# Opposition Brief — Berg v. Shapiro

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_2392%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1998
- **Citation:** 523 U.S. 1119

## Text

No. 97-1516 I

Berra oy

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1997
*

DALRIE A. BERG, D.O.,

Petitioner,

JACK SHAPIRO, HUMANA HOSPITAL MOUNTAIN
VIEW, INC., JOHN A. HOFFMAN, THOMAS J.
BLANCHARD and DOES 3 through 10,

Respondents.
¢

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The Supreme Court Of Colorado
ra a
BRIEF OF RESPONDENTS JACK SHAPIRO,
HUMANA HOSPITAL MOUNTAIN VIEW, INC.,
JOHN A. HOFFMAN, THOMAS J. BLANCHARD
AND DOES 3 THROUGH 10, IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
°

Peter J. Lucas*

L. RicHARD FReEEsE, JR.
CATHERINE A. G. SPARKMAN
Douerty, Rumsie & But ter, P.C.
1200 Seventeenth Street
Denver, Colorado 80202

(303) 572-6200

*Counsel of Record for Respondents

Counsel for Respondents Jack
Shapiro, Humana Hospital
Mountain View, Inc., John A.
Hoffman, Thomas ]. Blanchard and
Does 3 Through 10

KLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Respondents respectfully restate Petitioner’s Ques-
tion Presented for Review: The issue, succinctly stated,
involves whether peer review activities of Respondent
Humana Hospital Mountain View, Inc., a private hospital,
and the other Respondents, who are members of its staff
and peer review committee, constitute state action suffi-
cient to permit Petitioner’s claim based on 42 US.C.
§ 1983. Contrary to Petitioner’s suggestion, the Supreme
Court of the State of Colorado has never concluded that
peer review committees are arms of the state, and has
expressly declined to so hold.

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

The parties to the proceeding below are the Peti-
tioner, Dalrie A. Berg, D.O., and the Respondents Jack
Shapiro, Humana Hospital Mountain View, Inc., John A.
Hoffman, Thomas J. Blanchard, and Does 3 through 10,
who are unknown parties who allegedly participated in
the peer review activities affecting Petitioner.

RULE 29.6 LISTING

Humana Hospital Mountain View, Inc. is now owned
by Columbia-HealthOne, LLC and is called “Columbia
North Suburb Medicai Center.” The managing member of
Columbia-HealthOne, LLC is Columbia/HCA of Denver,
Inc., whose owner is Columbia/Rose Health System, Inc.
Galen Health Care, Inc. is the owner of Columbia/Rose
Health System, Inc. Western Plains Regional Hospital,
Inc., owns Galen Health Care, Inc. Columbia/HCA
Healthcare Corp. owns Western Plains Regional Hospital,
Inc. Humana has no non-wholly owned subsidiaries

i
;
Hf
i

ili

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
eee SMT OED, en i
ST ee) oy. la oe a et ii
Spee ee SE, os ee iii
copie ede ha 1: SARA a iv
peeeeeeree SOP POO CAGE ]
REASON FOR DENYING THE WRIT.............. 8

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
CASEs:
Blum v. Yaretsky, 457 U.S. 991, 102 S.Ct. 2777 (1982) ..... 9
Burton v. Wilmington Parking Authority, 365 U.S.
FAD CERT Visa RN ONE R ee Oe ed LET CRUERE DT ON ELT 16, 17
Evans v. Newton, 342 US. 296 (1966)... cece access 17
Goss v. Memorial Hospital System, 789 F.2d 353 (5th
Oe | ROTTER PER SER TE TTT ELE TERT Ee See 12
Loh-Seng Yo v. Cibola General Hospital, 706 F.2d 306 |
CE RRE Radic: Oh sob ov sree c beta k vak ea tw eae uous 9 i
Lugar v. Edmondson Oil Co., 457 U.S. 922, 102 S.Ct. |
Ey TO Wee BO LOGE) ook oo in ok seit leeseenns 8
Modaber v. Culpeper Memorial Hospital, 674 F.2d
A ee Sere ery eres ere haere 12
Nicholas v. North Colorado Medical Center, 902 P.2d
Oe SRO. FRR. ROS ob ns Sis ove oo ba CLG hs cece 13
North Colorado Medical Center v. The Committee on
Anticompetitive Conduct, 914 P.2d 902 (Colo.
OR a ee ss 13
Patrick v. Burget, 486 U.S. 94 (1988) ................. 14
Rendeil-Baker v. Kohn, 457 U.S. 830, 102 S.Ct. 2764,
Fa Neel BOO COWIE. 5 6 boc kes O60 pee hoN eee 8, 9, 16
Shulman v. Washington Hospital Center, 222 F. Supp.
Pe Aas: REA eh 8d we ORD ERAS ROKER ORER HS 9
Sokol v. University Hospital, Inc., 402 F. Supp. 1029
rs INN SP bo a a ee 15
Sosa v. Managers of Val Verde Memorial Hospital, 437
Peele SF th CON Nl RTE ao Vic da dee 0 tua etek ante 10

