# Opposition Brief — Long v. Alachua County School Board

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_2355%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1998
- **Citation:** 524 U.S. 915

## Text

No. 97-1477 MAY @ 1998

CLERK

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1997
€

ROBERT LONG and SHARON LONG, individually
and as parents and next friends of minor Daniel Long,
DANIEL LONG, JOHNNY MENDOZA, SR. and
MIRIAM MENDOZA, individually and as parents and

next friends of minor Johnny Mendoza, Jr., and
JOHNNY MENDOZA, JR.,

Petitioners,

VS.

SCHOOL BOARD OF ALACHUA COUNTY, FLORIDA,
and K-III COMMUNICATIONS CORPORATION,

Respondents.

+

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The District Court Of Appeal Of Florida,
First District
a

RESPONDENTS’ JOINT BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

¢
THomas L. WittMer JOHN Rapey
Staff Counsel Counsel of Record
School Board of Alachua EvizaABETH MCARTHUR
County Katz, Kutter, HAIGLER,

620 East University Avenue ALDERMAN, Bryant &
Gainesville, Florida 32601 Yon, P.A.
352/955-7461 106 East College Avenue,
Suite 1200
Tallahassee, Florida 32301
850/224-9634

Attorney for Respondent Attorneys for Respondent
School Board of Alachua Primedia Inc. (f/k/a K-III
County, Florida Communications Corporation)

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW
Respondents disagree with Petitioners’ QUESTION

PRESENTED FOR REVIEW. The basis for the per curiam
affirmance by the Florida District Court of Appeal, First
District, cannot be known. If this Court were to issue the
writ, then the issues presented would include

whether Petitioners had legal standing to pursue this
action when all the petitioning students had gradu-
ated,

whether this case became moot because in 1996 the
school board terminated the news program that Peti-
tioners challenge, and

whether this action must be dismissed because Peti-
tioners failed to exhaust administrative remedies
under the Florida administrative procedures act.

If this Court reached a due process issue under the

Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Constitu-
tion, that issue would be

whether Respondents were entitled to summary judg-
ment because the requirements of the Fourteenth
Amendment were satisfied by a record demonstration
of the school board’s rational basis for a current events
curriculum which includes daily classroom newscasts
that include limited commercial content?

STATEMENT UNDER RULES 14.1(b) AND 29.6

Pursuant to Rules 14.1(b) and 29.6, the caption of this
case does not name all parties to the proceeding in the
court whose judgment is sought to be reviewed.

Ralph Hess and Darnell Rhea were listed as appel-
lants in the Florida District Court of Appeal, First Dis-
trict, in addition to the six Petitioners listed in the caption
of the Petition. Messrs. Hess and Rhea were dismissed for
lack of standing at the circuit court level, but the decision
below is reported as Hess v. School Board of Alachua
County, 704 So.2d 523 (Fla. lst DCA 1997).

In addition, during the course of the litigation below,
K-III Communications Corporation changed its name to
Primedia Inc., a publicly traded corporation. In other
words, Respondent K-III Communications Corporation is
now called Primedia Inc. Primedia Inc., formerly named
K-III Communications Corporation, has no parent com-
panies or nonwholly owned subsidiaries to be listed
under Rule 29.6.

ili

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ............
STATEMENT UNDER RULES 14.1(b) AND 29.6...

Smee Ae MPS os wee

A. PETITIONERS FAILED TO PROVIDE RELE-
VANT HISTORY OF THIS CASE...............

B. PETITIONERS’ VERSION OF THE FACTS IS
I oe ci otc oa a

REASONS WHY A WRIT OF CERTIORARI SHOULD
cog Becta 2. 7 BRIERE EE tee sree) Aces aera

A. NO IMPORTANT QUESTION OF FEDERAL
LAW WAS DECIDED BELOW AND NO CON-
FLICT EXISTS WITH DECISIONS OF THIS
gu Re ORE rea an ge a

1. THE DECISIVE REASON FOR THE PER
CURIAM AFFIRMANCE CANNOT BE
pce tt op TE ete

No

THE PER CURIAM AFFIRMANCE DOES
NOT CONFLICT WITH ANY DECISION OF
MI so et oe

B. NO CONFLICT EXISTS BETWEEN FLORIDA
AND CALIFORNIA COURTS AND NO COM-
PELLING REASON EXISTS TO GRANT THE
ene See Ce es es Sa

il

11

12

12

16

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued
Page

1. NO CONFLICT EXISTS BECAUSE THE FLOR-
IDA FIRST DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL
MERELY AFFIRMED PER CURIAM.......... 25

2. THE CALIFORNIA DAWSON DECISION
DOES NOT CONFLICT WITH THE FLOR-
ee we 8 errr et eer mr se 28

ee mt. sy ee a weenie mney orien Nye ee 29

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
CASES
Adams v. Robertson, 65 U.S.L.W. 4180, 117 S.Ct.
Rileey: Beet: Rae De AIOE ook ck 26
Adler v. Duval County School Board, 112 F.3d 1475
C530 Ae Pe sis a ee 14, 15
Banks v. California, 395 U.S. 708, 89 S.Ct. 1901, 23
eee Sed SIO ee ie ee re es 26
Board of Pardons v. Allen, 482 U.S. 369, 107 S.Ct.
2OiD, 96 1ee.ae Bee CRUE. iad cae 13

Brown v. Hot, Sexy and Safer Productions, Inc., 68
F.3d 525 (1st Cir. 1995), cert. denied, 516 U.S.
1159, 116 S.Ct. 1044, 134 L.Ed.2d 191 (1996)....17, 18

Dawson v. East Side Union High School, 28 Cal. App.
4th 998, 34 Cal. Rptr. 2d 108 (Cal. 6th Dist. 1994)

PPE Pe PET Oe MODY he Gay wey Ye MOS Ch 27, 28, 29
Department of Legal Affairs v. District Court of

Appem, 434 30.20 316 (Pia. 1969). 62 3 oe 25
Epperson v. Arkansas, 393. U.S. 97, 89 S.Ct. 266, 21

Ke Me REPO os ee awe eee 17, 24
Flagg Brothers v. Brooks, 436 U.S. 149, 98 S.Ct. 1729,

We AR: SO TON ke oko ce ee 14
Godwin v. State, 593 So.2d 211 (Fla. Fay | Resear 14

Gotthilf v. Sills, 375 U.S. 79, 84 S.Ct. 187, 11
Cee tee eee oe 27

Henschen v. City of Houston, 959 F.2d 584 (5th Cir.
dg a PE OE PE Tee eer ey pilon seca e Oe ames 14

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
Herndon by Herndon v. Chapel Hill-Carrboro City
Board of Education, 89 F.3d 174 (4th Cir. 1996),
cert. den. sub. nom. Reinhard v. Chapel Hill-
Carrboro City Board of Education, __ U.S. __,
117 St. 9, 196: L.Ed.26 G57 C997) 2600.55 5 18, 19
Hess v. School Board of Alachua County, 704 So.2d
at LOR SOR EK APP a iiss ckani savas eeues a. 3, 42
Illinois v. Gates, 462 U.S. 213, 103 S.Ct. 2317, 76
SRE Der. CAPO: os Ki cere eeemsedhs pep hag bed seks 26
Immediato v. Rye Neck School District, 73 F.3d 454
(2d Cir. 1996), cert. denied, __ U.S. __, 117 S.Ct.
RR eae.) ern ere oe ny ee 19
Jacksonville Television, Inc. v. Shorstein, 608 So.2d
Ore Aree: Ge COCA POOR! cosas ie baa ees acne cee aus 14
Memphis Light, Gas & Water Division v. Craft, 436
U.S. 1, 96 SAA. 1554, 56 L.bd.2a 30 (i978). ....... 13
Meyer v. Nebraska, 262 U.S. 390, 43 S.Ct. 625, 67
Rm, MOGZ. (ERR a io 5h ods eas 56, 47,-18, 22, 23, 24
M.L.B. v. S.L.J., 519 U.S. 102, 117 S.Ct. 555, 136
Se OFS CAP POD viv canvannetunsevetpeuweees 16, 23
Ouimette v. Babbie, 405 F.Supp. 525 (D.Vt. 1975) ..... 19
Parham v. J.R., 442 U.S. 584, 99 S.Ct. 2493, 61
Lae 108 CAG cece hei MG) 37; 2a, 22, 25
Pierce v. Society of Sisters, 268 U.S. 510, 45 S.Ct. 571,
OF be. TOTO CISES) 06s onsen BG, 37, 48, 21, 4%, 223
Prince v. Massachusetts, 321 U.S. 158, 64 S.Ct. 438,
OB 5. See GES CIN vaio asp taesi kok cane eeres neers 21

————————————————e

Vil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
Radiation Technology, Inc. v. Ware Constr. Co., 445
TU RU US UI i aa ee 27
Sandquist v. California, 419 U.S. 1066, 95 S.Ct. 651,
Se Ree es ee oo sano ce ae bh beb bake 26

Sherman v. Community Consolidated School District
21, 980 F.2d 437 (7th Cir. 1992), cert. denied, 508
U.S. 950, 113 S.Ct. 2439, 124 L.Ed.2d 658 (1993) .... 19

Webb v. Webb, 451 U.S. 493, 101 S.Ct. 1889, 68
iene PE CARE ie d's ives oboe oe web Kae eww cd vk 26

Wisconsin v. Yoder, 406 U.S. 205, 92 S.Ct. 1526, 32
Se ARO teil i ok MGR eRe RES 16, 21, 22, 24

UnNitTep States CONSTITUTION CITED:

Fourteenth Amendment........... 3k. 32, lo; 26, 19, 25

FLorIpDA CONSTITUTION CITED:

A Ts ee ye ha ise a en gee 1

Pe RG os ra ra rv eat ar ike ot 20

Unritep States Cope CIrep:

Te es ra ee a 26, 27
a Se oe Se 1, 13, 14, 17

FLorIDA STATUTES CITED:

Section 120.81, Florida Statutes (1997)................ 5

Section 120.52(15)(c)5., Florida Statutes (1995) ........ 5

Viil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
Ruves CIrep:
NN SINE SANS 0 iG 6 cadens pecan dayasoahvns Zi, 27
Supreme Court Rule 10(b)............... 13, 23). 20a ae
SURGE SLOURG TERI FANG) oie c es eke ec tcewkesacebivs 11
ge i ge) ree reer tre cree ii
supreme Court Rule 84.1(e)Ui)... 0... cc cee ce ecneneens 11
IE SE TE Te 65 dene ade ations eieuvkas ii
PORT ES POR KAU isa e keh eWeek beads eae 4, 26
Pa as PARMMAMEIE) 0505 6855 600 dae oe es ces Owen ae 4
can, eee ie Se eee? We POR. ns vo cass skewed ecens 27

1
STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. PETITIONERS FAILED TO PROVIDE RELEVANT
HISTORY OF THIS CASE.

Petitioners did not merely bring “an action under 42
U.S.C. § 1983 for declaratory and injunctive relief and
damages.” (Petition, p. 9)

In 1992, Petitioners sued the school board and Whit-
tle, K-III’s predecessor, solely for injunctive relief in an
effort to stop the daily showing of a TV news and current
events program, Channel One, in classrooms at some
schools operated by the school board. Petitioners’ Com-
plaint was based solely upon their Florida constitutional
right of privacy under Article I, Section 23, Florida Con-
stitution. (R. I 1-12)

In 1993, the Circuit Court of the Eighth Judicial Cir-
cuit In and For Alachua County, Florida, granted Defen-
dants’ Joint Motion to Dismiss based on the court’s
conclusion that Petitioners’ Florida constitutional rights
of privacy were not violated by the school board decision
to allow its schools to use the Channel One programming.
(R. I 131-35) Petitioners were then allowed to file a Sec-
ond Amended Complaint, and then a Third Amended
Complaint. Petitioners’ Third Amended Complaint was
dismissed by the circuit court because of a “failure to
allege exhaustion of administrative remedies and for fail-
ure to allege an exception to the APA [Chapter 120,
Florida Statutes].” (R. III 460-66)

Petitioners then were given permission to file a
Fourth Amended Complaint. Petitioners’ Fourth
Amended Complaint was the pending complaint when
the circuit court granted summary judgment to Respon-
dents as affirmed in the per curiam decision brought to
this Court for review. The Fourth Amended Complaint
was based primarily upon Petitioners’ Florida constitu-
tional rights (R. III 490-509), but Petitioners tacked on a

2

brief one-sentence prayer for relief under the federal
constitution. (R. II] 509) No other reference to any issue of
federal law is found in the lengthy Fourth Amended
Complaint.

Prior to entry of summary judgment in favor of
Respondents and after several rounds of written discov-
ery, depositions of Petitioners were taken and filed.
Respondent school board submitted affidavits (R. VII
1160-1291, App. 1-40) from a school board chairman
(App. 2-4), two school board superintendents (App. 5-12),
five principals who saw students benefit from Channel
One in their schools (App. 13-28), an assistant superinten-
dent (App. 22-25), the school board’s Director of Instruc-
tional Technology (App. 29-32), and two media
specialists. (App. 33-40) These people observed Channel
One firsthand and, as experienced educators, attested to
its educational value. In sum, these school board affi-
davits show that Channel One was made available to
combat current events illiteracy as part of a program to
better educate students. Respondent K-III submitted an
affidavit (R. VIII 1305-1314, App. 41-46) which attested to
the wide acceptance of Channel One programming by
educators throughout the United States.

