# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Patterson v. International Brotherhood of Teamsters, Local 959

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_2125%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1998
- **Citation:** 523 U.S. 1106

## Text

Sunrame Court. U.S.
i ae

9712836 bre 50 1997
NO. _QRSCE-OF-FHE CLERK

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1997

WILLIAM L. PATTERSON,
Petitioner,
.

INTERNATIONAL BROTHERHOOD OF
TEAMSTERS, LOCAL 959,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

A. Lee Petersen, Esq.
LAW OFFICES OF

A. LEE PETERSEN, P.C.
P.O. Box 940284
Houston, AK 99694
(907) 495-6239

Attorney for Petitioner

i
QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Is the right to remove a case from

state to federal court waived by
participating in the litigation for more
than thirty days without giving notice of
the automatic stay in bankruptcy?

26 Does rejection of the the non-
moving party's version of the facts and
viewing the facts in the light’ most
favorable to the moving party in granting
summary judgment deny due process of law and
the right to trial by jury guaranteed by the

Fifth and Seventn Amendments to the

Constitution?

ii
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Meme seme Presented . . «ts tt te ltl tl th
SE ee er ar er © |
meee. Ge BUCMOTICIGS. « oe ec ew ew ew ee 8 hy
I. Petition for Writ of Certiorari ....1
II. Statement of Jurisdiction ......1

III. Applicable Constitional

Provisions and Statutes .......1

awe Beeeemene Of The Case. «. . « 2 «© © 2 oS
me 6eaeeeeee OF FOCtTS . 2 6 0 et ot

as ee Gb a a Me ee ce ee o 0 BA

V. Argument Stating Reasons for Granting
RR 5 6h 8G cs a ON ew we ec ww el le UEC

A. The Right of Removal Was Waived . 16

B. The Rejection of the Non-Moving
Party's Version of the Facts in
Granting Summary Judgment Denied
Due Process of Law and the Right
to Trial by Jury Guaranteed by
Fifth and Seventh Amendments

ES LL Ee re |
ee Ss eo ee
APPENDIX

Order Denying Petition for Rehearing
and Rejecting Suggestion for Rehearing

iii

OU We Ss ow Aa Be ae eee
Opinion of the Court of Appeals .... .A3
MARGE SON GnteiON sos ko ook SS ee

District Court Order Denying Summary
Judgment ~ a e * . a * * e & a + e a * i A2 0

District Court Order from Chambers
(Granting Summary Judgment) ...... A34

Judgment in a Civil Case .......« -Aé

iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases

irli ilots Association v. O'Neill,
499 U.8. 65; 111 &.Ct. 1127,

S900. BE SE TROOE) oe on POE I. ree

Brown v. Demco, Inc., 792 F.2d 478
(ol Civ. SOR Ss 664% 6665S ee eee

Cantrell _v. Great Republic
Insurance Co., 873 F.2d 1249
POEM CISL RweOs ee 60d oO Oe aT

ouglass v. Weye euser Co.,
662 F.Supp. 147 (C.D. Cal. 1987)... . .19

Easley v. Pettibone Michigan Corp.,
990 F.2d 905 (5th Cir. 1993). ..... .18

Vv j ‘i
920 F.2d 1434 (9th Cir. 1990). .. +... 28

Frazer v. United States, 18 F.3d 778
(SOR. Tis. 204) 6k whee tee PS GOO

Hillman v. Nationwide Mutual Fire
Insurance Co., 855 P.2d 1321,
[AIRORA 1993). «se eis te ae OHS ee Ae ! SD

Hubbard v. Union Oil Company

of California, 601 F.Supp. 790
i a SOOO oko ce ee ee

In Re Schwartz, 954 F.2d 569
POOR. OR tere eer ee

atterson v. International
Brotherhood of Teamsters, Local 959,

Vv

(This case), 121 F.3d 1345 (9th Cir.
1997). . . > oO . a 7 = .* - * a + >. * . o

Patterson v. State of Alaska,

, 880 P.2da
1038 (Alaska 1994) cert. denied
513 U.S. 1127 (the other defendant
We WRe CONE) +. 66 BOSSA Bek ere fe te

» 771 P.2d 1244

(9th Cir. 1985), cert. denied,
475 U.S. Laue « . - . a . ” aa o . e . e

,
717 F.Supp. 1435 (E.D. Cal. Beer 66

S.M. v. Jones, 794 F. iii 638

(W. D. Tex. 1992). . * o o eo
ornate 2, tet til one.
980 F.2d 1167 (8th Cir. 1992)... . 24,

’
978 F.2d. 1529 (9th Cir. 1992) ...

, 881 F.2d
BTS, (90R Gies SONel. 4 kc tee

Constitutional Provisions

FRE PE so ok ie kk ca a is a:

Seventh Amendment .......... i

STATUTES

aS UeBiC. FERCAV(G 2 is hoe. cee 2, 15,

we WG .@. ASGRIRS oo io ee

14

24

19

-18

25

25

18

19

19

18

vi
Be. Wemeee- BeGOse 6 6 6 ©. 8. 6 8 8 6.8. 0. Be
a ee ee PR ee

TREATISES
C. Wright, A. Miller and M. Kane, 10

Federal Practiceand Procedure, Civil

2d, §§ 2524 and 2525... cn sees

C. Wright, A. Miller and E. Cooper,

14A Federal Practice ane EXRRMMER,

Ca¥al 26, § 37320. 2. <2

17

20

19

I. PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

The petitioner respectfully prays that a writ
of certiorari issue to review the judgment of
the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals filed August
15, 1997, Case No. 95-36227,' petition for
rehearing denied October 2, 1997, both reprinted
in the Appendix hereto, in order to review the
standards for denying trial by jury by granting
summary judgment and to resolve a conflict
between the circuit courts as to whether actions
taken in ignorance of the automatic stay in
bankruptcy are void or voidable.

II. STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

This Court has jurisdiction pursuant to 28
U.S.C. § 1254(1). This petition is being timely
filed in accordance with Rule 13.1 of this
court.

III. APPLICABLE CONSTITUTIONAL
PROVISIONS AND STATUTES

Relevant portions of constitutional
provisions and statutes pertaining to this
petition are as follows:

Fifth Amendment to U.8. Constitution

No person shall be. . .deprived of
life, liberty, or property without due
process of law;. ...

Seventh Amendment to U.S. Constitution
In suits at common law, where the value

in controversy shall exceed twenty
doliars, the right to trial by jury

' The opinion of the Court of Appeals
is reported in 121 F.3d 1345 (9th Cir. 1997).

2

Shall be preserved, and no fact tried
by a jury, shall be otherwise re-
examined in any court of the United
States, than according the rules of the
common law.

ai U.8.C. § 362. Automatic stay,

(a) Except as provided in subsection
(b) of this section, a petition filed
under section 301, 302, or 303 of this
7) ee operates as stay,
applicable to all entities, of--

(1) the commencement or contin-
uation, including the issuance or
employment of process, of a judicial,
administrative, or other action or
proceeding against the debtor that was
or could have been commenced before the
commencement of the case under this
title, or to recover a Claim against
the debtor that arose before the
commencement of the case under this
Cities. . +%

28 U.S.C. § 1446. Procedure for removal.

(a) A defendant or defendants
desiring to remove any civil action or
criminal prosecution from a State court
Shall file in the district court of the
United States for the district and
division within which such action is
pending a notice of removal signed
pursuant to Rule 11 of the Federal
Rules of Civil Procedure and containing
a short and plain statement of the
grounds for removal, together with a
copy of all process, pleadings, and
orders served upon such defendant or
defendants in such action.

(b) The notice of removal of a civil

3

action or proceeding shall be filed
within thirty days after the receipt by
the defendant, through service or
otherwise, of a copy of the initial
pleading setting forth the claim for
relief upon which such action or
proceeding is based, or within thirty
days after the service of summons upon
the defendant if such initial pleading
has then been filed in court and is not
required to be served on the defendant,
whichever period is shorter.

28 U.8.C. § 1447. Procedure after removal
ene e

(c) A motion to remand the case on
the basis of any defect in removal
procedure must be made with 30 days
after the filing of the notice of
removal under section 1446(a)....

IV. STATEMENT OF THE CASE
A. Statement of Facts

Patterson was employed by Matanuska Maid
Dairy from March 6, 1979 to April 30, 1986 and
also on June 3 and 4, 1986. He was a member of
General Teamsters Local 959 and had been for
about 18 years. He worked mainly as a
driver/salesperson in the distribution
department. (ER 29, Ex. 2 (Patterson Aff.),
2).

Patterson served during 1965-66 in the war in
Vietnam where he was given some very stressful
assignments driving a tank carrier and wrecker

* References to "ER" are to the Excerpt of
the Record filed with the Court of Appeals.

ini |

4

by himself in areas which were infiltrated by

the enemy, with nothing for protection but an M- H
1 rifle and 20 rounds of ammunition. Vehicles —
he was driving were fired on and hit many times,
but Patterson was not hit. He also was exposed ©
to Agent Orange. (ER 29, Ex. 2, q 3). ;

On August 25, 1980, a psychiatrist diagnosed
Patterson as suffering from a delayed stress
reaction to the combat situation, commonly
referred to as post-traumatic stress disorder
(PTSD), and the psychiatrist wrote a letter to
the manager of Matanuska Maid indicating
Patterson's diagnosis. The letter was retained
in Patterson's personnel file along with an
article describing PTSD, its Symptoms and
manifestations. (ER 29, Ex. 2, q 4). Despite

PTSD, and his work day started at 6:00 a.n. (ER

In the fall of 1983, Matanuska Maid was in
financial trouble and filed for pro- tection
under Chapter 11 of the Bankruptcy Code, which
resulted in changes in manage- ment personnel.
Patterson believes his difficulties became
serious and began to accelerate when Ron Wilde
was hired as sales manager in about June, 1984.
Patterson's lack of rapport with Wilde became
apparent about two weeks after Wilde was hired.
Patterson refused Wilde the key to the company
gas pump for use in his private car, telling
Wilde that he should buy his gas from his gas
allowance and not steal from the company. (ER
29, Ex. 2, 7). A few weeks later, in
Patterson's view, Wilde caused an incident which
made it appear that Patterson had stolen a can
of soda pop from a customer. A disciplinary

5

action was written up and placed in Patterson's
personnel file. Patterson sought assistance
from a Local 959 business representative, but
the record remained in his file. Patterson was
told by the plant manager that Wilde had made a
comment that he would get rid of Patterson and
that Patterson should cover his tracks. (ER 29,
Ex. 2, 4 8).

As the tension between Patterson and Wilde
increased, the resulting stress on Patterson
increased his sleep disturbances and other
symptoms of PTSD and he was reprimanded for
being late for work (ER 29, Ex. 2, 4 9). Late
in 1984, Wilde gave Patterson a lay off notice
on the pretext there was insufficient work,
while several employees with less seniority than
Patterson were not laid off, especially those
who were non-union. Patterson sought assistance
from Local 959, but got none, so he went to the
NLRB and that resulted in his’ prompt
reinstatement. (ER 29, Ex. 2, 4 10). The same
thing happened again in the spring of 1985.
These circumstances increased the stress on
Patterson and, because of his PTSD, he did not
deal with stress very well. He tended to become
angry and talk back to supervisors and sometimes
even to customers. (ER 29, Ex. 2, 4 11).

In the fall of 1984, the State of Alaska,
Department of Agriculture, the largest creditor
of Matanuska Maid, nominated John Seawell to
manage the dairy and he was appointed by the
Bankruptcy Court. Seawell brought in other new
management personnel, including Steve Bevins as
distribution manager, Patterson's immediate
supervisor. Initially Patterson and Bevins got
along quite well and socialized with each other
for a few weeks, but Patterson found that Bevins
had habits which he could not condone and the
social relationship faded out. ‘cm 29, Ex. 2,

| 12).