£

;

:
SEA NO A ae RR RR SDT Sn Rs RARE ROR EE a Le ERIE RA RE ET TLS EE MN EE Fo 2B OY ERT OLE TAIRA ROOTES DOES OF PRN LEE OE IE OLS SE SOG REEE LEN CNA 2 ONES LE AP

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES —- Continued

Page
Tunca v. Lutheran General Hospital, 844 F.2d 411
ie te Re ere a tr erie ern gi ORG 12
Ward v. St. Anthony Hospital, 476 F.2d 671 (10th
ie ROT Ee ahd ys 4h ke Ohba ne de 15
wrest .D. dateeme, O07 43S. 07 (2900) 3 oS fe 17
Wong v. Tripling, 881 F.2d 200 (5th Cir. 1989)........ 11
STATUTES AND RULEs:
Re Stang EP ns ede nia Cho sd ae o eae Ook oaks passim
US 6h ee 10
SUS. 2 ee. orca ee 5
secon Tie 10) of oe, CRS... Ses ccse sik wks 1]
CNNGEN LEA ty Stes 65 52 os eke eke ee sen 1]
OC AEA Seta Fa, 0 oo 8s ee eee ee 14
BeCINOn T2-se. oss Shas os i eee passim

Section 12-43.5-101 C.R.S. (L.75, p. 465, § 1
repealed, S.B.261, eff. FURY 2, BUOE isso chins 10, 11

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Respondents reiterate that the question before this
Court deals solely with an. issue of law: whether peer
review activities conducted by a private hospital of its
hospital staff pursuant to its own bylaws, protocols and
procedures constitute state action for purposes of 42
U.S.C. § 1983. In the proceedings below, Petitioners did
not challenge the trial court’s findings that Respondents
acted with due process and fair procedure in resolving
the complaints against him of inadequate professional
conduct in his obstetrical practice of Humana. Nor did
Petitioner challenge the trial court’s conclusions of law
that peer review immunity statutes should be applied
and that Petitioner’s claims should be dismissed because
Respondents were immune from suit under those stat-
utes. Petitioner brings forward only the issue of whether
he could maintain an action against Respondents under
§ 1983 of the Federal Civil Rights Act.

Nevertheless, Dr. Berg’s petition for certiorari is
replete with allegations from his complaint against
Respondents which have no basis in the record, or in the
trial court’s extensive findings of fact and conclusions of
law entered at the conclusion of the evidentiary hearing
held to address Respondents’ defense of immunity under
the Colorado and Federal statutes.

As found by the trial court, the facts upon which this
case rest are as follows:

Late in the evening of June 10, 1992, or early in the
morning of June 11, 1992, one of Dr. Berg’s patients,
referred to as H.P., was admitted to Humana ready to

deliver her baby. On June 11, 1992, Nurse Mowers, one of

the attending nurses, submitted to Humana an “Occur-
rence Report” regarding the delivery of H.P.’s child. The
Occurrence Report stated that Dr. Berg was in the deliv-
ery room at the time the child was being spontaneously
delivered by the patient and that Nurse Mowers made
repeated suggestions to Dr. Berg that he needed to attend
to the patient, which he refused to do. Nurse Mowers was
required to deliver the child herself. The Occurrence
Report also stated that Dr. Berg administered Methergine
by intravenous push and that Dr. Berg did suturing on a
uterine tear without anesthesia. H.P. repeatedly com-
plained of discomfort during the procedure, yet Dr. Berg
refused to administer anesthesia which was offered by
Nurse Mowers.

