# Opposition Brief — North Carolina v. Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_1757%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1998
- **Citation:** 522 U.S. 1108

## Text

HB ihk &@ “4

©) 4 JAN 21 1996,

Nos. 97-836 and 97-839 | b CLERK
rg ene re

In the Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1997

STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA, PETITIONER
v.

FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION

ROANOKE RIVER BASIN ASSOCIATION, PETITIONER
Vv.

FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE
FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION
IN OPPOSITION

SETH P. WAXMAN
Solicitor General
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530-0001
(202) 514-2217
DOUGLAS W. SMITH
General Counsel
JAY L. WITKIN
Solicitor
JOHN H. CONWAY
Deputy Solicitor
EDWARD S. GELDERMANN
Attorney

Federal Energy Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20426

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the Federal Energy Regulatory Commis-
sion correctly determined, in approving an amend-
ment to an existing hydropower license, that no water
quality certification by the State of North Carolina
was required under Section 401(a)(1) of the Clean
Water Act, 33 U.S.C. 1341(a)(1), because the amend-
ment would not “result in any discharge into” North
Carolina waters.

(I)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
SERA ao il 1
ESS SAR os tern neon eo ec 2
Statutory provisions involved .............ccccsccceecsescseccceeeeees 2
ESET ETRE aE ae A meee 3
MNS tocibiehncehitbsiibceoidbiilanciptbektaianacteceis gets io 11
a 17

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

American Rivers, Inc. v. FERC, 129 F.3d 99 (2d
oe. SERENE SUES SRE AT? Re AR ee 13

Arkansas v. Oklahoma, 503 U.S. 91 (1992) ............. 16

City of Fredericksburg v. FERC, 876 F.2d 1109
2 OREPERE TTR) Fe SP Oe ee a: eee 12

International Paper Co. v. Ouellette, 479 U.S. 481
| ORERSSE COST TEA WIRE CARNEROS eae eS 16

North Carolina v. Hudson:

665 F. Supp. 428 (E.D.N.C. 1987) .o....eccceececeeeeeee 4-5
731 F. Supp. 1261 (E.D.N.C. 1990) .0......cceeeeeeeeeees 5

North Carolina v. Ronald H. Brown,

No. 94-1569 (TFH) (D.D.C. Sept. 27, 1995) ............. 5

PUD No. 1 of Jefferson County v. Washington Dep't
of Ecology, 511 U.S. 700 (1994) ..........cccccccsseeeseeeee 10, 15

Roanoke River Basin Ass’n v. Hudson, 940 F.2d 58
(4th Cir. 1991), cert. denied, 502 U.S. 1092 (1992) ... 4

Statutes and regulations:

Clean Water Act of 1977, 33 U.S.C. 1251 et seq.:
SSE a ee are 3
EEG 3
ESE et ae 3
EAE ESE neces 3
De ce a Ea passim
§ 401(a)(1), 33 U.S.C. 1341(a)(1) cc. ecececcceeees. 2, 4, 5, 6 :
$ 401(a)(2), 33 U.S.C. 1841(a)(2) .............cccccccccccoeeees 16 i

(IIT)

IV
Statutes and regulations—Continued: Page
§ 401(d), 33 U.S.C. 1841(d) ..............seeeeeees 2-3, 10, 14, 15
© I, Be Urs Be to idedtncd iatectscesennsnnsesctieastuanes 16-17
© ORG BP Ca ee athins cwisindacdahsccasateiceneasstabdanen 4,14
Coastal Zone Management Act of 1972, 16 U.S.C. 1451
OE OOD. sanrashinndatadatiniinbentintiaannnavsiessnipanantnctinianynigevehs 5
DE UK, SED. déptveisenscsceoecrentsiansincoscisoces 5
Federal Power Act, 16 U.S.C. 791a et seq.:
S DEER), Fee Sire: See ED ee havictornnktarenscenttnasetotencseses 3
© Fh Ba ee SE cetitettanintis crsanonsorescceaprntsesernee 3
© ©, BS Fae air cata iaishdacscnciscisvnvnnversansingreones 3
© TOlm), 1G DO. TRIGA) cccsessscocsicsicosescnensesteitoeces 3
BO SF Re alates dada behcicttens snddlicsonsnseicabiniceasionans 7
36 Fa TED srncktnsegcisesvicsareibvenaneenintnsiionl 7, 9, 15
40 C.F.R.:
INE SE IIIRE resis ch cenrevecenaspcctsanteinnceinenehinenbousiniaabis 15
SRE SITE thcsicciconessovsiapsvnnsénxénccsesemadasumeedicansateets 17
I SERINE aii ies daissscnvecscastocicscoccinatebideaaataion 17

In the Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1997

No. 97-836
STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA, PETITIONER

v.

FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION

No. 97-839
ROANOKE RIVER BASIN ASSOCIATION, PETITIONER

Vv.

FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE
FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION
IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. la-
46a’) is reported at 112 F.8d 1175. The court’s earlier
order remanding the record to FERC, and the amend-
ment to that order, appear at Pet. App. 49a-54a.

1 Unless otherwise indicated, references to “Pet. App.”
refer to the Appendix in No. 97-836.

(1)

2

The opinions of the Federal Energy Regulatory
Commission (Pet. App. 55a-129a) are reported at 72
F.E.R.C. ¢ 61,075, 72 F.E.R.C. 9 61,283, and 177
F.E.R.C. ¥ 61,138.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals (Pet. App. 47a-
48a) was entered on May 9, 1997. A petition for
rehearing was denied on August 21, 1997. Pet. App.
130a-13la. The petition for a writ of certiorari was
filed on November 19, 1997. The jurisdiction of this
Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Section 401(a)(1) of the Clean Water Act (CWA), 33
U.S.C. 1341(a)(1), provides, in pertinent part:

Any applicant for a Federal license or permit to
conduct any activity including, but not limited to,
the construction or operation of facilities, which
may result in any discharge into the navigable
waters, shall provide the licensing or permitting
agency a certification from the State in which the
discharge originates or will originate * * * that
any such discharge will comply with * * * [the
effluent limitations and water quality require-
ments of the CWA]. No license or permit shall
be granted until the certification required by
this section has been obtained or has been waived
* * *. No license or permit shall be granted if
certification has been denied by the State.

Section 401(d) of the CWA, 33 U.S.C. 1341(d), provides:

Any certification provided under this section —
shall set forth any effluent limitations and other
limitations, and monitoring requirements neces-

en ee

3

sary to assure that any applicant for a Federal
license or permit will comply with any applicable
effluent limitations and other limitations [under
33 U.S.C. 1811, 1312, 1816, and 1317], and with any
other appropriate requirement of State law set
forth in such certification, and shall become a
condition on any Federal license or permit subject
to the provisions of this section.

STATEMENT

1. Sections 4(e) and 10(a) of the Federal Power Act
(FPA), 16 U.S.C. 797(e), 803(a)(1), authorize the Fed-
eral Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) to
issue licenses for the construction and operation of
hydroelectric projects, subject to the condition that
the project licensed “shall be such as in the judgment
of the Commission will be best adapted to a compre-
hensive plan for improving or Jeveloping a waterway
or waterways.” 16 U.S.C. 803(a)(1). In addition,
Section 6 of the FPA, 16 U.S.C. 799, provides that
“[eJach such license shall be conditioned upon accep-
tance by the licensee of all of the terms and conditions
of the [FPA], and such further conditions, if any, as
the Commission shall prescribe.” Licenses may then
be altered only upon mutual agreement between the
licensee and the Commission. [bid.

2. In 1983, the City of Virginia Beach, Virginia,
applied for a dredge-and-fill permit from the U.S.

2 Section 3(11) of the FPA, 16 U.S.C. 796(11), defines
“project” as the “complete unit of improvement or develop-
ment, consisting of a power house, all water conduits, all dams
and appurtenant works and structures * * * and all water-
rights, rights-of-way, ditches, dams, reservoirs * * * the use
and occupancy of which are necessary or appropriate in the
maintenance and operation of such unit.”

