# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Feltmann v. Sieben, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_1410%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1998
- **Citation:** 522 U.S. 1075

## Text

0

Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED

927 ° 46 6 SEP 1 1 1997

No.
et OFFICE OF JHE CLERK

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1997

ROBERT DONNELL JONES,

Petitioner,

STATE OF MARYLAND,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE COURT OF SPECIAL APPEALS
OF MARYLAND

WILLIAM H. Murpny, JR.
1007 North Calvert Street
Baltimore, Maryland 21202
(410) 539-6500

September 11, 1997 Counsel for Petitioner.

Washington, D.C. © THIEL PRESS ¢ (202) 228-3286

a

(1)
QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

WAS MR. JONES' GUILTY PLEA INVOLUNTARY
UNDER STATE AND FEDERAL CONSTITUTIONS
BECAUSE THE RECORD SHOWS THAT BECAUSE
HE WAS UNDER THE INFLUENCE OF HEROIN
WHEN HE ENTERED THE PLEA, HE COULD NOT
VOLUNTARILY, KNOWINGLY AND
INTELLIGENTLY WAIVE HIS RIGHTS?

(it)
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

Petitioner: Robert Donnell Jones
Respondent: State of Maryland

(tit)

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
se ER Os ys ee eee nee i
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING....................ss0000 ii
py 8 Me A Sy ys 8 4 yg |.) Sa aaa iv
UY CMP inch ccddcabarcdeivassnessscsacbecesesenesces l
Sic ah es Sic Usvu ch dsWdausdsbvdbbedsrvecendesoseoses 2
RELEVANT STATUTES AND CONSTITUTIONAL
CI vind dvd dancvinnbeseviceseseeeese 2
RPRERIEEEU ER GH TEBE, CASE....0..cccccccccssccevsesccesees 3
A. Evidence Supporting the Involuntariness of
dn sch leceekessdbbionmieshtseeessscereess 3
B. Decision of the Court of Special Appeals of
ere Riau cat dueisheehvenehscosesse 7
oat Stage of Proceedings Where Federal
EE, ics bidnsnisabdbide thtusdsenecnsonves 8
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION............. 1]

Mr. Jones’ guilty plea was involuntary under State and
Federal constitutions because the record shows that
because he was under the influence of heroin when he

entered the plea, he could not voluntarily, knowingly

and intelligently waive his rights....................0 1]
eer cccckebesiasstianershontchovesnenssescesces 22
APPENDICES:

Appendix A - Relevant Constitutional Provisions
case sah anche Ghekdahiabecsisisorsnbaescendes la

(iv)

Appendix B - Entry declining review, Court of Appeals

of Maryland, dated June 11, 1997.......... eee 3a
Appendix C - Opinion, Court of Special Appeals of
Maryland, COee POD, Dir ssceiscdatsicesdescctiinreceses 4a

Appendix D - Final Judgment Entry, Baltimore City,
Maryland, Circuit Court, dated March 3, 1994....... 14a

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page

Cases:
Boykin v. Alabama, 395 U.S. 238, 89 S.Ct. 1709,

Ro es By, , Sperm 19
Fairbanks v. State, 331 Md. 482 (1993)................008. 13,14
Flippins v. United States, 747 F.2d 1089, 1091

I Se. ike cies tonstas bac uaesitilidin cintlasinaeiinabniaennsn 12
Hirabayeshi v. United States, 627 F.Supp. 1445

a FR ee eee 12
Kercheval v. United States, 274 U.S. 220, 47 S.Ct. 582,

5) ee A ORs) Se error eee 19

Machibroda v. United States, 368 U.S. 487, 82 S.Ct. 510,
7 be ee ee re Schick 19

Mathis v. United States, 369 F.2d 43 (4th Cir. 1966)..... 12

McCarthy v. United States, 294 U.S. 459, 89 S.Ct. 1166
Ta De ee TR CR xnrctiesscinccecabbishteecsdbaibass 19

(v)

Page
Sanders v. United States, 373 U.S. 1, 83 S.Ct. 1068,
Br as OU 0 I iis dove bc cicacscesi caves Sect cecsec: 20

United States v. Loschiavo, 531 F.2d 659 (2d Cir. 1976) 12

United States v. Malcolm, 432 F.2d 809
Re I = Raced 18,19,20

United States v. Morgan, 346 U.S. 502, 511,
Fe ee EG Re I asincidicstiticstnisecacerascenee 12

United States v. Travers, 514 F.2d 1171 (2d Cir. 1974)... 12

No.

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1997

ROBERT DONNELL JONES,

Petitioner
v.

STATE OF MARYLAND
Respondent

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE COURT OF SPECIAL APPEALS
OF MARYLAND

Petitioner, Robert Donnell Jones, respectfully petitions this
Court for a writ of certiorari to review the judgment of the
Court of Special Appeals of Maryland entered in this case on
March 26, 1997, which affirmed the decision of the Circuit
Court of Maryland for Baltimore City denying Mr. Jones’
petition for writ of error coram nobis.

OPINIONS BELOW
The published opinion of the Court of Special Appeals of

Maryland, for which review is sought is Jones v. State, (cite)
(1997). The slip opinion in Case No. 585 was dated March
26, 1997 [Appendix C, pp. 4a-11a]. An appeal to that court

was taken by Petitioner on April 9, 1997, in the Court of
Appeals of Maryland which declined review. [Appendix B,

pp. 3a]
JURISDICTION

Jurisdiction of this court is conferred in this case pursuant
to 28 U.S.C. §1257(a). The Court of Special Appeals
affirmed the denial of Mr. Jones' petition for writ of error
coram nobis by the Circuit Court for Baltimore City on March
26, 1997; and the judgment of the Court of Appeals of
Maryland declining review of the judgment of the Court of
Special Appeals was entered on June 11, 1997.

PERTINENT CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS
The questions presented in this case are legal issues
concerning the voluntariness of petitioner's guilty plea which
has been obtained in violation of petitioner's Fifth Amendment
right against self-incrimination, Sixth Amendment right to
testify and right to confront the witnesses against him and the
due process clause of the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments as

to which this Court possesses a plenary power of review. Set

forth in Appendix A, pp. la-2a, are U.S. Consti. Amendment
V, Vi and XIV.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Mr. Jones pled guilty to one count of assault with intent to
murder on July 16, 1975, before Judge Basil A. Thomas in
the Criminal Court of Baltimore and was sentenced on July
31, 1975, to five (5) years to the Department of Corrections.
This sentence has expired. Petitioner's federal claims were
asserted based upon violations of his rights under the Fifth,
Sixth and Fourteenth Amendments to the Constitution.

