# Opposition Brief — Chalmers v. Tulon Co. of Richmond

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_0800%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1997
- **Citation:** 522 U.S. 813

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.
24, ££ D

GUN 27 1997

No. 96-1874 :

In THE
Suygrane Goust of te Setteh tates

OCTOBER TERM, 1996

@>)

CHARITA D. CHALMERS,
Petitioner,
A

TULON COMPANY OF RICHMOND,
Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Fourth Circuit

RESPONDENT'S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

Davip E. NAGLE

Counsel of Record
ELLEN DuFFY MCKAY
LECLAIR RYAN
707 East Main Street
Richmond, Virginia 23219
(804) 783-2003
Attorneys for Respondent

Wiison - Eres Peintine Co... Inc. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

R.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Should the prima facie test of a claim for religious
discrimination be modified by eliminatimg the require-
ment that an employee inform her employer of reli-
gious needs requiring accommodation?

Should an employee be permitted to use her religion
as a shield against the consequences of her actions

where the employer had no opportumity to evaluate
the possibility of accommodation?

(i)

ii
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING BELOW
Petitioner: Charita D. Chalmers (Plaintiff-Appellant)
Respondent: Tulon Co. (Defendant-Appellee)

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

Respondent, Tulon Co., is a wholly-owned subsidiary of
Esterline Technologies Corp., a publicly held company
traded on the New York Stock Exchange. No other pub-
licly held entity has a direct financial interest in the out-
come of this litigation.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTIONS. PRESENTED FOR REVIEW i
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING BELOW _.___. ii
CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT... ii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES... v
ee 1
STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION 2
STATEMENT OF THE CASE 0... 2
SUMMARY OF REASONS FOR DENYING THE
WRIT RNS ASE San 8 eee 6
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT... 8

I. THIS COURT DOES NOT HAVE JURISDIC-
TION TO CONSIDER THE PETITION FOR
WRIT OF CERTIORARI... 8

Il. THE PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
SHOULD BE DENIED BECAUSE THE CIR-
CUITS AGREE THAT TO ESTABLISH
A VALID RELIGIOUS ACCOMMODATION ~
CLAIM, A PLAINTIFF MUST FIRST NOTIFY
HER EMPLOYER OF HER RELIGIOUS
BELIEFS. a 9

A. The Circuits Concur With the Fourth Cir-
cuit’s Ruling That Religious Accommodation
Claims Are cancuall Under a Two-Part
Framework 9

(iii)

. | nisl

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

B. The Fourth Circuit’s Ruling That Petitioner
Failed to State a Prima Facie Case of Reli-
gious Accommodation Discrimination Because
She Did Not Notify Her Employer That Her
Religion Required Her to Write Personal Dis-
turbing Letters to Her Co-Workers Is Con-
sistent With the Rulings of Other Circuits....

i

The Conflict in the Circuits Alleged by
Petition Is Illusory, as the Fourth Circuit’s
Decision Does Not Conflict With the Deci-
sions of Other Circuits Diiciesedihidlicticliaies:

The Instant Case Is Analogous to, and
Consistent With, Cases in Which an Em-
ployee Engages in Misconduct, and Only
After Being Disciplined, Notifies the Em-
ployer of Her Religious Need to Engage
WB RRSP IOC Lae Po OLIN

III. THE PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
SHOULD BE DENIED BECAUSE IN TRANS
WORLD AIRLINES v. HARDISON THIS
COURT REJECTED THE NOTION THAT
RELIGIOUS OBSERVERS ARE ENTITLED
TO EXEMPTION FROM WORKPLACE

RULES ... i cabaesila Dialed t-sdhalhedice +

CONCLUSIO

APPENDIX:

Spencer

N Se eee eee

v. North Am. Salt Co., 1997 U.S. App.

LEXIS 601 (10th Cir. January 15, 1997) ...........

Page

11

13

16

20

la

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES Page

Ansonia Bd. of Educ. v. Philbrook, 479 U.S. 60

SE oo et ncaaa 9, 10
Beasley v. Health Care Serv. Corp., 940 F.2d 1085

Cla Se ED nae ee te 7,10, 11
Brown v. Polk County, 61 F.3d 650 (8th Cir. 1995),

cert. denied, —— U.S. —~—, 116 S. Ct. 1042

| ROR ie IS SRA ine EE Akin «be SR eee 18, 15, 16
Cary v. Carmichael, 908 F. Supp. 1834 (E.D. Va.
1995) oat Bre tents Platt A See ao Nae See aay 18
Chalmers v. Tulon Company of Richmond, 101 F. 8d
EE ORIG A acne Ss passim
Chrysler Corp. v. Mann, 561 F.2d 1282 (8th Cir.
1977), cert. denied, 484 U.S. 10389 dulce ebiaas 12, 22
Collings v. Longview Fibre Co., 68 F.3d 828 (9th
Cir. 1995), cert. denied, 116 §. Ct. 711 (1996) _. 23
Crawford v. Runyon, 3 Am. Disabilities Cas.
(BNA) 1826 (8th Cir. 1994) _............. 23
Despears v. Milwaukee County, 68 F.8d 635 (7th
SE I eee ee eet 22
EEOC v. Arlington Transit Miz, Inc., 957 F.2d 219
BATES Racer eee eae 7,10, 11
EEOC v. J.P. Stevens and Co., 740 F. Supp. 1185
Oe ER re PMs Eee eS BaD 19, 20
Getz v. Pennsylvania Dep’t of Public Welfare, 802
ae eee ee 7,10, 11
Heller v. EBB Auto Co., 8 F.3d 1488 (9th Cir.
UE cei a ee 7, 10-14
Johnson v. Angelica Uniform Group, Inc., 762 F. 2d
=.) & | Se eee 7, 10-12, 17
Landefeld v. Marion General Hospital, 2 Am. Dis-
abilities Cas. (BNA) 900 (6th Cir. 1995)... 23
Maddoz v. University of Tenn., 62 F.3d 848 (6th
SRN RE SET COC Tae Pee Oe 23

Philbrook v. Ansonia Bd. of Educ., 757 F.2d 476
(2d Cir. 1985), aff'd and remanded, 479 U.S. 60
SES Se en ae a 12

Redmond v. GAF Corp., “BTA F.2d ‘897 (7th Cir.
RES er eee NE eee ae 12

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
Siefken v. Village of Arlington Heights, 65 F.3d
CR, Fee Se RE siddatinhtdata Sil ei 23
Smith. v..Pyra Mining Co., 827 F.2d 1081 (6th Cir.
1987), cert. denied, 485 U.S. 989 (1988) -.......... 12
Spencer v. North Am. Salt Co., 1997 U.S. App.
LEXIS 601 (10th Cir. January 15, 1997) ........... 7,17, 18

Toledo v. Nobel-Sysco, Inc., 892 F.2d 1481 (10th
Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 495 U.S. 948 (1990) ....7, 10, 11
Trans World Airlines v. Hardison, 482 U.S. 63

hs FREER AEE ES ne Ra TIS its ARE SR ED 8, 20-23
Turpen v. Missouri K. T. R. Co., 736 F.2d 1022 .
I hee icheetacoristnastincetiinase 7, 10-12
Wilson v. U.S. West Communications, 58 F.3d 1337.
Be Ree TIE iad soe-sscnipireninnacinsioctadictitiatniste ini aianap 13-15
STATUTES
aie ey Oe I nner icons passim
REGULATIONS
OD nc enememiacstnariine 16
RULES
aE 2, 6,8
i cemnineapnnan 2, 6, 8, 9
|, ae 8

In THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1996

No. 96-1874

Carita D. CHALMERS,
¥ Petitioner,

TULON COMPANY OF RICHMOND,
Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court.of Appeals
for the Fourth Circuit

RESPONDENT'S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

Respondent, Tulon Co.’, respectfully requests this Court
deny the Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to review a judg-
ment of the United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth
Circuit entered on January 16, 1997.

