# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Northeast Ohio Coalition for the Homeless v. City of Cleveland

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_1046%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1997
- **Citation:** 522 U.S. 931

## Text

AY wee 2 sé i
“no. 97775 IUL 9 1997

OFFICE OF THE CLERK
In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1996
*

NORTHEAST OHIO COALITION FOR THE HOMELESS,
RICHARD CLEMENTS, FRUIT OF ISLAM OF
MUHAMMAD'S MOSQUE NO. 18, AND STEVEN D. HILL,

Petitioners,

CITY OF CLEVELAND,
Respondent.

¢

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Sixth Circnit

¢
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
*
KevIN Francis O’ NEILL
Of Counsel: ACLU Cooperating
Davip GOLDBERGER Attorney
Ail tS Connenetin Assistant Professor of Law
iii P & Cleveland-Marshall
The Ohio State Universit College of Law
Y Cleveland State Universit
College of Law y
Ciiieal Chetan 1801 Euclid Avenue
& Cleveland, Ohio 44115

55 West 12th Avenue

(614) 292-6821 Counsel of Record
Joan M. ENGLUND RAYMOND VASVARI
Legal Director ACLU Cooperating
American Civil Liberties Attorney
Union of Ohio 1300 Bank One Center
Foundation, Inc. 600 Superior Avenue East

1266 W. 6th St., Suite 200 Cleveland, Ohio 44114-2650
Cleveland, Ohio 44113-1353 (216) 522-1925

(216) 781-8639 Attorneys for Petitioners

CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

COC 8 ant iee ee (800) 225-6964 A9

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. Whether, consistent with this Court’s holding in
Murdock v. Pennsylvania, a municipality may impose a
flat, fifty-dollar-per-vendor license fee as a precondition
to the sidewalk distribution of political and religious
“street” newspapers?

2. Whether the First Amendment permits the impo-
sition of a flat, fifty-dollar-per-vendor license fee as a
precondition to the sidewalk distribution of political and
religious “street” newspapers, even where it is undis-
puted that Petitioners are either homeless persons or
indigent proselytizers for the Nation of Islam who cannot
afford to pay the fee, and the licensing scheme that
imposes the fee is bereft of an indigency exception?

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTA PR occ vseccckeeiendensscess i
TABLE GP COT G ea oes ices ii
FABLE OF} AUST 6 ives icvenscassacrescenes iv
CP Te 6 ons 6 xs esaddccekareeameeeraes> 1
FEI RIS hs nso inn adn ead Oe eee 1

THE CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AT ISSUE.. 2
THE ORDENAIICE Ad Tape «akc onsen cnsccemens ces 2
STATENGRIG? COP TOG Ce on esd ce sckwetwenecce 3

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT OF CER-
TRIAL. « «+ «055.460 ee ea ee ee ee eees 7

I. By Holding that Municipalities May Impose a
Flat, Fifty-Dollar-Per-Vendor License Fee as a
Precondition to the Sidewalk Distribution of
Political and Religious “Street” Newspapers, the
Opinion Flouts Fifty Years of First Amendment
Precedent — Including this Court’s Controlling
Decision in Murdock v. Pennsylvania ........... 11

A. In rejecting Murdock, the Opinion relies
heavily on a line of cases that Murdock
ET ee eT eee 14

B. Left undisturbed, the Opinion will cast
grave doubt on Murdock’s continued vital-
POET ECT Ee Fee ee eee 15

ili

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued
Page

II. The Opinion Creates an Irreconcilable Conflict
I I bs 55:04 SEW hae o ben 4's.85 08-400 4 15

III. The Opinion Erects Unprecedented Barriers to
Sidewalk Speech by Upholding the Instant Fee
in the Face of these Undisputed Facts: Peti-
tioners Are Either Homeless Persons or Indi-
gent Proselytizers for the Nation of Islam Who
Cannot Afford to Pay the Fee, and the Licens-
ing Scheme that Imposes the Fee is Bereft of
an Indigency Exception ...........ssccescess 17

IV. Across this Country, More than Seventy Cities
Have “Street” Newspapers Like Those at Issue
Here. By Paving the Way for Their Eradica-
tion, the Opinion has Prompted a Free Speech
Conflict of National Dimensions............. 22

ie cece ese h ey ke ab S sense eek ede mee es 23

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
CASES
Bery v. City of New York, 97 F.3d 689 (2d Cir. 1996),
cert. denied, 65 U.S.L.W. 3798 (U.S. 1997).......... 16
Central Florida Nuclear Freeze Campaign v. Walsh,
FF Wome Behe CEU OWE. TOE iv tvnsssatesccswssess 21
City of Bowling Green v. Lodico, 11 Ohio St. 2d 135,
re Bk eS Beg errr TTT TET rr reere 8, 13
City of Cincinnati v. Mosier, 61 Ohio App. 81, 22
ee Fg ee eee rere ear Toner 8

Cox v. New Hampshire, 312 U.S. 569 (1941)..... 9, 10, 14

Dayton Area Visually Impaired Persons, Inc. v. Fisher,
70 F.3d 1474 (6th Cir. 1999), cert. denied, 116 S.
CE: Fe Ce 6 he ices 0b eee ik 0458s aera ae ease 9

Follett v. Town of McCormick, 321 U.S. 573
ER vai vurho werent ese aaah oeey ere tees 7, 11, 12, 16

Gall v. Lawler, 322 F. Supp. 1223 (E.D. Wis. 1971) ..8, 13

Holy Spirit Ass'n for the Unification of World Chris-
tianity v. Hodge, 582 F. Supp. 592 (N.D. Tex.
MET eT Teen CTT eR ee Corer TT Pere 8

Hull v. Petrillo, 439 F.2d 1184 (2d Cir. 1971)...7, 15, 18

Invisibile Empire Knights of the Ku Klux Klan v. City
of West Haven, 600 F. Supp. 1427 (D. Conn. 1985) .... 21

Jimmy Swaggert Ministries v. Board of Equalization,
oe ee Bi eT ere eee ore 11, 16

Lovell v. City of Griffin, 303 U.S. 444 (1938).......... 20
Murdock v. Pennsylvania, 319 U.S. 105 (1943)..... passim

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES —- Continued

Northeast Ohio Coalition for the Homeless v. City of
Cleveland, 105 F.3d 1107 (6th Cir. 1997)............. 1

Northeast Ohio Coalition for the Homeless v. City of
Cleveland, 885 F. Supp. 1029 (N.D. Ohio 1995) ....passim

Stonewall Union v. City of Columbus, 931 F.2d
1130 (6th Cir. 1991), cert. denied, 112 S. Ct.

BOE CPM ED sieves bin bP Seu key edcaedeaaes 9, 14, 18, 19
Zimmerman v. Village of London, 38 F. Supp. 582
8 ME te er rrr rn et rss 7

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

re CE NE Eg in bs vwed wanes nekeasaen passim
ep ee Be BD OR rer ere 2
Oe Ge a ED eb 4 Wk Kwa wun ae ne ee eae 1
ORDINANCES

Cleveland, Ohio, Ordinances § 675.01(a)(2)........... 3
Cleveland, Ohio, Ordinances § 675.02............... 21
Cleveland, Ohio, Ordinances § 675.02(c)(3) ......... ao
Cleveland, Ohio, Ordinances § 675.04............... 21
Cleveland, Ohio, Ordinances § 675.99............... 21

MISCELLANEOUS AUTHORITIES

Jon Anderson, Homeless Press Grows with Need:
Publications’ Base Expands with Poor, Chicago
See. PU. Ta, BU, Oe WE cova ek devs scdinavecens 3

Hillary Chura, Homeless Newspapers Help Two
Ways: Publications Inform Street People and Also
Employ Them to Sell the Newspapers, Austin
American-Statesman, Sept. 28, 1996, at D2......... 3

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
Larry Dum, Papers for Homeless Offer Needy a Leg
Lip, N.Y. Tienes, BERE. Si, 2957, BE D7. i occ ccs 3, 23
Don Jacobson, Street Newspapers Band Together,
United Press International, Aug. 18, 1996.......... 3

Tim Jones, Reader Guilt, Vendor Talent Propel Paper:
Streetwise Becomes Nation’s Largest Street Publica-
tion Aiding Homeless, Chicago Tribune, Oct. 2,
BORE GR Rhea he kk ede s ROE ee eke 3

Chad Rubel, Papers Sold by Homeless Reach for
Wider Audience, Marketing News, Sept. 25, 1995,
OR BE oko accesses dvisdeswin benee eee easel les 3

Paul Shepard, Final Call Sales Force Driving Legal
Debate: Police May Ticket the Nation’s News Ven-
dors, but Islam Leaders Say They'll Stay on the
Streets, (Cleveland) Plain Dealer, Dec. 25, 1995,
WE Dh sc wnccnsccesdsncecteseeenndtauenener rein 4, 23

James L. Tyson, Self-Sufficiency is Measure of Chi-
cago Newspaper’s Success, Christian Science
paonen, Ape. 14, TPR, OF Rowan cckss se cv cs Cisecges 3

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioners respectfully request that a writ of cer-
tiorari issue to review the judgment and opinion of the
United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit in
this proceeding.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals,
review of which is sought by this petition, is reported as
Northeast Ohio Coalition for the Homeless v. City of Cleve-
land, 105 F.3d 1107 (6th Cir. 1997) (hereinafter, “the Opin-
ion”). It is reprinted in the appendix to this petition at
page App. 1. The Opinion reversed a decision by the
United States District Court for the Northern District of
Ohio, which had granted Petitioners’ request for injunc-
tive relief. The District Court’s opinion is reported at 885
F. Supp. 1029 (N.D. Ohio 1995); it is reprinted at App. 12.

The Sixth Circuit’s unpublished order of April 10,
1997, denying Petitioners’ request for rehearing and sug-
gestion for rehearing en banc, is reprinted at App. 25.

e

JURISDICTION

The Sixth Circuit’s Opinion was issued on February
3, 1997. See App. 1. Petitioners timely filed a Petition for
Rehearing and Suggestion for Rehearing En Banc, which
the Sixth Circuit denied on April 10, 1997. See App. 25.
This Court has jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. section
1254(1).

THE CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AT ISSUE
Constitution of the United States, Amendment I:

Congress shall make no law respecting an estab-
lishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exer-
cise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech,
or of the press, or the right of the people peace-
ably to assemble, and to petition the Govern-
ment for a redress of grievances.

Constitution of the United States, Amendment XIV, Section 1:

All persons born or naturalized in the United
States and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are
citizens of the United States and of the State
wherein they reside. No State shall make or
enforce any law which shall abridge the privi-
leges or immunities of citizens of the United
States; nor shall any State deprive any person of
life, liberty, or property, without due process of
law; nor deny to any person within its jurisdic-
tion the equal protection of the laws.

+

THE ORDINANCE AT ISSUE

The provisions of Chapter 675 of the Codified Ordi-
nances of Cleveland, Ohio are reprinted in the appendix
to this petition, commencing at App. 26. Among those
provisions, section 675.02(c)(3) is the specific target of
this First Amendment challenge. It imposes “an annual
license fee of fifty dollars” (App. 29), which must be paid
by all who engage in “peddling” (App. 28). “Peddling” is
defined as:

selling, bartering, or offering or exposing for
sale or barter any goods, wares, merchandise,

menial tasks, such as painting numbers on
curbs, food or beverages from, in, upon, along,
or through the highways, streets, or sidewalks
of the City, or in the open air or from a tempor-
ary shelter or vending device upon private
property in the City.

Codified Ordinances of Cleveland, Ohio, section
675.01(a)(2) (App. 26-27).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This is a case about the power of municipalities to
erect steep cost barriers to the sidewalk distribution of
political and religious “street”! newspapers. Petitioners

1 The sidewalk sale of “street” newspapers is a growing
phenomenon in American cities. See Larry Dum, Papers for
Homeless Offer Needy a Leg Up, N.Y. Times, March 31, 1997, at D7.
There are now more than 70 such newspapers in communities of
all sizes nationwide. Id. Most of them have an editorial focus on
homelessness - and are sold by the homeless as a means of
maintaining their individual sustenance. See Hillary Chura,
Homeless Newspapers Help Two Ways: Publications Inform Street
People and Also Employ Them to Sell the Newspapers, Austin
American-Statesman, Sept. 28, 1996, at D2; Jon Anderson,
Homeless Press Grows with Need; Publications’ Base Expands with
Poor, Chicago Tribune, Aug. 19, 1996, at B1; Don Jacobson, Street
Newspapers Band Together, United Press International, Aug. 18,
1996; James L. Tyson, Self-Sufficiency is Measure of Chicago
Newspaper’s Success, Christian Science Monitor, April 11, 1996, at
A3; Tim Jones, Reader Guilt, Vendor Talent Propel Paper; Streetwise
Becomes Nation's Largest Street Publication Aiding Homeless,
Chicago Tribune, Oct. 2, 1995, at C1; Chad Rubel, Papers Sold by

Northeast Ohio Coalition for the Homeless (“NEOCH”),
Richard Clements, Fruit of Islam of Muhammad’s
Mosque No. 18 (“Fruit of Islam”), and Steven D. Hill seek
Supreme Court review of the Opinion below because it
leaves street newspapers vulnerable to regulatory erad-
ication.

