# Petitioners Brief — Mumford v. Basinski

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_1203%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petitioners Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1997
- **Citation:** 522 U.S. 914

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

FILED
97.243 UG 41
Ne.

Bibel
In The

Supreme Court of The United States
October Term 1996
‘

DAVID M. MUMFORD,
Petitioner,
Vv.

DAVID A. BASINSKI,
Respondent.

+

Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court of
Appeals For The Sixth Circuit

+

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
WITH APPENDIX FILED UNDER SEPARATE VOLUME

+

*DENNIS J. NIERMANN
KRAMER & NIERMANN, L.P.A.
3214 Prospect Avenue, East
Cleveland, Ohio 44115-2600

(216) 431-5300

*Counsel of Record
Counsel for Petitioner

August 1, 1997

LEGAL ADVANTAGE * 432 Wainut Street * Cincinnati, OH 45202

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

#] Whether, consistent with this Court’s holdings in
Branti v. Finkel, 455 U.S. 507, 100 S.Ct. 1287, 63 L.Ed.2d
574, Rutan v. Republican Party of Illinois, 110 S.Ct. 2729
(1990) and O'Hare Truck Service, Inc. v. City of Northlake,
116 S.Ct. 2353 (1996), and in direct conflict with decisions
from this Court and from other Circuits, the Sixth Circuit
erred in holding that a government position was inherently
political as a matter of law, when the Defendants admit and
all the facts demonstrate that political affiliation was not an
appropriate requirement for the position?

#2 Whether, under McMillian v. Monroe County,
Alabama, 65 L.W. 4403 (1997), a county is liable for the
administrative acts of an administrative judge for a county
common pleas court acting in the particular area or issue
regarding employment decisions for a local government?

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

Petitioner is David M. Mumford, an individual who
was terminated from his position as a domestic relations

court referee in Lorain County, Ohio.

Defendant originally was Joseph C. Zieba, in his
individual and official capacities, but David A. Basinski was
substituted, in his official capacity, when he replaced Joseph
Zieba as the Administrative Judge of the Lorain County

Domestic Relations Court.

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ........
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING ............. il
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ................. IV
Jog SE
STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION .............
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED .... 2
STATEMENT OF THE CASE.................. 2
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT......... 8
CRI i ek eee n neces... 30

APPENDICES [Listed under separate table]

ill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

U.S. SUPREME COURT CASES
CASES PAGE(S)

Branti v. Finkel, 455 U.S. 507,

100 S.Ct. 1287, 63 L.Ed.2d 574 (1980). . . .3, 5, 7, 9, 11,
12, 13, 14, 15, 17,
18, 19, 20, 21, 23

Elrod v. Burns, 427 U.S. 347, 359,

96 S.Ct. 2673, 2683 (1976) ... 9, 11, 12, 13, 14, 18, 21
Ex Parte Young, 209 U.S. 123 (1908) ........... 29

Green v. Mansour, 474 U.S. 64, 68.
88 L.Ed.2d 371, 106 S.Ct. 423, 426 (1985) ....... 29

Jett v. Dallas Independent School District,
(OP TE, CH AUPE 6 6 cre Pee eas OK ea 24

McMillian v. Monroe County, Alabama,
65 L.W. 4403 (1997) .... 8, 10, 24, 25, 26, 27, 29, 30

O'Hare Truck Service, Inc. v. City of Northlake,
PRG BAA: Sooo Cle eae ee ba eee ee il, 19

Rutan v. Republican Party of illinois,
110 S.Ct, 2729 CISD) 2 ee . * th, oc, 1 2, 20

U.S. COURTS OF APPEALS CASES

: PAGE(S)
Balogh v. Charron, 855 F.2d 356
(© a) ee ee eee a 16
Barrett v. Thomas, 649 F.2d 1193
+ OS Ay, |) eee Te ewer res ee 16
Bauer v. Bosley, 802 F.2d 1058, 1062
(i Ce. TOO) es aw ke ee eevee eee 13
Burns y. County of Cambria, Pa., 971 F.2d
1015S (308 Cr. YSRE) | «ncn Cae ee eee 16
Davis v. Ector County, Tex., 40 F.3d 777,
784 (Sth Cir., 1994) 2... ccc ee eee eee ces 27
Dickeson v. Quarberg, 844 F.2d 1435
(10th Cie, TORR) nn cee ei ee Cees pias ee
Dimming v. Wahl, 983 F.2d 86
(We Ce TOIT nn os a ee eee 16
Eggar v. City of Livingston, 40 F.3d
312. 315 (Oth Cw... TORR)... 6 cc hn ei eens ese 28
Familias Unidas v. Briscoe, 619 F.2d 391, 404
(Sia Cie, VOR no ne oe es ee eee 26

Faughender v. City of North Olmsted, 927 F.2d

vi

PAGE(S)

909. 913-14 (6th Cir. 1991) .. 2... we eee ww ee we 3
Harter v. Vernon, 101 F. 3d 334, 342

I COOP x a 6 v0 w 4k OER eee Ek 27
Horton v. Taylor, 767 F.2d 471, 478

8 A or eee 13. 15
Jones v. Dodson, 727 F.2d 1329

fie Ge, FIGS) nw cece eee 16
Lohorn v. Michal, 913 F.2d 327, 335

Ce | a a ee a 14
Lucas v. O'Loughlin, 831 F.2d 232, 234-235

Cae Ce. ESET) tv vee 4 0 40 oe Che eee uF
Matlock v. Barnes, 932 F.2d 658, 663

t,o Og | eee ee a rarer ot 14
Meeks v. Grimes, 779 F.2d 417

(7th Cir. 1985) .............. 9, 14, 16, 17, 21, 23

PAGE(S)

Parker v. Williams, 862 F.2d 1471, 1479
a4) Ce eg ee aera ere oe ee 27

Rodriguez-Burgos v. Electric Energy Authority,
Soa Ful Siete Cie Ga ROD ba eee Geena 14

Roldan-Plumey vy. Cerezo-Suarez, 115 F.3d 58
qt oe 4a. ; ; arene ar er eee 9, 16, 22, 23

Soderbeck v. Burnett County, Wisconsin, 752 F.2d
ZOD, Lee-aee CH CW., 19GS) ow cc ev cases 3, 7, 14