OPINIONS BELOW

The decision of the United States District Court for the
Eastern District of Virginia was stated from the bench,
and a final order was entered on July 26, 1995 granting
summary judgment to Tulon Co. on all counts. The deci-
sion of the United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth
Circuit affirming the district court’s decision was published
in Chalmers v. Tulon Company of Richmond, 101 F.3d
1012 (4th Cir. 1996). Plaintiff-appellant’s petition for

Incorrectly identified throughout these proceedings as Tulon
Company of Richmond.

2

rehearing en banc was denied by order filed January 16,
1997.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

This Court cannot properly exercise jurisdiction over
this case because the petition was not filed within 90 days
after judgment as required by Supreme Court Rule 13.
Petitioner seeks review from a decision of the United
States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit entered on
December 4, 1996. Petition for rehearing and suggestion
for rehearing en banc was denied by order filed January
16, 1997. Accordingly, pursuant to Supreme Court Rules
9(1) and 13(1), the petition should have been filed by
an attorney admitted to practice before this Court on or
before April 16, 1997. The petition was not filed by such
an attorney in a timely manner, and was not docketed by
this Court until May 28, 1997. No extension of time for
filing the petition, pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 13(5),
was sought or obtained. The petition was therefore un-
timely, and may not properly be considered. See pp. 8-9
below.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner, Charita Chalmers, was employed by Re-
spondent, Tulon Co. (“Tulon”), in the company’s Rich-
mond, Virginia service center (“Richmond Center”) from
October 1988 until September 21, 1993. Chalmers v.
Tulon Company of Richmond, 101 F.3d 1012, 1014 (4th
Cir. 1996). During Ms. Chalmers’ employment, the Rich-
mond Center employed from six to fifteen employees. /d.

Tulon manufactures and repoints drill bits and routers
used in the printed circuit board industry. Ms. Chalmers
began working for Tulon as a repoint operator, and was
promoted to repoint supervisor in 1991. As repoint super-
visor, Ms. Chalmers was the only management-level em-
ployee who regularly worked at the Richmond Center.
Richard C. LaMantia, Ms. Chalmers’ immediate super-
visor, was in charge of sales throughout the eastern United
States and was present at the Richmond Center only a few

—— eS ll ee

Og ERTEES
Th

B

Be

g

3

S

‘a

&

’

af
Be

I have to answer to God just like you do, so that’s
why I wrote you this letter. Please take heed before

it’s too late.
In his name,

Charita Chalmers
Id. at 1015.
Ms. Chalmers’ letter arrived at Mr. LaMantia’s home
on September 10, 1993, while he was traveling on Tulon
business. Ms. LaMantia’s wife opened the letter in his

Hee ene re re er eet ee
4

4

absence. Mrs. LaMantia interpreted the references to her
husband’s improper conduct as indicating that he was
committing adultery. In tears, Mrs. LaMantia telephoned
her husband, while he was conducting a Tulon business
presentation, and accused him of infidelity. Mr. LaMantia
complained to Craig A. Faber, Vice President of Admin-
istration at Tulon, about Ms. Chalmers’ letter. Mr. La-
Mantia told Mr. Faber that the letter had caused him
personal anguish, had placed a serious strain on his mar-
riage, and that he no longer could work with Ms. Chal-
mers. Id.

While investigating Mr. LaMantia’s complaint, Mr.
Faber discovered that Ms. Chalmers had sent a second
letter to Brenda Combs, a Tulon employee who was a
direct subordinate of Ms. Chalmers. At the time Ms.
Chalmers sent this letter, Ms. Combs was convalescing
from an undiagnosed medical condition after giving birth
out of wedlock:

Brenda,

You probably do not want to hear this at this time,
but you need the Lord Jesus in your life right now.

One thing about God, He doesn’t ike when people
commit adultery. You know what you did is wrong,
sO now you need to go to God and ask for for-
giveness.

Let me explain something about God. He’s a God
of Love and a God of Wrath. When people sin
against Him, He will allow things to happen to them
or their family until they open their eyes and except
[sic] Him. God can put a sickness on you that no
doctor ever could find out what it is. I’m not saying
this is what happened to you, all I’m saying is get
right with God right now. Romans 10:9; 10vs says
that is [sic] you confess with your mouth the Lord
Jesus and believe in your heart that God has raised
him from the dead thou shalt be saved. For with the
heart man believeth unto righteousness; and with the
mouth confession is made unto salvation. All I’m

5

saying is you need to invite God into your heart and
live a life for him and things in your life will get
better.

That’s not saying you are not going to have prob-
lems but it’s saying you have someone to go to.

Please take this letter in love and be obedient to
God.

In his name,
Charita Chalmers

Upon receiving the letter, Ms. Combs wept. Ms. Combs
later told Mr. Faber she found the letter cruel because it
implied that “an immoral lifestyle” had caused her illness.
Id.

Mr. Faber consulted with other members of upper man-
agement and concluded that the letters had a negative im-
pact on working relationships, disrupted the workplace,
and inappropriately invaded employee privacy. Accord-
ingly, Tulon upper management colectively decided to
terminate Ms. Chalmers’ employment. Id.

Mr. Faber arranged for Ms. Chalmers to receive a mem-
orandum setting forth the reasons for her discharge and
spoke with her from California by telephone simultane-
ously. The memorandum stated, in relevant part:

We have decided to terminate your employment with
Tulon Co. effective today, September 21, 1993. Our
decision is based on a serious error in judgment you
made in sending letters to Rich LaMantia and Brenda
Combs, which criticized their personal lives and be-
liefs. The letters offended them, invaded their pri-
vacy, and damaged your work relationships, making
it too difficult for you to continue to work here.

We expect all of our employees to show good judg-

ment, especially those in supervisory positions, such

as yours. We would hope you can learn from this
a experience and avoid similar mistakes in the future.
Id.