6

As the stress between Bevins and Patterson

If Patterson was late for work, Bevins
reprimanded him, which increased the stress and
Sleep disturbances. (ER 29, Ex. 2, q 15). On
February 6, 1986, Bevins wrote a letter to Bobby
Sinnett, Secretary-Treasurer of Local 959, the
chief executive officer, accusing Patterson of
outrageous conduct, such as harassing telephone
calls to female employees, trying to poison
Bevins and customer complaints. Patterson was
given a copy on February 14, 1986 by Jerry
Fuller, a Local 959 business representative.
Patterson denied Bevins' allegations and so
informed Fuller and Sinnett and wrote his
responses in the margins of the letter. He
investigated the sources of the allegations and
obtained letters from customers and other
documentation disproving Bevins' statements and
gave them to the Fuller. Patterson was told by
the receptionist at Matanuska Maid that she
heard Bevins and Wilde collaborating on the
letter. Patterson wrote to Seawell derying the
allegations, asking for a written apology and

In April, 1986, a new collective bargaining
agreement (CBA) between Local 959 and Matanuska
Maid was put in effect and ratified by the union
on April 15, 1986. However, there were still
pending negotiations about some provisions and
Patterson was interested in the provision for
dental care and wanted to attend the meeting
when it was discussed. at that time he had no
official Capacity in the union, so he was told
that he would have to obtain permission from
Sinnett to attend the meeting. After attempts
to make contact with Sinnett by telephone and
when he was at the restaurant in the union hall

7

for lunch or coffee breaks, he was informed that
the best time to find Sinnett was early in the
morning when he was arriving for work. On the
morning of April 30, 1986, after arriving for
work at 6:00 a.m. and seeing that his truck was
loaded, Patterson punched in and gathered up his
paper work to leave. Before leaving, he told
Bevins and another foreman that he would be
going to the Teamster hall first thing to try to
make contact with Sinnett. He then went to the
Teamster hall and into the restaurant to take a
morning coffee break and get his paper work in
order for the day while he watched for Sinnett.
While there, he saw at least three other
Matanuska Maid drivers also in the restaurant,

having driven there in company trucks, just as
Patterson had done. (ER 29, Ex. 2, 4G 19-21).

Patterson's training as a driver was that it
was standard operating procedure to take a
coffee break first thing and get the paper work
in order for the day, before making deliveries,
so he always followed that procedure and other
drivers did the same. Also, it was too early to
make deliveries to most of the customers, some
of whom did not accept deliveries before 7:00
a.m. The managers knew where the drivers had
their coffee breaks and that they deviated from
their routes to go to those restaurants and no
driver had ever been reprimanded for doing so.
In fact, Bevins had been with Patterson in a
company truck to have lunch at the restaurant in
the Teamster Mall. (ER 29, Ex. 2, 4 22). On the
morning of April 30, 1986, after Patterson had
been in the restaurant about 25 minutes,
completed his coffee break and put his papers in
order, he still had not seen Sinnett, so he left
and headed for his first delivery. While he was
stopped at a stop sign before exiting the
parking lot, a pickup truck hit his truck in the
rear end, causing substantial damage to the
pickup truck but none to the Matanuska Maid
truck. The police were called and the other

8

driver was given a citation. Bevins arrived
during the investigation. After the
investigation, Patterson left and made his
deliveries, returning to the dairy about 11:00
a.m. Shortly thereafter, he was informed that
his employment was terminated. Patterson did
not believe he had done anything wrong, so he
intended to file a grievance. He went
immediately to see Sinnett, who was not
available, so Patterson met with Ed Conyers, who
had recently been assigned as business
representative to Matanuska Maid (ER 29, Ex. 2,
q 23).

Conyers and Patterson went together to the
dairy to meet with Seawell and his assistant in
an attempt to reason about the incident, but
without success. Later that day, Conyers was
given the termination letter which stated that
Patterson was terminated effective immediately.

The reasons given were,

Unauthorized use of company equipment for
personal use.

Gross disobedience.

Second accident within a year involving
property damage to others.

(ER 29, Ex. 2, G 24).

Patterson thought Sinnett was the best
qualified person to represent him and he
continued to believe that Sinnett would
represent him in the arbitration until the
morning of the arbitration hearing. In
retrospect Patterson thinks that since his case
involved the most serious grievance being
handled by Local 959 at the time, Sinnett should
have realized that Patterson should have been
represented by the general counsel, the best
quaiified person (ER 29, Ex. 2, 4 25).

nak at le de

>|
)
|

Although Patterson thought Sinnett was

_handling his case, he rarely got to talk with
'Sinnett, even though he constantly tried to make
contact to discuss the case. From April 30 to
'June 23, 1986, the date of the arbitration
_hearing, Patterson did not get to discuss the
' case with Sinnett more than two or three times,
even though he visited the Teamster hall

virtually every day. The conversations he had

_with Sinnett were brief and incomplete. On one
/ occasion, Sinnett told him Matanuska Maid was
_ trying to negotiate him out of a job. Patterson
had several conversations with Conyers,

approximately six to 10 times in which his case
was discussed, but those conversations were

brief, except for one which lasted an hour or

more when materials in the personnel file were

_ discussed. However, not everything was covered

and Patterson was led to believe they would meet
again to complete the discussion, but they never

did. (ER 29, Ex. 2, q 26).

About May 12, 1986, Conyers and Sinnett told

_ Patterson that the company had offered to

resolve the matter by a period of suspension
without pay and a letter of reprimand rather
than termination. Patterson said he did not
think he should be suspended or reprimanded
because he had done nothing wrong, but he would
accept such a settlement rather than lose his

_job. Consequently, he believed that termination
_Wwas no longer an issue, but that pay for a

period of 30 days would require arbitration. on
June 2, 1986, the 30 days having elapsed, he
reported for work at the usual time, but Bevins

told him to get off the property and called the

police and had Patterson cited for trespassing.
But the City Attorney did not pursue the

| citation. (ER 29, Ex. 2, Gq 27 & 28).

In the late afternoon of June 2, 1986,

Patterson found a message on his telephone
| answering machine from Conyers telling him to

10

report for work at 8:00 a.m. the next morning,
with no explanation. Patterson reported for
work the next day and worked the entire day on —
the loading dock. At noon, two other employees
and Patterson went next door to McDonald's to
buy a hamburger and then punched out after they
returned to the dairy. Bevins reprimanded
Patterson for not punching out before going and
wrote up a corrective action for his personnel
file, but did not reprimand the other employees.
Bevins also reprimanded Patterson for smoking
even though he was in an area where smoking was
permitted, but did nothing as to two other
employees who were smoking in a non-smoking
area. (ER 29, Ex. 2, GI 29 & 30).

The next day, Patterson worked until
approximately 3:00 p-m. when he was called to
Seawell's office. Seawell and his assistant
presented him with two letters and told him to
Sign then. The first was a short letter
acknowledging that he had received the other
letter and that he was being allowed to retain
his employment subject to the terms of the
second letter, which, if he violated in any way,
he would be immediately and finally terminated.
The second letter was a lengthy letter of
reprimand, relating events from the company
point of view, which Patterson viewed as being
distorted and untruthful. Patterson thought he
was being set up to be finally terminated for
any trivial excuse. He said he wanted to
discuss them with Sinnett before signing, but he
was told to sign or get off the premises. He
did not sign, so he was escorted to the time
clock and punched out. He then attempted to
call Sinnett, but Bevins broke the telephone
connection and reprimanded him for making a
personal call on company time and wrote it up
for Patterson's personnel file. (ER 29, Ex. 25
G 31). The next morning, Patterson met with
Conyers and they went to Sinnett's office, where
they met Seawell leaving. Patterson said he

11

wanted to pursue the grievance to arbitration.
He does not recall having any contact with
Sinnett between then and the arbitration hearing
on June 23. Also, he had little or no contact
with Conyers, and did not discuss the case in
any depth with Conyers prior to the morning of
the arbitration hearing, even though he visited
the Teamster hall almost every day to take calls
for any available jobs and attempted to make
contact with Sinnett and Conyers while he was
there, but they seemed to be avoiding him. (ER
29, EX. 2, 4G 32 & 33).

In the late afternoon of June 20, 1986,
Patterson found a message on his telephone
answering machine from Conyers advising him that
the arbitration hearing would begin at 9:00 a.m.
on Monday, June 23, 1986. Conyers also advised
that there would be a letter for him to pick up
at the Red Apple Restaurant. On the morning of
June 23, he went to the restaurant and picked up
the letter, which stated:

Your arbitration is scheduled for
Monday, June 23, 1986, at 9:30 a. ues

I left a message on your »*hone
recorder. I just wanted you to be
aware that when I put you on the
witness stand, they will have the right

to cross-examine. Do not let them
fluster you. Answer briefly, "yes" or
"no" if cross-examined. Review, for

yourself, your work history and the
incident for which you were fired.

Also, get a statement from Gary Arp
(the union steward) with regard to your
conversation about meeting to review
the contract and your assistance to him
as shop steward. He can be a witness
if he wants to, but a statement will
suffice. Fewer witnesses equals fewer

12

cross~-examinations and less chance for
error. Also, union witnesses cannot be
on company time; he would have to take
time off. Thank you.

Sincerely,
Ed R. Conyers, Business Representative
(ER 29, Ex. 2, 4% 34 & 35).

Conyers had not discussed Patterson's
testimony with him. Nor had he discussed who
should be witnesses on Patterson's behalf. He
had not discussed what documents could be used
as exhibits or the scope of the hearing. There
had been very little discussion about Bevins'
February 6, 1986 letter to Sinnett, but
Patterson had gone over the letter thoroughly in
March with Jerry Fuller, the previous business
representative, and Patterson had provided
documentation to refute the letter. In
reviewing the personnel file, Conyers was aware
of Patterson's PTSD condition, but had not
discussed whether or not that was a factor in
the termination. When Patterson got the letter
from Conyers, it was too late to get a written
Statement from Arp. At Patterson's insistence,
Arp and two other persons testified as witnesses
on Patterson's behalf, and Patterson provided
documentation refuting Bevins' letter and
Support letters from customers, which, upon
Patterson's insistence and with Conyers'
disapproval, the arbitrator accepted into
evidence for "whatever they were worth." (ER
29, Ex. 2, 4 36).

Despite the fact that Patterson had been told
that the Bevins letter would not be used against
him, it was brought up in the arbitration
hearing by the first witness, Bevins, and
Conyers did not object. The hearing centered
around that letter, rather than the termination

13

letter. Conyers did not seek to extend the
hearing or continue it so he could deal with the
letter, but insisted that the hearing had to be
completed in one day. (ER 29, Ex. 2, 4 37).

At the hearing, Patterson was made aware for
the first time of four corrective actions
written up by Bevins during the month of April,
which had been given to Conyers about a week
before the hearing, but he had not discussed
them with Patterson. The corrective actions on
June 3 and 4, which Patterson had not previously
seen, and a customer complaint which Conyers had
not previously discussed with Patterson, also
were presented at the hearing. Patterson does
not recall Conyers objecting to any of those new
matters, which were not mentioned in the
termination notice. Patterson subsequently
tried to obtain a duplicate of the tapes of the
hearing, but the arbitrator said they had been
erased. (ER 29, EX. 2, ¥ 38).

In final argument, Conyers argued that
termination was not warranted because there were
mitigating circumstances. In the arbitrator's
decision, he commented about Patterson's PTSD,
but stated he could not draw any conclusions
from that because he was not qualified to
practice medicine. Conyers had not prepared to
present any expert medical evidence at the
hearing as a basis for suggesting that treatment
would be an appropriate alternative to
termination. (ER 29, Ex. 2, 4 39).

