# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Gee v. Southwest Airlines Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_1261%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1997
- **Citation:** 522 U.S. 915

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

i

97-306 AUS 18 1997
N@eitd- ur lnhE Clerk

Supreme Court of the Anited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1996

SHIRLEY GEE; RYAN JEFFREY GEE; SEAN
PAUL FONG, a minor by and through his
guardian ad litem, Shirley Gee; PATRICIA

SETO; SAMANTHA SETO; and COREY SETO,
Petitioners,

V.

SOUTHWEST AIRLINES CO.,
Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

JOHN L. BURRIS CORNISH F. HITCHCOCK

LAW OFFICES OF JOHN (Counsel of record)
L. BURRIS ALAN B. MORRISON
1212 Broadway PUBLIC CITIZEN
Suite 1200 LITIGATION GROUP
Oakland, CA 94612 1600 20th Street, N.W.
(510) 839-5200 Washington, D.C. 20009

- (202) 588-1000
Attorneys for Petitioners

August 1997

QUESTION PRESENTED

Section 105 of the Federal Aviation Act, 49 U.S.C. §
41713(b)(1), preempts state laws that are "related to a price,
route or service of an air carrier." In American Airlines, Inc. v.
Wolens, 513 U.S. 219 (1995), this Court held that section 105
does not preempt breach of contract claims arising under state
law that are brought by passengers against an airline. The
question presented by this petition is:

Does section 105 preempt tort claims arising under state
law for negligence, intentional or negligent infliction of emo-
tional distress and the like that are brought by passengers
against an airline, on the theory that such claims are "related to"
an airline’s "service"?

iil
TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED .......................
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI .........
RE cece e eee eace
ees cy ee ck cbs eeceuss
RELEVANT STATUTES AND REGULATIONS ......
pememernn OF IMECASE ....................
EE ay re a
B. Proceedings in the District Court ................
C. Proceedings in the Court of Appeals .............
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ..........
THIS CASE PRESENTS IMPORTANT
QUESTIONS REGARDING THE PREEMPTION
OF STATE TORT CLAIMS BY SECTION 105
ON WHICH THE COURTS BELOW HAVE
TAKEN DIFFERENT APPROACHES. ...........
A. The Scope of "Services" in Section 105 ........
B. The Scope of "Related to" in Section 105 .......
C. There Is No Reason to Believe That Congress
Intended to Preempt State Tort Claims .........
Ns gle ees eek nes

APPENDIX
Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals

oe
Opinion of the United States District Court for

the Northern District of California .................

IV
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:
American Airlines, Inc. v. Wolens,
DEST. BIR, oo ik oa Ou eas RSS passim
California Div. of Labor Standards Enforcement v.
Dillingham Construction, N.A., Inc.,

Ee Oe ee re I oo he eo A a ed 9-10, 20
Chrissafis v. Continental Airlines,

940 F. Supp. 1292 (N.D. Ill. 1996) ............... 17
Cipollone v. Liggett Group, Inc.,

Pr re. rik ck 8 oo eo ers es 18, 21
Continental Airlines, Inc. v. Kiefer,

920 S.W.2d 274 (Tex. 1996) .............. 15, 16, 18
DiBuono v. NYSA-ISA Medical and Clinical

Services Fund, 117 S. Ct. 1747 (1997) ............ 20
Doricent v. American Airlines, Inc.,

1993 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 15143 (D.Mass.) .......... 17
Haavistola v. Delta Air Lines, Inc.,

1997 Thal. Bee Ree OF .w. 6. ee cee ee i?
Harris v. American Airlines, Inc.,

$5 F.36 1472 (Sta Cw. 1995)... 2 ee ees passim
Hodges v. Delta Airlines, Inc.,

44 F.3d 334 (Sth Cir. 1995)(in banc)........... passim

Khan v. American Airlines, 1994 Ill. App. LEXIS 1167 .. 17
Lathigra v. British Airways PLC,

41 F.3d 535 (9th Cir. 1994) .................. 15-16
Miller v. Northwest Airlines, 1992 N.J. Super. LEXIS 43 17
Morales v. Trans World Airlines, Inc.,

Pe EF, SRO ec kek hele ewe we eee passim
Nader v. Allegheny Airlines, Inc., 426 U.S. 290 (1976) . 13

Vv

New York State Conf. of Blue Cross & Blue Shield
v. Travelers Ins.Co., 115 S. Ct. 1671 (1995) . 7-8, 19-20
Pearson v. Lake Forest Country Day School,

1994 Ill. App. LEXIS 640 ..................... 17
Romano v. American Trans Air,

56 Cal. Rptr. 2d 428 (2d App. Dist. 1996) ....... 16-17
Sedigh v. Delta Airlines, Inc..,

850 F. Supp. 197 (E.D.N.Y. 1994) ............... 17
Shaw v. Delta Air Lines, Inc., 463 U.S. 85 (1983) ...... 19

West v. Northwest Airlines, Inc., 995 F.2d 148
(9th Cir. 1993), cert. denied, 510 U.S. 1111 (1994) .. 16

Statutes and Legislative Materials:

2eU.SL GTTME) 2... ccc cceces..e.., 2
49 U.S.C. § 40101 ef seg.

(formerly 49 U.S.C. § 1301 ef seg.) ................ 2
49 U.S.C. § 40102fa10) ........................ 23
49 U.S.C. § 40120(c),

(formerly 49 U.S.C. App. § 1506) ............... 13
49 U.S.C. § 41112(a)

(formerly 49 U.S.C. App. § 1371(q)(1) ....... 8, 13-14
49 U.S.C. § 41713(b)(1)

(formerly 49 U.S.C. App. § 1305) .......... .. passim
49 U.S.C. App. § 1374(a) ..0 00. 23
Pub. L. No. 103-272, § 6, 108 Stat. 745(1994) ........ 2
S. Rep. No. 96-631, 95th Cong., 2d Sess. (1978) ...... 13
ARK. CODE § 16-62-102 ......................... 15
CAL. CIV. PROC. CODE §377.60 ................... 15
740 ILL. Comp. STAT. 180/0.01 ef seg................ 15

OHIO REV. CODE ANN. §2125.01 (Baldwin 1994) ...... 15

vi

Regulations:

49 C.F.R. § 121.575(b)(1) and (c) (1997) ............. 3
44 Fed. Reg.. 9948 (15 February 1979) ............. 23
Other Authorities:

E. McDowell, The Arrival of Uncivil Aeronautics:
Airlines Must Grapple with Hostile Passengers,
THE NEW YORK TIMES, at D1, col. 2 (30 May 1997) . 18

No. 97-

Supreme Court af the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1996

SHIRLEY GEE; RYAN JEFFREY GEE; SEAN
PAUL FONG, a minor by and through his
guardian ad litem, Shirley Gee, PATRICIA
SETO; SAMANTHA SETO; and COREY SETO,
Petitioners,

V.

SOUTHWEST AIRLINES CO.,
Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioners respectfully ask the Court to issue a writ of
certiorari for the reasons set forth herein.

OPINIONS BELOW
The opinion of the court of appeals is reported at 110 F.3d
1400 (9th Cir. 1997)(Pet. App. 1-24). The order denying re-
hearing and rejecting a suggestion of in banc review is not re-
ported (Pet. App. 4-5). The opinion of the district court is not
reported (Pet. App. 25-37).

JURISDICTION
The court of appeals issued its opinion and judgment on 4
April 1997. By an order dated 28 May 1997, the court denied

2

a petition for rehearing and rejected a suggestion of rehearing in
banc.' The Court has jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

RELEVANT STATUTES AND REGULATIONS

Section 105(a)(1) of the Federal Aviation Act ("section
105") is codified at 49 U.S.C. § 41713(b)(1) and states in
relevant part:

[A] State, political subdivision of a State, or polliti-

cal authority of at least 2 States may not enact or

enforce a law, regulation, or other provision having

the force and effect of law related to a price, route

or service of an air carrier that may provide air

transportation under this subpart.’

Petitioners contend that respondent Southwest Airlines
Co. violated the following regulations of the Federal Aviation

' The order denying rehearing also made some minor editorial
changes in Judge O’Scannlain’s concurrence, j.e., making the text after
the first sentence of that opinion a new section I and renumbering
existing sections I and II as II and III (Pet. App. 4-5). That order was
accompanied by what the court termed an "Amended Opinion" that
incorporated those changes to the concurrence, but did not alter the
opinion of the court. That amended opinion is reproduced in the
appendix to this petition (Pet. App. 1-25).

> The Federal Aviation Act was recodified in 1994 without
substantive change at 49 U.S.C. § 40101 et seg. Pub. L. No. 103-272,
§ 6, 108 Stat. 745, 1378-79. Before then, the Act was codified at 49
U.S.C. App. § 1301 et seg. Section 105, which was added by the Air-
line Deregulation Act of 1978, was codified at 49 U.S.C. App. § 1305
and, as originally enacted, preempted state laws "relating to rates,
routes, or services." Because Congress did not intend this wording
change to affect the substantive meaning of section 105, the petition
will quote this "relating to" and "related to" language interchangeably.

3

Administration, which appear at 49 C.F.R. § 121.575(b)(1) and
(c) (1997):
(b) No certificate holder may serve any alcoholic
beverage to any person aboard any of its aircraft
who (1) Appears to be intoxicated;

(c) No certificate holder may allow any person to
board any of its aircraft if that person appears to be
intoxicated.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Material Facts.

Petitioners Shirley Gee, Patricia Seto (her sister) and their
four young children are Asian-Americans who were traveling on
a Southwest flight from Los Angeles to Oakland on 24 August
1994. Also on the flight was a wedding party of approximately
20 people, some of whom had been consuming alcoholic
beverages before the flight (Pet. App. 6).

Petitioners were seated in the six seats comprising row 19,
and the wedding party was seated in the three rows in front of
them. The group was noisy before entering the aircraft, during
take-off and during the flight. Shortly after take-off, Ms. Gee
asked them to refrain from making so much noise, and she toid
a flight attendant that the noise was frightening the children, two
of whom were suffering from asthma attacks (Pet. App. 25-26).

The flight attendant checked with his supervisor, who in-
structed the attendant to "top off" the wedding party’s current
mixed drinks and otherwise to limit orders to one beer per
person. Over Ms. Gee’s complaint, the attendant gave one beer
apiece to the three people sitting immediately in front of her.
One of the passengers sitting in front of Ms. Gee then took her
photograph and cursed at her, drawing a reprimand from the
attendant (Pet. App. 25-27).

Petitioners alleged that after Ms. Gee complained, mem

ae

4

bers of the wedding party responded with a steady stream of
"insults, threats, intimidation, profanity, harassment, and racial
slurs that continued for the entire flight.". For example, their
amended complaint alleged that the passenger in front of Ms.
Gee called her and her sister "gooks," "bitches" and similar
epithets and that another passenger pantomimed cocking a gun
and shooting her. Southwest and three individual passengers
who were named as defendants denied these allegations (Pet.
App. 6).

When the flight landed in Oakland, everyone in the wed-
ding party stayed in their seats, even after the other passengers
had deplaned. Petitioners also remained seated (Pet. App. 26-
27). Ms. Gee alleged that one member of this group said he was
going to "get them" when they deplaned; another was heard
saying "let’s trip them as they leave the plane . . . remember
what we did to those people in Denver?" (Pet. App. 6).

Two police officers boarded the aircraft, and Ms. Gee
pointed out three people who had threatened her and other
family members and intimidated them with racial epithets. The
police detained these individuals, who were later released (Pet.
App. 27).

B. Proceedings in the District Court.

Petitioners filed suit against Southwest and certain passen-
gers in California state court. The amended complaint alleged
several tort claims against Southwest, including negligence for
having served intoxicated passengers, in violation of FAA
regulations (see pp. 2-3, supra); negligent training and supervi-
sion of flight attendants; intentional or negligent infliction of
emotional distress and violations of California Code provisions
protecting people from threats, harassment, intimidation, or
assault, including those based on race. Southwest removed the
case to the United States District Court for the Northern District
of California, citing diversity of citizenship.