A. Evidence Supporting the Involuntariness of
the 1975 Plea

At the coram nobis hearing before Judge Joseph McCurdy
of the Circuit Court of Maryland for Baltimore City, Petitioner
presented testimony of four witnesses as well as the
presentence investigation (PSI) prepared for sentencing by
probation officer John J. Ralston to show that his 1975 plea
was involuntary because he was not able to intelligently and
knowingly waive his rights.

Thomas Merrick, the victim in the case in which Mr. Jones
had pled guilty to assault with intent to murder, testified that he
was a street heroin dealer who sold heroin to support his own
habit; that he was Mr. Jones’ friend and daily heroin supplier;
that because he and Mr. Jones were friends, he was well
acquainted with the nature and extent of Mr. Jones’ heroin
addiction; that Mr. Jones was physically and psychologically
addicted to heroin; that at the time of the alleged offense Mr.
Jones was a heroin addict who used from seven to thirteen
bags of heroin per day; that Mr. Jones had been addicted to

this amount of heroin for quite some time; that at the time of
the alleged assault with intent to murder, Mr. Jones had either
refused or had been unable to pay the money he owed Mr.
Merrick for previously supplying him with heroin; that as a
result of Mr. Jones’ non-payment, Mr. Merrick severely beat
Mr. Jones with a stick; and that the alleged assault with intent
to murder took place later in the day.

Richard H. Lane, the prestigious director of Man Alive, a
prominent and highly regarded drug treatment program in
Baltimore City, was qualified as an expert on how addicts
under the influence of heroin relate to others. He testified that
based on his dealings with literally thousands of heroin addicts
and his successful battle against his own heroin addiction, it
was common for heroin addicts to mask their symptoms even
when high to conceal their addiction from others; that he had
seen defendants plead guilty in court while high under the
influence of heroin without detection by the court or the
prosecutor, that he had himself done this, that because of the
effects of heroin, heroin addicts exhibit poor judgment while
under the influence of heroin. However, despite his extensive
experience and work with heroin addicts and his own
successful battle with a long period of heroin addiction, Judge
McCurdy would not permit him to render an opinion that
heroin addicts while psychologically and physically addicted to
heroin to the extent of Mr. Jones’ addiction, could not
understand or validly waive the numerous rights involved in a

guilty plea litany. Notwithstanding Mr. Jones’ proffer that

5

Mr. Lane had a vantage point superior to that of any
psychiatrist and would have rendered an opinion that a heroin
addict who was addicted to Mr. Jones’ extent and who had
injected as much heroin as Mr. Jones had injected on the
morning of his guilty plea could not understand or validly
waive the numerous rights involved in a guilty plea litany,
Judge McCurdy ruled that only a psychiatrist expert in the field
of drug addiction could so testify.

In response to Judge McCurdy’s refusal to permit such
expert testimony from Mr. Lane, Mr. Jones called Patricia A.
Newton, M.D., M.P.H., M.A., a psychiatrist who was
qualified as an expert in treating heroin addiction and in
understanding the physiological and psychological impact of
the use of heroin on cognitive functioning, as an expert. Dr.
Newton, who had been Chief of Psychiatry at Provident
Hospital and who had treated petitioner for his heroin
addiction in the 1980's, testified that if petitioner were under
the influence of heroin at the time he pled guilty, he would not
have been able to enter a voluntary and knowing guilty plea
because his cognitive ability would at best be minimal. Dr.
Newton further testified that by giving short answers to
leading questions, addicts are able to conceal their symptoms
of heroin addiction and intoxication from those who are
inexpert in detecting the symptoms.

Petitioner testified that at the time of his guilty plea, he was
psychologically and physically addicted to heroin; that at the
time of the alleged offense he regularly used from seven to

thirteen bags of heroin per day; that he had been addicted to
this amount of heroin for quite some time; that when he arrived
at court on the day of his guilty plea, he was already under the
influence of heroin; that believing that he was going io jail later
that day, he had used heroin that morning to ward off
excruciatingly painful withdrawal symptoms and because he
would not be able to continue regularly to use heroin while in
jail; that during a brief delay before his guilty plea, he went to
the courthouse men’s room to inject himself again with heroin;
that he injected himself approximately fifteen to twenty
minutes before pleading guilty; that he was intoxicated from
this injection when he pled guilty, that he attempted to conceal
his intoxication from the court and counsel by feigning
sleepiness, and that because of his intoxication, he did not
understand or validly waive the numerous rights involved in
his guilty plea.

Indeed, Probation Agent John J. Ralston, who was
present at the time petitioner’s guilty plea was entered, wrote
in his presentence report that he observed that petitioner was
under the influence of drugs when he entered his plea of guilty
and that immediately after the plea that morning, Mr. Ralston

interviewed petitioner, had his urine tested, and the test results

were positive for opiates. In his presentence report, Mr.
Ralston said:
[Defendant] states he occasionally consumes wine

and beer, but never to any great extent. He admits to a
drug history dating from 1970 in which he has used

-

heroin, barbiturates, L.S.D., marijuana, and cough
syrup.

The defendant claims he’s been spitting up blood
for the past several weeks, but does not know what is
causing this. Mrs. Jones told this Agent her son has
an appointment at the West Baltimore Community
Health Care Clinic on August 1, 1975 to attempt to
determine his physical ailment.

The defendant has a rather serious heroin addiction
dating back about 5 years. He was “high” when he
was in Court for his trial and when he accompanied me
over to my office for the initial interview of this
investigation. A urinalysis sample was requested and
given at that time by Mr. Jones. The result was an
opiate positive afier testing by the C.R.A.T.
Laboratory.

* * *

Mr. Jones impressed this Agent as a man who is
physically and psychologically dependent on heroin.
He can not even do without drugs long enough to
make a sober appearance in Court! He then attempted
to lie about his condition by saying he was “drowsy”
because he had taken some Tylenol that morning. He
is a man who obviously possesses little self-control
and whose self-concept may have deteriorated from
prolonged abuse of heroin.

(emphasis added)

Agent Ralston was not called to testify after Judge McCurdy
indicated that he would accept his probation report as being
true in lieu of his testimony. Notwithstanding the inherent
liability of this evidence, Judge McCurdy denied the petition
on March 3, 1994 [Appendix D, pp. 14a-18a].

