# Amicus Curiae Brief — New v. Cohen

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_2258%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1998
- **Citation:** 523 U.S. 1048

## Text

6) FILED |

MAR 2 3 1998

OFFICE OF THE CLERK
SUPREME COURT, U.S.

No. 97-1375

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1997

MICHAEL G. NEw,

Petitioner,
Vv.
WILLIAM S. COHEN,
SECRETARY OF DEFENSE, ET AL.,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

BRIEF OF
NATIONAL CITIZENS LEGAL NETWORK
AS AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

MICHAEL Boos WILLIAM J. OLSON* 4
NATIONAL CITIZENS JOHN S. MILES
LEGAL NETWORK ALAN WOLL
11094-D Lee Highway #200 JOHN F. CALLENDER, JR.
Fairfax, VA 22030 WILLIAM J. OLSON, P.C.
(703) 352-4788 Suite 1070
8180 Greensboro Drive
Attorneys for McLean, VA 22102
National Citizens (703) 356-5070
Legal Network
*Counsel of Record

March 23, 1998

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
UNG PUI «cine ccvcsvcscceuvccscces ii
INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE ................ 1
eg. ee bd a a a 2
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ...................00. 4
I padre deci ec sce sawe ek beens 5

i

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
STATUTES
yf a re re peer 14
ip EE 6-655 04d ob oh odsakareek eer 13
CASES
Baker v. Carr, 369 U.S. 186 (1962) ............... 9

Clinton v. Jones, 520 U.S. ___, 117 S.Ct. 1636 (1997) . 9
Commodity Futures Trading Commission v. Shor

| RSS SA SE eS a oR 10
Fay v. Nota, 372 US. Fl CIGGS) . ow cc ccccccssess 12
Marbury v. Madison, 5 U.S. (1 Cranch) 137 (1803) ... 8
McElroy v. Guarliardo, 361 U.S. 281 (1960) ........ 10
New v. Cohen, 129 F.3d 639 (D.C. Cir. 1997) ... passim
New v. Perry, 919 F. Supp. 491 (D.D.C 1996) ..... 3,6,12
Northern Pipeline Co. v. Marathon Pipe Line Co.,

GF I io nibh is ob eke cose 5 sss 9
Noyd v. Bond, 395 U.S. 683 (1969) ............... 11
Powell v. McCormack, 395 U.S. 486 (1969) ......... 8
Reid v.' Covert, 354 U.S. 1 CI9ST) .. 2. ccc cece cees 10
Scheslinger v. Councilman,

er ccc cUecsnunws 6,11
Toth v. Quarles, 350 U.S. 11 (1955) .............. 10
EE Be ED 6 it ose elds 6 oe ecadccs 10

Youngstown Sheet & Tube Co. v. Sawyer,
ES ab xo ran awe ce vekens 9

MISCELLANEOUS

I oo 8 1
BOSS pec pete OF CE EEE TEE Eee 1

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1997

No. 97-1375
MICHAEL G. NEw,
Petitioner,
V.
WILLIAM S. COHEN,
SECRETARY OF DEFENSE, ET AL.,
Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

BRIEF OF
NATIONAL CITIZENS LEGAL NETWORK
AS AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE

Amicus Curiae National Citizens Legal Network (NCLN)
is a project of Citizens United Foundation,’ and it is the
instrument through which Citizens United Foundation

; This brief was not authored in whole or in part by counsel

for any party. It has been funded im its entirety by the amicus
curiae. See Sup. Ct. Rule No. 37.6.

The amicus curiae requested and received the written
consents of the parties to the filing of this brief. Such written
consents, in the form of letters from counsel of record for the
parties, have been submitted for filing to the Clerk of Court. See
Sup. Ct. Rule No. 37.3(a).

2

advances its views in the courts. Citizens United Foundation
is a nonprofit, nonpartisan, educational organization
established to conduct research and to inform and educate the
public on a variety of issues of national importance, including
issues related to sovereignty, separation of powers, the
original imtent of the Framers and the correct interpretation of
the United States Constitution.

NCLN and Citizens United Foundation believe that the
pending case presents the Court with important constitutional
questions touching American sovereignty and separation of
powers involving the original intent of the Framers and the
correct interpretation of the Constitution. In particular, this
brief urges the Court to grant Mr. New’s petition for a writ of
certiorari in order to determine whether the court of appeals
has decided correctly that Mr. New has no right to have his
habeas corpus petition heard until he exhausts his appeals
before a military court that has no authority to rule on his
constitutional claims.

