# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Cvelbar v. CBI-Illinois, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_0782%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1997
- **Citation:** 522 U.S. 812

## Text

; Supreme Court, U.s
[ ) FILED

961854 may 19 1997

No, OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1996

ANTHONY W. CVELBAR,
Petitioner,

Vv.

CBI-ILLINOIS, INC.,
a Delaware corporation,

Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United
States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

JULIAN E. CANNELL

. Counsel of Record

7 KAVANAGH, SCULLY, SUDOW,

WHITE & FREDERICK, P.C.
301 Southwest Adams Street
Suite 700
Peoria, Illinois 61602-1574
(809) 676-1381

Attorney for Petitioner

Midwest Law Printing Co., Chicago 60610, (812) 321-0220

i

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Whether a one-person employment agreement which
provides severance benefits is an ERISA Plan.

‘i
TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE
QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW .... i
TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES .......... iii

CITATIONS TO THE OFFICIAL AND UN-
OFFICIAL REPORTS OF THE OPINIONS AND
ORDERS ENTERED IN THIS CASE BY
COURTS OR ADMINISTRATIVE AGENCIES . 1

STATEMENT OF THE BASIS FOR JURISDIC-
SOU SOE BMD GHEE 6 6500s su ccenwedbenenees

STATUTES INVOLVED IN THIS CASE ....
STATEMENT OF THE CASE ...............
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ....
CAO 6. nsovcsisntencnnaseeneeunenunes

a> » WO PY

APPENDIX—Anthony W. Cvelbar v. CBI-Illinois,
Inc., United States Court of Appeals for the
Seventh Circuit, Case No. 96-1669, Opinion decided
POREWIEY BG, TOF oc iiccncccnccdeguacanewueaune infra

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

Cases: PAGE

Fraver v. North Carolina Farm Bureau Mutual
Insurance Co., 801 F.2d 675 (4th Cir. 1986) .. 5

Jervis v. Elerding, 504 F.Supp. 606 (C.D. Cal.
ee Se Usa ea vek bakes se decnvias s

Lo |

eee ALAS G64 Vin bN as 56550 Sans wes o's 5

Nagy v. Riblet Products Corporation, 79 F.3d 572
Re ee 4,5

Nechero v. Provident Life & Accident Insurance
Co., 795 F.Supp. 374 (D.N.M. 1992)........ 5

United States Statutes:

eos ky bso 0 64 ves 006000 3, 4
rs ack Vnbeicya ene ds 00806940 1
eas ou sie odie Saecesde vances 3
Ee cana acc testes seaessaceveses 3
I Oe cas ese scecesesuceens 3
EE, ee 2
ESR ee 2

Miscellaneous:
H.R. Rep. No. 93-533, 98d Cong., 2d Sess. .... 5

a

CITATIONS OF THE OFFICIAL
AND UNOFFICIAL REPORTS OF THE OPINIONS
AND ORDERS ENTERED IN THIS CASE
BY COURTS OR ADMINISTRATIVE AGENCIES

Anthony W. Cvelbar v. CBI-Illinois, Inc., United States
Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit, Case No. 96-
1669, Opinion decided February 14, 1997.

Anthony W. Cvelbar v. CBI-Illinois, Inc., a Delaware cor-
poration, United States District Court for the Central Dis-
trict of Illinois, Case No. 95-1127, Final Order entered
February 27, 1996.

Anthony W. Cvelbar v. CBI-Illinois, Inc., a Delaware cor-
poration, United States District Court for the Central
District of Illinois, Case No. 95-1127, Memorandum Opin-
ion dated February 7, 1996 denying Plaintiff's Motion to
Amend.

Anthony W. Cvelbar v. CBI-Illinois, Inc., a Delaware cor-
poration, United States District Court for the Central Dis-
trict of Illinois, Case No. 95-1127, Order entered January
16, 1996 granting Defendant’s Motion for Partial Summary
Judgment and Denying Plaintiff’s Motion for Partial Sum-
mary Judgment and Plaintiff’s Motion to Strike.

STATEMENT OF THE BASIS
FOR JURISDICTION IN THIS COURT

On February 14, 1997, the United States Court of Ap-
peals for the Seventh Circuit decided its Case No. 96-1669,
and on the same date entered its Opinion and Order,
which Opinion and Order the Plaintiff-Petitioner seeks this
Court to review and reverse.

The statutory provision believed to confer on this Court
jurisdiction to review the above Opinion and Order on a
Writ of Certiorari is 28 U.S.C. §1254.

iin

STATUTES INVOLVED IN THIS CASE

29 U.S.C. § 1182.
$1132. Civil enforcement

(a) Persons involved to bring a civil action
A civil action may be brought—

(1) by a participant or beneficiary—
(a) for the relief provided for in subsection c of
this section, or

(b) vo recover benefits due to him under the
terms of his plan, to enforce his rights under the
terms of the plan, or to clarify his rights to future
benefits under the terms of the plan...

29 U.S.C. § 1002.
§1002. Definitions
For purposes of this subchapter:

(1) The terms “employee welfare benefit plan” and “wel-
fare plan” mean any plan, fund, or program which was
heretofore or is hereafter established or maintained by
an employer or by an employee organization, or by both,
to the extent that such plan, fund, or program was estab-
lished or is maintained for the purpose of providing for
its participants or their beneficiaries, through the purchase
of insurance or otherwise, (A) medical, surgical, or hospital
care or benefits, or benefits in the event of sickness, ac-
cident, disability, death or unemployment or vacation bene-
fits, apprenticeship or other training pro or day care
centers, scholarship funds, or pre-paid legal services, for
(B) any benefit described in section 186(c) of this title
(other than pensions on retirement or death and insurance
to provide such pensions) .. .

(2) ..

(3) The term “employee benefit plan’ or “plan” means
an employee welfare benefit plan or an employee pension
benefit plan or a plan which is both an a. welfare
benefit plan and an employee pension benefit plan.

|

er

App. 4

to be provided to the Employee pursuant to this
Agreement shall be reduced so that the aggregate
present value of all said payments does not exceed
299% of the Employee’s Average Annual Compensa-
tion as defined in the Code.

