# Amicus Curiae Brief — Tolchin v. Supreme Court of New Jersey

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_1172%3A5

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1997
- **Citation:** 522 U.S. 977

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.
a EILED
(5) | Si 8 1997
~
No. 97-209 —_—
.
In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1996
.

ROBERT J. TOLCHIN, individually and on behalf
of all others similarly situated,

Petitioner,
Vv.

THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF
NEW JERSEY, et al., .

Respondents.
.

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Third Circuit
7

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF THE
NEW JERSEY STATE BAR ASSOCIATION
IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS
¢

CHARLES W. HEeultster*

Mark J. OBERSTAEDT

ARCHER & GREINER

A PROFESSIONAL CORPORATION
One Centennial Square
Haddonfield, NJ 08033
(609) 795-2121

Counsel for Amicus Curiae,
New Jersey State Bar Association
*Counsel of Record

October 3, 1997

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Amicus Curiae, the New Jersey State Bar Association,
adopts and incorporates the Questions Presented as set
forth by Respondents, the Supreme Court of the State of

New Jersey and the Institute for Continuing Legal Educa-
tion.

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
STATEMENT AND INTEREST OF AMICUS
CEN nos cccsvesedaneae peanenkseepesrenanenean 1
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT............. 2
1. Tolchin Tacitly Concedes that the Third Circuit Prop-
erly Applied the Pike/Brown Balancing Test ....... 5

2. The Bona Fide Office Requirement is Rationally
Related to Legitimate State Interests............ 7

3. The Skills And Methods Course Requirement Is
Also Rationally Related to a Legitimate State
PROG. occ censsssandessedsanewesddamanecnnaan 18

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
FEDERAL CASES
Barnard v. Thorstenn, 489 U.S. 546 (1989) ..... seees 2, 10
Brown-Forman Distillers Corp. v. New York Liquor
Authority, 476 U.S. 573 (1986)....... 3, 4, 5, 6, 11, 18
Frazier v. Heebe, 482 U.S. 641 (1987)....... 2, 7, 8, 9, 10
Goldfarb v. Virginia State Bar, 421 U.S. 773 (1975) ..... 1
ee 1
Pike v. Church, 397 U.S. 137 (1970) .... 3, 4, 5, 6, 11, 18
Ross v. Moffitt, 417 U.S. 600 (1974) ................... 4
Supreme Court of New Hampshire v. Piper, 470 U.S.
COGS s Cane dee aecnn cede 2, 3; 10, 18, 19
Supreme Court of Virginia v. Friedman, 487 U.S. 59
ES SS ee 2, 9, 10, 11, 18, 19
Tolchin v. Supreme Court of the State of New Jersey,
Lit Fsd 1099 (Sd Cir. 1997) ............ 3, 4 5, 7, 10
Instructional Sys., Inc. v. Computer Curriculum
Carp, co woe Gao Ge Civ. 1996) .... «2.2.55. c eee 5

State CASES
Madden v. Delran Township, 126 N.J. 591 (1992) ...15, 16

STATUTES AND RULES

ee nad p edn ds ts hud se sews . e
es a vec e an ahivseceasneees\aneaes 13
ee I on esas howe adseaciveceuceccuaves 13

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF THE
NEW JERSEY STATE BAR ASSOCIATION
IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS!

Amicus Curiae, the New Jersey State Bar Association
(“NJSBA”), as the primary voice of the members of the
New Jersey bar, hereby requests that the petition for a
writ of certiorari to review the judgment of the United
States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit sought by
Petitioner, Robert J. Tolchin (“Petitioner” or “Tolchin”),
be denied.