Stott v. Haworth, 916 F.2d 134, 145
Ue Rm i a ne eae ae aly ge et ag aga 14

Tavano v. County of Niagra, 800 F.2d 1128
‘yt A, nn te Ann ee ren ae eae ere 15

Terry v. Cook, 866 F.2d 373, 377-378
ot) Le Se. er rere eh Pe ae ee 15, 16

Upton v. Thompson, 930 F.2d 1209
Ree: DUPED Vaasa ea ee ae es ok eee eae 16

Van Ooteghem v. Gray, 774 F.2d 1332, 1337
IE oy sa aS pe week oe ee ee es 28

Vill

PAGE(S)
Mendez-Palou v. Rohena-Betancourt, 813 F.2d
S255, Ee Ci Ge, PRT 6 ce Oe ee even ds 13, 14
Mumford v. Zieba, 4 F.3d 429, 435
Eee iy Se ae ear are eae 1,4
Mumford v. Basinski, 105 F.3d 264
a PE rs ek ed a ee 1, 8, 13, 16
McBee v. Jim Hogg County, Texas, 730 F.2d
SO Ce a See ee ee ee eee lees 16
Nekolny v. Painter, 653 F.2d 1164,
2 Cre Ga Se a eee eee ee 14
Ness v. Marshall, 660 F.2d 517, 522
Ce Ue, Se sce eae ee eee ees 13, 15
Owens v. Fulton County, 877 F.2d 947, 952
Ea i SE oe ee a ee et a ee 28

Vii

PAGE(S)

Zold v. Township of Mantua, 935 F.2d 633, 635
CO Rls a Ne eee pie ee etna, 14

Zorzi v. County of Putnam, 30 F.3d 885, 893
CFR ig, Ciscoe ee Se ete a 14

U.S. DISTRICT COURT CASES

Mumford v. Zieba, 788 F. Supp. 987
EPRrEe, SA PES ny ik x oe ee eee ee as 1, 4, 7

Mumford v. Basinski, 915 F. Supp. 917
SEEK TLE AT Et ee ee |

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

First Amendment to the United States
Cometwaee ok. oc cc succes 1, 6, 8, 9, 11, 17, 18

Eleventh Amendment to the United States
Cs lc ad ve ae el een 5, 8, 10, 24, 29, 30

Fourteenth Amendment to the United States
IN tere ene ts nem ee a eae l

STATUTES

42 U.S.C. Soctiom 1963 . 2... cece 1, 24, 26, 27, 28

OTHER REFERENCES

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 52(a) ........... 15
Ohio Rule of Civil Procedure 53 .......... 2, 7, 20
Ohio Rule of Civil Procedure 75 ............. 2,7
Ohio Rules of Juvenile Procedure 40 .......... a7
Ohio Revised Code Section 2151.13 ........... 25

LAW_REVIEW_ ARTICLES

The American University Law Review,
Vol 39:11, Susan Lorde Martin

"A Decade of Branti decisions:

A Goverment Officials Guide to
Pumme Cw nn nw kw eee ewes 13

*
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

a
v

re

David M. Mumford respectfully asks that a writ of
certiorari issue to review the judgment of the United States Court
of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit in this case reported at 105 F.3d
264 (6th Cir. 1997).

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinious of the Court of Appeals for the Sixth
Circuit are reported at 105 F.3d 264 (6th Cir. 1997) and 4 F.3d
429 (6th Cir. 1993), and are reproduced at Apdx. A, pp. 1-29 and
Apdx. F, pp. 1-29. It is the most recent 1997 decision which
Petitioner David Mumford now seeks this Court to review.

The opinions of the U.S. District Court for the Northern
District of Ohio, Eastern division, are reported at Mumford vy.
Zieba, 788 F. Supp. 987 (N.D., Ohio 1992) and Mumford vy.
Basinski, 915 F. Supp.917 (1995) and are reproduced at Apdx.
D, pp. 1-14 and Apdx. E, pp. 1-7.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

Petitioner David M. Mumford is requesting a Writ of
Certiorari under 28 USC Section 1254(1) to review the final
judgement and order of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Sixth Circuit, found at 105 F.3d 264 (6th Cir. 1997)

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The constitutional provisions involved are the First and
Fourteenth Amendments to the United States Constitution, raised
~via 42 USC. Sector +983. —— ———— =

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This is a case about the asserted power of an elected
government official to terminate the employment of a subordinate
because of his political affiliation and beliefs when the elected
official had admitted and all the relevant facts demonstrate that
political affiliation was not an appropriate requirement for the |
effective performance of the position involved.

Petitioner David Mumford was employed as a referee in
the Lorain County Domestic Relations Court from 1979 to
January 2, 1989. Mumford’s duties as a matter of fact and as
delineated in Rules 53 and 75 of the Ohio Rules of Civil
Procedure and Rule 40 of the Ohio Rules of Juvenile Procedure
were limited to hearing evidence and making recommendations
of findings of fact and conclusions of law to the Court for its
final decision.

In 1988, Republican Joseph Zieba ran against incumbent
Judge Henry Webber, a Democrat. Mumford supported Webber
in his campaign, during the course of which Zieba told Mumford,
"don’t get caught in the cross-fire." Zieba observed Mumford, a
Democrat, distributing campaign literature on behalf of
incumbent Democrat Webber. Apdx. D-3.

In the November 1988 election, Republican Zieba
defeated incumbent Democrat Webber for the Domestic Relations
Court judgeship. A second Domestic Relations Court judge,
David Basinski, a Democrat to whom referees such as Mumford

to

would report to as well as Zieba, was elected at the same time.
On December 22, 1988, administrative judge-elect Zieba'

notified Mumford that his employment would terminate on

January 3, 1989, the day Zieba took office. Zieba had never

observed Mumford’s work performance. Apdx. D-S. Zieba then
appointed two Republicans to replace Mumford as referees
reporting to the two Domestic Relations Court Judges. Apdx.
D-4.

On December 17, 1990, Mumford filed this action in the
U.S. District Court, Northern District of Ohio. pursuant to section
1983, alleging termination from his referee position because of
his political activities campaigning for his employer, Judge
Webber, and suing Judge Zieba in his individual and official
Capacities.

On March 31, 1992, the district court denied qualified
immunity to Zieba, relying on Branti v. Finkel. 455 U.S. 507
(1980), finding that the inquiry whether the position was one for
which political affiliation was an appropriate requirement was a
question of fact, relying on Soderbeck v.—Burnett County,
Wisconsin, 752 F.2d 285, 288-289 (7th Cir., 1985) and
Faughender v. City of North Olmsted. 927 F.2d 909, 913-14 (6th

' The administrative judge position, which had ultimate and final
power over county employees working for the court, alternated between
Judge Zieba, a Republican, and Judge Basinski, a Democrat, on a
yearly basis. All referees of the court simultaneously reported to both
judges pursuant to the above cited Ohio Rules of Civil and Juvenile
Procedure.

