# Amicus Curiae Brief — Kavanau v. Santa Monica Rent Control Board

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_1771%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1998
- **Citation:** 522 U.S. 1077

## Text

r?iit8rDS =
Sy ) DEC 16 1997

United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1997

EarL W. KAVANAU,
Petitioner,
vs.
SANTA MONICA RENT CONTROL BOARD,
an agency of the City of Santa Monica, California,
Respondent.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari
to the
California Supreme Court

BRIEF OF WESTERN MOBILEHOME
PARKOWNERS’ ASSOCIATION, as AMICUS
CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF THE PETITIONER

GEORGE KIMBALL*
KIMBALL & WEINER LLP
555 South Flower Street
Suite 4540
Los Angeles, California 90740
Telephone: 213/538-3800
* Counsel of Record

Bowne of Los Angeles, Inc., Law Printers (213) 627-2200

EE eee ecm ree

i
TABLE OF CONTENTS

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE ................
SIAIEMeN: OF THE CASE... 2.2... cc ccc eaee
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT .........00.000000.

I. SANTA MONICA HAS TAKEN KAVANAU’S
PGE ie GS KVUR PEA DS hes Ns ees ebeiseeees 5

Il. WHEN CONFISCATION OCCURS,
COMPENSATION MUST BE PAID

CONCLUSION

ss

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Agins v. Tiburon, 24 Cal. 3d 266, 598 P. 2d 25, 157 Cal.
Rptr. 372, affd on other grounds, 447 U.S. 255
(IDG - cvacnrccsunsngnaphsdepaneiasaan 5,9, 10

Duquesne Light Co. v. Barasch, 486 U.S. 299 (1989) ..5,7,8

Federal Power Comm'n v. Hope Natural Gas Co.,
aoe Ss Oe Ce ov a ncnd cmcsabaeyes sane 7

First English Evangelical Lutheran Church of Glendale
v. County of Los Angeles, 482 U.S. 304 (1987) ..5,9,10

Kavanau v. Santa Monica Rent Control Board, 19 Cal.
App. 4th 730, 23 Cal. Rptr. 2d 724 (1993) ........ 3,6

Penn Central Transportation Co. v. City of New York,
438 U.S. 104, reh’g denied, 439 U.S. 883 (1978)... 7

Pennsylvania Coal Company v. Mahon, 260 U.S. 393
LEE sc ncces * bxebiedicutaeneecda 6

Permian Basin Area Rate Cases, 390 U.S. 747 (1968) 5

Presault v. Interstate Commerce Comm'n, 494

Che DEGUDD 0 iss Nahasduseera ae 10
Regional Rail Reorganization Act Cases, 419 U.S. 102

CRW P OE bc nb bowen deo sbaenaeaes tenes 9
20th Century Insurance Co. v. Garamendi, 8 Cal. 4th

216, 292-295, 32 Cal. Rptr. 2d 807, (1994)....... 8

United States v. General Motors Corp., 323 U.S. 373
CROs 56:50 ose i heed ls oo Sees 6

No. 97-582

In the Supreme Court

OF THE

United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1997

EARL W. KAVANAU,
Petitioner,
VS.
SANTA MONICA RENT CONTROL BOARD,
an agency of the City of Santa Monica, California,
Respondent.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari
to the
California Supreme Court

BRIEF OF WESTERN MOBILEHOME
PARKOWNERS’ ASSOCIATION, as AMICUS
CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF THE PETITIONER

This brief is submitted with the written consent of all
parties, filed with the Clerk of the Court.’

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

Amicus curiae Western Mobilehome Parkowners’ Associ-
ation (“amicus” or “WMA” ) is the leading trade associa-
tion for California’s mobilehome and manufactured housing
industry. WMA is a nonprofit, tax-exempt organization
organized under the laws of California.

'This brief was prepared by amicus’ counsel, at amicus’ expense.

2

WMaA’s members include owners and operators of more
than eighteen hundred mobilehome and manufactured
housing communities throughout California. For many
young families and older citizens, affordable housing means
manufactured housing. Rent controls, regulations of land
use and constitutional protection of property rights are
matters of great interest to WMA members.

Amicus recognizes that local rent controls and related
regulations are facts of life in many communities. Effective
legal remedies protect owners of rental property from (and
help to deter) such abuses as the action of Santa Monica’s
elected rent board, dominated by tenant partisans, which
deprived this Petitioner of $130,000.

