# Opposition Brief — Eastman Kodak Co. v. Image Technical Services, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_2183%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1998
- **Citation:** 523 U.S. 1094

## Text

upreme Court, U.S.
FILED

J HAR 2G 095
No. 97-1298
CL*®PK

IN THE ;

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1997

EASTMAN KoDAK COMPANY,

i. Petitioner,

IMAGE TECHNICAL SERVICES, INC., et al.,

Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals
for the Ninth Circuit

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENTS IN OPPOSITION

JAMES A. HENNEFER MAXWELL M. BLECHER *
LAW OFFICES OF JAMES A. DONALD R. PEPPERMAN

HENNEFER JAMES ROBERT NOBLIN

425 California Street BLECHER & COLLINS, P.C.

19th Floor 611 West Sixth Street

San Francisco, CA 94104 20th Floor

(415) 421-6100 Los Angeles, CA 90017
H. BARTow Farr, III (213) 622-4222
RICHARD G. TARANTO Counsel for Respondents

FARR & TARANTO

2445 M Street, N.W.

Suite 225

Washington, D.C. 20037

(202) 775-0184 * Counsel of Record

WILSON - EPES PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON. D.C. 20001

RULE 29.6 STATEMENT

Pursuant to Rule 29.6 of the Rules of this Court,
respondents Advanced Systems, Inc.; AmTech Equipment
Maintenance, Inc.; Atlanta General Microfilm Co., Inc.
and Datek Ltd.; Data Prox Equipment Co.; Image Tech-
nical Service, Inc.; JESP Company, Inc.; Micrographics
Service, Inc.; Omni Micrographics Services, Inc.; and
Shields Business Machines, Inc. state that they have no
parent corporations and have no subsidiaries, other than
wholly owned subsidiaries, and no affiliates that have
issued shares to the public.

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

SAPS SATS OSES SSS ESOS SSSTED SSS SOSOSES SOS OOS EH ESESESeSeeceecesooco

SASSO SSS E SEES SES SOSSOSSSSS SESSSSSOSESS ES SEEE EE ESES SOS SESEESEEEeeces

(iii)

Page

10

28

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page
Agostini v. Felton, 117 S. Ct. 1997 (1¢97) ............. 25
sispen Highlands Skiing Corp. v. Aspen Skiing

Co., 738 F.2d 1509 (10th Cir. 1984) 0... 22
Aspen Skiing Co. v. Aspen Highlands Skiing Co.,

ir Bk | RRO ee 11, 15, 21, 22
Atari Games Corp. v. Nintendo of America, Inc.,

897 F.2d 1572 (Fed. Cir. 1990) ...............-..:..c0c0. 18
Data General Corp. v. Grumman Systems Support

Corp., 36 F.8d 1147 (1st Cir. 1994) 00.00.00... 12
Dawson Chemical Co. v. Rohm & Haas Co., 448

pot Re ERP EE ein SORTA es OE 19
Eastern R. Presidents Conference v. Noerr Motor

Freight, Inc., 865 U.S. 127 (1961) ...................... 18
Eastman Kodak Co. v. Image Technical Serv., Inc.,

I rn a passim
Eastman Kodak Co. v. Southern Photo Materials

Cg ee re ED elitictitcerei 16
Ford Motor Co. v. United States, 405 U.S. 562

CCR ee pee a A ON dee 18

Image Technical Serv., Inc. v. Eastman Kodak Co.,
903 F.2d 612 (9th Cir. 1990), aff’d, 504 U.S. 451

ORE SINE Ree RADE a pO res Oot cAAR. 2, 8, 22
International Business Machines Corp. v. United
Sea Ge es ee 15
International Salt Co. v. United States, 332 U.S.
Sy Se AORN ode NC OER “econo Mee 15, 17
Lorain Journal Co. v. United States, 342 U.S. 148
| eee occ RN LS ORE SI 21
Miller Insituform, Inc. v. Insituform of North
America, Inc., 8380 F.2d 606 (6th Cir. 1987),
cert. denied, 484 U.S. 1064 (1988) .......... 19, 20

Panther Pumps & Equipment Co. v. Hydrocraft,
Inc., 468 F.2d 225 (7th Cir. 1972), cert. denied,

SUS en a 18
Professional Real Estate Investors, Inc. v. Colum-
bia Pictures Indus., Inc., 508 U.S. 49 (1998).... 19

SCM Corp. v. Xerox Corp., 645 F.2d 1195 (2d Cir.
1981), cert. denied, 455 U.S. 1016 (1982)........ 19, 20

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
Service & Training, Inc. v. Data General Corp.,

963 F.2d 680 (4th Cir. 1992) 00.0000... 19
United States v. Griffith, 384 U.S. 100 (1948)........ 11, 16
United States v. Grinnell Corp., 384 U.S. 563

RT sivinssieyinapnsneathceieiage rae oe OR 11
United States v. Line Material Co.,' Inc., 883 U.S.

TE RS a rh 18
United States v. Paramount Pictures, 334 U.S. 131

GT celdiieieie ih ldeneiiaaicadis eee ae Raa oo 16
United States v. Westinghouse Elec. Corp., 648

F.2d 642 (9th Cir. 1981) -..0......... PES MUN NCS Se DD 19, 20
Zenith Radio Corp. v. Hazeltine Research, Inc.,

eR Pen ee 18

Statutes
Bn 1 SORA eee eect Ny ete Se 1

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1997

No. 97-1298

EASTMAN KODAK COMPANY,

¥ Petitioner,

IMAGE TECHNICAL SERVICES, INC., et al.,
Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Ninth Circuit

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENTS IN OPPOSITION

STATEMENT

Following remand from this Court some six years ago,
see Eastman Kodak Co. v. Image Technical Serv., Inc.,
504 U.S. 451 (1992) (Kodak), a jury found that Kodak
had unlawfully attempted to monopolize, and in fact
monopolized, the service of certain Kodak equipment, in
violation of 15 U.S.C. § 2. The jury awarded damages of
$71.8 million (after trebling), and the district court
issued an injunction to bar future unlawful acts. The
Ninth Circuit affirmed with respect to liability, though it
modified both aspects of the relief awarded.

1. Respondents brought this suit in 1987, alleging,
inter alia, that Kodak had unlawfully used its monopoly
power over parts for Kodak photocopier and micrographics
equipment to seek and obtain monopoly power over serv-

2

ice of that equipment.’ Respondents alleged that Kodak
engaged in a multi-faceted scheme, consisting of the re-
fusal to deal in parts manufactured by Kodak, the control
of sale of parts by original equipment manufacturers,
agreements to prevent resale of parts, and the imposition
of sanctions on those dealing with respondents. The dis-
trict court entered summary judgment for Kodak. Al-
though the court found that Kodak had a “natural monop-
oly over the market for parts it sells under its own name,”
1989-1 CCH Trade Cases 4 68,402, at 60,213, it rejected
the Section 2 claim on the ground that a unilateral refusal
to sell those parts was not a violation of that section. /d.