4

Army Corps of Engineers under Section 404 of the
Clean Water Act, 33 U.S.C. 1344 to construct a new
water supply facility that would withdraw up to 60
million gallons per day (mgd) from Pea Hill Creek.
The Creek is a tributary of the Roanoke River, a
navigable waterway that traverses both Virginia and
North Carolina.’ Specifically, the City proposed to
install a water intake structure on the Virginia side
of the Lake Gaston hydropower project licensed by
FERC to the Virginia Electric and Power Company
(VEPCO), and to construct a 76-mile pipeline, en-
tirely in Virginia, to transport the water to treat-
ment facilities near the City of Norfolk, Virginia.‘
Shortly thereafter, the Commonwealth of Virginia
issued a water quality certification for the project in
connection with VEPCO’s dredge-and-fill permit ap-
plication to the Corps of Engineers, pursuant to
Section 401(a)(1) of the Clean Water Act, 33 U.S.C.
1341(a)(1). Subsequently, in 1984, the Corps of Engi-
neers determined to issue the requested dredge-and-
fill permit, over the opposition of the State of North
Carolina and the Roanoke River Basin Association
(RRBA).° Pet. App. 3a-4a.

3 The Roanoke River basin “extends approximately 400
miles from its headwaters in the Blue Ridge mountains of
Virginia to its mouth in the Albemarle Sound of North
Carolina. Approximately 64 percent of the basin lies in Vir-
ginia, and the rest in North Carolina.” Environmental Impact
Statement (EIS) at 3-1 (C.A. Deferred Appendix (C.A. Def.
App.) 3210).

4 Virginia Beach has no potable water supply of its own, and
must purchase all of its water from the adjacent city of
Norfolk. Pet. App. 89a.

5 The history of the Corps of Engineers proceedings is set
out in North Carolina v. Hudson, 665 F.Supp. 428 (E.D.N.C.

——

a U

5

In 1991, VEPCO filed an application with FERC, on
behalf of Virginia Beach, to amend its hydropower
license to permit the City to build the water intake
structure within the licensed project boundaries,
and to withdraw the water from a point inside those
boundaries on the Virginia side of that project.®
North Carolina and RRBA intervened before FERC
to oppose the issuance of the license amendment.’
Pet. App. 4a-6a.

In July 1995, the Commission issued a detailed envi-
ronmental impact statement (EIS) finding that Vir-
ginia Beach would need at least 60 mgd of water by
the year 2030 to alleviate severe water shortages;
that the proposed water supply project would ensure
Virginia Beach a safe, reliable, and relatively inex-
pensive source of potable water; and that the City’s

1987), North Carolina v. Hudson, 731 F.Supp. 1261 (E.D.N.C.
1990), and Roanoke River Basin Ass’n v. Hudson, 940 F.2d 58
(4th Cir. 1991), cert. denied, 502 U.S. 1092 (1992).

© VEPCO and its affiliate, North Carolina Power, serve
markets in both Virginia and North Carolina. VEPCO has
taken no position in this dispute. R. 27203-27204.

? That same year, North Carolina also lodged an objection to
the project before the Secretary of Commerce under the
Coastal Zone Management Act of 1972 (CZMA), 16 U.S.C. 1451
et seq. As aresult, FERC suspended the license amendment
proceeding pursuant to 16 U.S.C. 1456(c)(3)(A). On May 19,
1994, the Secretary of Commerce issued an order rejecting
North Carolina’s CZMA objections on the merits, and that
order was sustained on judicial review. North Carolina v.
Ronald H. Brown, No. 94-1569 (TFH) (D.D.C. Sept. 27, 1995).
Eleven days after the Secretary overruled its CZMA objec-
tions, North Carolina supplemented its opposition to the license
amendment before FERC by asserting for the first time a right
to certify the water supply project under CWA Section
401(a)(1), 33 U.S.C. 1341(a)(1).

6

proposal would be the best alternative to meet its
water needs. EIS at xviii, xxii (C.A. Def. App. 3140,
3144). Furthermore, after evaluating the proposal’s
effects on both the areas immediately surrounding
the intake structure and the downstream reaches of
the Roanoke River in North Carolina, the EIS found
that the environmental impact of the City’s water
project would be minimal. EIS at xix-xxii (C.A. Def.
App. 3141-3144).

