# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Crawford v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_2030%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1998
- **Citation:** 522 U.S. 1117

## Text

No. o2VT L131 VANS 1998

In The Jt THE CLERK
Supreme Court of the Wnited States

OCTOBER TERM 1997
->

VERN ODELL CRAWFORD,

Petitioner,

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondents.

+¢

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit

e

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
4.

Marvin D. Miller Claude M. Scialdone

Counsel of Record Barry R. Taylor

Attorney at Law SCIALDONE & TAYLOR, INC.
Post Office Box 663 Post Office Box 6116
Alexandria, VA 22313 Virginia Beach, VA 23456

(703) 548-5000 (757) 430-1200

Counsel for Petitioner - Vern Odell Crawford

LANTAGNE LEGAL PRINTING
801 East Main Street Suite 100 Richmond, Virginia 23219 (800) 847-0477

I.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

The Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals has decided in
this case that a United States District Court is not required,
sua sponte, to give the jury a credibility instruction on the
status of a paid government informant, and by not giving such
an instruction does not constitute plain error. Is that finding in
conflict with the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals holding that
such a instruction, sua sponte, is absolutely required, and
constitutes plain error if omitted?

Did the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals commit
reversible error when they held that under the Jencks Act that
a 15 (fifteen) minute continuance to review 92 (ninety-two)
pages of informant material was sufficient and further that any
prejudice could be cured by recalling the informant as an
adverse witness the next day of trial?

li.

TABLE OF CONTENTS
QUESTION PRESENTED................. (1)
TABLE OF AUTHORITIEB................ (iii)

(iv)

OPINION BELOW. ..........ccccsscsessee
Se Ss |. 2
STATEMENT OF THE CASE............ 2

: Go cscseeroccnssconnnse 3

| tS ae g

iii.
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES:

United States v. Bosch, 914 F.2d 1239,
1247-1248 (9th Cir. 1990).......ccccccccsseeseeseeees

United States v. Brooks v. Johnson, 928
eee a0 Le |) ie

United States v. Holmes v. Aument v.
Aument, 722 F.2d 37 (4th Cir. 1983).............

United States v. Kelly, 35 F.3d 929
CI

United States v. Miller, 499 F.2d 736
‘tg: SR, SRR SRE eee Ae na

United States v. Swiderski, 539 F.2d 854
a I a daaaek cath painted scisibsccniecinisa

UNITED STATES STATUTES:

Title 26, Section 7203 of the United
RRS GR ree Ad ee CD i OD

Title 18, Section 1503 of the United
I os oie ais cade eativieniuncs vas

4,5

6,7,8

3,5

IV,

Title 18, Section 3500 of the United

Bim Ce 0s 18k A hE hcdidiccéae ct 5
United States Constitution
pS NE SEE 5
United States Constitution
ne iidivesaccnsecses 5
OTHER AUTHORITIES:
}
4
Jury Practice and Instructions by
Devitt and Blackman (3rd ed. 1977). 3

]

In The
Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1997

Vern Odell Crawford,
Petitioner,

V.
United States Of America,

Respondent.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
Supreme Court of the United States

Vern Odell Crawford, respectfully petitions for
a Writ of Certiorari to review the judgment of the Fourth
Circuit Court of Appeals in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Fourth Circuit
Court of Appeals is set out in the Appendix, infra, 1a to 13a.
That opinion affirmed the decision of the U.S. District Court
of the Western District of Virginia, Harrisonburg Division,
which is set out in the Appendix, infra, 14a.

2
JURISDICTION

This case in the U.S. District Court for the Western
District of Virginia, Harrisonburg Division, under 18 U.S.C.
1503, 26 U.S.C. Section 7203, in which the court had
jurisdiction under 18 U.S.C. Section 3231 for offenses against
the laws of the United States.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Vern Odell Crawford, the Appellant, is a self-
employed businessman and long-time resident of Elkton,
Virginia. (JA., Vol 'V, p. 893). On September 21, 1995, a
federal Grand Jury ii Roanoke, Virginia indicted the
Appellant on two charges of Failure to File a Federal Tax
Return (26 U.S.C. Section 7203) and Obstruction of Justice
(18 U.S.C. Sections 1503 and 2). (JA., Vol. IV, p.885). The
Appellant was tried on these charges before the United States
District Court for the Western District of Virginia with the
Honorable Jackson L. Kiser presiding. After a three day trial
on April 23-25, 1996, the jury found Mr. Crawford guilty on
all three counts. (JA., Vol. I, p. 399, L. 19-24). He was
subsequently released on bail until his sentencing hearing on
October 3, 1996. Judge Kiser sentenced Mr. Crawford to 51
months imprisonment (JA., Vol. II, p.590, L.5-10) and fined
him $100,000.00 (JA., Vol. II, p. 591, L. 19-23), plus costs
of prosecution of $5,934.65 (JA., Vol. II, p. 596, L.3-6). The
final sentencing order was entered on October 10, 1996.

