# Amicus Curiae Brief — Schuylkill Energy Resources, Inc. v. Pennsylvania Power & Light Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_1337%3A6

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1997
- **Citation:** 522 U.S. 977

## Text

MOTION FILED
OCT 2 2 1997,

No. 97-387

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1997

SCHUYLKILL ENERGY RESOURCES, INC.
Petitioners,
Vv.

PENNSYLVANIA POWER & LIGHT, INC.
Respondents.

MOTION OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL
OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA
TO FILE AN AMICUS BRIEF OUT OF TIME AND AMICUS
BRIEF IN SUPPORT OF PETITION FOR A WRIT OF
CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF
APPEALS FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

D. MICHAEL FISHER
Attorney General

JAMES A. DONAHUE, Il
Chief Deputy Attorney General

ALEXIS L. BARBIERI
Executive Deputy Attorney
General

Counsel of Record

Office of Attorney General
14* Floor, Strawberry Square
Harrisburg, PA 17120

(717) 787-4530

Attorneys for the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania

SDR iE Aa be Tie Ek tte Ne SMD ea ttl, Ar EO a IR RI. Hie Sey 0 Ville “ a ath a

LIST OF COUNSEL

Counsel for the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania

D. MICHAEL FISHER
Attorney General

JAMES A. DONAHUE, II
Chief Deputy Attorney General
Office of Attorney General
14" Floor, Strawberry Square
Harrisburg, PA 17120
(717) 787-4530

ALEXIS L. BARBIERI
Executive Deputy Attorney General
Office of Attorney General
14" Floor, Strawberry Square
Harrisburg, PA 17120
(717) 787-9716
Counsel of Record

TABLE OF CONTENTS
PAGES

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .................. i, li
MOTION OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL

OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF

PENNSYLVANIA TO FILE AN AMICUS

BRIEF OUT OF THRE 2 se. casas i see... l
AMICUS BRIEF IN SUPPORT OF PETITION

FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR

SD SR AEE 6 ne vevnsssbnndecsues 3
INTEREST OF THE AMICUS STATE......... 3
SUMMARY OF REASONS CERTIORARI

SHOULD BE GRANTED ................... 3
Fe Pe ee 4

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES PAGES
Blue Shield of Virginia v. McCready,

457 U.S: 465. (1962) nn cc cccccccdeses 7
Brunswick Corp. v. Pueblo Bowl-o-Mat, Inc.,

429 US. 477 CAST)... bocce ces ceces 7
Interstate Circuit, Inc. v. United States,

SE ee 7
Schuylkill Energy Resources, Inc. v. Pennsylvania

Power & Light, Inc.,

113 F.3d 405 (3d. Cir. 1997)...........-- 3

Schuylkill Energy Resources, Inc. v. Pennsylvania
Power & Light, Inc.,
1996-1 Trade Cas. § 71,447 (E.D. Pa. 1996). 6

STATUTES

15 U.S.C. § 1 et seg. (1994) .... 2... cece e eee eeee 5
CE EE acces k andes pare ncseadectussss 7
66 P.S. § 2801 ef seg... 0... ee cece eee reece 5
66 Pa. C.S.A. § 2806(b) .. 2... eee eee ewer e eee 6
(ij AR wy) Seer 4

Se PTE ce vccrageescsasacesaasvinsnnses 8

LIS PSE RE .. . ccct vou sen eRe ekeeeades «+ i

CE es ox 6 kn bs vancd beneeneeuseueeas 3,8
OTHER AUTHORITIES
Telecommunications Act of 1996,
Pub. L. No. 104-104 (1996) .............. 3
Sap. CO BR. BGEG) «oo 5 cc on on UU Ra cca 3
ii

MOTION OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL
OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA
TO FILE AN AMICUS BRIEF OUT OF TIME

The Attorney General of the Commonwealth of
Pennsylvania (“Attorney General”) respectfully moves this Court
for permission to file an amicus brief out of time in the above
matter.

