

NC, GEN. Stat. § MATS ee la
N.C. GEN. STAT. § DOIIB i a ea 3a
Portions of 102 Stat. 3335 (1988) ................... 7a

Dare v. California, 1999 WL 717724
CARLO oe ee l5a

THIS PAGE INTENTIONALLY LEFT BLANK

N.C. GEN. STAT. § 20-37.5

WEST'S NORTH CAROLINA STATUTES
CHAPTER 26. MOTOR VEHICLES
ARTICLE 2A. AFFLICTED, DISABLED OR
HANDICAPPED PERSONS

Current through end of 1998 legislation
§ 20-37.5. Definitions

Unless the context requires otherwise, the following
definitions apply throughout this Article to the defined words
and phrases and their cognates:

(1) "Distinguishing license plate" means a license plate
that displays the International Symbol of Access using the
same color, size of plate, and size of letters or numbers as a
regular plate.

(2) “Handicapped” shall mean a person with a mobility
impairment who, as determined by a licensed physician:

a. Cannot walk 200 feet without stopping to rest;

b. Cannot walk without the use of. or assistance
from. a brace, cane, crutch, another person,
prosthetic device, wheelchair, or other assistive

device:

c. Is restricted by lung disease to such an extent that
the person's forced (respiratory) expiratory
volume of one second, when measured by
spirometry, is less than one liter. or the arterial
oxygen tension is less than 60 mm/hg on room

tJ

air at rest:

Uses portable oxygen;

Has a cardiac condition to the extent that the
person's functional limitations are classified in
severity as Class III or Class IV according to
standards set by the American Heart Association;
Is severely limited in their ability to walk due to
an arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic
condition; or

Is totally blind or whose vision with glasses is SO
defective as to prevent the performance of
ordinary activity for which eyesight is essential,
as certified by a licensed ophthalmologist,
optometrist, or the Division of Services for the
Blind.

(3) "International Symbol of Access" means the

symboladopted by Rehabilitation International in 1969 at its
Eleventh World Congress on Rehabilitation of the Disabled.
(4) "Removable windshield placard" means a two-sided,

hooked placard which includes on each side:

a.

a9

The International Symbol of Access. which is at
least three inches in height, centered on the
placard. and is white on a blue shield;

An identification number;

An expiration date; and

The seal or other identification of the issuing

authority.

N.C. GEN. STAT. § 20-37.6

WEST'S NORTH CAROLINA STATUTES
CHAPTER 20. MOTOR VEHICLES
ARTICLE 2A. AFFLICTED, DISABLED OR
HANDICAPPED PERSONS

Current through end of 1998 legislation

§ 20-37.6. Parking privileges for handicapped drivers and
passengers

(a) General Parking.--Any vehicle that is driven by or is
transporting a person who is handicapped and that displays a
distinguishing license plate, a removable windshield placard,
or a temporary removable windshield placard may be parked
for unlimited periods in parking zones restricted as to the
length of time parking is permitted. . . . Any qualifying
vehicle may park in spaces designated as restricted to
vehicles driven by or transporting the handicapped.

(b) Handicapped Car Owners; Distinguishing License
Plates.--If the handicapped person is a registered owner of a
vehicle, the owner may apply for and display a distinguishing
license plate. This license plate shall be issued for the normal
fee applicable to standard license plates. Any vehicle owner
who qualifies for a distinguishing license plate may also
receive one removable windshield placard.

(c) Handicapped Drivers and Passengers; Distinguishing

4a

Placards.--A handicapped person may apply for the issuance
of a removable windshield placard or a temporary removable
windshield placard. Upon request, one additional placard
may be issued to applicants who do not have a distinguishing
license plate. .. . The Division shall establish procedures for
the issuance of the placards and may charge a fee sufficient to
pay the actual cost of issuance, but in no event less than five
dollars ($5.00) per placard.

(cl) Application and Renewal: Physician's Certification.-
-The initial application for a distinguishing license plate.
removable windshield placard, or temporary removable
windshield placard shall be accompanied by a certification of
a licensed physician, ophthalmologist, or optometrist or of
the Division of Services for the Blind that the applicant is
handicapped. The application for a temporary removable
windshield placard shall contain additional certification to
include the period of time the certifying authority determines
the applicant will have the disability. Distinguishing license
plates shall be renewed annually, but subsequent applications
shall not require a medical certification that the applicant is
handicapped. Removable windshield placards shall be
renewed every five years, and the renewal shall require a
medical recertification that the person is handicapped.
Temporary removable windshield placards shall expire no
later than six months after issuance.

(c2) Existing Placards; Expiration; Exchange for New
Placards.--All existing placards shall expire on January 1.
1992. No person shall be convicted of parking in violation of

a)
pad)

this Article by reason of an expired placard if the defendant
produces in court, at the time of trial on the illegal parking
charge, an expired placard and a renewed placard issued
within 30 days of the expiration date of the expired placard
and which would have been a defense to the charge had it
been issued prior to the time of the alleged offense. Existing
placards issued on or after July 1, 1989, may be exchanged
without charge for the new placards.

(c3) It shall be unlawful to sell a distinguishing license
plate, a removable windshield placard, or a temporary
removable windshield placard issued pursuant to this section.
A violation of this subsection shall be a Class 2 misdemeanor
and may be punished pursuant to G.S. 20-176(c) and (c1).

(f) Penalties for Violation.--

(4) Notwithstanding any other provision of the
General Statutes. the provisions of this section
relative to handicapped parking shall be enforced by
State, county, city and other municipal authorities in
their respective jurisdictions whether on public or
private property in the same manner as is used to
enforce other parking laws and ordinances by said
agencies.

6a

[This page intentionally left blank]

7a

Portions of 102 Stat. 3335 (1988)

UNITED STATES PUBLIC LAWS
100th Congress - Second Session
Convening January 25, 1988

PL 100-641 (HR 3327)
November 9, 1988

SEC. 3. "23 USC 402 note" HANDICAPPED PARKING
SYSTEM.

(a) REGULATIONS. -- Not later than the 180th day
following the date of the enactment of this Act, the Secretary
of Transportation shall issue regulations --

(1) which establish a uniform system for handicapped
parking designed to enhance the safety of
handicapped individuals, and

(2) which encourage adoption of such system by all the
States.

In issuing such regulations, the Secretary shall consult the
States.