STATEMENT AND INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

Petitioner challenges the authority of the New Jersey
Supreme Court to determine the requirements it will
impose on those seeking to practice law within its juris-
diction. This Court has traditionally recognized the
autonomy of the states to set the qualifications for per-
sons who wish to practice law in that state. See, e.g., Leis
v. Flynt, 439 U.S. 438, 442, 444 n.5 (1978) (recognizing “the
traditional authority of state courts to control who may
be admitted to practice” and noting that “[s]ince the
founding of the Republic, the licensing and regulation of
lawyers has been left exclusively to the States”); Goldfarb
v. Virginia State Bar, 421 U.S. 773, 792 (1975) (recognizing
that states have “broad power to establish standai 's for

1 Counsel for a party did not author this brief in whole or in
part. No person or entity, other than the Amicus Curiae, its
members, or its counsel made a monetary contribution to the
preparation and submission of this brief.

licensing practitioners and regulating the practice of pro-
fessionals”).

Over the past two decades, many lawyers have peti-
tioned this Court for writs of certiorari charging that
various state laws, rules and regulations governing the
practice of law are unconstitutional. Only twice during
that time has this Court granted writs to review such
challenges. See Supreme Court of Virginia v. Friedman, 487
U.S. 59 (1988); Supreme Court of New Hampshire v. Piper, |
470 U.S. 274 (1985). On two other occasions, this Court |
has granted writs of certiorari to review the local rules of
two United States District Courts that placed certain
requirements on those that sought to practice law within
their respective jurisdictions. See Barnard v. Thorstenn, 489
U.S. 546 (1989); Frazier v. Heebe, 482 U.S. 641 (1987).

In each of these rare cases, the rule or regulation at
issue facially discriminated against out-of-state residents
in favor of in-state residents. See Barnard, 489 U.S. at 549
(local rule of the United States District Court for the |
District of the Virgin Islands required all attorneys other-
wise qualified to demonstrate that he or she had “resided
in the Virgin Islands for at least one year preceding his or
her proposed bar admission” and had an intention to
continue residing in the Virgin Islands and to practice law
there); Friedman, 487 U.S. at 61 (Virginia rule allowed
“qualified lawyers admitted to practice in other States” to
be admitted to the Virginia Bar on motion upon a show-
ing that the applicant was “a permanent resident of Vir-
ginia”); Frazier, 482 U.S. at 642 (local rule of the United
States District Court for the Eastern District of Louisiana

a

required bar applicants to either live in Louisiana or
maintain an office in Louisiana); Piper, 470 U.S. at 277 n.1
(New Hampshire rule required all bar applicants to
“either be a resident of New Hampshire or file a state-
ment of intent to reside there” and to be a “bona fide
resident of the State . . . at the time the oath of office . . . is
administered”). Accordingly, this Court reviewed the
challenged rules under either the Privileges and Immu-
nities Clause of Article IV, § 2 of the United States Consti-
tution, or under its own “inherent supervisory power”
over the United States District Courts.

Unlike the rules reviewed by the Court in each of
these previous cases, the rule challenged here, N.J. Cr. R.
1:21-1(a) (the “Rule”), applies equally to all New Jersey
lawyers regardless of domicile and it does not facially
discriminate against non-residents. Tolchin v. Supreme
Court of the State of New Jersey, 111 F.3d 1099, 1107 (3d Cir.
1997). Presumably realizing that a Privileges and Immu-
nities Clause challenge would necessarily fail, Tolchin
petitions this Court to review the constitutionality of the
Rule solely under the Dormant Commerce Clause of Arti-
cle I, § 8, clause 3.

In an opinion written by Judge Lewis, joined in full
by Judge Cowen, and joined in part by Chief Judge
Sloviter, the Third Circuit Court of Appeals properly
rejected Petitioner’s Dormant Commerce Clause chal-
lenge and upheld the constitutionality of the Rule.
Tolchin, 111 F.3d at 1107. The Third Circuit did so by
applying the balancing test announced by this Court in
Pike v. Church, 397 U.S. 137. (1970), and refined in Brown-
Forman Distillers Corp. v. New York Liquor Authority, 476

U.S. 573 (1986) (hereinafter the “Pike/Brown balancing
test”). Tolchin, 111 F.3d at 1107.

