# Reply Brief — North Texas Steel Co. v. R. R. Donnelley & Sons Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_2291%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1998
- **Citation:** 523 U.S. 1106

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S,
FILED
oe | APR 29 1998
No. 97-1411 GFFICE OF THE CLERK

In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1997
+

NORTH TEXAS STEEL COMPANY, INC.,

Petitioner,
VS.

R.R. DONNELLEY & SONS COMPANY,
Respondent.
«

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The Court Of Appeals
Of Indiana

¢

REPLY BRIEF IN SUPPORT OF
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

¢

Epwarp L. Murpny, Jr. (9390-02)

Larry L. BARNARD (11904-49)

Counsel of Record

Miter CARSON BOxBERGER &
Murpuoy LLP

1400 One Summit Square

Fort Wayne, Indiana 46802

Telephone: (219) 423-9411

Attorneys for Petitioner
North Texas Steel Company, Inc.

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

panne COE 8 Ma tn HIN iti a be ted 0 . . oo ~
iets set is toa z

sce teins AIM NLL LOE NT emrmamammntanne — -
peiniclbe: vad a ET Tesn an BPO te thine,

TABLE OF CONTENTS

I. THIS COURT HAS JURISDICTION TO REVIEW
pe eg 8 Serr Ee py er rer errr ree eee 1

Il. THERE WERE NO INDEPENDENT AND ADE-
QUATE STATE GROUNDS TO SUPPORT THE
DETERMINATION OF THE INDIANA COURT
Gor FRG A as bx eh a a hae ek chews’ 4

II. THE INDIANA SUPREME COURT’S DENIAL
OF TRANSFER IS NOT CAUSE FOR THIS
COURT TO REFUSE TO GRANT THE PETI-
TION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI............ 5

IV. THIS CASE IS AN APPROPRIATE VEHICLE TO
DETERMINE THE OUTER LIMITS OF DUE
PROCESS FOR THE PURPOSE OF PERSONAL
EP EEE fees ev ih ee Nae obese nee ee eke 6

pA ek Erne ry PIN omer 9

il

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
CASES
Asahi Metal Industry Company, Ltd. v. Superior
Court of California, Solano County, 480 U.S. 102,
107 S.Ct. 1026, 94 L.Ed.2d 92 (1987)......... i; #7, 8, 9
Calder v. Jones, 465 U.S. 783, 104 S.Ct. 1482, 79
Ee eee OOS PIII x 5 os ees oi pandas ee

CMMC uv. Salinas, 929 S.W.2d 435 (Tex. 1996) ..6, 7, 8, 9

Coleman v. Thompson, 501 U.S. 729, 111 S.Ct. 2546,
425 Te ee OA CO. okie 4

Cox Broadcasting Corp. v. Cohn, 420 U.S. 469, 43
Ll. 2a SER, 9S SAR. SS Chain ee nencne eas 1, 2

Kulko v. Superior Court of California, 436 U.S. 84, 98
S.C. 1690, 5G. CBB SAE CNR ees knee vnws ti vivns 1, 2

a

Michigan v. Long, 463 U.S. 1032, 103 S.Ct. 3469, 77
Be” By Bes |) eng rr ee sre 4,5 |

Rush v. Savchuk, 444 U.S. 320, 100 S.Ct. 571, 62
Ce Oe BiG Fie os io ok ve a ie eee 1

Shaffer v. Heitner, 433 U.S. 186, 97 S.Ct. 2569, 53
Po ay. 2 1 Speremparaare serene Foire a hie . 2

World-Wide Volkswagon Corp. v. Woodson, 444 U.S.
286, 100 S.Ct. 559, 62 L.Ed.2d 490 (1980)...... i