Petitioners did not contest the good faith intentions
of the school board, school administration, school princi-
pals or media specialists. Rather than contest any fact set
forth in the school board or K-III affidavits, Petitioners
only submitted affidavits that suggested that the Channel
One programming did not provide educational value in
some instances or in the opinion of Petitioners.!

1 Petitioners cite Roy F. Fox. (Petition, p. 12) Petitioners did
not refer to, or provide an affidavit from, Mr. Fox in the circuit
court. The first time Mr. Fox’s name is found in the record below
is in a similar cite in Petitioners’ Reply Brief filed with the

3

Without evaluating the Channel One programming de
novo, the Florida circuit court granted summary judgment
in favor of Respondents for the reasons set out in the
circuit court order appended to the Petition. (Petition, pp.
23-26) Basically the circuit court held, given the good
faith of the school board and schools, that it was for the
school board, not the court, to decide what current events
programs would be used in the public schools.? Peti-
tioners appealed to the State of Florida, First District
Court of Appeal, which affirmed without opinion. Hess v.
School Board of A.achua County, 704 So.2d 523 (Fla. 1st
DCA 1997). (Petition, pp. 21-22)3 Petitioners made no
effort to request the Florida intermediate appellate court
to certify any questions for review by the Supreme Court

District Court of Appeal. When Respondents moved to strike
that cite, Petitioners responded that the Fox cite was part of
Petitioners’ “Brandeis Brief” which the court could give as
“little or as much weight as it thinks appropriate.” Petitioners’
cite to Fox is inappropriate and impertinent to the issues
decided below and as such should be disregarded.

* Petitioners stated in a motion for rehearing filed with the
circuit court on December 20, 1996, that the court’s summary
judgment had to be clarified to facilitate their appeal to “the
highest appellate courts” (R. VII 1403); the circuit court’s denial
of their motion for rehearing and a rejection of their subsequent
appeal by the Florida First District Court of Appeal without
opinion has not caused Petitioners to rethink their announced
ambition to make this case a cause celebre for themselves.

3 The Honorable Joseph W. Little, counsel of record for
Petitioners before this Court, was also counsel to Petitioners at
the Florida circuit court and Florida district court of appeal
levels. However, the Petition is the first document at any level
identifying the University of Florida in reference to Mr. Little.
The University of Florida has nothing to do with this case.

4

of Florida. See Fla.R.App.R. 9.030(a)(2)(v) and 9.330.
Instead, Petitioners now ask this Court to review a per
curiam affirmance by a Florida intermediate appellate
court and to consider a defined issue which may not have
been passed upon below, which was never expressly
addressed by any Florida court, and which Florida’s
highest state court never had an opportunity to consider.

While the Fourth Amended Complaint was pending
in the circuit court, two separate events effectively extin-
guished the controversy presented by Petitioners: first,
the student Petitioners graduated from the Alachua
County schools; second, the Respondent school board
decided not to renew the Channel One contract in 1996. (R.
VII 1189-1190) Equipment used for the Channel One pro-
gramming was removed and the school board made other
arrangements for current events education. (App. 10)
Any injunctive relief that conceivably could have been
granted to Petitioners became totally unnecessary and
unwarranted. The school board and K-III argued to both
the Florida circuit court and the district court of appeal
that no Petitioner had standing to maintain the suit, that
the suit was moot, and that the possibility of nominal
damages and pursuit of an award of attorneys’ fees did
not provide an adequate present basis to keep the suit
pending. The circuit court specifically found, as admitted
by Petitioners, that “there is no ground for actual mone-
tary damages and this Court will not consider any such
claim.” (R. VI 1130) However, the circuit court denied
Respondents’ motion to dismiss the case as moot because
of the possibility of nominal damages. At the Florida
District Court of Appeal, the mootness and standing
issues were briefed and addressed during oral argument,
but the district court affirmed per curiam without opinion.

re a "

heen ntti tee ah

Las all bt Re Std a Se MID A AT cial MM ec

en

tA metho meet

VEU de a rarteatin, «4 o

ee

5

B. PETITIONERS’ VERSION OF THE FACTS IS
INACCURATE.

Petitioners inaccurately imply that, because Channel
One was not a part of a specific course or a specific
graduation requirement, the school board made the deci-
sion to permit use of the Channel One programming for
reasons other than the educational! value of the Channel
One programming. (Petition, pp. 1 and 8) Petitioners’
implication cannot substitute for a foundation in the
record. The record below shows unequivocally that the
school board’s use of Channel One programming was
based upon the school board’s good faith belief that
students suffered from “current events illiteracy” and
that the program would serve the educational goal of
“bringing a common vocabulary of current events to stu-
dents.” (R. VII 1184-85)

In the Fourth Amended Complaint, Petitioners
alleged that the “Board's actions in permitting these curricu-
lums is a curriculum decision.” (R. III 493, underlining in
original) To emphasize this point, Petitioners underlined
the word “curriculum” in fifty consecutive paragraphs of
the Fourth Amended Complaint. (R. III 493-505)4
Moreover, the school board explained its rational basis

* When Petitioners’ Third Amended Complaint was
dismissed for failure to exhaust administrative remedies,
Petitioners attempted to argue that Channel One was a part of
the curriculum so that Petitioners could take advantage of an
exemption for curriculum decisions from review under the
Florida Administrative Procedures Act, Section 120.81, Florida
Statutes (1997) [successor to Section 120.52(15)(c)5., Florida
Statutes (1995)]. Therefore, the Fourth Amended Complaint has
allegations underscored which were added to avoid the prior
ruling of the circuit court that Petitioners failed to exhaust
administrative remedies.

6

for use of the Educational Network, a part of which is
Channel One, in eleven affidavits submitted to the circuit
court to support the school board’s motion for summary
judgment. (R. VII 1160-1291; App. 2-40) While Petitioners
may disagree with the school board and the schools that
decided to take advantage of the Channel One program-
ming, the good faith of the school board and schools in
trying to combat what the school board referred to as
“current events illiteracy” and to give students the best
possible education has not and cannot be challenged.
Beyond its determination that there was a rational basis
for the school board and school decisions, the circuit
court left to the school board and schools the determina-
tion of the educational value of the Channel One program-
ming.

No record support exists for Petitioners’ argument
that the school board and schools used the Educational
Network, including Channel One, as “a means of raising
money” or as “a means of financing STATE’s programs.”
(Petition, pp. 13-14) It is true that the school board and
schools received equipment at no cost as a part of the
Channel One programming. However, the insinuation by
Petitioners that the school board and schools were pri-
marily motivated to contract for Channel One program-
ming in order to get free equipment has not one iota of
support in the record. The record instead shows that the
school board and the schools elected to use the program-
ming for its educational value, not as a means to acquire
teacher education materials and audio visual equipment.
And in assessing the educational value of the program-
ming, the school board and the schools understood that
there would be limited commercial content in Channel
One. However, the commercial content was found to be

MT i

7

“incidental” to the educational purpose of the program.
(App. 5-40)

Petitioners also inaccurately describe how the Chan-
nel One programming was implemented. The school
board entered into a written contract with K-III, called
the District Agreement, which made the Educational Net-
work, including Channel One programming, available to
schools operated by the school board. Some schools (with
the concurrence at the school level of the principal, fac-
ulty, media specialist, and parents) chose to implement
the program on the terms approved by the school board;
other schools chose not to implement the programming.

The Channel One news programs were provided by
daily satellite transmissions to the participating schools
and ran “approximately twelve minutes and .. . include
not more than two minutes of commercial content.” (R. X
1642) Petitioners inaccurately tell the Court that “the
commercials are seamlessly integrated” and that K-III
“seamlessly integrates two minutes of commercial televi-
sion advertisements.” (Petition, pp. 1 and 6) While Chan-
nel One could not be shown without the commercial
content, the written contracts strictly limited the types of
commercials that could be shown and forbade “any cre-
ative technique that may confuse the viewer by blurring
the distinction between programs and commercials.” (R.
X 1650-52) Moreover, the school board negotiated a spe-
cial written contract provision that required the program-
ming to meet the standards of the community as
determined by the school board and the schools. (R. X
1641) The limited commercials were plainly separate and
distinct from the news itself as shown in the videotapes
that are a part of the record below.

Throughout the Petition, this Court is told that stu-
dents were required by the school board or the schools to

8

view Channel One. The record simply does not support
these assertions. Students were never compelled to watch
or listen to Channel One programs. The two Petitioners
who were formerly students in participating schools testi-
fied in deposition that when they were in the classroom,
they did not pay attention to Channel One. Former stu-
dent-petitioner Johnny Mendoza, Jr. testified that when
Channel One was shown, he and other students paid
attention only sometimes.> (R. VI 1099-1100, Mendoza Jr.
depo. p. 12) Former student-plaintiff Daniel Long testi-
fied in his deposition that even when he was in the
classroom, he chose not to pay any attention to Channel
One programs:

Q: How did you like Channel One?

A: Really never watched it that much. I
worked pretty much ali the way through it.
The first year, I think was my ninth grade
year, they had me - I went and sat in the
office in the mornings, so I didn’t watch
it. . . . My parents. They requested that I
was to move into the office so I didn’t have
to watch it. And last year and this year I’m
in drafting, so I work all the way through
the Channel One. I don’t really watch it at
all.” ,

(R. VI 1047, D. Long depo. p. 3, emphasis supplied) Other
students exercised the same freedom of choice. (R. VI
1054, D. Long depo. pp. 9-10)®

> Student Mendoza thought that the current events portion
was a waste of time because it was similar to news he got from
other sources; he chose not to pay attention to the commercials.
(R. VI 1097, 1105, Mendoza, Jr. depo., pp. 9, 17)

6 Student-plaintiffs Long and Mendoza may have been
bored, finding Channel One redundant with other commercial

ee eee Stee ee re Sc eee

9

The school board did not have a policy or practice of
compelling any student to be present while Channel One
was shown if the student or the student’s parents objec-
ted. Under the policy and practice of the school board
and the participating schools, no student who voiced an
objection, or whose parents voiced an objection, was ever
forced to be present while Channel One was shown. Prin-
cipals Jones, Islar, Stechmiller, and Boyd state in their
affidavits that at their schools, no student or parent ever
requested that a student be excused while Channel One
was shown. (R. VII 1223, Jones aff. p. 2 [App. 14]; R. VII
1241, Islar aff. p. 2 [App. 17]; R. VII 1259, Stechmiller aff.
p. 2 [App. 20]; R. VII 1263, Boyd aff. p. 3 [App. 23]) Dr.
Nelson reported that only one parent ever approached
him to ask that a student be excused: plaintiff Robert
Long. Mr. Long’s request was honored and plaintiff stu-
dent Daniel Long was “excused from the classroom when
Channel One was shown as requested by Mr. Long.” (R.
VII 1268, Nelson aff. p. 3 [App. 27]) In the Petition, the
Court is told that student Long’s departure from the

and news media, as suggested by paragraph 44 of their Fourth
Amended Complaint:

The content of the editorial segment of the Whittle TV
programs as part of board’s curriculum is readily
available to all or virtually all students in the public
media, including commercial and public TV and
radio, newspapers, new magazines and similar
outlets.

(R. II] 499; emphasis in original) Although these two students
may have otherwise sought out other sources of current events,
nothing in the record controverts the school board’s judgment
that considering the district as a whole, there was a problem with
current events illiteracy that needed to be addressed and
Channel One helped address the problem in the collective, good
faith judgment of the school board.

10

classroom as his parents requested “embarrassed and
humiliated” him such that his parents allowed him to be
present when Channel One was shown to help his “emo-
tional well being.” (Petition, p. 9) The cause of student
Long’s embarrassment was the narrow and extreme
views of his parents, who were the only parents that
requested their son or daughter to be excused. No embar-
rassment was caused by the school board.

The board policy was to accommodate parents and
students. The record unequivocally shows that every par-
ent who asked for an opt-out had the request honored.’
Superintendent Hughes put it this way:

As to Channel One, for example, principals

would be encouraged to allow students to be

excused from the classroom when that program
was shown where strong parental objections
were made known. To my knowledge, only one
parent asked that a student be excused from
watching Channel One and that student was
excused.
(R. VII 1205, Hughes aff. p. 4; App. 11) Petitioners never
disputed this policy and only argued that it was not
reduced to a written form. In addition, the record shows
that media specialists, principals, and students made pre-
sentations to the school board in public meetings where
Channel One programming was praised for its great value.
For example, the Board’s Director of Instructicnal Tech-
nology made a presentation at a public school board
meeting where he stated that he “personally observed

7 The Mendozas never objected or asked that Johnny Jr. be
excused while Channel One was shown. Instead, the student was
solicited to join this lawsuit by his teacher, original plaintiff Rhea
(who was dismissed for lack of standing by the trial court), and
Johnny Jr. then solicited his parents’ support. (R. VI 1095-96,
Mendoza Jr. depo. pp. 7-8)

Voth ok ot ae a

11

students benefit from Channel One programs in the
board’s schools” and that, based upon his own review of
the program materials, the program was “consistently of
high quality and educationally beneficial.” (R. VII 1189,
1270-71; App. 30-31) The school board obviously did not
satisfy each and every parent or student (as if that were
possible), but the school board certainly did not compel
any student to watch Channel One.