The material facts are undisputed.?

NEOCH is a non-profit advocacy group for the
homeless. It publishes a newspaper known as The Home-
less Grapevine, which is distributed exclusively by home-
less and destitute people. NEOCH’s purpose in
publishing the Grapevine is twofold: to publicize the
plight of the homeless, and to provide homeless persons
with a vehicle for maintaining their individual suste-
nance. Those who distribute the Grapevine obtain copies
from NEOCH for ten cents apiece. They distribute the
newspaper on public sidewalks, offering it to passers-by

Homeless Reach for Wider Audience, Marketing News, Sept. 25,
1995, at 12.

The Final Call, a newspaper that disseminates the religious
and political views of Minister Louis Farrakhan and the Nation
of Islam, is likewise sold on public sidewalks in major cities
nationwide. Paul Shepard, Final Call Sales Force Driving Legal
Debate; Police May Ticket the Nation’s News Vendors, but Islam
Leaders Say They'll Stay on the Streets, (Cleveland) Plain Dealer,
Dec. 25, 1995, at B1.

2 All record references are to the District Court’s opinion.
The following factual account is drawn directly from that
opinion, and was described by the district judge as containing
“[t]he undisputed and material facts.” 885 F. Supp. at 1030
(App. at 13).

for a suggested donation of one dollar each. The distribu-
tors retain all proceeds received in this fashion. 885 F.
Supp. at 1030 (App. at 13).

Fruit of Islam is a non-profit membership organiza-
tion affiliated with the Nation of Islam. Its members
disseminate the Nation of Islam's political and religious
message by selling a newspaper known as The Final Call.
Copies are sold on public sidewalks for one dollar apiece.
Fruit of Islam members retain only thirty cents per copy;
they remit the remainder to their mosque. Since they
must also donate fifty dollars per month to the mosque,
Fruit of Islam members earn only a subsistence living by
distributing the paper. 885 F. Supp. at 1030 (App. at
13-14).

Respondent City of Cleveland (“the City”) requires
all “peddlers” to secure a permit, obtainable only through
advance payment of a fifty-dollar fee.3 Grapevine and
Final Call distributors are financially unable to pay this
fee, and NEOCH cannot afford to procure licenses for its
distributors.* If the City persists in enforcing the chal-
lenged ordinance, NEOCH will be unable to distribute its
newspaper in Cleveland. 885 F. Supp. at 1030-31 (App. at
14).

3 Codified Ordinances of Cleveland, section 675.02(c)(3),
App. at 29.

* As the District Court observed: “Cleveland does not
dispute that the Coalition’s and the Mosque’s individual
distributors are unable to afford the license fee, nor does the city
dispute that the Coalition cannot afford to procure a license on
behalf of all its distributors.” 885 F. Supp. at 1034 (App. at 22).

Richard Clements and Steven Hill - Grapevine and
Final Call distributors, respectively - have each been
arrested at least once for “peddling” their newspapers
without the required license. Mr. Hill, in fact, has been
prosecuted several times for violating the challenged
ordinance. 885 F. Supp. at 1031 (App. at 14).

To identify the “administrative costs” associated with
its licensing system, the City offered only one piece of
evidence — an expense list that accounts for only forty-
three of the fifty dollars it collects per permit:

Application Process: $ 7.64
Supervisory Costs: $26.74
License Issuance: $ 2.25
Miscellaneous Paper Costs: $ .28
Annual Field Maintenance: $ 6.09
TOTAL: $43.00

The City offered no further explanation of the costs asso-
ciated with its licensing system. 885 F. Supp. at 1031
(App. at 14).

On May 3, 1995, the U.S. District Court for the North-
ern District of Ohio granted Petitioners’ request for
injunctive relief. It held that the City, by enforcing its
license fee against Grapevine and Final Call distributors,
was in violation of the First Amendment. App. at 12. On
February 3, 1997, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Sixth
Circuit reversed. App. at 1. Petitioners timely filed a
Petition for Rehearing and Suggestion for Rehearing En
Banc, which the Sixth Circuit denied on April 10, 1997.
App. at 25.

REASONS FOR GRANTING
THE WRIT OF CERTIORARI

By upholding the imposition of a flat, fifty-dollar-
per-vendor license fee as a precondition to the sidewalk
distribution of political and religious “street” news-
papers, the Sixth Circuit has flouted 54 years of First
Amendment precedent — including this Court’s control-
ling decisions in Murdock v. Pennsylvania and Follett v.
Town of McCormick.© Time and time again in American
history, municipalities have employed such license fees to
discourage sidewalk sales of newspapers, books, and
pamphlets by a veritable Who’s Who of unpopular
groups: Jehovah’s Witnesses,” Black Panthers,® anti-war

> 319 U.S. 105 (1943) (rejecting - under the First
Amendment - the application of a peddler’s license fee to
sidewalk and house-to-house sales of religious literature by
Jehovah’s Witnesses).

6 321 U.S. 573 (1944) (rejecting - under the First
Amendment - the application of a peddler’s license fee to
sidewalk and house-to-house sales of religious literature by
Jehovah’s Witnesses).

7 Murdock v. Pennsylvania, 319 U.S. 105 (1943) (see supra
footnote 5); Follett v. Town of McCormick, 321 U.S. 573 (1944) (see
supra footnote 6); Zimmerman v. Village of London, 38 F. Supp. 582
(S.D. Ohio 1941) (rejecting — under the First Amendment - the
application of a license fee to door-to-door sales of religious
literature by Jehovah’s Witnesses).

§ Hull v. Petrillo, 439 F.2d 1184, 1185-86 (2d Cir. 1971)
(recognizing that city could not constitutionally apply its
peddler’s license fee to sidewalk sales of the Black Panther
Party’s newspaper - to do so would offend the First
Amendment).

activists,? Socialists,!° and Christian Fundamentalists.!!
Time and time again over the past six decades, courts
have declared these enforcement efforts unconstitu-
tional.}2

This case is no different than the foregoing disputes;
only the unpopular groups have changed. Targeted for
suppression here are the twin pariahs of the Nineties: the
homeless and the Nation of Islam. Their fate should have
been no different than that of their predecessors. But the
Sixth Circuit flouted Murdock’s mandate. Its Opinion is
literally unprecedented: Neither the Sixth Circuit nor the
City has managed to cite a single case upholding the
application of a peddler’s license fee as a precondition to
the sidewalk distribution of printed matter.

9 Gall v. Lawler, 322 F. Supp. 1223 (E.D. Wis. 1971) (rejecting
— under the First Amendment - the application of a peddler’s
license fee to sidewalk sales of an “underground” newspaper).

10 City of Bowling Green v. Lodico, 11 Ohio St. 2d 135, 228
N.E.2d 325 (1967) (rejecting — under both the First Amendment
and Article I, section 11 of the Ohio Constitution - the
application of a peddler’s license fee to sidewalk sales of Young
Socialist magazine, because city official possessed unfettered
discretion in issuing the license and because imposition of the
fee constituted an impermissible prior restraint).

11 City of Cincinnati v. Mosier, 61 Ohio App. 81, 22 N.E.2d
418 (1939) (rejecting - under both the First Amendment and
Article I, section 11 of the Ohio Constitution — the application of
a peddler’s license fee to sidewalk sales of religious literature).
Accord: Holy Spirit Association for the Unification of World
Christianity v. Hodge, 582 F. Supp. 592 (N.D. Tex. 1984) (invoking
the First Amendment to strike down, on its face, an ordinance
requiring a fee before one could engage in a charitable
solicitation campaign).

12 See supra footnotes 5-11.

To reach the desired result, they rely instead on
strands of precedent that feature very different facts and
far more lenient levels of First Amendment scrutiny:
cases upholding the regulation of parades!® and charita-
ble solicitations.1* By invoking these alien precedents as if
they were no less applicable than Murdock, the Opinion
imports a new and far more deferential standard for
gauging precisely the type of license fee that Murdock
itself condemned:

The lesson to be gleaned from Cox and Murdock
is that an ordinance requiring a person to pay a
license or permit fee before he can engage in a
constitutionally protected activity does not vio-
late the Constitution so long as the purpose of
charging the fee is limited to defraying expenses
incurred in furtherance of a legitimate state
interest.

13 See App. at 6-8 (relying on Cox v. New Hampshire, 312 U.S.
569 (1941)); App. at 9-10 (relying on Stonewall Union v. City of
Columbus, 931 F.2d 1130 (6th Cir. 1991), cert. denied, 112 S. Ct. 275
(1991)). We will demonstrate that parade cases are entirely
inapplicable to this dispute; see infra footnotes 20-24 and
accompanying text.

14 See App. at 8-9 (relying on Dayton Area Visually Impaired
Persons, Inc. v. Fisher, 70 F.3d 1474 (6th Cir. 1995), cert. denied, 116
S. Ct. 1421 (1996)). The “compelling governmental interest in
preventing fraudulent solicitations,” 105 F.3d at 1110 (App. 8),
has no place in the context of street newspapers. In exchange for
one dollar, those who purchase The Homeless Grapevine and The
Final Call get what they pay for: publications with distinctive
editorial voices. To the extent that government may insinuate
itself into these transactions in the name of rooting out “fraud,”
it may just as likely be on an undeclared mission to stamp out
dissent.

10

App. at 7-8. In one fell swoop, the Opinion blurs Cox and
Murdock, setting aside Murdock’s prohibition against flat
fees imposed as a precondition to sidewalk expression
and replacing it with Cox’s far more lenient test for
parade permits. Thus, even while paying lip service to
Murdock, the Opinion consigns it to oblivion. And it does
so while studiously avoiding the salient question of the
fee’s affordability - on a record in which even the City
concedes that Petitioners cannot afford to pay its fifty-
dollar-per-vendor assessment.

There are four independently sufficient grounds for
granting this request for a writ of certiorari:

a The Opinion contradicts controlling
Supreme Court authority - and, if left
undisturbed, will cast grave doubt on
Murdock’s continued vitality.

II. The Opinion creates an irreconcilable
conflict in the circuits.

III. The Opinion erects unprecedented bar-
riers to sidewalk speech by upholding
the instant fee on a record in which it is
undisputed that Petitioners cannot afford
to pay the fee, and the licensing scheme
that imposes the fee is bereft of an indi-
gency exception.

IV. Across this country, more than seventy
cities have “street” newspapers like those
at issue here. By paving the way for their
eradication, the Opinion has prompted a
free speech conflict of national dimen-
sions.

We will address each of these four grounds in turn.

Neer ree eee ee ere cece eEeEeEeeeeeeeee

11

I. By Holding that Municipalities May Impose a Flat,
Fifty-Dollar-Per-Vendor License Fee as a Precondi-
tion to the Sidewalk Distribution of Political and
Religious “Street” Newspapers, the Opinion Flouts
Fifty Years of First Amendment Precedent — Includ-
ing this Court’s Controlling Decision in Murdock v.
Pennsylvania.

Starting with this Court’s seminal decision in Mur-
dock v. Pennsylvania,15 American courts have consistently
held that a city cannot impose a flat license fee as a
precondition to exercising the First Amendment right to
disseminate ideas on public sidewalks.’ The Opinion
upholds precisely the type of fee that Murdock con-
demned (a flat license fee), in precisely the same context
(as a precondition to expression), barring precisely the
same medium (the printed word) in precisely the same
forum (a public sidewalk). It is objectionable enough that
the Opinion ignores Murdock; but the Opinion also
ignores the fact that this Court recently reaffirmed the
very aspect of Murdock on which Petitioners rely.?7

15 319 U.S. 105 (1943) (rejecting - under the First
Amendment - the application of a peddler’s license fee to
sidewalk and house-to-house sales of religious literature by
Jehovah’s Witnesses). Accord: Follett v. Town of McCormick, 321
U.S. 573 (1944) (rejecting - under the First Amendment - the
application of a peddler’s license fee to sidewalk and house-to-
house sales of religious literature by Jehovah’s Witnesses).

16 See supra footnotes 5-11.

17 Jimmy Swaggert Ministries v. Board of Equalization, 493 U.S.
378, 387 (1990) (observing that the constitutional flaw in the
Murdock and Follett ordinances was that, by imposing a flat
license tax “as a precondition” to the exercise of First
Amendment freedoms, “they operated as prior restraints”)
(emphasis in original).