Southwest moved for summary judgment, and many of

5

the facts vecitet-above were stipulated by the parties. South-
west argued that petitioners’ claims are preempted by section
105 of the Federal Aviation Act, which preempts state laws that
are "related to" an airline’s "price, route or service." South-
west’s motion relied on a Ninth Circuit case that was issued
after this suit had been filed, Harris v. American Airlines, Inc.,
55 F.3d 1472 (1995). In Harris, an African-American woman
alleged that American negligently or intentionally caused her
emotional distress by continuing to serve liquor to an intoxi-
cated passenger who was bombarding her with racial slurs. The
Harris majority deemed the claim preempted, explaining that
section 105 preempts claims that are "related to" an airline’s
"service," and Ms. Harris’s claim "pertain[ed] directly to a
‘service’ the airlines render: the provision of drink," as well as
to the crew’s in-flight conduct in handling intoxicated passen-
gers. /d at 1476. The dissenting judge argued that this reading
of "service" was too expansive and inconsistent with this
Court’s decision in American Airlines, Inc. v. Wolens. Id. at
1477-78. The district court in this case deemed itself bound by
Harris and thus granted summary judgment in favor of South-
west.

C. Proceedings in the Court of Appeals.

Petitioners appealed, and this case was one of four
separate airline preemption cases to reach the Ninth Circuit at
the same time. Two of them involved personal injuries to
passengers, one of whom was hit by a falling suitcase (Costa v.
American Airlines), and the other was injured when his knee
was struck by a metal cart used to pick up waste after in-flight
meal and beverage service (Gadbury v. Delta Air Lines). The
fourth case involved a wheelchair-bound passenger who claimed
emotional distress based on her treatment by airline employees
during boarding (Rowley v. American Airlines).

In each of these cases, the district court concluded that
Harris controlled and that each passenger’s tort claims were

6

— —_—- +--+ ——-- oe ee - - ——-

preempted because they "relate[ ] to" an airline "service," either
offering alcohol, providing on-board facilities to store luggage,
or the airline’s practices in boarding passengers.

The cases were consolidated for argument, and the Ninth
Circuit issued a single opinion covering all four cases. That
court reversed in the two personal injury cases, finding no
preemption of those tort claims, but upheld the findings of
preemption in this case and the case of the disabled passenger
claiming emotional distress.

The majority began by expressing considerable skepticism
about the soundness of Harris in light of this Court’s recent
preemption cases, as well as other airline preemption cases in
the Ninth Circuit. The court of appeals explained that Harris
relied heavily on Morales v. Trans World Airlines, Inc., 504
U.S. 374 (1992), which held that state attorneys general could
not use their consumer protection statutes to regulate the con-
tent of airline advertising and other marketing practices because
those laws plainly "relat[e] to" airline "rates" and are thus
preempted by section 105. Morales emphasized that Congress
enacted section 105 with the identical "relating to" language
used in the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974
("ERISA"); thus, Morales reasoned, section 105 should be read
broadly with an exception (again borrowed from ERISA cases)
for state laws "too tenuous, remote or peripheral" to have
preemptive effect (Pet. App. 11, citing 504 U.S. at 390).

The court of appeals cited two post-Morales opinions that
it viewed as casting doubt on Harris’s preemption analysis. The
first is American Airlines, Inc. v. Wolens, 513 U.S. 219 (1995),
which (in the court of appeals’ view) "significantly backtracks
from the expansive language of Morales" by allowing a breach
of contract claim to proceed in a case that challenged an airline’s
retroactive change in the mileage levels that frequent fliers must
attain in order to obtain free travel (Pet. App. 11). The court of
appeals cited in particular "dicta throughout the Wolens opinion

7

that Morates should not be construed so broadly as to preempt ”
personal injury negligence claims, such as those stemming from
a plane crash" (Pet. App. 12).

The court of appeals also viewed the theoretical underpin-
nings of Harris as undercut by New York State Conf. of Blue
Cross & Blue Shield v. Travelers Ins. Co., 115 §. Ct. 1671
(1995), an ERISA case that the court of appeals read as
"essentially reformulat[ing]" this Court’s construction of
"relating to" in the ERISA cases upon which Morales rests.
Travelers emphasized that the traditional presumption against
preemption applies in construing ERISA. No mention of that
presumption appears in Morales, however, and Harris "seems
to operate from precisely the opposite position -- that there is a
presumption of preemption from which exceptions, such as
breach of contract claims, are carved" (Pet. App. 12).

The court of appeals noted that "Travelers may have other
significant implications for § 105," citing this Court’s obser-
vation that its prior efforts to construe the phrase "relating to"
had not provided "much help drawing the line," and that if this
phrase were "taken to extend to the furthest stretch of its inde-
terminance, then for all practical purposes preemption would
never run its course. . . " (Pet. App. 13, quoting Travelers, 115
S. Ct. at 1677). The court of appeals also noted 7ravelers’
comment that in construing the words "relating to," a court
““must go beyond the unhelpful text . . . and look instead to the
objectives of [the statute] as a guide to the scope of the state
law that Congress understood would survive’" (/d., quoting 115
S. Ct. at 1677). Harris, the court of appeals concluded, "seems
to take ‘relates to’ to the furthest stretch of its indeterminacy."
(Pet. App. 13).

Notwithstanding its criticism of Harris, the court ended
this discussion by noting that it was powerless to overturn a
decision by a previous panel, absent an intervening statutory
change or Supreme Court decision. "Since 7ravelers is not

8

directly on point and Wolens, while verhaps recharacterizing
Morales, did not overrule it, we remain bound to apply the
Harris rationale, however outdated we may find its analysis"
(Pet. App. 13).

Turning to the four cases before it, the court of appeals
concluded that Harris did not preempt the two cases involving
personal injury claims, but it did preempt the claims in this case
and the other case alleging emotional injury. In reaching this
conclusion, the court characterized the claims for emotional
injury as claims involving "negligent rendition of service,"
whereas personal injury claims were characterized as "safety-
related personal injury or death claims concerning airline
operations or maintenance" (Pet. App. 14). The court saw three
reasons for making this distinction.

First, it cited language from the majority, concurring and
dissenting opinions in Wolens indicating that Morales should not
be extended to preempt "personal injury safety-related claims"
(Pet. App. 14).

Second, the court found support for a distinction between
"services" and "operations and maintenance" in 49 U.S.C. §
41112(a), which was enacted as part of the Airline Deregulation
Act and required airlines to buy insurance or self-insure in order
to pay amounts for which "an air carrier may become liable for
bodily injuries to or the death of any person, or for loss of or
damage to property of others, relating from the operation or
maintenance of aircraft." In the court’s view, "Harris is recon-
cilable under this rationale because the insurance requirement
pertains only to bodily injuries or death, not to emotional
injuries such as those involved in Harris" (Pet. App.
15)(emphasis in original).

Third, the court of appeals noted that the distinction was
"harmonious with results reached in other circuit and district
courts," citing four opinions where personal injury claims were
allowed to proceed notwithstanding section 105. One of them,

9

Hodges v. Delta Airlines, Inc., 44 F.3d 334 (5th Cir. 1995)(in
banc), is the progenitor of the service/operations distinction
adopted by the Ninth Circuit here. In Hodges, which involved
luggage falling from an overhead bin, the in banc Fifth Circuit
reversed a panel decision and found no preemption of "state tort
actions for personal physical injuries or property damage caused
by the operation and maintenance of aircraft." Jd. at 336.

Judge O’Scannlain filed a special concurrence in which he
agreed that the personal injury claims were not preempted and
that Harris was “contrary to the weight of authority interpreting
ADA preemption" (Pet. App. 21). He was critical, however, of
the new distinction between airline services and airline opera-
tions as relying "on a few words taken out of context" and
"needlessly muddi{ing] our preemption jurisprudence" (Pet.
App. 21) in a way that will "no doubt yield confusion and
conflicting results in the future" (Pet. App. 21).

In his view, the new distinction found no support in Mo-
rales, Wolens or any other authority, and section 105 should be
construed in the context of the Airline Deregulation Act, which
was enacted to promote competition, with section 105 intended
to prevent states from "impos[ing] their own public policies or
theories of regulation on the operation of air carriers" (Pet. App.
22, quoting Wolens, 513 U.S. at 229 n.5). He thus saw no basis
to preempt state tort claims if they can be characterized as
relating to airline "services," but not to airline "operations and
maintenance."

To buttress this conclusion, he cited this Court’s recent
decision in California Div. of Labor Standards Enforcement v.
Dillingham Construction, N.A., Inc., 117 S. Ct. 832 (1997),
which construed the "relating to" language in ERISA that
guided the Court in Morales. Judge O’Scanniain pointed to the
caveat in Dillingham that the words "relating to" in ERISA
"should not be applied with ‘uncritical literalism,’ but with an
emphasis on the objectives of the statute and its effect on state

10

law" (Pet. App. 23, citing Dillingham, 117 S. Ct. at 838. He
cited too the concurring opinion in Dillingham by Justice Scalia,
joined by Justice Ginsburg, who argued that it would "greatly
assist our function of clarifying the law if we simply acknowl-
edged that our first take on this statute was wrong" and that
"relating to" should be read not as a fest for preemption, but as
a means of identifying the field being preempted. /d. at 843.
Thus, in Judge O’Scannlain’s view, Dillingham rendered the
services-vs.-operations test for preemption "archaic" (Pet. App.
23).

Finally, Judge O’Scannlain observed that the distinction
between services and operations would be difficult to draw. He
noted that in Hodges, the majority viewed the falling suitcase
claim as plainly relating to airline operations, not services, while
two dissenting judges were convinced that the claim related to
airline services (Pet. App. 23). Citing a Texas Supreme Court
case that also reyected the services-vs.-operations distinction, he
observed that a claim by a passenger who was hit by falling
luggage would be preempted if the attendant dropped the
suitcase, but not if the bin came open because of an improperly
maintained latch or because the plane was jolted by turbulent
weather. Also, a passenger who fell in the aisle could not
recover if he or she slipped on food dropped by a flight atten-
dant, but would have a claim if the accident was caused by a
sudden banking of the aircraft (Pet. App. 24).

Judge O’Scannlain concluded that the majority opinion is
"no more likely than the Harris decision to bring clarity to the
airline preemption field" and that the "proper inquiry" under
section 105 should be “whether the state common law tort
remedies have the effect of frustrating the purpose of deregula-
tion by interfering with the forces of competition. If the state
law does not have the requisite regulatory effect, then it is
simply ‘too tenuous, remote, or peripheral a matter’ to have
preemptive effect" (Pet. App. 24, quoting Morales, 504 U.S. at

11

- 378-(internal-citation omitted)-Rather than continue to draw”
ever finer lines in this area, he believed that the court of appeals
should "set its house in order" (Pet. App. 24).

Petitioners sought rehearing and suggested rehearing in
banc. Notwithstanding the tensions in the case law and Judge
O’Scannilain’s plea for clarification, rehearing was denied. No
other party to the consolidated cases sought rehearing or has
filed for certiorari.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

THIS CASE PRESENTS IMPORTANT QUESTIONS
REGARDING THE PREEMPTION OF STATE TORT
CLAIMS BY SECTION 105 ON WHICH THE COURTS
BELOW HAVE TAKEN DIFFERENT APPROACHES.

Section 105 preempts state laws that are "related to" an
airline’s "service," and this case presents important issues about
both parts of that formulation. The first involves the scope of
the word "service" in section 105 and whether Congress
intended to recognize the services-vs.-operations dichotomy
adopted by the Ninth Circuit here. The second is whether,
notwithstanding this Court’s heavy reliance on ERISA preemp-
tion cases in Morales, the court of appeals was correct in de-
termining that this Court’s recent ERISA rulings have no
bearing on the interpretation of "related to" in section 105. As
we discuss below, the court of appeals erred in both parts of the
analysis, and review is warranted to clarify the inconsistent ways
in which this statute has been construed by the courts below.

A. The Scope of "Services"in Section 105.

This case presents the issue of whether section 105 pre-
empts tort claims for negligence, intentional or negligent
infliction of emotional distress and the like that petitioners are
asserting against Southwest. The Court has not yet ruled on the
extent to which section 105 preempts state tort law (if at all),

12

and review should be granted to clarify what is perhaps the
major outstanding issue left open by this Court’s airline preemp-
tion cases. Apart from the importance of this question for its
own sake, it is an issue on which lower courts have taken
different approaches, with the services-vs.-operations distinction
adopted by the Ninth Circuit here having been rejected by one
state supreme court and a California intermediate court.