(b) DEFINITIONS. -- For purposes of this section --

(1) UNIFORM SYSTEM FOR HANDICAPPED

8a

PARKING. -- A uniform system for handicapped
parking designed to enhance the safety of

handicapped individuals is a system which --

(A)

(C)

(D)

adopts the International Symbol of
Access (as adopted by Rehabilitation
International in 1969 at its 11th World
Congress on Rehabilitation of the
Disabled) as the only recognized
symbol for the identification of vehicles
used for transporting individuals with
handicans which limit or impair the
ability to walk:

provides for the issuance of license
plates displaying the International
Symbol of Access for vehicles which
will be used to transport individuals
with handicaps which limit or impair
the ability to walk, under criteria
determined by the State;

provides for the issuance of removable
windshield placards (displaying the
International Symbol of Access to
individuals with handicaps which limit
or impair the ability to walk, under
criteria determined by the State;
provides that fees charged for the
licensing or registration of a vehicle
used to transport individuals with
handicaps do not exceed fees charged

; 9a

: for the licensing or registration of other
t similar vehicles operated in the State:
: and

i (E) for purposes of easy access parking,

recognizes licenses and __ placards
displaying the International Symbol of
Access which have been issued by other
States and countries.

10a

(This page intentionally left blank]

lla

23 C.F.R. §§ 1235.1, 1235.2, 1235.3, 1235.4, 1235.5,
1235.6, 1235.8 (1991)

§ 1235.1 Purpose.

The purpose of this part is to provide guidelines to
States for the establishment of a uniform system for
handicapped parking for persons with disabilities to enhance
access and the safety of persons with disabilities which limit
or impair the ability to walk.

§ 1235.2 Definitions.

Terms used in this part are defined as follows:

(a) /nternational Symbol of Access means the symbo!
adopted by Rehabilitation International in 1969 at its
Eleventh World Congress on Rehabilitation of the Disabled.

(b) Persons with disabilities which limit or impair the
ability to walk means persons who, as determined by a
licensed physician:

(1) Cannot walk two hundred feet without stopping
to rest: or

(2) Cannot walk without the use of. or assistance
from. a brace, cane, crutch, another person,
prosthetic device, wheelchair, or other assistive
device: or

(3) Are restricted by lung disease to such an extent
that the person’s forced (respiratory ) expiratory
volume for one second, when measured by
spirometry, is less than one liter, or the arterial
oxygen tension is less than sixty mm/hg on room

12a

air at rest: or

(4) Use portable oxygen: or

(5) Have a cardiac condition to the extent that the
person's functional limitations are classified in
severity as Class III or Class IV according to
standard set by the American Heart Association;
or

(6) Are severely limited in their ability to walk due
to an arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic
condition.

§ 1235.3 Special license plates.

(a) Upon application of a person with a disability which
limits or impairs the ability to walk, each State shall issue
special license plates for the vehicle which is registered in
the applicant’s name. The initial application shall be
accompanied by the certification of a licensed physician that
the applicant meets the § 1235.2(b) definition of persons
with disabilities which limit or impair the ability to walk.
The issuance of a special license plate shall not preclude the
issuance of a removable windshield placard.

§ 1235.4 Removable windshield placards.

(a) The State system shall provide for the issuance and
periodic renewal of a removable windshield placard, upon
the application of a person with a disability which limits or
impairs the ability to walk. The State system shall require
that the issuing authority shall, upon request, issue one
additional placard to applicants who do not have special

license plates.

§ 1235.5 Temporary removable windshield placards.

(a) The State system shall provide for the issuance of a
temporary removable windshield placard, upon the
application of a person with a disability which limits or
impairs the ability to walk. The State System shall require
that the issuing authority issue, upon request, one additional
temporary removable windshield placard to applicants.

§ 1235.6 Parking.

Special license plates, removable windshield placards, or
temporary removable windshield placards displaying the
International Symbol of Access shall be the only recognized
means of identifying vehicles permitted to utilize parking
spaces reserved for persons with disabilities which limit or
impair the ability to walk.

§ 1235.8 Reciprocity.

The State system shall recognize removable windshield
placards, temporary removable windshield placards and
special license plates which have been issued by issuing
authorities of other States and countries. for the purpose of
identifying vehicles permitted to utilize parking spaces
reserved for persons with disabilities which limit or impair
the ability to walk.

i+a

[This page intentionally left blank. |

—_—S a eos eS ae. ow Pe if oe

l5a

Dare v. California, 1999 WL 717724 (9th Cir.(Cal.))

William Robert DARE; Gary Petillo, Plaintiffs-
Appellees,

v.
STATE OF CALIFORNIA; Dept. Of Motor Vehicles,
Defendants-Appellants.

No. 97-56065.

United States Court of Appeals,
Ninth Circuit.

Argued and Submitted April 15, 1999
Filed Sept. 16, 1999

Angela Sierra, Deputy Attorney General, San Diego.
California, for the defendant-appellant.

Andrew R. Hall, Elizabeth Staggs-Wilson, Davis. Wright &
Tremaine, Los Angeles, California, for the plaintiffs-appellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the Central
District of California. J. Spencer Letts, District Judge.
Presiding, D.C. No. CV-96-05569- JSL-ANx.

Before: Dorothy W. Nelson. Ferdinand F. Fernandez. and
William A. Fletcher, Circuit Judges.

l6a

D.W. NELSON, Circuit Judge:

This case involves a challenge under the Americans with
Disabilities Act of 1990, 42 U.S.C. §§ 12101, et seq. (West
Supp.1999) ("ADA"), and its regulations to California's $6
biennial fee for disability parking placards. The State of
California, Department of Motor Vehicles [hereinafter
"California"], appeals the district court's grant of partial
summary judgment in favor of William Robert Dare, Gray
Petillo. and the class of plaintiffs they represent. California
claims that the fee does not violate the ADA and that a blanket
prohibition on such nominal fees is unconstitutional. We
disagree and affirm the district court.

Facts and Procedural History

California has a comprehensive priority parking program
for qualifying disabled individuals and veterans. See Cal.
Veh.Code. §§ 295.5, 295.7 (West 1999). California provides
these individuals with extensive priority parking and
exemptions from all parking meter fees and most parking time
restrictions. See id. §§ 22511.5, 22511.7, 22511.8. To prevent
abuse. California limits access to these privileges to vehicles
displaying state- issued disability license plates or parking
placards. See id. §§ 22507.8. 22511 5. California imposes
significant fines upon illegal use of disability parking spaces
and authorizes local entities to establish enforcement units. See
id. §§ 4461, 4463(d), 22507.9, 22511.8, 2251 1.56, 22511.58,
42001.5.

17a

Registered vehicle owners who are disabled themselves or
who use their vehicles to transport disabled individuals at least
51% of the time can obtain disability license plates. California
charges the standard license plate fees for these special plates.
See id. §§ 5007(a), 9250. In lieu of or in addition to a disability
license plate, California issues disability parking placards to
disabled individuals for a $6 fee. See id. § 22511.55.
Individuals may use these portable placards in multiple
vehicles. The placards expire if not renewed every two years,
and California charges fees for renewal or replacement. See id.
§ 22511.55(a)(3) & (c)(2). The placard fees partly defray the
cost of the disability parking program.