STATEMENT OF FACTS

On August 21, 1995, United States Army Medical
Specialist Michael J. New learned that he and the other
members of his unit would soon be deployed to Macedonia to
serve as “United Nations Fighting Persons.” As such, Mr.
New would be required to wear a United Nations uniform,
carry United Nations identification, and forfeit the protections
afforded United States servicemen by the Geneva Convention,
in favor of the protections afforded “United Nations Fighting
Persons” by the UN Charter. He would also fight under the

3

command of officers, each of whom swore not to seek or
accept instructions with respect to the performance of any
duties from any government or authority other than the United
Nations (including anyone in the command structure of the
U.S. Army up to and including the President of the United
States).

Mr. New protested, requesting transfer to a unit not under
United Nations command, or alternatively, an honorable
discharge from the Army. On October 10, 1995, Mr. New
was ordered to don the United Nations uniform, and he
refused to do so, explaining his belief that the order was
illegal and unconstitutional He was convicted by court-
martial on January 24, 1996 for failure to obey a lawful order,
and sentenced to a Bad Conduct Discharge.

Mr. New petitioned for a writ of habeas corpus,
contending, inter alia, that it was unlawful for him to wear
the badges or accept the office of a foreign government, and
seeking an honorable discharge. His petition was denied by
the district court, New v. Perry, 919 F. Supp. 491 (D.D.C.
1996), and the district court’s judgment was affirmed by the
court of appeals, New v. Cohen, 129 F.3d 639 (D.C. Cir.
1997).

Mr. New’s sentence was suspended pending appeal, and
Mr. New is currently on involuntary leave from the Army.

4
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The Petition for Writ of Certiorari presents an important
question volving the authority and obligation of Article III
courts to adjudicate claims based on the Constitution. The
court of appeals denied the claim for habeas corpus relief of
the petitioner, Michael New, on the theory that comity
requires Article [III courts to await the adjudication of
collateral issues by the Article I military tribunals. But the
law does not require such abstention where the underlying
constitutional claim properly is one for determmation by the
Article III court, and not an Article I tribunal, and where the
petitioner’s claim cannot be resolved by the Article I tribunal.

In this case, Michael New’s constitutionally-based claim
that he is entitled to an honorable discharge from the United
States Army will not be adjudicated by the military courts’
review of the bad conduct discharge thus far decided against
him. Such determmations fall within the province of Article
III courts. Moreover, the prior decisions of this Court
indicate that habeas corpus jurisdiction for Article I
adjudication of Mr. New’s claim presently lies. Finally, if
there is no such Article III adjudication at this time, and the
court martial verdict against Mr. New is sustained by the
military tribunals, the court of appeals offers no assurance that
habeas or other relief m an Article III court would be
available.

By refusing to provide Article III review of the merits of

Mr. New’s claim at this time, while requirmg Mr. New to
await final disposition of the collateral charges against him in

ECan nai

5

the military courts, the court of appeals’ decision doubly
prejudices Mr. New’s constitutional rights. Applying the
principle of comity so as to preclude adjudication of Mr.
New’s constitutional claim by an Article III court neither
accords with the Constitution nor follows the prior decisions
of this Court. Therefore, this amicus curiae believes, with the
petitioner, that the court of appeals’ decision should be
reversed. This issue is a proper one for full briefing and
review by this Court. Certiorari should be granted.

ARGUMENT

The Petition for Certiorari being supported by this amicus
curiae presents to the Court for determmation the
fundamental issue of whether the principle of comity as
applied to appeals pending before military tribunals requires
Article [II civil courts to deny habeas corpus relief to a
petitioner whose important constitutional claims could
otherwise escape adjudication by an Article III court.

The decision of the lower courts would require the
petitioner, Michael New, to exhaust military appeals of his
court martial conviction, in a case where that conviction was
based exclusively on Mr. New’s principled refusal to violate
his oath as a member of the Armed Forces by refusing to obey
an illegal and unconstitutional order to transfer his allegiance
to a foreign sovereign by becoming a soldier of the United
Nations. The lower courts refused to entertain habeas relief,
while military appeals are pending, which may be Mr. New’s
only opportunity for review by an Article III court.