Notably, Petitioner does not seriously contend that
the Third Circuit should have applied a level of scrutiny
other than the Pike/Brown balancing test. Instead,
Tolchin’s primary argument is that the Third Circuit
reached the wrong result under the test. This Court typ-
ically declines to grant writs of certiorari when the peti-
tioner is simply unhappy with the result reached below.
See Ross v. Moffitt, 417 U.S. 600, 616-17 (1974) (certiorari is
not appropriate when the petitioner seeks to challenge
only the correctness of the lower court’s decision); see also
Rosert L. STERN, ET. AL., SUPREME Court Practice § 4.17 (7th
ed. 1993) (“It has been reiterated many times that the
Supreme Court is not primarily concerned with the cor-
rection of errors in lower court decisions.”).

Even if this were one of the rare cases in which the
Court would consider examining the correctness of the
result reached by the Third Circuit, Judge Lewis’s anal-
ysis rests on solid grounds that would not justify further
review by this Court. As the Third Circuit concluded, the
Rule is rationally related to the legitimate state interests
advanced below by the New Jersey Supreme Court and
the Institute for Continuing Legal Education. In addition,
the Rule is also rationally related to the additional legiti-
mate state interests advanced herein by the NJSBA as
amicus curiae. Accordingly, this Court should not grant
Tolchin’s petition for a writ of certiorari.

¢

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

The Rule establishes four requirements that all attor-
neys wishing to practice law in New Jersey must meet.
Specifically, all New Jersey attorneys must (1) hold a
plenary license, (2) comply with the skills and methods
course requirements in effect on the date of the attorney’s
admission to the bar, (3) be in good standing, and (4)
maintain a bona fide office for the practice of law in New
Jersey. N.J. Cr. R. 1:21-1(a). The four requirements apply
to all lawyers, regardless of where they are domiciled.?

Tolchin contends here, as he did below, that the bona
fide office requirement and the skills and methods course
requirement are unconstitutional under the Dormant
Commerce Clause.

1. Tolchin Tacitly Concedes that the Third Circuit
Properly Applied the Pike/Brown Balancing Test

The Third Circuit rejected Tolchin’s Dormant Com-
merce Clause challenge by applying the Pike/Brown bal-
ancing test. Tolchin, 111 F.3d at 1108-11. Under the Pike/
Brown balancing test, a court “must compare the local
benefits of a regulation with the incidental burdens that it
imposes on interstate commerce in order to determine
whether the burdens are clearly excessive.” Id. at 1108
(citing Instructional Sys., Inc. v. Computer Curriculum Corp.,
35 F.3d 813, 824 (3d Cir. 1994)). If the Court concludes, as
the Third Circuit did below, that the challenged rule

2 The history of N.J. Cr. R. 1:21-1(a) is set out in detail in the
Third Circuit’s opinion and need not be repeated here. See
Tolchin, 111 F.3d at 1103-05.

“only indirectly affects interstate commerce and regulates
evenhandedly, a determination must be made as to
whether the State’s interest is ‘legitimate and whether the
burden on interstate commerce clearly exceeds the local
benefits.’ ” Id. at 1107 (quoting Brown-Forman, 476 U.S. at
579).

Tolchin does not seriously contend that the Third
Circuit should have reviewed the Rule under any stan-
dard other than the Pike/Brown balancing test, such as the
heightened scrutiny applicable when a state law facially
or effectively discriminates against out-of-state interests.
See Brown-Forman, 476 U.S. at 579.5 Likewise, while
Tolchin contends that “thousands” of lawyers and law
firms are impacted by the Rule, Petition at 24, he does not
contend that the Third Circuit wrongly concluded that
the Rule only has an indirect effect upon interstate com-
merce.

Therefore, Tolchin tacitly concedes, as he must, that
the Third Circuit properly invoked the Pike/Brown balanc-
ing test and that, because the Rule’s impact on interstate
commerce is only indirect, the Rule will withstand a
Dormant Commerce Clause challenge so long as it is
rationally related to a legitimate state interest. As demon-
strated below, the Third Circuit’s conclusion that the
bona fide office requirement and the skills and methods
course requirement are rationally related to legitimate
state interests was wholly proper.