R.7, Ex.A at 3-4 7 4.A. In addition, First Peoria promised
to use its best efforts to require any successor to assume
expressly the obligations of the Agreement. Mr. Cvelbar’s
right to payments was to vest at the time of his termina-
tion, and Judith A. Cvelbar was to receive the benefits in
the event that Mr. Cvelbar died after termination with
benefits remaining.

On June 1, 1992, the bank merged with CBI Illinois,
Inc. As a result of the merger, CBI assumed the bank’s
duties under the Employer-Employee Agreement.’ CBI
terminated Mr. Cvelbar in October 1992. In his affidavit,
Peter W. Callow, the President of CBI, testified that he
made the decision to terminate because Mr. Cvelbar
“exhibited a negative attitude toward the new ownership
at Commerce Bank after the merger which took place on
June 1, 1992.” R.19 at 2. After Mr. Cvelbar’s termina- |
tion, CBI made payments under the Agreement until
December 1994. At that time, CBI’s counsel, James L. |
Swarts, determined that, because some of the payments |
made to Mr. Cvelbar were “contingent on a ‘change in
ownership or control’ or otherwise . . . subject to the

* Paragraph 12.10 of the merger contract between CBI and |
First Peoria effected the assumption: “[T]he Surviving Corpo-
ration shall honor{ ] the obligations of [First Peoria] under the
five written Employer-Employee Agreements ... .” R.34, Ex.1.
This paragraph also provided that CBI would seek a letter rul-
ing from the Internal Revenue Service “with respect to certain
legal issues concerning payments” to be made under the Em-
ployer-Employee Agreements. Jd. First Peoria and CBI

to accept the resolution of the issues as determined by the

App. 5

provisions of Section 280G,” the limitation provision
contained in paragraph four applied.” Therefore, counsel
decided, Mr. Cvelbar no longer deserved benefits because
he already had been paid more than 299% of his Average
Annual Compensation.

B. Proceedings in the District Court

Mr. Cvelbar filed an action in state court alleging that,
under ERISA and state contract law, he was due contin-
ued benefits. After removal, the district court granted
partial summary judgment to CBI and denied partial
summary judgment to Mr. Cvelbar. Prior to the district
court’s grant of partial summary judgment, a magistrate
judge, in a report and recommendation to the district
court, had concluded that, under the four-part test of
Diak v. Dwyer, Costello & Knox, P.C., 33 F.3d 809 (7th
Cir. 1994), the Agreement is an ERISA plan, the rights
under which can be litigated in federal court. The mag-
istrate judge reasoned that a reasonable person reading

? Swarts relied on the legislative history of § 280G, the pro-
posed regulations interpreting § 280G, and the advice of
outside counsel. In addition, before making his determination,
Swarts reviewed paragraph 12.10 of the merger contract be-
tween First Peoria and CBI, see supra note 1. He also re-
viewed the request for a letter ruling that had been prepared
in accordance with paragraph 12.10, along with the IRS’s re-
sponse to the request.

The request for a letter ruling dated April 10, 1992 asked
whether the payments to be made under the five Employer-
Employee Agreements, including Mr. Cvelbar’s, would qualify
as “parachute payments” under § 280G of the Internal Reve-
nue Code of 1986. In a private letter ruling dated January 8,
1993, the IRS replied that “a reasonable value attributable to
th{e] refraining from performing services [under the Agree-
ments’ covenants not to compete] will not be a parachute pay-
ment under section 280G(b\2\XA).” R.34, Ex.3.

App. 6

the Agreement “‘could ascertain the intended benefits,
beneficiaries, source of financing, and procedures for
receiving the benefits.’” R.5 at 3 (quoting Diak, 33 F.3d
at 812). Before the district court, neither party objected
to the magistrate judge’s determination, and the district
court did not address independently the issue of subject
matter jurisdiction.

With respect to the merits, the parties contested
whether the benefit payments qualify as “parachute
payments” under 26 U.S.C. § 280G. Mr. Cvelbar urged
that, because the payments did not constitute such
payments, the limitation provision of the Agreement did
not apply, and he was entitled to continued payments.
However, the district court agreed with CBI that wheth-
er the payments to Mr. Cvelbar were actually parachute
payments is irrelevant because the Agreement gives dis-
cretion to CBI’s counsel to resolve that matter. There-
fore, the controlling issue, according to the court, was
whether CBI’s counsel’s determination that the pay-
ments were contingent on a change in ownership or
control was arbitrary or capricious. See Firestone Tire &
Rubber Co. v. Bruch, 489 U.S. 101, 115 (1989). The court
held that CBI’s interpretation was reasonable in light of
the IRS’s Proposed Regulations.

In its order rendering partial summary judgment, the
district court ordered the parties to submit status reports
detailing the issues, if any, that remained to be litigated.
In his status report, Mr. Cvelbar submitted that the
court ought to determine “what part of the payments
{[Mr. Cvelbar] received are ‘parachute payments.’” R.41.
Referring to its earlier order, the district court concluded
that this assertion failed to raise issues that were rele-
vant to Mr. Cvelbar’s ERISA claim because he had not
established that the action of the administrator in
terminating payments was arbitrary or capricious. The
court then determined that its earlier grant of partial
summary judgment had resolved all of the issues be-

App. 7

tween the parties and entered final judgment in favor of
CBI.

II
DISCUSSION

On appeal, Mr. Cvelbar suggests for the first time that
his Agreement is not a “plan” within the meaning of
ERISA. He contends that individual contracts between
individual employees and employers providing for post-
termination benefits do not qualify as “plans” under
ERISA. He also maintains that the Agreement does not
satisfy our Diak test because a reasonable person read-
ing the three benefits-providing clauses could not ascer-
tain the source of funding or the procedures for receiving
the benefits. CBI responds that the Agreement is a “top-
hat” plan, an ERISA plan that provides benefits for a
select group of highly-paid managers.