Morales did not address preemption of tort claims.
Wolens acknowledged the airline’s concession that section 105
does not preempt “personal injury claims relating to airline
operations,” such as “a negligence claim arising out of a plane
crash,” and the Solicitor General likewise deemed it “unlikely
that Section 1305(a)(1) preempts safety-related personal-injury
claims relating to airline operations.” 513 U.S. at 231 n.7
(internal citations omitted). The concurring opinion of Justice
Stevens and dissenting opinion of Justice O’Connor expressed
the view that at least some common-law negligence claims
would not be preempted. /d. at 235, 242.

Despite this discussion in Wolens, the application of
section 105 to tort claims remains unsettled. The Ninth Circuit
in Harris plainly viewed footnote 7 of Wolens as dicta, and
Harris explained its conclusion that petitioners’ tort claims are
preempted by asserting that Wolens involved only breach of
contract claims. 55 F.3d at 1477.

More broadly, the Ninth Circuit’s decision to define “ser-
vice” in a way that excludes claims pertaining to airline opera-
tions and maintenance warrants review for a number of reasons.

First, the distinction is inconsistent with Wolens, which
reasoned that breach of contract claims are not preempted
because such claims generally do not reflect an attempt to
enforce policy-laden state laws in a manner that comes too close
to regulating airline economics or marketing decisions. Foot-
note 7 of Wolens suggests that the same can be said of bodily
injury claims involving a plane crash or other accident. If that

13

is sO, it is difficult to see why negligence claims for emotional in-
"jury, as opposed to physical injury, are somehow so policy-laden
that Congress would want to preempt them. The Ninth Circuit
never explained its reasoning on this point, and neither did the
Fifth Circuit, which initiated this service-vs.-operations distinc-
tion in Hodges.

As authority, the Ninth Circuit cited a statute cited in
footnote 7 of Wolens, 49 U.S.C. § 41112(a)(formerly 49 U.S.C.
App. § 1371(q)(1), which was enacted as part of the Airline
Deregulation Act and required airlines to obtain insurance (or
self-insure) to cover claims "for bodily injuries to or the death of
any person, or for loss or damage to property of others,
resulting from the operation or maintenance of aircraft"
(emphasis added). There are several problems with reliance on
this statute. In a nutshell, section 41112(a) was a response to a
policy argument made against economic deregulation, namely,
that it would compromise safety. Congress considered and
ultimately rejected that objection. As a precaution, however,
Congress enacted this insurance requirement for all licensed
carriers, a step that had previously been seen as unnecessary in
a regulatory regime that virtually prohibited new air carriers
from entering the industry. S. Rep. No. 96-631, 95th Cong., 2d
Sess. 97 (1978).

Before section 41112(a) was enacted in 1978, airlines
were fully liable to passengers for claims of negligence and other
torts, regardless of whether the injury involved physical or other
types of injury and regardless of whether the tort related to their
"services" or their "operations," however defined. See Nader v.
Allegheny Airlines, Inc., 426 U.S. 290 (1976). See also 49
U.S.C. App. § 1506, recodified as 49 U.S.C. § 40120(c)(Federal
Aviation Act savings clause preserving "remedies now existing
at common law or by statute"). It is difficult to understand why
a provision designed to add an element of protection to the
flying public should be read as limiting liability in cases such as

14

this one.

— -——-..-Fhere +s-related reascn-why section-41412(a)-cannet .- —- +
support a servives-vs.-operations distinction. Ifthe Ninth Cir-
cuit is correct that footnote 7 of Wolens preserves those bodily
injury claims that relate to airline “operations,” then bodily
injury claims that relate to airline “services” are preempted.
Thus, if a passenger should contract food poisoning from an in-
flight meal, Harris would treat that claim as preempted because
it relates the airline’s meal "service." Indeed, in the falling
luggage case that was decided in tandem with this one (Costa),
American Airlines vigorously urged the Ninth Circuit to find
preemption of that bodily injury claim, (Pet. App. 18 n.5), even
though American conceded in Wo/ens that claims stemming
from a plane crash could proceed.

Whether footnote 7 in Wolens should be read to preempt
bodily injury claims if they can be categorized as relating to
airline "services," rather than airline "operations," is an impor-
tant issue. Moreover, as American’s refusal to concede
preemption in Costa suggests, it is a claim that will continue to
be litigated in future cases. Petitioners do not believe the
Court’s citation of section 41112(a) in Wolens can be read as
supporting a services-vs.-operations distinction that would
operate in this manner, but whatever the correct reading of
Wolens may be on this point, the question is surely significant
and warrants review.” |

* Another facet of footnote 7 that could be clarified if review is
granted involves the applicability of section 105 to statutory tort claims.
Wolens drew a distinction between common law contract claims, which
were allowed to proceed, and statutory claims involving unfair con-
sumer practices, which were held to be preempted. 513 U.S. at 233.
Does this common law/statutory distinction apply to tort claims as well?
Although footnote 7 of Wolens suggests that tort claims arising out of

(continued...)

15

This brings us to a second reason why the Court sheu!d—- —

— ——~ examine tite-services-vs.-operations distinction, and that is the

fact that it is unworkable and has been rejected by several other
courts. As Judge O’Scannlain’s concurrence noted, and as the
Texas Supreme Court pointed out in Continental Airlines, Inc.
v. Kiefer, 920 S.W.2d 274 (1996), the line drawn here creates
anomalies that Congress could not possibly have intended.
Thus, in Hodges, another falling luggage case, the Fifth Circuit
concluded that this bodily injury claim related to airline “opera-
tions” and was therefore preempted, while two dissenting judges
viewed the claim as relating to airline “services.” 44 F.3d at
343-44 (Higginbotham and E. Garza, JJ., dissenting). Also, the
decision below suggests that a passenger who falls in the aisle
and is injured would have no claim if the cause was spilled food,
but could sue if the cause was the aircraft suddenly banking in
one direction (Pet. App. 24).

That a services-vs.-operations distinction will not work in
practice is also suggested by two Ninth Circuit cases that the
court of appeals cited as being consistent with the decision
below. In Lathigra v. British Airways PLC, 41 F.3d 535 (9th

(...continued)

aircraft accidents are not preempted, recoveries for wrongful death are
often available only by statute. E.g., CAL. Civ. PRoc. CODE § 377.60:
ARK. CODE § 16-62-102 OHIO REV. CODE ANN. § 2125.01 (Baldwin
1994); 740 ILL. Comp. STAT. 180/0.01 ef seq. In the present case.
petitioners raised both common law claims and a Statutory claim for
violating a provision of the California Code that protects people from
threats, harassment, intimidation and assault, including those based on
race (Pet. App. 6). The court of appeals did not address this claim
specifically, though it did hold in Costa that the passenger injured by
falling luggage could not seek to impose tort liability under a California
Statute that imposes a higher standard of care than exists under common
law principles (Pet. App. 18).

Seated

16

Cir. 1994), the Court of appeals found fhat section 105 did not
preempt a tort claim that the airline had behaved negligently
when it supposedly reconfirmed a reservation, whereas in fact
the flight had been canceled weeks before and the passenger was
stranded for several days as a result. Similarly in West v.
Northwest Airlines, Inc., 995 F.2d 148 (9th Cir. 1993), cert.
denied, 510 U.S. 1111 (1994), the court allowed a bumped
passenger to pursue a tort claim for compensatory damages.

It is difficult to square these two cases with the literalist
approach of Harris. After all, if an airline is not offering a
"service" when it makes passenger reservations (Wes?) or when
it reconfirms those reservations (Lathigra), why is the provision
of in-flight meals and drink an airline "service"? Why, logically,
would Congress expressly intend to preempt one type of claim,
but not the other? Harris offered no answer, nor did any of the
airline defendants below. Indeed, it was this incongruity that
prompted Judge O’Scannlain to state that the Ninth Circuit
should "set its own house in order" in this area (Pet. App. 24),
but petitioners’ suggestion of rehearing in banc was rejected.

Third, other courts have considered and rejected the
services-vs.-operations distinction, thus raising the possibility of
inconsistent decisions depending on the forum in which a given
case is filed. In Kiefer, the Texas Supreme Court disagreed with
the Fifth Circuit’s decision to adopt this distinction, thus raising
the prospect that a case might come out differently if it is
litigated in a Texas state court than a Texas federal court.

Similarly, in Romano v. American Trans Air, 56 Cal. Rptr.
2d 428 (2d App. Dist. 1996), the court of appeals covering Los
Angeles County stated that Harris was “wrong” and would not
be followed in that jurisdiction. /d. at 430. In Romano, the
plaintiff was harassed throughout the flight by a fellow passen-
ger whom the flight attendants did nothing to control and who
ended up punching the plaintiff in the face. The passenger sued
the airline for negligence, as well as intentional or negligent

17

infliction of emotional distress, among other torts.

In allowing these claims to proceed (which were col-
lectively cited as “personal injury” claims, the court making no
distinction between “bodily” and “emotional” injuries), the
California Court of Appeal conducted a scholarly examination
of the case law in this area and concluded that Congress had no
intention of preempting “personal injury” claims (broadly
defined) when it enacted the Airline Deregulation Act in order
to end economic regulation of the industry. Romano expressly
rejected the argument accepted by the Ninth Circuit here and by
Fifth Circuit in Hodges, namely, that the only type of tort claims
that survive are “those related to operations and maintenance
(for example, a wrongful death action arising out of a crash...).”
Id. at 4316.4

There is a paradox here. If petitioners had filed this case
in state court in Los Angeles (where their flight originated), and

* Other cases have also reached results inconsistent with the Ninth
Circuit’s approach here. In Khan v. American Airlines, 1994 Ill. App.
LEXIS 1167, the court found no preemption of a claim for false im-
prisonment, malicious prosecution and intentional infliction of emo-
tional distress when a passenger was arrested on suspicion of possess-
ing a stolen ticket. In Haavistola v. Delta Air Lines, Inc., 1997 Del.
Super. LEXIS 63, a passenger who was kicked by an intoxicated
passenger was allowed to pursue tort claims, the court deciding to
follow the Texas Supreme Court’s approach in Kiefer. Other cases
where emotional distress claims were allowed to proceed include
Chrissafis v. Continental Airlines, 940 F. Supp. 1292 (N.D. Ill. 1996):
Sedigh v. Delta Airlines, Inc., 850 F. Supp. 197 (E.D.N.Y. 1994):
Miller v. Northwest Airlines, 1992 NJ. Super. LEXIS 43, and
Doricent v. American Airlines, Inc., 1993 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 15143 (D.
Mass.). In addition to this case and Harris, preemption of emotional
distress claims was found in Pearson v. Lake Forest Country Day
School, 1994 Ill. App. LEXIS 640.

18

if they had made the case removal-proof, Romano suggests that
their claims would have been heard on the merits. Because this
case was litigated in federal court, however, and because the
Ninth Circuit decided that Harris remains the law in that circuit,
their claims are preempted. A similar anomaly is possible in
Texas, given the Fifth Circuit’s decision in Hodges to embrace
the services-vs.-operations distinction that the Texas Supreme
Court rejected in Kiefer.

This Court has granted review in preemption cases where
there is a direct and irreconcilable conflict between decisions of
a state supreme court and the federal circuit court embracing
that state. Indeed, Wolens was such a case, as was Cipollone v.
Liggett Group, Inc., 50S U.S. 504 (1992). To be sure, Romano
is an intermediate state court, but its ruling is the law in the
second largest metropolitan area in the nation, which is served
by all major airlines. The current tension between the law of the
Ninth Circuit and of this California state court is unlikely to
escape the notice of counsel contemplating where to file tort
claims involving an airline in the future.°

More generally, many flights involve interstate travel, and
thus passengers would understandably have an incentive to seek

* The problems encountered in these cases are not isolated
instances. According to a recent press report, airlines are encounter-
ing a growing number of rowdy passengers, as well as physical
assaults and similar behavior. E. McDowell, The Arrival of Uncivil
Aeronautics: Airlines Must Grapple with Hostile Passengers, THE
NEW YORK TIMES, at D1, col. 2 (30 May 1997). Plaintiffs allege that
Southwest violated FAA regulations against serving intoxicated
passengers that seek to prevent such incidents. In addition, airlines
have procedures designed to discourage passengers from abusive
behavior, including an admonition that the carrier will make an
unscheduled stop or have the offending passenger arrested when the
flight lands. See Harris, 55 F.3d at 1476.