The decision below, however, effectively revives former
California precedents, overruled by this Court, that pre-
cluded compensation when private property is taken by
regulation. The takings clause of the Fifth Amendment has
long protected regulated businesses against confiscatory rate
regulations by assuring investors a fair return and, if neces-
Sary, just compensation. California now denies any compen-
sation, so long as the constitutional issues can be
characterized as denial of due process.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Many communities control rents. Santa Monica’s con-
trols, adopted by initiative in 1979, are among the nation’s
most stringent, and have fueled extensive litigation. Many
reported decisions (and scores, possibly hundreds, of unre-
ported lower court cases) involve Santa Monica’s rent law.

Santa Monica’s initiative froze rents, rolled them back to
levels in effect during 1978, and thereafter allowed minimal
annual increases, as well as individual increases, decided
upon applications, after hearing and, if necessary, an appeal
to an elected rent control board. Tenants comprise a major-

3

ity of the local electorate. Tenant partisans dominate the
rent board.

Current regulations restrict individual increases under a
net operating income formula. No increase can, in any
event, exceed twelve percent (12%), twice the Employment
Cost Index, or $50 per month.’

Mr. Earl Kavanau owns ten apartments in Santa Monica,
a prosperous coastal suburb of Los Angeles. His building
was awash in red ink, and lost more than $98,000 in the
twelve months ended October 31, 1989. Under the Board’s
own formula, Mr. Kavanau was entitled to $35,000 in
additional rent, but the Board allowed only $5,184, because
of a regulation that limited increases to 12% per annum.
Additional increases were to be spread over eight years,
condemning Mr. Kavanau to years of heavy losses.

In Kavanau v. Santa Monica Rent Control Board, 19 Cal.
App. 4th 730, 23 Cal. Rptr. 2d 724 (1994) (“Kavanau I”),
the court (1) found the 12% percent limit, as applied to
Mr. Kavanau, was unconstitutional, (2) directed the lower
court to issue its writ, directing the rent board to allow
immediate implementation of the full increase computed by
the hearing examiner, and (3) required the court, and not
the board or its staff, to determine all questions that might
arise concerning implementation of the increases.

These increases were prospective, so Mr. Kavanau filed
suit to recover the $130,000 he had lost during the four years
that elapsed after his original application. Mr. Kavanau

2Santa Monica Rent Control Board (the “Board”) Regula-
tion 4107(a). At the time of Mr. Kavanau’s original application,
Regulation 4107 (a) limited increases to “twelve percent (12%) or twice
the Employment Cost Index, whichever is greater.” Kavanau v. Santa
Monica Rent Control Board, 19 Cal. App. 4th 730, 731, n.1 23 Cal.
Rptr. 2d 724, 725, n.1 (1993).

4

reasoned that the rent board, having subjected him to
confiscatory regulation, had taken his property.

Nonetheless, the California Court of Appeal and the
California Supreme Court affirmed the trial court’s dismis-
sal of Mr. Kavanau’s complaint. The California Supreme
Court characterized the underlying imposition of confisca-
tory rates as a denial of due process, rather than a taking,
and denied any remedy, other than further applications to
the same elected Board that committed the original consti-
tutional violation several years before.

In this case, we need not decide whether a rent regula-
tion that violates a particular property owner’s right to
due process also constitutes a taking, because, assum-
ing it otherwise might, we hold that a remedy for the
due process violation, if available and adequate, obvi-
ates a finding of a taking....

66 Cal. Rptr. 672 at 686.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

This Court upholds price and rate regulations, so long as
they allow investors in regulated businesses a fair return.
This principle, long applied to public utilities, rental housing
and other regulated businesses, rests upon both the due
process and takings clauses of the Fifth Amendment. The
state may neither deprive a citizen of property without due
process of law, nor take that property for public use without
paying just compensation.

The decision below reasons, in effect, that property may
be taken without compensation, so long as (i) the depriva-
tion of property can be characterized as a denial of due

*Santa Monica’s rent law, an initiative amendment to the city charter,
makes no provision for any relief to owners in Mr. Kavanau’s
predicament.

5

process, and (ii) the affected citizen has some uncertain
prospect for relief in further proceedings before the offend-
ing agency.