12

What Murdock condemned, what this Court still con-
demns,!8 and what the Opinion inexplicably upholds is
choking off sidewalk expression in advance by making its
exercise preconditioned on the payment of a flat license
fee. See Murdock, 319 U.S. at 112 (condemning the imposi-
tion of “a flat license tax, the payment of which is a
condition of the exercise of these constitutional privi-
leges”) (emphasis added). Accord: Follett, 321 U.S. at 577
(“The exaction of a tax as a condition to the exercise of the
great liberties guaranteed by the First Amendment is as
obnoxious as the imposition of a censorship or a previous
restraint.”) (citations omitted; emphasis added). Such a
regulatory scheme restrains First Amendment freedoms
in advance and “inevitably tends to suppress their exer-
cise.” Murdock, 319 U.S. at 114. It therefore offends one of
the core purposes of the First Amendment:

The taxes imposed by this ordinance can hardly
help but be as severe and telling in their impact
on the freedom of the press . . . as the “taxes on
knowledge” at which the First Amendment was
partly aimed.

Id. at 114-15.

Since there is no meaningful difference between the
licensing scheme in Murdock and the one at issue here,
and since both schemes share a constitutional flaw that is
still recognized by this Court, the Opinion’s failure to
follow Murdock is insupportable. Accordingly, this Court

18 See supra footnote 17.

13

should either grant review of the Opinion or summarily
reverse it.!9

19 Whether or not the instant newspapers are “sold” to
passers-by is irrelevant for First Amendment purposes. The fact
that a publication is sold rather than given away does not
diminish its First Amendment protection. Murdock, 319 U.S. at
111; City of Bowling Green v. Lodico, 11 Ohio St. 2d 135, 138, 140,
228 N.E.2d 325 (1967); Gall v. Lawler, 322 F. Supp. 1223, 1225
(E.D. Wis. 1971). “It should be remembered,” observed this
Court, “that the pamphlets of Thomas Paine were not
distributed free of charge.” Murdock, 319 U.S. at 111.

Nor is the constitutionality of the ordinance saved by the
fact that it regulates hot dog vendors and newspaper
distributors alike. Murdock, 319 U.S. at 115; Gall, 322 F. Supp. at
1225. In striking down the application of a peddler’s license fee
to sidewalk sales of an “underground” newspaper, the Gall
court observed:

Insofar as the ordinance applies to First Amendment
rights, it is fatally overbroad. The licensing provision
of the ordinance, which might properly apply to a
transient vacuum cleaner salesman, becomes
constitutionally offensive when it is applied to the
distribution of ideas.

322 F. Supp. at 1225. Accord: Murdock, 319 U.S. at 115 (“A license
tax certainly does not acquire constitutional validity because it
classifies the privileges protected by the First Amendment
along with the wares and merchandise of hucksters and
peddlers and treats them all alike. Freedom of press, freedom of
speech, freedom of religion are in a preferred position.”).

ee

14

A. In rejecting Murdock, the Opinion relies
heavily on a line of cases that Murdock itself
distinguished.

Consigning Murdock to oblivion, the Opinion relies
instead on parade cases?° —- even though Murdock itself
distinguished parades from sidewalk expression,?) and
even though the same distinction is made by the very
parade cases that appear in the Opinion.?2 Indeed, both of
the Opinion’s parade cases turn in part on the recognition
that disappointed parade applicants may always avail
themselves of the sidewalk. Thus, the Opinion uses
parade cases to justify heightened barriers to sidewalk
speech, even though those very precedents assume that
public sidewalks will remain freely accessible to prospec-
tive speakers.?4

20 See 105 F.3d at 1109-10 (App. at 6-10) (citing Cox v. New
Hampshire, 312 U.S. 569 (1941) and Stonewall Union v. City of
Columbus, 931 F.2d 1130 (6th Cir. 1991)).

21 Murdock, 319 U.S. at 116 (distinguishing Cox v. New
Hampshire, 312 U.S. 569 (1941)).

22 Cox, 312 U.S. at 575 (observing that prospective speakers
were free to use the sidewalk rather than marching in
formation); id. at 576 (statute was designed to prevent
congestion of public streets); Stonewall Union, 931 F.2d at 1137
(distinguishing streets from sidewalks as fora for speech) (in
justifying heightened fees for use of streets, the Sixth Circuit
here stresses that sidewalks are free and readily available to
prospective speakers).

23 See supra footnote 22.

24 See, e.g., Stonewall Union, 931 F.2d at 1137 (“[I]n the
present case, an alternative forum is available - the Columbus
sidewalks which parallel the streets are free for purposes of
conducting a parade... . ”) (emphasis added); id. (describing

15

B. Left undisturbed, the Opinion will cast grave
doubt on Murdock’s continued vitality.

If the Opinion stands, what is left of Murdock? To
what set of facts does it apply, if not to ours? Does it
serve now only to protect Jehovah’s Witnesses? In rural
Pennsylvania?

This case involves — as did Murdock — the application
of a peddler’s licensing scheme to sidewalk expression,
imposed in the form of a flat fee, and exacted as a
precondition to the sidewalk distribution of printed mat-
ter. Any factual dissimilarity between these cases is, from
a First Amendment perspective, utterly trivial. Thus, the
Sixth Circuit’s refusal to treat Murdock as directly control-
ling is an affront to Murdock’s continued vitality. To dispel
the impression that Murdock is effectively overruled, this
Court should grant the instant petition.

Il. The Opinion Creates an Irreconcilable Conflict in
the Circuits.

The Opinion’s holding stands in sharp contrast to the
Second Circuit’s decision in Hull v. Petrillo, 439 F.2d 1184,
1185-86 (2d Cir. 1971) - thereby creating a conflict in the
federal circuits that justifies Supreme Court review.

In Hull, the Second Circuit was confronted with a
First Amendment controversy effectively identical to the
instant case. At issue was the power of a municipality to
impose a flat, fifteen-dollar-per-vendor peddler’s license

sidewalks and parks as “a constitutionally acceptable
alternative for indigent paraders”).

16

fee as a precondition to the sidewalk sale of the Black
Panther Party’s newspaper. 439 F.2d at 1185. Properly
invoking Murdock, the Second Circuit concluded that the
city could not constitutionally apply its peddler’s license
fee to sidewalk sales of the Black Panther publication — to
do so would offend the First Amendment. Id. at 1185-86.25
In diametrical opposition to the Sixth Circuit’s Opinion,
the Second Circuit observed:

[A]ny fee imposed as a prerequisite to the exer-
cise of the right to communicate ideas on the
public sidewalks is an unconstitutional prior
restraint upon the freedom of expression.

Id. at 1186 (emphasis added). The foregoing quote is
entirely consistent with this Court’s recent reaffirmation
of Murdock and Follett in Jimmy Swaggert Ministries v.
Board of Equalization, 493 U.S. 378, 387 (1990) (observing
that the constitutional flaw in the Murdock and Follett
ordinances was that, by imposing a flat license tax “as a
precondition” to the exercise of First Amendment free-
doms, “they operated as prior restraints”) (emphasis in
original).

25 Accord: Bery v. City of New York, 97 F.3d 689 (2d Cir. 1996)
(striking down, under the First Amendment, the enforcement of
a municipal regulation prohibiting visual artists from selling
their works in public places without a general vendors license)
(by imposing a numerical cap on the availability of such
licenses, leaving a long list of individuals who were thus
effectively barred from engaging in sidewalk expression, the
regulation did not meet the First Amendment’s “narrowly
tailored” requirement, nor did it leave open ample alternative
channels of communication), cert. denied, 65 U.S.L.W. 3798 (U.S.
1997).

17

Since the Opinion creates an irreconcilable conflict
between the Sixth and Second Circuits on an important
First Amendment question, this Court should grant Peti-
tioners’ request for a writ of certiorari.

III. The Opinion Erects Unprecedented Barriers to
Sidewalk Speech by Upholding the Instant Fee in
the Face of these Undisputed Facts: Petitioners Are
Either Homeless Persons or Indigent Proselytizers
for the Nation of Islam Who Cannot Afford to Pay
the Fee, and the Licensing Scheme that Imposes
the Fee is Bereft of an Indigency Exception.

The Opinion treats the challenged fee as a legitimate
time, place, or manner regulation - even though it is
really a forum-access admission price, one that makes the
exercise of First Amendment freedoms contingent on
one’s ability to pay. Here, the Opinion willfully ignores
the most important fact in the case (an undisputed fact, at
that): namely, that Petitioners cannot afford the flat fee
imposed by the City.76 By leaving this critical fact out of
its analysis, and by ignoring the whole question of afford-
ability, the Opinion gives local government carte blanche
to raise forum-access fees. In the analysis employed by
the Opinion, the upward growth of such fees is limited
only by the administrative cost estimates that are offered
to support them. The Opinion even indulges a vague

26 885 F. Supp. at 1030-31 (App. at 14); id. at 1034 (App. at
22). See supra footnote 4 and accompanying text.

18

reference to inflation as supporting an otherwise inexpli-
cable gap between the City’s estimate and its fee.?7

Speech regulations that impose steep barriers of
affordability have been constitutionally suspect for more
than fifty years. As this Court observed in Murdock, the
state may not impose a charge for the enjoyment of a
right granted by the Constitution;8 nor may it render the
exercise of a constitutional right contingent on one’s abil-
ity to pay.?? As the Second Circuit observed in Hull v.
Petrillo:

The ability to pay is not a legitimate criterion for
the state to employ in determining who is to
express his views on its streets and who is not.%°

This is especially critical when the issue is access to the
sidewalk — the last bastion of free expression for impov-
erished speakers. In upholding a fifty-dollar fee for
access to the sidewalk, the Sixth Circuit cites its own
decision in Stonewall Union v. City of Columbus, 931 F.2d

27 See the District Court’s opinion, 885 F. Supp. at 1031
(App. at 14), where the judge notes that the City’s admin-
istrative costs are substantially less — in fact, 14% less —- than the
fee it actually imposes. Though the City explains this disparity
as inevitably justified by rising costs, it would be odd indeed if
an otherwise unconstitutional permit fee could be redeemed by
the happenstance of inflation.

28 Murdock, 319 U.S. at 113.
29 Id. at 111.
30 439 F.2d 1184, 1186 (2d Cir. 1971).

19

1130 (6th Cir. 1991).31 But Stonewall Union, in rejecting an
affordability requirement for parade fees, specifically cited
public sidewalks as an alternative forum for indigent
speakers. Id. at 1137. Thus, the Opinion contradicts the
very Sixth Circuit decision on which it places the greatest
reliance.

The Opinion is especially offensive to free speech
principles because, in upholding steep cost barriers to
sidewalk expression, it does so on a record in which the
City concedes that Petitioners cannot pay the required
fee.32 By subjecting these particular newspapers to the City’s
license fee, the Opinion paves the way for their demise.
This is because the Grapevine is distributed exclusively by
homeless and destitute individuals; when directed at
them, the fifty-dollar fee might just as well be a flat
prohibition against distributing the newspaper at all.
Likewise, The Final Call is distributed exclusively by
young Fruit of Islam members who, just like the

31 See 105 F.3d at 1110 (App. at 9-10).

32 As the District Court observed: “Cleveland does not
dispute that the Coalition’s and the Mosque’s individual
distributors are unable to afford the license fee, nor does the city
dispute that the Coalition cannot afford to procure a license on
behalf of all its distributors.” 885 F. Supp. at 1034 (App. at 22).

33 885 F. Supp. at 1030 (App. at 13).

20

Jehovah’s Witnesses in Murdock,** keep only a fraction of
their sales proceeds, turn over most of their money to the
Mosque, and therefore maintain only a subsistence liv-
ing.*> Since a peddler’s license is beyond the reach of the
very people who distribute these newspapers, their circu-
lation is gravely threatened by the enforcement of this
licensing scheme.

From a First Amendment perspective, thwarting a
paper’s distribution is no different than halting its pub-
lication:

[An] ordinance cannot be saved because it
relates to distribution and not to publication.
Liberty of circulating is as essential to [First
Amendment] freedom as liberty of publishing;
indeed, without the circulation, the publication
would be of little value.

Lovell v. City of Griffin, 303 U.S. 444, 452 (1938).

To survive First Amendment scrutiny, a licensing
scheme of the sort imposed here must at least contain an

34 319 U.S. at 107 n.2 & 109 n.7 (noting that “colporteurs” of
the Jehovah’s Witness faith must purchase the books and
pamphlets they sell, may retain only half of their sales proceeds,
and must pay all of their traveling and living expenses with the
funds they are permitted to retain).

35 885 F. Supp. at 1030 (App. at 13-14).