Relying on the EIS, the Commission issued an
order that same month granting a license amendment
to allow the City’s project to proceed. Pet. App. 55a-
87a. In that order, the Commission rejected the con-
tention by petitioners that the Commission should
not amend the license unless VEPCO first obtained a
water quality certification from the State of North
Carolina pursuant to Section 401(a)(1) of the Clean
Water Act, 33 U.S.C. 1341(a)(1). Under that Section,
an applicant for a federal license or permit “which
may result in any discharge into the navigable
waters” must provide a certification from the State
“in which the discharge originates or will originate”
that the discharge will comply with the effluent
limitations and water quality standards of the Clean
Water Act, including state water quality standards.
The Commission assumed, without deciding, that that
provision applied to this case, because water is
discharged from the dam itself and the amount of
water released at the dam would be reduced by
VEPCO’s withdrawals from the Lake. The Com-
mission determined, however, that the license
amendment did not require certification by North
Carolina. The Commission based that determination
on FERC regulations that do not require
certification of activities covered by a license

7

amendment where, as it found to be the case here, the
activities would not have a material adverse impact on
the water quality in the discharge from the hydro-
power project. Pet. App. 67a-68a.° Moreover, in a
subsequent order denying rehearing (id. at 88a-106a),
the Commission concluded that North Carolina had
waived any claim that the project requires a certifica-
tion by North Carolina under Section 401(a)(1), since
it had participated fully in the Corps’ permit proceed-
ings without ever asserting before the Corps of Engi-
neers a right to certify the project. Jd. at 96a-98a.
North Carolina and RRBA then sought judicial re-
view of those orders under 16 U.S.C. 8251.

8. After initial briefing and oral argument, the
court of appeals in September 1996 remanded the
matter to the Commission, directing that the
Commission—instead of merely assuming the applica-
tion of Section 401(a) in the circumstances of this
case — should decide “whether § 401(a)(1) applies to
require a certification from North Carolina.” Pet.
App. 52a.

4. In a supplemental order on remand, entered
November 7, 1996 (Pet. App. 107a-129a), FERC con-
cluded that Section 401(a)(1) did not apply to this case,
for two reasons.

First, the Commission noted that the license
amendment sought in this case involves the removal
of water from Lake Gaston. In the Commission’s
view, “Congress intended the word ‘discharge’ [in

8 Section 4.38(f)(7)(iii) of the Commission’s Regulations, 18
C.F.R. 4.38 (f)(7)(iii), provides that an application to amend an
existing hydropower project license must include a new re-
quest for water quality certification “if the amendment would
have a material adverse impact on the water quality in the

discharge from the project.”

8

Section 401(a)(1)] to include only substances that are
added to the water in some manner, and did not intend
to include the withdrawal of the water itself within
the scope of that term.” Pet. App. 115a.

Second, the Commission concluded, “as an alterna-
tive basis for decision,” that, “even if the word ‘dis-
charge’ is ultimately determined to be broad enough
to include the removal of water from the water, * * *
the activity involved in enabling such removal occurs
entirely in (i.e., for CWA purposes ‘originates’ in)
Virginia, and not in North Carolina.” Pet. App. 118a.
For that reason, too, the Commission concluded,
certification by North Carolina was not required.

In reaching its conclusions, the Commission ex-
pressly distinguished the case before it, involving an
amendment to a license that authorizes water with-
drawal from an existing licensed project, from pro-
ceedings “in which the Commission issues an original
license to construct and operate a new hydroelectric
project” or proceedings “for a new license (relicense)
of the project after the original license has expired.”
Pet. App. 118a-119a. In cases involving original li-
censes or relicenses, the Commission explained,
there would be a discharge at “the place * * * where
the water flows from the project into the river,” and
Section 401(a)(1) thus would require certification by
the State where the discharge occurs. Jd. at 119a.

5. After the remand and after further briefing and
argument, a divided panel of the court of appeals
affirmed the Commission’s conclusion that North
Carolina did not have the right to certify the water
supply project in connection with the license amend-

9

ment proceedings.’ Pet. App. la-46a. In the court’s
view, the plain meaning of the term “discharge,” as
used in Section 401(a)(1), “contemplates the addition,
not the withdrawal, of a substance or substances.” /d.
at 17a. Because the evidence of record showed that
the operation of the pipeline project would not result
in the addition of anything to the water flowing

® The United States submitted a brief as amicus curiae at
that time. The brief noted that Section 401(a)(1) “does not
explicitly deal with amendments to licenses for activities
previously subject to certification under that provision, but the
structure of the statute suggests that it nonetheless contem-
plates that changes in a license that adversely affect the water
quality of the original discharge must be examined because the
amended license still authorizes the original discharge.” U.S.
Br. 8. That is so, the brief continued, because “an amendment
permitting an activity that does not result in a direct discharge
in North Carolina could still result in a change in the original
discharge and have a adverse effect [o]n water quality in

fill.” Ibid. The brief acknowledged that FERC had filled the
gap by enacting its regulation requiring certification where the
license amendment would cause a “material adverse impact
on the water quality n the discharge from the project.” 18
C.F.R.4.38(f(7Miii). Accordingly, the brief concluded, “North
Carolina’s 401(a)(1) rghts turn on whether the amendment

affects the original discharge in North Carolina.”