6

Following her discharge, Ms. Chalmers filed suit in the
U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of Virginia
alleging that Tulon discriminated against her on the basis
of her religion in violation of Title VII of the Civil Rights
Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2, when the company
terminated her employment. The District Court granted
summary judgment in favor of Tulon on the grounds that
Ms. Chalmers failed to establish either a prima facie case
of disparate treatment religious discrimination or a prima
facie case of failure to accommodate religious discrimina-
tion. 7d. at 1018. The U.S. Court of Appeals for the
Fourth Circuit affirmed the District Court’s ruling on the
grounds that Ms. Chalmers (1) failed to establish a prima
facie case of failure to accommodate religious discrimina-
tion because she did not notify Tulon that her religious
needs required her to send personal, disturbing letters to
her coworkers and (2) even if she had established a prima
facie case, her claim would fail because her conduct was
not the type that an employer can possibly accommodate,
even with notice. Id. at 1021. Petition for rehearing en
banc was denied by order filed January 16, 1997. A peti-
tion for writ of certiorari to the United States Court of
Appeals for the Fourth Circuit followed.

SUMMARY OF REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

This Court cannot properly exercise jurisdiction over
this case because the petition for writ of certiorari was not
properly filed within 90 days after judgment as required
by Supreme Court Rules 9 and 13. Petitioner seeks re-
view from a decision of the United States Court of Ap-
peals for the Fourth Circuit entered on December 4, 1996.
Petition for rehearing with suggestion for rehearing en
banc was denied by order filed January 16, 1997. Ac-
cordingly, pursuant to Rules 9 and 13, the petition should
have been filed by an attorney admitted to practice before
this Court no later than April 16, 1997. Petitioner’s coun-
sel of record was not admitted to practice before this
Court, and the petition was not docketed by this Court

EE

7

until May 28, 1997. In the absence of a timely motion
and order granting additional time, the petition was un-
timely and may not properly be considered.

Certiorari should be denied in this case because the
Circuits agree with the Fourth Circuit’s holding that to
make out a religious accommodation claim, a plaintiff
must establish that she informed her employer of her
religious needs. See, e.g., Turpen v. Missouri K. T. R.
Co., 736 F.2d 1022, 1026 (5th Cir. 1984); Getz v. Penn-
sylvania Dep’t of Public Welfare, 802 F.2d 72, 73 (3d
Cir. 1986); EEOC v. Arlington Transit Mix, Inc., 957
F.2d 219, 221-22 (6th Cir. 1991); Beasley v. Health
Care Serv. Corp., 940 F.2d 1085, 1088 (7th Cir. 1991);
Johnson v. Angelica Uniform Group, Inc., 762 F.2d 671,
673 (8th Cir. 1985); Heller v. EBB Auto Co., 8 F.3d
1433, 1438 (9th Cir. 1993); Toledo v. Nokel-Sysco, Inc.,
892 F.2d 1481, 1486 (10th Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 495
U.S. 948 (1990). As the Fourth Circuit correctly ob-
served, and as Petitioner herself has admitted, Petitioner
did not notify Tulon at any time that her religion required
her to write proselytizing letters to her subordinates and
co-workers “criticizing them for assertedly ungodly, shame-
ful conduct.” Chalmers, 101 F.3d at 1020. Thus, Peti-
tioner failed to state a prima facie case of religious dis-
crimination and her case properly was dismissed.

Certiorari also should be denied because the alleged
conflict among the Circuits identified by Petitioner is
illusory. First, the Fourth Circuit’s ruling can be recon-
ciled with the three decisions with which Petitioner claims
it is at odds. Second, the decision below is analogous to,
and consistent with, those cases in which an employee
engages in misconduct, and only after being disciplined,
informs her employer of a religious need to engage in the
misconduct. Under these circumstances, courts consist-
ently have held that the employee failed to state a prima
facie case of religious discrimination. See, e.g., Johnson
v. Angelica Uniform, supra; Spencer v. North Am. Salt
Co., 1997 U.S. App. LEXIS 601, *7 (10th Cir. January
15, 1997).

8

Finally, certiorari should be denied because the inter-
pretation of Title VII urged by Petitioner would conflict
with this Court’s holding in Trans World Airlines v.
Hardison, 432 U.S. 63, 81 (1977). Permitting religious
observers to use their religion as a shield against the con-
sequences of workplace misconduct would result in un-
equal treatment of similarly situated employees and would
yield a chaotic workplace. This Court already has held
that Title VII does not contemplate such a result. /d.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

I. THIS COURT DOES NOT HAVE JURISDICTION
TO CONSIDER THE PETITION FOR WRIT OF
CERTIORARI

This Court cannot properly exercise jurisdiction over
this case because the petition was not filed within 90 days
after judgment as required by Supreme Court Rule 13.
Rule 13 provides, in relevant part:

1. Unless otherwise provided by law, a petition for
a writ of certiorari to review a judgment in any
case ... is timely when it is filed within 90 days
after entry of the judgment. . .

2. The Clerk will not file any petition for writ of

certiorari that is jurisdictionally out of time. See,
e.g., 28 U.S.C. § 2101 (c).

Sup. Ct. R. 13. Supreme Court Rule 9(1) provides that,
“An attorney seeking to file a document in this Court in
a representative capacity must first be admitted to practice
before this Court.” Sup. Ct. R. 9(1).

Petitioner seeks review from a decision of the United
States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit entered on
December 4, 1996. Chalmers, 101 F.3d at 1012. Petition
for rehearing with suggestion for rehearing en banc was
denied by order filed January 16, 1997. In the absence
of an extension of the time for filing as permitted by
Supreme Court Rule 14, the petition should have been

ne

9

filed by April 16, 1997, as required by Rule 13. Because
Petitioner’s counsel of record was not admitted, the peti-
tion was not properly filed by April 16, and was not
docketed until May 28, 1997. It may not therefore prop-
erly be considered by this Court.

Il. THE PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
SHOULD BE DENIED BECAUSE THE CIRCUITS
AGREE THAT TO ESTABLISH A VALID RELI-
GIOUS ACCOMMODATION CLAIM, A PLAINTIFF
MUST FIRST NOTIFY HER EMPLOYER OF HER
RELIGIOUS BELIEF

A. The Circuits Concur With the Fourth Circuit’s Rul-
ing That Religious Accommodation Claims Are
Analyzed Under a Two-Part Framework

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C.
§ 2000e-2(a) (“Title VII’), makes it unlawful for an
employer to discriminate against an employee due to her
religion: “It shall be an unlawful employment practice for
an employer . . . to discriminate . . . against any individ-
ual .. . because of such . . . individual's . . . religion . . .”
42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2(a)(1). In addition to the statute’s
general prohibition of religious discrimination, Title VII
also imposes an affirmative duty on employers to “rea-
sonably accommodate” the religious needs, observances,
and practices of employees unless an accommodation
would result in “undue hardship on the conduct of the
employer’s business.” 42 U.S.C. § 2000e(j).?

2“The reasonable accommodation duty was incorporated into
[Title VII] somewhat awkwardly, in the definition of religion. ...
Section 701(j) was added in 1972 to illuminate the meaning of
religious discrimination under the statute. It provides that ‘{the]
term “religion” includes all aspects of religious observance and
practice, as well as belief, unless an employer demonstrates that he
is unable to reasonably accommodate to an employee’s or prospec-
tive employee’s religious observance or practice without undue
hardship on the conduct of the employer’s business.’” Ansonia
Bd. of Educ. v. Philbrook, 479 U.S. 60, 62 n.1 (1986).