The Ninth Circuit reversed. See Image Technical Serv.,
Inc. v. Eastman Kodak Co., 903 F.2d 612 (9th Cir.
1990). Although it agreed with the “general rule” that
even a monopolist “had no duty to deal with its competi-
tors,” 903 F.2d at 620, it stated that a monopolist could
not refuse to do so “in an exclusionary attempt to impede
competition without a legitimate business reason.” 903
F.2d at 620 (citing Aspen Skiing Co. v. Aspen Highlands
Skiing Corp., 472 U.S. 585, 608 (1985)).2 Looking to
the three possible business justifications advanced by Ko-
dak at the time, the court found “triable issues of fact

‘ Respondents also alleged, pointing to one of the several acts
that collectively formed the basis of the Section 2 claims, that
Kodak had engaged in illegal tying practices in violation of Section
1. Following the remand from this Court, the tying claims were
upheld against motions for summary judgment and for judgment
as a matter of law. Because respondents ultimately elected to sub-
mit only their Section 2 claims to the jury, and because the Section
2 claims are the basis of the judgment now before this Court, we

will primarily discuss the history of the case as it relates to those
claims.

2 The court of appeals also observed that “a monopolist may not
retaliate against a customer who is also a competitor by denying
him access to a facility essential to his operations, absent legitimate
business justifications.” 908 F.2d at 620 (citing Otter Tail Power
Co. v. United States, 410 U.S. 366, 377 ( 1978) ).

3

as to whether [the] first two proffered reasons are genuine
rather than pretextual,” 903 F.2d at 620, and determined
the third to be insufficient as a matter of law. 903 F.2d
at 620. Although the court expressed some uncertainty
about “whether the service of Kodak equipment could be
a relevant market” (903 F.2d at 620), and, if so, whether
Kodak might be found to have monopoly power in it, it
concluded that it could not rule out the existence of a
service market as a matter of law, 903 F.2d at 621, and
that plaintiffs had presented sufficient evidence of market
power to withstand summary judgment. 903 F.2d at 621.

This Court affirmed the Ninth Circuit, See Kodak, 504
U.S. at 480-86. The Court reiterated the well-established
two-part test for monopolization: “‘(1) the possession of
monopoly power in the relevant market and (2) the will-
ful acquisition or maintenance of that power as distin-
guished from growth or development as a consequence
of a superior product, business acumen, or historic acci-
dent.’” 504 U.S. at 481 (quoting United States v. Grin-
nell Corp., 384 U.S. 563, 570-71 (1966)). It then found
that respondents had come forward with enough proof on
these requirements to create triable issues,

The Court determined that “[t]he existence of the first
element, possession of monopoly power, is easily resolved,”
504 U.S. at 481, pointing to, among other things, the fact
that Kodak controlled “80% to 95% of the service mar-
ket.” Id. The Court noted the existence of a “triable
claim that service and Parts are separate markets, and that
Kodak has the ‘power to control prices or exclude compe-
tition’ in service and parts.” 504 US. at 481 (quoting
United States v. E.l. du Pont de Nemours & Co., 351
U.S. 377, 391 (1956) ). In particular, the Court explicitly
rejected Kodak’s argument “that, as a matter of law, a
single brand of a product or service can never be a rele-
vant market under the Sherman Act.” 504 USS. at 481.
Rather, the Court recognized that “[bJecause service and

4

parts for Kodak equipment are not interchangeable with
other manufacturers’ service and parts, the relevant mar-
ket from the Kodak equipment owner’s perspective is
composed of only those companies that service Kodak
machines.” 504 U.S. at 482. It concluded that “[t]he
proper market definition in this case can be determined
only after a factual inquiry into the ‘commercial realities’
faced by consumers.” 504 U.S. at 482 (quoting United
States v. Grinnell Corp., 384 U.S. 563, 572 (1966) ).

Turning to “[t]he second element of a § 2 claim” (504
U.S. at 482)—that is, “the use of monopoly power ‘to
foreclose competition, to gain a competitive advantage, or
to destroy a competitor’” (504 U.S. at 482-83 (quoting
United States v. Griffith, 334 U.S. 100, 107 (1948) )—
the Court stated: “If Kodak adopted its parts and service
policies as part of a scheme of willful acquisition or main-
tenance of monopoly power, it will have violated § 2.”
504 U.S. at 483. The Court acknowledged “that as a gen-
eral matter a firm can refuse to deal with its competitors,”
504 U.S. at 483 n.32, but held that “such a right is not
absolute; it exists only if there are legitimate competitive
reasons for the refusal.” 504 U.S. at 483 n.32 (citing
Aspen Skiing, 472 U.S. at 602-05). The Court noted
evidence that Kodak had engaged in a scheme of willful
monopolization and explained, therefore, that the case
turned on “whether ‘valid business reasons’ can explain
Kodak’s actions.” 504 U.S. at 483 (quoting Aspen Skiing,
472 U.S. at 605). At that time, Kodak made no men-
tion of protection of intellectual property but defended
its actions on three other grounds, all of which this Court
rejected as bases for summary judgment. The Court de-
cided that one reason (to prevent “free-riding”) was in-
adequate as a matter of law and that the other two rea-
sons (to protect service quality and to improve inventory
management) were inconsistent both with the record and
with Kodak’s own actions and thus presented factual issues
for trial. 504 U.S. at 483-86.

5

2. After remand, the case eventually proceeded to trial.
Upon the close of evidence, respondents elected to sim-
plify the case and, dropping the Section 1 tying claim,
submitted to the jury only the monopolization and at-
tempted monopolization claims. The jury found Kodak
liable on both claims. It awarded damages of more than
$12 million (before trebling) for lost service profits and
more than $11 million (before trebling) for lost profits on
used equipment sales. To prevent further harm, the dis-
trict court issued an injunction requiring Kodak to sell
parts on “reasonable” and nondiscriminatory terms. Pet.
App. 84B.° Although Kodak argued that its refusal to
Sell parts was grounded in a desire to protect intellectual
property rights, the district court stated that “neither the
record nor the verdict supports Kodak’s contention that its
desire to protect intellectual property actually motivated
Kodak’s parts policy.” Pet. App. 88B. The court added:
“To the contrary, it is clear that protection of intellectual
property was a pretextual, post-hoc justification of Kodak’s
parts policy.” Pet. App. 88B.

The Ninth Circuit affirmed the judgment as to liability.
Reviewing “the extensive record developed at trial,” Pet.
App. 8A, the court of appeals concluded that respondents
had presented sufficient evidence of market power over
parts and service. See Pet. App. 8A-23A; 31A-33A. The
court further found substantial evidence that Kodak was
able to maintain its service monopoly by exercising its
power over parts. Although Kodak argued that it lacked
market power over parts—basing its argument on a theory
that “there are not two relevant parts markets [i.e. for

3’ The Ninth Circuit, on appeal, modified the injunction to elimi-
nate the requirement that the terms be “reasonable.” Pet. App.
69A. The court noted, as respondents conceded, that “Kodak is
entitled to monopoly prices on its patented and copyrighted parts.”
Pet. App. 68A. The court upheld most of the damages for lost
service profits and remanded for a new trial on damages for lost
profits on used equipment sales. Pet. App. 58A-65A.