B. Decision of the Court of Special Appeals

of Maryland

Following the denial of Mr. Jones’ petition by Judge

McCurdy, petitioner filed a timely appeal to the Count of

Special Appeals of Maryland on April 1, 1994, and properly
sent a copy of his notice to the State. However, although the
prosecutor received a timely appeal, the clerk's office had no
record of the filing. Two years later, petitioner made a motion
to the Circuit Court of Baltimore City to grant a belated appeal
and by order, dated January 16, 1996, Judge McCurdy
"ORDERED that a belated appeal be granted in this case; and
that beginning the date of this order, Petitioner has 30 days to
file said appeal." Accordingly, Petitioner's Notice of Appeal
was filed January 17, 1996. Both parties properly filed their
briefs in the Court of Special Appeals where the State's
contention that the lower court did not have the authority to
grant the belated appeal was rejected and the judgment of the
Circuit Court for Baltimore City (Joseph McCurdy, Judge) in
denying the 1993 petition for writ of error coram nobis was
affirmed (a copy of the Opinion is attached as Appendix C).

Petitioner filed a Petition for Writ of Certiorari seeking
review by the Court of Appeals of Maryland and on June 11,
1997, the Court of Appeals issued an Order denying further
review.

C. Stage of Proceedings Where Federal

Questions Raised

1. On October 15, 1992, before the Circuit Court of
Maryland for Baltimore City, petitioner first asserted his Fifth,
Sixth and Fourteenth Amendment claims in his original
petition for writ of error coram nobis to vacate the 1975
conviction. In that petition, Mr. Jones first challenged the

9

voluntariness of his 1975 guilty plea and alleged that he was
denied his state and federal constitutional rights to be properly
advised before the acceptance of a guilty plea. Judge Edward
J. Angeletti summarily denied that petition without a hearing.

2. On November 4, 1993, before the Circuit Court of
Maryland for Baltimore City, Petitioner again asserted the
same claims in a second petition for writ of error coram nobis
to vacate the 1975 conviction; and after hearings were held on
December 20, 1993, and February 14, 15, 16, and 17, 1994,
before Judge Joseph P. McCurdy in the Circuit Court for
Baltimore City, Judge McCurdy denied the petition on March
3, 1994.

3. From this judgment. Mr. Jones filed a timely appeal to
the Court of Special Appeals of Maryland on April 1, 1994,
and properly sent a copy of his notice to the State. However,
although the prosecutor received a timely appeal, the clerk's
office had no record of the filing. Two years later, petitioner
made a motion to the Circuit Court of Baltimore City to grant a
belated appeal and by order, dated January 16, 1996, Judge
McCurdy "ORDERED that a belated appeal be granted in this
case; and that beginning the date of this order, Petitioner has
30 days to file said appeal." Accordingly, Petitioner's Notice
of Appeal was filed January 17, 1996.

4. Before the Court of Special Appeals, Petitioner pursued
his claim against the State by presenting the following issues:

I. Was Mr. Jones’ guilty plea involuntary under the
State and federal constitutions, the laws of Maryland

10

and the Rules because the record shows that because
he was under the influence of heroin when he entered
the plea, he could not voluntarily, knowingly and
intelligently waive his rights?

II. Is this appeal barred by Article 27, Section 645A(e)
and did Judge McCurdy have the power under the law
of coram nobis to grant a belated appeal from his denial
of Mr. Jones’ petition for writ of error coram nobis?

The State's contention that the lower court did not have the
authority to grant the belated appeal was rejected and the
judgment of the Circuit Court for Baltimore City (Joseph
McCurdy, Judge) in denying the 1993 petition for writ of error
coram nobis was affirmed.

5. Before the Court of Appeals of Maryland, Petitioner
pursued his claim against the State by presenting the following
issue:

Mr. Jones’s guilty plea was involuntary under
the State and federal constitutions, the laws of
Maryland and the Rules because the record

shows that he was under the influence of
heroin when he entered the plea.

The Court of Appeals declined review of the issue.

11
REASON FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

MR. JONES' GUILTY PLEA WAS INVOLUNTARY
UNDER STATE AND FEDERAL CONSTITUTIONS
BECAUSE THE RECORD SHOWS THAT BECAUSE HE
WAS UNDER THE INFLUENCE OF HEROIN WHEN HE
ENTERED THE PLEA, HE COULD NOT VOLUNTARILY,
KNOWINGLY AND INTELLIGENTLY WAIVE HIS
RIGHTS.

The safeguards of fundamental fairness entitle Mr. Jones
to vacate his guilty plea through a writ of error coram nobis
since he has demonstrated that his mental faculties were so
impaired by drugs when he entered his plea that he was
incapable of a full understanding and an appreciation of the
charges against him, of comprehending his constitutional
rights and of realizing the consequences of his plea.

Writs of error coram nobis developed at common law and
have been used in modern practice to right a judicial wrong
where no other remedy is available. The historical background
of the writ is summarized in 38 ALR Fed. 617:

To relieve litigants from judicial wrongs for which

there was no remedy, writs of error coram nobis .. .

were developed at common law as early as the

sixteenth century . . . .During the seventeenth and
eighteenth centuries such writs received scant attention
but appear to have been revived by the mid nineteenth
century in both state and federal jurisdictions in the
United States .... In relatively recent years . . . as

evidenced by the many case citations . . . and as noted
by legal commentators, there has been a rapid

12

expansion or widespread revival of the use of the writ
of coram nobis in criminal cases.

38 ALR Fed at 622. Now it is clear that:

The writ of error coram nobis is available to a
convicted criminal at any time following the entry of
judgment against him or her. A writ of error coram
nobis may be sought where, as here, the challenged
sentence has been completely served.

Flippins v. United States, 747 F.2d 1089, 1091 (6th Cir.
1984).

As this Court has said, "continuation of litigation after final
judgment and exhaustion .. . of any statutory right of review"
is allowed "to achieve justice." United States v. Morgan, 346
U.S. 502. 511, 74 S.Ct. 247, 252 (1954). In the recent case
of United States v. Travers, 514 F.2d 1171 (2d Cir. 1974),
Judge Friendly, speaking for a unanimous court, issued a writ
of error coram nobis vacating mail fraud convictions entered
against a defendant after his sentence, including parole and
probation, had expired. [Judge Friendly was eulogized in 99
Harv. L. Rev. 1709 (1986) and in 806 F.2d as a legal scholar.
His reputation as a judge is virtually unparalleled.] Indeed,
Travers is hardly an aberration. Relief by coram nobis in a
proper case is a well recognized judicial prerogative. See,

e.g., United States v. Loschiavo, 531 F.2d 659, 652 (2d Cir.
1976); Mathis v. United States, 369 F.2d 43, 49 (4th Cir.
1966); and Hirabayeshi v. United States, 627 F.Supp. 1445
(W.D. Wash. 1986).