19

out a favorable forum if they know that a tort suit would be
preempted if it is filed in the city where their flight departed, but
not in the city where their flight arrived. This is an unsatis-
factory state of the law in an area where uniformity is important.

B. The Scope of "Relating to" in Section 105.

A second facet of the Question Presented here is the scope
of the "relating to" language in section 105. In Morales, the
seminal decision in this area, the Court noted that this language
was identical to language in ERISA’s preemption section and
that section 105 should be construed in accordance with ERISA
preemption principles, citing ERISA cases in which the words
“relating to” were read as having an “expansive sweep” and a
“breadth” that “is apparent from [its] language.” 504 US. at
384 (internal citations omitted). The only exception, again
following ERISA, was in situations where state actions would
affect airline routes, rates or services “‘in too tenuous, remote
or peripheral a manner’ to have preemptive effect.” /d. at 390,
quoting Shaw v. Delta Air Lines, Inc., 463 U.S. 85, 100 ( 1983).
Morales did not pinpoint where that dividing line fell, noting
that the states’ effort to regulate airline advertising “plainly does
not present a borderline question.” Jd. Nor did Morales state
whether courts should read section 105 in light of the traditional
presumption against preemption. Wolens followed this analyti-
cal model, concluding that breach of contract claims fell within
the “too tenuous” exception to be preempted.

Shortly after Wolens came down, however, 7ravelers
marked a shift in this Court’s construction of “relating to” in the
ERISA preemption context. Rather than treat these words as
having a “breadth that is apparent from [its] language,” Shaw,
463 U.S. at 96, the Court spoke of the need to “go beyond the
unhelpful text” of ERISA’s “relating to” language and “look
instead to the objectives of the ERISA statute as a guide to the
scope of the state law that Congress understood would survive.”
115 S. Ct. at 1677.

20

This shift in emphasis was noted in two cases decided last
Term. In Dillingham, the Court reiterated 7ravelers* point that
"relating to" should not be construed with "uncritical literalism."
117 S. Ct. at 838 (internal citation omitted). And in DiBuono
v. NYSA-ISA Medical and Clinical Services Fund, 117 S. Ct.
1747 (1997), the Court synthesized this evolution in the case
law, explaining that the Court’s early ERISA preemption cases
(upon which Morales relied) had not found it “necessary to rely
on the expansive character of ERISA’s literal language in order
to find preemption because the state laws at issue in those cases
had a clear connection with or reference to ERISA benefit
plans.” /d. at 1751 (internal citation omitted). 7ravelers, the
Court continued, “confronted directly the question whether
ERISA’s ‘relates to’ language was intended to modify ‘the
starting presumption that Congress does not intend to supplant
state law,”” and the Court “unequivocally conclud[ed] that it did
not.” /d. Travelers evaluated the state law in question by
examining Congress’s intention when it enacted ERISA and
concluded that state law was not preempted, the same conclu-
sion reached in Dillingham and DiBuono.

This shift in emphasis is significant. Morales stressed the
need to read section 105 using the text-based model of this
Court’s pre-7ravelers decisions, which assume that the scope of
“relating to” is “apparent from [its] language.” If review is
granted, the Court will be able to provide guidance on whether
this shift in emphasis is confined to ERISA cases, or whether the
analysis in 7ravelers, Dillingham and DiBuono applies when
courts construe section 105's identical “relating to” language.

This is an important question that the Court should
resolve. Petitioners’ state law tort claims are directly controlled
by Harris, in which the Ninth Circuit applied “uncritical literal-
ism” to hold that such claims “relate[] to” the airline’s “service”
of alcoholic beverages to other passengers. Harris explained
that section 105 has “an expansive reach” after Morales, 55

21

F.3d at 1474, and nothing in Wolens afford petitioners relief

The case law is thus at a crossroads. Although Morales
instructed courts to construe section 105 in accordance with
ERISA principles, Harris and this case adopted an approach
that diverges from the approach now required in ERISA cases.

There is another aspect to this "related to" issue where
clarification would be important, i.e., whether the traditional
presumption against preemption of state law claims applies in
construing section 105. Morales, again consistent with ERISA
preemption cases up to that time, makes no mention of this
presumption. The omission is striking, particularly since
Morales was issued only three weeks before the Court decided
Cipollone, which held that the presumption does apply in
construing a tobacco preemption statute, a ruling that was
challenged by the dissent as inconsistent with Morales. 505
U.S. at 546 (Scalia, J., dissenting). Although 7ravelers and
subsequent cases have made it clear that the presumption against
preemption does apply in construing ERISA’s preemption
section, the Court has not expressly clarified that point in a
section 105 context.

The Ninth Circuit’s decision here epitomizes the uncer-
tainty in this area, which only this Court can resolve. The
opinions below characterized Harris as “outdated” and “ar-
chaic” in light of 7ravelers and Dillingham (Pet. App. 13, 23).
Nonetheless, because those were ERISA cases, rather than
airline cases, the court of appeals did not view them as directly
controlling and so affirmed the judgment that petitioners’ tort
claims are preempted under Harris (Pet. App. 13).

No useful purpose would be served by letting the issue
percolate further in state and federal appellate courts. Questions
about the scope of section 105 arise in numerous cases each
year, and it is doubtful that additional litigation will clarify this
issue, which is raised directly by this Court’s recent ERISA
decisions and which only this Court can ultimately answer.

22

C. There Is No Reason to Believe that Congress
Intended to Preempt State Tort Claims.

The Court has thus far ruled on the application of section
105 to contract claims and efforts by states to enforce consumer
protection statutes. Tort cases represent the major remaining
category that the Court has not addressed, and a decision by the
Court on this issue will significantly reduce the likelihood of
future litigation on this topic.°

Certiorari papers are not the place to address the merits,
but it is our position that section 105 does not preempt state tort
claims, both under the analytical approach taken in Morales and
Wolens, as well as the more recent contextual approach fol-
lowed in 7ravelers and later ERISA cases. The reason is that
the airline defendants here, in Harris and in all other tort cases,
are asking courts to construe section 105 as something it plainly
was not intended to be, namely, a "tort reform" statute. The
Airline Deregulation Act was enacted to end the public-utility
form of regulation that had be applied to the airline industry for
the past 40 years, not to eliminate tort liability in cases of airline
negligence or misconduct.

Much of the analytical difficulty in this area stems from
uncertainty about the scope of the scope of the "service" to
which tort claims allegedly "relate." Few decisions have
attempted to define what the word "service" means in section
105. For example, the literalist approach embodied in Harris
assumes that the meaning of "service" is self-evident, while an

° A LEXIS search for tort cases filed against the major airline
companies over the past decade turned up literally hundreds of cases,
with preemption defenses asserted in a significant number of them. The
tort claims asserted in these cases range far and wide, including false
arrest, false imprisonment, fraudulent misrepresentation, assault and
battery, slander, fraud in the inducement of a contract, and damage to
property.

23

examination of section 105 in the context of the Federal
Aviation Act suggests a different approach.

The Federal Aviation Act, to which section 105 was added
in 1978, uses the word “service” in various places to denote the
type of airline operations being offered, e.g., scheduled passen-
ger “service,” charter cargo “service, etc. E.g., 49 U.S.C. §
40102(a)(10); 49 U.S.C. App. § 1374(a). Applying the rule of
Statutory construction that the same word should generally be
given the same meaning throughout a statute, it seems likely that
section 105 has nothing to do with preempting state tort law,
but sought instead to prevent states from trying to regulate
airline operations or "services," no less than their "routes" and
"rates." Those are the three major areas that the Civil Aeronau-
tics Board had regulated for the 40 years before 1978, those
were the areas being deregulated, and those were the areas the
states were being forbidden to enter.

Another source for construing section 105, which also cuts
against the notion that section 105 preempts tort law, is a 1979
interpretative statement issued by the CAB several months after
the Deregulation Act took effect. The Board there stated that
the word “service” denoted that which a passenger received as
a quid pro quo for his or her fare. 44 Fed. Reg. 9948 (15
February 1979). Under this approach too, tortious behavior is
not part of the quid pro quo that a passenger expects to receive
in return for his or her fare.

We cite these authorities to suggest that the analytical
approach approved by the Ninth Circuit here -- a literal and
expansive reading of both "related to" and "service" -- has
produced anomalous results that are far from what Congress
intended. But regardless of what ultimate conclusion may be
reached regarding the effect of section 105 on state tort claims,
it is apparent that there is currently much confusion and
inconsistency in the way that section 105 is being construed, a
situation that argues strongly for granting the petition.

CONCLUSION
For the foregoing reasons, the petition should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

CORNISH F. HITCHCOCK

(Counsel of record)

ALAN B. MORRISON
PUBLIC CITIZEN LITIGATION GROUP
1600 20th Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20009-1001
(202) 588-1000

JOHN L. BURRIS
LAW OFFICES OF JOHN L. BURRIS
1212 Broadway, Suite 1200
Oakland, California 94612
(510) 839-5200
August 1997 Attorneys for Petitioners’

” The assistance of Britt Guerrina, a student at the University
of Chicago Law School, in the preparation of this petition is grate-
fully acknowledged.

eA

l

FOR PUBLICATION

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

SHIRLEY GEE; RYAN JEFFREY
GEE; SEAN PAUL FONG, a
minor by and through his
guardian ad litem Shirley Gee;

PATRICIA SETO; SAMANTHA No. 95-17175
SETO; COREY SETO,
Plaintiffs-Appellants, D.C. No.
CV-94-03983-CW
V.
ORDER AND
SOUTHWEST AIRLINES Co., Southwest AMENDED
Airlines Company, OPINION

Defendant-Appellee.

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Northern District of California
Claudia Wilken, District Judge, Presiding

HERBERT H. GADBURY,
Plaintiff-Appellant,

V. No. 95-36117
DELTA AIRLINES, INC., D.C. No.
Foreign Corporation CV-95-0336-DCA

doing business in Oregon,
Defendant-Appellee.

2

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the District of Oregon
Donald C. Ashmanskas, District Judge, Presiding

JAN ROWLEY,
Plaintiff-Appellant,
No. 95-36188
V.
D.C. No.
AMERICAN AIRLINES, INC., CV-94-00433-HJF

Defendant-Appellee.

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the District of Oregon
Helen J. Frye, District Judge, Presiding

DONNA COSTA,
Plaintiff-Appellant,

No. 95-56278
V.
AMERICAN AIRLINES, INC.; ROE D.C. No.
CORPORATION, Inclusive, CV-94-00660-GLT

Defendants-Appellees.
Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Central District of California

Gary L. Taylor, District Judge, Presiding

Argued and Submitted
October 10, 1996--Pasadena, California

Filed: April 4, 1997

3

Amended May 28, 1997

Before: Diarmuid F. O'Scannlain, Thomas G. Nelson and
Michael Daly Hawkins, Circuit Judges.

Opinion by Judge Hawkins;
Concurrence by Judge O'Scannlain

COUNSEL
No. 95-17175:

Cornish F. Hitchcock, Public Citizen Litigation Group, Wash-
ington, D.C., for the plaintiffs-appellants

Robert J. Stumpf, Jr., Bronson, Bronson & McKinnon, San
Francisco, California, for the defendant-appellee

No. 95-36117:

Cornish F. Hitchcock, Public Citizen Litigation Group, Wash-
ington, D.C., for the plaintiff-appellant

Steven O. Rosen, Miller, Nash, Wiener, Hager & Carlsen,
Portland, Oregon, for the defendant-appellee

No. 95-36188:

Douglas L. Parker and Lisel Loy, Institute for Public Repre-
sentation, Georgetown University Law Center, Washington,
D.C., for the plaintiff-appellant

Steven O. Rosen and James N. Westwood, Miller, Nash, Wie-

4

ner, Hager & Carlsen, Portland, Oregon, for the defendant-
appellee

Robert N. Herman, Paralyzed Veterans of America, Washing-
ton, D.C., as amicus curiae in support of appellant

No. 95-56278:

Debra E. Allen, Portigal, Hammerton & Allen, Santa Ana,
California, for the plaintiff-appellant

Jeffrey A. Worthe and John R. Hanson, Chase, Rotchford,
Drukker & Bogust, Santa Ana, California, for the defendants-
appellees

ORDER

The Opinion filed on April 4, 1997, slip op. 3809, is
amended as follows:

1, At slip op. 3828, following the first sentence of
the concurring opinoin, create a new paragraph
starting with "The majority concludes that a distinc-
tion between... .". On the line above this new
paragraph, inset the roman numeral "I" (centered).