STATUTES AND RULES

USE. BOO 2,3
WS WSC. 0 VS ea 1

21S See, See Pe oe ba aS raed ee ae ca 6

I. THIS COURT HAS JURISDICTION TO REVIEW
THIS ACTION

In Respondent’s Brief in Opposition, respondent,
R.R. Donnelley & Sons Company (hereinafter “Don-
nelley”) contends that this Court lacks jurisdiction to
review this appeal under 28 U.S.C. §1257(a) for the reason
that it is not an appeal from a final judgment on the
merits. Donnelley argues that none of the exceptions
found in Cox Broadcasting Corp. v. Cohn, 420 U.S. 469, 43
L.Ed.2d 328, 95 S.Ct. 1029 (1975), apply to this appeal
from the Indiana Court’s denial of a Motion to Dismiss
for lack of personal jurisdiction. In doing so, Donnelley
either ignores or makes a quixotical attempt to distin-
guish a long line of cases wherein this Court has exer-
cised jurisdiction over cases prior to a final resolution on
the merits involving the issue of whether the exercise of
personal jurisdiction over a non-resident defendant com-
plied with the requirements of due process. Asahi Metal
Industry Company, Ltd. v. Superior Court of California,
Solano County, 480 U.S. 102, 107 S.Ct. 1026, 94 L.Ed.2d 92
(1987); Calder v. Jones, 465 U.S. 783, 104 S.Ct. 1482, 79
L.Ed.2d 804 (1984); World-Wide Volkswagon Corp. v. Wood-
son, 444 U.S. 286, 100 S.Ct. 559, 62 L.Ed.2d 490 (1980);
Rush v. Savchuk, 444 U.S. 320, 100 S.Ct. 571, 62 L.Ed.2d 516
(1980); Kulko v. Superior Court of California, 436 U.S. 84, 98
S.Ct. 1690, 56 L.Ed.2d 132 (1978); Shaffer v. Heitner, 433
U.S. 186, 97 S.Ct. 2569, 53 L.Ed.2d 683 (1977).

Indeed, in Calder, this Court specifically considered

and rejected the argument asserted by Donnelley.

“Although there has not yet been a trial on the
merits in this case, the judgment of the Califor-
nia appellate court ‘is plainly final on the fed-
eral issue and is not subject to further review in
the state courts.’ Cox Broadcasting Corp. v. Cohn,
420 U.S. 469, 485, 43 L.Ed.2d 328, 95 S.Ct. 1029
(1975). Accordingly, as in several past cases pre-
senting jurisdictional issues in this posture, we
conclude that the judgment below is final within
the meaning of [28 U.S.C. §1257]’.” Id., 465 U.S.
at 789, n. 8.

Donnelley attempts to distinguish Calder and Shaffer
on the grounds that in those cases the Court’s decision
was final and not subject to further review in the state
court. However, Donnelley has wholly failed to state how
the decision of the Indiana Court of Appeals, with the
denial of transfer by the Indiana Supreme Court, is sub-
ject to further review in the Indiana courts.

Donnelley attempts to distinguish Kulko in World-
Wide Volkswagon on the grounds that the jurisdictional
issue in those cases were raised by the request for a writ
of prohibition or writ of mandamus. That is clearly a
distinction without a difference. No matter how the issue
of personal jurisdiction was raised in the appellate courts
of the jurisdiction at issue, the judgment is no more or
less final. In those cases, as in this case, there had been no
trial on the merits and the issue of personal jurisdiction
would not be determinative of the merits of the action.
Nevertheless, in each of those cases, this Court exercised
its jurisdiction to review the state court’s determination
that it had personal jurisdiction over a nonresident defen-
dant.

nee

In short, it is well established by the precedent of this
Court that this Court has jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C.
§1257 to review final state court determinations of
whether the court has personal jurisdiction over a non-
resident defendant. Accordingly, this Court should not
deny the Petition for Writ of Certiorari on that basis.

Donnelley next argues that jurisdiction in this case is
not appropriate because the decision of the Indiana Court
of Appeals was not a decision rendered by the highest
court in Indiana in which a decision could be had. Don-
nelley argues, as it did in the Indiana courts, that North
Texas Steel should have raised the issue of personal juris-
diction by the means of an original action for writ of
mandamus, and not by way of a permissive interlocutory
appeal. However, this argument was considerea and
rejected by the Indiana Court of Appeals, which held that
this action was properly one to be considered by means
of appeal, and not an original action. (Petition for Writ of
Certiorari, Appendix, pp. A5-A7). Apparently, Donnelley
would have this Court review the Indiana Court of
Appeals’ determination of an issue of Indiana appellate
procedure. Clearly, such a review would not be appropri-
ate under the guise that this Court lacks jurisdiction
under 28 U.S.C. §1257.

For all of the foregoing reasons, jurisdiction over this
appeal by this Court is appropriate.