On August 13, 1996, Dare and Petillo, two disabled
individuals, filed a class action lawsuit challenging California's
$6 placard fee as a violation of ADA Title II and its
promulgating regulations. Dare and Petillo allege that the fee
constitutes an impermissible surcharge upon measures
necessary to provide the nondiscriminatory treatment of
individuals and groups required by the ADA. They rely on 42
U.S.C. § 12132, which states that "[s]ubject to the provisions
of this subchapter, no qualified individual shall, by reason of
such disability, be excluded from participation in or denied the
benefits of the services, programs, or activities of a public
entity, or be subjected to discrimination by any such entity." 42
U.S.C. § 12132. To prove the ADA's particular prohibition of
surcharges on parking permits, Dare and Petillo cite 28 C.F.R.
§ 35.130(f), promulgated by the Department of Justice in
implementing the ADA, which states that

18a

[a] public entity may not place a surcharge on a
particular individual with a disability or any group of
individuals with disabilities to cover the costs of
measures, such as the provision of auxiliary aids or
program accessibility, that are required to provide that
individual with the nondiscriminatory treatment
required by the Act or this part.

28 C.F.R. § 35.130(f) (1998).

The district court granted partial summary judgment with
respect to the class of people qualifying as disabled under the
ADA.! found the fee to be an impermissible surcharge, and
ordered a permanent injunction against California's imposition
of the fee. Caiifornia timely appeals.

Jurisdiction

We have jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1292(a)(1)
(West Supp.1999) to review the district court's interlocutory
order granting a permanent injunction. Because the district
court's partial summary judgment order provides legal authority
for the injunction and is thus inextricably bound with it, we
also have jurisdiction to review that order. See Paige v. State of
California, 102 F.3d 1035, 1040 (9th Cir.1996).

Specifically, this plaintiff class included all purchasers of
California placards since January 26, 1992 and future purchasers who are
disabled under the ADA.

19a

Standard of Review

We review for abuse of discretion the district court's grant
of a motion for a permanent injunction, see Gaudiya Vaishnava
Soc. v. City of San Francisco, 952 F.2d 1059, 1062 (9th
Cir.1991), but review any determination underlying the grant
of the motion by the standard that applies to that determination.
see Multnomah Legal Servs. Workers Union y Multnomah
County Legal Aid Serv., 936 F.2d 1547, 1552 (9th Cir.1991).
We review de novo a district court's grant of a motion for
partial summary judgment. See Thompson v. Holy Family
rosp., 121 F.3d 537, 539 (9th Cir.1997).

Discussion

This case raises two main issues: (1) Does California's $6
placard fee violate Title II of the ADA and its implementing
regulations, and, if so, (2) was Congress's enactment of Title II
of the ADA a valid exercise of its power under § 5 of the
Fourteenth Amendment to abrogate California's Eleventh
Amendment immunity from suit? Because we answer both of
these questions in the affirmative, we affirm the district court's
grant of partial summary judgment and a permanent injunction
against imposition of the placard fee.

I. Violation of ADA Title II
Analyzing whether California's $6 placard fee violates the

ADA requires three inquiries. First, what obligations does Title
I] impose upon states regarding fees for measures under the

20a

ADA? Second. does Public Law 100-641, 23 U.S.C. § 402
(West Supp.1999), which contemplates a fee for disabled
parking placards as part of a uniform system for disabled
parking. limit states’ Title II obligations? Third, are these
obligations violated by California's $6 fee for parking placards?
As explained below, we conclude that the $6 fee constitutes a
surcharge for required measures in violation of the ADA and its
implementing regulations.

A. Obligation under Title II

In order to evaluate whether a fee constitutes a surcharge
that violates Title II of the ADA, we conduct a two-part
inquiry. First, as a threshold matter, we consider whether the
measure for which California levies the fee is "required to
provide that individual or group nondiscriminatory treatment"
as mandated by the ADA. 28 C.F.R. § 35.130(f). If California
charges for a measure not required under the ADA, the inquiry
ends; 28 C.F.R. § 35.130(f) only forbids surcharges for
"required" measures.

Second, we evaluate whether the fee for the measure is a
surcharge; in other words, we consider whether it constitutes a
charge that nondisabled people would not incur. If nondisabled
people pay the same fee for an equivalent service, the charge to
disabled people would not constitute a surcharge on a
"required" measure. Thus, for example, a state can charge a fee
for disabled license plates so long as it charges the same fee for
nondisabled license plates.

2la

Because surcharges against disabled people constitute facial
discrimination, the meaningful access test formulated by the
Supreme Court in Alexander v. Choate, 469 US. 287, 105
S.Ct. 712, 83 L.Ed.2d 661 (1985). does not apply. Under this
test, a court considers whether the allegedly discriminatory
measure prevents "meaningful access to the benefit that the
grantee offers." /d. at 301. The Ninth Circuit has applied this
test in the ADA context to evaluating whether facially neutral
laws violate § 12132. See Hunsaker v. Contra Costa County,
149 F.3d 1041, 1042-43 (9th Cir.1998): Crowder vy. Kitagawa.
81 F.3d 1480, 1484 (9th Cir.1996).

Using this standard in the context of facially discriminatory
laws, however, would ignore the clear language of Title II. Cf
Bay Area Addiction Research & Treatment. Inc. v. City of
Antioch, 179 F.3d 725, 733-35 (9th Cir. 1 999) (holding that the
reasonable modifications test does not apply to facially
discriminatory laws because they present per se § 12132
violations). § 12132 covers not only "exclusion from
participation in or [denial of] benefits of the services, programs.
or activities of a public entity," but also being "subjected to
discrimination by any such entity." 42 U.S.C. § 12132. By
reviewing all § 12132 claims under a meaningful access test,
this Circuit would focus only on exclusions and denials, and
ignore completely the discriminationclause, not to mention the
explicit language of the ADA regulation at issue here. Other
courts evaluating fees similar to the one at issue here have read
the statute and ADA regulation together rather than applying a
meaningful access test. See Thompson v. Colorado, 29 F. Supp.
2d 1226, 1231 (D.Colo.1998); Thrope v. State of Ohio, 19 F.

22a

Supp. 2d 816, 824 (S.D.Ohio 1998): McGarry v. Director,
Dept. of Revenue, 7 F. Supp.2d 1022, 1028 (W.D.Mo.1998).
We thus follow their approach and do the same; we hold that
when states apply charges to required measures, we consider
whether these fees constitute a surcharge forbidden under the
ADA.