After studying the briefs of the parties and hearing
oral argument, the court invited the Secretary of Labor
to submit a brief, as amicus curiae, addressing whether
the district court had subject matter jurisdiction.* In his
submission, to which the parties had the opportunity to
respond, the Secretary submits that the Agreement is a
plan, meeting the requirements of Fort Halifax Packing
Co. v. Coyne, 482 U.S. 1 (1987) and Diak. The Secretary,

° The Secretary has been charged by Congress with respon-
sibility for interpreting and enforcing the definitional, cover-
age, reporting and disclosure, and fiduciary responsibility pro-
visions of Title I of ERISA. See 29 U.S.C. §§ 1132, 1135. The
Secretary therefore has a substantial interest in the proper
interpretation of the provisions of ERISA that are at issue in
this case.

The court expresses its appreciation to the Secretary for
accepting the court’s invitation to submit a brief as amicus
curiae.

App. 8

although pointing out that CBI had agreements similar
to Mr. Cvelbar’s with five other employees, maintains
that an ERISA plan can cover a single employee.

Mr. Cvelbar next asserts that, even if the Agreement
is a plan, CBI’s termination of benefits was based on an
arbitrary or capricious interpretation of the Agreement’s
limitation provision. Mr. Cvelbar further submits that
extrinsic evidence, including the requested letter ruling
in which the IRS opined that the part of Mr. Cvelbar’s
benefits that could be allocated to the covenant not to
compete was not covered by § 280G, establishes that
counsel’s interpretation was unreasonable. CBI, on the
other hand, believes that the terms of the Agreement are
clear and support the decision of the district court.

We must deal with two issues. First, we must decide
whether the federal courts have subject matter jurisdic-
tion over this case on the ground that the Agreement is
a “plan” under ERISA. Second, if we determine that
ERISA controls, we must determine whether CBI’s de-
cision that some of Mr. Cvelbar’s benefit payments were
contingent on a change in ownership or control or other-
wise were covered by 26 U.S.C. § 280G was arbitrary or
capricious.

A. Subject Matter Jurisdiction

“(T]he existence of an ‘ERISA-governed plan’ is an
essential precursor to federal jurisdiction.” UJU Sever-
ance Pay Trust Fund v. Local Union No. 18-U, United
Steelworkers of America, 998 F.2d 509, 510 n.2 (7th Cir.
1993). Therefore, if Mr. Cvelbar’s agreement is not an
ERISA “plan,” the district court had no subject matter
jurisdiction. It is not fatal that Mr. Cvelbar contended in
theedistrict court that his agreement is a plan. Nor is it
fatal that neither party objected to the magistrate
judge’s conclusion that the district court had subject
matter jurisdiction. Subject matter jurisdiction “cannot

—

App. 9

be waived or be overcome by an agreement of the
parties.” Mitchell v. Maurer, 293 U.S. 237, 244 (1934). A
challenge to subject matter jurisdiction can be raised at
any time. Indeed, had Mr. Cvelbar not raised the issue
in this appeal, we would have had an independent duty
to assess sua sponte our jurisdictional power. See id.;
Stearnes v. Baur’s Opera House, Inc., 3 F.3d 1142, 1144
(7th Cir. 1993).

In assessing whether the district court had jurisdiction,
we must determine whether the Agreement between Mr.
Cvelbar and CBI is an ERISA plan. We begin with the
text of the statute. ERISA section 502(aX1\B) states
that “[a] civil action may be brought—{1) by a par-
ticipant or beneficiary—(B) to recover benefits due
to him under the terms of his plan [or] to enforce his
rights under the terms of the plan ....” 29 U.S.C.
§ 1132(a)(1)B) (bold face omitted). Section 3(3), in turn,
states that “‘plan’ means an employee welfare benefit
plan or an employee pension benefit plan or a plan which
is both... .” 29 U.S.C. § 1002(3). An “employer welfare
benefit plan” is “any plan, fund, or program .. . estab-
lished or maintained by an employer . . . for the purpose
of providing ... medical, surgical, or hospital care or
benefits, or benefits in the event of sickness, accident,
disability, death or unemployment.” 29 U.S.C. § 1002(1).*

* 29 U.S.C. § 1002(1) provides in full:

The terms “employee welfare benefit plan” and “welfare
plan” mean any plan, fund, or program which was hereto-
fore or is hereafter established or maintained by an em-
ployer or by an employee organization, or by both, to the
extent that such plan, fund, or program was established or
is maintained for the purpose of providing for its partic-
ipants or their beneficiaries, through the purchase of in-
surance or otherwise, (A) medical, surgical, or hospital
care or benefits, or benefits in the event of sickness, acci-
dent, disability, death or unemployment, or vacation bene-

(continued...)

App. 10

An “employee pension benefit plan” is “any plan, fund, or
program ... established or maintained by an employer
... that ... provides retirement income to employees,
or ... results in a deferral of income.” 29 U.S.C.
§ 1002(2)A).° Whether we have jurisdiction over this
case turns, therefore, on whether the Agreement is a
“plan, fund, or program.” As the Supreme Court noted in
Fort Halifax, these statutory definitions are tautological.
482 U.S. at 8. The statute’s definitions of “plan,” “em-
ployee welfare benefit plan” and “employee pension bene-
fit plan” all contain the word “plan” within their defini-
tions. To complete our analysis, therefore, we must look

* (...continued)

fits, apprenticeship or other training programs, or day care
centers, scholarship funds, or prepaid legal services, or (B)
any benefit described in section 186(c) of this title (other
than pensions on retirement or death, and insurance to
provide such pensions).

Id.

® 29 U.S.C. § 1002(2\A) provides in full:

Except as provided in subparagraph (B), the terms “em-
ployee benefit plan” and “pension plan” mean any plan,
fund, or program which was heretofore or is hereafter
established or maintained by an employer or by an em-
ployee organization, or by both, to the extent that by its
express terms or as a result of surrounding circumstances
such plan, fund, or program—

(i) provides retirement income to employees, or

(ii) results in a deferral of income by employees for
periods extending to the termination of covered em-
ployment or beyond,

regardless of the method of calculating the contributions
made to the plan, the method of calculating the benefits
under the plan or the method of distributing benefits from
the plan.