A few days after the hearing, Conyers and
Patterson met and discussed it. It appeared
that the hearing had not gone well and in
anticipation of an adverse result, Patterson
asked Conyers where he was to go from there and
was told that the union could do nothing
further. He was told, "It is a civil matter."
Conyers did not inform Patterson of any statute
of limitations and he did not suggest that

14

Patterson should obtain advice from Local 959's
general counsel. (ER 29, EX. 2, 4 41).

Some time during July, 1986, Patterson was
informed of the arbitrator's decision upholding
the termination and he received a copy of the
written decision, which is dated July 2, 1986.
(ER 29, Ex. 2, | 42).

After that, Patterson attended over 100 job
calls at the union hall but received no gainful
employment, even though he had been a member of
Local 959 for many years. His’ seniority,
indicated by ledger number 6595, out of more
than 80,000 members registered with the local to
that time, indicates that he was blackballed by
Local 959 to assure that he would not be able to
afford to pursue civil litigation. This series
of events aggravated Patterson's PTSD to the
point that both the Social Security
Administration and the Veterans Administration
determined that he was 100 percent disabled and
unemployable. (ER 29, Ex. a, ¥ 42).

B. Proceedings

On April 28, 1988, Patterson filed a
Complaint in the Superior Court for the State of
Alaska, Case No. 3AN-88-4692 Civil, naming
Matanuska Maid, Inc.; Seawell; Wilde; Bevins;
Local 959; Sinnett; Conyers; Jerry Thorn, the
arbitrator; and others as defendants (ER 7 -
Complaint). Summons and Complaint were served
on Local 959 on Ma, 11, 1988 (ER 5 - Men.orandun,
D4." Local 959 filed its Answer to the

3

This summary is limited to proceedings
against Local 959. Final disposition of
proceedings against other defendants on the
basis of the statute of limitations is described
in

Agriculture, et al., 880 P.2d 1038 (Alaska

he oOo

—oTss wee VN VY eS

Cee

15
Complaint on June 21, 1988 (ER 7 - Answer).

On July 1, 1988, Local 959 filed a Motion to
Dismiss, explaining in a memorandum that
proceedings against it were stayed pursuant to
11 U.S.C. 362(a)(1) and attaching a copy of its
Voluntary Petition Under Chapter 11 (ER 7 -
Motion, etc.).

Or. September 20, 1988, K.L. Hunt, Superior
Court Judge, issued a "Final Order and Stay" as
follows:

The motion to dismiss defendants R. J.
Sinnett and E.R. Conyers is granted. The
motion to dismiss General Teamsters Local
959 is denied and a stay is hereby
ordered of all proceedings against it
pursuant to U.S. Bankruptcy Code §362.

(ER 7 - Motion, p. 2).

On April 30, 1991, Patterson filed an
adversary complaint against Local 959 in the
United States Bankruptcy Court (ER 25 -Ex. 1,
Witt Affidavit, p. 5). On March 7, 1994, the
Bankruptcy Court issued a Memorandum Decision
granting summary judgment in the nature of
abstention to Patterson, also finding genuine
issues of material fact to be litigated and
allowing Patterson to pursue his claims against
Local 959 in the state court action, Case No.
3AN-88-4692 Civil (ER 29, Ex. 1).

On March 31, 1993, Local 959 filed and served

1994), cert. denied, 513 U.S. 1127. Patterson
also had filed a complaint for libel on February
5, 1988 against Matanuska Maid and its officers
based on Bevins' February 6, 1986 letter. The
two cases were consolidated on November 21,
1988, so the appeal disposed of both cases.

16

a Notice of Removal from the state court to the
United States District Court for the District of
Alaska (ER 1). On April 11, 1994, Patterson
filed a Motion to Remand (ER 5) and the district
court filed an order denying the Motion to
Remand on May 12, 1994 (ER 10).

Patterson filed an Amended Complaint on July
25, 1994 (CR 21) and Local 959 filed an Answer
on October 31, 1994 (CR 22).

On January 30, 1995, Local 959 filed a Motion
for Summary Judgment (ER 25), Patterson filed
opposition on March 1, 1995 (ER 29), Local 959
filed a reply on April 3, 1995 (ER 37) and the
Court on September 8, 1995 filed an order
granting the Motion for Summary Judgment on all
issues except one (ER 39).

On September 25, 1995, Local 959 filed a
Second Motion for Summary Judgment, seeking
judgment on the remaining issue (ER 40),
Patterson filed Opposition on October 23, 1995
(ER 43), Local 959 replied on October 27, 1995
(ER 44) and on November 27, 1995, the Court
issued an order granting the motion and
dismissing the action (ER 45). Judgment was
filed November 7, 1995 (ER 46).

Patterson's Notice of Appeal was filed
November 22, 1995 (ER 47).

V. ARGUMENT STATING REASONS FOR
GRANTING THE WRIT

A. The Right of Removal was Waived

The chronology pertinent to removal in this
case is as follows:

May 11, 1988 -- service of Summons and
Complaint on Local 959 (ER 5 = Return of
Service).

MMS

mm FS Ww NM hd

17
June 21, 1988 -- Local 959 files Answer to
Complaint (ER 7 - Answer).
July 1, 1988 -- Local 959 files Motion to
Dismiss, attaching Voluntary Petition Under

Chapter 11 (ER 7 - Motion, etc.).

September 20, 1988 -- Superior Court enters

' "Final Order and Stay," citing 11 U.S.C. 362,
' denying Local 959's Motion to Dismiss but
' staying all proceedings against it (ER 7 -
| Motion, p. 2).

March 7, 1994 -=- Bankruptcy Court files

| judgment abstaining and permitting Patterson to

pursue his claims against Local 959 in state
court Case No. 3AN-88-4692 Civ. (ER 29, Ex. 1).

March 31, 1994 -- Local 959 files and serves
Notice of Removal (ER 1).

April 11, 1994 -- Patterson files Motion to
Remand to state court (ER 5), denied May 12,
1994 (ER 10).

Removal of a civil action from state to
federal court is permitted when the federal
court has jurisdiction, provided the petition
for removal is filed within 30 days after the
receipt by the defendant, through service or
otherwise, of a copy of the initial pleading
setting forth the claim for relief upon which
such action or proceeding is based. 28 U.S.C.
1446(b). The right to removal may be waived by
participating in the proceeding in state court
and failing to file “removal within 30 days
after notice." Cantrell _v. Great Republic
Insurance Co., 873 F.2d 1249, 1256 (9th Cir.
1989); Brown v. Demco, Inc., 792 F.2d 478, 481
(Sth Cir. 1986) ("Even a defendant who petitions
timely may have waived its right to removal by
proceeding to defend the action in state court

18

or otherwise invoking the processes of that
court." (Footnote omitted.)). |

In this case the district court and the court
of appeals held that since the automatic stay
provided by 11 U.S.c. § 362(a), unknown to.
Patterson and the state court, was in effect

and a nullity, see , 954 F.2d 569,

571-72 (9th Cir. 1992), until the stay was
lifted by the bankruptcy court. As a result, it
was held that the Notice of Removal filed within
30 days after the Stay was lifted was timely. —

But there is a conflict among the circuits as
to whether an action contrary to the Stay of 11
U.S.C. § 362 is "void" or “voidable." This
conflict is discussed extensively in
i i i , 990 F.2d 905, 909-12
(6th Cir. 1993). That court, citing cases from
the various circuits, points out that the
majority have held that actions in violation of
the stay are "void." until then, only the Fifth
Circuit had explicitly held that actions taken
during the pendency of the Stay are "voidable."
i i , 881 F.2d 176, 178 (Sth
Cir. 1989). See Easley, 990 F.2d at 909. The
Easley court then reasoned that a void action
cannot be validated, but a voidable or invalid
action can be made valid. id. The court then
points out that the bankruptcy court may
validate actions and that most of the circuits
have recognized €quitable circumstances under
which such actions may be validated. »
990 F.2d at 910-11. The court then held, "that
actions taken in violation of the stay are
invalid and voidable and shall be voided absent
limited equitable circumstances. Easley, 990
F.2d at 911.

The removal statute time limit is strictly
construed. See, S.M. y. Jones, /94 F., Supp.

vr «

3
%
a

a Piao 9 AA ah ls

bt. dl)

te hem tiee

19

638, 639 (W.D. Tex. 1992); Rezendes v. Dow
Corning Corp., 717 F. Supp. 1435, 1437 (E.D.
Cal. 1989); Douglass v. Weyerhaeuser Co., 662 F.
Supp. 147, 149 (C.D. Cal. 1987); Hubbard v.

i i ia, 601 F. Supp.
790, 795 (S.D. W.Va. 1985); C. Wright, A. Miller
and E. Cooper, 14A 2r Pp tice
Procedure, Civil 2d, § 3732 at 527.

If actions taken in ignorance of the stay are

' voidable, as opposed to void, Local 959's
_ failure to give notice of the stay to the state
' court and to Patterson and participating in the
| litigation for more than 30 days amounted to
| waiver of the right to remove the case to

federal court, especially in view of the strict

: construction of the removal statute.

B. The Rejection of the Non-Moving
Party's Version of the Facts in
Granting Summary Judgment Denied
Due Process of Law and the Right
to Trial by Jury Guaranteed by
the Fifth and Seventh Amendments
to the Constitution

The right to trial by jury is among the most
revered of the rights protected by the Constitu-

| Constitution. This includes the right to a jury

trial in civil actions involving $20.00 or more
as provided by the Seventh Amendment. To assure
that this right is protected, courts generally
take great care not to deprive a nonmoving party
of a full trial once it is shown that a genuine
issue of fact exists. C. Wright, A. Miller and
M. Kane, 10 Federal Practice and Procedure,
Civil 2d, § 2714 at 623. In support of this,
Wright quotes:

The federal Constitution gives a right
of jury trial in a contested issue in
a law action. This right is positive
and should not be whittled away by

20

decision of contested issues by a judge

at hearings in camera before trial.
. W J A

C.A.9th, 1955, 226 F.2d 661, 669.

id. at n.9. Similarly, it has been commented
that, "Summary judgment, with ever-lurking
issues of fact, is always a treacherous
shortcut... ." C. Wright, A. Miller and M.
Kane, 10 , Civil
2d, § 2725 at 88. Like motions for directed
verdict, motions for summary judgment deprive a
party of a determination of the facts by a jury
and should be "cautiously and_= sparingly
granted." Id., § 2524, Vol. 9A at 249-50. In
deciding such motions, the court is not free to
weigh the evidence or pass on credibility of
witnesses, and the court must view the evidence
most favorably to the nonmoving party. Id.
This is the due process of law in considering
summary judgment.

But the district court and court of appeals
weighed the evidence, determined credibility of
witnesses and viewed the evidence most favorably

to the moving party.

They almost entirely disregarded Patterson's
version of the facts, quoted the record out of
context and considered the facts in isolation,
rather than in their relationship to each other.

It is generally recognized that a case should
not be taken from the jury when reasonable men
could reach different conclusions based on the
evidence. Wright, supra, § 2524 at 260-64. The
motion for summary judgment in this case has
been before five judges: Judge Ross of the
bankruptcy court, Judge Singleton of the
district court, anda three judge panel of the
court of appeals. Two of the five judges differ
with the other three. Assuming the five judges
may be regarded as reasonable men, it appears

21

that the available evidence in this case may
lead reasonable men to different conclusions.

Judge Ross concluded:

Also, I think that genuine issues of
material fact have been raised which are
in dispute. These include the direct
conflict between the Conyers Affidavit
regarding preparation for the arbitration
with those of Patterson. In addition,
there is Bob Sinnett's statement to John
Seawell, Matanuska Maid's president, that
he hoped that Matanuska Maid would win
because this is possibly the only way
they could get rid of Patterson. .. .

