# Opposition Brief — Oldfather v. CIGNA Insurance

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_1293%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1997
- **Citation:** 522 U.S. 949

## Text

;
No. 97-341 © oman

supseme Court, U.%.

FILED

In The
; SEP 25 1997
Supreme Court of the Unite tates
October Term, 1996 CLERK

¢

JOYCE I. OLDFATHER, Individually and
As Representative of a Bondholder Class; and
Edwin Bertrand, Individually and As a
Representative of a Bondholder Class,

Petitioners,
VS.

CIGNA INSURANCE COMPANY, f/k/a
INA Underwriters Insurance Company,

Respondent.
.

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Ninth Circuit

oe
RESPONDENT’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
e
Tep A. SCHMIDT Rosert J. ROMERO
KINERK, BEAL, SCHMIDT & Lone & Levit LLP
Dyer, P.C. 101 California Street

5255 East Williams Circle Suite 2300
Suite 6000 -— West Tower San Francisco, CA 94111

Tucson, AZ 85711 Telephone: (415) 397-2222
Telephone: (520) 790-5600 A

MY SAMBERG
Paut R. Koeprr O’CoNNoR, CAVANAGH,
Counsel of Record Mo ioy & JONEs
THomas J. Diresta 33 North Stone, Suite 2100
O’MeELveny & Myers LLP Tucson, AZ 85711
153 East 53rd Street Telephone: (520) 628-4600

New York, NY 10022

Telephone: (212) 326-2000 ig a for Respondent
igna Insurance Company

(f/k/a INA Underwriters

September 25, 1997 Insurance Company)

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831 ot |

5

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Should the Court deny the instant Petition where the
Ninth Circuit’s opinion turned entirely on Arizona
state insurance law, there are no constitutional or
federal issues presented (let alone a split of authority
on such issues), Petitioners inappropriately seek this
Court’s review of the Ninth Circuit’s fact-bound and
evidentiary findings, and Petitioners misstate the
facts, the law and the fundamental basis of the Ninth
Circuit’s opinion?

Did the Ninth Circuit correctly apply well-established
Arizona law in ruling that there was no coverage
under Respondent’s professional liability policy, since
the insured, Guren, Merritt, Fiebel, Sogg & Cohen
(“Guren Merritt”) did not commit any liability-pro-
ducing conduct?

Did the Ninth Circuit correctly hold that liability in
the underlying class actions was limited to what
Robert Blattner did on the bond projects at a much
later time and while at a completely different law
firm, Benesch, Friedlander, Coplan & Aronoff
(“Benesch”), which Respondent did not insure?

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ........... i
TRE Ge Ca hs on heb cccscanssinnnescssis ii
BABES OF ARTA ENED 6 sc csccnsocesvessesewitne Vv
STATEMENT OF THE CASE... .......cccccsscccsees 1
PEE on scecesccnseccctsseoessubhndaeeaeeee 3

The Underlying Chandler Manor And Sun Mesa
DO THRONE «6x50 0 scctortessnsnseseainss 3

B. Blattner’s Liability-Producing Conduct At
DORR TERS 00 bbc nwicnsdeeeaecsanes 4

The Underlying Securities Class Action Litigation... 5

A. The Class Action Complaints .............. 5
D Fee Fees CM... ccsevcvndschasabeasnes 7
C. The Underlying Settlement ................ 9
Se RASS Tike co nda secnisdwesmege nous 10
A, “Tie OE BU wa osc cen ivcccwcwadnas 10
B. The Guren Merritt Policy .................. 10
Few Cae Fae GR onc dns teneaseen 11
1. Under The PREC Policy .............. 11

2. Under The Respondent's Policy ...... 12

ili

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page

The District Court’s Erroneous Coverage Order .. 12

The Ninth Circuit’s Opinion ......-----+--++++++:

REASONS WHY THE PETITION SHOULD BE
errr rrr rr eS Tete ee

I.

Il.

If.

THE STATE LAW ISSUES RAISED BY THE PETI-
TION ARE INSUFFICIENT TO INVOKE THIS
COURT’S CERTIORARI JURISDICTION .......-

CONTRARY TO WHAT PETITIONERS CON-
TEND, THERE ARE NO “COMPELLING REA-
SONS” WARRANTING THIS COURT’S
ne er. oe

A. There Are No Constitutional Or Federal

B. There Are No Other “Compelling Rea-

THE WRIT SHOULD BE DENIED BECAUSE
PETITIONERS INAPPROPRIATELY SEEK
THIS COURT’S REVIEW OF EVIDENTIARY
AND FACTUAL FINDINGS, AS WELL AS
MISSTATE THE BASIS OF THE NINTH CIR-
CUIT’S RULING, THE FACTS AND THE LAW

eee a ee ne oS ee S'S O66 SSS 9S Sh om”

A. The Petition Misstates The Basis Of The
Ninth Circuit’s Opinion ......----+++++:-

The Petition Misstates The Facts.........

C. The Petition Misstates The Law .......--

14

16

16

22

22

22

iv
TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued
Page

IV. THE NINTH CIRCUIT’S RULING PROPERLY
VOIDED AN UNJUST WINDFALL FOR PETI-
SR 4 5 i 4n ian Cee aeeieeens oer eeasetnan 28

ee ee PUTT TT LETT ee eee ee eee ee 29

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

UniteD STATES SUPREME COURT CASES
Affiliated UTE Citizens v. United States, 406 U.S. 128

SITAR oo sc'se + nnen abn gh aeannngrePneee pane ares. 22
Basic, Inc. v. Levinson, 485 U.S. 224 (1988) .---------> 20
Blue Chip Stamps v. Manor Drug Stores, 421 U.S. 723

MED asctyceeassreteern teeter 19
Brockett v. Spokane Arcades, Inc., 472 U.S. 491 (1985) ..-- 17
Butner v. United States, 440 U.S. 48 (1979) ..-----++- 17
Central Bank of Denver, N.A. 2. First Interstate Bank

of Denver, N.A., 114 S.Ct. 1439 (1994) .-------+-+>: 21
Chiarella v. United States, 445 U.S. 222 (1979) .------> 20
Erie R.R. Co. v. Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64 (1938)...-----> 16
Estate of Spiegel v. Commissioner of Internal Revenue,

eee 11S.. FAl. (ADU) .«- oor esnccererreeccsee rer en® 16
Huddleston v. Dwyer, 322 U.S. 232 (1944) ------sr 16
NLRB v. Hendricks County Rural Elec. Corp., 454

SSS. S70 COORDS «ou. 3 wears cee een eteae essen rene™ 25
Rudolf v. United States, 370 U.S. 269 (1962) ...-----:> 25
United States v. Johnston, 268 U.S. 220 (1925)..------- 24
OTHER CASES
Ackerman v. Schwartz, 947 F.2d 841 (7th Cir. 1991).... 20
Camp v. Dema, 948 F.2d 455 (8th Cir. 1991)...------- 21