REASONS WHY A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
SHOULD NOT BE GRANTED

As discussed above, Petitioners’ Fourteenth Amend-
ment arguments were an afterthought below. In this case,
it is impossible to say whether and how any federal issue
was passed upon, even if one examines the unpublished
Florida circuit court order. (Petition, pp. 23-26) Contrary
to Rule 14.1(g)(i), the Petition fails to refer to parts of the
record where the courts below specifically addressed the
Fourteenth Amendment. For this reason alone, the writ
should not be granted.

Petitioners offer two theories to allow the writ, but
neither theory has merit. First, Petitioners assert that a
state court has decided an important question of federal
law in a manner that conflicts with relevant decisions of
this Court (Petition, pp. 11-14) as suggested by this
Court’s Rule 10(c). As discussed below in subsection A,
the decision below does not pass upon an important
question of federal law and does not conflict with any
decision of this Court. Second, as a fall-back, Petitioners
assert that a Florida court of last resort decided an impor-
tant federal question in a manner that conflicts with a
California court of last resort (Petition, pp. 14-18) as
suggested by this Court’s Rule 10(b). As shown below in
subsection B, however, no “last resort” decisions exist in

12

either state and no conflict exists between the decision
below and the California decision cited by Petitioners.
The per curiam decision addresses no federal issue. Hess v.
School Board of Alachua County, 704 So.2d 523 (Fla. 1st
DCA 1997). (Petition, pp. 21-22)

A. NO IMPORTANT QUESTION OF FEDERAL LAW
WAS DECIDED BELOW AND NO CONFLICT
EXISTS WITH DECISIONS OF THIS COURT.

1. THE DECISIVE REASON FOR THE PER CUR-
IAM AFFIRMANCE CANNOT BE DETER-
MINED.

Petitioners assert that this Court should exercise its
discretion to issue the writ because a Florida court has
allowed the school board and some of its schools to use
Channel One contrary to the Fourteenth Amendment in
violation of “the ambit of liberties acknowledged in prior
decisions of this Court.” (Petition, p. 13) It appears that
Petitioners generally assert that the decision below con-
flicts with relevant decisions of this Court on an impor-
tant question of federal law within the meaning of Rule
10(c).

The first point is that the Florida First District Court
of Appeal provided no indication of the reason why it
chose to affirm the circuit court order granting summary
judgment for Respondents. Therefore, it is impossible to
say that the decision brought to this Court for review
addresses any question of federal law or on its face
conflicts with any prior decision of this Court. The deci-
sion is a total nullity to anyone seeking to apply the prior
decisions of this Court.

The second point is that, even if this Court goes
behind the per curiam decision below to speculate as to
the underlying rationale of the Florida First District

PP OREIIA A Ses oo el ne ow ~ co

13

Court of Appeal, the underlying rationale cannot be
determined. Alternative grounds, other than a determina-
tion under the Fourteenth Amendment, were presented
to the court below.

One alternative rationale for an affirmance presented
and argued to the court below was mootness. After one of
the original plaintiffs was elected to the school board, the
school board decided to use alternative means of current
affairs education and ended the contract that allowed use
of Channel One programming. The decision to terminate
the District Agreement has now been fully implemented.
There is no present prospect for the school board to
reconsider use of K-III programming, and it would be
speculative to predict the terms of any future contract
that might arise between the school board and K-III. (R.
VII 1200-01; App. 10)

Nothing was left to enjoin and therefore Petitioners
could not establish any basis for injunctive relief. As to
damages, the circuit court entered an order stating that
“there is no ground for actual monetary damages and this
Court will not consider any such claim” (R. VI 1130) and
Petitioners claim only nominal damages. Potential nomi-
nal damages are not enough to avoid dismissal of this
case as moot under § 19838 or state law.?

® An asserted damages claim will keep the case alive only
where the plaintiffs establish that they suffered actual monetary
loss, and that their damages claim is “substantial”. See, e.g.,
Board of Pardons v. Allen, 482 U.S. 369, 370, n.1, 107 S.Ct. 2415,
2417, n.1, 96 L.Ed.2d 303 (1987); and Memphis Light, Gas & Water
Division v. Craft, 436 U.S. 1, 8-9, 98 S.Ct. 1554, 1560, 56 L.Ed.2d 30
(1978) (where claims for injunctive and declaratory relief have
become moot, a claim for compensatory damages would not be
moot where “the validity of respondents’ claim for damages is
not so insubstantial or so clearly foreclosed by prior decisions

14

Where students challenge school board decisions,
graduation of the students ends the basis by which the
students or parents have any right to maintain a chal-
lenge to a school board decision. Adler v. Duval County
School Board, 112 F.3d 1475 (11th Cir. 1997). In Adler,
students challenged school board action allegedly allow-
ing prayer in public schools, but during the appeal from
summary judgment for defendants, the students gradu-
ated. The court held that “any claim for equitable relief
has been rendered moot by the appellants’ graduations.”
112 F.3d at 1478. In this case, there is no possibility that
these Petitioners will be subject to the issues complained
of again, given that the student-petitioners have gradu-
ated. If the issues arise again for others, there would be

that this case may not proceed.”) (emphasis added); Flagg
Brothers v. Brooks, 436 U.S. 149, 155, 98 S.Ct. 1729, 1732, 56
L.Ed.2d 186 (1978) (although injunctive relief no longer
available, the court must reach merits of claim “if either
respondent can demonstrate that she has suffered monetary
damage by reason of the workings of [the challenged law]”)
(emphasis added); Henschen v. City of Houston, 959 F.2d 584, 588
(Sth Cir. 1992) (where injunction claim moot, only claims for
actual damages under § 1983 remain alive, where action
complained of caused actual harm that can be compensated, as
opposed to claim for intangible value of a constitutional right).

° Mootness was defined by the Florida Supreme Court in
Godwin v. State, 593 So.2d 211, 212 (Fla. 1992), as follows:

An issue is moot when the controversy has been
so fully resolved that a judicial determination can
have no actual effect. A case is “moot” when it
presents no actual controversy or when issues have
ceased to exist. A moot case will generally be
dismissed.

See, also, Jacksonville Television, Inc. v. Shorstein, 608 So.2d 592
(Fla. lst DCA 1992).

15

no temporal urgency that would preclude meaningful
judicial review. As such, exceptions to mootness are not
applicable. Adler, supra, 112 F.3d at 1478 (significant issue
of school prayer in graduation ceremonies would not be
reached based on mootness, where issue would never
again arise for those plaintiffs).

As a result, this case was moot as argued in Respon-
dents’ Joint Answer Brief filed with the Florida First
District Court of Appeal and as discussed during oral
argument before that court. Therefore, the Florida First
District Court of Appeal may have affirmed because it
believed the case was moot.

A second alternative rationale for the decision below
may be articulated in terms of the lack of standing for
Petitioners. The court below ruled that plaintiff Hess, as a
citizen and taxpayer, and plaintiff Rhea, as a teacher,
lacked standing to sue the school board, dismissing them
as plaintiffs by order of June 6, 1995 (R. V 843-44), a
ruling not appealed by Petitioners. The remaining Peti-
tioners sued either as students, or parents of students, at
schools using the K-III programming. The students grad-
uated prior to the appeal to the Florida District Court of
Appeal, leaving no Petitioner with a legally cognizable
interest in school board curriculum matters. (Init.Brf. 4; R.
VI 1044-1055; 1088-1111)

Perhaps the Florida First District Court of Appeal
affirmed because the court believed that Petitioners
lacked standing, but again there is no way of identifying
the deciding issue for the court below. In any event, the
decision of the Florida First District Court of Appeal in
this case says nothing about any federal question because
it says nothing other than “affirmed.” Certiorari is
unwarranted for that reason alone.

16

2. THE PER CURIAM AFFIRMANCE DOES NOT
CONFLICT WITH ANY DECISION OF THIS
COURT.

If this Court chooses to assume that the use of Chan-
nel One was approved with the District Court of Appeal
passing on the requirements of the Fourteenth Amend-
ment, then no conflict exists between what may have
been decided below by implication and this Court's prior
decisions. Petitioners argue that the school board has

violated the liberties of children and parents in

childrearing, family and schooling decisions
protected by the Fourteenth Amendment within

the ambit of liberties acknowledged in prior

decisions of this Court, including: Parham v. J.R.

(1979) U.S. 584, 600, 99 S.Ct. 2493, 2503, 61

L.Ed.2d 101; Wisconsin v. Yoder, 406 U.S. 205, 92

S.Ct. 1526, 32 L.Ed.2d 15; Meyer v. Nebraska

(1923) 262 U.S. 390, 402, 43 S.Ct. 625, 628 67

L.Ed. 1042; Pierce v. Society of Sisters (1925) 268

U.S. 510, 534, 45 S.Ct. 571, 69 L.Ed. 1070, and

ALLS. 0. S.LJ. ... US... (2906), 237 S.Ct. S35,

136 L.Ed.2d 473 (sic).

(Petition, pp. 12-13) Each of the five decisions of this
Court cited by Petitioners are discussed below. However,
before looking at the facts and law described in each of
those decisions, it is helpful to look at the bigger picture
of how the Fourteenth Amendment has been applied in
the context of schools.

“Courts are not school boards or legislatures.” Wis-
consin v. Yoder, supra, 406 U.S. 205, 235. This Court has
therefore given considerable deference to decisions made
by school boards. Yet, the school board and K-III both
recognize that the power of school boards is not limitless
and that constitutional limitations do apply. Where school

ON ee ey eee TN

17

board actions “directly and sharply implicate basic consti-
tutional values,” then a strict scrutiny standard is appli-
cable to test whether the alternative chosen by a school
board is the alternative that causes the least infringement
of rights. Epperson v. Arkansas, 393 U.S. 97, 104, 89 S.Ct.
266, 270, 21 L.Ed.2d 228 (1968). Where no fundamental
constitutional rights are at stake, then this Court refuses
to become involved unless there is a demonstration that a
school board acted in a totally arbitrary manner.

A recent case examining when basic constitutional
values are at stake in school board decisionmaking is
Brown v. Hot, Sexy and Safer Productions, Inc., 68 F.3d 525
(ist Cir. 1995) cert. denied, 516 U.S. 1159, 116 S.Ct. 1044,
134 L.Ed.2d 191 (1996). In that case, students were com-
pelled to attend an assembly to witness an al’ gedly
“indecent” AIDS and sex education program conducted
by Hot, Sexy and Safer Productions. Students and parents
sued under 42 U.S.C. § 1983, alleging violations of their
substantive and procedural due process rights. The dis-
trict court dismissed the complaint for failure to state a
cause of action. The Court of Appeals affirmed. While
recognizing that government cannot foreclose parents’
right to choose a path of education, such as by choosing
home-schooling or private school rather than public
school, the court distinguished the fundamental paren-
tal/familial rights recognized in cases such as Pierce v.
Society of Sisters, 268 U.S. 510, 45 S.Ct. 571, 69 L.Ed. 1070
(1925), and Meyer v. Nebraska, 262 U.S. 390, 43 S.Ct. 625, 67
L.Ed. 1042 (1923), as follows:

We do not think, however, that this freedom
encompasses a fundamental constitutional right
to dictate the curriculum at the public school to
which they have chosen to send their children.

We think it is fundamentally different for the
state to say to a parent, “You can’t teach your

18

child German or send him to a parochial

school,” [as in Pierce and Meyer] than for the

parent to say to the state, “You can’t teach my
child subjects that are morally offensive to me.”

The first instance involves the state proscribing

parents from educating their children, while the

second involves parents prescribing what the

state shall teach their children. If all parents had a

fundamental constitutional right to dictate individu-

ally what the schools teach their children, the schools

would be forced to cater a curriculum for each stu-

dent whose parents had genuine moral disagreements
with the school’s choice of subject matter. We can-

not see that the Constitution imposes such a

burden on state educational systems, and

accordingly find that the rights of parents . . . do

not encompass a broad-based right to restrict the

flow of information in the public schools.

68 F.3d at 533-34 (citations omitted, emphasis supplied).
A similar result was reached in Herndon by Herndon v.
Chapel Hill-Carrboro City Board of Education, 89 F.3d 174
(4th Cir. 1996), cert. den. sub. nom. Reinhard v. Chapel Hill-
Carrboro City Board of Education, __ U.S. __, 117 S.Ct.
949, 136 L.Ed.2d 837 (1997), where parents and students
challenged on due process and privacy grounds a school
board requirement that students perform 50 hours of
unpaid community service as a condition of graduation.
The community service had to be performed after normal
school hours and there was no opt-out provision for
objecting students. The district court granted summary
judgment for defendants and Herndon by Herndon
affirmed.

