# Reply Brief — Hill v. Hilliard

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_1398%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1997
- **Citation:** 522 U.S. 981

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.
fren &
No. 97-450 OCT 30 1997
@LERK
IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term, 1997
JANED.HILL, - - - - - - - Petitioner,

versus

J.J.B. HILLIARD, W.L. LYONS, INC.;

WOLFGANG WILLIAM BRAB;

JAMES C. STONE, III; and

GILBERTL.PAMPLIN, - - - - Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari
To the Kentucky Court of Appeals

PETITIONER’S REPLY BRIEF

GARY L. THEURER
15005 Spring Meadow Drive
Germantown, Maryland 20767
(301) 977-5779
Counsel of Record

IVAN H. RICH, JR.
RICH & D’AMBROSIO, P.S.C.
2044 Breckinridge Lane, Suite 103
Louisville, Kentucky 40220
(502) 493-0503
Counsel for Petitioner

October 30, 1997

WESTERFIELD-BONTE CO., 619 W. KENTUCKY-P.O. BOX 3251, LOUISVILLE, KY.

4.94

: ]
|

Hi

|

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE
Ie GE GFE cevesecscscenssorenssaresescessneseecs i
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ...................:cccccccceeeeees ii
IE biteiicininsiitatisiiacseseeessensinesonesssncecees 1

1. THE ISSUE OF KNOWING AND VOLUN-
TARY WAIVER OF A JUDICIAL FORUM
UNDER THE FAA IS UNRESOLVED .......... 3

2. A MAJORITY OF THIS COURT HAS
VOTED IN SEPARATE CASES NOT TO
REQUIRE ARBITRATION UNDER THE
FAA OF STATE COURT ACTIONS .............. 4

3. GILMER DOES NOT FORECLOSE
CONSIDERATION OF THE ISSUE RAISED :
Pe INT senapindnsnicthandriewseianctansensesncnees 7

4. THE ISSUE OF KNOWING AND VOLUN-
TARY WAIVER CAN PROPERLY BE
CONSIDERED BY THIS COURT.................. 8

| __IDN RCRa a ka Nee | 9

li

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
PAGE
Cases:
Allied-Bruce Terminix Companies, Inc. v.

Dobson, 513 U.S. , 115 S.Ct. 834 (1995) ... 5
Edmondson v. Pennsylvania National

Insurance Co., KY 781 S.W. 2d 753 (1989)...... 4
Gilmer v. Interstate/Johnson Lane Corp.,

a aia nih tictintiinatnintinnminaiedans passim
Illinois v. Gates, 462 U.S. 213 (1983) .................2.. 8
Perry v. Thomas, 482 U.S. 483 (1987) ................0. 3, 5
Prudential Insurance Co. v. Lai, 42 F.3d

1299 (11th Cir. 1994), cert. denied 116

aes NE iciiaeniciticneithasDiisidiiaddghinetaccieilinliaataiatinennatintigs 4
Southland Corp. v. Keating, 465 U.S. 1

a ceeciitideciciiecnticinthaealeataiinanl tania tetanic simaihi 4,5,6,8
Volt Information Sciences, Inc. v. Board of

Trustees of Leland Standford Junior

Univ., 489 U.S. 468 (1989) ..................ccccccccceees 4
Yee v. Escondido, 503 U.S. 519 (1992)................... 8

Statutes:
Federal Arbitration Act, 9 U.S.C. §2 (1994).......... 3, 4, 5
Kentucky Revised Statutes 336.700 ...................... 5,6
Kentucky Revised Statutes 417.050 ..................... 6
Miscellaneous:

A Due Process Protocol for Mediation and
Arbitration of Statutory Disputes Arising
Out of the Employment Relationship,
ee 2

No. 97-450

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1997

JANED. Hn1, - - - - - - - - ~~ Petitioner,
v.