13

Likewise, the courts of the state of Maryland have
recognized the common law writ of error coram nobis. On
August 20, 1993, the Court of Appeals of Maryland ruled that
constitutionally infirm convictions where sentences have
expired may be set aside by writ of error coram nobis.
Fairbanks v. State, 331 Md. 482, 629 A.2d 63 (1993). In
Fairbanks, the Court of Appeals said:

[T]here exists a statutory procedure for the orderly
bringing of a collateral challenge against prior
convictions resulting in continued confinement, parole,
or probation. Maryland Uniform Post Conviction
Procedure Act, Md. Code (1957, 1992 Repl. Vol.)
Art. 27, Sections 645A through 645J, with
supplementary rules of procedure, Maryland Rules 4-
401 through 4-408. Common law actions, including
the writ of error coram nobis, may be available for
collateral attacks on prior convictions that no longer
impose restraints on a defendant. Article 27, Section
645A; Gluckstern v. Sutton, 319 Md. 634, 662, 574
A.2d 898, cert. denied, 498 U.S. 950 (1990); Brady
v. State, 222 Md. 442, 447, 160 A.2d 912 (1960).
Cf. United States v. Morgan, 346 U.S. 502, 511, 74
S.Ct. 247, 98 L.Ed. 248 (1954); U.S. v. Canales, 960
F.2d 1311, 1316 (Sth Cir. 1992).
* * *

A defendant who is prevented from challenging the
constitutionality of a prior conviction at trial or during a
sentencing proceeding is not thereby divested of an
opportunity for relief. That defendant may thereafter
mount a collateral challenge by any means that remain
available, including post-conviction procedures,
habeas corpus, error coram nobis, or other statutory or
common law remedies. If successful, the defendant
may possibly then challenge the conviction or sentence
affected by the use of the constitutionality infirm
conviction. (Slip opinion at 3, 11)

14

Apropos of this case, the Court of Appeals said in Fairbanks
that:

The spectrum of challenges that might be made is
necessarily broad; constitutionally based challenges
range from obvious and direct infirmities, such as
denial of the right to counsel, to more general
concepts. Thus, in addition to denial of right to
counsel claims, we can expect to see constitutionally
based challenges mounted on grounds of denial of
effective representation by counsel, denial of right to
jury trial, coerced confession, double jeopardy, self
incrimination, uninformed or involuntary guilty plea,
lack of due process, and the like. A single challenge to
a prior conviction may involve multiple claims of
constitutional infirmity. See, e.g., U.S. v. Custis, 988
F.2d 1355, 1358 (4th Cir. 1993) (involving claims of
ineffective assistance of counsel, uninformed guilty
plea, and violation of due process, with respect to a
single predicate conviction).

In the instant case, during the petitioner's hearing for his
petition for writ of error coram nobis relief, the trial court
erroneously concluded that "petitioner has not affirmatively
proven that he was intoxicated at the time of his plea."

During the hearing, the trial court stated that it would
accept Agent Ralston’s essentially self-verifying report as true
in lieu of his live testimony and Agent Ralston
contemporaneously observed that “[Mr. Jones] was ‘high’
when he was in Court for his trial and when he accompanied
me over to my office for the initial interview of this
investigation.” The lower court's erroneous conclusion was
based on the arbitrary decision to discount Agent Ralston's

report which was unreasonable for several reasons.

15

First, Agent Ralston was an officer of the court who had
no reason either to lie or to exaggerate what he saw. Second,

what he saw was that Mr. Jones “was ‘high’ when he was in

Court for his trial and when he accompanied me over to my

office for the initial interview of this investigation,” which was
what Mr. Jones was trying to prove at the hearing. Third,
because Agent Ralston was an experienced probation officer,
there was no reason for Judge McCurdy to disbelieve that
Agent Ralston had no doubt taken personal histories from
hundreds of heroin-addicted defendants and was therefore
familiar with the symptoms of heroin intoxication and
addiction. Fourth, Agent Ralston was prudent enough to
verify his observation that petitioner was intoxicated from
heroin at the time of his guilty plea and during the interview by
giving him an immediate urine test which was positive for
opiates and by getting a reluctant Mr. Jones to admit to a
lengthy history of heroin addiction, an admission which at that
time Mr. Jones was reluctant to make because it appeared to
him to be against his interest. Fifth, Mr. Merrick, the victim
of the crime, testified against his interests that he was Mr.
Jones’ drug supplier and that he was therefore in a position to
know the nature and extent of Mr. Jones’ addiction to heroin.
Sixth, in testimony which verified and explained the objective
evidence that he was high when he entered his guilty plea, Mr.
Jones said that-he was a long-term heroin addict who injected
himself with heroin that morning, both because he was

addicted and to ward off the inevitable withdrawal symptoms

16

he would experience in anticipation that while in jail, he would
no longer have regular and reliable access to heroin.

Finally, the State did not dispute either that petitioner was
high from his heroin use and addiction at the time of his guilty
plea or that Mr. Jones was therefore incapable of knowingly
and intelligently waiving the rights explained during the guilty
plea litany. Thus, all this testimony verified and explained
Agent Ralston’s unimpeached and reliable observations that
“{Mr. Jones] was ‘high’ when he was in Court for his trial and
when he accompanied me over to my office for the initial
interview of this investigation.” Therefore, the trial court’s
conclusion that “petitioner has not affirmatively proven that he
was intoxicated at the time of his plea“ was erroneous and
indeed, clearly so.

Concerning the trial court’s conclusion that “ petitioner
has not affirmatively proven that . . .assuming that he was
intoxicated, that his decision to take the plea or his ability to
comprehend the proceedings was affected,” this finding is
likewise clearly erroneous in part because it is based on the
astonishing presumption that being high from heroin
intoxication during a guilty plea would not affect a person’s
ability to comprehend the proceedings. Indeed, as both Mr.
Lane’s and Dr. Newton’s testimony affirmatively
demonstrated, such heroin intoxication would go far beyond
merely affecting a person’s ability to comprehend the
proceedings: it would, according to Mr. Lane, at least cause

“heroin addicts [to] exhibit poor judgment while under the

17

influence of heroin” and according to Dr. Newton, if Mr.
Jones were under the influence of heroin at the time he pled
guilty, he would not have been able to enter a voluntary and
knowing guilty plea because his cognitive ability would at best
be minimal.

Likewise, the trial court’s conclusion that “[nJone of the
petitioner’s witnesses with the exception of himself, could
testify that . . .his ability to take the plea was compromised”
was Clearly erroneous because among other reasons, Mr. Lane
and Dr. Newton both testified to the contrary; and trial judge
himself said during the hearing that day a psychiatrist could so
testify. Moreover, concerning the trial court's conclusions that
the presentence report “did not suggest that the Petitioner’s
ability to understand and take the guilty plea was
compromised,” only a psychiatrist or a person of Mr. Lane’s
or Agent Ralston’s expertise could draw this conclusion - and
they did! Agent Ralston put it this way:

“Mr. Jones impressed this Agent as a man who is

physically and psychologically dependent on heroin.