1. This case involves antitrust standing in soon-to-be regulated
markets.

2. The Attorney General originally decided not to file an amicus
brief in this case.

3. Subsequent to that decision, the Attorney General has become
involved in an onslaught of litigation over deregulation issues. One
case, involving the merger of Allegheny Power System and
Duquesne Light Company currently involves litigation before the
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission: Application for Merger
Approval and Related Authorizations among DQE, Inc., Allegheny
Power System, Inc. and AYPSub, Inc., Docket Nos. EC97-46-000,
ER97-4050-000; and ER97-405 1-000; the Pennsylvania Public
Utility Commission: In re: Joint Application of DQE, Inc. and
Allegheny Power System, Inc. and AYPSub, Inc. for Approval of
the Transfer by Merger of the Property and Rights of Duquesne
Light Company to Allegheny Power Systems, Inc., Docket
No. A-110150F0015; and the United States District Court for the
Western District of Pennsylvania: Washington Power (1), Inc. and
Air Products and Chemicals, Inc. v. Allegheny Power Systems, Inc.,
Allegheny Power Service Corporation and West Penn Power, Civil
Action No. 95-0658 (filed May 2, 1995, amended October 4, 1996,
W.D. Pa.); Champion Processing, Inc., North Branch Energy, Inc.
and Air Products and Chemicals Inc. v. Allegheny Power System,
Inc., Allegheny Power Service Corporation and West Penn Power
Company, Civil Action No. 96-0598 (filed April 1, 1996, amended
September 30, 1996, W.D. Pa.};City of Pittsburgh v. West Penn
Power Company, Allegheny Power System, Inc., Duquesne Light

Company and DQE, Inc., Civil Action No. 97-1772 (filed
Sepember 29, 1997, W.D. Pa.).

4. All three bodies are looking at the competitive impact of the
merger.

5. It is anticipated that other mergers will occur in the
telecommunications industry which will prompt similar litigation.

6. Upon further reflection, the Attorney General determined that
any ambiguity of standing in the newly deregulated industries could
cause confusion among the courts or the regulatory-commissions.

Therefore, the Attorney General respectfully requests
that this court grant the Attorney General’s motion to file an amicus
brief out of time.

Respectfully submitted by,

D. MICHAEL FISHER
Attorney General

JAMES A. DONAHUE, III
Chief Deputy Attorney General

ALEXIS L. BARBIERI
Executive Deputy Attorney General
Counsel of Record

Office of Attorney General

14* Floor, Strawberry Square

Harrisburg, PA 17120

(717) 787-4530

Attorneys for the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania

October 28, 1997

AMICUS BRIEF IN SUPPORT OF PETITION
FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURTS OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

In Schuylkill Energy Resources, Inc. v. Pennsylvania Power
& Light, Inc., 113 F.3d 405 (3d. Cir. 1997), the Third Circuit denied
standing to a potential new entrant into an electricity market which
was about to be deregulated. The Attorney General of the
Commonwealth of Pennsylvania (hereinafter “Attorney General”)
respectfully files this amicus brief to urge this Court to clarify
antitrust standing in newly-deregulated markets. The Attorney
General takes no position on the merits of the underlying dispute
between the parties.

The Third Circuit’s decision “conflicts with applicable
decisions of this Court,” Sup. Ct. R. 10(c), and will undermine state
antitrust enforcement in deregulated electric and telecommunica-
tions markets. Deregulation throughout the economy is likely to
raise questions of antitrust standing repeatedly in the future.

INTEREST OF THE AMICUS STATE

This case involves the application of the antitrust laws to an
emerging deregulated market. The Commonwealth focuses on one
portion of the Third Circuit’s opinion in this brief. The Third
Circuit held that an antitrust plaintiff in a market about to be
deregulated did not have standing to challenge actions designed to
keep the plaintiff out of that future market because the plaintiff was
not yet a competitor. 113 F.3d at 416. The issue is at what point do
those parties, who intend to enter newly-deregulated markets, have
antitrust standing to complain about acts which injure them in
violation of the antitrust laws. This case is significant because of
the national trend toward deregulation. While the instant case
involves deregulation of electric generation services in
Pennsylvania, similar issues can occur with regard to the application
of the Telecommunications Act of 1996, Pub. L. No. 104-104

3

(1996) and electric deregulation efforts in the other 39 states.' In
most cases of deregulation, the incumbent monopolist will continue
to play a role in delivering the deregulated service either through
ownership of local telephone switches and lines, as in the case of
telephone service, or through the ownership of local transmission
lines, as in the case of electric service. The ongoing forced
relationship between incumbent monopolists and new entrants sets
the context for the dispute in this case.