~
5

Cir.1991). The district court also found the position was not

political. Apdx.D, pp. 1-14.
On September |, 1993, the Court of Appeals reversed the

trial court on its denial of qualified immunity and sent this case

“back to the district courrfor trial~Apdx. F, ppo1-?87 ss
On September 28, 1995 after this case had been re-

assigned, the district court found that because Zieba had retired

and because the new administrative judge, Basinski, a Democrat,
had been substituted as the official capacity defendant, the case
was moot. Apdx E, pp. 1-7. The district court also found the
official capacity entity defendant that remained was Lorain
County. Apdx. E-5. This dismissal came after three trial contin-
uances, five years of litigation and twelve days before trial.

On January 23, 1997, the 6th Circuit Court of Appeals
filed the instant opinion. Apdx. A, pp. 1-29. On appeal, Mumford -
successfully convinced the 6th Circuit that the moot-ness ruling
was not correct. The Court ruled in the same opinion that the
11th Amendment barred Mumford’s complaint, and that as a
matter of law the position of court referee was an unpro-tected
political position. This ruling was made in spite of Petitioner’s
objections that the scope of the appeal should have been limited
to the solitary finding of mootness. Apdx. H, pp. 1-5 and in spite
of the fact that the district Court at 788 F. Supp. 987 (N.D., Ohio
1992) had determined the position was to be protected, an issue
not upset by the first Sixth Circuit opinion at 4 F.3d 429 (6th Cir
1993). Defendants never filed a cross-appeal. Apdx. A, pp. 1-29.

On February 6, 1997 Petitioner filed for a Rehearing En
Banc. Apdx. B, pp. 1-22, which was denied on March 7, 1997.
Apdx. C, p.1-2.

meena ecient ated

On May 13, 1997, Justice Stevens, extended the time
within which to file this Petition for Certiorari to and including
August 4, 1997.

Between 1990 and 1997, Petitioner has obtained two

4 - ~districtcourt rulings andtweopinions from the Court of Appeals: ——————
for the Sixth Circuit, and has not yet had his day in court. This
alone should underscore the need for clarity in this area. Had
Mumford had clarity or had Lorain County had clarity, both
could have saved years of time and expense.

The U.S. Court of Appeals for the 6th Circuit, in direct
conflict with previous decisions of this Court and decisions from
other Circuits, upheld petitioner’s termination on the ground that
his employment position was inherently political as a matter of
law.

This case presents direct conflicts between the Sixth
Circuit and this Court and conflicts between the U.S. Courts of
Appeals and the Sixth Circuit.

The Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals by their 1993 and
1997 rulings in this case have taken away the right of every
employee working for any judge in Ohio to sue them indivi-
dually or in their official capacity for their unconstitutional

administrative personnel actions. The decisions in this case render
the constitutional protection of Branti v. Finkel, 455 U.S. 507,
519-520 (1980) and its progeny regarding administrative
employment matters meaningless.

The instant 1997 decision holds that all actions by judges
over county court employees are viewed in Ohio as actions of
"state judges", thus allowing 11th amendment protection
regardless of the particular area or issue involved.

Mumford seeks certiorari of that portion of the instant

decision that goes beyond mootness, the only issue appealed. The
Court of Appeals incorrectly decided two issues not before it and
without the benefit of briefing: |) sua sponte denying Mumford
due process by summarily deciding that his position was not
entitled to First Amendment protection, ignoring the record and
the 1992 District Court Opinion based on the record; and 2) the

Court reversing its own 1993 decision that the case should go to
trial by reversing specific findings from the 1995 district court
decision by incorrectly finding that Lorain "county" referees are
state employees, working for a state judge, without even
distinguishing the roles of judge as judicial officer and
administrative department head for Lorain County.

Defendants never assert anywhere in the record that the
position was one for which political or party affiliation was an
appropriate requirement. In fact, they deny this is the case. See
answer at Apdx. M, p. 4, par. 14: "the political affiliation of
Attorney Balunek and Attorney Musson was not relevant to
and/or a prerequisite for their respective employment with the
Lorain County, Ohio Court of Common Pleas, Domestic
Relations Division." These two referees replaced Mumford.

Zieba testified that he knew of no political duties his
referees had; that they were free to follow their own conscience

as to politics, adding that politics was absolutely not a

consideration for the efficient smooth running of the referee
position, whether it be Republican, Democrat, Socialist or
anything else. Apdx. Y-6.

The other administrative judge, David Basinski, a
Democrat, also confirmed in testimony that party affiliation was

not a necessary requirement for the effective performance of a

Domestic Relations Court Referee. Apdx. S-3. This job entailed

recommending proposed findings of fact and conclusions of law
to the judges of both parties. Apdx. J, pp. 1-17. No political
duties or party affiliation requirements are described in the Ohio
rules of procedure.

The court in the instant case decided. that_a public

positions’ general or specific duties are to be determined as a
matter of law. The district court at 788 F. Supp. 987, 991 (N.D.,
Ohio, 1992) had earlier determined that is a question of fact, not
of law, relying on Soderbeck v. Burnett County, Wisconsin, 752
F.2d 285, 288-289 (7th Cir., 1985). The Sixth Circuit's 1993
decision had agreed with the district court’s 1992 decision by
finding that the analysis of the merits of Petitioner’s claims was
to be one based on the "inherent duties of the position and the
duties of the new incumbent to determine whether political
affiliation is an appropriate consideration for appointment to a
particular vacancy." Apdx. F, pp. 8-9. The 1993 and 1997 6th
Circuit decisions themselves conflict. revealing the level of
confusion extant due to a lack of clarification as to which test is
to be applied, factual or legal.

Mumford should prevail under either analysis.

Under a purely factual analysis, defendants’ answer and
defendants’ testimony that the position is not political lead to one
conclusion, Mumford prevails. The 1992 district court opinion
comes to this conclusion as well.

Under a purely legal analysis, the position of domestic
relations court referee is not a political position. Ohio Rules of
Civil Procedure 53 and 75 and Ohio Rule of Juvenile Procedure
40 limit the duties of a referee to hearing evidence and making
recommendations--duties that under the law or based on a factual

analysis come to the same conclusion--Mumford’s position before

and after his termination was, under Branti, one which did not
require party affiliation for its effective performance.

Without any record-based findings, the instant court
found that the Lorain County judge was a state judge, and the
"county" caurt awas_a_"state" court at LOS F 3d 264-(6th Cir.
1997), failing to look at the administrative function at work here:

a county office holder firing a county employee.

State law does not indicate that the Administrative Judge,
acting as employer over County employees, is a state official.

The instant court denied a rehearing en banc, though the
11th Amendment issue and the question of law versus question
of fact issue as to the non-political nature of Petitioner’s position
had not been argued or briefed on the record.

