# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Thompson v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_2381%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1998
- **Citation:** 523 U.S. 1077

## Text

Supreme Court, U.K
FILED

971504 MAR 1 219%

OFFICE OF THE CLERK
IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1997

SENIOR AIRMAN MATTHEW C. THOMPSON,
PETITIONER

Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, RESPONDENT

Petition For a Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

W. Craig Mullen

Captain, United States Air Force
Appellate Defense Counsel
Counsel of Record

Douglas H. Kohrt

Colonel, United States Air Force
Chief, Appellate Defense Division
Counsel for Petitioner

Air Force Legal Services Agency
Appellate Defense Division

112 Luke Avenue, Suite 343
Bolling AFB, DC 20332-8000
(202) 767-1562

February 1998

A etree rat
AMS

QUFSTION PRESENTED

Whether Conviction of the Petitioner for sodomy for a
private consensual act between the Petitioner and his wife is a
violation of his Constitutional right to privacy.

ill

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
IEE SOMITE TIED 5 ooo cc valve webeeccsevdcens i
PE AP UTED 5 occ ce cece cvcccvcscucers iv
a Go o's so G0 8S 's.5 40:40 50s oe eee kk l
ik dines 60 ha Rain bodie Oecd eka e 6h l
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED ......... l
eS SO: SOME GOs 6605 oo voce cess esceenes 2
REASON FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ............... 4

CONVICTION OF THE PETITIONER FOR
SODOMY FOR A PRIVATE CONSENSUAL ACT
BETWEEN THE PETITIONER AND HIS WIFE
IS A VIOLATION OF THE PETITIONER’S
CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHT TO PRIVACY.

I Soa wd etn a dahkw® <4-d ue Wma een a 4 o 7
APPENDIX A
(Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals
or Chee wk ces la
APPENDIX B

(Opinion of the United States Air Force
ce ee Sa

iV
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page

Supreme Court Cases

Bowers v. Hardwick, 478 U.S. 186 (1986)........... 4

Carey v. Population Serv. Intl., 431

Nena 15 Cera Ek RON Ko teak eae OS 5

Eisenstadt v. Baird, 405 U.S. 438 (1972)............ 6

Griswold v. Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479 (1965). ....... l

Roe & Wee; S10 US. TIS FISD) ve es 1

Thornburg v. American College of

Obstetricians & Gynecologists,

SE PI os op bcc bis been sev rnnee as 6
Military Cases:

United States v. Gates, 40 M.J. 354

es TE | WR ie eeendire Sire anit Enere ae -are 6

United States v. Thompson, 47 M.J. 378 (1997)....... |
Federal Statutes:

10 U.S.C.A. § 867(a) (West Supp. 1996)........... ]

10 U.S.C.A. § 880 (West Supp. 1996) .............. 2

10 U.S.C.A. § 892 (West Supp. 1996) .............. 2

10 U.S.C.A. § 925 (West Supp. 1996) .............. 2

10 U.S.C.A. § 928 (West Supp. 1996) .............. 2

10 U.S.C.A. § 934 (West Supp. 1996) .............. 2

28 U.S.C.A. § 1259(3) (West Supp. 1996)........... l

1s ene eee

|

The petitioner, Senior Airman Matthew C. Thompson,
respectfully prays that a writ of certiorari issue to review the
order and judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Armed Forces entered in his case on December 16, 1997.

OPINIONS BELOW

The order and judgment of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Armed Forces, reported at United States v.
Thompson, 47 M.J. 378 (1997), is located at Appendix A. The
unpublished opinion of the United States-Air Force Court of
Criminal Appeals (No. ACM 31803, August 8, 1996) is
located at Appendix B.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Armed Forces was entered on December 16, 1997. The
jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.A. § 1259
(3) (West Supp. 1996) and 10 U.S.C.A. § 867(a) (West Supp.
1996).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The Constitution recognizes a right of privacy with
respect to those rights regarded as “fundamental” or
“implicit” in the concept of ordered liberty. Roe v. Wade, 410
U.S. 113 (1973). Although privacy is not a specifically
enumerated right in the Constitutional Bill of Rights, the First
Amendment has a “penumbra where privacy is protected from
governmental intrusion.” Griswold v. Connecticut, 381 U.S.
479, 483 (1965).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Procedural History:

On 10-13 July 1995, the Petitioner was convicted by a
general court-martial. Petitioner was charged with attempted
murder of his wife in violation Article 80, U.C.M.J., 10
U.S.C. § 880, two specifications of assault on his wife in
violation of Article 128, U.C.M.J., 10 U.S.C. § 928, one
specification of consensual sodomy with his wife in violation
of Article 125, U.C.M.J, 10 U.S.C. § 925, one specification of
communicating a threat in violation of Article 134, U.C.M.J.,
10 U.S.C. § 934, and one specification of a failure to obey a
lawful order in violation of Article 92, U.C.M.J., 10 U.S.C.
§ 892.