As the chief law enforcement officer of the Commonwealth
of Pennsylvania, the Attorney General is one of the primary
enforcers of the federal antitrust laws within the state.”

SUMMARY OF REASONS CERTIORARI
SHOULD BE GRANTED

Electric and telecommunications deregulation across the
country will pit incumbent natural monopolists against new
competitors. This Court should grant certiorari in this case to
affirm that upstart competitors have antitrust standing to challenge
actions which they believe violate the antitrust laws, but which
occur prior to complete deregulation of the market.

ARGUMENT
This dispute arises out of a contract between SER and

PP&L regarding the sale of electricity. SER has contracted to sell
79.5 megawatts of its energy plant’s output to PP&L for a period of

'So far, eleven states, California, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan,
Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Oklahoma, and
Pennsylvania, have enacted some form of electric utility deregulation.

271 PS. § 732-204(c).

™

20 years. PP&L is obligated to buy the electricity except during,
among some other limited times, “system emergencies.” 113 F.3d
at 411.

SER alleges that PP&L is trying to monopolize the market
for electricity by declaring numerous “sham” transmission “system
emergencies;” thus, causing SER to lose the revenues from selling
energy and incurring other incidental costs. SER claims that the
loss of electricity sale revenue and other increased costs resulting
from the “sham” system emergencies will cause it and other
independent power producers to exit the market place before
deregulation takes effect.’ Jd. SER alleges two separate federal
antitrust violations by PP&L under the Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C.

§ 1 et seg. (1994). In the first count, SER alleges a claim of
monopolization in violation of section 2 of the Sherman Act. In the
second count, SER alleges a claim of attempt to monopolize in
violation of section 2 of the Sherman Act.

PP&L has been regulated as a natural or legal monopoly.
Many advancements in technology have been made that will allow
competition in the wholesale and retail electric markets. These
advancements led to the passage of the Pennsylvania Electricity
Generation Customer Choice and Competition Act (“Customer
Choice Act”) 66 P.S. § 2801 et seg. The Customer Choice Act’s
first phase begins January 1, 1999, after a 1997-98 pilot program
period. This gives consumers the opportunity to choose their
electricity supplier. The Customer Choice Act phases in
competition for electricity during 1999-2001. On January 1, 1999,
electric utilities must offer a choice of electric suppliers to a
maximum of 33% of the peak load of each customer class: on
January 1, 2000, electric utilities must offer a choice of electric

> Again, the Attorney General takes no position on whether the acts
alleged by SER, namely the repeated declaration of system emergencies,
allegedly for improper reasons, constitutes an antitrust violation. The
Commonwealth’s sole interest in this petition is on the standing question.

suppliers to a maximum of 66% of the peak load of each customer
class and on January 1, 2001, all customers must have the
opportunity to choose suppliers. 66 Pa. C.S.A. § 2806(b).
Suppliers must be approved before they can offer electricity to
consumers.

The District Court dismissed SER’s complaint for failing to
state an antitrust injury. 1996-1 Trade Cas. § 71,447 (E.D. Pa.
1996) (Pet. App. at 32a). Specifically, the District Court cited
SER’s failure to allege injury to competition generally not just to
itself (Pet. App. at 33a) and the speculative nature of SER’s claim
that PP&L will be able to raise electric rates to consumers at some
point in the future if it drives firms like SER from the market
(Pet. App. at 33 and 37a).