6

photocopier and micrographic equipment, respectively],
but thousands of individual ‘part’ markets,” (Pet. App.
10A)—the court rejected that theory, stating that “[c]on-
sideration of the ‘commercial realities’ in the markets for
Kodak parts compels the use of an ‘all parts’ market
theory.” Pet. App. 11A.* The court went on to observe
that “[t]he ‘commercial reality’ faced by service providers
and equipment owners is that a service provider must have
access to all parts to compete in the service market.” Pet.
App. 11A. See also Pet. App. 12A (“[iJn the market for
Kodak parts, a ready supply of all parts is needed to
satisfy service contracts”).

The court of appeals also determined that “substantial
evidence supports the jury’s finding that Kodak controlled
a monopoly share in the market for Kodak parts.” Pet.
App. 19A. The court pointed to a combination of actions
by Kodak: manufacture of parts; control of parts manu-
factured by others; and “discouragement of self-servicing
and resale of parts by end users.” Pet. App. 19A. The
court expressly rejected an argument by Kodak that parts
were nonetheless available, finding “substantial evidence
showing that parts were virtually unavailable for post-
1986 models and often difficult to obtain for older
models.” Pet. App. 19A.° It concluded that, “given the

4The court noted the prior declaration by this Court that the
relevant market could “ ‘be determined only after a factual inquiry
into the ‘commercial realities’ faced by consumers.’” See Pet. App.
11A (quoting Kodak, 504 U.S. at 482). Although the Ninth Circuit
determined that those realities justified use of an all-parts market,
it observed that “Kodak’s 100% monopoly power over the 30% of
parts it manufactures suggests the same potential for control of
the service market under an individual part market theory that the
jury found using the ‘all parts’ market.” Pet. App. 16A.

5 The court further found that “the record reflects substantial
evidence of entry barriers sufficient to prevent Kodak’s monopoly
share from self-correcting.” Pet. App. 22A.

aa =

7

state of the record, a reasonable jury could conclude that
Kodak had a share of the markets for photocopier and
micrographic equipment parts of 65% or more.” Pet.
App. 21A.

The court of appeals also found that respondents had
satisfied “[t]he second element of a § 2 monopoly claim”
(Pet. App. 23A): “the use of monopoly power ‘to fore-
close competition, to gain a competitive advantage, or to
destroy a competitor.’” Pet. App. 23A (quoting Kodak,
504 U.S. at 482-83) (internal quotes omitted). In this
case, as the court recognized, respondents had alleged
that “Kodak used its monopoly over Kodak parts to gain
a monopoly over the service of Kodak equipment.” Pet.
App. 23A. Analyzing this claim, the court of appeals
specifically noted the statement of this Court, during its
prior consideration of this case, that “ ‘[i]f Kodak adopted
its parts and service policies as part of a scheme of willful
acquisition or maintenance of monopoly power, it will have
violated § 2.’” Pet. App. 23A (quoting Kodak, 504 U.S.
at 483). The court declined to accept Kodak’s argument
that all refusals to deal must be analyzed according to the
terms of the “essential facilities” doctrine, Pet. App. 25A-
31A, saying that “[t]he Supreme Court has never ex-
plicitly held that a § 2 refusal to deal claim can only be
established under the ‘essential facilities’ rubric.” Pet.
App. 28A. See also Pet. App. 28A-31A (discussing fact
that neither Kodak nor Aspen Skiing employed the essen-
tial facilities doctrine by its terms). The court thus ap-
plied the standard repeatedly utilized by this Court: a
Section 2 violation may be found to the extent that a
monopolist engages in exclusionary conduct “harm[ing]
the competitive process in the absence of a legitimate
business justification.” Pet. App. 26A (citing Kodak,
504 U.S. at 483 n.32, which cited Aspen Skiing, 472 U.S.
at 602).

8

The Ninth Circuit then found that the evidence “es-
tablish[ed] Kodak’s monopoly power in the service mar-
ket.” Pet. App. 32A. Applying a “plain error” standard,
because of a procedural default by Kodak, see Pet. App.
32A, the court pointed to evidence that “Kodak has a
95% share of the Kodak high volume photocopier service
market and an 88% share of the Kodak micrographic
service market.” Pet. App. 33A. In this regard, the
court again recognized that competing service providers
were unable to obtain parts sufficient to become signifi-
cant service competitors and that, as older models were
phased out, those difficulties would worsen. Pet. App.
33A. The court also relied on evidence “that Kodak earns
supracompetitive profits in service, and overall.” Pet.
App. 33A. There was thus “[s]ubstantial evidence [to]
support[] the jury’s verdict on the issue of Kodak’s service
market monopoly.” Pet. App. 33A.

Finally, the Ninth Circuit considered the purported
business justifications for Kodak’s practices. As an initial
matter, it made clear that “[w]hen a legitimate business
justification supports a monopolist’s exclusionary conduct,
that conduct does not violate § 2 of the Sherman Act.”
Pet. App. 33A-34A (citing Kodak, 504 U.S. at 483).
The court then examined in detail one justification prof-
fered by Kodak for its real to deal with respondents:
the protection of copyrign: or patent rights. Recognizing
as a general principle “the right of a patent or copyright
holder to refuse to sell or license protected work,” Pet.
App. 41A, the court expressed “serious concern” about
the potential “effect of claims based upon unilateral con-
duct on the value of intellectual property rights ... .”
Pet. App. 46A.° The court thus established a rule that “a

6 The court later observed that antitrust suits, unless properly
cabined, “will reduce a patent holder’s ‘incentive . . . to risk the

9

monopolist’s ‘desire to exclude others from its [protected]
work is a presumptively valid business justification for any
immediate harm to consumers.’” Pet. App. 48A (quoting
Data General Corp. v. Grumman Systems Support Corp.,
36 F.3d 1147, 1187 (1st Cir. 1994)). The court further
concluded that jury instructions, in cases like this one,
must reflect this protection of intellectual property rights.

The court of appeals held, however, that “[t]he pre-
sumption may . . . be rebutted by evidence of pretext,”
Pet. App. 51A, reasoning that “[nJeither the aims of in-
tellectual property law, nor the antitrust laws justify
allowing a monopolist to rely upon a pretextual business
justification to mask anticompetitive conduct.” Pet. App.
S1A (citing Kodak, 504 U.S. at 484) (ruling out pur-
ported justification as “pretextual”). It then found con-
vincing evidence of “pretext” here. In particular, the
court observed that the refusal to sell parts to respondents
was an across-the-board refusal: that is, that “no distinc-
tion was made by Kodak between ‘proprietary’ parts cov-
ered by tooling or engineering clauses and patented or
copyrighted products.” Pet. App. 51A. Pointing out that
“Kodak photocopy and micrographics equipment requires
thousands of parts, of which only 65 were patented,”
Pet. App. 52A, the court distinguished this case from
“other cases involving refusals to license patents,” Pet.
App. 52A, remarking that it “concerns a blanket refusal
that included protected and unprotected products.” Pet.
App. 52A. See also Pet. App. 51A (statement by Kodak
official that patents “‘did not cross [his] mind’”).7 As

often enormous costs in terms of time, research, and development.’ ”
Pet. App. 47A (quoting Kewanee Oil Co. v. Bicron Corp., 416 U.S.
470, 480 (1974) ).