(JA., Vol.II, p. 598-604). This U.S. District Court and the
Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals, after sentencing the
Appellant, subsequently denied the Appellant’s Motion for
Stay of Execution of Sentence and Motion for Bail Pending
Appeal. The Appellant is currently imprisoned in the Federal

3.

prision at Lexington, Kentucky.

\
ANALYSIS
Question 1:

The Petitioner claims that the Fourth Circuit Court of
Appeals failed to recognize plain error committed by the
United States District Court in not informing the jury, sua
sponte, through an instruction that a government’s chief and
material key witness, Patricia Gail Littleton, was, in fact, a
paid informant. Neither the defense nor the prosecution
offered the instruction. The Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals in

nit v. Miller, 499 F.2d 736 (10th Cir. 1974) stated
that a cautionary instruction is required for an informant case
when the individual supplying information is paid, as in the
instant case. Miller, at 742. Devitt and Blackman’s Jury
Practice and Instructions (3rd ed. 1977) has adopted the
principle from Miller and provided the following instruction in
Section 17.02:

The testimony of an informer who provides evidence
against a defendant for pay, or for immunity from punishment,
or for personal advantage of vindication, must be examined
and weighed by the jury with greater care than the testimony
of an ordinary witness. The jury must determine whether the
informer’s testimony has been affected by interest or by
prejudice against a defendant.

Moreover, where the Government’s case rests
primarily on the testimony of informers, as it did in this case,
reversible error will lie if this instruction is not given. See

United States v. Swiderski, 539 F.2d 854 (2nd Cir. 1976). In

the instant case, the Government’s conviction of the

4.

Appellant for the charge of obstruction of justice depended
solely on the testimony of Patricia Gail Littleton, the
Government’s paid informant.

The Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals considered the
principle enunciated by Miller, supra, in United States v.
Brooks v. Johnson, 928 F.2d 1403 (4th Cir. 1991) and
declined to find error since the witness characterized as an
informer, failed to fulfill criteria for informer, i.e., he was
neither paid, promised immunity for his testimony, nor did he
seek personal advantage or vindication thereby. Brooks, at
1409. However, Brooks did confirm the principle from Miller
is applicable in the Fourth Circuit, i.e., a cautionary
instruction is appropriate where an individual supplying
information is a paid informant for the Government seeking a
conviction in a criminal case. Moreover, failure to give such
cautionary instruction is an abuse of discretion when the
witness was, in fact, paid and/or received other consideration,
i.e. being allowed to escape prosecution for tax evasion, as in
the instant case. Brooks, at 1403.

The Fourth Circuit Court Of Appeals, in its holding in
this case, relied on decisions from United States v. Bosch,
914 F.2d 1239, 1247-48 (9th Cir. 1990) (finding that the
failure to give a paid informant instruction, swa sponte, is not
plain error) and United States v. Cook, 102 F.3d 249,252 (7th
Cir. 1996) (stating that decision of whether to give such an
instruction, even in the face of a request from counsel, is
discretionary with the trial judge). It is apparently clear that
there is a clear conflict with the holdings in Bosch and Cook
in comparison with the holding in Miller. The Tenth Circuit
Court of Appeals requires that the lack of instruction to the
jury, sua sponte, will constitute plain error, as opposed to the
holdings in Bosch and Cook that hold such instruction is

S,
discretionary, even upon request by either counsel.

The Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals has adopted the
position held in Bosch and Cook and completely discarded
the holding in Miller. In doing so, this has greatly impeded the
rights of the petitioner to due process in violation of the 14th
Amendment to the U.S. Constitution and the Privileges and
Immunities clause of Article IV section II of the U.S.
Constitution by denying him a new trial on the basis of plain
error.

Question 2:

The Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals has additionally
failed to recognize the petitioners rights to due process and
rights created under this Honorable Court’s holding in Brady
v. Maryland, 83 S.Ct. 1194 (1963) and under the Jencks Act.

When Patricia Gail Littleton, the government’s paid
informant, took the stand at the Appellant’s trial, the
prosecution provided the Appellant’s counsel, Frank Mika,
with ninety-two (92) pages of reports documenting Littleton’s
clandestine meetings with the police while operating as a paid
informant. The Government did not produce these materials
in compliance with discovery claiming their exemption
therefrom under 18 U.S.C. § 3500(a) (Jencks Act).
Appellant’s trial counsel, Mr. Mika, immediately made
objections by making an oral motion for mistrial based on the
government’s failure to comply with discovery and to reveal
exculpatory material or have her testimony stricken and that
she be excluded from testifying (i.e., violation of Brady). The
trial judge denied the Motion and, in lieu thereof, granted a
continuance for a mere fifteen (15) minutes to afford the
Appellant’s counsel an opportunity to read and digest the

6.

ninety-two pages of material of the utmost importance to the
Appellant’s defense. Mr. Mika, in his affidavit, asserts the
obvious fact that fifteen (15) minutes was totally insufficient
to adequately review the material and prepare therefrom for
an effective cross-examination and defense strategy (See
Affidavit in Appendix).