21

exception for indigent speakers;>* but the ordinance here
is bereft of an indigency exception.*”

By ignoring the foregoing authorities, and by ignor-
ing the record before it, the Sixth Circuit has erected
unprecedented barriers of cost to sidewalk expression.
Accordingly, its Opinion should be subjected to Supreme
Court review.*®

36 Invisible Empire Knights of the Ku Klux Klan v. City of West
Haven, 600 F. Supp. 1427, 1435 (D. Conn. 1985) (successful First
Amendment challenge by KKK to an ordinance that required
prospective speakers to purchase a permit for use of a public
park — the permit scheme’s invalidity stemmed in part from the
lack of an indigency exception for impoverished speakers)
(“Even if the city were allowed to impose costs of police
protection on permit applicants, section 5L makes no provision
for applicants who, by reason of indigency, cannot provide the
necessary financial security. It has been well established in
recent years that the exercise of fundamental constitutional
rights cannot be conditioned upon an individual’s wealth. To
the extent that section 5L requires payment of a bond for costs to
those who can demonstrate their inability to obtain such a bond,
it is declared unconstitutional.”) (citations omitted). Accord:
Central Florida Nuclear Freeze Campaign v. Walsh, 774 F.2d 1515,
1523-24 (11th Cir. 1985) (striking down ordinance that required
persons wishing to demonstrate in city streets and parks to
prepay amount of costs for police protection — in part because it
denied indigent persons who wished to exercise their First
Amendment rights of speech and assembly, but who were
unable to pay such costs, an equal opportunity to be heard, and
the ordinance contained no indigency exception).

37 See Codified Ordinances of Cleveland, sections 675.02,
675.04, 675.99 (App. at 28, 30, 43).

38 The instant fee is constitutionally vulnerable on yet
another ground: As the District Court correctly held below
(App. at 19-20), the fifty-dollar license fee is not even reasonably
related to the cost of defraying legitimate government expenses,

22

IV. Across this Country, More than Seventy Cities
Have “Street” Newspapers Like Those at Issue
Here. By Paving the Way for Their Eradication, the
Opinion has Prompted a Free Speech Conflict of
National Dimensions.

The Opinion represents a special threat to “street”
newspapers — publications that are sold on sidewalks
nationwide by the homeless?? and the Nation of

because the fee serves almost exclusively to defray nothing
more than the cost of its own collection. Referring to the City’s
own cost breakdown (App. at 14), only a small portion of the
fifty-dollar license fee —- the $6.09 spent on “Annual Field
Maintenance” — seems to be linked in any way to the regulation
of the secondary effects of expression. The bulk of the costs
involved — for the application process ($7.64), unspecified
“Supervisory Costs” ($26.74), and license issuance ($2.25) -
seem related only to the cost of issuing the license itself. And
despite the fact that the fee totals fifty dollars, Cleveland can at
best account for only forty-three dollars of its use (App. at 14),
asserting in passing that the disparity between what is collected
and what is spent by now must have closed with rising costs.
Respondent’s Sixth Circuit Brief at 5. It would be odd indeed if
an otherwise unconstitutional permit fee could be redeemed by
the happenstance of inflation. But it should take more than
inflation to save Cleveland’s fee. Even assessed in the most
charitable light, as a restriction reasonably related to the
administrative cost of policing the harm it seeks to regulate, the
permit fee in question is —- even by the City’s own reckoning -
larger than the sum of the nebulous costs it is alleged to cover,
and the vast majority of the money collected is in no way
directed to “the problems with which the police power of the
state is free to deal.” Murdock, 319 U.S. at 116. Accordingly, the
District Court correctly held the fee to be unrelated to any
legitimate purpose, and justified solely as a means of
supporting the mechanism of its own collection.

39 See supra footnote 1.

23

Islam.#° Indeed, more than seventy*! American cities
have street newspapers like those at issue here. If the
Opinion is left undisturbed by this Court, municipalities
across the country will be armed with a potent new
weapon for eradicating such newspapers. Since they are
distributed solely on public sidewalks and solely by indi-
gent people, street newspapers are particularly vulner-
able to the sort of pre-distribution license fee that the
Opinion upholds - especially because, in the Opinion’s
wake, such fees may be imposed regardless of their
affordability.42

Given the broad proliferation of street newspapers
and the regulatory choke-hold to which the Opinion sub-
jects them, this case presents a First Amendment contro-
versy of national dimensions. Accordingly, this Court
should grant Petitioners’ request for a writ of certiorari.

¢

CONCLUSION

A municipality may not impose a flat, fifty-dollar-
per-vendor license fee as a precondition to the sidewalk

40 The Final Call, which disseminates the religious and
political views of Minister Louis Farrakhan and the Nation of
Islam, is sold on public sidewalks in major cities nationwide.
Paul Shepard, Final Call Sales Force Driving Legal Debate; Police
May Ticket the Nation’s News Vendors, but Islam Leaders Say They'll
Stay on the Streets, (Cleveland) Plain Dealer, Dec. 25, 1995, at B1.

41 Larry Dum, Papers for Homeless Offer Needy a Leg Up, N.Y.
Times, March 31, 1997, at D7 (“[T]here are now more than 70
newspapers for the homeless in communities of all sizes
nationwide ... ”).

42 See supra section III of this petition.

24

distribution of political and religious “street” newspapers. By
holding otherwise, the Sixth Circuit has simply refused to
follow this Court’s controlling decision in Murdock v. Pennsyl-
vania. Its Opinion is all the more offensive to the First
Amendment - and all the more threatening to “street” news-
papers generally — because the Sixth Circuit upheld the fee
on a record that contains these undisputed facts: The news-
papers here are distributed either by homeless persons or
indigent proselytizers for the Nation of Islam who cannot
afford to pay the fee, and the licensing scheme that imposes
the fee is bereft of an indigency exception.

Accordingly, Petitioners request that this Court either
grant their petition for a writ of certiorari or summarily
reverse the ruling below.

Respectfully submitted,

Kevin Francis O’NEILL

Of Counsel: ACLU Cooperating

Davip GOLDBERGER P wenn 4 ,

ACLU Cooperating ssistant Professor of Law

Attorne Cleveland-Marshall
J College of Law

The Ohio State University olleg .
Cleveland State University

College of Law can facta A

Clinical Programs 1 Euclid Avenue

Cleveland, Ohio 44115

55 West 12th Avenue :
Columbus, Ohio 43210 (216) 687-5282
(614) 292-6821 Counsel of Record
Joan M. ENGLUND RAYMOND VASVARI
Legal Director ACLU Cooperating
American Civil Liberties Attorney

Union of Ohio 1300 Bank One Center

Foundation, Inc. 600 Superior Avenue East

1266 W. 6th St., Suite 200 Cleveland, Ohio 44114-2650
Cleveland, Ohio 44113-1353 (216) 522-1925
(216) 781-8639

Attorneys for Petitioners

App. 1

NORTHEAST OHIO COALITION
FOR THE HOMELESS, et al.,
Plaintiffs-Appellees,

v.
CITY OF CLEVELAND, Defendant-Appellant.

Nos. 95-3665, 95-4016
United States Court of Appeals,
Sixth Circuit.

Argued Sept. 23, 1996.
Decided Feb. 3, 1997.

Nonprofit organizations brought declaratory judg-
ment action against city challenging constitutionality of
city ordinance requiring payment of $50 license fee for all
peddlers within city. The United States District Court for
the Northern District of Ohio, Ann Aldrich, J., 885
F.Supp. 1029, enjoined enforcement of ordinance. City
appealed. The Court of Appeals, Alan E. Norris, Circuit
Judge, held that license fee imposed by city ordinance
requiring street peddlers to register with city was not
impermissible prior restraint of speech under First
Amendment or Ohio Constitution.

Reversed and remanded.

Raymond V. Vasvari, Kevin F. O’Neill (argued and
briefed), Cleveland-Marshall College of Law, Visiting
Assistant Professor of Law, Cleveland, OH, for Plaintiffs-
Appellees.

Charles E. Hannan, Jr. (argued and briefed), City of
Cleveland Law Department, Office of. Director of Law,
Cleveland, OH, for Defendant-Appellant.

App. 2

Before: NORRIS, SUHRHEINRICH, and
BATCHELDER, Circuit Judges.

ALAN E. NORRIS, Circuit Judge.

In this consolidated appeal, defendant, the City of
Cleveland, challenges the district court’s order granting
summary judgment to plaintiffs, the Northeast Ohio
Coalition for the Homeless (“Coalition”), Richard Clem-
ents, Fruit of Islam of Muhammad’s Mosque No. 18
(“Mosque”), and Steven D. Hill, and permanently enjoin-
ing the enforcement of a City of Cleveland ordinance
requiring all ,:eddlers to pay a license fee. The city also
challenges the district court’s subsequent order awarding
attorney’s fees to plaintiffs pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1988.
For the following reasons, we reverse both of the district
court’s orders and remand with instructions to enter sum-
mary judgment in favor of the city.

I.

Plaintiffs bring this action pursuant to 42 U.S.C.
§ 1983, he [sic] free speech provision of the Ohio Consti-
tution, Ohio Const, art. I, § 11, and the Declaratory Judg-
ment Act, 28 U.S.C. §§ 2201-2202. They challenge the
constitutionality of a Cleveland ordinance regulating
peddling on public property. The material facts of the
case are not in dispute. Cleveland Codified Ordinance
§ 675.02(a) requires that every person who engages in
peddling anywhere in the city be in possession of a
peddler’s license.! Section 675.02(c)(3) states that each

1 The ordinance defines “peddling” broadly to include

App. 3

applicant for such a license must pay an annual fee of
fifty dollars to cover the expenses incident to processing
the application and supervising the licensee. In return for
the fee, each applicant receives the license itself, contain-
ing his name and address, a detailed description of the
goods he is authorized to sell, and a license number and
expiration date, as well as a laminated identification card
containing his photograph. See § 675.03(a)-(b). Section
675.03(a) states that the peddler must wear the identifica-
tion card and carry the license on his person whenever he
is engaged in peddling. In 1989, the cost to the city of
administering the licensing program was forty-three dol-
lars per license issued.

The Coalition is a nonprofit organization dedicated
to addressing the needs of homeless citizens. To publicize
the plight of the homeless and to provide homeless indi-
viduals with a means for soliciting charitable contribu-
tions, the Coalition publishes a periodic newspaper called
The Homeless Grapevine. The Grapevine is distributed
exclusively by homeless and destitute individuals who
obtain copies of the paper from the Coalition for ten cents
each and then offer them to passers-by on public side-
walks for a suggested donation of one dollar. The distrib-
utors may retain all of the donations they receive.

“selling, bartering, or offering or exposing for sale or barter any
goods, wares, merchandise, menial tasks, such as painting
numbers on curbs, food or beverages from, in, upon, along, or
through the highways, streets, or sidewalks of the City, or in the
open air or from a temporary shelter or vending device upon
private property in the City.” See § 675.01(a)(2).

App. 4

The Mosque is a nonprofit membership organization
affiliated with the Nation of Islam. Its members dissemi-
nate the Nation of Islam’s religious and political beliefs
by selling copies of a newspaper known as The Final Call.
Members sell the newspapers on public sidewalks for one
dollar per copy. Of the one dollar they collect for each
copy of the paper, members retain thirty cents, remitting
the remainder to the Mosque. In addition, members must
donate fifty dollars a month to the Mosque. Plaintiffs
Clements and Hill have been arrested in the past for
distributing the Grapevine and Final Call without ped-
dler’s licenses.

On September 27, 1994, plaintiffs brought this action
in the United States District Court for the Northern Dis-
trict of Ohio, challenging the license fee ordinance under
both the United States and Ohio constitutions, and seek-
ing declaratory and injunctive relief. Plaintiffs filed a
motion for summary judgment, and the city filed a cross-
motion for summary judgment. On May 3, 1995, the
district court addressed the constitutionality of the
§ 675.02(c)(3) license fee requirement. Concluding that
the city failed to adequately articulate a purpose for its
peddlers’ ordinance, the court characterized the license
fee as a flat tax which serves only “to defray the expenses
of the licensing provision itself.” Northeast Ohio Coalition
for the Homeless v. City of Cleveland, 885 F.Supp. 1029, 1033
(N.D.Ohio 1995). Relying upon Murdock v. Pennsylvania,
319 U.S. 105, 63 S.Ct. 870, 87 L.Ed. 1292 (1943), and Follett
v. Town of McCormick, S.C., 321 U.S. 573, 64 S.Ct. 717, 88
L.Ed. 938 (1944), the court concluded that the fee consti-
tuted an impermissible prior restraint on speech under
both the United States and Ohio constitutions. 885

App. 5

F.Supp. at 1034. Accordingly, the district court granted
plaintiffs’ motion for summary judgment, denying the
city’s cross-motion for summary judgment and perma-
nently enjoining the enforcement of § 675.02(c)(3).