The instant decision appealed here conflicts with the
decision of this Court in McMillian v. Monroe County, Alabama,
65 LW 4403 (1997) [Apdx. BB 1-35], insofar as it fails to
analyze who an official represents in a particular area or on a
particular issue. Had the Sixth Circuit performed this analysis, the
judges’ roles as administrators over employment matters would
have been scrutinized, and ‘heir role as employers over local
county employees would have caused the Sixth Circuit to come
to the conclusion that Judges Zieba and/or Basinski are, in their
capacities as administrators over county employees,

representatives of the county, not the state.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

This case presents for review a question of paramount
importance to all government employers, and employees who are
entitled to exercise their precious First Amendment freedoms of

uncoerced political belief and association and, most importantly,

the general public which relies on both the continued vibrancy of
the First Amendment freedom which undergirds our democratic
form of government and the efficient provision of government
services.

in Elrod v. Burns, 427 U.S. 347, 359, 96 S.Ct. 2673.
2683 (1976), this Court held that conditioning government
employment on the employee’s support for the favored political
party “unquestionably inhibits protected belief and association" in
violation of the First Améndment to the United States
Constitution. In Branti v. Finkel, 455 U.S. 507, 100 S.Ct. 1287,
63 L.Ed.2d 574, this Court clarified the existence of a narrow
exception to this general principle whereby political patronage
remains constitutionally permissible only if "party affiliation is an
appropriate requirement" for the employment position.

It is beyond dispute that this standard has resulted in
a tests applied by the different Courts of Appeal,

“inconsistent and unpredictable results" in litigation, and general

confusion for government employers and employees alike. See
e.g., Rutan v. Republican Party, 110 S.Ct. 2729. 2756-57 (1990)
(Scalia, J., dissenting).

The instant case, in which the issue is whether political
party affiliation is an appropriate employment requirement for a
hearing officer or referee, is an excellent vehicle for this Court
to provide much needed clarity. The instant case directly conflicts
with Roldan-Plumey v. Cerezo- Suarez, 115 F.3d 58 (ist Cir.
1997), and Meeks v. Grimes, 779 F.2d 417 (7th Cir. 1985). This
conflict between the Circuits goes beyond a mere conflict as to

result and embodies a deeper and pervasive conflict as to

the proper method of analysis: i.e., whether the "appropriate
requirement” criteria is an issue of fact or an issue of law.

This case also presents a second important issue for

—_—- — > ~Tevtew—by this Court. ti tis case-the-court-below failed to
perform the factual analysis required by this Court in McMillian
v. Monroe County, Alabama, 65 L.W. 4403 (1997) in order to
determine whether the administrative judge who terminated
Petitioner's employment was acting as the final policymaking
decision maker for Lorain County or the State of Ohio. The court
below, by basing its decision on the status of Respondent as a
judge rather than his status as a County Administrator with
supervisory authority over county employees, such as petitioner,
thereby created a conflict with numerous decisions of other
United States Courts of Appeals which have addressed this issue
and, as a result, inappropriately expanded the scope of Eleventh
Amendment immunity.

For the reasons set forth mcure fully below, David
Mumford respectfully requests that this Honorable Court issue a
writ of certiorari to the United States Court of Appeals for the
Sixth Circuit in this case in order to provide much needed
stability and clarity on these two issues of paramount public
importance which have engendered irreconcilable conflicts
between all federal courts of appeal.

#1 Whether, consistent with this Court’s holdings in
Branti v. Finkel, 455 U.S. 507, 100 S.Ct. 1287, 63 L.Ed.2d
574, Rutan v. Republican Party of Illinois, 110 S.Ct. 2729
(1990) and O’Hare Truck Service, Inc. v. City-of Northlake,
116 S.Ct. 2353 (1996), and in direct conflict with decisions
from this Court and from other Circuits, the Sixth Circuit

erred in holding that a government position was inherently
political as a matter of law, when the Defendants admit and
all the facts demonstrate that political affiliation was not an

appropriate requirement for the position?

This Court decided Elrod v. Burns, 427 US. 347 (1976)
as a benchmark case twenty one years ago. Then, seventeen years
ago, this Court decided Branti v. Finkel, 455 U.S. 507, 519-520
(1980) holding that the "First Amendment forbids government
officials to discharge...public employees solely for not being
supporters of the political party in power, unless party affiliation
is an appropriate requirement." Rutan v. Republican Party, 110
S.Ct. 2729, 2732 (1990), citing Branti v. Finkel, supra.

In Branti v. Finkel, 455 U.S. at 524, 100 S.Ct. at 1297-
98, Justice Powell predicted that problems in application of this
Court’s holding would result because: "The standard articulated
by the court [in Branti] is framed in vague and sweeping
language. Elected and appointed officials at all levels...no longer
will know when political affiliation is an appropriate
consideration in filling a position." 445 U.S. at 524, 100 S.Ct. at
1297-98.

Eleven years later Justice Scalia pointed out that Justice
Powell’s prediction was prophetic, that "[t]he Courts of Appeal
have devised various tests for determining when ‘affiliation is an
appropriate requirement’ and _ that ‘[t]hese interpretations
are...significantly at variance with each other." Rutan yv.
Republican Party, 110 S.Ct. at 2756. (dissenting opinion)

Of course, not only judges and elected and appointed
officials are confused, but also thousands of public employees are
unsure of whether they have protection under the Constitution of
the United States. Parties on both sides of the issues of who is

1]

protected and who is not [and when], and what clearly
established law exists [and when], need clarification after almost
two decades after Branti.
~— —Wth-se- many confitcts in so- many areas, itis apparent -

that both defendant public officials and plaintiff public employees
are entitled to have the method of applying the Branti test
clarified.

The test initially was created by this Court in Elrod in
1976 and changed in Branti in 1980. For the last seventeen years,
there has been no benchmark case clarifying the problems that
have developed as a result of the circuit courts’ interpretations of
both Elrod and Branti. The conflicts in application of the Branti
test that exist between the circuits makes this case a perfect
vehicle for this Court to give much needed instruction and
clarification needed by public office holders and employees.

Circuits conflict as to whether the analysis should be
based on law, based on fact, based on job description, based on
job responsibilities, based on job category, based on inherent
duties, based on statutory duties, based on relative pay, technical
competence, power to control others, authority to speak in the
name of policy makers, public perception, influence on programs,
contact with elected officials, responsiveness to partisan politics
and political leaders and whether the responsibilities of the
position are not well defined or are of broad scope. [See "A
Decade of Branti decisions: A Government Official’s Guide to
Patronage Dismissals", The American University Law Review,
Vol. 39:11, Susan Lorde Martin, p. 26] The waste of resources,
the expansion of litigation and the burdens to the judicial system
at every level beg for guidance and clarification of the Branti test

from this Court.