;
|

10

through the dam turbines, the court sustained the
Commission’s determination that neither the with-
drawal of water from Lake Gaston nor the reduction
in the volume of water passing through the dam
turbines in North Carolina would “result{] in a dis-
charge” for purposes of that section. Jbid.

In the court of appeals’ view, its holding in this case
was not inconsistent with this Court’s decision in
PUD No. 1 of Jefferson County v. Washington Dep’t
of Ecology, 511 U.S. 700 (1994). The court stated that
PUD No. 1 presented the question whether a mini-
mum stream flow condition imposed by the State of
Washington on a dam license under Section 401(d) of
the Clean Water Act, 33 U.S.C. 1341(d), was unlawful
because it was “unrelated to the[] specific dis-
charges” at issue. Pet. App. 19a (quoting 511 U.S. at
711). The court understood that the holding in PUD
No. 1 was that Section 401(d) “authorizes a state to
place ‘additional conditions on the activity as a whole
once the threshold condition, the existence of a
discharge, is satisfied.’” Jd. at 19a-20a (quoting 511
U.S. at 712). The court therefore found PUD No. 1
“inapposite” here, because this Court in PUD No. 1
“never attempted to define a discharge and in no way
indicated that an alteration of a discharge was suffi-
cient to invoke the certification requirement of Sec-
tion 401(a)(1).” Id. at 20a.

Judge Wald dissented. Pet. App. 32a-46a. Referring
to the majority’s assumption “that the flow of water
through the power project’s turbines in North Caro-
lina is a § 401(a)(1) ‘discharge,” she reasoned that “if
a State must consent before a new discharge is intro-
duced into its waters, then a change in that discharge
must require a new consent.” Jd. at 34a-35a. Judge
Wald recognized that a project modification “that will

11

have no effect on an existing discharge, or that will
have at most a de minimis effect on the discharge,
may perhaps be granted without requiring a new
certification from the State in which the discharge
originates.” Id. at 35a. But she rejected the major-
ity’s view that the only license modifications that
trigger the certification right are those representing
an “addition * * * of a substance or substances” to
the discharge. Jd. at 36a. In her view, the language
and structure of the Clean Water Act support her
conclusion, and the majority’s contrary approach
“threatens a congressional policy” that “States were
to be put in charge of making and enforcing the cru-
cial judgments surrounding water quality within
their borders.” Jd. at 39a.”

7. On August 21, 1997, the court of appeals rejected
petitioners’ suggestions of rehearing en banc. Judges
Wald and Tatel noted that they would grant rehearing
en banc. Pet. App. 132a-133a.

ARGUMENT

The decision of the court of appeals does not
conflict with any decision of this Court or otherwise
raise an issue warranting further review. The peti-
tions for a writ of certiorari should therefore be
denied.

© In portions of its decision not challenged in this Court,
the court of appeals rejected the Commission’s view that North
Carolina had waived its Section 401(a)(1) certification rights,
Pet. App. 9a-13a, and held that the findings underlying
FERC’s decision to grant the amendment were supported by
substantial evidence and were not arbitrary and capricious, id.
at 20a-3la. Judge Wald dissented in part from the majority’s
holding that FERC’s decision was not arbitrary and capricious.
Id. at 42a-46a.

12

1. Contrary to petitioners’ contentions (NC Pet.
17; RRBA Pet. 11), the decision of the court of appeals
does not conflict with the Fourth Circuit’s decision in
City of Fredericksburg v. FERC, 876 F.2d 1109 (1989),
a case involving an application for a new hydropower
project at a pre-existing dam. In that case, the li-
cense applicants had sent a letter to the appropriate
state agency seeking a Section 401(a)(1) certification,
but, because they had failed to file the forms that the
state agency required, the applicants had not obtained
the Section 401(a)(1) certification. FERC nonethe-
less granted the license, on the ground that the appli-
cant’s letter had constituted “a request for certifica-
tion” under Section 401(a)(1) and FERC’s own regula-
tions, and that the State had failed to act on that
request within the one-year period specified in
Section 401(a)(1). 876 F.2d at 1111.