At the start of the business day on June 12, 1992,
action commenced with respect to the Occurrence Report.
The Occurrence Report was reviewed and considered by
Dr. Branstetter, the head of the Department of Obstetrics,
Dr. Blanchard, the deputy head of the Department of
Family Practice, Mr. Hoffman, Humana’s assistant admin-
istrative director, and Dr. Haffey, the chief of the medical
staff. Both Dr. Branstetter and Dr. Blanchard stated to Dr.
Haffey, in writing, that it was their opinion that summary
suspension of the obstetric privileges of Dr. Berg was
required. Following discussion among the medical staff,
Dr. Haffey, in his capacity as the chief of the medical staff,
imposed a summary suspension of Dr. Berg’s obstetrical
privileges at Humana pending further investigation. The
trial court found that the “[a]ction was taken by [Dr.]

Haffey under circumstances where failure to take such
action might have resulted in imminent danger to the
health of any individual.” The trial court also concluded

that the summary suspension of Dr. Berg’s obstetrical
privileges was taken with the reasonable belief that the

action was in furtherance of quality health care and after
a reasonable effort to obtain the facts of the matter.

Immediately following the summary suspension, Dr.
Berg received notice of his right to an informal hearing
pursuant to Section 9.3.2 of Humana’s bylaws. The notice
identified several cases where Dr. Berg had encountered
medical problems in addition to the case involving H.P.
Dr. Haffey quickly appointed an ad hoc investigating com-
mittee composed of three medical staff physicians. The ad
hoc investigating committee and Dr. Berg received
advance notice of the matters which were to be consid-
ered and the ad hoc investigating committee discussed the
matters with Dr. Berg “at length.” The ad hoc committee
also interviewed Nurse Mowers.

The ad hoc investigating committee prepared a writ-
ten report to the Medical Staff Executive Committee rec-
ommending that the summary suspension should be
removed, but that Dr. Berg be placed on probation with
certain educational and related conditions. Prompted by
the report, the Medical Staff Executive Committee
decided to remove the summary suspension of Dr. Berg’s
obstetrical privileges on the conditions that Dr. Berg enter
into a continuing educational program and agree to
supervision of his obstetrical practice at Humana. Dr.
Berg, who was present at the Executive Committee meet-
ing, chose not to respond spontaneously to the Executive
Committee’s action, but, rather, indicated that he would
contact his attorney. After seeking the advice of his attor-

ney, Dr. Berg signed a written agreement dated July 1,

1992 which agreed to those two conditions of his continu-
ing to practice obstetrics at Humana. The trial court
found, as a matter of fact, that Dr. Berg’s execution of the

agreement negated any need for further actions or hear-
ings by Humana under its bylaws.

After waiting for about five or six weeks, Dr. Berg
advised Humana that he had decided not to comply with
the agreement of July 1, 1992, and instead requested the
matter to be reopened and that formal peer review pro-
ceedings under the bylaws be instituted. There was no
obligation under the bylaws for the Medical Staff Execu-
tive Committee to reopen the matter, since as found by
the trial court, Dr. Berg had entered into a binding agree-
ment terminating the peer review process. Nevertheless,
Dr. Berg withdrew that request before the Executive
Committee could act on it. The trial court found that Dr.
Berg was fully familiar with his rights under Humana’s
bylaws, particularly because he was chairman of a stand-
ing medical staff “By-Law Committee.” The trial court,
thus, concluded that Dr. Berg’s withdrawal of his new
request for hearing was fully voluntary and knowing,
and was a firm reason for Humana not to proceed with
Dr. Berg’s peer review process further.