There is a significant, longstanding split between the
Circuit Courts of Appeals as to whether the analysis of a public
employee’s position as falling under the protections of Branti is

“TO be viewed-as FqUEStion of law or a question of fact.

Circuit courts finding that this is a question of law are as
follows: Ness vy. Marshall, 660 F.2d 517. 522 (3rd Cir., 1981)
(where, as a matter of law, a person is determined to have
Occupied a policymaking position, that person’s claims to
protection under Elrod and Branti are disposable on summary
judgment]; Mumford vy. Basinski, 105 F.3d 264, 27] (6th Cir.
1997) [although unique duties are typically fact driven.
characterization of general or specific duties are a question of
law]; and Bauer y. Bosley, 802 F.2d 1058, 1062 (8th Cir., 1986)
[on the facts before us the SLA II position is excepted from the
rule of Elrod-Branti as a matter of law.] The Bauer Court’s next
comment, at 1062, is indicative of the need for an Elrod-Branti-
Mumford trilogy from this Court, that "courts themselves have
disagreed whether the determination is one of law or fact See
Horton v. Taylor, 767 F.2d 471. 478 (8th Cir. 1985) and cases
cited therein."

Circuit courts, and the apparent majority of the circuits,
finding that this is a question of fact are as follows: Mendez-
Palou y. Rohena-Betancourt, 813 F.2d 1255, 1258 (lst Cir.
1987) [fact-specific nature of the analyses performed by these
other courts makes it difficult in any given case to decide the
merits solely on the basis of precedent]; Rodriguez-Burgos vy.
Electric Energy Authority, 853 F.2d 31, 37 (Ist Cir., 1988) [there
remains, in our view an important factual dispute about whether
or not the job requires PDP affiliation for effective performance];
Zold v. Township of Mantua, 935 F.2d 633. 635 (3rd. Cir., 1991)

13

[each decision is, of course, fact specific for that case]; Stott v.
Haworth, 916 F.2d 134, 145 (4th Cir., 1990) [case by case,
position by position, activity by activity analysis required for just
adjudication]; Nekolny v. Painter, 653 F.2d 1164, 1169 (7th Cir.,
1981) [the determination of status as a policymaker in many
cases presents a difficult factual question]; Soderbeck v. Burnett
County, Wis., 752 F.2d 285, 288-289 [rejecting defendants
argument that whether loyalty is essential is always a question of
law] (7th Cir., 1985)]; Meeks v. Grimes, 779 F.2d 417, 420
[noting that it was not possible to state categorically that bailiffs
are confidential employees as a matter of law] (7th Cir., 1985);
Lohorn v. Michal, 913 F.2d 327, 335 (7th Cir., 1990) [district
court erred in concluding that, as a matter of law, the statutory
label alone rendered Mr. Lohorn a "policymaker" within the
meaning of the Elrod-Branti exception to politically motivated
dismissals]; Matlock v. Barnes, 932 F.2d 658, 663 (7th Cir.,
1991) [by its nature, the question of whether a job is
policymaking or confidential is often factual]; Zorzi v. County of
Putnam, 30 F.3d 885, 893 (7th Cir., 1994) [whether Meeks
exempts Hansen from the requirements of E/rod-Branti therefore
requires a factual inquiry into whether Hansen and Zorzi’s
working relationship was intimate and involved direct and
constant contact]: Horton v. Taylor, 767 F.2d 471, 479 (8th Cir.
1985) [the legal standards to be applied by the district court
depend on these preliminary factual findings] and Terry v. Cook,
866 F.2d 373, 377-378 (11th Cir., 1989) [loyalty to an individual
sheriff as an appropriate requirement for effective job
performance has not been established [and] is a determination
[that] depends on the actual responsibilities of each position and

the relationship of each to the sheriff].

The Court in Horton vy. Taylor, 767 F.2d 471, 478 (8th
Cir. 1985) saw five years after Branti the confusion Justice
Powell predicted that "...courts [would] disagree whether such
determinations are matters of fact or of law--and are also aware

of the implications of this issue for the degree of deference we
must pay the district court’s determinations. See Fed.R.Civ.P.
52(a)."

The positions afforded protection and those denied
protection create the same deepening rift between the circuits as
to the types of positions protected. A sheriff in one circuit may
be protected, and not in another. A referee/hearing examiner is
protected in one circuit, and not in another.

Examples of this disparity in job title/job function as to
who is protected and who is not, between the circuits, follows:

Job Title Protected Not Protected
Attorney 2nd Cir.’ 3rd Cir.’

Tavano v. County of Niagra, 800 F.2d 1128 (2nd Cir.. 1986)
affirming district court at 621 F. Supp. 345 (W.D.N.Y., 1985).

3 Ness v. Marshall, 660 F.2d 517, 522 (3rd Cir., 1981).

15

Job Title Protected Not Protected

Deputy Sheriffs 4th Cir.’ 7th Cir.°
3rd Cir.° Sth Cir.’
10th Cir.* 11th Cir.’
Sth Cir."° 7th Cir."'

Bailiffs 7th Cir.'? 6th Cir."

Referee/Hearing

Examiner Ist Cir." 6th Cir."

* Jones v. Dodson, 727 F.2d 1329 (4th Cir., 1984)
Upton v. Thompson, 930 F.2d 1209 (7th Cir., 1991)
Burns v. County of Cambria, Pa., 971 F.2d 1015 (3rd
Cir. 1992)

McBee v. Jim Hogg County, Texas, 730 F.2d 1009 (Sth
Cir., 1984)

* Dickeson v. Quarberg, 844 F.2d 1435 (10th Cir., 1988),
involving deputy head jailer to sheriff.

Terry v. Cook, 866 F.2d 373 (11th Cir., 1989)
© Barrett v. Thomas, 649 F.2d 1193 (5th Cir., 1981)
'' Dimming v. Wahl, 983 F.2d 86 (7th Cir., 1993)
‘> Meeks v. Grimes, 779 F.2d 417 (7th Cir., 1985)
'° Balogh v. Charron, 855 F.2d 356 (6th Cir., 1988)
'* Roldan-Plumey v. Cerezo-Suarez, 1997 U.S. Lexis 13050.

'S Mumford v. Basinski, 105 F.3d 264 (6th Cir., 1997)

16

———e

ee ee ee eeey

Petitioner submits that proper application of the Brantj
analysis should produce such inconsistent results because the
analysis must be based on facts, not mere job titles. The consis-
tency that is needed is that all circuits should scrutinize cases
based on a factual analysis of the inherent duties of the position,
not based on a mere legal and superficial analysis of job titles.