7 Although described as a “parts manager,” Pet. 15; Pet. 51A,
that witness actually was the official who crafted the parts restric-
tions for Kodak and thus was the person at Kodak most knowledge-
able about the intent and effect of the restrictions.

10

a result, the court found it harmless error that the district

court had not identified protection of intellectual property |
as a legitimate justification in its instructions, regarding |
it as “more probable than not that the jury would have
found Kodak’s presumptively valid business justification

rebutted on the grounds of pretext.” Pet. App. 52A.

ARGUMENT

The Ninth Circuit in this case, having reviewed “the
extensive record developed at trial” (Pet. App. 8A), up-
held a jury verdict that Kodak unlawfully monopolized
the service market for certain Kodak equipment. In so
doing, the court of appeals specifically relied on evidence
that access to Kodak parts was necessary to compete in
the service market (Pet. App. 11A, 12A, 15A, 16A);
that Kodak exercised monopoly power over the market
for parts (Pet. App. 19A, 21A, 22A); that Kodak used
its monopoly power to deny access to parts to rivals in
the service market (Pet. App. 23A-31A); that Kodak |
parts were not otherwise available in adequate supply |
(Pet. App. 19A); and that, as a result, Kodak was able
to exercise monopoly power in the service market as well
(Pet. App. 32A-33A). The court further noted that
Kodak had no legitimate business justification for its con-
duct, pointing in particular to the compelling evidence
that protection of intellectual property rights had played
no role in the decision to block access to Kodak parts
(Pet. App. 51A-52A).

Although Kodak now attacks the decision below un a
variety of grounds, none of its arguments merits further
review. First, Kodak argues that it should be exempt or
immune from antitrust liability for its refusal to sell pat-
ented or copyrighted parts to its service rivals. The
Nin» > Circuit, however, extended considerable protection
to intellectual property holders, declaring that a decision
to profit from patented or copyrighted matter was pre-
sumptively a legitimate business justification for refusals

|

11

to sell. Pet. App. 48A. The problem for Kodak with
that rule was a case-specific one: its refusal to sell the
small number of patented or copyrighted parts was simply
an undifferentiated piece of a larger, across-the-board re-
fusal to sell any parts. Pet. App. 51A-52A. Because
Kodak offered no legitimate justification for its refusal to
sell parts not subject to patents or copyrights, and because
its policy was uniform with respect to all parts, the court
of appeals reasoned that, in this particular case, the
belated claim of reliance on intellectual property rights
was pretextual. Pet. App. 52A. Kodak is thus left in the
awkward position of claiming in the abstract that the
intellectual property laws require, as an incentive for in-
vention, that patent or copyright holders be able to use
their rights even as a pretext to justify anticompetitive
conduct taken for other reasons. None of the authority
cited by Kodak stands for anything remotely close to that
illogical and dangerous proposition.

Second, Kodak asserts that the courts below failed to
apply critical elements of the “essential facilities” doc-
trine, relying instead on the standard repeatedly approved
by this Court in prior decisions, including Kodak and
Aspen. See Eastman Kodak Co. v. Image Technical Serv.,
Inc., 504 U.S. 451 (1992); Aspen Skiing Co. v. Aspen
Highlands Skiing Corp., 472 U.S. 585 (1985); United
States v. Grinnell Corp., 384 U.S. 563, 570-71 (1966);
United States v. Griffith, 334 U.S. 100, 107 (1948). But
the Ninth Circuit was plainly correct that those decisions
—including the decision in this very case—establish that
claims based on refusals to deal can be adjudicated by
a jury under the long-settled standards applicable to all
other Section 2 claims and need not be specially framed
in “essential facilities” terms. Furthermore, in its review
of the jury verdict, the Ninth Circuit did, in fact, find
sufficient evidence on each of the elements that Kodak
deems crucial: it found that Kodak exerted monopoly
power over the parts market (monopoly); that parts were
not otherwise available (unavailability); and that access

12

to parts was necessary to compete in the service markets
(essentiality). Kodak naturally disputes those conclusions,
but its disagreement on largely factual matters, resolved
by the jury here, provides no basis for review by this
Court.

The final argument advanced by Kodak—that the find-
ing of aftermarket power is insupportable—is likewise
unworthy of review. For the most part, its argument is
just an attack on the prior ruling of this Court, a ruling
that is law of the case. And its objections to the weight
of the evidence—not grounds for review, in any event—
are made even less meritorious by a procedural default
that led the Ninth Circuit to review the verdict only for
plain error. Pet. App. 32A. Applying that standard, the
court found ample evidence to support the verdict, Pet.
App. 33A, and that conclusion is plainly correct.

1. Kodak, as its first issue, seeks review of a broadly-
Stated question concerning the relation between the anti-
trust laws and the patent and copyright laws. But, despite
Kodak’s wide-ranging discussion, the Ninth Circuit deci-
sion raises only a narrow point: that the justification of
protecting intellectual property, like other Section 2 justifi-
cations, is subject to rebuttal on grounds of pretext. Not
only is that holding not in conflict with any decision of
this Court or any court of appeals, it is in line with the
only other related court of appeals’ precedent (which
Kodak also condemns). See Data General Corp. v.
Grumman Systems Support Corp., 36 F.3d 1147 (1st
Cir. 1994). Furthermore, the Ninth Circuit correctly held
that “[n]either the aims of intellectual property law, nor
the antitrust laws justify allowing a monopolist to rely
upon a pretextual business justification to mask anti-
competitive conduct.” Pet. App. 51A. For these reasons,
review should be denied.*

® Because the Ninth Circuit found sufficient evidence of pretext,
Pet. App. 51A-52A, this case, as it stands, does not present the
more general question whether, as Kodak argues, a nonpretextual

— J

13

The basic argument advanced by Kodak is that it has
an absolute right to deny access to all of the essential,
otherwise unavailable parts in order to maintain monopoly
power in the service market, even without any other
legitimate business justification, simply because approxi-
mately one percent of the parts was subject to patents or
copyrights. As a general matter, of course, the Ninth
Circuit agreed with the proposition that intellectual prop-
erty holders have a broad right to profit from their works.
Recognizing that the patent laws reward beneficial inven-
tion by extending “a permissible monopoly over the pro-
tected work” (Pet. App. 39A), the court expressed-con-—
siderable concern about the potential effects of unchecked
antitrust claims based on unilateral refusals to deal in
patented or copyright articles. Pet. App. 45A-47A. The
court found it important to shield intellectual property
holders from suits that would be “contrary to the funda-
mental and complementary purposes of both the intellec-
tual property and antitrust laws, which aim to ‘encourag[e]
innovation, industry and competition.’” Pet. App. 47A
(quoting Atari Games Corp. v. Nintendo of America, Inc.,
897 F.2d 1572, 1576 (Fed. Cir. 1990) )°

To achieve this objective, the court of appeals estab-
lished a presumption that »* tection of intellectual prop-
erty rights is a legitimate »»scompetitive justification for
conduct having the effect of excluding competition, but

reliance on intellectual property rights confers a full and complete
immunity from antitrust liability for refusals to deal in patented
and copyrighted goods when that refusal allowed the defendant to
obtain or maintain a monopoly in a second, downstream service
market.