Id.

App. 11

beyond the language of the statute; the precedents of the
Supreme Court, this court, and the other circuits provide
additional guidance. Those cases teach that an ERISA
plan requires an ongoing administrative scheme, id. at
12, and that its terms must be reasonably ascertainable,
Diak v. Dwyer, Costello & Knox, P.C., 33 F.3d 809, 812
(7th Cir. 1994).

1. Ongoing Administrative Scheme
a.

In Fort Halifax, the Supreme Court considered a
Maine statute that required employers who terminate or
relocate operations to pay a lump-sum payment to their
employees. The Court held that the Maine statute did
not establish, or require employers to maintain, an
ERISA plan:

The requirement of a one-time, lump-sum payment
triggered by a single event requires no administra-
tive scheme whatsoever to meet the employer’s ob-
ligation. The employer assumes no responsibility to
pay benefits on a regular basis, and thus faces no
periodic demands on its assets that create a need for
financial coordination and control. Rather, the em-
ployer’s obligation is predicated on the occurrence of
a single contingency that may never materialize. The
employer may well never have to pay the severance
benefits. To the extent that the obligation to do so
arises, satisfaction of that duty involves only making
a single set of payments to employees at the time the
plant closes. To do little more than write a check
hardly constitutes the operation of a benefit plan.
Once this single event is over, the employer has no
further responsibility. The theoretical possibility of a
one-time obligation in the future simply creates no
need for an ongoing administrative program for proc-
essing claims and paying benefits.

App. 12

482 U.S. at 12 (footnote omitted). The lump-sum nature
of the Maine obligation weighed heavily in the Court’s
analysis because an ongoing administrative program
typically is required in instances in which there are
“ongoing benefits to be paid,” id. at 14-15 n.9, and if
there is a “regularity of payment,” id. at 18 n.12.

Fort Halifax does not define comprehensively the pre-
cise contours of an “ongoing administrative program.”
The subsequent case law of the circuits, however, has
provided significant guidance. For instance, our col-
leagues in the Eighth Circuit have set forth in a helpful
manner the difference between the situation in Fort
Halifax and those situations that require the implemen-
tation of an administrative scheme:

The pivotal inquiry is whether the plan requires the
establishment of a separate, ongoing administrative
scheme to administer the plan’s benefits. Simple or
mechanical determinations do not necessarily require
the establishment of such an administrative scheme;
rather, an employer’s need to create an administra-
tive system may arise where the employer, to deter-
mine the employee’s eligibility for and level of bene-
fits, must analyze each employee’s particular circum-
stances in light of the appropriate criteria.

Kulinski v. Medtronic Bio-Medicus, Inc., 21 F.3d 254, 257
(8th Cir. 1994).

The distinction between situations such as the one
confronted by the Supreme Court in Fort Halifax and
those that are characterized properly as plans is neces-
sarily a “matter of degrees but under Fort Halifax
degrees are crucial.” Simas v. Quaker Fabric Corp., 6
F.3d 849, 853 (1st Cir. 1993). As the Secretary of Labor
notes, when, as in this case, the judicial task is to
distinguish between individual severance benefit con-
tracts and those situations that constitute ERISA plans,
some “difficult line-drawing problems” can result. Amicus

App. 13

Br. at 13. For instance, our case law in this area has
noted that there can be severance agreements that are
properly characterized as simple contracts between an
employee and employer and do not constitute plans
under ERISA. These contractual arrangements often
bind an employer to enroll, or to keep enrolled, an em-
ployee in a pension or welfare benefit plan but do not in
and of themselves constitute a benefit plan.® Other cir-
cuits have encountered similar situations.’ In the case
before us, for the reasons set forth in the following para-
graphs, we agree with the Secretary that, when assessed
in its totality, the arrangement before us does constitute
a plan. We cannot accept Mr. Cvelbar’s claim that the

° See Dranchak v. Akzo Nobel Inc., 88 F.3d 457, 459 (7th Cir.
1996) (noting that it is possible to draft severance agreements
that are “unrelated” to a “plan,” but noting that contract spe-
cifying how much to disburse from pension and welfare trusts
in event of discharge is covered by ERISA); Nagy v. Riblet
Prods. Corp., 79 F.3d 572 (7th Cir. 1996) (holding suit as to
whether employee was discharged for “cause” is a state law
based employment action despite presence of provision re-
quiring that employee continue to receive all salaries, benefits,
bonuses, and other direct and indirect forms of compensation
in case of discharge without cause); Miller v. Taylor Insulation
Co., 39 F.3d 755 (7th Cir. 1994) (discussing contract that
required participation in benefit plans as “related” to ERISA
plan but not constituting distinct benefit plan).

” See Delaye v. Agripac, Inc., 39 F.3d 235 (9th Cir. 1994)
(holding that contract calling for the continuation of pay at one
of two set formulas depending upon reason for termination
and for the continuation of insurance and vacation benefits
was not a plan because sending a single employee a check
every month and continuing to pay his insurance benefits for
a time specified in the contract does not rise to the level of an
ongoing scheme), cert. denied, 115 S. Ct. 1402 (1995); Angst v.
Mack Trucks, Inc., 969 F.2d 1530 (3d Cir. 1992) (holding that
promise to pay lump sum and a year of continuing benefits in
exchange for an employee’s voluntary departure did not con-
stitute a plan).

Se ME thn” ep ee ee ek ge ee

App. 14

Agreement is a contract between an employer and indi-
vidual employee providing for post-retirement or post-
termination in-kind compensation that falls outside the
definitional framework of ERISA.

b.