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
Cronin v. Midwestern Oklahoma Develop. Authority,
ee Eee Ee Te rer eee 28
Employers Reins. Corp. v. Fireman's Fund Ins. Co., 95
ee Fe Fe ee | eer rere 18
Katara v. D.E. Jones Commodities, Inc., 835 F.2d 966
RA BOND ack idk dundecnws ne ndwoewesseeesseee se 22
Kiernan v. Homeland, Inc., 611 F.2d 785 (9th Cir.
PU ikec sn vdeasaeskeeds bhabeeen este eae 22
Langley v. Mut. Fire, Marine & Inland Ins. Co., 512
ee ee eg eee ee eee Ce Sree 18
New England Ins. Co. v. Sylvia, 783 F. Supp. 6 (D.
SN BED Sine eukae Kaekcc Casale keener eR eaeuEr ies 18
Ohashi v. Bert Indus., 536 F.2d 849 (9th Cir.), cert.
Po ae ere re re eee 19
Roberts v. Peat, Marwick, Mitchell & Co., 857 F.2d
646 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 1002 (1989) .... 19
Schatz v. Rosenberg, 943 F.2d 485 (4th Cir.), cert.
Gheted, FRE UD. FOO CII aoc kk ec cackcesavenss 20, 21
Standard Fire Ins. Co. v. Peoples Church of Fresno,
S05 F.2d 406 Cth Cie. 1998)... 2. ccccscccccesere 26
Taub v. First State Ins. Co., 44 Cal. App. 4th 811, 52
Ch. Hee. 20 E 2. Ap. TS) oon cscccccewcsas. 18
Williams v. Sinclair, 529 F.2d 1383 (9th Cir.), cert.
dated, SOG WS. SoG CEGFBS oes ovine senivncscvnuns 21

bt RAD LARS Deni gh RA 6

Vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

STATUTES
USL. & TIGID) ...... 0220s cc eneesrcareseesescenss 13
Supreme Court Rule TOMO) onc cccccnsevesedevenseness 25
MIsCELLANEOUS
2 Long, The Law Of Liability Insurance, § 12B04[4];

§ 12C.04[2]; § 12B04[4]; § 12C.04[2] (1989).....---> 18
3 New York Insurance Law, § 40.03[2] (1991)......---- 18

Frankfurter, The Business of the Supreme Court at
October term 1933, 48 Harv. L. Rev. 238 (1934)..... 17

Hanen, Legal Malpractice Insurance: Exclusions,
Selected Coverage and Consumer Issues, 33
So.Tex.L.Rev. 75 (1992)....-sseeeeeeceeecscsseecees 18

1

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This appeal concerns the Ninth Circuit’s correct
interpretation and application of well-established Ari-
zona law that Respondent’s professional liability insur-
ance policy, which insured a law firm (Guren Merritt),
did not provide coverage for two underlying securities’
class actions commenced by Petitioners, where: that law
firm was not named by Petitioners as a defendant in the
underlying actions; it had not committed any liability-
producing acts, errors, or omissions; it had ceased to have
any involvement with the underlying transactions and
issuance of bonds long before any liability-producing act,
error Or omission was committed by a different law firm
(Benesch); and the iiability-producing acts, errors and
omissions were committed solely by Benesch.

As such, the instant Petition is particularly inap-
propriate for review by this Court for at least the follow-
ing reasons:

First, this appeal turns entirely on the Ninth Circuit's
correct interpretation and application of Arizona state
insurance law. There is no need for this Court to deter-
mine and then review what is applicable Arizona state
insurance law, and whether the Ninth Circuit correctly
applied Arizona law, especially when that court has
expertise and experience with Arizona insurance law.
Moreover, to the extent Petitioners seek to have this
Court resolve purportedly “novel” questions of Arizona
insurance law, a proposition with which Respondent dis-
agrees, Petitioners should have commenced their cover-
age action in state court and not in federal court. Or else,
they should have sought to have certified questions of
law resolved by the Arizona State Supreme Court (not
this Court). Petitioners never made such a request before

2

the District Court. Petitioners’ certification request came
only after the Ninth Circuit rendered its opinion, and was
appropriately denied by the Ninth Circuit for obvious
reasons.

Second, Petitioners provide no “compelling reasons”
requiring this Court’s review. There are no constitutional
or federal questions at issue, and Petitioners did not
contend otherwise. There are no conflicts between any
federal courts of appeal (or with any state supreme
courts) with respect to Petitioners’ state insurance law
claims, and Petitioners do not contend otherwise. Indeed,
this case only involves whether there is insurance cover-
age under a specific professional liability insurance pol-
icy (issued 13 years ago), under a particular set of facts
and allegations which were extensively litigated before
the District Court and the Ninth Circuit.

Third, the standard reasons employed by this Court
in denying certiorari petitions apply with equal if not
greater force here. The alleged errors asserted by Peti-
tioners turn on factual and evidentiary findings that were
entirely correct and appropriate, and certainly do not
require this Court’s valuable time and resources to re-
review those factual and evidentiary submissions and
rulings by the District Court and the Ninth Circuit. In
addition, and perhaps in their zeal to seek review by this
Court, Petitioners have misstated the legal basis for the
Ninth Circuit’s ruling.

Fourth, Petitioners have already recovered all available
insurance coverage from the insurers of Benesch, and all
Petitioners are seeking now is insurance provided to a
different law firm (Guren Merritt) that was never named a
defendant in the underlying class actions, committed no
liability-producing conduct resulting in Petitioners’

3

alleged injury, ceased to be involved long before the key
events and transactions, and was never involved in the
underlying settlement in any respect. It is especially reveal-
ing that Petitioners state that this appeal is important to
not only them, but “society at large”, when in fact, the real
beneficiary is not the underlying plaintiff classes, but the
excess insurer of Benesch (Old Republic), which has
financed this coverage suit, used its own lawyers to liti-
gate this case and pursue appeals, and hopes to recover
50% of the potential $23 million sought from Respondent.

FACTS

The Underlying Chandler Manor And Sun Mesa Bond
Transactions

The underlying transactions forming the basis of this
insurance litigation involve tax exempt bonds issued for
the construction and operation of two residential retire-
ment communities in Mesa and Chandler, Arizona,
known as the “Sun Mesa” and “Chandler Manor” pro-
jects. Guren Merritt and one of its partners, Robert Blat-
tner, was initial co-bond counsel, but ceased to be co-
bond counsel in mid-March 1984. At that time, Blattner
left Guren Merritt to become a member of Benesch, at
which time Benesch became co-bond counsel.

Prior to when Blattner left Guren Merritt in mid-
March 1984, Blattner committed no liability-producing
act, error or omission, but only engaged in certain prelim-
inary activities. In stark contrast, however, much later in
1984, the Benesch firm and Blattner did commit liability-
producing acts, errors and omissions, which led to them
being sued in two class actions.

4
A. Blattner’s Preliminary Acts At Guren Merritt

While at Guren Mere’, Blattner performed certain

preliminary activities relating to the bond projects:

An initial application for each bond project was sub-
mitted to the Mesa and Chandler Industrial Develop-
ment Authority (“IDA”). (CR 181, p. 15; CR 211, p.
13)! Each IDA approved the preliminary application,
contingent on more information being submitted later.
Each IDA approved the applications shortly before the
bond projects closed, which was after Blattner had left
Guren Merritt and was at Benesch. (ER 8, p. 11; ER 14,
p. 5; ER 19, pp. 6-7) At no time was any IDA approval
withdrawn, and neither IDA asserted any claim
against Guren Merritt or Blattner.

An application seeking tax exemption was submitted
to the IRS. (CR 181, Exs. 45-46) After Blattner left
Guren Merritt and was at Benesch, the IRS approved
those applications. (CR 211, Ex. A; ER 19) However, at
no time did the IRS revoke its approval, or make any
claims against Guren Merritt or Blattner.