He can not even do without drugs long enough to

make a sober appearance in Court! He then attempted

to lie about his condition by saying he was “drowsy”

because he had taken some Tylenol that morning. He

is a man who obviously possesses little self-control

and whose self-concept may have deteriorated from
prolonged abuse of heroin.”

This statement would certainly suggest to a person of prudence

and caution that “Petitioner’s ability to understand and take the

18

guilty plea was compromised.” Thus, the court’s conclusion
to the contrary was clearly erroneous.

Concerning the trial court’s conclusion that the presentence
report “reflects an intelligent discourse between the
investigator and the Petitioner,” the court read the report much
too broadly. First, he ignores the fact that Mr. Jones lied to
Agent Ralston to conceal his addiction and that Mr. Ralston
saw through his lie. Second, he ignores that providing
someone with historical data does not necessarily require the
level of rational thinking required to understand a guilty plea
litany. Thus, the conclusion to the contrary is clearly
erroneous, completely arbitrary and without any basis in the
record. In fact, the words chosen by the trial court were lifted
from United States v. Malcolm, 432 F.2d 809 (2d Cir. 1970),
a case Mr. Jones cited in support of the opposite proposition.

Malcolm, “then eighteen years old, was convicted upon his
plea of guilty to the crime of bank robbery (18 U.S.C.
§2113(a)) and sentenced to a term of fifteen years on March
22, 1968.” Malcolm then “moved the district court in
September 1969 for vacation, correction or reduction of
sentence or, in the alternative, to vacate his plea of guilty under
Rule 35, Fed.R.Crim.P., and 28 U.S.C. §2255” and “[t]he
motion was denied without a hearing.” Malcolm then
“appeal[ed] from the order of denial, asserting error in the
district court's dismissal of his petition without an evidentiary

hearing on his claims that: (1) he was mentally incompetent to

19

plead guilty because he was then addicted and under the
influence of drugs . . .” 432 F.2d at 811.

The safeguards of fundamental fairness entitle Mr. Jones to

vacate his guilty plea since he has demonstrated that his mental

faculties were so impaired by drugs when he entered his plea

that he was incapable of a full understanding and an

appreciation of the charges against him, of comprehending his

constitutional rights and of realizing the consequences of his
plea. United States v. Malcolm, 432 F.2d 809 (2d Cir. 1970).

In Malcolm, the United States Court of Appeals for the
Second Circuit said:

These safeguards of fundamental fairness make plain
that Malcolm would be entitled to vacation of his plea
and conviction if he proved that his mental faculties
were so impaired by drugs when he pleaded that he
was incapable of full understanding and appreciation of
the charges against him, of comprehending his
constitutional rights and of realizing the consequences
of his plea. Sanders v. United States, 373 U.S. 1, 5-
6, 19-20, 83 S. Ct. 1068, 10 L. Ed. 2d 148 (1963). A
plea in such circumstances is not a knowing, free and
rational choice of the alternatives open to an accused
and cannot be an intelligent waiver of constitutional
rights. It would, therefore, offend due process.
Boykin v. Alabama, supra; McCarthy v. United
States, supra; Sanders v. United States, supra, 373
U.S. at 19-20, 83 S. Ct. 1068; Machibroda v. United
States, 368 U.S. 487, 493, 82 S. Ct. 510, 7 L. Ed. 2d
473 (1962); Kercheval v. United States, 274 U:S.
220, 223, 47 S. Ct. 582, 71 L. Ed. 1009 (1927).

* * *
There is nothing in the form or content of the entire
interrogation to suggest that Malcolm was under the
influence of drugs or otherwise not in full possession

20

of his mental faculties. On the contrary, he appears to
have acted with intelligence and understanding. The
arraignment proceedings, thus, appear regular on their
face.

Id. at 812. However, the Second Circuit observed:

Nevertheless, Malcolm might have been under the
influence of drugs and his condition would not
necessarily be revealed by the record or be apparent to
the judge who sees him only briefly. Regularity of the
arraignment, therefore, cannot "conclusively show"
that Malcolm's present claim is without merit, for the
facts upon which such a claim is based are usually
outside the record. Sanders v. United States, supra,
373 U.S. at 19-20, 83 S. Ct. 1068. Here, however,
there is more to the record than the mere transcript of
the arraignment.’ (Emphasis added)

Id. at 813.

Significantly, the Second Circuit based its determination
that Malcolm had not pled guilty while under the influence of
drugs on the fact that the presentence report ‘conclusively
refute[d] Malcolm's claim.' The court said:

The presentence report, part of the files and records
upon which the court below relied both in imposing
sentence and in denying Malcolm's application for
collateral relief, conclusively refutes Malcolm's claim.
That report shows that Malcolm was interviewed on
January 25, 1968 immediately following his plea. He
informed the probation officer that he had started using
heroin about four months earlier, in September 1967,
that he had gone to a Dr. Samuel Grubin for help in
stopping his habit, and that he "had not taken a shot" in
about three weeks. He also gave a detailed and
coherent statement, in writing, admitting his crime
from the planning to the division of the stolen money.

21

Later, but before sentence, he produced a letter from
Samuel Grubin, M.D., dated January 27, 1968 (two
days after his plea), certifying that he "has been
examined by me and found to be in good physical
condition and free from any addiction.

Thus, the files and records conclusively show that
immediately following his plea Malcolm admitted his
guilt, denied the recent use of drugs, and confirmed his
freedom from narcotics by certification of his own
physician. In light of these immutable facts, there was
no error in denying collateral relief on this claim
without a hearing for, as Judge Abruzzo found, the
files and records of the district court “conclusively
show" that it is without merit.

Id.

Obviously, the Second Circuit would have reached a
different conclusion had the presentence report contained facts
similar to those in the presentence report in the instant case.

Mr. Jones is entitled to relief based on the trial court’s
erroneous conclusions of law and fact since he has shown that
his guilty plea was involuntarily and unknowingly taken in
violation of the Fifth, Sixth and Fourteenth Amendments of
the United States Constitution.