In the determination of whether an ERISA plan exists,
arrangements that involve a single employee quite un-
derstandably have been met with a particularly careful
scrutiny. In such situations, it is often more difficult to
discern the sort of ongoing administrative management
that Congress intended to subject to the regulation of
ERISA. At the outset, therefore, we think that it is
worth noting that it is not at all clear that it is appropri-
ate to characterize the situation before us as a “one-per-
son” plan. From Mr. Cvelbar’s own affidavit, it appears
that First Peoria signed similar contracts with four other
top employees as part of an effort to retain top manage-
ment during uncertain economic times. Indeed, the intro-
duction of the Agreement states that its purpose is to
obtain the loyalty of management-level employees. When
counsel requested an opinion from the IRS about the tax
treatment of Mr. Cvelbar’s benefits, he referred to four
similar contracts. The same mention was made in the
First Peoria-CBI merger agreement and in the minutes
of meetings of the First Peoria Board of Directors.

Even if we must characterize the arrangement before
us as a one-person plan, we have no difficulty in holding
that it is possible for a one-person arrangement to qual-
ify as an ERISA plan. Certainly, the plain language of
ERISA in no way excludes from coverage those situations
in which only one employee is extended benefits. See
Williams v. Wright, 927 F.2d 1540, 1545 (11th Cir. 1991)
(also noting that ERISA’s predecessor statute expressly
excluded plans covering less than 25 employees). “ERISA
is clearly a statute of general application, one that en-

App. 15

visions inclusion within its ambit as the norm.” Smart v.
State Farm Ins. Co., 868 F.2d 929, 933 (7th Cir. 1989).
Moreover, the Department of Labor, although apparently
taking a different position in the early days of its ad-
ministration of the statute,* has concluded, and, indeed,
reasserts as amicus curiae in this case, that a contract
between one employee and an employer can be an em-
ployee benefit plan. See Biggers v. Wittek Indus., 4 F.3d
291, 298 (4th Cir. 1993) (citing U.S. Dep’t of Labor Op.
Letter 91-20 A (July 2, 1991) and holding ERISA plan
covered one employee); 29 C.F.R. § 2510.3-3(b) (“[A]
Keogh plan under which one or more common law em-
ployees, in addition to the self-employed individuals, are
participants covered under the plan, will be covered

* See U.S. Dep’t of Labor Op. Letter 76-110 (Sept. 28, 1976)
(stating that individual contract to provide personal services
did not constitute a pension benefit plan under ERISA); U.S.
Dep't of Labor Op. Letter 76-79 (May 25, 1976) (stating that
the contract under consideration was an employment agree-
ment, not an ERISA plan); Jervis v. Elerding, 504 F. Supp.
606, 608 (C.D. Cal. 1980); see also Fraver v. North Carolina
_ Farm Bureau Mut. Ins. Co., 801 F.2d 675, 677-78 (4th Cir.
' 1986) (citing Jervis and holding that the buy-out agreements
at issue “were simply employment or agency contracts” that do
not pay retirement income), cert. denied, 480 U.S. 919 (1987);
Nechero v. Provident Life & Accident Ins. Co., 795 F. Supp.
374, 377 (D.N.M. 1992) (citing Jervis and stating that “ERISA
does not reach purely individual contracts”); Lackey v. White-
hall Corp., 704 F. Supp. 201, 204 (D. Kan. 1988) (citing Jervis
and holding that contract’s “deferred compensation provisions
are terms included as part of the employment agreements with
select individuals, and not an ERISA covered benefit plan”),
amended by Civ. A. No. 85-2639-S, 1989 WL 21008 (D. Kan.
Feb. 23, 1989); McQueen v. Salida Coca-Cola Bottling Co., 652
F. Supp. 1471, 1472 (D. Colo. 1987) (citing Jervis and holding
that, although Jervis did not establish a per se rule that an
ERISA plan can never cover just one employee, the deferred
compensation agreement at issue was a “personal services con-
tract,” not an ERISA plan).

ee

p
;
y
7

App. 16

under Title I [of ERISA].”). Although the position of the
Secretary, even when contained in an opinion letter of
the Department, is not binding upon this court, the
views of the agency charged with the administration of
the statute carry considerable weight. See Williams, 927
F.2d at 1544. We therefore agree with the courts that
have decided that, as long as the benefits program meets
the other requirements of an ERISA plan—namely, an
ongoing administrative scheme and reasonably ascertain-
able terms—the program does not fall outside the ambit
of ERISA merely because it covers only a single employ-
ee. See id. at 1545 (“[W]e conclude that a plan covering
only a single employee, where all other requirements are
met, is covered by ERISA.”) (footnotes omitted); cf.
Duggan v. Hobbs, 99 F.3d 307, 312 (9th Cir. 1996)
(holding that contract between one top executive and
company established a “top-hat” plan). Because we have
concluded that the Agreement in this case meets those
requirements, its status as an ERISA plan does not
evaporate just because the Agreement is a contract be-
tween Mr. Cvelbar and the company.

Cc.

When we turn to a scrutiny of the entire arrangement
that Mr. Cvelbar had with his employer, we must con-
clude that the Agreement constituted a plan to admin-
ister the benefits provided. Under the Agreement, the
severance benefits were to be provided for three years
following termination. Although triggered by the single
event of Mr. Cvelbar’s termination, the benefits extended
to Mr. Cvelbar are not similar to the “one-time, lump-
sum payment” considered in Fort Halifax, 482 U.S. at 12.
CBI assumed a “responsibility to pay benefits on a reg-
ular basis” and faced “periodic demands on its assets
that create a need for financial coordination and control.”
Id. During the three-year period after termination, the
Agreement required that CBI process medical claims,

App. 17

pay medical benefits to Mr. Cvelbar and his dependents,
and make a monthly payment. Moreover, the contract in
this case placed on First Peoria and CBI an ongoing
responsibility to review the contract annually, while Mr.
Cvelbar was still employed and the benefits had not yet
vested, in order to decide whether to extend its terms for
additional years. The companies thus undertook an on-
going responsibility different from that considered in
Fort Halifax and similar to those the Supreme Court
described as requiring an ongoing administrative pro-
gram. In sum, to carry out the obligations assumed
under Mr. Cvelbar’s contract, CBI and First Peoria had
to do more than merely “write a check.” Jd.