10

Religious accommodation claims are analyzed under a
two part framework. First the employee must establish
a prima facie case of religious discrimination by proving
that: (1) she had a bona fide religious belief, the practice
of which conflicted with a job requirement; (2) she in-
formed her employer of the belief and conflict; and (3)
the employer threatened her with or subjected her to dis-
Criminatory treatment because of her inability to fulfill
the job requirement. Ansonia Bd. of Educ. v. Philbrook,
479 U.S. 60, 65 (1986) (stating that the Court of Ap-
peals utilized the above formulation and affirming the
judgment of the Court, but remanding to the District
Court for additional findings); Turpen v. Missouri
K. T. R. Co., 736 F.2d 1022, 1026 (Sth Cir. 1984);
Getz v. Pennsylvania Dep’t of Public Welfare, 802 F.2d
72, 73 (3d Cir. 1986); EEOC v. Arlington Transit Mix,
Inc., 957 F.2d 219, 221-22 (6th Cir. 1991); Beasley v.
Health Care Serv. Corp., 940 F.2d 1085, 1088 (7th Cir.
1991); Johnson v. Angelica Uniform Group, Inc., 762
F.2d 671, 673 (8th Cir. 1985); Heller v. EBB Auto
Co., 8 F.3d 1433, 1438 (9th Cir. 1993); Toledo v.
Nobel-Sysco, Inc., 892 F.2d 1481, 1486 (10th Cir. 1989),
cert. denied, 495 U.S. 948 (1990). Only after the em-
ployee has established a prima facie case does the burden
shift to the employer to show that it was unable to reason-
ably accommodate the employee’s religious practice with-
out undue hardship.* /d.

8 As grounds for this Court to grant her petition for a writ of
certiorari, Petitioner alleges that the Fourth Circuit’s ruling “con-
flicts with the decisions of other courts of appeals and with Title
VII itself by failing to require the defendant to demonstrate that
it is ‘unable to reasonably accommodate to the religious practice
without undue hardship on the conduct of the employer’s business.’ ”
Petition at 4. This argument is not well taken. The Circuits agree
that only after an employee has established a prima facie case of
religious discrimination must the employer show that it was unable
to reasonably accommodate the employee’s needs without undue hard-
ship. See Ansonia Bd. of Educ. v. Philbrook, 479 U.S. 60, 65 (1986)

11

B. The Fourth Circuit’s Ruling That Petitioner Failed
to State a Prima Facie Case of Religious Accommo-
dation Discrimination Because She Did Not Notify
Her Employer That Her Religion Required Her to
Write Personal Disturbing Letters to Her Co-
Workers Is Consistent With the Rulings of Other
Circuits

The Fourth Circuit, below, ruled that Petitioner failed
to state a claim of religious accommodation discrimination
because she did not notify her employer that her religion
required her to write and send accusatory letters to her
co-workers at their homes:

Chalmers has alleged that she holds bona fide reli-
gious beliefs that caused her to write the letters.
Tulon offers no evidence to the contrary. The parties
agree that Tulon fired Chalmers because she wrote
the letters. Accordingly, Chalmers has satisfied the
first and third elements of the prima facie test. How-
ever, in other equally important respects, Chalmers’
accommodation claim fails.

(stating that the Court of Appeals utilized the above formulation
and affirming the judgment of the Court, but remanding to the
District Court for additional findings); Turpen v. Missouri K.T.R.
Co., 736 F.2d 1022, 1026 (5th Cir. 1984); Getz v. Pennsylvania
Dep’t of Public Welfare, 802 F.2d 72, 73 (3d Cir. 1986); EEOC
v. Arlington Transit Mix, Inc., 957 F.2d 219, 221-22 (6th Cir.
1991); Beasley v. Health Care Serv. Corp., 940 F.2d 1085, 1088
(7th Cir. 1991); Johnson v. Angelica Uniform Group, Inc., 762
F.2d 671, 673 (8th Cir. 1985); Heller v. EBB Auto Co., 8 F.3d
1433, 1438 (9th Cir. 1993); Toledo v. Nobel-Sysco, Inc., 892 F.2d
1481, 1486 (10th Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 495 U.S. 948 (1990).
The Fourth Circuit held that Petitioner failed to establish a prima
facie case of religious discrimination: “Chalmers cannot satisfy the
second element of the prima facie test. She has forecast no evidence
that she notified Tulon that her religious beliefs required here to send
personal, disturbing letters to her co-workers.” Chalmers, 101 F.3d
at 1021. Because Petitioner did not establish a prima facie case of
religious discrimination there was no need for the Fourth Circuit
to require Respondent to “demonstrate that it is ‘unable to reason-
ably accommodate to the religious practice without undue hardship
on the conduct of the employer’s business.’” Petition at 4.

12

A.

Chalmers cannot satisfy the second element of the
prima facie test. She has forecast no evidence that
she notified Tulon that her religious beliefs required
her to send personal, disturbing letters to her co-
workers. Therefore, she did not allow the company
any sort of opportunity to attempt reasonable accom-
modation of her beliefs.

Chalmers, 101 F.3d at 1021.

Contrary to Petitioner’s assertion, the Fourth Circuit's
ruling does not “create[] a different standard from that
used by other Circuits” in religious accommodation cases.
Petition at 3. Rather, the Circuits agree that to make out
a religious accommodation claim, a plaintiff must establish
that she informed her employer of her religious needs.
Philbrook v. Ansonia Bd. of Educ., 757 F.2d 476, 481
(2d Cir. 1985) (quoting Turpen v. Missouri K. T. R.
Co., 736 F.2d 1022, 1026 (Sth Cir. 1984)), affd on
other grounds, 479 U.S. 60, 65 (1986)); Chrysler Corp.
v. Mann, 561 F.2d 1282, 1286 (8th Cir. 1977), cert.
denied, 434 U.S. 1039 (an employee disinterested in in-
forming his employer of his religious needs “may forego

_ the right to have his beliefs accommodated by his em-
ployer”); Johnson v. Angelica Uniform Group, Inc., 762
F.2d 671, 673 (8th Cir. 1985) (religious accommodation
case requires proof that plaintiff “has informed his em-
ployer” about his religious needs); Redmond v. GAF
Corp., 574 F.2d 897, 901 (7th Cir. 1978) (religious
accommodation case includes a “requirement that plaintiff
inform his employer of . . . his religious needs”); Heller
v. EBB Auto Co., 8 F.3d 1433, 1438 (9th Cir. 1993)
(religious accommodation plaintiff must inform his em-
ployer of his religious need); Smith v. Pyro Mining Co.,
827 F.2d 1081, 1085 (6th Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 485
U.S. 989 (1988) (religious accommodation case requires
plaintiff to inform his employer about his religious need).

As the Fourth Circuit has correctly observed, and as
Petitioner herself has admitted, Petitioner did not notify

13

Tulon at any time that her religion required her to write
proselytizing letters to her co-workers (one of them a
subordinate) “criticizing them for assertedly ungodly,
shameful conduct” nor did she otherwise notify Tulon that
she held religious beliefs requiring accommodation.
Chalmers, 101 F.3d at 1020. Thus, Petitioner clearly has
failed to state a prima facie case of religious discrimina-
tion.