® At the same time, the court of appeals acknowledged (Pet. App.
41A) what this Court had said in Kodak: that even “power gained
through some natural and legal advantage such as a patent, copy-
right, or business acumen can give rise to liability if ‘a seller
exploits his dominant position in one market to expand his empire
into the next.” 504 U.S. at 479 n.29 (quoting Times-Picayune Pub.
Co. v. United States, 345 U.S. 594, 611 (1958)).

14

not an absolute barrier to antitrust attack. Pet. App.
48A. Kodak, naturally enough, has no dispute with the
general principle that business decisions with respect to
intellectual property are entitled to comprehensive protec-
tion under the antitrust laws. What Kodak objects to is
the less-than-absolute degree of protection afforded by
the Ninth Circuit. Because it found protection of intellec-
tual property to be a species of legitimate business justifi-
cation, the court, as is customary with other tendered
business justifications (see pages 15-16 infra), conducted
an inquiry into whether this justification—potentially legit-
imate in the abstract—in fact played a role in the exclu-
sionary conduct here. Although Kodak claimed that it
had, its eleventh-hour position ran head-on into uncon-
troverted evidence of Kodak’s actual behavior: that is, its
refusal to allow access to any Kodak parts, whether sub-
ject to patents and copyrights or not. See Pet. App. 51A
(“no distinction was made by Kodak between ‘proprietary’
parts covered by tooling or engineering clauses and pat-
ented or copyrighted products”); Pet. App. 52A; Pet.
App. 88B. In light of the fact that Kodak’s explanation
for its practice was facially inconsistent with the practice
itself, the Ninth Circuit reasonably concluded that the
justification of protecting intellectual property rights sim-
ply had no place in this case. See Pet. App. 52A (“[uJn-
like the other cases involving refusals to license patents,
this case concerns a blanket refusal that included pro-
tected and unprotected products”).

Given the across-the-board nature of Kodak’s refusal to
sell parts, it is hardly surprising that its post-hoc reliance
on intellectual property rights was rejected. When the case
was before this Court, for example, Kodak made no claim
that its actions were grounded in the protection of copy-
right or patent rights. See Kodak, 504 U.S. at 483-86.
Furthermore, in the district court, Kodak responded sev-
eral times to interrogatories by stating that patents and
copyrights were irrelevant. RT 6162-65. It was not until

15

1994, seven years after initiation of this lawsuit, that
Kodak’s counsel asserted a defense based upon the exist-
ence of some patented and copyrighted parts. And, as the
court of appeals noted, a responsible Kodak official stated
that, at the time the parts policy was instituted, “patents
‘did not cross [his] mind.’” Pet. App. 51A.?°

Faced with these facts, Kodak is now forced to argue
that, to serve the purposes of the patent and antitrust
laws, the presumption must be absolute and irrebuttable.
Put another way, Kodak contends that it is entitled to rely
on protection of intellectual property rights as a justifica-
tion even if it is clear, by objective proof, that such pro-
tection had nothing at all to do with its policies or prac-
tices. But none of the decisions cited by Kodak adopts
so absolute a rule even in the face of evidence of pretext.
And, in any event, there is very little to be said in favor
of Kodak’s proposed new per se rule of immunity.

As a matter of antitrust law, the idea of a “pretext
privilege” seems obviously out of place. In antitrust cases,
it is standard for defendants to defend refusals to deal
based on business justifications—for example, a need to
maintain quality or a lack of available Ccapacity—that
(like protection of patent rights) are plainly legitimate in
the abstract. The courts, however, do not simply accept
the assertions at face-value. Rather, they routinely ex-
amine whether, as a matter of fact, the justification is
applicable in the particular case. See, e.g., Aspen Skiing,
472 U.S. at 608-11; International Salt Co. v. United
States, 332 U.S. 392, 396-97 ( 1947); International Busi-
ness Machines Corp. v. United States, 298 U.S. 131, 139-
40 (1936).

10 The record also contains evidence that Kodak gave parts num-
bers to patented and copyrighted items, including diagnostic soft-
ware, and listed them in its catalogue for sale along with other
parts. RT 1696, 2149-51; Exh, 440. In fact, Kodak sold patented
and copyrighted parts, along with other parts, to self-servicing
customers and to ISOs for older micrographic equipment. Jd.

16

This Court, indeed, followed precisely that course in
its prior review of this case. Addressing the purported
justifications for Kodak’s refusal to sell parts, the Court
found evidence that the first justification—“promot[ing]
interbrand equipment competition by allowing Kodak to
Stress the quality of its service” (504 U.S. at 483)—was
“pretextual.” 504 U.S. at 484. It noted evidence that
“ISOs provide quality service and are preferred by some
Kodak equipment owners” (504 U.S. at 483) and, more
importantly for present purposes, that the claimed justifi-
cation was at odds with Kodak’s own theories and conduct.
It rejected a second justification—“improv[ing] asset man-
agement by reducing Kodak’s inventory costs” (504 U.S.
at 483)—for similar reasons, stating that “Kodak’s ac-
tions appear inconsistent with any need to control inven-
tory costs.” 504 U.S. at 484. All the Ninth Circuit did
here was to conclude that another proffered justification—
the protection of copyright and patent rights—likewise
could not be reconciled with the full extent of Kodak’s
own actions.”

The creation of a “pretext privilege” is also unneces-
sary to comply with the various intellectual property
laws. See Pet. App. 51A. Kodak correctly observes that
“[t]he purpose of the intellectual property laws is ‘to
motivate the creative activity of authors and inventors
by the provision of a special reward.’” Pet. 10 (quoting

1! While Kodak argues that the decision below focuses on “intent”
at the expense of more “objective” analysis, Pet. 13-14, that com-
plaint seems largely out of place in this case. While the court of
appeals did note testimony by a Kodak official that “patents ‘did not
cross [his] mind,’” Pet. App. 51A, the principal evidence relied on
by the court was evidence of what Kodak did: i.e., generally refuse
to sell any parts, regardless of whether they were subject to patents
or copyrights. In any event, this Court has looked at evidence of
monopolistic intent in considering Section 2 claims for more than
half a century. See, e.g., United States v. Paramount Pictures,
334 U.S. 181, 173 (1948); United States v. Griffith, 334 U.S. 100,
106 (1948) ; Eastman Kodak Co. v. Southern Photo Materials Co.,
273 U.S. 359 (1927).

17

Sony Corp. of America v. Universal City Studios, Inc.,
464 U.S. 417, 429 (1984)). What it does not explain,
however, is why the “special reward” must include the
pretextual use of copyright or patent rights as a cover for
anticompetitive conduct. The presumption adopted by the
Ninth Circuit was intended to assure—and, properly im-
plemented, will assure—that actions necessary to protect
intellectual property rights will satisfy the legitimate busi-
ness justification standard, thereby giving appropriate pro-
tection to patent and copyright holders. It is far-fetched to
suggest that any meaningful creative activity will be de-
terred by the inability of a patent or copyright holder to
invoke its rights as a pretext as well.”