J.J.B. Hm.iarp, W.L. Lyons, INc.;

WOLFGANG WILLIAM Bra;

JAMES C. Strong, III; and
GILBERT L. PAMPLIN - - - - -. - Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari
To the Kentucky Court of Appeals

PETITIONER’S REPLY BRIEF

INTRODUCTION

In Gilmer’, this Court held that a securities industry
registration application requiring arbitration of any con-
troversy “arising out of employment” was a contract under
the Federal Arbitration Act (“FAA”) and operated to re-
quire arbitration of a statutory civil rights claim. The
opinion did not discuss whether Mr. Gilmer knowingly and
voluntarily waived his right to a judicial forum, but “left
for resolution in specific cases” the issue of unequal bar-
gaining power between the parties, observing that Gilmer

1 Gilmer v. Interstate/Johnson Lane Corp., 500 U.S. 29 (1991).

2

was an experienced businessman who did not claim he
was coerced or defrauded. 500 U.S. at 33

In the present case, Hill petitions this Court to exam-
ine the issue, decided but not discussed in Gilmer, of
whether mandatory predispute arbitration of employment
disputes is permissible under the FAA. Hill’s petition ar-
gues that it is impossible for an employee either knowingly
to waive a claim before it has arisen or voluntarily agree to
arbitration if it is imposed as a condition of getting or
keeping a job. (Pet. at 9-11) Further, it contends that the
response to employer imposed arbitration has been in-
creased litigation over arbitrability issues and virtually
unanimous criticism by professional arbitrators and the
civil rights community. (Pet. at 5-8) The analytical core of
the rejection of Gilmer by these groups, which are neces-
sary for the practical success of arbitration as alternative
dispute resolution, is that she viability of the process rests
on its truly voluntary acceptance by both employers and
employees. Systems designed exclusively by employers and
imposed on employees simply cannot be workable private
mechanisms to resolve employment disputes. Mandatory
arbitration will continue to be challenged in court so long
as those who are accused of wrongdoing are free both to
design and impose the system to decide the claim. Foxes
are poor guardians of hen houses.

Ironically, one of the developments following Gilmer
was the development of the Protocol reflecting a broad
based consensus on the procedures necessary for effective
arbitration of employment disputes. (Pet. at 8) As yet,
however, employers have been slow to accept the proce-
dures set forth in the Protocol and there is no effective way
to compel such acceptance.

With this background, Hill’s petition suggests that vol-
untary arbitration, agreed to after a dispute has arisen, is
the only viable solution. It is just as efficient as manda-

3

tory arbitration and has the advantage of eliminating
arbitrability disputes. (Pet. at 10-12) The proponents of
mandatory arbitration were challenged by Hill’s petition
to articulate any reason why it was preferable, other than
it retained a real or perceived procedural advantage for
the employer and resulted in reducing the employer’s dam-
ages. (Pet. at p. 11 n. 21)

Astonishingly, neither brief in opposition even attempts
to refute Hill’s argument that mandatory arbitration is
unworkable and voluntary arbitration is the preferable al-
ternative. Instead, Respondent Brab argues (Opp. at 3-5)
that the FAA permits only mandatory arbitration. The
Hilliard Respondents argue (Opp. at 6-9) that Gilmer fore-
closes consideration of whether mandatory arbitration is
required under the FAA. Both briefs in opposition assert
that Hill’s voluntary arbitration argument should not be
considered because it was not presented to the lower courts.
These points in opposition are considered in order.

1 THE ISSU& OF KNOWING AND VOLUNTARY
WAIVER OF A JUDICIAL FORUM UNDER THE
FAA IS UNRESOLVED

Respondent Brab concedes that the issue of a knowing
and voluntary waiver of an employee’s right to a judicial
forum has never been addressed by this Court. (Opp. at 5-
6) Nonetheless, he argues that this Court’s statement that
Section 2 of the FAA “embodies a clear federal policy re-
quiring arbitration”* (emphasis added) precludes a system
of voluntary arbitration.

The flaw in Brab’s argument is that the quoted lan-
guage is taken out of context and the remaining language
in FAA Section 2 is ignored. Arbitration is not required if
the contract is “revocable upon such grounds as exist at

2 Perry v. Thomas, 482 U.S. 483, 489-90 (1987).

4

law or in equity.” Clearly, as Brab concedes, both federal
and Kentucky law provide ‘or the revocability of the con-
tract if the waiver was not knowing and voluntary. Pru-
dential Insurance Co. v. Lai, 42 F.3d 1299 (11th Cir. 1994),
cert. denied 116 S.Ct. 61 (1995); Edmondson v. Pennsylva-
nia National Insurance Co., Ky. 781 S.W.2d 753, 755 (1989).