6

The Court must determine whether military tribunals are
the appropriate forum to rule on the validity of the order given
to Mr. New, determming the merits of Mr. New’s
constitutional and other claims” which the district court found
had raised “important issues, implicating the balance of
power between the President as Commander-in-Chief and the
Congress and the relationship between the United States and
the United Nations” and which the district court “has
taken...seriously.” New v. Perry, 919 F. Supp. 491, 497-500
(D.D.C. 1996) (emphasis added).

The Supreme Court has determmed that the principle of
“comity” dictates that “when a serviceman charged with
crimes by military authorities can show no harm other than
that attendant to resolution of his case m the military court
system, the federal district courts must refram from
intervention....” Schlesinger v. Councilman, 420 U.S. 738,
758 (1974). As explamed by the district court, “[dJjeference
by the federal court avoids friction between the two court
systems and may avert unnecessary or duplicative proceedings
in the event that the military outcome obviates the need for
judicial intervention.” New v. Perry, 919 F. Supp. 491, 496.

. Mr. New has challenged the President’s legal authority, as
Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces of the United States, to
order Mr. New to become a soldier in the armed forces of the
United Nations in violation of his oath of enlistment in the U.S.
Army to support and defend the Constitution of the United States
of America, as well as the terms of that enlistment.

7

In the mstant case, however, requirmg Mr. New to
continue adjudicating his case before military tribunals is, at
best, an exercise in futility. Rather than avoiding duplicative
proceedings, deference to the military tribunals virtually
guarantees duplicative proceedings, assuming that Mr. New’s
claim eventually would be entertained by an Article III court,
a matter that is far from certain, as discussed infra.

The court of appeals stated that Mr. New’s conviction was
reviewable by the Army Court of Criminal Appeals, with the
possibility of a discretionary appeal to the Court of Appeals
for the Armed Forces which is composed of civilian judges,
and is a legislative Article I court. New v. Cohen, 129 F.3d
639, 642 (D.C. Cir. 1997).

A military tribunal comprised of military personnel
subordinate to the President of the United States is clearly not
the proper forum to consider “unprecedented” and “important
issues, implicating the balance of power between the
President as Commander-in-Chief and the Congress and the
relationship between the United States and the United
Nations” as stated by the district court. The Court of Appeals
for the Armed Forces, likewise, as a legislative, Article I
Court, has no meaningful role in determming the proper
constitutional relationship between the Congress and the
President. In neither case is there a need to tap the special
expertise of the military courts, as the constitutional issue
raised is clearly beyond both their expertise and competence.

Since the very early days of the Republic, it has been
firmly established that Article III courts are vested with the

8

power and obligation to mterpret the Constitution and laws of
the United States arising thereunder. “The constitution vests
the whole judicial power of the United states in one Supreme
Court, and such inferior courts as congress shall, from time to
time, ordain and establish. This power is expressly extended
to all cases arising under the laws of the United States.”
Marbury v. Madison, 5 U.S. (1 Cranch) 137, 173-74 (1803).
“It is emphatically the province and duty of the judicial
department to say what the law is.” Jd at 177 (emphasis
added).

When presented with an actual case or controversy, the
judicial branch has the obligation to define limits of the
powers of the various branches of the federal government, the
essence of Mr. New’s constitutional claims. In Marbury v.
Madison, for example, the Court concluded that it did not
have the power to issue a writ of mandamus to the Secretary
of State, because the issuance of such a writ required the
exercise of original jurisdiction and the Constitution limited
the Court’s origimal jurisdiction to all “cases imvolving
ambassadors, other public mmisters and consuls, and those in
which a state shall be a party.” Id. at 174. os

In Powell v. McCormack, 395 U.S. 486 (1969), the Court
construed Congress’s powers. It held that the House of
Representatives was limited to applying only the standing
qualifications expressly prescribed by Article I, Section 5 of
the Constitution im judging the qualifications of its members

The Court has also had occasion to define the contours of
Presidential powers and privilege. For example, m

9

Youngstown Sheet & Tube Co. v. Sawyer, 343 U.S. 579
(1952), the Court held that the President, absent statutory
authorization, did not have the power to order the seizure and
operation of the nation’s steel mills by the government. More
recently, in Clinton v. Jones, 520 U.S. ___, 117 S.Ct. 1636
(1997), the Court held that the Constitution does not accord
the President temporary immunity from civil litigation arising
out of events occurring before he took office.