Although Kodak asserts that exploitation of intellectual
property rights is necessarily compatible with the antitrust
laws, that position is only partly correct: it has long been
recognized that the antitrust laws place limits on the free-
dom of a patent holder to exploit its limited monopoly
under the patent. Thus, for example, this Court has held
that the Sherman Act bars a patentee from requiring pur-
chase of a second product as a condition of gaining access
to a patented one. See, e.g., International Salt Co., supra.
Indeed, as the court of appeals noted (Pet. App. 41A), this
Court in Kodak explicitly reaffirmed that “power gained
through some natural and legal advantage such as a
patent, copyright, or business acumen can give rise to lia-
bility if ‘a seller exploits his dominant position in one
market to expand his empire into the next.’” 504 US.
at 479 n.29 (emphasis added) (quoting Times-Picayune
Pub. Co. v. United States, 345 U.S. 594, 611 (1953)).

12 Indeed, the standard urged by Kodak, amounting to antitrust
immunity whenever a patent or copyright is involved, is rife with
the potential for mischief. Kodak’s standard would give companies
an incentive to obtain a patent—even when doing so is not eco-
nomically beneficial in traditional terms of improving quality or
lowering costs—merely because the patent would amount to a
license to destroy competition in downstream markets,

18

See Zenith Radio Corp. v. Hazeltine Research, Inc., 395
U.S. 100, 136 (1969) (“[T]here are established limits
which the patentee must not exceed in employing the lev-
erage of his patent to control or limit the operations of
the licensee.”); United States v. Line Material Co., 333
U.S. 287, 308 (1948) (“Possession of a valid patent or
patents does not give the patentee any exemption from the
provisions of the Sherman Act beyond the limits of the
patent monopoly.”); Ford Motor Co. v. United States,
405 U.S. 562, 576 n.11 (1972) (“Even constitutionally
protected property rights such as patents may not be used
as levers for obtaining objectives proscribed by the anti-
trust laws.”); Atari Games Corp. v. Nintendo of America,
Inc., 897 F.2d 1572, 1576 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (“On the
other hand, a patent owner may not take the property
right granted by a patent and use it to extend his power
in the marketplace improperly, i.e. beyond the limits of
what Congress intended to give in the patent laws.”);
Panther Pumps & Equipment Co. v. Hydrocraft, Inc., 468
F.2d 225, 231 (7th Cir. 1972) (“Supreme Court has un-
equivocally condemned the use of a patent as a beach-
head from which competition in unrelated lines of com-
merce may be assaulted”), cert. denied, 411 U.S. 965
(1973). While it plainly would enhance the value of a
patent to allow unlimited power to refuse to sell patent
goods except upon purchase of unpatented goods, the law
does not regard that added incentive as necessary in order
to stimulate inventive efforts. It is equally unnecessary
to provide inventors with the dubious additional incentive
of invoking copyrights or patent rights in a pretextual
manner.”®

18 By the logic of Kodak’s theory, it could be argued that recogni-
tion of the so-called “sham” exception likewise weakens the con-
stitutionally-rooted right to petition governmental officials or to file
lawsuits. See Eastern R. Presidents Conference v. Noerr Motor
Freight, Inc., 365 U.S. 127 (1961). But this Court has never found
it essential to accord absolute immunity to those activities. Indeed,

19

There is certainly nothing in the authority cited by
Kodak that compels an opposite conclusion. To begin
with, although Kodak seeks to rely on the language of
35 U.S.C. § 271(d)(4), that provision applies only to
cases, unlike this one, filed after November 19, 1988."
The cases cited by Kodak (Pet. 10-11) are similarly be-
side the point. See SCM Corp. v. Xerox Corp., 645 F.2d
1195 (2d Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 455 U.S. 1016 (1982);
Miller Insituform, Inc. v. Insituform of North America,
Inc., 830 F.2d 606 (6th Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 484
U.S. 1064 (1988); Service & Training, Inc. v. Data Gen-
eral Corp., 963 F.2d 680 (4th Cir. 1992); United States
v. Westinghouse Elec. Corp., 648 F.2d 642 (9th Cir.
1981). While those cases stand for the oft-reiterated
principle that a patent or copyright holder has no general
duty to deal with its competitors, that principle is not in
dispute here: the Ninth Circuit explicitly acknowledged
and agreed with it. See Pet. App. 41A (“[c]ase law also
supports the right of a patent or copyright holder to refuse
to sell or license protected work,” citing Westinghouse,

despite Kodak’s heavy emphasis on Professional Real Estate In-
vestors, Inc. v. Columbia Pictures Indus., Inc., 508 U.S. 49 (1993),
that decision does not stand for the proposition that actions ostensi-
bly protecting copyrights are entitled to absolute immunity. If that
were so, it would follow that any suit to enforce a copyright, even
a “sham” suit, would have to be treated as legitimate, just as Kodak
insists that a pretextual reliance on patent rights must be. The
decision in Professional Real Estate Investors, Inc. is contrary to
that theory.

14 Thus, to the extent that provision is relevant to analysis of
the issue raised by Kodak, it would be appropriate for this Court
to await a case in which the provision applies and, therefore, has
been dealt with in the lower courts. Furthermore, with respect to
the matter specifically addressed by the statute (i.e., the criteria
for patent misuse), this Court had simply held, prior to enactment
of the statute, that a patent holder does not forfeit its right to sue
for infringement solely because it has not offered to license its
invention to an accused infringer. See Dawson Chemical Co. v.
Rohm & Haas Co., 448 U.S. 176, 214-15 (1980).

20

648 F.2d at 647). None of those cases, however, ad-
dressed the specific question presented by this case—
whether a patent or copyright holder may claim, as a busi-
ness justification, a reason for refusing to deal (i.e., pro-
tection of copyrighted or patented matter) that had noth-
ing to do with its actual behavior—and thus none of the
cases had any reason to consider whether a pretextual
invocation of intellectual property rights should be ac-
cepted as though it were genuine. Indeed, insofar as it
appears from the cases, there was no allegation in any of
them that the companies refusing to deal in patented
materials had done so as part of an indiscriminate refusal
to sell patented and unpatented goods alike, let alone in
an effort to monopolize a downstream market not encom-
passed within the scope of the patent or copyright. See
Pet. App. 52A (distinguishing Westinghouse, SCM, and
Miller Insituform on the ground that, unlike this case,
they did not involve “a blanket refusal that included pro-
tected and unprotected products”). It was reliance on
those facts, however, that prompted the Ninth Circuit to
hold that the protection generally afforded to patent and
copyright holders should not be extended to Kodak here.

In short, the decision below provides ample protection
for patent and copyright holders without erecting a wholly
unnecessary shield from antitrust liability for holders pre-
textually asserting their rights as a basis for anticompeti-
tive behavior. Neither this Court nor any court of ap-
peals has ever held that it is necessary for patent or copy-
right holders to be able to invoke their rights as a pretext,
and nothing in the intellectual property laws or the anti-
trust laws requires it. There is thus no reason for review
by this Court.