1. The Conflict in the Circuits Alleged by Petitioner
Is Illusory, as the Fourth Circuit’s Decision Does
Not Conflict With the Decisions of Other Circuits

Petitioner attempts to circumvent her fatal failure to
provide notice of a religious need to proselytize by chal-
lenging the Fourth Circuit’s characterization of the notice
requirement as an “advance notice requirement.” Petition
at 4-11.* Petitioner contests the Fourth Circuit’s char-
acterization of the notice requirement by asserting that it
conflicts with the holdings in: Wilson v. U.S. West Com-
munications, 58 F.3d 1337 (8th Cir. 1995); Brown vy.
Polk County, 61 F.3d 650 (8th Cir. 1995), cert. denied,
US. , 116 S. Ct. 1042 (1996); and Heller v.
EBB Auto Co., 8 F.3d 1433 (9th Cir. 1993). Petition
at 4.

In Heller v. EBB Auto Co., an employee, whose wife
was converting from Catholicism to Judaism, wanted to
take time off from work to attend his wife’s conversion
ceremony. 8 F.3d at 1437. Though one manager initially
granted his request for time off, permission subsequently
was revoked by another member of management, and the
employee filed suit under Title VII. Jd. at 1437-38. The
employer sought to dismiss the action on the basis that,

*The Fourth Circuit stated: “In sum, Chalmers has not pointed
to any evidence that she gave Tulon—either directly or indirectly—
advance notice of her need for accommodation. For this reason,
Chalmers has failed to establish a prima facie case of discrimination
under the religious accommodation theory.” 101 F.3d at 1021.

14

inter alia, “Heller never explained [to his employer] the
nature of the ceremony.” /d. at 1439.

With respect to the substance of the notice required,
not the time at which notice was given, the Heller court
stated: “A sensible approach would require only enough
information about an employee’s religious needs to permit
the employer to understand the existence of a conflict
between the employee’s religious practices and the em-
ployer’s job requirements.” Jd. In Heller, the Ninth Cir-
cuit held that the employee’s notice was satisfactory under
Title VII because, contrary to the instant case, the em-
ployer had been told that Heller was Jewish and that his
wife was studying for conversion before Heller requested
time off. Moreover, when Heller requested the time off,
“he informed [the employer] why he needed to miss
work.” Id.

Consistent with the Fourth Circuit, below, and other
cases addressing this issue, the Heller court emphasized
that to be protected by Title VII a plaintiff must notify
her employer of her religious belief. Jd. at 1438. Unlike
the plaintiff in Heller, Petitioner —did not notify Tulon
at any time of her religious need to proselytize. Accord-
ingly, contrary to Petitioner’s assertion, the Fourth Cir-
cuit’s holding in the instant case is not inconsistent with
the holding in Heller.

Petitioner also inexplicably maintains that the Fourth
Circuit’s characterization of the notice requirement con-
flicts with the holding in Wilson v. U.S. West Communica-
tions, 58 F.3d 1337 (8th Cir. 1995). Petition at 4. In
Wilson, the employer asked the plaintiff to cover a graphic
anti-abortion button she wore while at work. 7d. at 1338.
The plaintiff refused, and the employer ultimately fired
her. On appeal, the Eighth Circuit considered only
whether the employee’s religious beliefs were sincerely
held and whether the employer’s proposed accommodation
was reasonable; not whether or when the plaintiff notified
the employer of a religious need to wear the pin. 7d.

15

Given that the Wilson court did not contemplate the issue
of notice, it is not possible for the Fourth Circuit’s char-
acterization of the notice requirement to be incompatible
with the Eighth Circuit’s ruling.

Finally, Petitioner alleges that the Fourth Circuit’s char-
acterization of the notice requirement is inconsistent with
the Eighth Circuit’s holding in Brown v. Polk County,
61 F.3d 650 (8th Cir. 1995), cert. denied, 116 S. Ct.
1042 (1996). In Brown, the plaintiff, a born-again
Christian, was the director of the data processing depart-
ment for Polk County, Iowa. 61 F.3d 650, 652 (8th Cir.
1995). An internal investigation into religious activities
conducted on government time revealed that Brown di-
rected a secretary to type Bible study notes for him, said
prayers with other employees in his office, and quoted
Bible passages in the workplace. Brown was reprimanded
by Polk County for engaging in religious conduct in the
workplace. Subsequently, on another occasion, Brown
was asked to remove religious items from his office.
Several months later, Brown was discharged after an
internal investigation into personal use of county com-
puters by employees. Brown sued the county for religious
discrimination. Jd. at 652-54.

The Brown case is inapposite to the Fourth Circuit’s
characterization of the notice requirement for multiple
reasons. First, because the Brown case involved Polk
County, a public employer, the Eighth Circuit heeded both
the First Amendment and Title VII in determining the
legitimacy of the employer’s actions. Jd. In contrast, Tulon
is a private employer not subject to the constraints of
the First Amendment. Second, at issue in the Brown case
was whether the plaintiff’s failure to request an accommo-
dation for his religious conduct precluded him from bring-
ing a religious discrimination claim under Title VII. /d.
The Eighth Circuit did not address whether the employee
was obliged to notify his employer in advance of a reli-
gious need to engage in seditious conduct. Moreover, the
Brown court’s holding was that, under the particular cir-

16

cumstances of that case, the employer was aware of the
plaintiff's need for an accommodation. Jd. The Eighth
Circuit did not rule, as Petitioner suggests, that an em-
ployee is under no obligation to notify her employer prior
to engaging in religiously-motivated misconduct.

Accordingly, the conflict in the Circuits alleged by Peti-
tioner is illusory. Each of the cases cited in the Petition
can be reconciled with the Fourth Circuit’s ruling. Indeed,
the EEOC’s own Guidelines on Discrimination Because of
Religion support the Fourth Circuit’s holding that a plain-
tiff must notify her employer of her religious needs before
the employer is required to undertake a reasonable accom-
modation: “(c) Reasonable Accommodation (1) After
an employee or prospective employee notifies the employer
... Of his or her need for a religious accommodation, the
employer has an obligation to reasonably accommodate
the individual’s religious practices.” 29 C.F.R. § 1605.2
(c)(1) (emphasis added).

Even assuming, arguendo, that the Fourth Circuit’s
characterization of the notice requirement is incorrect, the
fact remains that, despite her cognizance of the potential
workplace disruption which likely would result from her
conduct, Petitioner at no time notified Tulon that her
religion required her to write accusatory proselytizing let-
ters to her co-workers. Because Tulon was never notified
of Petitioner’s religious needs, Petitioner has failed to state
a prima facie case of religious discrimination and the
Fourth Circuit’s holding is correct.