B. Effect of Public Law 100-641

The government urges us to view Public Law 100-641 and
the regulations promulgated pursuant to it as justifying the
placards surcharge. On November 9, 1988, prior to the passage
of the ADA, Congress enacted Public Law 100-641, 23 U.S.C.
§ 402. This law indicates that the Secretary of Transportation
shall issue regulations which: (1) establisha uniform system for
handicapped parking designed to enhance the safety of
handicapped individuals and (2) encourage adoption of such
system by all the states. See id.

Pursuant to Public Law 100-641, the Department of
Transportation (DOT) promulgated regulations in March 1991,
eight months after Congress enacted the ADA. The DOT
regulations provide in pertinent part that:

Special license plates, removable windshield
placards, or temporary removable windshield
placards displaying the International Symbol of
Access shall be the only recognized means of
identifying vehicles permitted to utilize parking
spaces reserved for persons with disabilities
which limit or impair the ability to walk.

23a

23 C.F.R. § 1235.6(1998). DOT regulations further provide
that each state shall issue special license plates upon the
application of a person with a disability that impairs the ability
to walk and that "[t]he fee for the issuance of a special license
plate shall not exceed the fee charged for a similar license plate
for the same class vehicle." Id. § 1235.3. In contrast to the
provisions concerning license plate fees, neither Public Law
100-641 nor the regulations prohibit the imposition of placard
fees.

The government's argument fails, however, because Public
Law 100-641 is purely hortatory. See McGarry, 7 F.Supp.2d at
1026. Congress enacted Public Law 100-641 two years before
the ADA and has no enforcement mechanism. Even California
concedes that in recognizing principles of federalism and state
sovereignty, Congress rendered state compliance with Public
Law 100-641 completely voluntary.

In contrast, the ADA expressly applies to the states through
Congress's Fourteenth Amendment powers, as discussed in
more detail in Part II. Regulations promulgated pursuant to the
ADA bind states so long as the regulations are not arbitrary,
capricious, or contrary to the ADA. See Does 1-5 v. Chandler.
83 F.3d 1150, 1153 (9th Cir.1996). As discussed below, 28
C.F.R. § 35.130(f) meets that standard. We thus evaluate
California's surcharge based on the requirementsof Title II and
28 C.F.R. § 35.130(f). Public Law 100-641 does not impact our
analysis.

24a

C. Application to the California Fees

Applying this approach to the California fee at issue, we
tind the fee to be a surcharge for a required measure in
violation of the ADA. The ADA requires special parking
arrangements such as handicapped parking spaces. These
spaces allow disabled people equal access to public buildings
in which California provides services, programs, and activities.
Because California polices handicapped parking spaces,
disabled people need placards or license plates to use them.
California. thus meets the ADA's requirement for
nondiscriminatory access to public buildings by providing
disabled people with placards and license plates.

Furthermore, California's provision of license plates alone
would not be sufficient to give individuals nondiscriminatory
access to public places. In addition to the fact that many
disabled people may not own cars or have someone who drives
them 51% of the time, even those who do may sometimes have
to use other vehicles as passengers or as drivers. They may rent
cars or wish to drive with another person. To require disabled
people to use only a designated car for which they have a
license plate restricts them far more in accessing public places
than people who lack their disabilities. This reasoning comports
with cases by other courts that have struck down fees like the
one in California. See Thompson, 29 F. Supp. 2d at 1231-32;
Thrope, 19 F. Supp. 2d at 825; McGarry, 7 F. Supp. 2d at 1028.

Because providing the placards is a required measure under
California's current program of providing access to

25a

handicapped parking spaces, we turn to the question of whether
charging the fee for them constitutes a forbidden surcharge.
This issue hinges on whether California provides the same fee
for an equivalent service for nondisabled people. In support of
such equivalence, the appellees argue that the placard fee is
comparable to, and probably less than, charges nondisabled
people accrue at parking meters. California thus claims that if
the $6 fee is viewed as a partial payment of waived meter fees.
then disabled people are not being charged more than other
people.

California's argument fails, however. because many public
places do not have parking meters and people who lack
disabilities face no fees in parking at those places. Such a
distinction is unacceptable. Charging disabled people for
parking that would otherwise be free constitutes discrimination
in the provision of access to public buildings, a measure
required under the ADA. We thus affirm the district court on
this issue and hold that California's fee for handicapped parking
placards violates the ADA.

II. Constitutionality

Having established an ADA violation, we turn to the
constitutional issues raised by the government. This Circuit has
held that in enacting Title II of the ADA, Congress validly
abrogated state sovereign immunity pursuant to its Fourteenth
Amendment powers. See Clark v California, 123 F.3d 1267.
1270- 71 (9th Cir.1997). The majority of Circuits addressing

26a

this issue have followed this Circuit's approach in Clark.

We continue to adhere to our holding in Clark today. In
light of the Supreme Court's recent decision in Florida Prepaid
Postsecondary Educational Expense Board v. College Savings
Bank. --- US. ----, 119 S.Ct. 2199, --- L.Ed.2d---- (1999)
(hereinafter Florida Prepaid }, and the circuit split on this issue,
however, we provide further discussion of Title Il of the ADA

Compare Martin v. Kansas, 1999 WL 635916, at *3-*6 (10th Cir.
Aug.19, 1999), Muller v. Costello, Nos. 98-7491, 98-7729, 1999 WL
599285 (2d Cir. Aug.11, 1999) (page references not available) (holding that
the ADA constitutesa proper exercise of Congress’ Fourteenth Amendment
powers), Amos v. Maryland Dept. of Pub. Safety and Correctional Servs.,
178 F.3d 212, 216-23 (4th Cir.1999) (same), Kimel v. State of Fla. Bd. of
Regents, 139 F.3d 1426, 1433 (11th Cir.1998) (same), Coolbaugh v.
Louisiana, 136 F.3d 430, 432-38 (Sth Cir.1998) (same), cert. denied, ---
U.S. ----, 119 §.Ct. 58, 142 L.Ed.2d 45 (1998), and Crawford v. Indiana
Dept. of Corrections, 115 F.3d 481, 487 (7th Cir.1997), with Alsbrook v.
City of Maumelle, No. 97-1825, 1999 WL 521709, at *4-*7 (8th Cir. July
23. 1999) (en banc) (holding that Title II of the ADA was not a valid
exercise of Congress's § 5 powers), and Brown v. North Carolina Div. of
Motor Vehicles, 166 F.3d 698, 702-10 (4th Cir.1999) (holding that
forbidding surcharges under the ADA exceeds Congress’ Fourteenth
Amendment powers). See generally Torres v Puerto Rican Tourism Co.,
175 F. 3d 1, 4-5 (Ist Cir.1999) (failing to reach the issue, in part, because
of the dominant precedent upholding Congress’ exercise of its Fourteenth
Amendment powers in enacting the ADA): Nelsony. Miller, 170 F.3d 641,
648 & n. 7 (6th Cir.1998) (declining to reach this issue, but summarizing
the state of the law). We note that the Fourth Circuit has ruled both that the
ADA constitutesa proper exercise of Congress's § 5 powers, see Amos, 178
F.3d at 221-222 & n. 8, and that the regulation forbidding surcharges
exceeds Congress's § 5 authority, see Brown, 166 F.3d at 702-10. Because
we hold that regulations do not receive an independent constitutional
assessment, see infra Subsection I1.A.2. the Fourth Circuit authority is thus
more in accord with than opposing our Fourteenth Amendment analysis.