Il. THERE WERE NO INDEPENDENT AND ADE-
QUATE STATE GROUNDS TO SUPPORT THE
DETERMINATION OF THE INDIANA COURT OF
APPEALS

Donnelley contends that the Petition for Writ of Cer-
tiorari should be denied because “the possibility exists”
that the reason for the denial of discretionary review by
the Indiana Supreme Court is that petitioner, North Texas
Steel Company, Inc., (hereinafter “North Texas Steel”),
mistakenly pursued its appeal via means of interlocutory
appeal rather than by an original action. In support of
this proposition, Donnelley cites Coleman v. Thompson, 501
U.S. 729, 111 S.Ct. 2546, 115 L.Ed.2d 640 (1991). However,
the Opinion of this Court in Coleman in no way supports
Donnelley’s argument. Indeed, a cursory review of Cole-
man makes clear that the “possibility” that the Indiana
Supreme Court denied transfer on the basis of a pro-
cedural irregularity is not a sufficient reason for this
Court to reject a petition for writ of certiorari.

In Coleman, this Court discussed the opinion in Michi-
gan v. Long, 463 U.S. 1032, 103 S.Ct. 3469, 77 L.Ed.2d 1201
(1983), wherein this Court considered the issue of
whether an ambiguous state court decision set forth an
independent and adequate state law ground for the out-
come. In Michigan v. Long, this Court established a con-
clusive presumption of jurisdiction in cases involving
such ambiguous state court decisions.

“When, as in this case, a state court decision
fairly appears to rest primarily on federal law,
or to be interwoven with the federal law, and
when the adequacy and independence of any
possible state law ground is not clear from the

face of the opinion, we will accept as the most
reasonable explanation that the state court
decided the case the way it did because it
believed that federal law required it to do so.”
Id., at 1040-1041, 103 S.Ct. at 3476.

Certainly, in this case, there is nothing in the Order
denying the Petition for Transfer by the Indiana Supreme
Court which would in any way indicate that transfer was
denied on the basis that North Texas Steel should have
filed an original action, rather than pursuing an inter-
locutory appeal. Accordingly, under Michigan v. Long, it
must be conclusively presumed that the decision was
based on federal grounds and that there is no indepen-
dent and adequate state ground to support the decision.

Ill. THE INDIANA SUPREME COURT’S DENIAL ON
TRANSFER IS NOT CAUSE FOR THIS COURT
TO REFUSE TO GRANT THE PETITION FOR
WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Donnelley argues that if the Indiana Supreme Court
did not decline review on the procedural ground that
North Texas Steel should have filed an original action,
then the Indiana Supreme Court must have concluded
that the jurisdictional issue was not important enough to
warrant transfer and, therefore, that this case lacks
importance sufficient to warrant this Court’s granting the
Petition for Writ of Certiorari. However, the fact that the
Indiana Supreme Court denied transfer in this case
should have absolutely no bearing on whether the Peti-
tion for Writ of Certiorari is granted. Indeed, the rules of
this Court clearly contemplate the filing and acceptance
of a petition for writ of certiorari seeking review of a

judgment of a lower state court that is subject to discre-
tionary review by the state court of last resort, where
such discretionary review is denied. See, Rule 13.1 of the
Rules of the Supreme Court of the United States. Accord-
ingly, the fact that the Indiana Supreme Court refused its
opportunity to exercise discretionary review over the
judgment of the Indiana Court of Appeals, does not mean
that this Court should deny the Petition for Writ of Cer-
tiorari in order to resolve the continuing conflict which
has arisen in both the federal courts and the state courts
concerning the stream of commerce theory of personal
jurisdiction.
os

IV. THIS CASE IS AN APPROPRIATE VEHICLE TO
DETERMINE THE OUTER LIMITS OF DUE PRO-
CESS FOR THE PURPOSE OF PERSONAL JURIS-
DICTION

Donnelley contends that there are no cases in other
jurisdictions reaching a contrary result and that this case
is consistent with existing precedent. However, that is
clearly not the case. For example, the opinion of the
Indiana Court of Appeals in this case is in conflict with
an opinion of the Texas Supreme Court in CMMC v.
Salinas, 929 S.W.2d 435 (Tex. 1996). In CMMC, a small
winery located in Texas ordered a wine press from an
independent distributor of equipment used in the wine
and juice industries. That distributor, in turn, ordered the
wine press for the winery from a French manufacturer,
instructing that manufacturer to wire the press for electri-
cal use in the United States. The distributor instructed the
French manufacturer to arrange for transport of that wine

press to Texas. The manufacturer complied and thus
knew the destination of the press was Texas.