The basis for this Court’s decisions implementing the
FAA is that agreements to arbitrate should be “as enforce-
able as other contracts, but not more so.” Volt Information
Sciences, Inc. v. Board of Trustees of Leland Standford
Junior Univ., 489 U.S. 468, 478 (1989) That the FAA re-
quires arbitration pursuant to traditional contract law does
not foreclose the concededly undiscussed issue Hill seeks
to have this Court address: was her waiver of a judicial
forum knowing and voluntary so that the agreement re-
quiring arbitration was not revocable?

2. A MAJORITY OF THIS COURT HAS VOTED IN
SEPARATE CASES NOT TO REQUIRE
ARBITRATION UNDER THE FAA OF STATE
COURT ACTIONS

The genesis of the preemptive effect of the FAA in state
court actions is Southland Corp. v. Keating, 465 U.S. 1
(1984). There the Court held that in enacting Section 2 of
the FAA, Congress created a body of substantive law, un-
der the Commerce Clause, applicable to both federal and
state courts. Chief Justice Rhenquist and Justice O’Connor
dissented on the ground that the FAA by its terms is ap-
plicable only to federal courts.? Justice Stevens dissented
separately on the ground that the exception based “on such
grounds as exist in law or equity” was broad enough to
permit state resolution restricting arbitration of various
claims.*

3 465 US. at 21.
4 465 U.S. at 17.

5

Subsequently, in Perry v. Thomas, 482 U.S. 483 (1987)
the Court held that Section 2 of the FAA preempted a
California statute precluding arbitration of wage collection
actions. Justices Stevens and O’Connor dissented for the
reasons stated in Southland.®

More recently, in Allied-Bruce Terminix Companies, Inc.
v. Dobson, 513 U.S. __, 115 S.Ct. 834 (1995) the Court
held that an Alabama statute making predispute arbitra-
tion agreements unenforceable was preempted by the FAA
so as to require arbitration of a claim brought in state
court for termite damage. Justices Thomas and Scalia
dissented, essentially for the reasons stated in the dissents
in Southland, that Congress never intended to apply the
FAA to state courts or to require specific enforcement of an
arbitration clause in the face of a contrary state statute.®
However, Justice O’Connor concurred in the Court’s opin-
ion on stare decisis grounds, even though she “continue[d]
to believe” Southland was wrongly decided.’

Thus, a majority® of this Court has voted, albeit in
different cases, against applying the FAA to preempt state
court actions.

The Kentucky Statutes are clear that, even though ar-
bitration generally is favored, mandatory arbitration of em-
ployment disputes is prohibited. KRS 336.700 prohibits
employers from requiring an employee to waive any statu-

5 482 U.S. at 493-4.
6 115 S.Ct. at 845.
7 115 S.Ct. at 843-4.

8 Chief Justice Rhenquist, Justices Stevens, O’Connor, Scalia
and Thomas.

6

tory claim.’ In addition, KRS 417.050 specifically removes
from the Uniform Arbitration Act “arbitration agreements
between employers and employees.”!°

It is respectfully submitted that this case provides the
Court with an appropriate vehicle to reexamine Southland.
There is surely little justification for a federal statute to
require arbitration of state civil rights and common law
tort claims arising out of an alleged rape. There is even
less justification to require arbitration of those claims when
a majority of this Court has rejected the decisional basis
for the application of the FAA.

The unstated reason for this Court’s enchantment with
the FAA is its usefulness in reducing the caseload burden
in the federal courts. It may well be that mandatory arbi-
tration is an effective procedure to reduce this burden.
There is no justification, however, for this Court to impose
the same procedure on the fifty state courts, which may or
may not be confronted with the same problem. Indeed, in
the instant case Kentucky has gone out of its way to re-
quire a judicial forum for the dispute. If any of the state

9 KRS 336.700 provides: Notwithstanding any provision of the
Kentucky Revised Statutes to the contrary,no employer shall
require as a condition or precondition of employment that any
employee or person seeking employment waive, arbitrate or oth-
erwise diminish any existing or future claim, right, or benefit to
which the employee or person seeking employment would other-
wise be entitled under any provision of the Kentucky Revisd
Statutes or any federal law.

