# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Bryant v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_1877%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1998
- **Citation:** 523 U.S. 1071

## Text

A I ce ON RE RT TEI
eee om ne nee

97 96 S DEC 1 0 1997
No. OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1997

J.C. HERBERT BRYANT, JR.

Petitioner,
v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
to the United States Court of Appeals
for the District of Columbia Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

JOHN M. COLETTE
JOHN M. COLETTE &
ASSOCIATES, PA

425 Tombigbee Street
Jackson, MS 39201
(601) 355-6277

Attorney for Petitioner

(i)
QUESTIONS PRESENTED
1. Whether a Special Deputy U.S. Marshal is
an “officer or employee” of the United States Government as

proscribed by Title 18 United States Code, Section 912.

2. Whether the Appellant Court had
“jurisdiction” to correct what it called a “gross injustice”.

a

(ii)
LIST OF PARTIES

The names of all parties to the proceeding below appear in
the caption of this case.

(iii)
TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED. .................ccssesrereesneesriesesseeneeees
LIST OF THE PARTIES. ...............cccsscccssseseseseneseessenersenerens
TABLE OF CONTENT E.............:cscccccsssssssssensesessesonesseesnes
TABEE GP AUTHORITES. ......:c:cccccccsssscssserscsceserseveronens
IN EN ih tcc sacinssivdesassovsveccerssecssenonseseovennoens
FRAT sed B bcsichsversvncersoevonsidevscorvoveseervveuseusoeyvce
STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED...................0065-

EIU Lentil ckccdhvcseseieiveces voassvariows bens vabalisnadcbooests

Bs WE TONING. 5 os seiccessséssccesccsncscscenvesseisenss
3. The District Court Proceedings.....................0.....
+ Tae D.C, Corouit’s Rulling..........................000000...
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT...........0....0.0000..-

1. THERE IS A CONFLICT AMONG THE CIRCUITS
AND/OR NO CLEAR MANDATE AS TO WHETHER A
SPECIAL DEPUTY UNITED STATES MARSHAL IS AN
EMPLOYEE OR OFFICER OF THE UNITED STATES
GOVERNMENT AS PROSCRIBED BY TITLE18, U.S.C.
seco dacape ane Eg, Se EES AE DPT. "CSA

(iv)
TABLE OF CONTENTS - CONTINUED

Il. WHETHER THE APPELLANT COURT HAD
“JURISDICTION” TO CORRECT WHAT IT CALLED A

“GROSS INJUSTICE”. ......0:...cc.ccccccsccssssenecsnsesnnsessosonnes 16

CONCLUSION........0::.s0scccscsccssssesssessnsecsnscsssasscnsssssnssrens 18

(v)
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES:

Hall v. Wisconsin,

103 U.S. 4, 26 L.Ed. 302 (1880).......0..4.--

Metcalf & Eddy v. Mitchell,
269 U.S. 514, 70 L.Ed. 384,

G6 S.Cd VTIAIOEI SiO 3.65).5.55- css

Pierce v. United States,
314 U.S. 306, 86 L.Ed. 226,

SE neat

Zaimi v. United States,

476 F.2d $11, 523-24 (D.C. Cir. 1973).......

United States v. Barrett,
111 F.3d 947 (D.C. Cir. 1997),

cert. denied, 118 S.Ct. 176 (1997)...........0.