2. The broadest argument put forward by Kodak,
though styled as its second question presented, is that the
courts below applied the wrong standard to its refusals
to deal. In the court of appeals, Kodak argued that courts

21

must apply the “essential facilities” doctrine, but its posi-
tion now seems to be only that a proper standard (distilled
from a survey of cases) must require proof of monopoly,
unavailability, and essentiality. See Pet. 16-19. This issue,
however, is a red herring: the Ninth Circuit, while it held
that it was not required to apply the essential facilities doc-
trine in this case, did look to proof of the very elements
that Kodak finds to be critical. Its holding that the evi-
dence was sufficient to uphold the verdict is correct, and
there is no reason for further review on this issue.

Before turning to this evidence, we should note that, if
Kodak actually means that a court must employ the essen-
tial facilities doctrine by its terms, its argument is clearly
off the mark. This Court, in both Aspen and Kodak, an-
alyzed refusals to deal without itself employing the essen-
tial facilities language or indicating that instructions must
be framed in that manner. See Aspen Skiing, 472
U.S. at 600-11; Kodak, 504 U.S. at 482-86. In Aspen,
having upheld a jury verdict of monopolization under in-
structions providing that a monopolist may refuse to deal
“if valid business reasons exist for that refusal” (472 US.
at 597), the Court found it “unnecessary to consider the
possible relevance of the ‘essential facilities’ doctrine.”
472 U.S. at 611 n.44. In Kodak, this Court stated that
“Tilf Kodak adopted its parts and service policies as part
of a scheme of willful acquisition or maintenance of mo-
nopoly power, it will have violated § 2.” 504 U.S. at 483.
More specifically, after saying that “[i]t is true that as a
general matter a firm can refuse to deal with its competi-
tors,” 504 U.S. at 483 n.32, the Court went on to declare
that “such a right is not absolute; it exists only if there
are legitimate competitive reasons for the refusal.” 504
U.S. at 483 n.32. See also Lorain Journal Co. v. United
States, 342 U.S. 143, 155 (1951). Nothing in that dis-
cussion—addressing the very claims that were tried on

22

remand—trequired that Kodak’s conduct be analyzed ac-
cording to the terms of the essential facilities doctrine.”

Kodak is thus left with a more generic argument: that
courts must employ some sort of “objective criteria” to
separate lawful from unlawful refusals to deal.** But the
inquiry conducted by the Ninth Circuit did just that: in
reviewing the jury’s verdict, it looked to proof of pre-
cisely those elements—monopoly, unavailability, and essen-
tiality—that Kodak finds to be necessary. Thus, the Ninth
Circuit explicitly determined that Kodak had “monopoly
power in the parts market.” See Pet. App. 20A; id. at
19A (“[w]Je hold that substantial evidence supports the
jury’s finding that Kodak controlled a monopoly share in
the market for Kodak parts”).’ More particularly, the
court stated that “given the state of the record, a reason-
able jury could conclude that Kodak had a share of the
markets for photocopier and micrographic equipment parts

18 The lack of reliance on the essential facilities doctrine in Aspen
and Kodak is all the more noteworthy because, in each of them, the
court of apncals had talked in terms of essential facilities. See
Aspen Highlands Skiing Corp. v. Aspen Skiing Co., 738 F.2d 1509,
1520-21 (10th Cir. 1984) ; Image Technical Serv., Inc. v. Eastman
Kodak Co., 903 F.2d 612, 620 (9th Cir. 1990).

16 Although Kodak describes its conduct as a unilateral refusal to
deal, that description is actually incomplete. As the Ninth Circuit
noted, and as the record shows, Kodak engaged in a schome that
featured its own refusals to deal, its efforts to prevent third parties
from dealing with respondents, and various acts of retaliation
against respondents and customers using respondents’ services. See
Pet. App. 4A, 19A.

17 Kodak continues to object to the definition of the relevant mar-
ket, arguing that the Ninth Circuit should have looked at the mar-
ket for each of the thousands of parts rather than all parts. See
Pet. 20; id. n.12. The Ninth Circuit correctly held, however, that
the definition offered by Kodak was incompatible with “commercial
realities,” Pet. App. 11A, and that Kodak would likely lose even
under its own theory. Pet. App. 16A. In any event, the resolution
of that issue—whether the proper market is all parts or not—is
case-specific and, therefore, obviously an issue of no general
importance.

23°

of 65% or more.” Pet. App. 21A.% In addition, the
court found sufficient evidence to “support a finding of
high barriers to entry by new manufacturers and to in-
creased output by established suppliers.” Pet. App. 22A.

The court of appeals also addressed whether Kodak
parts were otherwise available to service providers, find-
ing substantial proof that they were not. Noting evidence
of “a shortage of available substitutes” (Pet. App. 19A),
the court found “unpersuasive[]” Kodak’s argument “that
the ISO’s failed to prove that parts were absolutely un-
available.” Pet. App. 19A. To the contrary, the court
observed, “[t]he record contains substantial evidence show-
ing that parts were virtually unavailable for post-1986
models and often difficult to obtain for older models.”
Pet. App. 19A. Indeed, while Kodak in its petition baldly
asserts that parts “were available elsewhere” (Pet. 19;
see id. at 21), the Ninth Circuit pointed to an admission
by Kodak itself “that the availability of parts was ‘lim-
ited.’” Pet. App. 19A.

Finally, the Ninth Circuit repeatedly stated that access
to parts was necessary to compete in the service market.
In defining the relevant market, the court stated that
“(t]he ‘commercial reality’ faced by service providers and
equipment owners is that a service provider must have
ready access to all parts to compete in the service market.”
Pet. App. 11A (emphasis added). The court then re-
peated that fact, in various forms and contexts, through-
out its analysis of respondents’ Section 2 claim. See Pet.
App. 12A (“{iJn the market for Kodak parts, a ready
supply of all parts is needed to satisfy service contracts”);

18 Kodak challenges the statement (Pet. App. 21A) that even a
market share “near 50%” would suffice to support an attempted
monopolization claim where, as here, there are significant barriers
to entry and expansion. See Pet. 20-21. This Court need not
consider the legal sufficiency of this evidence of attempt, however,
because the court of appeals found sufficient evidence of a market.
share of 65% in this case.

a

Pet. App. 15A (“Kodak either manufactures or otherwise
controls a monopoly share in most of the necessary parts”’) ;
Pet. App. 16A (“Kodak photocopiers and micrographic
equipment require thousands of individual parts and a
supply of all parts is necessary in order to fulfill service
contracts”); Pet. App. 16A (“service providers need all
parts to compete in the service market”). Indeed, it seems
beyond serious question that access to parts is essential to
provide service. For all of its various theories, even
Kodak does not attempt to argue that it would be possible
for respondents to offer service without parts.”