Dr. Berg changed his mind again, however, and at his
request, he was permitted to address the Medical Staff
Executive Committee on September 8, 1992. At the Execu-
tive Committee meeting, one of the physicians on the
Committee reported that Dr. Berg had advised him prior
to the meeting that he no longer wished to practice
obstetrics at Humana; however, no written resignation
had been received. Thus, after hearing from Dr. Berg and
subsequent deliberation, the Executive Committee asked

for Dr. Berg either to resign his obstetrical privileges at
Humana in conformity with his prior statement, or his
obstetrical privileges would be suspended. After consul-
tation with his attorneys, on September 9, 1992, Dr. Berg
resigned his obstetrical privileges, which the trial court
found was “a voluntary act on the part of Dr. Berg to the
extent that his free will to make a choice was not over-
come by the conduct of the hospital or any other of the
defendants in this case.” Again, the trial court found that
due to Dr. Berg’s voluntary resignation of his obstetrical
privileges, further hearing or other proceedings under
Humana’s bylaws were neither expected nor required.

However, Dr. Berg went back and forth thereafter,
changing his mind several times over the period of Sep-
tember and October of 1992. During this period, Humana
offered to reinstate Dr. Berg’s obstetrical privileges under
the terms which Dr. Berg had negotiated and agreed to in
the July 1, 1992 agreement. Finally, after negotiations
between his counsel and Humana’s attorneys, Dr. Berg
resigned his privileges once and for all by a letter dated
October 30, 1992. The trial court again found that Dr.
Berg’s actions caused Humana not to move forward with
its formal hearing procedures under its bylaws.

In its conclusions of law, the trial court concluded
that the elements of the immunity statute (42 U.S.C.
§ 11112) had been satisfied, specifically as follows:

(1) The summary suspension of Dr. Berg’s
obstetrical privileges at Humana was taken
under circumstances where failure to act may
have resulted in imminent danger to the health
of any individual;

(2) The actions were taken in the reasonable
belief that the actions were in furtherance of
quality health care;

(3) At each step of the proceeding, the action
was taken after reasonable efforts were taken to
obtain the facts. In connection with activities of
the ad hoc committee, Dr. Berg was given “every
opportunity to explain himself or discuss the
matters”;

(4) Humana’s actions were taken after pro-
cedures which afforded adequate notice and
hearing to Dr. Berg and such procedures were
fair to Dr. Berg; and

(5) Humana’s actions were made in the reason-
able belief that they were warranted by the
facts.

The trial court concluded that the elements of the
Colorado immunity statute had also been satisfied:

(1) The actions were taken after a reasonable
effort to obtain the facts of the matter upon
which action was to be taken;

(2) The actions were taken with a reasonable
belief that the actions taken were warranted by
the facts; and

(3) The actions were taken in good faith within
the scope of the professional review committee
process.

The substandard obstetrical practice of Dr. Berg did
not escape notice of the Colorado State Board of Medical
Examiners. On June 14, 1995, the Colorado Attorney Gen-
eral initiated a formal complaint against Dr. Berg. An
amended complaint was filed by the Colorado Attorney

General on August 31, 1995. The amended complaint set
forth eight specific cases, including patient H.P., in which
Dr. Berg had failed to act properly. The Attorney General
alleged that Dr. Berg committed an act or omission consti-
tuting gross negligent medical practice or two or more
acts or omissions which failed to meet generally accepted
standards of medical practice.

On the eve of a hearing on the formal charges before
the State Board, Dr. Berg entered into a Stipulation and
Final Agency Order with the Attorney General. Pursuant
to that Stipulation, Dr. Berg agreed that, in the absence of
his presenting adequate evidence to the contrary, there
was sufficient evidence to establish a prima facie case of
two or more acts or omissions by him which failed to
meet generally accepted standards of medical practice.
Dr. Berg also agreed that he would not thereafter engage
in any form of obstetrical practice. Dr. Berg further
agreed that his medical license to continue to practice as a
general practitioner (but not as a specialist in obstetrics)
was to be placed on probationary status for a period of
five years. During the probationary period, Dr. Berg
agreed to be monitored by a “practice monitor.”