So, reading the facts most favorably to
Patterson, I think that there are genuine
issues of material facts in dispute which
make summary judgment impossible to
ultimately resolve this case.

(ER 29, Ex. 1 at 3-4).

The dissent to the Court of Appeals Opinior
also discusses specific examples of genuine
issues of fact.

Both the district court and the majority of
the court of appeals panel tortured the evidence
denoting collusion between the union and the
employer, referring to Seawell's notes as to
Sinnett's comments at a meeting on June 5, 1986.
They both quote a fragment of the notes and
conveniently omit the preceding two sentences,
which give meaning to the fragmentary quote. In
proper context, the quote should be:

Visiting Sinnett's office, he told me
that Patterson has been to the NLRB
with allegations that 959 not
representing hin. He has_ been

22

threatening suit of Matanuska Maid and
959, etc. Sinnett's comments: "You've
got to win. He might leave the state.
That's the only way I can get rid of
hin.

Both Seawell and Sinnett, because the quote is
not closed, say that Sinnett did not mean he
wanted to get rid of Patterson, but the context
Clearly makes it appear that he did and that he
did not want to win Patterson's arbitration
case. The district court mistakenly said that
Patterson had been to the NLRB about this
matter, but Sinnett knew that Patterson had gone
to the NLRB because the union did not help him
when he was laid off in 1984 and again in 1985.
(ER 29, Ex. 2, 44 10 & 11). Taking the history
into account, it appears that Sinnett considered
Patterson to have been a thorn in his side for
years. But the district court and the court of
appeals chose to overlook the history which
Clearly indicated a genuine issue of fact, even
though the history was put before then. They
simply chose to disregard the facts presented by
Patterson.

The district court also chose of overlook
that Patterson, according to Sinnett, had been
threatening to "sue Matanuska Maid and 959,
etc." when it said there was no evidence that
Sinnett had a motive to want to get rid of
Patterson. Surely a reasonable fact finder
could conclude that Patterson's going to the
NLR3 repeatedly cver a period of yéars and
threatening to sue the Local could motivate
Sinnett to want to be rid of Patterson.

Once it is accepted that Sinnett and Seawell
may have been in collusion, a lot of other
things seem to fit into place. For example, on
February 6, 1986, when Bevins wrote the libelous
letter about Patterson, Seawell personally
delivered the letter to Sinnett and discussed it

23

4
Swith him. (ER 29, Ex. 2 at 8). Sinnett was
‘very well aware of Seawell's attitude about

See en, gen art

ee ee is eee Re

ERSDBSA as hbsa Ga tenis hada Asta

’ Patterson when he "settled" Patterson's
‘grievance and had Conyers tell Patterson to
Sreport for work on June 3, 1986, without
‘advising Patterson of the terms of the
> settlement and without having seen the reprimand

letter that Patterson would be asked to sign.
Either Sinnett wanted Patterson to reject the

’ settlement and have another heated exchange with
' the company officers or he was more than grossly
‘negligent not to take steps to prevent that from
‘happening, because he was aware of the hostile

relationship.

Conyers said he prepared thoroughly for the
arbitration hearing and the district court
accepted Conyer's version and rejected
Patterson's contradiction that he thought
Sinnett was going to represent him, but he had
little or no opportunity to talk about the case
with Sinnett and very little opportunity to

' discuss it with Conyers. This is corroborated

by cConyer's letter to Patterson which he
received on the morning of the arbitration
hearing, which is quoted above in the statement
of facts. The letter makes it clear that
Conyers had arranged for no witnesses and had no
evidentiary exhibits and he had not discussed
Patterson's testimony with him. Conyers said he
had not prepared to defend against the Bevins
letter, which was the major topic at the
arbitration hearing, because he did not think it
was admissible. He said he objected to
admission of the letter, but when he was
overruled, he did not ask for a continuance.
The only defense was provided by Patterson. He
had arranged for witnesses to contradict Bevins
and he presented evidentiary exhibits, despite
Conyers disapproval. And Conyers failed to
arrange for any expert medical evidence about
Patterson's PTSD, even though the arbitrator
would have certainly considered such evidence

24

Significant. See dissent to Court of Appeals —
Opinion in the appendix hereto for a good —
discussion of this issue. 3

After he was terminated by Matanuska Maid, ©
Patterson attended over 100 job calls at the 7
union hall, but obtained not gainful employment, —
making it appear that he was "blackballed."
See, supra at 27. This seems to confirm that
the union officers wanted to be rid of
Patterson.

A finder of fact could view the foregoing
facts as evidence that the union was merely
going through the motions of defending Patterson
while in fact it was in collusion with
management to "get rid of him."

A union acts arbitrarily if it acts without
any rational basis or if it simply ignores a
meritorious grievance or handles it in a
perfunctory manner. 2 =< FT3
P.2d 1244, 1254 (9th Cir. 1985), cert. denied,
475 ..U.&.-.41322, The principles pertaining to
breach of the duty of fair representation have
been defined in Airli i ssociati
O'Neill, 499 U.S. 65, 111 S.Ct. 1127, 1134, 113
L.Ed.2d 51 (1991) and reiterated in

, 980 F.2d 1167 (8th Cir. 1992).
The duty of fair representation imposes a
responsibility "akin to the duties owed by other
fiduciaries to their beneficiaries." It obliges
a union "to serve the interests of all members
without hostility or discrimination toward any,
to exercise its discretion with complete good
faith and honesty, and to avoid arbitrary
conduct." Id. The court quoted further from

O'Neill:

*++ [A] union's actions are arbitrary
only if in the light of the factual and
legal landscape at the time of the
union's actions, the union's behavior is

¥
SL Pld SS RS

eh pe Dice

an ae

a Nite tian

Ga aa Mat STAN at

%
bau ya

"on

25

so far outside a ‘wide range of
reasonableness! as to be irrational."

Id. Perfunctory conduct is actionable if "in
the light of the factual and legal landscape at
the time of the union's actions ..." it is
irrational. Schmidt, 980 F.2d at 1169 n. 4.

Collusion bewteen a union and management in
the processing of a grievance is the epitomy of

bad faith.

It is generally recognized that a CBA may be

-breached by imposing discipline contrary to the
specific provisions of the CBA and company work
‘rules, and also by breach of the implied
'covenant of good faith and fair dealing. Sever
'v. Alas Corp., 978 F.2d. 1529, 1541 n. 9
/(9th Cir. 1992); Eldridge v. Felec Services,
\Inc., 920 F.2d 1434, 1437-41 (9th Cir. 1990).

In Hillman v. Nationwide Mutual Fire Insurance
Co., 855 P.2d 1321, i329 (Alaska 1993), the

dissenting justices explained:

The covenant of good faith and fair
dealing requires that the party act
with both subjective good faith and
objective fairness.

In its so-called “Order Denying Summary
Judgment," the district court appears to have
disregarded entirely that in terminating
Patterson, both the union and the company had
the duty to deal with him in subjective good
faith and objective fairness (ER 39, pp. 9-10).
It was neither subjectively in good faith nor
objectively fair to single out Patterson for
termination for conduct which, despite a
technical company rule, was routine procedure
for Patterson and the other drivers, known to
company supervisors and condoned for years.
Patterson set forth in his affidavit that he was
trained that it was standard operating procedure

26

to take a coffee break first thing and get the
paper work in order for the day, before making
deliveries, so he always’ followed that
procedure. That was what he was doing on the
morning he was terminated, and he also hoped to
see Sinnett. He observed that other drivers did
the same. Management knew that the drivers
deviated from their routes to go to certain
restaurants and no driver had ever been
reprimanded for doing so. Patterson's immediate
supervisor had been with Patterson to the
restaurant in question in a company truck.
While Patterson was there on the morning in
question, he observed at least three other
Matanuska Maid drivers in the restaurant, having
driven there in company trucks. There was even
a note in the handwriting of Bevins, Patterson's
immediate supervisor, telling him that if he
went to the Teamster Hall for lunch or whatever,
not to leave the truck idling for 40 minutes.
See, Statement of the Case at 5-7, 14.

AS corroboration, Patterson presented a
deposition of Richard Luster (CR 29, Ex. 9}.
Luster testified that he was a Teamster, he
worked at Matanuska Maid from 1972 to 1985, and
again, as a driver during 1988, He was the
route supervisor or foreman who had trained and
Supervised Patterson. According to Luster,
drivers drove their trucks to the Teamster Hall
all the time while he worked there and also in
1988 when he returned, for such purposes as
coffee breaks, lunch, to pick up glasses at the
optometrist's and other reasons. None of them
were ever disciplined for using company
equipment for personal use. Luster Depo., pp.
Line @ 15-17, 19-22 and 27-34.

Patterson also presented a statement of
Gerald L. Hood, dated December 21, 1987 (ER 29,
EX. 6). Hood, at that time, was director of
negotiations; at present he is the CEO. Hood
had researched Local 959's records and found no

" oe a! — Poe aie
PADIS OVA dh Sil

ys

B

i ni

q

i

27

instances of employees having been terminated by
Matanuska Maid for unauthorized use of company
vehicles.

Conyers did not interview any drivers or
gather any information about their use of
company vehicles. If he had done so, and had
presented such evidence to the arbitrator, it is
not so clear that it would not have changed the
arbitrator's mind about whether Patterson's use
of a company vehicle for personal use was just
cause for termination, in view of the fact that

She was doing what all of the drivers did as
) standard operating procedure, condoned for years
jby the company, especially if it had been
) pointed out to the arbitrator that under the

circumstances terminating Patterson was a breach

Sof the covenant of good faith and fair dealing

implied in the CBA. Only by viewing the
evidence in the light most unfavorable to
Patterson and disregarding the covenant of good
faith and fair dealing could the District Court
have granted summary judgment to Local 959 on
this issue. It cannot reasonably be said that
Conyers' failure to investigate, prepare and
present such evidence was not irrational. of

}the three grounds stated in the termination
}notice, the use of company equipment for

personal use was the only one found to be
sufficient by the arbitrator ae. eee

| Memorandum, pp. 11-12).

Once Patterson was terminated and he asked

' Conyers where to go from there, he was told that
| it was a "civil matter." He was not told of the
' six month statute of limitations. That caused

4
“

him to lose his case against the company without

| litigating the merits. The failure to advise

| Patterson of that applicable statute of
limitations and the failure to advise him of the
} terms of the settlement were equivalent to

merely “standing in" at sentencing, failing to

, advise of the right to appeal, and sleeping

28

through a portion of a trial in a criminal case.

Frazer _v. United States, 18 F.3d 778, 785 (9th

Cir. 1994).

The failure of the district court and the
court of appeals to recognize the Constitutional
rights to due process of law and trial by jury
has made it necessary to petition this court as
the ultimate protector of those rights.

VI. CONCLUSION

The court is urged to grant the writ and,
upon hearing the case, to reverse the summary
judgment and order that the case be remanded to
the state superior court for further
proceedings.

Respectfully submitted the 30th day of
December, 1997. Resubmitted the 20th day of
January, 1998.

LAW OFFICES OF A. LEE PETERSEN, P.C.
Attorneys for Petitioner

P.O. Box 940284
Houston, AK 99694
(907) 495-6239

Bike bl Pt ok i aie Sel

ee es ee

SONS sien ee LS Me cee

| WILLIAM L. PATTERSON,

| TEAMSTERS, LOCAL 959;
. CREAMERY CORPORATION

)

)

)

)

;
) INT'L BROTHERHOOD OF )
)

)

+ D/B/A MATANUSKA MAID, )
)
)

)

)

ne eee ee ee

Al
APPENDIZ
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

No. 95-36227

Plaintiff-Appellant,
D.C. No.

Vv.

Defendants-
Appellees.

' Before: WALLACE, NOONAN and THOMPSON,

Circuit Judges.