3 Tolchin renders lip service to the heightened scrutiny
standard in only a single sentence. Petition at 20.

2. The Bona Fide Office Requirement is Rationally
Related to Legitimate State Interests

Before both the district court and the Third Circuit,
Respondent, the Supreme Court of the State of New
Jersey, explained that the bona fide office requirement
“has the benefits of assuring the competence, accoun-
tability and accessibility of attorneys for the benefit of
clients, courts, counsel and parties.” Tolchin, 111 F.3d at
1108. After analyzing this aspect of the Rule, the Third
Circuit concluded that “a rational relationship exists
between the benefit of attorney accessibility and the bona
fide office requirement.” Id. at 1109.

In his petition, Tolchin does not argue that the Third
Circuit wrongly concluded that New Jersey has a legiti-
mate interest in ensuring the accessibility of New Jersey
attorneys to courts, clients, counsel, and parties. Instead,
he contends that the bona fide office requirement is not
rationally related to this legitimate state interest. The
principal argument he advances in support of this con-
tention is that this Court allegedly dismissed a similar
argument in Frazier v. Heebe, 482 U.S. 641 (1987), and,
therefore, the Third Circuit’s decision “directly contra-
dicts” the holding in Frazier. Petition at 20-22. Tolchin is
mistaken.

First, the facts in Frazier are quite different from those
presented here. In Frazier, the Court reviewed a local rule
of the United States District Court for the Eastern District
of Louisiana that required lawyers seeking to be admitted
to the district court bar to either be a resident of Louisi-
ana or to maintain a law office in Louisiana. The local
rule did not require Louisiana residents to maintain a

Louisiana office. Frazier, 482 U.S. at 642. Therefore, the
local rule facially discriminated against non-residents.
Here, the Rule neither contains a residency requirement
nor facially discriminates against non-residents.

Second, the Frazier majority did not review the con-
stitutionality of the challenged local rule. Instead, the
majority reviewed the local rule solely under the Court's
“inherent supervisory power” to ensure the fairness of
the local rules of the various United States District
Courts. Id. at 645 (quoting In re Ruffalo, 390 U.S. 544, 554
(1968) (White, J., concurring)). The distinction was partic-
ularly important to the Frazier majority, which explained
that the Court’s authority over the federal courts was
broader than its power over the individual state courts.
Specifically, the Frazier majority noted that the Court's
“authority over state court bars is limited to enforcing
federal constitutional requirements.” Id. at 647-48 n.7. The
Frazier majority also observed that a more lenient stan-
dard was appropriate when reviewing state rules seeking
to regulate the practice of law because “laws and pro-
cedures may differ substantially from state to state.” Id.
(citations omitted).

The three dissenting Justices in Frazier, Chief Justice
Rehnquist, joined by Justices O’Connor and Scalia, did
not agree with the majority’s view that the Court pos-
sessed the “inherent supervisory power” to set aside local
district court rules regulating admission to their respec-
tive bars. Id. at 651-52 (Rehnquist, C.J., dissenting). There-
fore, the dissenting Justices reviewed the constitutionality
of the mandatory office requirement and concluded that
the rule passed constitutional muster. Id. at 655 (Rehnqu-
ist, C.J., dissenting).

Thus, the only three members of the Court to review
the constitutionality of the mandatory office requirement
in Frazier found that the requirement was constitutionally
acceptable even though it facially discriminated against
non-residents. Accordingly, Tolchin’s contention that the
Third Circuit’s decision below “directly contradicts” this
Court’s ruling in Frazier is mistaken.

A subsequent decision of this Court further demon-
strates that Tolchin has misread Frazier. Just one year
after the Frazier decision was announced, this Court
decided Supreme Court of Virginia v. Friedman, 487 U.S. 59
(1988). In Friedman, a Virginia state court rule allowed
“qualified lawyers admitted to practice in other States” to
be admitted to the Virginia Bar on motion upon a show-
ing that the applicant was “a permanent resident of Vir-
ginia.” Friedman, 487 U.S. at 61. Virginia contended,
among other things, that the residency requirement
advanced the state’s interest in ensuring compliance with
a separate requirement that members of the bar practice
law “full-time” in Virginia. Id. at 63.