Instead, the determination as to the propriety of a poli-
tical affiliation requirement for a particular position should be
based on what the persons in the actual job does for the parti-
cular employer. Since not every government office operates in
the same way, it is only to be expected that persons with the
same job titles in different communities have different responsi-
bilities. Therefore, a person occupying a position of court referee
in One jurisdiction may have duties that would lead to legitimate
considerations of political affiliation, while a person with that
title in another jurisdiction may have duties of a purely non-
political nature so that political affiliation should, pursuant to the
First Amendment, play no part in the decisions made regarding
his employment. The Court in Meeks v. Grimes, 779 F.2d 417.
420-21, n.2 (7th Cir. :985), accordingly, found that "job
responsibilities and duties can vary greatly between different
governmental units and or even within a governmental
unit...[therefore]...the test under Branti must be applied to each
individual office, and status under that formulation is left to the
trier of fact to be determined."'®

‘© Another conflict exists between the instant case and Meeks.

Meeks involved referees reporting to one judge. The Court found the
referees were protected because they did not have everyday contact
with judges in their chambers. Meeks, at 417, 423. In the instant Case,

17

The instant case could be viewed, ironically, as lending
some predictability to the process, since it is based on a
hypotethical job description of how a referee operates. Under its
analysis, any person with that job title would not be protected,
regardless of what their job duties are.

This analysis runs counter to the manner in which most
circuits follow this Court’s teachings in Elrod, Branti, and Rutan.
The Sixth Circuit’s analysis leads to inconsistency and
unpredictability among the Circuits.

Moreover, the Sixth Circuit decision allows a government
employer too much leeway determining which employees are
protected by the First Amendment. Simply by labelling the
employees’ job titles, the employer can take away constitutionally
protected rights. The mode of analysis utilized by the Sixth
Circuit should not be utilized.

Instead, the principles pronounced in this Court’s prior
decisions should be reaffirmed and further clarified so that
government employees will be able to predict whether their
careers are subject to political patronage by reference to what
they know to be their legitimate job duties, and so government

employers will know the boundaries of their employment powers.

Justice Scalia observed in Rutan v. Republican Party of

Iilinois, 110 S.Ct. 2729, 2756-2757 (1990) after citing a number
of job categories, like the above, where protection is
inconsistently applied and withheld by the different circuits,

that "this summary should make it obvious that the ‘tests’ devised

the referees reported to two judges, of different parties, Apdx. D, p.
11., and, in spite of this fact, were viewed as not protected by the

instant 6th Circuit decision.

to implement Branti have produced inconsistent and
unpredictable results." Petitioner is in agreement with what
Justice Scalia points out next. at 2757, that

"...the current doctrine leaves many employees

utterly in the dark about whether their jobs are

protected, they are likely to play it safe. On the

other side, the exception was designed to permit

the government to implement its electoral

mandate...unless the government is fairly sure

that dismissal is permitted, it will leave the

politically uncongenial official in place, since an

incorrect decision will expose it to lengthy
litigation and a large damage award, perhaps

even against the responsible officials personally.

When looking at the referee position in question, which involves
simultaneously recommending findings of fact and conclusions of
law to two judges of different parties sitting in the most
"impartial" of government positions, the observation Justice
Scalia’s made in Rutan is central: "if there is any Category of
jobs for whose performance party affiliation is not an appropriate
requirement, it is the job of being a judge, where partisanship is
not only unneeded but positively undesirable." /d. at 2746. If this
is true for judges, it is true for their impartial referees.

This Court in O'Hare Truck Service, Inc. v. City of
Northlake, 116 S.Ct. 2353, 2358 (1996) found that the Branti
standard required a case-by-case fact based application. A fact-
driven analysis is the only fair analysis when applying Branti
because whether party affiliation is an appropriate requirement
for the position necessarily must turn on the facts of each
situation. Again, as in this case. the position involved reporting

19

simultaneously to two judges of different parties. How can this
undisputed fact be ignored in favor of non-record based
assumptions inferred by the Circuit Court in this case reading
between the lines of various civil rules? At Apdx. A, p. 22, the
6th Circuit, based on a review of Ohio Civil Rule 53, infers, with
no reference to any evidence in the record, that "unquestionably,
the inherent duties of an Ohio domestic relations court referee
entail a relationship of confidence between the referee and the
judge(s) he serves. The referee is privy to confidential litigation
materials and internal court communica-tions in the discharge of
his duties, and further maintains a confidential relationship with
the judge(s) which he serves." This "unquestionable" conclusion,
however, flies in the face of the undisputed facts and testimony
in this case, and is wholly drawn from inference not based on
evidence in the record. No evidence exists in the record that
Petitioner was privy to "confidential litigation materials” or
"internal court communications.” None are identified. None exist.
Further, no "confidential" relationship exists--no one in this case
disputes that the referee position in question reports
simultaneously to two judges of different parties. No confidential!
relationships exist. None have been identified.

The instant case employed an analysis that took the issue
that Mumford’s referee position was not a political position from
the trier of fact, the district court, that had already decided the
issue in 1992, and made a sweeping, non-record-based decision
that did not utilize the application of Branti to the individual
office, but rather, as indicated above, made the assumption that
"friction and animosity" were probable expectations that would
creep into the situation. Apdx. A, p. 19. This was not in the

record. There were two judges to report to from different political

20

Sees a ara

parties: Administrative Judge Zieba, a Republican: and alternating
Administrative Judge Basinski, a Democrat. See Apdx. V, p.1,
testimony of referee Frank Giamboi.

The instant case conflicts with Meeks v. Grimes, 779 F.2d
417, 420-421, n.2 (7th Cir., 1985), in that the Meeks court ruled
that "...it is impossible to generalize about the nature of an
individual type of position, such as bailiff or secretary; job
responsibilities and duties can vary greatly between different
governmental units or even within a governmental unit...For this
reason the test under Branti must be applied to each individual
office, and status under that formulation is left to the trier of fact
to be determined.” The instant case makes no such application to
the referee position in question.

Meeks, at 420-421, and n.2 also rules that it cannot
conclude that "bailiffs" are confidential employees as a matter of
law because bailiffs are duty-bound to protect the sanctity of the
court, and, "...while political affiliation may be an acceptable
proxy for loyalty, trust, and maybe even efficiency, it would cast
the net of the Elrod exception too wide to allow political support
to be used to extrapolate a tendency to breach a sworn duty,
behave unprofessionally, or commit criminal acts."

In addition, in Meeks at 423. n.7, the 7th Circuit wrote
that "[w]Jhat may distinguish judges for patronage purposes is the
unique relationship they have with the people who work with
them in their chambers. However, differing structures of judicial
Systems and governments mean that each case is unique and an
intimate working environment may or may not exist surrounding
any political hiring authority."

The problem with a purely legal analysis is that it ignores
the realities of the position in question, and allows for inferences

2]

~~

based on "law" that arrive at "fact" that is not in evidence in the

record.