Judges Wallace and Thompson voted to deny the

| suggestion for rehearing en banc, and Judge

Noonan voted to grant it. Judge Thompson voted

to to reject the suggestion for rehearing en

|} banc, Judge Wallace so recommended, and Judge

recommended en banc rehearing should be granted.
The suggestion for en banc rehearing has been

circulated to the full court, and no judge of the

A2

court has requested a vote on the suggestion for
rehearing en banc. Fed. R. App. P. 35(b).
The petition for rehearing is DENIED, and the

suggestion for rehearing en banc is REJECTED.

etter

ps Soatlhleie

Ab DDADMIN SEMA AB oN eg hae = espe

are Ra oa) tw

A3

FOR PUBLICATION

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

WILLIAM L. PATTERSON,
Plaintiff-Appellant,
Vv. No. 95-36227

D.C. No. CV
94-00147-JKS

INT'L BROTHERHOOD OF
| TEAMSTERS, LOCAL 959;
| CREAMERY CORPORATION D/B/A

| MATANUSKA MAID,

)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
) OPINION
)

)

Defendants-Appellants.

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the District of Alaska
James K. Singleton, District Judge, Presiding

Argued and Submitted
July 17, 1997--Anchorage, Alaska

Filed August 15, 1997

Before: J. Clifford Wallace, John T. Noonan
and David R. Thompson, Circuit Judges.

Opinion by Judge Thompson;
Dissent by Judge Noonan

OPINION

THOMPSON, Circuit Judge:
| William L. Patterson appeals from the district
court's summary judgment in favor of the
International Brotherhood of Teamsters, Local 959

5

A4

(Local 959). Patterson contends Local 959
breached its duty of fair representation while
assisting him in his grievance and arbitration
proceedings. We have jurisdiction pursuant to 28
U.S.C. §1291, and we affirn.

FACTS

Matanuska Maid Dairy (Mat-Maid) employed
Patterson for approximately seven years as a
driver and delivery person. One morning during
his employment with Mat-Maid, on April 30, 1986,
Patterson clocked into work and then drove his
delivery truck to Local 959's offices to speak
with a union representative. Paterson waited for
the representative in a restaurant which was in
the same building as Local 959's offices. When
the representative did not appear, Patterson left
for his first delivery. As Patterson was leaving
the parking lot, a pickup truck struck him from
behind. When Patterson returned to work after
his deliveries, Mat-Maid informed him that he was
terminated for cause.

Mat-Maid cited three reasons for the
termination: gross disobedience, being in a
second accident within a year involving property
damage to others, and using Mat-Maid's delivery
truck for personal business--driving to Local
959's offices in an attempt to speak with a union
representative on a personal matter.

At the time Mat-Maid terminated Patterson, a
collective bargaining agreement was in effect
between Local 959 and Mat-Maid. When Mat-Maid
informed Patterson of his termination, Patterson
immediately went to Local 959's offices and
discussed his termination with Edwin Conyers, the
business representative assigned to administer
the Mat-Maid collective bargaining agreement.
That afternoon, Patterson and Conyers met with

ih in a

_ i.

ee a ee. ee eee

tie de ee ee ”

ee eee Cae ae

A5

John Seawell, Mat-Maid's general manager, and Joe
Van Treeck, Mat-Maid's plant manager, in an
attempt to settle the matter. No resolution was
reached. As a result, Conyers filed a grievance
with Mat-Maid on Patterson's behalf.

On May 12, 1986, Local 959 and Mat-Maid
reached a tentative resolution of the grievance:
Patterson would be given a letter of reprimand
and a thirty-day suspension without pay. This
proposed resolution, however, was not accepted by
Patterson. He was adamant that he had done
nothing wrong and should not be suspended without
pay. Because he was unwilling to accept the
settlement at that time. Mat-Maid and Local 959
agreed to extend the informal resolution period
until June 2, 1986.

On June 1, 1986, without Mat-Maid's consent or
a settlement in place, Patterson attempted to
return to work. He was cited for trespass and
escorted off Mat-Maid's property. Patterson then
apparently agreed to accept the settlement. The
following day, Conyers called and told him to
report for work the next morning.

Patterson reported for work on June 3rd. On
June 4th, Seawell asked Patterson to sign the
letter of reprimand. Patterson viewed the letter
as "a lengthy letter of reprimand from the
company point of view" and as “distorted and
untruthful." He refused to sign it and was
escorted off the premises.

The next day Mat-Maid and Local 959 met in an
attempt to salvage the settlement. Patterson,
however, insisted on arbitration. Mat-Maid
informed Local 959 that, because Patterson had
rejected the proposed settlement, Mat-Maid
considered Patterson terminated.

A6

The parties then proceeded to arbitration. In
July 1986, the arbitrator determined just cause —
supported Patterson's termination and rejected —
his argument that a lesser disciplinary sanction
was appropriate. The arbitrator determined just —
cause existed because Patterson had used the Mat-
Maid delivery truck for personal business. The |
arbitrator rejected the other two termination —
grounds of gross disobedience and being in a
second accident. The arbitrator also determined ~
a sanction less than termination was not
appropriate based on Patterson's “almost —
continuous and predictable conduct that is
disruptive of a struggling dairy trying”
desperately to survive." The arbitrator found
that although Mat-Maid had given Patterson two
opportunities "to start with a clean slate,"=
Patterson continued to have disciplinary |
problems.

In 1988, Patterson filed a pro se action in
Alaska state court against Mat-Maid, Local 959, ©
and various other defendants. As relevant to
this appeal, Patterson alleged Local 959 breached ©
its duty of fair representation while
representing him during his grievance = and7
arbitration proceedings. He also asserted a
wrongful discharge claim against Mat-Maid.

The state court action was stayed against ™
Local 959, because it had earlier filed a Chapter)
11 bankruptcy petition. The action proceed |
against the other defendants, and as to Mat~-Maid
the state court determined the statute of
limitations barred Patterson's wrongful discharge
claim. See Patterson v. State Dep't of Agric.,
880 P.2d 1038, 1046 (Alaska 1994), cert. denied. ©
513 U.S. 1127 (1995).

When the bankruptcy court eventually permitted.
Patterson to pursue his claim against Local 959

.
i
i
)

Diasach at Task 0 Aledl PAA MME E ME te NR BO dB

a eee ey ee

Pee g

A7

in state court, Local 959 removed the action to
federal district court. The district court
denied Patterson's motion to remand the action to
state court and granted Local 959's motion for
summary judgment. This appeal followed.

DISCUSSION

Patterson contends the district court erred by
refusing to remand the action to state court. He
also contends the district court erred by
granting summary judgment in favor of Local 959
on his claim for breach of the duty of fair
representation.

A. Removal

We review de novo the district court's refusal

to remand the action. Evak Native Village v.
Exxon Corp., 25 oe mg ae Bog (9th Cir. 1994).

Patterson filed his state court action and
served Local 959 on May 11, 1988. That action
was automatically stayed as to Local 959,
pursuant to 11 U.S.C. § 362, because Local 959
earlier had filed a Chapter 11 bankruptcy
petition. In April 1991, Patterson sought
permission from the bankruptcy court to proceed
with his claim in state court against Local 959.
In an order filed March 7, 1994, the bankruptcy
court abstained pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1446(b).

Patterson argues Local 959 did not timely
remove the action because it did not file its
notice of removal within thirty days after the
date it received service of process, back in May
1988. See 28 U.S.C. § 1446(b). Local 959's
notice of removal was filed almost six years
after such service. Local 959 argues, however,
its notice of removal was timely because it was
filed with thirty days of March 7, 1994, the date

A8&

Patterson obtained relief from the automatic ™
stay. We agree.

If an automatic stay is in effect at the time —
the plaintiff files a state court action (which ©
was the situation here), the thirty-day period —
for removal does not begin to run until relief =
is obtained from the automatic stay. See Easley
v. Pettibone Michigan Corp., 990 F.2d 905, 908- —
09 (6th Cir. 1993). A contrary rule would |
require a debtor to expend limited resources and |
to continue to litigate a claim as if no stay —
were in place. Cf. In re Schwartz, 954 F.2d 569, ©
571-72 (9th Cir. 1992). If a debtor were forced ©
to continue to litigate the claim, the purposes —
underlying the automatic stay would be thwarted. |
Id. Thus, the district court did not err in
denying Patterson's motion to remand.

B. Duty of Fair Representation

Patterson next argues the district court erred ©
by granting Local 959's summary judgment motion |
on his fair representation claim. We review de ~
novo the district court's grant of summary —
judgment. W nv. Cit ¢ S , 58 F.3dq

439, 441 (9th Cir. 1995). cert. denied. 1167
S.Ct. 1261 (1996). {

[1] A union breaches its duty of fair =
representation if its conduct is “arbitrary, ©
discriminatory, or in bad faith." Peters v.
Burlington N.R.R., 931 F.2d 534, 538 (9th Cir.
1990) (quotations and citations omitted). A
union does not breach its duty of fair
representation by acting negligently. i”, «A
union acts arbitrarily only if it shows an
"egregious" or “reckless disregard" for the
rights of its members. Id. Further, “[wje have
never held that a union has acted in an arbitrary
manner where the challenged conduct involved the

POO BEN

- Ne eledaab 22: idenaibebce
er Oe TO

Ag

union's judgment as to how best to handle a
grievance." Peterson v.- Kennedy, 771 F.2d 1244,
1254 (9th Cir. 1985).

Patterson contends Local 959 breached its duty
of fair representation by not sufficiently
investigating his grievance. In support of this
contention, Patterson argues Local 959 should
have presented evidence that other Mat-Maid
drivers stopped for coffee breaks to complete
paperwork in the same restaurant where Patterson
was waiting to speak with the union
representative, and these other drivers were not
terminated nor were they even disciplined.

[2] We reject this argument because the
evidence would have been irrelevant. Patterson
did not stop at the restaurant to take a coffee
break and to complete paperwork. He went to
Local 959's offices and was waiting at the
restaurant hoping to speak with a union
representative to obtain permission to attend a
collective bargaining meeting.

[3] Patterson next argues Local 959 breached
its duty because it failed to introduce evidence
that he suffers from post-traumatic stress
disorder. We als» reject this argument. Local
959 explained it decided to focus on the
particular incident which - gave rise to
Patterson's termination because Patterson
insisted he had done nothing wrong and he
contended his termination was not warranted.
Local 959 determined the medical evidence would
have been largely irrelevant to this defense.
Local 959 also believed the introduction of the
medical evidence could have been damaging because
such evidence would have had an adverse effect on
the arbitrator's view of Patterson's job
performance.

A10

;

{4] The union's explanation for not presenting ©
the medical evidence is reasonable. If a union —
provides a reasoned explanation for not pursuing ©
a potential defense, we may not second guess its —
decision. vens v ° . a, i188
F.3d 1443, 1448 (9th Cir. 1994). "It is for the —
union, not the courts, to decide whether and in ~
what manner a particular grievance should be |
pursued." Peterson, 771 F.2d at 1254. Local ~
959's reasoned tactical decision not to present ~
the medical evidence does not amount to a breach —
of fair representation. See id. at 1254-55. .

Patterson also contends Mat-Maid and Local 959 _
engaged in a civil conspiracy to terminate him. ~
In support of this argument, Patterson refers to
a note kept by Seawell, Mat-Maid's general ©
manager. The note apparently was made by Seawell ~
during a conference with Robert Sinnett, a Local |
959 official. The note reads: .

Sinnett's comments: "you've got to
win. He might leave the. state.
That's the only way I can get rid of
him.