22

CONCLUSION
For the reasons cited above, Petitioner prays that his

Petition for Writ of Certiorari be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

William H. Murphy, Jr., Esq.
1007 North Calvert Street
Baltimore, Maryland 21202
(410) 539-6500

Attorney for Petitioner
Robert Donnell Jones

September 11, 1997

la

APPENDIX A

RELEVANT CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS
AND STATUTES

U.S. Const. Amendment V

No person shall be held to answer for a capital, or
otherwise infamous crime, unless on a presentment or
indictment of a Grand Jury, except in cases arising in the land
or naval forces, or in the Militia, when in actual service in time
of Ware or public danger; nor shall any person be subject for
the same offence to be twice put in jeopardy of life or limb; nor
shall be compelled in any criminal case to be a witness against
himself, nor be deprived of life liberty, or property, without
due process of law; nor shall private property be taken for

public use, without just compensation.

U.S. Const. Amendment VI

In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall enjoy the
right to a speedy and public trial, by an impartial jury of the
State and district wherein the crime shall have been committed,
which district shall have been previously ascertained by law,
and to be informed of the nature and cause of the accusation; to
be confronted with the witnesses against him; to have
compulsory process for obtaining witnesses in his favor, and

to have the Assistance of Counsel for his defence.

2a

U.S. Const. Amendment XIV

Section 1. All persons born or naturalized in the United
States, and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of
the United States and of the State wherein they reside. No
State shall make or enforce any law which shall abridge the
privileges or immunities of citizens of the United States; nor
shall any State deprive any person of life, liberty, or property,
without due process of law; nor deny to any person within its

jurisdiction the equal protection of the laws.

APPENDIX B

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS
OF MARYLAND

September Term 1997
Appeal No. 585

ROBERT JONES
Appellant,
Vv.

STATE OF MARYLAND

Appellees.

ORDER
Upon consideration of the petition for a writ of certiorari to
the Court of Special Appeals, the answer, and conditional
cross-petition filed thereto in the above entitled case, it is
ORDERED, by the Court of Appeals of Maryland, that the
petition and condition cross-petition be, and they are hereby,
denied as there has been no showing that review by certiorari

is desirable and in the public interest.

/s/ Robert Bell
Chief Judge

[Filed June 11, 1997]

4a
APPENDIX C
IN THE COUR” OF SPECIAL APPEALS
OFMARYLAND
No. 585
ROBERTDONNELL JONES

Appellants,

VS.

STATEOF MARYLAND

Appellees.

OPINION

[Filed March 26, 1997]

GETTY, J.

This coram nobis case presents issues relating to whether a
circuit court judge may auhorize a belated appeal from the
denial of a petition for a vrit of error coram nobis, and
whether the chancellor errd in denying the petition for coram
nobis relief.

The underlying facts ad statutory background are as
follows: In 1975, before lidge Basil A. Thomas in the Circuit
Court for Baltimore City, <obert Donnell Jones, appellant

herein, entered a plea of giilty to the crime of assault with

Sa

intent to murder. On July 31, 1975, he was sentenced to five
years imprisonment.

On October 15, 1992, appellant filed a petition for writ of
error coram nobis, seeking to have the 1975 conviction
vacated. The basis for the petition was appellant's allegation
that his guilty plea in 1975 was involuntary because he was
under the influence of heroin at the time he entered his plea.!

Appellant's petition for writ of error coram nobis to set
aside the 1975 conviction was filed on October 15, 1992, and
denied by the circuit court without a hearing on October 19,
1992.2 Thereafter, appellant filed a second coram nobis
petition on October 21, 1993, which was heard by the court
and denied by Judge Joseph P. McCurdy in a written opinion
dated March 3, 1994.

Although appellant alleges that he instructed his counsel to
appeal Judge McCurdy's order of March 3, 1994, no notice of
appeal was recorded by the court clerk. The State, however,
received a copy of a notice of appeal. Nearly two years later,
Judge McCurdy, on January 16, 1996, granted a belated
appeal, citing the failure of appellant's counsel to file the
appeal, or the fi.lure of the clerk of court to record the appeal.

| Appellant's present incarceration is based, in part, on the 1975
conviction. We assume that the earlier conviction served as a predicate
offense for the term he is presently serving.

2The basis of the denial, prior to the State's response to the petition, was
that appellant waived his right to file a coram nobis petition by failing to
seek post conviction relief prior to the expiration of his sentence.

6a

The receipt of a copy of the appeal by the State was cited by
the court as evidence that appellant was deprived of his right of
appeal through no fault of his own.

We shall address first whether a circuit court judge may
authorize a belated appeal from the denial of a petition for writ
of error coram nobis.

Before launching a discussion of the granting of a belated
appeal, a brief reference to the nature of the writ is meaningful
in that coram nobis has limited use as a present day post-
conviction remedy. There are no statutes or rules of court
governing its use. The demise of coram nobis is primarily
attributable to the adoption of the Post Conviction Procedure
Act in 1958, ch. 44 of the Acts of 1950, Md. Code Art. 27, §
645A, et seq.

The purpose of the Post Conviction Procedure Act was to
create a simple statutory procedure in place of the common law
habeas corpus and coram nobis remedies for collateral attacks
upon criminal convictions and sentences. Coram nobis may
be pursued only where no other statutory proceeding is
available. Thus, the vast majority of collateral attacks upon
convictions are filed under the Post Conviction Procedure Act
whereby, in a first petition, a convicted defendant is entitled to
a hearing on the merits, the assignment of counsel, and a right
of appeal.

Coram nobis is defined in Bernard v. State, 193 Md. 1, 3-
4 (1949), as follows:

Ta

The purpose of the writ of error coram nobis, which is
an old common-law writ recognized in this State, is to
bring before the court a judgment previously rendered
by it for the purpose of modification on account of
some error of fact which affected the validity and
regularity of the proceedings, and which was not
brought into issue at the trial of the case...The writ will
lie to set aside a judgment...where a plea of guilty was
procured by force, violence, or intimidation, or where
at the time of the trial the defendant was insane, when
such facts were not known to the trial court when the
judgment was entered...

The function of a coram nobis writ is different from that of
an ordinary writ of error in two respects. First, it deals only
with facts which, if known at the time the judgment was
rendered, would have precluded its rendition; whereas, an
ordinary writ of error deals with questions of law. Second,
coram nobis is addressed to the court which rendered the
judgment, while a writ of error is addressed to a superior
court. See Keane v. State, 164 Md. 685, 691 (1933).

Appellant contends that Judge McCurdy had the power to
grant a belated appeal in this case because the relevant part of
the Post Conviction Statute, art. 27, § 645 (e), does not bar
the use of the writ as is alleged by the State.

The statute provides, in part:

No appeals to the Court of Appeals or the Court of

Special Appeals in habeas corpus or coram nobis

cases, or from other common-law statutory remedies

which have heretofore been available for challenging
the validity of incarceration under sentence of death or
imprisonment shall be permitted or entertained, except

appeals in such cases pending in the Court of Appeals
on June 1, 1958, shall be processed in due course.