The Fourth Circuit held in City of Fredericksburg
that FERC had erred in waiving the certification
requirement in those circumstances, because the
applicant “never made a ‘request’ for certification
within the meaning of FERC’s regulations.” 876 F.2d
at 1111. The court noted that it “rest[ed] [its] holding
solely on [its] reading of the FERC regulations.” /d.
at n.l. The court’s opinion does not indicate that
there was any dispute between the parties regard-
ing whether the project might result in a “dis-
charge” under Section 401(a)(1). The opinion in City
of Fredericksburg therefore does not mention or dis-
cuss the term “discharge” and reaches no conclusion
with respect to its meaning or application—the only
issues in this case. Accordingly, there is no conflict

13

between the decision in this case and City of
Fredericksburg."

2. North Carolina argues (Pet. 13) that “[t]here
are more than one thousand hydroelectric dams in the
United States, affecting untold numbers of rivers and
tributaries,” and that, if the decision of the court of
appeals is allowed to stand, “States will be stripped of
their ability to preserve water quality in one of the
most critical areas of environmental concern, i.e.,
regulation of the flow of water over hydroelectric
project dams.” Contrary to petitioner’s contentions,
the decision of the court of appeals can be expected to
have a very limited impact on state certification
authority under Section 401(a)(1).

Initially, the Commission’s holding will have little
impact on FERC-licensed hydropower projects that
are located entirely within a single State, which, as
RRBA concedes (Pet. 18), constitute by far the most
common type of hydropower project. In such cases,
Section 401(a)(1) requires state certification of fed-
eral license amendments that authorize the construc-
tion of water withdrawal facilities within their bor-
ders. The construction of water intake structures of

4 Petitioner North Carolina asserts (Pet. 17 n.9) that the
Second Circuit’s recent decision in American Rivers, Inc. v.
FERC, 129 F.3d 99 (1997), stands for the proposition that even
after a discharge is reviewed and certified under Section 401(a)
of the Clean Water Act, a certifying State has an interest that
must be protected if the circumstances surrounding the dis-
charge change. American Rivers is inapposite, however, as the
existence of a discharge resulting from the hydropower pro-
jects involved in that case was not questioned. Rather, the
essence of the Second Circuit’s holding was that the Commis-
sion lacks authority to review the legality of conditions on
water quality certification imposed by States pursuant to CWA
Section 401(a)(1) and (d). 129 F.3d at 100.

14

the type involved here necessarily adds substances to
the water as facilities are installed in the riverbed,
and such construction activities invariably create
disturbances of riverbed sediment that may result in
a discharge of dredge-and-fill material. See Pet. App.
118a-119a. Indeed, in this particular case, the City of
Virginia Beach was required to obtain a dredge-and-
fill permit from the Corps of Engineers under Section
404 of the Clean Water Act, 33 U.S.C. 1344. At that
time, the State of Virginia exercised its Section
401(a)(1) certification authority with regard to the
effects of both construction and operation of the
water intake facility. See C.A. Def. App. 27-31. Had
this case involved a water intake facility for a project
wholly located within the State of North Carolina,
therefore, North Carolina would have had a full
opportunity—even under the court of appeals’
decision—to exercise its Section 401(a)(1) certifica-
tion authority before the applicant could obtain the
necessary Section 404 permit from the Corps of
Engineers.

In addition, the decision will have little effect on
licenses for new hydropower projects or for which
existing licenses have expired. In those cases, opera-
tion of the project results in a discharge—the flow of
water back into the waterway after leaving the
project impoundment or bypass facilities—that could
not lawfully exist without the license. Therefore,
such new licenses require certification from the
State in which water flows back into the river. Pet.
App. 119a. Indeed, in this very case, .the license
applicant will require a Section 401(a)(1) certification
from North Carolina when VEPCO’s current license
expires in 2001. See C.A. Def. App. 3935. At that
time, North Carolina may prescribe flow-related con-