[5] We agree with the district court that this —
note is not sufficient to raise a genuine issue ©
of material fact. Patterson must produce more ~
than a "mere scintilla" of evidence to avoid |

summary judgment. See City of Vernon v. Southern =
Cal. Edison Co., 955 F.2d 1361, 1369 (9th Cir. ¥

1992). Patterson has not produced any evidence ©
of hostility on belialf of Local 959 toward him or —
any motive that Local 959 would have in
conspiring with Mat-Maid to terminate hin.
Moreover, the evidence demonstrates that Local °
959 aggressively sought to get Patterson ©
reinstated during settlement negotiations and ©
arbitration proceedings. fThe note simply sets
forth a truism: if Mat-Maid wanted to get rid of 7

‘©

~~ — kk © «

as FS TF ler lu IU OU

i |) ee ee ee ad

ene TY

ORME NR HN SIN oa 8 DTA AM

eee ee

All

Patterson, Mat-Maid would have to win the
arbitration.

[6] Patterson points to several other
instances of Local 959's alleged breach of its
duty of fair representation. None, however, has
any merit. Local 959 was not required to assign
an attorney to represent Patterson during his
arbitration proceedings, see Castelli v. Douglas
Aircraft Co., 752 F.2d 1480, 1483 (9th Cir.
1985), and it did not have an obligation to
advise Patterson of his ability to further pursue
a civil action--particularly in light of the
weakness of Patterson's case. Cf. Galindo v.
Stoody Co., 793 F.2d 1502, 1513 (9th Cir. 1986)
(stating a union "need not process a meritless
grievance").

[7] Nor has Patterson demonstrated that he
suffered any harm due to Local 959's alleged
failure to object to the admission of a letter
written by Mat-Maid accusing Patterson of gross
misconduct. The arbitrator specifically stated
he gave no weight to the allegations made in the
letter.

[8] Finally, Patterson has not demonstrated
that he was harmed in any way by Local 959's
failure to review the reprimand letter prior to
the time Mat-Maid asked Patterson to sign it.
Patterson had ample opportunity to discuss the
letter with Local 959 the day after it was
presented to him, as well as thereafter when
Local 959 set up a meeting with Mat-Maid in an
attempt to save the settlement. Patterson,
however, rejected the settlement and insisted on
arbitration.

CONCLUSION

The district court did not err in determining

Al2

Local 959 timely removed the action from state ©
court. Local 959 removed the action within |
thirty days of the date the bankruptcy court 4
granted Patterson relief from the automatic stay. =
The district court also did not err in granting ©
summary judgment in favor of Local 959. ©
Patterson failed to raise a genuine issue of —

material fact in support of his claim that Local —

959 breached its duty of fair representation.

AFFIRMED.

NOONAN, Circuit Judge, dissenting:

On the Union's first motion for summary
judgment the district court ruled in the Union's
favor, except as follows:

There is, however, one disturbing
aspect of this case that precludes
summary judgment. It appears that the
Union knew that Patterson was
suffering from mental or emotional
problems which have been diagnosed as
post traumatic stress disorder. It
also appears that Patterson's mental
state might explain his adversarial
relations with his supervisors.
Consideration of these factors might
illuminate the need for a remedy or
sanction short of termination. The
Union considered this issue of
sufficient importance to argue it to
the arbitrator, and the arbitrator
considered it sufficiently important
to mention in his decision:

I have also considered grievant's
testimony regarding his medical
condition, and have speculated

he ee

sitBipts Patek S Pe Me eee ae eT wa a en

Sadat wectaiatal ys ate hie

;
3
a
;
;
4

Al13

that grievant's performance and
behavior of the last’ several
months, i.e., his cyclical swings
in performance, to be possibly
symptomatic of medical
complications arising out of his
diagnosed post-trauma syndrome.
There was no competent testimony
or other evidence to this effect,
and the arbitrator was hired to
arbitrate, not totally exceed his
competence by practicing
medicine. I can only suggest
that if the grievant does
determine that events of the last
year were a medically (sic)
phenomenon that the company give
such fact a consideration.

Docket No. 25, Affidavit of Edwin R.
Conyers at Exhibit S at 14.

It appears that the arbitrator would
have considered medical evidence if it
had been offered, and might have
determined that a sanction short of
dismissal was appropriate if the
medical evidence explained Patterson's
behavior and offered significant hope
that with specific treatment’ the
behavior would not reoccur. While
determining appropriate witnesses is
certainly a matter of judgment, the
Court hesitates to find that failure
to call a treating physician was not
irrational, or a reckless disregard of
Patterson's rights, without some
explanation in the record of the
decision not to call medical wit-
nesses. In the absence of such an
explanation, a trial would appear

Al4

warranted.

The Union renewed its motion submitting the |
affidavit of Edwin R. Conyers, the business agent 7
who represented Patterson in the arbitration. ~

Conyers swore as follows:

I believe that medical testimony
would have undermined our position on
a point of concern to us (the Tranxene
incident) and would have sonflicted
with Mr. Patterson's own beliefs and
testimony concerning the significance
of his medical condition. In addition
the material in the file explained the
features of Post Traumatic Stress
Disorder and were available for use if
they had been consistent with our
case.

affidavit, in which he swore to the contrary:

I absolutely deny Mr. Conyer's
statements in paragraph 7 of his
September 26, 1995 affidavit. I do
not believe that medical testimony
would in any way have undermined our
position in the arbitration with

it certainly would not have conflicted
with my own beliefs and testimony
concerning the significance of my
medical condition. In fact, I firmly
believe, and I believed then, that
medical testimony would have been
totally consistent with my own beliefs
and testimony concerning the signif-
icance of my medical condition.

The district court then ruled on the second}

Patterson replied to this motion with his own |

respect to the Tranxene incident and i

A15

motion stating:

The Union has renewed its motion for
summary judgment, filing affidavits
and other evidence to show that its
decisions were strategic and not
reckless or not bad faith .. .

Patterson responded, conceding that

the decision was strategic, but
contending that the strategy was
flawed. .. . That may be. However,

mere negligence is not enough.

The court granted the motion for summary
judgment.

It is not apparent what changed the court's
mind between the first and second motions for
summary judgment. It does not appear that
Patterson conceded that the decision not to
present medical testimony was strategic.
Instead, his affidavit declares: "I absolutely
deny Mr. Conyers' statements in paragraph 7 of
his September 26, 1995 affidavit." There could
not be a sharper disagreement over an issue of
material fact: was or was not the Union's
decision strategic? On that issue alone Conyers
(sic) was entitled to go to the jury.

In addition, there was one further piece of
evidence. It consisted in a note found in the
files of John L. Seawell, the general manager of
Mat-Maid, regarding a conference he had held
before the arbitration with Robert F. Sinnett,
the Secretary-Treasurer of newt Union. The note

read: "Sinnett's comments. ‘you've got to win.
You (sic) might leave the state. That's the only
way I can get rid of it." (sic)

Sewell (sic) testified that the note conveyed
Sinnett's understanding that the only way Sewell

Al16

(sic) would be rid of Patterson would be to win
the arbitration. Sinnett denied having said that ”
he needed to get rid of Patterson. He did
suggest that he might have told Sewell that the
only way he could discharge Patterson was by
winning the arbitration. :

The district court commented on this evidence ©
that it provided “only a scintilla of evidence
that the Union engaged in a conspiracy to ‘'get' ©
Patterson. ... There is no evidence that would ©
support a plausible motive for the Union to
intentionally conspire against Patterson. —
Patterson has failed to create a disputed issue ©
of fact regarding bad faith." |

It is possible that Sewell's and Sinnett's |
explanation of the note in the files is the
correct one. But it is only one way that note >
might be read. A reasonable juror could read tne
note as saying that Sinnett was’ endorsing ©
Sewell's position. The note does not have
closing quotation marks around Sinnett's —
"comments," but at the very least the first ©
sentence, “you've got to win," might reasonably ©
be interpreted as an expression of enthusiasm for _
the company prevailing in the arbitration. As
the note describes what it is reporting as
"comments," a reasonable juror could also;
conclude that the following two sentences also}
come from Sinnett and convey his hope to get rid|
of Patterson. At the very least reasonable minds
could differ in the interpretation of the note)
and could discount Sinnett's and Sewell's later |
testimony as efforts to explain away a highly |
embarrassing conversation. Patterson should have
been able to present this substantial evidence of
a conspiracy between the Union and management to
a jury.

The district court said that Patterson showed

hy a a

Al7

no motive for the Union conspiring against hin.
That view of the facts is one that a reasonable
juror also could find not compelling. There is
abundant evidence in this record on summary
judgment of what a difficult person Patterson
was. His evidence as to what his experience in
Vietnam had led to in his medical condition shows
that he would have maintained a contentious
stance toward any authority figure such as the
Secretary-Treasurer of the Union. A reasonable
juror could conclude that the Union had a strong
motive to get rid of a member with Patterson's
medical handicap.

Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, since 1980
recognized as a serious medical condition, was
particularly aggravated in the case of Vietnam
veterans by the political conditions of the war
and the reception of veterans on their return.
Like the arbitrator in this case we cannot
practice medicine, but we can note that a fair
and full presentation of Patterson's medical
condition after Vietnam would have produced a
very different result before an arbitrator who
expressed such thoughtful regret that the subject
had not been presented. It is a jury question
whether the Union failed to present the evidence
because it wanted to aid the employer in getting
rid of a difficult member.

Als

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF ALASKA

William L. Patterson,

Plaintiff,
Case No.
vs, A94-147 CV
International

)
)
)
)
)
) (JKS)
)
Brotherhood of )
Teamsters Local $59 )
)
Defendant. )
)

ORDER DENYING SUMMARY JUDGMENT

William L. Patterson ("Patterson") brings this ©
action against his union--International Brother ~
hood of Teamsters Local 959 ("Union")--for ~
alleged violation of the duty of fair ~
representation. See § 301 of the Labor ~
Management Relations Act (29 U.S.C. § 185(a)). ©
The action was commenced in state court and
eventually removed to this Court. 28 U.S.C. 4
§ 1441. This Court has _ subject matter
jurisdiction. 29 U.S.C. § 1331.'

' patterson commenced this action in state
court in 19868. At that time, Local 959 had
declared bankrup’:cy and ae stay prevented
litigation of this claim. The Union moved for —
judgment on this claim in the bankruptcy court.
Judge Ross concluded that this was a proper
matter for abstention under 29 U.S.C. § 1334.
Docket No. 29, Exhibit 1. Since Patterson's ©
claims are primarily federal law and this Court
clearly has concurrent jurisdiction over federal ©
Claims, this case is not appropriate for |

4
4

Al19

Patterson was employed by Matanuska Maid Dairy
("Mat-Maid") for a number of years as a driver
and delivery person. Docket No. 25. His
employment was terminated allegedly for cause,
and Patterson, assisted by the Union, exhausted
the company's grievance procedures. Id.
Eventually, the grievance was submitted to an
independert arbitrator and a decision adverse to
Patterson was reached on July 2, 1986. Docket
No. 25. Affidavit of Edwin R. Conyers at Exhibit
S. Neither Patterson nor the Union appealed the
arbitration decision. Patterson filed a
complaint with the U.S. Department of Labor on
January 16, 1987. He apparently received no
relief. On February 5, 1988, Patterson filed a
pro se tort action for defamation against Mat-
Maid. See e.g., Patterson v. State, 880 P.2d
1038 (Alaska 1994). On May 2, 1988, Patterson
filed a second lawsuit; this time for wrongful
termination against Mat-Maid, the Union and its
officers, and the arbitrator. Id. Several of
Patterson's claims were dismissed. Id. The action
against the Union officers and the arbitrator
were dismissed on various grounds. Id. The
action against Mat-Maid was dismissed because it
was not filed in a timely manner under applicable
federal law. Id.° Finally, a stay of

mandatory abstention. 28 U.S.C. § 1334(c) (2).
Judge Ross elected to proceed under Section
1334(c)(1) (permissive abstention). Docket No.
29, Exhibit 1. Neither party appeals Judge Ross'
decision, contends that his decision is binding
on this Court, or even suggests that it is a
proper topic for consideration.