In rejecting the argument that the parents’ fundamen-
tal constitutional right to direct the education of their
children was implicated, the court distinguished Meyer v.
Nebraska, supra, Pierce v. Society of Sisters, supra, and held
as follows:

ee

tte a abd aie VIER tne nee,

CRE AE NR ie ten 0S et Beeld Sed ee BOP) Wm te ee 1 dP oe tev

19

From Meyer to Runyan, the Supreme Court has
stated consistently that parents have a liberty
interest, protected by the Fourteenth Amend-
ment, in directing their children’s schooling.
Except when the parents’ interest includes a
religious element, however, the Court has
declared with equal consistency that reasonable
regulation by the state is permissible even if it
conflicts with that interest. That is the language
of rational basis scrutiny.

89 F.3d at 179. See also Immediato v. Rye Neck School Dis-

trict, 73 F.3d 454, 461 (2d Cir. 1996); cert. denied, __ US.
__, 117 S.Ct. 60, 136 L.Ed.2d 22 (1996).

The court in Ouimette v. Babbie, 405 F.Supp. 525 (D.Vt.
1975), dismissed a constitutional challenge to a student's
suspension for refusing to attend a required physical
education class. Plaintiffs in that case sought to debate
the educational value of the school board’s curriculum
decision, but the court held that deference to the school
board’s judgment was required:

While there is a legitimate entitlement to a pub-

lic education provided by the State, free from

impairment of protected liberties, there is no

right under the paramount law to receive a pub-

lic education on special terms and conditions
designated by the student.

405 F.Supp. at 530.!°

10 Likewise, in Sherman v. Community Consolidated School
District 21, 980 F.2d 437 (7th Cir. 1992), cert. denied, 508 U.S. 950, 113
S.Ct. 2439, 124 L.Ed.2d 658 (1993), the court confirmed the
government's right to regulate public schools, as well as the right to
insist that “those who cannot accept the result exercise their right
and select private education at their own expense.” Id. at 444-45
(citations omitted). School boards may set curricula bounded only
by the Establishment Clause, “even though pupils may find the
books and classroom discourse offensive or immoral.” Id. at 445.

20

These cases recognize that parents and students, like
Petitioners, plainly have a right to oppose use of Channel
One programming before the school board in a public
meeting. But if Petitioners choose to use the public
schools, they must accept curriculum decisions of the
school board elected to make those decisions, so long as
the decisions are not wholly arbitrary. Courts have never
recognized any fundamental constitutional rights on the
part of parents or students that would trigger strict scru-
tiny of school board curriculum decisions that are chal-
lenged on strictly secular grounds. And Petitioners in this
case admittedly only challenge Channel One on secular
grounds. (Petition, pp. 14-15)

The applicable test in this case then is whether the
school board was arbitrary in authorizing its schools to
use Channel One.!! It is clear that the school board was
acting within its authority under Florida law because the
Florida Constitution gives school boards the power “to
operate, control and supervise” the public schools. Arti-
cle IX, § 4, Fla. Const. Moreover, the record below clearly
established the school board’s good faith determination
that Channel One did serve to combat “current events
illiteracy” where schools opted to use the programming.
(App. 1-46) Petitioners believed differently than the
school board, but such disagreement is no indication that
the school board’s decision was arbitrary. The Florida
circuit court found that the record contained a rational
basis for the school board to use Channel One at some
schools, a decision that the District Court of Appeal chose

11 Petitioners concede that they have no objection from a
procedural standpoint. The school board acted in noticed public
meetings where Petitioners spoke in opposition to Channel One.

21

not to expressly address. Now the Petitioners seek to
have this Court find error in that factual finding, a reason
that “rarely” supports issuance of a writ under Rule 10.

Turning to the five cases of this Court cited as being
in conflict with the decision below, the first cited decision
is Parham v. J].R., 442 U.S. 584, 99 S.Ct. 2493, 61 L.Ed.2d
101 (1979). In Parham, the Court was faced with balancing
the rights of a child not to be confined in a mental
hospital and broad parental authority over minor chil-
dren in the context of a Georgia statute that allowed
parents to commit their children to mental hospitals. On
the one hand, the children have a fundamental liberty
interest “in not being confined unnecessarily for medical
treatment.” 99 S.Ct. 2493, 2503. On the other hand,

Our jurisprudence historically has reflected
Western civilization concepts of the family as a
unit with broad parental authority over minor
children. Our cases have consistently followed
that course; our constitutional system long ago
rejected any notion that a child is ‘the mere
creature of the State’ and, on the contrary,
asserted that parents generally ‘have the right,
coupled with the high duty, to recognize and
prepare [their children] for additional obliga-
tions.’ Pierce v. Society of Sisters, 268 U.S. 510,
535, 45 S.Ct. 571, 573, 69 L.Ed. 1070 (1925). See
also Wisconsin v. Yoder, 406 U.S. 205, 213, 92 S.Ct.
1526, 1532, 32 L.Ed.2d 15 (1972); Prince v. Massa-
chusetts, 321 U.S. 158, 166, 64 S.Ct. 438, 442, 88
L.Ed. 645 (1944); Meyer v. Nebraska, 262 U.S. 390,
400, 43 S.Ct. 625, 627, 67 L.Ed. 1042 (1923).

99 S.Ct. 2493, 2504. The Court held that the fundamental
right of children not to be improperly confined required
the State through a neutral factfinder to determine
whether a child was to be voluntarily confined for a
mental illness. Unlike the facts in Parham, Petitioners do

22

not have fundamental constitutional rights to determine
the public school curriculum that suits them personally.
The school board, not Petitioners, determines the public
school curriculum.

Petitioners cite three of the cases cited by the Court
in Parham: Pierce, Yoder, and Meyer. In Pierce, the Court
was faced with an Oregon statute that compelled general
attendance at public schools and the Court held that the
Oregon statute unconstitutionally interfered with the lib-
erty interests of parents and students as to the education
of the students. Petitioners in this case clearly had the
choice of whether to home school, attend a private
school, or attend public school. Just because Petitioners
chose to use the public schools does not give Petitioners a
right to control the curriculum that the school board and
schools chose to implement.

In Yoder, this Court recognized that Wisconsin could
not compel Amish students to attend a formal school
after they had graduated from eighth grade. The Court,
in view of a freedom of religion claim and record show-
ing that the Amish had demonstrated an ability to infor-
mally educate their minor students, found that Wisconsin
could not compel Amish students to attend a formal
school until age sixteen. In the present case, Petitioners
have not asserted any religious claim and base their
Petition entirely upon secular grounds involving Peti-
tioners’ view that Channel One should not be a part of the
school board’s curriculum.

In Meyer, Nebraska law provided that no teacher
could teach in any language other than English until after
the eighth grade. Robert Meyer was a teacher who was
convicted of a criminal offense because he taught a pupil
using the German language. This Court held the statute
unconstitutional because it was “arbitrary and without

23

reasonable relation to any end within the competency of
the state.” 43 S.Ct. 625, 628. Unlike Meyer, “Petitioners
readily concede that [school board] possesses wide dis-
cretion in prescribing curriculums.” (Petition, p. 12) The
school board was plainly acting within the ambit of its
authority. In addition, unlike Meyer, the school board did
not place any compulsion upon any student. The only
student who asked to be excused was excused. The stu-
dents who remained in the room were not forced to listen
to the Channel One program. Those students who listened
heard a news program like other news programs with
limited commercial advertisements deemed incidental to
the educational purpose. There was absolutely no com-
pulsion placed upon students to adopt the views of news
reporters or to buy products described in the limited
advertisements.

The last case cited by Petitioners was M.L.B. v. S.L.J.,
519 U.S. 102, 117 S.Ct. 555, 136 L.Ed.2d 473 (1996). In
M.L.B., this Court granted a petition for writ of certiorari
where a mother’s parental rights were terminated by the
State of Mississippi. The Court determined that Missis-
sippi could not terminate an indigent parent’s right to
raise her children where the parent did not have suffi-
cient money to pay for a transcript and filing fees. Where
parental rights are being permanently terminated as in
M.L.B., or a child is confined in a mental hospital as in
Parham, the permanence and fundamental nature of a
state’s intrusion into the liberty interests of a parent and
child, outside the context of the public schools, is mani-
fest and far different than the curriculum decision
involved in this case.

In the context of public education, when a state tries
to take away private schools as an option (Pierce), or

24

impinges upon an established sect’s right to school infor-
mally after eighth grade graduation (Yoder), or provides
that English is the only lawful instructional language
(Meyer), this Court has provided close scrutiny of the
reasons that support the supposed public purpose. How-
ever, this Court has never made general curriculum deci-
sions for school boards. Courts do not decide curriculum
matters de novo, but rather give considerable deference to
elected school boards.

The record in this case shows that the school board
acted in good faith and with the support of trained edu-
cators to combat current affairs illiteracy by allowing
schools to use Channel One programming. (App. 1-46) A
few parents and teachers disagreed and sued the school
board in an attempt to have a court give Petitioners a
second chance to present the arguments rejected by the
school board. However, the school board’s decisions were
not actions that “directly and sharply implicate basic con-
stitutional values.” Epperson v. Arkansas, supra. The record
shows a rational basis for the school board in the form of
affidavits attesting to the substantial educational value of
the programming and incidental nature of the commer-
cials; due process does not require this Court or any
court, to consider alternative means of current events
education and decide how students will be educated in
Alachua County, Florida. Even if the Florida First District
Court of Appeal had made its decision based upon its
interpretation of the requirements of the Fourteenth
Amendment, that decision is fully consistent with the
prior decisions of this Court.

25

B. NO CONFLICT EXISTS BETWEEN FLORIDA AND
CALIFORNIA COURTS AND NO COMPELLING
REASON EXISTS TO GRANT THE WRIT OF CER-
TIORARI.

Next, Petitioners seek to convince this Court that the
decision below creates a conflict, not with decisions of
this Court, but rather as a decision of a Florida court of
last resort with a decision of a California court of last
resort. However, as discussed here, the purpose and
intent of Rule 10(b) would not be served by issuance of a
writ under the circumstances presented in this case.

1. NO CONFLICT EXISTS BECAUSE THE FLOR-
IDA FIRST DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL
MERELY AFFIRMED PER CURIAM.

No conflict exists under Rule 10(b) unless that con-
flict is manifest upon a reading of the two state decisions.
The per curiam decision of the Florida District Court of
Appeal has no precedential value and does not conflict on
its face with any other decision of any other court
because it does not say anything other than “affirmed.”
Department of Legal Affairs v. District Court of Appeal, 434
So.2d 310, 312 (Fla. 1983) (“The rationale and basis for a
[per curiam] decision without opinion is always subject
to speculation”). Even if one were to look beyond the
decision of the Florida District Court of Appeal to the
unpublished decision of the circuit court, no reference is
made by the circuit court to the requirements of the
Fourteenth Amendment to the Constitution of the United
States. No federal issue appears.

When, as here, the alleged highest state court is silent
on the federal question presented for certiorari, this
Court in the past has presumed that the federal issue was
not properly presented below unless and until the party

26

seeking certiorari carries the burden of demonstrating the
presumption to be inapplicable. Adams v. Robertson, 65
U.S.L.W. 4180, 117 S.Ct. 1028, 1029, 137 L.Ed.2d 203
(1997). In this case, Petitioners have neither addressed
this presumption in their Petition nor have they estab-
lished that the federal issue they define in the Petition
was “pressed or passed upon” below. Illinois v. Gates, 462
U.S. 213, 217-219, 103 S.Ct. 2317, 2321-2322, 76 L.Ed.2d
527 (1983). This requirement is critical to the Court's
jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1257 and its determination
of whether to grant certiorari. See, e.g., Adams, supra; Webb
v. Webb, 451 U.S. 493, 101 S.Ct. 1889, 68 L.Ed.2d 392
(1981). Given the fact that the First District Court of
Appeal’s decision below may have been premised upon
any number of theories, a federal issue has not been
clearly “passed upon” below and this Court has no clear
reason to grant certiorari. Webb, supra.

Even ignoring the absence of a clear federal issue
decided below, the instant Petition still fails to meet other
important criteria in Rule 10(b). Principally, this Court
should note that the decision of the Florida First District
Court of Appeal is not necessarily a decision by the
Florida court of last resort. In this case, Petitioners could
have requested that the First District Court of Appeal
certify their constitutional concerns as questions of great
public importance for review by the Supreme Court of
Florida. See Fla.R.App.P. 9.330. Petitioners failed to
request this relief below and thus failed to exhaust the
possibility of discretionary review by the highest Florida
state court. It comes as no surprise that this Court has
stringently enforced the requirement that petitioners
under 28 U.S.C. § 1257 exhaust all possible avenues of
state court relief. See Sandquist v. California, 419 U.S. 1066,
95 S.Ct. 651, 42 L.Ed.2d 662 (1974); Banks v. California, 395

27

U.S. 708, 89 S.Ct. 1901, 23 L.Ed.2d 653 (1969); Gotthilf v.
Sills, 375 U.S. 79, 84 S.Ct. 187, 11 L.Ed.2d 159 (1963)
(finding that petitioners’ failure to seek appeal of nonfi-
nal order by leave of the New York Appellate Division
upon certified questions voided jurisdiction under
§ 1257). Petitioners, of course, did not have an absolute
right to review in the Supreme Court of Florida, but the
Supreme Court of Florida has reviewed under its discre-
tionary review powers a per curiam decision of a District
Court of Appeal. Radiation Technology, Inc. v. Ware Constr.
Co., 445 So.2d 329 (Fla. 1983). Petitioners’ failure to seek
possible appellate relief in Florida emphasizes that the
district court of appeal did not decide any question of
great public importance and disqualifies the instant Peti-
tion from consideration under 28 U.S.C. § 1257. Gotthilf,
supra.