On August 18, 1995, the district court awarded plain-
tiffs attorney’s fees in the amount of $15,628. The city
filed timely appeals from both orders.

Il.

The city contends that the fifty dollar license fee is a
reasonable fee which serves to defray the expenses asso-
ciated with administering an otherwise valid ordinance,
and thus does not violate either the United States or Ohio
constitutions. Since the facts of this case are not in dis-
pute, we review the district court’s grant of plaintiffs’
motion for summary judgment and denial of the city’s
cross-motion for summary judgment de novo. Pinney
Dock & Transp. Co. v. Penn Cent. Corp., 838 F.2d 1445, 1472
(6th Cir.1988).

A. First Amendment

It is well-settled that solicitations to pay or contribute
money to charity involve a variety of speech interests and
are generally entitled to protection under the First
Amendment. See Riley v. Nat'l Fed’n of the Blind of North
Carolina, Inc., 487 U.S. 781, 788-89, 108 S.Ct. 2667, 2673-74,
101 L.Ed.2d 669 (1988); Secretary of State of Maryland v.
Joseph H. Munson Co., 467 U.S. 947, 959-60, 104 S.Ct. 2839,
2848-49, 81 L.Ed.2d 786 (1984); Village of Schaumburg v.
Citizens for a Better Environment, 444 U.S. 620, 632, 100

App. 6

S.Ct. 826, 833-34, 63 L.Ed.2d 73 (1980). It is equally clear
that while the government may not tax the exercise of
constitutionally protected activities, it may restrict the
exercise of such activities by “reasonable time, place, and
manner regulations as long as the restrictions ‘are con-
tent-neutral, are narrowly tailored to serve a significant
government interest, and leave open ample alternative
channels of communication.’ ” United States v. Grace, 461
U.S. 171, 177, 103 S.Ct. 1702, 1707, 75 L.Ed.2d 736 (1983)
(quoting Perry Educ. Ass'n v. Perry Local Educators’ Ass’n,
460 U.S. 37, 45, 103 S.Ct. 948, 955, 74 L.Ed.2d 794 (1983)).
The Supreme Court’s decisions in Cox v. New Hampshire,
312 U.S. 569, 61 S.Ct. 762, 85 L.Ed. 1049 (1941), Murdock v.
Pennsylvania, 319 U.S. 105, 63 S.Ct. 870, 87 L.Ed. 1292
(1943), and Forsyth County v. Nationalist Movement, 505
U.S. 123, 112 S.Ct. 2395, 120 L.Ed.2d 101 (1992), demon-
strate these principles in the context of license fee
requirements. In Cox, the Supreme Court considered the
constitutionality of a state statute requiring marchers to
obtain licenses and to prepay fees of no more than three
hundred dollars a day before they could parade on public
streets. In upholding the validity of the state statute, the
Supreme Court held that the license fee did not offend
the marchers’ First Amendment rights because it was not
a revenue tax, but rather a means to defray the expenses
incident to the administration of the statute, and to the
maintenance of public order during licensed parades. 312
U.S. at 577, 61 S.Ct. at 766. In reaching its conclusion, the
Court noted that “[t]here is no evidence that the statute
has been administered otherwise than in the fair and non-
discriminatory manner which the state court has con-
strued it to require.” Id.

App. 7

In Murdock, decided two years after Cox, a religious
group attacked the constitutionality of a city ordinance
which required it to pay a flat license fee as a condition to
conducting its distribution activities. The Supreme Court
struck down the ordinance as unconstitutional because
the license fee was essentially “a flat tax imposed on the
exercise of a privilege granted by the Bill of Rights.”
Murdock, 319 U.S. at 113, 63 S.Ct. at 875. In referring to
the ordinance, the Court stated:

[T]he issuance of the permit or license is depen-
dent on the payment of a license tax. And the
tax is fixed in amount and unrelated to the
scope of the activities of petitioners or to their
realized revenues. It is not a nominal fee
imposed as a regulatory measure to defray the
expenses of policing the activities in question.

Id. at 113-14, 63 S.Ct. at 875. The Supreme Court distin-
guished the state statute it upheld in Cox, stating that
unlike the statute in Cox, the ordinance challenged in
Murdock was not a “state regulation of the streets to
protect and insure the safety, comfort, or convenience of
the public,” and the license fee “[was] not a nominal one,
imposed as a regulatory measure and calculated to defray
the expenses of protecting those on the streets and at
home against the abuses of solicitors.” Id. at 116, 63 S.Ct.
at 876.

The lesson to be gleaned from Cox and Murdock is
that an ordinance requiring a person to pay a license or
permit fee before he can engage in a constitutionally
protected activity does not violate the Constitution so
long as the purpose of charging the fee is limited to

Se

App. 8

defraying expenses incurred in furtherance of a legiti-
mate state interest. In Forsyth County, 505 U.S. at 123, 112
S.Ct. at 2397-98, the Supreme Court appended an impor-
tant limitation to a government’s ability to recover such
expenses. There, the Court found unconstitutional a city
ordinance which required private groups to pay a license
fee as a condition to engaging in demonstrations on pub-
lic lands. The amount of the license fee was to be fixed by
the county’s Board of Commissioners “in order to meet
the expense incident to the administration of the Ordi-
nance and to the maintenance of public order in the
matter licensed,” but the fee was not to exceed one thou-
sand dollars per day. Id. at 126-27, 112 S.Ct. at 2399-2400.
The Court concluded that the ordinance was not content-
neutral because “[t]he fee assessed will depend on the
administrator’s measure of the amount of hostility likely
to be created by the speech based on its content.” Id. at
134, 112 S.Ct. at 2403.

In the present case, the district court held that the
peddlers’ licensing ordinance constitutes an impermissi-
ble prior restraint on speech because the fifty dollar
license fee is not “tied to defraying the expenses of
administering a valid regulatory scheme, [given that] the
only regulation whose expenses it defrays is that requir-
ing payment of the fee.” 885 FSupp. at 1034. We are
unable to agree with the court’s characterization of the
purpose underlying the ordinance and the license fee.
This court has previously referred to the “compelling
governmental interest in preventing fraudulent solicita-
tions of the very individuals most disposed to contribute
financial support in response to pleas for donations.”
Dayton Area Visually Impaired Persons, Inc. v. Fisher, 70 F.3d

App. 9

1474, 1482 (6th Cir.1995), cert. denied, __ U.S. __, 116
S.Ct. 1421, 134 L.Ed.2d 545 (1996). In addition, the city
has an interest in giving its citizens some assurance that it
can identify and pursue peddlers who do engage in
fraudulent or unlawful conduct. This ordinance, by
requiring street peddlers to register with the city and
wear identification cards while they are engaged in ped-
dling, furthers the aforementioned interests, and the
administrative costs incident to the implementation of an
ordinance embodying compelling governmental interests
are defrayed by the fee.

Plaintiffs argue that a license fee which serves to
defray the expenses of administrating an ordinance that
encroaches on First Amendment rights is permissible
only if the fee is nominal in amount. They rely upon
Murdock, 319 U.S. at 116, 63 S.Ct. at 876, for this proposi-
tion. We have previously addressed this precise issue in
Stonewall Union v. City of Columbus, 931 F.2d 1130 (6th
Cir.1991). In that case, we upheld a Columbus ordinance
that required applicants for parade permits to pay an
eighty-five dollar fee. We specifically held that a more
than nominal permit fee is constitutionally permissible so
long as the fee is “reasonably related to the expenses
incident to the administration of the ordinance and to the
maintenance of public safety and order.” Id. at 1136. In
the present case, the parties do not dispute that in 1989,
the city’s cost of administering the peddlers’ licensing
ordinance was forty-three dollars per permit. Moreover,
there is no evidence that the fees were charged for any
reason other than to defray the costs of administering the
ordinance. Thus, the fifty dollar fee is neither unreason:
able, nor excessive.

App. 10

Like the regulations upheld in Cox and Stonewall,
Cleveland’s peddlers’ ordinance and the license fee it
imposes are narrowly tailored to further a legitimate
governmental interest. The fee is reasonably related to the
costs of administering the ordinance, and the licensing
program helps to prevent fraud by solicitors. In addition,
the program enables the city to offer some protection to
individuals who donate money to street peddlers. More-
over, unlike the fee in Forsyth County, the fifty dollar
license fee in this case is content-neutral - all peddlers
must pay it regardless of the source and nature of the
products they peddle. Accordingly, the city’s fee does not
unduly or impermissibly burden plaintiffs’ First Amend-
ment rights.

Consequently, we hold that the license fee imposed
by Cleveland’s peddlers’ ordinance is a constitutionally
permissible time, place, and manner regulation of expres-
sive conduct.

B. Ohio Constitution

Article I, § 11 of the Ohio Constitution provides in
part: “no law shall be passed to restrain or abridge the
liberty of speech, or of the press.” In Eastwood Mall, Inc.,
v. Slanco, 68 Ohio St.3d 221, 222, 626 N.E.2d 59, 61 (1994),
the Ohio Supreme Court reiterated that the protections
afforded by this clause extend no further than those
provided under the First Amendment to the United States
Constitution. Since the license fee required by Cleve-
land’s peddlers’ ordinance does not constitute an imper-
missible prior restraint of speech under the First

App. 11

Amendment to the United States Constitution, the ordi-
nance does not run afoul of the Ohio Constitution.

Accordingly, the district court erred in granting
plaintiffs’ motion for summary judgment, and in perma-
nently enjoining enforcement of the ordinance. Moreover,
the district court erred in denying the city’s cross-motion
for summary judgment.

Il.

The city further argues that the district court erred in
awarding plaintiffs attorney's fees under 42 U.S.C. § 1988.
In view of our disposition of this appeal, plaintiffs are not
“prevailing parties” as contemplated by § 1988; they are
therefore not entitled to attorney’s fees.

IV.

For the reasons stated above, the district court’s
order granting summary judgment to plaintiffs, denying
defendant’s cross-motion for summary judgment, and
permanently enjoining the enforcement of Cleveland
Codified Ordinance § 675.02(c)(3) is reversed, and this
case is remanded with instructions to enter summary
judgment in favor of the city. Furthermore, the district

court’s order awarding plaintiffs attorney's fees under 42
U.S.C. § 1988 is reversed.

App. 12

NORTHEAST OHIO COALITION
FOR THE HOMELESS, et al., Plaintiffs,

v.
CITY OF CLEVELAND, Defendant.

No. 1:94CV2008,
United States District Court,
N.D. Ohio,

Eastern Division.

May 3, 1995.

Nonprofit organizations challenged constitutionality
of city ordinance requiring payment of $50 license fee for
all peddlers distributing literature in exchange for money.
The District Court, Aldrich, J., held that imposition of a
flat license tax on the dissemination of religious literature
in public by solicitors who seek a donation in return for
publication violates the First Amendment as a prior
restraint on protected speech.

Motion for summary judgment granted.

Kevin F. O’Neill, American Civ. Liberties Union of
Ohio Foundation, Raymond V. Vasvari, Cleveland, OH,
for plaintiffs.

Sharon Sobol Jordon, Charles E. Hannan, Jr., City of
Cleveland, Dept. of Law, Cleveland, OH, for defendant.

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER
ALDRICH, District Judge.

The Northeast Ohio Coalition for the Homeless (the
“Coalition”), Richard Clements, Fruit of Islam of Muham-
-——-———-—— ——nad's Mosque No. 1é{the~Mosque*}, and Steven BD-Thiii—_ —

App. 13

(collectively “plaintiffs”) bring this action pursuant to 42
U.S.C. § 1983, 28 U.S.C. § 2201(a), and the Ohio Constitu-
tion, against the City of Cleveland. The complaint chal-
lenges the constitutionality of Cleveland’s Codified
Ordinances § 675.02(c)(3). This Court has jurisdiction
over the federal question, and supplemental jurisdiction
over the state constitutional claim. Both sides have
moved for summary judgment. For the reasons discussed
below, the plaintiffs’ motion for summary judgment is
granted and the defendant's motion is denied.

I.

The undisputed and material facts follow.

The Coalition is a non-profit organization whose
asserted purpose is to address the needs of homeless
citizens. To this end, it publishes The Homeless Grapevine
to publicize the plight of the homeless and to solicit
charitable contributions for the sustenance of homeless
individuals. The homeless and destitute people who dis-
tribute the paper acquire their copies from the Coalition
for $.10 each. They then offer them to passers-by on
public sidewalks, for a suggested donation of $1.00. The
distributors retain all funds they receive in this fashion.