An issue of whether the projects required “life care”
permits under Arizona law had surfaced before Blat-
tner left Guren Merritt. (CR 296, Ex. 4) However, that
issue was not resolved, one way or the other, while
Blattner was at Guren Merritt. (CR 211, p. 13; CR 211,
Ex. Q, BB, and CC; ER 2)

B. Blattner’s Liability-Producing Conduct At
Benesch Friedlander

In mid-March 1984, Blattner left Guren Merritt and

became a partner at Benesch. At that time, Guren Merritt
ceased to be co-bond counsel, and Benesch became co-

1 Respondent’s citations to “CR” refer to docket number
entries in the Clerk’s Record; citations to “ER” are to the
Excerpts of Record submitted to the Ninth Circuit.

5

bond counsel. (CR 1, pp. 3-4; CR 211, p. 13; CR 211 Ex. A,
pp. 6-7; ER 19) At least the following liability-producing
activities occurred while Blattner was at Benesch:

e Preliminary official statements or red herrings were
distributed, in which Benesch (not Guren Merritt) was
identified as co-bond counsel. (CR 296, Ex. 4, ER 2)

e Blattner prepared, signed and delivered opinion let-
ters on Benesch letterhead (not Guren Merritt) attest-
ing to the validity and tax exempt status of the bonds.
(ER 4, 6) Copies of those bond opinions were provided
to potential bond purchasers, who allegedly relied on
them. (ER 14, p. 9; ER 8, p- 7)

e The prospectus-like documents for each bond project,
known as Official Statements (“OSs”), were reviewed
and approved by Blattner on behalf of Benesch (not
Guren Merritt), and were then distributed to potential
bond purchasers. (ER 3, 5, 19) Ultimately, the OSs
were allegedly relied upon by the bond purchasers.
Benesch (not Guren Merritt) appeared as co-bond
counsel in the OSs. (Id.) |

e On August 30, and November 30, 1984 respectively,
the bond projects for Chandler and Sun Mesa closed,
after which the bonds were sold. Blattner attended
each closing on behalf of Benesch. (ER 14, p. 5; ER 8,
ER 19, p. 3, 6-8)?

The Underlying Securities Class Action Litigation
A. The Class Action Complaints

The Sun Mesa and Chandler Manor projects eventu-
ally failed. In 1986 and 1987, the Sun Mesa bonds and the
Chandler Manor bonds were declared in default. (CR 1,

2 Respondent attaches as an Appendix a chart summarizing
the above undisputed facts, which compares Blattner’s work on
the projects while at Guren Merritt and Benesch.

6

pp. 5-7; ER 23) Thereafter, two separate class actions were
brought on behalf of purchasers of the Sun Mesa and
Chandler bonds, Joyce I. Oldfather v. Sun Mesa Corporation,
et al. and Bertrand v. Industrial Development Authority of
City of Chandler. (ER 8, 14) The plaintiff-classes consisted
solely of those persons who had purchased bonds, com-
plaining that they were materially misled by the OSs
provided to them prior to their bond purchases. In each
action, defendants were professionals and other entities
involved in the preparation and dissemination of the OSs,
erroneous legal opinions, and sale of the bonds to the
bond purchasers. (ER 7)

Both class action complaints named Benesch as a
defendant because of its role as co-bond counsel, pointing
to work of Blattner on the projects as a member of
Benesch. Both complaints named, as individual defen-
dants, those Benesch partners as of the date the bonds
were issued. (ER 14, p. 9-10; ER 8, p. 7-8)

In contrast, the Oldfather and Bertrand complaints did
not name Guren Merritt or any former Guren Merritt
partner as a defendant.4 Nor did the complaints
specifically allege that Blattner committed any wrongful
conduct at Guren Merritt. Rather, the gravamen of both

3 Both complaints made clear they were naming these
Benesch partners as defendants “solely to permit enforcement
of a judgment against their personal assets in the event that
[Benesch] assets [were] insufficient to satisfy the judgement to
be obtained by plaintiffs.” (ER 14, p. 10; ER 8, p. 8)

4 Not surprisingly, in response to complaints filed in
Bertrand and Oldfather, answers were only made on behalf of the
Benesch firm and the partners thereof who had been specifically
named as defendants (ER 16); no answer was ever served or
filed on behalf of Guren Merritt or any former partner of Guren
Merritt. Nor did Benesch or any of its partners assert any claim
against Guren Merritt or any former partners of Guren Merritt.

7

class action complaints was that the bond purchasers had
been misled by material Omissions in offering documents
disseminated when the bonds were sold. With respect to
Benesch, the complaints alleged:

In connection with disclosures to investors and the
sale of the bonds, all counsel involved in the
transaction issued misleading legal opinions
concerning their involvement in the preparation
and review of necessary documents, the
Chandler Commons Project, and applicable law.
The defendant law firms that rendered opinions
that there were no material representations or
non-disclosures as summarized above and
below, issued misleading legal opinions . . . Benesch
Friedlander, acting principally through its part-
ner, defendant Robert A. Blattner, delivered an
opinion at the closing that the bonds were valid
and legally binding special obligations of the
issuer and that the bonds were tax exempt.
Benesch Friedlander Participated in disclosures
to investors and Participated in the preparation
and use of the Prospectus. (ER 14, p. 9, 19; ER 7)
(Emphasis added)5

In Bertrand, the class of bondholders sought damages
predicated on their having purchased now worthless
bonds. The exact same is true for the damages sought in
Oldfather. No damages were sought in either action for
any wrongful conduct happening before they had pur-
chased the bonds.

B. The Pre-Trial Order

After all document and deposition discovery in the
underlying Oldfather action was complete, on February

> The allegations in the Oldfather complaint were identical
in all material aspects to the Bertrand allegations.

8

20, 1991, the parties submitted a joint pre-trial order
(“PTO”). (CR 211, Ex. 1, ER 19) In the PTO, Petitioners
identified as defendants “Benesch and all of its partners
as of November 30, 1984 including Robert A. Blattner.”
(Id. at 2) Petitioners asserted that Benesch’s conduct was
an “extreme departure” from Benesch’s duty of ordinary
care:

Benesch/Friedlander participated in making dis-
closures to plaintiffs. Through Blattner, they drafted,
reviewed and approved the Sun Mesa Official State-
ment, which was distributed to purchasers of the
Bonds, including plaintiffs . . . [Benesch] knew
and intended that the Bonds would be sold, that
the Sun Mesa Official Statement was to be used
in selling the bonds, that it would be distributed
to the investing public, including plaintiffs, and
that the investing public could and would rely
on the Official Statement . . . [Benesch] repre-
sented that the Sun Mesa Official Statement con-
tained a fair, complete, and accurate depiction of the
Sun Mesa project . . . In preparing the Sun Mesa
Official Statement, [Benesch] knew or recklessly
ignored the facts that a life care permit was
required .. . (Id. at 24-25)

Moreover, Petitioners asserted how they allegedly relied
upon and were harmed by Benesch’s conduct:

[Benesch] prepared a fraudulent Official State-
ment. Plaintiffs would not have purchased the
bonds but for the fraudulent admissions from
the Sun Mesa Official Statement. [Benesch’s]
conduct proximately caused plaintiff’s damages
in an amount equal to the purchase price of the
bonds, pre-judgment interest, attorney’s fees
and costs incurred . . . (Id. at 37)

Significantly, the only reference to Guren Merritt in the
PTO was that Blattner (and an associate) had left Guren
Merritt on March 19, 1984. (Id. at 6) The PTO contained

9

no other allegation concerning Guren Merritt, let alone
one of wrongdoing.