United States v. Bryant,

117 F.3d 1464 (D.C. Cir. 1997)........cccc.0-0

United States v. Caste Liat.ds,

731 F.2d 979, 984 (D.C. Cir. 1984)............

United States v. Diamond,

53 F.3d 249 (9th Cir. 1995)........-ccccccccscsecee.

(vi)
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - CONTINUED

United States v. Germaine,
$9 U.S. 508, 25 L.Ed. 482 (1879)..............cccccceee 12
United States v. Hartwell,
73 U.S. 385, 18 L.Ed. 830 (1868).....................000. 12
United States v. Laub Baking Co.,
283 F. Supp. 217 (D.C. Ohio 1968)................005 15
United States v. Lauelle,
751 F.2d 1266, 1275 (D.C. Cir. 1985).................. 17
United States v. Maxwell,
920 F.2d 1028 (D.C. Cir. 1990)...........0.ccceccees. 15
United States v. Rosser,
528 F.2d 652 (D.C. Cir. 1976).......5....cccccccccccccees. 15
United States v. Sutton,
801 F.2d 1346, 1360 (D.C. Cir. 1986).................. 17
STATUTES AND REGULATIONS:
19'U.S.C. 6 Bbc MOREL ED OE RTE. 16
Os Sc ccctinsavaivbch baubccsavidesisovclosedsaesaedimbOn aban passim
S|) CRU TEES cat OUR mn ia 5
at. ne Rn CU MER ty beeg AN Ria 16
Fe UG Fe PI ons scireiscsicssscecesectescccstdticeinodsanas 12,14
EN Fi sivicseustdosescichocenh Vncotta haa 14,15
vis scp sadinebcpabugs aoncalasoumatliotanes 14
BP III cia inicicsiiscesensataccckecessopaeheaenenion: 14

(vii)
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - CONTINUED

DC. COGD GT SIOWGD oon ccccsoccoccsslaccccssssccccssscscccces
We IN TM oi

OTHER AUTHORITIES

63 Am. Jur. 2d, Public Officers & Employees
OP ibiselicictiodboheniiesecin ee

No.

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1997

J.C. HERBERT BRYANT
Petitioner,
v.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
to the United States Court of Appeals
for the District of Columbia Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

The petitioner, J.C. Herbert Bryant, respectfully requests that
this Court issue a writ of certiorari to review the judgment of
the United States Court of Appeals for the District of
Columbia Circuit, entered on July 8, 1997.

a I . -

2
OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for
the District of Columbia Circuit is reported at 117 F.3d 1464
(D.C. Cir. 1997) and is reproduced at Pet. App. A.

JURISDICTION

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for
the District of Columbia Circuit was issued on July 8, 1997.
This Court has jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. Section 1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

1. Title 18, United States Code, Section 912,
provides in pertinent part:

Whoever falsely assumes or pretends to be an
officer or employee acting under the authority of the United
States or any department, agency or officer thereof, and acts
as such or in such pretended character demands or obtains
any money, paper, document, or thing of value, shall be fined
under this title or imprisoned not more than three years, or
both.

STATEMENT
1. Introduction

This petition presents two significant questions on
which the federal courts of appeals are in conflict.

First, the petitioner seeks review of the D.C. Circuit’s
refusal to find that Title 18, United States Code, Section 912
does not make a person so appointed an “officer or

3

employee” of the U.S. Government as proscribed by Title 18,
United States Code, Section 912.

Second, the petition seeks review of the D.C. Circuit’s
refusal to correct what it called a “gross injustice” in the
prosecution and conviction below. Despite its limited

refusal by the District Court Judge to consider defendant’s
testimony along with the corroborating testimony, the D.C.
Circuit should have reversed the conviction below.

2. Factual Background

The petitioner, J.C. Herbert Bryant, Jr., had been a
Special Deputy U.S. Marshal for seven years by virtue of his
affiliation with a group of volunteers (ARGUS) (the Armed
Response Group of the United States), which loaned armored
vehicles to police agencies during emergencies. In 1992, The
Washington Post published a series of articles critical of
ARGUS and of Bryant, implying that he had been granted
Special Deputy status because of his family money and
political connections. See, e.g., Robert O’Harrow, Jr., FBI
Probes Self-Styled Police Force, WASH. POST, May 10,
1992, at Al. The then-director of the Marshals Service
Henry Hudson wrote Bryant advising him to send Hudson a
letter asking not to be reappointed, which Bryant did. His
appointment thus expired on June 30, 1992, only two months
before the events leading to his conviction.