27a

as an appropriate Congressional exercise of its § 5 powers that
thus accords with both the Tenth and Eleventh Amendments.

A. Eleventh Amendment

1. Title II of the ADA

When Congress both expresses unequivocal intent to
abrogate immunity and also acts pursuant to its § 5 powers, a
state's immunity is waived. See Seminole Tribe of Florida v.
Florida, 517 U.S. 44, 55, 116 S.Ct. 1114, 134 L.Ed.2d 252
(1996); Clark, 123 F.3d at 1269. As noted in Clark, "Congress
has unequivocally expressed its intent to abrogate the State's
immunity under ... the ADA," 123 F.2d at 1269. The focus of
our discussion is therefore on why Title II constitutes a valid
exercise of Congress's powers under § 5 of the Fourteenth
Amendment.

The Court's recent decision in Florida Prepaid clarifies the
congruence and proportionality test outlined in C ity of Boerne
v. Flores, 521 U.S. 507, 117 S.Ct. 2157, 138 L.Ed.2d 624
(1997). The first step of this test involves identification of the
"Fourteenth Amendment ‘evil’ or ‘wrong’ that Congress
intended to remedy," using historical experience as a reference
point. Florida Prepaid, --- U.S. at ----, 119 S.Ct. at 2207
(quoting City of Boerne, 521 U.S. at 525). The second step
requires consideration of whether the provisions of the statute
are proportional to their remedial or preventive goal. See id. at
2210 (quoting City of Boerne, 521 U.S. at 532).

28a

Before applying this test to Title Il of the ADA, we note
that Congress's enforcement authority is at its apex when
fashioning remedies aimed at the core Fourteenth Amendment
guarantee of Equal Protection. City of Boerne and Florida
Prepaid both emphasized Congress's power in dealing with
discrimination, such as in the voting rights context. See Florida
Prepaid, --- U.S. at ----, 119 S.Ct. at 2207; City of Boerne, 521
U.S. at 525-27. The Court explained that "[IJegislation which
deters or remedies constitutional violations can fall within the
sweep of Congress’ enforcement power even if in the process
it prohibits conduct which is not itself unconstitutional and
intrudes into legislative sphere of autonomy previously
reserved to the States." Florida Prepaid, --- U.S. at ----, 119
S.Ct. at 2206 (quotation omitted); City of Boerne, 521 U.S. at
518 (internal quotation omitted).

a. Congruence

Although disabled people do net constitute a suspect class,
the Equal Protection C lause prohibits irrational and invidious
discriminationagainst them. See City of Cleburne v. Cleburne
Living Center, 473 U.S. 432, 439, 446, 105 S.Ct. 3249, 87
L.Ed.2d 313 (1985). When it enacted the ADA, Congress made
specific factual findings of arbitrary and invidious
discrimination against the disabled. See id. § 12101(a)(7). On
the basis of these findings, Congress concluded that the ADA
was a necessary legislative response to a long history of
arbitrary and irrational discrimination against people with

29a

disabilities. See 42 U.S.C. § 12101(b).2 We thus hold that the
ADA in general and Title II in particular satisfy the congruence
requirement.

b. Proportionality

Having established the ADA's congruence with Congress's
power to enforce the Equal Protection Clause, we turn to
proportionality. In so doing, we reiterate the importance of
deference to Congress in this analysis.* The Supreme Court has
specifically found protections for people with disabilities to be
an area in which Congressional judgment should be given great
deference. See Cleburne Living Center, 473 U.S. at 442-43. °

A number of cases have held that the ADA constitutes a proper
exercise of Congress’ Fourteenth Amendment powers with specific
reference to Congress's factual findings. See Muller, 1999 WL 599285, at
~---, Amos, 178 F.3d at 218-19, Kimel, 139 F.3d at 1433, Coolbaugh, 136
F.3a at 435-38, Crawford, 115 F.3d at 486-87: cf. Timothy Cook, The
Americans with Disabilities Act: The Move to Integration,64 Temp. L.Rev.
393, 393-94 & nn. 1-4 (1991 ) (discussing Congress's extensive fact-finding
and the history of state-sponsored irrational discrimination and animus
against disabled people).

: As stated above, the Supreme Court has explicitly indicated that
Congress's enforcement power to deter or remedy constitutional violations
allows it to prohibit some constitutionally acceptabic conduct, even in
traditional areas of state autonomy, as part of its larger enforcement effort.
See City of Boerne, 521 U.S. at 518 (quoting F it=pairick v. Bitzer, 427 U.S.
445,455, 96 S.Ct. 2666, 49 L.Ed.2d 614 (1976)): accord Florida Prepaid,
--- U.S. at ----, 119 S.Ct. at 2206 (quoting City of Boerne, 521 U.S. at 518).

Discussing in Cleburne Living Center the legal protections to
which individuals with developmental disabilities are entitled, the Court

30a

fhe ADA is thus an appropriate exercise of § 5 powers if
Congress enacted it in response to a widespread problem of
unconstitutional discrimination that includes state programs
and services and if the ADA's provisions are proportional to the
scope of that discrimination.®

As noted above, Congress made extensive factual findings
regarding the widespread arbitrary and invidious discrimination
which disabled people face. See 42 U.S.C. § 12101(a). The
ADA's particular provisions for each sector then indicate
specifically the discrimination which is forbidden and the
conduct needed to remedy the discrimination. See 42 U.S.C. §
12101 et seg. Although Title II's provisions may prohibit some
State conduct which would pass muster under rational basis
review, the Title's, focus is on eliminating the discrimination
outlined in the factual findings.

We thus agree with the Second Circuit and hold that "[iJn

noted that "[h]ow this large and diversified group is to be treated under the
law is a difficult and often a technical matter, very much a task for
legislators guided by qualified professionals and not by the perhaps ill-
informed opinions of the judiciary.” /d. The Court recently reinforced this
approach in Olmstead v. Zimring, --- U.S. ----. 119 S.Ct. 2176, --- L.Ed.2d
---- (1999). Although declining to reach constitutional questions, see id. at
2181, the Court held that "unjustified isolation ... is properly regarded as
discrimination based on disability,” id. at 2185, and spoke approvingly of
the ADA's efforts to end that isolation, see id. at 2187.