The instant case also is in direct irreconcilable conflict
with Roldan-Plumey v. Cerezo-Suarez, 115 F.3d 58 (lst Cir.
1997). In Roldan-Plumey v. Cerezo-Suarez a hearing examiner’s
position was found by the First Circuit to involve inherent duties
of holding hearings, evaluating evidence, carrying out legal
studies and issuing recommendations to a commissioner. This is
absolutely no different than what David Mumford did for the
Lorain County Court--he conducted hearings, evaluated evidence
and made recommendations to the judges of the court. Yet the
6th Circuit found Mumford’s position taking and analyzing
evidence and making recommendations of findings of fact and
conclusions of law to county judges to be a political position. As
Justice Scalia has observed, how can party affiliation enter into
such decisions, deci: 1s that require impartiality?

The First Circuit’s decision in Roldan-Plumey v. Cerezo-
Suarez appropriately made a factual inquiry and looked only to
the inherent duties of the position and found that they involved
discrete technical and professional duties, and that the position
was not a political position. The Roldan-Plumey court made
specific findings that the "Examining Officer" held hearings, took
oaths and declarations, evaluated evidence regarding conclusions
of fact and law, carried out legal studies and _ issued
recommendations to the Commissioner. These are the very duties
performed by Mumford.

The instant case clearly made no such detailed, factual
inquiry. Instead, it arrives at conclusions not supported by record
evidence. For instance, it found that Mumford had access to

confidential court documents and was in a personal confidential

“ $0 Sefer, Canis ikea’

Ae tenia enchants Meh ca PL ce BLN

relationship. Apdx. A, p. 22. There is absolutely nothing in the
record to support this conclusion. In fact, all the evidence is to
the contrary.'’

Thus, the Roldan-Plumey decision of the |st Circuit is in
direct conflict with the instant case and with Meeks.

The Branti v. Finkel plurality held that “conditioning
public employment on the Provision of support for the favored
political party ‘unquestionably inhibits protected belief and
association.’" Rutan, 110 S.Ct. at 2734, quoting Branti at U.S.
259, S.Ct. 2683.

This Court also has recognized that "a government has a
significant interest in ensuring that it has effective and efficient
employees." Rutan at 110 S.Ct. 2734, citing Branti at U.S. 259,
S.Ct. 2683.

Petitioner respectfully submits that it is imperative that
the Branti exception, whereby political affiliation may be used as
an employment criteria only if it is an “appropriate requirement
for the position involved." be clarified by this Court in order that
the interests of the general public, government employers and
government employees are no longer frustrated.

This type of analysis was specifically rejected by the Circuit
Court in Meeks vy. Grimes, 779 F.2d 417, 423 (7th Cir. 1985): "[wle
will not engage in the Process of inferring a breach of duty from
political opposition where the record does not even Clearly support a
finding that these bailiffs had routine access to sensitive documents."

23

#2 Whether, under McMillian v. Monroe County,
Alabama, 65 L.W. 4403 (1997), a county is
liable for the administrative acts of an
administrative judge for a county common
pleas court acting in the particular area or
issue regarding employment decisions for a

local government?

The decision in the instant case was rendered prior to this
Court’s recent decision involving a government official and the
11th Amendment. McMillian v. Monroe County, Alabama, 65
L.W. 4403 (June 2, 1997). In McMillian this Court held that the
sheriff of an Alabama county, when acting in his law
enforcement capacity, was a state official immune to suit for
actions taken in that capacity pursuant to the Eleventh
Amendment. What is instructional is not the result in McMillian,
but, rather, the analysis. McMillian heli that "[o]ur cases on
liability of local governments under Section 1983 instruct us to
ask whether governmental officials are final policymakers for the
local government in a particular area, or on a particular issue."
Id. at 4405, quoting Jett v. Dallas Independent School District,
491 U.S. at 738, 109 S.Ct. 2702 (1989) (court must identify
‘those officials who have the power to make official policy on a
particular issue.(emphasis added)."

Zeiba, as administrative judge, was a final policymaker
when making personnel decisions for the entity, Lorain County.
Zieba ran the domestic relations court. Lorain County
Commissioner Jacoby testified that "all the elected officials in
Lorain County, do their own hiring, set their own policies, make
all their own decisions, with the exception of their budget.

That’s the only area of control we have over the departments."

24

Sa Rainn mo.

Apdx. W, p.1. Commissioner Jacoby also testified that all the
employees who work at the Domestic Relations Court are
employees of Lorain County, including the judges and that
Judges Basinski and Zieba and the court referees receive their
paychecks from the Lorain County Auditor, Apdx. W., p.2.
Therefore Judge Zieba was the administrator and final policy-
maker for the County of Lorain when making employment
decisions. '*

The instant 6th Circuit decision never addresses or makes
findings as to whether, in the performance of his duties as an
administrator over Lorain County employees, Judge Zieba was a
final policymaker for the county or state as to his administrative
duties regarding Lorain County employees working for the court.
This Court in McMillian y. Monroe County, Alabama, 65 LW
4403 (June 2, 1997) spells out that "...the question is not whether
Alabama sheriffs act as county or state officials in all of their
official actions, but whom they represent in a particular area or
on a particular issue,"

Rather than performing this analysis which is focussed on
the nature of the particular actions in question, the Sixth Circuit’s
analysis is the sort of "...all or nothing..." analysis rejected by this
Court in McMillian, 65 L.W. at 4404.

Instead, at Apdx. A, p.7, the court believed that "[t]he
central inquiry confronting this appellate review is whether the

‘’ The instant case, at Apdx. A-12 attempts to imply that "state"

money from some "special court fund" pays these county referees. This
is not true, and Ohio Revised Code Section 2151.13 (Apdx. J-18)
merely indicates that judges and employees of this court will be paid by
the county treasurer. Nowhere in the record is there evidence that state

money pays county referees.

ho
Wa

Domestic Relations Court is a state of Ohio entity, or instead is
an appendage of the Lorain County government, for section 1983
purposes.” The court in the instant case concluded that because
local courts are created by state law, because the State Supreme
Court has supervisory authority over local courts, because state
statutes outline the jurisdiction of local courts and because
counties are required to provide funds for local courts, therefore
they are components of state government. [Apdx. A, pp. 7-16]
Che Sixth Circuit implies, without stating, that these factors make
the administrative judge a state official for all purposes and in all

areas in which he makes any type of decision, even non-judicial

administrative employment decisions. This analysis totally ignores

the McMillian question to be asked: which governmental body
did Judge Zieba represent on a particular issue or in a particular
area? While acting in a judicial capacity, the judge may be
representing the state, but the issue here is who he represents
when making employment decisions regarding Lorain County
employees. In this area, Zieba represented the County. This issue
was ignored in the instant case.