The Mosque is a non-profit membership organiza-
tion. Its members propagate the Nation of Islam's reli-
gious and political paper, The Final Call. Distributors sell,
on city sidewalks, copies of the paper for $1.00 each; they
retain $.30 of this amount, and remit the remainder to the
Mosque. Because members of the Mosque are expected to
donate an additional $50.00 a month to the Mosque,

ee eae

_

App. 14

distributors earn only a subsistence living through distri-
bution of the paper.

The City of Cleveland requires all “peddlers” to
obtain a permit, which requires payment of a $50.00 fee in
advance. The Coalition, most of its distributors, and most
Final Call distributors are financially unable to pay this
fee. In fact, the Coalition will be unable to distribute its
publication in Cleveland if the city continues to enforce
the challenged ordinance. Richard Clements and Steven
Hill, distributors of The Homeless Grapevine and The Final
Call, respectively, have been arrested at least once for
disseminating their respective publications without the
required license. Hill, in fact, has been prosecuted several
times for violation of the city’s ordinance.

In 1989, the administrative cost of Cleveland’s ped-
dler registration system was $43.00, apparently per per-
mit issued. These costs were allocated as follows:

Application process: $ 7.64
Supervisory costs: $26.74
License issuance: $ 2.25
Miscellaneous Paper Costs: $ .28
Annual Field Maintenance: $ 6.09
TOTAL: $43.00

The City offers no further explanation of the costs
associated with its licensing system.

II.

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 56(c) governs sum-
mary judgment motions and provides: _ _

App. 15

The judgment sought shall be rendered forth-
with if the pleadings, depositions, answers to
interrogatories, and admissions on file, together
with the affidavits, if any, show that there is no
genuine issue as to any material fact and that
the moving party is entitled to a judgment as a
matter of law

Rule 56(e) specifies the materials properly submitted
in connection with a motion for summary judgment:

Supporting and opposing affidavits shall be
made on personal knowledge, shall set forth
such facts as would be admissible in evidence,
and shall show affirmatively that the affiant is
competent to testify to the matters stated therein
_.. The court may permit affidavits to be sup-
plemented or opposed by depositions, answers
to interrogatories, or further affidavits. When a
motion for summary judgment is made and sup-
ported as provided in this rule, an adverse party
may not rest upon the mere allegations or denial
of the adverse party’s pleading, but the adverse
party’s response, by affidavits or as otherwise
provided in this rule, must set forth specific
facts showing that there is a genuine issue for
trial. If the adverse party does not so respond,
summary judgment, if appropriate, shall be
entered against the adverse party.

However, the movant is not required to file affidavits
or other similar materials negating a claim on which its
opponent bears the burden of proof, so long as the
movant relies upon the absence of the essential element
in the pleadings, depositions, answers to interrogatories,
and admissions on file. Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 US.
317,.106 S.Ct. 2548, 91 L.Fd.2d 265 (1986).

App. 16

In reviewing summary judgment motions, this Court
must view the evidence in a light most favorable to the
non-moving party to determine whether a genuine issue
of material fact exists. Adickes v. S.H. Kress & Co., 398 U.S.
144, 90 S.Ct. 1598, 26 L.Ed.2d 142 (1970); White v. Turfway
Park Racing Assn., Inc., 909 F.2d 941, 943-44 (6th Cir.1990).
A fact is “material” only if its resolution will affect the
outcome of the lawsuit. Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477
U.S. 242, 248, 106 S.Ct. 2505, 2510, 91 L.Ed.2d 202 (1986).
Determination of whether a factual issue is “genuine”
requires consideration of the applicable evidentiary stan-
dards. Thus, in most civil cases the Court must decide
“whether reasonable jurors could find by a prepon-
derance of the evidence that the [non-moving party] is
entitled to a verdict.” Id. at 252, 106 S.Ct. at 2512.

Il.

Cleveland Codified Ordinances § 675.01(a)(2) pro-
vides:

“Peddling” means selling, bartering, or offering
or exposing for sale or barter any goods, wares,
merchandise, menial tasks, such as painting
numbers on curbs, food or beverages from, in,
upon, along, or through the highways, streets,
or sidewalks of the City, or in the open air or
from a temporary shelter or vending device
upon private property in the City.

The term “peddler” includes a “solicitor.” C.C.O.
§ 675.01(a)(3). Section 675.02(a) prohibits the practice of
peddling without a license. Section 675.02(c)(3) requires
every person seeking to obtain a license to pay a $50.00
annual fee. The plaintiffs here challenge the imposition of

App. 17

this license under both the federal and Ohio constitu-
tions. Each of these issues is addressed below.

A. Imposition of a flat license tax on the dissemina-
tion of religious literature in public by solicitors who seek
a donation in return for the publication violates the first
amendment as a prior restraint on protected speech. Mur-
dock v. Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, 319 U.S. 105, 63
S.Ct. 870, 87 L.Ed. 1292 (1943); and Follett v. Town of
McCormick, S.C., 321 U.S. 573, 64 S.Ct. 717, 88 L.Ed. 938
(1944). The charitable solicitation of funds in general is
speech wholly within the scope of first amendment pro-
tection. Village of Schaumburg v. Citizens For A Better Envi-
ronment, 444 U.S. 620, 632, 100 S.Ct. 826, 833, 63 L.Ed.2d
73 (1980). In reaching its conclusion, the Murdock court
noted that “[t]he power to tax the exercise of a privilege
is the power to control or suppress its enjoyment.” Mur-
dock, 319 U.S. at 112, 63 S.Ct. at 874. The Court distin-
guished a flat tax or license fee, imposed on the
distribution of a publication, from “a nominal fee
imposed as a regulatory measure to defray the expenses
of policing the activities in question,” and from a fee that
is apportioned. Id., at 113-114, 63 S.Ct. at 875.

A fee limited to the expense incident to the adminis-
tration of a regulatory provision and to the “maintenance
of public order in the matter licensed” does not offend
the first amendment where the regulatory provision itself
is constitutional. Cox v. State of New Hampshire, 312 U.S.
569, 577, 61 S.Ct. 762, 766, 85 L.Ed. 1049 (1941). In Cox,
the Supreme Court upheld a $300 permit fee applied to
requests for permission to conduct a parade or march.
The Court made clear that its decision turned on the
power of the state to regulate its highways against the

App. 18

harms caused by spontaneous marches, and to defray the
expense of that regulation. Id., at 574-575, 61 S.Ct. at 765.
The Court noted that the marchers were not charged for
distributing leaflets, and expressly refused to consider
whether their rights to disseminate written materials
were implicated by the imposition of a fee for a parade
permit. Id., at 571-575, 61 S.Ct. at 764-765.

The Court recently considered its decisions in Mur-
dock and Follett in the context of a generally applicable
sales and use tax imposed on the distribution of religious
materials by a religious organization. Jimmy Swaggart
Ministries v. Board of Equalization of California, 493 U.S.
378, 110 S.Ct. 688, 107 L.Ed.2d 796 (1990). The Court there
upheld against first amendment challenge a sales tax
when imposed on the receipts from sales of religious
materials. The Court reconciled this decision with Mur-
dock and Follett in holding that those decisions invali-
dated only flat licensing taxes that operated as prior
restraints. Id., at 389, 110 S.Ct. at 695. Because the tax at
issue in Jimmy Swaggart Ministries was not imposed at the
time of registration, it did not constitute a prior restraint.
Id., at 390-391, 110 S.Ct. at 696. In addition, the tax was
apportioned, unlike that at issue in Murdock and Follett,
because it was tied to the realized receipts from the sales
of the material in question. Id.

Most of the subsequent federal cases addressing the
imposition of fees as a prerequisite to permission to dis-
tribute leaflets in public have held that such fees are
invalid under Murdock and Follett. See, e.g., Holy Spirit
Association for the Unification of World Christianity v. Hodge,
582 F.Supp. 592 (N.D.Tx.1984) (permit fee applied to
solicitations of charitable contribution and posting of

App. 19

fidelity bond as prerequisite to registration of soliciting
organization held unconstitutional); and Gall v. Lawler,
322 F.Supp. 1223 (E.D.Wisc.1971) (imposition of licensing
fee on distribution of newspaper held invalid because,
inter alia, it constitutes a prior restraint).

Cleveland points to several cases in which licensing
fees were permitted in various contexts in support of the
proposition that, so long as such fees are related to
defraying the administrative expense associated with reg-
ulation, they are constitutionally permissible. Representa-
tive of these cases are Jimmy Swaggart Ministries; Bright
Lights Inc. v. City of Newport, 830 F.Supp. 378
(E.D.Ky.1993); and Center For Auto Safety, Inc. v. Athey, 37
F.3d 139 (4th Cir.1994) None of these decisions is applica-
ble to the facts before this Court.

As discussed above, Jimmy Swaggart Ministries
approved a sales and use tax on the receipts from sales of
religious literature. Unlike the fee imposed here and in
Murdock and Follett, that tax did not constitute a prior
restraint on expression and it was apportioned to the
target’s ability to pay. Jimmy Swaggart Ministries is simply
inapposite here.

The court in Bright Lights Inc. upheld against first
amendment challenge a tax imposed on bars at which
nude dancing was performed. The court found that the
license fee was incident to defraying the administrative
costs of regulating the secondary effects of such establish-
ments, such as the increase in prostitution and related
crimes near the establishments in question.

This tax is clearly distinguishable from the license fee
here. Here, Cleveland -does- not-mainteinthatits fee ts

App. 20

directed to policing secondary effects of distribution of
The Homeless Grapevine and The Final Call. Instead, Cleve-
land maintains that its fee is necessary to defray the
expenses of the licensing provision itself. Cleveland’s
Memorandum In Support of Motion For Summary Judgment,
at 5. This justification is wholly circular. That is, the
challenged ordinance revolves around the mechanism
requiring the collecting of a fee, and the city defends that
mechanism as incident to defraying the costs of that same
regulatory scheme. If this Court found the city’s justifica-
tion sufficient to survive first amendment scrutiny, Mur-
dock and Follett would, in effect, be overruled. This is so
because the Murdock and Follett decisions invalidated the
process of imposing a flat fee in return for a license to
disseminate material where that fee, inter alia, is a general
revenue tax. Simply through the artifice of maintaining
that the fee defrays the cost of collecting the fee, and is
therefore not a general revenue tax but a fee necessary to
defray the costs of regulation, the city would be permit-
ted to circumvent the Murdock and Follett decisions.
While the first amendment certainly countenances the
imposition of nominal fees to defray the costs of permiss-
ible regulation of speech, it does not permit the avoidance
of its command through the sort of bootstrapping Cleve-
land attempts here. Further distinguishing the Bright
Lights Inc. case from that currently before this Court is the
fact that the Bright Lights Inc. court did not address the
prior restraint concerns that were central to the Murdock
and Follett decisions.

The Fourth Circuit, in Athey, approved the imposition
of a sliding-scale fee on organizations wishing to engage
in charitable solicitation. Athey, 37 F.3d at 145. The size of

App. 21

the fee was based on the level of the organization’s
charitable contributions. The purpose of this fee was to
defray the costs of a regulatory scheme aimed at the
prevention of fraud by charitable organizations. Id. This
case is inapposite to the dispute here for two reasons.
First, the fee at issue in Athey was apportioned through
its sliding-scale mechanism. This apportionment was cen-
tral to the court’s holding that the fee satisfied the
requirements of Murdock and Follett as understood by the
Jimmy Swaggart Ministries court. Second, the regulatory
scheme, the costs of which the fee was directed toward
defraying, was directed at combating a specific regula-
tory problem - the prevention of fraud — while that at
issue here is not.

Cleveland also points to a recent Second Circuit deci-
sion in support of its position. See National Awareness
Foundation v. Abrams, 50 F.3d 1159 (2nd Cir.1995).! There,
the court upheld imposition of a flat fee on charitable
organizations that employed professional solicitors. How-
ever, the parties did not dispute the constitutionality of
such a fee. Id., at 1163-1164. Thus, the court did not
address the question at issue here, but rather addressed
the question whether such a fee, assuming its constitu-
tionality, could be imposed not merely to defray adminis-
trative costs but also to defray the costs of enforcing the
regulatory scheme pursuant to which the fee was
imposed. In answering this question in the affirmative,
the court did no more than reject the distinction between

1 The city actually points to the district court judgment the
Second Circuit affirmed. At the time the briefs were filed in this
case, the Second Circuit had not yet decided Abrams.

App. 22

costs tied to the administration of a regulation and those
tied to its enforcement. Id., at 1165-1166. In any event, to
the extent that the Abrams decision can be read to hold
that the imposition of a fee to defray the costs merely of
collecting the fee is constitutional, this Court rejects such
a holding as contrary to Murdock, Follett, and Jimmy Swag-
gart Ministries.