We therefore disagree with the Eighth Circuit that the ADA's
legislative record must "support the proposition that most state programs
arid services discriminate arbitrarily against the disabled" for abrogration of
immunity to be appropriate.

3la

light of Congress's findings of the extent of discrimination
against people with disabilities and with due regard to the
deference owed to Congress in making such judgments, we will
not second-guess Congress's judgment that the ADA was
targeted to remedy and prevent irrational discrimination against
people with disabilities." Muller, 1999 WL 599285, at ----.
Congress's findings were sufficiently extensive and related to
the ADA's provisions that the provisions can "be understood as
responsive to or designed to prevent, unconstitutional
behavior." Florida Prepaid, --- U.S. at ----, 119 S.Ct. at 2210
(quoting City of Boerne, 521 U.S. at 532). Therefore. we hold
that the ADA was a congruent and proportional exercise of
Congress's enforcement powers under § 5 of the Fourteenth
Amendment that abrogated Eleventh Amendment immunity.

2. Acceptability of 28 C.F.R. § 35.130(f)

Although California acknowledges the constitutionality of
Title Il of the ADA, it claims that the prohibition in 28 C.F.R.
§ 35.130(f) against states charging even de minimis
administrative fees violates the Fourteenth Amendment. We
disagree.

The primary flaw in the government's approach: is that it
conducts its Fourteenth Amendment analysis in a piecemeal
manner. Because the statutory scheme as a whole constitutes a

proper exercise of Congress’ power to legislate under § 5, see
Clark, 123 F.3d at 1270-71, regulations promulgated pursuant
to the ADA "must be given ‘legislative and hence controlling
weight unless they are arbitrary, capricious. or clearly contrary

32a

to the statute.’ "" Does 1-5, 83 F.3d at 1153 (quoting United
States vy. Morton, 467 U.S. 822. 834, 104 S.Ct. 2769, 81
L.Ed.2d 680 (1984)).’

Here, the regulation is not arbitrary, capricious, or contrary
to the ADA. See id. Title II protects the rights of disabled
people to have the same public services. programs, and
activities as those who are not disabled. See 42 U.S.C. § 12132.
If public entities place a surcharge on measures that help
disabled people achieve this parity, disabled people then are

As the Supreme Court stated in Olmstead:

[because the Department [of Justice] is the agency directed by
Congress to issue regulations implementing Title II, its views
warrant respect. We need not inquire whether the degree of
deference described in Chevron U.S.A. Inc. v. Natural Resources
Defense Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837, 844, 104 S.Ct. 2778, 81
L.Ed.2d 694 (1984), is in order; "[i]t is enough to observe that the
well-reasoned views of the agencies implementing a statute
‘constitute a body of experience and informed judgement to which
courts and litigants may properly resort for guidance.’ "

--- U.S. ----. 119 S.Ct. at 2186, --- L.Ed.2d---- (quoting Bragdon v. Abbott,
524 U.S. 624, 642, 118 S.Ct. 2196, 141 L.Ed.2d 540 (1998)
(internalquotation and citation omitted)).

In taking this approach, we reject the reasoning of the Fourth Circuit in
Brown, which determined that "separation of powers, administrability, and
federalism" required an examination of "the legality of the specific statute
and regulation whose asserted violation by the state government gave rise
to the claim for relief in federal court." Brown, 166 F.3d at 705. In our
view, a piecemeal analysis of the reguiations would unduly constrain
Congress's power to constructa statutory scheme addressing discrimination;
the federal courts, in effect, would have a line-item veto over legislation
directed at intentional or arbitrary discrimination by the states.

33a

paying fees others do not and so are not being treated equally.

Forbidding such additional charges is a solution aimed at
preventing this type of discrimination: it addresses the
improper approach to funding services for the disabled. see 28
C.F.R. § 35.130(f), while leaving states broad flexibility to
administer and fund their programs otherwise, cf. Duprey v.
State of Conn., Dept. of Motor Vehicles, 28 F.Supp.2d 702, 708
(D.Conn.1998) ( "If the DMV wants to pass on the costs of
providing placards, rather than absorbing the costs itself, it
must pass the cost on to all parkers, and not just those disabled
individuals protected by the ADA."). The rationale for this
regulation thus dovetails neatly with the purposes of Title II.
We therefore hold that 28 C.F.R. § 35.130(f) has controlling
weight.

B. Tenth Amendment

Because Title II falls within Congress's Fourteenth
Amendment powers, it does not conflict with powers reserved
to the states under the Tenth Amendment. See Ex parte
Virginia, 100 U.S. 339, 344-47, 25 L.Ed. 676 (1879); see also
Armstrong, 124 F.3d at 1024-25. We thus hold that the ADA
does not violate the Tenth Amendment.

Conclusion
The California placard fee violates the ADA and its

implementing regulations. Because the ADA constitutes an
appropriate exercise of Congress's enforcement powers under

34a

S$ 5 of the Fourteenth Amendment, California's Tenth and
Eleventh Amendment challenges fail. Furthermore, we accord
28 C.F.R. § 35.130(f) controlling weight as an regulation
promulgated pursuant to the ADA that is not arbitrary,
capricious, or contrary to the statute. We therefore AFFIRM the
district court's grant of summary judgment in favor of appellees
and of a permanent injunction against imposition of the

surcharge.

AFFIRMED.

35a
FERNANDEZ, Circuit Judge dissenting:

Because | cannot agree that the small fee California charges
for placards violates the ADA, I dissent.

California has sought to ameliorate the parking problems
that those with disabilities can face when they use automobiles
to attend to business, recreation or any of the other pursuits of
daily life. To that end, special parking places are set aside and
marked for the sole use of disabled people. See, e.g., Cal.
Veh.Code §§ 22511.7,22511.8. In addition, unlimited parking
is available in zones in which others may only park for a
limited time, and disabled people need not pay parking meter
fees. See Cal. Veh.Code § 22511.5. It is one thing, however, to
set aside spaces and confer other benefits. but quite another to
assume that only disabled people will take advantage of those
Opp¢rtunities. Others may well succumb to the temptation to
park in the special spaces, which are generally more convenient
to the place one is going and which may well be open when all
other desirable spaces are filled. Therefore. California not only
has made the spaces available, but also has created a method
that helps to assure that the spaces, and other benefits, will
remain available for disabled people only.