Unquestionably, the judicial branch has been viewed by
this Court as being vested by the Constitution with the power
and obligation to define the powers and privileges of a
particular branch of government. As the Court explamed m
Baker v. Carr, 369 U.S. 186 (1962):

Deciding whether a matter has in any measure been
committed by the Constitution to another branch of
government, or whether the action of that branch
exceeds whatever authority has been committed, is
itself a delicate exercise in constitutional mterpretation,
and is a responsibility of this Court as ultimate
interpreter of the Constitution. [Jd., at 211.]

Such power should not be delegated to, shared with, or
exercised by military tribunals or Article I courts. In
Northern Pipeline Co. v. Marathon Pipe Line Co., 458 U.S.
50 (1982), the Court held that 28 U.S.C. § 1471, by which
Congress made a broad grant of jurisdiction to Article I
bankruptcy courts, is unconstitutional As the plurality
opinion states: “The judicial power of the United States must
be exercised by courts having the attributes prescribed in Art.

10

Il.” Id., p. 59. The Court, in Commodity Futures Trading
Commission v. Shor, explained the fundamental rationale
underlying this rule, stating that Article III, section 1 serves
“to safeguard litigants’ ‘right to have claims decided before
judges who are free from potential domination by other
branches of government.”” 478 U.S. 833, 848 (1986)
(quoting U.S. v. Will, 449 U.S. 200, 218 (1980)).

The right of litigants discussed in Shor has been protected
by this Court despite government appeals for deference to the
military courts. Thus, where an Article I military tribunal has
assumed jurisdiction over an individual, the Court has
recognized that he or she may petition an Article III court for
habeas corpus relief when the petition raises a substantial and
unresolved constitutional clam. In Reid v. Covert, 354 U.S.
1 (1957), the Court affirmed the power to the district courts
to grant relief to the spouses of military personnel who were
unconstitutionally subjected to prosecution under the Uniform
Code of Military Justice. Similarly, m McElroy v.
Guarliardo, 361 U.S. 281 (1960), the Court held that a
civilian employee of the armed forces serving with the armed
forces m a foreign country cannot constitutionally be
subjected to a court-martial in time of peace. And im Tcth v.
Quarles, 350 U.S. 11 (1955), the Court held that a former Air
Force serviceman could not constitutionally be subjected to
trial by court-martial for crimes alleged to have been
committed while he was im the military. In each of these
cases, the Court determimed that adjudication of the
petitioner’s claim should proceed immediately in the Article
III court, and should not await further proceedings by the
Article I tribunal.

11

Although not explicitly stated withm these opimions,
each case the implicit justification for deciding the merits of
the petitioners’ claims was that Article III courts were the
appropriate forum for adjudicating what were found to be
substantial constitutional claims. Indeed, the Court took note
of this very point in Noyd v. Bond, 395 U.S. 683 (1969),
commenting that in Reid, McElroy and Toth, supra, it
“vindicated complainants’ claims without requirmg
exhaustion of military remedies,” because “we did not believe
that the expertise of military courts extended to the
consideration of constitutional claims of the type presented.”
Id. at 696, 0.8.

With respect to the issue of expertise, the court of appeals
found that the case of Schlesinger v. Councilman, 420 U.S.

738 (1975), was controlling, and under that case that “military
courts are capable of, and indeed may have superior expertise
in, considermg challenges to their jurisdiction over

disciplinary proceedings.” New v. Cohen, 123 F.3d 639, 645.
But in Councilman the issue presented was whether a service

member’s alleged offense is “service related.” That authority
is apposite here, where important constitutional issues have
been raised, as discussed, supra.

The decision of the court of appeals violates Mr. New’s
right to have his constitutional claims heard before an Article
III court as the proper forum for adjudicating substantial
constitutional claims. Instead, the court of appeals held that
Mr. New present those claims “to the military authorities
reviewing his case.” New v. Cohen, 129 F.3d 639, 646.

12

The Article III Courts’ refusal to accept jurisdiction of this
substantial constitutional claim should not stand, even if Mr.
New would ultimately be able to pursue his claims m an
Article II] Court. There is no reason to require Mr. New to
suffer needless delay, force him and his attorneys to waste
precious resources, and put his life on hold for an even longer
period, while the military courts conduct a judicial exercise
for which they were never designed. The factual record m
this case is fully developed, and an Article I court is not
competent to rule on Mr. New’s constitutional claims in any
event. As a consequence, requiring Mr. New to exhaust his
military appeals prior to seeking habeas relief would be
pointless and wasteful. As the Court explained m Fay v.
Noia, 372 U.S. 391, 437 (1963), “comity does not demand
that such a price in squandered judicial resources be paid; the
needs of comity are adequately served m other ways.”