2. The Instant Case Is Analogous to, and Consistent
With, Cases in Which an Employee Engages in
Misconduct, and Only After Being Disciplined,
Notifies the Employer of Her Religious Need to
Engage in the Misconduct

When an employee engages in misconduct resulting in
discipline and only then informs her employer that she
had a religious need to engage in the conduct at issue,
courts consistently have held that the employee has failed

17

to state a prima facie case of religious discrimination. It
is the notice to the employer that triggers the employer’s
duty to seek a means of accommodation, for only when
an employer has advance notice of a conflict between
religious needs and the employment requirements is it
possible for an employer to attempt to accommodate those
needs.

For example, in Johnson v. Angelica Uniform Group,
Inc., a plaintiff who failed to notify her employer in ad-
vance of her religious need to miss work was not entitled
to bring a religious discrimination claim against her em-
ployer. 762 F.2d 671, 673 (8th Cir. 1985). In Johnson,
the plaintiff wrote a letter to her employer stating she
would be absent from work from October 11 through
October 24 for religious purposes. The employer did not
receive Johnson’s letter until October 13, after it had
terminated her employmnet for unexcused absence. /d.

As in the instant case, Johnson’s failure to notify her
employer in advance of her religious needs deprived the
employer of an opportunity to attempt accommodation.
The Eighth Circuit held that she failed to satisfy the notice
requireemnt of a prima facie case of religious discrimina-
tion:

Johnson clearly did not satisfy the notice element of
the prima facie requirements. Had Johnson informed
[her employer of her religious needs] at least prior to
her absences for religious purposes, her employer
would have had the chance . . . to work out an ar-
rangement . . . Because Johnson failed to give the
required notice, it is clear that her termination was
due to excessive absenteeism and not because of a
conflict between an employment requirement and her
religious faith.
Id. at 673.

Similarly, in Spencer v. North American Salt Company,
the Tenth Circuit recently upheld summary judgment in
favor of the employer where an employee failed to notify

18

the employer of his religious objection to a workplace
rule. 1997 U.S. App. LEXIS 601, *7 (10th Cir. Janu-
ary 15, 1997). In Spencer, the employee, a member of
the Faith Apostolic Tabernacle Church, required medical
attention to remove foreign particles from his eye on four
occasions. After his fourth injury Spencer was required
by his employer to wear safety glasses in the workplace.
After being observed three times without safety glasses,
Spencer was discharged, and filed a charge of religious
discrimination. /d. at *3-4.

As in the instant case, Spencer’s charge of discrimina-
tion was the first time he asserted a religious belief was
behind his misconduct. Jd. at *7. On appeal, the Tenth
Circuit upheld the district court’s grant of summary judg-
ment in favor of the employer:

Mr. Spencer argues that the goggle requirement was
absurd and therefore contrary to his religious duty
to secure rightfulness, truth and order. However, Mr.
Spencer failed to show that he informed the company
of a connection between his religious beliefs and his
failure to wear goggles during the work day. The dis-
trict court properly entered summary judgment on
the religious discrimination claim.

Id.

In Cary v. Carmichael, an employee who did not notify
his employer of his religious objection to a mandatory
drug test also failed to state a prima facie case of religious
discrimination. 908 F. Supp. 1334, 1342 (E.D. Va.
1995). The Cary court found that Cary provided only
“the vaguest descriptions of a religious objection” and
concluded, “[SJurely [the] plaintiff must be required to
put forth more to the employer before the employer can
fairly be found to have notice of a bona fide religious
objection.” Jd. at 1344. The notice requirement, accord-
ing to Cary, “goes directly to the heart of the statute,”
and “if an employer has not been given adequate notice
of an employee’s religious conflict, then ipso facto the

19

religious animus that the statute was designed to prevent
cannot have existed.” Id.

The Cary court described the purpose of the notice
requirement as follows:

Without notice, an employer cannot be found to have
acted “because of” the religious conflict... It stands
to reason then, that a discharge of an employee for
failure to comply with valid employment require-
ments, where the employer does not have sufficient
knowledge of an employee’s religious beliefs or prac-
tice despite the fact that the employer knows that a
conflict has arisen, cannot be held to violate the
statute.

Id. at 1345-46. As in the instant case, Cary’s failure to
properly notify his employer of his religious beliefs “pre-
clude[d] any finding that [he] was fired because of his
religious beliefs.” Id.

In EEOC v. J.P. Stevens and Co., an employee dis-
charged for failing to notify his employer in advance of
a religious need not to work on Sunday also failed to
establish a prima facie case of religious discrimination.
740 F. Supp. 1135, 1136 (E.D.N.C. 1990). In J.P.
Stevens, the employer frequently required employees to
work on Sundays. Any employee who did not wish to
work on Sunday was required to find his own replace-
ment by utilizing a “swap system” or he would receive
an unexcused absence. Jd. at 1137. One employee, Mr.
Dial, a member of the “Holiness” religious sect, believed
that working on Sundays was a violation of his religious
tenets. Id. at 1136. Mr. Dial also believed that it was
a sin to recruit someone else to work in his stead. Mr.
Dial did not inform his employer of his religious needs,
and, ultimately, the employer discharged him for excessive,
unexcused absence. At trial, the District Court held that
Mr. Dial could not state a prima facie case of religious
discrimination because he did not inform his employer of
his religious needs. /d. at 1137.

20

The instant case plainly is analogous to Johnson,
Spencer, Cary, and J.P. Stevens, wherein employees en-
gaged in misconduct, and only after being disciplined,
notified their employers of their religious need to engage
in the misconduct. In each of those cases, as in the instant
case, the courts ruled that the plaintiff had failed to
satisfy the notice requirement of a prima facie case of
religious discrimination. Because Petitioner “forecast no
evidence that she notified Tulon that her religious needs
required her to send personal, disturbing letters” to her
subordinates and co-workers, the Fourth Circuit cor-
rectly held, consistent with other Circuits, that her religious
accommodation claim must fail.

Ill. THE PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
SHOULD BE DENIED BECAUSE IN TRANS
WORLD AIRLINES v. HARDISON THIS COURT
REJECTED THE NOTION THAT RELIGIOUS OB-
SERVERS ARE ENTITLED TO EXEMPTION FROM
WORKPLACE RULES

The petition for writ of certiorari should be denied
because the ruling sought by Petitioner conflicts with this
Court’s holding in Trans World Airlines v. Hardison, 432
U.S. 63, 81 (1977). Petitioner’s interpretation of Title
VII would permit employees to use religion as a shield
for the consequences of their misconduct, resulting in
unequal treatment of similarly situated employees and
yielding a chaotic workplace. If this Court adopts Peti-
tioner’s view, employers will be forced to tolerate unan-
ticipated misconduct by religious observers while non-
religious employees will be disciplined or discharged for
engaging in identical conduct. Such a result was rejected
in Trans World Airlines v. Hardison wherein this Court
held that “Title VII does not contemplate such unequal
treatment.” 432 U.S. 63, 81 (1977).

This is not a case in which an unwitting employee was
disciplined for engaging in mmocuous conduct of a re-

21

ligious nature. To the contrary, Petitioner knowingly
engaged in conduct that was inconsistent with her job
duties. Petitioner conceded that it was part of her super-
visory responsibility to promote harmony in the workplace
and set an example for her subordinates, -yet ‘the ‘letters
tacitly acknowledge her cognizance of potential damage
to relations with Mr. LaMantia and Ms. Combs. For
example, in her letter to Mr. LaMantia Petitioner wrote:
“I wrote this letter at home so if you have a problem
with it you can’t relate it to work.” Similarly, in her
letter to Ms. Combs Petitioner wrote: “You probably
do not want to hear this at this time.” Chalmers, 101
F.3d at 1015.