One specification of assault and the Charge of failing to
obey the order were dismissed. The Petitioner was convicted,
contrary to his pleas, of the remaining charges and
specifications. He was found not guilty of attempted murder
but was found guilty of the lesser-included offense of
aggravated assault.

The petitioner was sentenced to a Bad Conduct
Discharge, confinement for 30 months, forfeiture of all pay
and allowances, and reduction to Airman Basic. The
convening authority approved the sentence as adjudged on
September 12, 1995. On August 8, 1996 the Air Force Court
of Criminal Appeals affirmed the findings and sentence.
Appendix B. On December 16, 1997, the United States Court
of Appeals for the Armed Forces affirmed the decision of the
lower military court. Appendix A.

Statement of Facts:

The Petitioner and his wife were married during their
assignment in Germany in 1993. The Petitioner’s wife had a
daughter prior to their marriage. The Petitioner’s wife

SS NS aS

a hi tieeaaialae aaa

testified against her husband, the Petitioner, about the March
19, 1995 incident. (TR. 90-137).

She said that she and her husband went socializing at
friends’ homes that afternoon and evening and that her
husband drank heavily during the course of that time. She
said that she left the party at about 2100 hours (9:00 p.m.) and
took her daughter home but that the Petitioner stayed. She
explained that he returned home late and woke her up “real
gentle like” and that he was feeling amorous. (TR. 103). She
said she told him she was not interested in engaging in sex.
She said he left the room temporarily but returned and got the
pistol the two kept in their bedroom. (TR. 103). She said he
wanted to talk about her adultery but that she refused. (TR.
107). She claimed they argued, he became increasingly angry
and he eventually pushed her to the floor and straddled her.
(TR. 109). She said that as they argued, he would not let her
leave the room in spite of her best efforts, and hit her with his
hands and the gun multiple times (TR. 109) and kicked her
once. (TR. 110). This was the basis of Charge II]. She said
that this argument lasted “probably about an hour” when she
finally admitted to him that she had been committing adultery.
(TR. 111). She said he then became even angrier and pointed
the gun at her forehead. (TR. 111-112). This was the basis of
Charge I. She said she then decided to calm her husband
down by unzipping and pulling down his pants and
performing oral sex on him. (TR. 114). She explained that he
initially refused but eventually succumbed to her
ministrations. (TR. 129-130). Afterwards, she said, they
both took a shower. (TR. 115). The Petitioner then called a
friend who came by for a short visit but stayed only a half-
hour or so. (TR. 116). They went to bed, he fell asleep and
she then left the house. (TR. 118).

REASON FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

CONVICTION OF THE APPELLANT FOR
SODOMY FOR A PRIVATE CONSENSUAL ACT
BETWEEN THE APPELLANT AND HIS WIFE IS
A VIOLATION OF THE APPELLANT’S
CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHT TO PRIVACY.

As discussed above, the Petitioner’s wife, an active duty
military member, initiated the act of sodomy upon her
husband. He initially resisted but eventually succumbed to
her ministrations and allowed her to commit sodomy upon
him. (TR. 114, 129-130). This was done in the privacy of
their marital bedroom (at the conclusion of the argument that
gave rise to the assault charges). The act was not charged as a
forcible sodomy.' Although the military judge clearly found
this charge to be of questionable judgment, he overruled the
defense motion to find the charge failed to state an offense.
(App. Ex. II, II, R 21-26, 31).