At the evidentiary hearing, the trial court declined to
admit portions of a report prepared by Somerville &
Associates, a team of consulting psychologists, concern-
ing management matters at Humana. The Court of
Appeals reversed the trial court's evidentiary finding,
holding that the Somerville Report was not protected by
Colorado’s psychologist-client privilege statute and
remanded the case for further proceedings consistent
with its ruling on admissibility and privilege. Contrary to
Petitioner’s assertions, no part of the Court of Appeals

ruling deals with the issue of immunity or good faith,
only that the Somerville Report is not protected by the
psychotherapist-client privilege. No ruling was made as
to the veracity or relevance of the report; admissibility of
the report remains the purview of the trial court upon
remand.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

THE CONDUCT OF PEER REVIEW ACTIVITIES BY A
PRIVATE HOSPITAL’S GOVERNING BODY OF ITS
OWN MEDICAL STAFF DOES NOT CONSTITUTE
STATE ACTION TO SUPPORT PETITIONER’S
CLAIMS UNDER 42 U.S.C. § 1983.

A. Peer Review has not traditionally been the exclu-
Sive prerogative of the state

42 U.S.C. § 1983, enacted pursuant to the authority of
Congress to enforce the Fourteenth Amendment, pro-
hibits interference with federal rights under color of state
law. The issue before this Court is whether Humana’s
action, as a private hospital, in temporarily suspending
Dr. Berg’s hospital privileges, is state action. Lugar v.
Edmondson Oil Co., 457 U.S. 922, 937, 102 S.Ct. 2744, 2745,
73 L.Ed.2d 482 (1982). Unless state action is involved, no
constitutional rights are implicated and no claim under
§ 1983 exists. Rendell-Baker v. Kohn, 457 U.S. 830, 102 S.Ct.
2764, 73 L.Ed.2d 205 (1982). If the action of Humana is not
state action, the inquiry ends.

By strained statutory interpretation and facile but
fallacious logic, petitioner attempts to bootstrap the con-
duct of professional review activities into state action and

a private hospital into a division of the Colorado Board of
Medical Examiners. Petitioner’s position is not supported
by history, precedent or sound reasoning. Evaluation of
the competency and qualifications of staff physicians for
purposes of achieving the highest medical practice stan-
dards, patient safety and quality patient care has long
been a prerogative of private medical institutions. Using
the fruits of peer review activities to assist the Colorado
Board of Medical Examiners in the discharge of its licens-
ing and oversight functions does not convert an histori-
cally private function into state action. The existence of a
nexus between professional review organizations and the
Colorado Board of Medical Examiners’ disciplinary pro-
cess does not make the former an instrumentality of the
latter.

This Court has established the parameters for deter-
mining whether state action exists: “We have held that
the question [of state action under § 1983] is whether the
function performed has been ‘traditionally the exclusive
prerogative of the State’” [Court’s own emphasis]. Ren-
dell-Baker v. Kohn, 457 U.S. 830, 842, 102 S.Ct. 2764, 2772,
73 L.Ed.2d 205 (1982). This requirement is reaffirmed in
Blum v. Yaretsky, 457 U.S. 991, 1011, 102 S.Ct. 2777, 2789
(1982). Case authority is both legion and uniform in hold-
ing that, because professional peer review at private hos-
pitals has not traditionally been the exclusive prerogative
of the state, peer review at private hospitals does not
constitute state action. See, e.g., Loh-Seng Yo v. Cibola Gen-
eral Hospital, 706 F.2d 306, 307-08 (10th Cir. 1983).

Private hospitals have routinely engaged in peer
review of their staff physicians for important private
reasons. See, e.g., Shulman v. Washington Hospital Center,

10

222 F. Supp. 59, 64 (D.D.C. 1963). Therein the court
remarked:

“Necessarily hospitals endeavor to secure the
most competent and experienced staff for their
patients. Without regard to the absence of any
legal liability, the hospital in admitting a physi-
cian or a surgeon to its facilities extends a moral
imprimateur to him in the eyes of the public.
Moreover, not all professional men have a per-
sonality that enables them to work at harmony
with others, and to inspire confidence in their
fellows and in patients. . . . It becomes indispen-
sable, therefore, for every such institution to
make choices as to whom it will admit to its
portals.” [Emphasis in original.]

A private hospital engages in peer review “so that it can
have confidence in the competent and moral commitment
of its staff.” Sosa v. Managers of Val Verde Memorial Hospi-
tal, 437 F.2d 173, 177 (5th Cir. 1971).