C. The Underlying Settlement

On or about March 20, 1991, Petitioners entered a
settlement agreement with Benesch, and all Benesch part-
ners as of the dates when the bonds had been issued. (CR
181, Ex. 26, ER 20) Petitioners agreed to, among other
things, settle all of their claims against Benesch and its
partners, not execute on the stipulated judgments entered
against Benesch or its partners, and only seek to recover
the net amounts of the judgments from defendant.® (CR
296, Ex. 16, ER 21)

Benesch and its partners, including Blattner, assigned
their rights under the Guren Merritt policy to Petitioners.
(CR 296, Ex. 16, ER 21) Thereafter, all settlement-related
documents referred only to “Benesch and all of its part-
ners as of the date of issuance of the bonds, including
Blattner.” (CR 259, Ex. 28, ER 21-22) There were no settle-
ment-related documents relating to Guren Merritt or its
former partners.

6 As part of the March 20, 1991 settlement, the settling
parties and Old Republic gave Respondent 5 days to contribute
its $5 million limits, otherwise the settlement would be executed
without Respondent and Respondent would be sued for
coverage for $23 million and bad faith. (CR 181, Ex. 26, p. 6-7)
However, the settlement agreement already had provided that,
whether Respondent agreed to pay or not, Blattner was not
exposed to any liability. If Respondent did not pay, Petitioners
and Old Republic would try to hold Respondent liable. Knowing
that Blattner would not be exposed to any personal liability,
Respondent adhered to its no coverage position. (CR 181, Ex. 27)
Through this intended “set up,” Petitioners and Old Republic
sought a potential $23 million windfall from Respondent.

10
The Insurance Policies
A. The Benesch Policies

Benesch was insured under a $5 million professional
liability claims-made policy issued by Pacific Employers
Insurance Company (“PEIC”), an affiliate of Respondent,
effective January 19, 1987 to January 19, 1988. (CR 181,
Ex. 4) Only Benesch and its partners were insured under
the PEIC policy, and only for acts, errors or omissions
committed at Benesch.”

B. The Guren Merritt Policy

Respondent asured Guren Merritt under a policy
affording professional liability coverage from November
30, 1983 to November 30, 1984. For purposes of this case,
the applicable limits of liability are $5 million. The insur-
ing agreement provides in relevant part:

To pay on behalf of the Insured® all sums which

the Insured shall become legally obligated to

pay as damages as a result of claims first made

against the Insured or any person for whose acts

the insured is legally liable:

7 Old Republic issued an excess policy that followed form
to the PEIC policy, insuring Benesch and its partners for claims
made between January 19, 1987 and January 19, 1988. (CR 54,
Ex. B) Old Republic took the position that all underlying
coverage, including the Guren Merritt policy, had to be
exhausted before its excess policy provided any coverage to
Blattner. (CR 316, Ex. G)

8 The policy expressly required that the professional
services had to be rendered by “the Insured,” which was
defined as: “any former partner . . . acting in his professional
capacity on behalf of [Guren Merritt].” (Id.)

11

(a) By reason of any act, error or omission in
professional services rendered or which should
have been rendered by the insured. . . . (ER 1)
(Emphasis added)

As initially issued, the policy required that, in order
for there to be coverage, the claim had to be “first made”
during the policy period. (Id.) However, Endorsement 7
amended the policy to eliminate the requirement that the
claim had to be first made during the policy period.
Endorsement 7 provided in relevant part:

(1) Coverage will be provided according to the

applicable terms, conditions and exclusions of this

policy for all the claims first made after the
termination of the policy period, arising out of
any act, error, or omission in rendering profes-
sional services for others in the insured’s capac-
ity as a lawyer, which took place prior to the
end of the policy period and were caused by the
insured or any other person for whose acts,
errors, Or omissions the insured is legally
responsible, and are otherwise covered by the
policy. . . (Id.) (Emphasis added)
The sole purpose and effect of Endorsement 7 was to
eliminate the requirement that a claim first be made
during the policy, which was obtained by Guren Merritt
when it dissolved in June 1984.

C. The Claims For Coverage
1. Under The PEIC Policy

Immediately after institution of the underlying class
actions, Benesch and its partners, including Blattner,
demanded that PEIC defend and indemnify them under
the PEIC policy. (CR 181, Ex. 5) Without disputing cover-
age, PEIC acknowledged its obligation to defend and
appointed a leading Phoenix firm (Jennings, Strouss &
Selman) to defend. (CR 181, Ex. 6) Much later, when the

12

actions were being settled, PEIC paid its $5 million limits
of liability.

2. Under The Respondent’s Policy

For two years after the underlying class actions were
commenced, no one ever gave notice or made any
demand for coverage under Respondent’s Guren Merritt
policy. During that time, Benesch and its partners, includ-
ing Blattner, were defended by Jennings Strouss (under
the PEIC policy).

However, in May 1988 Benesch submitted a claim for
coverage to Respondent, contending that Respondent's
Guren Merritt policy provided coverage for the same
claims asserted against Benesch and its partners. (ER 9,
10) After considering the request, analyzing the terms of
its policy, and investigating relevant facts, Respondent
declined coverage under the Guren Merritt policy. (ER 11,
15, 18) Simply put, there was no coverage under the
Respondent's policy because Blattner had not committed
any liability-producing act, error or omission while at
Guren Merritt; rather, his liability in the two class actions
stemmed from what he did while at Benesch.

The District Court’s Erroneous Coverage Order

On May 17, 1993, Petitioners moved for partial sum-
mary judgment contending that the Guren Merritt policy
provided coverage for the $23 million settlement of the
claims against Blattner. (CR 177, 180-181, 221-223) Peti-
tioners claimed that Blattner had committed acts, errors
or omissions while at Guren Merritt, contending it was
irrelevant whether any such act, error or omission
resulted in liability against Blattner. (Id.) On or about
August 20, 1993, Respondent opposed Petitioners’ sum-
mary judgment motion and moved for summary judg-
ment on all counts in Petitioners’ complaint. (CR 211-215,

ss emeniemereeeetniemiienaiiiaaateeieianiamaiaiailliil

13

227-228, 233) Respondent asserted that the Guren Merritt
policy did not afford coverage because Blattner had not
committed any liability-producing act, error and omis-
sion at Guren Merritt. (Id.)

On June 24, 1994, without a hearing, the Honorable
Carl A. Muecke of the United States District Court of
Arizona issued an order granting Petitioners’ motion and
denying Respondent’s motion. (ER 27; Petitioner’s
Appendix (“Pet. App.”) 6-46)9 In its coverage analysis,
the District Court interpreted the phrase “act, error, omis-
sion” according to its “ordinary meaning and effect”,
finding that Blattner had merely committed “acts” while
at Guren Merritt. (Id. at 29-30)

However, after making these findings, the District
Court did not analyze whether Blattner’s alleged liability
in the underlying class actions was “by reason of” or
“arose out of” such conduct. Rather, the District Court
held that there was no requirement that the alleged acts
Or Omissions must result in liability. (Id. at 36-37)

By order dated November 28, 1995, the District Court
(Hon. Roslyn O. Silver, the current presiding judge)
reversed a prior order denying 28 U.S.C. § 1292(b) certi-
fication, and allowing Respondent an immediate inter-
locutory appeal of the District Court’s prior coverage
ruling. (ER 28)10

9 In rendering 21 pages of detailed findings, the District
Court reviewed, weighed and evaluated conflicting evidence
presented by each side. In several instances, the District Court
expressly noted that it had done so. (See June 24, 1994 order at
Pp. 5 n.2, 7, 8, 9, 10 n.6.; ER 27)

10 In the 1292(b) order, the District Court stated that
Respondent had a “substantial likelihood of success on the
merits,” expressing “serious doubts” about the “correctness” of
the coverage ruling, and noting that the coverage ruling was

14
The Ninth Circuit’s Opinion

In reversing summary judgment for Petitioners, the
Ninth Circuit, Justices Goodwin, Brunetti and Fernandez
presiding, expressly set forth in its unanimous opinion
numerous undisputed material facts that supported sum-
mary judgment for Respondent.