On September 2, 1992, Bryant drove his truck into the
District of Columbia and parked it near the side entrance of
the Mayflower Hotel. In the window was a placard bearing
the words “U.S. Marshal” in bold print and in back were
several pistols, visible if you walked up to the vehicle. After a
brief time inside the hotel, Bryant emerged to discover that

4

the vehicle had attracted the attention of several governmental
officials due to the fact that, unbeknownst to Bryant, an
Israeli diplomatic delegation had been visiting the hotel.

as its driver and was questioned. Numerous conversations
were had, but Bryant was not arrested and/or charged,
however, he and his vehicle were taken from the scene, and
arguably from the Metropolitan Police central, by members of
the U.S. Marshal’s service to the U.S. Marshal's office.

Washington Post reporter Mr. O’Harrow, learning of
the incident, published a news story in the Post some three
weeks later, on September 24, accusing the Marshals Service
of intervening to help Bryant.

After Bryant told police he had friends in the
Marshals Service, a deputy marshal was sent to the scene, law
enforcement officials said... When asked why no legal
action was taken against Bryant, Twomey said the District
police officer ‘chose simply to turn the weapons and Mr.
Bryant over to the marshal.’ But the District police official,
who ordered the retrieval of Bryant’s guns from the Marshals
Marshals Service ‘represented to us he was a U.S. Marshals
deputy.”

Robert O’Harrow, Jr., Quasi-Police Official Freed in Gun
Case, WASH. POST, Sept. 24, 1992, at Al (emphasis
added). Only then does the question of appellant's
musrepresentation arise. Jd (“[A}fter inquiries from the
Washington Post, District police said they plan to investigate
the Sept. 2 incident and turn over their findings to the U.S.
attorney in the District.”) Both the marshals’ headquarters
and the Marshals Office in the District of Columbia disclaimed

5

responsibility for allowing Bryant to be released and at trial
blamed each other for improper behavior.

From this incident, almost two (2) years later, (June
14, 1994) Bryant is indicted for (A) violating Title 18, United
States Code, Section 912, by falsely assuming and pretending
to be a Special Deputy United States Marshal, and due to
same, demanding and obtaining he not be arrested; and (B)
for violating D.C. Code, Section 22-3204(4) , a misdemeanor
for having weapons in the district, and for (C) violating Title
18, United States Code, Section 1001 for making false
statements.

In October of 1994, Bryant elected to go to trial
before the Honorable Royce C. Lambreth, U.S. District
Judge, waiving a jury and proceeding solely as a bench trial.

Mr. Bryant's principal defense to the firearms charge
was that he was a duly sworn authorized deputy sheriff of
Warren County, Mississippi and therefore exempt from the
D.C. Code prohibiting the possession of a firearm. (He never
relied on the expired SDUSM status).

As to the other counts, Mr. Bryant testified and
maintained that he never said he was, in-fact, a Special
Deputy United States Marshal and this was corroborated by
other, non-biased witnesses at the scene.

However, the district judge convicted Bryant on
counts | and 3 and acquitted him on Count 2 (the weapons
charge).

Your petitioner appealed this conviction, and on July
8, 1997, the Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia
“affirmed” these convictions. Interestingly, however, Judge

6

Henderson, writing for the majority, wrote a separate
concurring opinion, as did Judge Silberman, and both
conclude by saying that, your petitioner not only should not
have been convicted, but never should have even been
prosecuted, and this case was a “gross injustice”.

3. The District Court Proceedings

A bench trial was held in October of 1994 at which
Bryant testified that he never stated to anyone on September
2, 1992, that he was a Special Deputy United States Marshal.
He further testified, along with his life-long friend, Sheriff
Paul Barrett [See 111 F.3d. 947 (D.C. Cir. 1997), cert. den.
118 S.Ct. 176 (1997)] that he was exempt from the
prohibition, Section 22-3205 due to his status as a deputy

sheriff of Warren County, Mississippi.

Numerous witnesses testified, and conflict abounded!
Diplomatic Security Service Agent Mark Conord testified that
Bryant identified himself as a Warren County deputy, but also
as a Special Deputy U.S. Marshal (10/3/94 TR.1, 12, 45).
However, as Judge Silberman points out, it was Conord who
allowed the matter to be turned over to the U.S. Marshals,
and he was , in-fact biased because he was responsible. Plus,
his testimony was hardly convincing, especially with his
partner, Agent Perkins saying “...nobody ever told me Mr.