Peer review activities in Colorado have been tradi-
tionally private in nature. While the Board of Medical
Examiners has historically enjoyed the exclusive author-
ity and responsibility for licensure of physicians in the
State, professional review activities for purposes of ascer-
taining physician qualifications and competence to enjoy
hospital privileges has never been exercised by that state
agency. As early as 1975, a decade before the enactment
of the Health Care Quality Improvement Act, 42 U.S.C.
§ 11101 et seq., the Colorado Legislature recognized the
value of encouraging discipline and control of the prac-
tice of health care rendered by physicians in hospitals by
committees comprised of their peers. See Section
12-43.5-101 C.R.S. (L.75, p. 465, § 1 repealed, S.B.261, eff.

11

July 1, 1989). In fact, nowhere are professional review
activities either claimed or exercised by any Colorado
state agency. Certainly, then, the Colorado Board of Medi-
cal Examiners exercises no “exclusive” control over the
private peer review process.

The current Colorado Professional Review Act
(Colo.Rev.Stat. § 12-36.5-101 et seq.) does not change this
historical and traditional deference. Section 12-36.5-103,
C.R.S., expresses the intent of the General Assembly that
the Board of Medical Examiners utilize and allow profes-
sional review committees and governing boards to assist
it. This language does not delegate any authority to pri-
vate peer review organizations, nor does it abrogate the
Board of Medical Examiners’ traditional exclusive func-
tions concerning the licensure of physicians in this state.

Creating a statutory scheme whereby private hospi-
tals can review the conduct practiced by its staff physi-
cians and oversee the quality of medical care does not
rise to state action just because there is some interrela-
tionship between that private function and state regula-
tory or investigatory authority. In Wong v. Tripling, 881
F.2d 200 (5th Cir. 1989), a physician asserted a § 1983
claim against a private hospital for revocation of his staff
privileges, claiming that there was state action because
“Mississippi's comprehensive scheme governing the sus-

pension, revocation or restriction of hospital staff privi-
leges creates a program whereby hospitals perform a
traditional state function,” allegedly a peer review. Wong,
881 F.2d at 201-02. The Fifth Circuit affirmed the federal
district court’s dismissal of the physician’s § 1983 claim

12

for lack of state action, holding that “the hospital’s execu-
tive committee did not perform a traditional state func-
tion in revoking Dr. Wong’s staff privileges.” Similarly, in
Goss v. Memorial Hospital System, 789 F.2d 353, 356 (5th
Cir. 1986), the Fifth Circuit held that the Texas Medical
Practice Act’s provisions governing peer review did not
create state action for purposes of § 1983. Just like the
Colorado statute, the Texas Act “authorizes a medical
peer review committee to report its finding of a physi-
cian’s incompetency to the Texas State Board of Medical
Examiners.”

In Tunca v. Lutheran General Hospital, 844 F.2d 411 (7th
Cir. 1988), the Seventh Circuit held that even a compre-
hensive statutory scheme requiring hospitals to develop
procedural guidelines for considering applicants for med-
ical staff privileges does not render the hospital a state
actor for purposes of § 1983. The Fourth Circuit held, in
affirming the dismissal of a physician’s section 1983
claim, that where the state statute did not give a private
hospital the authority to revoke a physician’s medical
license, the statute did not delegate to a private entity
“powers exclusively reserved to the State.” Modaber v.
Culpeper Memorial Hospital, 674 F.2d 1023, 1027 (4th Cir.
1982). The Court reasoned:

“The state does not make a hospital’s decision to
revoke privileges dispositive of license revoca-
tion. The hospital makes its own decision for its own |
reasons. Making it State action merely because it |
is reported to the medical licensing authority
would be just as non-sensical as making a pri-
vate employer’s decision to fire a parolee State
action because it is reported to the parole com-
mission. In each case, the reasons for making the

saniitaii a a i

13

decision may be totally independent of the
state’s reason for wanting the information.
[Emphasis added.]