The Ninth Circuit determined that the complaint
failed to identify any conduct by Blattner “that created
liability” under the Guren Merritt policy; “nor have the
bondholders added additional allegations on summary
judgment to bolster their contention.” (Pet. App. at 3) The
Ninth Circuit also found that Petitioners initially filed
suit against Blattner, his then current firm Benesch and
others for losses arising out of defaults on the bonds; and
that a cause of the default, according to Petitioners, was
the failure to obtain life care permits. (Id. at 2)

The Ninth Circuit noted that, while Blattner was at
Benesch, the OSs prepared by Blattner “neglected to dis-
close the need for and absence of life care permits.” (Id. at
2, 4) Moreover, the court found that Petitioners relied
upon the OSs issued by Benesch in electing to invest in the
facilities. (Id.) The Ninth Circuit also noted that Blattner
prepared, signed and delivered opinion letters on
Benesch letterhead attesting to the validity of the bonds
and their tax exempt status; the bondholders received
copies of those opinion letters when they invested.

The Ninth Circuit then applied the undisputed facts
to Respondent’s policy, noting that before there could be
any coverage, Blattner had to be “legally obligated to pay
damages . . . by reason of any act, error or omission in
rendering professional services while he was at Guren
Merritt.” (Id. at 3) The Ninth Circuit stated the phrase “by

“contrary” to the common interpretation of the phrase “act,
error, and omission” in the insurance industry. (Id. at 2-3)

a ee ET

15

reason of” required some causal nexus between Blattner’s
activities at Guren Merritt and his liability to the bond
purchasers. In other words, the Ninth Circuit found that
the policy language required that Blattner had to have
committed a “liability-creating” act, error or omission
while at Guren Merritt in order to trigger coverage. (Id.)

Additionally, the Ninth Circuit acknowledged that
the Extended Reporting Period Endorsement (Endorse-
ment 7), by its own terms, did not expand coverage. The
court stated that use of the phrase “arising out of” in
Endorsement 7 “did not expand the scope of coverage”
and thus, “did not advance the bondholders’ argument
beyond their primary contention that Blattner acted ille-
gally while at Guren Merritt.” (Id. at 4-5)

Based on these undisputed facts, the Ninth Circuit
applied well-established Arizona insurance law in sup-
port of its no coverage opinion. The Ninth Circuit ini-
tially held that the District Court committed reversible
error in ruling that Blattner’s conduct at Guren Merritt
constituted an “act, error or omission” sufficient to trig-
ger coverage under the Guren Merritt policy. (Id. at 2)
Most significantly, the Ninth Circuit ruled that Petitioners
presented “no evidence” that Blattner engaged in any lia-
bility-producing act, error or omission while at Guren
Merritt, Stating:

[Petitioners’] deficiency [in failing to allege lia-

bility producing conduct of Blattner at Guren

Merritt] is fatal to the bondholders’ case

. . . Without evidence Blattner committed some

liability creating “act, error or omission” while

at Guren Merritt, the bondholder’s simply have

no claim. (Id.)

Moreover, the Ninth Circuit ruled that Petitioners
were wrong as a matter of law in attempting to assign
liability for Blattner’s legal services at one law firm,

16

which resulted in allegedly faulty documents issued by a
second law firm, stating “we cannot equate the liability-
creating act of issuing a disclosure statement with the
preliminary act of discussing the requirements for such a
document.” (Id. at 4)

Indeed, the Ninth Circuit recognized that this case is
predicated upon Blattner’s failure to disclose (while he
was at Benesch) that the project required life care permits.
(Id. at 4) The Court thus noted that Blattner’s “act, error
or omission” could not occur until he failed to make the
necessary disclosure in the OSs, “an event which
occurred after he left [Guren Merritt].” (Id.) Accordingly,
regardless of Blattner’s culpability, the Ninth Circuit held
that Guren Merritt cannot, as a matter of law, be held
liable “for actions undertaken after Blattner left their
employ”; necessarily, the Ninth Circuit held that the
bondholders’ claim must fail. (Id.)

REASONS WHY THE PETITION SHOULD BE DENIED

I. THE STATE LAW ISSUES RAISED BY THE PETI-
TION ARE INSUFFICIENT TO INVOKE THIS
COURT’S CERTIORARI JURISDICTION

This Court has long recognized that the ultimate
responsibility for determining state law resides not with
it, but with the highest courts of the states. Erie R.R. Co. v.
Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64, 78 (1938). Accordingly, where rea-
sonable arguments have been advanced to support a
determination of state law by a federal court of appeals,
this Court has found it “wholly unprofitable for [us] to
analyze [the state] cases on point.” Estate of Spiegel v.
Commissioner of Internal Revenue, 335 U.S. 701, 708 (1949).
It has thus become the policy of this Court to “accept and
therefore [not review] the considered determination of
questions of state law by the intermediate federal appel-
late courts.” Huddleston v. Dwyer, 322 U.S. 232, 237 (1944).

17

See, Frankfurter, The Business of the Supreme Court at Octo-
ber term 1933, 48 Harv. L. Rev. 238, 269-270 (1934) (“[t]he
Supreme Court cannot undertake to see that every case in
a federal court is decided as a state court would have
decided it”). Indeed, this Court has frequently deferred to
the views of a court of appeal as being those of an
“expert” tribunal concerning the laws of states within its
circuit. See, Brockett v. Spokane Arcades, Inc., 472 U.S. 491,
499-500 (1985); Butner v. United States, 440 U.S. 48, 57-58
(1979).

The Petition should therefore be denied because the
Ninth Circuit was entirely correct in ruling that, under
Arizona insurance law, there was and can be no coverage
under Respondent’s professional liability policy. The
Ninth Circuit properly recognized that Respondent's pol-
icy did not provide coverage unless the insured commit-
ted a liability-producing act, error or omission during the
policy period. (Pet. App. at 3) As noted above, the Ninth
Circuit found that, as a matter of law, Guren Merritt had
not committed any such act, error or omission — indeed,
Guren Merritt was not even sued in the underlying class
actions. Thus, since the Ninth Circuit found “no evidence”
of any liability-producing act, error or omission by Blatt-
ner while at Guren Merritt, there simply was no coverage,
and Petitioners thus had no claim.