2. At slip op. 3830, change "I" to "II"

3. At slip op. 3832, change "II" to "III"

With these amendments, a majority of the panel has voted
to deny the petition and to-reject the suggestion for rehearing en
banc.

5

The full court has been advised of the suggestion for
rehearing en banc and no judge has requested a vote on the
suggestion for rehearing en banc. Fed. R. App. P. 35.

The petition for rehearing is denied and the suggestion for
rehearing en banc is rejected.

OPINION
HAWKINS, Circuit Judge:

In these actions, consolidated for argument, appellants
sought damages against various airlines based on in-flight events
ranging from loathsome behavior by fellow passengers to
objects dropping on them from overhead bins. They appeal
summary judgment grants to defendant airlines based on the
preemption of the appellants’ state tort claims by § 105 of the
Federal Aviation Act (commonly referred to as the Airline
Deregulation Act and referred to herein as the "ADA").' In
addition, appellant Rowley also appeals the district court's denial
of a motion in limine regarding the availability of punitive
damages under the Air Carrier Access Act (the "ACAA"). We
affirm the district courts' preemption decisions as to Gee and

' Section 105 of the ADA, as recodified, reads as follows:

[A] State, political subdivision of a State, or political
authority of at least 2 States may not enact or enforce a
law, regulation, or other provision having the force and ef-
fect of law related to a price, route or service of an air car-
ner that may provide air transportation under this subpart.

49 U.S.C. § 41713(b)(1).

6

Rowley, but we find that Gadbury's and Costa's tort claims are
not preempted, and we therefore reverse and remand to their
respective district courts. We also hold that even if punitive
damages were available under ACAA, Rowley has not alleged
the type of wanton or malicious conduct necessary to support a
claim for punitive damages, and we therefore affirm the district
court's decision on this issue.

FACTS AND PROCEDURAL HISTORY
A) Gee v. Southwest Airlines

On August 22, 1994, Shirley Gee ("Gee") and her fellow
Asian-American appellants boarded a Southwest Airlines
("Southwest") flight from Los Angeles to Oakland and sat
behind a wedding party (the "Travis group"). The Travis group
was noisy, and Gee asked some of the members to stop making
so much noise. She also complained to a flight attendant and
asked the attendant not to serve the group any more alcohol be-
cause they appeared to be intoxicated. Nevertheless, the atten-
dant served one beer apiece to three members of the Travis
group. Gee claims that after her complaint, the Travis group
harassed her with racial slurs, pantomimed cocking and shooting
a gun at Gee and her companions, and threatened to "get them"
upon landing.

Appellants filed suit in California state court against
Southwest for a variety of tort actions, including negligence per
se for violation of FAA regulations against boarding or serving
intoxicated passengers; negligence, negligent training and super-
vision, intentional and negligent infliction of emotional distress;
respondeat superior, and violating California Code provisions
protecting people from threats, harassment, intimi-dation or
assault, including those based on race. Southwest removed the

i a a ae

7

case to federal court on diversity grounds. The district court
granted Southwest's motion for summary judgment on the
grounds that the claims were preempted by § 105 of the ADA.

B) Gadbury v. Delta Air Lines

Gadbury was a passenger on a 1993 Delta Air Lines, Inc.
("Delta") flight who alleges that during takeoff acceleration and
banking, a door on a service cart swung open and struck his
knee. Gadbury brought suit in Oregon state court alleging
common law negligence, and Delta removed to federal district
court. Delta admitted that the door opened after takeoff and that
it "was not correctly latched by the flight attendants just prior to
takeoff." The district court granted summary judgment for
Delta, upholding a magistrate's finding that Gadbury's claim was
preempted by § 105 of the ADA.

C) Rowley v. American Airlines

Rowley is paralyzed from the chest down and requires a
motorized scooter for mobility. Prior to a flight on American in
August of 1993, she advised American that she would need an
aisle chair (a narrow wheelchair which can be rolled between
seats) to assist her in moving from the door of the plane to her
seat. American assured her that such assistance would be
available. American failed to provide the aisle chair in either
Dallas or Portland, in violation of the ACAA. As a result,
Rowley claims she was forced to make an arduous journey to
and from her seat by holding on to seats and overhead compart-
ments while American employees watched. Rowley also
requested American to return her motorized scooter to the door
of the plane in Dallas and Portland, but it failed to do so. In
Portland, American also failed to reassemble the scooter for her
after it had been disassembled for stowage.

ee —_ ———————

8

Rowley filed suit in district court for compensatory and
punitive damages under the ACAA, and asserted several state
tort claims for intentional and negligent infliction of emotional
distress. The district judge granted American's motion for
summary judgment with respect to the tort claims, finding them
to be expressly preempted by the ADA. Rowley also filed a
motion in limine regarding the availability of damages under the
ACAA, and the district court held that "federal law permits
recovery cf compensatory damages for violation of the ACAA,
but not punitive damages."

The remaining compensatory damage claim under the
ACAA was tried to a jury, which found that American did
violate the ACAA by failing to provide the aisle chair and failing
to return the motorized scooter to Rowley. The jury, however,
awarded zero compensatory damages. Rowley appeals the
summary judgment grant and the pretrial disallowance of
Rowley's punitive damage claim.’

D) Costa v. American Airlines

Costa was a passenger on a 1993 American Airlines
("American") flight who claims injuries from another passenger
who opened the overhead bin upon landing, causing a suitcase
to fall onto her head. The identity of the other passenger was
never discovered, since American, pursuant to its routine policy,
destroyed the passenger list 48 hours later. Costa brought suit
in California state court against American and the "John Doe"
passenger, alleging that American had violated its duty of care

> The district court granted American's motion in limine to
prevent the introduction of evidence relating to punitive damages.
See n.5 infra.

9

as a common carrier under California law, and that American's
negligence in the maintenance and operation of the airplane and
negligent management caused Costa's injuries. American
removed the action to federal court and filed a motion for
summary judgment, which the district court granted on the basis
that Costa's claims were preempted by the ADA.

DISCUSSION
I. Preemption under the ADA
A. Standard of Review

We review a district court's decision regarding preemption
de novo. Espinal v. Northwest Airlines, 90 F.3d 1452, 1455
(9th Cir. 1996). A grant of summary judgment is reviewed de
novo. Bagdadi v. Nazar, 84 F.3d 1194, 1197 (9th Cir. 1996).

B. Background

Each district court felt this court's decision in Harris v.
American Airlines, Inc., 55 F.3d 1472 (9th Cir. 1995), man-
dated preemption of appellants’ claims. While Harris was not
the first decision on the scope of ADA preemption, it was the
most far-reaching. In Harris, an African-American woman
sought damages for emotional distress caused by a drunk
passenger's racial slurs, claiming American was negligent under
state tort law for continuing to serve the inebriated passenger
who was harassing her. Harris also sought recovery for inten-
tional infliction of emotional distress and violation of Oregon's
Public Accommodation Act. A sharply divided Harris court held
all of Harris’ claims preempted by § 105 of the ADA.

In previous decisions on ADA preemption, we considered

10

the ADA's goals of airline deregulation or looked to FAA
regulations for guidance in determining the scope of preemption.
West v. Northwest Airlines, Inc., 995 F.2d 148 (9th Cir. 1993),
cert. denied, 510 U.S. 1111 (1994), concerned a damage claim
for being "bumped" from a flight. Looking outside the bare
preemption language, we held the claim was not preempted
since an FAA regulation specifically contemplated that "the
passenger may decline the payment and seek to recover damages
in a court of law . . .," and thus any other reading would
eviscerate the FAA regulation. /d at 152-153. We held,
however, that West's right to pursue punitive damages was
preempted, since awarding such damages would punish the
airline for "accepted forms of price competition and reduction
in the deregulation period," which would be contrary to the
purposes of the ADA. /d. at 152.

Lathigra v. British Airways PLC, 41 F.3d 535 (9th Cir.
1994), involved a tort action for negligent reconfirmation of a
reservation. We held the claim was not preempted. Lathigra
notes that even though there are no FAA regulations discussing
remedies for negligent reconfirmation, the case against preemp-
tion is "even stronger than that in West," as the conduct giving
rise to the complaint in no way serves the goals of airline
deregulation as overbooking did in West. Id. at 540.

The Harris majority, however, made no such inquiry.
Rather, it concluded that Harris’ claims "pertain directly to a
‘service’ the airlines render: the provision of drink" and also
relate to the crew's in-flight conduct, i.e., how the airlines treat
intoxicated passengers. Harris, 55 F.3d at 1476. In fact, the
Harris decision did not even mention the Lathigra precedent or
attempt to reconcile the seemingly different analysis.

We recognize that Harris relied significantly on the

-_-_—--——_ — —_+-~—— > ee tiie ee

11

Supreme Court's broad interpretation of the ADA's "relates to"
language in Morales v. Trans World Airlines, Inc., 504 U.S.
374 (1992). Morales found NAAG guidelines on fare advertis-
ing (established through a state's general consumer protection
laws) preempted by the ADA because the guidelines "relat[ed]
to" airline "rates. " Borrowing heavily from the broad interpreta-
tion of the similarly worded preemption provision of the
Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 ("ERISA"),
Morales acknowledged that there would be situations where the
state action affecting rates, routes or service would be "too
) tenuous, remote or peripheral " to have any preemptive effect.
) Id. at 390. The Court, however, declined to express where it
: would be appropriate to draw the line. Id.

Two post-Morales Supreme Court decisions suggest that
the approach taken in West and Lathigra, as opposed to Harris,
is more appropriate. In American Airlines, Inc. v. Wolens, 115
S. Ct. 817 (1995), the Supreme Court revisited ADA preemp-
tion and held that state law breach of contract claims for
retroactive changes in an airline's frequent flyer program are not
| preempted, even though they "relate to" rates and service.
Wolens saw these claims as an example of state law affording
"recovery solely for the airline's alleged breach of its own, self-
imposed undertakings." Id. at 824. Wolens did, however, find a
related state claim based on the Illinois Consumer Fraud and
Deceptive Business Practices Act preempted by the ADA, as it
involved states “imposing their own substantive standards" with
respect to rates, routes or service. /d. at 826.

Wolens significantly backtracks from the expansive lan-
guage of Morales. Although Morales seemed centered solely on
the "relates to” language of the preemption provision, Wolens
suggests that the outcome of Morales also hinged on the belief
of the Department of Transportation and Federal Trade Com-

-—— —— aus ia ae ee le

12

mission that the NAAG guidelines were inconsistent with the
ADA's deregulatory purpose, and that the guidelines created
"binding requirements" on airlines that would have a significant
impact on fares. /d. at 821-22. Furthermore, dicta throughout
the Wolens opinion suggests that the Court was concerned that
Morales not be construed so broadly as to preempt personal
injury negligence claims, such as those stemming from a plane
crash. /d. at 825 n.7, 827-28, and 830. Finally, in holding that
the state law claim for breach of contract was not preempted,
the Wolens court notes that this outcome "makes sense of
Congress’ retention of the FAA's savings clause," which
preserved the " ‘remedies now existing at common law or by
statute.'" /d. at 826 (quoting 49 U.S.C. App. § 1506). Morales
had characterized the same savings clause as "a relic of the pre-
ADA/no preemption regime." 112 S. Ct. at 2037.