The majority of the Friedman Court, in an opinion
authored by Justice Kennedy and joined by Justices Bren-
nan, White, Marshall, Blackmun, Stevens, and O’Connor,
held that the residency requirement was unconstitutional
under the Privileges and Immunities Clause. Id. at 64-65.
The majority dismissed Virginia’s argument that the resi-
dency requirement ersured that attorneys complied with
the full-time practice requirement by explaining in dicta
that Virginia’s mandatory office requirement was a “less-

10

restrictive” alternate means of advancing Virginia’s inter-
est in requiring lawyers to practice law full-time in Vir-
ginia. Id. at 69-70.4

Thus, between the dissenting opinion in Frazier and
the majority opinion in Friedman, all of the Justices sitting
on this Court during the 1987 and 1988 terms either wrote
or joined in opinions supporting mandatory office
requirements. Accordingly, Tolchin’s contention that this
Court has condemned such provisions is wholly mis-
taken.

If the Third Circuit’s opinion in the present case is
flawed in any respect, it is in the conclusion of two of the
panel’s three judges that the bona fide office requirement
is not also rationally related to New Jersey’s legitimate
interest in securing the competency and accountability of
those lawyers who practice law in New Jersey.5

The Third Circuit rejected the competency argument
by relying solely on this Court’s opinions in Frazier, Piper
and Barnard. Tolchin, 111 F.3d at 1108-09 (citations omit-
ted). Each of those cases, however, was decided under
either the Privileges and Immunities Clause or this
Court’s inherent supervisory power over the district j
courts, and in each of those cases the Court reviewed the |
challenged rules under heightened scrutiny because the |

4 In dissent, Chief Justice Rehnquist and Justice Scalia
determined that the facially-discriminatory residency
requirement — a much more egregious imposition on interstate
commerce than that alleged here — passed constitutional muster.
Friedman, 487 U.S. at 70-71.

5 Chief Judge Sloviter did not join in this aspect of the
opinion. Tolchin, 111 F.3d at 1109 n.3.

isietiinaein

11

rules facially discriminated against non-residents. Under
the heightened scrutiny analysis applicable in those
cases, the Court had to determine if there were less-
restrictive means of meeting the proposed state interests.

The same standard does not apply here. Under the
Pike/Brown test, the state interest need only be rationally
related to the challenged rule. Moreover, the challenged
rule does not have to be the least-restrictive means of
achieving the legitimate state interest.

The bona fide office rule is rationally related to New
Jersey’s legitimate interest in ensuring the competency of
lawyers who practice in New Jersey. The Third Circuit
noted that the group of persons affected by the bona fide
office requirement was not “a very large class” and
included “those who practice solely, but sporadically, in
New Jersey,” and “those who practice occasionally in
New Jersey as part of a large practice based in another
state.” Id. at 1109. Tolchin does not challenge thése find-
ings in his petition.

It is undisputed, therefore, that a large percentage of
the persons who wish to practice law in New Jersey
without a bona fide office dedicate only a small fraction
of their respective law practices to New Jersey matters. It

© Notably, the Freidman majority did not dismiss Virginia’s
argument that a mandatory office requirement would help
ensure that those who practiced in Virginia’s state courts kept
“abreast of legal developments. . . . ” Friedman, 487 U.S. at 69.
Instead, the majority simply noted that there were less-
restrictive means of achieving the same result, such as
mandatory attendance at periodic continuing legal education
courses. Friedman, 487 U.S. at 69.

12

is reasonable to assume that most of these attorneys,
therefore, do not keep themselves regularly apprised of
recent developments in New Jersey law. It is also reason-
able to assume that those attorneys who maintain a bona
fide office in New Jersey are more inclined to keep
abreast of the latest changes in New Jersey’s procedural
and substantive law. One can also reasonably assume that
those attorneys who stay current on the most recent
developments are in a better position to serve the courts
and their clients than those who do not. Accordingly, the
bona fide office requirement bears a rational relationship
to New Jersey’s legitimate interest in ensuring the compe-
tency of those that practice law in New Jersey.”