Under California law, a disabled person who owns a motor
vehicle can obtain a license plate, which contains a special
Symbol--the International Symbol of Access. “commonly
known as the wheelchair symbol." Cal. Veh.Code § 5007. As
interpreted by the DMV, the license plate is also available to
any person who is not disabled, if the vehicle is used to

36a

transport a disabled person at least fifty-one percent of the time.
There is no charge for the license plate beyond that which ts
paid by every other person who registers an automobile with
the DMV.

California, however, also decided to add more flexibility to
the program. It recognized that many disabled persons may be
driven by others, who do not do so fifty-one percent of the
time, and that it would be beneficial if the other person's
automobile could also be parked in the special parking spaces
when a disabled person was transported. Therefore, California
provided for the issuance of special placards, which are
portable and can be used in any automobile that is being driven
or utilized by a disabled person. See Cal. Veh.Code §
22511.55: see also Cal. Veh.Code § 22511.56 (misuse of
placards). While license plates are issued to every automobile,
the special placard is a unique item which is issued to disabled
persons only. It, therefore, imposes special costs upon DMV.
In order to defray a portion of those added costs, California has
imposed a small fee upon those who apply for the placard. That
fee is, basically, six dollars every two years. See Cal. Veh.Code
$§ 22511.55(a)(2), 22511.55(a)(3). That does not pay for the
full cost of issuing placards, and in a typical two-year cycle,
1995-1996, DMV's costs exceeded the fee revenues by
$1.182.829. That fee is the subject of this litigation. This case
deals with a sensitive area which lies at the border of federal
and state relationships. Ours is a system of dual sovereignty,
and some care must be taken when Congress wishes to have the
states carry out congressional policies. The states are not mere
adjuncts of the federal government. See, e.g.. Printz v. United

37a

States, 521 U.S. 898, ----, 117 S.Ct. 2365, 2376-77, 138
L.Ed.2d 914 (1997). That broods over this case as we undertake
the task of deciding whether California violated the ADA when
it enacted a placard fee, which amounts to twenty-five cents per
month. Dare argues that it did. If so, and if Congress could
constitutionally prohibit that, the district court's decision must
be upheld. California attacks both parts of that conjunctive
sentence. Because | agree that the ADA was not violated, I see
no need to consider the more thorny constitutional portion of
the sentence. But that is getting slightly ahead of the story, for
I should start with the ADA itself.

That statute, as relevant here, provides that "Subject to the
provisions of this subchapter, no qualified individual with a
disability shall. by reason of such disability, be excluded from
participation in or be denied the benefits of the services,
programs, or activities of a public entity, or be subjected to
discrimination by any such entity." 42 U.S.C. § 12132. On its
face, it would not seem that the fee in question here can be said
to, somehow, deny disabled people the benefit of any services
offered to the public by California, or that it can be said to
discriminate against them. But, of course, the bare words of the
Statute are not the only law in this area.

The United States Department of Justice is responsible for
interpreting and implementing that provision of the ADA. See
42 U.S.C. § 12134. It has issued various regulations and
guidelines. In explaining its understanding of the requirements
of the ADA, the DOJ has stated that "a public entity should
provide an adequate number of accessible parking spaces in

38a

existing parking lots or garages over which it has jurisdiction."
28 C.F.R. Pt. 35 App. A at 457. There is no dispute that
California has provided special parking places for disabled
persons with vehicles.

The dispute in this case is over whether California has
violated a DOJ regulation, which provides that:

A public entity may not place a surcharge on a
particular individual with a disability or any group of
individuals with disabilities to cover the cost of
measures. such as the provision of auxiliary aids or
program accessibility, that are required to provide that
individual or group with the nondiscriminatory
treatment required by the Act or this part.

28 C.F.R. § 35.130(f); see also Americans with Disabilities
Act, DOJ Technical Assistance Manual (Title I), Section II--
3.5400. I would hoid that California has not violated that
provision.

Certainly. California has not, in as many words, excluded
disabled persons from any program generally offered to the
public. If a failure to make special parking places available
could be said to exclude them from the use of some other
program, California has not failed to provide for the spaces

themselves. No doubt the spaces are available in the sense that
they have been set aside. California, however, has sought to
assure that those who are not disabled will not use the spaces.
No doubt, its method of doing so can inhibit use by a disabled
person because the only rational way to provide the extra

39a

assurance is to police usage by placing some sort of special
symbol on the parked automobile. Even that is not a perfect
solution, of course, because people could use counterfeit
permits or otherwise abuse the program. See Cal. Veh.Code §§
4463, 22511.56. Nevertheless, that it does help cannot be
doubted.

Under the ADA, as it relates to the issues before us, the
most that California is required to do is make accessible
parking places available at public facilities. See 28 C.F.R. §
36.304(a)(18). That, of course, does not, itself, even require
special designation or signing. In fact, one could conceive ofa
situation where all spaces in a parking area were quite
accessible. At any rate, there is no claim that California has not
made spaces available. In fact, it has gone far beyond that and
has provided for overtime parking in zones limited for
everyone else and for free metered parking. See Cal. Veh.Code
§ 22511.5.

Nothing in the law requires that California police usage of
the spaces in order to assure that only disabled people are
taking advantage of them. Indeed, if the federal government
decided that usage must be policed by the states, that would
come at least parlously close to an attempt to "commandeer
State government" into enforcing a federal government policy
at state cost. See Printz, 521 U.S. at ----, 117 S.Ct. at 2381. No
doubt the provision of spaces has many costs, not the least of
which is the expense of Setting aside and signing special
spaces, perhaps larger than normal, which may go unutilized a
good part of the time, and which surely have less usage than

40a

other parking spaces. I, of course, need not address those costs.
California has willingly accepted them.

California has also accepted the cost, if any, of issuing
special license plates for disabled persons who have their own
vehicles, which need to be parked, as well as for those who
transport disabled people most of the time. See, e.g., Cal.
Veh.Code § 5007. I need not decide whether California could
impose a charge for that enhancement of the parking program
because, again, California has not sought to do so. In that
regard, however, it is interesting to note that Congress passed
a statute designed to "encourage" states to adopt a uniform
system for handicapped parking. See Act of Nov. 9, 1988,
Pub.L. No. 100-641, 102 Stat. 3335 § 3 (1988) (Handicapped
Parking System Provision (HPS)). It did so before the
enactment of the ADA, but at a time when the Rehabilitation
Act of 1973 was in effect. See 29 U.S.C. § 701-796l. At that
point, Congress indicated that a uniform policy should provide
for special license plates for which there should be no charge.
See HPS § 3(b)(1)(B) & (D). It also indicated that the uniform
policy should provide for placards. See HPS § 3(b)(1)(C).
However, Congress did not indicate that no fee should be
charged for placards. The regulations under the HPS are also to
the same effect. See 23 C.F.R. §§ 1235.3, 1235.6. These
hortatory suggestions by Congress might be one reason that
California has not chosen to impose a fee for the special license
plates. It also suggests that Congress did not see anything
particularly discriminatory in the exaction of a small fee for the

issuance of placards. if any were issued at all.