Furthermore, in a case decided a mere month before
Harris, the Supreme Court stressed that interpretation of
preemption provisions must start with the presumption that
preemption is not intended, noting that in cases "where federal
law is said to bar state action in fields of traditional state
regulation .. . we have worked on the ‘assumption that the his-
toric police powers of the States were not to be superseded by
the Federal Act unless that was the clear manifest purpose of
Congress.'" New York State Conf. of Blue Cross & Blue Shield
v. Travelers Ins. Co., 115 S. Ct. 1671, 1676 (1995) (internal
citations omitted) (quoting Rice v. Santa Fe Elevator Corp.,
331 U.S. 218, 230 (1947)). Harris seems to operate from
precisely the opposite position -- that there is a presumption of
preemption from which exceptions, such as breach of contract
claims, are carved. 55 F.3d at 1477. .

Travelers may have other significant implications for § 105
of the ADA. Morales borrows its interpretation of the preemp-

13

tion clause entirely from a line of ERISA cases that interpreted
"identical" relevant language. Morales, 112 S. Ct. at 2037.
Travelers, however, essentially reformulates the approach to this
"identical" language. In 7ravelers, a unanimous Supreme Court
admitted its prior attempts to construe the phrase "relate to" did
"not give us much help drawing the line," noting that "[i]f ‘relate
to' were taken to extend to the furthest stretch of its indetermi-
nacy, then for all practical purposes preemption would never run
its course... ." 115 S. Ct. at 1677. The Court indicated that in
interpreting "relate to," a court "must go beyond the unhelpful
text .. . and look instead to the objectives of [the statute] as a
guide to the scope of the state law that Congress understood
would survive." Jd. It appears that the latter approach is in
accordance with our precedent in West and Lathigra, while
Harris seems to take "relates to" to the furthest stretch of its
indeterminacy.

In this circuit, a panel cannot overturn a decision of a
previous panel except by en banc review, unless there has been
an intervening statutory change or Supreme Court decision.
United States v. Gay, 967 F.2d 322, 327 (9th Cir), cert. denied,
113 S. Ct. 359 (1992). Since Travelers is not directly on point
and Wolens, while perhaps recharacterizing Morales, did not
overrule it, we remain bound to apply the Harris rationale,
however outdated we may find its analysis.

C. Gee and Rowley

Gee is virtually identical to Harris. Under Harris, Gee's
negligence claim against Southwest for emotional distress is
"related to" the service of alcoholic beverages to passengers and
the crew's in-flight conduct towards unruly passengers. There-
fore, Gee's claims are preempted under the ADA.

14

Similarly, Rowley's claim of emotional injury is grounded
on the conduct of American employees who failed to provide
assistance with her disability. Harris established that "the
conduct of the flight crew relates to’ service’ under the ADA."
55 F.3d at 1476. We find no real distinction between the Harris
claims based on the "in-flight" conduct of the crew, and Row-
ley's claims based on the pre- and post-flight conduct of the
American employees. If the provision of drink is an airline
"service," then the assistance (or lack thereof) in boarding and
deplaning passengers is also a service. Under Harris, Rowley's
attempt to pursue state tort claims involves activities that "relate
to" service and are thus preempted. We therefore affirm the
decisions of the district courts on this issue with respect to
Rowley and Gee.

D. "Operation and Maintenance" vs."Negligent Rendition
of Service"

The Gadbury and Costa claims, on the other hand, can be
distinguished from Harris. Emotional injury claims stemming
from the "negligent rendition of service " are quite different
from. safety-related personal injury or death claims concerning
airline operations or maintenance. First, we believe the Supreme
Court in Wolens clearly indicated that Morales should not be
extended to preempt personal injury safety-related negligence
claims, as reflected in the majority, concurring, and dissenting
opinions. See Wolens, 115 S. Ct. at 825 n.7 ("American does
not urge that the ADA preempts personal injury claims relating
to airline operations.");’ id. at 827-28 ("Presumably, if an airline
were negligent in a way that somehow affected its rates, routes

* In Costa, American does urge that personal injury claims are
pre-empted.

15

or services and the victim of the airline's negligence were to sue
in state court, the majority would not hold all common-law
negligence rules to be preempted by the ADA.") (Stevens, J,
concurring); id. at 830 ("[a]s the Court recognizes, my view of
Morales does not mean that personal injury claims against
airlines are always preempted.") (O'Connor, J., dissenting).

Secondly, we believe a distinction between "services" and
"operations and maintenance" is mandated by a provision that
the ADA added in 49 U.S.C. § 1371 (q)(1) (recodified as 49
U.S.C. § 41112(a)). This provision requires airlines to obtain
insurance or self-insure in order to pay amounts for which "an
air carrier may become liable for bodily injuries to or the death
of any person, or for loss of or damage to property of others,
resulting from the operation or maintenance of aircraft... . ."* It
would make little sense for Congress to require insurance to pay
for bodily injury claims if airlines were insulated from such
claims by the ADA's preemption provision. As in West, we
cannot construe the preemption provision in a way that evis-
cerates complementary regulations or provisions that indicate
remedies are available. Harris is reconcilable under this rationale
because the insurance requirement pertains only to bodily
injuries or death, not to emotional injuries such as those
involved in Harris.

Finally, this distinction is harmonious with results reached
in other circuit and district courts. See, e.g., Hodges v. Delta

* There is also a regulation that requires airlines to give pas-
sengers written notice of the time period within which they may bring
an action against the carrier for its acts, and any limitations on the
amount of liability of a carrier. 14 C.F.R. § 253.5(b)(2)(1994).
Again, this regulation would be meaningless if such actions were
preempted by the ADA.

16

Airlines, 44 F.3d 334 (Sth Cir. 1995) (tort claim arising from
luggage falling from overhead bin found to be related to the safe
operation of a flight); Smith v. America West Airlines, Inc., 44
F.3d 344 (Sth Cir. 1995) (tort claim for negligent boarding of
hijacker found to be "safety" related and not preempted); Stag/
v. Delta Air Lines, Inc., 849 F. Supp. 179 (E.D.N.Y. 1994) (no
preemption of state common law cause of action for injuries
incurred near baggage carousel), rev'd on other grounds, 52
F.3d 463 (2d Cir. 1995); Jn re Air Disaster, 819 F. Supp. 1352
(E.D. Mich. 1993) (finding preemption provisions do not apply
to state negligence action based on injuries suffered in crash).

E. Gadbury and Costa

Having decided to distinguish between claims relating to
service and those pertaining to the operation and maintenance
of the aircraft, we must now determine where the Gadbury and
Costa claims fall. The ADA defines "operation of the aircraft"
as “the use of aircraft, for the purpose of air navigation and
includes the navigation of the aircraft. " 49 US.C. §
40102(a)(32). "Service" is not defined in the act itself, and the
Supreme Court has not attempted to define the scope of the
term. We agree with the Fifth Circuit that there is no strict
dichotomy between "operations and maintenance " and "ser-
vice." Hodges, 44 F.3d at 339. Indeed, it is difficult to imagine
a more critical airline service than aircraft navigation. As noted
above, there is a presumption against preemption, especially
absent the clear intention of Congress to preempt fields of
traditional state regulation. 7ravelers, 115 S. Ct. at 1676. Given
this presumption, a claim fairly characterized as relating both to
"service" and "operations" should not lead to preemption.

In Gadbury, Delta agrees that the service/operations
distinction may be appropriate, but argues that Gadbury's claim

17

is still preempted because it is more related to "service." Delta
argues that Gadbury was injured by a "serving" cart, and the
primary purpose of the cart is to provide on-board services, such
as waste collection, to passengers. Delta's rationale would lead
to absurd results: if Gadbury had been injured by a loose piece
of safety equipment, rather than a loose piece of serving
equipment, presumably Delta would admit the claim could
proceed. Gadbury's claim stems from Delta's negligence in
failing to properly latch the door during takeoff. We find that
Gadbury's claim does not relate to airline "service" but rather is
connected with the failure to take appropriate safety measures
relating to the operation of the aircraft. Therefore, the claim is
not preempted by the ADA, and we reverse and remand No.
95-36117 to the district court for further proceedings.

Costa's common law tort claims stem from her personal
injury when luggage fell onto her from the overhead compart-
ment. We agree with the Fifth Circuit's opinion in Hodges,
which found that "whether luggage may be placed in overhead
bins and whether the flight attendants properly monitor compli-
ance with overhead rack regulations are matters that pertain to
the safe operation of a flight," and thus are not preempted. 44
F.3d at 339.

Costa also makes a claim for negligent spoliation of
evidence, based on American's destruction of passenger lists
despite its notice of the incident. Although Harris interpreted
"service" broadly enough to encompass the accoutrements of
air travel, such as provision of food and drink, we are not
persuaded that maintaining passenger lists is a "service" typically
provided to passengers. Thus, this is not a claim that relates to
"service" within the meaning of the ADA and is not preempted.

Many of Costa's claims pertain to violations of California

18

civil code provisions that impose a higher duty of care on
common carriers. The higher duty necessarily pertains to every
action the airline takes. These are not laws of "general applica-
bility" that happen to indirectly relate to airline service. Cf
Medtronic v. Lohr, 116 S. Ct. 2240, 2257 (1996). We believe
this statutorily imposed standard of care, like the NAAG
guidelines in Morales or the Consumer Fraud Act action in
Wolens, is an attempt by California to impose its own substan-
tive standards on airlines.° We therefore find the civil code
standard of care preempted by the ADA. Thus, even though
Costa's tort claims may proceed, they should be evaluated under
the common law standard of care. We reverse and remand No.
95-56278 for further proceedings.

w ee ee ee Ee oe eee

II. Punitive Damages and the ACAA
A. Standard of Review

A district court's ruling on a motion which has the effect
of dismissing a claim based on interpretation of a federal statute
is reviewed de novo. United States v. Bahena-Cardenas, 70
F.3d 1071, 1072 (9th Cir. 1995).

B. Punitive Damages

Enacted in 1986, ACAA is utterly silent on the range of
available remedies. The district court held that ACAA contains
an implied right to compensatory damages, a decision from
which American does not appeal. Rowley urges us to go one

* We also note the dicta in Wolens suggesting that personal
injury claims are not preempted does not address statutory tort
claims. 115 S. Ct. at 825 n.7, 827-28, 830.

19

step farther and find an implied right to punitive damages as
well. However, we need not reach the issue: we agree with
American that even if punitive damages were available as a
matter of law under ACAA, Rowley does not allege on these
facts the type of wanton or malicious conduct that is required to
recover punitive damages. See, e.g., Shinault v. American Air-
lines, Inc., 936 F.2d 796, 805 (Sth Cir. 1991) (quadriplegic
passenger denied right to board plane due to a time constraint);
Tallarico v. Trans World Airlines, Inc., 881 F.2d 566, 571-72
(8th Cir. 1989) (minor with cerebral palsy denied the right to fly
unaccompanied). Under former Section 404 of the Federal
Aviation Act, we confined the availability of punitive damages
to discrimination inflicted "wantonly, or oppressively, or with
such malice as implies a spirit of mischief or criminal indiffer-
ence to civil obligations." Hingson v. Pacific Southwest Airlines,
743 F.2d 1408, 1412 (9th Cir. 1984) (quoting Archibald v. Pan
American World Airways, Inc., 460 F.2d 14, 16 (9th Cir.
1972)).

Rowley claims that American failed to provide her an aisle
chair on four occasions and twice failed to return her motorized
scooter to her at the plane. As a result of American's ACAA
violations, Rowley alleges she had to walk (Rowley is ambula-
tory with concentration), by holding onto seat backs and
overhead compartments, approximately ten feet to and from her
seat. Rowley claims that no crewmember offered to help her,
although one employee did offer her a glass of water and
another told her that what she was holding onto was unstable.
While American's conduct was regrettable and in violation of
ACAA, it simply does not rise to the level of wanton or mali-

TTC OEE

20

cious conduct that could support punitive damages.° We
therefore affirm the decision of the district court on this issue.

Therefore, the decisions of the district courts in Gee and
Rowley are AFFIRMED, and the decisions of the district courts
in Gadbury and Costa are REVERSED.

O'SCANNLAIN, Circuit Judge, specially concurring:

I concur in the results reached in Part I but write sepa-
rately to express misgivings about the court's preemption analy-
sis under the Airline Deregulation Act ("ADA"); I concur in Part
I] without reservation.