Here, the ordinance in question imposes a $50 fee on
all “peddlers” who seek to distribute literature in return
for money. Cleveland does not dispute that the Coali-
tion’s and the Mosque’s individual distributors are
unable to afford the license fee, nor does the city dispute
that the Coalition cannot afford to procure a license on
behalf of all its distributors. In any event, the city does
not challenge the plaintiffs’ standing to attack the consti-
tutionality of the ordinance on this ground even were all
the plaintiffs able to afford the licensing fee.2 Cleveland
offers nothing to suggest that the fee defrays the expense
of any regulatory system other than that imposing the fee
itself. That is, the fee is justified as necessary to defray
the cost of collecting the fee and issuing a permit after the
fee is paid.

The ordinance is constitutionally infirm not only
because it is not tied to the peddler’s ability to pay - and
thus serves to prevent at least some individuals, such as

* A plaintiff whose first amendment rights are not violated
by a particular provision may nonetheless challenge the law on
overbreadth grounds “by showing that it substantially abridges
the first amendment rights of other parties not before the court.”
Village of Schaumburg v. Citizens For A Better Environment, 444
U.S. 620, 634, 100 S.Ct. 826, 834, 63 L.Ed.2d 73 (1980).

v
&
¥
%
8
&

App. 23

the Coalition and Richard Clements - from distributing
their messages, but also because it is a prior restraint on
speech. This prior restraint is not constitutionally permis-
sible as a fee tied to defraying the expenses of administer-
ing a valid regulatory scheme, because the only
regulation whose expenses it defrays is that requiring
payment of the fee.

Therefore, there are no issues of material fact in
dispute and the plaintiffs are entitled to judgment in their
favor as a matter of law on count one of their complaint.

B. Article I, § 11 oi the Ohio constitution provides in
pertinent part: “no law shall be passed to restrain or
abridge the liberty of speech, or of the press.” “[T]he free
speech guarantees accorded by the Ohio Constitution are
no broader than the First Amendment, and .. . the First
Amendment is the proper basis for interpretation of Sec-
tion 11, Article I of the Ohio Constitution.” Eastwood Mall,
Inc. v. Slanco, 68 Ohio St.3d 221, 626 N.E.2d 59, 61 (1994).
Thus, the foregoing analysis with respect to the first
amendment is applicable with respect to the Ohio consti-
tutional claim as well. See, e.g., City of Bowling Green v.
Lodico, 11 Ohio St.2d 135, 228 N.E.2d 325 (1967)
(invalidating, under federal and Ohio constitutions, ordi-
nance requiring solicitor to obtain license for a fee before
selling magazine on sidewalks, both because city official
possessed unfettered discretion in issuing license and
because imposition of fee constituted impermissible prior
restraint).

Consequently, for the reasons discussed in section
IlI.A. above, there are no disputed issues of material fact

App. 24

and the plaintiffs are entitled to judgment as a matter of
law on count two of their complaint.

IV.

This Court finds that no material facts remain in
dispute and that the plaintiffs are entitled to judgment as
a matter of law on both counts of their complaint.
Accordingly, the plaintiffs’ motion for summary judg-
ment is granted and the defendant’s motion for summary
judgment is denied. This Court enters judgment in favor
of the plaintiffs, declares that Cleveland Codified Ordi-
nances § 675.02(c)(3) violates both the first amendment to
the United States constitution and Article I, section 11 of
the Ohio constitution, and permanently enjoins its
enforcement.

Within ten days of the date of this order, the plaintiffs
shall submit any motion for attorneys’ fees, including all
materials in support of such a motion. The city may
respond within ten days of the plaintiffs’ filing.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

App. 25

Nos. 95-3665 /4016

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

NORTHEAST OHIO COALITION )
FOR THE HOMELESS, ET AL.,

Plaintiffs-Appellees, ORDER

)
)
)

v. ) (Filed Apr. 10, 1997)
CITY OF CLEVELAND,
Defendant-Appellant. )

BEFORE: NORRIS, SUHRHEINRICH, and
BATCHELDER, Circuit Judges.

The court having received a petition for rehearing en
banc, and the petition having been circulated not only to
the original panel members but also to all other active
judges of this court, and no judge of this court having
requested a vote on the suggestion for rehearing en banc,
the petition for rehearing has been referred to the original
panel.

The panel has further reviewed the petition for
rehearing and concludes that the issues raised in the
petition were fully considered upon the original submis-
sion and decision of the case. Accordingly, the petition is
denied.

ENTERED BY ORDER OF THE COURT

/s/ Leonard Green
Leonard Green, Clerk

App. 26

CODIFIED ORDINANCES OF CLEVELAND, OHIO
Chapter 675
PEDDLERS AND PRODUCE DEALERS
675.01 Definitions; Chapter Scope
675.02 Peddler’s License Required; Application
675.03 Peddler’s License: Issuance and Replacement
675.04 Permits Required
675.05 Permit; Peddling on Private Property
675.06 Permit: Zones Within the Central Business District

675.07 Permit; Temporary Sidewalk Occupancy Outside
the Central Business District

675.08 Permit: Mobile Peddling Outside the Central
Business District

675.09 Regulations Governing Peddlers

675.10 Revocation or Suspension of License or Permit;
Appeals

675.11 to 675.14 Reserved
675.99 Penalty

675.01 Definitions; Chapter Scope
(a) For purposes of this chapter:

(1) “Commissioner” means the Commissioner of
Assessments and Licenses.

(2) “Peddling” means selling, bartering, or offering
or exposing for sale or barter any goods, wares, merchan-
dise, menial tasks, such as painting numbers on curbs,
food or beverages from, in, upon, along, or through the

~

App. 27

highways, streets, or sidewalks of the City, or in the open
air or from a temporary shelter or vending device upon
private property in the City.

(3) “Peddler” means any person who engages in
peddling. “Peddler” includes “hawker,” “huckster,” and
“solicitor,” but does not include itinerant vendors or itin-
erant wholesale produce dealers licensed pursuant to
Chapter 682.

(4) “Person” means an individual, corporation,
partnership or association; provided however, that for
purposes of Section 675.02, “person” shall mean a natural
person only.

(5) “Potentially hazardous food” means any food
that consists in whole or in part of milk or milk products,
eggs, meat, poultry, fish, shellfish, edible crustacea, or
other ingredients, including synthetic ingredients, in a
form capable of supporting rapid and progressive micro-
organisims [sic]. The term does not include clean, whole,
uncracked, odor-free shell eggs or foods which have a pH
level of 4.6 or below or a water activity (aw) value of 0.85
or less.

(6) “Sidewalk” means that portion of the street
between the curb lines or the lateral lines of a roadway
and the adjacent property line.

(7) “Street” means street, alley, highway, roadway
or avenue, including all curbs along such streets.

App. 28

(8) “Vending device” means a container for the sale,
display or transport of goods, wares, merchandise, equip-
ment used for menial tasks, food or beverages by a ped-
dler, which container has wheels and is capable of being
moved by one person by muscular power.

(b) Scope of Chapter. The provisions of this chapter
shall not apply to sales made to dealers by commercial
travelers or selling agents in the usual course of business,
to bona fide sales of goods, wares, or merchandise by
samples for future delivery, to sales at trade shows or
conventions, or to sales by charitable organizations in
conjunction with solicitations for charity.

(c) Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to
prohibit the distribution of non-commercial handbills,
cards, leaflets, or other literature upon the sidewalks of
the City. (Ord. No. 532-93. Passed 6-14-93, eff. 6-23-93)

—

675.02 Peddler’s License Required; Application

(a) No person shall engage in peddling anywhere in
the City without a peddler’s license issued pursuant to
Section 675.03. The issuance of a peddler’s license to a
person shall not be deemed to authorize the agents or
employees of such person to peddle without a license.

(b) The application for the license required by divi-
sion (a) of this section shall be made to the Commissioner
upon forms to be prescribed by the Commissioner. The
application shall include the following information:

(1) the name and address of the applicant;

he BIO TE HE

App. 29

(2) a detailed description of the goods, wares, mer-
chandise, food, or beverages which the applicant intends
to sell; and

(3) such other information as the Commissioner
deems necessary to ensure compliance with this chapter.

(c) In addition to the application required by divi-
sion (a) of this section, each applicant for a peddler’s
license shall furnish the following:

(1) two (2) photographs of the applicant taken
within thirty (30) days prior to the date of application
and of a size designated by the Commissioner;

(2) if the applicant will be peddling food or bever-
ages, a copy of the applicant’s food service license; and

(3) an annual license fee of fifty dollars ($50.00)
which shall cover the period commencing August 1 and
ending July 31 of the following year. (Ord. No. 1428-92.
Passed 7-22-92, eff. 7-24-92)

675.03 Peddler’s License: Issuance and Replace-
ment

(a) Upon receipt of a completed application and all
other materials required by Section 675.02, and in the case
of an applicant who intends to peddle focd or beverages,
upon receipt of confirmation by the Director of Public
Health that the applicant is free of communicable disease,
the Commissioner shall issue to the applicant a peddler’s
license and a laminated identification card containing the
applicant’s photograph. The identification card shall be
worn by and the license shall be kept upon the person of

App. 30

the peddler at all times during which the peddler is
engaged in peddling.

(b) The license issued pursuant to division (a) of
this section shall contain the following information:

(1) the peddler’s name and address;

(2) a detailed description of the goods, wares, mer-
chandise, food, or beverages which the peddler is autho-
rized to sell;

(3) the license number and the license expiration
date.

(c) In the event that a licensed peddler loses the
laminated identification card issued pursuant to division
(a) of this section, the Commissioner shall issue a replace-
ment identification card upon payment by the peddler of
a fee of ten dollars ($10.00). (Ord. No. 1428-92. Passed
7-22-92, eff. 7-24-92)

675.04 Permits Required

(a) No person shall engage in peddling upon or
from private property anywhere in the City without a
permit issued in accordance with Section 675.05.

(b) No person shall engage in peddling on the high-
ways, streets or sidewalks within the Central Business
District without a permit issued in accordance with
Chapter 508 or without a permit issued in accordance
with Section 675.06.

(c) No person shall engage in peddling while mov-
ing continuously from place to place on the highways,

App. 31

streets or sidewalks of the Central Business District with-
out a permit issued in accordance with Section 675.06.

(d) No person shall engage in peddling upon or
from a fixed location on a sidewalk outside of the Central
Business District without a permit issued in accordance
with Section 675.07.

(e) No person shall engage in peddling while mov-
ing continuously from place to place on the highways,
streets, or sidewalks outside of the Central Business Dis-
trict without a permit issued in accordance with Section
675.08. (Ord. No. 1670-92. Passed 8-19-92, eff. 8-27-92)

Note: Section 675.04 was enacted by Ord. No.
1428-92, passed 7-22-92, eff. 7-24-92.

675.05 Permit; Peddling on Private Property

(a) The application for the permit required by divi-
sion (a) of Section 675.04 shall be made to the Commis-
sioner upon forms to be prescribed by the Commissioner.
The application shall contain the following:

(1) the peddler’s name, address and peddler’s
license number;

(2) the name and address of the owner of the pri-
vate property upon which the peddler intends to peddle;

(3) if the-peddler is the owner of said private prop-
erty, documentation of the peddler’s ownership, and if
the peddler is not the owner of said private property,
documentation, signed by the property owner, of the
peddler’s right to peddle upon such property;

App. 32

(4) the address of the private property upon which
the peddler intends to peddle; and

(5) a description of the vending device, truck, or
temporary structure, if any, from which the applicant
intends to peddle, including its size.

(b) Upon receipt of a permit application, the Com-
missioner shall notify the Council member in whose ward
the proposed permit location lies that said application
has been received.

(c) If the private property upon which the peddler
intends to peddle is a parking lot subject to the licensing
regulations of Chapter 457, the permit shall provide that
peddling is limited in duration to a maximum period of
five (5) consecutive days on no more than two (2) occa-
sions per calendar year for each parking lot for which a
permit is applied. Furthermore, the permit shall provide
that peddling is permitted only in conjunction with a
carnival, festival or other special event authorized by the
City. Any permit issued prior to the effective date of this
division (c) but not in conformance with the requirements
of this division (c) shall be revoked thirty (30) days after
the effective date of this division (c).

(d) The Commissioner shall refer all permit applica-
tions to the Commissioner of Building and Housing for
review and approval. The Commissioner of Building and
Housing shall not approve any such application unless he
or she finds that no provisions of the City’s Building
Code or Zoning Code will be violated by issuance of the
permit, including without limitation, the following:

(1) set back requirements;

App. 33

(2) use restrictions;

(3) if the peddler intends ta_operate from a “struc-
ture” within the meaning of the Building Code, those
provisions of the Building Code applicable to “struc-
tures”; and

(4) if the peddler intends to operate from private
property that is a parking lot, those portions of the Zon-
ing Code that require that a specified number of parking
spaces be available for the use of particular business.