Petitioner’s interpretation of Nicholas v. North Colo-
rado Medical Center, 902 P.2d 462 (Colo. App. 1995), aff'd
sub nom, North Colorado Medical Center v. The Committee on
Anticompetitive Conduct, 914 P.2d 902 (Colo. 1996), is erro-
neous. First, Petitioner asserts that in Nicholas the Court
of Appeals determined that when performing peer
review activities the governing board is clothed with the
status -of a state (Petition for Certiorari, at page 11).
Nicholas specifically did not reach that issue. The Court of
Appeals expressly declined to decide if North Colorado
Medical Center’s governing board was a subordinate
state agency to the Committee on Anticompetitive Con-
duct; rather, it upheld the complaining physician’s stand-
ing to appeal on the alternative ground that C.R.S.
§ 12-36.5-106 itself expressly permitted the loser in a final
administrative action before the Committee on Anticom-
petitive Conduct to appeal to the Colorado Court of
Appeals.'! The Court of Appeals had an opportunity to
revisit its Own opinion in Nicholas in this case, and it
reaffirmed its holding that Nicholas is limited to questions
of anticompetitive conduct and did not address peer
review concerning any other matters, including “whether
peer review on other than noncompetitive conduct
should be deemed action taken under color of state law

' Significantly, the duties of the Committee of Anti-
competitive Conduct, and C.R.S. § 12-36.5-106 under which the
Nicholas proceeding was brought, solely involve a charge that
the peer reviewers’ conduct was anti-competitive. Dr. Berg has
not alleged any anti-competitive conduct.

a LO

14

for 42 U.S.C. § 1983 actions.” (Court of Appeals Opinion,
at p. 4.)

Petitioner urges this Court to adopt an absurd statu-
tory construction: Petitioner urges that, in response to a
1988 antitrust decision arising in Oregon,? the Colorado
General Assembly determined to make a wholesale
change to the peer review process, erase the historical
distinction between private hospitals and public agencies,
and declare all peer review activities of a private hospital
“state action.” Petitioner offers no legislative history or
evidence of legislative purpose to support this assertion.
But, even if the Colorado Legislature determined to miti-
gate this Court’s opinion in Patrick v. Burget, supra, it
adopted a more direct approach to insulate private peer
review organizations from claims of antitrust, by enacting
C.R.S. § 12-36.5-104(14) which declares such peer review
organizations not to be unlawful conspiracies. That
amendment, coupled with the enactment of the provi-
sions establishing the Committee on Anticompetitive
Conduct in § 12-36.5-106, reflects a legislative intent to
deal exclusively with antitrust considerations affecting
peer review activities, and not with any other traditional
private peer review.

Under Petitioner’s theory, every single medical staff
decision made by a private hospital in Colorado would
constitute state action. The General Assembly could not
possibly have intended such a radical federalization of
peer review at private hospitals when it amended the

2 Patrick v. Burget, 486 U.S. 94 (1988).

15

Colorado Professional Review Act to create the Commit-
tee on Anti-competitive Conduct. Adopting such inter-
pretation would charge the private sector with state
action in the performance of functions historically consid-
ered private. Ward v. St. Anthony Hospital, 476 F.2d 671,
675 (10th Cir. 1973); Sokol v. University Hospital, Inc., 402 F.
Supp. 1029, 1031 (D. Mass. 1975).

In summary, there is no authority to support Peti-
tioner’s proposition that the assistance of a private pro-
fessional review organization to a public agency
transforms those activities into state action. The conduct
of a professional peer review is not traditionally, histori-
cally or exclusively the prerogative of the State of Colo-
rado. The relevant statutes create no substantive
participation, supervision, authority or control by the
Colorado Board of Medical Examiners into the private,
internal functions of peer review organizations sufficient
to elevate their conduct into the conduct of the Board of
Medical Examiners itself.

B. A private hospital’s peer review activities are nei-
ther an integral part of the operation of the Colo-
rado Board of Medical Examiners nor indispensable
to the discharge of its functions so that the activ-
ities assume the character of governmental action.