B he is a Special D U.S. Marshal”

Due to the confusion and/or for whatever reasons,
MPD officers on the scene called the District of Columbia
U.S. Marshals Office to clarify the situation. Rather than
telling MPD, Bryant isn’t “one of them”(...if he really said he
was), they dispatched several Deputy U.S. Marshals to the
scene. Deputy Robert Williamson, a supervising deputy
arrived and testified later that he inferred/heard Bryant say he

7

was a SPUSM. (10/4/94, TR. At 21,27) yet he too never told
his superior or anyone else until trial.

Ironically, and yet one of the essential elements under
this statute, the testimony at trial developed that it was
Herbert M. Rutherford II, (then U.S. Marshal for the District
of Columbia), who “demanded and obtained” that Bryant not
be arrested and had him, his vehicle, and its contents brought
to the Marshals office.

Despite this troublesome conflict, and in the face of
the clear, unbiased testimony of Agent Perkins, and others,
including Carl Crawford, security director for the Mayflower
Hotel, on-the-scene - vouching for Bryant’s “denial” and
depiction of events, Judge Lambreth finds him guilty.

The court as to count 1 specifically found that Bryant
claimed to be a Special Deputy U.S. Marshal, during the
course of his detention at the Mayflower Hotel, crediting the
testimony of Agent Conord and Deputy Williamson.
(10/16/94, Trial 7) He “rejected” Bryant’s testimony and
others on Count 3, and similarly he found that Bryant
represented to Agent Conord and to Deputy Williamson he
was a Special Deputy U.S. Marshal (The Judge “acquitted”
Bryant of the firearms charge).

On August 31, 1995 the Court sentenced Bryant to six
(6) months incarceration.

Mr. Bryant appealed his conviction, however, the
D.C. Circuit “affirmed” both convictions in a highly unusual
opinion.

a =

8
4. The D.C, Circuit’s Ruling

The case was argued before Judges Silberman,
Henderson and Tatel, with Judge Henderson writing the
opinion for the Court and also writing a concurring Opinion as
did Judge Silberman.

At oral argument, prior to an opinion being rendered,
Judge Henderson, on the Court’s own motion, requested
“supplemental briefs” on the issue of whether a Special
Deputy U.S. Marshal was covered by Title 18, United States
Code Section 912. Both sides briefed the issues and
submitted same prior to the July 8, 1997 ruling.

The court in its opinion, despite the apparent conflicts,
declined to reverse the conviction due to the deference
afforded the trial judge. Ironically, despite Judge Henderson
raising the above-issue at oral argument, she never addressed
it in the majority opinion, but concludes in her concurring
opinion that she believes a Special Deputy Marshal is_not an
officer or employee of the U.S.... the impersonation of which
is prohibited by Title 18, USC 912. Further she believes that
the circuit precedent is wrong!

Also, Judge Silberman, joined in the majority
affirmation, but wrote separately, ending by saying he was
powerless, given the scope of review of a district judge’s
factual finding from seeking to rectify this gross injustice!

Lastly, both Judge Henderson and Judge Silberman
stated that not only would they never have convicted Bryant,
neither would have even prosecuted him for these alleged acts
and unusual circumstances.

9
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT
L

THERE IS A CONFLICT AMONG THE CIRCUITS
AND/OR NO CLEAR MANDATE AS TO WHETHER A
SPECIAL DEPUTY UNITED STATES MARSHAL IS
AN “EMPLOYEE OR OFFICER” AS PROSCRIBED
BY TITLE 18, UNITED STATES CODE, SECTION 912.

Basically, your petitioner submits that (A) the Specia!
Deputy United States Marshal designation/appointment does
not make one so appointed an “employee or officer” of the
United States Government, and (B) there was no
constitutional authority for appointment of special deputies,
and (C) Special Deputy United States Marshals are honorary
posts and clearly distinguishable from Deputy United States
Marshals.