4la

As it is, California has decided to confer upon disabled
people the still further benefit of a system under which they can
drive or be driven in any automobile at all. and stil] use the
special parking places. as well as take advantage of other
special parking benefits. That is, California did set up an
optional flexible placard program. That complemented the
already optional enforcement program which was designed to
assure that spaces would not only be provided, but also that
they would remain available. As I see it. nothing in the ADA or
the regulations precludes California from making a small
charge for those additional benefits.

I, of course, recognize that a disabled person can argue that
he does not really care at all about having a vigorous
enforcement program, which greatly enhances the opportunities
of all disabled people to use the special parking places, and
even helps make it possible to confer still further parking
privileges upon them. In other words, a disabled person could
say, "Fine, just set aside and mark the spaces, but do not force
any additional benefits upon me, even at a nominal cost." I do
not sec any reason to believe that Congress did. or that
California or we need to, take that kind of reasoning seriously.

Moreover, | fail to see how a charge of twenty-five cents
per month, which accords all of those benefits above and
beyond the bare provision of spaces, can be dubbed a violation
of the ADA on the theory that the costs of state programs that
are required to preclude discriminatory treatment have been
placed upon disabled persons. No cost of a generally available
program has been so levied; rather an expanded ability to use

42a

ahe special parking spaces has been afforded. With or without
enhancement. the spaces remain, and even they are one step
removed from any particular state program as such.

In short, the placard enhancement allows tor great
flexibility in the use of the special spaces, affords even further
parking opportunities, and helps assure that the spaces will
actually be available for those who need them. The fact that a
disabled person, who does not have a car of his own or a car
which is used for disabled people most of the time, needs to
pay what amounts to twenty-five cents per month to be able to
use the special spaces does not put the cost of the parking space
program upon him; it only visits a minute part of the cost of the
enhancement upon him.

That being said, what of the district court cases which are
to the contrary? See Thompson v. Colorado, 29 F. Supp. 2d
1226. 1231-32 (D.Colo.1998); Duprey v. Connecticut, 28 F.
Supp. 2d 702, 709-11 (D.Conn.1998); Thrope v. ¢ hiv, 19 F.
Supp. 2d 816, 824-25 (S.D.Ohio 1998); McGarry v. Director,
Dep't of Revenue, 7 F. Supp. 2d 1022. 1027-29
(W.D.Miss.1998). Those cases appear to presume either that
some form of enforcement is required, or that the state has
chosen to enhance the availability of spaces and that is the
state's problem. See. e.g. Thompson, 29 F. Supp. 2d at 1232;
Duprey, 28 F. Supp. 2d at 709. As already noted, | see no
violation centered on the fact that a state has exacted a small

charge for the purpose of enhancing the benefits available to
disabled persons beyond those absolutely required by law. I,
therefore, do not accept that particular form of reasoning. The

43a

district court cases also note that without placards the program
could not be as flexible as it is because, for example. a disabled
person who is being driven in another person's car could not
confer the right to park in a special space upon the driver. See.
e.g. Thrope, 19 F. Supp. 2d at 825; McGarry, 7 F. Supp. 2d at
1028. Moreover, they say, a disabled person may wish to rent
or borrow a car, which did not have a special license plate, and
would not have access to a special space in that instance. And.
they say, free license plates do not help in those regards.’ See
id. Again, that puts the cart before the horse. It assumes that the
state must not only make spaces available, but also provide for
all possible permutations of desire to use those spaces, without
asking for any fee to help defray the cost of the enhanced usage
possibilities. | see no persuasive basis for that assumption. It
simply fails to recognize that the states are not discriminating
against disabled people when they undertake to police the use
of spaces, nor are they discriminating when they ask for a small
fee to enable them to do that policing in an efficient fashion.
There is, by the way. nothing before us to suggest that the fee
exceeds that which the DMV charges other people for services
it performs for them, or that the fee is in an excessive or
discriminatory amount whose design injures disabled people.
Far from it. The fee does not even cover the cost of issuing the

l It is interesting to note that a somewhat ambiguous
opinion letter from the DOJ suggested that a free license plate program was
a satisfactory alternative to a placard program. See DOJ Opinion Letter
from Deval L. Patrick, Assistant Attorney General, Civil Rights Division to
Congressman C.W. Bill Young. (Apr. 29, 1996). |, however. do not pul any
significant weight upon that missive.

44a
placards.”

In fine, the ADA ts an anodyne which serves to assuage
some of the sufferings of disabled persons. California does not
disagree with that general goal, and insists that it did not
deprive disabled persons of any rights when it imposed a
nominal fee upon those who sought to obtain parking placards,
which provide great flexibility in the use of the special parking
spaces that California has already made available. | agree with
that assessment of the situation, and determine that the district
court abused its discretion when it issued the permanent
injunction against the DMV.

In reaching my conclusion, | limit myself to the facts at
hand--a fee that comes to twenty-five cents per month to help
defray the cost of issuing the placard. I do not reflect upon
whether the state could charge a vastly greater sum for the
placards. Nor do I consider other programs or fees charged for
them. Nor, for that matter, do | consider whether the federal
government can constitutionally impose program costs upon
the states in this fashion. As I see it, those issues are, for now,

2 The best argument against this small and reasonable
placard fee is, it seems to me, that there are some disabled people who can
drive most cars and who wish to bor-ow or rent cars from time to time.
They are, | believe, the only ones who can reasonably complain at all about
the fee in any event. But even if the fee were invalid as applied to them, that
would not justify the breadth of the injunction issued by the district court
and approved of today.

A TT LT ET LE TL CE, TC A A EL, CET ES TAS

45a

beyond our ken.*

hus, I respectfully dissent.

3 It should be pointed out, however, that one Court of
Appeals and at least one District Court have declared that an attempt to
enforce the surcharge regulation in federal court violates the Eleventh
Amendment. See Brown v. North Carolina Div. of Motor Vehicles, 166
F.3d 698, 706-08 (4th Cir. 1999): Hedgepeth v. Tennessee, 33 F.Supp.2d
668, 674-77 (W.D. Tenn. 1998):see also Alsbrook v. City of Maumelle. No.
97-1825, 1999 WL 521709, at *7 (8th Cir. July 23, 1999) (en banc). Butef..
Clark v. California, 123 F.3d 1267, 1269-71 (9th Cir.1997). cert. denied, ---
U.S. ----, 118 S.Ct. 2340, 141 L.Ed.2d 711 (1998), Again, I see no need to
decide that issue in this case. If | did, | am inclined to agree with those
courts rather than with the majority

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386014_0010%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