The French manufacturer sold wine production
equipment primarily in Europe. It did not directly market
or advertise its equipment in the United States, other
than providing promotional material to its distributors.
The distributors advertised the manufacturer’s products,
but the manufacturer did not specifically authorize or
approve the ads. It manufactured and sold equipment in
the United States, including a direct sale to another
winery in Texas. However, the manufacturer had never
had a place of business, distributor or representative in
Texas or any other contact with Texas. The purchaser of
the wine press did not have any direct contact with the
manufacturer.

An employee of the Texas winery who injured his
arm while cleaning the press filed a products liability
action against the French manufacturer asserting strict
liability and negligence claims. After the trial court dis-
missed the action for lack of personal jurisdiction, the
Texas Court of Appeals reversed, holding that personal
jurisdiction could be asserted against the French manu-
facturer solely on the basis of its knowledge that the wine
press which it manufactured would be shipped to Texas.
The Texas Supreme Court reversed, holding that asserting
jurisdiction over the French manufacturer wouicd be a
violation of the due process clause.

In CMMC, the Texas Supreme Court considered the
opinions of this Court in Asahi and World-Wide Volks-
wagon in reaching the conclusion that the exercise of

jurisdiction over the nonresident corporate defendant in
that case would violate due process.

“For now, we need not take sides in the Asahi
debate over the stream of commerce doctrine
because of the difference in the factual circum-
stances of that case and the one now before us.
Asahi’s products were regularly sold in Califor-
nia, only not by Asahi. CMMC’s wine producing
equipment did not regularly find its way to
Texas. Neither CMMC nor KLR made any effort
to market CMMC’s equipment in Texas, other
than by advertisements in magazines with
national circulation. Hill Country Cellar’s pur-
chase was an isolated event. KLR did not con-
tact Hill Country Cellars; Hill Country Cellars
contacted KLR. Hill Country Cellars never had
any contacts at all with CMMC. CMMC’s mere
knowledge that its winepress would be sold and
used in Texas and its wiring the machine for use
in the United States were not sufficient to sub-
ject CMMC to the jurisdiction of Texas courts.
This evidence simply does not show that CMMC
designed products for use in Texas, or that it
made any effort to market them here, or that it
took any other action to purposely avail itself of
this market. Even Justice Brennati’s view of the
stream of commerce doctrine will not allow
jurisdiction absent a ‘regular and anticipated
flow of products from the manufacturer to dis-
tribution to retail sale.’ . . . There is no flow of
products from CMMC to Texas; there is scarcely |
a dribble.” Id., at 439.

The Opinion of the Supreme Court of Texas in CMMC
cannot be reconciled with the Opinion of the Indiana
Court of Appeals in this action. As Donnelley notes in
Respondent's Brief in Opposition, “the primary basis for

eG en rn eee Nee

the decision is that North Texas Steel ‘knew that the racks
which it was fabricating were ultimately going to a distri-
bution center for Donnelley, located in the State of Indi-
ana.’” (Respondent’s Brief in Opposition, p. 14). The
issue in this case, as in CMMC, is whether knowledge
that one’s product is ultimately going to be utilized in the
forum state, standing alone, is sufficient for the exercise
of personal jurisdiction over a non-resident defendant
consistent with the Due Process Clause. That was pre-
cisely the question left unanswered in Asahi and the
question on which the courts of Indiana and Texas, as
well as numerous other state and federal courts have
differed.

V. CONCLUSION

For all of the foregoing reasons, and for those reasons
set forth in the Petition for Writ of Certiorari, North Texas
Steel’s Petition for Writ of Certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

MILLER CARSON BOXBERGER
& Murrpuy LLP

Epwarp L. Murpny, Jr. (9390-02)
Larry L. BARNARD, Jr. (11904-49)
Attorneys for Petitioner,

North Texas Steel Company, Inc.

1400 One Summit Square
Fort Wayne, Indiana 46802
Telephone: (219) 423-9411

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_2291%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