Dissemination of accusatory, disturbing letters to sub-
ordinates and co-workers which result in disruption of
the workplace is misconduct sufficient to warrant dis-
charge of any supervisor, regardless of their religious needs.
Employers must be permitted to discipline a member of
management who engages in such conduct, irrespective
of religious motivation, or the workplace will become
chaotic and unmanageable. While it is clear that Title
VII protects an individual’s status as a religious observer,
it is equally clear that a company need not tolerate mis-
conduct on the job.

To impose liability against an employer who discharges
a supervisor under the circumstances present in this case
would indirectly but unmistakably undermine the spirit
of Title VII. Congress intended Title VII to put religious
persons on equal footing with other employees in regard
to employment decisions. As this Court has recognized,
however, the statute was not intended to create a right to
preferential treatment:

The repeated, unequivocal emphasis of both the Jan-
guage and the legislative history of Title VII is on
eliminating discrimination in employment, and such
discrimination is proscribed when it is directed against

22

majorities as well as minorities. (Citation omitted)
Indeed, the foundation of Hardison’s claim is that
TWA and IAM engaged in religious discrimination
in violation of 703(a)(1) when they failed to ar-
range for him to have Saturdays off. It would be
anomalous to conclude that by ‘reasonable accommo-
dation’ Congress meant that an employer must deny
the shift and job preference of some employees, as
well as deprive them of their contractual rights, in
order to accommodate or prefer the religious needs
of others, and we conclude that Title VII does not
require an employer to go that far.

Hardison, 432 U.S. at 81.

This Court should not, in its effort to protect the rights
of one group of individuals, lose sight of the rights of
others. As the Eighth Circuit observed with respect to an
employee who claimed his religion entitled him to violate
a workplace rule:

[Plaintiff's] discharge stemmed from his knowing vio-
lation of company rules pertaining to company prop-
erty. That [Plaintiff]’s religion somehow made him
feel justified in violating a rule on corporate property
simply does not suffice to imbue [the employer]’s ac-
tion in discharging him with religious animus. [Plain-
tiff]’s discharge was caused by his violation of com-
pany rules of conduct. It was not the result of antag-
onism by [the employer] to his religious beliefs and
did not violate Title VII.

Chrysler Corp. v. Mann, 561 F.2d 1282, 1286 (Sth Cir.
1977), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 1039.

If this Court grants certiorari, religious observers will
perceive immunity from workplace rules. Accepting Peti-
tioner’s view of Title VII would say to a religious ob-
server: “because your religious needs required you to
engage in misconduct, we will lighten the sanction by let-
ting you keep your job in circumstances where anyone
else who engaged in the same behavior would lose it.”
See, e.g., Despears v. Milwaukee County, 63 F.3d 635,

23

637 (7th Cir. 1995); Maddox vy. University of Tenn., 62
F.3d 843, 848 (6th Cir. 1995); Landefeld vy. Marion
General Hospital, 2 Am. Disabilities Cas. (BNA) 900
(6th Cir. 1995); Siefken vy. Village of Arlington Heights,
65 F.3d 664, 666 (7th Cir. 1995); Crawford v. Runyon,
3 Am. Disabilities Cas. (BNA) 1326 (8th Cir. 1994);
and Collings v. Longview Fibre Co., 63 F.3d 828 (9th
Cir. 1995), cert. denied, 116 S. Ct. 71] (1996) (all
rejecting the notion that the disabled are privileged to
engage in workplace misconduct by virtue of their
disability).

It is true that employers are required to provide reason-
able accommodation to the known religious beliefs of an
employee. However, it is not a reasonably required accom-
modation for an employer to overlook disruptive workplace
behavior. The refusal to excuse, or even alleviate the pun-
ishment of a religious individual who engages in mis-
conduct of the sort present here is not discrimination
against that individual on the basis of her religion; it
is a refusal to discriminate in her favor. This Court
already has held that: “Title VII does not contemplate
such unequal treatment.” Hardison, 432 U.S. at 81.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, Tulon respectfully requests
that this Court deny certiorari in this case.

Respectfully submitted,

Davpp E. NAGLE

Counsel of Record
ELLEN DuFry McKay
LECLAIR RYAN
707 East Main Street
Richmond, Virginia 23219
(804) 783-2008

June 27, 1997 Attorneys for Respondent

APPENDIX

OLR A RO

la

APPENDIX

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS.
FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

No. 96-3087

DONALD E. SPENCER,
Plaintiff-A ppellant,
Vv.

NorTH AMERICAN SALT COMPANY, CHUCK NICHOLS,
JoEL DAVENPORT AND BuRL DOCKUM,
Defendants-A ppellees.

January 15, 1997, Filed

Before EBEL and HENRY, Circuit Judges, and
DOWNES,* District Judge.

OPINION
BY: ROBERT H. HENRY

ORDER AND JUDGMENT **

After examining the briefs and appellate record, this
panel has determined unanimously that oral argument

* Honorable William F. Downes, District Judge, United States
District Court for the District of Wyoming, sitting by designation.

** This order and judgment is not binding precedent, except under
the doctrines of law of the case, res’ judicata, and collateral estoppel.
The court generally disfavors the citation of orders and judgments;
nevertheless, an order and judgment may be cited under the terms
and conditions of 10th Cir. R. 36.3.

2a

would not materially assist the determination of this
appeal. See Fed. R. App. P. 34(a); 10th Cir. R. 34.1.9.
The case is therefore ordered submitted without oral

argument.

Appearing pro se, Donald E. Spencer appeals the dis-
trict court’s order entering summary judgment in favor of
his former employer, North American Salt Company, and
individual managers, Chuck Nichols, Joel Davenport and
Burl Dockum,* on his claims of religious discrimination
and retaliatory discharge. Mr. Spencer also contends that
the district court erred in assessing costs against him.
Upon consideration of the record and the parties’ written
arguments, we affirm.

BACKGROUND

Mr. Spencer, a member of the Faith Apostolic Taber-
nacle Church, was employed by the company as an engine
room operator and general laborer until his discharge on
June 12, 1992. On four occasions between July 1991
and January 1992, Mr. Spencer needed medical attention
to remove a foreign particle from his left eye. After the
fourth injury, the company told Mr. Spencer that he must
take the additional precaution of wearing goggles over his
safety glasses at all times during the work day or be
subject to disciplinary action, including suspension and
discharge.

On April 8 and April 29, 1992, Mr. Spencer was
observed without goggles and warned in writing that he

would be discharged if it happened again. When he was
observed without goggles on June 12, he was discharged.

Interspersed with the company’s disciplinary measures
were Mr. Spencer’s contacts with federal and state agen-

1 This order and judgment refers to all appellees, including Mr.
Dockum (Mr. Spencer’s immediate supervisor), Mr. Davenport (the
production manager) and Mr. Nichols (the plant manager) as “the
company.”