Title 18, United States Code, Section 912, commonly
referred to as “Personation of a Federal Officer” proscribes |
“falsely assum[ing] or pretend[ing] to be an officer or
employee acting under the authority of the United States or
any department, agency or officer thereof. . .” 18 U.S.C.
Section 912. It is a conviction under this statute which, in
part, forms the basis of Bryant's appeal.

Neither Title 18, generally, nor Section 912, specially,
define “officer” or “employee” as the terms are to be applied
when enforcing the statute. Thus,

the governing principles indicate that penal statutes
are to be interpreted with exactitude.

10

“Reasonable precision in the definitior. of crime has
been regarded as a desideratum by free people since the early
days of common law.” Moreover, the specificaiion of
criminal offenses is peculiarly the business, not of courts, but
of legislatures. Criminal statutes are thus “to be construed
strictly, not loosely; [s}tatutes will not be read to create
crimes. . Bey ed i erecta ER
“ambiguity” concerning the ambit of statutes
“should be resolved in favor of lenity.” Zaimi vy. United
States, 476 F.2d 511, 523-24 (D.C. Cir. 1973) (citations
omitted) (emphasis added). 3

The United States Supreme Court held in Pierce v.
United States, 314 U.S. 306, 86 L.Ed. 226, 62 S. Ct. 237
(1941), “[w]hile this act [§ 912's predecessor] should be
interpreted so as to give full effect to its plain terms, the court
should not depart from its words and context.” 314 U.S. at
311-12; 86 L.Ed. at 231; 62 S. Ct. at 240 (holding an officer
or employee of a government corporation is not an officer or
employee of the government under the language of the
statute). Although the Pierce court addresses corporations
owned or controlled by the United States and distinguishes
them from “the government” language as contained in the
statute, the law is equally applicable to the distinctions
existing between Special Deputy U.S. Marshals and federal
officers and employees. As in Pierce where the Court
refused to expand the language of the statute, this Honorable
Court is prohibited from departing from the the plain terms of
“officer or employee” as contemplated by the drafters of §
912. Expanding “officer or employee” to include a Special
Deputy United States Marshal, who is not an officer or
employee, is error.

‘
es |
" TS. OR ee ee pat ant) Pony " i Sie

1]

“As a general rule, an officer of the United States is
one who holds his place by virtue of an appointment by the
President, by one of the federal courts of justice, or by the
heads of federal departments authorized to make such
appointment . . . it must be something more than
employment.” 63 Am. Jur 2d, Public Officers and Employees,
§ 18, p.679 (1984) (citations omitted). “Although individuals
may occupy positions which are publicly funded and
authorized by statute, this does not compel the conclusion
that they are public officers. Instead, it is the nature of the
office, the powers wielded, and the responsibilities carried out
that are the key considerations.” Id. at § 12, 675-76.

Bryant asserts that under no definition does “Special
Deputy United States Marshal” qualify as an officer or an
employee. The disclaimer plainly depicted on the
identification cards issued to Special Deputies, states:

The individual named herein is appointed,
under authority delegated by the Attorney
General, to perform th. ties of the Office of
Special Deputy United es Marshal as
directed by an appréj..«ic official of the
United States Marshals Service or some other

employment by the United States Marshal
Service, the United States Department of
Justice, or the United States Government.
The appointee agrees to perform the duties
required under this Special Deputation with
the knowledge that he or she is neither
entering into an employment agreement with
the Federal Government or any element

12

thereof nor being appointed to any positios:
in the Federal Service by virtue of this
special deputation. The appointee
authorities vested in him or her by this special
deputation can only be exercised in furtherance
of en een eae nae eee
specially deputized and extends only so far as
may be necessary to faithfully complete that
mission. Moreover, those authorities
terminate at the expiration of the term of the

Special Deputation.

It seems apparent from the specific language above
that a special deputy is not an employee and cannot be
considered more than an employee. Therefore, he cannot
qualify as an officer or as an employee under the statute.