The Third Circuit also should have concluded that
the Rule is rationally related to New Jersey’s legitimate
interest in ensuring the accountability of New Jersey
lawyers. The Third Circuit dismissed this argument solely
on the grounds that “all non-resident attorneys designate
the Clerk of the New Jersey Supreme Court as agent for
receipt of service of process.” Id. Therefore, the Third
Circuit reasoned that “[t]he New Jersey Supreme Court
can . . . discipline all members of the New Jersey bar,
regardless of residency,” and held that the Appellees had
made “no compelling argument as to how the bona fide
office requirement was rationally related to attorney
accountability.” Id. (citing N.J. Cr. R. 1:21-1(a) (1996)).

Accountability of attorneys is not limited, however,
solely to judicial discipline. Clients can, and often do,

7 The skills and methods requirement does not cover the
same ground. The skills and methods requirement deals with
basic skills rather than recent developments in practice areas.

13

pursue legal malpractice claims against their attorneys.
The following example demonstrates how the bona fide
office requirement advances and, therefore, is rationally
related to New Jersey’s legitimate interest in ensuring
that New Jersey lawyers are accountable to their clients.

An Albany, New York attorney accepts the represen-
tation of a New Jersey client in a New Jersey state court
matter. The attorney commits malpractice by, among
other things, failing to appear at the trial call and causing
his client’s complaint to be dismissed. The attorney con-
tends that he or she never received notice of the trial
date.

The client files a legal malpractice claim against the
attorney in the New Jersey state courts. During discovery,
the client wishes to depose the attorney’s secretary.
Because the secretary resides near the attorney’s office in
Albany, a significant burden is placed on the client. First,
she must file a motion for a commission to take an out-of-
state deposition under N.J. Cr. R. 4:12-2. Assuming that
motion is granted, she must then pay for her and her
attorney to travel to, and possibly stay overnight, in
Albany where the deposition must be conducted under
N.J. Cr. R. 4:14-2(a). If the deposition of the secretary
reveals that other members of the attorney’s office staff
may have had responsibility for keeping track of trial call
notices, the process has to start all over again. The defen-
dant lawyer could also insist that all inspections of his
documents be conducted at his Albany office under NJ.
Cr. R. 4:18-1. Thus, an additional trip to Albany would be
required. In many cases, these added costs would make
discovery too costly for clients.

14

Trial of such a case would also be more difficult. The
client could not compel anyone other than the defendant
to appear at trial and, therefore, the client would be
forced to read into the record the deposition transcripts
of the witnesses that live outside the court’s subpoena
power (assuming the client could afford to take the depo-
sitions in the first place). This would diminish the trier of
fact’s opportunity to examine the demeanor and cred-
ibility of the witnesses. These added costs and difficulties
would have the reciprocal effect of making attorneys less
accountable for their malpractice.

The bona fide office requirement, however, elimi-
nates these problems. The attorney and the attorney’s
staff could be served with subpoenas and deposed in
New Jersey. The document inspections would take place
in New Jersey. The witnesses could be subpoenaed to
appear at trial in New Jersey. Accordingly, the attorney is
more likely to be held accountable for his or her malprac-
tice. Under this example, it is easy to see how the bona
fide office requirement is rationally related to the state’s
legitimate interest in assuring attorney accountability.

In addition to the three legitimate interests advanced
below by the New Jersey Supreme Court, the bona fide
office requirement also advances the state’s legitimate
interest in encouraging New Jersey attorneys to become
involved in community activities and to voluntarily pro-
vide pro bono services to the New Jersey communities
where their offices are located.

New Jersey is the only state in the nation to compel
mandatory pro bono representation by the members of its
bar. Melissa Tennen, Municipal Pro Bono: Going, Going ...,

15

N.J. Lawyer, Sept. 22, 1997, at 1, 19. In Madden v. Delran
Township, 126 N.J. 591 (1992), the New Jersey Supreme
Court ruled, contrary to decisions in many other states,
that the state could constitutionally compel attorneys
admitted to the New Jersey bar to represent indigent
defendants in the municipal courts without compensa-
tion. Madden, 126 N.J. at 600-11. Notably, the procedure
set forth by the New Jersey Supreme Court in Madden
provided that these mandatory pro bono assignments be
parceled out by the assignment judge in each county to
those lawyers who maintained their law offices in that
county. This process ensured that lawyers in one part of
the state would not be requested to handle pro bono cases
at the opposite end of the state. Id. at 606-07.