¢ .The Alaska Supreme Court held that
Patterson's claims under §301 of the Labor
Management Relations Act accrued sometime between
July 7 and July 21, 1986 and the claim terminated

A20

proceedings was ordered against the Union |
pursuant to United States Bankruptcy Code, 117)
U.S.C. § 362. Id. In the meantime, the Union’
had removed the action against it to this Court. |

The Union renews, for the third time, its
motion for summary judgment. Docket Nos. 25 4.
37." The motion is opposed. Docket No. 29. The
Union requests oral argument (Docket No. 38), but.
the parties have sufficiently briefed the issues
so that oral argument is not necessary. D.Ak. LR_
7.1(i).

with the expiration of the applicable statute of ©
limitations six months thereafter. The parties ©
are apparently in agreement that the automatic
stay precluded an action by Patterson against the |
Union during the period from January 7 to January |
22, 1987 and therefore tolled the statute of |
limitations until Judge Ross abstained and F
permitted this action to go forward on March 1, |
1994.

The parties have not briefed and I express
no opinion on the question of whether the final |
judgment in favor of Mat-Maid operates via non
mutual res judicata to bar this action on the]
theory that it establishes that Patterson was not |
wrongly discharged. Collateral estoppel would |
not appear to apply because the Supreme Court's |
decision did not specifically address the merits |
of Patterson's claim.

7 Judge Hunt declined to rule on the Union's
motion because she found Patterson's claim was
controlled by the automatic stay in Bankruptcy.
Judge Ross declined to rule on the motion because |
he felt it should be resolved in state court.

A21
DISCUSSION

Summary judgment is appropriate when there is
no genuine issue regarding any material fact and
the moving party is entitled to judgment as a
matter of law. Fed. R. Civ. P. 56; Celotex v.
Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 322-23 (1986). The Court,
considering a motion for summary judgment, must
view the evidence in the light most favorable to
the non-moving party and may not’ judge
credibility or weigh the evidence. See
Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. v. Zenith Radio
Corp., 475 U.S. 574, 587 (1986); Anderson v.
Liberty Lobby, 477 U.S. 242, 255 (1986). Factual
disputes must be material and genuine to preclude
summary judgment. A material fact is one
necessary to establish a claim or defense. A
dispute is genuine if a reasonable fact finder
could resolve the case in favor of the non-moving
party. The test at the summary judgment stage is
essentially the same as the test for a directed
verdict. Anderson, 477 U.S. at 248-52 (defining
"material" and “genuine” and applying’ the
directed verdict test)' see also Matsushita, 475
U.S. at 586-88 (non-moving party must come
forward with specific facts showing that there is
a genuine issue for trial; mere metaphysical
doubt is insufficient). In evaluating the
evidence, the Court must consider who will have
the burden of proof at trial. Celotex, 477 U.S.
at 322-25 (if non-moving party will have burden
of proof at trial she must produce evidence in
response to a motion for summary judgment which
conforms to Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(e) and which
establishes each element of her claim). The
Court must also consider the nature of that
burden. Anderson, 477 U.S. at 258 (higher burden
of proof affects whether the non-moving party has
made a case which a reasonable juror could
accept). The Court has been particularly careful
in dealing with claims of conspiracy based on

A22

ambiguous circumstantial evidence. See
Matsushita, 475 U.S. at 587 (evidence should be
consistent with conspiracy and inconsistent with”
any inference of independent action). The Court
must be particularly sensitive to implausible or
improbable inferences from circumstantial
evidence. See, e.g., id. at 595-98 (stressing
the importance of motive in evaluating |
circumstantial evidence of civil conspiracy and
concluding that in the absence of a plausible’
motive to conspire, conduct consistent with other
equally plausible explanations noes not give rise |
to an inference which will establish a genuine |

issue of fact regarding conspiracy). f

Patterson claims that he was wrongfully
discharged from his employment with Mat-Maid in
violation of the collective bargaining agreement. |
The matter went to arbitration and the arbitrator)
found that Patterson was properly discharged for}
violating his employer's work rules. Normally,|
the decision of an arbitrator would be final and)
preclude this action. Peculiarities of the labor]
law, however, create a loophole through which)
Patterson seeks to proceed. Under federal labor/
law, an employee whose union is a party to aj
collective bargaining agreement is not free to}
independently litigate employment disputes with/
her employer.° The Union controls an employee's}
power to process grievances and the employee's[
access to neutral decision makers. This works no}
hardship in the normal course since the union and
the employee have common goals and union's
success depends upon its ability to maintain the}

* It appears that there was a collective}

bargaining agreement in force between the Union|
and Mat-Maid at the time of Patterson's

grievance. See, e€.g., Patterson, 880 P.2d at
1047.

ee

- L mal ait |

opty rsiieesanietia)
* w&

ww Sw weve wT ST

ve =—

~ ©
pee tao’ ;
WAS tetera es 5 2 iid elie

eee FRIES ees

Ror antiee ec

A23

loyalty of the employees who make up its
membership. Where, however, the union breaches
its duty of fair representation, the employee
will not receive the process that emanates from
grievance procedures, including arbitration. In
this limited situation, an employee may avoid the
bar of adverse arbitration if she can show: 1)
she was wrongly terminated; and 2) the union
breached its duty of fair representation. Hines

, 424 0.8. 5S4,. 570-71

v. Anchor Motor Freight
(1976); Vaca v. Sipes, 386 U.S. 171, 191 (1967);

see also Air Line Pilots Assoc. v. O'Neill, 499
U.S. 65 (1991). Practically speaking, the

arbitration establishes that the employee was
properly terminated, the second prong of the
employee's burden of proof is therefore best
approached first. Unless the employee can show
that she received ineffective representation, it
is not necessary to evaluate her claim against
her employer. Mere dissatisfaction with the
arbitration or the belief that new evidence or
different arguments might change the result is
insufficient. By the same token, a showing that
the union was negligent or exercised poor
judgment is not enough. To prevail, the employee

' must show either some procedural or ministerial
' default, or that the union's choices were so far
' beyond the pale as to be irrational or in bad
| faith. Seem e.g., Vaca, 386 U.S. at 193-94;

| Moore v. Bechtel Power Corp., 840 F.2d 634, 636-
| 37 (9th Cir. 1988).

In Moore, the court distinguished between

' claims based on procedural or ministerial
' mistakes, and claims based on errors of judgment.
| Moore, 840 F.2d at 636. The procedural and

ministerial mistakes were tested against

arbitrariness, which is defined as_ reckless
disregard of employee's rights and requires a
finding of prejudice to succeed. Id. The claims
based on errors of judgment were tested for

A24

evidence of discrimination or bad faith. Id.

Viewed in this light, an employee's burden to |
show unfair representation is similar to the ~

showing that a criminal defendant must make in |

order to upset his conviction on the ground of :
ineffective assistance of counsel. To establish ~

ineffective assistance of counsel, a client must

show either gross negligence and prejudice, or a ]

breakdown in the attorney client relationship.

Strickland v. Washington, 466 U.S. 668 (1984);

United States v. Cronic, 466 U.S. 648 (1984); See ©

, 18 F.3d 778 (9th Cir.
1994). Gross negligence borders on reckless
disregard, consisting of conduct falling
substantially below a minimum. standard of
competence. Strickland, 466 U.S. 668. Prejudice
must also be found. Id. Ineffective assistance
of counsel can be established due to a breakdown
of the attorney relationship if the breakdown
resulted from disloyalty or conflict of interest
to the extent that prejudice is presumed.

Cronic, 466 U.S. 648; Frazer, 18 F.3d 778.

Patterson charges both aspects of the test.

First, he contends that the Union engaged in a fi
civil conspiracy with Mat-Maid to discharge him |

on trumped-up charges. Patterson suggested in |

state court that the arbitrator was privy to the |

conspiracy. This is a most serious charge. If |
true, it would undermine the integrity of the

arbitration process. No further showing of |

5

since the arbitration would not oe if only ©
one side was participating. See U.S. v. Olano,
No. 87-3128, 1995 WL 468499 (9th Cir. Aug. 9,
1995) (Reinhardt, J., dissenting) (citing Arizona

v. _Fulminante, 499 U.S. 279 (1990), for the!

distinction between trial errors and fundamental |

A charge that the Union was disloyal ©
suggests a "structural" defect in the proceeding ©

§

$

i ek a

calls

AP 2S ST AR i OAL EIB NNER NE cl a este shal Shi

A25

prejudice would be required. The Court will
therefore first address the claim of bad faith.

It is not contended that Patterson was the
victim of racial, religious, ethnic, gender, or
age discrimination. It is also not contended
that he was active in an insurgent movement
within the Union and therefore the victim of
Union management retaliation. It appears that
Patterson's membership in the Union and
employment with Mat-Maid had been uneventful for
over seven years. The Union certainly appears to
have processed Patterson's grievance with care.
The quality of the Union's efforts will be
discussed in the next section but there is
nothing in the investigation and procedure that
Suggests bad faith or ill will.

The Union's arguments outlined in the
arbitrator's decision seem forceful and to the
point. The sole exception mentioned by Judge
Ross in an earlier stage of these proceedings is
a cryptic note kept by John Seawell, an officer
of Mat-Maid, at a conference with Robert Sinnett,
a Union official. the note reads, "Sinnett's
comments: "you've got to win. He might leave
the state. That's the only way I can get rid of
him." Docket No. 29, Exhibit 4. The quotations
are not closed. Patterson attributes all of the
comments in the note to Sinnett and reads it to
say, "I, Sinnett, hope you, Mat-Maid, win,

errors). In contrast, the charge that the Union,
despite good faith, botched the arbitration,
requires an evaluation of the record to determine
whether the Court has confidence in the result
reached. See, e.g., Strickland, 466 U.S. at 694
(test of prejudice is whether confidence in
outcome is undermined).

A26

Patterson will leave the state, and I, Sinnett, |
will be rid of him, Patterson." Seawell ©
testified that the context of the note was.
Patterson's unwillingness to settle on terms |
agreed to by Sinnett and Seawell. Seawell
contended that the note conveyed Sinnett's _
understanding that the only way Seawell would be
rid of Patterson would be to win the arbitration. |
Sinnett denied having said that he needed to get |
rid of Patterson. He did suggest that he might |
have told Seawell that the only way he could.
discharge Patterson was. by winning’ the |
arbitration. |

The only other evidence of "civil conspiracy" |
is Sinnett's sharing with Seawell the fact that ©
Patterson had complained to the NLRB about the.
Union's handling of his grievance. It does not
appear that Patterson had any prior disputes with
the Union or any dispute except regarding the |
processing of this grievance. Viewed either |
individually or collectively, these two items f
provide only a scintilla of evidence that the |
Union engaged in a civil conspiracy to "get" |
Patterson. See Anderson, 477 U.S. at 251
(scintilla not enough to. defeat summary |”
judgment). There is no evidence that would!
support a plausible motive for the Union to!
intentionally conspire against Patterson.°

* Patterson suggests two "motives." First,

that he was a nuisance and an annoyance. There |
is no evidence that Patterson had "annoyed"
anyone at the Union prior to his dispute with

Mat-Maid. Patterson would need to offer |
substantial evidence to support an inference that _
he was a significant annoyance to the Union

before a reasonable juror could find a civil.
conspiracy on that basis. The other motive |
implied, but never expressed, is that the Union|

ee Ee ee MR eae sew “

A27

Patterson has failed to create a disputed issue
of fact regarding bad faith.