Other circuits have anticipated McMillian, and thus are
in conflict with the Sixth Circuit. The Fifth Circuit Court of
Appeals in Familias Unidas v. Briscoe, 619 F.2d 391, 404 (Sth
Cir., 1980) ruled that there were many actions of a county judge
that justifiably could be considered to constitute or represent
county "policy" and that in addition to judicial duties, a Texas
county judge was charged with the performance of numerous
executive, legislative and administrative chores in the day-to-day
governance of the county and concluded that "...at least in those
areas in which he, alone, is the final authority or ultimate

repository of county power, his official conduct and decisions

ne en la i St

must necessarily be considered those of one ‘whose edicts or acts
may fairly be said to represent official policy’ for which the
county may be held responsible under section 1983." This
analysis conflicts with the instant case.

Decisions from other circuits also conflict with the 6th
Circuits approach: Parker y. Williams, 862 F.2d 1471, 1479 (11th
Cir., 1989) [one official may exercise county authority over some
matters and state authority over other matters]; Davis v. Ector
County, Tex., 40 F.3d 777. 784 (Sth Cir., 1994) [although the
district attorney’s office (like Ector County itself) is a creation of
the state, all of its functioning is county based]; Harter vy.
Vernon, 101 F. 3d 334, 342 (4th Cir., 1996), [Rockingham
County Sheriff not a state official because the state treasury
would not pay any judgement]; and Lucas v. O Loughlin, $31
F.2d 232, 234-235 (11th Cir.. 1987) [Where sheriff's salary and
deputies are paid out of county funds, where county
commissioners budgeted the money for the sheriff's department,
where the sheriff was elected under state law to serve the county
as sheriff in the capacity of employer over his deputies, sheriff's
actions were actions of the county'”].,

Though the judges of Lorain County Common Pleas
Court can travel to other counties to hear cases, they cannot
travel to other counties to fire county employees in other

counties. Under the McMillian analysis, the Lorain County judges

'' The court in the instant case found that domestic relations

judges are elected by county voters and that the county must fund the
court with Lorain County funds. Apdx. A, pp. 12-13 and Apx. D, p.
3. No record based finding was reached in the instant case that a
judgment in this case would be paid out of the state treasury.

27

cannot represent the state as to the particular area or issue
regarding employment decisions for a Lorain County local
government, since their power to hire and fire stops at the county

line.

As the Court in Eggar v. City of Livingston, 40 F.3d 312,
315 (9th Cir., 1994) pointed out, "...officials can act on behalf of
more than one government entity. Owens v. Fulton County, 877
F.2d 947, 952 (llth Cir. 1989)." Judge Zieba, in his
administrative capacity in hiring and firing court employees,
acted on behalf of the local political subdivision, Lorain County.
In Van Ooteghem v. Gray, 774 F.2d 1332, 1337 (Sth Cir., 1985)
the Fifth Circuit appropriately pointed out that "[w]hatever state
duties a County Treasurer may have, we are persuaded that in the
personnel matters at issue here, Gray was wearing his county
hat." Could Judge Zieba by assignment hear a case in Cuyahoga
County rather than Lorain County? Of course. Could Lorain
County Domestic Relations Court Judge Zieba fire Cuyahoga
County Domestic Relations Court employees? Of course not. In
fact, it is demonstrative that the Lorain County Prosecutor, rather
than the Ohio Attorney General, represented this "county"
defendant throughout the proceedings. The reverse would have
been the case if defendant was clearly a "state" entity. It is
logical, therefore, to assume that it would be the county that
would be paying any damages should Mr. Mumford prevail.

Therefore, Judge Zieba was not acting in a state capacity,
but rather, when wearing his administrative hat, was acting as a
local County official, and therefore suable in his official capacity
under 42 U.S.C. Section 1983, creating liability for Lorain
County.

In light of this conflict between the analysis of the Sixth

Circuit and that of other circuits, and in light of the fact that the
Sixth Circuit did not have the benefit of this Court’s McMillian
decision, at the very least, this case should be remanded to the
lower courts for reconsideration of this issue.

In addition, even if the administrative judge of the court
was acting as a state official when making personnel decisions,
the Eleventh Amendment would not mandate dismissal of the
complaint since that Amendment does not prevent the injunctive
prospective relief of reinstatement”’. Petitioner Mumford stil]
seeks reinstatement and backpay.

The instant case also misinterprets two of this Court’s
opinions, Ex Parte Young, 209 U.S. 123 (1908) and Green v.
Mansour, 474 U.S. 64, 68, 88 L.Ed.2d 371. 106 S.Ct. 423, 426
(1985). Footnote 8 of the instant case (Apdx. A, pp. 15-16)
theorizes that the invocation of Young for prospective relief only
cannot be salvaged because Mr. Mumford has joined with this
request a prayer for retrospective relief. obviously backpay. The
instant opinion, in this regard, relies on Green v. Mansour, 474
U.S. 64, 68, 88 L.Ed.2d 371, 106 S.Ct. 423 (1985). Yet nowhere
in Green v. Mansour did this Court make such a ruling. What
this Court did was to state that "the Eleventh Amendment does
not prevent federal courts from granting prospective injunctive
relief to prevent a continuing violation of federal law...(and
that)...[rjlemedies designed to end a continuing violation of

°° Once the record has been developed to show that no judgement
in this case would come from state funds, backpay would also be
available. This issue is not part of the record and should be developed

below.

29

federal law are necessary to vindicate the federal interest in
assuring the supremacy of that law." /d., at 68. There is no
language in Green v. Mansour that could lead to a conclusion
that "joining" a request for prospective and retroactive relief
defeats a valid claim for prospective relief. Therefore, the court
in the instant case clearly erred in failing to remand this case for
trial on the issue of reinstatement. As long as Mumford is not
reinstated, the unconstitutional violation continues. Rein-statement
is the only prospective remedy to cure that violation.

The instant decision must be remanded with instructions
to follow this Court’s analysis in McMillian, or reversed, in order
to limit the application of the 1 1th Amendment to true actions of
the state as to the particular issue or area involved. Anything less
will allow local entities to escape their constitutional
responsibilities by labelling officials who truly are acting on
behalf of the local entity as state officials.

CONCLUSION
For the reasons set forth above, this Court’s standards for
granting certiorari, as set out in Sup. Ct. Rule 10.1 are well met

in this case. The petition should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

DENNIS J. NIERMANN
KRAMER & NIERMANN, L.P.A.
3214 Prospect Avenue, East
Cleveland, Ohio 44115-2600
(216) 431-5300

30

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_1203%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