Moreover, the decision upon which Petitioners rely to
show a conflict, Dawson v. East Side Union High School, 28
Cal. App. 4th 998, 34 Cal. Rptr. 2d 108 (Cal. 6th Dist.
1994), is not a decision of the California court of last
resort as required by Rule 10(b). The Dawson case was a
decision by a California intermediate appellate court and
was never considered by the California Supreme Court.
Although the Dawson litigants could have petitioned the
California Supreme Court to review their appellate deci-
sion, see Cal. Rules of Ct. 28(a) and (b), they failed to do
so. Dawson is thus a decision of an intermediate appellate
body in California, and not a decision of the highest
California state court.

Against this backdrop, it becomes clear that Peti-
tioners have failed to meet even the most fundamental
jurisdictional or prudential considerations outlined in
Supreme Court Rule 10. Simply put, there is no decision
which clearly decides any federal issue. Even worse,

28

there is no decision from any state’s “highest court” on
the issue now urged in certiorari. Here, certiorari, given
this Court’s past decisions, must be denied.

2. THE CALIFORNIA DAWSON DECISION DOES
NOT CONFLICT WITH THE FLORIDA DECI-
SION.

In Dawson, the appellate court agreed with federal
public school cases recognizing that courts should not
substitute their judgment for that of the school boards.
The basic principle cited by the California court was that

courts should give substantial deference to the
decisions of local school districts and boards
within the scope of their broad discretion, and
should intervene only in clear cases of abuse of
discretion. . . . [T]he essentially factual question
whether particular noncurricular matters [i.e.,
commercials] are or are not incidental [to a pri-
mary educational purpose] must be addressed
in the first instance to the broad discretion of
local school districts and boards, and a court
would be justified in disturbing the local deci-
sion only upon a clear showing of abuse of the
local district’s or board’s sound discretion.

34 Cal.Rptr.2d at 117. The court in Dawson specifically
rejected the notion that a school board could not lawfully
contract to show the Channel One program in public
schools and determine for itself whether commercials in
Channel One were incidental to the educational benefits to
be achieved by giving students the routine opportunity to
be become better informed citizens.

The court in Dawson approved of Channel One where
no student was compelled to view Channel One. Here too,
no Petitioner, or any student, ever was compelled to view,

ee

29

believe, or be tested upon Channel One. Petitioners, how-
ever, state that the contract in Dawson “explicitly permit-
ted schools to allow students to ‘opt out’ of the daily
Channel One audience.” (Petition, p. 16) On this point,
Petitioners are mistaken. In Dawson, there was no exe-
cuted contract at all and the opt-out was done by mutual
consent. See Dawson, 34 Cal.Rptr.2d at 114. Just like in
Dawson, Petitioner’s were allowed to opt out without
objection from the school board or K-III. (R. VIII 1313,
Peters aff. p. 9; App. 45)

Petitioners try to make much of the fact that parents
in Dawson were informed in advance of their right to opt
out. Here the record shows that Petitioners never asked
the school board for any such notice; indeed, one Peti-
tioner did ask for an opt-out which was immediately
granted in a manner never complained of by any parent
or student. Here nothing could be achieved by informing
parents now of an opportunity to opt out of a program
that is no longer being used. Dawson was decided on the
basis primarily of California law and does not conflict
with the present case. The few courts that have been
faced with a challenge to Channel One have uniformly
upheld school board decisions to make Channel One avail-
able to help educate students.

CONCLUSION

The decision that this Court is asked to review liter-
ally says only “affirmed”. That per curiam decision may
not have been based upon any federal question.

Even if the Court assumes that a federal question was
implicitly decided below, there is no conflict with deci-
sions of this Court or between state courts of last resort.
No reason exists for this Court to apply its substantive
resources to address a constitutional issue where no case

30

or controversy exists because the program in question
was discontinued in 1996.

No fundamental constitutional rights are involved
which require strict scrutiny of the school board’s curric-
ulum decision. The litigation below involved only a dif-
ference of opinion as to how to educate students in
current affairs and the record supports the elected school
board’s decision to authorize its schools to use Channel
One with the concurrence of school principals, faculties,
media specialists, and parents. The Florida trial court did
not err in granting summary judgment in favor of
Respondents because the record shows that use of Chan-
nel One was not arbitrary. Channel One helped educate
students. Respondents respectfully ask that the writ be
denied.

Respectfully submitted,

THomas L. WitTMER JOHN Rapey

Staff Counsel Counsel of Record

School Board of Alachua EuizaBetH McArTHUR
County Katz, Kutter, HAIGLer,

620 East University Avenue ALDERMAN, Bryant &
Gainesville, Florida 32601 Yon, P.A.
352/955-7461 106 East College Avenue,
Suite 1200
Tallahassee, Florida 32301
850/224-9634

Attorney for Respondent Attorneys for Respondent
School Board of Alachua Primedia Inc. (f/k/a K-III
County Communications Corporation)

DATED: May 6, 1998

TABLE OF CONTENTS
TO RESPONDENTS’ APPENDIX

Page
Circuit Court Table of Contents for Board Affi-
II ae oot ac kh Sach ba owen indss seat Abaee te App. 1
Affidavits Submitted by School Board:
POMOIR: Be RMN Be aa he conn sec eekaceuss App. 2
ee ey eye Per ep eon T rere Frere App. 5
TE: Fe. ROIOE ing son cet ccncpivinc ca ees App. 8
ee Rr rere ere eee App. 13
ME Ns GU vs kee wis se ce eQieeeebateuscens App. 16
Gs PT rey eet App. 19
William D. Boyd, Ir cae pd tevandeaerseeese App. 22
Sees WU EN PONS 5 sv ck vn oS ciate oe inate App. 26
Se Fe PA 565 on 058 6d es App. 29
og go Err re ren eye eres App. 33
ET WE. SONI ons 5a cine nnnd4cessnaestapas App. 37

Affidavit Submitted by K-III:

COU Ss io o5 saws ao Fe deen Say enesavaenes App. 41

App. 1

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE
EIGHTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT, IN AND
FOR ALACHUA COUNTY, FLORIDA

RALPH HESS, DARNELL RHEA, )
et al., )

Plaintiffs, ! CASE NO.
vs. ) 92-3214-CA
SCHOOL BOARD OF ALACHUA en |
COUNTY,

Defendant, )
and : ;

K-IIIT COMMUNICATIONS )
CORPORATION, )

Intervenor. ‘

TABLE OF CONTENTS FOR BOARD AFFIDAVITS
EE 1
Te cen ns coccese 2
EES 3
Ne ccc acccece 4
De ee nec cccceccs 5
werey G. Sepaier .................. oe 6
EEN TE 7
kek ved cece 8
Ne ev asccce 9
rc vcs vce cccceecs. 10

BOERS a 11

App. 2

AFFIDAVIT OF FRANK J. LAGOTIC
State of Florida

County of Alachua

Frank J. Lagotic (“Affiant”), being duly sworn,
deposes and says:

1. Affiant was elected to the Alachua County School
Board (“Board”) in November 1982 and served continu-
ously as an elected member of the Board from 1982 until
1994. Affiant served as chairman of the Board during
several periods between 1982 and 1994.

2. Affiant at all times when serving as a member of
the Board made a good faith, diligent, and earnest effort
to make decisions that would serve the educational needs
of students attending schools operated under the supervi-
sion of the Board.

3. As chairman of the Board, Affiant executed on
behalf of the Board a District Agreement with Whittle
Communications in May 1990, a copy of which is
appended to this affidavit as Exhibit 1 (14 pages, consist-
ing of a one-page form contract with my signature, a two-
page “Addendum” with my signature, and incorporated
general terms with exhibits A-C).

4. The District Agreement, Exhibit 1 to this affi-
davit, was approved at a duly-noticed, public Board
meeting on April 3, 1990. An accurate copy of the
approved minutes of that Board meeting is Exhibit 2
attached and made a part of this affidavit.

5. The Board decision to enter the District Agree-
ment as shown in Exhibits 1 and 2 to this affidavit was
made after considering a request from a middle school

App. 3

principal made directly to the Board and after the posi-
tive recommendation made by Superintendent Magann
and his staff.

6. I voted to approve the District Agreement as a
member of the Board because of my informed judgment
that the District Agreement enhanced and improved edu-
cational tools available at the school level, if the schools
decided through the school administration, school fac-
ulty, and school advisory council to use the Whittle Edu-
cational Network described in the District Agreement.
The individual schools made the decision to participate
or not participate.

7. I voted to approve the District Agreement as a
member of the Board solely based upon what I thought
was best to allow the schools to better educate students
attending schools under the general supervision of the
Board. My vote to approve the District Agreement was
honestly made in good faith without personal benefit to
me after considering debate before the Board, the recom-
mendations of staff, and after seeking out public com-
ment.

8. I reached the personal judgment that the educa-
tional goals of the Board’s schools would be served by the
District Agreement, Exhibit 1 to this affidavit, because it
made available to the individual schools educationally-
valuable resources.

9. The Board considered the renewal of the District
Agreement at a duly-noticed, public Board meeting on
March 16, 1993. An accurate copy of the approved min-
utes of that Board meeting is Exhibit 3 to this affidavit.

App. 4

10. I voted to renew the District Agreement as a
member of the Board solely based upon what I thought
was best to allow the schools to better educate students
attending schools under the general supervision of the
Board. My vote to renew the District Agreement was
honestly made in good faith without personal benefit to
me after considering debate before the Board including
description of the experience under the District Agree-
ment between 1990 and 1993, the recommendations of
staff, and after seeking out public comment.

11. In 1993, I reached the personal judgment that
the educational goals of the Board’s schools would be
served by renewal of the District Agreement, Exhibit 1 to
this affidavit, because it made available to the individual
schools educationally-valuable resources.

Further affiant sayeth not.

/s/ Frank J. Lagotic
Frank J. Lagotic

Sworn to and subscribed before me this 15th day of
August, 1996,

App. 5

AFFIDAVIT CF SUPERINTENDENT D. P. MAGANN
State of South Carolina

County of Georgetown

D. P. Magann (“Affiant”), being duly sworn, deposes
and says:

1. Affiant became superintendent of the Alachua
County Schools in 1981 when he was hired by the School
Board of Alachua County (“Board”) and he served in that
capacity continuously until 1991.

2. Affiant was a trained educator with experience as
a teacher and a principal in excess of 15 years prior to
becoming Board superintendent.

3. In his capacity as Board superintendent, Affiant
supervised a large staff necessary to operate the Board
schools and advised the Board as to decisions of the
Board through briefing papers, analysis, and comments
made at public meetings of the Board. In all of his activ-
ities as superintendent, Affiant always attempted to make
decisions and recommendations based on what was best
for the educational needs of students attending schools
operated under the Board.

4. Affiant recommended to the Board approval of
the District Agreement with Whittle Communications in
1990 when the Board approved that agreement.

5. Affiant’s positive recommendation to the Board
of the District Agreement with Whittle Communications
in 1990 was made after diligent inquiry and was based
upon what affiant thought would best serve the educa-
tional needs of the students attending schools operated

App. 6

by the Board. Affiant’s investigation of the District Agree-
ment included viewing video tape showing the TV pro-
gramming described in the District Agreement,
discussions with district staff including those with special
training in instructional technology, discussions with
school staffs including principals, and analysis of what
would best serve the educational needs of the students in
Board schools.

6. During Board meetings, the public was allowed
to raise and present issues of concern to the Board. After
approval of the District Agreement in 1990, and while I
remained Board superintendent into 1991, no member of
the public presented to the Board questions or concerns
regarding the District Agreement. In particular, the ques-
tion of whether the Board needed to adopt a formal
policy as to how individual students could be excused
from the classroom when the Channel One programming
described in the District Agreement was being shown
was not even requested to be brought before the Board. If

the Board had heard concerns from parents, principals,
students, or others about the District Agreement, then I
would have recommended to the Board that such con-
cerns be carefully addressed.

7. As a general policy, Affiant urged principals in
Board schools to attempt to accommodate individual par-
ent and student preferences as to individual educational
elements. As to Channel One, for example, principals

would be encouraged to allow students to be excused
from the classroom when that program was shown where
parental objections were made known.

App. 7

8. The Board and affiant allowed limited commer-
cialism in the Board’s schools when that commercialism
appeared to serve the educational purposes of the
schools. For example, school newspapers and yearbooks
have commercial content; commercial restaurants and
vending equipment are present in some schools; adver-
tisements are allowed at athletic facilities; commercials
also are present in the schools via the internet, via normal
commercial TV programming, and via schools use of
commercial newspapers as classroom aids. In each
instance, just as in connection with the District Agree-
ment, limited commercialism was allowed in the schools
based upon a judgment that the educational programs of
the schools would be thereby benefitted.