Price control is unconstitutional if arbitrary, discrimina-
tory or demonstrably irrelevant to legitimate public policies.
Permian Basin Area Rate Cases, 390 U.S. 747, 769-770
(1968). If regulated rates are insufficient, use of the regu-
lated property is taken without just compensation. Duquesne
Light Co. v. Barasch, 486 U.S. 299, 309 (1989). The
constitutional protections are complementary, not mutually
exclusive.

| When private property is taken, compensation must be
paid. This Court so held in First English Evangelical Lu-
theran Church of Glendale y. County of Los Angeles,
482 U.S. 304, 314-315 (1987) (“First English”’), rejecting
California’s former rule in Agins v. Tiburon, 24 Cal. 3d 266,
598 P.2d 25, 157 Cal. Rptr. 372, affd on other grounds,
447 U.S. 255 (1980) that, when regulations take a citizen’s
property, equitable and declaratory relief were the only
possible remedies, and compensation cannot be paid.

In effect, the decision below revives California’s former
tule in Agins, denying compensation for regulatory takings
| of property. Santa Monica has confiscated a substantial
portion of Mr. Kavanau’s rental income, in violation of the
Constitution. This Court has held that when private property
is taken, just compensation must be paid.

I.

SANTA MONICA HAS TAKEN KAVANAU’S
PROPERTY.

Under the Constitution, private property may not be
taken for public use without just compensation. This Court
has held that the Constitution protects all property, real and
personal, tangible and intangible. The term “property” as

6

used in the takings clause includes the entire “group of
rights inhering in the citizen’s [ownership].” United States
v. General Motors Corp., 323 U.S. 373 (1945). It is not used
in the “vulgar and untechnical sense of the physical thing
with respect to which the citizen exercises rights recognized
by law. [Instead, it] denote[s] the group of rights inhering
in the citizen’s relation to the physical thing, as the right to
possess, use and dispose of it.... The constitutional provi-
sion is addressed to every sort of interest the citizen may
possess.” Id. at 377-78.

The Fifth Amendment’s takings clause thus protects
Mr. Kavanau, his small apartment building, and the income
he receives to operate the property. Most rental properties
are small businesses, owned by individuals or small partner-
ships. Rental properties are usually mortgaged. Owners
suffering confiscatory returns risk losing the property to
creditors through foreclosure or bankruptcy. In a very real
sense, their property may be taken from them if regulated
rents are insufficient to pay the mortgage. Mr. Kavanau
evidently held on long enough to obtain some prospective
relief after Kavanau I. Not everyone will necessarily be so
fortunate.

In Kavanau I, the Court of Appeal determined that Santa
Monica’s arbitrary limitation on rent increases was confisca-
tory, as applied to Mr. Kavanau’s small property. There can
be no doubt that confiscatory regulation “goes too far.” This
Court long ago recognized, in a seminal opinion by Justice
Holmes, that “while property may be regulated to a certain
extent, if regulation goes too far it will be recognized as a
taking.” Pennsylvania Coal Company v. Mahon, 260
U.S. 393, 415 (1922).

Later decisions have elaborated upon Pennsylvania Coal,
identifying various factors that may have particular signifi-
cance, including a regulation’s economic impact, the extent
of interference with the owner’s reasonable, investment-

7

backed expectations, the character of the regulation, its
purpose and the benefits to the owner, among others. Penn
Central Transportation Co. v. City of New York, 438
U.S. 104, 123-25, reh’g denied, 439 U.S. 883 (1978).

Here, the impact of confiscatory regulations has been
substantial, and might have been ruinous. Mr. Kavanau’s
expenditures and investment are undisputed. He was fairly
entitled to expect Santa Monica’s rent law to be applied
constitutionally. As for character and benefit, the applica-
tion of Santa Monica’s arbitrary limit was confiscatory,
without benefit to Mr. Kavanau. Indeed, rent control gener-
ally provides no benefits to the owners of rental property.
There can be few clearer cases of regulatory taking than
confiscatory application of rate regulations.

Kavanau I’s determination that Santa Monica had denied
Mr. Kavanau a fair return echoed decisions of this Court.
More than fifty years ago, the U.S. Supreme Court inter-
preted a statutory “just and reasonable” standard for gas
rates to assure a:

return to the equity owner ... commensurate with
returns on investments in other enterprises having cor-
responding risks. That return, moreover, should be
sufficient to assure confidence in the financial integrity
of the enterprise, so as to maintain its credit and to
attract capital.

Federal Power Comm'n v. Hope Natural Gas Co., 320 U.S.
591 at 603, (1944) Losses like those Mr. Kavanau suffered
preclude maintenance of credit, and invite foreclosure of
mortgaged property.

The Court reaffirmed these principles in Duquesne Light
Co. v. Barasch, 488 U.S. 299 (1989).