But there is an even greater risk. Unless the district court
is directed to proceed with the habeas corpus petition, there is
no guarantee that Mr. New would eventually be able to have
his claims aired m an Article III court. Both the district court
and the court of appeals appeared to imdicate that Mr. New
might, but not necessarily would, have his claims heard on the
merits m an Article III court.

The district court stated: “{o}nce the military proceedings
are completed, Specialist New may either move to reopen this
proceeding or file a new petition for a writ of habeas corpus.”
The district court did not, and perhaps could not, say whether
the district court would consider the petition on its merits.

13

The court of appeals was much more guarded im its
assessment of the likelihood of Mr. New obtaiming review in
an Article III court, and implicitly questioned whether the
district court was correct in stating that habeas corpus would
be an available remedy. The court of appeals seemed to assert
that only if the court-martial jury had ordered his
incarceration in a military prison, a scenario which the Court
said is “now foreclosed,” could he have filed a habeas petition
in federal district court. New v. Cohen, 129 F.3d at 647.°

That option having been foreclosed, a conviction with an
other than honorable discharge would leave him only two
possible options, according to the court of appeals. First, “(if

: The court of appeals’ view of the unavailability of post-
discharge habeas relief could be accurate. Federal habeas corpus
relief is available to persons held “in custody” in violation of the
Constitution of the United States or the laws enacted thereunder,
28 U.S.C. § 2241. Mr. New’s sentence does not include
incarceration; he was sentenced to a bad conduct discharge only.
Once Mr. New’s last military appeal is concluded, arguably, he
could be considered to no longer be in the custody of the military
if his sentence is affirmed by military authorities; yet he would
continue to suffer the stigma of a bad conduct discharge without
the certainty of having his constitutional claims ruled on by an
Article III court via a habeas petition. Under the Army’s theory of
the case, by not having incarcerated Mr. New, and then arguing
comity to avoid habeas review at this time, the Army could be
attempting to manipulate circumstances so as to avoid an Article
III court’s review of Mr. New’s bad conduct discharge and the
important constitutional issues he raises about the authority of the
Army to issue the very orders Mr. New is challenging.

14

he suffers monetary losses as a result of his discharge, he may
be able to collaterally attack the underlymg conviction im the
United States Court of Federal Claims, an Article I court
under 28 U.S.C. §§ 171(a). Second, “New also might be able
to bring an action m district court seeking nullification of the
conviction underlying his bad conduct discharge. And by way
of further caveat, the court of appeals stated that “[ijn
delineating these scenarios, however, we do not mean to
suggest that New’s claims have merit or that a federal court
would even reach the merits of his arguments.” New v.
Cohen, 129 F.3d at 648 (emphasis added).

In truth, by requirmg Mr. New to exhaust his military
remedies before an Article III court will entertain a habeas
corpus petition, the court of appeals may have effectively
denied Mr. New the right to have his important constitutional
claims ruled on by an Article III court within the judicial
branch of the federal government. Surely, the principle of
comity, however important, cannot be allowed to result m the
complete abrogation of Mr. New’s right to a hearing on the
merits of his constitutional claims before an Article II court.
To provide Mr. New his proper day in court, the district court
should be directed by the court of appeals to entertain Mr.
New’s habeas petition without further delay.

15
CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above, the National Citizens Legal
Network urges the Court to grant the Petition for Writ of
Certiorari of Michael New.

Respectfully Submitted,

WILLIAM J. OLSON*

JOHN S. MILES

ALAN WOLL

JOHN F. CALLENDER, JR.
WILLIAM J. OLSON, P.C.
8180 Greensboro Drive, Suite 1070
McLean, Virginia 22102-3823
(703) 356-5070

MICHAEL BOOS
NATIONAL CITIZENS LEGAL NETWORK
11094-D Lee Highway #200
Fairfax, VA 22030
(703) 352-4788

Attorneys for
National Citizens Legal Network

*Counsel of Record

March 23, 1998

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_2258%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