I

The majority concludes that a distinction between "ser-
vices" and "operations and maintenance" is mandated by a
provision which Congress added to the ADA in 49 U.S.C. §
1371 (q)(1) (recodified as 49 U.S.C. § 41112(a)). In light of this
statutory provision and this court's decision in Harris vy.
American Airlines, Inc., 55 F.3d 1472 (9th Cir. 1995), the
majority constructs a seemingly simple rule: while the regulation
of "services" is preempted by the ADA, the regulation of
“operations and maintenance" is not. Although this rule is
consistent with the result reached by the only federal appellate
court to have yet addressed this issue, Hodges v. Delta Airlines,
Inc., 44 F.3d 334 (Sth Cir. 1995) (en banc), I regret that the

* In fact, although the jury found American had violated
ACAA, the jury did not even find Rowley to be deserving of compen-
satory damages.

21

rule's emphasis on a few words taken out of context needlessly
muddles our preemption jurisprudence.

I agree with the majority that the Harris decision is
contrary to the weight of authority interpreting ADA preemp-
tion; nonetheless, this court is bound by the Harris holding that
a common law negligence action constitutes a state's enactment
or enforcement of a law, and is therefore preempted if it relates
to the "price, route, or service of an air carrier." However, this
court is not bound by the Hodges distinction that actions pre-
empted because they "related to services" did not include "state
tort actions for personal physical injuries or property damage
caused by the operation and maintenance of aircraft." Hodges,
44 F.3d at 336 (emphasis added). The Fifth Circuit's distinction
between services and operations is problematic.

Because the majority's rule will no doubt yield confusing
and conflicting results in the future, I write separately to
emphasize that the only proper framework for evaluating

' See Romano v. American Trans Air, 56 Cal. Rptr. 2d 428
(2d App. Dist. 1996) ("|{F]ocus on a few words taken out of context
may lead to anomalous results, and it is our view that a more
thoughtful, less quixotic rule emerges when the analytical framework
is placed on the foundation of Congressional intent. This way, we do
not parse the language of the statute but consider the economic
motivation behind the ADA and look to whether the plaintiff's claim
is ‘related to a price, route or service.’ From this perspective, we see
that where the airlines have a legitimate interest to protect (the right
to advertise their rates, set their routes, determine whether to provide
food service on a particular flight), the states cannot interfere. But
where there is no legitimate interest needing protection --as is the
case when the issue is negligence -- there is no preemption.") (inter-
nal citations omitted).

a

preemption claims is Congressional intent. See, e.g., Cipollone
v. Liggett Group, Inc., 50S U.S. 504 (1992) (holding that the
purpose of Congress is the "ultimate touchstone " of the pre-
emption analysis).

Il

The majority's distinction between airline services and
aircraft operations and maintenance is misguided for two
reasons. First, it is not supported by the Supreme Court's two
airline preemption cases: American Airlines, Inc. v. Wolens, 115
S. Ct. 817 (1995) and Morales v. Trans World Airlines, Inc.,
504 U.S. 374 (1992). In Wolens, the Supreme Court concluded
that courts confronting this issue must determine whether the
particular tort claims would interfere with the purpose of the
ADA. The purpose of the statute, which includes § 1305(a)(1),
was to “promote maximum reliance on competitive market
forces,'" Wolens, 115 S. Ct. at 824 (quoting Morales, 504 U.S.
at 378), and § 1305(a)(1) itself was intended to ensure that
states did not re-impose public utility-style regulation on
airlines. Indeed, Congress enacted the ADA "[t]o ensure that the
States would not undo federal deregulation with regulation of
their own." Wolens, 115 S. Ct. at 821 (quoting Morales, 504
U.S. at 378). Section 1305(a)({1) prohibits states from “im-
pos[ing] their own public policies or theories of regulation on
the operation of air carriers." Jd. at 824 n.5 (quoting brief of
United States as amicus curiae). I do not read these two cases
to suggest that a state common law tort claim is preempted if it
is related to airline services, but it is not preempted if it is related
to aircraft operations or maintenance.

In California Div. of Labor Standards Enforcement v.
Dillingham Constr., N.A., Inc., 117 §. Ct. 832 (1997), the
Supreme Court construed the scope of the "relating to" lan-

23

guage in ERISA's preemption provision, to which the Supreme
Court looked for guidance in interpreting section 105 in
Morales. In finding no preemption of a state law mandating
prevailing wages for apprentice employees, Dillingham unani-
mously emphasized that the words "relating to" should not be
applied with “uncritical literalism," but with an emphasis on the
objectives of the statute and its effect on state law. /d. at 838
(internal citation omitted). Of note is a concurring opinion by
Justice Scalia (the author of Morales), who was joined by
Justice Ginsburg (the author of Wolens ). After citing statements
from earlier decisions to the effect that ERISA's "relating to"
language has an expansive sweep, Justice Scalia wrote that it
would "greatly assist our function of clarifying the law if we
simply acknowledged that our first take on this statute was
wrong." /d. at 843. In his view, "the ‘relate to' clause of the pre-
emption provision is meant, not to set forth a fest for pre-
emption, but rather to identify the field in which ordinary field
pre-emption applies -- namely, the field of laws regulating
‘employee benefit plan{s]' " described in ERISA. /d. (emphasis
in original). In light of the Supreme Court's preemption analysis
in this recent case, this court's (and the Fifth Circuit's) fest for
airline preemption is archaic.

Second, a distinction between airline services and aircraft
operations and maintenance is difficult to draw. For instance, the
majority in Hodges had no difficulty viewing Hodges' claim as
related to operations rather than services, while two dissenting
judges concluded that the opposite view was equally clear.
Because the ADA offers no definition for the term "services,"
courts are left to decide whether providing alcoholic beverages
to intoxicated persons or warning passengers of the dangers of
items falling from overhead compartments are related to an
airline's "services" or "operations." As many an amateur philoso-
pher has observed, everything is at least theoretically related to

24

everything else."For example, a damage claim by an airplane
passenger hit by an article falling from an overhead bin would be
preempted if the flight attendant dropped the article but not if
the bin came open because of a latch that had not been properly
maintained, or because the plane was jolted by turbulent
weather. An airplane passenger who fell in an aisle would be
prohibited from suing if the accident occurred when the passen-
ger slipped on food dropped by a flight attendant, but not if the
accident was caused by a sudden banking of the plane."
Continental Airlines, Inc. v. Kiefer, 920 S.W.2d 274, 284 (Tex.
Sup. Ct. 1996).I can find nothing in the history of the ADA or
in Morales and Wolens to suggest that Congress intended such
a hodgepodge of results.

Ill

Today's opinion is no more likely than the Harris decision
to bring clarity to the airline preemption field. We can avoid
anomalous results, however, if the analytical framework rests on
the regulatory effect of the state tort claim. The proper inquiry
then is whether the state common law tort remedies have the
effect of frustrating the purpose of deregulation by interfering
with the forces of competition. If the state law does not have the
requisite regulatory effect, then it is simply "too tenuous,
remote, or peripheral a matter’ to have pre-emptive effect."
Morales, 504 U.S. at 378.

Because we should have set our own house in order, I
decline to embrace the majority's distinction between airline
services and aircraft operations and maintenance.

25

FILED OCT 31, 1995

RICHARD W. WIEKING

CLERK, U.S. DISTRICT COURT
NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

SHIRLEY GEE, et al., No. C 94-03983 CW
Plaintiffs, ORDER GRANTING
SOUTHWEST AIRLINE
V. CO.’S MOTION FOR
SUMMARY JUDGMENT
SOUTHWEST AIRLINES CO.,

ROGER TRAVIS, JAMES
SCALES, and CARLY TRAVIS,
and Does | through 50,
inclusive,

Defendants.

BACKGROUND
The parties have submitted a Stipulated Separate State-
ment of Undisputed Facts for the purposes of this motion for
summary judgment. The undisputed facts are as follows:

On August 22, 1994, Plaintiffs Shirley Gee and her two
minor sons, Ryan Gee and Sean Fong, Patricia Seto and her
minor children, Samantha Seto and Corey Seto, traveled from
Los Angeles to Oakland aboard Southwest Airlines Flight 824.
Defendants James Scales, Roger Travis, and Mr. Travis’ minor

26

daughter Carly Travis were also travelling aboard Flight 824.
James Scales and Roger and Carly Travis were travelling as part
of a larger group of approximately 20 people. Some members
of Defendants’ group had consumed alcoholic beverages prior
to boarding the aircraft.

Members of Defendant's group were seated in several
rows, either alongside or immediately in front of Plaintiffs. The
group was loud pnor to entering the aircraft, during takeoff, and
during the flight. During takeoff, Ms. Gee asked some members
of the group to refrain from making so much noise. Several
minutes after takeoff, Ms. Gee informed John Owens, a flight
attendant, that the noise was frightening the children in her party
and that two of the children were suffering from asthma attacks.

Mr. Owens informed the senior flight attendant, Cat
Sullivan, of a potential problem involving rowdy passengers.
Mr. Owens then asked Ms. Sullivan whether these passengers
should be served alcoholic beverages. Ms. Sullivan instructed
Mr. Owens to limit the group's alcoholic beverage service to one
beer per person and a partial refill of any cocktails already
served. As Mr. Owens was following these instructions, he was
stopped by Ms. Gee in the aisle. Ms. Gee requested that he not
serve the group any more alcoholic beverages because she
believed that the group was already intoxicated. Nonetheless,
Mr. Owens proceeded to serve one beer each to three members
of the group, including Roger Travis and James Scales.

Ms. Gee then approached Mr. Owens at the back of the
plane and again requested that he quiet the group. Members of
the group, including Mr. Travis, his minor daughter Carly
Travis-and Mr. Scales, were aware of Ms. Gee's complaints.
Members of the group repeatedly turned around and stared at
the Plaintiffs.

27

At some point during the flight, Ms. Travis took a
photograph while standing in the aisle in front of Plaintiffs' rows
of seats. Ms. Gee summoned Mr. Owens to complain about the
photograph being taken. Ms. Sullivan responded to Ms. Gee's
summon, and reprimanded one member of the group for cursing
at Ms. Gee.

Upon arriving in Oakland, the other passengers exited the
plane. The group, including Mr. Travis, Ms. Travis, and Mr.
Scales, remained in the plane. Plaintiffs, still seated behind the
group, also remained in the plane. Two Oakland police officers
were then summoned to the plane by Ms. Gee's friend and
fellow passenger, Julie Yim.

The officers boarded the plane and asked Ms. Gee to
identify the individuals who had been harassing her. Ms. Gee
identified Ms. Travis, Mr. Travis, and Mr. Scales, and told the
officers that these three members of the group had threatened
and intimidated the Plaintiffs with racial epithets. The officers
detained Mr. Scales, Mr. Travis, and Ms. Travis, identified
them, prepared a police report, and then released them.

Ms. Gee registered a complaint with the Federal Aviation
Administration. Federal regulations prohibit an airline from
boarding passengers who appear to be intoxicated. 14 C.F.R.
§ 121.575(c). The regulations also prohibit an airline from
serving any alcoholic beverage to any person aboard the aircraft
if that person appears to be intoxicated. 14 CFR.
§ 121.575(6)(1). Pursuant to Ms. Gee's complaint, the Federal
Aviation Administration conducted two separate investigations
into charges that Southwest Airlines Co. boarded and served
alcohol to intoxicated persons on Flight 824. At the conclusion
of each investigation, the Federal Aviation Administration
determined that there was insufficient evidence of noncompli-

28

ance by Southwest. Both investigations were closed with no
further action being taken.

Plaintiffs brought an action in state court against Roger
Travis, Carly Travis, James Scales, and Southwest. Plaintiffs’
complaint alleged federal and state law claims. Plaintiffs alleged
six causes of action against Southwest: negligence per se for
violation of federal regulations; intentional infliction of emo-
tional distress; negligent infliction of emotional distress;
respondeat superior, negligence, and negligent training and
supervision.

Southwest removed the action to federal court on the basis
of diversity of citizenship. Southwest moves for summary
judgment pursuant to Rule 56 of the Federal Rules of Civil
Procedure. Southwest asserts that there is no genuine issue as
to any material fact and that Southwest is entitled to judgment
as a matter of law. Fed. R. Civ. P. 56.

DISCUSSION
I. Standard for Granting Summary Judgment.