9. Affiant reached the conclusion that the limited
commercials allowed as a part of Channel One under the

District Agreement were incidental to the educational
benefits received under the District Agreement.

Further affiant sayeth not.

/s/ D. P. Magann
D. P. Magann

Sworn to and subscribed before me this 13th day of
August, 1996,

App. 8

AFFIDAVIT OF SUPERINTENDENT
ROBERT W. HUGHES

State of Florida
County of Alachua

Robert W. Hughes (“Affiant”), being duly sworn,
deposes and says:

1. Affiant became superintendent of the Alachua
County Schools in 199[2 /s/ RWH] when he was hired
by the School Board of Alachua County (“Board”) and he
has served in that capacity continuously to the present.

2. Affiant’s general educational and work experi-
ence is accurately shown in Exhibit 1 to this affidavit.

3. In his capacity as Board superintendent, Affiant
supervises a large staff necessary to operate the schools
operated under the Board and advises the Board as to
decisions of the Board through briefing papers, analysis,
and comments made at public meetings of the Board. In
all of his activities as superintendent, Affiant always
attempts to make decisions and recommendations based
on what is best for the educational needs of students
attending schools operated under the Board.

4. Affiant recommended to the Board renewal of the
District Agreement with Whittle Communications in 1993
when the Board decided to renew that agreement.

5. Affiant’s positive recommendation to the Board
of the District Agreement with Whittle Communications
in 1993 was made after diligent inquiry and was based
upon what affiant thought would best serve the educa-
tional needs of the students attending schools operated

eee een ee

App. 9

by the Board. Affiant’s investigation of the District Agree-
ment included discussions with school level personnel
who had views, positive and negative, with respect to the
District Agreement and Channel One including princi-
pals, teachers, and media specialists, discussions with
students and parents, discussions with district level staff
including those with special expertise in instructional
technology, firsthand assessment of how the District
Agreement had been implemented between 1990 and
1993, and analysis that showed renewal of the District
Agreement would be educationally beneficial to students
attending the Board schools.

6. Affiant recommended to the Board approval of
the continuation of the District Agreement with Whittle
Communications for the Board meeting held on March 5,
1996, when the Board decided to discontinue that agree-
ment. An accurate copy of the approved minutes of that
Board meeting is Exhibit 2 attached and made a part of
this affidavit.

7. As shown in the minutes for the March 5, 1996,
board meeting, positive citizen input regarding the Dis-
trict Agreement was received from a student government
representative, a teacher, and a former student.

8. Affiant’s positive recommendation to the Board
of the District Agreement with Whittle Communications
in 1996 was made after diligent inquiry into actual use of
the District Agreement and all comments made with
respect to the actual school use of Whittle’s Educational
Network as described in the District Agreement between
1991 and 1996. Affiant came to the conclusion that the

App. 10

District Agreement served the educational needs of stu-
dents attending schools operated by the Board and that
the limited commercials in Channel One were incidental
to educational benefits being realized by students as a
result of the District Agreement and the school decision
to use the District Agreement.

9. The Board decision to terminate the Whittle Dis-
trict Agreement has been implemented. All use of Whit-
tle’s Educational Network pursuant to the District
Agreement in schools operated by the Board ceased as of
June 1996. All equipment installed pursuant to the Dis-
trict Agreement has been removed and the Board has
otherwise provided for TV programming in the class-
rooms where such equipment has been removed.

10. The Board has expressed no interest in recon-
sidering its decision to terminate the District Agreement
and no staff analysis is underway which would precurse
consideration by the Board of any contract like the Dis-
trict Agreement.

11. There is no reasonable prospect that the Board
will even consider any contract like the District Agree-
ment for the 1996-1997 school year and it would be highly
speculative to try and predict what contract terms might
be acceptable to the Board in the future as to any contract
analogous to the District Agreement.

12. During Board meetings, the public is allowed to
raise and present issues of concern to the Board. During
the period 1991 through the present, no member of the
public has presented to the Board the question of whether
the Board needed to adopt a formal policy as to how
individual students could be excused from the classroom

i " a

Airwiiteities ust t ston "shih ene

at hd Pt tem welll aa nina Sa

awh,

App. 11

when the Channel One programming described in the
District Agreement was being shown. If such a proposal
were presented, it would have been my recommendation
to attempt to reasonably accommodate parental concerns
and the educational benefits that resulted from the Dis-
trict Agreement and the decisions by some schools to use
the Whittle Educational Network including Channel One.

13. As a general policy, Affiant has urged principals
in Board schools to attempt to accommodate strong indi-
vidual parent and student preferences as to individual
educational elements. As to Channel One, for example,
principals would be encouraged to allow students to be
excused from the classroom when that program was
shown where strong parental objections were made
known. To my knowledge, only one parent asked that a
student be excused from watching Channel One and that
student was excused.

14. The Board and affiant have allowed limited
commercialism in the Board’s schools when that commer-
cialism appeared to serve the educational purposes of the
schools. For example, school newspapers and yearbooks
have commercial content; commercial restaurants and
vending equipment are present in some schools; adver-
tisements are allowed at athletic facilities; commercials
also are present in the schools via the internet, via normal
commercial TV programming, and via schools use of
commercial newspapers as classroom aids. In each
instance, just as in connection with the District Agree-
ment, limited commercialism was allowed in the schools
based upon a judgment that the educational programs of
the schools would be thereby benefitted and the commer-
cials were incidental to that educational benefit.

App. 12

Further affiant sayeth not.

/s/ Robert W. Hughes
Robert W. Hughes

Sworn to and subscribed before me this 15th day of
August, 1996,

App. 13

AFFIDAVIT OF JEFFERSON W. JONES, JR.
State of Florida

County of Alachua

Jefferson W. Jones, Jr. (“Affiant”), being duly sworn,
deposes and says:

1. Affiant was principal at Santa Fe High School
during the 1989-1990 school year and remained principal
at Santa Fe until 1992.

2. Prior to 1990, affiant was trained as a professional
teacher and administrator and had experience as a
teacher and administrator in excess of 20 years.

3. As principal of Santa Fe High School, affiant exe-
cuted the Whittle Communications’ School Agreement.
An accurate copy of the School Agreement with affiant’s
signature is attached as Exhibit 1 to this affidavit.

4. Affiant is aware of and participated in the deci-
sionmaking process that led to the execution of the
School Agreement attached as Exhibit 1 to this affidavit.
The Santa Fe High School faculty and SAC (school advi-
sory council) supported the execution of the School
Agreement with Whittle. Affiant in addition considered
the positive recommendation of the school media special-
ist.

5. Prior to Affiant executing the School Agreement
attached as Exhibit 1 to this affidavit, Affiant concluded
that Whittle’s Educational Network as described in the
School Agreement would educationally benefit the stu-
dents at Santa Fe High School.

App. 14

6. After execution of the School Agreement, affiant
monitored use of the Whittle Educational Network at
Santa Fe High School and continued to believe that the
School Agreement served the educational needs of the
students after personally monitoring how it was used as
well as considering all comments from faculty, students,
and parents.

7. Asa result of the use of the Whittle Educational
Network at Santa Fe High School, many students were
better informed as to current events on an international
and national level and thereby better able to participate
as informed adult citizens and perform in related classes
like social studies, history, and life management skills.

8. During the period when I was principal of Santa
Fe High School no parent, student, or faculty member
asked to be excused from any TV programming under the
School Agreement.

9. The limited commercial content contained in pro-
gramming under the School Agreement (specifically as a
part of Channel One) was not significantly different than
other commercial materials which students are exposed
to everyday in schools. Such exposure comes from school
newspapers, school yearbooks, the internet, classroom
use of newspapers and normal commercial TV program-
ming, advertisements by restaurants and vending
machine companies, magazines used in the classroom,
advertisements in athletic facilities like scoreboards, and
other sources. In all of these instances, including the
commercial segments of Channel One, exposure of stu-

dents to commercial content is incidental to a program
that serves the overall educational program of the school.

App. 15

10. In summary, affiant believes that the Whittle
Educational Network including Channel One was educa-
tionally beneficial to students at Santa Fe High School.

Further affiant sayeth not.

/s/ Jefferson W. Jones, Jr.
Jefferson W. Jones, Jr.

Sworn to and subscribed before me this 14 day of
August, 1996,

App. 16

AFFIDAVIT OF MAE V. ISLAR '

State of Florida
County of Alachua

Mae V. Islar (“Affiant”), being duly sworn, deposes
and says:

1. Affiant was employed by the School Board of
Alachua County in 1989-90 as principal of F. W. Buchholz
High School and remained principal at F. W. Buchholz
until 1992.

2. Prior to 1990, affiant was trained as a professional
teacher and administrator and had experience as a
teacher and administrator in excess of 20 years.

3. As principal of F. W. Buchholz High School, affi-
ant executed the Whittle Communications’ School Agree-
ment. An accurate copy of the School Agreement with
affiant’s signature is attached as Exhibit 1 to this affi-
davit.

4. Affiant is aware of and participated in the deci-
sionmaking process that led to the execution of the
School Agreement attached as Exhibit 1 to this affidavit.
The F. W. Buchholz High School faculty and SAC (School
Advisory Council) supported the execution of the School
Agreement with Whittle. Affiant in addition considered
the positive recommendation of media specialists.

5. Prior to Affiant executing the School Agreement
attached as Exhibit 1 to this affidavit, Affiant conciuded
that Whittle’s Educational Network as described in the
School Agreement would educationally benefit the stu-
dents at F. W. Buchholz High School.

App. 17

6. After execution of the School Agreement, affiant
monitored use of the Whittle Educational Network at F.
W. Buchholz High School and continued to believe that
the School Agreement served the educational needs of the
students after personally monitoring how it was used as
well as considering all comments from faculty, students,

and parents.

7. Asa result of the use of the Whittle Educational
Network at F. W. Buchholz High School, many students
were better informed as to current events on an interna-
tional and national level and thereby better able to partic-
ipate as informed adult citizens and better able to
perform in related classes like social studies, history, and
life management skills.

8. During the period when I was principal of F. W.
Buchholz High School no parent, student, or faculty
member asked to be excused from any TV programming
under the School Agreement.

9. The limited commercial content contained in pro-
gramming under the School Agreement (specifically as a
part of Channel One) was not significantly different than

other commercial materials which students are exposed
to everyday in schools. Such exposure comes from school
newspapers, school yearbooks, the internet, classroom
use of newspapers and normal commercial TV program-
ming, advertisements by restaurants and vending
machine companies, magazines used in the classroom,
advertisements in athletic facilities like scoreboards, and

other sources. In all of these instances, including the

App. 18

commercial segments of Channel One, exposure of stu-

dents to commercial content is incidental to a program
that serves the overall educational program of the school.

10. In summary, affiant believes that the Whittle
Educational Network including Channel One was educa-
tionally beneficial to students at F. W. Buchholz High
School.

Further affiant sayeth not.

/s/ Mae V. Islar
Mae V. Islar

Sworn to and subscribed before me this 16 day of
August, 1996

App. 19

AFFIDAVIT OF TERRY E. STECHMILLER
State of GEORGIA
County of COBB

Terry E. Stechmiller (“Affiant”), being duly sworn,
deposes and says:

1. Affiant has been employed by the School Board
of Alachua County as principal of F. W. Buchholz High
School since 1992 when affiant succeeded Mae V. Islar as
principal.

2. Prior to 1992, affiant was trained as a professional
teacher and administrator and had experience as a
teacher and administrator in excess of 20 years.

3. As principal of F. W. Buchholz High School, affi-
ant monitored implementation of the Whittle Communi-
cations’ School Agreement.

4. Affiant is aware of and participated in the deci-
sionmaking process that led to the continuation of the
School Agreement at F. W. Buchholz High School until
1996. The F. W. Buchholz High School faculty, including
media specialist, and SAC (School Advisory Council)
supported continuation of the School Agreement with
Whittle.

5. Through 1996, Affiant believed, and continues to
believe, that Whittle’s Educational Network as described
in the School Agreement educationally benefitted the stu-
dents at F. W. Buchholz High School. As a result of the
use of the Whittle Educational Network at F. W. Buchholz
High School, many students were better informed as to
current events on an international and national level and

App. 20

thereby better able to participate as informed adult citi-
zens and beiter able to perform in related classes like
social studies, history, and life management skills.

6. During the period when | was principal of F. W.
Buchholz High School no parent, student, or faculty
member asked to be excused from any TV programming
under the School Agreement.

~~

7. The limited commercial content contained in pro-
gramming under the Schocl Agreement (specifically as a
part of Channel One) was not significantly different than

other commercial materials which students are exposed
to everyday in schools. Such exposure comes from school
newspapers, school yearbooks, the internet, classroom
use of newspapers and normal commercial TV program-
ming, advertisements by restaurants and vending
machine companies, magazines used in the classroom,
advertisements in athletic facilities like scoreboards, and
other sources. In all of these instances, including the
commercial segments of Channel One, exposure of stu-

dents to commercial content is incidental to a program
that serves the overall educational program of the school.