This Honorable Court has found that privacy is a right
protected by the “penumbra” of the Bill of Rights and that
marriage is a “relationship lying within th[is] zone of
privacy.” Griswold v. Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479 (1965)
(overturning a state law prohibiting use of contraceptives by
married couples). The Supreme Court did address the issue of
whether homosexual sodomy is protected by the
Constitutional right to privacy and found that it is not. This
Court found “no connection between family, marriage, or
procreation on the one hand and homosexual activity on the
other.” Bowers v. Hardwick, 478 U.S. 186, 191 (1986).
However, the Court limited its holding to homosexual

'Trial counsel conceded that the act was not forcible sodomy (TR. 24).
The appellant does note, however, that trial counsel did seem to be arguing
some form of forcible sodomy at several points during the record. See
e.g., TR. 200, 215.

activity. The Court refused to rule on the question of adult
consensual heterosexual activity—let alone activity within
marriage. Bowers v. Hardwick, 478 U.S. at 188 n2. As
Justice Stevens, joined by Justices Brennan and Marshall in
dissent, asserted “[t]he essential ‘liberty’ that animated the
development of cases like Griswold, Eisenstadt,? and Carey?
surely embraces the right to engage in [marital]
nonreproductive, sexual conduct . . . our prior cases thus
establish that a State may not prohibit sodomy within ‘the
sacred precincts of marital bedrooms.’” Jd.

In affirming the petitioner’s conviction, the United States
Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces relied on the fact that
this consensual act of sodomy occurred at the end of a brutal
beating. That court held:

The extent to which the constitutional right to
privacy prohibits a prosecution for sexual relations
within a marital relationship raises important
constitutional questions. Any such constitutional
right, however, must bear a reasonable relationship
to activity that is in furtherance of or supportive of
the interests of the marital relationship. Those
interests are not at issue in circumstances where, as
in this case, the husband is engages in a brutal
beating of his wife. See generally Mil.R.Evid.
504(c)(2)(A), Manual for Courts-Martial, United
States (1995 ed.) (privilege or confidential marital
communications does not exist “[i]n proceedings in
which one spouse is charged with a crime against
the person...of the other spouse....”). Under the
circumstances of this case, appellant is in no
position to claim the protection of a constitutional

2 Eisenstadt v. Baird, 405 U.S. 438 (1972).
3Carey v. Population Serv. Intl., 431 U.S. 678 (1977).

—

right that is intended to protect the interest of the
marital relationship.

Thompson, 47 M.J. at 379. While it is true that the act of
sodomy case at the end of a brutal beating, the lower court
failed to realize that the act of sodomy was consensual and
actually contributed to marital harmony. The Petitioner’s wife
initiated the act of sodomy. This act was consensual and was
successful in stopping the beating. Petitioner was charged
and convicted for the various assaults. He does not challenge
those convictions here. But the act of sodomy was consensual
and in furtherance of the marital relationship. It is this
conviction that violates his constitutional right of privacy.

Griswold’s right to privacy recognized the unique bond
of the marital relationship, and has been extended to
unmarried persons only in limited circumstances. Compare
Eisenstadt v. Baird, 405 U.S. 438, 453 (1971) (right to use
contraceptives extends to unmarried couples), with Bowers v.
Hardwick, 478 U.S. 186, 191 (1986) (no constitutional right
to engage in homosexual sodomy). It has specifically been
limited in the military. United States v. Gates, 40 M.J. 354
(C.M.A. 1994) (conviction upheld for “consensual,
noncommercial. heterosexual fellatio that is performed in
private between two unmarried adults.”). The crux of the
Griswold decision is that government has no legitimate
interest in regulating private, consensual sexual activity
between a husband and wife.

The Petitioticr was convicted for engaging in private,
noncommercial, consensual oral sodomy with his wife. This
intimate behavior falls squarely within this Honorable Court’s
recognition that “the Constitution embodies a promise that a
certain private sphere of individual liberty will be kept largely
beyond the reach of government.” Thornburgh v. American
College of Obstetricians & Gynecologists, 476 U.S. 747, 772

(1986). The lower court’s decision invades the Petitioner’s
constitutional right of privacy.

CONCLUSION

The Petitioner’s constitutional right of privacy has been
invaded by his conviction for his private, consensual,
noncommercial act of oral sodomy with his wife. This is
contrary to prior rulings of this Honorable Court and thus,
must not stand.