15

ditions on the overall hydropower project pursuant to
Section 401(d), 33 U.S.C. 1841(d), which permits a
State to include water quality related conditions—
including minimum flow requirements—in its Sec-
tion 401(a)(1) certification. See PUD No.1, 511 U.S.
at 711-712.” Such conditions become a condition on
the Federal license, 33 U.S.C. 1341(d), and may not be
altered by a subsequent federal license amendment,
absent the consent of the certifying agency, the EPA,
and the federal licensing agency. See 40 C.F.R.
121.2(b). North Carolina and other States may use
such minimum flow conditions to protect themselves
against subsequent federal license amendments au-
thorizing water withdrawals in an upstream State.”
The decision of the court of appeals will also have
no effect on license amendment proceedings in which
FERC’s own regulations require a state water qual-
ity certification. Under 18 C.F.R. 4.38(f)(7)(iii), “any
application to amend an existing license * * *
requires a new request for water quality certification
* * * if the amendment would have a material
adverse impact on the water quality in the discharge
from the project.” In this case, the Commission found
that the withdrawal of water would not have such a
“material adverse impact” on the discharge from the

% The court of appeals’ decision will also have little effect
on hydropower projects that operate under licenses in which
the State certification already imposes a minimum flow condi-
tion under Section 401(d).

This case does not present any question regarding the
resolution of a conflict that could develop between a State’s
action under Section 401(a) or (d) of the Clean Water Act and
an incompatible action taken in a licensing proceeding by
FERC under its Federal Power Act authority. See PUD No.
1, 511 U.S. at 722-723.

16

project in North Carolina, and it accordingly did not
require the applicant to obtain certification under the
regulation. But in cases in which a State’s water
quality is at risk—where a license amendment would
have a “material adverse impact” on a project’s
discharge—the FERC regulation, if validly applied,
cf. Pet. 14a-15a, continues to grant the State where
the discharge occurs a certification right. See note
9, supra.

Finally, petitioners overlook the protections that
continue to be afforded the States by Section 401(a)(2)
of the Clean Water Act, 33 U.S.C. 1841(a)(2). That
provision expressly confers upon “affected” States a
non-certifying role in the licensing process, to the
extent that a licensed activity is subject to Section
401(a)(1) certification by an upstream State, as it was
in this case. See Arkansas v. Oklahoma, 503 U.S. 91,
103 (1992); International Paper Co. v. Ouellette, 479
U.S. 481, 490-491 (1987). Indeed, North Carolina itself
explicitly invoked Section 401(a)(2) in 1983 during
the proceedings before the Corps of Engineers on
VEPCO’s application for Section 404 permit, when it
petitioned the Environmental Protection Agency to
act on its behalf to stop the project. See C.A. Def.
App. 62."

8. RRBA argues (Pet. 12 n.7) that the decision
below may be read to deny States the right under
Section 401(a)(1) to review new National Pollutant
Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) permits or
NPDES permit modifications under Section 402 of

4 North Carolina abandoned its efforts under Section
401(a)(2) after EPA informed the State that it had “found no
technical rationale which would cause this agency to object to
the proposed project.” C.A. Def. App. 59.

17

the Clean Water Act, 33 U.S.C. 1342, for activities
that would result in a volume reduction of preexisting
discharges. That contention is mistaken. EPA regu-
lations require Section 401(a)(1) certifications—and
thereby permit the imposition of Section 401(d)
minimum flow conditions—for permitting of ongoing
activities and amendments to such permits. 40 C.F.R.
122.62, 124.53, 124.55(a). Any change in the authorized
discharge of pollutants that violates any condition of
an NPDES permit is subject to enforcement by EPA
and the States. See 33 U.S.C. 1819.”

CONCLUSION

The petitions for a writ of certiorari should be
denied.

Respectfully submitted.

SETH P. WAXMAN
Solicitor General
DOUGLAS W. SMITH
General Counsel
JAY L. WITKIN
Solicitor
JOHN H. CONWAY
Deputy Solicitor
EDWARD S. GELDERMANN
Attorney
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

JANUARY 1998

1 RRBA contends (RBBA Pet. 8, 10) that the diminished
dam releases resulting from the water supply project may ad-
versely affect water quality in North Carolina waters by
lowering dissolved oxygen, causing water temperature to rise,
threatening the propagation of aquatic species, and causing salt
water intrusion in the lower Roanoke River. Those same
claims have already been evaluated and rejected as unsup-
ported in exhaustive opinions or reports by the Corps of Engi-
neers, the Secretary of Commerce, and the Commission.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_1757%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