The Jencks Act, 18 U.S.C. § 3500 states, in part:
“Whenever any statement is
delivered to a defendant
pursuant to this section, the
court in its discretion...may
recess proceedings in the trial
for such time as it may
determine to be reasonably
required for the examination of
such statement by said
defendant and his preparation
for its use in the trial.
(Emphasis added).

In essence, trial counsel was given less than ten (10)
seconds per page to read, digest and analyze the Jencks
materials and formulate a cross-examination therefrom as well
as a defense strategy to negate this explosive, prejudicial, and
inflammatory material. One could hardly consider this
reasonable or fair under our system of American justice. In
United States v. Holmes v. Aument v. Aument, 722 F.2d 37
(4th Cir. 1983), defense counsel was provided a stack of
Jencks material eight inches thick on the morning of the day
before the trial. In vacating a judgment of conviction and
granting a new trial, the Holmes court ruled that the district
(trial) court abused its discretion and denied the defendant’s
rights under the Jencks Act.

In the Holmes case, the defense had roughly twenty-
four (24) hours to review approximately two thousand
(2,000) pages which amounted to forty-three (43) seconds
per page. If the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals found in
Holmes that the defendants were not afforded a reasonable
opportunity to examine and digest the mass of material
furnished them on the day before the trial, then certainly, with
only ten (10) seconds per page, one quarter as much time, the
Appellant in the instant case was denied his rights. Since the
Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals held in Holmes that the
District Court had abused its discretion in failing to grant a
reasonable delay in the progress of the trial to permit counse!
to complete their studies and preparation (of the Jencks
material) and granted Appellant a new trial, the District Court
in the instant case has, a fortiori, abused its discretion and the
Appellant should likewise be granted a new trial. Id. at
41.(Emphasis Added).

The Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals held that
petitioner did not make a contemporaneous objection that the
fifteen minute recess was insufficient to allow proper review
of the material. Because of the failure to object, the court
reviewed the matter as plain error and found that none
existed. The Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals committed error
by stating that defendant failed to object to not being given
sufficient time to review the Jencks materials, however, the
Court failed to recognize that Mr. Mika did object not once
but twice and was overruled on both objections (motion to
exclude the witness and motion to declare a mistrial) (see
Appendix.). To continue to object for a continuance or

adjournment would have been fruitless. This issue was
preserved for appeal purposes. The Fourth Circuit Court of
Appeals failed to follow their own holding in Holmes and, in
fact, failed to even address the Holmes case in relation to the
instant case.

Another fact that is critical to the analysis here is that
the Assistant United States Attorney advised to the defense
attorney that there was no informant when in fact there was
an informant. This is patently unfair and prejudicial to the trial
process to condone such conduct by the Government to the
defense attorney, then have the defense rely on those false
representations and get surprised at trial by ambush. See U.S.
v. Kelly, 35 F.3d 929 (4th Cir. 1994)._

The Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals has now caused
an inconsistency in the proper interpretation of the Jencks
Act. In Holmes the Court held that 24 (twenty-four) hours
was not sufficient time to review 2,000 pages of documents,
but that 15 (fifteen) minutes is sufficient time to review 92
pages of documents. If the Court had applied its holding in
Holmes, then even if the defense had been given 66 (sixty-six)
minutes to review the material, that would not be an adequate
amount of time to review the material. Clearly, the Fourth
Circuit Court of Appeals has now created an inconsistent
ruling within the Courts own holdings, and has unduly
prejudiced the petitioner.

ON JON

The Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals ruling in this
case on the issue of swa sponte jury instructions on paid
government informants is in clear conflict with the holding
from the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals. Additionally, the

9.

Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals has unduly prejudiced the
petitioner by not applying its own holding in Holmes to the
issue of adequate time to review new materials entered into a
trial under the Jencks Act. Since the Fourth Circuit Court of
Appeals has created inconsistencies that have greatly affected
the petitioner by denying him a new trial, this Court should
use its supervisory capacity to correct the Fourth Circuit
Court of Appeals. This court should overrule the decisions of
the trial and appeals court and remand this case to the trial
court with an order for a new trial.

RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED

VERN ODELL CRAWFORD

Marvin D. Miller, Esquire
PO Box 663

Alexandria, VA 22313
(703) 548-5000

Counsel For Petitioner

Claude M. Scialdone, Esquire
Barry R. Taylor, Esquire
Scialdone & Taylor, Inc.

PO Box 6116 .
Virginia Beach, VA 23456
(757) 430-1200

Counsel For Petitioner

= See eee eee oe eee

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_2030%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