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

W. CRAIG MULLEN

Captain, United States Air Force
Appellate Defense Division
Counsel of Record

| DouGLas H. KOHRT

| Colonel, United States Air Force

' Chief, Appellate Defense Counsel
Counsel for Petitioner

Air Force Legal Services Agency
Appellate Defense Division

112 Luke Avenue, Suite 208
Bolling AFB, DC 20332-8000
(202) 767-1562

February 1998

la

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES, Appellee

V.

Matthew C. THOMPSON, Senior Airman
U.S. Air Force, Appellant

No. 96-1412
Crim. App. No. 31803
United States Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces
Argued November 6, 1997
Decided December 16, 1997

Counsel

For Appellant: Captain W. Craig Mullen (argued); Colonel
Douglas H. Kohrt (on brief); Colonel David W. Madsen and
Major Ormond R. Fodrea.

For Appellee: Captain Steven D. Dubriske (argued); Colonel
Brenda J. Hollis and Lieutenant Colonel Michael J. Breslin
(on brief).

Military Judge: Terence A. Curtin
PER CURIAM:

Contrary to his pleas, appellant was convicted by a
general court-martial of officer and enlisted members of
assault, aggravated assault, and sodomy, in violation of
Articles 128(a), 128(b), and 125, Uniform Code of Military
Justice, 10 USC §§ 928(a), 928(b), and 925, respectively.
Appellant was sentenced to a bad-conduct discharge,
confinement for 30 months, total forfeitures, and reduction to

2a

the lowest enlisted grade. The convening authority approved
these results, and the Court of Criminal Appeals affirmed in
an unpublished opinion.

This Court granted review of the following issue:

WHETHER CONVICTION OF APPELLANT FOR |
SODOMY FOR A PRIVATE, CONSENSUAL |
ACT BETWEEN APPELLANT AND HIS WIFE

IS A VIOLATION OF APPELLANT’S

CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHT TO PRIVACY.

In addition, we specified the following issue:

WHETHER IT WAS PREJUDICIAL ERROR FOR
THE MILITARY JUDGE TO ENTER THE
CLOSED DELIBERATIVE SESSION.

DISCUSSION OF THE GRANTED ISSUE

Appellant was convicted of assault and aggravated
assault arising out of an attack on his wife. In the course of
the beating, appellant held a 9 mm handgun against his wife’s
forehead and attempted to fire it. The weapon, although
loaded, did not discharge. As appellant was loading a second
clip in the gun, his wife attempted to divert his attention by
engaging him in an act of sodomy. This act formed the basis
of the sodomy charge against appellant. Appellant asserts that
is sodomy conviction represents an “intrusion . . . into the
sanctity of the marital relationship [which] violates guarantees
of privacy found in the penumbra of the Bill of Rights.” Final
Brief at 6.

The extent to which the constitutional right to privacy
prohibits a prosecution for sexual relations within a marital
relationship raises important constitutional questions. Any
such constitutional right, however, must bear a reasonable
relationship to activity that is in furtherance of or supportive
of the interests of the marital relationship. Those interests are

3a

not at issue in circumstances where, as in this case, the
husband is engaged in a brutal beating of his wife. See
generally Mil.R.Evid. 504(c)(2)(A), Manual for Courts-
Martial, United States (1995 ed.) (privilege for confidential
marital communications does not exist “[i]n proceedings in
which one spouse is charged with a crime against the
person . . . of the other spouse. . . .”). Under the circumstances
of this case, appellant is in no position to claim the protection
of a constitutional right that is intended to protect the interests
of the marital relationship.

DISCUSSION OF THE SPECIFIED ISSUE

During the deliberation of the members on findings, the
members advised the military judge that they had questions
about the findings worksheet. The military judge,
accompanied by the court reporter, entered the deliberation
room without counsel or appellant and answered the
members’ questions. We agree with the Court of Criminal
Appeals that it was error for the military judge to enter the
closed session and conduct proceedings without appellant or
counsel. Unpub. op. at 5; see Art. 39(b), UCMJ, 10 USC
§ 839(b); United States v. Allbee, 5 USCMA 448, 450, 18
CMR 72, 74 (1955) (error when law officer entered closed
session to pass on form of proposed sentence).

Because this error was neither constitutional nor
jurisdictional, we test it for prejudice under Article 59(a),
UCMSJ, 10 USC § 859(a). Under the specific circumstances of
this case, we agree with the conclusion of the Court of
Criminal Appeals that appellant is not entitled to relief
because his substantial rights were not materially prejudiced
by the error.