The guiding principle has been that the Constitution
protects utilities from being limited to a charge for their
property serving the public which is so “unjust” as to be

8

confiscatory ... . If the rate does not afford sufficient
compensation, the State has taken the use of utility
property without paying just compensation and so vio-
lated the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments.

488 U.S. at 307-308. Duquesne confirmed that the constitu-
tional assurance of a fair return rests upon the takings clause
of the Fifth Amendment.

California has recognized these principles in other con-
texts. For example, in 20th Century Insurance Co. v.
Garamendi, 8 Cal. 4th 216, 292-295, 32 Cal. Rptr. 2d 807,
855-57 (1994), a challenge to initiative regulation of con-
sumer insurance, California’s Supreme Court explained
that:

The takings clause limits the power of the states to
regulate, control or fix prices that producers charge
consumers for goods or services ... The crucial ques-
tion under the takings clause is whether the rate set is
just and reasonable. If it is not just and reasonable, it is
confiscatory ... “A rate is too low if it is ‘so unjust as to
destroy the value of [the] property for all the purposes
for which it was acquired’ and in so doing ‘practically
deprive[s] the owner of property without due process of
law [.]’” Thus, a producer may complain of confisca-
tion only if the rate in question does not allow it to
operate successfully. (Citations omitted.)

Mr. Kavanau’s heavy losses can scarcely be described as
“successful” operation. Plainly, he suffered confiscation, and
thus, a taking.

9

Il.

WHEN CONFISCATION OCCURS,
COMPENSATION MUST BE PAID.

The takings clause does not prohibit appropriation of any
citizen’s property, but compels the state to pay compensa-
tion when property has been taken. Thus, Santa Monica
must compensate Mr. Kavanau.

The decision below avoided this seemingly inescapable
conclusion by declining to decide whether Santa Monica’s
violation of Mr. Kavanau’s rights constituted both a taking
and a deprivation of property without due process of law
because further proceedings before the Board are a “valua-
ble benefit that satisfies the takings clause.”

Santa Monica’s initiative rent control law authorizes no
relief to owners in Mr. Kavanau’s predicament. The opinion
gives no direction, other than an admonition to consider the
cost of “confiscatory rent ceilings . . . previously imposed” in
any future proceedings. 66 Cal. Rptr. at 686. Mr. Kavanau
has no “reasonable, certain and adequate provision for
obtaining compensation”. Regional Rail Reorganization Act
Cases, 419 U.S. 102, 124-25 (1974). He can only hope that
the same Board, applying the same law, and lacking any
explicit power to compensate him, will be more generous
now, after two lawsuits, and eight years of proceedings in
four different courts.

This Court has held, however, that when confiscation
occurs, compensation must be paid. In First English, supra,
the plaintiff church, owner of a camp in the San Gabriel
Mountains outside Los Angeles challenged flood control
regulations that temporarily precluded all use of the
church’s property. California courts denied any relief, rely-
ing upon the California Supreme Court’s opinion in Agins,
supra, “that damages are unavailable to address a ‘tempo-

10

rary’ regulatory taking.” 482 U.S. at 312. This Court over-
ruled Agins:

[The Fifth Amendment] provides in relevant part that
“private property [shall not] be taken for public use,
without just compensation.” As its language indicates,
and as the Court has frequently noted, this provision
does not prohibit the taking of private property, but
places a condition on the exercise of that power....
[I]t is designed not to limit the governmental interfer-
ence, but rather to secure compensation . . . Thus, gov-
ernment action that works a taking of property rights
necessarily implicates the “constitutional obligation to
pay just compensation.” . . . [T]he Court has fre-
quently repeated the view that, in the event of a taking,
the compensation remedy is required by the
Constitution.

First English, 482 U.S. at 314-316. See also, Presault v.
Interstate Commerce Comm'n, 494 U.S. 1, 11 (1990).

CONCLUSION

For these reasons, amicus respectfully requests that this
Court grant Mr. Kavanau’s petition for a writ of certiorari to
review and overturn the decision below, which:

¢ Contravenes authoritative decisions of this Court,

¢ Implicitly revives precedents overruled by this Court,
and

* Deprives Mr. Kavanau of the constitutional remedy
for confiscation, merely because the underlying consti-

11

tutional violation can be characterized as deprivation of
property without due process of law.

Dated: December 16, 1997
Respectfully submitted,

GEORGE KIMBALL

KIMBALL & WEINER LLP
Attorney for Amicus Curiae
Western Mobilehome
Parkowners’ Association

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_1771%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