One factor to be considered in deciding “which obliga-
tions are complex enough to require” an ongoing admin-
istrative program, Schonholz v. Long Island Jewish Med.
Center, 87 F.3d 72, 76 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 117 S. Ct.
511 (1996), is “whether the employer's undertaking or
obligation requires managerial discretion in its adminis-
tration.” Id. (citing Bogue v. Ampex Corp., 976 F.2d 1319,
1323 (9th Cir. 1992), cert. denied, 507 U.S. 1031 (1993));
see James v. Fleet/Norstar Fin. Group, Inc., 992 F.2d 463,
468 (2d Cir. 1993). Mr. Cvelbar’s agreement required the
exercise of such discretion. CBI initially had to deter-
mine the reason for Mr. Cvelbar’s termination. He

° See Schonholz, 87 F.3d at 76 (holding that the plan at issue
required more than “simple arithmetical calculations” and
necessitated managerial discretion because company had to
determine, inter alia, “whether the employee was involuntarily
terminated” and “whether the termination was for either ille-
gal conduct or substantially deficient performance”); Simas v.
Quaker Fabric Corp., 6 F.3d 849, 853-54 (1st Cir. 1993) (hold-
ing that whether an employee was fired “for cause” is a non-
mechanical criterion which created the need for administrative
obligations); Bogue, 976 F.2d at 1323 (similar); Fontenot v. NL
Indus., 953 F.2d 960, 963 (5th Cir. 1992) (noting that an ad-

(continued...)

App. 18

would not have been eligible for benefits if he had, for
example, retired or willfully engaged in fraud. Moreover,
the company had to monitor whether Mr. Cvelbar com-
peted against the company within three years of termi-
nation. If Mr. Cvelbar breached the covenant not to com-
pete, he would lose the right to benefits and would have
to refund any payments that had been made under the
Agreement.’° Once the payments were underway, CBI
had to monitor the amount paid to Mr. Cvelbar. If, in the
sole opinion of CBI’s counsel, any of the payments due
under the Agreement were parachute payments, the
payments to Mr. Cvelbar were limited to 299% of his

® (...continued)

ministrative scheme is required to analyze the circumstances
of employee’s discharge in light of criteria, but holding that
program at issue did not require administrative scheme be-
cause employees were to receive benefits regardless of reason
for termination).

© Paragraph 2 of the Agreement provided:

The Employee agrees that for a period of three years
from the date of termination, the Employee will not
become employed as an agent, consultant, employee, offi-
cer or director of (i) a commercial bank, savings and loan
association, savings bank or trust company with an office
located in the Standard Metropolitan Statistical Area en-
compassing the City of Peoria, Illinois, as such area is
defined by the U.S. Office of Management and Budget (the
Peoria SMSA) or (ii) a bank holding company (as defined
in the Bank Holding Company Act, 12 U.S.C. sec. 1841)
which has an office, or has a subsidiary with an office,
located in the Peoria SMSA.

If the Employee breaches the terms of this paragraph,
this Agreement shall terminate, no payments or benefits
shall become payable thereafter, and all payments made
under this Agreement shall be refunded by the Employee
to the Company.

R.7, Ex.A at 2 ¥ 2.

App. 19

Average Annual Compensation. The company also had to
reevaluate the Agreement every year to determine
whether it should be extended another year. All of these
tasks required the exercise of managerial discretion."

The payments to be made to Mr. Cvelbar could not be
determined by simple arithmetical computations.’ The
medical benefits would vary over time, depending on the
health needs of Mr. Cvelbar and his dependents. In
addition, the contract extended medical coverage “under
the group medical plan on the same terms and conditions
as are then available to a retiree of the First Peoria
Corp. Retirement Plan in effect at that time.” R.7, Ex.A
at 3 { 3(i). Likewise, Mr. Cvelbar’s monthly payments
were to be “equal to the deferred pension amount pay-
able under the First Peoria Corp. Retirement Plan at age
65, assuming a life only option.” Jd. at 3 4 3(iii). The
payments were to be made “from the date of termination
.. . until [Mr. Cvelbar] attain[ed] the age of 65 or until
he begian] receiving benefits under the First Peoria
Corp. Retirement Plan, whichever occur[red] first.” Id. To
determine Mr. Cvelbar’s eligibility and level of benefits,
the company had to analyze his circumstances in light of
First Peoria’s existing retirement plan. The benefits to be
paid Mr. Cvelbar therefore could not be calculated mech-
anically without administrative involvement.” By refer-

'' See, e.g., Pane v. RCA Corp., 868 F.2d 631, 635 (3d Cir.
1989) (holding that severance agreements with small number
of executives constituted an ERISA plan because it required
an administrative scheme).

12 See James v. Fleet/Norstar Fin. Group, Inc., 992 F.2d 463,
468 (2d Cir. 1993) (holding that “simple arithmetical calcu-
lations and clerical determination” did not require an adminis-
trative plan).

'° See Kulinski, 21 F.3d at 255, 257-58 (noting that analyzing
employee’s circumstances in light of criteria may necessitate
(continued...)

App. 20

encing the First Peoria Corp. Retirement Plan, the
Agreement not only required that the existing plan be
maintained, but it required the company to make admin-
istrative determinations about coverage and eligibility,
determinations that were not simple mechanical calcu-
lations.

2. Reasonably Ascertainable Terms

We have determined that the Agreement necessitated
the establishment and maintenance of an ongoing ad-
ministrative program. -n addition, “{iln determining
whether a plan, fund or program (pursuant to a writing
or not) is a reality a court must determine whether from
the surrounding circumstances a reasonable person could
ascertain the intended benefits, beneficiaries, source of
financing, and procedures for receiving benefits.’” Diak
v. Dwyer, Costello & Knox, P.C., 33 F.3d 809, 812 (7th
Cir. 1994) (quoting Donovan v. Dillingham, 688 F.2d
1367, 1373 (11th Cir. 1982) (en banc))."* Although the
concerns underlying Diak are more acute when no writ-
ing exists to evidence the plan, a writing, standing alone,
is not enough to convert a contract into an ERISA plan.

3 (...continued)

an administrative scheme and holding that agreements that
were “entirely self-contained—{they] included no references to
any outside criteria or standards’—were not ERISA plans);
Simas, 6 F.3d at 853 (noting that discretion was involved in
statute that cross-referenced other provisions that required
the employer to determine whether the employee was fired for
cause).