The Third Circuit affirmed the District Court’s dismissal.
One reason for dismissal was the inability of SER to currently
compete in the electricity market even though the Customer Choice
Act would give SER that right in the future. In reference to the
passage of the Customer Choice Act, the Third Circuit held:

We wiil not attempt to predict the future of
competitive retail access in Pennsylvania. We do
not know whether SER or PP&L will even exist in
2001, and we certainly do not know whether PP&L
will enjoy an unlawful monopoly in its service area
at that time. What we do know is that SER is
presently unable to compete with PP&L, both by
agreement and by law. While SER attempts to
characterize itself as PP&L’s competitor on the eve
of deregulation, we conclude that SER cannot, as a
matter of law, establish that PP&L’s generation
curtailment policy creates an injury of the type the
antitrust laws were intended to prevent.

113 F.3d at 416 (footnotes omitted).

|

In a footnote attached to the end of the above passage, the
Third Circuit added that it was not deciding whethe: PP&L’s
activities would violate the antitrust laws in a “competitive market.”
Id.

Separate and apart from the facts of this case, the Third
Circuit’s opinion appears to give incumbent monopolists carte
blanche to injure potential entrants into soon-to-be deregulated or
partially deregulated markets because the new entrants do not have
standing to fight back. The Commonwealth asserts that this is an
improper application of antitrust standing principals.

Antitrust standing is set forth in 15 U.S.C. § 15 which
grants standing to any person injured in his or her business by
anything prohibited by the antitrust laws. This Court requires
plaintiffs in antitrust cases to show that they have been injured by
an activity antitrust laws were designed to prevent. Brunswick
Corp. v. Pueblo Bowl-o-Mat, Inc., 429 U.S. 477 (1977). Standing
has been granted to those who are the intended victims of
anticompetitive conduct. Blue Shield of Virginia v. McCready,
457 U.S. 465 (1982). The Third Circuit has misapplied these
standing principles in this case.

SER contends that PP&L declared false system emergencies
with the intent to drive up SER’s costs and damage its equipment.‘
Normally, this type of alleged injury would be sufficient to establish
antitrust standing. Interstate Circuit, Inc. v. United States, 306
U.S. 208 (1939).

In its opinion, the Third Circuit recognized the passage of
the Customer Choice Act but held that any potential injury to SER

“No discovery has been taken in this case so it is unclear
whether SER will find evidence to support its contention that the system
emergencies were in fact false. Since this issue was decided on a motion
to dismiss, SER’s allegations are assumed to be true. Schuylkill Energy,
113 F.3d at 411.

as a potential competitor under this Act was too speculative.
Schuylkill Energy, 113 F.2d at 416. This was an improper
conclusion to make on a motion to dismiss. SER alleged that
PP&L, an incumbent monopolist, about to lose its monopoly,
engaged in acts designed to drive SER and other potential electricity
generators out of business before they would be able to compete
with it. The antitrust laws are designed to prevent monopolists from
engaging in predatory conduct which raises rivals’ costs. It is
unclear why SER, or anyone else in SER’s position in the future,
lacks standing to prove its claims on the basis that the electricity
market has not been deregulated yet.

By dragging timing into its analysis of standing, the Third
Circuit’s opinion in this case has unnecessarily confused the law of
antitrust standing. Clearly, if an entity in PP&L’s position engaged
in predatory conduct against new competitors in 2001, after
deregulation of the electric industry was complete in Pennsylvania,
the new competitors would have standing. But what if PP&L, or
any other entity, engaged in the same alleged acts a week before the
market was completely deregulated? Would these new competitors
still have standing? What result does the Third Circuit’s decision
mandate when only 33% of Pennsylvania consumers can participate
in a deregulated market after January 1, 1999? It appears from the
court’s decision that an incumbent monopolist could do anything to
its new competitors until 2001, a huge disadvantage to those
competitors and a result not consistent with this Court’s previous
opinions.

For these reasons, we respectfully request that this Court
grant the petition for certiorari in this case on the narrow issue of
when entities about to enter to newly deregulated markets have
standing under the antitrust laws.

Respectfully submitted by,

D. MICHAEL FISHER
Attorney General

JAMES A. DONAHUE, III
Chief Deputy Attorney General

ALEXIS L. BARBIERI
Executive Deputy Attorney General
Counsel of Record

Office of Attorney General
14* Floor, Strawberry Square
Harrisburg, PA 17120

(717) 787-4530

Attorneys for the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania

October 28, 1997

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_1337%3A6. Public record. Not legal advice.