The approach taken by the Ninth Circuit thus assured
that liability, even to the extent that it rested on a refusal
to deal considered in isolation, was imposed only upon
proof of each of the elements that Kodak deems impor-
tant.” That proof established that Kodak was able to
maintain a monopoly over service by denying access to
necessary and otherwise unavailable parts over which it
exercised monopoly power. Kodak may believe that the
court of appeals should have found the evidence to be
insufficient, but its dissatisfaction offers no reason for
further review.

3. The final argument pressed by Kodak is that the
Ninth Circuit mistakenly upheld the jury’s finding of
market power in a derivative aftermarket. But Kodak
offers nothing new or important here. Its argument is a
loose mixture of quarrels with the earlier decision in this

19 Kodak’s contention that the ISOs grew rapidly despite the parts
restrictions is misleading. In fact, the parts restrictions devastated
the ISOs’ ability to compete meaningfully against Kodak for service
business. See e.g., Pet. App. 4A (two plaintiffs and other ISOs were
actually driven out of the service business); RT 1715-16, 1720-22,
2380-84, 3459-62; Exh. 132, 32, 123.

20 To the extent that Kodak is objecting that the relevant instruc-
tion did not set forth those elements in the proper terms, it has
waived that argument by its failure to challenge that instruction
(No. 27). See Pet. App. 18A.

25

case and fact-specific disputes about the narrow ruling of
the court below. None of its contentions is grounds for
further review.

Much of the argument is, in effect, an invitation for
this Court to revisit its earlier decision. But this invita-
tion should be declined. The determination that Kodak
may unlawfully exert monopoly power in derivative after-
markets is law of the case." As this Court observed last
Term, “[uJnder this doctrine, a court should not reopen
issues decided in earlier stages of the same litigation.”
Agostini v. Felton, 117 S. Ct. 1997, 2017 (1997). Al-
though the Court may depart from that doctrine, if it is
“ ‘convinced that [its prior decision] is clearly erroneous
and would work a manifest injustice,” id. (quoting Ari-
zona v. California, 460 U.S. 605, 618 n.8 (1983)),
Kodak falls well short of meeting either prong of that
standard.”

The rest of the argument amounts to a wholesale attack
on the Ninth Circuit’s ruling on the sufficiency of the evi-
dence. But, in making this argument, Kodak labors under
a heavy procedural obstacle—both in attacking the Ninth
Circuit’s holding and in promoting this case as an appro-
priate vehicle for further consideration by this Court.

21 The Court in Kodak held that, upon a proper showing, respond-
ents could establish a § 2 claim with respect to the parts and service
aftermarkets, even if Kodak did not have monopoly power in the
equipment market. 504 U.S. at 482-86. See also 504 U.S. at 464-79.
Kodak obviously thinks little of that holding, see Pet. 24-28, but
it remains binding under traditional principles of law of the case.

22 Although Kodak claims that a “ ‘torrent’” of litigation has
followed the Kodak decision, Pet. 25, Pet. App. 104E-105E, the
majority of cases cited by Kodak were, in fact, instituted before
Kodak was decided. Thus, by Kodak’s own figures, there have been
fewer cases filed in the six years since Kodak than in the six years
preceding it. Further, some of those cases involve tying claims.
Because this case no longer contains a tying claim, any decision in
this case will provide, at best, incomplete guidance for the resolution
of those cases.

26

‘Because Kodak failed to move for judgment as a matter
of law on the sufficiency of the evidence on this issue, as
required by long-established and clear precedent, the
Ninth Circuit reviewed this contention “only for plain
error.” Pet. App. 32A. According to that standard, re-
versal of the jury’s findings about the service market was
possible “only if there is an absolute absence of evidence
to support the jury’s verdict.” Pet. App. 32A-33A (in-
ternal quotes omitted). The court of appeals accordingly
rejected Kodak’s challenge to the verdict under that strict
standard.

That ruling presents no basis for further review, for
the evidence in the record plainly satisfied that (and,
indeed, the usual) standard of appellate scrutiny. As the
Court noted, the record reflected, among other things,
that Kodak had extremely high (95% and 88%) shares
of the relevant service markets. Pet. App. 33A. In addi-
tion, the court said, “the ISOs presented evidence that
Kodak earns supracompetitive profits in service, and over-
all.” Pet. App. 33A.% Specifically looking at issues previ-
ously addressed by this Court, the court of appeals found
evidence that “Kodak equipment customers experience the
‘lock-in’ and information imperfections as described in
Kodak.” Pet. App. 33A. It thus rejected Kodak’s after-
market argument, concluding that “[s]ubstantial evidence
supports the jury’s verdict on the issue of Kodak’s service
market monopoly.” Pet. App. 33A.

To rebut these findings, Kodak largely sets forth its
own view of the evidence. For example, Kodak contends
that, “no matter what the Ninth Circuit says” (Pet. 28),
it never changed its policy toward selling photocopier
parts to its rivals. Pet. 28. In fact, there was substantial
evidence that Kodak adopted the parts restrictions after
competition had arisen, based on access to parts, that

28 Although Kodak contends (Pet. 2) that it sold its copier busi-
ness because of unprofitability, that claim is devoid of support in
the record.

27

threatened its service monopoly. RT 816, 1496-97, 2302-
03, 2855. Indeed, the Ninth Circuit pointed to evidence
that the restrictions on photocopier parts were adopted
only after one plaintiff lured a large service account, the
State of California, away from Kodak. Pet. App. 36A;
RT 2819, 2837; Exh. 943. Kodak also claims that the
restrictions on micrographics parts were “prospective
only,” operating only on equipment sold after the restric-
tions were announced. Pet. 28. Again, the record shows
that the restrictions cut off parts for some advanced equip-
ment that had been on the market for years before the
restrictions were announced. RT 2174-76, 2374-75,
2808-10.™

There is no need to go over this ground again. The
Ninth Circuit correctly upheld the verdict under the prop-
erly limited standard of review available to Kodak after
its procedural default. Further review by this Court is
unnecessary and unwarranted.

24 Kodak also ignores or misstates other record evidence refuting
its theory that it was unable to exploit service customers. Sub-
stantial evidence established that the equipment markets were not
competitive. See, e.g., Exhs. 190, 721, 724-26, 763-64, 898-99. In-
deed, some models of Kodak equipment have no substitutes. See,
e.g., RT 1722-24, 2895-2900, 3892-96, 5404-05. Lastly, for most of
the relevant time period, Kodak’s only competitive manufacturer of
photocopiers (Xerox) employed parts restrictions similar to
Kodak’s. RT 999-1001, 1298-1300, 1314.

28

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied

Respectfully submitted,
JAMES A. HENNEFER MAXWELL M. BLECHER *
LAW OFFICES OF JAMES A. DONALD R. PEPPERMAN
HENNEFER JAMES ROBERT NOBLIN
425 California Street BLECHER & COLLINS, P.C.
19th Floor 611 West Sixth Street
San Francisco, CA 94104 20th Floor
(415) 421-6100 Los Angeles, CA 90017
H. BARTow Fak, III (218) 622-4228
RICHARD G. TARANTO Counsel for Respondents
FARR & TARANTO
2445 M Street, N.W.
Suite 225

Washington, D.C. 20037
(202) 775-0184 * Counsel of Record

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_2183%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