3a

cies: (1) a claim for medical expenses related to the
fourth eye injury, filed with the Kansas Department of
Human Resources, Division of Workers’ Compensation
on April 15; (2) charges alleging asbestos exposure and
unsafe personal protective equipment, filed with the Occu-
pational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) on
April 30 and May 4 and later referred to the Mine Safety
and Health Administration (MSHA); and (3) a com-
plaint about a company policy that allegedly required him
to work ten minutes a day without compensation, filed
with the Wage and Hour Division of the United States
Department of Labor on May 7. After his termination,
Mr. Spencer filed a charge of religious discrimination
with the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
(EEOC) and the Kansas Human Rights Commission
(KHRC).

The company decided to pay the workers’ compensa-
tion claim for medical expenses associated with the fourth
eye injury. Mr. Spencer had no success with the re-
mainder of his administrative charges.”

Mr. Spencer filed a complaint in the Kansas state
courts alleging retaliatory and discriminatory discharge.
The company removed the action to federal court; con-
ducted discovery, including a lengthy deposition of Mr.
Spencer; and moved for summary judgment. The district
court granted the company’s motion and awarded costs
in the amount of $3,397.62.

DISCUSSION

The district court liberally construed Mr. Spencer’s
pleadings and identified the following claims: (1) religious

2 The MSHA determined that there was no asbestos or equipment
hazard and the EEOC and the KHRC found no probable cause to
support the religious discrimination claim. The record does not
reflect the outcome of the wage and hour claim.

8 Mr. Spencer’s deposition took place from December 6th to 8th,
1994 and on January 3ilst, 1995.

4a

discrimination. in. violation of Title VIE of the Civil Rights
Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2(a) (1); (2) retaliatory
discharge in violation of the Fair Labor Standards Act
(FLSA), 2% U.S.C. §.215(a) (3); and (3) common law
retaliatory discharge in violation of Kansas public policy.

The court analyzed each of the claims according to
the burden-shifting framework of McDonnell Douglas
Corp. v. Green, 411 U.S. 792, 802-05, 36 L. Ed. 2d
668, 93 S. Ct. 1817 (1973), then entered summary judg-
ment in favor of the company. The court found that Mr.
Spencer had failed to make a prima facie showing on
any claim, in that he had not come forward with evidence
to support an inference of either religious discrimination
or a causal connection between his discharge and his
administrative filings. Alternatively, it determined that
the company had articulated a legitimate reason for the
discharge and that Mr. Spencer had not introduced evi-
dence: of pretext.

On appeal, Mr. Spencer argues that the entry of sum-
mary judgment was erroneous because the motivation for
his termination was an issue of material fact that pre-
cluded summary judgment. We review de novo the grant
or denial of a summary judgment motion, applying the
same legal standard as the district court. Marx v. Schnuck
Markets, Inc.,. 76 F.3d 324, 327 (10th Cir.), cert de-
nied, 135 L. Ed. 2d 1071, 116 S. Ct. 2552 (1996).
Summary judgment is appropriate only if there are no
genuinely disputed material issues of fact and the moving

party is entitled to judgment as a matter of law. Fed. R.
Civ. P 56(c).

As Mr. Spencer is making a Title VII claim of religious
discrimination, he must establish a prima facie case by
proving: “1) he . .. has a bona fide religious belief
that conflicts with an employment requirement; (2) he
. .. informed the employer of this belief; [and] (3) he...
was [fired] for failure to comply with the conflicting

5a

employment requirement.” Toledo v. Nobel-Sysco, Inc.,
892 F.2d 1481, 1486 (10th Cir. 1989).

Mr. Spencer argues that the goggle requirement was
absurd and therefore contrary to his religious duty to
secure rightfulness, truth and order. However, Mr. Spencer
failed to show that he informed the company of a connec-
tion between his religious beliefs and his failure to wear
goggles during the work day. The district court properly
entered summary judgment on the religious discrimination
claim.

Similarly, Mr. Spencer produced no facts in support of
his contention that he was discharged in retaliation for
complaining to administrative agencies. The relevant legal
theories are retaliatory discharge under § 215(a) of the
FLSA for the report of an alleged wage and hour violation
and under Kansas common law for the workers’ compen-
sation claim and OSHA/MSHA charges.

The applicable standards are similar for both theories.
The Tenth Circuit applies a “motivating factor” analysis
to claims of retaliatory discharge under § 215(a). A dis-
charge is unlawful “only if it would not have occurred but
for the retaliatory intent.” McKenzie v. Renberg’s Inc.,
94 F.3d 1478, 1483 (10th Cir. 1996), quoting Martin v.
Gingerbread House, Inc., 977 F.2d 1405, 1408 (10th
Cir. 1992). In a Kansas common law action for retalia-
tory discharge, the plaintiff must establish by a “prepon-
derance of the evidence,” which is “clear and convincing
in nature, that the defendant, among other things, termi-
nated him or her in retaliation for filing a claim under
the Workers’ Compensation Act. Ortega v. IBP, Inc., 255
Kan. 513, 874 P.2d 1188, 1196, 1198 (Kan. 1994).

The district court decided that Mr. Spencer fled to
create an evidentiary dispute on the related issues of
causation and pretext. We agree. The facts alleged by
Mr. Spencer provide no inference of a causal connection
between his agency filings and his subsequent discharge.

6a

The umncontroverted evidence demonstrates that Mr.
Spencer was discharged for his third breach of the goggle
requirement. When an employee fails to come forward
with sufficient evidence to raise a genuine dispute on an
essential element of a retaliatory discharge claim or the
employer’s intent, the district court may properly grant
an employer’s motion for summary judgment. See Koop-
man v. Water Dist. No. 1, 972 F.2d 1160, 1164 (10th
Cir. 1992).

Mr. Spencer’s final contention on appeal is that the
clerk of the district court’s award of costs to the company
was erroneous. See Fed. R. Civ. P. 54(d)(1). He spe-
cifically objects to the assessment of $2,938.40 for tran-
scripts of his three-and-a-half days of deposition testimony.

The award of costs is affirmed for two reasons. First,
Mr. Spencer failed to preserve the alleged error by request-
ing judicial review of the action of the clerk. See Fed.
R. Civ. P. 54(d)(1). Second, we review an award of
costs only for abuse of discretion. See Treff v. Galetka,
74 F.3d 191, 197 (10th Cir. 1996). A trial court may
tax as costs the “fees of a court reporter for all or any
part of the stenographic transcript necessarily obtained for
use in the case.” 28 U.S.C. § 1920(2). Although the
four volumes of deposition transcripts seem to represent
“piling on,” and probably were not necessary to the com-
pany’s summary judgment motion, we cannot conclude
that the award of costs amounted to an abuse of discre-
tion.

The judgment of the United States District Court for
the District of Kansas is AFFIRMED. We exercise our
discretion to require the parties to pay their own costs
and expenses on appeal. The mandate shall issue forth-
with.

Entered for the Court
Robert H. Henry
Circuit Judge

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_0800%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