Petitioner’s argument that Respondents’ private peer
review activities constitute state action has been rejected
by virtually every court which has addressed the issue,
because medical staff peer review has traditionally and
historically been the prerogative of private hospitals and
not the exclusive prerogative of the state. Thwarted by

16

the legion of authority on point against his position,
Petitioner attempts to bootstrap his claim into state action
by suggesting that Humana’s private peer review activ-
ities are so entwined and impregnated by state action that
they are in fact the actions of the Colorado Board of
Medical Examiners under Petitioner’s own flawed anal-
ysis of this Court’s opinion in Burton v. Wilmington Park-
ing Authority, 365 U.S. 715 (1961).

Petitioner’s argument is without merit. First, the
appropriate test to measure Respondents’ conduct, as
rightly and consistently held by all courts which have
addressed this issue, is whether the conduct complained
of has historically been the exclusive prerogative of the
state. Rendell-Baker v. Kohn, 457 U.S. 830 (1982). Respon-
dents have shown categorically that it is not. Second, the
test enunciated in Burton and its progeny deals with
circumstances on which the state participates in activities
historically private in character. Defining state action in
such circumstances requires a determination, considering
the aggregate of relevant factors, that the state has so far
insinuated itself into an interdependence with private
conduct that it has become a joint enterprise compelling
the finding of state responsibility for private action. Thus,
this Court held in Burton, that state action exists in an
instance where the land and buildings in question were
publicly owned, the property was dedicated to public
use, the performance of the parking authority was

declared to be an essential state function, and the acquisi-
tion, construction and maintenance of the facility were
paid for by revenue bonds financed through proceeds
from the operation of the facility.

17

Similarly, in Evans v. Newton, 382 U.S. 296 (1966),
another case cited by Petitioner, this Court determined
that the status of the city as trustee of a private park
which was an integral part of the city’s activities, main-
tained by city personnel and funds, and exempted from
city taxation, demonstrated a governmental control suffi-
cient to constitute state action. In West v. Atkins, 487 U.S.
42 (1988), yet another case cited by Petitioner, this Court
held that the actions of private physicians hired by the
state of North Carolina to provide medical treatment of
inmates of its prisons were agents of the state because (1)
the state had a federal constitutional obligation under the
Eighth Amendment to provide adequate medical care to
those to whom it had incarcerated; (2) the state hired
physicians to fulfill its constitutional obligation; (3)
inmates must rely solely on those physicians provided by
the state for their medical needs; and (4) the physicians
function within the state system in rendering medical
care and treatment. While the Burton analysis may be
appropriate to test a single, historically private activity
(such as operating a parking garage, or managing a park,
or providing medical treatment to inmates), it is inappli-
cable in circumstances where the totality of private con-
duct is challenged as state action and where such private
conduct has never been the exclusive prerogative of the
state.

However, even if the rule in Burton and its progeny
were applied here, the conduct of Respondents do not
constitute state action because the totality of aggregate
facts here do not support the finding of an intertwined or
symbiotic relationship between private peer review orga-
nizations and the Colorado Board of Medical Examiners

18

so that the former takes on the governmental character of
the latter. The fact that the Colorado Peer Review Act
declares that private hospitals may establish peer review
organizations, governed by their own bylaws, and
administered by their own internal governing bodies, and
the fact that such peer review activities are immunized if
they are conducted in accordance with the principles of
good faith and procedure, does not constitute the take-
over of private peer review by the State of Colorado.

¢

CONCLUSION

Petitioner’s argument that the Colorado Peer Review
Act converts historically and traditionally private hospi-
tal peer review activities into state action is without
merit. Peer review activities have been traditionally, his-
torically and exclusively a private function of hospital-
governing bodies. They are used, encouraged and even
relied upon by the Colorado Board of Medical Examiners.
However, that does not convert these private governing
boards and private peer review organizations into arms
of the state, subjecting every decision they make to

19

federal civil rights scrutiny. Petitioner’s request for a writ
of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

Peter J. Lucas*

L. RicHArD FReEsE, Jr.
CATHERINE A. G. SPARKMAN
Douerty, Rumsie & Butter, P.C.
1200 Seventeenth Street
Denver, Colorado 80202

(303) 572-6200

*Counsel of Record for Respondents

Counsel for Respondents Jack
Shapiro, Humana Hospital
Mountain View, Inc., John A.
Hoffman, Thomas J. Blanchard and
Does 3 Through 10

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_2392%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