8a

According to appellant, the Post Conviction Procedure
Act, by its express terms, does not provide a remedy for
persons who have been convicted of crimes and whose
sentences have expired, and who are no longer on parole or on
probation. Since appellant is no longer in any of those
categories, he contends that he is challenging his underlying
conviction, not his sentence. For that purpose, he argues, the
writ of coram nobis is alive and well.

The State, conversely, urges that the purpose of the
legislature in enacting Art. 27, § 645 (e), was to consolidate
into one statutory procedure all of the remedies previously
available for collaterally attacking the validity of a criminal
conviction or sentence. The statute, the State asserts,
unequivocally says that no appeals are permitted in coram
nobis cases.

Appellant relies on language in Fairbanks v. State, 331
Md. 482 (1993), as being supportive of his right to proceed
under coram nobis. That opinion, authored by Judge
McAuliffe, involved sentencing under a recidivist statute. The
defendant contended that his enhanced sentence was predicated
upon an offense not shown to be free of constitutional
infirmity, because there was no showing that he intelligently
waived his right to a jury trial, although he was represented by
counsel at that time. The Court held that there is no
constitutional right to mount a collateral attack against a facially
valid predicate conviction at the sentencing hearing where it is

offered. Convictions obtained while an accused is represented

i
/

9a

by counsel, furthermore, are presumptively valid and the
burden is on the accused to prove otherwise. Jd. at 490.

In footnote 3, the Court noted that a defendant may or may
not be able to bring a collateral attack. Citing McMannis v.
State, 311 Md. 534, 539-47 (1988), the Court pointed out that
post conviction and habeas corpus remedies are available only
when a defendant is incarcerated, or subject to conditions of
parole or probation. The Court added: "The writ of error
coram nobis, addressed to the court that entered judgment,
may be available to the defendant who is no longer in custody.
Moreover, a defendant able to mount a collateral challenge
may be barred by waiver,... or might be barred by [aches, ..."
331 Md. at 492 n.3 (citations omitted).

In Gluckstern v. Sutton, 319 Md. 634, 662, cert. denied,
498 U.S. 950 (1990), a habeas corpus case involving whether
an appeal is available to a petitioner, the Court (Eldridge, J.)
described the Post Conviction Procedure Act as follows:

[T]he Act was designed to create a statutory remedy for

collateral challenges to criminal judgments on Art. 31B

examination and defective delinquency proceedings,
and to substitute this remedy for habeas corpus and

coram nobis actions challenging criminal judgments
and Art. 31B proceedings.

The General Assembly in 1965 added new language to the
portion of the Post Conviction Procedure Act relating to
appeals in habeas corpus cases. Art. 27, 442 of the Acts of
1965 now reads: § 645(e), as amended by Ch.

10a

No appeals to the Court of Appeals or the Court of Special
Appeals in habeas corpus or coram nobis cases, or from other
common-law or statutory remedies which have heretofore been
available for challenging the validity of incarceration under
sentence of death or imprisonment shall be permitted or
entertained, except appeals in such cases pending in the Court
of Appeals on June 1, 1958, shall be processed in due course.
Provided, however, that nothing in this subtitle shall operate to
bar an appeal to the Court of Special Appeals (1) in a habeas
corpus proceeding instituted under § 2-210 of Article 41 of
this Code or (2) in any other proceeding in which a writ of
habeas corpus is sought for any purpose other than to
challenge the legality of a conviction of a crime or sentence of
death or imprisonment therefor, including confinement as a
result of a proceeding under Article 31B of this code.

The 1965 addition to the statute clearly modified the earlier
language, which seemingly precluded appeals, at least in
habeas corpus cases filed after June 1, 1958. The Court in
Gluckstern held that the 1965 language authorized appeals in
cases other than those challenging the legality of a conviction
of a crime or sentence of death or imprisonment therefor. The
discussion of intent of the General Assembly in habeas corpus
cases, however, does not resolve the issue of viability or
survival of coram nobis. The General Assembly could not
bar habeas corpus petitions, which are provided for in Article
4, Section 6 of the Maryland Constitution. The right of appeal

in habeas corpus proceedings can and has been limited without

eee a ee

lla

offending the Constitution. The common law writ of error
coram nobis does not share the constitutional protection
accorded habeas corpus. The question remains whether the
right of appeal in coram nobis actions survived the adoption of
Art. 27, § 645(e), as amended in 1965. We hold that it does.

As we have stated herein, the Post Conviction Procedure
Act was intended to replace habeas corpus and coram nobis as
a Statutory remedy for collateral challenges to criminal
judgments. For the majority of cases it has succeeded. In
those cases where the Post Conviction Act does not provide a
remedy, however, the enactment of the new statute provided
no reason for restricting appeals in habeas corpus cases.
Gluckstern, 319 Md. at 662. The same reasoning should be
applied to coram nobis. The writ of error coram nobis remains
available, therefore, as a remedy to mount a collateral attach
upon a prior conviction or sentence. We see no justifiable
reason for denying a right of appeal in a coram nobis petition
when the right of appeal is available to those seeking redress
under habeas corpus. The right of further review ought not
depend upon the name of the vehicle bringing one to the
tribunal. The paucity of coram nobis petitions, moreover, will
not unduly burden the appellate courts.

We perceive no error in the chancellor granting a belated
appeal from his Order denying appellate coram nobis relief.
See DOD v. Cook, 340 U.S. 206, 71 S. Ct. 262, 95 L. Ed.
215 (1951), where the Supreme Court said that a judge "has

12a

power in a habeas corpus proceeding to dispose of the matter

as law and justice require. Accord: Beard v. Warden,

211 Md. 658, 661 (1957), stating that a circuit court in a

habeas corpus proceeding could order that a prisoner be

granted a belated appeal from his original criminal conviction.
Denial of Relief

A facially valid conviction is entitled to a strong
presumption of regularity and, accordingly, the burden of
proving otherwise is on the defendant attacking the conviction.
Fairbanks, supra, at 487. Appellant has not provided the
transcripts if the proceeding in 1975. Md. Rule 8-411, 8-413,
8-501(a). We conclude, in absence of any evidence to the
contrary, that the record from the 1975 trial would establish
that the court conducted a hearing to establish that the guilty
plea was intelligently and voluntarily entered.

In Reane v. State, 164 Md. 685 (1933), the Court ruled
that the writ of coram nobis will not lie to contradict or place in
issue any fact that has been already adjudicated even if
wrongly decided. Clearly, the ability of appellant to
understand and voluntarily enter a guilty plea was a fact issue
that was decided by the court in 1975. Accord: Bernard,
supra.