Additionally, when Bryant was a special deputy he
received no compensation for the title bestowed upon him.
Lack of compensation further evidences the lack of official or
employment status of a special deputy. See Metcalf & Eddy
y._Mitchell, 269 U.S. 514, 70 L.Ed. 384, 46 S. Ct. 172
(1925); Hall v. Wisconsin, 103 U.S. 4, 26 L.Ed. 302 (1880);
United States v. Germaine, 99 U.S. 508, 25 L.Ed. 482

(1879); United States v. Hartwell, 73 U.S. 385, 18 L.Ed. 830
(1868).

Title 28, United States Code §§ 561 et seq. establishes
and enables the United States Marshals Service. Though the
sections discuss in detail the powers and duties of deputy
marshals, no mention is made of special deputies and their
powers or duties. There is no constitutional authority for the
appointment of special deputies. There is regulatory authority
for such appointments.

13

During the grand jury questioning of former Director
John Twomey, Mr. Twomey testified that “[t]he original
authority to appoint special deputy U.S. marshals comes from
the original creation of the office of U.S. Marshal . . . [but]
currently, . . . the U.S. Marshals Service authority to deputize
someone as a special deputy U.S. marshal is limited by the
Code of Federal Regulations, which specifies that we may
deputize a federal employee or a state or local sworn law
enforcement officer.”

The regulatory authority is found among 28 CFR §§
0.19, 0.111, and 0.112 (1996). Section 0.19 empowers the
Associate Attorney General with the “power and authority...
to authorize the Director of the U.S. Marshals Service to
deputize persons to perform the functions of a Deputy U.S.
Marshal.” 28 CFR §0.19 (1996). Section 0.111 generally
permits the Director “to direct and supervise all activities of
the U.S. Marshals Service” and further provides a listing of
specific activities which he oversees. Section 0.112 is entitled

“Special Deputation,” and states

[T]he Director, United States Marshals
Service, is authorized to deputize the
following persons to perform the functions of
a Deputy U.S. Marshal in any district
designated by the Director:

(2) Selected federal, state, or local law
enforcement officers whenever the law
enforcement needs of the U.S. Marshals
Service so require . . . .

28 CFR § 0.112 (1996).

Lastly, Special Deputy United States Marshals are

+z
ae
OT 2 on

i4

distinguished from Deputy United States Marshals. 28
U.S.C. §§ 561, et. seq. contain the authority for the deputy
U.S. marshals. Within these sections one can locate the
previously stated, there is no discussion pertaining to special
deputies and their duties, authority or function in general.
Chapter 37, Title 28, does provide us with bases for
distinctions between the two positions. One of the. most
apparent distinctions is found in 28 U.S.C. § 566 (d) which
States that each “marshal, deputy marshal, and any other
Official of the Service as may be designated by the Director
may carry firearms and make arrests without warrant for any
offense against the United States . . . or for any felony
cognizable under the laws of the United States if he or she has
reasonable grounds to believe that the person to be arrested
has committed or is committing such felony.” John Twomey
testified that with regard to the appointment of Bryant as a
special deputy, this statutory authority enjoyed by deputy
marshals was severely curtailed in the case of special deputies.

John Twomey, former Deputy Director of the United
States Marshals Service testified before the grand jury in this
cause that when he deputized Bryant as a special deputy, “it
was solely for the purpose of being armed to provide safe and
secure transport for police vehicles from ARGUS ... .”
(p.20). Twomey also testified that as a special deputy Bryant
did not possess the authority to carry a weapon for any other
reason or at any other time. This excludes the weaponry
allowances delineated in § 566, and therefore, effectively
excludes a special deputy from any entitlement as an officer or
employee or “other official” under these sections.

Further, § 564 specifically provides that deputy
marshals “may exercise the same powers which a sheriff of
the State may exercise in executing the laws thereof.”

15

28 U.S.C. § 564 (1988). This statute, however, does not
limit the deputy marshals’ authority to that of a sheriff but,
rather, supplements the implied powers of federal marshals.
United States v. Laub Baking Co., 283 F. Supp. 217 (D.C.
Ohio 1968). There is no indication anywhere that special
deputies possess <iis latitude. Quite to the contrary, special
deputies are very limited in their authority and are limited in
the time and scope of the exercise of their restricted authority
as evidenced, once again, by the identification badge
disclaimer.