As we noted in Allbee, violation of Article 39(b) creates
a “rebuttable presumption . . . [of] prejudice” against the

4a

Government. 5 USCMA at 452, 18 CMR at 76. At the outset
of our analysis, we note that the military judge took the court
reporter into the closed session and made a verbatim
transcript, which then was provided to the parties at trial. As a
result, we have a record of the session at the appellate level
and can review this case for prejudice. Compare United States
v. Martinez, 40 MJ 82, 84 (CMA 1994).

Our review of the transcript shows that the questions
asked by the members concerned only the form of the findings
worksheet and not the substance of the deliberations. The
members already had reached their decisions as to the
findings,and they simply inquired how to enter the lesser-
included offenses onto the worksheet. Nothing was said in the
closed session that would have been objectionable if it had
been said in an open session. All of the answers given by the
military judge would have been appropriate had they been
stated in an open session. Appellant has not identified any
prejudice. Neither trial nor appellate defense counsel has
identified any matter that appellant would have either
challenged or sought to clarify had it been stated in an open
session. Under these circumstances, we find that the
Government has rebutted the presumption of prejudice, and
appellant is not entitled to relief.

CONCLUSION

The decision of the United States Air Force Court of
Criminal Appeals is affirmed.

Sa

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES AIR FORCE COURT OF
CRIMINAL APPEALS

UNITED STATES

Senior Airman MATTHEW C. THOMPSON,
FR466—59-6943
United States Air Force

ACM 31803

8 August 1996

Sentence adjudged 13 July 1995 by GCM convened at Dyess
Air Force Base, Texas. Military Judge: Terence A. Curtin

Approved sentence: Bad-conduct discharge, confinement for
30 months, forfeiture of all pay and allowances, and reduction
to E-1. a

Appellate Counsel for Appellant: Colonel Jay L. Cohen and
Major Ormond R. Fodrea

Appellate Counsel for the United States: Colonel Jeffery T.
Infelise, Lieutenant Colonel Michael J. Breslin, and Captain
R. Scott Howard.

Before

HEIMBURG, GAMBOA; and SENANDER
Appellate Military Judges

6a

OPINION OF THE COURT
SENANDER, Judge:

The appellant was convicted, contrary to his pleas, by a
court-martial composed of officer and enlisted members, of
sodomy, aggravated assault, and assault and battery. Articles
125 and 128, UCMJ, 10 U.S.C. §§ 925, 928 (1994). His
approved sentence is a bad-conduct discharge, confinement
for 30 months, forfeiture of all pay and allowances, and
reduction to E—1. The appellant asserts violation of his
constitutional right to privacy by his conviction of consensual
sodomy with his wife. He also asserts multiplicity, unresolved
conflict with counsel, and deprivation of his right to a public
trial when the military judge entered the members’ closed
deliberations. We find error, but no prejudice, and affirm.

BACKGROUND

The appellant and his wife of three years, an active duty
senior airman, socialized with friends during the late
afternoon and evening of March 18, 1995. During the course
of the evening, the appellant became intoxicated. While at
their friend’s house, the appellant invited his wife to join him
in their car, where he questioned her repeatedly about her
rumored infidelity. She denied that she had been unfaithful,
and appellant returned to his friend’s house. Another
confrontation occurred in the friend’s house. The appellant’s
wife went home without appellant.

When the appellant returned home, his wife was
sleeping. He attempted to interest her in intercourse, but she
told him that she was tired and not feeling -well. He left the
room, but returned later, turned on the light and found his 9
mm pistol. The appellant’s wife thought she heard him “put a
clip in the gun and cock the hammer.” He again questioned
her about rumors of her infidelity, while the pistol lay on the
bed between them. After repeated questioning, she went to the

Ta

bathroom. He followed her into the bathroom and pushed her
against the latrine and to the floor as she tried to leave the
bathroom.

She returned to the bed and sat on the side, as appellant
continued to question her about her rumored infidelity, which
she denied. He became angrier and pushed her to the floor.
The appellant jumped on top of her back while she was on her
hands and knees. He then repeatedly hit her about the head,
arms and back with his hands and the pistol, which he had in
his right hand. She tried to leave the bedroom when he got up,
but appellant pushed her over and sat on top of her. He pinned
her torso-and arms to the floor. The questioning and
intermittent hitting continued for what appellant’s wife
described as “about an hour.” While still pinned to the floor,
she admitted to one incident of adultery and appellant became
enraged. He pushed the 9 mm pistol against her forehead and,
based on what his wife heard, pulled the trigger. The pistol
did not fire because the mechanism would not work when it
was pushed tightly against her forehead. She heard a clicking
sound and the appellant saying “Damn, something is wrong
with the gun.”