In addition, the Ninth Circuit correctly determined
that, as a matter of Arizona law, the so-called “tail”
endorsement (Endorsement 7) did not “expand” cover-
age, except to allow coverage for a claim that was first
made after the policy expired. More importantly, the
court recognized that Endorsement 7 did not, as Peti-
tioners contended, “expand” coverage for acts, errors or
omissions that were not liability producing. Rather, as
Endorsement 7 expressly provided, the court held that in

18

order for there to be coverage, the same fundamental
requirements of the policy must be met.!! Petitioners

11 Respondent presented the Ninth Circuit with numerous
authorities, including leading insurance treatises, stating that
the sole purpose and effect of an extended discovery period
endorsement, such as Endorsement 7, was only to eliminate the
requirement that the claim had to be made during the policy
period. See, New England Ins. Co. v. Sylvia, 783 F. Supp. 6, 7 (D.
N.H. 1991) (“[i]t is noted that the extension relates only to the
reporting period and not the coverage period”); Taub v. First
State Ins. Co., 44 Cal. App. 4th 811, 818, 52 Cal. Rptr. 2d 1, 5 (Ct.
App. 1995) (“[Extended Claims Reporting Period] provision
allows [insured] to seek coverage for his claim assuming that the
policy otherwise covers this claim”) (emphasis added); Langley v.
Mut. Fire, Marine & Inland Ins. Co., 512 So.2d 752, 753 (Ala. 1987)
(“optional extension of coverage . . . would have continued
[insured’s] coverage . . . for claims based on acts or omissions
that occurred during the primary term”) (emphasis added);
Employers Reins. Corp. v. Fireman's Fund Ins. Co., 95 N.J. 1, 468
A.2d 421, 423 (N.J. 1983) (“[under extended reporting
endorsement] coverage is not extended to claims made after [the
policy period] if the act giving rise to that claim also occurs after
that date”); See also, 2 Long, The Law Of Liability Insurance,
§ 12B04[4] at p. 12B-85; § 12C.04[2] at p. 12C-60; § 12B04[4] at p.
12B-85 § 12C.04[2] at p. 12C-60 (1989) (“extended reporting
provisions merely allow the insured to report claims for a stated
period after the expiration date of the policy. They do not cover
claims arising out of acts occurring after the expiration date of
the policy . . . It should be noted that the purchase of the
extended reporting period coverage does not increase the scope of
coverage under the policy) (emphasis added); See also 3 New York
Insurance Law, § 40.03 [2] at p. 40-7 n.14 (1991) (“extended
reporting period coverage does not extend the time during
which the act, event or occurrence out of which the claim arises
must have happened”) (emphasis in original); Hanen, Legal
Malpractice Insurance: Exclusions, Selected Coverage and Consumer
Issues, 33 So.Tex.L.Rev. 75, 85 (1992) (“[S]ome legal malpractice
insurance policies provide that an insured may purchase an
additional period of time in which to report claims under their

19

failed to refute any of Respondent's legal authorities con-
cerning the purpose and effect of Endorsement 7, and
they are unable to demonstrate that the Ninth Circuit’s
interpretation of Endorsement 7 was incorrect.

Likewise, there is no reason for this Court to review
the Ninth Circuit’s correct application of indisputable
facts and well-established securities law. As a matter of
law and undisputed fact, the Guren Merritt firm was not
and could not be liable where it was not a named defen-
dant in the underlying class actions, had not committed
any liability-producing act, and had ceased to have any
involvement with the underlying transactions when the
liability-producing acts were committed.

In addition, the sale of bonds to the classes, which is
a sine qua non to a securities claim, took place more than a
half year after Guren Merritt had ceased to have any
involvement with the projects.!2 It was undeniable that
Guren Merritt had no involvement at the time the bonds
were sold. Furthermore, the Ninth Circuit properly ruled
that because Blattner did not prepare or disseminate any
opinion letters to potential bond purchasers while at
Guren Merritt, he could not have had any liability as a
partner of that firm as a matter of law. As Respondent

policy . . . These extensions are called extended reporting
endorsements or ‘tail’ coverage”).

12 See, e.g., Blue Chip Stamps v. Manor Drug Stores, 421 U.S.
723, 749 (1975) (“one asserting a claim for damages based on the
violation of Rule 10(b)5 must either be a purchaser or seller of
securities”); Roberts v. Peat, Marwick, Mitchell & Co., 857 F.2d 646,
649-650 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 1002 (1989) (“to prevail
on a cause of action for violation of [Rule 10(b)5], the investors
must establish fraud in connection with the purchaser’s sale of
any security”); Ohashi v. Bert Indus., 536 F.2d 849, 853 (9th Cir),
cert. denied, 429 U.S. 1004 (1976) (“no 10(b)-5 liability where
alleged fraud was not in connection with the inducement nor
concurrently with the exchange [of the security]”).

20

demonstrated below, absent any opinion or representa-
tion to the bond purchasers, Blattner had no fiduciary
obligation or duty to disclose material information while
at Guren Merritt.!> Thus, the Ninth Circuit correctly held
that the opinions of bond counsel upon which the classes
relied were issued by Benesch, on Benesch letterhead;
Guren Merritt had nothing to do with the bond opinions,
issued almost half a year after Guren Merritt no longer
was involved in the projects.

The Ninth Circuit also properly determined that, as a
matter of law, whatever preliminary activities were done
by Guren Merritt (while it was bond counsel) were not
liability-producing and certainly were not the basis of the
bondholders’ claims. (Pet. App. at 4) The best example is
that the bondholders complained about a failure to dis-
close in the prospectus-like Official Statements that cer-
tain life care permits had not been obtained and were
necessary to make the projects viable. However, as the
Ninth Circuit observed, Guren Merritt had nothing to do
with the preparation and dissemination of the Official
Statements; rather, it was Benesch (and Blattner at

13 See, e.g., Basic, Inc. v. Levinson, 485 U.S. 224, 239, n.17
(1988) (“[s]ilence, absent a duty to disclose, is not misleading
under 10(b)5”); Chiarella v. United States, 445 U.S. 222, 229, 231
(1979) (“ ‘[t]he party charged with failing to disclose market
information must be under a duty to disclose it’ . .. There can be
no fraud absent a duty to speak”); Ackerman v. Schwartz, 947 F.2d
841 (7th Cir. 1991) (attorney could not evade responsibility to
disclose “to the extent he permitted promoters to release his
opinion letter to investors’ agents”); Schatz, supra, 943 F.2d at
494 (“an attorney is rarely liable to any third parties for his or
her legal work unless the attorney has prepared a signed
‘opinion’ letter designed for use by a third party”).

21

Benesch) which approved those Official Statements.14
Additionally, the Ninth Circuit properly rejected Peti-
tioners’ argument that Blattner could have been liable for
“aiding and abetting” an alleged securities law violation,
merely because he performed preliminary work at Guren
Merritt.!5

Moreover, the Ninth Circuit held that Blattner could
not have been liable as a Guren Merritt partner because,
while at Guren Merritt, he made no representations to the

* Respondent presented the Ninth Circuit with ample
authorities establishing that, since no Official Statement was
issued or delivered to any bond purchasers while Blattner was
at Guren Merritt, he could not have been liable to the bond
purchasers for what he did at Guren Merritt. See, e.g., Williams v.
Sinclair, 529 F.2d 1383, 1389 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 426 U.S. 936
(1976) (“because investor purchased shares follow[ing] his
receipt of the prospectus, the transactional nexus between the
alleged fraud and the loss” was met). See also, Schatz v.
Rosenberg, 943 F.2d 485, 492 (4th Cir.), cert. denied, 503 U.S. 936
(1992) (“no rule 10(b)5 liability law firm where “{it] did not
solicit any purchase of securities or prepare any solicitation
documents”) (emphasis added).