All one has to do is look at the actual appointment to
clearly see that this position was honorary and no more than a

fund-raising type position.

Lastly, even if arguendo, it can be said that this
honorary title conferred employee/officer status, the record
below does not support the findings and conviction. Title 18,
United States Code, Section 912, requires two (2) essential
elements, (A) the false personification and (B) acting as such.

Given all the due deference to the trial judge, Bryant
was a mere braggart of his political friends, not a criminal,
and his conduct did not rise to the level prohibited by Title 18,
United States Code, Section 912. Furthermore, it was
Rutherford, not Bryant who “acted as such” and obtained the
forebearance by the Metro Police Department not to have

Bryant arrested. United States v. Rosser, 528 F.2d 652 (D.C.
Cir. 1976).

The Court’s reliance on United States vy. Maxwell,
920 F.2d 1028 (D.C. Cir.1990) is misplaced and
distinguishable from the instant case.

In Maxwell, it was clear that the appellant, did in-fact,

16

hold herself out as an employee and officer of the United
States Department of the Treasury, used printed letterheads,
etc. However, in the instant case the testimony was
contradicted and more importantly, the alleged office, existed,
but, can not be said to be an officer or employee of the
government, given the plain meaning of these terms.

Furthermore, reliance upon United States v. Diamond,
53 F.3d 249 (9th Cir. 1995) doesn’t resolve the question of
Bryant’s status either, as in that case, the officer, clearly was
acting at the direction, control and request of the U.S.
Government. Again, that case is not on point, and really deals
with Title 18, United States Code, Section 111 and 1114
which are not involved here and lend little if any support by
analogy.

Even Judge Silberman concluded that it was very
unlikely Bryant actually said he held the Special Deputy U.S.
Marshal office at the scene. Your petitioner submits that the
“very unlikely conclusion” certainly opened the door to the
Court’s jursdiction and should have allowed reversal, even
given the great deference standard. Therefore, the petition
herein should be granted to correct this gross injustice.

I.
WHETHER THE APPELLANT COURT HAD

JURISDICTION TO CORRECT WHAT IT CALLED
A “GROSS INJUSTICE”

Just a cursory reading of the opinion below clearly
shows that the D.C. Circuit should have reversed the
convicitions below even under the difficult standard of
deference.

17

Conflicting testimony, questionable memory, bias and
concern about an alleged “cover-up” abounded.

These unexplainable actions, alleged calls that never
occured and selective memory all amounted to a huge gap in
this case, preventing a conviction by a reasonable-minded
jury.

There was no convincing evidence upon which a
guilty verdict could be based.

Despite the prosecutors contempt for petitioner’s
wealth or family background, there exists a fundamental tenet
in our criminal jurisprudence that a jury (or judge herein)
should not premise its verdict upon a general evaluation of the
defendant’s character but rather upon an assessment of the
evidence relevant to the particular crime with which the
defendant is presently charged. United States v. Lauelle, 751

F.2d. 1266, 1275 (D.C. Cir. 1985); United States v. Sutton,
801 F.2d. 1346, 1360 (D.C. Cir. 1986)

The standard governing review of a guilty verdict is to
accord the verdict great deference and the conviction must be
reversed when the evidence is such that a reasonable mind

could not find guilt beyond a reasonable doubt. United States
y. Caste Llanos, 731 F.2d. 979, 984 (D.C. Cir. 1984)

Your petitioner agrees with this standard, however the
deference while great is not absolute and given the
acknowleged conflict and related unusual events, the Court of
Appeals should have reversed the conviction below.

|
|
|

18

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petition for writ of
certiorari should be granted.

. COLETTE & ASSOCIATES
425 TOMBIGBEE STREET
JACKSON, MS 39201

(601) 355-6277 phone

(601) 355-6283 fax

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_1877%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