He reached over to get another clip and started working
on the pistol. While he worked, his wife was able to free her
arms. In an attempt to distract the appellant, she unzipped his
pants ant took his penis out. The appellant’s wife testified that
the appellant asked, “What are you doing?” and she told him,
“Just let me do this. I want to do this.” The appellant
responded, “I don’t want you to do that.” Despite his protest,
appellant’s wife performed fellatio on him. Her effort to
distract him worked and he suggested they both take a
shower. The appellant then called a female acquaintance while
his wife fixed her hair. The appellant’s friend came over and
talked for about 30 minutes. After the friend left, the appellant
fell asleep and his wife took their daughter and went for help.

8a

SODOMY

The appellant asserts that his conviction for the offense
of sodomy with his wife is a violation of his constitutional
right to privacy. The standard of review for a fundamental
personal liberty such as the constitutional right to privacy is a
de novo review by the Court. Jacobellis v. Ohio, 378 U.S.
184, 190 (1964).

Article 125, UCMJ, prohibits unnatural carnal copulation
with another person of the same or opposite sex. There is no
exception provided for married couples. The appellant asserts
case law only addresses heterosexual fellatio that is
performed, in private, between two unmarried adults. See
United States v. Gates, 40 M.J. 354 (C.M.A. 1994); United
States v. Henderson, 34 M.J. 174 (C.M.A. 1992); United
States v. Fagg, 34 M.J. 179 (C.M.A. 1992), cert. denied, 506
U.S. 829, 113 S.Ct. 92 (1992). He asks us to distinguish this
case because the act of sodomy occurred between married
adults. We decline to do so.

We certainly can question the wisdom of charging this
consensual sodomy offense, initiated by the appellant’s wife
to distract him, along with the extremely serious assault
charges. However, we decline to conclude that the appellant
had an overriding constitutional right to privacy, based on his
marital status, while he was engaged in a brutal beating of his
wife. This error is rejected.

MULTIPLICITY

The appellant next asserts that the aggravated assault and
the assault and battery are multiplicious because they arise
from the same incident. The appellant was charged with a
violation of Article 80, UCMJ, and convicted of the lesser
included offense of aggravated assault, by placing the pistol
against his wife’s forehead and pulling the trigger. In addition,

9a

he was charged with aggravated assault by striking his wife
with the pistol, but was convicted of the lesser included
offense of assault and battery.

In United States v. Teters, 37 M.J. 370 (C.M.A. 1993),
cert. denied, __ U.S. — 114 S.Ct. 919 (1994), the Court of
Appeals for the Armed Forces returned to the congressional
intent/elements test for determining the multiplicity of
charges. See Blockburger v. United States, 284 U.S. 299, 304,
52 S.Ct. 180, 182, 76 L.Ed. 306 (1932). The threshold test of
the Teters/Blockburger analysis is whether the specifications
arose out of the same act or course of conduct. United States
v. Neblock, 40 M.J. 747 (A.F.C.M.R. 1994), pet. denied, 42
M.J. 96 (1995). Clearly, placing a loaded firearm against his
wife’s forehead and pulling the trigger is a different act than
hitting her with his hands and the firearm. We do not find
these charges multiplicious. In addition, we note the appellant
failed to object to the charging of these offenses as
multiplicious and thereby forfeited the issue. United States v.
Lloyd, 43 M.J. 886 (A.F.Ct.Crim.App. 1995).

CONFLICT WITH COUNSEL

The appellant expressed dissatisfaction with his attorneys
at the end of his prepared unsworn statement. He stated in
part: “. . .there were certain things that was left out of
evidence that could have been presented to you guys, but it
wasn’t. They considered it to hurt my case. I didn’t. I’ve not
been represented from day one. I was almost pressured into
signing a pretrial agreement.”