Patterson contends that Edwin R. Conyers
("Conyers"), a Union business representative who
acted for him at the arbitration, was incompetent
as a representative and inadequately represented
him at the arbitration. Patterson summarizes his
complaints against Conyers in his statement of
genuine issues at Docket No. 28. Most of
Patterson's complaints go to matters of judgment,
where viewed either in isolation or as a group,
he fails to make a prima facie case that the
Union was irrational in its choices of recklessly
disregarded his interests. It appears that
reasonable men and women could not differ that
the Union conducted a reasonable investigation,
that Conyers was competent to represent
Patterson, and that the arbitration was
vigorously defended. Whether to have Conyers or
a lawyer represent Patterson was a judgment
within the Union's discretion. The Union made a
very strong effort to settle the matter on terms
favorable to Patterson. Patterson's real
complaint about the settlement is that he did
nothing wrong and therefore any sanction was
inappropriate. As the arbitrator found, this is
simply not true. Patterson also faults the Union
for not anticipating that he would have to
acknowledge that his conduct warranted a sanction
in writing. Patterson believes a Union
representative should have been prepared to be
present with him when he spoke to management

was prejudice against people with post traumatic
stress disorder and by extension other men and
woman (sic) who are mentally or emotionally ill.
There is no evidence of a pattern of hostility to
the mentally ill. Patterson's claims of motive
are pure conjecture.

A28

about the implementation of the settlement. |
These matters are clearly within the Union's e
discretion.

Patterson has failed to show that the Union's ‘
handling of his grievance was negligent. Even if |
he had succeeded in showing some conduct, action, |
or inaction which, viewed in retrospect, might |
appear negligent, most of his claims would still |
fail because Patterson cannot show that he was
prejudiced. There is no evidence that if the
settlement negotiations had been handled |
differently the case would have settled upon more |
favorable terms. Patterson says now that he |
would have accepted the company's terms if that |
was the only way to save his job, but his ‘
contemporaneous conduct is inconsistent with this |
self serving observation. :

Patterson misunderstands the arbitrator's :
decision and bases a number of arguments upon f—
this misunderstanding. The arbitrator saw the
case as presenting two issues: 1) whether
Patterson was terminated for just cause on April
30, 1986; and 2) the remedies available to
Patterson if his termination was not for cause.
The arbitrator recast these questions to ask: 1)
whether Patterson violated company work rules;
and if he did, 2) whether dismissal, as the |
sanction for his violation, was too severe. The :
arbitrator found that there was good cause for f
termination because Patterson used a company [|
truck to drive to Union headquarters, during |
business hours, in violation of company work [
rules. This finding is really undisputed. [|
Patterson concedes that he used the truck, :
Claiming that he wanted to ask Sinnett for|
permission to sit in on a meeting with Mat-Maid F
in connection with collective bargaining. As the |
arbitrator found, this clearly violated company |
rules. The fact that other drivers on other

A29

occasions also violated company rules is really
irrelevant on the issue of violation, although it
might have been relevant on the issue of
determining the appropriate sanction.

Patterson argued then, and continues to argue
now, that his offense was trivial and therefore
was no offense at all. He reasons that other
drivers took coffee breaks during the day and
would go over their paper work at the restaurant
or cafe. Patterson overlooks the fact that he
did not go to the union office to take a coffee
break, but rather, to see Sinnett. It was only
because Sinnett was not available that Patterson
waited in the adjacent cafe. The fact that the
amount of time spent waiting, as recollected by
Patterson, approximated the amount of time that
would have been spent at a coffee break is mere
coincidence. Patterson's justification was, as
the arbitrator in effect found, specious. In
determining an appropriate remedy, the arbitrator
properly considered Patterson's insistence that
he did no wrong. The arbitrator pointed out that
viewed in isolation, any dereliction in this
regard by Patterson, even if a no fault accident
occurred, would not have been grounds for such a
severe sanction as termination. Nevertheless,
when viewed against the totality of Patterson's
conduct, termination was warranted.

These conclusions set the stage for evaluating
prejudice. It is clear that having a group of
drivers come in and testify that they
occasionally violated company policy would not
have changed the arbitrator's mind that the
company work rules had been violated. Nor would
it have been relevant to the arbitrator's
decision that Patterson's total conduct warranted
termination. The arbitrator set out in detail
his reasons for concluding that Patterson had
already been given chances to correct his

A30

behavior and had failed. Docket No. 25,
Affidavit of Edwin R. Conyers at Exhibit S at 13-
15. It does not appear that any of the points
Patterson wishes the Union had made would have
changed that decision. Consequently, Patterson
has failed to produce evidence supporting an
inference that any of the deficiencies he assigns
to the Union caused his discharge or tainted the
arbitration.*® In sum, the bulk of Patterson's

? Patterson complains that the arbitrator
considered misconduct that had not been specified
as grounds for discharge. Patterson
misunderstands the arbitrator's reasoning. The
arbitrator considered each of the proffered
grounds for termination and rejected all but one:
Patterson's frolic and detour during work hours.
This was the only ground the arbitrator
considered as warranting discipline. Having
determined that the company made a prima facie
case, the arbitrator then proceeded to consider
an appropriate sanction. It was only at this
stage that the arbitrator discussed Patterson's
work history and the various complaints
management had against him to decide whether a
sanction less than termination would adequately
address management's concerns.

8 Mat-Maid accused Patterson of a number of
instances of bizarre behavior in support of the
argument that a sanction less than termination
would have been insufficient. The Union
vigorously opposed this evidence and _ the
arbitrator expressly declined to consider the
bulk of it in reaching his decision. The
arbitrator did consider an incident’ when
Patterson overreacted to a verbal exchange and
charged a supervisor with assault. Also weighed
was Patterson's unwillingness to acknowledge
errant behavior in his driving to the Teamster

A31

complaints are no more than the Monday morning
quarterbacking that will always follow an
unsuccessful arbitration or court proceeding.

There is, however, one disturbing aspect of
this case that precludes summary judgment. It
appears that the Union knew that Patterson was
suffering from mental or emotional problems which
have been diagnosed as post traumatic stress
disorder. It also appears that Patterson's
mental state might explain his adversarial
relations with his supervisors. Consideration of
these factors might illuminate the need for a
remedy or sanction short of termination. The
Union considered this issue of sufficient
importance to argue it to the arbitrator, and the
arbitrator considered it sufficiently important
to mention in his decision:

I have also considered grievant's
testimony regarding his medical
condition, and have speculated that
grievant's performance and behavior of
the last several months, i.e., his
cyclical swings in performance, to be
possibly symptomatic of medical
complications arising out of his
diagnosed post-trauma syndrome. There
was no competent testimony or other
evidence to this effect, and the
arbitrator was hired to arbitrate, not
totally exceed his competence by
practicing medicine. I can ou.ly
suggest that if the grievant does
determine that events of the last year

Mall during work hours. Finally, the arbitrator
also considered other occasions, such as
unexcused absences, where Patterson seemed to
react in a small minded way when reprimanded.

A32

were a medically induced phenomenon
that the company give such fact a
consideration.

It appears that the arbitrator would have
considered medical evidence if it had been
offered, and might have determined that a
sanction short of dismissal was appropriate if
the medical evidence explained Patterson's
behavior and offered significant hope that with
specific treatment the behavior would not
reoccur. While determining appropriate witnesses
is certainly a matter of judgment, the Court
hesitates to find that failure to call a treating
physician was not irrational, or a reckless
disregard of Patterson's rights, without some
explanation in the record of the decision not to
call medical witnesses. In the absence of such
an explanation, a trial would appear warranted.

IT I8 THEREFORE ORDERED:

The motion for summary judgment at Docket No.
25 is GRANTED IN PART AND DENIED IN PART. The
Union is entitled to a determination that it did
not act in bad faith or engage in a civil
conspiracy to deprive Patterson of his employment
and that in general, the Union performed its duty

9 The courts treat a § 301 proceeding as a
collateral attack on the arbitration. The
parties have not addressed the question of
whether such an attack sounds at law or in
equity, and whether judge or jury should
determine whether the attack succeeds. Nor have
I considered whether the appropriate disposition
at this stage would be a remand to the original
arbitrator to allow presentation of medical
evidence. Mat-Maid's final judgment against
Patterson complicates this aspect of the case.

OotcrnNyre feo

w

A33

to adequately represent Patterson at arbitration.
The sole question reserved for trial is whether
the Union violated its duty to Patterson by
failing to produce medical evidence at the
hearing in support of a more lenient sanction.
The question includes the further question
whether such evidence, if produced, would have
changed the result at the arbitration.

DATED at Anchorage, Alaska this 7th day of
September, 1995.

Ls/
HONORABLE JAMES K. SINGLETON, JR.
United States District Judge

’ the issue of whether the Union violated

its duty of fair representation thus merges with
the question of whether Mat-Maid had just cause
to terminate Patterson. Both questions turn on
whether the Union acted irrationally in not
concluding that medical evidence was necessary to
save Patterson's position with Mat-Maid. The
Court cannot evaluate the Union's reasons for not
calling medical witnesses unless it knows those
reasons.

A34

MINUTES OF THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF ALASKA

William L. Patterson v. Int'l Brotherhood of
Teamsters Local 959
Case No. A94-147 CV (JKS) FILED
NOV 7, 1995

By: THE HONORABLE JAMES K. SINGLETON

Deputy Clerk: Patty Demeter, Case Management
PROCEEDINGS: ORDER FROM CHAMBERS

William Patterson sued his union for failing
to fairly represent Patterson in connection with
the arbitration of a grievance Patterson had
against his former employer for wrongful
termination. This Court granted in part and
denied in part the Union's motion for summary
judgment concluding that a single issue remained:
whether the union had recklessly disregarded
Patterson's rights at the arbitration by failing
to introduce expert mental health evidence. See
Docket No. 39. The Union has renewed its motion
for summary judgment, filing affidavits and other
evidence to show that its decisions were
strategic and not reckless or in bad faith.
Docket Nos. 40 & 44. Patterson responded,
conceding that the decision was strategic but
contending that the strategy was flawed. Docket
No. 43. That may be. However, mere negligence
is not enough. This Court must give the Union
substantial leeway in litigating at arbitration
and may only impose liability if reasonable
people could find that the union acted
irrationally or in bad faith. See, e.g., Moore

v. Bechtel Power Corp., 840 F.2d 634, 636-37 (9th
Cir. 1988). Having considered the evidence

proffered by both sides, it is clear that a jury
acting reasonably could not find that the Union

A35

acted recklessly or acted in bad faith in
managing the arbitration in the manner that it
did.

IT I8 THEREFORE ORDERED:

The renewed motion for Summary judgment at
Docket No. 40 is GRANTED. The Clerk shall enter
judgment dismissing this action. Defendant may
recover its costs of action.

Entered at the direction of the Honorable James
K. Singleton, United States District Court Judge,
by Ardel Burritt, secretary to Judge Singleton.

DATE: November 6, 1995 SECRETARY'S INITIALS: ab

A36

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF ALASKA

JUDGMENT IN A CIVIL CASE

WILLIAM L. PATTERSON, FILED
Plaintiff, NOV 07 1995

vs.
Case Number A94-147 CV (JKS)
INT'L BROTHERHOOD OF
TEAMSTERS LOCAL 959,
Defendant.

JURY VERDICT. This action came before the
Court for a trial by jury. The issues have been
tried and jury has rendered its verdict.

XX _=«—Ss-: DECISION BY COURT. This action came to
trial or hearing before the Court. The issues

have been tried or heard and a decision has been
rendered.

IT IS ORDERED AND ADJUDGED
THAT Judgment is hereby entered

dismissing this action. Defendant may recover
its costs of action.

APPROVED:
/s/ James K. Singleton
U.S. District Judge
11/7/95 _PHYLLIS RHODES __
Date Clerk

° icht
(By) Deputy Clerk

Py RO Oa

—-

~~ ve we

a

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_2125%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