(e) Upon receipt of a completed application which
has been approved by the Commissioner of Building and
Housing and a permit fee of twenty dollars ($20.00), the
Commissioner of Assessments and Licenses shall issue a
permit which shall cover the period commencing August
1 and ending July 31 of the following year.

(f) The permit shall be kept upon the vending
device, truck, or structure at all times during which the
peddler is engaged in peddling, and shall contain the
following information:

(1) the peddler’s name and address:

(2) the address of the private property upon which
the peddler is authorized to peddle;

(3) the name and address of the owner of such
private property:

(4) a description of the vending device, truck, or
temporary structure, if any, from which peddling is
authorized including its size; and

(5) the permit number and permit expiration date.
(Ord. No. 1427-A-92. Passed 6-14-93, eff. 6-23-93)

App. 34

675.06 Permit: Zones Within the Central Business
District

(a) In addition to the temporary sidewalk occu-
pancy permits issued pursuant to Chapter 508, the Direc-
tor of Public Service is hereby authorized to issue permits
to peddle in zones in the Central Business District estab-
lished by the Director in which the holders of such per-
mits may peddle on such days, at such times of day and
under such conditions as the Director shall determine.
The zones shall be created by regulation taking into
account the following factors:

(1) pedestrian and vehicular traffic patterns, includ-
ing possible congestion during special events and sport-
ing events;

(2) proximity to special events and sporting events
occurring in the Central Business District and at the
lakefront;

(3) proximity to retail establishments; and

(4) such other factors deemed relevant by the Direc-
tor of Public Service.

No food or beverage, except as authorized in the rules
and regulations promulgated pursuant to division (e) of
this section, may be peddled by a person holding a per-

_mit issued in accordance with this division (a).

(b) The application for the permit authorized by
division (a) of this section shall be made to the Director of
Public Service upon forms to be prescribed by said Direc-
tor. The application shall contain the following:

App. 35

(1) the peddler’s name, address, and peddler’s
license number;

(2) a description of the vending device, truck, or
temporary structure, if any, from which the applicant
intends to peddle, including its size;

(3) the zone or zones for which a permit is sought;
and

(4) a description of the items to be peddled.

(c) Upon receipt of a completed application and an
annual permit fee of one hundred dollars ($100.00) per
zone or a daily permit fee of twenty dollars ($20.00), the
Director of Public Service shall issue the appropriate
permit. An annual permit shall cover the period com-
mencing August 1 and ending July 31 of the following
year.

(d) The permit shall be kept upon the vending
device, truck, or structure at all times during which the
peddler is engaged in peddling and shall contain the
following information:

(1) the peddler’s name and address;

(2) a statement of the zone or zones in the Central
Business District to which the peddler is restricted;

(3) a description of the vending device, truck, or
temporary structure, if any, from which peddling is
authorized, including its size; and

(4) the permit number and permit expiration date.

App. 36

(e) The Director of Public Service may issue rules
and regulations to carry out the purposes of this section.
(Ord. No. 1670-92. Passed 8-19-92, eff. 8-27-92)

Note: Section 675.06 was enacted by Ord. No.
1428-92, passed 7-22-92, eff. 7-24-92.

675.07 Permit; Temporary Sidewalk Occupancy
Outside the Central Business District

(a) The application for the permit required by divi-
sion (d) of Section 675.04 shall be made to the Director of
Public Service upon forms to be prescribed by said direc-
tor. Upon receipt of a permit application, the Director of
Public Service shall notify the Council member in whose
ward the proposed permit location lies that said applica-
tion has been received. The application shall contain the
following:

(1) the peddler’s name, address, and peddler’s
license number;

(2) asketch and narrative indicating the location for
which permit application is being made, with sufficient
detail to enable the Director of Public Service to verify the
placement of the temporary vending device in accordance
with the criteria contained in Section 675.09;

(3) a description of the vending device, truck, or
temporary structure, if any, from which the applicant
intends to peddle, including its size; and

(4) a copy of an ordinance of Council specifying the
location described in division (a) (2) of this section and
authorizing the peddler to peddle there from.

PP UMAR Ore AHF,

WT, te OT

App. 37

(b) Upon receipt of a completed application and a
permit fee of twenty dollars ($20.00), the Director of
Public Service shall issue a permit which shall cover the
period commencing August 1 and ending July 31 of the
following year.

(c) The permit shall be kept upon the vending
device, truck, or structure at all times during which the
peddler is engaged in peddling, and shall contain the
following information:

(1) the peddler’s name and address;

(2) the address or description of the location upon
which the peddler intends to peddle;

(3) the number and passage date of the ordinance
described in division (a) (4) of this section;

(4) a description of the vending device, truck, or
temporary structure, if any, from which peddling is
authorized including its size; and

(5) the permit number and permit expiration date.
(Ord. No. 1814-92. Passed 2-22-93, eff. 3-4-93)

675.08 Permit: Mobile Peddling Outside the Cen-
tral Business District

(a) The application for the permit required by divi-
sion (e) of Section 675.04 shall be made to the Director of
Public Service upon forms to be prescribed by said direc-
tor. Upon receipt of a permit application, the Director of
Public Service shall notify the Council member or mem-
bers in whose ward or wards the peddler intends to

App. 38

peddle that said application has been received. The appli-
cation shall contain the following:

(1) the peddler’s name, address, and peddler’s
license number;

(2) a statement that the peddler intends to move
continuously from place to place upon those highways,
streets, or sidewalks that are located outside of the Cen-
tral Business District. The statement shall specify the
ward or wards in which the peddler intends to peddle;

(3) a copy of the ordinance of Council specifying
the ward or wards in which the peddler is authorized to
peddle; and

(4) a description of the vending device, truck, or
temporary structure, if any, from which the applicant
intends to peddle, including its size.

(b) Upon receipt of a completed application and a
permit fee of twenty dollars ($20.00), the Director of
Public Service shall issue a permit which shall cover the
period commencing August 1 and ending July 31 of the
following year.

(c) The permit shall be kept upon the vending
device, truck, or structure at all times during which the
peddler is engaged in peddling and shall contain the
following information:

(1) the peddler’s name and address;

(2) the ward or wards in which the peddler is
authorized to peddle;

(3) the number and passage date of the ordinance
described in division (a) (3) of this section;

App. 39

(4) a description of the vending device, truck, or
temporary structure, if any, from which peddling is
authorized including its size; and

(5S) the permit number and permit expiration date.
(Ord. No. 1428-92. Passed 7-22-92, eff. 7-24-92)

675.09 Regulations Governing Peddlers
(a) For purposes of this section:

(1) “Merchandise” means goods, wares, merchan-
dise, food, or beverages.

(2) “Street” means street, alley, highway, roadway,
or avenue.

(b) No peddler shall sell or display merchandise:
(1) to the occupants of vehicles stopped in traffic;

(2) from any vehicle, structure, or device that is
situated in any portion of a street which is designed or
ordinarily used for vehicular travel; or

(3) at a location or in a manner that hinders or
restricts access to a telephone booth, mail box, parking
meter, police or fire call box, traffic control box, fire
hydrant, or sidewalk elevator, or that blocks, obstructs, or
restricts the free passage of pedestrians or vehicles in the
lawful use of the sidewalks or streets.

(c) Unless the Director of Public Service makes a
determination to the contrary, which determination is
reflected in the location specified on a permit issued in
accordance with this chapter, no peddler shall sell or
display merchandise:

App. 40

(1) at any location where the sidewalk is less than
ten (10) feet in width;

(2) within ten (10) feet of a crosswalk;

(3) within that portion of a sidewalk bounded by
the prolongation of each intersecting abutting property
line to the respective curblines or within ten (10) feet
thereof;

(4) within ten (10) feet of any doorway or the pro-
longation of any doorway width to the curbline; or

(5) within twenty (20) feet of another permitted
location, provided however, that the distance between
locations permitted pursuant to Section 675.06 shall be in
accordance with the rules and regulations promulgated
by the Director of Public Service pursuant to division (e)
of Section 675.06.

(d) No peddler shall display merchandise or place
lines or other devices for the display of merchandise on
any building or on any utility pole, planter, tree, trash
container, or other sidewalk fixture.

(e) A peddler who has received a permit to peddle
upon private property shall not encroach into any street
or sidewalk in any way.

(f) No peddler shall place any merchandise in or
upon any street or sidewalk, and all peddlers shall exer-
cise reasonable care to ensure that their merchandise,
packaging, display equipment or other paraphernalia
does not create a health or safety hazard to customers,
other users of the sidewalks and streets, or persons on

abutting property.

App. 41

(g) No peddler shall leave a vending device unat-
tended at any time, leave a vending device on a sidewalk
between the hours of midnight and 6:00 a.m., or conduct
business on a sidewalk between those hours.

(h) A peddler who has received a permit to peddle
on public property shall obey any lawful order of a police
officer to remove himself and his vending device entirely
from the sidewalk to avoid congestion or obstruction
during an emergency.

(i) A peddler selling food from a vending device
which is required by state law to have a food service
operation license shall:

(1) serve only nonpotentially hazardous foods or
commissary-wrapped foods maintained at proper tem-
peratures, provided that if water systems and handwash-
ing facilities are available, the peddler may prepare and
serve frankfurters and pre-cooked sausages;

(2) operate only from a licensed commissary to
which the peddler takes the vending device daily for
cleaning and servicing.

(j) No peddler shall:
(1) cook food in or on a street or sidewalk;

(2) conduct business without making available a
container suitable for the placement of litter; or

(3) throw or deposit any merchandise, packaging,
containers, fat, grease, paper or other litter on any streets
or sidewalk or in any sewer.

(k) A peddler who is required to move continuously
from place to place shall locate any vending device,

App. 42

equipment and merchandise adjacent and parallel to a
curb when stopped for a sale.

(1) No peddler shall make any loud or unreasonable
noise for the purpose of advertising or drawing attention
to merchandise or for any other purpose.

(m) All peddlers shall comply with all requirements
of state and local law applicable to them, including with-
out limitation the City’s Fire Code. (Ord. No. 1670-92.
Passed 8-19-92, eff. 8-27-92)

Note: Section 675.09-was enacted by Ord. No.
1428-92, passed 7-22-92, eff. 7-24-92

675.10 Revocation or Suspension of License or Per-
mit; Appeals

(a) The Commissioner may at any time revoke or
suspend any license or permit granted by the Commis-
sioner under the authority of this chapter for failure to
comply with the terms of this chapter or with any law,
rule or regulation relating to peddlers or the conduct of
their business.

(b) The Director of Public Service may at any time
revoke or suspend any permit granted by said director
under the authority of this chapter for failure to comply
with the terms of this chapter or with any law, rule or
regulation relating to peddlers or encroachments in the
rights-of-way of the City.

(c) In case of the refusal to issue a license or permit
or the revocation or suspension of a license or permit by
the Commissioner or by the Director of Public Service,
the applicant or licensee may appeal the Commissioner’s

App. 43

or Director’s action to the Board of Zoning Appeals,
established pursuant to Charter Section 76-6. Notice of
such appeal shall be in writing and shall be filed with the
Board within ten (10) days from the date of the Commis-
sioner’s or Director’s action. Within ten (10) days after
the filing of such notice, the Board shall proceed to hear
such appeal, at which hearing all parties interested shall
be afforded an opportunity to be heard. The Board shall
render a decision within ten (10) days of the conclusion of
the hearing. The Board may sustain, disapprove or mod-
ify the Commissioner’s or Director’s action, and the

- Board’s decision shall be final. (Ord. No. 1670-92. Passed

8-19-92, eff. 8-27-92)

Note: Section 675.10 was enacted by Ord. No.
1428-92, passed 7-22-92, eff. 7-24-92.

675.11 to 675.14 Reserved

Note: Former Sections 675.11 through 675.14 were
repealed by Ord. No. 1428-92, passed 7-22-92, eff. 7-24-92.

675.99. Penalty

(a) Whoever violates any of the provisions of this
chapter is guilty of improper peddling, a minor misde-
meanor, and shall be fined one hundred dollars ($100.00).
The fine set forth herein is mandatory and shall not be
suspended by the court in whole or in part. Each day
upon which a violation occurs or continues shall consti-
tute a separate offense and shall be punishable as such
hereunder.

App. 44

(b) In addition to any other method of enforcement
provided for in this chapter, the provisions of division (a)
of this section may be enforced by the issuance of a
citation in compliance with Rule 4.1 of the Ohio Rules of
Criminal Procedure.

(c) If the offender persists in improper peddling
after reasonable warning or request to desist, improper
peddling is a misdemeanor of the first degree. (Ord. No.
137-A-91. Passed 6-17-91, eff. 6-26-91)

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_1046%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