8. The School Agreement ended at F. W. Buchholz
High School as of May 1996 with the removal of equip-
ment consistent with the Board decision to not renew the
District Agreement. Affiant knows of no present plan to
attempt to consider use of the Whittle Educational Net-
work or Channel One at any time in the future.

9. In summary, affiant believes that the Whittle
Educational Network including Channel One was educa-

tionally beneficial to students at F. W. Buchholz High
School.

App. 21

Further affiant sayeth not.

/s/ Terry E. Stechmiller
Affiant

Sworn to and subscribed before me this 15 day of

August, 1996,

App. 22

AFFIDAVIT OF WILLIAM D. (“DAN”) BOYD, JR.
State of Florida

County of Alachua

William D. (“Dan”) Boyd, Jr. (“Affiant”), being duly

sworn, deposes and says:

1. Affiant is employed by the School Board of Ala-
chua County as Assistant Superintendent for Instruction
and in the past was principal of Gainesville High School.

2. Affiant is trained as a professional teacher and
administrator and has had experience as a teacher and
administrator in excess of 20 years.

3. As principal of Gainesville High School, affiant
monitored implementation of the Whittle Communica-
tions’ School Agreement including Channel One pro-

grams.

4. Aftfiant is aware of and participated in the deci-
sionmaking process that led to the continuation of the
School Agreement at Gainesville High School until 199[5
/s/ WDB}.

5. As reflected in the Board minutes for the April 3,
1990, Board meeting, affiant appeared before the Board in
support of the District Agreement with Whittle as princi-
pal of Gainesville High School. As I stated at that time,
the Channel One programming was not replacing instruc-

tional time but instead was shown in noninstructional
time that was and is built into the school schedule.

6. Between 1990 and 1996, Gainesville High School
implemented the Whittle Educational Network via a stan-

dard School Agreement as authorized by the District

App. 23

Agreement approved by the Board in 1990 and approved
again in 1993.

7. As reflected in the Board minutes for the March
16, 1993, meeting, Gainesville High School conducted a
survey with their School Advisory Council and student
body - the results were unanimous to keep the Whittle
program as described in the School Agreement with
Whittle. On March 16, 1993, affiant appeared before the
Board to report these survey results and to request the
Board to allow Gainesville High School, and other
schools, to choose to use, or not use, the Whittle Educa-
tional Network, including Channel One.

4. Through 1996, Affiant believed, and continues to
believe, that Whittle’s Educational Network as described
in the School Agreement educationally benefitted the stu-
dents at Gainesville High School and other schools. As a
result of the use of the Whittle Educational Network
including Channel One, many students were better
informed as to current events on an international and
national level and thereby better able to participate as
informed adult citizens and better able to perform in
related classes like social studies, history, and life man-

agement skills.

9. During the period when I was principal of Gain-
esville High School and Assistant Superintendent for
Instruction, no parent, student, or faculty member asked
affiant that they be excused from any TV programming
under the School Agreement.

10. The limited commercial content contained in
programming under the School Agreement (specifically
as a part of Channel One) was not significantly different

App. 24

than other commercial materials which students are
exposed to everyday in schools. Such exposure comes
from school newspapers, school yearbooks, the internet,
classroom use of newspapers and normal commercial TV
programming, advertisements by restaurants and vend-
ing machine companies, magazines used in the class-
room, advertisements in athletic facilities like
scoreboards, and other sources. In all of these instances,

including the commercial segments of Channel One,

exposure of students to commercial content is incidental
to a program that serves the overall educational program
of the school.

ll. Affiant personally investigated the Whittle Edu-
cational Network including Channel One. Affiant con-

tinues to believe that the Whittle Educational Network
including Channel One is an educational resource that
will provide educational benefits in those schools that
decide through their faculty, administration, and school
advisory councils to use the program. Many students, if
not most students, will gain valuable background for
their social science, health, and other classes and will
gain a better understanding of the world in which they
will live if they are exposed to current events via the
Whittle Educational Network including Channel One.

12. The District and School Agreement with Whittle
ended as of May 1996 with the removal of equipment
consistent with the Board decision to not renew the Dis-
trict Agreement. Affiant knows of no present plan to

attempt to consider use of the Whittle Educational Net-
work or Channel One at any time in the future.

App. 25

Further affiant sayeth not.

/s/ William D. Boyd, Ir.

Sworn to and subscribed before me this 13 day

August, 1996,

ot

App. 26

AFFIDAVIT OF RONALD D. NELSON
State of Florida

County of Alachua

Dr. Ronald D. Nelson (“Affiant”), being duly sworn,
deposes and says:

1. Affiant is employed by the School Board of Ala-
chua County as principal of Santa Fe High School. He has
been employed in that capacity since 1992.

2. Affiant is trained as a professional teacher and
administrator and has had experience as a teacher and
administrator in excess of 20 years.

3. As principal of Santa Fe High School, affiant
monitored implementation of the Whittle Communica-
tions’ School Agreement including Channel One pro-

grams.

4. Affiant is aware of and participated in the deci-
sionmaking process that led to the continuation of the
School Agreement at Santa Fe High School until 1996. In
summary, the Whittle Schoo! Agreement was imple-
mented and continued at Santa Fe High School until 1996
with the concurrence of the administration, faculty, SAC
(School Advisory Council), and good student and parent
support.

5. In 1996, affiant in conjunction with the faculty,
SAC, students and parents, decided to terminate use of
the Whittle Educational Network including Channel One.

That decision was made separate and apart from, and
before, the decision of the Board to terminate the District
Agreement that allowed schools like Santa Fe to choose to
enter or continue a School Agreement for the Whittle

App. 27

network. All Whittle equipment has now been removed
from Santa Fe High School and there is no reasonable
prospect that the Whittle Educational Network would be
used at Santa Fe High School in the 1996-97 school year in
view of the decision at Santa Fe to terminate its School
Agreement.

6. Through 1996, Affiant believed, and continues to
believe, that Whittle’s Educational Network as described
in the School Agreement educationally benefitted the stu-
dents at Santa Fe High School and other schools. As a
result of the use of the Whittle Educational Network,
many students were better informed as to current events
on an international and national level and thereby better
able to participate as informed adult citizens and better
able to perform in and benefit from related classes like
social studies, history, and life management skills. As of
1996, however, the judgment at Santa Fe High School was
to try alternative educational tools in an effort to achieve
the same objectives.

7. During the period when I was principal of Santa
Fe High School, no parent, student, or faculty member
asked affiant that they be excused from any TV program-
ming under the School Agreement except Mr. Robert
Long. Mr. Long asked that his son, Daniel, be excused
and the teacher arranged to have Daniel Long excused
from the classroom when Channel One was shown as
requested by Mr. Long.

8. The limited commercial content contained in pro-
gramming under the School Agreement (specifically as a
part of Channel One) was not significantly different than

other commercial materials which students are exposed

App. 28

to everyday in schools. Such exposure comes from school
newspapers, school yearbooks, the internet, classroom
use of newspapers and normal commercial TV program-
ming, advertisements by restaurants and vending
machine companies, magazines used in the classroom,
advertisements in athletic facilities like scoreboards, and
other sources. In all of these instances, including the
commercial segments of Channel One, exposure of stu-

dents to commercial content is incidental to a program
that serves the overall educational program of the school.

9. Affiant personally investigated the Whittle Edu-
cational Network including Channel One. Affiant con-
tinues to believe that the Whittle Educational Network
including Channel One is an educational resource that

will provide educational benefits in those schools that
decide through their faculty, administration, and school
advisory councils to use the program. Many students, if
not most students, will gain valuable background for
their social science, health, and other classes and will
gain a better understanding of the world in which they
will live if they are exposed to current events via the
Whittle Educational Network including Channel One.

Further affiant sayeth not.

/s/ Ron Nelson
Dr. Ronald D. Nelson

Sworn to and subscribed before me this 15 day of
August, 1996,

App. 29

AFFIDAVIT OF THOMAS J. MOFFETT, JR.
State of Florida

County of Alachua

Thomas J. Moffett, Jr. (“Affiant”), being duly sworn,
deposes and says:

1. Affiant is employed by the School Board of Ala-
chua County (“Board”) as the Board’s Director of Instruc-
tional Technology. An accurate and brief job description
for affiant’s current responsibilities is Exhibit 1 to this
affidavit.

2. Affiant is trained and experienced as an educator
with special knowledge of educational resources like use
of TVs in classrooms.

3. Affiant as a part of his general responsibilities for
the Board became familiar with Whittle’s Educational
Network and in particular Channel One programming as
a part of that network. For example, in preparation for
the Board presentation made during the Board meeting of
March 16, 1993, as reflected in the minutes of that Board
meeting, affiant conducted an investigation of educa-
tional value of the Whittle Educational Network as imple-
mented in Gainesville and elsewhere.

4. At the March 16, 1993, meeting of the Board,
affiant made an accurate presentation to the Board that
included survey data that showed support for the Whittle
Educational Network in the nine schools where that pro-
gram had been implemented. In addition, affiant accu-
rately reported to the Board on March 16, 1993, that the
estimated cost to replace all the Whittle equipment

App. 30

including satellite reception and TV equipment would be
approximately $196,000.

5. At the March 5, 1996, meeting of the Board, affi-
ant made an accurate presentation to the Board in sup-
port of the school administration’s recommendation to
renew the Whittle District Agreement for an additional
three-year term. The Board, however, did not accept that
recommendation and the Whittle District Agreement has
now been terminated.

6. Affiant has personally observed students benefit
from Channel One programs in the Board’s schools. Affi-

ant’s observations are that many students gave attention
to the Channel One programming and better understood
current events ranging from international affairs to health

issues. Such exposure undoubtedly provided many stu-
dents preparation for classes such as history, life manage-
ment skills, and social science and better prepared
students to live their lives on an informed basis.

7. Affiant’s observation of the Whittle Educational
Network shows that no part of that network causes stu-
dents to be coerced to do anything. First, students may
choose not to watch the programming and simply refuse
to benefit educationally from the Whittle Network; it was
certainly possible for students to be inattentive during
the Whittle programming and still graduate from Board
high schools. Second, if the student watches the program-
ming, then the student is not compelled to do anything as
a result of watching the programming.

8. Affiant informed himself as to how various
school representatives perceived the Whittle Educational
Network including Channel One and a huge majority of

App. 31

involved Board personnel, parents, and students
believed, as does affiant, that the Network was educa-
tionally valuable.

9. Affiant watched many tapes of Whittle Educa-
tional Network programming including Channel One.
Affiant made the judgment that it was unnecessary to
review that programming every day prior to it being
shown in the classroom because that programming was
consistently of high quality and educationally beneficial.

10. The closed circuit TV systems in the Board
schools sometimes are used to show regular commercial
TV programming when teachers decide that that would
be educationally beneficial. Commercial content in the
Channel One programming was limited and not different
from commercials on regular TV programming or in
newspapers and magazines that are used as instructional
resources in the Board’s schools at the present time.

11. Affiant believes that it would not be practicable
for the Board to do daily current events programming
similar to the programming found in Channel One. Such
current events programming requires international
reporting and other resources that the Board simply does
not have.

12. No administrators, teachers or students ever
contacted me to complain about the content of the Whit-
tle Educational Network including Channel One. To the

extent that opposition exists to the Whittle Educational
Network, as reflected in this lawsuit for example, that
Opposition is clearly a minority position and the great
majority of concerned persons were enthusiastic at the

App. 32

prospect of educational benefits achieved by reason of the
Whittle Educational Network including Channel One.

13. In summary, Affiant believes that the Whittle
Educational Network including Channel One program-
ming was educationally beneficial to students in Board

schools. The commercial content in that programming
was not different than ordinarily experienced by students
elsewhere and was incidental to the educational benefit
of the programming like other commercialism that is
commonly found in schools (like yearbook and school
newspaper advertisements, advertisements in commercial
eating facilities allowed in the schools, advertising from
magazines, newspapers, and commercial TV program-
ming used in the classrooms, advertising on the Internet,
advertisements at athletic events, and so on).

Further affiant sayeth not.

/s/ Thomas J. Moffett, Jr.
Thomas J. Moffett, Jr.

Sworn to and subscribed before me this 15 day of
August, 1996,

App. 33

AFFIDAVIT OF DAVID C. LOCKE

State of Florida

County of Alachua

David C. Locke (“Affiant”), being duly sworn,
deposes and says:

1. Affiant is employed by the School Board of Ala-
chua County (“Board”) as the Media Specialist at Spring-
hill Middle Schooi.

2. Affiant is trained and experienced as an educator
with special knowledge of educational resources like use
of TVs in classrooms.

3. Springhill Middle School elected to enter a School
Agreement with Whittle and used the Whittle Educa-
tional Network including Channel One until May 1996
when that program was terminated.

4. Affiant as a part of his general responsibilities for
the Board became familiar with Whittle’s Educational
Network and in particular Channel One programming as
a part of that network. Affiant viewed many Channel One
programs, discussed the programming with administra-
tors, teachers, parents, and students, and assessed the
educational value of the Whittle Educational Network
including Channel One.