4 Every circuit has adopted the Donovan approach for deter-
mining whether an ERISA plan has been created. See Grimo
v. Blue Cross/Blue Shield, 34 F.3d 148, 151 (2d Cir. 1994);
Kenney v. Ronald Parson Contracting Corp., 28 F.3d 1254,
1257-58 (D.C. Cir. 1994) (collecting cases from the First, Third,
Fourth, Fifth, Sixth, Eighth, Ninth and Tenth Circuits).

App. 21

Some of these criteria are not in serious dispute in this
case. A reasonable person easily could ascertain the
benefits and beneficiaries of the Agreement. The benefits
are listed explicitly in the Agreement. Mr. Cvelbar was
to receive medical benefits, a lump-sum payment and a
monthly payment. Similarly, the beneficiaries are explicit
in the Agreement. The Agreement listed Mr. Cvelbar, his
dependents and Judith Cvelbar as beneficiaries.

Mr. Cvelbar nevertheless insists that the source of
financing and the procedures for receiving benefits are
not reasonably ascertainable. We cannot agree. We held
in Diak that the “payment of benefits out of general
funds satisfies the requirement of an ascertainable
source of funding.” 33 F.3d at 813. As in Diak, a reason-
able reading of the Agreement in this case leads to the
conclusion that the medical benefits, lump sum and
monthly payments were to be paid out of CBI’s general
funds. Moreover, because the Agreement references First
Peoria’s existing retirement plan, an examination of that
plan would reveal the source of funds for the program
upon which Mr. Cvelbar’s terms were based.

Lastly, the procedures for Mr. Cvelbar’s obtaining
benefits were reasonably clear. By the terms of the
Agreement, for him to become eligible and for his bene-
fits to vest, Mr. Cvelbar would have to be terminated,
voluntarily or involuntarily, as conditioned by the con-
tract. He was entitled to a lump sum at the time of his
termination. The medical coverage was to be made avail-
able at that time, and the terms and conditions of such
coverage were contained in the First Peoria Corp. Re-
tirement Plan. In addition, upon termination, he was to
receive a payment each month. Consequently, a reason-
able person could ascertain the procedures for receiving
the Agreement’s benefits.

App. 22

B. CBI’s Decision to Terminate Payments

Mr. Cvelbar challenges CBI’s decision to invoke the
limitation provision of the Agreement, thereby terminat-
ing Mr. Cvelbar’s benefits. His “claim for severance
benefits is a matter of contract interpretation.” Hickey v.
A.E. Staley Mfg., 995 F.2d 1385, 1389 (7th Cir. 1993). In
interpreting the Agreement, the district court was under
a duty to determine whether the limitation provision was
ambiguous. Jd. If no ambiguity exists, extrinsic evidence
should not be considered, and summary judgment is
appropriate. Ryan v. Chromalloy American Corp., 877
F.2d 598, 602 (7th Cir. 1989). “A term is ambiguous if it
is subject to reasonable alternative interpretations.”
Taylor v. Continental Group Change in Control Severance
Pay Plan, 933 F.2d 1227, 1232 (3d Cir. 1991).

The limitation provision in this case provided that the
present value of the benefits to Mr. Cvelbar would not
exceed 299% of his Average Annual Compensation if, “in
the sole opinion of Company’s counsel,” “any payment”
provided under the Agreement was “contingent on a
‘change in ownership or control’ or otherwise . . . subject
to the provisions of Section 280G of the Internal Revenue
Code of 1986.” R.7, Ex.A at 3-4 4 4.A. CBI’s counsel
decided that some of the payments to Mr. Cvelbar were
so contingent. The district court correctly concluded that
the limitation provision was not ambiguous. By its
terms, it vests sole discretion in company counsel to
determine whether any of Mr. Cvelbar’s payments were
parachute payments and therefore subject to the limita-
tion provision.

Because the plan vests this discretion in its adminis-
trators to construe the limitation provision’s terms, “the
arbitrary and capricious standard of review is proper.”
Loyola Univ. of Chicago v. Humana Ins. Co., 996 F.2d
895, 898 (7th Cir. 1993); Allison v. Dugan, 951 F.2d 828,
832 (7th Cir. 1992); see Firestone Tire & Rubber Co. v.
Bruch, 489 U.S. 101, 115 (1989). “Under the arbitrary

App. 23

and capricious standard, a denial of benefits will not be
set aside if the denial was based upon a reasonable
interpretation of the plan documents.” Loyola Univ. of
Chicago, 996 F.2d at 898. “If the administrator makes an
informed judgment and articulates an explanation for it
that is satisfactory in light of the relevant facts, then the
administrator’s decision is final.” Id. We emphasize that,
in reviewing the determination of CBI’s counsel, it is not
our function to assess definitively whether we, if faced
directly with the § 280G-coverage issue, would reach the
same conclusion or even rely on the same authority. We
need not decide whether any of Mr. Cvelbar’s payments
were actually parachute payments; we must decide mere-
ly whether such a determination is reasonable and there-
fore not arbitrary or capricious. It matters not whether
counsel’s interpretation of the tax laws was actually
correct, but whether that interpretation was reasonable.
Cf. Brown v. Rauscher Pierce Refsnes, Inc., 994 F.2d 775,
781 (11th Cir. 1993) (“For an [arbitration] award to be
vacated as arbitrary and capricious, the Panel’s award
must contain more than an error of law or interpreta-
tion.”). Without passing on the question whether any of
Mr. Cvelbar’s payments were parachute payments, we
hold that CBI’s counsel’s determination to that effect was
not arbitrary or capricious.