On appeal, appellant does not allege ineffectiveness of
trial defense counsel. The thrust of his assertion of error is
that the military judge failed to resolve on the record that the
accused was satisfied with his defense team. Following a
defense-requested recess, the circuit defense counsel stated on

10a

the record: “ We have talked with our client. He does wish for
myself and Captain [F] to continue to represent him in this
trial and the post-trial matters as well.” The military judge
made no inquiry as to appellant’s desires.

This is not a case of conflict of interest where a defense
attorney represents another accused in the same matter. United
Stated v. Henry, 42 M.J. 231 (1995). Here we have an
appellant who is dissatisfied with the result of his trial and
vents his frustration concerning the performance of his counsel
to the court members. When defense counsel learned of
appellant’s dissatisfaction, they asked for a recess and
determined if the client wanted to discharge his defense team
or was merely making an allegation out of frustration. The
defense counsel made that determination after consulting with
the appellant and notified the military judge. The military
judge should have asked the appellant if he was satisfied with
his counsel, but we conclude from his actions that appellant
concurred in his counsel’s assertion that the conflict had been
resolved.

We note that the appellant demonstrated during voir dire
and the unsworn statement presentation that he was an active
participant who was not intimidated by the courtroom setting.
When defense counsel peremptorily challenged a member, the
military judge asked the appellant if he concurred and the
appellant said “no.” After discussion between appellant and
his counsel, the challenge was withdrawn. The appellant again
demonstrated his active participation when he threw down the
prepared unsworn statement and told the court members what
he wanted them to know about the case, including his
dissatisfaction with counsel. Only moments after the circuit
defense counsel told the military judge that the appellant
wished to retain both defense counsel, counsel advised the
military judge that appellant wanted counsel to argue for a

lla

punitive discharge. The military judge addressed the
appellant, who unequivocally agreed to have his counsel
argue for a punitive discharge.

We are, therefore, convinced the appellant would not
have sat silently if he had disagreed with his defense counsel’s
assertion that their conflict had been resolved. The appellant
would certainly have commented if he did not want his
counsel to proceed with defending him. At this point in the
trial the sentencing argument was all that was left for defense
counsel to do, and the appellant concurred in the most
significant portion of that by telling the military judge that he
wanted his counsel to argue for a punitive discharge. If the
appellant were not satisfied with his defense counsel, he
would not have told the military judge that he wanted them to
argue for a punitive discharge. Although we find the military
judge erred, we find no prejudice to appellant under the
circumstances of this case.

DELIBERATION

The appellant asserts the military judge erred by
conferring with the court members during findings
deliberations outside the presence of counsel and the accused.
The members had questions concerning the findings
worksheet which the military judge determined could not be
resolved in open court. The military judge and the court
reporter entered the deliberation room without counsel or the
appellant and the judge answered questions concerning how
to reflect the member’s findings on the findings worksheet.
Article 39(b), UCMJ, 10 U.S.C. § 839(b) (1994), prohibits
any consultation in the presence of the court members without
the presence of the military judge, all counsel, and the
accused. Violation of this prohibition creates a rebuttable
presumption of prejudice. United States v. Allbee, 5
U.S.C.M.A. 448, 18 C.M. R. 72 (1955).

12a

Here, the military judge erred by entering into a closed
session without the appellant and counsel being present.
However, we conclude appellant suffered no harm and the
presumption of prejudice is rebutted. The military judge
questioned the president in open court, on the record, in front
of the appellant and counsel for both sides. The president
confirmed the military judge was in the closed deliberation
session merely to assist in putting the findings they had
already reached onto the worksheet. All the discussion
between the members and the military judge was recorded
verbatim. Trial defense counsel moved for a mistrial before
the members returned a sentence, based on the closed session.
The military judge directed the reporter to prepare and give
defense counsel and appellant a verbatim record of the closed
session meeting before completion of the trial. The trial
defense counsel read the verbatim transcript and renewed his
motion for a mistrial without citing specific prejudice to the
appellant. Under the circumstances, we find the military
judge’s presence did not prejudice the appellant.

We conclude the findings and sentence are correct in law
and fact, the sentence is appropriate, and no error prejudicial
to the substantial rights of the appellant was committed.
Accordingly, the findings of guilt and the sentence are

AFFIRMED.
Senior Judge HEIMBURG and Judge GAMBOA concur.

OFFICIAL

ROXANE M.G. PORTER
Staff Sergeant, USAF
Chief Court Administrator

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_2381%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