5. Affiant has personaliy observed students benefit
from Channel One programs in the Board’s schools. Affi-
ant’s observations are that many students gave attention
to the Channel One programming and better understood

current events ranging from international affairs to health

App. 34

issues. Such exposure undoubtedly provided many stu-
dents preparation for classes such as history, life manage-
ment skills, and social science and better prepared
students to live their lives on an informed basis.

6. Affiant’s observation of the Whittle Educational
Network shows that no part of that network causes stu-
dents to be coerced to do anything. First, students may
choose not to watch the programming and simply refuse
to benefit educationally from the Whittle Network; it was
certainly possible for students to be inattentive during
the Whittle programming and still graduate from Board
high schools. Second, if the student watches the program-
ming, then the student is not compelled to do anything as
a result of watching the programming.

7. Affiant informed himself as to how various
school representatives perceived the Whittle Educational
Network including Channel One and a huge majority of

involved Board personnel, parents, and students
believed, as does affiant, that the Network was educa-
tionally valuable.

8. Affiant watched many tapes of Whittle Educa-
tional Network programming including Channel One.
Affiant made the judgment that it was unnecessary to

review that programming every day prior to it being
shown in the classroom because that programming was
consistently of high quality and educationally beneficial.

9. Affiant knows that the closed circuit TV systems

in the Board schools sometimes are used to show regular
commercial TV programming when teachers decide that
that would be educationally beneficial. Commercial con-
tent in the Channel One programming was limited and not

App. 35

different from commercials on regular TV programming or
in newspapers and magazines that are used as instruc-
tional resources in the Board’s schools at the present time.

10. Affiant believes that it would not be practicable
for the Board to do daily current events programming
similar to the programming found in Channel One. Such
current events programming requires international
reporting and other resources that the Board simply does
not have.

11. No administrators, teachers or students ever
contacted me to complain about the content of the Whit-
tle Educational Network including Channel One. To the
extent that opposition exists to the Whittle Educational
Network, as reflected in this lawsuit for example, that
opposition is clearly a minority position and the great
majority of concerned persons were enthusiastic at the
prospect of educational benefits achieved by reason of the
Whittle Educational Network including Channe! One.

12. In summary, Affiant believes that the Whittle
Educational Network including Channel One program-
ming was educationally beneficial to students in Board
schools. The commercial content in that programming
was not different than ordinarily experienced by students
elsewhere and was incidental to the educational benefit
of the programming like other commercialism that is
commonly found in schools (like yearbook and school
newspaper advertisements, advertisements in commercial
eating facilities allowed in the schools, advertising from
magazines, newspapers, and commercial TV program-
ming used in the classrooms, advertising on the Internet,
advertisements at athletic events, and so on).

App. 36

Further affiant sayeth not

/s/ David C. Locke

David C. Locke

Sworn to and subscribed before me this 15th day of
August, 1996,

App. 37

AFFIDAVIT OF MARY W. OWENS

State of Florida
County of Alachua

Mary W. Owens (“Affiant”), being duly sworn,
deposes and says:

1. Affiant is employed by the School Board of Ala-
chua County (“Board”) as the Media Specialist at Santa Fe
High School.

2. Affiant is trained and experienced as an educator
with special knowledge of educational resources like use
of TVs in classrooms.

3. Santa Fe High School elected to enter a School
Agreement with Whittle and used the Whittle Educa-
tional Network including Channel One until May 1996
when that program was terminated at Santa Fe and then
by the Board.

4. Affiant as a part of her general responsibilities
for the Board became familiar with Whittle’s Educational
Network and in particular Channel One programming as
a part of that network. Affiant viewed many Channel One
programs, discussed the programming with administra-
tors, teachers, parents, and students, and assessed the
educational value of the Whittle Educational Network
including Channel One.

5. Affiant has personally observed students benefit
from Channel One programs in the Board’s schools. Affi-
ant’s observations are that many students gave attention
to the Channel One programming and better understood

current events ranging from international affairs to health

App. 38

issues. Such exposure undoubtedly provided many stu-
dents preparation for classes such as history, life manage-
ment skills, and social science and better prepared
students to live their lives on an informed basis.

6. Affiant’s observation of the Whittle Educational
Network shows that no part of that network causes stu-
dents to be coerced to do anything. First, students may
choose not to watch the programming and simply refuse
to benefit educationally from the Whittle Network; it was
certainly possible for students to be inattentive during
the Whittle programming and still graduate from Board
high schools. Second, if the student watches the program-
ming, then the student is not compelled to do anything as
a result of watching the programming.

7. Affiant informed herself as to how various school
representatives perceived the Whittle Educational Net-
work including Channel One and a majority of involved
Board personnel, parents, and students believed, as does
affiant, that the Network was educationally valuable.

8. Affiant watched many tapes of Whittle Educa-
tional Network programming including Channel One.
Affiant made the judgment that it was unnecessary to

review that programming every day prior to it being
shown in the classroom because that programming was
consistently of high quality and educationally beneficial.

9. Affiant knows that the closed circuit TV systems
in the Board schools sometimes are used to show regular
commercial TV programming when teachers decide that
that would be educationally beneficial. Commercial con-
tent in the Channel One programming was limited and not

different from commercials on regular TV programming or

App. 39 7

in newspapers and magazines that are used as instruc-
tional resources in the Board’s schools at the present time.

10. Affiant believes that it would not be practicable
for the Board to do daily current events programming
similar to the programming found in Channel One. Such
current events programming requires international
reporting and other resources that the Board simply does
not have.

11. No administrators, teachers or students ever
contacted me to complain about the content of the Whit-
tle Educational Network including Channel One. How-
ever, affiant is informed that Mr. Robert Long asked the
principal at Santa Fe to excuse his son, Daniel, from the
classroom when Channel One was shown and Daniel
Long was excused. Aside from the Long request, no other
such request is known to affiant.

12. To the extent that opposition exists to the Whit-
tle Educational Network, as reflected in this lawsuit for
example, that opposition is clearly a minority position
and the great majority of concerned persons were enthu-
siastic at the prospect of educational benefits achieved by
reason of the Whittle Educational Network including
Channel One.

13. In summary, Affiant believes that the Whittle
Educational Network including Channel One program-
ming was educationally beneficial to students in Board
schools. The commercial content in that programming
was not different than ordinarily experienced by students
elsewhere and was incidental to the educational benefit

of the programming like other commercialism that is
commonly found in schools (like yearbook and school

App. 40

newspaper advertisements, advertisements in commercial
eating facilities allowed in the schools, advertising from
magazines, newspapers, and commercial TV program-
ming used in the classrooms, advertising on the Internet,
advertisements at athletic events, and so on).

14. At the same time, affiant fully accepts the Santa
Fe High School decision to end the Whittle Educational
Network School Agreement. Affiant is presently working
to attempt to achieve the same educational benefits, as
achieved by the Whittle Educational Network including
Channel One, by other means and methods.

Further affiant sayeth not.

/s/ Mary W. Owens
Mary W. Owens

Sworn to and subscribed before me this 15th day of
August, 1996,

App. 41

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE
EIGHTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT, IN AND
FOR ALACHUA COUNTY, FLORIDA

ROBERT LONG and SHARON LONG, )
individually and as parents and next )
friends of minor Daniel Long, et al., _ )
Plaintiffs,
vs. )
SCHOOL BOARD OF ALACHUA _ ) CASE NO.
COUNTY, ) 92-3214-CA
) DIVISION K
Defendant, )
and )
K-IIT COMMUNICATIONS
CORPORATION, )
Intervenor. )
)

AFFIDAVIT OF CLAUDIA PETERS
State of New York

County of New York

Claudia Peters (“Affiant”), being duly sworn,
deposes and says:

1. Affiant is the Executive Vice President for Net-
work Affairs of the Channel One Network, owned and
operated by K-III Communications Corporation (“K-III”).

2. This affidavit sets forth information about the

Channel One Network that is within my personal knowl-
edge.

App. 42

3. The Channel One Network is the leading pro-
vider of satellite-delivered, educational programming to
America’s secondary schools. The Channel One Network
develops, produces and distributes educational program-
ming including world news, current events, and feature
programs.

4. Approximately 40% of students attending public,
private and parochial secondary schools (grades 6
through 12) in the United States view the Channel One
Network programming. Schools participating in the
Channel One Network have entered into three-year con-
tracts and have renewed contracts at a rate of 99% every
year since 1993 (when the first contracts entered into in
1990 expired). The majority of non-renewals (only 1% of
all participating schools) have been due to school consol-
idations or closings.

5. So that participating schools may receive the net-
work programming and other programming of their
choice, the Channel One Network normally provides par-
ticipating schools the following equipment: a fixed KU-
band satellite dish, headend and receiving equipment,
two video cassette recorders, 19” color television sets
mounted in classrooms throughout the school for grades
6-12 and internal wiring. The approximate value of this
equipment package is $25,000 for each school using the
Channel One Network. In its first six years, Channel One
Network has installed more than $220,000,000 worth of
equipment in schools in the United States. K-III not only
installs this equipment, but also regularly maintains and

services that equipment without cost to the sch. ols.

App. 43

6. The equipment provided to Channel One Net-
work member schools is available for use by the schools
for other purposes in addition to viewing the Channel
One Network programming. Participating schools use the
equipment for showing other educational videos, stu-
dent-produced news shows and daily or weekly
announcements, teacher in-service training programs,
distant learning courses, daily and emergency announce-
ments, video yearbooks, standardized tests or test
instructions, programming for parent-teacher confer-
ences, student elections, campaign speeches, and other
purposes. The internal wiring provided by the network
allows schools to view cable programming which cable
companies normally provide without charge to the
schools; the network allows distribution of the cable sig-
nals to each classroom via the network-provided cabling
which the cable companies typically do not provide. As a
result, use of commercial-free and commercial cable TV
programming in the classrooms and use of videotapes is
facilitated by the Channel One Network equipment pack-
age.

* * ~

9. Channel One News anchor-reporters present
news in a format and context relevant to teenagers in a
timeframe that is nearly immediate so that students bene-
fit from immediate news from around the world. Channel
One has sent its correspondents, who range in age from
18 to 28, to gather news from locations across the United
States and around the world, including: Afghanistan,
Antarctica, Australia, Bolivia, Bosnia, Cambodia, Canada,
China, Cuba, Egypt, England, France, Germany, Haiti,
Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Japan, Korea, Mexico, Pakistan,

App. 44

Russia, Rwanda, Serbia, Singapore, Somalia, South
Africa, Vietnam, Yugoslavia and Zaire.

+ * *

13. A three-year study (1992-94) was conducted by
Dr. Jerome Johnston of the University of Michigan. An
accurate copy of the entire study, dated January 1994, is
attached hereto as Exhibit 4. As shown in Exhibit 4, the
study found that students who regularly watch Channel
One News regularly had a five to eight percent increase
in awareness of current events. As with any educational
resource, the impact upon students was not always the
same and the benefit was no doubt a function of teacher
and student effort to pay attention and make use of the
Channel One News programming. The study also showed
that 93% of teachers would recommend the programming
to other schools and teachers, and that 86% of teachers
agreed that Channel One News is a worthwhile educa-
tional tool for use of school time.

* * *

20. Channel One’s contracts with the 12,000 schools
who have elected to participate in the Channel One Net-
work limits advertising to not more than two minutes of
the 12-minute daily news program. A significant portion
of this advertising time is used to broadcast public ser-
vice announcements with educational messages for
young people. Over $70,000,000 worth of free advertising
has been provided to non-profit organizations promoting
educational messages about drug abuse, alcohol abuse,
drinking and driving, tobacco use, community service,
and other important social issues. Advertising is accepted
subject to standards considerably stricter than those used

Lceeiaaieiilsideceeieeeieasiieiaaasl

App. 45

by commercial TV broadcasters for time periods with
high viewing by young people. For example, advertising
for “R” rated movies, beer, feminine hygiene products,
and political candidates is prohibited. Specific standards
are typically set forth in district and school form agree-
ments as was the case for the School Board of Alachua
County (Florida).

21. Channel One Network has used a standard form
contract, called a “District Agreement,” with a school
board or district, and a standard form contract for use
with individual schools, a “School Agreement.” The Dis-
trict Agreement is a board or district’s authorization for
individual schools to contract using the School Agree-
ment. The forms currently being used when a District or
School Agreement is executed include the following lan-

guage:

This Agreement does not require that all
teachers use Channel One News or that all stu-
dents or any particular student view Channel
One News. The School may at its discretion
develop appropriate procedures to accommo-
date students who do not wish to view Channel
One News or whose parents do not wish them
to view Channel One News.

K-III has not objected to any procedure adopted by any
Channel One News participating school to accommodate
students or parents who do not wish students to view
Channel One News.

22. Channel One Network is intended to serve edu-
cational goals of the administrators, teachers and stu-
dents and Channel One continues to make the program
more useful to educators who are working everyday with

App. 46

students across the United States and who have indi-
cated, with a consistent 99% renewal rate, their belief that
the Channel One Network is satisfying critical needs of
their students.

Further affiant sayeth not.

/s/ Claudia Peters
Claudia Peters,
Affiant

Sworn to and subscribed before me this 3 day of

é

October, 1996,

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_2355%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