CBI’s counsel’s determination that some of the benefit
payments to Mr. Cvelbar were contingent on a change in
ownership or control or otherwise subject to § 280G of
the Internal Revenue Code was reasonable. Section 280G
defines a “parachute payment” as “any payment in the
nature of compensation . . . if—{i) such payment is
contingent on a change—{I) in the ownership or effective
control of the corporation, or (II) in the ownership of a
substantial portion of the assets of the corporation, and
(ii) the aggregate present value of the payments .. .
exceeds” a certain amount. 26 U.S.C. § 280G(bX2)A)
(bold face omitted). The legislative history of the section,

App. 24

found in the House Conference Report, contains exam-
ples of parachute payments. One of the examples of a
payment that is contingent on a change in ownership or
control reads:

Assume that a contract provides for payments to a
disqualified individual contingent upon termination
of his employment. A change of control occurs, and
thereafter, as a result of the change, the employment
of the individual is terminated. Payments under the
contract are to be treated as contingent on the
change in control.

H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 98-861, at 850-51 (1984), reprinted
in 1984 U.S.C.C.A.N. 1445, 1539. This legislative history
supports CBI’s interpretation of Mr. Cvelbar’s payments.
His contract made his payments contingent upon his
termination. A change in control, a merger, occurred. Mr.
Cvelbar’s termination resulted because, according to
CBI’s president, he did not get along with the post-
merger management. CBI’s interpretation of the Agree-
ment’s benefits, therefore, reasonably is supported by the
House Conference Report, a document upon which we

have relied as an authority in another case, see Cline v.
Commissioner, 34 F.3d 480, 486 (7th Cir. 1994).

In addition to the House Conference Report, the Pro-
posed Regulations provide support for counsel’s interpre-
tation of Mr. Cvelbar’s benefits. One Proposed Regulation
states:

A payment is also generally treated as contingent on
a change of ownership or control if—({1) The payment
is contingent on an event that is closely associated
with a change in ownership or control, (2) A change
in ownership or control actually occurs, and (3) The
event is materially related to the change in owner-
ship or control.

Prop. Treas. Reg. § 1.280G-1, Q&A-22(b). The Proposed
Regulation lists the termination of employment as an

App. 25

example of “an event that is closely associated with a
change in ownership or control.” This Proposed Regula-
tion reasonably supports counsel’s decision that some of
Mr. Cvelbar’s payments were contingent on a change in
ownership or control: His benefits were contingent on his
termination, an event the Proposed Regulation classifies
as one closely associated with a change in control. The
change actually occurred in the form of a merger.
Because Mr. Cvelbar’s termination occurred within one
year of the merger, according to the Proposed Regulation,
it is presumed to be “materially related” to the change in
control. Id. Apart from the presumption, his termination,
in fact, may have been “materially related” to the change
in control insofar as Mr. Cvelbar was unhappy with the
new management that resulted from the merger."®

In his affidavit, CBI’s counsel stated that he also relied
on the merger contract between CBI and First Peoria,
the request for an IRS letter ruling and the letter ruling
itself in arriving at his conclusion to terminate Mr.
Cvelbar’s benefits. The merger agreement required CBI
to obtain a ruling from the IRS. That ruling stated that
a portion of Mr. Cvelbar’s benefits, the portion that could
be allocated to the covenant not to compete, was not a
parachute payment. Counsel’s determination is consis-
tent with the requested letter ruling. The ruling stated
that a portion of the payments was not covered by
§ 280G. The limitation provision of the Agreement
arplies, however, if “any payment” to Mr. Cvelbar was
covered by § 280G. Therefore, our conclusion that coun-
sel’s actions were reasonable is not affected by the
merger agreement or the letter ruling. Indeed, that coun-
sel examined these documents before coming to a de-

‘See also Prop. Treas. Reg. § 1.280G-1, Q&A-22(e) (stating,
as an example, a situation resembling Mr. Cvelbar’s and not.
ing that such payments are presumed to be contingent on a
change in control). ;

App. 26

cision bolsters our conclusion that his decision was an
informed judgment.
Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, the judgment of the district
court is affirmed.’

AFFIRMED
A true Copy:

Teste: .

Clerk of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

6 Mr. Cvelbar also submits that the district court entered
summary judgment “sua sponte.” The district court, after
granting partial summary judgment to CBI, requested that the
parties present a statement to the court detailing which issues
remained to be litigated. In response, Mr. Cvelbar’s only sub-
mission was that the court needed to decide “what part of the
payments [Mr. Cvelbar] received are ‘parachute payments.’ ”
R.41. The district court correctly decided that this submission
was irrelevant. Counsel’s determination that “any payment”
was contingent on a change in ownership or control activated
the limitation provision. Therefore, it mattered not what
specific portion of Mr. Cvelbar’s benefits could be allocated to
parachute payments as opposed to payments for the covenant
not to compete. Under the plain language of the plan, if any
payment was a parachute payment, the total amount of pay-
ments was governed by the 299% limit. Because Mr. Cvelbar
failed to raise a genuine issue of material fact, summary
judgment was appropriate. See Fed. R. Civ. P. 56; Chicago
Observer, Inc. v. City of Chicago, 929 F.2d 325, 329 (7th Cir.
1991) (“Once it becomes clear that additional proceedings are
pointless, the court should bring the case to a close.”). The
district court’s entry of final judgment, in response to Mr.
Cvelbar’s failure, was not erroneous.

_—

App. 27

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
For the Seventh Circuit
Chicago, Illinois 60604

April 10, 1997.
Before

Hon. JOHN L. Correy, Circuit Judge
Hon. KENNETH F. RIPPLE, Circuit Judge
Hon. TERENCE T. Evans, Circuit Judge

ANTHONY W. CVELBAR,

Plaintiff-Appellant,
No. 96-1669 v.
CBI ILLINOIS INCORPORATED,
a Delaware Corporation,

Defendant-Appellee.

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Central District of Illinois, Peoria Division.
No. 95 C 1127—Michael M. Mihm, Chief Judge.

ORDER

On consideration of the petition for rehearing and sug-
gestion for rehearing en banc filed on February 27, 1997
by plaintiff-appellant, no judge in active service has re-
quested a vote thereon, and the judges on the original
panel have voted to deny the petition. Accordingly,

IT IS ORDERED that the petition for rehearing and sug-
gestion for rehearing en banc be, and the same is hereby
DENIED.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386013_0782%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