Since 1993, the NJSBA’s Special Committee on Pro
Bono Services (the “Special Committee”) has reviewed
the mandatory pro bono system in New Jersey. Among its
many tasks, the Special Committee surveyed the state’s
county bar associations and found that the mandatory
pro bono assignments authorized in Madden had
“expanded far beyond municipal court assignments to
superior court assignments in civil cases involving termi-
nation of parental rights, domestic violence contempt,
juveniles and other family court matters, and municipal
court appeals.” Mary Coogan, The 1995 Report of the
NJSBA Special Committee on Pro Bono Services, N.J. Lawyer
~- THE Macazing, July/Aug. 1997, at 12.

The Special Committee found that “these mandatory
pro bono assignments have resulted in a heavy and dispa-
rate burden on the private bar, leading to the committee's
objection to the arbitrary expansion of Madden and the

16

recommendation of a statewide uniform policy identify-
ing case-types that may be assigned pro bono.” Id. at 12.
Moreover, the Special Committee found that “the expan-
sion of mandatory pro bono assignments dilutes the avail-
ability of private attorneys to provide true, voluntary pro
bono service for civil matters.” Id.®

According to a recent survey, approximately 3000
mandatory pro bono cases are assigned annually to mem-
bers of the New Jersey bar in addition to the mandatory
pro bono municipal court assignments ordered in Mad-
den. Tennen, Municipal Pro Bono at 1.

The New Jersey Law Journal annually surveys large
New Jersey law firms to gauge the number of pro bono
hours logged by attorneys at the firm. The 1997 survey
noted that the state’s 20 largest law firms contributed
approximately 50,000 hours of pro bono services in 1996.
Matt Ackerman, Erin McIntyre, & Neal Winters, Pro Bono
Efforts Ebbing Statewide, N.J. Law Journat, June 30, 1997,
at 148. When added to the efforts of New Jersey’s many
solo practitioners and smaller law firms, along with the
many bar association programs that coordinate the pro
bono efforts of New Jersey lawyers, the number of volun-
teer hours provided by the New Jersey bar is staggering.

8 On September 24, 1997, New Jersey Governor Christine
Todd Whitman signed into law bill S-1886, which mandates that
every municipality in the state have a public defender within six
months. This new law will eliminate mandatory municipal court
pro bono representation by members of the New Jersey bar, but
net the expanded mandatory pro bono assignments annually
distributed to members of the New Jersey bar in the state’s
Superior Court. Tennen, Municipal Pro Bono at 1.

17

See, e.g., Mary Coogan, Pro Bono Attorneys: A Sampler, N.].
Lawyer — THE Macazine, July/Aug. 1997, at 22-27.

Despite the extraordinary volunteer efforts of the
members of the New Jersey bar, the Special Committee’s
1995 report acknowledged that there was still a greater
need for voluntary pro bono services in New Jersey.
Coogan, Pro Bono Attorneys: A Sampler at 22. Clearly,
under these circumstances, the State of New Jersey has a
legitimate interest in encouraging New Jersey attorneys
to volunteer for pro bono and other worthy community
causes.

It is reasonable to assume that attorneys that main-
tain a bona fide office in New Jersey are more likely than
those who do not to perform voluntary pro bono and to
provide other needed services to the communities where
their offices are located. For example, an attorney who
maintains his or her only office in Albany, New York, and
who only practices sporadically in New Jersey, will rarely,
if ever, take on a pro bono assignment in New Jersey. On
the other hand, a lawyer that maintains a bona fide office
in New Jersey will be more inclined to join the local bar
association, become involved in pro bono and charitable
organizations, and otherwise volunteer his or her services
to those in the community where the lawyer’s office is
located.? Therefore, the bona fide office requirement is