15 See, Schatz, supra, 943 F.2d at 497 (“when a lawyer offers
no legal opinions or affirmative misrepresentations . . . and
merely acts as a scrivener . . . a lawyer cannot be liable [as an]
aider and abettor”); Camp v. Dema, 948 F.2d 455, 463 (8th Cir.
1991) (aiding and abetting liability under 10(b)5 rejected for
attorneys’ “routine actions . . . necessary to consummate the sale
of stock”) (emphasis added). Moreover, the United States
Supreme Court has since held that there is no private cause of
action for “aiding and abetting” a violation of Rule 10(b)-5.
Central Bank of Denver, N.A. v. First Interstate Bank of Denver,
N.A., 114 S.Ct. 1439, 1448 (1994) (“[W]e cannot amend the
statute to create liability for acts that are not themselves
manipulative or deceptive”).

22

bond purchasers upon which they could have or did in
fact rely.1° (Pet. App. at 4)

Il. CONTRARY TO WHAT PETITIONERS CON-
TEND, THERE ARE NO “COMPELLING REA-
SONS” WARRANTING THIS COURT’S REVIEW

A. There Are No Constitutional Or Federal Issues

The Petitioners did not raise, nor have they
attempted to raise, any constitutional or federal issues
warranting this Court’s review. Rather, the Petition
improperly seeks this Court’s review of the Ninth Cir-
cuit’s reasoned application of Arizona state law. Since the
Petition raises no constitutional or federal law issues, the
Court should deny the Petition.

B. There Are No Other “Compelling Reasons”

The Petition should also be denied because there are
no other “compelling reasons” warranting this Court’s
review. The standard factors this Court considers in
determining whether “compelling reasons” exist include
whether the court of appeal’s decision conflicts with
another court of appeals on the same matter, or has

16 Again, Respondent presented the Ninth Circuit with
numerous authorities in support of this fundamental
requirement. See, e.g., Affiliated UTE Citizens v. United States, 406
U.S. 128, 153-54 (1971); Kiernan v. Homeland, Inc., 611 F.2d 785,
788 (9th Cir. 1980) (“substantial reliance is necessary for
recovery in a 10(b)-5 case”); Katara v. D.E. Jones Commodities,
Inc., 835 F.2d 966, 970-71 (2nd Cir. 1987) (securities fraud claim
required “reasonable reliance on the representation, causing
damage to the plaintiff”).

23

decided an “important federal question” in conflict with
a state court of last resort.17

Here, there is no conflict between two different
courts of appeal (or with a state supreme court) with
respect to any of the state law insurance issues resolved
by the Ninth Circuit, and Petitioners certainly did not
contend there was any. Nor did Petitioners demonstrate
any conflict with or deviation from Arizona insurance
law. In fact, as explained herein, the Ninth Circuit opin-
ion was demonstrably correct in its interpretation and
application of Arizona law.

There is no support in the record or elsewhere for
Petitioners’ contention that this is a case of “major
national importance” to financial offerings. (Pet. at 15)
Prior to seeking review by this Court, Petitioners had
never stated or intimated that this particular case was of
“major national importance.” Indeed, it is fair to say that
Petitioners always viewed and treated this case as a “gar-
den variety” insurance coverage and bad faith action to
be resolved under Arizona law. One will search the
record in vain to find anything where Petitioners stated
that this case would have significance outside the con-
fines of Arizona. Their belated and self-serving plea of
“major national importance” is a transparent effort to
convert this case into something which it plainly is not.

17 Indeed, this Court’s 1980 amendments to its own rules
reflect the Court’s lack of interest in reviewing diversity cases
where, as here, the only issue is an alleged inconsistency (which
Respondent disputes) between the court of appeals’ decision
and the applicable substantive state law. (Omitting the factor
that the court of appeals resolved “an important [state] question
in a way in conflict with applicable [state] law”).

24

Similarly, Petitioners raise the false cry that this case
will “greatly impact” how other professional liability
insurers will act. (Pet. at 15) Never before have Peti-
tioners made that assertion. They provide this Court with
no specifics or details for such a proposition, since obvi-
ously there is none. This case involves a professional
liability insurance policy issued more than thirteen years
ago with unique policy language. The Ninth Circuit
determined there was no coverage based on that lan-
guage and the particular facts at issue. It is hard to see
how this action catapults itself to “national prominence”
in today’s insurance field. Certainly, Petitioners provide
no explanation.18

Ill. THE WRIT SHOULD BE DENIED BECAUSE
PETITIONERS INAPPROPRIATELY SEEK THIS
COURT’S REVIEW OF EVIDENTIARY AND FAC-
TUAL FINDINGS, AS WELL AS MISSTATE THE
BASIS OF THE NINTH CIRCUIT’S RULING, THE
FACTS AND THE LAW

The Petition should also be denied because Peti-
tioners improperly seek this Court’s review of factual and
evidentiary findings. As this Court held in United States v.
Johnston, 268 U.S. 220, 227 (1925), certiorari proceedings
are not the appropriate vehicle “to review evidence and

18 Perhaps the most compelling basis why this Court
should reject the purported reasons advanced by Petitioners is
that, undeniably, the instant coverage action is really an action
by a different professional liability insurer (Old Republic)
seeking to make a profit on its having insured Benesch, since it
stands to recover 50% of the over $23 million being sought from
Respondent. Old Republic has financed this case, pursued it
with its own lawyers, has filed the instant Petition through its
attorneys and constantly invokes the guise of appearing as the
underlying classes.

ee

25

discuss specific facts.” See also-NLRB v. Hendricks County
Rural Elec. Corp., 454 U.S. 170, 176 (1981) (cross-petition
presenting “primarily question of fact . . . does not merit
Court review”); Rudolf v. United States, 370 U.S. 269
(1962). Indeed, under this Court’s standard procedure, “a
petition for writ of certiorari is rarely granted when the
asserted error consists of erroneous factual findings.” (SC
Rule 10(a)).

Moreover, the Petition misstates the fundamental
basis of the Ninth Circuit's opinion, the relevant facts and
the law, and therefore should be denied.

A. The Petition Misstates The Basis Of The Ninth
Circuit’s Opinion

Petitioners wrongly claim that the Ninth Circuit's
interpretation of the policy was contrary to the “very
purpose of the tail endorsement.” (Pet. at 2) According to
Petitioners, Endorsement 7 had the effect of expanding
coverage beyond that afforded by the policies’ basic
insuring agreement, given that Endorsement 7 uses the
phrase “arising out of’, while the insuring agreement
uses “by reason of.” (Pet. at 17-18)

In rejecting Petitioners’ premise of coverage, the
Ninth Circuit correctly held that, under Arizona law, the
well-established meaning, purpose and effect of Endorse-
ment 7 required that Blattner’s liability to the bond-
holders had to be “by reason of” (not merely “arise out
of”) a liability-producing act, error or omission while at
Guren Merritt. (Pet. App. at 3, 5) Petitioners also mis-
characterize how the Ninth Circuit arrived at its opinion
by claiming that the panel “did not even attempt” to
determine whether the language in the tail endorsement
was “ambiguous” under Arizona law. (Pet. at 25-30) In
fact, the Ninth Circuit expressly rejected this argument,

26

noting that “Endorsement 7’s plain language clearly does
not expand the scope of coverage beyond the original policy.” 19