10KRS 417.050 provides: A written agreement to submit any
existing controversy to arbitration or a provision in written con-
tract to submit to arbitration any controversy thereafter arising
between the parties is valid, enforceable and irrevocable, save
upon such grounds as exist at law for the revocation of any
contract. This chapter does not apply to arbitration agreements
between employers and employees or between their respective
representatives and does not apply to insurance contracts.

7

courts have a caseload problem, each state should be free
to deal with it in its own way.

In Gilmer, this Court emphasized that a plaintiff's le-
gal right to press his claim was undiminished and the only
difference was the forum in which the claim was heard.
There may be justification for requiring arbitrators to hear
cases which would otherwise be brought in federal courts,
but there is no good reason why an arbitral forum imposed
by a defendant should displace a state court.

3. GILMER DOES NOT FORECLOSE CONSID-
ERATION OF THE ISSUE RAISED IN THE
PETITION

Hill’s petition argues (Pet. at 10) that the rejection of
mandatory arbitration by professional arbitration organi-
zations and the EEOC, whose support is necessary for the
success of any private system of dispute resolution, means
that court challenges to mandatory arbitration will con-
tinue. The Hilliard Respondents counter that the lower
courts have uniformly required arbitration pursuant to
Gilmer and the law is therefore not unsettled.

This response misses the point. The goal is to have
less court litigation. The practical effect of mandatory
arbitration after Gilmer has been increased challenges to
arbitration and other procedural issues which are clearly
going to continue. Given this state of affairs, Hill’s peti-
tion raises the pertinent question whether employer de-
signed and imposed arbitration systems are a necessary
part of private employment dispute resolution. If the man-
datory aspect of the system is unnecessary and counter-
productive, it should be eliminated just as it was created:
by judicial fiat.

The suggestion by the Respondents that Hill’s argu-
ments are properly addressed to Congress, not this Court,
is also nonresponsive. They concede the issue of knowing

a

8

and voluntary waiver was not discussed in Gilmer. Why,
then, should Congress address an issue that was decided,
though not really considered by this Court? The current
expansive reach of the FAA is entirely a creation of this
Court. If it is not working, this Court should fix the prob-
lem rather than leave the job to Congress.

4. THE ISSUE OF KNOWING AND VOLUNTARY
WAIVER CAN PROPERLY BE CONSIDERED BY
THIS COURT

Both Brab and the Hilliard Respondents contend that
Hill’s petition runs afoul of the rule that, in reviewing
state court judgments, this Court will not consider claims
not raised or addressed below. See Illinois v. Gates, 462
U.S. 213, 218-20 (1983)

The flaw in Respondents’ contention is that it ignores
the difference between Hill’s claim and the arguments she
has advanced to support that claim. “Once a federal claim
is properly presented, a party can make any argument in
support of that claim; parties are not limited to the precise
arguments they made below.” Yee v. Escondido, 503 U.S.
519, 534 (1992)

Hill’s consistent federal claim has unquestionably been
that the FAA under Gilmer does not compel arbitration of
state court civil rights and tort claims. The Kentucky
Court of Appeals opinion was squarely based on its under-
standing of the FAA and Gilmer. (Petition for Certiorari,
Appendix 5A-9A) There can be no doubt the federal claim
was raised and decided below.

It may well be that Hill’s arguments to the lower courts
were more narrowly tailored. The broader arguments rais-
ing issues decided but not discussed in Gilmer, and invit-
ing a reexamination of Southland could not realistically
have been decided below and are properly addressed to
this Court.

9

CONCLUSION

This Court’s decisions have expanded the FAA to pre-
empt state law prohibiting arbitration of claims for wage
payment and termite damage. They permit employers to
design and impose involuntary arbitration systems on em-
ployees for the conceded purpose of avoiding the potential
monetary exposure inherent in a judicial forum. These
decisions should not be further expanded to require man-
datory arbitration of state court civil rights and tort claims
arising out of rape.

October 30, 1997

Respectfully submitted,

Gary L. THEURER, Esq.
15005 Spring Meadow Drive
Germantown, Maryland 20767
(301) 977-5779
Counsel of Record

Ivan H. Ricu, JR., Esq.
RicH & D’Amprosio, P.S.C.
3044 Breckenridge Lane, Suite 103
Louisville, Kentucky 40220
(502) 493-0503
Counsel for Petitioner, Jane D. Hill

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_1398%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