° Moreover, if the bona fide office requirement is struck
down as unconstitutional, the New Jersey Supreme Court will
be forced to restructure its mandatory pro bono distribution
system. Assignment judges will no longer be able to assign
matters just to those lawyers who maintain an office within their
county. Members of the New Jersey bar might then be required

18

rationally related to the state’s legitimate interest in
encouraging voluntary pro bono participation by New
Jersey attorneys.!°

3. The Skills And Methods Course Requirement Is
Also Rationally Related to a Legitimate State Inter-
est

Petitioner Tolchin argues that the skills and methods
course requirement imposes an unconstitutional burden
upon non-resident New Jersey lawyers. Specifically, he
contends that there is no reason why he and other non-
residents should be forced to attend the skills and
methods class at one of the four locations in New Jersey
where the course is offered. Petition at 13.

It is undisputed that New Jersey has a legitimate
interest in ensuring the competency of those who practice

to take on pro bono assignments in counties where they
otherwise would not ordinarily practice and which may impose
a more significant burden than pro bono representation would
otherwise.

10 The NJSBA recognizes that a majority of this Court
rejected a somewhat similar argument in both Piper and
Friedman. In each of those cases, however, the legitimate interest
in encouraging pro bono service was judged against the
heightened scrutiny standard of the Privileges and Immunities
Clause and, accordingly, the majority in both cases found that
the residency requirements at issue were not the least-restrictive
means of meeting the states’ interest. Here, as explained above,
the Court need not consider whether there exists a less-
restrictive means of achieving the desired result under the Pike/
Brown balancing test. Instead, the bona fide office requirement
must only be rationally related to the state’s legitimate interest
in encouraging voluntary pro bono service.

19

law in New Jersey!! and that the skills and methods
requirement applies to all newly-admitted attorneys
regardless of where they are domiciled. It is also undis-
puted that the skills and methods course is designed to
teach basic skills usually not taught in law school that
new lawyers must have to effectively practice law in New
Jersey. On three previous occasions, this Court has
extolled the virtues of mandatory continuing legal educa-
tion requirements. See Piper, 470 U.S. at 285 n.19; Fried-
man, 487 U.S. at 69; Frazier, 482 U.S. at 648.

Tolchin’s sole objection to the skills and methods
course requirement is that he must attend the courses at
one of the four course sites located in New Jersey. Of
course, he concedes that Newark, New Jersey, one of the
four location sites, is readily accessible to him. Petition at
6. In fact, the only example he can offer of any impact
that the skills and methods requirement may have on
interstate commerce is his proposed hypothetical situa-
tion in which a newly-graduated lawyer accepts a judicial
clerkship in Louisiana and wants to return to New Jersey
to practice law after the clerkship ends. Tolchin argues
that the skills and methods requirement would bar that
person from the practice of law. Petition at 13-14. In that
very rare instance, however, can there be any serious
question that the attorney would be allowed to begin the
skills and methods course upon his or her return to the

1 Notably, the New York state courts, Tolchin’s home state,
have just announced a requirement that all newly-admitted
attorneys must complete 32 hours of approved CLE courses
over two years.

20

area? The mere statement of this question rebuts the
unreasonableness of such an interpretation.

As the Third Circuit rightfully noted, the burden of
traveling to the course location applies to all attorneys,
regardless of where they reside. As the Third Circuit
further explained, the burden in many cases is greater on
New Jersey residents than upon non-residents, such as
Tolchin, who can easily commute to the course location.
Accordingly, there is no unconstitutional burden on non-
residents to attend the skills and methods classes offered
in New Jersey as a condition of their eligibility to practice
law in New Jersey.

e-

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, amicus curiae, the New
Jersey State Bar Association, respectfully requests that the
Court deny the petition for a writ of certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

CHarces W. HEviIsLer*

Mark J. OBERSTAEDT

ARCHER & GREINER,

A Professional Corporation
One Centennial Square
Haddonfield, NJ 08033

(609) 795-2121

Counsel for Amicus Curiae,

New Jersey State Bar Association

*Counsel of Record
Octover 3, 1997

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_1172%3A5. Public record. Not legal advice.