B. The Petition Misstates The Facts

Petitioners also misstate the facts by contending that
“the scheme to defraud investors was hatched while
Blattner was at Guren Merritt.” (Pet. at 8) As properly
recognized by the Ninth Circuit, however, Petitioners
presented “no evidence” of any liability-creating conduct
of Blattner while at Guren Merritt.2° (Pet. App. at 4)

Petitioners also grossly mischaracterize the life care
permit issue, stating that Blattner “had knowledge” of the
life care permit “requirement” while he was at Guren
Merritt. (Pet. at 9) Substantial evidence in the record and
Respondent’s main brief below demonstrated that the
issue of life care permits had just surfaced, and was
undetermined at the time Blattner left Guren Merritt for
Benesch. More importantly, however, the Ninth Circuit
recognized that the “life care” permit issue was only
relevant because the OSs — disseminated to the bond pur-
chasers while Blattner was at Benesch — failed to disclose the
alleged requirement for life care permits, and the inves-
tors relied on those omissions. (Pet. App. at 4) (See

19 Petitioners further misstate that the Ninth Circuit
“ignored” certain extrinsic evidence purporting to show that
CIGNA “recognized” there was coverage. (Pet. at 27-30) The
Ninth Circuit did not “ignore” such extrinsic evidence; the court
was presented with ample, unrefuted authorities by
Respondent confirming that such “evidence” was both
inadmissible and irrelevant.

20 To the extent Petitioners claim there was a “scheme to
defraud” while Blattner was at Guren Merritt, that claim is
frivolous, since as a matter of law and public policy, there can be
no insurance for such conduct. See, e.g., Standard Fire Ins. Co. v.
Peoples Church of Fresno, 985 F.2d 446, 448-51 (9th Cir. 1993).

ooo

27

attached Appendix) Thus, in determining that the life
care issue was wholly irrelevant for purposes of whether
Blattner’s Guren Merritt conduct was liability-producing,
the Ninth Circuit stated:

[Petitioners] do not contend that Blattner issued
the Official Statements which failed to include
the life care requirements until after he left
Guren Merritt . . . Blattner’s act, error, or omis-
sion could not occur until he failed to make the
necessary disclosure in the Official Statements,
an event which occurred after he left Guren
Merritt. (Pet. App. at 3-4)

Petitioners also wrongly contend that the Ninth Cir-
cuit “was required, yet failed, to engage in an analysis of
case law on insurance contract construction.” (Pet. at
25-26) Petitioners have no evidence to support this claim.
Indeed, as explained above, the Ninth Circuit expressly
analyzed the plain meaning of the policy language, giv-
ing Endorsement 7 its well-established meaning and
effect. Respondent also presented the Ninth Circuit with
numerous authorities that there was no “conflict” or
“inconsistency” between Endorsement 7 and the policy,
all of which support the Ninth Circuit's construction of
the policy.

C. The Petition Misstates The Law

With no authorities to support their position, as the
Ninth Circuit noted, Petitioners nonetheless insist that
the Ninth Circuit “nullified” the very purpose of
Endorsement 7, because the language of the tail (i.e.,
“arising out of”) controls over the language of the insur-
ing agreement (“by reason of”). As noted above (see fn.
11, supra), ample case law and other authorities, as well
as Petitioners’ own concessions at oral argument, refute

28

Petitioners’ interpretation of Endorsement 7 before this
Court.2!

In addition, Petitioners misstate the law by suggest-
ing that Blattner could have been liable to the bond-
holders for what he did at Guren Merritt. (Pet. at 19-24)
Petitioners principally rely on a single case, Cronin v.
Midwestern Oklahoma Develop. Authority, 619 F.2d 856
(10th Cir. 1980), in asserting that Blattner engaged in
“liability creating” acts at Guren Merritt. As Respondent
asserted below, however, Cronin is distinguishable
because, in that securities fraud case, the court merely
held that summary judgment in favor of an attorney was
prematurely granted; there was no determination of lia-
bility against the attorney. As Respondent demonstrated
below, numerous decisions from this Court, the Ninth
Circuit and elsewhere confirm that, as a matter of law,
Blattner could not have been liable to the bond pur-
chasers because of anything he did at Guren Merritt. (See
attached Appendix; discussion Point I, supra, at pp. 16-22)

IV. THE NINTH CIRCUIT’S RULING PROPERLY
VOIDED AN UNJUST WINDFALL FOR PETI-
TIONERS

The Ninth Circuit properly reversed the District
Court’s coverage ruling, which would have resulted in a
windfall for Petitioners and Old Republic. As part of the
March 20, 1991 settlement, the settling parties and Old
Republic gave Respondent 5 days to contribute its $5

21 Indeed, Petitioners’ counsel conceded at oral argument
before the Ninth Circuit panel that Petitioners’ position on why
coverage exists was not dependant upon Endorsement 7
purportedly expanding the scope of coverage. (See March 13,
1997 Transcript of Oral Argument to Ninth Circuit, JJ. Goodwin,
Brunetti and Fernandez presiding, at pp. 29-30, 36).

29

million limits, otherwise the settlement would be exe-
cuted without Respondent and Respondent would be
sued for coverage for the stipulated $23 million judg-
ments, bad faith, and punitive damages. However, at that
time, the settlement agreement already had provided,
whether Respondent agreed to pay or not, that Blattner
was not exposed to any liability.

If Respondent did not pay, Petitioners and Old
Republic would try to hold Respondent liable. Knowing
that Blattner would not be exposed to any personal lia-
bility, Respondent adhered to its no coverage position.
Through this intended “set up,” Petitioners and Old
Republic sought an undeserved, potential $23 million
windfall from Respondent, which the Ninth Circuit prop-
erly reversed.

CONCLUSION

For all of the foregoing reasons, Respondent respect-
fully requests the Court to deny the instant Petition for
grant of a writ of certiorari.

Dated: September 25, 1997
Respectfully submitted,

Paut R. Koeprr

THomas J. Drresta
O’MELveny & Myers LLP
153 East 53rd Street

New York, New York 10022
Telephone: (212) 326-2000

30

Tep A. SCHMIDT

KINERK, BEAL, SCHMIDT & Dyer, P.C.
5255 East Williams Circle

Suite 6000 — West Tower

Tucson, AZ 85711

Telephone: (520) 790-5600

Rosert J. ROMERO

Lonc & Levit

101 California Street
Suite 2300

San Francisco, CA 94111
Telephone: (415) 397-2222

Amy SAMBERG

O’CONNOR CAVANAGH MOLLOY
& JONES

33 North Stone Street,

Suite 2100

Tucson, AZ 85701

Telephone: (520) 628-4637

Attorneys for Respondent
CIGNA Insurance Company

APPENDIX

na Merritt <i Benesch Friedlander
| Apr. if May June | Aug. | Sept. Nov. Dec.
| IDA pion | | ik . : |
| | amended Application
| | a _ |
| ~~ Final IDA |
| | for Chandler |
Sun Mesa
filed | |
Amended IDA i |
resolution re
Tax Exempt ; T ;
Status {cs meee | |
Life Care _ hn 4 T |
Applications oo Clark and oply application fled letter trom "
| | Liberatore to tate oie | | (by Drummond po} 1985
| | “mer | | | Bonds
| | ! go into
oe default
Sescumts | |
|
— me :
cla |
— | | Discmasion | rs fn es | |
(POS) | | ae, a POS | | |
| draft of POS
| |
Official | | is
atements | | | |
a Disseminated | | al Staten
a issuance of <
Bond Opinions Bond Opinion
Sale of Bonds | ha
to Investors on lil

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_1293%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