Summary judgment is properly granted when no genuine
and disputed issues of material fact remain; or, when viewing the
evidence most favorably to the non-moving party, the movant
is Clearly entitled to prevail as a matter of law. Fed. R. Civ. P.
56; Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 322-23 (1986);
Eisenberg v. Insurance Co. of N. Am., 815 F.2d 1285, 1288-89
(9th Cir. 1987).

The moving party bears the burden of showing that there
is no material factual dispute. Therefore, the Court must regard
as true the opposing party's evidence, if supported by affidavits
or other evidentiary material. Celotex, 477 U.S. at 324;
Eisenberg, 815 F.2d at 1289. Here, the parties have submitted

29

a Stipulated Separate Statement of Undisputed Facts. The
Court will therefore regard the stipulated facts as being both
material and true in ruling upon Southwest's motion. However,
the Court must draw all reasonable inferences in favor of the
Plaintiffs. See Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. v. Zenith Radio
Corp., 475 U.S. 574, 587 (1986); Intel Corp. v. Hartford
Accident and Ins. Co., 952 F.2d 1551, 1558 (9th Cir. 1991).

II. The Record Reveals No Material Factual Dispute.

Material facts which would preclude entry of summary
judgment are those which, under applicable substantive law, may
affect the outcome of the case. The substantive law identifies
which facts are material. Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 47
U.S. 242, 248 (1986). To a large extent, the parties; Stipulated
Separate Statement of Undisputed Facts obviates the Court's
inquiry as to whether any genuine and disputed issues of
material fact remain.

Having considered the record, and oral argument on the
motion, the Court concludes that this action presents no genuine
or disputed issues as to material facts. Thus the Court's ruling
on the motion must turn upon whether Southwest is entitled to
summary judgment as a matter of law.

III. Plaintiffs' State Law Claims Against Southwest Are
Preempted By The Airline Deregulation Act.

Southwest contends that Plaintiffs' state law claims are
preempted by the Airline Deregulation Act ("ADA") in that they
relate "routes, rates, or _ services." 49 USC.
§ 1305(a)(1)(1994).? Southwest cites Harris v. American

? Section 1305(a)(1) pertains to federal preemption of state
(continued...)

30

Airlines, Inc., 55 F.3d 1472 (9th Cir. 1995), for the proposition
that Plaintiffs' state law claims are preempted by Section 1305.
The factual distinctions between Harris and the instant case are
nominal. In Harris, the individual defendant made no physically
threatening gestures, whereas here the Defendants’ statements
allegedly included physical threats. Harris involved an interstate
flight; here, the action arose from an intrastate flight. "The
[ADA's] preemption provision preempts states from regulating
the intrastate activities of any carrier ‘having authority under
Title IV." Hughes Air Corp. v. Public Util. Comm'n, 644 F.2d
1334, 1337 (9th Cir. 1981) (citing 49 U.S.C. § 1305(a)(1),
emphasis added). As such, Section 1305 clearly applies to
Southwest, and Plaintiffs' argument to the contrary is without
merit.

Plaintiffs urge the Court to disregard Harris on the
grounds that it was improperly decided. In arguing that the

*(...continued)
law claims against airlines and provides that:

(1) Except as provided in paragraph (2) of this subsec-
tion, no State or political subdivision thereof and no in-
terstate agency or other political agency of two or more
States shall enact or enforce any law, rule, regulation,
standard, or other provision having the force and effect
of law relating to rates, routes, or services of any air
carrier having authority under subchapter IV of this
chapter to provide air transportation.

49 U.S.C. § 1305(a)(1) (Supp. 1994).

> "Air carrier’ means any citizen of the United States, who
undertakes . . . to engage in air transportation." 49 U.S.C. § 1301(3)
(1994).

31

Ninth Circuit erred in Harris. Plaintiffs rely upon two compan-
ion cases from the Fifth Circuit which held that state law tort
claims arising from in-flight treatment of airline passengers were
not preempted by Section 1305(a)(1): Hodges v. Delta Air-
lines, Inc., 44 F.3d 334 (Sth Cir. 1995); Smith v. America West
Airlines, Inc., 44 F.3d 344 (5th Cir. 1995). Neither Smith nor
Hodges, however, is binding on this Court, whereas Harris
Clearly is. "District courts are, of course, bound by the law of
their own circuit, and ‘are not to resolve splits between circuits
no matter how egregiously in error they may feel their own
circuit to be." Zuniga v. United Can Co., 812 F.2d 443, 450,
(9th Cir. 1987) (quoting Hasbrouck vy. Texaco, Inc., 663 F.2d
930, 933 (9th Cir. 1981), cert. denied 459 US. 828 (1982).

Plaintiffs also contend that their claims are not sufficiently
related to "services" to warrant preemption under Section
1305(a)(1). Certain state law claims can be too tenuously
connected to "rates, routes or services" to fall within the scope
of Section 1305(a)(1). Certain state law claims can be too
tenuously connected to "rates, routes or services" to fall within
the scope of Section 1305(a)(1). West v. Northwest Airlines,
995 F.2d 148, 151 (9th Cir. 1993). However, the Ninth Circuit
considered this same argument in Harris and rejected it. 55
F.3d at 1474. As in Harris, Plaintiffs’ allegations fall within the
preemptive scope of Section 1305(a)(1 ).

In seeking summary judgment, Southwest contends that
Harris is factually and substantively indistinguishable from the
instant case. The Court finds this argument persuasive, in that
the factual distinctions between Harris and the instant case are
insignificant. More importantly, Harris directly addressed the
scope of the ADA's preemption under Section 1305(a)(1), and
is binding upon this Court.

32

Plaintiffs' state law claims against Southwest directly
pertain to Southwest's treatment of its passengers. As such,
Plaintiffs’ state law claims fall within the realm of "services"
contemplated by Section 1305(a)(1). The Court therefore
concludes that Plaintiffs’ state law claims relating to Southwest's
treatment of passengers are preempted by Section 1305(a)(1).

IV. The Alleged Violations Of Federal Regulations Do Not
Provide The Plaintiffs With A Private Remedy.

Plaintiffs contend that Southwest's alleged violations of
federal regulations provide them with a private cause of action.
However, a private right of action does not exist unless Con-
gress has demonstrated an unequivocal intent to devise such a
right. See Cort v. Ash, 422 U.S. 66, 78 (1975).

The Ninth Circuit has addressed the question of whether
Section 1305 creates a private right of action and has unequivo-
cally answered in the negative. Air Transp. Ass'n of Am. v.
Public Util. Comm'n of the State of Cal., 833 F.2d 200, 207
(9th Cir. 1987); see also Montauk-Caribbean Airways, Inc. v.
Hope, 784 F.2d 91, 97 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 872
(1986). Thus Plaintiffs may not state a private cause of action
under Section 1305.

Plaintiffs also attempt to state a private cause of action for
Southwest's alleged violations of the Federal Aviation Act and
its corresponding regulations. However, the Ninth Circuit has
found that the Federal Aviation Act does not provide plaintiffs
with an implied private cause of action. /n Re Mexico City
Aircrash of October 31, 1979, 708 F.2d 400, 407-08 (9th Cir.
1983). In Hingson v. Pacific Southwest Airlines, 743 F.2d
1408, 1413-14 (9th Cir. 1984), the Ninth Circuit did find a
private right of action with respect to discrimination in boarding

33

practices, pursuant to 49 USC § 1374(b).* However, the
Ninth Circuit found no implied private cause of action with

Plaintiffs contend that the preemptive scope of Section
1305(a)(1) was narrowed in American Airlines, Inc. y. Wolens,
_ U.S. __, 115 S.Ct. 817 (1995). Wolens created a narrow
exception to Section 1305(a)(1) for state law claims arising out
of contractual agreements between an airline and a passenger.°

115 S.Ct. at 823.

In Harris, the Ninth Circuit considered, and rejected, the
plaintiffs argument that her claims fell within the Wolens
exception. 55 F.3d at 1475° "The Court in Wolens only
excluded private contract terms from the wide scope of preemp-
tion, and Harris’ claims do not come within this exclusion. Her
Claims are preempted by [S]ection 130S(a)(1)." Id As such,
Plaintiffs claims cannot be deemed to fall within Wolens' narrow

* Section 1374 was repealed on July 5. 1994. Pub.L. 103-
272, § 7(b).

* "A remedy confined to a contract's terms simply holds
Parties to their agreements -- in this instance, to business Judgments
an airline made public about its rates and services." Wolens, 115
S.Ct. at 823.

° "The [Wolens} Court specifically distinguished between
enforcing a state law and enforcing agreements between individuals
and airlines... ." Jd (citing Wolens, 115 S. Ct at 823).

34

exception to Section 1305(a)(1).

Plaintiffs’ final argument is that they will be left without a
remedy against Southwest if the Court adheres to the Supreme
Court's interpretation of Section 1305(a)(1) in Morales v. Trans
World Airlines, Inc., 504 U.S. 374 (1992). Plaintiffs necessarily
concede that in Morales, the Supreme Court found a "broad
preemptive purpose" in Section 1305(a)(1). 504 U.S. at 383.
Nonetheless, Plaintiffs urge the Court to recognize a private
right of action. Plaintiffs’ arguments are unpersuasive. The
reality that a litigant may be left without a remedy or a federal
cause of action must not factor into an analysis of the scope of
preemption. Caterpillar, Inc. v. Williams, 482 U.S. 386, 394
(1987).

V. The Remaining Claims Are Remanded To State Court.

Plaintiffs’ original complaint named Southwest and a
number of Doe defendants, and contained both federal and state
law claims. Southwest removed the action to federal court
based upon diversity jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. 1332.
Following Southwest's removal to federal court, Plaintiffs were
granted leave to amend their complaint to name Defendants
James Scales, Carly Travis, and Roger Travis, all of whom are
California residents. Jurisdiction remained in this Court due to
the federal questions in the case.

Summary judgment having been granted with respect to all
of the federal law claims against Southwest, there is no longer
diversity or a federal question and remand is appropriate under”
28 U.S.C. § 1447(c). See also Yniques v. Cabral, 985 F.2d
1031, 1036 (9th Cir. 1993) (holding that under 28 U.S.C.
§1447(e) only remand, not dismissal, is proper after a district
court has allowed the joinder of a non-diverse party). Thus,
remand of the Plaintiffs’ remaining state law claims against Carly

35

Travis, Roger Travis, and James Scales is appropriate.

CONCLUSION

The Court finds that this case presents no material factual
dispute. Likewise, even assuming all of Plaintiffs’ factual
allegations to be true, and examining the evidence in the light
most favorable to Plaintiffs, Plaintiffs’ state law claims against
Southwest are preempted. Finally, a private cause of action
does not lie against Southwest for its alleged violatioas of
federal statutes and regulations.

Having reviewed the papers submitted in support of and
in Opposition to the motion for summary judgment, and having
heard counsel's comments on the motion, and good cause
appearing, Southwest's motion for summary judgment is hereby
GRANTED with respect to all claims against Southwest.
Judgment for Southwest shall enter in accordance with this
order; Southwest shall recover its costs of Plaintiffs. Plaintiffs'
remaining state law claims against Defendants Roger Travis,
Carly Travis, and James Scales are hereby REMANDED to the
Superior Court of California, Alameda County.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

Dated: Oct. 31, 1995 /s/ Claudia Wilken
CLAUDIA WILKEN
United States District Judge

36

FILED OCT 31, 1995

RICHARD W. WIEKING

CLERK, U.S. DISTRICT COURT
NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

SHIRLEY GEE, et al., No. C-94-3983 CW

Plaintiffs, JUDGMENT

f

7

SOUTHWEST AIRLINES, CO.,
ROGER TRAVIS, JAMES
SCALES, and CARLY TRAVIS,
and Does | through 50 inclusive

Defendants.

This action came on for hearing before the Court, the
Honorable Claudia Wilken, United States District Judge,
presiding, and the issues having been duly heard and the Court
having duly rendered its decision,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED AND ADJUDGED:
That Plaintiffs take nothing, that the action be dismissed

on the merits against Defendant Southwest Airlines, and that
Defendant Southwest Airlines recover of Plaintiff its costs of

action.

37

Dated: Oct. 31. 1995 /s/ Claudia Wilken

CLAUDIA WILKEN
United States District Judge

Entered in Civil Docket Oct 31, 1995

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_1261%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