J udge McCurdy filed a Memorandum and Order denying
the relief sought by appellant. He reviewed the testimony of
appellant's witnesses and concluded that none of the witnesses
except appellant could testify that appellant was under the

influence of heroin, or that his ability "to understand and take

—————-Z_,, F ).

13a

the guilty plea was compromised." Additionally, the court
reviewed the presentence investigation report, which included
some evidence of appellant's drug use at the time of trial. The
court found that the report "reflects an intelligent discourse
between the investigatory ad the petitioner.’ The trial judge
had the opportunity to judge the credibility of the witnesses
and to assess the probative value of their testimony. He
concluded that appellant had the burden of establishing that his
guilty plea in 1975 was not knowingly and voluntarily entered,
and that appellant failed to establish that fact by a fair
preponderance of the evidence. Based upon our review of the
record, we cannot say that the conclusions reached by the

chancellor are clearly erroneous, if they are erroneous at all.

JUDGMENT AFFIRMED.
COSTS TO BE PAID BY APPELLANT.

l4a

APPENDIX D

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT FOR BALTIMORE CITY
Case No. 67599775

ROBERT DONNELL JONES
[Petitioner]
VS.

STATE OF MARYLAND

ORDER

The Petitioner, Robert Donnell Jones, now comes with his
second Petition for Coram Nobis Relief. The Petitioner is
requesting that this court vacate the conviction and sentence
entered against him on July 31, 1975 and September 4, 1979.
On July 31, the Petitioner pled guilty to one count of assault
with intent to murder before Judge Basil A. Thomas in the
Criminal Court of Baltimore City. Judge Basil sentenced the
Petitioner to five y ears in the Department of Corrections. The
sentence has since expired. The Petitioner filed his first
petition on October 15, 1992 where it was denied by Judge
Edward Angeletti.

This Court, on the Petitioner's second Coram Nobis
filed October 21, 1993, held hearings on December 20, 1993,
February 15, 16, 17, 1994. The Petitioner presented the

1Sa

testimony of Richard H. Lane, Executive Director of Man
Alive, a drug treatment program. Mr. Lane was qualified as
an expert on how addicts interact with other persons while the
addicts are under the influence of heroin. Mr. Lane testified as
to his own history of heroin use and to the manipulative
behavior of heroin addicts. He also testified that he could
when an addict was able to reflect on questions before
answering rather than giving a simple ‘yes' or 'no' response.
Mr. Lane was never involved in the treatment of the Petitioner,
and had no knowledge of the Petitioner's guilty plea in
question here.

Petitioner then presented the testimony of Thomas
Merrick, the victim in the case in which Petitioner pled guilty.
Mr. Merrick testified as to the practice of his use of heroin
with Petitioner, and that the Petitioner has a high tolerance for
heroin. Mr. Merrick was present in the Court on the day that
the Petitioner's plea, and he could not tell whether Petitioner
was under the influence at the time of his plea.

The Petitioner and the State introduced the Pre Sentence
Investigation prepared for the sentencing after the guilty plea.
The investigator John J. Ralston observed that the Defendant
was "high" when he was in court for his trial and when he
accompanied the interviewer to the interview. The Petitioner
also tested positive for opiate at the time.

The Petitioner presented the testimony of Patricia A.
Newton, M.D., M.P.H., M.A. Dr. Newton was qualified

expert in the treatment of heroin addiction. Dr. Newton met

l6a

the Petitioner when he was admitted to the North Charles
General Hospital. That admission was not related to the facts
surrounding the guilty plea at issue here, but Dr. Newton did
testify that the Petitioner on that occasion reported heroin
addiction since the 1970's, and her partial records indicated
that the Petitioner was heavily under the influence and
exhibiting withdrawal symptoms. The Petitioner's attorney
posed a hypothetical question to Dr. Newton inquiring as to
the capacity to plead guilty of an individual who regularly
ingested six to twelve bags of heroin per day, was physically
and psychologically depended on heroin, has been addicted for
five to seven years, had come to court to stand trial for assault
with intent to murder as a result of a dispute related to his
addiction, and "shot up" fifteen minutes before he pled guilty
to that charge. Dr. Newton responded that in her opinion he
could not have a high degree of cognitive clarity. His
cognitive abililty would be a best minimal and would become
more clouded within the hour. She stated that the initial effect
of the drugs could not be demonstrable, but within a half hour
the individual would become drowsy, then difficult to arouse,
then comatose. Dr. Newton also stated that addicts can mask
their symptoms and avoid detection of this drug use by giving
short answers to questions.

The Petitioner himself testified that at the time of his guilty
plea he was using ten bags of heroin per day or more if he had
it, and that he used heroin in the rest room after he arrived at
the court house. Defendant stated that he did not want to plead

17a

guilty but that his attorney told him that it was the best deal he
could get. The Petitioner was continued on bail after the plea
was taken, pending the Pre Sentence Investigation and
disposition.

In a Coram Nobis proceeding and similar such petitions,
the petitioner has the burden of proving by a preponderance of
the evidence the impropriety of the trial proceedings, here, the
validity of the guilty plea. The standard for determining the
validity of a guilty plea is whether the plea represents a
voluntary and intelligent choice among the courses of action
open to the defendant, Kisamore v. State 286 Md. 654 (1980).
While this is of vital importance to the propriety of the trial
proceedings, the petitioner has not affirmatively proven that he
was intoxicated at the time of his plea or, assuming that he was
intoxicated, that his decision to take the plea or his ability to
comprehend the proceedings was affected. None of the
petitioner's witnesses with the exception of himself, could
testify that the petitioner himself was under the influence of
heroin or that his ability to take the plea was compromised.
The only objective evidence to suggest the petitioner's drug
use at the time of the plea was the Pre Sentence Investigation
report. This report however did not suggest that the
Petitioner's ability to understand and take the guilty pleas was
compromised. The only objective evidence to suggest the
petitioner's drug use at the time of the plea was the Pre
Sentence Investigation report. This report however did not

suggest that the Petitioner's ability to understand and take the

18a

guilty pleas was compromised. In fact the report reflects an
intelligent discourse between the investigator and the
Petitioner. Mr. Lane and Dr. Newton's testimony are only
speculative at best as to the impact of the Petitioner's
intoxication.

Therefore, the Petition for Coram Nobis relief this 3rd day
of March, 1994 be DENIED.

Joseph P. McCurdy, Judge

*See generally Ramsey v. State 767 S.W. 2d 572 (Mo. App
1988). Petitioner must allege particular facts showing his right
to relief. No coram nobis relief could be granted if the movant
knew or through reasonable diligence should have known of
the facts at the time of the original proceedings.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_1410%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
